Sports => Football => Topic started by: Andre on January 14, 2008, 09:09:20 AM

Title: Africa Cup Thread
Post by: Andre on January 14, 2008, 09:09:20 AM
This is what i find out:

T &T - ????

US - The 2008 African Cup of Nations will be available to  U.S. residents via pay-subscription broadband  Internet streaming video at the  3ATelesud website at www.telesud.us.

UK - BBCi (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/africa/7096771.stm)

Canada - ????

anybody know of any FREE options for those of us outside the UK?

Title: African Nations Cup Link
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 28, 2008, 04:08:04 PM
Aficionados, meh Cameroon brederin jus send meh dis link, frico, check it out

http://www.seneweb.com/sport/football/can2008.php
Title: The 2010 African Cup of Nations
Post by: Jah Gol on November 20, 2009, 12:55:43 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/africa/8371069.stm
 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/africa/8371069.stm)
Nations Cup draw
The 2010 African Cup of Nations draw is taking place in Angola.

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46768000/jpg/_46768531_mascot283.jpg)

Group A: (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/9d/Flag_of_Angola.svg/22px-Flag_of_Angola.svg.png) Angola, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/92/Flag_of_Mali.svg/22px-Flag_of_Mali.svg.png) Mali, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d1/Flag_of_Malawi.svg/22px-Flag_of_Malawi.svg.png) Malawi, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/77/Flag_of_Algeria.svg/22px-Flag_of_Algeria.svg.png) Algeria.

Group B: (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/86/Flag_of_Cote_d%27Ivoire.svg/22px-Flag_of_Cote_d%27Ivoire.svg.png) Ivory Coast, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/19/Flag_of_Ghana.svg/22px-Flag_of_Ghana.svg.png)Ghana, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/6/68/Flag_of_Togo.svg/22px-Flag_of_Togo.svg.png)Togo, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/31/Flag_of_Burkina_Faso.svg/22px-Flag_of_Burkina_Faso.svg.png) Burkina Faso.

Group C: (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fe/Flag_of_Egypt.svg/22px-Flag_of_Egypt.svg.png) Egypt, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/79/Flag_of_Nigeria.svg/22px-Flag_of_Nigeria.svg.png) Nigeria, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/0a/Flag_of_Benin.svg/22px-Flag_of_Benin.svg.png)Benin, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d0/Flag_of_Mozambique.svg/22px-Flag_of_Mozambique.svg.png) Mozambique.

Group D: (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/4/4f/Flag_of_Cameroon.svg/22px-Flag_of_Cameroon.svg.png) Cameroon, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/ce/Flag_of_Tunisia.svg/22px-Flag_of_Tunisia.svg.png) Tunisia, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/06/Flag_of_Zambia.svg/22px-Flag_of_Zambia.svg.png) Zambia, (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/04/Flag_of_Gabon.svg/22px-Flag_of_Gabon.svg.png) Gabon.

Angola versus Mali will be the opening game of the tournament.

Group A will be based in Luanda, Group B will be in Cabinda in the north of the country, Group C will play in Benguela, and Group D will be based in Lubango.

Former Angolan football legend Akwa said he thought all the groups looked difficult.

"It's not just Algeria and Angola that could go through, Mali have a good national team and they can give us a lot of problems" he said.

However, when asked how far Angola can go, he said "I believe we can reach the final".

Group B is being touted as the group of death with the prospect of Ghana and Ivory Coast renewing their rivalry.

The Chairman of Ghana's Football Association said "there is no better description of this group".

"Ivory Coast and Ghana are two of the best teams in Africa".

"The group is interesting because Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso and Togo are all our neighbours".

"Togo has Adebayor, one of the best players in the world, and Burkina Faso's Moumouni Dagano is the top scorer of the World Cup qualifying campaign," he said.

However history favours Ghana as they've met seven times and the Ivorians have won just one of those encounters.

Egypt versus Nigeria looks like an exciting fixture to open Group C with on January 12th in Benguela.

Nigeria's coach Shaibu Amodou was present at the draw and said that on paper Nigeria should emerge from Group B, but he added a word of caution.

"There are no small teams in football any more" he said.

Nigeria's former captain Sunday Oliseh described Nigeria's group as a "delicate" one.

"Mozambique gave us a lot of hassle during qualifying" he said.

Oliseh also thanked Mozambique for helping Nigeria qualify for the World Cup.

They scored a lone goal against Tunisia in the final qualifying game which helped to put Nigeria through to South Africa 2010.

Mozambique's most capped player and record goal scorer Tico-Tico said he thought it was a tough draw for his side.

"We'll just have to compete and see what happens" he said.

"Egypt are the champions of Africa so that won't be easy but if we believe in ourselves maybe we can spring some surprises," he says.

"Nigeria and Egypt would seem the obvious teams to qualify but anything can happen" he said.

Former Cameroon striker Patrick Mboma said that Group D will be no pushover either.

"We've only recently seen what Gabon can do" he said.

However he predicted that the Indomitable Lions would reach the semi-finals, after which anything can happen.

"We have a new Indomitable Lions, a new captain, a new coach and hopefully a new reality, and I hope we can start the new year in the best way," he said.
Title: Re: The 2010 African Cup of Nations
Post by: Jah Gol on November 20, 2009, 01:03:29 PM
(http://pitchinvasion.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/luanda-rendering.jpg)
Luanda, Estádio Cidade Universitária (40,000)

(http://pitchinvasion.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/cabinda.jpg)
Cabinda, Estádio Chimandela   (25,000)

(http://pitchinvasion.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/benguela-angola.jpg)

Benguela, Complexo da Sr. da Graça (25,000)

(http://pitchinvasion.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/lubango.jpg)
Lubango,Estádio Alto da Chela (25,000)
Post by: Controversial on November 20, 2009, 02:28:58 PM
group b is pressuh, im hoping to see ghana prevail this year :beermug:
Post by: Jah Gol on December 20, 2009, 08:49:53 AM
(http://www.ghanasoccernet.com/images/stories/Hearts/appiah270b.jpg)
Captain Stephen Appiah has urged Ghanaians to support the Black Stars to help them win their fifth African Cup of Nations title despite being left out of the squad.
The Italy-based midfielder was left out of next month's squad for the tournament to be held in Angola as he is recovering from injury.

Some other players were also dropped from the squad which as expected has sparked some controversy but Appiah insists the national cause comes first.

"As Ghanaians our priority is for our country to win the African Cup of Nations. We must go to Angola with a united front," Appiah told Ghanasoccernet.

"The country has named a 23-man squad to represent all of us so it is important that we all give our backing to our colleagues to do us proud.

"I have full confidence in all the players called and I know they are going there to die for the country. They have my full support, prayers and guidance.

"We must now back the management, the coach, his technical team and the players to go Angola and make all of us proud."

Appiah is recovering from a hamstring injury and is expected to return to action with his Italian side by next month.

Ghana are in a tough Group D where they will play Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso and Togo.

http://www.ghanasoccernet.com/content/view/4589/51/
 (http://www.ghanasoccernet.com/content/view/4589/51/)
Post by: Jah Gol on December 31, 2009, 12:41:16 PM
Nigeria Release 23-Man List For Nations Cup
http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/84/africa/2009/12/31/1718937/nigeria-release-23-man-list-for-nations-cup
 (http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/84/africa/2009/12/31/1718937/nigeria-release-23-man-list-for-nations-cup)
It is a case of the usual suspects as Nigeria release final list for AFCON.

Nigeria’s coach Shuaibu Amodu has released the list of 23 players that will represent the country at the Nations Cup beginning on January 10 in Angola.

There are no surprises in the list as they all come from the squad that played in Nigeria’s successful qualification for the World Cup. There was no room for any Nigeria based footballer in the team selected by Amodu.

The list is as follows:

Goalkeepers

Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv,Isreal)

Bamidele Aiyenugba (Bnei Yehuda, Israel)

Austin Ejide (Bastia, France)

Defenders

Joseph Yobo (Everton, England)

Danny Shittu (Bolton, England)

Obinna Nwaneri (FC Sion, Switzerland)

Taye Taiwo (Marseille, France)

Elderson Echiejile (Rennes, France)

Yusuf Mohammed (FC Sion, Switzerland)

Chidi Odiah (CSKA, Russia)

Onyekachi Apam (Nice, France)

Midfielders

Nwankwo Kanu (Portsmouth, England)

Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England)

Dickson Etuhu (Fulham, England) 

Sani Kaita (Lokomotiv, Russia)

Yusuf Ayila Dynamo Kiev, Ukriane)

Oluwaseyi Olofinjana (Stoke, England)

Kalu Uche (Almeria, Spain)

Attackers

Yakubu Aiyegbeni (Everton, England)

Osaze Odemwingie (Lokomotiv, Russia)

Michael Eneramo (Esperance, Tunisia)

Obinna Nsofor (Malaga, Spain)

Obafemi Martins (Wolfsburg, Germany)

Chinedu Obasi (Hoffenheim, Germany)

Lolade Adewuyi, Goal.com
Post by: weary1969 on January 01, 2010, 07:16:41 AM
I 4get this boi more football 2 watch LAWDDDDDDDDDD
Post by: Brownsugar on January 01, 2010, 07:41:14 AM
Is this coming on local TV?  I think TV 6 would usually show it.... :-\
Post by: Jah Gol on January 01, 2010, 09:10:53 AM
I haven't seen any ads for it yet.
Post by: weary1969 on January 01, 2010, 09:52:25 AM
I haven't seen any ads for it yet.

Dey betta doh play
Post by: elan on January 01, 2010, 01:16:24 PM
How de hell Ghana, Ivory Coast and Togo wil be in the same group. The ACN eh learning from FIFA or what? I think Algeria may cause the US to think twice.
Post by: kev on January 02, 2010, 01:49:24 PM
Mensah is out of the Ghana squad due to injury :o
Title: Togo football team's bus fired on
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2010, 11:21:31 AM
Togo football team's bus fired on
BBC News

A bus carrying Togo's national football team to the Africa Cup of Nations has been hit by machine-gun fire, injuring two players, reports say.

The reported incident occurred as the bus was en route to Angola from the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The Africa Cup of Nations is due to start in Angola on Sunday.

Togo's first game is to be played on Monday in the oil-rich northern territory of Cabinda, where rebels have been fighting for independence.

The identities of the wounded players are not known. There are unconfirmed reports of serious injuries.

The Togolese team includes Manchester City striker Emmanuel Adebayor.
Post by: dinho on January 08, 2010, 11:23:36 AM
wow!!
Title: "The Togo national team machine-gunned"
Post by: dwn on January 08, 2010, 11:37:49 AM
soccernet.com

The Togo national team bus has been machine-gunned by Angolan rebels on the Congolese border ahead of the African Cup of Nations, it has been reported in L'Equipe.

The Sparrow Hawks are in the country ahead of the African Nations Cup, which gets under way on Sunday.

Two Togo players and the bus driver are reported to have been among the injured. "I am fine but several players are in a bad way," Nantes striker Thomas Dossevi told Radio Monte Carlo.

"We are still at hospital. We were attacked like dogs and had to hide for 20 minutes under the seats to avoid the bullets."

Dossevi said the vehicle was attacked by rebels past the Angolan border. "We were shot, although we had two police coaches on our sides" said the FC Nantes forward. "There are two injured players and also some staff."

The two players injured are reported to be GSI Pontivy goalkeeper Kodjovi Obilalé and Vaslui FC defender Serge Akakpo. Others among the injured are also the coach driver, an assistant coach, a doctor and a journalist who was following the team. Alaixis Romao, theGrenoble player, told RMC he could count seven people injured.

According to RMC, the attack happened around 3.15 pm just after players entered Cabinda, one of the four host venues of the African Cup of Nations. Witnesses said that the attack was very violent and that the team could only protect itself by lying down in the coach with front part of the vehicle especially targeted.

The incident looks set to place in jeopardy the chances of Togo entering the competition. Dossevi confirmed this. "We are not thinking about possible actions yet, but it's true no one wants to play", he said.

"We are not capable. Before everything we have to think of the health of our injured. There was a lot of blood on the floor. We haven't had a lot of updates about their health since they were dispatched to local hospitals. In this case, we think of families, of the people we love because we really could have died there."
Post by: fari on January 08, 2010, 12:32:23 PM
totally reprehensible and irresponsible
Post by: Brownsugar on January 08, 2010, 01:48:09 PM
WTF??!!   :o :o :o :'(
Post by: Andre on January 08, 2010, 01:52:40 PM
they must be disgruntled arsenal fans.

more details - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8449319.stm
Title: Togo team bus in gun attack
Post by: triniairman on January 08, 2010, 02:19:47 PM
Togo team bus in gun attack
Nine thought to be injured as Togo bus is attacked

The Togo national team came under attack from gunfire in Angola when their bus was ambushed, with their driver killed and nine others thought to have been wounded.

The Sparrow Hawks are in the country ahead of the African Cup of Nations which gets under way on Sunday, with Manchester City striker Emmanuel Adebayor and Aston Villa's Moustapha Salifou amongst the travelling party. Both escaped uninjured.

Those injured included two footballers from the West African nation, with Togolese football federation vice-president Gabriel Ameyi having said back-up goalkeeper Obilale Kossi and central defender Serge Akakpo were among those hurt.

Romanian side FC Vaslui confirmed their defender Akakpo, who joined the club from French side Auxerre last year, was shot and badly injured in the attack.

The club said, though, the 22-year-old was out of danger after being treated by doctors.

A statement on the club's website read: "Badly injured in an ambush in Angola, Serge Akakpo is now out of danger.

"Akakpo was struck by two bullets in the attack and has lost much blood. His condition was stabilised by doctors.

"FC Vaslui have been in touch with relatives of the player, who confirmed he has undergone surgery, which went very well."

Aston Villa have also confirmed that their 26-year-old midfielder Salifou was "shaken but okay" following the attack.

A statement posted on City's official website read: "Manchester City can confirm that striker Emmanuel Adebayor is uninjured after this afternoon's attack on the Togo team bus in Angola.

"Club officials have spoken with Adebayor and though shaken by the terrible events, he is unharmed."

Togo are scheduled to begin their cup campaign against Ghana on Monday, but their participation in the tournament now looks in serious doubt.

Togo and Nantes striker Thomas Dossevi told French radio station RMC: "I'm okay but several players are in a bad state.

"We are still at hospital. We were machine-gunned like dogs and had to remain hidden under our seats for around 20 minutes to avoid the bullets."

Midfielder Alaixys Romao admits the players feared the worst and thinks Togo are now likely to pull out of the tournament.

"We're not thinking yet of what could happen," said Romao, who plays his club football for Grenoble.

"But it's true that no-one wants to play. We're not capable of it.

"We're thinking first of all about the health of our injured because there was a lot of blood on the ground.

"For the moment there is not much news because they have been taken to different hospitals.

"In cases like these we're thinking of those near us, of those we love because that really could have been the end of us."

Midfielder Richmond Forson believes the number of injuries could have been much worse had the gunmen not originally fired on the wrong bus.

"It was the bus carrying our baggage which was in front of us which they fired on the most," he told Canal Plus. "They thought we were in the bus in front.

"Fortunately for us. That's what saved us. Then they fired on our driver and those who were in front. The windscreen was shattered by the first bullets.

"It's disgusting to take bullets for a football match."

Dossevi later gave more details about the attack. He added: "We had just crossed the border five minutes before, we were surrounded by police buses, one in front of us another behind.

"Everything was fine and then there was a powerful burst of gunfire.

"Everyone threw themselves under the seats and tried to protect themselves but some couldn't escape the bullets.

"It lasted a good 15 minutes, the police fired back but really, it was hard to handle and it still is now. I'm shocked.

"When we got off the bus we were asking ourselves why us and not others? We were asking ourselves what had happened, we were crying and thanking God."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5844019,00.html
Post by: Jah Gol on January 08, 2010, 03:18:19 PM
Outrageous ! In the absence of a direct flight they should have at least been given a military escort, cease fire or not.
Post by: Babalawo on January 08, 2010, 03:40:41 PM
avoid playing any games in angola or any hostile territories either
Title: Togo team bus attacked in Angola; 6 hurt
Post by: ttcom on January 08, 2010, 06:24:37 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/news?slug=ap-togo-busattacked&prov=ap&type=lgns
Post by: Jah Gol on January 09, 2010, 07:08:18 AM
Togo is going home, they will not play in the tournament. BBC just reported. Togo's football federation doesn't exist right now and it was the Togolese Government that made arrangements for the team to be transported by bus.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 09, 2010, 07:11:14 AM
Togo football team pulls out of Africa Cup of Nations

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/47071000/jpg/_47071854_jex_567127_de27-1.jpg)
Togo's football team are pulling out of the Africa Cup of Nations following a deadly gun attack on their team bus in Angola.

Two players were shot and injured in the attack in Angola's northern province of Cabinda on Friday and the coach driver was killed.

Organisers say the tournament will go ahead but Togo's players had been discussing whether they would stay.
Team captain Emmanuel Adebayor said on Friday many players wanted to go home.

The BBC's Russell Fuller in Angola says the head of the Ghanaian Football Association has confirmed to him that the Togolese team have pulled out.

The Togo squad is on its way to the airport to leave the country, he says.

Adebayor, who plays for Manchester City, told the BBC: "I think a lot of players want to leave, I don't think they want to be at this tournament any more because they have seen their death already.

"Most of the players want to go back to their family. No-one can sleep after what they have seen today."

Among the nine people injured were two players, an assistant manager, physio, goalkeeping coach and another coach.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8449978.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8449978.stm)
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2010, 07:21:33 AM
http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/.element/apps/cvp/3.0/swf/cnn_416x234_embed.swf?context=embed&videoId=sports/2010/01/08/pinto.bpr.angola.attack.cnn
Post by: Deeks on January 09, 2010, 09:19:49 AM
This is really sad and cowardly. To attack your guests when you invite them into your home is sinful. I have read where Cabinda have had serious issues with the gov't. Okay!!!!  But to deliberately try to kill unarmed people to make a point  is sad. These seperatist will never get my support. Let's pray for the level headed Angolan and Cabinda people who strive to resolve this issue by peaceful means. It does not matter if they stay one coubtry or seperate countries. Fuera with them terrorists.
Post by: Deeks on January 09, 2010, 09:25:53 AM
Cabinda from skyscrapercity.com

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?p=49712459#post49712459
Post by: WestCoast on January 09, 2010, 09:32:33 AM
very very Sad situation indeed
Post by: Bakes on January 09, 2010, 10:20:12 AM
The political situation in South Africa is nowhere as unstable as it is in Angola... but I imagine that this would only raise anew the questions regarding security for the Cup.

I feel really bad for the Togolese players... worse for the victims and their family.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 09, 2010, 12:04:00 PM

Look decent eh !
Title: Togo will play in African Cup after deadly ambush
Post by: ribbit on January 10, 2010, 12:12:55 AM

Togo will play in African Cup after deadly ambush
 (http://news.ca.msn.com/top-stories/cbc-article.aspx?cp-documentid=23225690)

Togo has changed its mind and agreed to play in the African Cup of Nations, according to French sports daily L'Equipe on its website on Saturday — despite a call from Togo's government to return home following the deadly attack in Angola.

"The entire delegation just met and, after all, we'll be on the pitch Monday to play against Ghana," midfielder Alaixys Romao, who plays for French club Grenoble, was quoted as saying. Friday's attack killed an assistant coach, a team spokesperson and the Angolan bus driver, according to the team and the Togo government.

Angolan Information Minister Manuel Rabelais said Friday that eight team members and one Angolan were injured.

Togo forward Thomas Dossevi had told the Associated Press in a phone interview that it would pull out of the tournament and fly out of Angola early Sunday.

Efforts to reach a tournament spokesman and Dossevi by phone after the team changed its mind went unanswered.

"People died for this tournament, others were injured. We can't abandon them and leave like cowards. If we stay here, it's for them. But also so as not to give satisfaction to the rebels," Romao reportedly said.

"Our government doesn't necessarily agree with us but we are determined to play in this competition. The decision was taken unanimously."

Africa's football championship was expected to open as planned on Sunday, even though other teams were shocked and worried by the ambush of the Togo bus as it entered Angola's restive, oil-rich Cabinda province.

"We have goosebumps … who knows what is going to happen to us," Amade Chababe, Mozambique assistant coach, told AP Television News when the squad passed through Johannesburg en route to Angola on Saturday.

Gunmen in an area in Angola plagued by separatist violence used machine-guns to open fire on the bus. Togo's bus, in a convoy from Congo, was about 10 kilometres across the border in Angola when it came under fire.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 10, 2010, 09:35:59 AM
ooooohhhhhkkkkkkaaaayyyyy.......I could understand where they coming from if they did indeed change their minds and decide to play.....going home would give the terrorists (btw dat term applies these brutes or only people of the Islamic faith??...but I digress) credence.

But how they going back home??  By bus??  Again??  with plenty armed escort I guess....fighter jets and tank and thing??  ??? ???
Post by: Daft Trini on January 10, 2010, 09:39:51 AM
I'm saddened by this decision... I hope they would have played for Honor and for the love of the game despite tragedy.... My heart goes out to our fellow brothers in Togo.
Post by: Socapro on January 10, 2010, 11:37:54 AM
I'm saddened by this decision... I hope they would have played for Honor and for the love of the game despite tragedy.... My heart goes out to our fellow brothers in Togo.

Daft Trini, did you read this (article below) or yuh just trying to live up to your name?  8)

Togo has changed its mind and agreed to play in the African Cup of Nations, according to French sports daily L'Equipe on its website on Saturday — despite a call from Togo's government to return home following the deadly attack in Angola.

"The entire delegation just met and, after all, we'll be on the pitch Monday to play against Ghana," midfielder Alaixys Romao, who plays for French club Grenoble, was quoted as saying. Friday's attack killed an assistant coach, a team spokesperson and the Angolan bus driver, according to the team and the Togo government.

Angolan Information Minister Manuel Rabelais said Friday that eight team members and one Angolan were injured.

Togo forward Thomas Dossevi had told the Associated Press in a phone interview that it would pull out of the tournament and fly out of Angola early Sunday.

Efforts to reach a tournament spokesman and Dossevi by phone after the team changed its mind went unanswered.

"People died for this tournament, others were injured. We can't abandon them and leave like cowards. If we stay here, it's for them. But also so as not to give satisfaction to the rebels," Romao reportedly said.

"Our government doesn't necessarily agree with us but we are determined to play in this competition. The decision was taken unanimously."

Africa's football championship was expected to open as planned on Sunday, even though other teams were shocked and worried by the ambush of the Togo bus as it entered Angola's restive, oil-rich Cabinda province.

"We have goosebumps … who knows what is going to happen to us," Amade Chababe, Mozambique assistant coach, told AP Television News when the squad passed through Johannesburg en route to Angola on Saturday.

Gunmen in an area in Angola plagued by separatist violence used machine-guns to open fire on the bus. Togo's bus, in a convoy from Congo, was about 10 kilometres across the border in Angola when it came under fire.

Post by: ribbit on January 10, 2010, 11:57:03 AM

Daft Trini, did you read this (article below) or yuh just trying to live up to your name?  8)

ah reading now that de togolese govt requesting de team to return. it sound like they cyah guarantee their security so they want them to quit the competition. wonder what rebels coming out of de woodwork in SA for WC? ???
Post by: College on January 10, 2010, 12:33:26 PM
Was confirmed that Togo will take no part in this tourney.

Not sure how this would impact that group, or what the rules will dictate but I imagine another African Team could be called to fill the spot...

Would personally like to see Morocco...
Post by: Jah Gol on January 10, 2010, 01:02:17 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=61439&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=61439&part=sports)

Mali v Angola
Post by: Jah Gol on January 10, 2010, 01:51:01 PM
2-0 to Angola at the half.
Post by: TdotTrini on January 10, 2010, 02:57:36 PM
4-4 FT
Post by: Brownsugar on January 10, 2010, 02:59:48 PM
4-4 FT

You lie!!... :o :o
Post by: Jah Gol on January 10, 2010, 03:20:26 PM
I switch off at 4-1 Angola. That is amazing.
Post by: Sando prince on January 10, 2010, 03:48:09 PM
I want to see a semifinal of Cameroon, Ivory Cost, Ghana and Nigeria
Post by: Jah Gol on January 10, 2010, 03:48:55 PM
http://www.tvgolo.com/football.php?subaction=showfull&id=1263152896&archive=&start_from=&ucat=49& (http://www.tvgolo.com/football.php?subaction=showfull&id=1263152896&archive=&start_from=&ucat=49&)
Post by: Deeks on January 10, 2010, 06:23:53 PM
A similar situation but not quite the sames as in Angola. The Basque in Spain, France, Portugal. Taken form today's BBC.

Four suspected members of the Basque separatist group ETA have been arrested in Portugal and France, officials say.

Police found explosives and weapons in a van as they arrested two of the suspects near Portugal's border with Spain, Spain's interior minister said.

The other two were picked up in central France. They were caught with weapons, false number plates and fake documents, officials said.

Eta has waged a 41-year campaign for an independent Basque homeland.

The group has been blamed for more than 820 deaths in that period. It ended its most recent ceasefire in June 2007.

Spanish Interior Minister Alfredo Perez Rubalcaba said the operation that culminated in the arrests near Clermont-Ferrand in France had been started by French authorities several months ago, triggered by a concentration of vehicle thefts attributed to ETA.

Mr Perez Rubalcaba said the man and the woman arrested belonged to ETA's "logistical-military apparatus" that supplies the group's militants with explosives and weapons.

Spain raised its terrorism alert level to two on a four-point scale last month before it assumed the six-month presidency of the EU.

Post by: Reaper2004 on January 10, 2010, 09:10:37 PM

Look decent eh !

Boy some of those pics does remind me of here yes.
Post by: Andre on January 11, 2010, 11:55:22 AM
shocker - malawi 3 : algeria 0

ivory coast and burkina faso 0-0 at the half.

security beef up...angola style.

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/47075000/jpg/_47075165_ivory466.jpg)
Post by: Andre on January 12, 2010, 01:36:58 PM
the big one today - egypt 3, nigeria 1

highlights, etc. - http://footballfashion.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/video-egypt-3-nigeria-1-africa-cup-of-nations-2010-highlights/
Post by: Sando prince on January 12, 2010, 06:34:19 PM

highlights, etc. - http://footballfashion.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/video-egypt-3-nigeria-1-africa-cup-of-nations-2010-highlights/

I expected Egypt to do well yuh know..everytime they are underestimated and still prove alot of people wrong
Post by: Jah Gol on January 12, 2010, 09:02:21 PM

The stadium and pitch condition are impressive.
Post by: frico on January 13, 2010, 01:39:22 PM
Why is that nobody seems to have interest in the African Nations Cup?
Not much interest in de brudaz eh.
Post by: Deeks on January 13, 2010, 02:00:11 PM
frico,
          we can't get the games FREE!!!!!
Post by: Deeks on January 13, 2010, 03:36:03 PM
actually you could pick up some of the games on justin.tv
Post by: mwanasoka on January 13, 2010, 04:00:45 PM
Cameroon  geh beat by Gabon today ( 0 x 1 )
Ito'o captain de team and look ineffective.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 13, 2010, 04:14:43 PM
Why is that nobody seems to have interest in the African Nations Cup?
Not much interest in de brudaz eh.
The schedule not work-friendly.
Post by: frico on January 14, 2010, 08:04:32 AM
Dont get me wrong mates,I am actually looking at the matches on the net,but I miss the comments by some of the blokes on this MB.Everything seems so quiet when Caribbean interest should really be high.I do understand the reasons though.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 14, 2010, 08:30:19 AM
Dont get me wrong mates,I am actually looking at the matches on the net,but I miss the comments by some of the blokes on this MB.Everything seems so quiet when Caribbean interest should really be high.I do understand the reasons though.
Yuh absolutely right eh ! I could hear de crickets in de backgrong.

At de start I tort we couldn't get to see de games but now I seein

them on Myp2p & jess sine up below.I doh know how Myafricanfootball.com

work yet. In about ah hour & ah half is : MLI vs. ALG  then  ANG  vs.  MWI.

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/nationalteams/index.html (http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/nationalteams/index.html)
Post by: Deeks on January 14, 2010, 08:31:37 AM
Frico,
           There seems to be a number of reasons. You may agree or disagree. Like someone said it is not work friendly and is not shown of the major sports channels. There is also a feeling that this nations cup is just before the WC and the players(from the african WC qualifiers) may not be putting out their all(fear of injuries). Then there is the EPL, Liga, Calcio, Bundesliga kinder readily available. Then there is the situation with TOgo.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 14, 2010, 09:02:26 AM
Frico,
           There seems to be a number of reasons. You may agree or disagree. Like someone said it is not work friendly and is not shown of the major sports channels. There is also a feeling that this nations cup is just before the WC and the players(from the african WC qualifiers) may not be putting out their all(fear of injuries). Then there is the EPL, Liga, Calcio, Bundesliga kinder readily available. Then there is the situation with TOgo.

' Fear of injury ' factor is so true.Brake yuh leg now & have tuh depend on yuh CLUB to fix it, like TTFF ?

This may be why these super ballers just bearly braking ah sweat.
Post by: frico on January 14, 2010, 01:06:59 PM
I think the explanations are logical for the lock of interest as some of you explained but I see the games on Myp2.The atmosphere though is lost because of the lack of posts,some funny,some true,some critical,well yuh get the idea.Its like having sex without foreplay. ;D
Post by: dinho on January 14, 2010, 01:23:02 PM
can't get to watch the games from work which is a real downer.. not even at a time when i can run away from the office on a lunch hour..

i take in the highlights last night, Gabon keeper was rocking a pum pum shorts.. wtf?
Post by: Observer on January 15, 2010, 08:19:07 AM
Big big game today Ivory Coast versus Ghana. Talk about thunder!
Post by: mwanasoka on January 15, 2010, 01:28:17 PM
Ah din't knoe Verdine White of EWF play ball for CIV.

(http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:1M_XIU_TtxP6PM:http://upload.wikimedia.org)(http://www.fifa.com/imgml/worldfootball/player/290186.jpg)

Post by: Cantona007 on January 15, 2010, 02:28:39 PM
3-1 to CIV. A bit hard on Ghana who weren't that far off it. Dodgy keeper and defence though.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 15, 2010, 02:34:53 PM
CIV resorted to some butchery @ 1 : 0 to intimidate GHA then dey went to work.Nice execution.
Ghana had the more skillful players and Drogba look like Georgio Chinaglia,Mechanical....an ah bet
ah jess butcher Georgio name.Well played Cote d'Ivoire.

Post by: mwanasoka on January 15, 2010, 02:44:51 PM
It song like dey using ah Soca soundbite inbetween brakes.

If it ain't,den dey music song very similar tuh we own.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 16, 2010, 10:26:24 AM
NGA  0 :  BEN  0 @ 20"
BEN playing rell nice.NGA strugglin.
Post by: Sando prince on January 16, 2010, 05:56:45 PM
have not been following the competition closely..besides Ivory Coast and Egypt..wha other teams look good enough to take the championship ?
Post by: mwanasoka on January 16, 2010, 09:32:15 PM
have not been following the competition closely..besides Ivory Coast and Egypt..wha other teams look good enough to take the championship ?

Followin embarrassin openers,NGA GHA even CIV now playin catchup.Host ANG
worth tracking along w/darkhorse BEN,BFA,GAB,MLI,MWI...Solid games.
Ah tink it too early to tell.Dis 1 st. stage full ah jittery teams.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 17, 2010, 10:02:05 AM
GAB  :  TUN  now then   CMR  :   ZAM.
Post by: frico on January 17, 2010, 01:27:38 PM
If Zambia win this they could go all the way,dem nar got no Primadonnas and they are putting everything into it would be nice if they at least get to the finals.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 17, 2010, 04:44:19 PM
If Zambia win this they could go all the way,dem nar got no Primadonnas and they are putting everything into it would be nice if they at least get to the finals.

Yeah,Zambia doin it de olefashion way,dey earning it.

Unlike Eto'o who need ah entourage.He like ah fish outa

water.Zambia deserve to get to de final.

Post by: Andre on January 18, 2010, 12:03:26 PM
just run into this. nice audio series on the history of african football. downloadable in mp3 format too.

"Football was never simply a game in Africa. It arrived in the mid 19th Century across the coast of the continent as a by-product of empire building...."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/documentaries/2010/01/100108_africa_kicks_one.shtml
http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/documentaries/2010/01/100114_africa_kicks_two.shtml
Post by: pardners on January 18, 2010, 02:19:52 PM

Sometime last year somebody on the forum ran a couple clips with African singing and dancing that was very very similiar to our soca.  Maybe they could pull it back again.
Post by: Andre on January 18, 2010, 03:37:05 PM

Sometime last year somebody on the forum ran a couple clips with African singing and dancing that was very very similiar to our soca.  Maybe they could pull it back again.

well that eh surprising since soca is nothing but a direct derivative of west african music.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 18, 2010, 04:34:59 PM

well that eh surprising since soca is nothing but a direct derivative of west african music.

Ah dinn't realize that....de apple does fall close to de tree.Ah

hear de Angolan freedom fiters use to blast reggae music

@ de Portugese on de front line to pump up deyselves

for battle.
Post by: Deeks on January 18, 2010, 05:27:34 PM
The Lusophone(Cape verde, Angolo, Mozambique) countries play all types of music. But Kizomba(zouk) is extremely popular. Check these out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71PK6TY5FRc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1u7sb_-z7g&feature=channel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZ1x014uDAI&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6bIe8uKBeM&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZtZPd-iZ68&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=GB&hl=en-GB&v=D7qik_nXidQ&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=GB&hl=en-GB&v=kij4gJs0j6w

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecuaJAtRyVA&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1C9mWN8vKHQ&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=06Es7R3jjlk&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vuKQ-N6HSWI&feature=related

Post by: mwanasoka on January 18, 2010, 06:37:31 PM
De first clip look like de forbidden dance ? Babygirl too sweet ! Nice !!!

Song like mellow kaiso and if yuh up de tempo,yuh could hear skank.

Ah doh knoe why Neyma dinn't wineup she waise ah lill bit !
Post by: Deeks on January 19, 2010, 09:39:45 PM
here is one more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8wqYbt6icU&feature=fvw
Post by: mwanasoka on January 20, 2010, 11:10:00 AM
NGA 1: MOZ 0 @ 45".
Post by: mwanasoka on January 20, 2010, 11:14:17 AM
NGA 2 : MOZ 0 @ 48".
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 21, 2010, 02:54:20 AM
I eh know what dem people @ FSC who does pick the "Goals/Saves of The Week" nuh......some ah de lame selections I does see on there, weak in, weak out......Seydou Keita score one WICKED free-kick against Malawi the other day didn't even sniff a top ten selection, yet I see two lame free-kicks get included.  Loud STEEEEUUUUPS!!
Post by: Jah Gol on January 21, 2010, 06:26:13 AM
I eh know what dem people @ FSC who does pick the "Goals/Saves of The Week" nuh......some ah de lame selections I does see on there, weak in, weak out......Seydou Keita score one WICKED free-kick against Malawi the other day didn't even sniff a top ten selection, yet I see two lame free-kicks get included.  Loud STEEEEUUUUPS!!
look it in my signature.
Post by: Cantona007 on January 21, 2010, 09:14:08 AM

I was in Angola a couple times last year, and their music (West African music on the whole), is VERY much like ours... a little soca, a little zouk... very nice.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 21, 2010, 10:33:11 AM
The Zambians look like dey crossed with Brazilian ?

They upping dey performance each game.

Post by: Cantona007 on January 21, 2010, 11:17:45 AM
Cameroon and Tunisia going at it... good second half so far...
Post by: mwanasoka on January 21, 2010, 11:55:08 AM
ZAM  2  GAB  1   Good game.   final.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 21, 2010, 11:58:04 AM
look it in my signature.

30+ frikkin' yards boy, Jah Gol!!  Sweeeeeeeeet.   :beermug:
Post by: kicker on January 21, 2010, 12:30:32 PM
look it in my signature.

Take nothing away from the strike, but a good, well positioned keeper was saving that.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 21, 2010, 11:37:09 PM
look it in my signature.

Take nothing away from the strike, but a good, well positioned keeper was saving that.

The thing is, Kicker, the same can be said for many a beautiful free-kick that we've seen scored over the years. The 'keeper was actually well-positioned.......I eh know what else to say 'bout 'im.  :D
Post by: rotatopoti3 on January 24, 2010, 08:34:24 PM
Yuh see how football iza funny game..bye bye Ivory Coast..

England be aware of Algeria for d World Cup
Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 10:38:28 AM
jamboni.

EGY  0 :  CMR   1 @ 24"

CMR W/ more possesion

& looking good.
Post by: TdotTrini on January 25, 2010, 10:40:46 AM
check that. 1-1 now

http://www.keysat.info/
Post by: TdotTrini on January 25, 2010, 10:48:03 AM
English link

http://www.vshare.tv/live/92106/fifa-soccer/1
Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 10:53:56 AM
Thanks for the links T.T
Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 11:26:59 AM
EGY on the ropes but CMR's efficiency

w/majority of posession is not good.

EGY can be dangerous in this posture.

Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 11:58:55 AM
Cameroon finally show up fuh de tournamant.

Dey playin some attractive ball. #17 is ah hustler.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 12:20:43 PM
EGY  3 :  CMR  1

2 quick Egyptian goals.

The last questionable.

Good game.
Post by: mal jeux on January 25, 2010, 12:32:31 PM
CMR get rattled in the extra time. Sad to see them get booted out.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 12:38:26 PM
CMR get rattled in the extra time. Sad to see them get booted out.

Very true and I'm also impressed with Egypt's

discipline & tactics. Well played Egypt.
Post by: palos on January 25, 2010, 01:26:29 PM
Egypt does regularly buss Nigeria, Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Ghana ass

But most peeps doh talk bout Egypt

Nuff hype surroundin dem oddah teams and dey players doh.

While Egypt and Algeria go regularly & relatively unnoticed.

Ah wonder if is because dem from North Africa?   :thinking:

Post by: Brownsugar on January 25, 2010, 01:42:15 PM
When Algeria buss the US ass come June, then I goh talk bout them plenty.... :devil: :devil: ;D
Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 01:51:17 PM

Ha ! Ha ! True. Also I think EGY & ALG are not just african,

but they are pro-african to de point where dey would do

ah GER vs  AUT move to help another african team.   :peace:
Post by: FF on January 25, 2010, 03:08:29 PM

cuz dey don't do sh!t in the World Cup... I was now talking bout this today!

ACN specialists and dais it... maybe Algeria could change that in June

De West African countries have a bigger profile because they make big splashes in front of bigger audiences...
Post by: mukumsplau on January 25, 2010, 03:39:46 PM
oh lawd dat egypt v algeria go be rel bittah!!
Post by: palos on January 25, 2010, 04:17:17 PM

cuz dey don't do sh!t in the World Cup... I was now talking bout this today!

ACN specialists and dais it... maybe Algeria could change that in June

De West African countries have a bigger profile because they make big splashes in front of bigger audiences...

Ah guess if yuh sayin Egypt and Algeria are ANC specialists, yuh sayin dem come like T&T.

Regional bullies dat cyah do nutting on de world stage.

The West African countries have a bigger profile because their players play regularly in European Leagues.

Egyptian and Algerian players regularly play domestically.  Is not because they are not wanted or not deemed to be good enough.  It's because they choose to stay at home.  That's slowly changing and yu're seeing more and more the emergence of North African players in European Leagues.

In case allyuh forget....the best ever player out of Africa...bar none....is Algerian.

His name....Zinadene Zidane.
Post by: FF on January 25, 2010, 04:23:08 PM

Ah guess if yuh sayin Egypt and Algeria are ANC specialists, yuh sayin dem come like T&T.

Regional bullies dat cyah do nutting on de world stage.

The West African countries have a bigger profile because their players play regularly in European Leagues.

Egyptian and Algerian players regularly play domestically.  Is not because they are not wanted or not deemed to be good enough.  It's because they choose to stay at home.  That's slowly changing and yu're seeing more and more the emergence of North African players in European Leagues.

In case allyuh forget....the best ever player out of Africa...bar none....is Algerian.

His name....Zinadene Zidane.

I could agree with that!!

but i still maintain that when the North African countries make a big splash on the world stage they will get their props..

Look Morocco has a bigger profile than Egypt or Algeria, due to their exploits in 86 and 98... but then again to your point I believe they have more players in France, Belgium etc as well
Post by: Deeks on January 25, 2010, 04:35:35 PM
Palos,
         with the exception of the Congo(Zaire) in 74, in the 70's and early 80's Morocco, Tunisia and Algeria used to rule the African in WC. The North African clubs, with Egyptian clubs(Zamalek, El Ahly(100 yrs old), Arab contractors, Moroc-clubs(FAR, Raja casablanca, Tunisia-ClubAfricain, Etoile use to rule Africa. But in the 80s to present the West Africans have improved and has surpassed the North Africans. In the WC the West has performed better. Had it not been for some dubious refereeing, Nigerian and Cameroon could have at least been to the semis.  In Nation's cup the north has performed better. The records speaks for themselves.
Post by: mwanasoka on January 25, 2010, 05:19:14 PM
Ah pretty sure we forget bout Eusebio,

aka 'The Black Panther' & bka 'The Black Pearl.'

Ah noe some ah allyuh too young to remember

him but he was from Mozambique & was second to

Pele who I believe dubbed him with those names.

And wasn't Zidane born in France which means

that Pele is the greatest player from Africa. No ?   :peace:
(http://www.fifa.com/mm/photo/classic/players/eusebio2%5f1517%5ffull-prt.jpg)(http://www.fifa.com/mm/photo/tournament/finaldraw/01/14/37/37/1143737%5ffull-prt.jpg)
Post by: frico on January 25, 2010, 06:43:01 PM
When I first saw Zambia in their first match I picked them as an outside chance to go all the way so I did feel kind of sorry for them to-day.All we ever hear is about Ghana,Nigeria,Ivory Coast  and Senegal so it would have been nice if they had got the better of Nigeria.Well done to the unknown Zambians.
Post by: Deeks on January 25, 2010, 08:08:56 PM
Frico,
       Zambia is not an unknown as you may think. A couple years ago they were making a serious run for a place in the WC(either France orKorea/Japan). But the entire team died in a plane crash. That was really sad. They have played in Olimpics and man-handle the Italian team 4-0. They had a real good player called Kalusha Bwayla. He played for America under Beenie in mexico.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zambia_national_football_team
Post by: frico on January 26, 2010, 08:50:45 AM
I really should have remembered that it was reall sad.
Post by: palos on January 26, 2010, 11:50:21 AM
Frico,
       Zambia is not an unknown as you may think. A couple years ago they were making a serious run for a place in the WC(either France orKorea/Japan). But the entire team died in a plane crash. That was really sad. They have played in Olimpics and man-handle the Italian team 4-0. They had a real good player called Kalusha Bwayla. He played for America under Beenie in mexico.

And dey coach was...................................
Post by: FF on January 26, 2010, 12:50:15 PM
Frico,

And dey coach was...................................

Porters RIP
Post by: kicker on January 26, 2010, 01:20:53 PM
Cameroon & Nigeria only start getting a look in the 90's.  Before that, North African teams had a bigger profile in global foobtall as far as World Cup memories.

Ghana was always a youth power but a nobody at the senior level until they put up a good showing in the last W.C....and Ivory Coast is a now-come with plenty modern day star power but who eh do nuttin yet.

In addition to Palos' point. the perception that North African teams get overshadowed by the Nigerias of the world has alot to do with the cable TV generation of football following which has come about at a time when certain West African nations were enjoying some relative ascendancy in the sport... but even that is more on an individual level than at the team level because in all fairness Cameroon had a good run in WC 90, Nigeria a good run in '94, Ghana had a good run in '06, and IC showed some brilliant flashes but ultimately failed..... all in all though, at the senior levels none of teams eh really saying boo with any kinda consistency.

p.s. And Zinedine Zidane eh "out of Africa" neither lol...
Post by: DeSoWa on January 28, 2010, 02:51:55 PM
Ghana beat Nigeria to reach the finals!

Egypt is also in the finals!

Post by: Bitter on January 28, 2010, 03:19:44 PM
Algeria in this game losing players as fast as they conceding goals.

Down to 8 men, losing 3-0
The ref wicked to be playing stoppage time.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 28, 2010, 05:39:38 PM
I eh get to follow this tournament at all...when are the finals??
Post by: WestCoast on January 28, 2010, 05:49:07 PM
3rd Place
30 January 2010
17:00
 Nigeria  v  Algeria
Complexo da Sr. da Graça, Benguela

Final
31 January 2010
17:00
 Ghana  v  Egypt
Estádio 11 de Novembro, Luanda

Post by: Brownsugar on January 28, 2010, 05:54:14 PM
What is that in EST time??
Post by: WestCoast on January 28, 2010, 05:58:19 PM
I look like Big Ben :devil:
I eh Know :D :D

here hold this den ;D
http://www.worldtimezone.com/
Post by: Jumbie on January 28, 2010, 07:22:51 PM
This tourney eh have no real spark atall! Was really hoping to see some more attractive football. Ghana looked bun nof**k in that game. they really have to work on their conditioning before SA.
Post by: Andre on January 29, 2010, 08:11:49 AM
ah backing ghana to win this thing.

is time for a sub-saharan team to take this thing back man.

Post by: Deeks on January 29, 2010, 12:24:53 PM
Andre,
         we may have issues with northerners, but I hope the best team wins. If the pharoahs win the 3 rd consecutive championship then they will have "deserved" it. It will just show how unpredictable the sport is. If the Black Stars win, that will be equally great. Go Egypt!!! Go Ghana!!!!!
Post by: Spursy on January 29, 2010, 02:32:44 PM
hate both Egypt and Algeria... hoPe ghana wins..
Post by: mwanasoka on January 29, 2010, 11:53:59 PM
Algeria & Egypt have ah long history w/WC....ah believe Egypt debut is 36.

Allahwe does root for d underdog...ceptin Brazil.Egypt iz big dog in africa.

If de Warriors was to get ah invite to ACN,supposing...dey love Jack dong dey,

Yuh mean it wouldn't have people rootin fuh we as underdogs ? Hateration ! :devil:
Post by: kev on January 30, 2010, 08:05:08 AM
Togo have been banned by CAF for the next 2 tournaments for withdrawing after the attack.

Not a lot you can say really.
Post by: Deeks on January 30, 2010, 08:56:53 AM
It makes no sense.What is CAF rational? I want to hear more on how they come to that conclusion before I open meh big mouth.
Post by: WestCoast on January 30, 2010, 10:07:18 AM
Togo have been banned by CAF for the next 2 tournaments for withdrawing after the attack.

Not a lot you can say really.
That is Real Bullshit
a Coach and press officer were killed and the driver
and anyone who saw the aftermath would have seen HOW upset the team members were
it certainly wasn't a frivolous decision by Togo imho
that is ah REAL CRAB IN BARREL move oui
Bullshit
Post by: kev on January 30, 2010, 01:02:13 PM
It makes no sense.What is CAF rational? I want to hear more on how they come to that conclusion before I open meh big mouth.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/africa/8489127.stm

Togo banned from next two Africa Cups of Nations

Togo have been banned from the next two Africa Cup of Nations following their withdrawal from this year's tournament.

The Confederation of African football (Caf) also fined the Hawks $50,000 for quitting the competition in the wake of a gun attack on the team bus in Angola.

Two members of their delegation and a coach driver were killed in the ambush, which occurred two days before the start of the tournament.

World football governing body Fifa declined to comment on the ban.

However, a statement from CAF read: "The executive committee has banned Togo from the next two African Nations Cup and fined the Togo FA 50,000 U.S. dollars."

A Togolese assistant coach and a press officer died along with the driver following the ambush on their bus in the northern Angolan province of Cabinda on 8 January, prompting the government to recall the team for three days of mourning.

The Hawks initially wanted to compete in Group B with Ivory Coast, Ghana and Burkina Faso, but quit on 10 January - the tournament's start date - on 10 January on their national government's orders.

But African football's governing body says the decision to pull the team out amounted to governmental interference in the sport.

"The players publicly expressed their willingness to return to the Nations Cup to compete. But the Togo government decided to call back their national team," Caf explained in its statement.

"The decision by political authorities contravenes Caf and African Nations Cup regulations."

Togo midfielder Thomas Dossevi, who was on the bus when it came under fire minutes after it crossed the Angolan border from Pointe Noire, Congo, said Togo should appeal against the ban.

"We are a group of footballers who came under fire and now we can't play football any more. They are crushing us," Dossevi said.

"Togo should appeal the suspension. When we said we were going home for a three-day mourning they said they were with us in this ordeal and now they punish us."

Meanwhile, the families of the assistant coach and the press officer were taking legal action against the Caf and the Angolan state, their lawyer said.

"We are taking legal action because our compatriots were killed because of the mistakes of the Confederation of African Football (and) its president Mr Issa Hayatou," lawyer Alexis Aquereburu said.

"(The legal claim is) also against the Angolan state for putting in danger the life of our compatriots by organising this African Nations Cup in a war zone."

The armed wing of the Front for the Liberation of the Enclave of Cabinda (FLEC), embroiled in a decades-long separatist struggle, claimed responsibility for the attack.

The FLEC has fought a 30-year war against Angola's government for independence.

One grievance is that Cabindans see little of the money from oil that comes from their land.
Post by: sammy on January 30, 2010, 03:44:23 PM
daiz real madness yes
Post by: frico on January 30, 2010, 06:17:14 PM
hate both Egypt and Algeria... hoPe ghana wins..
Yuh right to hate them coz ah sure they hate you. ;D
Post by: Zeppo on January 31, 2010, 10:47:52 AM
Caf decision over Togo makes no sense

Not since Buckingham Palace took so long to respond Princess Diana's death in 1997 has an organisation so badly misjudged the mood of the public.

For the decision by the Confederation of African Football (Caf) to expel Togo from the next two Africa Cup of Nations - following their Angola 2010 withdrawal after their team bus was machine-gunned (with two team officials dying) - is simply jaw-dropping.

Before we get into the whys and wherefores, let's just clarify why the Togolese have been suspended. In the statement they released on Saturday, Caf said the following...

(continue) (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/piersedwards/2010/01/caf_decision_over_togo_makes_n.html)
Post by: WestCoast on January 31, 2010, 12:09:43 PM
Adebayor wants CAF boss out over Togo ban
Jan 31, 2010 12:11 PM| By
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Emmanuel Adebayor has called for Confederation of African Football boss Issa Hayatou to quit after the "monstrous" decision to suspended Togo from the next two editions of the African Cup of Nations following its withdrawal from the tournament.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(http://www.timeslive.co.za/multimedia/dynamic/00017/Adebayor_17713b.jpg)

Togo's top player, Emmanuel Adebayor, was not hurt, according to his club Manchester City.
Photograph by: Jamie McDonald
The Manchester City striker was on the Togo team bus when it was attacked in the northern province of Cabinda by gunmen two days before the start of this month's tournament. An assistant coach and team spokesman were killed in the attack.

Sports daily L'Equipe quoted the 25-year-old Adebayor on its Web site saying Hayatou "has done much for Africa, but now he must clear off. This decision is monstrous."

A separatist group called the Front for the Liberation of the Enclave of Cabinda claimed responsibility for the January 8 attack.
http://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/soccer/article285011.ece

and from Zeppo's article, FIFA talks out of both sides of their mouths, as AJackWarner IS involved in Politics and they dont do nothing to him yet they chastise Togo for calling back their team after such a horrendous situation.
FIFA ::) ::)
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 31, 2010, 12:23:18 PM

Hard luck boy, Ghana......ah vex!  >:(

Full Time: Ghana 0 : 1 Egypt. 85th min. 

It does really suck to concede a goal in a big game coming down to the dregs in a game. Ah vex.
Post by: frico on January 31, 2010, 06:08:31 PM
Give Egypt some credit man,its a hat trick of wins and that is no fluke.The North Africans can play the ball around and is capable of holding it when necessary they also break quite quickly from defence and does have skill and pace.Sub Saharan teams depend too much on speed and a physical game...from what I have seen.
Africa will not be producing a WC winner soon,CONCACAF will achieve that before them.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 31, 2010, 11:41:03 PM

Africa will not be producing a WC winner soon,CONCACAF will achieve that before them.

As much as some may argue that "one does not have anything to do with the other" I tend to look at Africa's success at the junior tournaments to offer that you may be wrong about your assessment of the senior one.  Africa have won numerous junior WC's to (if I remember corectly) concacaf's 1.  Africa have won two Olympic gold medals to (if I remember correctly, too) concacaf's 0.  While there is a great drop-off at the senior level of Africa's progression curve, their performances over the years show, to me, that they are knocking on the door of taking things one step higher.  When one talks about a concacaf representative winning a WC, the likliest contenders can only be Mexico and usa.  Neither team has been consistent enough to really break through that upper echelon of elite teams to actually win a WC or even a semi-final. I have faith that the African teams (even without Egyptian representation, since they seem to be so consistently good at tournaments) will one day show up at a WC with at least 3 out of their 5 representatives being too much of a force to contend with for the upper class teams to regard them as pushovers.  :beermug: 
Title: 2013 Africa Cup of Nations
Post by: Andre on January 18, 2013, 10:27:08 PM
kicking off tomorrow. all matches live on espn3.com in the us.

http://bit.ly/CAN-2013

Group A: South Africa, Cape Verde, Morocco, Angola

Group B: Ghana, DR Congo, Niger, Mali

Group C: Zambia, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Burkina Faso

Group D: Ivory Coast, Togo, Tunisia, Algeria
Title: Re: 2013 Africa Cup of Nations
Post by: Peong on January 18, 2013, 10:32:53 PM
Sweet
Post by: Observer on January 19, 2013, 07:52:42 AM
Group D real rough sah!

Cameroon & Senegal like they slipping off the football map
Post by: theworm2345 on January 19, 2013, 10:21:44 AM
Cape Verde holding their own
Post by: Deeks on January 19, 2013, 10:33:15 AM
I am getting it pretty clear. Freezes slightly, but super!!  0-0 so far.
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 19, 2013, 12:01:54 PM
The opening match ends 0-0 with much hand-wringing from the South African players and many disappointed faces in the crowd.

Cape Verde produced a very disciplined defensive display though.
Post by: Bakes on January 19, 2013, 06:19:48 PM
Entire schedule:

Saturday 11 a.m.    South Africa vs. Cape Verde; 2 p.m. Angola vs. Morocco
Sunday    11 a.m. Ghana vs. DR Congo; 1 p.m. Mali vs. Niger
Monday 10 a.m. Zambia vs. Ethiopia; 1 p.m.   Nigeria vs. Burkina Faso
Tuesday    10 a.m. Ivory Coast vs. Togo; 1 p.m. Tunisia vs. Algeria
Wednesday 10 a.m. South Africa vs. Angola; 1 p.m. Morocco vs. Cape Verde
Thursday 10 a.m. Ghana vs. Mali; 1 p.m. Niger vs. DR Congo
Friday 10 a.m. Zambia vs. Nigeria; 1 p.m. Burkina Faso vs. Ethiopia
Saturday 10 a.m. Ivory Coast vs. Tunisia; 1 p.m. Algeria vs. Togo
Jan. 27    12 p.m. Cape Verde vs. Angola; 12 p.m. Morocco vs. South Africa
Jan. 28    12 p.m. Niger vs. Ghana; 12 p.m. DR Congo vs. Mali
Jan. 29    12 p.m. Ethiopia vs. Nigeria; 12 p.m. Burkina Faso vs. Zambia
Jan. 30 12 p.m. Algeria vs. Ivory Coast; 12 p.m. Togo vs. Tunisia
Feb. 2    10 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Quarterfinals
Feb. 3 10 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Quarterfinals
Feb. 6 10 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Semifinals
Feb. 9    1 p.m. Third-place match
Feb. 10 1 p.m. Final

Again, all matches available live on ESPN3, and online at ESPN3.com.
Post by: Andre on January 19, 2013, 08:19:43 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/i-WSZYkWeWM
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 10:04:40 AM
Look like ah miss plenty in the first half ... steups. Zambia 1 Ethiopia 0
Post by: D.H.W on January 21, 2013, 10:54:00 AM
So how come euros does be all over the place but I cah see a game of African football. Stueps
Post by: Jah Gol on January 21, 2013, 10:55:32 AM
Some of those Ethiopian girls in the crowd real good looking.
Post by: Deeks on January 21, 2013, 11:33:03 AM

I surprise you now realize that.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 11:47:53 AM
From Minnesota to Ethiopia: U.S. soccer star Fuad Ibrahim eyes Africa Cup of Nations chance

Within this article there is a message that we must look after our own ... Jake Thomson and others.

(CNN) -- Life had not quite worked out the way Fuad Ibrahim had planned.

A few years ago the whole world was laid out at the 21-year-old American striker's feet. Ibee, as he is known by his coaches and teammates, was considered one of the most naturally talented players ever to emerge in U.S. soccer.

He was quickly brought into the national team set up, playing in every game at the Under-17 World Cup finals. At the age of 16 he was the second youngest player ever to be drafted into the MLS. Perhaps prophetically, the youngest was Freddy Adu, a name that has become a euphemism for talent unfulfilled.

Luck, nerve, injury, temperament: no one could explain Ibee's decline after being called up to the U.S. Under-20 squad. But decline he did as he went from Dallas to Toronto and then to his hometown club, the Minnesota Stars in the NASL -- the second tier of U.S. soccer. The decline appeared terminal when he was released at the end of last season.

And then out of the blue an email arrived from the country of his birth -- Ethiopia.

"It said that Ethiopia would like to invite me to play for the national team," Ibee told CNN, speaking from his hotel room in the capital Addis Ababa.

Africa calling

Ibee had left Ethiopia with his parents when he was eight. He only remembers blurry snippets from his life there, while he does not speak much of the language, just a few words and phrases.

He still does not know quite what to make of how things have turned out. His entire life had been geared towards one day playing for the full U.S. men's national team. Now there was another potential future on the Horn of Africa.

"I didn't think they wanted me to go right away but then they kept emailing me," added Ibee.

"Eventually I replied back, thinking it might be something for the future. A couple of times we had contact over the phone. Then I realized they were serious."

Soon Ibee was flying to the high altitude of Addis Ababa and into Ethiopia's squad for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations, a biennial tournament considered one of the toughest, and most entertaining in world soccer.

Ethiopia had once been champions of Africa. But a devastating series of famines and wars killed millions of people in the 1970s and 80s. Soccer took a back seat until last year when the Walya Antelopes came from nowhere to qualify for their first Africa Cup of Nations in 31 years.

Coach Sewnet Bishaw has masterminded their shock qualification -- Ethiopia having somehow made it through after losing 5-3 against Sudan in their first match.

But Bishaw knew that, in a continent that provides some of the best players to the best clubs in the world -- with top African players playing for the likes of Real Madrid, Chelsea and Barcelona -- experience in foreign leagues would be needed.

Eventually that trawl led to the MLS and to Ibee, who was handed his first start in a warm-up match against Tanzania. He scored.

"It was a special moment to score," Ibee said of his first-half strike in a 2-1 victory. "It will live with me for the rest of my life."

A Minnesota winter

After emigrating to the U.S. the Ibrahim family settled in the wintry climes of Minnesota. His father made a living at a driving school, while Ibee soon discovered that he had a talent at soccer.

"It was the United States, the land of opportunity, so it was a chance to be raised in a better environment to have that opportunity in life," he said of the family's reasons for emigrating.

"But for any kid growing up in Africa, soccer is the first sport they play. I was never really serious but I started playing club teams, I was doing good and realized I should stick with it ... everything for me then was all about playing for the States."

He tried his hand briefly at American football -- as a kicker his record for a field goal was 34 yards -- but soccer was always his first love. It was after Ibrahim had been called up to the MLS residency program at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida that Ibee started to dream of the world stage.

"I always wanted to play for the US national team," he said.

"I got an Under-15 invite to stay in Florida and from day one it was special, playing pre-season against MLS teams. I realized I could make it. We were already playing professional teams. I thought, I could be there one day. I wouldn't be where I was today if wasn't for U.S. soccer."

Ibee graduated seamlessly through U.S. soccer's national youth teams, playing at the Under-17 World Cup in South Korea before being called up to the Under-20 team, the last step before becoming a full international.

"Ibee was one of the most talented players to come through the U.S. Under-17 and 20 teams," said Thomas Rongen, the current youth academy director at Toronto, who was coach of the Under -20 U.S. national team at the time.

"But [he] was not able to make the step to the highest level. [Ibee] signed as one of the youngest players in the history of MLS, only Freddy Adu was younger. Technically very sound ... but [he] was not able to adapt to the professional game at the highest level."

The next big thing?

What went wrong?

"I'll be honest, I didn't have any injury when I was at Toronto and I'm not someone to blame other people for things in the past," explained Ibee.

"I was doing good but as time goes, growing up with so many coaches -- Toronto FC has had eight coaches in five years -- it effected my playing time.

"When a new coach came in I'd get a rhythm, they'd get fired and then a new one came in. All of a sudden you have to rebuild trust. It kind of kept happening."

After Toronto Ibee tried to get his big break in Europe, but that did not work out either.

"I was here and there in Austria and Denmark. I didn't find a place where I really fitted in. It didn't go the way I wanted. But this is life. You have to live with it and learn."

Then came the call from Ethiopia.

"The weather was very difficult especially coming from the cold and suddenly I'm in high altitude," he said of his arrival in Adidis Ababa, whichat 2,355 meters above sea level is the fifth highest capital city in the world.

"It was tough in the first week. But I've got used to it. It was time to play for my country, the country I was born in."

Young Americans

Ibee is not the only American soccer player that has made the move to a different national team.

During qualification for the 2014 World Cup, national teams from Haiti, Palestine and Afghanistan, among others, have scoured U.S. soccer's talent network looking for second and third generation immigrants to bolster their teams.

"There are a growing number of Americans playing for other national teams but it's almost a second choice," said Brian Sciaretta, a New York Times blogger, who runs Yanks Abroad, a website detailing the foreign adventures of American soccer players.

He has seen a huge number of players coming through the U.S. system before turning up in the most unlikely of places from Ethiopia to Tajikistan. As many as 400 play in Europe alone.

"There's so many different ethnically diverse people in the States. Soccer is new but we've always been athletic people. We have state-of-the-art fitness and dieting. It's quite attractive to foreign coaches," he said.

"If soccer can make it work in this country it could have revolutionary effect on global football."

Now Ibee has the chance to put his career back on track. Currently a free agent, a good Africa Cup of Nations could secure him a contract back in the U.S. or even in Europe.

First there is the task of negotiating a tough group containing reigning champions Zambia, former champions Nigeria and Burkina Faso.

"Technically they are very, very talented," Ibee said of his teammates.

Although he cannot speak Amharic, he communicates with Bisaw in English. "They have a different style of playing. They can shock anybody. No one thought Zambia would win the Africa Cup of Nations last year but they shocked everybody."

Shop window

True life did not quite work out as expected for Fuad Ibrahim. But sometimes that is not necessarily a bad thing.

Arsenal coach Arsene Wenger recently argued that the Africa Cup of Nations is the last tournament in world football where unknown players and teams can emerge to be stars.

"This time in South Africa you will have Ethiopia," he said. "If I ask you to name five Ethiopian players, I am sure you will have a problem."

Wenger's quotes have been used by Bishaw to motivate his team further. But the chance to play against some of the best players in the world, and get his career back on track, is motivation enough for Ibee.

"It's a great opportunity for me," he said. "Soccer can change the the way rest of the world view Ethiopia and Ethiopian soccer. After the goal I scored people recognize me in the street. I hope I do that on the big stage."

"Only God knows. I'll leave it up to God."

http://edition.cnn.com/2013/01/18/sport/football/football-africa-cup-nations-ethiopia-fuad-ibrahim/index.html

I don't know the back story, but I remember when he was drafted and the future was allegedly bright. However, at the time I thought he was Somali.

Post by: Jah Gol on January 21, 2013, 11:49:33 AM

tuned in late
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 11:52:09 AM

tuned in late

I think he means like yuh wasn't paying attention when yuh went DC de other day.  ;)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 11:56:56 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/YXGxlYszvlM
Zambia 1 @ 45'  Ethiopia 1 @ 65'
Post by: dinho on January 21, 2013, 12:02:55 PM
(http://cdn0.sbnation.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/6847547/goalkeeper-celebration.0_standard_709.0.gif)
Post by: Trini Madness on January 21, 2013, 01:34:48 PM
So how come euros does be all over the place but I cah see a game of African football. Stueps

thats what i saying!! are there any apps on the iphone or a website i can go to besides espn3?
Post by: lefty on January 21, 2013, 01:51:44 PM

thats what i saying!! are there any apps on the iphone or a website i can go to besides espn3?

I watchin here (http://lsh.streamhunter.eu/)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 01:56:06 PM
Second big tournament that I can recall with a lesson to be learned from not taking the ball to the corner flag ... Musa from NGR, intent on seeking a second goal, sets the stage for an undeserving Burkina Faso to equalize. Keshi should be PISSED!
Post by: Bitter on January 21, 2013, 01:58:37 PM

I watchin here (http://lsh.streamhunter.eu/)

Allyuh bookmark that site nah.
Is every event, somebody looking for links.
Post by: Bitter on January 21, 2013, 01:59:51 PM
Second big tournament that I can recall with a lesson to be learned from not taking the ball to the corner flag ... Musa from NGR, intent on seeking a second goal, sets the stage for an undeserving Burkina Faso to equalize. Keshi should be PISSED!

I was now coming to post that Musa need to run laps for the rest of the night. Burkina Faso should have never be close enough to score (that is besides the poor finishing by Nigeria)
Post by: jahkingdom on January 21, 2013, 02:09:28 PM

Type P2P live, and click football, then scroll down:  http://myp2p.cd/index.php?sport=football
Post by: Jah Gol on January 21, 2013, 03:28:03 PM
(http://cdn0.sbnation.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/6847547/goalkeeper-celebration.0_standard_709.0.gif)
this guy  ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 04:19:18 PM
Because of this tournament, just finding out Rashidi Yekini died. RIP.
Post by: frico on January 21, 2013, 04:52:31 PM
I once had to do some work in a London School and I'll tell that the most good looking children I have ever seen are Ethiopians,the boys are very handsome and the girls are the prettiest I have ever seen,the Eritreans are just as beautiful.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 05:52:37 PM
Players Nigeria playing without in South Africa:

Odemwingie
Shola Ameobi
Danny Shittu
Uche Kalu
Rabiu Ibrahim (brand baller @ WC U-17 and U-20 level who just like his namesake Fuad on the Ethiopian team is struggling to make the jump to senior level: “I just need someone who believes in me and will give me a chance to make a contribution.")
Obafemi Martins.

"There's nothing personal about this stuff. Odemwingie is a very good player but right now I don't need him. He's a professional and he should be able to accept that. Nigeria is blessed with a lot of good players and we cannot invite every player. We're not in a war with anybody, we're just trying to do our job.

- Steph Keshi (coach)

"Rabiu was outstanding and was a true replica of 'Jay Jay' Okocha if you see him in training, the look, the style of play, but there are better players in the midfield, so he has to go for now."

- Ben Alaiya (spokesperson)

Post by: Jah Gol on January 21, 2013, 06:06:16 PM
Players Nigeria playing without in South Africa:

Odemwingie
Shola Ameobi
Danny Shittu
Uche Kalu
Rabiu Ibrahim (brand baller @ WC U-17 and U-20 level who just like his namesake Fuad on the Ethiopian team is struggling to make the jump to senior level: “I just need someone who believes in me and will give me a chance to make a contribution.")
Obafemi Martins.

"There's nothing personal about this stuff. Odemwingie is a very good player but right now I don't need him. He's a professional and he should be able to accept that. Nigeria is blessed with a lot of good players and we cannot invite every player. We're not in a war with anybody, we're just trying to do our job.

- Steph Keshi (coach)

"Rabiu was outstanding and was a true replica of 'Jay Jay' Okocha if you see him in training, the look, the style of play, but there are better players in the midfield, so he has to go for now."

- Ben Alaiya (spokesperson)

What about that youth from the Nigeria U17 tournament a few year ago ,Stanley Okoro . He fall off ?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 06:13:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/GjOZiWN5ufE
Nigeria 1 Burkina Faso 1 @ ... de death; last touch of de game.
Post by: Deeks on January 21, 2013, 06:15:41 PM
Nigerian has a huge talent pool, plus children born overseas.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2013, 07:08:08 PM

What about that youth from the Nigeria U17 tournament a few year ago ,Stanley Okoro . He fall off ?

Hard to say definitively, but it appears that he's merely acclimatising to European conditions. A fair investment has been made in him.

Ah know yuh want more than what wikipedia has to offer so here it is ... :)

From what I gather, he hasn't made a first team appearance since moving to Spain with Almeria. Because Almeria were relegated from La Liga, their first team plays in La Segunda, but since he's on the reserve squad he actually plays in Segunda B (Third Division). Keshi definitely wasn't calling him fuh this tournament ... considering that he has an abundance of more experienced riches.

According to a 2011 article from El Pais (http://deportes.elpais.com/deportes/2011/08/29/actualidad/1314602516_850215.html), Okoro didn't make it to Spain until visa issues were cleared up in Nigeria. The Spanish consulate denied his application 4 times. He arrived in Spain with the NGR U-20 WC skipper Azeez who is also contracted to Almeria (but who has made a first team appearance, but still features primarily with the reserve squad) after the club dispatched someone to fix things.

In total iz about 15 months he lost from when Almeria expressed interest in him to .... to surviving the work permit matter ... to stepping foot in Spain.

in response to comparisons to Messi ... his coach said ... he has several tools as a dominantly left-footed player but clearly the Messi thing is not on.

Post by: Jah Gol on January 21, 2013, 07:33:22 PM
I was most impressed with his speed and technical ability. There is still time for him to build a decent career I feel.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 22, 2013, 10:01:33 AM
How did Adebayor work himself away from goal???
Post by: frico on January 22, 2013, 10:37:56 AM
Nigerian has a huge talent pool, plus children born overseas.
We even have Nigerians in Trinidad.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 23, 2013, 09:11:32 PM
Ah wanted Cape Verde to poison Morocco today. I like their approach to the game. Dey bringing energy ... de whole squad dynamic ... doh play yuh falling asleep wid de ball at yuh feet. Dey playing wid a lil reckless abandon (to include maybe a blade too many, buh say wha ... Dem fellas addin a spark that this tournament needs.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 24, 2013, 12:58:05 PM
Congo cyah even buy a goal.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2013, 10:38:50 AM
The quality of shooting in this tournament is woeful. Easy to see why E'too is so special.
Post by: Fyzoman on January 25, 2013, 01:02:17 PM
Ah kinda liking WatchESPN coverage od dis tournament...on a bare folly tip, why de damn camera person doh linger on the fine ladies for a lil bit longer when dey scanning de damn crowd??

Rel ballers all over de place though!!
Post by: Fyzoman on January 25, 2013, 01:20:52 PM
Look bacahnal with Burkina Faso V Ethiopia, Burkina (hospital-head) keeper get send off for catching ball outside de area and landing back inside de area??

Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2013, 01:22:09 PM
Real drama right now with Soulaima gehhin that red card. A lesson fuh young keepers.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2013, 01:24:21 PM
Pitroipa is a baller, buh ah doh rate Bance (his movement is wrong)
Post by: Fyzoman on January 25, 2013, 07:39:01 PM
Pitroipa is a baller, buh ah doh rate Bance (his movement is wrong)

Yep Pitroipa is naked fire, and Traore wid de goal of the tournament so far.
Post by: Fyzoman on January 25, 2013, 07:48:02 PM
Hear TnT getting dis Africa CAF on tv or anything back home?

Because ah go tell yuh what, I feel young and upcoming footballers (or even seasoned vets) could get some kinda inspiration from watching all dem African (who look just like dem:)) ballers doing all kinda thing on de field.

Maybe I'm way off but maybe watching somebody like 'marasmee' Pitroipa doing he ting might inspire brothas to take it to another level.

I done, I just blabbing now:)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2013, 08:33:05 PM
Felt sorry for Ethiopia. They were enterprising and strung together several attractive sequences. They suffered for lacking composure and making some predictable decisions on the passing. Burkina set the place alight and will grow in confidence, but cyah put dem as winners yet.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2013, 08:35:35 PM
Hear TnT getting dis Africa CAF on tv or anything back home?

Because ah go tell yuh what, I feel young and upcoming footballers (or even seasoned vets) could get some kinda inspiration from watching all dem African (who look just like dem:)) ballers doing all kinda thing on de field.

Maybe I'm way off but maybe watching somebody like 'marasmee' Pitroipa doing he ting might inspire brothas to take it to another level.

I done, I just blabbing now:)

Ah hear yuh. It was kinda surreal fuh me too ... it did resonate with me also.
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 26, 2013, 09:22:36 AM
Gervinho scores a nice goal to complete a fluid move by the Ivorians against Tunisia.

The commentator describes Gervinho as "the talismanic Gervinho" lol. I eh know about all dat.

Nice goal all the same.
Post by: Pointman on January 26, 2013, 04:53:06 PM
Why is Umed Ukri on the bench for Ethiopia still?? What de coach waiting on? >:(
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 27, 2013, 11:01:57 AM
Big match for Bafana Bafana about to kick off vs. Morocco.

I hope that the South African fans do not abandon their team if the going gets tough.

There is no place for waggonism in football.
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 27, 2013, 11:11:25 AM
Big match for Bafana Bafana about to kick off vs. Morocco.

I hope that the South African fans do not abandon their team if the going gets tough.

There is no place for waggonism in football.

And now that loyalty and support is about to be tested.

1-0 to Morocco.
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 27, 2013, 12:31:37 PM
Boss equalizer by Bafana Bafana!

What a goal!
Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2013, 01:00:05 PM
I viewed the other game. Congrats to Cape Verde. I can see why Sir Alex and Manucho parted ways.
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 27, 2013, 01:26:39 PM
It's a good thing South Africa got that equalizer to make it 2-2, or they would have been eliminated. Cape Verde has played well enough to advance to the quarters so congrats to them. It is also good for the profile of the tournament that the host country is still in it.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on January 27, 2013, 04:06:56 PM
It's a good thing South Africa got that equalizer to make it 2-2, or they would have been eliminated. Cape Verde has played well enough to advance to the quarters so congrats to them. It is also good for the profile of the tournament that the host country is still in it.

Really enjoyed the game today, best game so far in my opinion. Good goals, passionate play and a full stadium. Also SA staying in this guarantees more full stadiums at least for one more round which helps the atmosphere.
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 27, 2013, 09:21:07 PM
Those South Africa goals have to among the best goals I have seen scored so far in the tournament.
Post by: lefty on January 28, 2013, 12:22:38 PM
ghana playing some sweet ball
http://drhtv.tv/streams/lsh-3.html
Post by: asylumseeker on January 28, 2013, 07:17:44 PM
ppl cyah be watching this tournament ... this thread too quiet. Beauty of a goal by Atsu today.
Post by: just cool on January 28, 2013, 07:47:21 PM
Where to watch this tourney, what channels is bringing the game?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 28, 2013, 08:06:48 PM
Easiest thing fuh you in NY would be www.espn3.com ... especially if yuh watching from a desktop or laptop. Last week games were running at 10 and 1 but because we're at the final game of the group stage, both games are being played simultaneously due to not wanting team's conspiring on results.

Lefty suggests this link: http://lsh.streamhunter.eu/ and on the previous page jahkingdom posted another link. Check them. Iz a nice vibe.
Post by: just cool on January 28, 2013, 08:10:35 PM
Easiest thing fuh you in NY would be www.espn3.com ... especially if yuh watching from a desktop or laptop. Last week games were running at 10 and 1 but because we're at the final game of the group stage, both games are being played simultaneously due to not wanting team's conspiring on results.

Lefty suggests this link: http://lsh.streamhunter.eu/ and on the previous page jahkingdom posted another link. Check them. Iz a nice vibe.
Nothing on time warner?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 28, 2013, 08:13:18 PM

Nothing on time warner?

I think if yuh have a TWC account yuh could ketch the games on yuh phone. Buh on espn3.com ... yuh should be able to see fuh free without having to subscribe etc. Someone else might be able to comment more definitively.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 28, 2013, 08:17:22 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/wC1_tMzaMuA&list=SP79m9Jm7_jmAJeWYImnBaeNMdO8JJGdvN&index=2

JC, goals by Ghana today ... first is Asamoah Gyan in the 6' and then a wicked goal by Atsu.

Gyan eh looking back with regret on the decision to flash from the EPL atallatall.

Ketch whatever footage yuh missed here (http://www.youtube.com/user/MyAfricanFootball?feature=watch)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 29, 2013, 12:09:31 PM
Nigeria ... not good enough.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 29, 2013, 12:22:08 PM
140,000 pounds a week, cyar go wrong
Post by: asylumseeker on January 29, 2013, 12:43:42 PM
All the drama saved for the end ...
Post by: asylumseeker on January 29, 2013, 12:45:50 PM
Ethiopia is a squad with about 3 players ... unfortunately one of them is injured. Mentally they seem naive. Fuad should have been given more of a chance in this tournament.
Post by: Fyzoman on January 29, 2013, 12:47:10 PM
Ethiopia was ah lost cause anyway, but dat tackle by dey keeper for a penalty (and red card) was priceless, my goodness:)
Post by: Jah Gol on February 03, 2013, 08:57:48 AM
http://atdee.net/

Ivory Coast v Nigeria
Post by: Peong on February 03, 2013, 10:10:10 AM
Big matchup boy.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 03, 2013, 10:33:27 AM
Good football too.
Post by: Bitter on February 03, 2013, 10:36:06 AM
Big Upset?
Post by: Jah Gol on February 03, 2013, 10:51:50 AM
2-1 Nigeria FT
Post by: Observer on February 03, 2013, 11:06:48 AM
Big Upset?

Indeed! Especially since I felt IvC had the better of the exchange. Is it possible to have too much talent? This generation ending with nothing to show for it. Respectfully, they have been in finals, so in that sense they were successful, however, no Trophy for their efforts.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 09:28:53 AM
This ia ah HUGE football day!!!

African football, Brazil v England, US v Honduras, Mexico V Jamaica, Socawarriors too...football like rain allyuh.

Victor Moses just make some magic for the Nigerian goal, I love the surface of the Durban field...football like rain!!!
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 09:30:15 AM
Nigeria up 2-0, Moses create it again!!!
Post by: Jah Gol on February 06, 2013, 09:53:14 AM
3-0 HT
Post by: Jah Gol on February 06, 2013, 10:18:17 AM
4-0
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2013, 10:38:26 AM
Musa has been better here coming off the bench.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2013, 10:41:28 AM
Keshi has been uncompromising. Since Yobo made mistakes early in the group stage, he hasn't seen much sunlight. Ah real vex I missed NGR v Ivory Coast.
Post by: fari on February 06, 2013, 11:48:16 AM
now for ghana to take care off burkina faso
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 02:24:33 PM
I want Burkina Faso to win, I want to see my boy Pirtoipa in the final.

Football like rain, Brazil England on de tv, Burkina Ghana on the Mac, it doh get better than this:)
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 02:56:21 PM
So de ref didn't have de cohones to give ah late penalty and just ruin de game and de tournament for Burkina Faso!
Post by: theworm2345 on February 06, 2013, 03:02:04 PM
So de ref didn't have de cohones to give ah late penalty and just ruin de game and de tournament for Burkina Faso!
There was also the early penalty shout for Burkina Faso not given, the highly questionable Ghanaian penalty, and the Burkinabe goal where he called a high foot on a 50/50 ball...very questionable officiating.

Gyan hasn't even thought about taking any penalties for Ghana in the friendlies before the tournament or during it, I wonder if he'll take one here.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 03:15:03 PM
Great football, Burkina on PKs over Ghana!!
Yeah good point, no Gyan penalty kicks, he couldn't do no worse than he 3 teamates dat miss:)
Post by: theworm2345 on February 06, 2013, 03:18:41 PM
Great football, Burkina on PKs over Ghana!!
Yeah good point, no Gyan penalty kicks, he couldn't do no worse than he 3 teamates dat miss:)
You talked about lack of cojones...you're the captain and team's striker and you can't take a penalty?  Gyan has to man up there.
Post by: Trini Madness on February 06, 2013, 03:24:15 PM
wanted ghana to go through but it seem ghana cyah get a chance in south africa. overall, great game.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 06, 2013, 03:31:53 PM
Heart....miles and miles of heart
Burkina Faso (and Shane Falco) had it tonight...Ghana didn't
Post by: Andre on February 06, 2013, 03:36:27 PM
BK was the better team tonight. i feel they could beat nigeria.
Post by: Andre on February 06, 2013, 03:40:30 PM
i was wondering watching this competition how T&T would rank in it theoretically.

de current squad could get out of the group phase?
Post by: Trini Madness on February 06, 2013, 03:57:13 PM
Heart....miles and miles of heart
Burkina Faso (and Shane Falco) had it tonight...Ghana didn't

lol totally agree!
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 04:00:53 PM
i was wondering watching this competition how T&T would rank in it theoretically.

de current squad could get out of the group phase?

From de start I wondering if we could beat any of the African teams, granted some teams have some head cases on their rosters, but it have rel ballers too.

I feel with all our available foreign-based and a couple locals, and a good coach, we could represent lil bit.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 04:02:27 PM
I wonder if dey could go back and review Pitroipa second yellow, he was CLEARLY fouled and it's really harsh for him to miss de final cause of the clown ref >:(
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2013, 09:33:11 PM
That goal by Sunday Mba (to send Ivory Coast packing) ... reminded me of Lilian Thuram's WC goals ... not for the manner of execution completely, but fuh de similarity in reaction.

At this point, Keshi's selection of local-based players has been vindicated. Oboabona and Mba ... 
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2013, 09:41:17 PM
I couldn't ketch the second half of the GHA- BKF game ... I was surprised to read the outcome here. Ghana was fuh me the most fluid team during the tourney. They typically looked untroubled and went about their business professionally.

Bout time Bance came good.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2013, 10:30:57 PM
I couldn't ketch the second half of the GHA- BKF game ... I was surprised to read the outcome here. Ghana was fuh me the most fluid team during the tourney. They typically looked untroubled and went about their business professionally.

Bout time Bance came good.

Nah Flyod-ah mean-Bance coulda score bout 5 today, but he score he Panenka, so he make up for he misses :)
Post by: Fyzoman on February 09, 2013, 01:17:23 AM
I wonder if dey could go back and review Pitroipa second yellow, he was CLEARLY fouled and it's really harsh for him to miss de final cause of the clown ref >:(

Look how ah quoting mehself nah....Pitroipa getting to play!!!!!!
Post by: Fyzoman on February 10, 2013, 12:12:24 PM
Come allyuh doh stick de final about to start...

http://espn.go.com/watchespn/index
Post by: asylumseeker on February 10, 2013, 12:27:08 PM
I need another option than ESPN ... Pretty please
Post by: asylumseeker on February 10, 2013, 12:28:05 PM

Look how ah quoting mehself nah....Pitroipa getting to play!!!!!!

Excellent news.
Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2013, 12:56:15 PM
I need another option than ESPN ... Pretty please

From this very thread...

http://atdee.net/

Ivory Coast v Nigeria

ghana playing some sweet ball
http://drhtv.tv/streams/lsh-3.html

Type P2P live, and click football, then scroll down:  http://myp2p.cd/index.php?sport=football

and lastly from a mysterious source...

Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2013, 01:03:40 PM
With the amount of skills and speed these fellas have, if they could just get the final ball and the finishing, African teams would be a real force.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 10, 2013, 01:11:14 PM
Goal Nigeria, should make the second half interesting.
Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2013, 01:14:10 PM
They need to shave Bance head. He cyah have that hairstyle until he could put a shot on target.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 10, 2013, 01:23:22 PM
They need to shave Bance head. He cyah have that hairstyle until he could put a shot on target.

And friggin Coulibally, de man come out to sell and achieve he goal.

Nah Bance eh easy, dah man could kick overbar and wide boy, see even de announcer dem know and dey eh hating on him eh, dey just  know dais he thing :)

Hopefully Burkina could make ah game of it, I want to see my boy Pitroipa do ah lil something.
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 10, 2013, 01:30:30 PM
....dat goal was nice!!
Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2013, 01:51:36 PM
....dat goal was nice!!

Ent!
The more you watch it, the better it gets
Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2013, 01:57:47 PM
These sides frustrating me. Knock-knock-knock-ball to nobody.
I only steupsin whole game.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 10, 2013, 01:59:11 PM
Would like to see Burkina Faso bring on Dagano...hasn't done much in the relatively limited time he's had this tournament but can definitely get a goal.

Nice save there from "Enyeamagnet"
Post by: Fyzoman on February 10, 2013, 02:11:39 PM
Would like to see Burkina Faso bring on Dagano...hasn't done much in the relatively limited time he's had this tournament but can definitely get a goal.

Look yuh player come on :)
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 10, 2013, 02:14:35 PM
  These friggin' Africans does have some SERIOUS skill boy! Ah does could only laugh when dey ress beat on one another.  Burkina Faso seem to have more players with more individual skill, (but how easy is it, really, to assess that?) and Nigeria seem to be more organized as a team......

Dat really was a helluva save to get down as quickly as he did!!
Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2013, 02:22:17 PM
Hard Luck Dey Burkina Faso.
Post by: truetrini on February 10, 2013, 02:23:26 PM
frustrating football....all the so called skills and the footbailn IQ lacking for me...PHEW!  Glad thatw as over, so happy BF did not equalize, 30 more minutes of that shit would have been too much to stomach
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 10, 2013, 02:43:40 PM
frustrating football....all the so called skills and the footbailn IQ lacking for me...PHEW!  Glad thatw as over, so happy BF did not equalize, 30 more minutes of that shit would have been too much to stomach

African teams/players always seem to play purely on instinct.....Can be very entertaining and fruitless at the senior level, results-wise, but it sure as hell does pay orff fuh dem at the youth level.  I sure everybody know who I glad for. ;D I did hear the commentator say he had a couple MOM performances in the tournament. Good for him! 
Post by: kaliman2006 on February 10, 2013, 02:49:55 PM
Congrats to the Super Eagles
Title: Africa Cup Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on January 16, 2015, 01:48:06 PM
Yes, sir!

Title: African Nations Cup 2015
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 20, 2015, 08:56:02 PM
Anyone else following?

Seen the Ghana game.. huge shocker.

Overall, good quality football. Many Euro based players are participating.
Title: Re: Africa Cup 2015
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 21, 2015, 07:07:49 AM
Anyone else following?

Seen the Ghana game.. huge shocker.

Overall, good quality football. Many Euro based players are participating.

The Senegal keeper was a man I went to school with. I can say that he has always been dedicated to his craft. His hard work has really paid off.
Title: Re: Africa Cup 2015
Post by: Sando prince on January 23, 2015, 08:51:52 PM

Any online links?

ah will watch some games over de weekend
Title: Re: African Cup of Nations TV
Post by: kounty on June 04, 2016, 11:58:10 AM
just take een a lil bit of the qualifiers - guineau-bissau vs zambia. I think this is a good competition for us to organize to get into in the future. I think the level would be good for us.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 04, 2016, 12:29:56 PM
just take een a lil bit of the qualifiers - guineau-bissau vs zambia. I think this is a good competition for us to organize to get into in the future. I think the level would be good for us.

Doh think it works like that. It's unlike the traditional Copa America.
Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2016, 02:50:00 PM
Kounty, how is that possible? I could see us getting an invite to a West Africa FU tournament, but an All African tournament where there is qualifications involved?  Even though nothing is impossible, I don't see that happening.

As far as the level of play being at our level. CFU ? Concacaf? That depends. The North Africans, Egypt, Tunisia, Maroc, Algeria and the West Africans, Ghana, Nigeria, CoteDIvoire, Cameroun, Togo, Sierra Leone,Liberia, the Sothern African, Zambia, SA, Angola all play a higher standard of ball than us in CFU. And they can match the best that Concacaf has to offer.
Post by: kounty on June 05, 2016, 09:20:42 AM
Kounty, how is that possible? I could see us getting an invite to a West Africa FU tournament, but an All African tournament where there is qualifications involved?  Even though nothing is impossible, I don't see that happening.

As far as the level of play being at our level. CFU ? Concacaf? That depends. The North Africans, Egypt, Tunisia, Maroc, Algeria and the West Africans, Ghana, Nigeria, CoteDIvoire, Cameroun, Togo, Sierra Leone,Liberia, the Sothern African, Zambia, SA, Angola all play a higher standard of ball than us in CFU. And they can match the best that Concacaf has to offer.
At any one point in time, not all of them playing better than us... eg at this point Ghana up, Nigeria down etc. If we even look at the rankings we all in 20 or so points around each other. I think Jamaica, Haiti and t&T would all be interested as 'special invitees' to a tournament to CAF. Maybe even make it the winner & or runner up of Caribbean Cup. Asylum, I not saying that it the current rules allow for it now, but I think that is the sort of things that presidents and federations does/could work out among each other once there is a will...and I the level of competition is just right for us (will help us to consistently improve)...some sides we could beat, some sides that will beat us and we will have to bring out our A++ game each match.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2016, 10:25:42 AM

At any one point in time, not all of them playing better than us... eg at this point Ghana up, Nigeria down etc. If we even look at the rankings we all in 20 or so points around each other. I think Jamaica, Haiti and t&T would all be interested as 'special invitees' to a tournament to CAF. Maybe even make it the winner & or runner up of Caribbean Cup. Asylum, I not saying that it the current rules allow for it now, but I think that is the sort of things that presidents and federations does/could work out among each other once there is a will...and I the level of competition is just right for us (will help us to consistently improve)...some sides we could beat, some sides that will beat us and we will have to bring out our A++ game each match.

Fair.
Title: Re: African Nations Cup Link
Post by: asylumseeker on January 13, 2017, 10:22:43 AM
http://www.espnfc.com/african-nations-cup/76/blog/post/3037603/african-nations-cup-everything-you-need-to-know-as-ivory-coast-defend-title

Saturday, January 15, 2017

Gabon v. Guinea-Bissau.      1.00 pm
Burkina Faso v. Cameroon.  3:00 pm

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Algeria v. Zimbabwe.             
Tunisia v. Senegal.                 

Monday, January 16, 2017

Ivory Coast v. Togo.               
DR Congo v. Morocco.           

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Ghana v. Uganda.                 
Mali v. Egypt.                         

Post by: asylumseeker on January 14, 2017, 01:02:33 PM
Stadium ram. Just kicked off.

http://mobi.supersport.com/football/africa-cup-of-nations/news/170114/Big_Match_Feature_Cameroon_v_Burkina_Faso
Post by: asylumseeker on January 14, 2017, 01:41:09 PM
Good quality on display. Cameroon lead 1-0 off a deviating defensive header on a free kick. Scored at 34'. Clock on 41' now. Traffic in both directions. Lots of individual skill!

Africa has a raw WC qualifying deal as things stand pre-2026.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 15, 2017, 01:14:32 PM
www.rivonet.info/ch14.html

Tunisia v. Senegal
Title: Re: Africa Cup Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on January 19, 2017, 10:54:44 AM
www.rivonet.info/ch7.html

Algeria v. Tunisia.

Mahrez, Slimani, Bentaleb etc. 0-0 at the half. A lil bit of ignorance on display.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 19, 2017, 11:09:09 AM
What would football be like if deflections were not considered as valid? Defender looked close to tears.

Algeria 0 Tunisia 1 @ 52'.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 19, 2017, 11:27:17 AM
This game has NUFF ignorance. Ghoulam was attempting a header to his keeper ... from about 35 meters with his keeper positioned just off the goal line ... Bad decision. Not even a giraffe would have pulled that off. Attacking player latches on to the failed header and is in the penalty area 1 v 1 with the GK. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Ghoulam makes a desperate challenge. Penalty called. 2-0 Tunisia. Algeria on self-destruction.
Post by: Bitter on February 05, 2017, 02:36:53 PM
These Cameroon players have me cussing the tv. Is a clinic in poor decision making.
Post by: Bitter on February 05, 2017, 02:54:50 PM
These Cameroon players have me cussing the tv. Is a clinic in poor decision making.

And after that, a hell of a goal.
Post by: lefty on February 05, 2017, 03:34:32 PM

And after that, a hell of a goal.

jus watch d highlights my word what a way to win a final
Post by: kounty on January 18, 2018, 02:31:58 PM
Zambia vs Cote D'Ivoire was a nice match.  Nice level.
Post by: Deeks on January 18, 2018, 06:44:54 PM
What was the score ?
Post by: kounty on January 19, 2018, 09:31:40 AM
a 'surprise' 2-0 victory for Zambia. meaning zambia played 2 and won 2 while Cote D'ivoice played 2 and lost 2.

will take in the start of the Libya vs Nigeria in a few mins.

Bostock team RC Lens also plaing in a little while.
Post by: kounty on January 19, 2018, 12:24:04 PM
a 'surprise' 2-0 victory for Zambia. meaning zambia played 2 and won 2 while Cote D'ivoice played 2 and lost 2.

will take in the start of the Libya vs Nigeria in a few mins.

Bostock team RC Lens also plaing in a little while.
Libya ranked 8 below us in the current rankings, but I think they would be a good match for us. They were toe to toe with nigeria the whole match and concede in the 75th or somewhere late there.
Post by: kounty on February 04, 2018, 02:36:09 PM
Nigeria taking a 4-0 walloping from Morocco so far. Plenty time left for more.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 16, 2018, 06:06:24 PM
Some interesting results occurred today in qualifying. Comoros held Morocco to a 2-2 draw courtesy goals from El Fardou Ben Nabouhane (Red Star Belgrade, who also made Cameroon drop points during the prior round).

Another result that was appealing was Libya's loss to Nigeria.  Ended 3-2 uncomfortably for the Super  Eagles.

Cameroon and Ivory Coast have not been dominant. The Indomitable Lions couldn't subdue Malawi and Ivory Coast struggled against  the Central African Republic (both 0-0 affairs).

Madagascar beating Equatorial Guinea was also unexpected (1-0). Perhaps, so too South Africa drawing with the Seychelles (0-0) and Benin skating past Algeria (1-0).

https://www.youtube.com/v/Pa3E5GSYuHk

https://www.youtube.com/v/kZQUAbrN1UQ

https://www.youtube.com/v/POsz5LQ2ocA

https://www.youtube.com/v/GYwOVZygMsY
Post by: asylumseeker on February 07, 2021, 11:39:03 AM
The final kicks off at 3pm T&T time. Mali vs Morocco.

EDIT: Link here (http://actusports.eu/live/?ch=11&streaming=Mali-vs-Maroc)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2022, 04:04:09 PM
One year later to the date ... what a final! Gabaski!!!

Real happy for Aliou Cissé.

Elneny: 🔥

Post by: Deeks on February 07, 2022, 09:09:32 AM

I would be surprised if Gabaski don't get a contract in Europe. The Cameroon-Burkina game was fantastic and hilarious. 3 down and came to tie, and then won onpks. The Lions!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on March 02, 2022, 04:29:21 AM

I would be surprised if Gabaski don't get a contract in Europe. The Cameroon-Burkina game was fantastic and hilarious. 3 down and came to tie, and then won onpks. The Lions!!!!

He would have been assessed and scouted before. Some factors may weigh against him in the context of an European investment. However, there is advanced interest from Saudi Arabia.