Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on August 30, 2005, 05:30:28 AM

Title: Thread for the TRI vs GUA game.
Post by: Flex on August 30, 2005, 05:30:28 AM
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the game vs Guatemala will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary headlines and postings.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at these sites from 4:30pm;

1. SW Online Forum (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?board=2.0).

2. SW Online Live Chat (http://pub31.bravenet.com/chat/show.php/2600553436).

3. Fifaworldcup.com (http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/t/sc/index.html?year=2005&month=9&day=3).

4. Homeviewtnt/CT105fm (http://www.homeviewtnt.com/index.php).

5. Lared.com.gt (http://www.lared.com.gt/).

Preview:
Game Preview (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=3315.msg24062#msg24062).

Current Standings.
Standings (http://www.socawarriors.net/World_Cup_Page.htm).

Overall Head To Head Battle.

VS GUA

P   W    L    D     F   A

14   5     6    3    18  26

26-03-05 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 5-1. WCQ.
11-08-04 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 4:1. Friendly.
24-03-01 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 3-1. Friendly.
15-02-00 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 4-2. Gold Cup.
23-01-98 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 3:1. Friendly.
08-12-96 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 2:1. WCQ.
06-10-96 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 1:1. WCQ.
03-07-91 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 1:0. Gold Cup.
03-09-89 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 2:1. WCQ.
20-08-89 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 0:1. WCQ.
31-08-88 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 2:2. Friendly.
10-12-73 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 1:0. WCQ.
20-11-68 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 0:0. WCQ.
17-11-68 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 4:0. WCQ.

Probable GUA Line-up - 4-5-1/4-4-2.

Miguel Ángel Kleé - Elmer Ponciano, Gustavo Cabrera, Selvyn Ponciano, Ángel Sanabria - Julio Girón, Gonzalo Romero, Fredy García, Fredy Thompson, Guillermo Ramírez - Carlos Ruiz.
The ‘Magician’ comes home.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

T&T’s Russell Latapy is expected to be the centre of attention today when he dons the national colours for his first training session towards the CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against Guatemala on Saturday.
The 37-year-old Latapy, called “Little Magician” because of his cleverness on the ball, has returned to help the Warriors in their remaining World Cup qualifiers on the road to Germany next year.
He is expected to touch down at Piarco Airport at 4.30 pm and will head straight for the Hasely Crawford Stadium, to join national coach Leo Beenhakker, team captain Dwight Yorke and the rest of the “Warriors”.
Latapy who retired from the interntional scene in 2001, has agreed to make a come-back for Saturday’s match and the away game in Costa Rica four days later. Latapy quit the team after a row with coach Brazilian Rene Simoes, and resisted several efforts to reconsider his decision.
However, with T&T fighting doggedly to be one of the three automatic qualifiers from the Concacaf zone, recent overtures by Jack Warner, advisor to the T&T Football Federation, and Dwight Yorke, his close friend, have brought a change of mind.
The decision by the “Little Magician” came last Monday after Warner spoke to the Falkirk player/coach.
Latapy said he was willing to make a contribution with the country’s interest at heart. “The situation is one where Dwight spoke to Warner and he spoke to me and a decision was then agreed upon.
“Warner made it clear that they would like me to contribute and for the cause at the moment, for Dwight, for Jack Warner and the country, I am willing to do whatever I can,” Latapy said.
Previously, attempts were made to get Latapy back in the team but the former FC Porto man explained that he had commitments to Falkirk.
His change of heart is a boost for the “Warriors.” Latapy last appeared for T&T in a 2002 World Cup Qualifier against the United States in June of 2001 before announcing his retirement from international football along with Yorke.
This season, Latapy has earned plaudits for his performances for Falkirk in the Scottish Premier League, appearing in their four league matches.
Yorke, who netted in his Australian club, Sydney FC’s 1-1 draw with Melbourne Victory on Saturday was scheduled to arrive home last night along with Silvio Spann of Japanese Division Two club, Yokohama and US-based duo Avery John and Scott Sealy.
Meanwhile coach Beenhakker has decided against naming a replacement for the injured Collin Samuel.
Samuel was forced out of the team after suffering a hamstring injury during Dundee United’s 1-1 draw with Iverness Thistle on Saturday. Also out through injury is Southampton striker Kenwyne Jone and his place has been taken by St Johnstone striker Jason Scotland.
The remainder of the European-based players including Stern John, Kelvin Jack, Shaka Hislop, Brent Sancho, Ian Cox, Dennis Lawrence, Christopher Birchall and Marvin Andrews are also expected home today.
With Mexico and USA all but sure of qualifying for the World Cup finals, the battle is now one for the two remaining spots between Costa Rica, Guatemala, T&T and Panama. Guatemala and Costa Rica, T&T next two opponents, both have seven points followed by T&T on four and Panama with two with four matches left for each team.
Title: Re: Thread for the TRI vs GUA game.
Post by: vb on August 30, 2005, 05:36:50 AM
My Lord....we starting thread Four days in advance now.

JEEZAN AGES!

Post by: Flex on August 30, 2005, 05:46:25 AM
Where were you when I posted the USA/TRI thread, that was 7 days before...  ;)

Man excited bro.... besides I might be out for a while....  :angel:

PS: Like you didn't notice how many related questions being posted on the MB.
Post by: Sando on August 30, 2005, 06:10:26 AM
Carlos Figueroa is a key player to.. he might start.

Somebody translate this;

Ramírez y Cabrera se unieron a la Selección para fortalcer al grupo ante Trinidad y Tobago
Por: César Augusto Pérez, Eddy Recinos. El mediocampista del Galaxy, Guillermo Ramírez; y el defensa del Real Salt Lake, Gustavo Cabrera, llegan con un claro objetivo: buscar la victoria ante Trinidad y Tobago el sábado. Ambos jugadores se perdieron el último partido de la eliminatoria, Guatemala ante Panamá, ya que Ramírez estaba inhabilitado por acumulación de tarjetas amarillas, mientras que Gustavo Cabrera solventaba su vinculación con el Real Salt Lake.

Por la victoria

El cansancio del viaje de ayer desde Los Ángeles, California, no fue un obstáculo para que “el Pando” llegara ayer a primera hora al proyecto Goal y se metiera de inmediato en los objetivos que se traza el grupo para el duelo ante los trinitenses.
“El compromiso lo tenemos todos, ya que sabemos bien que queremos, ganar el partido y creo que los puntos los vamos a traer”, recalcó antes del inicio del entrenamiento matutino.
Respecto del rival en turno, Ramírez indicó: “Será un partido difícil. Tenemos que trabajar como lo hemos realizado y esperamos que las cosas salgan bien, así que hay que buscar la victoria”.
Ramírez consideró que trae buen ritmo, después de haber participado en los últimos encuentros con el Galaxy de Los Ángeles.
“Me siento bien, he trabajado muy fuerte, además he jugado los 90 minutos de los últimos partidos con mi equipo. Estoy un poco cansado por el viaje, pero me recuperaré pronto”.

Sana competencia

El defensa Gustavo Cabrera llegó también al Proyecto Goal, y manifestó estar dispuesto a pelear por un puesto en el once que saldrá el sábado ante los trinitenses.
“Voy a trabajar fuerte en los entrenamientos y a tener una competencia sana con los demás compañeros para ganarme un puesto”, comentó Cabrera.
“Estoy al cien por ciento a pesar de que no tuve participación en la MLS por la visa de trabajo, pero antes de viajar disputé dos partidos y tengo ritmo”, agregó.
DE AFUERA NOS ACONSEJAN JUGAR A UN TOQUE Y SIN MUCHOS CONTRAGOLPES.

Guatemala debe de ejecutar un futbol solidario, de sacrificio, inteligente y disciplinado tácticamente para llevar a cabo la estrategia delineada por el cuerpo técnico, que se resume en cinco aspectos primordiales, según Gilberto Yearwood, asistente de Ramón El Primitivo Maradiaga.
Concentración en los primeros minutos; presionar a Trinidad en su propia cancha; capacidad de hacer la lectura del encuentro para bajar o subir el ritmo si el rival "agobia"; jugar compactos para cerrar espacios, y la pelota al ras de césped.
Yearwood sabe que Trinidad va a presionar para hacer un gol tempranero y hacer que Guate se abra. "Van a querer espacios para explotar su juego y van a venir por arriba", añade, y por eso en este momento estudia el esquema con El Primi para determinar si será un 1-4-5-1 o un 1-4-4-2 (lea: Las 10 virtudes de aquel 5-1).
Para evitar este ataque, la apuesta será encerrar al rival en su cancha, recuperar la pelota y trasladarla a ras de césped; "hay que presionarlos, no dejar que crezcan, pero hay que saber que ningún equipo del mundo puede hacerlo los 90 minutos", expresa el subentrenador.

¡Auxilio!

Cuando sea muy insistente el ataque rival, los jugadores deben de tener "capacidad para hacer la lectura del encuentro y bajarle ritmo, eso nos permite hacer reajustes y manejar el choque", continúa Yearwood. Juan Carlos Plata añade que ese pase debe ser "preciso para no perder la posesión de la pelota".
Y por último, jugar compactos, unidos, sintonizados para crear y cerrar espacios. Para eso el cuerpo técnico necesita de muchos hombres en el centro, pero Yearwood afirma que no es el esquema en sí el que hace poblar el medio campo, sino la función del jugador en cierto esquema.

Chivos de afuera

Periodistas de México y Panamá que ya vieron jugar a Trinidad bajo el mando de Leo Beenhakker, aconsejan a la bicolor que juegue a un toque, presione y no contragolpée. "Eso sería un suicidio", afirma Manuel Gómez, del diario azteca Esto. Y ven que el sistema adecuado sería el 1-4-5-1.

volantes - frenar al rival y ser ofensivos

El esquema ideal, según los expertos, sería el 1-4-5-1, lo que daría solvencia para interrumpir el futbol del adversario y crear opciones no sólo por el centro, sino por las bandas.

A SOL Y SOMBRA - LA DIALÉCTICA DE LA SELE

Detrás de cada 11 que el cuerpo técnico de Guatemala pone en cada partido, hay un trabajo bien estructurado. El primer paso es tomar en cuenta la estrategia chapina: salir con el balón dominado y hacer que los volantes mantengan la pelota sobre el césped.
Luego se analizan debilidades y fortalezas del rival. Con base en esas dos premisas se hace el planteamiento y se inicia la formación teórica de los jugadores. Finalmente se practica en los entrenamientos y el día del encuentro; pero se guardan sorpresas para tener un as bajo la manga. Aunque la improvisación y el criterio de un jugador puede romper el esquema de ambos bandos.

A puerta cerrada

A cinco días de que se enfrenten chapines y trinitarios, Maradiaga inició los entrenos a puerta cerrada. El catracho efectuó trabajo en la defensa, donde paró a Elmer Ponciano, Ángel Sanabria, Gustavo Cabrera y Selvin Ponciano. Luego hizo trabajo físico con todos. A esta jornada se unieron Guillermo Ramírez y Gustavo Cabrera; Carlos Ruiz llega hoy.

LAS 10 VIRTUDES DE AQUEL 5-1

El 26 de marzo Guatemala se dio el lujo de anotarle cinco goles a Trinidad y Tobago, los que fueron obra de varios factores fundamentales que se deberían de tomar en cuenta para el juego del sábado.

EN EQUIPO

Guatemala jugó como un equipo; no sobresalió uno más que otro. Los intereses fueron en conjunto y no individuales.

ALTERNATIVAS

Las cinco anotaciones se dieron gracias a la diversidad: tiros de larga distancia, triangulaciones, incluso por aire, que era la virtud del rival.

EFECTIVIDAD

En este juego las cuatro líneas (portería) que Ramón Maradiaga colocó en el campo hicieron su trabajo efectivamente.

INSPIRACIÓN

Carlos Figueroa llegó en uno de sus días más inspirados y, con su futbol, logró poner varios balones para gol.

SACRIFICIO

Fue evidente el sacrificio de Dwight El Tanque Pezzarossi; le puso 1 gol a Carlos Ruiz, anotó 2 e hizo buen juego aéreo. Ahora no estará.

AL RAS

La celeste y blanco logró jugar el balón pegado a la gramilla; eso le permitió descontrolar al rival, que carece de esa habilidad y pudo encimarlo.

APROVECHAR

La oncena chapina aprovechó los errores que cometieron los caribeños, especialmente en aspectos tácticos y espacios abiertos.

CONTUNDENCIA

La cantidad de goles anotados en el encuentro se dio gracias a que los arietes fueron contundentes a la hora de definir.

PRECISIÓN

La bicolor jugó uno de los partidos con más precisión en sus combinaciones. Los pases eran exactos al compañero.

COMPROMISO

La forma en que trabajaron mostró que jugaron con seguridad y garra, dando muestra de la seriedad que se tuvo para encarar el duelo.6
Title: Starting line up
Post by: vb on August 30, 2005, 06:36:20 AM
I'm concerned abt. the starting line up...I don't know much abt. Samuel and where he fits in...

so ah try ah thing.

Yorke - Sealey

Samuel           Birchall - Latas                    Edwards

Sancho             Cox    Andrews                 Spann

Jack

I know Spann is a mf...but he did well as right back and can add some depth in that area....ala Rougier

Sam and Glenn would have given us some good speed..but they arent there.

Theobald should come off the bench...running at those tired legs would be nice.
I was thinking of playing Yorke on the left and having Scotalnd and Sealye up front...but wanted to start off with some experince up front. Alos maybe start with Cox on the bench and use Whitley in front of the defenders.

Subs...Gray, Whitley,  Ince, theobald..Scotland...Wolfe

With a lack of speed on the team, I would have liked to have seen Nixon invited to the camp.

Peace,

Post by: Sam on August 30, 2005, 07:01:25 AM
Hey Nanny wax,,, Samuel injured,,,,,

And Sancho is ok to play on Saturday.

PS: From that Spanish article Sando posted there,,,,, my Spanish pardna now translate piece for me,,,,Guatemala saying they expecting nothing but a win, they said T&T will more than likely play a 4-5-1 formation and attack through de center. Guatemala expecting to score early and take the game to T&T, they say after the 5-1 trashing they know an early goal will destroy T&T and throw them off their game, they also said that T&T takes long to settle in and they plan to exploit that,,,, they also said that Carlos Figueroa, Guillermo Ramírez, Fredy Garcia and Carlos Ruiz is four key players.
Post by: goalmember on August 30, 2005, 07:39:26 AM
Sando to translate text --- Go to Google, click on language tools and de rest is simple.  Language tools can be found on the right side of the screen just below Advanced Search and Preferences.
Post by: Mr Mc on August 30, 2005, 08:19:40 AM
ooooh that was in Spanish!!!
maaaan I thought I was having a sizure for a minute yes, ah start to cold sweat and thing, ha only blinking meh eye and dem hoping to be able to make out the words...   :o
Post by: Sam on August 30, 2005, 08:59:08 AM
Well from what I hear Glen not serious, he only want to lime and run down gal.. I am sure Beenhakker have a good reason for not calling him, because he is a help for us...

Jerren Nixon should replace injured Collin Samuel...

We cant rely on Stern John to score and both him and Yorke have de same style up front, we need some trigger happy striker, Jones was perfect, sorry he injured, hope he comes for the CRC game.

But we have strikers on de team who does fraid to shoot de dam ball, they dont even make an effort, they does wait till they in front de goal, 6 yards out to shoot
Post by: JDB on August 30, 2005, 12:19:57 PM
My Lord....we starting thread Four days in advance now.

JEEZAN AGES!

This is the big one.

Win or lorse the board will be hot come Saturday.
Post by: JDB on August 30, 2005, 12:22:21 PM
PS: From that Spanish article Sando posted there,,,,, my Spanish pardna now translate piece for me,,,,Guatemala saying they expecting nothing but a win, they said T&T will more than likely play a 4-5-1 formation and attack through de center. Guatemala expecting to score early and take the game to T&T, they say after the 5-1 trashing they know an early goal will destroy T&T and throw them off their game, they also said that T&T takes long to settle in and they plan to exploit that,,,, they also said that Carlos Figueroa, Guillermo Ramírez, Fredy Garcia and Carlos Ruiz is four key players.

Sounds like they have a game plan. Everything they write there is true, sounds like a good plan.

It is up to us to make them tear it up and start over.
Post by: oconnorg on August 30, 2005, 01:27:19 PM

Sounds like they have a game plan. Everything they write there is true, sounds like a good plan.

It is up to us to make them tear it up and start over.

Yea its true.. but Fudge them.!!  We Will Cut deh arse come saturday.!!

WE WILL, WE WILL BEAT YOU!!
WE WILL WE WILL BEAT YOU!!

:beermug: :beermug:
 :challenge:
Post by: Cowen on August 30, 2005, 02:14:19 PM

LOL .... why u have to use the man name from his birhtpaper. That is private info. Yuh bussing the man files.  ;D
Post by: vb on August 30, 2005, 02:16:39 PM
Btw saw highlights of Glenn playin on the left in the MLS and he was giving dem beans with his pace and skill..

made sure to shoot with the right foo though.

Of course these were just highlights. But this man really fall out of favour yes.

Peace,
Post by: vb on August 30, 2005, 02:19:17 PM

LOL .... why u have to use the man name from his birhtpaper. That is private info. Yuh bussing the man files.  ;D

Never mind Sam....a few years ago he didn't even know who Lincoln Phillips was.
Couldn't believe it when ppl tell him the man was Assistant Coach for the US at WC 94.

Try to tell us that Mannie Dookie win a medal at the Olympics...Mannie never even went to the Olympics.
So Sam talks his fair bit of shit too... ;D

Maybe we should call him ass wipe.. ;D :devil:

Post by: SHOTTA on August 30, 2005, 03:28:39 PM
ASS WIPE AND NANNY WAX OH HOW D BOARD LANGUAGE HAS DETEROITED :flamethrower: :timeout:
Post by: Feliziano on August 30, 2005, 08:18:12 PM
ok i too lazy..so someone please tell me what going to happen "IF" we lose or draw..or we win 1-0?
whats the maths like?
Post by: Brej on August 30, 2005, 09:59:40 PM
---------------------jack------------------------
------Cox--------Andrews------Avery-----
-------------------Whitley-------------------
Edwards---Brichall---latas-----Samuel--
---------------Sealy----Yorke-----------
Post by: Sam on August 31, 2005, 04:39:15 AM
Latapy: No miracles is true, but we expect heart and soul.

The only players I look forward to coming off the bench is Glen, Eve and Dwarika.... they can change a game, Glen needs to chill out and get serious, WC is a serious thing and will do alot for him if we succed. Off course Jones would start in my team.

I hope Stern John finds his goal scoring ability back, hopefully Latapy can help him there, Yorke too because most likely both of them will start on top Saturday.

PS: VB, talking horse shit....  I always know who was Lincoln, I just throw a hook and VB bite.
Post by: Flex on August 31, 2005, 05:28:54 AM
Overall Head To Head Battle.

VS GUA

P   W    L    D     F   A

14   5     6    3    18  26

26-03-05 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 5-1. WCQ.
11-08-04 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 4:1. Friendly.
24-03-01 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 3-1. Friendly.
15-02-00 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 4-2. Gold Cup.
23-01-98 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 3:1. Friendly.
08-12-96 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 2:1. WCQ.
06-10-96 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 1:1. WCQ.
03-07-91 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 1:0. Gold Cup.
03-09-89 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 2:1. WCQ.
20-08-89 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 0:1. WCQ.
31-08-88 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 2:2. Friendly.
10-12-73 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 1:0. WCQ.
20-11-68 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala 0:0. WCQ.
17-11-68 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago 4:0. WCQ.
Post by: WeStrong06 on August 31, 2005, 07:30:34 AM
Download the WeStrong '06 Toolbar and keep track of the TRI vs GUA game from any web browser with direct links to these sites:

http://westrong06organization.ourtoolbar.com/

Soca Warriors
Fifa World Cup
TTFA & more
Listen to Soca Music Live from the toolbar
Do a quick search on your favorite Search Engine
Shrink the toolbar and add your own quick links.

Link me and tell me what links you want to see.

http://westrong06organization.ourtoolbar.com/

Journey to Germany
WeStrong in '06
Title: Dont mean to sound negative
Post by: Trini on August 31, 2005, 08:38:36 AM
but I dont understand all this hyoe around Latas coming back.
I personally dont like the idea, it is not progress on our part.
If we relying on men who have been trying to take us to the promised land 16 years ago (this is their 5th campaign), we really worse than we think.
It is plain we have no idea what we doing, and we not producing the players f the calibre we once did.
Its not the coach fault, its just down to the 1.2 million Trinis, we just not as good as we were before.
Our performances on the field attest to this. We barely make 3-4 passes at any one time, and we have become so predictably slow and direct, it is almost comical.
We could have had Wegner, Ferguson or Mourinho, it would not matter that much.
All we can hope is that Beenhakker can use his astuteness and tactically defeat Guatemala and CR on the day.
The positive thing for us is that you dont have to be better than a particular team to beat them.
I am being brutally honest, but we are the worst team in the Hex, maybe just behind Panama.
But as a Trini, I am supporting 110% ! And we could do it. But I dont think Latas is some kinda magic wand that will just show up and make things better.
A little bad play from Guat, a nice strong crowd with vibes, a solid display from our players, WITH DISCIPLINE and a lill luck, and we will win on Saturday, like how we did vs Panama.
Back to Latas, if I was coach, I woulda kindly decline his offer. I wonder is Warner consult Beenhakker before he ask Latas? WOnder what Beenhakker thinks of the whole scenario.
I am Latas number 1 supporter, he is the best and most skilful midfielder to come out of CONCACAF in perhaps 15-20 years, with very few challengers for that role.
When he is on song, he is pure class and magic, capable of almost Michael Jordan like displays or single handedly changing games.
But the man retire on bad grounds, now is 37, and barely plays a full 90.
At his best, he could not engineer TT to the WC, is he better than his best right now? I doubt that strongly.
I woulda play him for the last 30mins, if it was mandatory to play him (Warner factor), especially if we tied or down (which we are 99% of the time)....
I just hoping and praying that Latas make me eat my words, and come out like Roger Milla on the day.
Without Latapy, I feel we could still take care of Guatemala on Saturday.
Latas and Yorke on our team still?? Nah, We real clutching at straws yes.
Are we that bad?
Title: Re: Dont mean to sound negative
Post by: arrow on August 31, 2005, 09:12:46 AM
At his best, he could not engineer TT to the WC, is he better than his best right now? I doubt that strongly.

Who gives a shit about what happened in past WC campaigns?  The fact is right now we only need to beat Panama, Guatemala and Uzbekistan/Bahrain and they are much worse than the teams we had to beat before to qualify. 
So all that matters is whether or not Latas can improve our team's chances as it stands right now by playing better than Theobald, Whitely or Birchall.  Obviously at his best those men couldn't even shine his boots but that is irrelavant.
He doesn't need to be better than his best, just better than the rest.
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on August 31, 2005, 10:18:03 AM
    :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:   :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Big Magician on August 31, 2005, 10:49:31 AM
BOOOOMMMMM  ARROW...TELL DEM BRO

LATAPY          GOD
                                10                10
Post by: palos on August 31, 2005, 11:17:04 AM

Who gives a shit about what happened in past WC campaigns?  The fact is right now we only need to beat Panama, Guatemala and Uzbekistan/Bahrain and they are much worse than the teams we had to beat before to qualify. 
So all that matters is whether or not Latas can improve our team's chances as it stands right now by playing better than Theobald, Whitely or Birchall.  Obviously at his best those men couldn't even shine his boots but that is irrelavant.
He doesn't need to be better than his best, just better than the rest.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: 

PREACH IT BREDDRIN!!   Yuh leggo some serious blows dey....:challenge:

:notworthy:  :notworthy:  :salute:
Post by: Mr Mc on August 31, 2005, 11:44:59 AM
Latas and Yorke on our team still?? Nah, We real clutching at straws yes.
Are we that bad?

Trini yuh asking answers man. But the fact of the matter is that with the quality of the team we have, Latas and Yorke and can make and start and star on this team, so yes it is a GOOD thing for us to have him back and he does make the team better than it was before.
So its not that we are that bad, to put a more positive spin on the words we are just not that good, so we need their help.  I think we might have been able to do it without Latas but him being on the team is a boost so why not strengthen our squad.
Hopefully one day we will have such a deep and strong squad that we will no longer need to beg our star players out of retirement to help the team and a past him prime Carlos Edwards and Kenwyne Jones will not be needed but as for today and this weekend, we need everybody who could help.
Post by: vb on August 31, 2005, 02:39:58 PM
Latapy: No miracles is true, but we expect heart and soul.

The only players I look forward to coming off the bench is Glen, Eve and Dwarika.... they can change a game, Glen needs to chill out and get serious, WC is a serious thing and will do alot for him if we succed. Off course Jones would start in my team.

I hope Stern John finds his goal scoring ability back, hopefully Latapy can help him there, Yorke too because most likely both of them will start on top Saturday.

PS: VB, talking horse shit....  I always know who was Lincoln, I just throw a hook and VB bite.

Yuh lie ...u didn't know one ass.

I sorry ah couldn't find dat post from the old site....but keep mama guying yuh self..:-)

Post by: vb on August 31, 2005, 02:45:59 PM
ppl talking about fourth spot.

Quite frankly we can beat Guat and Mex at home and beating CR abroad is not impossible.

I doh friten CR,...but that altitude is a bitch.
We gave them all they could handle back in 1989...two offside goas...and they manage a 1-0 victory.

We might shock a lot of ppl. But beating Guat. is of the essence. Ah looking for a 2-0 victory.

Peace,
Title: Arrow
Post by: Trini on August 31, 2005, 06:55:14 PM
I really hope u right and it pull thru.
I jus have this memore in my head from 2001 when we was suppose to steamroll honduras, and we had rela momentum going into the game, with Yorke being recalled from suspension from Simoes just for the game and all of T&T was in joy at his return., the man say his boots would do the talking etc etc.
Needless to say, we all knew what happened.

Put it this waym if we cant beat Guatemala on saturday, a direct rival for the 3rd or 4th spot, we aint going anywhere.
And we should not be griping, cause Guat will jus prove they are better than us now and deserve that spot.
I also believe that we should go for goals, I have a feeling even if we win, we could end up level on points with guat, and the head to head goes into effect.
We in real trouble from that 5-1 we get.
Post by: Mr Mc on August 31, 2005, 07:18:59 PM
ppl talking about fourth spot.

Quite frankly we can beat Guat and Mex at home and beating CR abroad is not impossible.

I doh friten CR,...but that altitude is a bitch.
We gave them all they could handle back in 1989...two offside goas...and they manage a 1-0 victory.

We might shock a lot of ppl. But beating Guat. is of the essence. Ah looking for a 2-0 victory.

Peace,

I know we have to cross the hurdles as we come to them and right now Guat is the main focus, but why are folks talking Mex so lightly and overlooking them.  The kinda pounding that coach getting even after doing so well in the ConFed Cup he not going to be looking to give away any wins, so if allyuh counting points vs Mex  allyuh better wait for them eggs to be hatched.
Post by: rotato poti 2 on August 31, 2005, 11:13:54 PM
I find dat all allyuh so called 'patriots' should stop wastin allyuh precious internet time, allyuh energy and all dat goes with it....to supporting de soca warriors in their so called 'road to germany'. I remember that fateful day (November 19th) 1989 when Michael Maurice had de 'sun in meh eye'. After that was '94 for sure'....and so on....and so on. A set of dire, heartwrenching disappointments. Now, doh get meh wrong. Ah love Trinidad, ah did love de strike squad. But yuh dee all dem waste of spem like Stern John (he really need some stern disciplne), Yorke (boy Dwight yuh should go back to Aussie, and stop wasting Jack Warner money on round de world flights), etc, etc.....
All of we should do like Shaka and turn we back on a losing 'effort'....cause ah does never see one ounce of spiret in any of dem fellas. Let dem go back to dey second and third division clubs, and stop wasting all of we time. None of dem deserve MY support.
Post by: Flex on September 01, 2005, 03:50:18 AM
I'm not 100% sure if this is accurate, but I took it off the Guatemala Newspapers.....

The last test for Guatemala on tactical play before traveling to Trinidad and Tobago.
By:  Fernando Lopez R. Antonio.

Guatemala national side trained Wednesday behind closed doors, where the technician Ramon Maradiaga worked with the eleven that will face Trinidad and Tobago Saturday, at 4:30pm. If the selection of the squad used in training yesterday had faced Trinidad and Tobago it would have been a tactical system in 4-4-2, with Gustavo Cabrera in replacement for suspended Pablo Melgar and ball winner Fredy Thompson instead of attacking Carlos Figueroa. The technician Ramon Maradiaga took the day to do what the flame, "game reality".  To 14:30 he went to the field for practice with the group and work behind closed doors. He had four defenders in the beginning, with Élmer Ponciano, Víctor Hernandez, Selvyn Ponciano and Angel Sanabria. Whereas in midfield were Carlos Figueroa, Rigoberto Gomez, Gonzalo Romero and Guillermo Ramirez. In the offensive Carlos Ruiz and Juan Carlos Plata. In the second half, Maradiaga made some changes and integrated the eleven that could be the team for Saturday. In defense was the inclusion of Gustavo Cabrera; then experience Julio Girón replaced Rigoberto, on the right Freddy Thompson in for Figueroa. And the attack Freddy Garcia in for Plata and Carlos Ruiz played to the end. The idea of Maradiaga is to maintain a balance. When attacking, Guatemala would go with five men. Thompson and Ramirez, on the wings, Romero in the center, next to Freddy Garcia, and Palata next to Carlos Ruiz. With the same formation, midfield will be populated by five players, those that will have the task of recovering the ball and of avoiding that Trinidad and Tobago are armed in the offensive. The training of Guatemala was in the morning before the they left for Port of Spain, where the slogan is to obtain a good result.

By: Gabriela Districts, Eddy Recinos, Mario Linares.

Leo Beenhakker, I can work with the same joy and the same interest in a youthful team, that in a team of figures and stars. Which you would say that you are the great strength of Trinidad and Tobago, it is that physical strength that characterizes to the Caribbean equipment?  No, no. Trinidad does not have so much physical. There are other countries of here, like Jamaica, that are much more strong equipment. In addition, it is not necessary to forget that most of these players they do not play here for many years, they play abroad. I have players who are in England, Scotland and in the United States.  It is an equipment that does not have an own face. There is not a group that plays in its own country, as it happens with Guatemala. Trinidad is a mixture of several styles of soccer. But then, it could say that one is a weakness, because you have great players, but not by force a great team. It is thus. On the one hand, for the players it is good to improve to go to a foreign league. But to prepare to a national team they only are in the official dates of FIFA. In addition, the majority must travel very often. The return of Russell Latapy to the selection, is something as well as what Panama when returning to the brothers Dely Valdés did, a leadership, motivation blow?  It is the same idea. We gambled our last opportunity to qualify for the World Cup and tried to look for the best players. Russell has not played for several years with the national side, I do not know what circumstances, nor I want to know why. The last result of Guatemala and Trinidad was a 5-1 victiry. I have seen the game on DVD... and only have the sensation, yet my respect, that in the first place Guatemala did not win, Trinidad lost that game, because they have had very many errors, that Guatemala took advantage of very well. How he anticipates that Saturday will play Guatemala? I believe that with the advantage that Guatemala has, of three points, they are not going to attack here like crazy people. On the other hand it is a team which likes to play soccer, and in that sense I wait for an open game. Do he knows of Guatemala coach Ramon Maradiaga ?  No.  I do not know him... good, I know who he is. He said, he knows how he plays, what scheme he uses?  Ahhh... scheme... soccer does not have secrets. At the moment there is television, there is Internet, there is DVD, it has everything. Only good memories. I have worked in Mexico twice, in general I was three seasons in Mexico. And of Real Madrid...  Also good memories... have been fantastic to work four years with this team, with great players, nothing else but the most professional club of the world. I am not now in the end of my race. I am 40 years old in football. But nothing would be better than to end up qualifying Trinidad to the World Cup. Logically yes, it could be a good aim to finish a long and important race with a World Cup. That would be something great... but if no, it does not pass anything, because I continue thinking that I had a very dedicated race, that many things in my professional life have passed me.

Experience Julio Girón, who lives another adventure and another illusion in search of being in a class of the World. From his arrival to the National team, Ramon Maradiaga has taken him much confidence in him. He was scorer before Panama and have great possibilities of repeating again against Trinidad and Tobago. "We will face Trinidad of the same form that to Panama, because also it is a crucial game and God wants everything comes out well", he indicated.  For the player the average field will be determining in the game on Saturday.  "the bounces that remain in the average field will be fundamental and we must take it to them to avoid that they are armed in the offensive", considered.  "one has worked in all the details that can be presented/displayed in the game, in addition the trinitenses finish changing of technician have shown improvement to T&T. It will be a difficult game ", shared.
Post by: Tallman on September 01, 2005, 05:02:12 AM
All of we should do like Shaka and turn we back on a losing 'effort'....cause ah does never see one ounce of spirit in any of dem fellas. Let dem go back to dey second and third division clubs, and stop wasting all of we time. None of dem deserve MY support.

You eh showing no kind of spirit as a supporter. Where is yuh national pride? Based on we performances, yuh have a right tuh be vex, tuh complain etc., but to turn yuh back on de team until dey start winning does not help de cause. Just as how we want dem tuh give 110% on de field, we as supporters need tuh support dem 110%. Doh treat it like an equation, if dem give de effort I go give de effort, if dem eh show nutten den me eh showing nutten. De team needs unconditional support. If you cannot or are unwilling tuh do dat den please make way for someone else.
Post by: dumpalewie on September 01, 2005, 06:03:25 AM
I find dat all allyuh so called 'patriots' should stop wastin allyuh precious internet time, allyuh energy and all dat goes with it....to supporting de soca warriors in their so called 'road to germany'. I remember that fateful day (November 19th) 1989 when Michael Maurice had de 'sun in meh eye'. After that was '94 for sure'....and so on....and so on. A set of dire, heartwrenching disappointments. Now, doh get meh wrong. Ah love Trinidad, ah did love de strike squad. But yuh dee all dem waste of spem like Stern John (he really need some stern disciplne), Yorke (boy Dwight yuh should go back to Aussie, and stop wasting Jack Warner money on round de world flights), etc, etc.....
All of we should do like Shaka and turn we back on a losing 'effort'....cause ah does never see one ounce of spiret in any of dem fellas. Let dem go back to dey second and third division clubs, and stop wasting all of we time. None of dem deserve MY support.

Why even come on this message board?
Post by: Sam on September 01, 2005, 06:34:35 AM
Good wok Flex....

Tallman allyuh doh study pottong1 he looking for attention... he representing he name.

Allyuh study this line up here so..

After some serious thinking, I feel de best line up for Guatemala is.

Jack
Cox        Andrews      Avery
      Spann          Sancho
Edwards    Birchall       Wolfe
                Latapy
                Yorke

Guatemala coming through de center, so we need to play 2 defensive midfielders who capable of going forward and falling back to help we 3 defenders. I also feel Wolfe should get a chance over Whitley on de left, I like Yorke and Latapy in midfield, but Stern not doing much on top so Yorke is we only hope.

Subs:

Whitley for Wolfe 46th.

Sealy for Birchall 65th, dropping Latapy back in central and moving Whitley to help Yorke on top and Sealy going left wing, simply because Sealy/Yorke, Yorke/John or Sealy/John is a bad combo, them men dont like to run at defenders and shoot, so this is why Whitley will do good with one of them.

John for Yorke 80th.

Holy shit...We have no killer forwards allyuh..... Jones and Glen we miss allyuh boy. I feel Leo should call in a forward or an attacking player to replace players who may not even make de team but on de squad like Anton Pierre and Cyd Gray even, or just call in Nixon to replace injured Samuel or something, we need attacking options if we have to win this game, we cant have forwards who dont shoot. Anybody could mark Stern John, anybody.. just push him a little and he lorse he head or fall out of the game.

Blood in allyuh fcoking shoes..... Blood.
Post by: arrow on September 01, 2005, 06:51:05 AM
I'd be shocked if Wolfe even makes the 18 man squad for this match
Post by: Sam on September 01, 2005, 06:57:36 AM
Arrow, tell meh yuh eh like that squad though.... maybe just Wolfe might not be there... or maybe Nakhid might take ah run to..
Post by: spideybuff on September 01, 2005, 07:21:15 AM
Pottong, go back to the back of San Juan and talk your shite by yourself there. if u have nothing good to say, then say nothing at all! Shaka never turn his back on anybody either so it just magnifies your ignorance on the subject and the team. Wha's the last game u see? Name 10 men on the team? Yeah i seeing u right now trying to scroll through other posts to answer that question...til then, keep off the board,nah.  :devil:

Fellas...explain that 3-2-3-2 formation men voting for in that poll...I really cah visualize it with the personnel we have.
Post by: Sam on September 01, 2005, 07:30:38 AM
Its basically a 3-5-2 interchanging with 3-2-3-2... we have 2 central men under de midfield dropping back through center to help de defence out and bring out de ball to midfield as well and also adding steel in midfield by winning the balls coming at we so de more attacking players could focus on attacking. It make sense, because we defence slow through center so these 2 players can add some power through center pushing de wing backs to counter as well, is gives us alot of options either was.

EG:

So de defence could look like this when we defending..

Cox        Andrews      Avery
      Spann          Sancho
Edwards                   Wolfe

We attack could look like this when we attacking..

Sancho
Edwards    Spann   Birchall   Wolfe
            Latapy   Yorke

We counter attack could look like this also....

Cox                            Avery
Edwards   Spann  Birchall    Wolfe
           Yorke     Latapy

Leaving Sanho and Andrews at the back, fast and slow to clean up if anything and Cox and Avery overlapping and supporting Edwards and Wolfe on de wing, and Spann running through center with Birchall with Latapy moving forward to help Yorke.
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2005, 08:01:13 AM
I feel Edwards not ready for a 90'. plus Whitley want the position  :) from some report ah read. So would you start Edwards and sub him, or start someone else and use Edwards as a sub (as he has been doing) ?
I prefer the later.
Post by: spideybuff on September 01, 2005, 08:39:24 AM
Thanx Sam...I understood the concept tho, I just wasn't seeing who were the 2 players we could use in the deep lying midfield roles. Tha's what Bertille was trying to do with Rahim, Eve and Boucaud with his 3-5-2, where they just wasn't getting the job done. But with Sancho there, i guess you just picturing one of the others playing that role. A natural ball winner in the middle of the park...that's all we need to make the side successful. Some steel there...steups.

MaxG, if Edwards not ready for the 90,is better to start him in my opinion in case he break down again. I could just picture him coming off the bench and having to leave the field again in about 10 minutes after we use all our subs (knock on wood). I seeing beenie using Latas as a second striker rather than in the midfield role(if he bench stern)...he strike me as a man who fraid to put faith in the youths
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2005, 09:05:40 AM
Spidey,On the Edwards thing, if yuh start him and he give a solid 15-25 then yuh have to sub him, yuh miht be going from strength to weaker.
If yuh play someone else (Whitley or whoever) and they having a good game, no change necessary, but if it is not working out, then Carlos can come on and give a solid 15-25 in second half, yuh goin from weak to strength. I think Luton has been using him the last 15, by the time he bun, match dun anyway..
Post by: arrow on September 01, 2005, 09:24:00 AM
Spidey,On the Edwards thing, if yuh start him and he give a solid 15-25 then yuh have to sub him, yuh miht be going from strength to weaker.
If yuh play someone else (Whitley or whoever) and they having a good game, no change necessary, but if it is not working out, then Carlos can come on and give a solid 15-25 in second half, yuh goin from weak to strength. I think Luton has been using him the last 15, by the time he bun, match dun anyway..

I don't think Luton is just using him for 15 minutes because he's not fit, he has been training for a couple weeks now and went the full 90 in a reserve match last week so he should be fit enough to go at least a 60 mins for T&T.  Don't forget he moved up a division so he just has to earn his place on that side, just like all of our players over there in UK riding bench right now.  And that's almost our whole side.
Post by: BelizeStriker on September 01, 2005, 11:32:02 AM
I know Central American footbal very well espcially Guatemalan i live 30 Mins from the guatemala border and we get thier games. There National squad is Basesd of player from there coutry powerhouse Municipal bancafe who is all the current UNCAF champions beating the Sapprisa of Costa rica,

that being said there pedigree of football is much superior than trinidad local football
not only that there midfield have more chemistry being very home based and having time together i saw the panama vs guatemala game  this is not the Gold cup squad they sent this a much more tighther marking squad , they held the ball in the panama's  goal area 64% area and attack the hell out of it.
That Ruiz fella is in top form but he is Much more than Dwight ( yes i said dwight yorke) he can put em away in da air and the ground  he can do it against  tall jamaican backs ( 3 times )
 but you should be lucky that dwight pezzarossi is not playing there the guates consistent player in europe and he put those two rockets behind shaka hislop,

i know T&T has a lot of great over sea players, but do the peaces fit? is lapaty  fit to play International football?guatemala has plenty of players over seas and 1 defender in poland's top flight( is not playing)
this is not like road to france 98 this country is 12 million deep and football mad. they have lots of good prospect in the states just like Trinidad has in the UK

all im saying is dont doubt the guatemalan midgets good luck i will be hoping for clean, well offciated match.

Post by: maxg on September 01, 2005, 11:33:37 AM
Arrow, i does play a full 90 in O45 League,score all kinda goal, an after 15 in O35 ah begging for change...Fitness depends on the level of competition, the injured leg could only take a certain amount of pressure under higher intensity...like WCQ, this eh no reserve game.
Post by: Touches on September 01, 2005, 11:45:47 AM
Alyuh Pottong1 is a perfect example of the fickle Trini fan.

He/she/it........... have Nov19th tabanca and has not recovered.

But he/she/it makes up about 80% of the fan base. The next 10% neither here nor there, and just looking for lime.

The other 10% scattered in foreign and I feel is only 1-2% of locals that die hard.

When I went KFC two days ago to buy my ticket, a girl in the line say...............hrm you paying money to watch them losers.

Now if she was better looking or appeared that she coulda carry on a decent conversation, I may have attempted to buss a small pips and instill some national pride in her but she is one of them lost cause people like pottong1.

Funny thing is, if we qualify them same people is the first ones to jump up and down.

Fellas doe study he/she/it.

We are one big family here......and while we does argue amongst weself sometimes, its a love that only we can understand. Its a sacrifice and a sense of belonging that they just doe get........and will never get.

Post by: arrow on September 01, 2005, 11:53:29 AM
Arrow, i does play a full 90 in O45 League,score all kinda goal, an after 15 in O35 ah begging for change...Fitness depends on the level of competition, the injured leg could only take a certain amount of pressure under higher intensity...like WCQ, this eh no reserve game.

I understand that fully and believe me I said the same thing you are saying when some men here were bawling about Edwards playing in that reserve match which was the day before the USA game - they felt if he could play in that game he should have been playing for T&T.   Check it here (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=3125.msg22382#msg22382)
But that was 2 weeks ago so all I am saying is there's a good chance that he's back fit again but he needs to fight his way back into the starting lineup.  I not a doctor and neither of us know for sure what his fitness level is, I'm just providing an alternate view of the situation.  8)
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2005, 12:10:31 PM
ah hear yuh, buh ah still won't start him..i'd give whitley anudda shot
Post by: Touches on September 01, 2005, 12:11:10 PM
Guatemalan news, and radio staion

http://www.lared.com.gt/

Its just to translate the news with a online translation program and we set.

Use this site if you cyar get any local radio feeds and yuh cable stickin.
Post by: arrow on September 01, 2005, 12:40:28 PM
ah hear yuh, buh ah still won't start him..i'd give whitley anudda shot

that reminds me, where was the report you read that says whitely wants to play right wing?  Beenie never used him in that position before.  a more likely replacement for carlos on the right I thought would be birchall.  whitely was the replacement for samuel on the left last time so i figured that's where he'll be
Post by: maxg on September 01, 2005, 12:52:02 PM
I was joking, nah actually ah did kno ah fella name Joe King and is the most serious person yuh ever meet.

it was based on the ' Magician' all set to perform Post/article
Here is an excerpt
"Edwards, who missed the Concacaf Gold Cup Finals and USA qualifier due to injury, picked up a slight knock on his right foot in a tackle with Whitley and had to sit out the remainder of the session.
But it is not said to be a serious injury and he was expected to train in the afternoon session. "

So I try to say With some Wit someting bout Whit, that he...yuh enh get it
ok..ok.. If ah guy want...blah..blah.. :D
bad joke
Post by: arrow on September 01, 2005, 01:17:11 PM
oh god man I have to reach quite over in a nex thread to connect de jokes now  ???  nice one though :D
Post by: dreamer on September 01, 2005, 05:12:29 PM
Anybody who forgot to check the other section of this Forum called "Gols Galore Trinbago style" please do so now to get yourself in a real good mood for Saturday. Those fellas really inspire me.  Fantastic goals. By the way, that first goal scored by Angus Eve was that a defense splitting pass by Theobold? Somebody please confirm because it is PERFECTLY weighted. Depending on the speed of your computer, give the videos a few secs to load up.  Tallman, Would you consider having the goal videos kept on the front page of the main forum for this week? They are really worth it.
Post by: Ngozi on September 01, 2005, 08:43:13 PM
Anybody who forgot to check the other section of this Forum called "Gols Galore Trinbago style" please do so now to get yourself in a real good mood for Saturday. Those fellas really inspire me.  Fantastic goals. By the way, that first goal scored by Angus Eve was that a defense splitting pass by Theobold? Somebody please confirm because it is PERFECTLY weighted. Depending on the speed of your computer, give the videos a few secs to load up.  Tallman, Would you consider having the goal videos kept on the front page of the main forum for this week? They are really worth it.

Its not only the pass that is good it is the run that cre4ated the opportunity it was basically a straight ball but a perfectly timed run at a nie angle to beat the defender....u can create a pass without the right run...well executed play ...doh understand why angus being  frozen out.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 01, 2005, 08:55:17 PM
TnT come on    lets do this!!!!!!!!   Kick off  in 42 an a half

btw  i'm a full warrior now lol
Post by: StoreBayLimer on September 02, 2005, 12:03:39 AM
I know Central American footbal very well espcially Guatemalan i live 30 Mins from the guatemala border and we get thier games. There National squad is Basesd of player from there coutry powerhouse Municipal bancafe who is all the current UNCAF champions beating the Sapprisa of Costa rica,

that being said there pedigree of football is much superior than trinidad local football
not only that there midfield have more chemistry being very home based and having time together i saw the panama vs guatemala game  this is not the Gold cup squad they sent this a much more tighther marking squad , they held the ball in the panama's  goal area 64% area and attack the hell out of it.
That Ruiz fella is in top form but he is Much more than Dwight ( yes i said dwight yorke) he can put em away in da air and the ground  he can do it against  tall jamaican backs ( 3 times )
 but you should be lucky that dwight pezzarossi is not playing there the guates consistent player in europe and he put those two rockets behind shaka hislop,

i know T&T has a lot of great over sea players, but do the peaces fit? is lapaty  fit to play International football?guatemala has plenty of players over seas and 1 defender in poland's top flight( is not playing)
this is not like road to france 98 this country is 12 million deep and football mad. they have lots of good prospect in the states just like Trinidad has in the UK

all im saying is dont doubt the guatemalan midgets good luck i will be hoping for clean, well offciated match.

Welcome BelizeStriker.   That is an excellent first post!   I appreciate the incisive and cautionary nature  of your remarks.   If we smash Guatemala I believe that some folks in Belize City and Belmopan will be jumping and waving with us. One love.

Title: A Dread Midfield !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Flex on September 02, 2005, 05:31:53 AM
(http://www.tnt.fifa.com/images%2Ftto%2F104106.jpg)

Play with Blood in Your Shoes - The "Double Dreds" Russell Latapy (left) and Silvio Spann go through their paces in training on Wednesday. T&T go into battle against Guatemala at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Sat Sept 3 from 4:30pm.... Photo: Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: Flex on September 02, 2005, 06:47:48 AM
Again, my translation not to accurate, so dont hold me to anything, I got these of the Guatemala Press..

Guatemala arrives in Trinidad after a 6 hour flight. The airplane took 150 passengers, 40 of the National Team (between technical body, players and directors), 80 passengers with paid ticket, 25 lucky people who won with promotions, and the rest altogether, journalists who traveled to cover the game tomorrow. But the attention was concentrated in the row of seats of Julio Girón, Mainor Dávila and Rigoberto Gomez, when this last one removed his portable computer.  Dávila was by a film in DVD (Troy) and began the function deprived on the Caribbean Sea. The Fish, privileged While the racket was higher, Carlos Ruiz, traveled calm in the executive class. This time accompanied with the technical body and directive, Gonzalo Romero and Guillermo Ramirez. Selvin Ponciano returns to Trinidad and Tobago to correct the errors of 16 years ago, when he arrived with the Guatemala U-17 team at a premundialista youthful match, in which they did not qualify. Now it is on time and with chance to leave the island with a victory. Selvin Ponciano is again in the island.  No longer he is same chiquillo of 16 years ago (when he played for the first time for the national side), but a mature player now, with a tranquillity that has infected to him to the Guatemalan defensive zone. He goes in search of revenge to a painful defeat in 1989.  "When I arrived I remembered of the first time that I came with the youthful selection;  first international experience was my;  they were other circumstances. It was sad because we were eliminated, but always is one second opportunity to correct and to leave here winning ", expressed Ponciano as his arrival to the island. The first trip arrived at the island and the quadrangular one was before Honduras, the United States and the premises, Trinidad and Tobago. Ponciano remembers that he played like steering wheel of containment and not of central defense, where he seems that he will play tomorrow. They only gained the first encounter before the catrachos and lost both following to be outside. "I come to revert that, because this selection is different;  all we come with the intention to win, although we know that Trinidad is pressed and can be that it is its last opportunity to go to a World-Cup.  We must be concentrated. I want to go out with a victory here. One which is a personal revenge", concluded Ponciano.
Four players who today integrate the greater selection return to Trinidad and Tobago with the same idea that they had when they did it in U-20 in 2000: To qualify for the World-Cup.  Fredy Thompson, Víctor Hernandez, Paulo Caesar Motta and Maynor Dávila were five years ago in Trinidad and Tobago. The four were part of the process U-20 that played, in that country, the last phase of the preworld-cup match. Nevertheless, the memories are not the best ones, but the fact to be today in the greater team in search of the qualification for Germany 2006, they confirms that all the long crossed and all the learned lessons they have been worth the trouble.  "Memories... I believe that they are not most pleasing. Here, in Trinidad, I received the worse humiliation than I have had in my soccer life: lost 5-0 against the United States, and a 8-0 against Costa Rica ", remembers Víctor Hernandez. For Fredy Thompson, Trinidad represents a mixture of feelings. He was part of the U-20 team that saw truncated the mundialista dream of a bitter form, but also was in Trinidad where he made his debut with a greater team, three years ago, in the process that directed to Julio Courteous Caesar. "It brings pleasing memories to Me.  Here reality was made me the dream make debut with a greater team", assures.

Dwight Yorke is without a doubt the great leader of the team of Trinidad and Tobago, and next to Russell Latapy he heads the challenge to qualify his tea to the World-Cup in Germany 2006. The player - who represents the development of Trinidad soccer after his incursion in Liga Premiership England- gives his vision about the game, of the mentality that prevail in his selection and of the influence that Leo Beenhakker philosophy has had in the team that will fight to assure a ticket for the World Cup. In front of has one day left for the game against Guatemala, how he waits for that moment?  We are moved... to play Guatemala will be difficult. We know that we must winn this game to remain in the fight to qualify for the World Cup. For that reason, we know the important thing that it is to winn Saturday. We played the last game against the United States before Guatemala, that was a painful defeat for Trinidad. But now we must put those things far from us. We know that Guatemala is not a team with much superior over us, although we respect them like rivals. We are going to match them and to demonstrate of which we are able Saturday. How he sees the fight that is there between the four selections that look for a direct position in the eliminatory one? He is very interesting, very fought.  Game after game are changes, the team that did it well in the previous date go and lose in the following one, and that maintains to us with life to the four. I believe that anyone of the four teams can qualify for the third place, and for that reason we must obtain a good result Saturday it is fundamental. He will continue being the captain...?  That I hope! With the presence of Russell Latapy in the team, one knows that the responsibility will be for one of both. I have had the fortune to play for a long time with Russell, he is a great player. I know the leader he is, what he can do on the field, and what his pressece means on this tea. For the challenge that we have Saturday, all its experience will be fundamental. Of what Trinidad must be taken care of when they play Guatemala? Simply, we are going to leave on match day. We know Guatemala, we respected them, but we are going to be very difficult to them on our field. We are going to play since we know to do it.  We want to shape the good atmosphere, the effort and the confidence that is there in this team.  Trinidad is another team with Beenhakker than it was with Bertille St Clair? Yes, it is different. Different trainer also means different personality, ideas, style, mentality. Everything is different. With this trainer, the team has progressed, we have learn much from him.

In Trinidad still they are left resabios of the day of Independence: Hung flags on the ceilings, flags red, black and white, and pennants of such colors also. Thus it found the selection Guatemalan this island, in where it will face a crucial day in search of the mundialista dream. The colors that they identify to the Trinidadians are in favor of all sides: in the Piarco airport, on the streets, the buildings and even in the Kapok hotel, where the team is concentrated staying. Delayed In the outskirts of the airport, the taxi drivers who dress white guayaberas to be identified easily, crowded around themselves around the screen that announces the arrival of the flights, while they commented:  "Guatemala...  what flight is that ".  Until one of them, expert one in soccer matter said to them:  "they come to the soccer match against the Warriors". In effect, the normal itinerary of the flights that land in Trinidad, was altered with the arrival of chárter 9950 of Marks Air, that transported the Team. To the 16,58 hours in Trinidad, that has two hours in front of the Guatemalan schedule, the airplane landed. But it was one hour and quarter later that the group appeared. They say well that in the Caribbean everything goes slow, Trinidad is the Caribbean, and after the celebration of Independence everything marched still more slow. And the process to check immigration in Trinidad requires of a special ceremony. The migratory agent takes the passport, looks for the seal of the visa that emits the consulate, does not understand it, she consults it, and finally she accepts it. She takes the passport, she puts a round seal to it, with two spaces to fill by hand, and does the same in the form of data that distribute within the airplane. She returns to look for the visa to see the number and to fill the spaces with lapicero, and one takes leave: "Welcome to Trinidad". For that reason, the exit of the Guatemalan team was delayed a hour and a quarter, until finally the suitcases came return in the merry-go-round belt. Each one of the members of the team took their luggage and left supposedly directly to the bus that transported them to the Kapok hotel, located to 40 minutes from the airport, sometimes that can be 50 or 60 minutes. Finally, the team settled in the concentration hotel and made a regenerative session of half an hour in the swimming pool. Soon, they had supper and they went away to rest. Agenda In the hotel. To the 15:00 local time (13 of Guatemala) the National team will be in the stage Hasely Crawford Stadium. In the recognition it is had contemplated to make a small heating, char it of the technician Ramon Maradiaga and movements with ball.

(http://www.prensalibre.com/pl/2005/septiembre/02/images/01d2sep05.jpg)
Carlos "the Fish" Ruiz caught when arriving at the airport in Port of Spain, in the island of Trinidad and Tobago.  Photo Presses Frees:  Mario Linares.
Post by: jaden on September 02, 2005, 08:06:50 AM
check dis lineup

jack

cox                    dog                      avery

sancho                 birchall

spann                 latas                    edwards

yorke                sealy

Post by: Jah Gol on September 02, 2005, 09:48:33 AM
De game sell already ?

I have my ticket already but I have a feeling there will be a rush for good seats. Anyhow you take it I will enjoy myself. The Panama game wasn't even half sold and there was a great atmosphere. We puttin 4 past Guatemala and going have a good time in the stadium.
Post by: supporter on September 02, 2005, 10:18:29 AM
GO TNT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :applause:

btw, we sure homeview carrying this game (the whole 90 mins)? i see nothing of it on their site
Post by: Sam on September 02, 2005, 11:59:48 AM
De Spanish press giving we more and better updates than we local press, all de local press carrying is news on Latapy...

PS: Flex, your translation blinding..... but yuh still handle it decent..  :rotfl:
Post by: Sam on September 03, 2005, 02:55:31 AM
MISSION VICTORY: 'Warriors' go for vital Guatemala win.
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

Dwight Yorke stays up front and Russell Latapy is set to start on his return to international duty with Trinidad and Tobago. Today, a big turnout is expected as Trinidad and Tobago's Warriors' play their most important World Cup qualifier to date in the current qualifying campaign when taking on Guatemala from 4.30 p.m. at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Those coming to the game are required to pay $100 for entrance to the uncovered stands and $200 for the covered section.

Even so, a big crowd is expected to witness the return of the "Little Magician," Russell Latapy, one of the finest footballers ever produced by T&T. Latapy, who turned 37 on August 2, has returned to the national team after quitting international football four years ago.

Holder of two league championship medals with Portuguese outfit FC Porto, and also the first Trinidad and Tobago footballer to play in the Champions League, Latapy has been an idol for many young footballers. He has also played with Portuguese side Boavista and Scottish clubs Glasgow Rangers, Hibernian and his current team, Falkirk.

National coach Leo Beenhakker believes that Latapy's return has provided motivation for his players, many of whom grew up seeing the 'Little Magician' work his magic, but have never played alongside him.

"They all respect him. We are still in the process of integration of course, because for him its a big change for him to play here," Beenhakker said on the eve of the match.

"Besides, most of the players of this group did not play with him, apart from Yorke and possibly one or two others. So, both get to know each other a little bit."

However, Beenhakker said Latapy was working well and described the well-balanced midfielder as a "true professional. You can see it in every way, inside the pitch, outside the pitch."

He also spoke of his other star, captain Dwight Yorke, who after the 1-0 loss to the Americans in Connecticut had stated that with Beenhakker's permission, he would have liked to revert to the midfield. However, Beenhakker indicated that Yorke would stay up front for today's match.

"First of all, Dwight is, of course, the captain of the team. He is a great player and you have to understand that we are not only working on the pitch, in the field, when we are together in the camp we also talk a lot about football. So, Dwight is a guy, he is playing where it is best for the team. That is his mentality, and that is the way it has to be." Beenhakker said.

T&T have no injury worries today, although the earlier losses of Kenwyne Jones and Collin Samuel before the training camp has forced Beenhakker to alter his plans a bit. But now, back in Beenhakker's squad is Carlos Edwards, who is fully recovered from knee troubles which kept him out of both the CONCACAF Gold Cup and the last qualifier against the United States.

Edwards' inclusion may help with ball possession, which Beenhakker said would be important to his team today. The "Warriors" will be seeking to control the game and more importantly score goals, the ingredient so painfully lacking in the campaign so far. It is here in the supplying of decent chances for Yorke and the struggling Stern John - that it is hoped that Latapy will have an impact.

The Dutchman noted that next week, both Costa Rica and Guatemala-the Warriors' main rivals for the fourth qualifying spot - will have the advantage of playing at home, so T&T have to take advantage of playing at home this afternoon.

"I know we need points. We knew from the beginning that Mexico and USA were number one and two. It's now a four-team tournament. In this way, we know exactly what we have to do and we are going to try with every thing we have," Beenhakker said.

PS: Anything running - I eh sorry for !!!!!!!
Post by: Sam on September 03, 2005, 04:36:48 AM
Costa Rica Squad:

Álvaro Mesén, José Francisco, Gilberto Martínez, Luis Marín, Drummond Johnson, González Arce, Roy Miller, Michael Umaña, Walter Centeno, Mauricio Solís, Christian Bolaños, Jafet Soto, Alonso Solís, Fonseca Bravo, Ronald Gómez, Álvaro Saborío, Minor Díaz, Winston Parks.
Post by: Touches on September 03, 2005, 05:25:39 AM
ONWARD WArriors.........Make sure alyuh run With BLOOD IN ALYUH F%^&ing SHoes Today

Its only     :flamethrower: for Guatemala
Post by: pass(10trini) on September 03, 2005, 05:43:24 AM
ah like dah one touches... :devil:
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 06:05:51 AM
(http://www.prensalibre.com/pl/2005/septiembre/03/images/03d03sep05.jpg)

Guatemalans at the HC Stadium.
Post by: pass(10trini) on September 03, 2005, 06:12:33 AM
alyuh talking like stern ain't go be in dat line up !!

Beenhakker putting he in de strting team .
Post by: Sam on September 03, 2005, 07:13:52 AM
What time we meeting up in de chat room.... ? .................  :rotfl:

20:00  Panama  -  Costa Rica
16:30  Trinidad and Tobago  -  Guatemala
19:30  USA  -  Mexico
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 09:35:27 AM
readin this one I now see why Big Magician boof up pottong so.  I muhself didn't understand it for a few days well.
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 10:25:48 AM
yeah,...tempo real hypin it up with the new football song

http:web.nmsu.edu/~suberok/football song.mp3 (http://web.nmsu.edu/~suberok/football song.mp3)

and the old bunji song

http:web.nmsu.edu/~suberok/bunji football.mp3 (http://web.nmsu.edu/~suberok/bunji football.mp3)
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 11:03:57 AM
ah have an idea  :idea:
why don't some of us (mostly foreign based) donate some money to dem people affected by Katrina based on how many goals we score today..i say $25 a goal seem like a reasonable amount.
http://store.yahoo.com/redcross-donate3/ or call
1-800 HELP NOW (1-800-435-7669.)

God Bless everybody..excpet maybe them Guatemalans for bout 2 hours ;)
Title: Anybody was there vs Guatemala in 89?
Post by: Trini on September 03, 2005, 12:02:14 PM
I remember after Jamerson score the bullet in the 89th minute, the army man posted on the side of the pitch run him down in celebration yes.

Guatemala brings nice memories to me in WCQ.

Hope it continues.
Post by: doublesandsolo on September 03, 2005, 02:33:42 PM
is the game on the internet? Plesae someone reply fast lol i in Miami and cant go to a bar.
Post by: biga84 on September 03, 2005, 02:40:18 PM
goal gua
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 02:43:04 PM
steups!!! Guatemala #16 score....Another shot in the 1st 5 mins...
Post by: Peong on September 03, 2005, 02:43:28 PM
Friggin deflection
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 02:47:20 PM
stern trying...was alone and shoot 1 wide(throw way)...but we puttin pressure...
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 02:56:17 PM
dwight score a offside header....comentators think trinidad finally setled...carlos had 3 good crosees so far...but dwight and stern off side right thru
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 03:04:55 PM
According to FIFA this is the Line-ups...

Line-Ups:

TRI                           GUA

Kelvin Jack             Miguel Klee
Carlos Edwards       Gustavo Cabrera
Christopher Birchall  Selvin Ponciano
Aurtis Whitley         Angel Sanabria
Marvin Andrews       Freddy Garcia
Stern John             Julio Giron
Dwight Yorke          Fredy Thompson
Avery John             Guillermo Ramirez
Brent Sancho          Carlos Ruiz
Silvio Spann             Gonzalo Romero
Russell Latapy           Elmer Ponciano

Bench

TRI                              GUA

Shaka Hislop              Paulo Motta
David Charles           Victor Hernandez
Densill Theobold       Rigoberto Gomez
Jason Scotland          Carlos Figueroa
Ian Cox                     Mynor Davila
Scott Sealy              Juan Carlos Plata
Cyd Gray                   Edwin Villatoro
Post by: Ned on September 03, 2005, 03:09:29 PM
does anyone have a link for live a score feed or online radio coverage ?
Post by: Rodney on September 03, 2005, 03:13:36 PM
does anyone have a link for live a score feed or online radio coverage ?

http://www.homeviewtnt.com/index.php

unfortunately you have to pay though it seems they offering 10 mins listening time fuh free. only 10 mins left in the first half though.

lata's playing well though...its vibe 105 fm you have to follow if yuh interested.
Post by: raj on September 03, 2005, 03:16:25 PM
1-0

Guatemala leading after deflected free kick.

Yorke goal disallowed.
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 03:24:14 PM
halftime...
gua-1 Tri-0
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 03, 2005, 03:34:40 PM
So whats the final score gonna be people, being real? (i cant see the game so i dont know)
Post by: Sam on September 03, 2005, 03:36:30 PM
Stern Hamburger John is a waste....

If we not shooting then how will we score.... try it from outside Stern and Yorke..... bring on theobald for birchall... and sealy for stern.... latas need to play more center...and right behind de attack....

good luck in de second half...
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 03:38:26 PM
Naaah, whut ah f**k... :(

Come on T&T, yuh will make it...

I and I will pray for it...
Post by: Socaman on September 03, 2005, 03:40:49 PM
we have to come back and score two goals in de second half....they seem to be playing well!!!! And they have de support from de country....22,000..Ah just don't understand why we always have to struggle from being 1 down......BUT ah have trust in meh boyz!!!!! Go T&T GO
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 03:43:21 PM
i trust them too...
come on warriors dont let us down....
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 03:44:20 PM
latapy scores!!!!!
Post by: Jumbie on September 03, 2005, 03:45:16 PM
latapy scores!!!!!

TIME FOR A 4KINg DRINK NOW!>> Fina4kingly!
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 03:45:29 PM
how the team playing?
i hear they say Scotland warming up for Stern on my free 10 minutes..how come not Sealy instead?
Post by: che on September 03, 2005, 03:46:04 PM
We need 2 more.
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 03:46:25 PM
fuh real this time?  :nailbiting:
Post by: Jumbie on September 03, 2005, 03:46:50 PM
how the team playing?
i hear they say Scotland warming up for Stern on my free 10 minutes..how come not Sealy instead?

Half Slab  aka off side aka SJ... shouyld not have been on that field today
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 03:47:22 PM
I still believe in the Soca Warriors!

I still hope for some kind of Soca party over here in Germany next year.

But in order to reach this goal, the Soca Warriors have to shoot two goals, I think....

And they will do it!!!
Post by: Jumbie on September 03, 2005, 03:47:35 PM
fuh real this time?  :nailbiting:

Latas did ah solo on them
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 03:48:08 PM
48th minute, latapy!!!!!  
half time scotland on for whitley...trinidad attacking
Post by: doublesandsolo on September 03, 2005, 03:49:52 PM
details please
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 03:50:42 PM
thanks Jumbie for the update ;D ...i know what yuh look like now by the way too lol
i hope them boys could pull it off.
come on Latas show dem yuh stuff  :challenge:
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 03:52:00 PM
Is it 1:1 now?
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 03:52:45 PM
so scotland on for whitley, latapy moves between and behind the 2 forwards (yorke & stern).  scotland on the left, carlos on the right...birchall coming forward more in the 2nd...
is all out attack fellaz...crosses left and right
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 03:53:29 PM
i know latas cant let we down!!
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: for everyone!!
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 03:57:13 PM
damn 2-1
Post by: Socaman on September 03, 2005, 03:58:10 PM
DAM!!!!!

Gua 2- Tri 1
Post by: doublesandsolo on September 03, 2005, 03:59:15 PM
how goal score?
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 03:59:25 PM
meh brother say was a breakaway and we was dominating...is real noise down dey in the stadium..coulda hardly hear him
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 03, 2005, 03:59:30 PM
Steups
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:00:35 PM
fellas ah sorry ah call he..i musta be de blight  :puking:
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:01:40 PM
counter attack.  3 vs 2 easy goal for gua  70th minute now...we runnin out of time
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:02:44 PM
boy i really feeling depressed now...time for some f**king White Oak yes
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 04:04:25 PM
 >:( >:( >:( :'(

this is sad
come on t&t
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:05:13 PM
they say trinidad not paying good right now...dwight fallin back far in midfield...sealy warming up but too late?  boom kick game.
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:07:32 PM
shot by scotland saved....latapy looking tired now....spann come off for sealy
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:08:26 PM
off side goal by stern again after brilliant work by latapy
Post by: Jumbie on September 03, 2005, 04:08:57 PM
off side goal by stern again after brilliant work by latapy

half slab should NOT be on the field!
Post by: Socaman on September 03, 2005, 04:09:19 PM
fourth time Stern off side
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:10:09 PM
nice work with the updates Bounty.
de FIFA site still saying 1-0 and in the 70th minute
Post by: jusme on September 03, 2005, 04:10:21 PM
how much time left?
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:10:58 PM
trinidad throwing everything forward but looking very vulnerable at the back...little over 10mins to go
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 03, 2005, 04:11:49 PM
COME ON TRINDAD & TOBAGO. COME ON!!!!
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 04:12:35 PM
Waaaaat a shit,....

Come on, T&T, you'll do it...

In Germany, there is an old proverb: "Die Hoffnung stirbt zuletzt" ("The hope dies last")
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 04:13:57 PM
COME ON TRINDAD & TOBAGO. COME ON!!!!

COME ON TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO !!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:15:54 PM
right now we have the only game going on in the world right now.

kick it up a notch fellas!!!!! :banginghead:
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:16:40 PM
many 1on 1 situations in the back...sancho vs ruiz...9 or so minutes left
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 03, 2005, 04:17:04 PM
IM GOING MAD COME ON TNT!!!!!!! **Breaks Computer Keyboard**
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:18:52 PM
why de hell dey didnt show dis kinda effort in de previous games..is always  ah last minute ting..typical Trinis
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 04:19:09 PM
"right now we have the only game going on in the world right now"

Ahhh, no. Paraguay 1: 0 Argentine. Now at halftime...

But, come on, Trinidad!!! Ich drücke alle Daumen....
Post by: teddy bear on September 03, 2005, 04:20:42 PM
fellas we need to start a pray rite now for T&T, we have to score now
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 04:21:27 PM
stern scores....
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:21:35 PM
stern f**king john scoresd!!!!!!!!!
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:23:03 PM
that prayer request did it dread!!!  we need a preayer for one more everybody ...quick!!
stern scores again!!!
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 04:23:16 PM
Stern again..... 3-2 T&T....
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:23:59 PM
no f**king way :wavetowel:
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 04:24:04 PM
3-2 bizatches!!!!!
Post by: Ned on September 03, 2005, 04:24:29 PM
ya f'kin dancer , go T&T  ;D
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:24:37 PM
aye!!! who is the man who say to pray!!! aye!!! is you is the man who make this happen !!!!
Post by: teddy bear on September 03, 2005, 04:25:06 PM
we prays wok fellas we going to de world cup. half slab do it.
Post by: ricky on September 03, 2005, 04:25:12 PM
allyuh who does bash stern leh me hear allallyuh now
big up stern!!!!!!
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:25:39 PM
we bring on another defender yet?..or we going for more?
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 03, 2005, 04:25:50 PM
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS GO TRINIDAD & TOBAGO GO!! YES YES YES YES YES
Post by: biga84 on September 03, 2005, 04:26:12 PM
how much time left?
Post by: Jumbie on September 03, 2005, 04:26:22 PM
we prays wok fellas we going to de world cup. half slab do it.

ah tell allyuh that half slab is BOSS!.. :devil:
Post by: che on September 03, 2005, 04:26:36 PM
Stern score? no time for jokes guys .
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 04:26:50 PM
BIG UPS TO STERN JOHN!!
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:27:02 PM
aye!!! who is the man who say to pray!!! aye!!! is you is the man who make this happen !!!!

boy when allyhu say pray..meh mind run on meh fellow Minnesotan Preacher and i was wondering what he was doing  :wavetowel:
Post by: jusme on September 03, 2005, 04:27:31 PM
all the time he was offside, he had the blood in his shoes
Post by: jusme on September 03, 2005, 04:28:02 PM
whistle come as yet?
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:28:07 PM
scotland coming off.....obviously time wasting technique...into time added on...
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 04:29:10 PM
/me biting skin from my hand right now!!

come on t&t
Post by: kounty on September 03, 2005, 04:29:54 PM
ruiz shot with left foot inside the 6yrd box 1 on 1 with jack....missed!!!!
final whistle!
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 04:30:10 PM
Game done... 3-2 T&T wins.... Stern the hero.....
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 04:30:25 PM
WE WIN!!!
3-2

WE WIN!!!  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 04:31:06 PM
Is it true or am I only dreaming?

Or is someone trying to cheat me?

Or is a dream coming true?
Post by: jusme on September 03, 2005, 04:31:45 PM
this is a great day in our nation's history.  big up bounty and flex for keeping we up to speed.  and anybody else.
Post by: Tha G. on September 03, 2005, 04:32:22 PM
wheyhhhhhhhhhhhhh
 stern booooom 2
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 03, 2005, 04:33:06 PM
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS GO TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Post by: teddy bear on September 03, 2005, 04:33:34 PM
we win fellas we win, all yuh know ah cya stop jump up yet , i go be jumpin whole nite GO T&T WE GOIN GERMANY
Post by: biga84 on September 03, 2005, 04:34:06 PM
Thank you all fu posting!!!!!!  Stern show all of us   UNITE TNT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   Keep it coming!!!!! Costa Rica is next
Post by: royal on September 03, 2005, 04:34:42 PM
Stern John rise from de dead.Latapy is still bosssssssss.
Post by: Jay9 on September 03, 2005, 04:35:12 PM
this is a great day in our nation's history.  big up bounty and flex for keeping we up to speed.  and anybody else.

DAMN RIGHT!!!
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 04:35:25 PM
Congratulations Mighty Warriors and Staff,,,, onto Costa Rica.....
Post by: bill on September 03, 2005, 04:35:58 PM
What is the run down with the two Stern goals?
Post by: Tha G. on September 03, 2005, 04:36:04 PM
we go give dem;
ah goal; ah goal from latas and sternnn
but still, f**k stern
we sceond best stricker watchout costa rica     latas coming
Post by: Ned on September 03, 2005, 04:36:35 PM
well done T&T - enjoy the party
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 04:38:01 PM
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHH!!!! :beermug: ;D

The official FIFA site is really bullshit. As they were showing that the game is in the 80th Minute; the score was 0:1 ....

But: f**k OFF!

Soca on and on and on and on and on........
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:38:29 PM
thanks Bounty and Flexy  :beermug:

whats the word with the suspensions and injurieis for the next game now?
Post by: che on September 03, 2005, 04:39:07 PM
Guys we need Pan to win tonight
Post by: bill on September 03, 2005, 04:40:18 PM
Can anyone give a description on de goals???... Latapy is King!!!
Post by: Zeppo on September 03, 2005, 04:41:27 PM
Congrats, T&T!

Job well done!
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:43:29 PM
Thanks Zeppo..yuh see what we capable of under the right conditions lol
Post by: jusme on September 03, 2005, 04:44:03 PM
Guys we need Pan to win tonight

Panama winning will be beneficial, but we don't absolutely need it.  We are only 3 points behind Costa Rica, meaning if we beat them we will close that gap and get the tiebreaker over them at the same time.

Our fate is still in our own hands
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 04:45:05 PM
A big "Welcome to Germany".... :beermug:

T&T now has to win against Costa Rica and no one will speak about 1989 anymore...
Post by: nobody_s angel on September 03, 2005, 04:46:15 PM
Fellas i looking at LAtapy goal and it giving me chills yes. Latas yuh is a real Boss. And Fellas u all did well Spann  :D I have no words. Yuh make me proud tonight every single one of you.
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 03, 2005, 04:47:48 PM
THANX EVERYONE OF KEEPING ME INFORMED!  ;D ;D
Post by: bill on September 03, 2005, 04:48:28 PM
Fifa site finally updated the beautiful 3:2
Stern take his time to score but did it just in time... thank God that a football match is not 85 minutes long.. well done TT. Thanks Latapy!
Post by: Feliziano on September 03, 2005, 04:50:28 PM
i just told my wife..i feel so proud  :beermug:
Post by: injunchile on September 03, 2005, 04:54:27 PM
What an Independent gift to T&t- Costa Rica here we come- Success breeds success
Post by: anfield89 on September 03, 2005, 04:57:03 PM

Anyone got a description of the goals?

I just got my wife to look at the prayer on the board whe it was 1-2 and how quick it turned around to 3-2. Unbelievebale.

She's got problems of her own; she's Irish, they've got a crunch game v France on Wednesday. They could knock France out.
Post by: Platt on September 03, 2005, 05:00:40 PM
I don't think that anyone is going to believe me, but I was on my knees in the 85th minute, I swear!

I will also be on my knees when Ireland is about to knock France out of the qualification on wednesday, believe me!

Gott mit uns!
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 05:12:59 PM
Thanx for the support......
Post by: anfield89 on September 03, 2005, 05:15:35 PM
Come on, someone talk us through the goals....

...bet the atmosphere was crazy, can imagine the Guatamalans collapsing in a heap at the final whistle...
Title: This win.
Post by: Trini on September 03, 2005, 05:16:19 PM
HAS GIVEN US 3 VERY VALUABLE POINTS, BUT JUST AS IMPORTANTLY, IT HAS GIVEN US AND THE WARRIORS BELIEF IN THEM AGAIN.

WHAT A BOOST IN THE ARM FOR BEENHAKKER AND HIS TROOPS.

A DRAW WITH CR AND PANAMA WILL BE PERFECT FOR US I FEEL.
Title: Storebay
Post by: maxg on September 03, 2005, 05:18:29 PM
When the video going up...thanks in advance
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2005, 05:28:57 PM
I think Avery John got a yellow, if this is right he will miss the CRC game...
Post by: royal on September 03, 2005, 05:35:13 PM
Fellas we have to qualify from pts and not goal difference.Because we still 5th with dat victory because of the Guatemala first game.
Post by: Lower St. John on September 03, 2005, 05:39:52 PM
Fellas, ah still having chills from the game.  Ah leave ah bar in Union City 200++ Guatemalans and 3 Trini.  Ah make noise, ah blow meh whistle, ah humble meh self when it was 2-1 but at the end I thanked the Guatemalans for being such gracious hosts.

Latas is Boss, but fellas all yuh have to look at the position Yorke play and understand that he is boss.  Dwight played one in front the sweeper and was magnificent.
Post by: Strip on September 03, 2005, 07:32:31 PM
Oh GAWD fellas... This is FF here
It was Me, Strip, Monty and 3 waggonists in de Spanish bar on Jamaica Avenue... We was pack up like in bricks in dey with about 200 Guats... lord fellas.. i still eh recover.... the best part was de third goal when de video feed went down... the men who was in de various bars go know what ah talkin bout... talk bout suspense... because it had a suspicion of offside... but I was jumpin up ayway...
Well ah go leave de official match report and dem to Touches and de local base.... but I go give yuh ah rundown of de goals
Guatemala 1st goal was a bullet freekick what defelct off Dog totally wrong footing Jack in de 3rd minute... ah know everybody groan and say not again!!!

Latapy goal was brilliance!! (A good wukkin old ting better than a new ting, anytime... anytime)
He collect on top de box and start to advance... hit de defender one ... two fan... send him de wrong way and place it beautifully with he left foot in de left corner....(ee ooh aye come check de danger whoooooaaaaa... Latapy in ah de area) Goal of de week ting.... in fact all de goals was real nice

De second goal was bound to come we had them under siege.... but then de unthinkable happen... Guatemala score on a lightning counter attack... it end up 3 guats against dog and sancho..so guess who win that one...

Then when hope was slipping away Latapy get de ball after some intricate knocking... he beat one.... scotland make a dummy run... he see Stern free on de left ah de box... he steups... he look away.. three defenders come.... he say f**k... alright stern look de ball.... On a platter!!! Well boy Stern let go ah one time placed shot from a slight angle across de keeper in de far corner... is Pandemoium break out...

Then b4 I could recover and calm down.... after some nice knocking again... Yorke collect on top de box and chip forward... de whole ah guatemala defence step forward... leaving Stern and Dog (yes Dog) alone with de keeper... Stern take on he chest and in one sweet confident motion slap it in de roof of the net from about 10 yards out... cue more Pandemonium with the guats appealing for offside... then de video feed went down leaving everybody wondering if it was indeed offisde...... talk about pressah!!!
Bam!! de feed come back showing de whole side jumpin up on Beenie and de bench... Man wining on woman in de stands... Flags waving... I nearly shed ah tear..... we jumpin up wild wild... de bar quiet... ah old man say we better head for de door soon ha ha ha ha.

Fadder!! Big respect to de man who start to say prayers on de forum.
Trinidad football is all about high highs and low lows.... today we on ah high!!!... on to Costa Rica

Post by: maxg on September 03, 2005, 07:43:29 PM
.........Then when hope was slipping away Latapy get de ball after some intricate knocking... he beat one.... scotland make a dummy run... he see Stern free on de left ah de box... he steups... he look away.. three defenders come.... he say f**k... alright stern look de ball.... On a platter!!! Well boy Stern let go ah one time placed shot from a slight angle across de keeper in de far corner... is Pandemoium break out...

:D :D
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 03, 2005, 07:46:54 PM
This is Nick aha Nachilus, I don't post often but always read updates from you guys.  BTW you do a great job (starting w/Flex) and always could get a great laugh or two with the debates.

In New Rochelle, de TT massive was 6 strong amidst about 30 Guatemalans and we made nuff noise there as well, congrats TT.

CR is next....
Post by: Savannah boy on September 03, 2005, 08:27:03 PM
Boy Srip....Palos me and ah padnah was de only 3 in de 4qing bar...ah done plan meh strategy to pelt chair first and den jump behind de bar and start launching bottle. Ah feel like ah jes born again (not in a religious context - before man start tackling meh). To think dat we nearly return de five goals to de Guates on dis day. Dis is euphoria fellas. We are all elated. Much thanks to de players, staff and de admin minus Camps.
Post by: bada on September 03, 2005, 08:37:57 PM
Jus reach back from de game via Squeeze & Crobar on de Avenue. It was brilliant!!!!! TT deserved to win by more but were unlucky. Latas scored a brilliant goal but thought it was all over after Gua scored their second in the second half. Never did I think that TT will win in the last few minutes of a game but Stern saw to it that we did (thanks for the 2 goals but Stern yuh still didn't impress).

After travelling to the US to see TT lose, ah still will consider going Panama if (when!!) TT beat Costa Rica on Wednesday.
Post by: Strip on September 03, 2005, 08:56:53 PM
Boy Srip....Palos me and ah padnah was de only 3 in de 4qing bar...ah done plan meh strategy to pelt chair first and den jump behind de bar and start launching bottle. Ah feel like ah jes born again (not in a religious context - before man start tackling meh). To think dat we nearly return de five goals to de Guates on dis day. Dis is euphoria fellas. We are all elated. Much thanks to de players, staff and de admin minus Camps.

We give them de 5 jes 2 of them was offside  ;D

and this is FF here.. we drinking by Strip... til is time to hit de fete
Post by: Savannah boy on September 03, 2005, 09:02:58 PM
Bada, dat is yuh nick name from St.Ann's? Yuh did play fuh de radicals and dem?
Post by: Savannah boy on September 03, 2005, 09:06:45 PM
gunman
New Warrior

tru warrior, juss MIA latly

Re: Thread for the TRI vs GUA game.
« Reply #164 on: Today at 06:36:04 PM »
we go give dem;
ah goal; ah goal from latas and sternnn
but still, f**k stern
we sceond best stricker watchout costa rica     latas coming

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Yuh is ah true warrior yuh say, but 4q Stern? Allyuh amazing oui.
Post by: Savannah boy on September 03, 2005, 09:14:50 PM
Yuh boy Yorke was pissed at dat one offside call.  It would have really helped our goal difference. The win is still de sweetest. Sweet, sweet T&T. Stand up for dem...stand up for dem...time fuh Germany papa.
Post by: monty on September 03, 2005, 09:49:24 PM
yeah man, today was a blessed day. I enjoyed the game, a little too emotional (too much "f*ck this", "f*ck that", "f*ck stern"  and i doh really cuss, so I apologize to this/that/stern, especially stern, but he need to stop letting them chances pass by so easily).
We have to be grateful that the Guatemala keeper was horrible for most of the game. I have to hype up all the goals but the "one that get away" was birchall shot. The man does come from nowhere and buss shot like is a stroll in the park. We need to make use of him in the department some more.
Latapy come back today and show that age is just a number. If you have it, you have it. The man hold firm and delivered. He redeem himself for first coming back to fight for us and then putting on such a wonderful performance. The team in general play a nice game in the end, but we need to hold that concentration for the 90+mins each game. Good luck with the remaining journey.
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on September 03, 2005, 09:58:04 PM
It was Me, Strip, Monty and 3 waggonists in de Spanish bar on Jamaica Avenue... We was pack up like in bricks in dey with about 200 Guats... lord fellas.. i still eh recover.... the best part was de third goal when de video feed went down... the men who was in de various bars go know what ah talkin bout... talk bout suspense... because it had a suspicion of offside... but I was jumpin up ayway...
Well ah go leave de official match report and dem to Touches and de local base.... but I go give yuh ah rundown of de goals
Guatemala 1st goal was a bullet freekick what defelct off Dog totally wrong footing Jack in de 3rd minute... ah know everybody groan and say not again!!!

Latapy goal was brilliance!! (A good wukkin old ting better than a new ting, anytime... anytime)
He collect on top de box and start to advance... hit de defender one ... two fan... send him de wrong way and place it beautifully with he left foot in de left corner....(ee ooh aye come check de danger whoooooaaaaa... Latapy in ah de area) Goal of de week ting.... in fact all de goals was real nice

De second goal was bound to come we had them under siege.... but then de unthinkable happen... Guatemala score on a lightning counter attack... it end up 3 guats against dog and sancho..so guess who win that one...

Then when hope was slipping away Latapy get de ball after some intricate knocking... he beat one.... scotland make a dummy run... he see Stern free on de left ah de box... he steups... he look away.. three defenders come.... he say f**k... alright stern look de ball.... On a platter!!! Well boy Stern let go ah one time placed shot from a slight angle across de keeper in de far corner... is Pandemoium break out...

Then b4 I could recover and calm down.... after some nice knocking again... Yorke collect on top de box and chip forward... de whole ah guatemala defence step forward... leaving Stern and Dog (yes Dog) alone with de keeper... Stern take on he chest and in one sweet confident motion slap it in de roof of the net from about 10 yards out... cue more Pandemonium with the guats appealing for offside... then de video feed went down leaving everybody wondering if it was indeed offisde...... talk about pressah!!!
Bam!! de feed come back showing de whole side jumpin up on Beenie and de bench... Man wining on woman in de stands... Flags waving... I nearly shed ah tear..... we jumpin up wild wild... de bar quiet... ah old man say we better head for de door soon ha ha ha ha.

Fadder!! Big respect to de man who start to say prayers on de forum.
Trinidad football is all about high highs and low lows.... today we on ah high!!!... on to Costa Rica

Nice post, but i think it was Yorke that assist on the last goal not Latas.
Post by: Solo on September 04, 2005, 06:40:57 AM
Solo
Jr. Warrior
http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=3437.0

Re: Let's see who gets the score right..
« Reply #22 on: September 01, 2005, 11:37:37 PM »     

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TT 4 - Gua 2

TT - Yorke ( tap to far post), Latas (left footed), Stern (2) ( one header)

Gua - two tiefin goal, one penalty one offside

ouuii I sweating already breds

Solo
Post by: Solo on September 04, 2005, 06:43:03 AM
I was one goal short ( Yorkie's goal which deh tief we anyway) but I am very very very proud that my prediction came so close even down to the goalscorers....

OHHH LAWDIE WE WIN!

Solo
Post by: Solo on September 04, 2005, 12:47:15 PM
and now ah hearing that Stern cuss de fans,....i hope dat is a lie
Post by: Flex on September 04, 2005, 12:52:06 PM
Who do you think won man-of-the-match ? and does anyone have the stats on this game, shots, off side, saves, free kicks etc....

Thanx...
Post by: Solo on September 04, 2005, 03:24:09 PM
Latapy was the man of the match,...he and York fight whole game....he coud have buckled but he held on and played selflessly to score and set up de goals and plus he played de whole 90 mins.
Post by: monty on September 04, 2005, 08:17:23 PM
the guats papers saying how the game was influenced by the slowness of the medics after one of their players get a cut on his face and had to be removed from the field. I doh recall that incident, but i think they grasping at straws.

El Periodico (http://www.elperiodico.com.gt/look/article.tpl?IdLanguage=13&IdPublication=1&NrIssue=423&NrSection=14&NrArticle=15516")

It in spanish, so you can use http://babelfish.altavista.com/

anyhow, all that in the past now.
Post by: oconnorg on September 05, 2005, 05:29:28 AM
STUUUUUUUUUUUUUUPESSS!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: andre samuel on September 05, 2005, 05:51:43 AM
the guats papers saying how the game was influenced by the slowness of the medics after one of their players get a cut on his face and had to be removed from the field. I doh recall that incident, but i think they grasping at straws.

El Periodico (http://www.elperiodico.com.gt/look/article.tpl?IdLanguage=13&IdPublication=1&NrIssue=423&NrSection=14&NrArticle=15516")

yeah, i saw and read about that!! he was stern's man marker and he got a cut on his eye and it took him 5 minutes to get back on de field. also when he was ready to come back on, the ref ignored him and "waited" for stern to score first! lol
Post by: oconnorg on September 05, 2005, 05:56:13 AM

yeah, i saw and read about that!! he was stern's man marker and he got a cut on his eye and it took him 5 minutes to get back on de field. also when he was ready to come back on, the ref ignored him and "waited" for stern to score first! lol

Ahahahaha... We still deserved to win.. shucks!!
Post by: Star Child on September 05, 2005, 06:23:48 AM
Lets just say this is true and Stern scored because his marker was out the field what I dont understand is, if for the duration of the match Stern cant beat or escape his marker and is getting trouble then way didn't the coach move Stern to a different side so maybe he can get a easier/different marker.

A win is a win... to hell with them, Colombia scored on us after Marvin when down in de box, in these day and time we should have no mercy on our opponents, use tactics and win by all means.

Artificial turf we playing in Costa Rica, well boy, I hope them players fit because artificial turf in no joke, they should make that illegal in a competitive games.
Post by: Sam on September 07, 2005, 06:46:15 AM
Anybody by chance tape this game... ? I wouldn't mind taking a look at it, I cant remember seeing T&T fight back so hard in a long time.

Who scored de goal of de game. ?
Post by: Flex on September 07, 2005, 03:09:42 PM
Well Tallman just post Latapy goal for starters....

Gols Galore Threads. (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?board=11.0)
Post by: supporter on September 07, 2005, 05:28:21 PM
waitin for storebay to see the trini commentary on the goals.
Post by: Sam on September 30, 2005, 07:34:31 AM
Ah now see de GUA/TRI game thanks to StoreBayLime and I must say the team look good especially in de second half.

Ah still feel Whitley could contribute more, but he did better than all the other games I saw him play.

Stern John up his work rate and save the day, I find he did ok, better than his usual game in the last 10 games or so, the only thing kill him, is his attitude, he cussing de crowd, if I was they ah woulda pelt he ass....

Ah find we does still play a little to high which we must be careful with because we defenders slow, but I understand we needed to win and went all out and attack.

Ah still wondering how Bertille overlooked Silvio Spann, this man have some clinical touches and can run for 90 mins.... he is ah boss...

Edwards look better with his play and most of all his crossing...

Andrews work good on de right back...

Sealy had some nice touches...

Scotland, boy, de man leggo two hard shots ah still eh know how that eh go in de net,,,, he bad for years, he came on and made a difference, he look like he was vex when he get subbed, but he need to understand it was a tactical change.

Dwight and Latapy showed why they are world class, they really bring organization and confident to de team, Latapy look better more center and Dwight more deep in central.... he also scored a good goal that was ruled off side...Latas goal was magic...

Avery need to work on his crossing and passing.....

Sancho was a beast in the back..... he save de day many times...

Jack is becoming a real boss keeper and with Ince and Hislop on de bench it will push him to even be better...

Good luck vs Panama T&T, allyuh did good vs GUA, hopefully that will carry on... we also playing more like a team now...