Sports => Football => Topic started by: Big Magician on August 07, 2007, 09:14:53 PM

Title: Jerrel Britto Thread
Post by: Big Magician on August 07, 2007, 09:14:53 PM
 I predict.....Jerrel Britto the next top TnT striker....

15 yrs old..QRC and jabloteh.....sorry but dont mean to question Antons selection....but this Kid should be in Korea...born to score goals...thats different to a striker or forward or whatever you call them...this is a goalscorer....like Stern nah

Title: Re: Jerrel Britto
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2007, 09:42:04 PM
Never heard of him. Give more info.
Post by: Big Magician on August 07, 2007, 10:15:26 PM
well the time will come soon deeks.....
Post by: labi on August 08, 2007, 04:38:04 AM
personal friend..played with jerrel for 3 yrs..traveled to Grenada n also st vincent under 12 and under 15 with family soccer coaching academy...promising talent...still a green fruit doh withing 2 ripe..all d best 2 him   
Post by: arrow on August 08, 2007, 05:25:27 AM
this is a goalscorer....like Stern nah

He's that lazy of a player at such a young age?
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 08, 2007, 07:42:16 AM
If is ah Brito from San Juan, then I might know his big sis. Or could be his cousin. Bound to be related I think.

Will give her a call and find out more bout de youth. Cause she is ah big football fan (frantic Juventus fan), so will be able to say whether he really have it or not.
Post by: Big Magician on August 08, 2007, 08:55:58 AM
wel arrow...than god stern lazy.....or else you would be on crotia's forum
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2007, 09:34:44 AM
If we were all as lazy as Stern and accomplish so much TNt would be a better place.
Title: Jerrel Britto on trial at Portsmouth
Post by: ironman on December 11, 2007, 06:17:50 AM
Fellas I caught a glimpse of a story on news last night about a youthman from Trinidad on trial at Pompey,seemed a young  fella,they said he is due to go back next month.Anybody could shed some light on this?
Title: Re: Trini on trial at Portsmouth
Post by: sammy on December 11, 2007, 07:25:57 AM
I heard an interview with his mom on radio yesterday.

Basically, he went for a trial at portsmouth accompanied with his mother, got to train alongside the first team on one occasion, the coach said that he is four years advanced for his age and they are very excited about him. Now they want him to come back for a trial without his parents to see how he would cope.
BTW... he is 15yrs and attends QRC
Post by: mukumsplau on December 11, 2007, 07:30:26 AM
forum heads..shed some lite on this for d underlings please
Post by: Bourbon on December 11, 2007, 07:47:46 AM
15 and going to QRC? could be britto. I just speculating doh.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 11, 2007, 07:49:05 AM

Basically, he went for a trial at portsmouth accompanied with his mother, got to train alongside the first team on one occasion, the coach said that he is four years advanced for his age and they are very excited about him. Now they want him to come back for a trial without his parents to see how he would cope.

Is he Jerrel Brito?
Post by: sammy on December 11, 2007, 07:54:34 AM

Is he Jerrel Brito?

Yes, i am 99% sure its him
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 11, 2007, 07:57:02 AM
i thought some men on this board said tt have no talent locally, they not up to par and standard? ??? ::) schupssss, i remember saying we have more talent per square mile in the caribbean and man laugh... the funny thing is i knew after the world cup teams would take notice that our players are very talented and just need that chance to play at a higher level... now that our nation is under the football microscope, more and more players will be noticed that were disregarded before...

God is de BOSS....
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 11, 2007, 07:58:51 AM

Is he Jerrel Brito?

is he ready to play senior ball? ??? bc if he training with the first team and he 4 years ahead of his time in skill, he must be ready to play sr ball, at least start on the bench.... if he goin trial already with pompey at such an early age...

God is de BOSS...
Post by: Ngozi on December 11, 2007, 08:44:16 AM
CMON FELLAS LEH WE DOH GET AHEAD OF OURSELVES ..WE KNOW THE YOUTH GOOD BUT HE DIDNT EVEN MAKE THE NATIONAL UNDER 17 TEAM YET...lets just see how he does on the next trial and take it there...when men young like that allowing them to mature at the right pace is the key that's the different between  you getting a wayne rooney and freddy adu
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 11, 2007, 08:57:25 AM

Is he Jerrel Brito?

is he ready to play senior ball? ??? bc if he training with the first team and he 4 years ahead of his time in skill, he must be ready to play sr ball, at least start on the bench.... if he goin trial already with pompey at such an early age...

God is de BOSS...

You fuh real asking that question.  He going and play Reserve and academy ball for a bit.  He not getting a work permit, and will go to England on a student visa or something like that.  No way he cracking into that Pompey team right away.  He has good skill, but that doesn't mean that he has the right mental approach yet needed to succeed abroad.  I not trying to put mouth on de youth, but we need to not get too ahead of ourselves here.  Our players often lack the mental fortitude to stick it out when they go abroad, much less for our youths.
Post by: Big Magician on December 11, 2007, 09:07:01 AM
he starting saturday in place of Benjani
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 11, 2007, 09:07:54 AM

Is he Jerrel Brito?

God is de BOSS...

You fuh real asking that question. He going and play Reserve and academy ball for a bit. He not getting a work permit, and will go to England on a student visa or something like that. No way he cracking into that Pompey team right away. He has good skill, but that doesn't mean that he has the right mental approach yet needed to succeed abroad. I not trying to put mouth on de youth, but we need to not get too ahead of ourselves here. Our players often lack the mental fortitude to stick it out when they go abroad, much less for our youths.

i was just speculating, as u can see, i was asking a question, i never said the youth ready, the way man talkin is like he ready to play sr ball and play reserves right away... 4 years ahead of his time puts him at 19, which is the right age for 1st team ball, dependent on the player..

God is de BOSS...
Post by: Peong on December 11, 2007, 09:50:24 AM
All he need is to pass some money.
Dem men does take bribe.
Post by: Ngozi on December 11, 2007, 09:52:08 AM

lol yuh ass
Post by: WestCoast on December 11, 2007, 09:52:44 AM
All he need is to pass some money.
Dem men does take bribe.
is Mike Berry his agent?
 :-X
Post by: mukumsplau on December 11, 2007, 10:31:56 AM

allyuh men is d greatest oui
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 11, 2007, 10:35:34 AM
His parents read this message board, so I am sure we will be given an update to the situation at some time in the future.

The younger they get the exposure the more prepared they will be to face what is on the outside, as long as they have good parental and administrative support
Post by: dinho on December 11, 2007, 12:15:45 PM
If its Britto this is a shocking coincidence..

Last night on Gayelle there was about a 15 min feature on Jerrel Britto, and lemme tell yuh.. This youth is we future...

For a 15 year old, if you see touches, acceleration, finishing, turn of pace.. Most importantly he have de look of an established baller.. I know he's not an unknown because there was some uproar over him not being selected for the U17 world cup.. but allyuh need to see the clips of him.

And i was coming to post something about him last night and forget.

but like i said, if it is him was on trial would be a real coincidence..
Post by: vb on December 11, 2007, 12:22:01 PM
My question is, how did Portsmouth even hear about a 15 yr old in TT, who wasn't selected for the U-17 team?

Does anybody know?

Post by: dinho on December 11, 2007, 12:23:18 PM
My question is, how did Portsmouth even hear about a 15 yr old in TT, who wasn't selected for the U-17 team?

Does anybody know?

he is by no means an unknown... in fact he is a prodigy..

Better question is how does McCommie not select a talent like that for the U-17 team!
Post by: Grande on December 11, 2007, 12:29:33 PM
Hope he fares better than the last 3 Trinis we had on trial with Portsmouth

Good luck to the youth
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 11, 2007, 12:33:40 PM

Does anybody know?

Better question is how does McCommie not select a talent like that for the U-17 team!

McComie had nothing to do with the U-17 that was Anton Corneal call. To make that team Britto had to take Stephen Knox and Daniel Joseph spot. Knox was considered one of the top Caribbean players in that position.  

Britto played for Jabloteh youths last season so McComie did not have say in his club play either. A next young fella to look out for is Shaddon Winchester. Early days yet but as long as he have the right guidance he will be tears.
Post by: dinho on December 11, 2007, 12:34:44 PM

Does anybody know?

McComie had nothing to do with the U-17 that was Anton Corneal call. To make that team Britto had to take Stephen Knox and Daniel Joseph spot. Knox was considered one of the top Caribbean players in that position. 

Britto played for Jabloteh youths last season so McComie did not have say in his club play either. A next young fella to look out for is Shaddon Winchester. Early days yet but as long as he have the right guidance he will be tears.

my bad... anton corneal...
Post by: Mr Mc on December 11, 2007, 12:34:54 PM

Does anybody know?

excellent question
Post by: Bakes on December 11, 2007, 01:10:12 PM

God is de BOSS...

You fuh real asking that question.  He going and play Reserve and academy ball for a bit.  He not getting a work permit, and will go to England on a student visa or something like that.  No way he cracking into that Pompey team right away.  He has good skill, but that doesn't mean that he has the right mental approach yet needed to succeed abroad.  I not trying to put mouth on de youth, but we need to not get too ahead of ourselves here.  Our players often lack the mental fortitude to stick it out when they go abroad, much less for our youths.

Good post.
Post by: Bakes on December 11, 2007, 01:13:45 PM

Does anybody know?

Going back to the Peltier and Hyland incident....Portsmouth, and Redknapp himself apparently has an eye on TnT when it comes to youth players.  Fenwick engineered those trials, not sure who was behind this one but interesting to note (as Zandolie states) that Britto is a former Jabloteh youth player.
Post by: palos on December 11, 2007, 02:07:07 PM
Does anybody know of any "T&T prodigy" defenders?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 11, 2007, 02:29:49 PM

How yuh go take man joy so  :rotfl:

The U-17 was actually one of the better set of defenders we have had. They were very stingy....until the world cup. They have had their baptism of fire. Precisely why a national sport priority should be training our new U-17 team. Starting right after Xmas. Or Mr. Carrington will be plagarizing Mr. Corneal's excuse-handbook.

But if history is a guide TTFF are on course to  fail our youth yet again.
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 11, 2007, 02:31:59 PM

Does anybody know?

my bad... anton corneal...

well he was training with the under 17 but did not make the cut
Post by: Football supporter on December 11, 2007, 03:20:50 PM
I heard talk of a couple of promising midfielders, Mark Tanner age around 16 and Martin Wilmott age around 14. Anyone seen these guys play? I think Wilmott comes from Morvant.

The current craze with scouting non EU youngsters is to follow the Arsenal pattern. Find them, look at them in training, and if they show promise, buy them for your European feeder club. By the time the boy becomes a man, he's eligible for UK work permit.

This works with African players as most countries have European colonial links, so qualify for a visa. Now there seems to be a way in for Caribbean players via Spain, I expect to see many more youngsters picked up by European clubs.

FPATT are in negotiaton with an academy looking to recruit 15-17 year olds. Although the project was originally for African youths, we are negotiating to obtain places for Trinis.

I will tell you more when we have news.
Post by: Bakes on December 11, 2007, 03:42:35 PM
I heard talk of a couple of promising midfielders, Mark Tanner age around 16 and Martin Wilmott age around 14. Anyone seen these guys play? I think Wilmott comes from Morvant.

The current craze with scouting non EU youngsters is to follow the Arsenal pattern. Find them, look at them in training, and if they show promise, buy them for your European feeder club. By the time the boy becomes a man, he's eligible for UK work permit.

This works with African players as most countries have European colonial links, so qualify for a visa. Now there seems to be a way in for Caribbean players via Spain, I expect to see many more youngsters picked up by European clubs.

FPATT are in negotiaton with an academy looking to recruit 15-17 year olds. Although the project was originally for African youths, we are negotiating to obtain places for Trinis.

I will tell you more when we have news.

Thanks for the update breds....good stuff coming from the FPATT quarters.
Post by: duscam on December 11, 2007, 04:01:23 PM
only one bad thing bout the youth...he going QRC  ;D
Post by: dinho on December 11, 2007, 04:35:41 PM

:whistling:   i'm blind to youuuuuuu... haters.... cyah touch me war instigators... :yapping:
Post by: Deeks on December 11, 2007, 05:23:14 PM
Duscam,
              Going to QRC builds character. I hope he makes it. He is at the right age.
Post by: palos on December 11, 2007, 05:35:53 PM

The U-17 was actually one of the better set of defenders we have had. They were very stingy....until the world cup. They have had their baptism of fire. Precisely why a national sport priority should be training our new U-17 team. Starting right after Xmas. Or Mr. Carrington will be plagarizing Mr. Corneal's excuse-handbook.

I not tryin to take nobody joy nutting.

I simply askin if anybody know of any young defenders who have REAL potential?

We hear about players like Britto & Peltier & Hyland etc...all offensive players.  Yes ah know de tendency is to talk about attacking players only.

However, I thinkin bout we National team now and in years to come.  Where are the international class defenders going to come from?

We could line up wit Kenwyne Jones & Edwards and Stern John all we want, but if we eh have competent international defenders and midfielders, we eh goin no way.

But because I ask dese questions, ah guess I hatin.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 11, 2007, 06:54:43 PM

I not tryin to take nobody joy nutting.

I simply askin if anybody know of any young defenders who have REAL potential?

We hear about players like Britto & Peltier & Hyland etc...all offensive players. Yes ah know de tendency is to talk about attacking players only.

However, I thinkin bout we National team now and in years to come. Where are the international class defenders going to come from?

We could line up wit Kenwyne Jones & Edwards and Stern John all we want, but if we eh have competent international defenders and midfielders, we eh goin no way.

But because I ask dese questions, ah guess I hatin.

How yuh sensitive so? Nobody accuse yuh of hatin. Well except Omar  :afro:   Ah laugh at yuh post because as men get a little false confidence ah know ah could rely on yuh to leggo a reality bomb and bring us back down to earth.

You well know with our "flambouyant" culture we don't generally value the kind of plain, unglamourous, workmanlike grit we need in good defenders, let alone stamina. The closest thing we have to that in the near future is the U-17 world cup team. They ent international class YET. But they have more international experience and better results than any set of youths in my recent memory, including the U-17 team from WC held in T&T.

That is why I really not studying 2010. Training that U-16 for 2009 including  developing defensive players is the best way to secure success in the near to long term.
Post by: dreamer on December 11, 2007, 08:01:47 PM
i thought some men on this board said tt have no talent locally, they not up to par and standard? ??? ::) schupssss, i remember saying we have more talent per square mile in the caribbean and man laugh... the funny thing is i knew after the world cup teams would take notice that our players are very talented and just need that chance to play at a higher level... now that our nation is under the football microscope, more and more players will be noticed that were disregarded before...

God is de BOSS....

Constructive point .... at last  ;D  :beermug:  Go easy on the one upmanship though TI.
Post by: just cool on December 11, 2007, 08:37:44 PM

Does anybody know?

It's the same thing i said on the daryl roberts thread. local coaches are all out for lunch, they always ignore and passover the true genuine talented youths for crappy players, that's why we never reached a WC before,to much games and favoritism when it come's to anything local. i went to school with marlon morris who played for the strike squad, and there were players far more excellent than him that never even got a call for the national team tryouts. after my time there was a kid by the name of darrall edwards who was pure poison, he played well in any position, but never even got a sniff from the national selectors, instead they picked paul rudder who was good no doubt, but no where close to darrell edwards ability, who was the best player i've ever seen in T&T. paul rudder had an older brother who went by the name sabba, that was an excellent player who just went to waste BC no one took the time not even to gave this brother a trial, alvin corneil, rolf bartollo, nobody ! while tod willis got an opportunity, his neighbor, and though todd was an excellent defender, sabba was far more deserving of an opportunity than anyone else i know, even todd. i guess that's our loss T&T.
Post by: dinho on December 11, 2007, 09:05:50 PM

Does anybody know?

It's the same thing i said on the daryl roberts thread. local coaches are all out for lunch, they always ignore and passover the true genuine talented youths for crappy players, that's why we never reached a WC before,to much games and favoritism when it come's to anything local. i went to school with marlon morris who played for the strike squad, and there were players far more excellent than him that never even got a call for the national team tryouts. after my time there was a kid by the name of darrall edwards who was pure poison, he played well in any position, but never even got a sniff from the national selectors, instead they picked paul rudder who was good no doubt, but no where close to darrell edwards ability, who was the best player i've ever seen in T&T. paul rudder had a older brother who went by the name sabba, that was an excellent player who just went to waste BC no one took the time not even to gave this brother a trial, alvin corneil, rolf bartollo, nobody ! while tod willis got an opportunity, his neighbor, and though todd was an excellent defender, sabba was far more deserving of an opportunity than anyone else i know, even todd. i guess that's our loss T&T.

just cool is paul rudder you say?? short man??

tell me more... if is de same youth i think u talking about i know this fella well....
Post by: just cool on December 11, 2007, 09:23:03 PM
Omar, paul rudder was a brown skin sleepy eyed stocky and short youth, very quiet and mellow, originally from nelson street plannings, he played for the national youth team in 1984 and beyond, very quick on his feet good goal scorer. i don't know what became of him since i left trini.
Post by: dinho on December 11, 2007, 09:26:52 PM
Omar, paul rudder was a brown skin sleepy eyed stocky and short youth, very quiet and mellow, originally from nelson street plannings, he played for the national youth team in 1984 and beyond, very quick on his feet good goal scorer. i don't know what became of him since i left trini.

ok, not the same fella i know i was wondering nuh..

the paul rudder i know is a bajan who played some ball in holland and had some pfl tryouts here, and is only about 25 yrs old now..

was living by me at a point in time..
Post by: Youth Baller on December 11, 2007, 09:46:22 PM
Anytime now or when he returns from SSFL All Star fixtures may believe that Shandhon Winchester  the Under 15 vice/co-captain would be called on Trails also , he is said to be tactically smarter and way more skillful than Britto.
Post by: weary1969 on December 11, 2007, 10:48:07 PM
No work permit issue he goin in d academy so a student visa will surffice
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 12, 2007, 07:44:20 AM
Pompey trial T&T starlet

Youngster tries his luck on South Coast

Trinidad & Tobago starlet Jerrel Britto has spent the last two-weeks on trial at Premier League Portsmouth.

The 15-year-old was spotted by Pompey scouts during the Caribbean Youth Cup and was invited to England to try his luck.

The San Juan Jabloteh striker was pleased with how things went during his time on the South Coast.

Experience

"It was an amazing experience for me as a 15-year old getting that opportunity to train with a club like Portsmouth," Britto told TTFF Media.

"Amazing is the best word I can think of because it was the first time I attended a professional club like that and at first I trained with the Under 16s but then the coaches decided to put me with the Under 18s.

"At the moment their U18s are described as the best passing team in the youth league in England so it suited my game well.

"I had the chance to gain the knowledge as well as interact with the other players there.

"Of course they asked a lot about the football in Trinidad because of us playing in the World Cup last year and they also knew about the Under 17s going to Korea."

Transfer

Britto revealed that Pompey could offer him a permanent deal in January when he returns for a second stint.

"Overall I had to be patient and do my best. They have asked me to come back for another trial in January, this time without my parents, and if things go well they could keep me with one of their youth teams," he said.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_2964129,00.html

Skysports an all covering it
Post by: spideybuff on December 12, 2007, 08:32:30 AM

You well know with our "flambouyant" culture we don't generally value the kind of plain, unglamourous, workmanlike grit we need in good defenders, let alone stamina. The closest thing we have to that in the near future is the U-17 world cup team.

Yeah it kinda indicative of our culture when two ppl we consider to be defenders (Kenwyne and Rougier) go to the UK and come back as forwards.
Post by: weary1969 on December 12, 2007, 10:43:29 AM
Everybody want to b a star boi so nobody eh want to Defend but is a defender who make sure we reach d big dance
Post by: Big Magician on December 12, 2007, 11:20:30 AM
so am i a talent scout or what ???.....
Post by: weary1969 on December 12, 2007, 11:25:00 AM
Good find BM. Help out yuh pardner palos and find we some defenders
Post by: Big Magician on December 12, 2007, 11:30:38 AM
defenders ???...Carlon Murray
Post by: maxg on December 12, 2007, 11:34:32 AM

God is de BOSS....

Constructive point .... at last  ;D  :beermug:  Go easy on the one upmanship though TI.

Look ah lil pin
 :thinking:
musbe have ah ton ah costa Ricans, Mexicans,an Japenese,etc etc in dem academies den, since dey making WC plenty time, an givin even better performances than many....or dem doh have talent as youths, or possibly dem jus as happy to stay whey dey is, an doh wha/need no academy/contract from EPl...or is ah skin, language ting...or maybe they tooooo expensive.....hmmmmnnn
Title: Jerrel Britto
Post by: pompeyfan on December 12, 2007, 12:09:44 PM
Who is he??

And would it be a good move for him if he moves to pompey? (as that what skysports.com are quoting)

and tell me abit about him?

Cheers
Post by: weary1969 on December 12, 2007, 12:12:10 PM
D yute was spotted in d Under 15 championship and was taken to England and from all reports it went well. It will b a Win Win for him and d club he can only benefit and I sure portsmouth will get d return on their investment.

He from a good family background and once he remember what they taught him no disciplinary problems will b experienced.
Post by: weary1969 on December 12, 2007, 12:17:32 PM
Palos BM find a defender 4 yuh ok 4 us. Since he was spot on wit Britto let we look out 4 d Murray guy
Post by: dinho on December 12, 2007, 12:19:24 PM
Palos BM find a defender 4 yuh ok 4 us. Since he was spot on wit Britto let we look out 4 d Murray guy

... and after you find a promising defender and keeper, that hater palos will say, "what... we dont have no prodigy waterboys?"   :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on December 12, 2007, 12:21:27 PM
Doh ruff up d Moderator sooooooooooo
Post by: Arazi on December 12, 2007, 12:51:43 PM
ok as a qrc fan this is what i have noticed about him...pacy..good close control..deceptive turn of speed and sharp dribbling...loves to take low powerful shots... not a bad passer altho he can overdo the fancy flick-ons

my only real grouse with him is that he aims at the keeper 90% of the time..something he gets away with in his age group due to his power..keepers can't really handle that..but if he works on his placement he will be a good future striker..
Post by: Big Magician on December 12, 2007, 01:01:44 PM
good stuff arazi
Post by: handsanointed on December 12, 2007, 02:06:44 PM
I have seen all the comments and speculation. I will post a detailed report before the end of the week.

(Jerrel's mom)
Post by: Peong on December 12, 2007, 02:12:55 PM
Thanks moms.
Post by: Mr Mc on December 12, 2007, 03:08:44 PM
man its quiet in here all of a sudden.
Welcome to Jerrel's Mom, I for one am glad to see a parent taking such an active role, it bodes well for his journey.
Post by: Bakes on December 12, 2007, 03:16:12 PM
I have seen all the comments and speculation. I will post a detailed report before the end of the week.

(Jerrel's mom)

Thanks a lot, much appreciated.  If it's not too much as well, it would also be appreciated if you could check in occasionally and let us know how he's doing next month when he goes back.
Post by: dinho on December 12, 2007, 03:28:56 PM
oh gosh moms yuh make men sit up straight like it have picka in dey seat all of ah sudden...

dese fellahs dont normally be this quiet u know..  ;D

welcome to the forum and keep us updated. Wishing yuh son all the best.
Post by: Big Magician on December 12, 2007, 04:50:59 PM
moms...lend me 20 quid for a pint and a chipper

well done to the parents.....god bless
Post by: dumpalewie on December 12, 2007, 05:21:27 PM

(Jerrel's mom)
Nice Moms.

Ah hope he outside training as we speak ;D
Post by: handsanointed on December 12, 2007, 08:00:23 PM
I have seen all the speculations, comments and criticisms concerning Jerrel's trial at Portsmouth. All are appreciated. I will give a detailed report on the subject.
Post by: mukumsplau on December 12, 2007, 08:14:57 PM
no cussin ppl sombody mooma in d room
Post by: pompey_researcher on December 13, 2007, 03:50:36 AM
Will be interesting to read as someone who lives in and supports Portsmouth :)
Post by: just cool on December 13, 2007, 04:56:44 AM
Will be interesting to read as someone who lives in and supports Portsmouth :)
Hey pompey researcher,it look's like your team is doing quite well this season, europe is within your grasp, as in champions league. i hope benjani and muntari keep tallying the goals, too bad peltier and hyland couldn't get a taste, maybe next year.           positive.
Post by: pompey_researcher on December 13, 2007, 06:29:54 AM
Hi, yea we are doing quite well at the moment. Our academy team is matching our first team as well so if someone is given the chance to join they will be given everychance through academy under Paul Hart.
Post by: rastafari on December 13, 2007, 10:30:26 AM

Paul Rudder used to play for my old club,St francois Nationals as a forward.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: slates on December 13, 2007, 10:54:50 AM

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Did Paul Rudder go to Eastern Boys School?
Post by: just cool on December 13, 2007, 07:45:17 PM

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Did Paul Rudder go to Eastern Boys School?
Yes , him and his brother micheal (aka- sabba) them boys was playing football since they were old enough to walk, very good ballers.
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 13, 2007, 07:49:37 PM
gosh moms ah waiting give on that report .....
Post by: handsanointed on December 18, 2007, 01:24:03 PM
First of all I must say how proud we are of our son and how we commend him for the humility he has maintained throughout. At the age of 9 years old Jerrel began attending the Family Soccer coaching Academy managed by Vaughn "Bella" Alexander. It is at that academy that the ability we had recognized in Jerrel at a younger age was developed and I want to publicly say thanks to Vaughn Alexander. One Saturday morning not having enough funds to send Jerrel to the academy which was based at Presentation College, Chaguanas, I was busy looking in the house for all the quarters I could gather to send Jerrel off and he touched me on my back and told me that one day he would send me English, as at that time he did not know that the UK currecy was called Pounds. I became very teary at that point. I shared this first because i wanted to shed some light on the fact that from a very young age Jerrel had a dream.
Rgarding his trial at Portsmouth-As the article written states, Jerrel was seen by an agent during the recently concluded CFU tournament. We were invited to England by the club, where in the first week we were exposed to the living arrangements that the club has for foreign players which are at their academy. We stayed with houseparents. Jerrel began training the very next day after we arrived. I was very concerned about how he would cope with the weather but after speaking to him on the first day, he expressed that he was very confortable as he was given appropriate clothing to wear during the session. He continued to train with the under 18 team and was given one try with the under 16's. I attended two of his training sessions where I saw a child that had adjusted really well, meshed with some of the players and able to play his game without any intimidation.He showed alot of concentartion during the drills and was just himself during the practice matches.
After his final training session, I was informed that he would be required to return without parents in January and upon speaking to the U18 coach, he informed me that he was very pleased and that he is four years advance.He said that in the first week they recognized some shyness and fright but in the second week, they saw wahat he got.I took time to ask about what the club had in place where a players' education is concerned and he explained to me that it was top priority.
As parents we want to make sure that every area of our son's life is covered if and when we decide, should he be successful at his next trial. At the end of the day it is not all about money but it is vey important that Jerrel Britto be a holistic individual and a positive statistic to society. We have been instructed by the Lord to train him up in the way he should go, we have tried to that to the best of our ability to do just as we have been instructed. God has the final say in our lives. We are grateful for all the doors that has and will open to Jerrel. We know that he is destined for greatness and once he acknowledges the Lord, stays humble and keeps focus, his dreams will come to pass. As a family we are committed to supporting this young man, we are closely knitted together and him being in another country will not change that. We thank Trinidad and Tobago and all who has wished him good success. I take this time to encourage parents to stand with their chilldren. It does not take a big bank account or living in a mansion for a child to realize his or her dreams. As a family we have had tough,tough times but our faith in the Lord and our love as family and support for each other has kept us together.Blessings to all and have a BLESSED HOLIDAY!
Post by: doc on December 18, 2007, 01:30:01 PM
Amen, sista! I wish Jerrel and the family well!!
Post by: trinbago on December 18, 2007, 01:34:07 PM
Now that is what I call a Christmas story... :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Dutty on December 18, 2007, 01:36:30 PM
Nice write up handsanointed

Seems like your son knew of his destiny from a young age
Best of luck (with hard work)  to Jerrel....and best wishes to your family
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 18, 2007, 03:17:42 PM
Good luck to the young man. We need more souls like this not only in football but in the broader community.
Post by: dinho on December 18, 2007, 03:47:52 PM
First of all I must say how proud we are of our son and how we commend him for the humility he has maintained throughout. At the age of 9 years old Jerrel began attending the Family Soccer coaching Academy managed by Vaughn "Bella" Alexander. It is at that academy that the ability we had recognized in Jerrel at a younger age was developed and I want to publicly say thanks to Vaughn Alexander. One Saturday morning not having enough funds to send Jerrel to the academy which was based at Presentation College, Chaguanas, I was busy looking in the house for all the quarters I could gather to send Jerrel off and he touched me on my back and told me that one day he would send me English, as at that time he did not know that the UK currecy was called Pounds. I became very teary at that point. I shared this first because i wanted to shed some light on the fact that from a very young age Jerrel had a dream.
Rgarding his trial at Portsmouth-As the article written states, Jerrel was seen by an agent during the recently concluded CFU tournament. We were invited to England by the club, where in the first week we were exposed to the living arrangements that the club has for foreign players which are at their academy. We stayed with houseparents. Jerrel began training the very next day after we arrived. I was very concerned about how he would cope with the weather but after speaking to him on the first day, he expressed that he was very confortable as he was given appropriate clothing to wear during the session. He continued to train with the under 18 team and was given one try with the under 16's. I attended two of his training sessions where I saw a child that had adjusted really well, meshed with some of the players and able to play his game without any intimidation.He showed alot of concentartion during the drills and was just himself during the practice matches.
After his final training session, I was informed that he would be required to return without parents in January and upon speaking to the U18 coach, he informed me that he was very pleased and that he is four years advance.He said that in the first week they recognized some shyness and fright but in the second week, they saw wahat he got.I took time to ask about what the club had in place where a players' education is concerned and he explained to me that it was top priority.
As parents we want to make sure that every area of our son's life is covered if and when we decide, should he be successful at his next trial. At the end of the day it is not all about money but it is vey important that Jerrel Britto be a holistic individual and a positive statistic to society. We have been instructed by the Lord to train him up in the way he should go, we have tried to that to the best of our ability to do just as we have been instructed. God has the final say in our lives. We are grateful for all the doors that has and will open to Jerrel. We know that he is destined for greatness and once he acknowledges the Lord, stays humble and keeps focus, his dreams will come to pass. As a family we are committed to supporting this young man, we are closely knitted together and him being in another country will not change that. We thank Trinidad and Tobago and all who has wished him good success. I take this time to encourage parents to stand with their chilldren. It does not take a big bank account or living in a mansion for a child to realize his or her dreams. As a family we have had tough,tough times but our faith in the Lord and our love as family and support for each other has kept us together.Blessings to all and have a BLESSED HOLIDAY!

really heartwarming stuff..

all the best to Jerrel, keep up the good work and i'm sure with his family's prayers and support and that vision and mindset he will go places..

Post by: FF on December 18, 2007, 04:37:48 PM
Mums... yuh make meh pores raise... I feel like ah go cry  :'(

All the best to you and your family!!
Post by: WestCoast on December 18, 2007, 05:05:17 PM
All the best to You, your family and especially at this time to Jerrel.
Post by: pompey_researcher on December 19, 2007, 11:42:47 AM
Nice write up, hope he succeeds
Post by: Grande on December 19, 2007, 04:45:21 PM
All the best wishes to Jerrel. Very nice to hear the family supporting him in all walks of his life
Post by: weary1969 on December 19, 2007, 09:59:40 PM
D word of God says life and death is in d power of d tougue. Keepin proclaming Jerrel and God will continue to their part.
Post by: Quags on December 19, 2007, 11:39:11 PM
Me ein t know what it is  about this boy is remind me of LeBron James ...but in the yrs to come he need some bulking up doh .Most prosperity for this family in this season .

PS who is Shandhon Winchester   who youthballer torking about ,we not big enough to let any talent fall tru the cracks .
Post by: pompey_researcher on January 07, 2008, 05:43:58 AM
Just wondering if he is back over here on trial?
Post by: weary1969 on January 07, 2008, 01:38:00 PM
Not yet
Post by: handsanointed on January 28, 2008, 09:00:51 AM
We have not yet gotten any word on the second trial at Portsmouth.Jerrel is still in Trinidad. However, he has gotten an invitation for a trial at another English FC. Will give further details at another time.
Post by: FireBrand on January 28, 2008, 09:09:06 AM
We have not yet gotten any word on the second trial at Portsmouth.Jerrel is still in Trinidad. However, he has gotten an invitation for a trial at another English FC. Will give further details at another time.

Keep the faith mums.
Post by: handsanointed on January 28, 2008, 09:21:03 AM
We are keeping the faith as a family.We truly believe the Lord is in control.Whatever is God's will, we accept. Re Portsmouth: The agent did say that he has to talk to Paul Hart with respect to the second trial.
Post by: weary1969 on January 28, 2008, 12:52:40 PM
We all await d word
Title: wha goin on wit young Mr Britto
Post by: Dutty on January 28, 2008, 06:58:24 PM
Any news on his trial at portsmouth?

wasnt it supposed to be early january?....ah cyah find the original thread to add this q on to it....but de moderators good at findin dem kinda ting amidst the chaos
Title: Re: wha goin on wit young Mr Britto
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on January 28, 2008, 07:03:59 PM
dutty britto mums posted jus today on the topic...check it here
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32679.60
Title: Re: wha goin on wit young Mr Britto
Post by: Dutty on January 28, 2008, 07:12:17 PM
dutty britto mums posted jus today on the topic...check it here
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32679.60

sweet...I eh see dat atall...
thanks breds

moderators merge yuh ting...oh and ah cyah find de jean carlos chera thread either, so....  ;D
Title: Re: Jerrel Britto on trial at Portsmouth
Post by: asylumseeker on January 28, 2008, 07:56:13 PM
Post by: SHOTTA on January 29, 2008, 08:58:18 AM
so still nuttin

what about this second club??

come on agfent do yuh thing nah
Post by: handsanointed on January 29, 2008, 07:22:53 PM
Don't worry. Stay tuned for the news of the other club. He is leaving for a trial soon.
Post by: Mose on February 26, 2008, 01:07:41 PM
What's the latest with this youngster? All this talk about the Sunderland 8 remind me about him.
Title: Any update on Jerrel Britto trials?
Post by: palos on June 05, 2008, 12:55:40 PM
Moms?

Anyone?
Title: Is Jerrel Britto the bright new shining star.
Post by: injunchile on August 07, 2008, 11:08:53 AM
Some one rises from time to time to be the bright new star[ Gally - Latapy- Stern John- Yorke- Ian Clazel- For those who have seen him play..
Is he the real deal and one for the future.
Title: Re: Is Jerrel Britto the bright new shining star.
Post by: weary1969 on August 07, 2008, 11:41:34 AM
Luv what I c so far plus he from good stock as d ole peeps those say. That excellent family support will b needed
Post by: Big Magician on August 07, 2008, 02:34:13 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32711.0 

not sure how this is done but.. check that for a britto thread i did a while back ...
hope all is well Injunchile...blessings from tnt
Post by: Cocorite on August 07, 2008, 03:47:38 PM
Great stuff.

I know there was some interest in him recently from Pompey et al.,

But was he looked at before the caribbean yutes went to Sund ?
Post by: Youth Baller on August 07, 2008, 04:13:48 PM
Dont forget Whinchester, very close to Britto , probably doesnt get as much oppurtunites to score as britoo is the main striker and whinchester in playing an Attacking Midfeilder
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 07, 2008, 05:21:31 PM
who is britto strike partner
Post by: weary1969 on August 07, 2008, 08:45:20 PM
Might b able 2 answer after I go game tmorrow
Post by: Mock de Dread on August 07, 2008, 09:00:53 PM

well seen him play,

No messi or anything great but has some potential, its just that as these kids mature they seem to lose something, if he is currently at his prime well there is no way he his the next shining star, if he is now getting his feet wet well he will go somewhere cause he has some talent. Again  compare him to real stars at his age Robinho, messi you just knew it was a matter of time before they blew up

we will just have to sit back and see how hungry he is to make it happen and not be side tracked by liming / girls etc lol
Post by: Big Magician on August 08, 2008, 09:03:33 AM
correct...winchester is also a fine young talent...seems to e working on half throttle... and britto strike partner is Cordell Cato...
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 08, 2008, 02:58:48 PM

well seen him play,

No messi or anything great but has some potential, its just that as these kids mature they seem to lose something, if he is currently at his prime well there is no way he his the next shining star, if he is now getting his feet wet well he will go somewhere cause he has some talent. Again  compare him to real stars at his age Robinho, messi you just knew it was a matter of time before they blew up

we will just have to sit back and see how hungry he is to make it happen and not be side tracked by liming / girls etc lol

you are trying to compare a youth  in Trinidad at jabloteh  to messi at Barcelona who eat drink and sleep football in their "world class"  youth academy  since 13  ......
Post by: freakazoid on August 08, 2008, 03:01:53 PM
true dat not a really fair comparison.

when i think of it now we really blessed to have yorke and latas
Post by: Mock de Dread on August 08, 2008, 05:29:23 PM
sorry

i taught the post meant bright shining star (globally) guess we were talking about bright shining star locally/regionally

in which case hell yeah, hope he is

as in the matrix (i sit here and do believe NEO is out there) for tnt football

Joel could be our NEO

WAKE UP JOEL....................
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2008, 10:41:15 PM
Yep is Cato but he eh impress meh 2nite is d 1st game I C so I eh go kill him
Post by: handsanointed on August 09, 2008, 08:45:19 AM
Just keep looking on. Jerrel Britto is destined for great things. To everything there is a time and a season. Others had theirs and he will have his.  ;)
Thanks for all the comments. I always share them with him.
Post by: Pointman on August 09, 2008, 11:16:38 AM
Is there any video footage on the young man??
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 09, 2008, 11:37:01 AM

look here jab under 15

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8rw9HTlkgs
Post by: Pointman on August 09, 2008, 12:58:48 PM

look here jab under 15

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8rw9HTlkgs

THANKS DRED
Post by: dinho on August 09, 2008, 06:57:11 PM
TTFF and Mos Compromise on HCS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRlMZx1Tuwc)

The few seconds of silence are due to TV6 editing. There are also highlights of U17s.

ah just watch the highlights above...

Allyuh eh check out de 1 touch belt the jamaican defender get for Britto 2nd goal??    :o

de way jah gol describe the goal in the match report eh make it sound like nutten special but that was ah booooorse goal!!
Post by: Babalawo on August 10, 2008, 12:42:41 AM

The few seconds of silence are due to TV6 editing. There are also highlights of U17s.

Allyuh eh check out de 1 touch belt the jamaican defender get for Britto 2nd goal??    :o

de way jah gol describe the goal in the match report eh make it sound like nutten special but that was ah booooorse goal!!

yea good goal. but did i hear right he was a come on sub.
Post by: Jah Gol on August 10, 2008, 07:57:34 AM

He was subbed off in Extra time .
Post by: Babalawo on August 10, 2008, 11:41:11 AM

He was subbed off in Extra time .

Thanks. I want to know how dey go keep talent on the bench and not in the starting lineup.  Barcelona scouts should look at him.  He seems like their type of midfielders.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2010, 09:43:43 AM
whats the latest on this youth have not seen him in jabloteh line ups
Title: Jerrel Britto urges: “Just Follow Your Dream”
Post by: Tallman on May 14, 2012, 04:34:28 AM
Jerrel Britto urges: “Just Follow Your Dream”
By Stephanie Seenath (T&T Guardian)

“Just follow your dream and you will be successful in whatever you desire to do.” This was the advice that came from National Under-23 footballer, Jerrel Britto, in an exclusive interview with gieMAGAZINE.

Britto disclosed, “When I was nine I told my mother I would like to play international football and I worked towards that (and I continue to work).

Never stop believing in your dream and though you may meet challenges along the way, it’s just a stepping stone to getting to your dream and getting you stronger!” Britto, an example of a true sportsman, embodies all those values and characteristics that make him strong, competitive and admirable.

His diligent, committed and determined nature, coupled with his humble and modest attitude ensures his present and continued success.

The national striker started playing the beautiful game from the tender age of nine at a coaching school by the name of Family Soccer Coaching Academy. He then moved to San Juan Jabloteh where he played in the North Zone League.

After some time, he played for the senior team of that club which allowed him to show off his skill and talent in the Pro League and the CONCACAF Champions League. With regard to the National team, he has played for Under-15s right up to the Olympic team. Presently, he is with W Connection and the Under-23s.

Britto disclosed to gieMAGAZINE that he possesses ultimate respect and admiration for his mother who pushed him since he started in the sport.

He affirmed, “Honestly, without my mother I would not be where I am today. She pushes me and shows her support in every way possible. Snow, rain, sun, hail, she would be there for me. She is my number one fan!”

The striker then acknowledged how tough it can be for young athletes who train consistently and also attend school. “I remember my days at Queen’s Royal College (QRC) playing in the Secondary Schools’ Football League and also representing Trinidad and Tobago,” he smiled.

However, Britto insisted that one must keep focus on the job at hand and the goals that one wants to achieve. He praised the Secondary Schools’ Football League as the league launched his football career.

Britto was spotted playing for QRC and that led to him playing with the National Under-17 team which went to the World Cup.

It’s a league where a young player can be drafted anywhere. There are clubs offering scholarships and there are a lot of players who have moved onto colleges outside of Trinidad and Tobago just from playing in the school league.

One of the greatest challenges Britto has faced so far is dealing with the critics. He related that people can make you and break you, but he disclosed that he has decided to use those critics as inspiration and encouragement to work harder.

He stated, “Once I keep my head on and focus on what I want to achieve in this life, I could see myself in countries I’ve never expected.”

The best of luck to Jerrel Britto. Make us proud!

Title: Re: Jerrel Britto urges: “Just Follow Your Dream”
Post by: maxg on May 14, 2012, 06:54:26 AM
Congrats handsanointed...What happened with the Turkey trials anyway  ?
Title: Jerel Britto
Post by: Coop's on May 31, 2013, 09:12:30 AM
Where is Jerel Britto?this player was supposed to be our next big name,i remember his Mom used to post on here,is he still playing?what went on with his over seas trial?is he on any scholarship or foreign contract?the website had a lot of hopes for him.
Could someone update me on what going on with Rupee,what's his status concerning Football?
Title: Re: Any update on Jerrel Britto trials?
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on May 31, 2013, 09:58:40 AM
Britto was on the bench for the whole game in the Pro Bowl Finals for Connection vs NE
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2015, 05:55:58 AM
Jerrel Britto scored on his debut for Deportivo Malacateco, in a pre-season friendly against Deportivo Coatepeque.
http://www.lared.com.gt/pages/noticia/14233
Post by: dreamer on July 28, 2015, 06:03:58 AM
Well done Brittos! Dat must feel good. Real good.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 28, 2015, 09:13:34 AM
Another Trini in Guatemala? Nice!!
Post by: palos on July 28, 2015, 10:07:30 AM
Moms must be well happy...think her msb handle was hands anointed or sumting so

Do yuh ting Jerrel!  Congrats!
Post by: Cocorite on July 28, 2015, 10:58:30 AM

What's the real advantage here for our boys? Is their league considered higher than the Pro League? Is it that they will be playing against Central American opponents? Is the monies better. I imagine at least more people attend the games.

Of course I wish him the very best
Post by: futbolfan on July 28, 2015, 11:05:20 AM

What's the real advantage here for our boys? Is their league considered higher than the Pro League? Is it that they will be playing against Central American opponents? Is the monies better. I imagine at least more people attend the games.

It could be a combination of factors which led to his decision, but I would welcome this move because it will get him out of the comfort zone of playing at home.
Playing in a foreign country with no notoriety, overcoming the language barrier and customs builds character.
Post by: Controversial on July 28, 2015, 11:07:50 AM

It could be a combination of factors which led to his decision, but I would welcome this move because it will get him out of the comfort zone of playing at home.
Playing in a foreign country with no notoriety, overcoming the language barrier and customs builds character.

Good points
Post by: Dutty Love on July 28, 2015, 09:38:56 PM
Yes, the Guatemala league is considered higher than TT Pro league. Are there teams paying USD$8,000-$10,000/month in Trinidad? That's what Communicaciones and Municipal pay some of their players. There are a number of Panama national team players playing in Guatemala and that kind of money is attracting even Costa Rican players from Saprissa and decent South American players from Argentina, Uruguay and Colombia.
Post by: Cocorite on July 28, 2015, 10:16:45 PM
Good! Thanks
Post by: Tallman on August 13, 2015, 10:39:29 AM
WATCH Jerrel Britto score his first goal for Deportivo Malacateco in a 1-1 draw with Deportivo Petapa.

https://www.youtube.com/v/umi928GcICk?start=9
Post by: dreamer on August 13, 2015, 10:42:31 AM
Sick news. Real sick ...
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2015, 12:10:06 PM
Jerrel Britto released by Deportivo Malacateco after three months. The club was said to be disappointed with his performance. During his time there, he made 10 appearances (nine as a starter) and scored two goals.
http://guatefutbol.com/liga-nacional/malacateco/18430-malacateco-despidio-a-seis-jugadores
Post by: FireBrand on October 06, 2015, 12:15:50 PM
Jerrel Britto released by Deportivo Malacateco after three months. The club was said to be disappointed with his performance. During his time there, he made 10 appearances (nine as a starter) and scored two goals.
http://guatefutbol.com/liga-nacional/malacateco/18430-malacateco-despidio-a-seis-jugadores

Tough. Dust yuhself off, learn from your experience and go harder Britto.
Post by: dreamer on October 06, 2015, 02:29:39 PM
2 goals eh dah bad for ah young man who just reach. Dey must have been desperate for a miracle maker or saviour. Glad you still went but now laterz for dem. Use the experience Jerrel to just plan more of your next go-international strategy. Big up.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 06, 2015, 04:04:34 PM
Could be another opportunity in Guatemala.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 06, 2015, 04:13:40 PM
2 goals eh dah bad for ah young man who just reach. Dey must have been desperate for a miracle maker or saviour. Glad you still went but now laterz for dem. Use the experience Jerrel to just plan more of your next go-international strategy. Big up.

How many chances on goal did he have ... of which those 2 goals were the yield?
Post by: Tallman on December 02, 2015, 04:22:15 PM
Former W-Connection forward, Jerrel Britto, has accepted a contract to play in the Segunda División de México with Murciélagos FC II. His visa is currently being processed.
Post by: soccerman on December 02, 2015, 09:35:03 PM
Well done Britto, all the best :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on December 09, 2015, 01:26:29 PM
Former W-Connection forward, Jerrel Britto, has accepted a contract to play in the Segunda División de México with Murciélagos FC II. His visa is currently being processed.

Congratulations to the player. Nonetheless, just so everyone is clear: this is third tier or "third division" ball.
Post by: Tallman on December 09, 2015, 02:02:35 PM

Congratulations to the player. Nonetheless, just so everyone is clear: this is third tier or "third division" ball.

If he performs weel there is the possibility of him moving up to join Yohance's team in the Ascenso MX.
Post by: dreamer on December 09, 2015, 02:14:48 PM
Nice. Dey want more Trinis.
Mas trinitarios!!!!
Well done Britto. You're getting there gradually and Yohance dey to mentor you.
Post by: Dutty Love on December 09, 2015, 09:55:35 PM
Just to be clear, the Segunda Division - Liga Premier is indeed the third division of Mexican football, while the fourth division is the Segunda Division - Liga de Nuevos Talentos. There is also a division below that Tercera Division.

Mexico is a real football country and Liga MX has higher salaries on average than Ligue 1 (PSG aside). It is in the top 10 or maybe 8 worldwide nowdays.

The Liga Premier is very much structured like the USL with all the 18 reserve teams of the Liga MX clubs, a few Ascenso reserve teams and a few independents. Murcielagos 2 group includes the reserves of Tigres, Monterrey, Santos, and Tijuana among others. Many teams in Liga MX source their youngsters directly from this league nowdays.

Jerrel Britto will play along side Devaughn Elliott (ex W Connection) who is coming off of a great season in El Salvador with Pasaquina and who has a guaranteed 2 year contract to be part of the Ascenso team starting in June (he has to wait until then due to all foreign spots being taken until then, otherwise Jomal Williams was already in negotiation to take the spot on Murcielagos 2 with Britto. Only two foreigners allowed on that team). The Ascenso team will let go two of their foreigners in June leaving an open spot for Britto if he proves himself but he could also impress the likes of Tigres, Monterrey, etc...

In the case of Murcielagos 2, they are actually the original Murcielagos team and play in a different city (Guamuchil) compared to the Ascenso team playing in Los Mochis, a franchise that was acquired by the same ownership only last summer from Irapuato. That means Murcielagos 2 could actually achieve promotion to Ascenso MX and would then operate under a different name.

Now let's make it clear that Ascenso MX is a lot better than the NASL and it would be safe to assume the Segunda Division - Liga Premier is probably better than USL. Britto will play with two former Mexico U17 World Cup champs who are now about his age.

Salaries in Ascenso can average $10,000/month with top players making $20,000/month or more. Many decent players in Ascenso MX could easily play in MLS and make a difference. You could look up Yohance's teammate Rodrigo Pastorini track record in Uruguay first division and Romania. Or Nicolas Vigneri, 15 caps with Uruguay. Those type of players do not play in NASL.

In Ascenso MX the level is good. A top Ascenso team in MX would probably make the playoffs in MLS. That's why players like Quintero of Panama play in Ascenso. Kudos to Yohance for establishing himself there.
Post by: Deeks on December 09, 2015, 11:23:49 PM
Dutty that run down was real clean, Breds :thumbsup:
Post by: Tallman on December 30, 2015, 07:43:27 AM
Forward Jerrel Britto has arrived in Mexico to join up with his new club, Murciélagos FC.

(https://scontent-mia1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/l/t31.0-8/10628687_10153862295099314_2495249140740623190_o.jpg)
Post by: Flex on February 05, 2016, 06:34:10 PM
According to the following article, W-Connection has sued Malacateco for $120,000 USD?? maybe 12,000 US??

http://lared.com.gt/malacateco-recibio-una-demanda-120-mil-dolares/

Post by: asylumseeker on February 05, 2016, 08:53:54 PM
According to the following article, W-Connection has sued Malacateco for $120,000 USD?? maybe 12,000 US??

http://lared.com.gt/malacateco-recibio-una-demanda-120-mil-dolares/

There are specific formulae for calculating the indemnification. I haven't done the arithmetic in this case, but the figure (merely on casual observation) will easily by-pass 12,000 USD.
Title: Re: Jerrel Britto Thread
Post by: Dutty Love on March 20, 2016, 09:25:42 AM
Anothee goal by Britto last night. 3 in 5 and a half games played in a league arguably better than USL
Post by: Dutty Love on April 23, 2016, 05:58:08 PM
Live playoff game now http://bit.ly/1Ps0ZQQ
Post by: Dutty Love on May 05, 2016, 08:12:44 PM
WATCH LIVE: Murcielagos de Guamuchil (featuring Jerrel Britto and Devaughn Elliott) vs Tampico-Madero in the first leg of the Mexico Segunda Premier final. Kick-off at 10.30 pm EST. https://youtu.be/D7mm16xj8Ss
Post by: kounty on May 05, 2016, 09:07:59 PM
WATCH LIVE: Murcielagos de Guamuchil (featuring Jerrel Britto and Devaughn Elliott) vs Tampico-Madero in the first leg of the Mexico Segunda Premier final. Kick-off at 10.30 pm EST. https://youtu.be/D7mm16xj8Ss
he on the bench orwa? i ent seein him.
Post by: Dutty Love on May 08, 2016, 04:23:19 PM
Final second leg today. Jerrel Britto will start in front of a 30,000 sell out crowd. Watch live at 7 pm T&T time http://youtu.be/Kkvu7NZvUoo
Post by: Dutty Love on May 08, 2016, 04:59:44 PM
Working link http://www.televisadelgolfo.tv/video-en-vivo.html
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2016, 02:40:45 PM
Britto is now with Central FC.
Post by: Tallman on January 26, 2017, 07:28:00 PM
Forward Jerrel Britto moves to C.D. Honduras Progreso from Ma Pau Stars (http://tiempo.hn/trinitense-nuevo-delantero-del-honduras-progreso/)
Post by: Tallman on February 12, 2017, 07:54:42 AM
WATCH: Jesse Britto scores his first goal for CD Honduras Progreso in a 1-1 draw with CD Social Sol.

https://www.youtube.com/v/TD71g_frXtA
Post by: Tallman on March 19, 2017, 08:37:15 PM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto scores his fifth goal of the season to give CD Honduras Progreso a 1-0 win over Platense FC
https://www.youtube.com/v/G_dSNMfmFeA?start=18
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2017, 11:36:48 AM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto’s goal in the 31st minute gave CD Honduras de El Progreso a 1-0 win over CD Marathón and a place in the semifinals of the Clausura Tournament.

https://www.youtube.com/v/qG2N_p9DxmE?start=55
Post by: Tallman on May 16, 2017, 07:06:50 AM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto’s goal helps CD Honduras Progreso to a 2-2 draw with CD Olympia and a place in the FINAL of the Clausura Tournament.

https://www.youtube.com/v/V-T8FZwzceA?start=24

WATCH: Post-game interview with Jerrel Britto after CD Honduras Progreso’s 2-2 draw with CD Olimpia

https://www.youtube.com/v/pTVoCg5P6jc
Post by: Tallman on August 01, 2017, 06:52:10 PM
WATCH LIVE: Jerrel Britto and C.D. Honduras Progreso face Chorrillo F.C. in the CONCACAF League 2017 Round of 16.

https://www.youtube.com/v/TFr2jGsa-fY
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2017, 05:30:37 PM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto scores the game-winning goal in CD Honduras Progreso’s 4-3 win over CD Marathón

https://www.youtube.com/v/pVODqm83d9M?start=5082
Post by: Flex on October 01, 2017, 05:21:38 AM
Britto scores after medical scare.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

T&T’s forward Jerrel Britto suffered a medical scare last week while in training with his Honduran club Honduras Progreso after experiencing chest pains and dizzy spells. Fortunately for the former national under-15 captain, after being taken to hospital by club officials, an echo-cardiogram and further medical tests revealed no heart complications. He was later cleared by doctors to resume playing.

“I was getting a sharp pain in my chest during training but I didn’t pay it any attention until later in the training I started feeling light headed,” Britto explained. “When I sat down it got worse and I encountered breathing problems before the coaches and some players came to my aid and then I was taken to hospital.”

The conditions in Honduras recently may have played a part in Britto’s physical condition.

“The doctor said that my physical state was good following the tests and that maybe what took place was due to dehydration because the sun has been very hot lately,” he said.

Britto went on to play two successive matches since, scoring in the 59th minute of his team’s 4-1 win over Platense on Wednesday.

“Thankfully all is well now for me. I’ve played two full games and scored once but it just goes to show how you cannot take anything for granted. I am grateful to God for everything that he has guided me through and I will continue to strive and give praises,” Britto said. Britto was called up to the Senior Men’s Team earlier this year.

Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2018, 09:01:05 PM
Jerrel Britto signs with Honduran club, C.D. Real Sociedad (http://www.diez.hn/liganacionaldehonduras/1146159-498/real-sociedad-y-sus-%C3%BAltimos-tres-fichajes-para-el-clausura-2018)
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2018, 09:23:21 PM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto's first goal for C.D. Real Sociedad turns out to be the game winner in their 1-0 win over C.D. Marathón

https://www.youtube.com/v/QlT57t1vxMc
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 08, 2018, 05:03:25 AM
Great goal.
Post by: maxg on February 08, 2018, 06:30:19 AM
Goal. Poor defending
Post by: asylumseeker on February 09, 2018, 08:07:34 AM
Goal. Poor defending

Ent.
Post by: Tallman on July 25, 2018, 03:44:23 PM
Striker Jerrel Britto has signed a 1-year contract with Honduran club, Platense FC (http://www.diez.hn/liganacionaldehonduras/1200983-498/jerrel-britto-platense-liga-nacional-honduras). He will play upfront with compatriot Rundell Winchester.
Post by: Tallman on October 19, 2018, 05:19:02 AM
WATCH: After after some good work by Rundell Winchester, Jerrel Britto scores his second goal of the season in Platense FC's 3-2 loss to Honduras Progreso.

https://www.youtube.com/v/aJPTQg5T6a4?start=243
Post by: Tallman on October 19, 2018, 06:32:05 AM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto shows great awareness and technique as he collects the ball with his left foot, turns, and shoots with his right foot to score a goal in Platense FC's 2-0 win over Yoro FC in the Copa Presidente Semifinals

https://www.youtube.com/v/aWB_Za5v1j8?start=60
Post by: spideybuff on October 19, 2018, 06:08:39 PM
How old Britto is now?
Post by: Tallman on October 19, 2018, 06:40:46 PM
How old Britto is now?

Post by: spideybuff on October 24, 2018, 08:35:40 AM
He should be in the mix then. We have no striker. Shahdon Winchester is the only one who seems capable of scoring since Hart days to now, aside from the blip Boatswain made
Post by: Tallman on October 24, 2018, 10:25:08 AM
He should be in the mix then. We have no striker. Shahdon Winchester is the only one who seems capable of scoring since Hart days to now, aside from the blip Boatswain made

Since Hart got sacked, these are the players who have scored:

Forwards (10):
Shahdon Winchester (5). Includes a hat-trick against Haiti in the Caribbean Cup under Saintfiet.
Jamille Boatswain (3). Includes a brace against Barbados in Lawrence's first game in charge.
Cornell Glen (1)
Hashim Arcia (1)

Midfielders (10):
Kevin Molino (3)
Joevin Jones (2)
Nathan Lewis (2)
Ataulla Guerra (1)
Tyrone Charles (1)
Aikim Andrews (1)

Defenders (4):
Carlyle Mitchell (2)
Alvin Jones (1)
Kevon Villaroel (1)

If you only look at goals scored strictly during Lawrence's tenure thus far, the numbers look like:

Forwards (5):
Shahdon Winchester (2)
Jamille Boatswain (3). Includes a brace against Barbados.

Midfielders ( 8 ):
Kevin Molino (3)
Joevin Jones (2)
Nathan Lewis (2)
Ataulla Guerra (1)

Defenders (3):
Carlyle Mitchell (1)
Alvin Jones (1)
Kevon Villaroel (1)

So anyway you look at it, the midfield is doing the bulk of the scoring, especially under Lawrence.
Post by: kounty on October 24, 2018, 06:45:22 PM
WATCH: After after some good work by Rundell Winchester, Jerrel Britto scores his second goal of the season in Platense FC's 3-2 loss to Honduras Progreso.

https://www.youtube.com/v/aJPTQg5T6a4?start=243

I find the #7 was the man who do all the work. had to look him up (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89dgar_%C3%81lvarez). nice resume. wish more of our players had them kinda experiences.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 24, 2018, 09:01:48 PM

Ignoring the point blank range opportunity gifted versus Progreso?

I'm not seeing anything clinical or surgical to merit that call.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 24, 2018, 09:06:51 PM

Since Hart got sacked, these are the players who have scored:

Forwards (10):
Shahdon Winchester (5). Includes a hat-trick against Haiti in the Caribbean Cup under Saintfiet.
Jamille Boatswain (3). Includes a brace against Barbados in Lawrence's first game in charge.
Cornell Glen (1)
Hashim Arcia (1)

Midfielders (10):
Kevin Molino (3)
Joevin Jones (2)
Nathan Lewis (2)
Ataulla Guerra (1)
Tyrone Charles (1)
Aikim Andrews (1)

Defenders (4):
Carlyle Mitchell (2)
Alvin Jones (1)
Kevon Villaroel (1)

If you only look at goals scored strictly during Lawrence's tenure thus far, the numbers look like:

Forwards (5):
Shahdon Winchester (2)
Jamille Boatswain (3). Includes a brace against Barbados.

Midfielders ( 8 ):
Kevin Molino (3)
Joevin Jones (2)
Nathan Lewis (2)
Ataulla Guerra (1)

Defenders (3):
Carlyle Mitchell (1)
Alvin Jones (1)
Kevon Villaroel (1)

So anyway you look at it, the midfield is doing the bulk of the scoring, especially under Lawrence.

It would be useful to know where the MFs are scoring from.
Post by: spideybuff on October 25, 2018, 05:23:29 AM

In comparison to the other strikers, he seems to me the only one CAPABLE of scoring. So from that point of view, you have to look at how many point blank opportunities the others even had to throw away? From a non statistical stand point, I am pretty sure the answer would be less, because they have not even been able ti find themselves in a position to throw away, far less score.

Regarding where the midfielders scoring from, all Molino and Joevin goals were pretty much created by themselves or by each other from just outside the box between the 16 to 20 yrd area
Post by: Tallman on October 25, 2018, 07:45:34 AM

Shows that when the forwards don't score, they are also not directly involved in the goals either.

United Arab Emirates (2018-09-06)
Ataulla Guerra (collected the ball just inside the penalty area from a pass by by Nathan Lewis (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8_Sux231Ag&t=34))
Nathan Lewis (side-footed in from 6 yards out; Joevin Jones provided the cross (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8_Sux231Ag&t=2m10s))

Guadeloupe (2018-03-23)
Joevin Jones (scored from 6 yards out on a rebound from a shot by Nathan Lewis (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nenPeLTvQRY&t=37m15s))

Grenada (2017-11-11)
Kevin Molino (shot from inside the penalty area, assisted by Curtis Gonzalez (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJJIgkiQ4e0&t=2m39s))

Honduras (2017-09-01)
Joevin Jones (penalty after a foul on Khaleem Hyland (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJGGLUcrGVA&t=4m10s))

Costa Rica (2017-06-13)
Kevin Molino (a shot from just outside the penalty area; assisted by Joevin Jones (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4dwSKrawQo&t=1m11s))

Grenada (2017-04-29)
Nathan Lewis (from 6 yards out, assisted by Jomal Williams (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtFtkfe4qTw&t=4m15s))

Panama (2017-03-24)
Kevin Molino (from outside the area (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjCe-e5du5I))
Post by: asylumseeker on October 25, 2018, 07:50:13 AM

In comparison to the other strikers, he seems to me the only one CAPABLE of scoring. So from that point of view, you have to look at how many point blank opportunities the others even had to throw away? From a non statistical stand point, I am pretty sure the answer would be less, because they have not even been able ti find themselves in a position to throw away, far less score.

Regarding where the midfielders scoring from, all Molino and Joevin goals were pretty much created by themselves or by each other from just outside the box between the 16 to 20 yrd area

Dis eh hard at all.  All yuh hadda do to test your assertion(s) is peruse de Gols Galore Trinbago Style section of the forum. At least to begin with ...
Post by: asylumseeker on October 25, 2018, 07:56:42 AM

Shows that when the forwards don't score, they are also not directly involved in the goals either.

United Arab Emirates (2018-09-06)
Ataulla Guerra (collected the ball just inside the penalty area from a pass by by Nathan Lewis (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8_Sux231Ag&t=34))
Nathan Lewis (side-footed in from 6 yards out; Joevin Jones provided the cross (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8_Sux231Ag&t=2m10s))

Guadeloupe (2018-03-23)
Joevin Jones (scored from 6 yards out on a rebound from a shot by Nathan Lewis (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nenPeLTvQRY&t=37m15s))

Grenada (2017-11-11)
Kevin Molino (shot from inside the penalty area, assisted by Curtis Gonzalez (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJJIgkiQ4e0&t=2m39s))

Honduras (2017-09-01)
Joevin Jones (penalty after a foul on Khaleem Hyland (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJGGLUcrGVA&t=4m10s))

Costa Rica (2017-06-13)
Kevin Molino (a shot from just outside the penalty area; assisted by Joevin Jones (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4dwSKrawQo&t=1m11s))

Grenada (2017-04-29)
Nathan Lewis (from 6 yards out, assisted by Jomal Williams (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtFtkfe4qTw&t=4m15s))

Panama (2017-03-24)
Kevin Molino (from outside the area (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjCe-e5du5I))

Thank you. Excellent.

That "picture" tells a story that I'm sure the scientific minds at the TTFA had already deduced.  ::)
Post by: spideybuff on October 26, 2018, 12:06:35 PM

Dis eh hard at all.  All yuh hadda do to test your assertion(s) is peruse de Gols Galore Trinbago Style section of the forum. At least to begin with ...

Only cause is Friday and I have some time on my hands...explain to me exactly how the Goals Galore section showing me who not getting into a position to score, to begin with?
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2018, 01:05:37 PM

Only cause is Friday and I have some time on my hands...explain to me exactly how the Goals Galore section showing me who not getting into a position to score, to begin with?

You already wasted precious time,  so doh frighten to start now.

Generally,  there is a high level of certainty that any forward who isn't scoring isn't being considered for selection.  However, if a F is not scoring per se, then the F could merit selection because he is (1 ) bringing others onto the score sheet directly through providing service to them , (2) indirectly  providing/enhancing the tactical conditions for other players to consistently buss de net or (3) the number of Fs being deployed and the relationship that can be cultivated between them (somewhat related to (1) but not necessarily so. In the history of football, although (1), (2) and (3 )have been known to happen, consideration of the intangibles that are delivered by those players who are not scoring does not ignore their history of scoring.

So that ties into questions involving the relationship between Fs and MFs and other players who incorporate into an attack (say lateral defenders) and maintain attacking options in possession.

The Gols Galore section shows who is scoring and omits who isn't scoring. Not everyone "capable" of scoring will be selected (ask Ricardo John). And clearly from the evidence in the Gols Galore section,  Winchester is not the only one "capable of scoring" in the current era. Further,  it's not like Tallman is being overworked with goal production at club level, so we have more penetrating issues than a F taking up opportunistic positioning on potential goal-scoring chances created by others and then squandering his chances (Britto). I'm  happy that Britto can be paid to play football for a living.  However, I've not seen enough from him that rises to the level of NT selection, even coming off de bench. And I'm not depending on highlights to form this opinion.
Post by: spideybuff on October 26, 2018, 05:09:47 PM
Right...so going back to the point of the thread. I claim that I find none of our strikers look like they capable of scoring so Britto at 26 probably should be in the mix cause nobody, since even during Stephen Hart tenure, has done anything. With Winchester, to me, being the only one who has been tried who even look like he capable of finding the net.

One would expect a reasonable disagreement to that opinion should be: A) I find that nobody, including Winchester, capable or B) I believe that "X Player "is capable.

But... after asking for Tallman to research stats, viewing Goals Galore, trying to talk tactics...you just wanted to say that Britto shouldn't be included cause he miss a sitter, so we should just stick with the ones we have who currently not scoring?

That was the destination you were trying to get to on your long winding journey ?
Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2018, 07:08:40 PM
No explicit reason to comment on Winchester because you were not advocating for him - although your sentence structure initially did bear a measure of ambiguity as to the object of your comments.

Nevertheless, I have no issue with Winchester's present inclusion.  In the past,  however,  I have felt that his presence was gratuitous and perhaps premature. Yet,  in the same breath I was an advocate of his progress. He has what some coaches refer to as a "nose for goals".

If your stubborn takeaway is that the conclusion formed regarding Britto is based on that one missed opportunity, so be it ... but I addressed that previously. More explicitly, Britto's concentration and application under pressure needs to be elevated and be more versatile in his deliverables. To impress Stern,  he will have to do a lot more than being 26.

I studiously stayed away from suggestions because we could plunge into an abyss doing that.  But,  you seem to be fairly honesty engaged with this.

To put where I see Britto in context,  I would give Lester Peltier a recall and place him centrally before I call Britto.
And  I say that as a depth chart comment, not as a first-order solution. Yet,  LP is more versatile,  has the same olfactory instincts as Winchester and can do very interesting things when motivated and made to feel wanted/special. And his recent club move arguably earns him consideration.

Multiple topics are being discussed at the same time.  The thread has been hijacked.  It moved past JB several posts ago.

Post by: asylumseeker on November 09, 2018, 03:23:24 AM
spidey, any thoughts on the Iran squad?
Post by: spideybuff on November 09, 2018, 05:44:19 PM

We need a striker badly. Hopefully young Lee could make an impact. Like I said, nobody doing the job or even looking the part so Lawrence needs to widen the search, which he has done.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 09, 2018, 11:22:06 PM

We need a striker badly. Hopefully young Lee could make an impact. Like I said, nobody doing the job or even looking the part so Lawrence needs to widen the search, which he has done.

To pick Lee ..  we in bad shape ........... no eligible striker with Trinidadian roots
Post by: chelsealife on November 10, 2018, 08:55:35 AM

To pick Lee ..  we in bad shape ........... no eligible striker with Trinidadian roots
Bradley Wright-Phillips is eligible, getting up there in age but who do we have. Hallam hope was eligible but made his debut recently for Barbados
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 10, 2018, 09:40:58 AM

Bradley Wright-Phillips is eligible, getting up there in age but who do we have. Hallam hope was eligible but made his debut recently for Barbados

Lee never player at the top level in the Trinidad I guess DL has no confidence in the current crop ……
Post by: spideybuff on November 12, 2018, 12:01:38 PM

Lee never player at the top level in the Trinidad I guess DL has no confidence in the current crop ……

Who it have left locally that didnt get a try? Nobody even ripping up the pro league scoring charts
Post by: Cocorite on November 12, 2018, 08:30:03 PM

Who it have left locally that didnt get a try? Nobody even ripping up the pro league scoring charts

De girl wid did score all dem goals in de women's qualifiers recently . . . whe she name  arrhm . . . Kayla Taylor
Tell Lawrence check she out. She is a real talent. De fellas eh seem able  ;D
Post by: Tallman on December 07, 2018, 03:05:41 PM
Platense FC terminate Jerrel Britto's contract (https://www.laprensa.hn/deportes/1240138-410/platense-despidio-al-delantero-trinitense-jerrel-britto)
Post by: Tallman on August 14, 2019, 09:13:19 PM
Jerrel Britto returns for a second spell at CD Honduras Progreso (https://www.diez.hn/liganacionaldehonduras/1304025-498/honduras-progreso-anuncia-regreso-delantero-trinitense-jerrel-britto-platense)
Post by: Tallman on August 14, 2019, 09:53:15 PM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto's brilliant individual effort yields a consolation goal for CD Honduras Progreso during their 4-1 loss to CD Marathón

https://www.youtube.com/v/bfKw0P4qg9o?start=360
Post by: Tallman on August 19, 2019, 12:01:38 PM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto's 90th minute header gives CD Honduras Progreso a 1-0 win over Platense FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/08vB7Rg7XcE?start=163
Post by: Tallman on September 22, 2019, 06:36:39 PM
WATCH: Jerrel Britto scores with a glancing header in CD Honduras Progreso's 3-2 loss to CDS Vida

https://www.youtube.com/v/cCtm226bCdk?start=25
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 22, 2019, 07:51:41 PM
Why is he never called up, given our paucity of strikers.

Real question. Dunno if he maybe burn a bridge like Keon.
Title: Many faces of Britto
Post by: Tallman on May 07, 2020, 06:32:38 AM
Many faces of Britto...Footballer turns actor and performer
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

JERREL BRITTO has at times made many sit up and clap his performances on the football field.

The 27-year-old striker will forever be remembered for a stunning goal he scored for Trinidad and Tobago when a member of the national Under-15 team coached by Ken Elie. Britto also captained the national Under-17s and played for the Under-20s before Dennis Lawrence called him up for the senior national team, where he played 64 minutes in a 2–2 draw against Grenada on April 29, 2017.

A professional footballer for the last decade, Britto has played for local pro clubs San Juan Jabloteh (2010-2011), W Connection (2012-2015), Ma Pau Stars (2016-2017), and also had stints in Mexico at Murciélagos (2015-2016), Guatemalan club Malacateco on loan (2015-2016), and with three Honduran clubs - Honduras Progreso (2017–2018), Real Sociedad (2018), Platense (2019) before heading back to Progresso in 2019.

However, with no football being played these days due to the Covid-19 lockdown, Britto has taken his talent to Instagram, where under the tag britto_j9, he has entertained and had followers laughing with a series of short plays.

Britto portrays characters such as both Fred Sanford and Elizabeth from the very popular 1970s American sitcom “Sanford and Son.”

His latest funny depiction is that of Shenenne, the character from the sitcom Martin, originally played by comedian Martin Lawrence, of the movie Bad Boys’ fame. Britto’s equally funny version can be found at https://www.instagram.com/p/B_n8WKwFaAF/?igshid=1t4gd7zlefywn.

The Covid-19 lockdown which has seen sport come to a halt in almost every country, has allowed former Queen’s Royal College standout Britto to explore his love for acting.

“With the quarantine, you’re just home doing nothing. I saw people on app (making videos) and ended up making ‘lil small videos,” Britto said.

Surely this could not have come out of the blue.

“From since primary school, I was into acting and going ‘lil competition and so on,” Britto explained.

“Then I saw this app (Tik Tok) where I could do something that I always liked,” he said.

“I started seeing videos that I could make over. I ended up getting into it, I started to post it and people started laughing and stuff.”

Britto said he carefully chooses what videos to make, ensuring there is nothing obscene, because young ones might be among his audiences. He has focussed strictly on comedy. Britto has also invented his own characters, posing as a school teacher giving on-line classes during the lockdown and even Prime Minister Keith Rowley at Covid-19 press conferences.

“I use scenes that everybody knows, like movies and shows,” he said. “I end up finding props. Sometimes I will dress as a woman, dress like a man, dress like the prime minister and these things.”

Between the funny stuff, Britto is also keeping his fitness up with regular exercise.

“I decided not to go back to Honduras in January. I was home just waiting for the next transfer window and this virus (Covid-19) came, so it ended putting everything at a standstill.

“I had things lined up, but the virus came and put everything to a stop. But I still doing my ‘lil training, exercising and keeping fit, so, after all this is done I will be ready to leave again.”

Central American football has provided mixed experiences for Britto.

“At the beginning it was difficult because of the language barrier. I ended up learning by force through music, movies and everyday conversations with players.”

He continued: “Adapting to the style of play, each country was also different. Mexico was more technical and tactical. Guatemala is technical but also brute force and in Honduras, they try to compose the football a ‘lil more. It is a bit slower than the other countries.”

Central American living has also been “all right”. Britto has found people friendly and had no difficulties walking the street and so on.

However, apart from entertaining and playing club football abroad, Britto still has ambitions to make an impact with the senior national team.

“Breaking into the (senior) national team is what I really want to do, and I hope I get that opportunity under this new technical staff,” he said.

“I am still of the age to make an impact on the national team,” Britto declared. “I am yet to break into the senior team as I would have loved to, seeing that I played with all the youth teams coming up and I already made my debut with the senior team.”
Post by: Tiresais on May 13, 2020, 11:17:40 AM
Amateur dramatics aside, he is a useful option for us - I'm a little surprised he hasn't had the call up since his début. It's always good to grow your profile as a footballer - sometimes we forget the technicality that they are "performers" and "entertainers" - Sportsman is a fancy label with greater technical and physical requirements. 
Post by: Tallman on March 06, 2021, 06:23:15 PM
Jerrel Britto has signed with Juticalpa FC who campaign in the Liga Nacional De Ascenso De Honduras