Sports => Football => Topic started by: redtrinigirl on October 11, 2006, 05:46:41 AM

Title: Andrew Jennings advice to the Forum on situation with Soca Warriors
Post by: redtrinigirl on October 11, 2006, 05:46:41 AM
I have of course written to Mr Jennings in an effort to give this issue as much coverage as possible. The following was his reply:

So what is to be done?
The only thing these FIFA guys hate more than losing their bundles of World Cup tickets is embarrassment.

Here’s a few ideas.
# Create funny and wicked banners to unveil at every international and Joe Public game – and every other game in the twin islands. You don’t need my advice on what to write! Wave them in front of the cameras, the politicians and the VIPs. Run these rogues out of football.

Then get serious:
# Write firm but polite letters of protest to all news media that you think don’t reflect what you know the fans think – and what is right and fair. Not all reporters seem as determined to confront that truth as Lasana is.

# Listen to the older and wiser heads among your ranks and then petition the government and the prosecuting authorities (I guess the DPP) to take action and investigate allegations of criminality. I believe that there is already a lot of information in government hands about where a lot of the money from the 2001 Under-17 tournament went. That was taxpayers’ money – your money. Where is the accountability? This is a theme to hammer away at until the Government or the DPP do something.

What other issues?
Petition the DPP to investigate how much money came in from sponsors, tickets receipts, the German WC organisers and elsewhere for this year’s World Cup – and where has it gone? What have the Warner family paid themselves? Where is the legal basis for the with-holding money for 2010?
I am sure you can think of many other money issues over the years. Talk them through – among your ranks you must have some qualified accountants, lawyers, all kinds of professional people to help draft this. Keep up the pressure on the authorities to investigate.

Now . . . get even more serious:
There’s something you guys can help me with – which in turn will help you. Start passing the word around – what is the relationship between the Warner family and the two ladies who were registered as owners of Warner’s Simpaul travel company? They are Ms Princess Rose Campbell and Ms Margaret Fletcher and they give the address of 177 Kitchener Avenue, Barataria.

It would seem obvious they are stooges. Warner had to be seen to relinquish control of the company by early March this year – otherwise he risked a real punishment from FIFA for Simpaul’s ticket rackets.

Whilst in Trinidad in May, filming for the BBC, I called at that house and a lady who appeared to be Ms Fletcher fled inside, refusing to answer questions. They then drew the curtains.

I suspect that these two ladies are innocents who have got themselves into something bigger than they expected. They should not be viewed as bad people. But I can see no evidence that they have any knowledge or experience how to operate a travel company. Of course that is actually done by Daryan Warner.

But what is their connection to Warner? Is there a kinship relationship? Any other kind? Church, social, school, college? What? How do they know the Warner family. Do what reporters and cops do – go sleuthing, knock on doors.

Why have they allowed themselves to be used in this way? How on earth did they raise the money to buy the business? Seems highly unlikely. Surely there are some Warrior fans in Kitchener Avenue and the surrounding streets who can make polite inquiries in the neighbourhood and the social circles in which these ladies move.

If these ladies can be persuaded in a fair and decent manner to tell the truth – which almost certainly is that they lent their names and in no way manage the company – then Warner is in big trouble at FIFA. So get on the street – every fan who cares – and start asking questions. File the answers to the website, Lasana and to me. Get us the information – we’ll do the writing and it will go global.

Lastly . . .
And do tell the fans on the Soca Warriors forum site thanks for their kind comments. A million Warrior fans? A million amateur investigative journalists. Get over to Barataria and PROVE you really want to clean up the T&TFF.

That’s enough for now. And do look at my website from time to time. There will be updates.

All the best,

Andrew

www.transparencyinsport.org
Title: Re: Andrew Jennings advice to the Forum on situation with Soca Warriors
Post by: dreamer on October 11, 2006, 05:54:12 AM
Awesome work Reds. The power of networking. Papayo!!!
Post by: Socapro on October 11, 2006, 06:06:52 AM
Very good work Redting & some sound investigative advice given there by Mr Jennings!

Let’s hope we as serious fans who want to clean up the TTFF seriously follow this up!

Who knows it can lead to one of us starting a career as a private "Colombo style" detective and making some extra change in our sparetime!

Colombo is one of my favorites!   ;D
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 11, 2006, 06:30:38 AM
FFFFYYYYAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Constantine20-20Torch.gif)

that is real good work meh girl
yuh get on here
I hope yuh follow up on it and something becomes of it
Post by: Mr Mc on October 11, 2006, 06:36:17 AM
Like the man say, we gotta get to the truth, under the surface.  Gotta force those in a position to do something to take action and investigate.
Al Sharpton once said, people didnt like him because his antics would create hype over issues that folks did not want in the media or talked about, when you shine a light the roaches run away.
MAKE SOME NOISE!!!
Post by: Dutty on October 11, 2006, 07:04:06 AM
Nice work  :thumbsup:...lawd..everybody disturvin de vampire crypt dis mornin self

by de way who is dem woman..margaret fletcher and de nexx one?
Post by: dreamer on October 11, 2006, 07:11:52 AM
Want I want investigated is how we linlk this case to possible DPP action. Dais when de s%$& go hit de fan. We have to talk to some lawyer people
Post by: redtrinigirl on October 11, 2006, 07:21:20 AM
Want I want investigated is how we linlk this case to possible DPP action. Dais when de s%$& go hit de fan. We have to talk to some lawyer people

That's the part I will have to do some investigations into. Cause I think nothing can come of it unless the organisation (TTFF) asks the police to come in and investigate/arrest Warner's dealings. If the business does not make a complaint, I don't kow how much the police and DPP can do to proceed with getting to the bottom of the shady dealings and disappearing millions.

But it's a damn shame though. Imagine if yuh ketch a druglord/pusher and try him and convict him the state can seize his assets as the profits from his illegal activities.

I wonder if the same can be done for fraud and imbezzlement in this case? Cause I know for a fact, when they ketch staff committing fraud and embezzlement at the banks, they seize anything they may have bought, and their funds, from the time of the person committing the act.

I will investigate further. There must be something that can be done. I dread, I doh just want Warner to go, I doh just want to get back de money, I want to bring down the whole Warner "empire". I want them gone from the business scene in TT for good.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 11, 2006, 07:24:18 AM

I doh just want Warner to go, I doh just want to get back de money, I want to bring down the whole Warner "empire". I want them gone from the business scene in TT for good.

woe be on to the man that horn you
Post by: redtrinigirl on October 11, 2006, 07:30:31 AM

I doh just want Warner to go, I doh just want to get back de money, I want to bring down the whole Warner "empire". I want them gone from the business scene in TT for good.

woe be on to the man that horn you

Yuh understan! And I was training to be a Biochemist....  :devil:
Post by: Socafan on October 11, 2006, 07:53:20 AM
Dangerous ground. Tread smart.
Post by: trinbago on October 11, 2006, 08:08:02 AM
Director of Public Prosecutions

Tel No: (868) 625-9747

Fax No: (868) 625-6341

Minister of Legal Affairs, Consumer Affairs, Companies Registry, Legal Aid and Advisory

Christine Kangaloo
tel: 625-9971
tel: 623-7163
fax:625-9803
mlalr@tstt..net.tt

Minister Of Nat'l Security, Money Laundering, Law Enforcement

Martin Joseph
tel:623-2441
fax: 627-8044
mns@tstt.net.tt

Post by: Trini on October 11, 2006, 08:24:43 AM
Isn't it ironic that the Trinidad public is now gunning against Warner.

A Trini on top the football world could be brought down by his own people.

6 months ago he could have gotten the presidency of Trinidad if he wanted,  he was celebrated for his dedication to our national cause.

Now this.

But right is right and wrong is wrong, and fair is fair.

All I want is the thruth. If he do bad, he should be exposed for that and things run their due course.

This whole thing better than any soap opera.

Kinda remind me of how we adored Latas and Yorke, then wanted to lynch them, then adored them more than before.

This is the sweetest place in the world yes.
Post by: dreamer on October 11, 2006, 08:38:27 AM

But right is right and wrong is wrong, and fair is fair.

All I want is the thruth. If he do bad, he should be exposed for that and things run their due course.

Careful now Trini. Yuh starting to stray but this part of your post I will endorse.  :beermug:
Post by: elan on October 11, 2006, 10:15:34 AM
I don't know if this was posted before but I read this and wonder how  FIFA could be so hard and fast on something like this. On the other hand they turn a blind eye to more pressing and disturbing matter of nepotism, bribery, embezzlement, etc. It makes me believe that they make never take any true action against Mr. warner and the TTFF for their under-handed dealings.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=384557&cc=5901

FIFA warn Kenyan federation over parallel leagues

NAIROBI, Oct 11 (Reuters) - FIFA has told Kenya's football federation (KFF) it has no mandate to run the east African nation's championship as the release of fixtures for parallel leagues compounded chaos.

KFF and its rival Kenya Premier League (KPL) on Tuesday published match schedules for parallel championships - the second time in as many months this has happened amid a battle for control.

Kenya's top football clubs have split into two factions but Jerome Champagne, FIFA Delegate of the President for special affairs, said KFF does not have the right to decide which teams should participate.

'Clubs participating in leagues are not decided by federations, but by independent boards, in this case KPL,' he told Reuters from Zurich on Wednesday.

Despite a warning from FIFA President Sepp Blatter for Kenya to sort out the mess by Oct. 18 or face sanctions, both the KFF and the KPL are ploughing their own courses.
Last month the Kenyan government gave one of the two rival bodies an ultimatum to dissolve voluntarily or be forced to deregister. The government did not say which of the two bodies should close down but observers said it would be KPL.

Kenya was threatened with suspension from all soccer activity at FIFA's annual congress in Marrakesh in October 2005 because of government interference in the running of the sport.

Post by: Andre on October 11, 2006, 10:20:18 AM
LEAVE MIH BOY!

on a serious tip...i is play on a predominantly kenyan side. they have plenty skill but is support the english game more than the kenyan game. hopefully, we eh end up like that one day.
Post by: WestCoast on October 11, 2006, 10:37:55 AM
Elan, you ever hear bout doh come into my neighbourhood and tief.....as long as FIFA people doing ting FIFA doh care buh as soon as it start to interfere wid day "setup" day go buss de file on dem.
Dat is "bad mind" human nature.

people have you all been following this story for Many years or y'all jez reach on de scene?
there are Footballers in TnT dat get string up by Warner after they expressed their discomfort with some of the things that the TTFF has done. They are not able to play again while he day at TTFF.
He come right out and said that he in fact OVER sold the stadium in 89.
He paid $1 for the TV rights and KEPT the profits. If he could make money why he didn't let the TTFF make that money ???
He sold WC tickets for big profit and FIFA has buried the E&Y reports.
He said that the TTFF got all this money back in December and NOW saying that it is really $71 MILLION LESS................................SEVENTY ONE MILLION DOLLARS LESS???
Trinidadians come nuh man, we all could do way better than that.
AND these are just the things that he has been caught at
you know that I have NO financial gain to be had from all of this..ALL I care about is that we, including FIFA, TTFF and "The Special Advisor" (oh by the way NO OTHER football federation has a Special Advisor, and WHY is that ??? ) to do the RIGHT thing
Why are we SO upset by this...it is NOT a reflection on Trinidad and Tobago, it is a reflection on those who have abused their power to attain financial gain.
when our neighbour, who is we good pardner, get charged wid robbery...it is NOT a reflection on our lives...that person has done wrong and should stand up to the charges.

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/
Post by: dreamer on October 11, 2006, 11:00:28 AM
Yuh know, I was just reading Jennings and Ernst and Young's comments from the link and the following sunk in as the stink of the ticketing scandal with Jackula and Jackulito wafted through the air. Apart from wanting to make money from the ticket scandal, Jack I believe wanted to ensure that as many influential people are beholden to him after he set them up with tickets. How yuh could say anyting when Uncle Jack get a special seat for yuh, Uncle Jack pullsome strings for you to get a flight and so on. He understands the concept of blackmail and hush money well. Doh worry, He is not smart enough to cover all angles.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 12, 2006, 06:32:41 AM
Kinda remind me of how we adored Latas and Yorke, then wanted to lynch them, then adored them more than before.

Kinda remind me of his "yesterday is yesterday and today is tody" statement of some months ago.....sneaky tie tongue tief....

Now de man say to make banners and thing and wave dem at games.....when is de next game??....I goh be waving mih banner!!!...
Post by: truetrini on October 12, 2006, 07:16:54 AM
Just my two cents here ok.

1.  No one here has been against Mr. Austin Jack Warner as longas I have.

2.  I am a staunch supporter of dis website and de Warrior Nation.

3.  I want to dee the day that Jack Warner and Camps and de Corneals and Groden depart from T&T football....real bad.

4.  I want to see a TTFF that is ruh with transparency and honesty.

5.  I wish that the government of T&T manages the country's resources with efficiency and respect for the citizenry.

Now, let me make my position clear.  I will support any grassroots movement to depose Mr. Warner, but there is something about Mr. Jennings' tone that I dislike.  I cannot exactly put my finger on it, but I feel it. 

I would also caution against contacting members of the press, or TTFF or FIFA and representing yourself as a member of this website or the WN (not saying that is the case here ok).  Because while we all know what we feel about the TTFF and by extension Mr. Warner, we have a board of directors within the Warrior Nation and I feel that if we make any statements to the press etc. we should do as a citizen and only mention the WN if we have express permission from the Board of Directors or from the webmasters here, if we use Socawarriors.net.

additionally, I would refrain from knocking on anyone's doors in T&T asking questions of the nature suggested by Mr. Jennings.  By all means exercise your rights, and demand to learn the truth, but for heaven's sake, please do not attempt to illicit any malfeasnce etc. as if you are a member of the poilce force or an investigative reporter.

It jes aint de best or most prudent thing to do.  Allyuh done know de scene in T&T as it pertains to crime and unsolved murders etc.

tread carefully, and by all means write letters and call in raido and TV shows etc.

petition all dat but jes be smart ok?
Post by: Jahyouth on October 12, 2006, 07:44:02 AM

3.  I want to dee the day that Jack Warner and Camps and de Corneals and Groden depart from T&T football....real bad.

5.  I wish that the government of T&T manages the country's resources with efficiency and respect for the citizenry.

Now, let me make my position clear.  I will support any grassroots movement to depose Mr. Warner, but there is something about Mr. Jennings' tone that I dislike.  I cannot exactly put my finger on it, but I feel it. 

I would also caution against contacting members of the press, or TTFF or FIFA and representing yourself as a member of this website or the WN (not saying that is the case here ok).  Because while we all know what we feel about the TTFF and by extension Mr. Warner, we have a board of directors within the Warrior Nation and I feel that if we make any statements to the press etc. we should do as a citizen and only mention the WN if we have express permission from the Board of Directors or from the webmasters here, if we use Socawarriors.net.

additionally, I would refrain from knocking on anyone's doors in T&T asking questions of the nature suggested by Mr. Jennings.  By all means exercise your rights, and demand to learn the truth, but for heaven's sake, please do not attempt to illicit any malfeasnce etc. as if you are a member of the poilce force or an investigative reporter.

It jes aint de best or most prudent thing to do.  Allyuh done know de scene in T&T as it pertains to crime and unsolved murders etc.

tread carefully, and by all means write letters and call in raido and TV shows etc.

:yapping:   :sleepy:
Post by: Jumbie on October 12, 2006, 07:52:05 AM

I agree.. be careful.
Post by: Socapro on October 12, 2006, 07:57:28 AM

I agree.. be careful.

Same here!
TT's advice is quite relevant, he not just talking for talking sake as Jahyouth is implying!
Post by: Jahyouth on October 12, 2006, 08:12:45 AM

I agree.. be careful.

Same here!
TT's advice is quite relevant, he not just talking for talking sake as Jahyouth is implying!

I was just pulling truetrinis leg.  He definitely has a point
Post by: pass(10trini) on October 12, 2006, 09:15:17 AM

I have to agree with TT on this . When I first read this thread ah thought the same thing but didn't post on it. After reading TT warning ah have to confirm and endorse his belief.

Let me jes say me eh want to be in any ' International Witch Hunt ' for any ah meh Trini bredrins even doh ah eh like dey dealings an ting. At the end ah de day is we character (Trinidad and Tobago's) dat go get judgement by these ignorant asses. If allyuh wah go , do yuh ting an be very careful cause as TT say nuff tings happen in TNT and it never have any recourse or action to be taken for justice.

Hold it dong !
Post by: weary1969 on October 12, 2006, 09:21:26 AM
I agree to be careful man does disappear for less. As for Jennings motive. If it was Jack alone he was hounding then I would have been suspicious. Jack is the only one however, who lost his cool.
Post by: WestCoast on October 12, 2006, 10:37:11 AM
Thank you TrueTrini for bringing a sober second opinion into the mix
and I too was a little uneasy when he mentioned those two ladies.
I find that very unprofessional and that is something he could have done himself and NOT include in his email to RedTriniGirl, and I wondered at the time if in fact it was from Mr Jennings.
Post by: Bricktop on October 12, 2006, 10:44:47 AM
we have a board of directors within the Warrior Nation

You guys have a board of directors  ??? If I laugh a dead  ;D How many directors are on the board and how can I become a shareholder? After all if you have a board of directors you must by extension have shareholders right?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: dcs on October 12, 2006, 11:13:34 AM

You guys have a board of directors  ??? If I laugh a dead  ;D How many directors are on the board and how can I become a shareholder? After all if you have a board of directors you must by extension have shareholders right?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

That is for the Supporters Club
www.thewarriornation.com
You could be a shareholder if you want once you pay your dues.
Allyuh Jakans have anything similar?
Post by: Bricktop on October 12, 2006, 11:16:10 AM
That is for the Supporters Club
www.thewarriornation.com
You could be a shareholder if you want once you pay your dues.
Allyuh Jakans have anything similar?
So do they pay dividends? I believe we have the Reggae Boyz Supporters Club.
Post by: WestCoast on October 12, 2006, 11:18:19 AM
nex ting ah set ah jamrockers on here calling for membership privileges ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Peong on October 12, 2006, 11:38:16 AM
After all if you have a board of directors you must by extension have shareholders right?
Wrong.
You can have a BOD without any shares.  Non-profits have a BOD.
Post by: Bricktop on October 12, 2006, 11:39:34 AM
After all if you have a board of directors you must by extension have shareholders right?
Wrong.
You can have a BOD without any shares.  Non-profits have a BOD.
Is the WARRIOR NATION a non-profit?
Post by: socachatter on October 12, 2006, 11:55:26 AM
i think the word you are looking for truetrini is PATRONIZING.  he is suggesting that we prove the level of our commitment to the soca warriors by hunting down info for him.  steups!  I agree with you...tread carefully. 
Post by: dcs on October 12, 2006, 12:10:06 PM
Is the WARRIOR NATION a non-profit?

Yes it is.

Post by: asylumseeker on October 12, 2006, 12:24:54 PM
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 13, 2006, 06:58:35 AM

Kinda remind me of his "yesterday is yesterday and today is tody" statement of some months ago.....sneaky tie tongue tief....

Now de man say to make banners and thing and wave dem at games.....when is de next game??....I goh be waving mih banner!!!...

Ah had to admit that I agreed readily with waving of de banner and protest of that nature, but I know mih ent no detective and mih ent know bout knocking on nobody door to ask them nothing, so yest we have tread carefully....but we cyar just sit down and do nothing....

Post by: Touches on October 18, 2006, 07:38:47 AM
Imagine somebody from the Trinidad Guardian thief this thread and put it in page 77.

Fuss dey looking for story.

No author no nuttin.

But they did say It was Flex message board and socawarriors.net that the messsage was posted.

Post by: weary1969 on October 18, 2006, 10:20:50 AM
We real popular boy
Title: Foul.....one of de stories from the book
Post by: WestCoast on January 12, 2008, 06:41:51 PM
allya check out dis story that is on Transparency In Sport
http://www.transparencyinsport.org/greene.html

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/
Post by: kentsoulman on January 12, 2008, 09:02:48 PM
Forumites, its easy for me living safely in England to critisice, but I have to say, that if this information related to someone in England, I would write a letter to the newspapers letters page and ask those questions about those two ladies.

We have just had a similar case in England, where 2 working class people allegedly donated £1million to the Labour Party. After very brief investigations, it become apparent that identity fraud had taken place and these people were not aware that their names had been used.

You could write anonymously to the papers. But you must try to get this out in the open. Also, if government funding is involved, you have the right as a citizen to demand transparency.

Finally, Mr Jennings has said that he personally visited the ladies house. He's back in England now. He cannot visit the street, but you can. Its not his fight. He just believes in justice. Its your fight, and therefore, to protect your football, its down to Trinis to take action. Jennings and Lasana can expose certain information, but its your country and your football. Write to the papers and get the truth into the open.

Sorry I am so aggresive, but its not everyday that Gillingham score 3 goals away from home!!  ;D 
Post by: WestCoast on January 12, 2008, 10:15:21 PM
Forumites, its easy for me living safely in England to critisice, but I have to say, that if this information related to someone in England, I would write a letter to the newspapers letters page and ask those questions about those two ladies.

We have just had a similar case in England, where 2 working class people allegedly donated £1million to the Labour Party. After very brief investigations, it become apparent that identity fraud had taken place and these people were not aware that their names had been used.

You could write anonymously to the papers. But you must try to get this out in the open. Also, if government funding is involved, you have the right as a citizen to demand transparency.

Finally, Mr Jennings has said that he personally visited the ladies house. He's back in England now. He cannot visit the street, but you can. Its not his fight. He just believes in justice. Its your fight, and therefore, to protect your football, its down to Trinis to take action. Jennings and Lasana can expose certain information, but its your country and your football. Write to the papers and get the truth into the open.

Sorry I am so aggresive, but its not everyday that Gillingham score 3 goals away from home!!  ;D 
Kentsoulman,
lets look at this objectively
Jackula has power over the TTFF
Jackula has power over CFU
Jackula has Power over CONCACAF
Jackula is a Vice President of FIFA
Jackula has power over Blatter as it is his balance of power that got Blatter elected.
Now, for anyone in Trinidad to ever HOPE that we could get Jackula to be removed from TnT Football it would be a modern day Miracle.
FIFA WILL ban Trinidad and Tobago from its competitions if the Government were to GROW testes and DO the RIGHT thing for Football in TnT and prevent Jackula from his VERY NEGATIVE influence over TnT Football.

Please give us some suggestions that would put at ease and maybe usher in an Era of Jackula free Football in TnT.
Post by: kounty on January 12, 2008, 10:41:34 PM

Kentsoulman,
lets look at this objectively
Jackula has power over the TTFF
Jackula has power over CFU
Jackula has Power over CONCACAF
Jackula is a Vice President of FIFA
Jackula has power over Blatter as it is his balance of power that got Blatter elected.
Now, for anyone in Trinidad to ever HOPE that we could get Jackula to be removed from TnT Football it would be a modern day Miracle.
FIFA WILL ban Trinidad and Tobago from its competitions if the Government were to GROW testes and DO the RIGHT thing for Football in TnT and prevent Jackula from his VERY NEGATIVE influence over TnT Football.

Please give us some suggestions that would put at ease and maybe usher in an Era of Jackula free Football in TnT.
I thkn what the man saying, is that is not the GOvahment going and save we or we football.  their hands tied.  but our hands not tied.  we have freedom of information act in t'dad? taxpayers have any right to view statements of any organization to which their taxes go into?
Post by: WestCoast on January 12, 2008, 11:01:47 PM
I thkn what the man saying, is that is not the GOvahment going and save we or we football.  their hands tied.  but our hands not tied.  we have freedom of information act in t'dad? taxpayers have any right to view statements of any organization to which their taxes go into?
Well den, we arse dark
nothing will change until there are No Mo' Warners OR No Mo' Blatters
we, I mean I,  have to learn to accept the FACTS and tolerate things as is

but den again Miracles have happened elsewhere, so who is we?
Post by: Big Magician on January 13, 2008, 07:22:22 AM
bloodless coup
Post by: kentsoulman on January 13, 2008, 07:45:13 AM
Guys, I don't know the answer to this. If the T&T government have invested money in football via TTFF, there would be a document from TTFF stating their request for funds and what it should be spent on. Therefore, the govt have every right to request overssight on that spending. They can investigate individuals. Those individuals should then be suspended pending investigation. If they have acted illegally, they can be fined or imprisoned.

The election process to TTFF can be investigated by a government appointed lawyer. If the process is not open and democratic, the TTFF can be suspended and an interim committee put in place until new elections take place.

FIFA may well suspend T&T. But they would have no legal right to do this. FIFA is a load of blokes running a game-football. It cannot overturn court cases or support illegal activity. If FIFA suspend a country, then FIFA can be sued and they can be investigated.

The whole FIFA situation is based on bullying and corruption. You can sit by and let it happen and take your bribes or attack it.

No nation has had the balls to attack it. It would take a lot of money and a lot of time.

If you read about Antigua below you will see that FIFA do not care about supporting the crooks and would rather damage football in a nation. This is because if they don't support their corrupt friends, these people may well spill the beans on FIFA.

Remember the FIFA guy who was sacked because he lied in court about the Mastercard case? As soon as the case was over and FIFA were fined $100 million, he was reinstated at a higher position and salary. Thats how they keep people quiet.

But someday, somebody will stand up to FIFA.

The question you must ask yourselves is do you want to risk missing out on a World Cup, or do you want football in T&T cleaned up for the future?

This is easy for me to say, cause I'm in England. But, trust me, missing out on World Cup finals isn't the end of the world if your game will improve in the future.

Read this piece by Jennings in todays paper.

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/downloads/files/antigua.pdf
Post by: D.H.W on January 13, 2008, 08:14:29 AM
the thing i like about the man is that he does reply to emails :beermug: compared to other people.
Post by: Bakes on January 13, 2008, 10:08:29 PM

No you dunce.  Even non-profits, which by definition cannot have "shareholders", they too have boards of directors.  If you were'nt so intent on being a jackass you might have actually thought of that one yourself.
Post by: Bakes on January 13, 2008, 10:10:56 PM
Guys, I don't know the answer to this. If the T&T government have invested money in football via TTFF, there would be a document from TTFF stating their request for funds and what it should be spent on. Therefore, the govt have every right to request overssight on that spending. They can investigate individuals. Those individuals should then be suspended pending investigation. If they have acted illegally, they can be fined or imprisoned.

The election process to TTFF can be investigated by a government appointed lawyer. If the process is not open and democratic, the TTFF can be suspended and an interim committee put in place until new elections take place.

FIFA may well suspend T&T. But they would have no legal right to do this. FIFA is a load of blokes running a game-football. It cannot overturn court cases or support illegal activity. If FIFA suspend a country, then FIFA can be sued and they can be investigated.

The whole FIFA situation is based on bullying and corruption. You can sit by and let it happen and take your bribes or attack it.

No nation has had the balls to attack it. It would take a lot of money and a lot of time.

If you read about Antigua below you will see that FIFA do not care about supporting the crooks and would rather damage football in a nation. This is because if they don't support their corrupt friends, these people may well spill the beans on FIFA.

Remember the FIFA guy who was sacked because he lied in court about the Mastercard case? As soon as the case was over and FIFA were fined $100 million, he was reinstated at a higher position and salary. Thats how they keep people quiet.

But someday, somebody will stand up to FIFA.

The question you must ask yourselves is do you want to risk missing out on a World Cup, or do you want football in T&T cleaned up for the future?

This is easy for me to say, cause I'm in England. But, trust me, missing out on World Cup finals isn't the end of the world if your game will improve in the future.

Read this piece by Jennings in todays paper.

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/downloads/files/antigua.pdf

The government didn't 'invest' any money in the TTFF.
Post by: kentsoulman on January 13, 2008, 11:31:20 PM
If I remember correctly, the Govt agreed to match the funds raised by TTFF for the WC. That must mean the Govt paid over $80 million. Now you may not call this an investment, you could say it was a donation. But if I had given someone $80m and then they say they're broke, I'd expect to have the right to ask where the money went.

Presumably, TTFF will want more Govt money in the future? In which case, the Govt should say "we'll give you more bucks once you show us where the last lot went". This is not "intervention", it is accountability. If the funds were misused in any way, the Govt have the right to begin legal investigations. Especially since they showed that minister a set of false accounts.

I can't see why the Govt can't write directly to FIFA and express their concerns and invite FIFA personell to take part in the inquiry. 

Finally, TTFF said that a third of the world cup money was to be set aside for the 2010 campaign. Therefore the money is an investment for the future. Also, if some of the money went towards youth development, again, that is an investment.

But I think we shuld stop being pedantic about wordplay and accept the fact that the Govt paid TTFF alot of taxpayers money and you guys have the right to know how it was spent.
Post by: Bakes on January 14, 2008, 01:22:03 AM
If I remember correctly, the Govt agreed to match the funds raised by TTFF for the WC. That must mean the Govt paid over $80 million. Now you may not call this an investment, you could say it was a donation. But if I had given someone $80m and then they say they're broke, I'd expect to have the right to ask where the money went.

Presumably, TTFF will want more Govt money in the future? In which case, the Govt should say "we'll give you more bucks once you show us where the last lot went". This is not "intervention", it is accountability. If the funds were misused in any way, the Govt have the right to begin legal investigations. Especially since they showed that minister a set of false accounts.

I can't see why the Govt can't write directly to FIFA and express their concerns and invite FIFA personell to take part in the inquiry. 

Finally, TTFF said that a third of the world cup money was to be set aside for the 2010 campaign. Therefore the money is an investment for the future. Also, if some of the money went towards youth development, again, that is an investment.

But I think we shuld stop being pedantic about wordplay and accept the fact that the Govt paid TTFF alot of taxpayers money and you guys have the right to know how it was spent.

The Government didn't match any specific amount, they made a contribution once the players got back from GErmany b/c the Manning government didn't want to lose face to the opposition (with which Warner is aligned) especially given Jack's carping to all who would listen that he and he alone got the Warriors to Germany.  The PNM government sought a way to buy in on the public goodwill that was being traded in the immediate wake of the Germany campaign.  I believe the amount was somewhere in the neighborhood of $30m TT, but I could be wrong on the actual figure.  Ostensibly, it was a one-time contribution made to help defray the costs of the campaign.   

The government can ask for an accounting of how that money was spent, but in reality the TTFF don't have to comply...they never applied for the money...there was no fraud or misrepresentation made as a condition for getting it.  If you decide to give your money to a beggar on the streets you have ever right to later on ask him how he spent it...doesn't mean that he owes you an answer. The government in its haste was being spendthrift with the public's money and absent of any stipulations on how the funds should be spent, the TTFF is free to do with it as they please.  The only real risk the TTFF runs is that more Government money won't be forthcoming later on.
Post by: WestCoast on January 14, 2008, 04:36:54 AM
check these two threads about the Government money
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=30950.msg355070#msg355070
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=20762.msg218769#msg218769

I am of the opinion that Jackula decided not pay the players after the Government gave them the bonus ;)
Post by: E-man on January 14, 2008, 01:42:20 PM
Suppose Antigua/Barbuda doesn't pay up on Jan 17, this Thursday, and gets kicked out of FIFA.
Does that mean their scheduled opponent, Aruba, will win by default, or will they bring in the next country on the rankings list to fill the spot?

Edit: just found ABFA's response to CFU's threat to suspend them:

Richards: CFU has no jurisdiction
by Neto Baptiste (Antigua Sun)

Friday January 11 2008

Naming the threats by the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) to suspend the Antigua and Barbuda Football Association (ABFA) as “inappropriate and unprofessional,” President of the ABFA, Mervyn “MR” Richards said that they would not be paying the $513,000, reportedly owed to former general-secretary, Paul “Chet” Greene by the specified 17 Jan deadline.

Richards made the disclosure during a press conference yesterday, in which he questioned the jurisdiction of the CFU on the matter, stating that the next step would be for Greene to take up the issue with the FIFA arbitration court.

“The posture, which has now been adopted by the CFU, cannot be accepted by the Antigua and Barbuda Football Association. The ABFA has genuine doubts as to whether the executive of the CFU has the right to threaten the ABFA with suspension in these circumstances. The ABFA has not acted in breach of any rules of the CFU and more importantly, the CFU has no jurisdiction in the dispute with Mr. Greene. The ABFA now, therefore considers that the actions of the executive of the CFU to be inappropriate and unprofessional and the ABFA would not be complying with the directives of the CFU on this matter,” Richards said.

The ABFA had been given until 17 Jan., to pay the full amount owed to Greene or face suspension from all CFU sanctioned activities – the second in a line of threats from President of the organisation, Jack Warner, to the ABFA regarding the issue.

Greene’s claim reportedly includes unpaid salaries and other miscellaneous expenditures. But according to the FA, although Greene did submit some receipts, there was never any authority by the then executive to reimburse him.

Richards further reported that his executive, on receiving legal advice, have also come to question the legitimacy of Greene’s former contract with the ABFA – he however refused to go into any details.

“We have written to the CFU to appeal the issue and have also written to the FIFA asking them to step in on our behalf. We have always had an issue with the legitimacy of the contract entered into by Greene and the then executive as well,” Richards said.

In outlining the conditions leading up to the current situation, Richards said that the ABFA had never agreed to adhere to the findings of a report put together by President of the Barbados Association, Ronald Jones, who was asked, by CFU, to act as a mediator in the matter.

“By letter dated 25 February 2005, the president of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) informed the ABFA that Mr. Ronald Jones had been appointed by the CFU to act as a mediator in the dispute. Now on 7 March of 2005, the ABFA received communication from the said Mr. Jones, confirming that he was indeed selected to act as mediator in the issue.

"We did not protest against the process and participated in the process with Mr. Jones. He visited Antigua in the first quarter of 2005 and held meeting with all persons involved including Mr. Greene and after his initial visit, Jones issued an interim report in which he determined that the dispute was soluble and he made recommendations for further discussions between the parties,” he said.

Richards went on to state that via another letter in June of 2006, that ABFA was informed by Jones, that there would have been some pre-conditions to the resolution of the matter that would have been addressed – but were never addressed.

“None of the stated pre-conditions have been satisfied to date and further, Mr. Jones, have not to the knowledge of the Association conducted any further meetings in Antigua since issuing his interim report in 2005,” he said.

“By e-mail correspondence dated on the 16 Oct 2006, the President of CFU (Jack Warner) wrote to the ABFA and indicated that having consulted FIFA, that it was accepted that the Jones report was the product of mediation and not arbitration and further recommended to Mr. Greene that he initiate the arbitration process in accordance with his purported contract,” the ABFA president said.

The conference was also attended by General-Secretary of the ABFA, Gordon “Banks” Derrick and attorney at law for the ABFA Kenny Kentish.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 14, 2008, 01:46:36 PM
check these two threads about the Government money
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=30950.msg355070#msg355070
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=20762.msg218769#msg218769

I am of the opinion that Jackula decided not pay the players after the Government gave them the bonus ;)

Sounds logical to me
Post by: weary1969 on January 14, 2008, 02:00:06 PM
It obvious dat after d mil d govt pay JW say not a damn cent 4 dem
Post by: Babalawo on April 13, 2010, 02:02:23 PM
Mr. Jennings will be in the country this week  ;D.  Contact info coming soon
Post by: weary1969 on April 13, 2010, 02:17:35 PM

As a personal guess of Basdeo Panday?
Post by: Coop's on April 13, 2010, 02:19:58 PM
      To do what?sell another book,i guess this time JW gone for sure.
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2010, 02:24:17 PM

No jack mentioned that Manning may bring Jennings on his platform
Post by: WestCoast on April 13, 2010, 05:55:10 PM

probably not
but maybe a Guest ;D ;D

easy Weary :rotfl: