Sports => Football => Topic started by: triniairman on January 05, 2008, 01:00:47 AM

Title: English FA Cup Thread
Post by: triniairman on January 05, 2008, 01:00:47 AM
Loads of matches on Saturday 5th Jan , some of you might be interested and some of you might not, here is a list of match ups.
England: FA Cupstanding
14:00 - Chasetown -:- Cardiff   
15:00 - Walsall -:- Millwall   
15:00 - Wolverhampton -:- Cambridge   
16:00 - Barnsley -:- Blackpool   
16:00 - Blackburn -:- Coventry   
16:00 - Bolton -:- Sheffield U   
16:00 - Brighton -:- Mansfield   
16:00 - Bristol C. -:- Middlesbrough   
16:00 - Charlton -:- West Bromwich   
16:00 - Chelsea -:- Queens P.R.    
16:00 - Colchester -:- Peterboro   
16:00 - Everton -:- Oldham   
16:00 - Huddersfield -:- Birmingham   
16:00 - Ipswich -:- Portsmouth   
16:00 - Norwich -:- Bury   
16:00 - Plymouth -:- Hull   
16:00 - Preston -:- Sc**thorpe   
16:00 - Southampton -:- Leicester     
16:00 - Southend -:- Dag and Red   
16:00 - Sunderland -:- Wigan   
16:00 - Swansea -:- Havant and W.    
16:00 - Swindon -:- Barnet   
16:00 - Tottenham -:- Reading   
16:00 - Tranmere -:- Hereford   
16:00 - Watford -:- Crystal Palace   
16:00 - West Ham -:- Manchester City   
18:15 - Aston Villa -:- Manchester United   

Title: Re: F.A CUP Thread
Post by: Big Magician on January 05, 2008, 08:44:20 AM
whats the Chealski vz QPR highlighted for ???  ...

ah feel QPR is the new Chelski....the special one for Loftus road....

good luck to the TnT players in the FA Cup...
Post by: redtrinigirl on January 05, 2008, 10:41:01 AM
Good grief, Sunderland getting planass by Wigan! :o

They real playing shit today. Like they eh care, the league more important.
Post by: Midknight on January 05, 2008, 10:44:02 AM
Good grief, Sunderland getting planass by Wigan! :o

They real playing shit today. Like they eh care, the league more important.

you see the lineup Keane put out they? Even Kavanagh manage to get a bligh...I surprise he ent start Fulop in goal...
Post by: triniairman on January 05, 2008, 10:50:20 AM
whats the Chealski vz QPR highlighted for ???  ...

ah feel QPR is the new Chelski....the special one for Loftus road....

good luck to the TnT players in the FA Cup...
lol I was kinda hoping they get their backside beat, so I highlighted it so that people could see who their opponent was, by the way did you know QPR is owned by 3 people and one of them happened to be the 5th richest man in the world, I heard that last night on FSC. I feel if they ever reach the Prem. It will have ah next Chelski, money wise I talking.
Post by: triniairman on January 05, 2008, 11:10:24 AM
Channel 6029 on sopcast  is showing the Man.u vs Aston Villa game also you can see it on tvants if interested.

Post by: Midknight on January 05, 2008, 01:11:42 PM
Channel 6029 on sopcast  is showing the Man.u vs Aston Villa game also you can see it on tvants if interested.

like nobody ent tell SAF that he have a second and third 11 or what? or he fraid the same thing that happen with Coventry come back to haunt him ?
Post by: Reaper2004 on January 05, 2008, 01:14:14 PM
Hell yea United moves on!!!! Good game tho Villa.
Post by: triniairman on January 05, 2008, 01:25:26 PM
The magic of the FA Cup: Coventry, Huddersfield, Oldham and Sheffield United cause shocks
Michael Mifsud scored twice as Coca-Cola Championship club Coventry booked their place in the fourth round of the FA Cup with a memorable 4-1 win over Blackburn at Ewood Park.

The Sky Blues, who dumped Manchester United out of the Carling Cup earlier this season with a 2-0 win at Old Trafford, were again in imperious form against Barclays Premier League opposition and never looked in danger of losing the lead given to them through Mifsud's crisp volley after 34 minutes.
They doubled their advantage after 64 minutes when Zurab Khizanishvili was adjudged to have fouled Leon Best in the penalty area and defender Elliott Ward coolly stepped up to fire past Brad Friedel.

Dele Adebola added a third from 18 yards before David Bentley scored a consolation five minutes from time for Mark Hughes' beleaguered side.

Mifsud added a fourth in the dying stages as Iain Dowie's side celebrated a memorable day.

Scottish midfielder Gary McDonald's first-half strike gave Oldham a famous 1-0 win against Premier League Everton at Goodison Park.

The League One side, more than 50 places below the Merseysiders, fully deserved their victory after a battling performance.

Everton fielded a much-changed side for the third round tie, but McDonald's 25-yard cracker was enough to beat them. Ayegbeni Yakubu hit the post in injury time for Everton but Oldham were not to be denied.

Chris Brandon scored nine minutes from time to secure another cup shock as League One Huddersfield beat Premier League Birmingham 2-1.

Luke Beckett handed the Terriers a dream start as he poked home from close range after just four minutes but Garry O'Connor levelled for Blues 15 minutes later.

Huddersfield never looked out of place against their more illustrious opponents and Brandon slotted home from close range late on to book their place in the next round.

Chelsea were made to work hard for their 1-0 victory over neighbours QPR at Stamford Bridge.

They scored the only goal of the game after 39 minutes in fortuitous circumstances as Claudio Pizarro's shot cannoned off the post before rebounding into the net off the back of Rangers goalkeeper Lee Camp.

Bolton left out a string of first-team players, including Chelsea target Nicolas Anelka, and were made to pay as David Carney's solitary strike put Sheffield United through.

Manchester City and West Ham will meet again after a dour goalless draw at Upton Park.

Dave Nugent's third goal for Portsmouth secured a 1-0 win over Ipswich, who had Liam Trotter dismissed in the first half.

Paul Scharner's first-half header, Paul McShane's own goal and a neat strike from David Cotterill helped Wigan cruise past Sunderland 3-0 at the Stadium of Light.

Stephen Hunt matched Dimitar Berbatov's brace as Reading secured a 2-2 draw with Tottenham, who had Tom Huddlestone dismissed for violent conduct.

David Wheater's second-half goal ensured there was no upset at Ashton Gate as Middlesbrough came from behind to see off Bristol City 2-1.

Liam Fontaine had given the hosts the lead inside 20 minutes but Stewart Downing restored parity before Wheater's timely intervention.

League Two Peterborough caused an upset against Championship strugglers Colchester as they stormed to a 3-1 win.

Veteran Teddy Sheringham cancelled out Aaron McLean's opener but Darren Ferguson's side stormed back through George Boyd and Charlie Lee.

Gary Doherty cancelled out Andy Bishop's goal as Championship strugglers Norwich salvaged a replay against League Two Bury.

Non-league Chasetown lost 3-1 at home to Cardiff after goals from Peter Whittingham, Aaron Ramsey and Paul Parry had cancelled out Kevin McNaughton's own goal.

Michael Kightly and Neill Collins netted in the second half as Wolves bounced back from Scott Rendell's first-half penalty for Cambridge.

Blue Square South side Havant and Waterlooville secured a replay against League One leaders Swansea after a memorable 1-1 draw at the Liberty Stadium.

Andy Robinson had looked to have booked the hosts' place in the fourth round before Rocky Baptiste scored with just three minutes remaining to send the visiting support into raptures.

Championship high-fliers Charlton and West Brom will meet again after a 1-1 draw at The Valley.

Zheng Zhi gave the Addicks an early lead before Ishmael Miller's equaliser.

Danny Shittu scored twice to help Watford to a 2-0 win over Crystal Palace at Vicarage Road.

Dean Windass' double was not enough to prevent Hull slipping to a 3-2 defeat at Plymouth, who were indebted to goals from Nadjim Abdou, Peter Halmosi and Sylvan Ebanks-Blake.

Andrew Surman and Gregory Vignal were on target to ensure Southampton eased to a comfortable 2-0 win over Leicester at St Mary's.

Barnsley came from behind to record a slender 2-1 win over Blackpool.

David Fox gave Simon Grayson's side a first-half lead before Stephen Foster and Michael Coulson netted in the second period for the Tykes.

In the final all-Championship tie Simon Whaley gave Preston a slender 1-0 win over Sc**thorpe.

Mansfield and Southend booked their places in the fourth round with wins over Brighton and Dagenham and Redbridge respectively.

Barnet secured a 1-1 draw at Swindon, Tranmere were held 2-2 at home to Hereford, while Walsall and Millwall played out a goalless draw

Man.u also won against Aston Villa 2-0 Ronaldo and Rooney with the goals in the last 10 minutes.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=506279&in_page_id=1779&ct=5
Title: Scotland granted leave for FA-Cup clash.
Post by: Flex on February 03, 2009, 05:21:35 PM
Scotland granted leave for FA-Cup clash.

Prolific Striker Jason Scotland has been granted permission by the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Team to miss next Wednesday’s 2010 World Cup qualifier against El Salvador in order to remain in the United Kingdom and be part of Swansea City’s team for an FA Cup 5th round clash with Premiership club Fulham.

The match is scheduled for February 14, three days after T&T’s qualifying match which means that if Scotland joins Francisco Maturana’s team, he will return to Swansea only a day before they face Fulham and club manager Roberto Martinez is concerned over the player’s physical readiness to start that encounter. Scotland’s is currently Swansea’s top marksman.

And after discussions with Scotland himself and his agent Mike Berry, it was mutually agreed that the player be excused from the qualifying encounter, according to T&T assistant coach Russell Latapy. Scotland expressed gratitude to the T&T team for excusing him from the qualifier.

“Personally it’s great that I have been allowed to stay back and play the FA Cup match for Swansea because it’s obviously a massive game for us. It’s a great opportunity for me and the club but at the same time I know how important the game against El Salvador is. So in saying that I also want to state on record that I’m not turning my back on the country but after we looked at the situation closer, the decision was made to allow me to remain back at Swansea,” Scotland told TTFF Media on Tuesday.

“I’m in really good form for the club at the moment which means that I’m a key to their hopes of advancing in the FA Cup. Thankfully there has been good communication and understanding between Swansea and Trinidad and Tobago. At this stage it’s a good outcome but I have also told the manager here that I have all intentions of representing my country in the future matches and he will definitely have to release me for the other games once I’m selected,” Scotland added.

Latapy further explained: “It’s one of those situations where Jason is doing very well for his club and in this case it can be a turning point for him and the club and having been in such situations myself in the past as a player, it’s difficult when you have to ask a player to  travel this far and it’s not a guarantee that he’s going to be in the starting squad. So in saying that they asked for him to be excused and we have said to them well okay we don’t have a problem but also in the future we expect that they will be understanding of our needs and situation when it’s a case that we need the player to be available to us. “

"This is how relationships between managers, clubs and countries are likely to develop into even better ones to make it easier for dealing with when such situations arise.”

Scotland wished his national teammates the best in next Wednesday’s qualifying encounter and likewise the T&T contingent has wished him and Swansea every success in their upcoming FA Cup fixture.
Title: Scotland cup boost for Swans
Post by: Tallman on February 04, 2009, 05:41:49 AM
Scotland cup boost for Swans
Swansea Evening Pos
t

JASON Scotland has been left out of the Trinidad & Tobago World Cup qualifying squad so he can focus on Swansea City's FA Cup clash with Fulham.

The Soca Warriors face a crucial tie with El Salvador a week tonight as they bid for a place at South Africa 2010.

But coach Francisco Maturana has agreed not to call up Scotland after a request from Swansea.

Roberto Martinez has continually expressed concerns over Scotland's international commitments, arguing that long trips to the Caribbean are hampering his club form.

And the Swansea boss has won a minor battle by persuading T & T to omit Scotland from next week's game.

"I'm delighted," Martinez admitted. "We have had to deal with Jason's situation every time he's travelled away with his country and I'm pleased that they have been able to understand our specific needs on this occasion.

"We have a fantastic relationship with the Trinidad & Tobago federation and we will try to help them as much as we can in the future.

"Swansea City will be supporting them next week and we hope they make it all the way to the World Cup."

Scotland will have a part to play later in T & T's qualifying campaign but for now he can concentrate on club matters.

Had he been called up, Swansea's 14-goal top-scorer would not have returned to Wales until the night before Fulham visit on February 14.

"It's one of those situations where Jason is doing very well for Swansea and in this case it can be a turning point for him and the club," said Soca Warriors assistant coach and ex-Rangers striker Russell Latapy.

"Having been in such situations myself in the past as a player, it's difficult when you have to ask a player to travel this far and it's not a guarantee that he's going to be in the starting squad.

"Swansea asked for him to be excused and we have said to them 'Well okay we don't have a problem', but also in the future we expect they will be understanding of our needs when we need the player to be available."

Scotland has enjoyed arguably his best Swansea form in the last couple of months, hitting a hot streak in front of goal which Martinez puts down to a lack of international activity.

But despite his recent success, the 29-year-old remains behind Kenwyne Jones, of Sunderland, and Bristol City's Stern John in the T & T pecking order.

"It's great that I have been allowed to stay for the FA Cup because it's obviously massive for us," Scotland said. "Thankfully there has been good communication and understanding between Swansea and Trinidad & Tobago.

"At this stage it's a good outcome, but I have also told the manager here that I have all intention of representing my country in the future matches."

Scotland and his Swansea team-mates were given a day off yesterday as the snow came down, but Martinez insists the weather will not hinder preparations for Saturday's meeting with Ipswich.

Swansea were today expecting an answer from the Football League over whether Dimi Konstantopoulos will be their player for the rest of the season.

A deal was agreed to bring the goalkeeper back from Coventry on loan until May, but it is unclear whether the necessary paperwork was completed in time.

Winger Andrea Orlandi, meanwhile, is in a race to be fit to face Ipswich after injuring his ankle in last Saturday's draw at Southampton.

Former loanee Febian Brandy has agreed to join Hereford on a month's loan from Manchester United.
Title: Re: Scotland granted leave for FA-Cup clash.
Post by: arrow on February 04, 2009, 07:00:33 AM
Traitor  >:(
Post by: andre samuel on February 04, 2009, 07:06:22 AM

Pop Corn anyone!!??!!
Post by: SHOTTA on February 04, 2009, 07:24:06 AM

Pop Corn anyone!!??!!

ah hopin is sarcasm and not the prelude to an explosion :beermug:
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 04, 2009, 07:36:46 AM

Pop Corn anyone!!??!!

ah hopin is sarcasm and not the prelude to an explosion :beermug:
It's both.
Post by: D.H.W on February 04, 2009, 08:41:51 AM
(http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/ee181/goldeagle2111/popcorn.gif)
Post by: warmonga on February 04, 2009, 11:05:03 AM
FA cup is more important than a world cup I guess.. good luck star..
Post by: spideybuff on February 04, 2009, 11:08:09 AM
If Roy Keane was still at Sunderland, we woulda have some problems when he start to make noise as to why it have one setta rules for Scotty and want to fight we down for Kenwyne
Post by: Weh-it-is on February 04, 2009, 03:20:37 PM
It seem like priority on de bus route.   :-\
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 04, 2009, 03:29:02 PM

Pop Corn anyone!!??!!

Pass some dey Andre, ah gehin ready fuh de fun to unfold
Post by: supporter on February 04, 2009, 03:30:16 PM
If Roy Keane was still at Sunderland, we woulda have some problems when he start to make noise as to why it have one setta rules for Scotty and want to fight we down for Kenwyne

Its a different context, circumstances. Cant compare the two
Post by: Blue on February 04, 2009, 03:35:01 PM
what kinda bull**man decision is dat?? For an FA Cup replay?? Hopefully he has FA Cup replays to keep himself occupied when everyone else on d plane to SA.
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 04, 2009, 03:41:57 PM
what kinda bull**man decision is dat?? For an FA Cup replay?? Hopefully he has FA Cup replays to keep himself occupied when everyone else on d plane to SA.
It's not a replay. It's an important 5th round fixture against a Premiership team.
Post by: acb on February 04, 2009, 03:43:43 PM
I hope he stay an buss dem Americans ass in Fulham side, so they will have something to remember when we play them in Nashville.
Post by: dinho on February 04, 2009, 03:47:42 PM

it have a thread created today just for you..

only hard luck is you miss your 2008 nomination by a month and 4 days.. lol
Post by: Blue on February 04, 2009, 04:50:27 PM

umm, y? u go hadda explain dat one 2 me. I vex d man not playin. he's our most prolific striker. Swansea isnt going to win the FA Cup. If the article is a chainup I'll accept d award right now  :)  :beermug:
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 04, 2009, 04:56:01 PM

umm, y? u go hadda explain dat one 2 me. I vex d man not playin. he's our most prolific striker. Swansea isnt going to win the FA Cup. If the article is a chainup I'll accept d award right now  :)  :beermug:
We're even less likely to win the World Cup. But there are merits to participation.
Post by: Blue on February 04, 2009, 05:10:06 PM

We're even less likely to win the World Cup. But there are merits to participation.

If daz ur opinion, fair enuf. My opinion is that participating in a World Cup is far more significant than participating in an FA Cup.
Post by: Storeboy on February 04, 2009, 09:22:52 PM
All yuh, that was a diplomatic way to say Scotty was not picked for the game.  The coaches had to leave out somebody and instead of bringing him to sit on the bench they suggest that he stay and play for the FA Cup.  he will be called later.  They preferred KJ, Cornell Glen and Stern.  Simple as that!  This was not Scotty's doing.  That is just my fan opinion.
Post by: weary1969 on February 04, 2009, 09:27:53 PM
Scotty u correck u sure 2 run out 4 Swansea.
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 04, 2009, 09:30:45 PM
All yuh, that was a diplomatic way to say Scotty was not picked for the game.  The coaches had to leave out somebody and instead of bringing him to sit on the bench they suggest that he stay and play for the FA Cup.  he will be called later.  They preferred KJ, Cornell Glen and Stern.  Simple as that!  This was not Scotty's doing.  That is just my fan opinion.
Except that Scotty's manager is on record saying the same thing. Why would Swansea's manager lie to a newspaper in Wales about a T&T selection issue? In fact, why would it even come up?

What was reported is what happened. Stern is Scotty's replacement. He wasn't one of the Bristol players mentioned when that team originally announced its international call-ups.
Post by: weary1969 on February 04, 2009, 09:34:01 PM
Exactly Gillie
Title: 2011 FA Cup Final: Stoke City vs Manchester City.
Post by: andre samuel on April 28, 2011, 06:23:59 AM
Stoke May Lose Etherington for Wembley But at Least They Have Jones
http://www.fanhouse.co.uk/2011/04/28/stoke-may-lose-etherington-for-wembley-but-at-least-they-have-jo/

By John Percy

Matthew Etherington's expected absence from the FA Cup Final is undoubtedly a hammer blow for Stoke, but at least Tony Pulis can console himself with the return of another key player.

After three difficult months that have seen him become a target for criticism from his own supporters, it appears Kenwyne Jones has finally rediscovered the form that made him one of the Premier League's most feared front men.

Four goals in four games don't tell half the story, for Jones looks a completely different player to the one that appeared tentative, short of confidence and, frankly, an expensive mistake at a club record £8 million earlier in the year.

Against Wolves on Tuesday, Jones displayed all the attributes that once had John Terry rushing to Chelsea's powerbrokers demanding that Roman Abramovich sign him from Sunderland.

He swatted defenders away like they weren't there, linked up play with ease and proved a general nuisance in the opposition penalty area.

And while Roberto Mancini will have walked out into the Staffordshire night lifted by the cruel injury to Etherington, he will have been acutely aware that Jones represents a serious threat to his hopes of ending Manchester City's agonising wait for silverware.

It is easy to see why Steve Bruce ran out of patience with Jones last summer. You look at the Trinidad & Tobago international towering above everyone else, consider all his strengths and expect him to be a colossus every week.

But he is clearly a player who needs an arm around the shoulder. Perhaps Bruce tired of the softly-softly approach and decided enough was enough.

At the start of this year, Pulis must also have been agonising over how to handle him. There was the game against Sunderland where he was booed by both sets of fans.

An off-field problem, believed to be a difficult divorce, was affecting Jones but Pulis stuck with him. A few weeks ago the pair had a chat about it and Jones hasn't looked back since.

Pulis, in his own words, needs to "keep him at it" if he wants to end Stoke's own trophy drought. But to keep Jones at it, he needs the delivery of Etherington, and that's why Pulis is giving his crocked winger every chance of making the Final.

It looked ominous when Etherington collapsed to the turf on Tuesday. His expression suggested that he knew he would miss out on Wembley.

But Stoke are already talking of oxygen tents and every possible method to ensure he appears. This first week will be vital in his recovery but after that Stoke are in the laps of the gods.

How Stoke need him for the Final. And especially Jones.

Jubilant Jonno praises Jones

http://www.givemefootball.com/premier-league/jubilant-jonno-praises-jones

Stoke City – Kenwyne Jones is one of the best strikers around according to Jonathan Walters

Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones has come into criticism for some of his performances of late.

But four goals in his last four games for the Potters seems to have got the proverbial 'monkey' off his back, with his return to form prompting his name to ring loud and proud at the Britannia stadium once more.

Jones' strike partner Jonathan Walters says the Trinidad and Tobago international's ability was 'never in any doubt'.

"Kenwyne is one of the best strikers in the Premier League and he has shown that this season for us," he said.

Walters is pleased to see the 26-year-old star firing on all cylinders again – even if he has been caught in the race to be Stoke's top goalscorer this season.

"Everyone goes through good and bad patches but Kenwyne is riding on the crest of a wave at the moment.

"Let's hope that continues until the end of the season. He is unplayable when he is in this sort of form."

Fresh from their 0-3 victory over relegation strugglers Wolves at Molineux on Tuesday night, Stoke moved up to ninth in the Barclays Premier League table.

The focus now turns to an away trip to Blackpool at the weekend before a home fixture against Arsenal.

After that comes the biggest game in the club's recent history as Stoke prepare to face Manchester City in an FA Cup final showdown at Wembley.

"It would be a remarkable achievement to finish in the top 10 and pick up more points than the 47 that were accumulated last season," Walters concluded.

"Together with reaching an FA Cup Final, that would cap an unbelievable year for us."
Title: Re: 2011 FA Cup Final: Stoke City vs Manchester City.
Post by: Sam on May 13, 2011, 09:02:37 AM
Manchester City v Stoke City Preview: Battle to Become the City of Dreams
By: John Percy

FA CUP FINAL: WEMBLEY, SATURDAY MAY 14, 2011. KICK-OFF: 1500 BST

After nearly four decades of frustration, underachievement and, more recently, bloated expectations, Roberto Mancini has the chance to firmly etch his name into Manchester City history.

Despite already securing a place in next season's Champions League the urbane Italian is acutely aware that silverware is required if the club are really to become regarded as more than simply Manchester United's "noisy neighbours".

Mancini has impressively gone about his work this term against the backdrop of a fractious dressing room, barbs from other clubs about their spending power and the omnipresent uncertainty over whether billionaire owner Sheikh Mansour is going to wield the axe.

He has surely earned a reprieve after finishing fourth in the Premier League but ending 35 years without a trophy will render him bombproof at Eastlands.

How Stoke will relish the prospect of extending their wait. Tony Pulis and his players delight in upsetting the big boys and Mancini has already admitted that the Potters represent more of a threat than Manchester United.

Stoke's incredible performance against Bolton in the semi-final ensures they simply can't be written off, with the only concern for Pulis the doubts over whether Matthew Etherington or Robert Huth will be available to play after untimely injuries.

Their history is even more humble than their illustrious opponents, as they prepare for their first FA Cup Final in 148 years. Stoke have certainly come a long way since their last silverware, when they won the Autoglass Trophy in the 1999/2000 season.

Key Match-up: Ryan Shawcross v Carlos Tevez. Shawcross is running into form at just the right time for Stoke and epitomises the work rate and commitment of the Potters. He will expect Tevez to return from a hamstring injury and knows stopping Manchester City's leading scorer will be key to a surprise triumph.

Form Guide: Mancini has masterminded notable victories over United and Spurs in recent weeks andnd have lost two of their last seven games. Stoke will go into the clash having only lost one of their last nine games. Since Stoke's return to the Premier League, and two meetings in last season's FA Cup, both clubs have two wins apiece from seven games.

Odds: Manchester City 5/6, Stoke 10/3, Draw 13/5 Tweeter Facebook FourSquare iPhoneMANCHESTER CITY:
Mancini hopes to seal a perfect week by leading the Eastlands club to their first trophy in 35 years - and what would be his first in English football.

"I'm excited by this and very proud for my players," he said. "I always saw this game on TV in Italy - Manchester United against Chelsea and I watched when Harry Redknapp won with Portsmouth.

"This is a big moment for me in my career. The FA Cup is very important, it is my first final and the first time Manchester City have been in it for a long time. It will be a special day.

"Our target was the Champions League and after that we wanted to get into one of the final. We are in the FA final. It's a good moment for us.

"We have got fourth spot but now we should keep our concentration. If we claim six points (from the last two Premier League matches) maybe we can arrive in third position."

But the Italian concedes his team will have their work cut out against a Potters team they have beaten just once in their last six meetings.

He added: "Stoke are a strong team, very difficult team. If we want to win Saturday we should pay attention. It will be very, very hard."

Strategy: This is a game the Manchester club are fully expected to win, putting Mancini under pressure to retreat from his conservative ways. The Italian will know winning the midfield battle against an uncompromising Stoke side is vital, meaning Gareth Barry is likely to earn an immediate recall to the team.

But the million-dollar question for Mancini, of course, is whether to gamble on captain Tevez's fitness and play him from the start after just playing seven minutes on Tuesday night. With the stakes so high and Blues fans so desperate for that elusive trophy, it is a gamble he seems likely to take on his most influential player.

Injury Update: Tevez came through his midweek run-out unscathed, Barry is fit after recovering from the hamstring injury which has ruled him out of the last two games. Micah Richards is likely to start after coming through Tuesday night's clash without any signs of a reaction to his recent hamstring problem, however Jerome Boateng misses out again with a knee injury.

STOKE CITY:
Kenwyne Jones may be running into the best form of his career at Stoke but the accusations of an unfulfilled talent still remain.

The Trinidad & Tobago international has five goals in his last six games and will represent a major threat to Mancini's hopes of silverware - if he's in the mood.

Even in interviews, Jones appears to revel in his reputation as an enigma but is determined to seize the opportunity to display his talents at such a showpiece event.

He said: "As a player you would say that every day, from the day you start playing to the day you retire, your best has yet to come.

"Every football player no matter whether they are just beginning or finished playing still feel they can be the best or they can go out and still do something. It is a part of football life, obviously you have ups, you have downs, it is just the course of the game really.

"Hopefully we can all take the chance against Manchester City even though it is going to be a huge test. They have a massive fan base and massive resources and they have world class players so of course it is going to be a test.

"It's not £60 million at the end of it and staying in the league., That's an endurance race over time. When you stay in the league you're happy but this is a bigger prize at stake.

"As much as you have to say you have to try and stay calm, emotions are going to be running high. So we have to try and calm down as soon as possible and do what we can do."

Strategy: Much will depend on the availability of Etherington and Huth, though the Stoke winger is considered more doubtful to start the game. Even without both of them, their second half display against Arsenal was impressive enough and they have already proved they can hurt the bigger clubs.

Stoke have already posed their opponents problems in the Premier League and the aerial bombardment will work - though, as they proved against Bolton and the Gunners, they do possess talented footballers.

There will be lots of diagonal balls aimed at Jones, while the delivery of Jermaine Pennant from the right will be crucial. Still expect frequent use of Rory Delap's throw, however, and that weapon will still be just as effective at the national stadium as it proves at the Brit.

Injury Update: Etherington (groin) and Huth (knee) will both be late shouts. Thomas Sorensen will replace Asmir Begovic in goal. Danny Higginbotham (knee), Ricardo Fuller and Mamady Sidibe (both Achilles) are long-term casualties.
Post by: Sam on May 13, 2011, 09:04:58 AM
'Kenwyne Jones can get the better of Vincent Kompany'
- former Manchester City goalkeeper David James picks five key battles in FA Cup final against Stoke
By James Daly (Goal.com)

Keeper believes Saturday's final is a chance for Manchester side to announce their arrival at the top of the English game but predicts Potters forward to cause them problems

Former Manchester City goalkeeper David James has been on the winning and losing sides in FA Cup finals - and believes this year's staging will be as tough to call as any before.

While Manchester City have the riches and are very much favourites to lift a trophy for the first time since 1976, Stoke City have the form and spirit to cause a famous upset in England's major domestic final.

James - who lifted the trophy with Portsmouth in 2008 but tasted defeat in last year's final against Chelsea, as well as in 1996 with Liverpool and in 2000 with Aston Villa - gives Goal.com the lowdown on five key battles that he thinks will settle the match at Wembley on Saturday...

Matthew Etherington v Micah Richards

"Etherington had a good season but I think this is an opportunity for Micah Richards to shine. As well as Manchester City have done this year he hasn't really been in the frame.

"It's an opportunity to show on the best stage he will have played on in his career why he should be included back into the England set-up.

"He was a young talent that a lot of people raved about. I didn't have much experience playing with him; I think he broke in to the Man City side when I left, but he was obviously included in lots of early group matches for England with Steve McClaren. It's an opportunity for him."

Jermaine Pennant v Pablo Zabaleta

"This is no bias after being in the Portsmouth team with Jermaine Pennant but he is just so raw and again is another player who for all the early talent he showed when he was with Arsenal, has faded a bit.

"It's also an opportunity for him to show the world why he should be taken seriously. Psychology plays a part in every player's performance and it will with Jermaine but I think given the run-in he's had to the season it's a great opportunity for him to maybe add silverware."

Kenwyne Jones v Vincent Kompany

"Kompany has had a great season for Manchester City, but I think I'm going to go with Kenwyne here. Mainly because I feel that he is a big time player and it's the first opportunity I think he will have had to play at Wembley; I just think he'll be up for the occasion.

"I actually think that Man City will win the game but that's not to say that these individual battles won't have different outcomes. He's going to be a focal point for Stoke that's for sure and I think playing against Kompany is a challenge he'll possibly win."

David Silva v Glenn Whelan

"I think Silva will be pulling a few strings. From what I've seen he's looked very good. Unfortunately the £25 million price tag is not always a reflection on a player's ability and whether any player is ever worth that amount of money is questionable, but as far as being an influential player in a cup final I think he's got every chance.

"Anyone who signed for Manchester City knew what was at stake and that was being successful and winning trophies; they've got the Champions League qualification out of the way and now it is a chance to win something."

Edin Dzeko v Robert Huth

"This is an interesting competition because the initial reference will be Huth's defending ability against Dzeko's attacking ability but Huth himself has got the potential to score goals at the other end; there I think Huth's influence on the game will be large, beyond the defending side of things.

"But given that I think Man City will win the final I guess I'm going to have to say Dzeko for this battle! City are playing well; they're in a cup final and it's an opportunity for the team to win a trophy, and if they share any sort of belief, which I'm very much sure they do about winning trophies as opposed to just qualifying for competitions, then this is a big opportunity for them."
Post by: Trini on May 13, 2011, 10:35:29 AM
As much as I want KJ to do well tomorrow, I aint have no evidence that KJ is a big time player, simply because he has not delivered in big time situations yet. Still have to work on consistency, and that will come with experience and effort.

If KJ show up tomorrow hungry and fired up, he will do well. That is the key, and not let 2 hard tackles and a phase of lack of service deter him and make him get lethargic.

Fired up KJ - top class player
Average/laid back KJ - very average forward.
Post by: Bourbon on May 13, 2011, 12:17:07 PM
Well all he needs is one game to show that he could be. Give dem hell tomorrow Jones.
Post by: andre samuel on May 13, 2011, 12:59:54 PM
As much as I want KJ to do well tomorrow, I aint have no evidence that KJ is a big time player, simply because he has not delivered in big time situations yet. Still have to work on consistency, and that will come with experience and effort.

If KJ show up tomorrow hungry and fired up, he will do well. That is the key, and not let 2 hard tackles and a phase of lack of service deter him and make him get lethargic.

Fired up KJ - top class player
Average/laid back KJ - very average forward.

The reason why they said that he is a big time (game) player is because of his scoring record when playing against the so-called big four!

Post by: fatimarima on May 13, 2011, 05:38:12 PM
Ethrington and Huth still recovering from injuries so I dont know if they will even play.  James might have to make predictions about some other battle come game day
Post by: Deeks on May 13, 2011, 07:20:31 PM
Good luck KJ!!!!
Post by: kicker on May 13, 2011, 08:51:48 PM
Go Stoke!
Post by: davidephraim on May 13, 2011, 09:04:08 PM
Go Stoke!
:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Cocorite on May 13, 2011, 09:37:34 PM
Where are our poets and song writers? Somebody, pen a verse for we tuh chant nah.

Jones will shine, he tired ah riding pine
Is Wembly we talkin' 'bout, allyuh ain't see he done end his drought
So bring on Man City, he will shock doubters and  purge Mancini
I going brave and calling a Stoke City route
Four-three in favor of the Potters, Jones with a brace to seal the win and dig them out of the gutters
Post by: Quags on May 14, 2011, 06:42:18 AM
What time is the game EST.
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2011, 07:29:09 AM
What time is the game EST.

http://www.thefa.com/TheFACup/FACompetitions/TheFACup/Fixtures

http://www.timezoneconverter.com/cgi-bin/tzc.tzc
Post by: davidephraim on May 14, 2011, 07:51:26 AM
Lets get this party started! Go Stoke.

Lets Go Stoke City
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2011, 07:57:05 AM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=116378&part=sports
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2011, 08:00:33 AM
waay flow block it yes ,stueps . i go have to watch it online
Post by: Babalawo on May 14, 2011, 08:03:19 AM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=116378&part=sports
Post by: Brownsugar on May 14, 2011, 08:07:27 AM
waay flow block it yes ,stueps . i go have to watch it online

Boy I now buss ah steups mih self and come for a link..... ;D
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2011, 08:11:50 AM
Since I vex with the Man U game (Card carrying member of the Haters) I will say this.
It have 2 sites that ALWAYS have links. No matter what, for a big game you could go to atdhe and myp2p.eu.

So why allyuh does still come here looking for links? Yuh doh even have to try hard!

ok, rant over, I still vex sour bitter though...

As for the game, is All Man City right now. Stoke defending a little too deep i think. The game is not even 10 minutes old
Post by: Brownsugar on May 14, 2011, 08:15:46 AM
Since I vex with the Man U game (Card carrying member of the Haters) I will say this.
It have 2 sites that ALWAYS have links. No matter what, for a big game you could go to atdhe and myp2p.eu.

So why allyuh does still come here looking for links? Yuh doh even have to try hard!

Oh hush!!....
Post by: giggsy11 on May 14, 2011, 08:17:40 AM
Go Stoke...rough dem up and score a few!
Post by: davidephraim on May 14, 2011, 08:18:26 AM

As for the game, is All Man City right now. Stoke defending a little too deep i think. The game is not even 10 minutes old

aqh feel stoke doh have no choice but to defend deep eight now. lol ManCity breedin fire!
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2011, 08:27:31 AM
stoke city keeper rel saving !
Post by: dinho on May 14, 2011, 08:34:00 AM
Man up Kenwyne!
Post by: davidephraim on May 14, 2011, 08:35:27 AM
Man up Kenwyne!

4 real!
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2011, 08:36:23 AM
Stoke in panic mode already. Them just kicking the ball anywhere.
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2011, 08:51:39 AM
Stoke looking clueless so far...Kenwyne had one nice play for the half when he cut the ball back on his left to shoot, after some good chest control from a goal kick...

Otherwise it's all City...
Post by: davidephraim on May 14, 2011, 09:01:41 AM
In all fairness ah think KJ accustomed to being de big man on de field but when dem fellas was shakin hands before de start when dat Man city team walk by KJ he was lookin short at least 4-5 times. Real big man on Man City team but as Dinho say ah feel KJ have to be more physical because De ref not giving him nothinb for free so he better quit de victim ting he tryin to do.
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2011, 09:13:00 AM
it showing on flow now, they unblock it
Post by: maxg on May 14, 2011, 09:19:55 AM
everytime some action come up, it stick...ah not bothering

is like the game in photos, with stickin commentary,

(ah couldn't turn it off juss in case)
Post by: dinho on May 14, 2011, 09:23:44 AM
Big chance there for Kenwyne... Good save by Hart.
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2011, 09:24:15 AM
KJ so close to the ultimate glory...Did well to get in front of Lescott but needed a little more composure on the finish.  Hart did well to just get in the way...
Post by: richpy on May 14, 2011, 09:33:51 AM
Its extremely annoying how these British commentators spend half their time fighting down Ballotelli.
Always something negative
Post by: richpy on May 14, 2011, 09:35:48 AM
Best player in the Primiership - Yaya Toure!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on May 14, 2011, 09:35:57 AM
Ah well it was inevitable.....
Post by: maxg on May 14, 2011, 09:37:34 AM
ah good ole string up, yes
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2011, 09:38:09 AM
Yaya breaks the deadlock in typical Yaya fasion...coming in from deep behind the action to put wood on a pot shot...
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2011, 09:42:13 AM
Yaya breaks the deadlock in typical Yaya fasion...coming in from deep behind the action to put wood on a pot shot...

He in some run of form right now.
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2011, 09:44:42 AM
Its extremely annoying how these British commentators spend half their time fighting down Ballotelli.

They have pointed out that he's having a good game which is true.
Post by: maxg on May 14, 2011, 09:46:41 AM
Come on Kenwyne, the oly counter for ah string up , is ah "In d V"...go wake up stoke

cyah see no pictures with KJ, boy

over..best team win, ah mean the only team win
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2011, 09:57:00 AM
Hard luck dey Stoke. Scrappy game, scrappy goal.
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2011, 09:57:16 AM

They have pointed out that he's having a good game which is true.

And that he "might have come of age in this game"... so cynical and negative.

...anyways, better team won, I am not a fan of Stoke and wasn't about to pretend to be one.  Well done City.
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2011, 09:59:27 AM

And that he "might have come of age in this game"... so cynical and negative.

lol ent... I thought they were pretty fair to him- and he played really well...Other than Yaya with the goal he was probably Man of the Match. 
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2011, 10:10:29 AM
Manchester is probably the easiest city to laid in today...
Post by: che on May 14, 2011, 10:27:55 AM
Better luck next time KJ.
Post by: maxg on May 14, 2011, 10:29:38 AM
Never was ah fan of Villa, ManU, Sunderland, Stoke, Ipswich, Hibs, many UK teams, ah lie, ah use to be ah Arsenal fan(not supporter doh), cause meh father was ah supporter(think it had something to do with cricket doh), but all dem team ah want them to win, because they have we players, and because they give our boys ah opportunity, something we can't even get, in a lesser league, even where we have more numbers, that is the good ole North America..so for giving our guys an opportunity especially where, if they didn't no one would have noticed, they will always have my respect, and support...but cyah say I liked many of them for football, except the Yorke (Villa & Man U). That being said, Hard Luck Stoke, Better Luck next Year, Stay dey KJ, Pulis seem to care bout you.
Post by: truetrini on May 14, 2011, 10:39:40 AM
YAya did well to stay on the pitch with that studs up high tackle...should have been a straight red..nontheless, the much better team won.
Post by: Trini on May 14, 2011, 11:47:22 AM
Kenwyne did well today, it was a hard game, and he fight. Hard luck on the effort. In these games, at this level, you get one chance, good save by the keeper.
Better team won today.
Silva, Ya Ya Toure, Tevez, De Jong is world class players.
Balotelli play real good today, but I still worried about he. Even when game done, all he doing is manhandling he own keeper in joke horseplay, and beating them on they head with a big yellow balloon banana. You could see he craves attention. But he did well today on the pitch. If he play against T&T or Jamaica, it will have real fight...

Stoke is a like a EPL Trinidad, except they have more fight than we.
Limited talent, same kinda game with a post up player, book kick upfield, etc etc.
They are a mid table team at best.
Good luck to them next year, looking forward to see KJ play in Europe next season.

These are the experiences that make you a better footballer, playing in games like this.
Post by: soccerman on May 14, 2011, 01:35:36 PM
Manchester is probably the easiest city to laid in today...
Yuh ain lie dey atall
Post by: Tallman on May 14, 2011, 02:00:02 PM
(http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/227389_10150246728174314_197865659313_8663166_2251330_n.jpg)

(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/226387_10150246728219314_197865659313_8663167_225096_n.jpg)

(http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/228013_10150246728279314_197865659313_8663168_106350_n.jpg)

(http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/229383_10150246728324314_197865659313_8663169_5910278_n.jpg)

(http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/224246_10150246728374314_197865659313_8663170_2007187_n.jpg)

(http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/226683_10150246728449314_197865659313_8663171_3403180_n.jpg)

(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/223383_10150246728489314_197865659313_8663173_1940986_n.jpg)
Post by: Coop's on May 14, 2011, 06:57:07 PM
Thanks Tallman,nice pics of our boy in action. :beermug:
Post by: Sam on May 14, 2011, 07:21:14 PM
http://91.194.91.202/~adm9416/highlightsf.html
Post by: kounty on May 15, 2011, 05:56:46 AM
I like how Pennant play. One more of him on the left side and stoke might surprise some teams. Jus Cool, what was yuh breakdown?  ;D
Post by: Touches on May 15, 2011, 10:05:00 AM
Dais whas happen when yuh ent VISUALISE
Title: 2012 FA Cup.
Post by: Sam on May 05, 2012, 03:11:43 AM
Chelsea v Liverpool
12:15 PM
Wembley Stadium

Chelsea go win.

Title: Re: 2012 FA Cup.
Post by: D.H.W on May 05, 2012, 04:19:28 AM
Ah backing Liverpool.
Post by: lefty on May 05, 2012, 07:57:23 AM
Ah backing Liverpool.

yes ...yes......know...we know :yapping: :yapping: :yawning:
Post by: Brownsugar on May 05, 2012, 10:13:45 AM
The thread only started today and only 3 posts.....wow!!  No ManUre huh...... ::) ::)
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 05, 2012, 10:28:03 AM
I'm a Liverpool fan, but that was a nice finish from Ramires.

He has become quite a player for Chelsea.

Post by: Bitter on May 05, 2012, 10:28:42 AM
Bada Bing!
Post by: weary1969 on May 05, 2012, 10:38:30 AM

CO-SIGNNNN
Post by: Cocorite on May 05, 2012, 10:45:16 AM
Chelsea all the way
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 05, 2012, 10:48:19 AM

CO-SIGNNNN

Yep.  Has replaced Essien.  Great workrate, but even better going forward than Essien.
Post by: D.H.W on May 05, 2012, 10:54:47 AM
 :frustrated:
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 05, 2012, 10:59:22 AM
Luis Enrique running like he is pulling a a big stone.

No wonder Ramires scored that first goal.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 05, 2012, 11:00:13 AM

Now coming to say de fella lacking pace.
Post by: Bitter on May 05, 2012, 11:01:26 AM
 :sleepy:
Post by: lefty on May 05, 2012, 11:04:32 AM
:P ;D
Post by: rotatopoti3 on May 05, 2012, 11:06:30 AM
Waiting for Gerrard tuh wake up.......expecting Liverpool to come full speed 2nd Half....
Post by: Bakes on May 05, 2012, 11:11:00 AM

Now coming to say de fella lacking pace.

Yeah he real struggling fuh pace... every forward foray is ah dead end.  Arguably his positioning and challenge on Ramirez could have been better... but I faulting Reina on that goal.  He try to show Ramirez the far post and started anticipating that's where the shot would go... Ramirez ketch him leaning.

Liverpool defense actually playing well, but the midfield playing too deep leaving Suarez isolated.  Kenny change the deployment three times already... swapping Downing and Bellamy, then bringing Bellamy central into a conventional 4-4-2, rather than the 4-5-1 they started with.  Still not enough pressure on the Chelsea defense.
Post by: Bitter on May 05, 2012, 11:24:11 AM
Bada Boom!
Post by: D.H.W on May 05, 2012, 11:24:20 AM
f**k this shit
Post by: weary1969 on May 05, 2012, 11:25:57 AM
Bada Boom!

DD DOES IT AGAIN
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 05, 2012, 11:26:09 AM
Liverpool is simply being outclassed..

Two goals for Chelsea and Liverpool are yet to get a shot on target.
Post by: Bakes on May 05, 2012, 11:27:43 AM
Poor central midfield play allowing Lampard too much time to make that pass and Skrtel has to do better for me.  Reina again... very unconvincing goalkeeping there.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on May 05, 2012, 11:30:28 AM
Ah decide to listen to Arabic commentary .for the background effect..no type of creativity..
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 05, 2012, 11:31:16 AM
Poor central midfield play allowing Lampard too much time to make that pass and Skrtel has to do better for me.  Reina again... very unconvincing goalkeeping there.

It seems like Reina is low on confidence. One of the commentators referred to an interview where Reina said that he has had a bad season. His mindset may not be the best right now.
Post by: Bitter on May 05, 2012, 11:36:18 AM
Of all people!
Post by: Bakes on May 05, 2012, 11:37:18 AM
Incredible composure by Carroll... but the Downing tackle made that goal for me.
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 05, 2012, 11:37:38 AM
Of all people!

Carroll starting to earn his money...

Nice touch and finish from the big man.
Post by: Bakes on May 05, 2012, 11:38:53 AM

It seems like Reina is low on confidence. One of the commentators referred to an interview where Reina said that he has had a bad season. His mindset may not be the best right now.

yeah dat was Stewart Robson who say that... I have to go online and look for it.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 05, 2012, 11:39:00 AM
Hmmm....Carroll looking good towards the back end of the season.
Post by: Bitter on May 05, 2012, 11:54:06 AM
Tief!!!!
Brilliant Save!
Post by: Bitter on May 05, 2012, 11:56:40 AM
Bayern licking they chops all now.
Post by: D.H.W on May 05, 2012, 11:57:19 AM
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 05, 2012, 12:02:13 PM
Pressure dem like government, 'Pool.  Come on!
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 05, 2012, 12:03:18 PM
Bayern licking they chops all now.

Yep, dey better get ah second center back fit, cause Gomes will kill dem.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 05, 2012, 12:04:37 PM
5 mins??!!  Oh geez and ages...Chelsea look like dey going and crumble any minute!!.... :o :nailbiting: :nailbiting:
Post by: boss on May 05, 2012, 12:09:13 PM
Well done, Chelsea. Better team on the day  :beermug:
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 05, 2012, 12:09:19 PM
Cech has won the cup for Chelsea.

Great last charge from Liverpool, but too little too late.

Congrats to the Chelsea team.
Post by: D.H.W on May 05, 2012, 12:09:23 PM
Changes channel.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 05, 2012, 12:09:28 PM
 :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party:

Heh heh heh!!!   Ah love it!!  (c) Andre Samuel.....
Post by: Brownsugar on May 05, 2012, 12:09:49 PM
Changes channel.

Nah, nah.....whey yuh going??.... :devil: ;D
Post by: lefty on May 05, 2012, 12:11:25 PM
Changes channel.
:P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P
Post by: weary1969 on May 05, 2012, 12:12:21 PM
Cech has won the cup for Chelsea.

Great last charge from Liverpool, but too little too late.

Congrats to the Chelsea team.

CO-SIGNNNN
Post by: Bakes on May 05, 2012, 12:13:31 PM
Congrats to Chelsea... they took their chances, defended better and had the better goalkeeper on the day.  Kenny got it wrong going with Suarez up top alone and couldn't get his squad to respond to Chelsea's quality the first 45 mins.  Chelsea had two chances and they took them... on both Reina need to ask questions of himself for me.  Not good enough.

Ramirez and Carroll were MOM for their respective squads for me... but Cech, for all the shit that I give him over the years was brilliant... what a save on that Carroll header.

Ah well 'Pool... this should silence all that mirage talk of winning two Cups making up for poor League play.  We have work to do... but clearly enough quality to build upon and get better.  Well done Andy Carroll.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 05, 2012, 12:30:46 PM

The only thing that has changed with/for Ramires, is the fact that he has settled in at the club and found his comfort zone where Chelsea fans and Chelsea haters alike wasn't givin' the man a chance to.  The one thing I recognized with him from day one is the one thing that has gained his "redemption" for him at the club and that is his work rate.  No one on the team (besides maybe Drogba) works harder than him.  Ah was glad like hell to see that he blast it bast reina and skin him out like a manicou to especially hush liverpool's big king jackass fan that couldn't stop talkin' shit about ramires and how "chelsea fans would prefer reina over Cech".  Cyah fault him for Drogb'as goal and anyone that does really eh know what TF they talkin' 'bout, but we go keep we shithong 'keeper still.

Chelsea tried they best to hand the game to liverpool, playing with practically 9-1/2 men.  Between Kalou's senseless play up front and Bosingwa running an escort service in the back, we still kinda fortunate to not have to play ET on weary legs.  Not only was Cech's save a brilliant one on that header, but Ivanovic did a great job to clear the line under pressure from kuyt.  Phil Dowd was tryin' he best to help liverpool, too, but dize awright, game done.  Is a long walk from London to liverpool, but with all them to keep each other company, allyuh eh hadda walk it alone.  FOH, liverpool. 
Post by: Blue on May 05, 2012, 04:00:04 PM
Chelsea v Liverpool
12:15 PM
Wembley Stadium

Chelsea go win.

End of
Post by: kev on May 06, 2012, 04:32:39 AM
When I first seen the "goal" from centre of pitch camera angle I thought it was a mile over, then not so sure.  One of them you could argue either way and still not be right, so on balance if the linesman wasn't sure he couldn't give it.  Fair play to him, he had one look at full speed.

Liverpool only turned up for the last 20-30 minutes or so anyway.
Post by: dinho on May 06, 2012, 07:34:07 AM
'King Kenny' made a grave error with that starting lineup by benching Carroll and Kuyt and starting with Spearing and Henderson...

When i saw that i was like, "really hoss??"...

Carroll is the man that take them to the final in the first place with a commanding performance against Everton in the semis and he changed the entire game when he came on.

Chelsea never really look like they got out of 2nd gear for the entire match and at a point i thought it was going to ET. Brilliant, world class save by Cech... I doh wanna hear anything about Reina better than Cech ever again, chalk and cheese as far as I concerned.

Now onto the Champions League final, hopefully this Cup final experience and taste of trophy success will serve them well on the 19th.
Post by: Flex on February 01, 2016, 03:46:59 PM
2016 English FA-Cup Fifth-round draw

Chelsea v Manchester City
Reading v West Brom or Peterborough United
Watford v Leeds United
Shrewsbury Town v Manchester United
Blackburn Rovers v Liverpool or West Ham
Tottenham v Crystal Palace
Arsenal v Hull City
AFC Bournemouth v Everton

Title: Re: English FA Cup Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on April 13, 2016, 11:59:25 PM
On the back of Rashford's performance to push Manchester United into the semis, there is sentiment building that Rashford should be in the England squad for the Euros.
Post by: Deeks on April 14, 2016, 09:38:04 AM
Maybe he should be. But England now has a couple of good strikers now, Vardy. Even Carrol from West Ham knocking on the door.
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 12:29:32 PM
Jan-2017 results.

Tottenham 3 v Aston Villa 0
Middlesbrough 3 v Sheff Wednesday 0
Chelsea 4 v Peterborough 1

Post by: Flex on January 14, 2017, 04:01:56 AM
FA Cup in Trinidad on Monday.
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE NEW year is already gearing up to be a great one for football fans across the region, as Flow and Manchester United – current FA Cup holders – team up to give Caribbean fans unprecedented access to the famous trophy.

The trophy will arrive in Trinidad on Monday, where it will be on show at the Flow Sports headquarters and will be showcased at activities for fans over a two-day period.

Fans will be able to see the FA Cup in its historical glory at Movietowne in Port of Spain on Tuesday from 2.30pm to 5pm.

In addition to taking their own photos, fans will also be able to participate in games for Manchester United tokens and other prizes.

On Wednesday, the trophy will be taken to Barbados, then to Jamaica from Thursday until January 21 and will end the tour of the Caribbean in the Cayman Islands from January 21 to 24.

Dwight Yorke, Manchester United Ambassador, who himself lifted the FA Cup in 1999 with United’s glorious treble-winning team, will join Flow as a special guest on the final leg of the tour to make a special announcement about the soon to be launched skills-development initiative for young footballers – another Flow/Manchester United partnership.

“This is all for our customers who are lovers of the beautiful game,” said Garfield Sinclair, newly appointed president, Flow Caribbean.

“We are the home of sports in the Caribbean and our relationship with Manchester United enables us to give our football fans this amazing opportunity to get up close to the FA Cup, which for some, is a once in a lifetime event.

This certainly underscores Flow’s commitment to give sports fans more of what they want.” For more information visit the Flow fan page on facebook and the event page at facebook.com/ events/1215346008535161.

Post by: Flex on January 18, 2017, 05:15:07 AM
FA Cup fever in Trinidad.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

English football fans got the treat of a lifetime to see the English FA Cup trophy up close and personal as the prestigious trophy came to our shores on Monday. Former national striker Stern John was present at the Piarco International Airport upon its arrival and said seeing the trophy brings back precious memories of playing in the FA Cup competition.

John, T&T ’s all time leading scorer with 70 goals, played in several FA Cup matches during his career.

John played in England for more than 10 years lining up for Derby County, Coventry City, Bristol City, Nottingham Forrest, Birmingham City, Sunderland, Southampton and Crystal Palace.

Yesterday hundreds of fans lined up at Movietowne in Port of Spain to get a picture with the world famous trophy.

Manchester United fan Daniel Rogers was in his glee yesterday.

“Glory glory Trini Man United,” he declared, “I’m honoured to be in the presence of the triumph of my favourite team and the best team in the world Manchester United and share in the glory of the FA Cup.” The FA Cup will make numerous stops throughout the Caribbean over the next week. Shortly after the FA Cup trophy touched down at the Piarco International Airport on Monday, John said it was great to see the trophy he fought for as a player.

“It means a lot to me, we all know the FA cup is one of the most prestigious trophies that you will play for. As a player playing in numerous FA Cup games I never had the opportunity to lift the FA Cup. I think having it in Trinidad is massive,” John said.

John added, “probably the closest I have been to the FA Cup or lifting the FA Cup was today. I got an opportunity to touch it and I think as a player you cherish those moments, although I never got to win it, but just being in the same room with the FA Cup is a great feeling.”

Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith knows people in T&T are excited that the FA Cup is in the country especially as Manchester United are the current holders of the cup. Smith said, “Trinidad and Tobago are huge English FA Cup fans, football fans, and we have quite a huge part of the population, I am not one of them, that are Manchester United fans, I am a Gunners (Arsenal) fan.”

Today the FA Cup trophy will be taken to Barbados, then to Jamaica from tomorrow to Saturday and will end the tour of the Caribbean in the Cayman Islands from Saturday to Tuesday.

Dwight Yorke, Manchester United Ambassador, who himself lifted the FA Cup in 1999 with United’s glorious treble-winning team, will join Flow as a special guest on the final leg of the tour to make a special announcement about the soon to be launched skills-development initiative for young footballers – another Flow/Manchester United partnership.

Trudy De Verteuil, director of Communications and Stakeholder Relations at Flow said, “Flow has partnered with Manchester United. We have been working with them for about six months and during that time we have worked very hard to bring the most exciting sports broadcasting to you and to our customers.

Post by: Tallman on January 18, 2017, 05:42:28 AM
WATCH: Fans turned out in their numbers to see the English FA Cup Trophy on display during its Caribbean tour.

https://www.youtube.com/v/MX8BmqBgTu0
Post by: Flex on January 30, 2017, 03:21:03 PM
Ties to be played the weekend of Feb. 18, 2017:

Burnley v Lincoln City
Fulham v Tottenham Hotspur
Blackburn Rovers v Manchester United
Sutton Town v Arsenal
Middlesbrough v Oxford United
Wolves v Chelsea
Huddersfield Town v Manchester City
Millwall v Derby County or Leicester

Post by: FF on January 30, 2017, 04:40:55 PM
Good for Sutton.  :applause:

Well rewarded. Home tie against Arsenal!! Don't get much better.
Post by: soccerman on January 30, 2017, 05:58:48 PM

I watched them pull off the upset against Leeds yesterday, most of their players work to earn a living sine the team is semi-pro. If they pull off another upset against Arsenal it could be a Hollywood script.
Post by: Deeks on January 30, 2017, 07:37:55 PM

I watched them pull off the upset against Leeds yesterday, most of their players work to earn a living sine the team is semi-pro. If they pull off another upset against Arsenal it could be a Hollywood script.

I watch that game. End to end stuff. Sutton just bulldoze their way the entire game. Man this Leeds team is a far, far cry of the past.
Post by: palos on January 30, 2017, 07:44:27 PM
Major colonialism on display here....and the loyal subjects jes lappin it up

GOD save the Queen and all that  :devil:
Post by: Deeks on January 30, 2017, 10:10:00 PM
WATCH: Fans turned out in their numbers to see the English FA Cup Trophy on display during its Caribbean tour.

https://www.youtube.com/v/MX8BmqBgTu0

Damn that is painful. Them people doh even go to we local FA cup games. No wonder we is shithongs.
Post by: palos on January 30, 2017, 11:30:55 PM
Damn that is painful. Them people doh even go to we local FA cup games. No wonder we is shithongs.

Not only that. But most elite Preem teams play their reserves in FA Cup matches to boot.

It seems like it means more to people in T&T than those teams who put it on the third tier, at best, of their list of priorities.
Post by: Deeks on January 30, 2017, 11:34:53 PM

Not only that. But most elite Preem teams play their reserves in FA Cup matches to boot.

It seems like it means more to people in T&T than those teams who put it on the third tier, at best, of their list of priorities.

I think the League and the FA, teams  should give the bench players. Especially if you are a top 4 team and you are in the Euros.
Post by: FF on January 31, 2017, 06:39:32 AM

What about the people who is peongs and follow all football. Pump your brakes nah Palos
Post by: Flex on February 19, 2017, 03:18:43 PM
Ties to be played the weekend of March 11 2017:

Chelsea v Manchester United
Middlesbrough v Huddersfield or Manchester City
Tottenham Hotspur v Millwall
Sutton United or Arsenal v Lincoln City

Post by: lefty on March 12, 2017, 07:21:28 AM
a lil dig before tommorrow

https://twitter.com/_AndyHa/status/840150207480307712
Post by: soccerman on March 12, 2017, 07:11:25 PM
a lil dig before tommorrow

https://twitter.com/_AndyHa/status/840150207480307712
Studs up :yellowcard:
Post by: lefty on March 13, 2017, 02:58:53 PM
Kante!!!...my engine
Post by: lefty on March 13, 2017, 03:40:06 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: CHELSEA!!!!! KANTE!!!!! :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :flamethrower:
Post by: Flex on March 13, 2017, 03:56:50 PM
Chelsea vs Spurs
Arsenal vs Man City.

Post by: Bakes on March 13, 2017, 04:02:56 PM
:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: CHELSEA!!!!! OLIVER!!!!! :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :flamethrower:

Fixed it for you.
Post by: lefty on March 13, 2017, 04:06:01 PM
:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: CHELSEA!!!!! OLIVER!!!!! :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip: :flamethrower:

Fixed it for you.

steups dey was digging at hazard whole time so it ok to cynically kick dong ah man whole game den?

and rojo deliberately stump on him too....it was clear he was being targeted

https://twitter.com/hashtag/CHEMUN?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc^tfw
Post by: Deeks on March 13, 2017, 04:48:43 PM
Kante. That is the reason Claudio Tanieri got fired. And also the reason Chelsea is head and shoulders  above the rest this season.
Post by: Bakes on March 13, 2017, 05:30:13 PM
steups dey was digging at hazard whole time so it ok to cynically kick dong ah man whole game den?

Easy hero.

Let's deal with specifics, namely the two yellows on Herrera.  For the first yellow, it's debatable that it was even a foul.  Herrera is under no obligation to get out of Hazard's way... he's just prohibited from deliberately obstructing the attacking player.  Hazard kicked the ball past Herrera who seeing the impending collision a) did nothing to get out of the way (that's the optimistic view); b) Braced himself for the collision (the pessimistic view).  He made zero movement into Hazard's path.  Not a foul.

Even if you want to argue it was a foul... it was hardly a yellow card worthy foul... but let's grant Oliver the benefit of the doubt on that one.

On the second yellow... straight up comedy.  The view taken by the commentators was that Oliver had just warned Smalling that the next player to foul Hazard was going into the book.  This is outrageous, if true.  Not only was he putting an effective bubble around a specific player, but doing so with more than half the match still to be played.  That's not even the most outrageous part... the most outrageous part is that he's pre-determined in his own mind that he's going to show a yellow card for the next foul, no matter the severity of the infringement.  That's shocking... again, if true.  Individual players can be booked for persistent fouling, but I don't know of a provision that allows a player to be booked for persistent fouls committed by his team.

If that's NOT the reason why Herrera was booked, that he was shown a second yellow for his own actions and not those of his team collectively, then that's a poor yellow on it's own... and a ridiculous second yellow to show.  Hazard was more than happy to go down, he turned and looked at the ref before he even stopped rolling on the floor.  Even if Oliver deemed it a foul... to give a yellow, let alone a second yellow?  Nah.

And look... with Mourinho and Manchester United it's like Satan coaching The Evil Empire, I have no reason to defend them.  I don't like Chelsea, but not as much as I dislike Manchester United or anything related to Mourinho.
Post by: lefty on March 13, 2017, 05:46:08 PM

Easy hero.

Let's deal with specifics, namely the two yellows on Herrera.  For the first yellow, it's debatable that it was even a foul.  Herrera is under no obligation to get out of Hazard's way... he's just prohibited from deliberately obstructing the attacking player.  Hazard kicked the ball past Herrera who seeing the impending collision a) did nothing to get out of the way (that's the optimistic view); b) Braced himself for the collision (the pessimistic view).  He made zero movement into Hazard's path.  Not a foul.

Even if you want to argue it was a foul... it was hardly a yellow card worthy foul... but let's grant Oliver the benefit of the doubt on that one.

On the second yellow... straight up comedy.  The view taken by the commentators was that Oliver had just warned Smalling that the next player to foul Hazard was going into the book.  This is outrageous, if true.  Not only was he putting an effective bubble around a specific player, but doing so with more than half the match still to be played.  That's not even the most outrageous part... the most outrageous part is that he's pre-determined in his own mind that he's going to show a yellow card for the next foul, no matter the severity of the infringement.  That's shocking... again, if true.  Individual players can be booked for persistent fouling, but I don't know of a provision that allows a player to be booked for persistent fouls committed by his team.

If that's NOT the reason why Herrera was booked, that he was shown a second yellow for his own actions and not those of his team collectively, then that's a poor yellow on it's own... and a ridiculous second yellow to show.  Hazard was more than happy to go down, he turned and looked at the ref before he even stopped rolling on the floor.  Even if Oliver deemed it a foul... to give a yellow, let alone a second yellow?  Nah.

And look... with Mourinho and Manchester United it's like Satan coaching The Evil Empire, I have no reason to defend them.  I don't like Chelsea, but not as much as I dislike Manchester United or anything related to Mourinho.

right there in your post lies the issue....before the booking hazard was kicked or dragged to the ground every time the ball came to him....I have no issue with manu players staying tight to him to get the ball of him....but he was gettin straight up weed whacked........
Post by: lefty on April 22, 2017, 12:27:46 PM
Chelsea!!!!!!!!!......what a match spurs had we on d ropes for much ah dat match....but like Mohammed Ali, we rope-a-dope like a champ and kill dem with we few openings ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D :duel: :duel: :duel: :duel: :duel: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:
Post by: soccerman on April 22, 2017, 05:09:18 PM
I saw the first half and it was damn good, I checked the score to see Chelsea won 4-2 so I figured the 2nd half was entertaining. I read Matic had a spectacular goal for the 4th, I have to take in the highlights.
Post by: Deeks on April 22, 2017, 10:46:12 PM
Damn good game. I thought Spurs was going to take out Chelsea. They had them on the ropes(Ali-Forman), but that chongo shot goal by Matic kayoed Spurs. It just knocked the wind from their sails. The rest is history.
Post by: lefty on April 23, 2017, 09:56:17 AM
arsenal v city....not really ah bruiser like yesterday had moments for each side....fair score in my view.....arsenal like dey wake up after dey fans cuss dem up....dey actually showin belly......extra time
Post by: lefty on April 23, 2017, 10:09:37 AM
advantage arsenal
Title: 2017 FA Cup final
Post by: Bitter on May 27, 2017, 11:19:25 AM
On paper, Chelsea should be winning this easily.

That's why we don't play games on paper.

Plenty of time though.
Title: Re: 2017 FA Cup final
Post by: Bitter on May 27, 2017, 12:30:11 PM
Hell of a game.

Moses...  :cursing:
Post by: Deeks on May 27, 2017, 10:51:43 PM
Chelsea maybe mentally fatigued after winning the league. Not to say they did not want the FA. But the primary goal was achive a weak ago. But the gunners needed this real bad. Especially Wenger.
Post by: soccerman on January 25, 2019, 01:20:22 PM
Anyone know of a link where you can watch the FA Cup games? ESPN bought the rights to show they games but you can only see it on ESPN+ in the US.
Post by: Flex on January 27, 2020, 04:29:12 PM
2020 English FA-Cup Fifth-round draw

Portsmouth v. Arsenal - March 2

Reading v. Sheffield United- March 3

Chelsea v. Liverpool - March 3

Newcastle United v. West Bromwich Albion- March 3

Leicester City v. Birmingham City - March 4

Sheffield Wednesday v. Manchester City - March 4

Tottenham Hotspur v. Norwich City - March 4

Derby County v. Manchester United- March 5

The Round Five ties take place in the middle of the week commencing Monday 2 March, with exact dates yet to be announced and ticket details for our fixture to be confirmed in due course.

The moving of this round to the middle of a week this season is to help make room for the new winter break.

Post by: Flex on March 03, 2020, 04:31:24 PM
Chelsea reach FA Cup quarterfinals in win over struggling Liverpool
ESPN

Chelsea completed a torrid few days for Liverpool as goals by Willian and Ross Barkley sealed a 2-0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jAVLhQ8e5qQ) victory to send them through to the FA Cup quarterfinals on Tuesday.

Liverpool's 44-match unbeaten streak in the Premier League ended in stunning fashion with a 3-0 defeat at Watford on Saturday and they were rocked again at Stamford Bridge.

Keeper Adrian allowed Willian's powerful shot to creep past him in the 13th minute and former Everton midfielder Barkley drove home Chelsea's second goal just past the hour mark.

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp made seven changes to the side that lost to Watford but he still fielded an experienced line-up, having played a virtual under-21 side in the previous round against Shrewsbury Town.

Sadio Mane wasted several early chances and Chelsea keeper Kepa Arrizabalaga, back for the first time since being dropped in January, made a remarkable triple save before halftime.

But Chelsea, with 18-year-old Billy Gilmour impressive in midfield, were merited winners as they moved through.

For Liverpool, a season of utter dominance has suddenly hit a slump with three defeats in four games in all competitions having also lost to Atletico Madrid in the first leg of their Champions League, last-16 tie.

Teams

Chelsea XI: Kepa Arrizabalaga; César Azpilicueta, Kurt Zouma, Antonio Rüdiger, Marcos Alonso; Mateo Kovacic, Billy Gilmour, Ross Barkley; Willian, Olivier Giroud, Pedro.

Liverpool XI: Adrián; Neco Williams, Virgil van Dijk, Joe Gomez, Andy Robertson; Fabinho, Adam Lallana, Curtis Jones; Takumi Minamino, Sadio Mane, Divock Origi.

Gilmour 9/10, Kepa 8/10 as Chelsea bounce Liverpool from FA Cup
By Danny Lewis (ESPN)

Chelsea may have struggled against Bayern Munich and Bournemouth in their previous two contests, but you wouldn't have known based on Tuesday's performance, the Blues looking very convincing during their 2-0 FA Cup Fifth Round win over Liverpool.

The Blues pulled ahead in the 13th minute, via a fortunate Willian goal. After the Brazilian had seen his strike saved brilliantly by Adrian a matter of seconds before, his countryman Fabinho lost the ball on the edge of his own box, gifting Willian an opportunity. The winger hit his shot straight at Adrian, but the keeper made a meal of it, the ball squirting through his arms and into the net to give Chelsea the lead.

The home side doubled their advantage on 64 minutes, Ross Barkley powering through the middle of the pitch on a long solo run and smashing a brilliant strike from outside the box. Frank Lampard's men professionally saw out their 2-0 lead from there, as Chelsea advanced to the final eight of the tournament that is now their best chance at silverware this season.

Positives

The Blues showed their intensity from the very beginning of the game, not letting Liverpool settle at all. Their pressing was an important part of this, as best embodied by the lead up to their opener, when they forced the mistake from Liverpool on the edge of their own box.

In addition, the midfield unit worked superbly, while various players in the team showed their versatility by playing out of position.

Negatives

Chelsea could have easily been a goal down early on, as they gave the ball away cheaply in dangerous areas twice in the opening minutes. Being picky with their attacking play, they could have been a bit more clinical.

Finally, Mateo Kovacic and Willian both came off injured which will be a worry for Lampard with the Blues in a tight battle for a Champions League place.

Manager rating out of 10

9 -- Lampard trusted Billy Gilmour to play in the middle of the park, which is a decision that was definitely warranted. The Chelsea boss also dealt with the setback from the aforementioned injuries well, showing he isn't afraid to move players around when push comes to shove. This felt like a game that was won by the tactics and collective unit rather than individual performances.

Player ratings (1-10; 10 = best, players introduced after 70 minutes get no rating)

GK Kepa Arrizabalaga, 8 -- If there was a lack of confidence in the Spaniard, it likely will have been remedied by his superb triple save. He also showed real control and maturity, as he wasn't afraid to go long when it wasn't appropriate to play out from the back -- something that he's struggled with in the past.

DF Cesar Azpilicueta, 5 -- There were multiple points where his defending looked suspect, while some of his passing was also off.

DF Antonio Rudiger, 7 -- Made a shocking clearance that almost led to a Liverpool goal within three minutes, but looked a lot more solid as time went on.

DF Kurt Zouma, 7 -- The Frenchman also made an early error on the ball, but just like his centre-back partner, he settled down as time went on.

DF Marcos Alonso, 7 -- Came painfully close to scoring with a free kick and was steady in his general play. Showed that he can be a useful option for Lampard when deploying a back four.

MF Mateo Kovacic, 6 -- Played with the all-action style that is typical of him and was looking fairly effective. However, he was forced off in the 42nd minute after a challenge from Neco Williams.

MF Billy Gilmour, 9 -- There was a lot of focus on the 18-year-old before kick-off, but that didn't faze him in the slightest, as he looked very composed. Taking his age out of the equation, Gilmour was seriously impressive with both his play on the ball and the defensive side of the game. It won't be much of a surprise if we see more of the teenager this season.

FW Willian, 7 -- Having just been denied by Adrian, he scored just seconds after thanks in large to an error from Adrian. There were other bright moments for the Brazilian before being forced off through injury in the 51st minute.

MF Ross Barkley, 7 -- Showed impressive creativity on the ball, but struggled to make the most of some chances. However, he carved one out for himself and finished it off superbly, as he drove through the middle of the pitch and fired a laser by Adrian from outside the box.

FW Pedro, 5 -- He was guilty of overcomplicating things, which prevented him from making the most of the opportunities that arose. Also worked hard to help Azpilicueta defensively. His willingness to work and wastefulness in the attacking third were embodied when he won the ball but hit a weak strike that was easily saved by Adrian.

FW Olivier Giroud, 7 - The Frenchman really struggled in and around the opposition box, but provided some very encouraging link-up play to bring his teammates into the game.

Substitutes

MF Mason Mount, 6 -- Replaced the injured Kovacic in the 42nd minute and was really positive in his play. Hit the crossbar with a free kick from near the edge of the box.

MF Jorginho, 5 -- Replaced Willian in the 51st minute and struggled to put his stamp on the game.

DF Reece James, N/R -- Replaced Giroud in the 90th minute and didn't have much to do.

Post by: Flex on June 28, 2020, 01:56:23 PM
Manchester United will square off with Chelsea while Manchester City will face Arsenal as the draw for the FA Cup semifinals was revealed on Sunday.

The semifinal round will be played July 18-19 with the final being contested on Aug. 1. The games are scheduled to be held at Wembley Stadium.

Post by: Flex on January 25, 2021, 06:01:38 AM
FA Cup 5th round draw

Manchester United v West Ham United
Everton/Sheffield Wednesday v Wycombe Wanderers/Tottenham
Swansea City v Cheltenham Town/Manchester City
Barnsley v Chelsea
Wolves v Southampton
Leicester City v Brighton & Hove Albion
Burnley v Bournemouth/Crawley Town
Sheffield United v Bristol City

Post by: maxg on January 25, 2021, 11:25:34 AM
Up to now, I’m backing Crowley town, as it have a Grenadian national player on the team. Are there any other Caribbean nationals ? My other team with an Antiguan get knock out by Man city. Gave them a scare doh.