Sports => Football => Topic started by: Big Magician on August 29, 2005, 07:26:34 PM

Title: Kennya Cordner Thread
Post by: Big Magician on August 29, 2005, 07:26:34 PM
Kennya Cordner....anybody see this girl play ??

i  go and see the ladies play when they have tournaments....so i have not seen the tobago girl cordner yet ...but last night on total football ( tv6) and tonight on football 05 they show clips of her in the u-20 tournament in st lucia....and then highlights of the republic youth cup u-17 final...meaning she is still under 17....she plays with st clair CS...they lost the final but she is real worries .....pace, aggresion good control and shoots well...ah know some of you saying that the other caribbean teams eh good and all that....but the girl have some talent...you all will see someday for yourselves.....with cordner joining the likes of mollon, attin-johnson and st louis...we have some good attacking players....cant say much about the defenders...which of course is the hardest part of the game to teach....

Title: Re: kenya cordner....anybody see this girl play ??
Post by: maxg on August 29, 2005, 08:18:09 PM
saw her last year in Mtl for the wcq tournament...very talented,lottsa hustle, if is the same girl ...the thing is whenever she was not playing, she was sucking finger, she was like a baby, but once that girl get on the field it was like the Tasmainian (read dat Tobagonian) devil.... the fans nickname for her was smallie...was not played enuff, coach claimed she was still too young, too wild...he was most probably correct, but the talent was obvious.. I gave a report on the team and her I think..
Post by: Big Magician on August 29, 2005, 08:28:45 PM
she was sucking finger....lord...dis the first time fuh de day i really laugh...thanks maxg....well she should use that as her goalscoring celebration
Post by: maxg on August 29, 2005, 08:38:59 PM
Hope this works
(http://www.hpphoto.com/sessions/775832266430/58647104lg.jpg)
The starters

(http://www.hpphoto.com/sessions/775832266430/58647103lg.jpg)
the bench
ah think smallie is extreme right on the bench
Post by: teddy bear on August 30, 2005, 11:23:24 AM
I was at home for easter, and went and did some work at the coaching school a couple of Sat. mornings. The first day I was there one of the coaches pointed her out and said, "just look at dis gyul an tell me wha yuh tink", they were doing small sided games at the end, and she was one of two girls who joined in with the boys. First touch, pace, aggression, bravery, just some of the words I'll use to describe her talents, and that's just at first glance. Big future if continues on the road she is now. Sky is her limit.
Post by: kicker on August 30, 2005, 11:41:02 AM
I guess I have some stubborn preconceived notions about women's ball in T&T.....after I saw us play against Brazil a couple years ago, I was like "there's hardly any other worse ways to waste time, than to watch our lady warriors".....but seeing as y'all think so strongly of her, I'll ask these questions

what kind of education does she have ?
Does she have the backing/support to perhaps get out of T&T ?
Do any of our girls get scholarships to play at the U.S. college level ?
What kind of opportunities (eg scouting)are there in Trinidad to prevent her from up working at Republic bank Scarborough ?

It would be interesting to see whether or not she ends up like many of our wasted talents.
Post by: Coop's on August 30, 2005, 12:14:44 PM
I guess I have some stubborn preconceived notions about women's ball in T&T.....after I saw us play against Brazil a couple years ago, I was like "there's hardly any other worse ways to waste time, than to watch our lady warriors".....but seeing as y'all think so strongly of her, I'll ask these questions

What kind of opportunities (eg scouting)are there in Trinidad to prevent her from up working at Republic bank Scarborough ?

It would be interesting to see whether or not she ends up like many of our wasted talents.
One of the reasons why T&T womens team struggles is because a lot of our best players are in colleges in the US,it's not like the men they have problems getting released to play,but a lot of girls are playing over seas,my daughter was one.
Post by: kicker on August 30, 2005, 12:30:23 PM

One of the reasons why T&T womens team struggles is because a lot of our best players are in colleges in the US,it's not like the men they have problems getting released to play,but a lot of girls are playing over seas,my daughter was one.

Well that's interesting to know.......and refreshing, because I was of the impression the women's football in Trinidad was dead end...Let's hope Kenya can go abroad, and make a career of football
Post by: vb on August 30, 2005, 02:46:16 PM
I am no big time follower of womens football .

But some years ago, I saw us vs. Mex and (I think)Honduras and was impressed with the skill of the women.

Like in any women's sport...after a while u forgot it was women u were watching and just enjoyed the game.

Nice touch and ability...the TT GK back then, a short and plumpish thing, was a boss in goal...despite cut ass from Mex.

Quite a few young ladies have acquired schols in the US.

Peace,
Post by: Flex on July 14, 2006, 09:50:38 AM
Kennya Cordner joins WPSL's Northampton.[/size]

The Northampton Laurels FC of the world ranked Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL) announced today the signing of Trinidad and Tobago International offensive sensation Kennya "Ya Ya" Cordner. The 2005 T&T female Footballer of the Year will join T&T striker/midfielder Maylee Attin-Johnson who is currently nursing a minor hamstring injury on the Laurels roster for the remainder of the teams' 2006 season. The Laurels are currently in 3rd place of the WPSL Eastern Conference - South Division with an eye on the Eastern Conference playoffs. "Kennya's signing does add needed offensive power to the Laurels roster, she is so talented with so much room for further growth" said Laurels co-owner and General Manager Tobagonian Andy R. Salandy. Cordner will feature this coming weekend when the Laurels play Maryland Pride on Saturday July 15th, and Adirondack Lynx on Sunday July 16th at the J. Birney Crum Stadium in Allentown, PA. The WPSL is the only stand alone national women's league in North America, with stars such as Brandi Chastain, Shannon Boxx and Brazilian sensation Sissi playing in the league. Apart from Maylee and Kennya T&T have another player who happens to be Tobagonian defender Lauren Wilson (South Carolina State - NCAA Division 1), Lauren is the niece of THA tourism minister Neil Wilson. For more info about the WPSL and its teams log onto WPSL. (http://www.wpsl.info/)

Related News.

Kennya Cordner already on target. (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=19139.msg196969#msg196969)
Title: Re: Kennya Cordner joins WPSL's Northampton Laurels.
Post by: sprog on July 14, 2006, 01:53:05 PM
Congrats all the best darling, expecting great things of you.
Post by: freakazoid on July 14, 2006, 06:50:56 PM
represent and get the most of d experience.
Post by: Sam on July 14, 2006, 06:51:59 PM
Ah go love to meet Maylee Attin-Johnson, that girl sweet boy.... o gome....

Kennya Cordner is a boss striker....
Title: Kennya Cordner already on target.
Post by: Flex on July 17, 2006, 03:35:41 PM
Laurels Beat Lynx to Advance to First Round of WPSL Playoffs.

In their first year of play as a team in the Women’s Premier Soccer League (WPSL), the Northampton Laurels F.C. have already made history with a first goal, a first victory, and now, with their first appearance in the WPSL playoffs.
The Laurels faced East Conference- North Division top seed Adirondack Lynx in the Sunday, July 16 afternoon heat at J. Birney Crum Stadium, in Allentown, PA. Laurels’ captain Gina Lewandowski put Northampton on the board in the 12th minute on a penalty kick. The Lynx answered back seven minutes later when Mary Velan put a CJ Ludemann pass behind Laurels’ goalie Tawny Duliba in the 19th minute.
Laurels’ forward Trinidad & Tobago International Kennya Cordner who just signed with the club 2 days ago lived up to her name when she put the Laurels ahead 2-1 with the 27th minute game winning goal. Courtney Jackson was credited with the assist. The second half remained scoreless. "This is a special day for the Laurels, the players dedicated themselves to the task, and maintained a positive focus throughtout the season, we are very proud of them" said Laurels owner and General Manager Tobagonian Andy R. Salandy
With the victory, the Laurels improve to 6-2-2 and will use their ranking in the East Conference-South Division to travel to New York this weekend for a rematch with the Adirondack Lynx.
More information on the Northampton Laurels F.C. can be found at www.northamptonlaurelsfc.com and more information on the WPSL, its teams, and the 2006 playoffs can be found at www.wpsl.info.
Title: Re: Kennya Cordner already on target.
Post by: kingman on July 17, 2006, 06:19:50 PM
Good news  :applause:

Post by: trinbago on July 17, 2006, 09:01:41 PM
lovely.....lovely!!!
Post by: StoreBayLimer on July 18, 2006, 02:32:48 AM

Congratulations to the Manager and players. 
Title: Soca Princess Kennya Cordner Earns WPSL Team of the Week Selection
Post by: Baygo Boy on July 04, 2007, 11:36:25 AM
EASTON, PA - For the second week in a row a Northampton Laurel have received a WPSL Team of the Week selection. In week 6, star midfield playmaker Maylee Attin-Johnson (Kennesaw State University/Trinidad & Tobago WNT) earned the selection, but it was her Trinidad & Tobago WNT team mate striker Kennya Cordner (Young Harris College) who made it onto the leagues elite list.

Cordner received the selection for her performances against East Conference Mid-Atlantic division rivals Real Shore FC and Philadelphia Liberty over the weekend. She led the Laurels with 3 goals and an assist in 2 games to propel the team to the top of their division, and in sight of another Eastern Conference playoff berth.

"Kennya is an explosive player, with exceptional abilities" said Laurels Head Coach [Trinidadian] Anthony Creece, "She is a proven competitor who isn't afraid to go at defenders, she may be a small player, but she has a ton of heart" Coach Creece said.

The Laurels will head to Uniondale, NY on Friday July 6th to meet last seasons'  WPSL National Champions Long Island Fury, the game is scheduled for a 5:30pm kick-off. View the WPSL week 7 TOTW list http://www.wpsl.info/news/index.php/?cat=1&id=256  (http://www.wpsl.info/news/index.php/?cat=1&id=256)
Title: Re: Soca Princess Kennya Cordner Earns WPSL Team of the Week Selection
Post by: Big Magician on July 04, 2007, 11:59:51 AM
well done 'YaYa"...allyuh know she does suck she finger??....and i dont mean to make fun of it...
Post by: Baygo Boy on February 07, 2008, 02:24:03 PM
Just an update on the Women's side.
Check out:
www.wpsl.info
www.northamptonlaurelsfc.com
Title: Cordner comes back to key Laurels' 2-0 win over Liberty
Post by: Tallman on July 21, 2008, 10:07:35 AM
Cordner comes back to key Laurels' 2-0 win over Liberty
By Gary R. Blockus (The Morning Call)

For Kennya Cordner, the Northampton Laurels 2008 season ended almost as soon as it began.

Cordner, known as ''Ya Ya'' to her teammates, spent most of the summer playing for the Trinidad and Tobago Under-20 national and senior national teams.

She returned to the U.S. just 10 days ago, and tallied the first goal of the game as the Laurels broke a scoreless tie in the second half to defeat the Philadelphia Liberty 2-0 at J. Birney Crum Stadium.

''It was great just being back with this team,'' Cordner said. ''The girls played this team before and lost 1-0 ... We did our best and came out to win.''

The Laurels ended the season 4-7-1 with the upset win over Philadelphia, which eliminated the Liberty from playoff contention. Philadelphia (4-2-5) was tied for fourth heading into the night, and a win, with a few losses by other teams, could have caused the Liberty team to climb as high as second place, which would have been a playoff spot.

Cordner eliminated that hope about a third of the way into the second half. Melissa Kornock, the team's leading goal scorer, started the play with a run down the left wing. She made a nice through pass to Tracy Fitzpatrick on the nearside, who sent the ball wide toward Cordner on the right.

Liberty goalie Annie Loway played the cross like a shot, which took her out of position as Cordner gained possession and fired a crossing shot back into the left panel.

Kornock scored her sixth goal of the season in the 80th minute, taking a feed from Chelsea Paskman on the left before rocketing a shot to the far right corner.

''I think the girls came out with determination to win,'' Laurels coach Anthony Creece said.

Laurels goalie Caitlin Corrigan, a Pennridge High School graduate who stars at Moravian College, made seven saves, several of the outstanding variety.

''I think all the girls are looking forward to their college seasons now,'' Creece said, ''and I hope this will give them some momentum toward that goal.''

Stoners rained out: Once again, it rained on the Pennsylvania Stoners parade.

The Stoners, the first-year team that captured the regular season title in the North Division of the Northeast Region of the National Premier Soccer League, were poised for the first playoff game in their history when lightning forced a postponement.

The Stoners (8-1-1) were scheduled to play the New York Athletic Club on Sunday night at J. Birney Crum Stadium in Allentown, but lightning forced a delay in the contest before game officials called for a postponement just after 9:30 p.m.

No makeup date has been set.

NYAC (4-4-2) finished in second place in the Mid-Atlantic Division of the Northeast Region.
Title: Re: Cordner comes back to key Laurels' 2-0 win over Liberty
Post by: Baygo Boy on July 22, 2008, 09:42:07 AM
She actually scored 4 goals in 5 games for the Laurels this season, including the game winner in 3. She also lead the Laurels U-23 to a USASA Region 1 semi-final berth.
Post by: Flex on November 22, 2010, 03:42:26 AM
Cordner heads for Australian trial.
By: Shari John (T&T Guardian).

National senior women’s footballer, Kennya Cordner left for Australia yesterday, where she will try out for four professional women’s football teams.

The petite striker has had a stellar year in national colours, finishing as T&T’s top-scorer in the Senior Caribbean Football Union final round qualifying tournament, the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games held in Venezuela and the most recently, the Concacaf World Cup qualifying tournament which was hosted in Cancun, Mexico.

The 22-year-old will be in Australia for six weeks on the invitation of the Football Federation of Australia (FFA).

If the trial is successful, Cordner will be given the opportunity to remain Down Under until the end of the Australian football season in February. Speaking just before her departure, Cordner said she is very confident.

“I have high hopes. I will be going with a mentality to make the team and not one to just go for a trial. I am going out there to give my all, not come back home after six weeks,” she said.

Cordner described the offer as an amazing opportunity. “This type of opportunity does not come around often, so I will try my best to make the most of it.”

Cordner explained that she has improved a lot this year, particularly since her brief stint at T&T’s Sweden based professional player, Ahkeela Mollon’s former club Kvårsveden IF last year.

Mollon now plays for Sweden’s top club Djurgården. “This is a much bigger deal than my stint in Sweden and this time around, I am much better tactically and physically.”

National Under-17 team manager, Janelle James, expressed her faith in the Tobago resident, explaining that she definitely has what it takes to make it as a professional player.

Title: Re: Cordner heads for Australian trial.
Post by: elan on November 22, 2010, 08:16:22 AM
It's sad she never graduated from college. Hope she makes the best of this.
Post by: Ngozi on November 22, 2010, 08:18:39 AM
Neither did Dwight ... I like her mentality I think she will do well .. goodluck and big up :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: elan on November 22, 2010, 08:20:52 AM
Neither did Dwight ... I like her mentality I think she will do well .. goodluck and big up :beermug: :beermug:

Dwight had the opportunity to make millions, women don't.
Post by: weary1969 on November 22, 2010, 08:59:43 AM

ENTTTTTT
Post by: Socapro on November 22, 2010, 09:28:45 AM

ENTTTTTT

Yuh sure bout that?! Ah sure Dwight spend ah couple of his millions on them women!!  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on November 22, 2010, 09:39:32 AM

ENTTTTTT

Yuh sure bout that?! Ah sure Dwight spend ah couple of his millions on them women!!  :devil:

I sure she has d opportunity 2 make milllions herself but not likely on a football pitch kickin d ball
Post by: frico on November 22, 2010, 02:36:14 PM
TT shudda have bout 20 footballers playing in England and Scotland and making millions,after Dwight made it and to a lesser extent Latapy there should have been a steady flow of our players to England.Our boys are as good as anybody but something is wrong with our system,what a shame those yutes missing out on millions,I hope things can change.
Post by: MEP on November 23, 2010, 10:26:45 AM
TT shudda have bout 20 footballers playing in England and Scotland and making millions,after Dwight made it and to a lesser extent Latapy there should have been a steady flow of our players to England.Our boys are as good as anybody but something is wrong with our system,what a shame those yutes missing out on millions,I hope things can change.
No we eh good...is ah chicken or egg scenario..is the system producing crap ballers or are crap ballers entering an already crappy system
Post by: D.H.W on November 23, 2010, 10:43:30 AM

ENTTTTTT

I sure she has d opportunity 2 make milllions herself but not likely on a football pitch kickin d ball

Marta makes aprox US $55,000 per month in wages and sponsorship deals. It is possible, but u have to be good, just like any man on a pitch, but its tougher. WPS in USA right now is the league with the paper, for now. Womens football relatively young, but its growing fast. For the average woman player, don't expect the millions yet.

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_HO8uE2wc7rA/S7jYF2uuHjI/AAAAAAAAA7k/OXOXMt_JCh4/s1600/p1_marta_0926.jpg)
Post by: frico on November 23, 2010, 10:55:12 AM
MEP,over the years we have produced ballers to take us to within 'a hairsbreadth' of 1974 WC but we got cheated out of that,we should have qualified for 90 Italy but Gally wasn't good enough to take us there,we qualified for 2006 with a virtual pure TT team apart from Birchall and if it wan't for all the problems internally we might have qualified for SA2010.We have been Caribbean Champs more than anyone so how you can say we produce crap,I think there are other problems and I hope we can identify them and fix it.
Post by: elan on November 23, 2010, 01:36:39 PM
MEP,over the years we have produced ballers to take us to within 'a hairsbreadth' of 1974 WC but we got cheated out of that,we should have qualified for 90 Italy but Gally wasn't good enough to take us there,we qualified for 2006 with a virtual pure TT team apart from Birchall and if it wan't for all the problems internally we might have qualified for SA2010.We have been Caribbean Champs more than anyone so how you can say we produce crap,I think there are other problems and I hope we can identify them and fix it.

The system or lack thereof is the problem. We wait to see who is "de baller" in SSFL and then they move on to the PFL hopefully and then just draft them onto a NT. Where in all this is the TTFF? Does the TTFF give out mandate or guidelines to clubs as per player development?

-Does the TTFF provide avenues for players to gain access to higher level coaching at a younger age outside of making a NT?
-Do players have an idea of the process in being identified towards making a NT?
-Are players identified at a young age by the TTFF and their development monitored?
Post by: Deeks on November 23, 2010, 04:29:55 PM

She can always go to college on her own or get some grant to do so. Was she in college and never finished?
Post by: Tallman on November 23, 2010, 05:02:27 PM

She can always go to college on her own or get some grant to do so. Was she in college and never finished?

She went to Young Harris College for at least two years.
Post by: Soccer 19 on November 25, 2010, 09:16:12 AM

There is nothing wrong with the fact that Miss Cordner is putting her schooling on hold. The female professional is a different ball of wax compared to the mens. I see nothing wrong with playing professionally now and then going back and finishing off school. If its is feasible as far as her schedule goes online courses are an option. maybe she does not know what she wants to do in school (life) and is seizing the opportunity (again nothing wrong that) .. heck I am 47 and still have no idea what i want to do....lmfao... Anyways Miss Cordner (aka  Ya Ya), do yourself and all of your mates proud as we all are routing for your success.

Cheers  19
Post by: trinipepper on November 27, 2010, 01:43:34 PM
Success is the key... change in discipline is also good... try it you can reach a long way....I am proud of you, hope you make the team.. youre a good player, with the right guidance you can make it a long way...the usa and the english league has scouts and that is where the money is at for the women's game but its not an easy access... As you can see not many islanders are in that mix...Represent in the Australian League good to go...
Post by: CK1 on November 27, 2010, 02:51:39 PM

There is nothing wrong with the fact that Miss Cordner is putting her schooling on hold. The female professional is a different ball of wax compared to the mens. I see nothing wrong with playing professionally now and then going back and finishing off school. If its is feasible as far as her schedule goes online courses are an option. maybe she does not know what she wants to do in school (life) and is seizing the opportunity (again nothing wrong that) .. heck I am 47 and still have no idea what i want to do....lmfao... Anyways Miss Cordner (aka  Ya Ya), do yourself and all of your mates proud as we all are routing for your success.

Cheers  19
The truth is that this is the best option for her because she was academically inepth ...under prepared for college and although she spent 2 years there she could not go on to a 4 year school because of her grades and lack of credits to transfer...(there were a lot of colleges interested in her after she finished her eligibility at YHC). This is a serious issue and the people who handling these players need to have a better plan in place to make sure that these players are prepared to handle the academic demands of college.
(19...this is not a put down on the player nor an attempt to discredit her , but I won't be eloquent about such a serious matter)
Post by: elan on November 27, 2010, 03:13:05 PM

Cheers  19
The truth is that this is the best option for her because she was academically inepth ...under prepared for college and although she spent 2 years there she could not go on to a 4 year school because of her grades and lack of credits to transfer...(there were a lot of colleges interested in her after she finished her eligibility at YHC). This is a serious issue and the people who handling these players need to have a better plan in place to make sure that these players are prepared to handle the academic demands of college.
(19...this is not a put down on the player nor an attempt to discredit her , but I won't be eloquent about such a serious matter)

I did not want to come out and say anything, but if she had focus a little more on academics she could have gone on. Is real colleges wanted her out of JUCO. Say what, at least she just ain't give up.
Title: Cordner on trial with with Brisbane Roar Women
Post by: Tallman on December 01, 2010, 05:28:21 AM
Cordner on trial with with Brisbane Roar Women
footballqueensland.com.au

The Brisbane Roar Women will host Trinidad & Tobago international, Kennya Cordner this week as the talented striker trials for a spot with a number of Westfield W-League clubs.

The 22-year-old already boasts an impressive resume having played for Trinidad & Tobago’s national team, nicknamed the ‘Soca Princesses’, since 2004 and scoring 32 goals for her country.

Kennya, nicknamed ‘Ya Ya’ was invited to Australia to trial with four of the Westfield W-League teams in the hopes of gaining a contract with one of the clubs, with Brisbane Roar the first of these trials.

If successful, this international stint won’t be the first for Cordner who attended Young Harris College in the States before playing in Sweden with Kvårnsveden IK in the country’s top women’s football league.

Arriving in Brisbane today ahead of her two-week trial with the Roar, Cordner was confident about her prospects of gaining a position in the Westfield W-League.

“I have high hopes. I’m going into it with a mentality to make the team and not one to just go for a trial.

“I am going out there to give it my all, and hopefully do enough to get picked up by a team,” she said.

“This type of opportunity does not come around often, so I will try my best to make the most of it”.

“This is a much bigger deal than my stint in Sweden and this time around, I am much better tactically and physically”.

Cordner will be watching closely this weekend when the Roar women take on Perth Glory with fellow striker and Roar stalwart Lana Harch in fine scoring form this season and the debut of Lisa De Vanna in orange last weekend, also vying for a starting spot up front.

See the Roar women in action against Perth Glory on Saturday, 27th November, kick-off 4pm at Perry Park, gates open one hour prior to kick-off.
Post by: Flex on December 23, 2010, 07:23:24 AM
Brisbane Roars signs Cordner.
By: Shari John (Guardian).

T&T senior team forward, Kennya Cordner has signed a professional contract with top Australian women’s football club, Brisbane Roars.

Cordner spent the last two weeks on trial at the club and signed the contract on Saturday. The speedy striker debuted for the club on Monday in the Hyundai W-League, coming on in the 77th minute and managed to impress the fans according to match reports.

Cordner said it was exciting being able to play in a new environment and she hopes to become a better player at the end of her experience in Australia. “It feels great to be given an opportunity to play away from home because opportunities like this don’t come very often,” she said.

“The quality of football here (in Australia) is much higher than that of my previous encounters, apart from national duty, and I am sure it will improve my game.

This means a whole lot for my career because not only do I have the opportunity to become a better player, but set a standard be a role model for the younger players coming up. The 22-year-old will be in Australia until the end of the Australian women’s season in February.
Post by: D.H.W on December 23, 2010, 07:27:00 AM
good!
Post by: Mose on December 23, 2010, 07:30:55 AM
Congrats to the young lady!!! :applause: :applause:
:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on December 23, 2010, 07:35:24 AM
Congrats to the young lady!!! :applause: :applause:
:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: Tallman on December 23, 2010, 10:43:19 AM
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/07bV9qj37s7Aw/610x.jpg)
Kennya Cordner of the Roar is tackled by Leah Blayney of Canberra during the round six W-League match between the Brisbane Roar and Canberra United at Perry Park on December 21, 2010 in Brisbane, Australia.

http://www.brisbaneroar.com.au/default.aspx?s=wleague_newsdisplay&id=37684
Kennya Cordner was handed her debut for Brisbane having just signed for the club on 76 minutes and immediately had an impact opening up the right side of the Canberra defence before delivering a quality cross into the box which Butt laid off to Harch, but the latter put her shot wide.

Cordner definitely looked up for her debut and was again terrorising the Canberra defence a short time later and again delivering a quality ball, but after a scramble in the box Williams was finally able to gather the ball.
Post by: Dutty on December 23, 2010, 01:39:46 PM
nice...good for her :applause:
Post by: Big Magician on December 23, 2010, 04:37:57 PM
YA YA

play de fitball bago
Post by: Tallman on December 24, 2010, 01:35:37 PM
http://www.thefootballsack.com/2010/12/w-league-brisbane-roar-1-0-canberra.html

In the 70th minute a young Trinidad & Tobago International Kennya Cordner came on for her W-League debut for Brisbane and for the rest of the game she proceded tp tear up the best defense in the W-league, Canberra (although Canberra were without regular Lyndsay Glohe). Full of pace with good touch, aggressive and a left foot she is one to watch in future games.

Brisbane can also look ahead with enthusiasm thank to their new recruit Kennya Cordner who will be hard to contain and now really adds to a great forward line for Brisbane.
Post by: weary1969 on December 24, 2010, 01:38:20 PM
http://www.thefootballsack.com/2010/12/w-league-brisbane-roar-1-0-canberra.html

In the 70th minute a young Trinidad & Tobago International Kennya Cordner came on for her W-League debut for Brisbane and for the rest of the game she proceded tp tear up the best defense in the W-league, Canberra (although Canberra were without regular Lyndsay Glohe). Full of pace with good touch, aggressive and a left foot she is one to watch in future games.

Brisbane can also look ahead with enthusiasm thank to their new recruit Kennya Cordner who will be hard to contain and now really adds to a great forward line for Brisbane.

NICENESS
Post by: Sando prince on December 24, 2010, 05:05:27 PM
happy for her
Post by: Deeks on December 24, 2010, 05:43:27 PM
Go Brave Young Princess!!!!!
Post by: Tallman on January 17, 2011, 06:56:41 PM
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/01O73gL5247Mm/610x.jpg)
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 16: Kennya Cordner of the Roar (R) flies ahead of her Victory opponent Ella Mastrantonio during the round ten W-League match between the Brisbane Roar and the Melbourne Victory at Perry Park on January 16, 2011 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Enzo Tomasiello/Getty Images)
Post by: Sando prince on January 18, 2011, 02:33:52 AM
^^^^  :beermug:
Title: Cordner is top TTFF woman
Post by: Tallman on January 18, 2011, 06:23:30 AM
Cordner is top TTFF woman
T&T Guardian

National Senior team player Kennya Cordner has been named the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Women's "Player of the Year" for 2010.

Now based in Australia where she has signed a three-month contract with professional W-League club Brisbane Roar, The Tobago-born Cordner described it as "great feeling" to cop the honour which will see her as the nominee for the First Citizen's "Sportswoman of the year."

The 22-year-old Cordner was the leading attacking player for T&T in 2010 during the Central American and Caribbean Games where T&T captured the silver medal, finishing second to Venezuela. She also led the scoring in the Caribbean Football Union World Cup qualifiers and scored T&T's opening goal in a 4-1 win over Guyana in the Concacaf Finals in Mexico.

"It feels great to b named the Trinidad and Tobago female football player of the year once more. The year 2010 was the best year ever for my football career. We won the silver medal at the CAC games and now I'm playing in Australia which is a step to bettering my career," Cordner told TTFF Media on Monday.

Cordner says her ambition is to play in the US Women's League.

"My aim is to keep on improving and become a better player because I hope to someday end up in the United States Women's League which I consider to be the best in the world," she added.

Cordner described her stint in Australia National Women's League as an eye opener.

"It's different here but it's going good so far. I'm enjoying the new experience. It's far from home but it's a sacrifice that I'm willing to make," she concluded.

Cordner is TTFF's top female player for 2010.

National Senior team player Kennya Cordner has been named the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Women’s “Player of the Year” for 2010.

Now based in Australia where she has signed a three-month contract with professional W-League club Brisbane Roar, The Tobago-born Cordner described it as “great feeling” to cop the honour which will see her as the nominee for the First Citizen’s “Sportswoman of the year.”

Cordner was the leading attacking player for T&T in 2010 during the Central American and Caribbean Games where T&T captured the silver medal, finishing second to Venezuela. She also led the scoring in the Caribbean Football Union World Cup qualifiers and scored T&T’s opening goal in a 4-1 win over Guyana in the Concacaf Finals in Mexico.

“It feels great to b named the Trinidad and Tobago female football player of the year once more. The year 2010 was the best year ever for my football career. We won the silver medal at the CAC games and now I’m playing in Australia which is a step to bettering my career,” Cordner told TTFF Media on Monday.

Cordner says her ambition is to play in the US Women’s League.

“My aim is to keep on improving and become a better player because I hope to someday end up in the United States Women’s League which I consider to be the best in the world,” she added.
Crediting her cousin Joel as the person who pushed her on to become a full time footballer, she also had some advice for other women aspiring to play the game professionally.

“My cousin Joel inspired me because as a young girl growing up all I remember was being excited every time there was an opportunity to go to the football field and kick a ball whenever he was going.

“To all the young ladies out there wanting to pursue a career in football I would encourage them to follow their dreams because that’s what I did. Continue working hard and don’t let anyone ever tell you that you’re not good enough. Always believe in yourself because the sky is the limit,” Cordner said.

Cordner described her stint in Australia National Women’s League as an eye opener.

“It’s different here but it’s going good so far. I’m enjoying the new experience. It’s far from home but it’s a sacrifice that I’m willing to make,” she concluded.

Cordner grew up in Speyside, Tobago and attended Signal Hill Secondary Comprehensive before moving on to Young Harris College in the United States. She played for Tobago  Women FC as well as United States club Northampton Laurels.
Title: Cordner setting the pace
Post by: Tallman on February 08, 2011, 11:25:14 AM
Cordner setting the pace
By Ashleigh McIntosh (brisbaneroar.com.au)

Newest Brisbane Roar Women addition Kennya Cordner had earned the respect of her teammates in the time it took her to make a run down the wing towards goal.

Her blistering speed off the bench is a welcome addition to the current team dynamic and will greatly assist the Roar in their Westfield W-League finals campaign.

While a language barrier is never easy to overcome, Cordner speaks ‘football’ fluently.

The attacking forward’s time on the sidelines with a torn ligament during the team’s last regular season fixture against Newcastle Jets has made even her more eager to be out on the park during the finals.

“My injury is not that bad, I just tore a ligament so now I am fine,” Cordner said.

“I am looking forward to the finals, hopefully I will get to play.”

The international recruit, fondly referred to as “Ya-Ya” by her teammates, has made a name for herself in Swedish leagues and the USA, as well as representing her home country, Trinidad and Tobago.

Cordner’s impression of Australia has been marred by the recent Queensland floods but she is enjoying the new challenge of playing for Brisbane.

“I like Australia… except for all the rain and floods, it is really good,” she said.

“I have played football in the US and Sweden but I really like playing with the Roar.

“It is hard work but it is good.”

Brisbane Roar captain Clare Polkinghorne believes she is an electric player who does not hesitate to get stuck in at training without distraction.

“She is very pacey and can do a lot on the ball …she’s an exciting prospect for us,” Polkinghorne said.

“Not many people know who she is or how she plays.

“At every training session she does something that we don’t expect and she just surprises us every day.

“That is something that will work in our favour.”

Boarding with a range of the Roar girls has allowed Cordner to become better acquainted with her teammates and help her settle in.

“She’s fitting in really well, she seems to get stuck in at training and nothing really sort of bothers her,” Polkinghorne said.
Title: Re: Cordner setting the pace
Post by: Tallman on February 08, 2011, 11:41:16 AM
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/09Oe3F1b705V6/x610.jpg)
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 05: Kennya Cordner of the Roar celebrates after scoring a goal in the second half during the W-League semi final match between the Brisbane Roar and Canberra United at Ballymore Stadium on February 5, 2011 in Brisbane, Australia.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/02sl0934cp4e9/610x.jpg)
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 05: Kennya Cordner and Lisa De Vann of the Roar celebrate after Kennya Cordner scored a goal in the second half during the W-League semi final match between the Brisbane Roar and Canberra United at Ballymore Stadium on February 5, 2011 in Brisbane, Australia.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/07904s5aN8bgB/610x.jpg)
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 05: Kennya Cordner of the Roar heads the ball during the W-League semi final match between the Brisbane Roar and Canberra United at Ballymore Stadium on February 5, 2011 in Brisbane, Australia.
Post by: Bakes on February 08, 2011, 11:45:11 AM
Cordner setting the pace
By Ashleigh McIntosh (brisbaneroar.com.au)

...While a language barrier is never easy to overcome, Cordner speaks ‘football’ fluently.

They doh speaka de Engrish in Brisbane?
Post by: MEP on February 08, 2011, 12:02:33 PM
I was about to asknthe same thing as I was thinking maybe Brisbane was in Denmark or sweden
Post by: Big Magician on February 08, 2011, 06:13:54 PM
Ya Ya ...play de fitball bago
Post by: D.H.W on February 12, 2011, 11:44:38 AM
i see like they win the CUP

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/08dR5o1evYaEU/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/06yC3mB9s4cfe/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0fUQ4Um4vB5OJ/610x.jpg)

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 12: The Roar team pose as they celebrate after winning the W-League Grand Final match between Sydney FC and the Brisbane Roar at Campbelltown Sports Stadium on February 12, 2011 in Sydney, Australia.

Title: Kennya * Yaya* Cordner Signed by Reign FC
Post by: jimmel14 on June 19, 2013, 07:34:11 PM
Kennya Cordner has moved up from the Reign FC Reserves of the WPSL to the NWSL club in Seattle. (Wilson Tsoi)
Kennya Cordner is a forward for the Trinidad and Tobago WNT and, prior to signing with Reign FC, was a member of the Reign FC Reserves. In her first four matches with Reign FC Reserves this season Kennya scored three goals. Cordner was called up to play in the Reign FC friendly match against the Haitian Women’s National Team on June 2; she scored a goal in the 6-0 victory for Reign FC.

Cordner made her international debut at 15 and is the leading scorer for the Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Team. In July 2011, in an Olympic qualifying match, Cordner scored 9 goals against Dominica, leading her club to a 15-1 victory.

“At every level she has played Kennya has shown she knows how to find the net,” said Head Coach Laura Harvey. “We are clearly a club that is in need of a player who can consistently deliver goals, so we are excited to see the impact Kennya can have in the NWSL.”

Kennya has been added to the roster pending medical clearance and will make her debut with the squad as soon her visa has been approved.

Kennya Cordner

Position: Forward

Born: November 11, 1988

Hometown: Speyside, Trinidad and Tobago

Last Club: Reign FC Reserves, Presented by Issaquah Soccer Club

College: Young Harris College

Citizenship: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Acquired: Signed, June 19, 2013
Title: Re: Kennya * Yaya* Cordner Signed by Reign FC
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2013, 07:39:50 PM

Just this alone sweet.
Post by: weary1969 on June 19, 2013, 08:33:20 PM

Just this alone sweet.

CO-SIGNNN d prettiest part of Tobago.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 20, 2013, 03:13:05 AM
Fuh real, nice reefs out dey too and wicked fish
Title: Cordner waived by Reign FC. Steups!
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2013, 11:08:06 AM
In order to make room on the roster for Van Egmond, Seattle has placed forward Kennya Cordner on waivers. Cordner, who was brought up in mid-June from the Reign FC Reserves, played in three games for Reign FC, starting in two matches and logging 124 minutes. During Cordner’s time with Reign FC the club was undefeated, collecting eleven points from three wins and two draws.

“We added Kennya to our roster on a temporary basis, knowing it would be a few weeks before Van Egmond would be able to join the club,” said Harvey. “To her great credit, Kennya was able to quickly fit into the squad and help us turn the season around during her short stay with the senior team. We think she is a terrific player and hope she can play a role with the club in the future.”

http://goalwa.wordpress.com/2013/07/12/reign-fc-add-aussie-van-egmond-waive-cordner/
Post by: kounty on July 14, 2013, 11:21:40 AM
hard luck Yaya. yuh knocking at the gate, a little more work and yuh go buss thru. keep yuh head up!
Post by: Flex on July 14, 2013, 11:32:24 AM
So why did they sign her, to embarrass her ?

Post by: Thomo on July 14, 2013, 01:27:37 PM
My sentiments exactly. Stupid system though!
Post by: MEP on July 14, 2013, 01:54:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JozdqS6CMuw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JozdqS6CMuw)
Post by: Tallman on May 18, 2014, 08:29:50 PM
WATCH Kennya Cordner’s goal for Seattle Sounders Women which set them on the way to a 2-1 win over their longtime rivals, Vancouver Whitecaps, in a preseason friendly.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Om1KnrKQyE8&start=7
Title: Re: kennya cordner....anybody see this girl play ??
Post by: Tallman on June 24, 2014, 08:10:57 AM
CHECK OUT Kennya Cordner’s brilliant goal in Seattle Sounders Women 2-1 win over the Santa Clarita Blue Heat.
http://www.youtube.com/v/rCzFolM7H0I?start=76
Post by: Deeks on June 24, 2014, 05:42:19 PM
Why we cant have neeat small staiums like that, man
Post by: maxg on June 24, 2014, 08:41:15 PM
you know exactly why
Post by: mukumsplau on June 25, 2014, 08:10:24 AM

same thing i was ssaying..if these are embedded nicely into the communities u will see good turnout for games...well assuming all the other stuff is done efficiently, marketing etc
Post by: Tallman on June 26, 2014, 07:34:07 AM
Kennya Cordner has been named to the W-League’s Team of the Week after scoring four goals in two games last weekend.
http://goalwa.wordpress.com/2014/06/25/sounders-women-cordner-on-team-of-week-club-hosts-rush-friday/
Post by: Flex on October 28, 2014, 12:50:41 AM
‘Yaya’ named in Concacaf women’s all-star XI.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Top scorer for T&T at the recently concluded Concacaf Women’s Championship, Kennya “Yaya” Cordner, was named in an All-star XI among the best four midfielders of the tournament.

Cordner, who scored three goals, all of which were headers assisted by Ahkeela Mollon, was identified as the “best right midfielder”.

Cordner scored the lone goal in T&T’s win over Haiti and the first goal in the 2-1 win over Guatemala, both in the group stage, where the team placed second behind eventual tournament winner, USA.

She then scored her third goal, an equalising item in the 57th minute on Sunday in the extra-time 4-2 loss to Mexico.

The USA won the tournament with a 6-0 drubbing of Costa Rica and dominated the All-star team with seven of 11 players making the list. Hope Solo (goalkeeper), Christie Rampone, Whitney Engen, Meghan Klingenberg (defenders), Carli Lloyd, Christen Press (midfielders) and 2012 Fifa World Player of the Year, Abby Wamback (forward), represented the USA on the All-star team.

Costa Rican full-back Diana Saenz and midfielder Shirley Cruz Trana, along with one Mexican, forward Charlyn Corral, completed the list.

Lloyd won the Golden Ball, Wambach the Golden Boot and Solo the Golden Glove. Costa Rica won the Fair Play award.

In total, T&T scored six goals in the tournament. Apart from Cordner, the other goals came from captain Maylee Attin Johnson, defender Lauryn Hutchinson and forward Mariah Shade, all of whom scored one each.

USA, Costa Rica and Mexico all qualified for the next year’s Fifa World Cup Canada, while T&T, which finished fourth earned an intercontinental two match playoff spot against Ecuador.

Post by: Michael-j on October 28, 2014, 04:05:20 AM
Good for Cordner! :applause:

I thought selection to the all-star team was based on performance during the tournament; what is Hope Solo doing there?....what exactly did she do in the tournament?
Surprised King isn't in the allstar eleven....
Post by: socalion on October 28, 2014, 09:23:00 AM
I had the privilege of seeing several of the current team members ( soca women warriors) play in montreal  some years ago  including smallie  yaya cordner , baby face  maylee attin johnson ,  along with miss cool akheela mollon,  even then we saw  evidence of their talents ......  yaya though very small in stature was something else , everyone wanted to know why she was kept on de bench  ... she was terrorising the opposing team players when she eventually  made her appearance.. and scored too... she left an impression on all who saw her then ..... as for  maylee attin i'm not surprised  she is presently captaining de current team.... i was able to chat with her  back then  and can safely say  she is a serious , intelligent and talented   young lady .. so  ppl no 2 ways  about  it, we have a special group   representing our national colours i can see exactly why coach randy waldrum  feels the pride he does for these young ladies.... i certainly feel as much  pride ... keep your heads up ladies  and best wishes to all of you
Title: Re: Kennya Cordner Thread
Post by: Tallman on December 10, 2014, 11:12:50 AM
Women Soca Warriors forward, Kennya “Yaya” Cordner, nominated for the 2014 TV6 Viewers' Choice Sport Personality Award.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/videos/SPORT-PERSONALITY-KENNYA-CORDNER-285315711.html
Title: Footballer charged with breaching peace
Post by: Tallman on February 19, 2015, 12:17:20 AM
Footballer charged with breaching peace
T&T Express

Kennya Cordner, star striker for the national women’s football team, appeared in the Port of Spain Magistrates’ Court yesterday charged with using annoying language to provoke a police officer to commit a breach of the peace.

The charge alleges that on Carnival Monday night, Cordner was outside Ma Pau on Ariapita Avenue when the music was shut off abruptly and she allegedly called out to some police officers nearby, asking why the music was stopped and complaining that they could not even wine on the police.

She was subsequently arrested and taken to Woodbrook Police Station and charged with the offence.

Cordner pleaded not guilty to the charge yesterday and will return to court on Monday.

She was represented by attorney Martin George.

Cordner, who hails from Tobago and wears the same No 19 jersey as her idol Dwight Yorke, has represented Trinidad and Tobago for several years.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 19, 2015, 09:54:41 AM
Fuh real? ???
Post by: presspass on February 19, 2015, 03:53:39 PM
T&T police and their tight panties AGAIN.
Post by: Flex on April 18, 2017, 01:47:25 AM
Cordner heads to FC Dallas.
T&T Newsday Reports.

National forward Kennya Cordner is heading to the United States after earning a contract with FC Dallas Women’s team. The 28-year-old Tobagonian could make her debut for Dallas on Sunday in their Women’s Premier Soccer League (WPSL) game against Athenians SC.

The WPSL is the second tier in women’s football in the United States behind the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL).

Cordner is no stranger to the domestic league in the US, campaigning in 2014 for Seattle Sounders in the now defunct United Soccer League USL W-League and in the NWSL for Seattle Reign FC in 2013.

The speedy forward has netted 20 goals from 17 matches for the national team but is currently suspended from duty after a dispute with T&T coach Carolina Morace. Cordner, five foot, nine inches, is known for her direct and aggressive style of play as well as predatory instincts in the penalty area.

Title: Kennya "Yaya" Cordner flying high with four goals in FCD Women home opener
Post by: Tallman on May 31, 2017, 03:51:50 PM
Kennya "Yaya" Cordner flying high with four goals in FCD Women home opener
fcdwomen.ne
t

The Trinidad & Tobago all-time leading WNT goal scorer, Kennya Cordner, puts in a 4-goal performance in FCD Women home opener. 

On Saturday night at Dr. Pink Field in Frisco, Texas in front of a crowd of 600 versus FC Tulsa Spirit. FCD Women started off quickly through Bianca Brinson a little less than two minutes into the game. Yaya Cordner followed up a minute later with her first goal on the day. 

FCD Women went into halftime creating multiple opportunities but only finding the net twice in the 1st half before the Trinidad & Tobago international put on a show of how to finish in the second half.  The goal of the night came in the 68th minute when midfielder Sarah Jacobs found Cordner on the right flank. Yaya did the rest by dribbling beyond three defenders then cut the ball back to her left foot for her initial shot that was blocked by the Tulsa goalkeeper that rebounded in the air and Kennya Cordner jumped beyond Tulsa central defender and goalkeeper to score with a spectacular diving header. 

The final score finished 5-0 in favor of the FCD Women home side and sees FCD Women improve to (2-0) on the season in the Southwest Conference. 

FCD Women head coach, Ben Waldrum on the game:
"You are always pleased with a win in front of your home support.  A little disappointed in the first half not to capitalize on the attacking chances we created that has seemed to be a common theme early on in the season.  We addressed that at half-time and made a few tactical adjustments in our shape and movement that allowed us to put even more pressure on the opposition and we where able to put the ball in the back of the net in the second half."  "We will enjoy the win tonight and get back to work this coming week as we have two very important road games coming up in Oklahoma City."
Post by: g on June 02, 2017, 08:29:33 AM
She has excellent speed and touch. Not sure of the level of competition here but scoring goals too. I always felt like her conversion ratio could have been better.
Title: Kennya Cordner—An exceptional eye for goal
Post by: Tallman on December 13, 2017, 08:03:41 AM
Kennya Cordner—An exceptional eye for goal
T&T Guardian

T&T’s all-time leading goal scorer for the Women’s National Football Team, Kennya Cordner, has an exceptional eye for goal no matter which part of the world she is playing in, and this year was no different for the star striker from Speyside, Tobago.

“I turned 29 years old in November, which is considered the peak age for a footballer, and it really showed for me. I scored 13 goals in Dallas, and 17 goals in Paraguay, which showed that I am in great shape as a forward because I have been scoring goals” she told Guardian Media Sport.

“Yaya” as she is more commonly known in local circles, played one part of her footballing season with Football Club Dallas Women’s, where she finished as one of three leading goal scorers in the Women’s Premier Soccer League, and the other part with Sportivo Limpeño, which competes in the Primera Division B (the second division of Women’s Professional Soccer) in Paraguay.

When she reflected on the experience of playing in Paraguay, she had mixed feelings about the adventure to Limpio, Paraguay.

She described the trip as a great opportunity to advance her footballing profile and skills, but for her personal life, the Paraguayan lifestyle was one that did not mesh with her interests.

“The conditions were not what I expected from a third-world country. I did not allow it to affect me that much, but I was living with five girls and the lifestyle wasn’t one that I wanted to be a part of,” she self-confessed.

The forward, who is currently enjoying her off-season back in T&T, after an extended footballing year for both club and country, is anticipating a quiet Christmas season.

“I’m looking forward to relaxing, going to the beach, hanging out with friends, and just taking it easy until the football season starts again,” she said.

“Yaya” stated that she will use the allotted time off to reflect on her past season and deliberate both her club and international futures for the upcoming seasons.

“I have a lot of offers on the table to go out again and play, I can’t really say as yet because I still have to decide on which one of the teams I want to play with, and as for the national team, as the year turns over I will make a decision on whether I will return,” the player who wears number 19 stated.
Title: Kennya Cordner, queen of the Soca Princesses
Post by: Tallman on September 19, 2018, 04:48:46 PM
Kennya Cordner, queen of the Soca Princesses
FIFA.com

It’s been a long wait for Trinidad and Tobago, but finally they have an opportunity to cast aside some demons. T&T, who are known affectionately as the Soca Princesses, dominated their two-match intercontinental play-off against Ecuador four years ago, but somehow slipped up after conceding a decisive last-minute goal to miss qualification for their first-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup™.

Fast forward to the present day and the opportunity for redemption is in sight. Next month T&T will line up among an eight-nation field at the USA-based CONCACAF Women’s Championship where three nations will earn passage to France 2019, while a fourth will book a play-off spot against Argentina.

A key cog for the Soca Princesses is the vastly experienced Kennya Cordner. A powerful and speedy forward, Cordner is ready to make an on-field statement following a brief self-imposed exile from the national team set-up.

Cordner brings goalscoring know-how and X-factor to a team short on exposure to various styles of football. Most of the squad are either based locally, or have spent the majority of their careers in USA playing college or regional football.

In that sense at least, Cordner – who once scored nine goals in an Olympic Games qualifier – is very much an outlier. The Tobagan has played in four continents and six countries in a colourful career journey that even included a brief sojourn in Paraguay.

Cordner has worn the colours of several clubs in the United States, and has enjoyed stints in Sweden and Australia, as well as Norway where she currently turns out for Sandviken. It could barely be any further from her sleepy hometown of Speyside – a village better known for bird-watching and reef diving than it is international footballers.

For one brief moment, women’s football was unexpectedly, and almost unbelievably, front and centre in the Caribbean nation. The Soca Princesses are used to little fanfare, so they were surprised as anyone when a sold-out 22,000 crowd gathered at the Hasely Crawford stadium in Port of Spain four years ago with a spot at Canada 2015 on offer.

Cordner was narrowly denied a historic match-winning goal when her spectacular overhead strike came back off the crossbar. The 29-year-old, however, is not one to dwell on what could have been as she told FIFA.com.

"It doesn’t really impact on me that much anymore," said Cordner. "It was disappointing and it hurt at the time, but that is in the past and I’m not discouraged. Every time I think about 2014, I’m not sad but I just say, ‘it wasn’t our time, because otherwise we would have been in a World Cup’. It just wasn’t meant to be."

And it will be far from easy this time around with USA, Canada and Mexico strong favourites for the upcoming continental championship, while Costa Rica and Jamaica have made massive progress in recent years.

T&T qualified for the continental championship behind Caribbean zone winners Jamaica, but Cordner was buoyed but what she experienced upon her return to the side.

"The energy and positivity of the girls was amazing and that is how it is supposed to be,” said Cordner, who is just one of three Tobagans in the squad. "Hopefully we have enough preparation so we have our chemistry, because it is going to be a tough challenge mentally and physically."

Cordner, who says she wants to play until the age of 40, is desperate to once again see women’s football uniting the Caribbean nation just as it did in 2014.

“That experience was amazing,” said the player known as Yaya. “I have never played in front of so many people in my entire life. We filled the stadium and we brought people together and that was the most amazing thing ever. Hopefully we have the opportunity to do that again."
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2019, 08:26:55 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner wins the 2019 Norwegian Toppserien Golden Boot Award, after scoring her 17th goal of the season in IL Sandviken's 2-2 draw with Røa IL.

https://www.youtube.com/v/OgN_sl05nxM
Post by: Tallman on November 25, 2019, 07:11:01 PM
Kennya Cordner nominated for Norwegian Toppserien Player of the Year (https://toppfotballkvinner.no/nyheter/fotballfesten-2019-de-nominerte-til-arets-spiller/). The Toppserien is the highest level of women's football in Norway. Kennya is described as a player with technical brilliance who can punish any opponent.
Title: Cordner nominated for Norway’s top female footballer award
Post by: Tallman on November 27, 2019, 09:56:47 AM
Cordner nominated for Norway’s top female footballer award
T&T Newsday

TOBAGO-born national striker, Kennya “YaYa” Cordner, is among three female nominees vying for Norway’s Female Footballer of the Year award.

Cordner plies her professional trade for Norwegian club, IL Sandviken and according to the club’s website, the TT striker has been the squad’s guiding star this season. She is described as a technically brilliant player, who recently captured the top scorer title during her second season (2019) at IL Sandviken, with a scorching 17 goals in 21 matches.

Following her nomination for the prestigious award, IL Sandviken acknowledged Cordner’s athletic prowess over the past competitive season. The two-time TT Female Footballer of the Year (2005, 2010) was described as, “A useful player with technical brilliance, who can punish any opponent. In the last series round, she decided the match for the top scorer title and throne at the top with 17 scores in the Toppserien (Norwegian top-flight).”

Also nominated for this accolade are Sherida Spitse (Valerenga captain) and Roas top-scorer Synne Jensen.

This is only the 31-year old’s second season at IL Sandviken following previous international stints at Northampton Laurels FC (USA), Kvarnsvedens IK (Sweden), Brisbane Roar (Australia), Seattle Reigns FC Reserves (USA) and Seattle Reign FC to name a few.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 27, 2019, 11:00:25 AM
Well done Yaya, good luck
Post by: Tallman on December 02, 2019, 05:14:41 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner presented with the 2019 Norwegian Toppserien Golden Boot Award. Playing for IL Sandviken, Yaya scored 17 goals in 22 matches.

https://www.youtube.com/v/mFN4LR7wFU4
Post by: asylumseeker on December 02, 2019, 05:52:16 PM
Congrats! Solid! :applause:
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 02, 2019, 07:14:09 PM
Boom!  Well done Yaya!  Stay strong sistren  :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: soccerman on December 03, 2019, 07:58:43 AM
Congrats Yaya! Way to represent, best football news in 2019.
Post by: bingie man on December 03, 2019, 09:26:16 AM
congrats sis ! more blessings  :beermug:
Post by: Deeks on December 03, 2019, 10:42:52 AM
 :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

SOLID! YaYa. Plenty Blessings. Footballer of the Year!
Title: ‘Yaya’ keen to light up Norway again
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2019, 03:10:37 PM
‘Yaya’ keen to light up Norway again
By Kinnesha George (T&T Newsday)

A menace on the football field, known for her speed, agility and scoring ability, Kennya Cordner, more commonly known as “Yaya,” has described her 2019 season as tough, however, she says 2020 is loading for the unleash of the #Yayamonsta2.0.

Cordner was recently presented with the golden boot as the top scorer in Norway for her new club, IL Sandviken, in just her second season there. Cordner’s exploits in the Toppserien – Norway’s top flight – did not go unnoticed and she was nominated for Player of the Year. Although not winning the big award on December 2, Cordner’s season was no fluke and the result of hard work and perseverance.

“I’ve been working a lot this year on my finishing and to accomplish such a goal. It’s really an overwhelming feeling because I did put my mind to something this year, hence the reason why I went out on Tuesdays when we had individual practice, to work on my finishing and it did pay off. So, to see that it paid off and I accomplished 17 goals in 22 matches... it’s an overwhelming feeling,” she told Newsday in an interview at the Gulf City Mall in Lowlands on Wednesday.

The experienced 31-year-old dedicated the award to her aunt Penny, who died in 2018 but was extremely close to her.

“I did it for her, she was my number one supporter... she’s been there for me my entire life. I lived with her for most of my life, pretty much, and she’s been there from day one, supporting me, going and coming, and to lose her...

“The day I got the news that she died, I just dropped everything and screamed out in the entire stadium full of people and from that day, it’s just like I lost a big part of my life, knowing that I can’t just pick up the phone and say, ‘Aunty look, look what your niece did.’

“It still hurts but she wouldn’t want me to be sad.”

Cordner described her 2019 season as one of mixed emotions and revealed she wanted to quit during the season but convinced herself to stick it out. “It’s been both up and down for me because in the middle of the season I wanted to leave the club, basically because I didn’t like how things were going. I said to myself, you know what, you’re already there for the long haul so just stay and stick it out, continue to pray because you know your faith is always first, so anything you ask God for He will fulfil it, and just continue to do your best.”

Cordner said after chatting with her mother she was able to refocus and put in her best performances.

“I spoke to my mum (Cheryl Johnson) and she was like... ‘Stay and stick it out.’ From the first half of the season and when the second half started, I just blocked out everything and just focused on what I have to do on the field and it turned over for me pretty much and it went well from July straight into November.”

Cordner, who has played in Sweden, Australia, Paraguay and the US, is currently home spending time with her family and friends. She is expected to leave on December 29 to head back to Norway.

The uncertainty and unhappiness from last season is now a thing of the past and Cordner is itching to get back on the field in Norway.

“I’m leaving to go back to play with my team in Norway, IL Sandviken to go and do big things again,” she said.

Questioned if she would ever reconsider playing for TT again, Cordner, a two-time TT footballer of the year, said, “At the end of the day, I won’t mind playing for my country but if they don’t have things in place, I would never set foot back on field to play for them.

“I’ve been doing this for how many years, and they didn’t really take care of me...Me coming from Tobago and practising, training hard and going out on the field and doing everything and they didn’t put anything in place for us, the Tobagonians, it was unfair. Hence the reason why I had to walk away in 2017 and no one knew the reason why, it was because the TTFA then made it seem like I was disrespectful to the coach (Carolina Morace), when it was never about that.”

She added, “If things are put in place and things are right, definitely I would represent the red, white and black again.”
Post by: Tallman on February 25, 2020, 07:47:05 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner talks about what to expect from her in 2020. The interview was done after IL Sandviken's 1-0 win over Rosenborg BK in a preseason match. Cordner tallied the lone goal.

https://www.youtube.com/v/6Vr2G2tAEGc
Post by: Tallman on February 28, 2020, 04:19:52 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner notches her second pre-season goal during IL Sandviken's 3-0 win over Vålerenga

https://www.youtube.com/v/0i-1WHpp400?start=11
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2020, 07:41:08 AM
WATCH: All of Kennya Cordner's 17 goals from the 2019 Norwegian Toppserien season when she won the Golden Boot Award

https://www.youtube.com/v/NlLR7DgbpkI
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2020, 09:35:14 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner starts off the 2020 Toppserien season the same way she ended the 2019 season, with a goal. Yaya scored IL Sandviken's second goal, in their 3-2 win over Vålerenga.

https://www.youtube.com/v/0ytHlyKPgVg?start=70
Title: Cordner: At Sandviken, I've found myself in the right place
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2020, 08:14:20 PM
Cordner: At Sandviken, I've found myself in the right place
By Kristian Moe (nfkvinner.no)

After a somewhat troubled career with many club changes, it finally looks like Kennya Cordner has found the right one. In 2018 she moved to Norway to play for Sandviken, and during her two seasons in Norway, she has battled with the defenders in the Toppserien. We had a chat with last year's top scorer.

Kennya Cordner has visited countless clubs, and played in countries such as Sweden, Australia, the United States and Paraguay. Before the 2018 season, she chose to go to Norway to play for Sandviken. During her two years in Norwegian football, she has proved to be a real goalscorer with 25 goals in 45 games, with last year's season as an absolute highlight. Her 17 goals were enough to secure the top scorer title and helped Sandviken to a very solid 4th place in the Toppserien.

This season, she hopes for more success for herself and Sandviken, but to achieve this, she must work hard. Cordner loves to score goals, which she did a lot of last season. At the same time, she believes that one must believe in oneself and keep trying all the time. She draws inspiration from the player many believe is the best football player of all time, the Argentine talisman, Lionel Messi.

Self-training, hard work and Lionel Messi
- Let's start by talking about yourself. Who is Kennya Cordner and how would you describe yourself as a player?

- I would describe myself as a humble player. I love to score goals and I work hard to master what I'm doing on the field. I have faith in everything I do, and even if I make mistakes, I keep trying, because no one is perfect.

- What is behind your success? How did you train in your childhood to become so good?

- When I didn't have anyone to train with, I had to do it for myself and on my own. I feel that one does their best work when no one is watching, so self-training is the main reason for my success today.

Do you have any examples? How have they influenced and inspired you as a human and football player?

- Lionel Messi is one of my role models because I love the way he plays football. He is a very humble person and he prioritizes the team over himself and that is the kind of player I am. He is also a family person like me, and it is the way he handles things so easily, that remind me of myself.

Racism: - People look at you differently
Racism has been a topical issue in the world lately after the murder of George Floyd. The Black Lives Matter campaign has been strong globally, and stadiums around the world have been flagged by players, coaches and supporters.

- What are your thoughts on racism in football and the world in general?

- At some point this became a relevant topic. It's hard to be a colored person because people look at you differently and you never get complete respect.

- Have you experienced any cases of racism in Norway that you want to tell about?

-No! Fortunately, I have never experienced racism in Norway.

About Sandviken
Cordner is now entering her third season as a Sandviken player following her move from Paraguayan football before the 2018 season. In her first season in Norwegian football she scored an acceptable 8 goals in 21 games, while last season she really emerged as a goal scorer of rank with 17 goals in 24 games, which was enough to secure the top scorer title from Røa player Synne Jensen. One can therefore safely say that Cordner's stay in Norway has been successful so far, something she herself hopes will continue in the 2020 season.

- How would you like to summarize your first two years in Norway and Sandviken?

- After being injured for two months and missing five games in the first season, I knew I had to make up for it in 2019, which I did. I continued to work hard every day to achieve my goals. It was a dedication to my late aunt.

- What about this season; what is your and Sandviken's goal?

- For me, it's about continuing and working hard and scoring goals for my team. For Sandviken we must continue to be a unit and work hard together and end up among the medal places this season.

- You have played in many different clubs during your career. Do you feel that you have found your way in Sandviken and Norway?

Yes, I have played in many different countries, but I have to say that Norway has been the longest period of my football career. That's also why I'm still here playing for Sandviken. When you find your place and you are in an environment you love to play in, you will adapt to that community fairly quickly. I did, so I found myself in the right place.

-  How are the facilities at Sandviken versus previous clubs you have been to?

- Most of the clubs I have played for have had good facilities, but the main differences with Sandviken are that it is always clean, and always ready for training and matches.

Norwegian football : - Big difference
- How was the transition to Norwegian football?

- The transition was quite different from what I've been used to, but being the person that I am, it didn't take long before I was able to adapt to it.

-  What are your thoughts on the playing style in Norway? Are there any major differences from, say, the United States?

- Compared to the US and the other countries I've played in, there is a big difference. In Norway you have the physicality and sometimes very direct play, while in other places you have the toughness and the technical play, but during the two years I have been here I have seen changes.

The development of women's football: - We must involve the less fortunate with big dreams
In recent years, women's football has grown in popularity both in Norway and the worldwide. Last year's World Cup had high viewing numbers, over 10,000 made the trip to Brann Stadion to see Norway against England in September, and clubs such as Rosenborg (formerly Trondheims-Ørn) and Manchester United have created women's teams. In addition, the focus on women's football is increasing in several countries, but in Cordner's home country, Trinidad and Tobago it is not. She still hopes that development continues, but also points out that more can be done to develop women's soccer.

- How is the focus on women's soccer in your home country?

-It has always been a struggle in my country when it comes to women's football. We never got the things we needed to be good enough to play at the top levels.

- What do you think about the development of women's football in Norway and internationally?

- I think a lot more can be done to develop women's football. Not just in Norway, but worldwide. We must manage to involve the less fortunate with big dreams before it is too late for them.

The future
Cordner turns 32 in 2020. She has now reached a stage of her career where she could possibly have one last chance in a major European league. She herself is uncertain what the future will bring.

- Do you want to end your career in Norway or another place?

-I don't know what the future holds for me, so it's hard to answer now.
Post by: Tallman on August 08, 2020, 08:57:54 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner pounces on an errant back-pass, rounds the keeper, and scores from an acute angle to rescue a point for IL Sandviken in their 1-1 draw with Lyn

https://www.youtube.com/v/lyb1t7O1yoU?start=95
Post by: Tallman on August 08, 2020, 09:32:42 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner blasts a left footer into the roof of the net to round off the scoring in IL Sandviken's 3-1 win over Avaldsnes IL

https://www.youtube.com/v/KzBFSz0QglE?start=168
Post by: Tallman on August 16, 2020, 11:44:16 AM
WATCH: A brace from Kennya Cordner leads IL Sandviken to a 3-1 win over Kolbotn IL.

https://www.youtube.com/v/f0bEZcs0kGY
Post by: Tallman on September 27, 2020, 01:28:59 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner breaks her five-match goal drought by opening the scoring in Sandviken IF's 2-0 win over Arna-Bjørnar. Cordner also earned the penalty which brought Sandviken their second goal.

https://www.youtube.com/v/KDo-LuGXIlU
Post by: Tallman on September 28, 2020, 02:10:08 PM
Kennya Cordner named to Toppserien's Team of the Week (Round 13) for her goal and assist performance in IL Sandviken's 2-0 win over Arna-Bjørnar.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EjBwkDXWoAAU0JJ?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2020, 02:47:43 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner fakes to the right, cuts back to the left and curls the ball into the far corner to score the third goal in Sandviken IL's 5-0 rout of Hønefoss BK. It's almost an exact replica of Russell Latapy's goal against Guatemala during the 2006 World Cup Qualifiers.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZUSr8SlGjQQ?start=163

https://www.youtube.com/v/BoavarHQepM?start=173

Post by: Flex on October 07, 2020, 04:26:07 PM
Cordner on target as Sandviken rolls in Norwegian NM Cup
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

T&T senior women's football team standout striker Kennya “Ya Ya” Cordner was among the goals as her Sandviken FC ran out comfortable 5-0 winners over Honefoss BK in their first round of the Norwegian NM Women's Cup at AKA Arena, Honefoss, Norway on Tuesday.

Sandviken took a 25th-minute lead through Vilde Hasund and they had to wait until the 72nd minute before Lisa Naalsund doubled the advantage before 31-year-old Cordner quickly made it 3-0 a minute later.

Having netted her fifth goal of the season and second in as many matches after going five matches without finding the net, Cordner was then replaced in the 81st minute by Sanne Lekven with the win already secured before the latter added strikes in the 86th and 90th minutes to complete the lopsided win and passage to the next phase of the competition.

Currently, fourth on the ten-team Norway Toppserien League with 22 points from 14 matches, nine adrift of leaders Valerenga, Cordner and her clubmates will return to league play against cellar-placed Roa on October 17, before meeting eighth-placed Kolbotn, two weeks later.

Post by: Tallman on October 21, 2020, 06:45:49 AM
WATCH: When it comes to Striker Kennya Cordner you either like her or you don't. She's never been one to mince her words and has had a chequered history because of her outspoken nature. However, her talent with a football has never been in doubt and it's arguably how she earned the name Yaya Monster. But how exactly did that nickname came about? (https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/how-kennya-became-yaya-monster/article_01b9ee78-133d-11eb-a0f3-53b6816246b4.html)
Title: Cordner extends pro contract with Sandviken IL
Post by: Tallman on December 01, 2020, 07:41:47 PM
Cordner extends pro contract with Sandviken IL
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

NATIONAL women's footballer Kennya ‘Ya Ya’ Cordner has extended her contract with Norwegian Toppserien club Sandviken IL for the 2021 season

Cordner has been flying the red, white and black with Sandviken IL for the past three seasons and announced, on Monday, she would represent the dominant Norwegian club for an additional year.

The 32-year-old midfielder has played with an array of women’s pro teams throughout her decorated career such as Northampton Laurels (USA), Kvarnsvedens IK (Sweden), Brisbane Roar (Australia), San Juan Jabloteh FC (T&T) and Seattle Reign FC (USA).

Since she joined Sandvikens IF three years ago, the club improved from their previous three ninth-place finishes by placing fourth 2018 and 2019. The experienced T&T player was the 2019 season's leading scorer with 17 goals.

They are presently ranked fifth in the 2020 league which is still in progress.

She is the leading goalscorer for the national women’s team (38 goals) and was named T&T Female Footballer of the Year in 2005 and 2010.
Post by: Tiresais on December 02, 2020, 02:49:21 AM
Quality. I really hope she comes back and coaches the youth - both boys and girls. They could do with the wealth of her experience
Title: Cordner awarded Golden Boot again by Sandviken IL
Post by: Tallman on December 07, 2020, 06:41:09 PM
Cordner awarded Golden Boot again by Sandviken IL
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

NATIONAL women’s footballer Kennya "Ya Ya" Cordner has claimed the 2020 Golden Boot Award by her Norwegian Toppserien (top flight) club IL Sandviken.

In a post to her Facebook page, on Monday, Cordner wrote, “God you alone listen and answer my prayers always, so all the glory belongs to you. That feeling, no matter how much time I fail, I will try and try again because giving up is never (an) option for the ‘Monsta’. Another year and the ‘Monsta’ is the same, thankful always.”

The 32-year-old midfielder played the first 13 games of IL Sandviken’s 2020 season, during which she scored six goals and had two assists. But her season was cut short by injury, which forced her to miss the club’s final five matches.

Cordner was the season’s topscorer last year with 17 goals.

When contacted, Cordner said, “To get this award in back-to-back years is (an) overjoy but amazing feeling, because I continue to work hard and doing what I do best, scoring goals and, for another year, I was the team’s topscorer.”
Post by: Deeks on December 07, 2020, 08:19:06 PM
 :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Post by: Tallman on August 14, 2021, 11:59:41 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner breaks her goal drought when she scores a diving header to seal IL Sandviken's 2-0 win over Rosenborg BK Kvinner.

https://www.youtube.com/v/vYlQH_avkLE?start=122
Post by: Tallman on August 25, 2021, 09:54:00 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scores in the 90th minute during IL Sandviken's 3-0 win over AaFK Fortuna in the 3rd round of the Norwegian Women's Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/80h4pgmAM30?start=64
Post by: Tallman on October 09, 2021, 03:07:51 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner rounds off the scoring in IL Sandviken's 3-0 win over Stabæk.

https://www.youtube.com/v/dEtbt0W5YkA?start=86
Title: Kennya Cordner: Shut out the noise and let's play football
Post by: Tallman on October 21, 2021, 10:48:04 AM
Kennya Cordner: Shut out the noise and let's play football

NATIONAL women’s senior team striker Kennya “Yaya” Cordner has called on teammates to shut out the noise and place full focus on Thursday’s international friendly match against Panama.

The Women Warriors play their first official match in over two years at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva from 3.30pm.

Cordner, who plies her trade in the Norwegian top-flight with IL Sandviken, encouraged her new and long-standing teammates to rally around each other amidst the team’s on-going challenges.

Over the past two weeks, the coach of the senior women’s team changed . After five months in charge, Welshman James Thomas resigned on October 6 for a job in the English women’s league.

Last Wednesday, American and former men’s futsal coach Constantine Konstin was appointed interim head coach but then stepped down owing to personal reasons on Sunday.

Ex-national men’s captain Kenwyne Jones was then appointed interim head coach on Monday and will serve in this capacity until November 30.

In an interview with TT Football Association media on Wednesday, Cordner urged her teammates to remain focused.

“The challenges will always be there but we as players must know that this has been a long going thing.

“If we want to go forward we need to put these things behind and think football, togetherness and team because if we dwell on things that we cannot control, then it will control us and football will not be played, we need to be focused on what we’re here for and it’s basically football,” she said.

The 32-year-old attacker was pleased to return to the national set up after over two years of inactivity from the TT team. TT women played their last match in October 2019 against Dominica Republic and drew goalless.

Cordner however, remained in Norway and continued playing when the league resumed after covid19 restrictions were lifted there. She has scored two goals for her club for this season thus far, the most recent one just 11 days ago.

“I’m pretty much excited after being away for so long. It’s a great feeling to come back to represent the red white and black despite the challenges that we face. I am still happy to be here to go out there and give my best,” she added. In the Concacaf region, Panama are ranked sixth while TT are eighth. On the overall FIFA rankings, Panama are 59th and TT 70th.

Cordner rued the team’s inability to secure at least one practice match ahead of Thursday’s friendly. She said the team will still approach Thursday’s match and show that TT can still prove to be a good challenge.

The seasoned player said she still has to familiarise herself with some of the newer players on the team but believes the mood in the camp is a positive one.

“There are a lot of new faces for me because I have not been around for a long time. But I’ve grown so much to understand when you’re around something new, it’s to adapt.

“The vibes and energy I’m getting from the girls is a great one. We just have to go out there and do our best. Like Maylee (Attin-Johnson) says, when your legs stop working, play with your heart. We will need heart to go out there and represent the red, white and black,” she added.

Additionally, interim coach Jones said he enjoys the energy and willingness of the squad. Although he has only been in charge for four days, Jones was able to hold a couple training sessions with the squad ahead of Thursday’s meeting.

“What we’re doing is trying to develop a culture within the squad. Now these two games will give them a test and see where we’re at, where we need to improve and also give us the ability to see new players in this type of setting.

He continued, “I’m also very curious to see what will happen for the things and problems we have to face and what we have to solve. How we go about that on a daily basis and how we instill the confidence in this team as we push towards the goal of qualification (Concacaf qualifiers in February 2022).”
Post by: Flex on October 27, 2021, 12:29:52 AM
Women Warriors' striker Kennya Cordner : I can learn a lot from Kenwyne
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

VETERAN Trinidad and Tobago women’s team striker Kennya “Ya Ya” Cordner is eager to learn from former men’s team forward and captain Kenwyne Jones, during his stint as interim coach of the Women Warriors.

Jones, who took over from American Constantine Konstin on October 18 (his interim stint will last until November 30), guided the team to a pair of drawn results (0-0 last Thursday and 1-1 on Monday) against Panama, at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

Cordner was the T&T goalscorer on Monday and, after being involved in the women’s squad since 2006, the 32-year-old Cordner is still willing to enhance her knowledge of the game.

“Kenwyne is a forward and I (am) a forward, so I can learn a lot from Kenwyne,” said Cordner, during Monday’s post-game zoom media conference. “He scored goals and I score goals.”

About Jones’ time at the helm, Cordner said, “It’s fairly new for him so, in time to come, with his knowledge, I think things would be better.”

With regards to Monday’s match, Cordner said, “We went out there and we fought for 95 minutes. Even though we didn’t come out with the win, we still went out there and put (our) best foot forward and we fought for each other.”

Looking back at the pair of matches against Panama, the slimly-built attacker said, “I think we did the best that we can because, having not played for two years and it’s a bunch of new girls, and having to come into a camp for a week to play two international friendlies, we did really well (under) the circumstances.”

She is keen to pass on her experience to the younger crop of T&T players, having played in the United States, Sweden, Australia, Paraguay and, since 2018, in Norway (with IL Sandviken).

“I was happy to be back at home, because I haven’t been home for 22 months,” said Cordner.

“To be able to come back and give for Trinidad and Tobago women team, after experiencing so much in Norway, and seeing how different they do stuff, with my experience, to be able to transfer to this team, and allow these girls to see how hard work does pay off, it feels really good to be back here.”

Midfielder Chelcy Ralph, who plays for Ball State University in Indiana, United States, spoke about the difficulties in playing during the covid19 pandemic.

“It is very difficult having to be tested every other day but, as a team, we are very dedicated in what we have to do, and we’ll remain humble and respectful of the covid19 (protocols),” said Ralph.

“It’s a great experience for all of us to join together, because we haven’t been together for (some) years. Yes, we have a lot of work to do but it’s a great start.”

Panama’s coach Ignacio Quintana, commenting on Monday’s match, said, “It was an exciting game where any team (could have won). That’s the beauty of football, two teams making all the effort to win. The result was 1-1.

About the team’s week-long stay in Trinidad, Quintana said, “It’s okay for us and we enjoyed, a lot, our stay here. We enjoyed the opportunity, the experience and we’re grateful to the TT (Football Association).”

Yvamara Rodriguez, who was a second half substitute for Panama during Monday’s game, mentioned, “This game was a very aggressive and physical game. I felt that we kept connectivity with each other mentally. I think we’re quite happy with the result.”

Post by: Flex on November 02, 2021, 12:26:03 AM
Kennya Cordner: New crop of Women Warriors capable.
T&T Newsday Reports.

TRINIDAD and Tobago women’s senior footballer Kennya Cordner believes the squad has potential and “something to build on” after earning two draws against Panama, last month.

T&T and Panama played to a goalless draw in the first encounter on October 21, at the Ato Boldon Stadium, in Couva, before Cordner’s strike helped T&T to a 1-1 draw in the second match on October 25 at the same venue.

Cordner is elated to return to national colours.

“It felt amazing because putting on the red, white and black I am not only representing myself but I am representing my people and it is always a privilege and an honour to go out there and represent my country,” Cordner told TT Football Association media.

The Norwegian-based professional was glad to get her name on the scoresheet immediately on her return to local football. The matches against Panama were T&T’s first matches since October 2019.

“It meant a lot for me after being away from this programme for so long and to come back and pick up where I left off. I was scoring goals when I was with the national team previously and now that I am back I am still doing the same thing.”

There are several inexperienced players on the team, but Cordner is one of the more seasoned campaigners on the team along with Maylee Attin-Johnson and the Forbes sisters – Kimika and Karyn.

Cordner believes there is quality in the team.

“It’s different, but I think we have something here that we can go further with. A lot of new faces…they are into the football more than anything so you get to understand from a practice standpoint and from an analysis standpoint. With the coaches and players and everything as I said it is fairly new, but this time around it is much better I would say than previously even though there are a lot of new faces but it is a stepping stone and I know we will build something together.”

In a message to her team-mates, Cordner said, “I would say keep working. We went there for the last two games and we showed that we are hard workers and we have to continue to do that.”

The T&T women’s team, under new coach Kenwyne Jones, are preparing for the Concacaf Women’s Championship qualification tournament which starts in February, 2022.

That tournament will be the start of T&T’s 2023 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign. The world cup will be held in Australia and New Zealand.

Watch Cordner: We've got to stay focused (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaT2kh2YY00)

Title: Cordner's club IL Sandviken win Norwegian Women's Cup
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2021, 08:51:49 PM
Cordner's club IL Sandviken win Norwegian Women's Cup

KENNYA “Yaya” Cordner’s pro club IL Sandviken were crowned champions of the Norwegian Women’s Cup after they drubbed Klepp 8-0 in the final on Sunday.

Cordner however, was an unused substitute in the title match. The win saw the illustrious club bring to an end a 21-year Cup drought. They last won the Women's Cup in 1995.

During the past four seasons, IL Sandviken reached the final twice but had to settle for the runners-up spot.

In celebrating her team’s victory, Cordner posted to Facebook.

“God, if it wasn’t for you, I don’t know if I would of been here today (so) thankful for your mercies and the victory and for being a part of IL Sandviken history-wining 2021 (Cup). Just a little girl from Tobago in Norway living the dream,” she posted.

The striker/winger recently returned to the national women’s team to play to two international friendlies against Panama in October. Both games were drawn 0-0 and 1-1 respectively.

Additionally, this was her, and a few other T&T players, first time representing the nation in over two years owing to the pandemic.
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2021, 12:54:23 PM
Kennya Cordner joins Fenerbahçe's Women's Football Team after spending four seasons with Norwegian club, IL Sandviken, where she played 74 games and scored 35 goals.

(http://www.socawarriors.net/images/stories/cordner_kennya_fenerbahce_signing_2021-11-17_01.jpg)

(http://www.socawarriors.net/images/stories/cordner_kennya_fenerbahce_signing_2021-11-17_02.jpg)
Post by: Flex on November 19, 2021, 01:16:03 PM
Cordner leaves Norwegian champs for Turkish club

VETERAN TRINIDAD and Tobago women's football team midfielder/striker Kennya 'YaYa' Cordner has left IL Sandviken in Norway to join Fenerbahce in Turkey for the 2022 season.

Cordner, who turned 33 on November 11, ended her four-year stint at IL Sandviken on a winning note, as the club claimed the Norwegian Women's Cup on November 7.

The Fenerbahce's women team was only formed in August and Cordner, who has experiences at the club level in the United States, Sweden, Australia and Paraguay, is expected to be one of the club's headline names.

On her Facebook page on Friday, Cordner wrote, "Jah jah gave me this talent to show the world that ladies from the sweet beautiful twin island Trinidad and Tobago can do it anywhere in the world as I embark on this new journey Lord I pray you guide my every steps an that you keep me grounded in Jesus mighty name Amen."

Cordner scored in her last appearance for T&T - a 1-1 draw against Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on October 25.

Post by: asylumseeker on November 19, 2021, 02:16:37 PM
Cordner leaves Norwegian champs for Turkish club

VETERAN TRINIDAD and Tobago women's football team midfielder/striker Kennya 'YaYa' Cordner has left IL Sandviken in Norway to join Fenerbahce in Turkey for the 2022 season.

Cordner, who turned 33 on November 11, ended her four-year stint at IL Sandviken on a winning note, as the club claimed the Norwegian Women's Cup on November 7.

The Fenerbahce's women team was only formed in August and Cordner, who has experiences at the club level in the United States, Sweden, Australia and Paraguay, is expected to be one of the club's headline names.

On her Facebook page on Friday, Cordner wrote, "Jah jah gave me this talent to show the world that ladies from the sweet beautiful twin island Trinidad and Tobago can do it anywhere in the world as I embark on this new journey Lord I pray you guide my every steps an that you keep me grounded in Jesus mighty name Amen."

Cordner scored in her last appearance for T&T - a 1-1 draw against Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on October 25.

Good to get that out of the way now, although Erdogan is a Fenerbahce supporter so he might let such proclamations slide.

Congrats, Ms. Cordner. :applause: Run de route. Absolutely stellar accomplishment.
Post by: Tallman on December 07, 2021, 05:40:56 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner opened her account in Turkish football when she scored on a counter-attack for the sixth goal in Fenerbahçe's 7-0 hammering of Galatasaray in the first women's football derby that was held to stop discrimination and violence against girls and women.

https://www.youtube.com/v/T6HAT7ko-F8?start=164
Post by: Tallman on December 18, 2021, 04:28:19 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scores Fenerbahçe's lone goal in a 2-1 loss to Beşiktaş in their opening fixture of the 2021/22 Turkish Women's Football League.

https://www.youtube.com/v/MJAPV4HAfQ0?start=4423
Post by: Deeks on December 18, 2021, 11:58:38 PM
Wow,  :thumbsup: :wavetowel:
Post by: Tallman on December 27, 2021, 06:09:06 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scores a hat-trick in Fenerbahçe's 5-0 thumping of 1207 Antalyaspor

https://www.youtube.com/v/15QuYHTLDFA
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2022, 08:22:31 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scores the game-winner in Fenerbahçe's 2-1 come-from-behind win against Ankara BŞB Fomget GSK.

https://www.youtube.com/v/0CQuZxyebLE?start=495
Post by: Tallman on January 24, 2022, 06:43:06 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner rounds off the scoring in Fenerbahce's dominating 8-1 win over Hatayspor. Cordner was also the provider of two assists.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Vm7g_4m3VL4?start=597
Post by: ABTrini on February 01, 2022, 05:05:13 PM
Women Warriors' striker Kennya Cordner : I can learn a lot from Kenwyne

VETERAN Trinidad and Tobago women’s team striker Kennya “Ya Ya” Cordner is eager to learn from former men’s team forward and captain Kenwyne Jones, during his stint as interim coach of the Women Warriors.

Jones, who took over from American Constantine Konstin on October 18 (his interim stint will last until November 30), guided the team to a pair of drawn results (0-0 last Thursday and 1-1 on Monday) against Panama, at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

Cordner was the T&T goalscorer on Monday and, after being involved in the women’s squad since 2006, the 32-year-old Cordner is still willing to enhance her knowledge of the game.

“Kenwyne is a forward and I (am) a forward, so I can learn a lot from Kenwyne,” said Cordner, during Monday’s post-game zoom media conference. “He scored goals and I score goals.”

About Jones’ time at the helm, Cordner said, “It’s fairly new for him so, in time to come, with his knowledge, I think things would be better.”

With regards to Monday’s match, Cordner said, “We went out there and we fought for 95 minutes. Even though we didn’t come out with the win, we still went out there and put (our) best foot forward and we fought for each other.”

Looking back at the pair of matches against Panama, the slimly-built attacker said, “I think we did the best that we can because, having not played for two years and it’s a bunch of new girls, and having to come into a camp for a week to play two international friendlies, we did really well (under) the circumstances.”

She is keen to pass on her experience to the younger crop of T&T players, having played in the United States, Sweden, Australia, Paraguay and, since 2018, in Norway (with IL Sandviken).

“I was happy to be back at home, because I haven’t been home for 22 months,” said Cordner.

“To be able to come back and give for Trinidad and Tobago women team, after experiencing so much in Norway, and seeing how different they do stuff, with my experience, to be able to transfer to this team, and allow these girls to see how hard work does pay off, it feels really good to be back here.”

Midfielder Chelcy Ralph, who plays for Ball State University in Indiana, United States, spoke about the difficulties in playing during the covid19 pandemic.

“It is very difficult having to be tested every other day but, as a team, we are very dedicated in what we have to do, and we’ll remain humble and respectful of the covid19 (protocols),” said Ralph.

“It’s a great experience for all of us to join together, because we haven’t been together for (some) years. Yes, we have a lot of work to do but it’s a great start.”

Panama’s coach Ignacio Quintana, commenting on Monday’s match, said, “It was an exciting game where any team (could have won). That’s the beauty of football, two teams making all the effort to win. The result was 1-1.

About the team’s week-long stay in Trinidad, Quintana said, “It’s okay for us and we enjoyed, a lot, our stay here. We enjoyed the opportunity, the experience and we’re grateful to the TT (Football Association).”

Yvamara Rodriguez, who was a second half substitute for Panama during Monday’s game, mentioned, “This game was a very aggressive and physical game. I felt that we kept connectivity with each other mentally. I think we’re quite happy with the result.”

I thought she wanted to learn so much from the coach? but eheh eh she done learning and turning she back now?
Post by: Tallman on February 03, 2022, 08:50:15 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scored a 15-minute hat-trick during Fenerbahçe 10-0 smashing of Kireçburnu (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1489393751076347905). Cordner's goals were scored in the 63rd, 65th and 78th minutes. She also had two assists during the game.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 04, 2022, 04:22:05 AM
Is this the same Kennya Cordner who plays for likely the most popular women's team in the world?

The same Kennya Cordner who should not be alienated from the TT national team?

Is this the same Kennya Cordner who should be exercised as a veteran contributing to the acclimatization, integration and development of forwards into the TT NT?

Is this the Kennya Cordner who is a long-time, long-term stakeholder in women's football dealing with only-here-for-a-while and only-been-here-for-a-while stakeholders in TT women's football?

Hmmmm. Mash brakes.

Post by: asylumseeker on February 04, 2022, 04:31:53 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scored a 15-minute hat-trick during Fenerbahçe 10-0 smashing of Kireçburnu (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1489393751076347905). Cordner's goals were scored in the 63rd, 65th and 78th minutes. She also had two assists during the game.

Call the club office. Kireçburnu need a solution for their missing CBs.
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2022, 05:59:44 PM
WATCH: Another week, another hat-trick for Kennya Cordner (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1490474363753279504) as Fenerbahçe thrash Kocaeli Bayan FK 8-0.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2022, 10:39:12 PM
WATCH: Another week, another hat-trick for Kennya Cordner (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1490474363753279504) as Fenerbahçe thrash Kocaeli Bayan FK 8-0.

The team huddles are equally as entertaining as the goals.
Post by: Tallman on February 14, 2022, 04:16:00 PM
WATCH: With her beaver-trick in Fenerbahçe's 6-1 trouncing of Karadeniz Ereğli Belediyespor (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1493231018165379076), Kennya Cordner has now amassed an incredible 10 goals in her last three games.
Post by: Tallman on February 27, 2022, 10:36:54 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner's penalty proves to be the game-winner in Fenerbahçe's 2-1 win over league leaders Beşiktaş.

https://www.youtube.com/v/2VKcwmLNk70?start=187
Post by: Tallman on March 09, 2022, 12:15:31 PM
WATCH: With her fourth hat-trick of the season (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1501606423771426816), Fenerbahçe's Kennya Cordner how has a staggering 21 goals in 13 games. When you include her 9 assists, she has had 30 goal involvements so far. Fenerbahçe 4-0 Ataşehir Belediye Spor.
Post by: maxg on March 09, 2022, 03:53:44 PM
Has she ever had so much success anywhere or possibly such an easier league ?  It's like 1 other strong team, and they both win by 3 goals or more and as much as 8 + in many of their matches. Glad Yaya is getting the recognition doh, yet the competition seems a little weak, no ?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 09, 2022, 05:50:39 PM
Has she ever had so much success anywhere or possibly such an easier league ?  It's like 1 other strong team, and they both win by 3 goals or more and as much as 8 + in many of their matches. Glad Yaya is getting the recognition doh, yet the competition seems a little weak, no ?

Competition is uneven, but credit to her because she is being much more than a passenger. She's doing what they acquired her to do at a club that always has lofty expectations. The bottom line here is that YaYa is an ambassador for T&T precisely at the unfortunate moment that the NT does not get the benefit of her participation. This contract - coming at this stage of her career - was not expected. And, despite the uneveness and the evidence that she could deliver in a more competitive environment.

I like what it offers her as a platform for extending her career.

If Turkey can grow this product, they will be in a good place for their homegrown talent to emerge.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 09, 2022, 05:56:10 PM

Competition is uneven, but credit to her because she is being much more than a passenger. She's doing what they acquired her to do at a club that always has lofty expectations. The bottom line here is that YaYa is an ambassador for T&T precisely at the unfortunate moment that the NT does not get the benefit of her participation. This contract - coming at this stage of her career - was not expected. And, despite the uneveness and, the evidence that she could deliver in a more competitive environment.

Based on how the WNT struggled to beat Dominica convincingly, Yaya go get a call come May.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 09, 2022, 06:10:21 PM
One could only hope and insist that is worked out, but I suspect there's a focus on names waiting on the outside looking in and waiting for a passport. YaYa with those supplemental personnel would help to solve one issue, but there are still other playing matters to tweak.

Ah certain KJ is neither naive nor blind. Succeed while balancing interests.
Post by: maxg on March 09, 2022, 11:02:32 PM

Competition is uneven, but credit to her because she is being much more than a passenger. She's doing what they acquired her to do at a club that always has lofty expectations. The bottom line here is that YaYa is an ambassador for T&T precisely at the unfortunate moment that the NT does not get the benefit of her participation. This contract - coming at this stage of her career - was not expected. And, despite the uneveness and, the evidence that she could deliver in a more competitive environment.

If Turkey can grow this product, they will be in a good place for their homegrown talent to emerge.
:thumbsup:
Post by: Tallman on March 23, 2022, 01:03:00 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner keeps piling up the goals as she scores a fifth hat-trick of the season during Fenerbahçe's 8-0 drubbing of Altay (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1506703338720612359). She's now on 24 goals and counting.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 24, 2022, 07:36:01 AM
Discussion can be had about the quality of the league, but the quality and variety of the goals are a different kettle of fish. The opening goal of the recent hattrick was of especial quality and intelligence.

:applause:
Post by: Tallman on March 27, 2022, 10:07:21 AM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scores in the sixth minute of injury time to clinch a 2-1 win for Fenerbahçe over Fatih Vatan Spor. This is her 25th goal of the season.

https://www.youtube.com/v/VASnWACtzXc?start=470
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 27, 2022, 10:49:05 AM
Discussion can be had about the quality of the league, but the quality and variety of the goals are a different kettle of fish. The opening goal of the recent hattrick was of especial quality and intelligence.

:applause:

I agree.

Will leaving her off the WNT come back to haunt us? I think that WNT will need her services.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 27, 2022, 05:14:20 PM
In contention should be a Tobago trident: Kennya supported by Asha and KF de skipper + a secret sauce player who shall remain nameless ... who if she EVER gets her passport and forwards, will MASH UP de dance to complement Yaya. Ah sure about dat: if she EVER takes the field, iz duss in ppl face! We will be a goal factory.

Make it so.
Post by: Tallman on April 04, 2022, 09:34:20 AM
WATCH: In a tension-filled match, Kennya Cordner scored a penalty in the 10th minute of injury time to give Fenerbahçe a 2-1 win over Amed Sportif. It's her 26th goal of the season.

https://www.youtube.com/v/OX2TmKku3lQ?start=410
Post by: Tallman on April 18, 2022, 01:17:05 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner notches her 27th goal of the season during Fenerbahçe's 6-0 win over Hatayspor. She also provided a clever assist on Fenerbahçe's first goal. (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1516130395062173697)
Post by: Tallman on April 24, 2022, 09:54:44 AM
WATCH: With her second beaver-trick of the season (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1518256538711953409), Kennya Cordner has increased her goalscoring tally to 31 for the season as Fenerbahçe demolished Altay 11-0.
Post by: gawd on pitch on April 24, 2022, 12:51:31 PM
WATCH: With her second beaver-trick of the season (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1518256538711953409), Kennya Cordner has increased her goalscoring tally to 31 for the season as Fenerbahçe demolished Altay 11-0.

It's a good thing she ain't on the team. We might actually have a chance to get a spot.
Post by: Thomo on April 24, 2022, 01:26:28 PM
She called time on her international career in defence of her friend and teammate Maylee. It sends the wrong impression if Jones goes to her. It has to be the other way around, she needs to make the approach to him and maybe they can forge a professional relationship moving forward. Plus the coach is in charge, he has to make decisions based on the group rather than an individual.
Plus these two have a history of falling out with management and administrators, from Carolina to DJW now Jones. They may have genuine issues but if leaves a bitter taste if you're always the constant in these disputes.
I know they gave blood, sweat, tears over the years but I simply can't side with them in this.
Jones must stand firm!
Post by: gawd on pitch on April 24, 2022, 02:30:09 PM
@Thomo

Didn't know that. I agree if she walked away, she should be the one reaching out. Hopefully both sides see the opportunity that is available
Post by: asylumseeker on April 24, 2022, 07:36:21 PM
Professional mediation can get us to an optimal outcome in the national interest.
Post by: ABTrini on April 26, 2022, 11:43:45 AM
 Unfortunately this scenario has played out many times before. Remember Samora? oh gosh all the talk of how he could have been a savior and valuable asset leading up to 2006.

Oh gosh doh furget Deleon? and I am sure there have been many others who for what ever reasons have snubbed national selection or have had their own personal stance.

At the end of the day, as fans we have an outsider's view but what happens among players and coaches are a perspective we are not privy to. If a player warrants selection and  if their  philosophy aligns with coach's expectations then it makes for a more compatible meshing of expectations.
 Ultimately, the coach has to make a call as what is most  beneficial for the cohesion and betterment for the team and if a ' star' has to  dimmed, then so be it.
Our football ethos has relied for too long on  having ' start boi' mentality as opposed to  formidable team structures- offense by committee defense by  committee.

Observing and reading about a player of this caliber achieving success would be enticing for anyone to advocate for her inclusion on the national team but if it comes with  a toxicity then do you really want to gamble on  a short term fix  over a long term build?
Post by: Tallman on May 05, 2022, 05:17:11 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner on the scoresheet again as she nets #32 for the season during Fenerbahçe's 7-2 rout of Kocaeli BFK

https://www.youtube.com/v/_1u0gA76ejA?start=81
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2022, 07:33:39 AM
Fenerbahçe striker Kennya Cordner is the Turkish Women's Super League Top Goalscorer, with 32 goals scored during the regular season.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FSUSRq7WYAEPblb?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: maxg on May 09, 2022, 01:20:14 PM
This season alone ? Not all time ?
Post by: Tallman on May 14, 2022, 03:52:54 PM
This season alone ? Not all time ?

Yes, this season alone. But then again, this is her first season, so yuh could say all time too. LOL.
Post by: Tallman on May 14, 2022, 03:53:53 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner scores the equalizer in Fenerbahçe's 1-1 draw with Hakkarigücü in the first leg of their Turkish Women's Super League quarterfinal. #YayaMonsta

https://www.youtube.com/v/vVQB1CF61s4?start=75
Post by: asylumseeker on May 14, 2022, 05:58:58 PM
People could say what they want ... BUT there is no undefeated team in the league. Not one.
Post by: Tallman on May 21, 2022, 03:55:04 PM
WATCH: Kennya Cordner with a calm finish as Fenerbahçe advances to the semifinals of the Turkish Women's Super League after a 3-0 (4-1 on aggregate) win over Hakkarigücü Spor.

https://www.youtube.com/v/oF4-oVxIJDM?start=261
Post by: Tallman on June 01, 2022, 07:57:24 PM
Yaya's star shines bright
T&T Express

Someone in Turkey must certainly be interested in finding out where Trinidad and Tobago is located, following the exploits of Kennya “Yaya” Cordner, the former T&T Women Warriors international and Fenerbahçe striker.

A standout of the local football landscape, Cordner is Trinidad and Tobago’s most travelled women’s player, having plied her trade in Paraguay, Australia, Sweden, Norway, United States and now Turkey.

Cordner is no stranger in the Caribbean. In 2021, she was named Women’s Footballer of the Year by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) and was also short-listed among 10 nominees by CONCACAF for its 2021 Best XI Women’s Forwards award.

Cordner grew up in Speyside, Tobago, where she attended Signal Hill Secondary Comprehensive where she got introduced to football. A former national youth team star, Cordner made her senior team debut in 2006 and has over 50 senior caps for T&T. Cordner last played for T&T last November 30, a 1-1 draw with the Dominican Republic, and netted her last goal while sporting the T&T kit last October 25, in a 1-1 draw against Panama.

After enthusiastically returning to the women’s national set-up late last year, Cordner has not played for the national team since her close friend and teammate Maylee Attin-Johnson was dropped by new head-coach Kenwyne Jones, the former T&T skipper.

In January, Jones confirmed the exit of 35-year-old former captain and veteran midfielder Attin-Johnson, stating that he had made a coaching decision. “We do thank her for her will, her commitment, but at this point in time we are going to go in a different direction,” Jones had stated.

Also asked to explain Cordner’s absence during a training camp ahead of the start of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup campaign, Jones hinted that the decision might have been that of the player. Jones has maintained that position on several occasions.

“Nothing was done to Miss Cordner,” Jones stated. “We do wish her well. I hope that she has all success in the future, but we have to continue,” he added.

Despite her issues with country, Cordner is having her most prolific club season overseas since joining Fenerbahçe, one of the new teams competing in the 2021-22 season of the newly-formed Turkish Women’s Football Super League.

A club with a rich history in Turkey, Fenerbahçe only ventured into women’s football this season and immediately indicated their ambition when signing Cordner, a player coming off three seasons in Norway with current champions Il Sandviken.

Following a superb first season where she was top-scorer in Norway’s top flight, an injury-hit two seasons followed. By last October, her influence with Il Sandviken had started to wane, as evidenced by her being fit yet not regularly being included in the starting line-up towards the conclusion of their 2020-2021 league championship-winning season.

The time was right for a move. Competing in a new country, with a team new to women’s football, Cordner has had a great season. She has scored 32 goals from 22 matches, to end as top-scorer at the conclusion of the regular season. And she has also scored two playoff goals.

With as many as 16 clubs exploring women’s football in Turkey for the first time, the group stage proved to be fodder for Fenerbahçe, which ran up scores as high as 10-0, led by goals from Cordner, who netted six hat-tricks and two beaver-tricks. Along the way, Cordner’s 34 goals to date has surpassed the 33 of Romanian Cosmina Dusa for Konak Belediyespor during the 2014-2015 season.

The Turkish Women’s Super-Liga, formerly the First Women’s Football, is the top-level women’s league of Turkey. In the 2021–22 season, two groups of 12 teams contested a double round-robin and finals to decide a champion club, which qualifies for a spot in the UEFA Women’s Champions League. The 2021-2022 champions will be determined on June 12, when the final will be played.

Fenerbahçe ended the regular season on top of the 12-team Group A table on 58 points with 19 victories from 22 matches, a point clear of defending Besiktas, the defending champions which had been to all of the last four finals, winning two of them. The top four teams of each of the two groups advanced to the quarter-final playoffs, from which the top four teams in the country advanced to the semi-final.

In the first-leg match of second semi-final match, Group B winners ALG Spor defeated Group A runners-up Besiktas 2-0 on the road, while Group A winners Fenerbahçe fell 1-0 to Group B runners-up Fatih Karagümrük in the first semi-final of the playoffs to decide the 2022 Super Liga champions.

Fenerbahçe and Cordner will have to make use of home advantage in the semi-final second leg on Sunday if they are to secure the victory they need to advance to the final. The way she is shining at the moment, don’t doubt Cordner to have a starring moment.
Post by: Tallman on June 30, 2022, 03:22:13 PM
Cordner to host junior football tournament in Tobago
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

Trinidad and Tobago women's footballer Kennya Cordner will host the Monstamentality Kids 7v7 Football tournament at the Speyside Recreation Field in Tobago from 9 am, on July 16.

The deadline to register for the tournament is July 14. Registration is free and the link is https://bit.ly/3OHzgkC

Interested teams can also call 278-7102 or email monstamentality@gmail.com.

Boys will participate in the Under-8, Under-10, Under-12 and Under-14 age groups and girls will compete in the Under-17 age group.

Trophies, medals and special awards will be up for grabs.

On Facebook, Cordner said, “As a kid I always had a dream and I turned my dream into reality, and it all started for me at the age of six right here at the Speyside Recreational Grounds, so now it’s my time to give back to the community of Speyside so the youths can also have the same opportunity I have or even better! So it gives me great pleasure in hosting this youth tournament come July 16th! Monstas out.”

Cordner is one of TT’s most successful footballers and was in great form in her debut season for Fenerbahce in the Turkish Women’s League. She ended the season top of the charts with 34 goals as Fenerbahce reached the playoff semis.

One of the sponsors of the tournament is the Tobago House of Assembly.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 01, 2022, 01:56:41 AM

Trinidad and Tobago women's footballer Kennya Cordner will host the Monstamentality Kids 7v7 Football tournament at the Speyside Recreation Field in Tobago from 9 am, on July 16.

The deadline to register for the tournament is July 14. Registration is free and the link is https://bit.ly/3OHzgkC

Boys will participate in the Under-8, Under-10, Under-12 and Under-14 age groups and girls will compete in the Under-17 age group.

On Facebook, Cordner said, “As a kid I always had a dream and I turned my dream into reality, and it all started for me at the age of six right here at the Speyside Recreational Grounds, so now it’s my time to give back to the community of Speyside so the youths can also have the same opportunity I have or even better! So it gives me great pleasure in hosting this youth tournament come July 16th! Monstas out.”

Cordner is one of TT’s most successful footballers and was in great form in her debut season for Fenerbahce in the Turkish Women’s League. She ended the season top of the charts with 34 goals as Fenerbahce reached the playoff semis.

Just a couple days ago, on national radio, in what was essentially a waste of a minute-long commentary, Andre Errol Baptiste called Ya Ya "unpatriotic". He mentioned it being a sad day for her family. Clearly the assessment deserved a more nuanced pronouncement ... perhaps even silence.
Post by: Tallman on July 18, 2022, 04:32:38 PM
Cox Football Academy tops Cordner’s 7v7 Kids tournament
T&T Newsday

TRINIDAD and Tobago footballer Kennya Yaya Cordner hosted her inaugural 7V7 kids football tournament on Saturday.

The tournament attracted thirteen football clubs that competed in various age groups at the Speyside Recreation Ground.

Trinidad’s Cox Football Academy were the marque team on the day. The Palo Seco-based club, left Tobago with three titles.

In the female division, which was played on a round-robin basis, Cox’s only blemish on their undefeated resume, was a goalless draw versus Tobago Cheekers.

Cheekers, were the eventual runners-up, followed by Jewels in the third position.

Darrel Garcia’s scoring prowess, in the under 15 boys category, made him an easy choice for the most valuable player acknowledgement.

The Cox marksman netted 13 goals including three hattricks and the second-half decider versus Speyside Youth Academy, in the semi-finals, to register a 1-nil result.

The final was very competitive, as neither Cox nor fellow finalist Bethel’s Ball Blastaz could get past the opposing goalkeepers, which led to the game being decided on kicks from the penalty spot.

Cox Academy went behind after missing their first spot kick, but registered three straight conversions, to clinch the trophy with a 3-1 victory.

After the allotted 20 minutes in the boys under 13 final, the championship also went down to kicks from the penalty spot. This time, Cox Academy goalkeeper Justin Charles blanked three spot kicks from the Jaric Titans of Mt Grace.

Charles’s MVP performance earned his club a 3-1 victory.

Speyside also lost 3-1 to Cox, in the under 13 semi-finals, following two second-half goals from Donavon Drayton and a single strike from Jaylon Forbes.

Ball Blastaz coached by Downie Marcelle, were the victorious team in the under 9 and under 11 divisions, which were also contested in a round-robin format.

In an interview with Newsday, following his rewarding trip to Tobago. Dennis Cox, head coach of Cox Football Academy, was satisfied with the organisation of the competition and spoke of his reasons for playing in the competition.

He said, “We have a good relationship with Kenya, and we will support her in anything that she does. We came with 40 persons including staff, parents and players, and everyone was satisfied with the organisation and structure of the competition.”

Dennis also said that he was surprised by the level of community involvement. “I have been to tournaments all over Trinidad and Tobago and is the first time I saw a community being involved in everything.

“It was amazing to see young and elderly persons coming together and mark the five playing areas, put down tents, and like the whole village come out and support. Even though we are from Trinidad, they were supporting us like everyone else. “She really has the backing of the community.”

Did Dennis expect the success, he said “It was no surprise. We are a well-travelled team, with a long history of accomplishments, so it was expected.”

Cordner, who plays professional football in Turkey for Fenerbahce Club, expressed her views on hosting the tournament in her community.

“Where I came from it did not have that much, and there is a lot of talent out there, that is not being appreciated. So, I decided to give them something instead, everything was free.”

“The tournament was specifically for youths. I will do anything to see the young people feel loved and appreciated, and off the streets.

Cordner was a satisfied individual after the tournament and is already looking forward to next year.

“I am tired now,” she said, “but overall, I am feeling great. I had a few setbacks, but it was nice to see people come together and support. Everything worked out well. I received great feedback, so I am looking forward to next year.

Cordner thanked the office of the Chief Secretary Tobago Glass Supplies, Radio Tambrin, her family along with Maylee Attin-Johnson and Sejoux Nelson for supportting her initiative.
Post by: Anbrat on July 19, 2022, 11:00:46 AM

Just a couple days ago, on national radio, in what was essentially a waste of a minute-long commentary, Andre Errol Baptiste called Ya Ya "unpatriotic". He mentioned it being a sad day for her family. Clearly the assessment deserved a more nuanced pronouncement ... perhaps even silence.
Clearly, Andre Errol Baptiste has a one sided view of of the Ya Ya situation.
Post by: Flex on May 23, 2023, 01:25:58 AM
Kennya Cordner hosts football tourney to inspire youths.
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE second annual Monstamentality 7v7 kids football tournament, hosted by Tobago star footballer Kennya "Yaya" Cordner, will kick off on July 16 at the Speyside Recreation Ground.

The tournament will feature action in four age groups: boys under-9, boys under-11, boys under-13, boys under-15 and girls under-17.

Cordner, who plays in Turkey with Fenerbahce, posted a registration link for the tournament on her Facebook page.

Only ten teams in each age group will be allowed to compete.

The deadline for registration is July 3.

The speedy forward posted a video with custom-designed balls for the tournament and thanked former national women's football coach Randy Waldrum for his continued support. Cordner was part of the national team under the American who fell just short of qualifying for the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2015.

In a telephone interview on Monday, Cordner told Newsday that giving back is important to her.

"For me, personally, growing up, I didn't have (these opportunities). It was hard. I went through a struggle to make it this far. God has blessed me so much."

She said the tournament is meant to inspire youths and let then know that there are "still people who care for them."

Cordner is currently preparing to face Fomget FSK in the final of the Turkish Women’s Super League.

Fenerbahce defeated Galatasaray 4-2 on aggregate, after a 2-2 result in the second leg of their semifinal playoff match on Saturday.

Fomget lost to ALG Sport 1-0 on Saturday, but advanced 3-2 on aggregate.

On a personal level, Cordner described her season as "up and down" as she has battled a few injuries.

But with the league title within grasp in just her second season in Turkey, Cordner is eager to end on a high.

"Anything is possible with the Most High."

Cordner won the Norwegian Women's Cup in 2021 with IL Sandviken, before transferring to Fenerbahce.

Register for the Monstamentality 7v7 kids football tournament at https://form.jotform.com/231365618893163.

This story was originally published with the title "Kennya Cordner's kids football tourney on July 16" and has been adjusted to include additional details. See original post below.

THE second annual Monstamentality 7v7 kids football tournament, hosted by Tobago star footballer Kennya "Yaya" Cordner, will kick off on July 16 at the Speyside Recreation Ground.

The tournament will feature action in four age groups: boys under-9, boys under-11, boys under-13, boys under-15 and girls under-17.

Cordner, who plays in Turkey with Fenerbahce, posted a registration link for the tournament on her Facebook page.

Only ten teams in each age group will be allowed to compete.

The deadline for registration is July 3.

The speedy forward posted a video with custom-designed balls for the tournament and thanked former national women's football coach Randy Waldrum for his continued support. Cordner was part of the national team under the American who fell just short of qualifying for the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2015.

Cordner is currently preparing to face Fomget FSK in the final of the Turkish Women’s Super League.

Fenerbahce defeated Galatasaray 4-2 on aggregate, after a 2-2 result in the second leg of their semifinal playoff match on Saturday.

Fomget lost to ALG Sport 1-0 on Saturday, but advanced 3-2 on aggregate.

Post by: Tallman on June 04, 2023, 08:35:29 AM
Heartbreak for Cordner's Fenerbahçe in Turkey final
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday)

IT was heartbreak for Trinidad and Tobago and Fenerbahçe forward Kennya "Yaya" Cordner on Friday as her team went under 4-2 in extra time against Fomget GSK in the final of the Turkey Women's Super League.

Fenerbahçe dominated the first half and deservedly went ahead courtesy a ninth minute penalty from Zenatha Coleman. Cordner was looking lively up front and had a couple chances to double the lead, but the Fomget goalie was in brilliant form on the evening.

Fomget looked lost in attack and were lucky to be only down 1-0 at the break.

However, they came out a better team in the second half and tested the Fenerbahçe defence. But with time running out, Fomget pushed forward and left gaps at the back.

Cordner was substituted in the 87th as Fenerbahçe looked to bring on fresher legs to close out the match.

Fenerbahçe should have made it 2-0 in injury time but were denied by the upright after the Fomget goalie was caught out of position..

One minute away from being crowned champions, Fenerbahçe conceded a freekick in the 96th minute. From there, everything went wrong for Fenerbahçe. The freekick was handled in the box by a Fenerbahçe player and after VAR intervened, the referee awarded the spot kick.

Daryna Apanaschenko stepped up to fire in the equaliser to the left of the goalie. The goal seemed to have deflated Fenerbahce and had the opposite effect on Fomget, who looked re-energised for the extra 30 minutes.

A red card to Ecem Cümert, in the 95th, reduced Fenerbahçe to ten players and Fomget took full advantage..

Lanky Montenegrin striker Armisa Kuc dominated extra time with a hat-trick as she proved a handful against tired legs in the Fenerbahce defence. Coleman tried to keep her team alive with a freekick that made it 3-2, but there was no stopping Kuc whose header soon after ended all Fenerbahçe hopes.
Post by: Flex on July 26, 2023, 01:20:17 AM
'Ya Ya' Cordner blanks invitation to play for T&T.
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

Turkey-based T&T senior women’s football team striker Kennya ‘Yaya’ Cordner has blanked an invitation from newly appointed T&T senior women’s coach Richard Hood to return to the national team.

Earlier this month Hood had extended the invite to T&T’s all-time leading women’s goalscorer, Cordner of Fenerbache as he look to prepare his team for the upcoming Concacaf 2023 Women’s Gold Cup League A Group A qualifier in September against Mexico.

Contacted for comment, Hood stated that he had opened the door to all recent players of the national team as well as members of the Under-17 and Under-20 set-up ahead of the start of screening sessions for the qualifiers which will serve as the qualifying tournament for the 2024 Women’s Gold Cup and will feature 35 Concacaf Member Associations participating, excluding the two who will compete in the 2024 Paris Summer Olympic Games Tournament (USA and Canada or Jamaica) during the FIFA Women’s International Match Windows of September, October, November and December 2023.

The former Police FC coach added that he had also spoken to the 34-year-old Cordner who is coming off her second season with Turkish Women’s Super League runners-up Fenerbache Petrol Ofisi.

However, reached for an update, Hood said Cordner has decided against making a return to the team and he has respected her decision.

He added, “Basically, her reasoning was that she was in the process of changing clubs, and she has decided to focus on her club career at this point.”

In early June, Cordner and Fenerbache Petrol Ofisi suffered a heart-breaking 4-2 extra-time defeat in the Turkish Women’s Super-Football League after a 1-1 draw with Ankara Fomget.

Last year in her debut season with the club, Cordner was the league’s top scorer with 34 goals as her team reached as far as the semifinals, but this season her hopes of repeating that target have been hampered by injuries and she has only netted nine goals.

The Tobago-born Cordner played the last of her 44 matches for the Women Warriors on November 30, 2021, the second of a two-match series away to the Dominican Republic, which ended 1-1 after the first match ended 2-1 in the host's favour four days earlier.

However, She then declined national team selection for the opening rounds of the Concacaf Women’s World Cup Group A qualifiers against Nicaragua, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Turks and Caicos, and Guyana from February to April 2022, as well as the Concacaf W Championship in Mexico where T&T had a dismal showing, losing all three matches in Pool B, against Canada (6-0), Costa Rica (4-0) and Panama (1-0) to miss out on qualifi8cation to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup which begins in Australia and New Zealand, next week.

Back then, the reason for the omission of Cordner, who made her national senior team debut in 2006 as stated by then coach Kenwyne Jones was her own decision, in support of former captain, Maylee Attin-Johnson, who was omitted from the team by Jones ahead of the Concacaf qualifiers as well.

With regards to the team’s preparations to date, Hood stated that training has begun locally as they get ready for the qualifying matches which will start away to Mexico on September 26, before hosting the same team on October 27, followed by matches away to Puerto Rico on December 1, and then at home on December 5.

The T&T coach said, “We began training at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on Friday last, but the response from the players so far in terms of numbers hasn’t been great.

“However, this week we anticipate that those numbers will improve as a number of players stated that they had some personal matters to sort out.

“We have set about Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays and both days on the weekends for training so far, and it is hoped by the end of this week we will have a full group in training.”

So far, Hood has also selected former national women’s team player, Dernelle Mascall, who recently served as coach of the national Under-20 women’s team at the Concacaf Under-20 Championships in Curacao last April as his assistant coach, with Glennon Foncette, the father of national goalkeeper Adrian Foncette, as the goalkeeper coach, with former national hockey player and national women’s team coach Anthony Marcano, as the strength and conditioning trainer.

The T&T coach said he is expected to complete the selection of his technical staff by the end of the week.

For the Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup qualifiers, the 35 nations were split into three leagues according to their CONCACAF women’s ranking as of March 2023 and sub-divided into groups.

Group B will see Canada or Jamaica face off with Panama and Guatemala while Group C will comprise Costa Rica, Haiti, and St Kitts/Nevis.

At the end of the home-and-away round-robin phase, the top teams in the three League A groups will qualify for the 2024 Women’s Gold Cup Group Stage while the runners-up in each group and the first-place teams in each of the three League B groups will advance to the 2024 Women’s Gold Cup preliminaries.

The three League B groups which comprise the next 12 best-ranked CONCACAF teams are as follows - Group A: Guyana, Antigua and Barbuda, Suriname, and Dominica; Group B: El Salvador, Nicaragua, Honduras, and Martinique, and Group C: Dominican Republic, Bermuda, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Barbados.

Hood, previously served as the head coach of the national women’s team in 2011 for both the Pan American Games and Caribbean Football Union Women’s Olympic qualifiers and then in 2016 for the CONCACAF Final Round of Olympic Qualifying competition.

He also led the national Under-20 women’s team to the quarterfinal round of the 2020 CONCACAF Championships and also coached the Under-15 girls’ team, as well as served as an assistant to Norwegian Even Pellerud at the 2010 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup on home soil.

Post by: injunchile on July 26, 2023, 08:33:03 AM
Look at the Jamaican Team that Drew with France. Most of the squad play in Hungary, Spain , England and the USA. Why cant we attract Players who are playing at a higher Level. What is our Scouting Team Doing?
Post by: Deeks on July 26, 2023, 12:19:16 PM
Are serious injunchile? What have we developed recently to merit going abroad to play in a top or 2nd level foreign league?  Zilch!!!! Since the lost to Ecuador in the WC play-offs a couple years ago, we have created nothing.
Post by: ffisback on July 26, 2023, 01:18:25 PM
She has bigger nuts than the players on the men team I would like to see players like K Molino and L Garcia take a stand and stop playing for TT until they hire a real professional coach instead of wasting time with a bunch of glorified locals.
Post by: Tallman on August 18, 2023, 08:42:34 AM
Globetrotting striker Kennya Cordner (front row, first from left) joined Chinese Women's Super League club Henan Jianye WFC earlier this month, and made her debut against Jiangsu LFC on August 13th. Cordner has previously played in Turkey, Norway, Paraguay, USA, Australia, and Sweden.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F3zvQNvWgAER_pn?format=jpg&name=4096x4096)
Post by: Deeks on August 18, 2023, 03:32:17 PM
Go dey Yaya Go dey. All the best.