Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on February 04, 2008, 05:26:29 PM

Title: From Sunderland to the real Sun.
Post by: Flex on February 04, 2008, 05:26:29 PM
From Sunderland to the real Sun.

"It feels great to be back in the sun again and I hope I can bring the Sunderland form to Trinidad."
Those were the words of Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones following his first training session with the National Senior team in over a year as he joined up with the rest of the national team at the Dwight Yorke Stadium on Monday morning.
While revelers were gearing up to take the streets, some of them still well oiled from the Jouvert celebrations, Jones and the rest were blazing the trail in Bacolet and understandably would not have mind doing it on the streets of Port of Spain as it’s a rare occasion when the overseas-based footballers get to be home on Carnival day.
Southampton striker Stern John, Swansea City’s Jason Scotland, Wrexham’s Silvio Spann, Walsall goalie Clayton Ince and Jones all had their first run out with Francisco Maturana on Monday morning while Collin Samuel and Densill Theobald joined the team earlier on the weekend.
Jones, said to be worth 40 million pounds by Roy Keane, said he was eager to turn it on for T&T.
"I surely want to transfer the form to the national team. If I wasn’t doing well at Sunderland then I would hold my hands up but I think I’ve been doing pretty okay and it would be awesome to do the same for Trinidad and Tobago. This game on Wednesday is really one for us to settle back into the flow of things and get the team in good shape for the World Cup qualifiers and I’m pleased to be part of it," Jones told TTFF Media.
Goalie Ince, now the number one to with Marvin Phillip as the back up, hasn’t worn the gloves for T&T in over a year as well. But he realizes the important of guarding the T&T goal at full length.
"Every game for the national team is an important one and I think by me coming back home and giving my support means that I want to be part of a successful team and I will do my best out their in goal," Ince said.
Trainer Jorge Luis put the players through some possession drills in the early part of the session which included short stops for stretching exercises before Maturana took over and observed as the work switched to attacking drills. The majority of the session comprised of ball work while the four players who arrived on Sunday night worked separately.
Assistant coach Anton Corneal gave high marks to the players in training this weekend with there being one change, midfielder Trent Noel coming in for Kern Cupid who suffered an injury in the final session before the team left Trinidad.
"I think they all appear willing to work and get the best out of each other. As for the pros coming in, of course they are into their seasons so they are all looking sharp and ready and that’s a very good sign for us. We have paced them well during the session and this will continue going into the game," Corneal said.
The team trained a second time on Monday and will have two further sessions on Tuesday before returning to Trinidad on Wednesday morning prior to the 4pm kick off against Guadeloupe.
Title: Re: From Sunderland to the real Sun.
Post by: Themanfriday on February 04, 2008, 06:13:51 PM
I like  ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on February 04, 2008, 06:21:17 PM
Fellas, welcome home!

+++

P.S. Oh gorm, proofreader needed.
Post by: WestCoast on February 04, 2008, 08:02:19 PM
P.S. Oh gorm, proofreader needed.
right wait for dat ;)
he is de man dat say
Northern Island ;D
Post by: Filho on February 05, 2008, 10:28:06 AM

"As for the pros coming in, of course they are into their seasons so they are all looking sharp and ready and that’s a very good sign for us. We have paced them well during the session and this will continue going into the game," Corneal said.

Thought they were all pros
Post by: mukumsplau on February 05, 2008, 10:31:46 AM

"As for the pros coming in, of course they are into their seasons so they are all looking sharp and ready and that’s a very good sign for us. We have paced them well during the session and this will continue going into the game," Corneal said.

yuh undas..
Post by: Mr Mc on February 05, 2008, 11:22:02 AM

i dont see that as an indication that the guys in camp are not pros. Then again my speling and gramer is not the goodest.
Post by: trinidad badboy on February 05, 2008, 11:37:53 AM

sounds very good hope he performs well
Post by: weary1969 on February 06, 2008, 01:09:02 PM
Dem know d real pros when dey see dem