Sports => Football => Topic started by: dinho on February 09, 2008, 12:26:03 PM

Title: When sweating in Trinidad, you sure to hear ah man say.........
Post by: dinho on February 09, 2008, 12:26:03 PM
Ah know dis post kinda AB Trini-ish eh.... but...

Was having a discussion with ah partner the other day about common phrases and sayings that you must hear in a Trinidad sweat.. I found it funny, because I never gave it active thought before, but to an outsider we must be does sound real kicksy when we sweating...

Some examples:

"BAAAAAAALLL BOOOOOOY" -  said when someone makes a great pass and while the ball is still in motion

"FIND MEH... FIND MEEEEEH" -  said when someone is making a free run and wants the ball

"WIIIIIIIIIIIIDAAAAAAA!"       -  said when someone wants the ball out wide

"TO FOOT!   TO FOOT!"       -  said when someone wants the ball played to feet

"DOH TAKE IT SOOO"          -  said after dribbling an opponent

what are some others u could think of??
Title: Re: When sweating in Trinidad, you sure to hear ah man say.........
Post by: Daft Trini on February 09, 2008, 12:43:39 PM
"You is ah real ball hoe, oui"    - When you doh pass the ball to someone... who wants it...
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 09, 2008, 12:46:08 PM
How about this one
MAN ON MAN ON --- when someone comming to tackle yuh
Post by: kicker on February 09, 2008, 12:52:18 PM
"Ah gone ah gone"- indicating that he's found space and is open for a killer pass

"Beat dat" - urging a teammate to take on his opponent.

"and Slap" - urging a teammate to shoot

"You go miss yuh birthday"- exclamation at a poorly missed chance on goal.

"cyah trap" - trying to psyche out his opponent just before he (the opponent) is about to control a pass

"one more" - urging  a teammate to continue ball movement in the same direction.

"tell him tanx (thanks)" - said when the opposition gifts your team possession with a bad pass.

"rub it iz yours" - after witnessing some painful contact (most times embarassingly painful) that occurs without an expression of pain by the recipient.
Post by: WestCoast on February 09, 2008, 12:54:07 PM
"dat is ah Zed foot"
conversely
"dat is ah spoon foot"
or even
"ya cyar hit de Red House even if ya standing it it"

after dat I went eeen goal...and de res is history ;D ;D
and one dat I used to get was
"aye, you could save like Banks"  ;) ;D ;D
Post by: Sando prince on February 09, 2008, 12:57:28 PM
BOI YUH PLAY SOME LATRINE FOOTBALL!
Post by: spideybuff on February 09, 2008, 01:00:55 PM
"da man selling guns"" - when someone gives the ball away continuously

"down d line, down d line" - when u want a pass to run onto when wide

''hard bat/jam'' - a good tackle

"beatz fuh so" - used in different phrases to describe a person, a situation involving lots of skills and tricks

Post by: dinho on February 09, 2008, 01:17:41 PM
"HAVE IT" - inviting a teammate to shoot
Post by: grimm01 on February 09, 2008, 01:19:25 PM
"Yuh pulling man stones"
"Buss yuh gun"
Post by: A.B. on February 09, 2008, 01:22:20 PM
TAKE YUH TIME - no body coming to tackle yuh so doh rush yuh next pass

HELP BACK - someone yuh could pass to behind yuh doh lose that ball stupid...
Post by: behind-de-bridge on February 09, 2008, 01:25:19 PM
Yuh could cho-way a chile! (meaning you can throw away a child or have an abortion)- Failing to score an easy goal.
Post by: dinho on February 09, 2008, 01:26:25 PM

multiple use...

can also be used as to goad an opponent after issuing him with ah shake..
Post by: Trinitim on February 09, 2008, 01:27:51 PM
 Let go de demon - Release a bullet !!!

In the soup - Bang the ball in the center of the field

SEX - I want twins - When ah man hit you a stink beats and the ball pass through you leg!!!

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on February 09, 2008, 01:46:56 PM

Let go de demon - Release a bullet !!!

in we sweat is

Let go the Lion
and if ah man let go a powderpuff/doublespaper (soft shot) is I tell yuh the lion not Simba (the lion king son)
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on February 09, 2008, 01:52:28 PM
yuh iz a paper tiger or wah? - when a man is easily shoulder off the ball
Post by: Ngozi on February 09, 2008, 02:06:08 PM
BOUNCE NAH......looking for a return ball or asking for it

BALL AYAH ..... showing some love for a good ball

RIP IT ...... have a shot

NICE POWDER PUFF ...shot lacking power

LAWD FATHA WHAT KINDA SHOT IS DAT FORDIE....fordie hittin it overbar lol
Post by: dwn on February 09, 2008, 02:22:21 PM
... AH ROAST
... AH BUN  ;D
Post by: 2cents on February 09, 2008, 02:31:56 PM
U IS BOB MARLEY SON......said to deliverer of hard tackle (jam...as in jammin)

SIMPLEEEE!!!.....meaning play a simple square or back pass rather than tryin to make ah Rivaldo-esque through ball every time

THAT IS AH RASTA BELT.....self explanatory

U GET AH KANGOLS....said to ah man who now get ah FURS (ball play over his head by opponent)
Post by: freakazoid on February 09, 2008, 02:37:19 PM
 buh wait nuh d next side n come? - when 1 side is running rings around d other

yuh is ah real bad gyul- when ah man only getting sex

furs- when yuh cap ah man

rasta belt- when yuh belt ah man

calling out ref and making the substitution gesture- when  man x playing real tata

armm u n have wares home 2 wash- when man x is playing real tata

yuh playing gyul o wah- when ah man playing soft and only calling foul
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 09, 2008, 03:06:02 PM
you is ah real shithong...when a man lacks talent. :rotfl:
Post by: Touches on February 09, 2008, 03:13:14 PM
Yuh want a gloves?......said to the man playing last who only chook up in the post

Yuh buy that land dey?..........when a player operates in one small patch of grass only

In the sauce......putting the ball in the heat of the action, mixing it up.

FOOD........a player to be eaten up, dribbled past or lacking skill.

I could get a wet with alyuh?...asking to join the action on the field

Sweat Lock........a negative response to the aforementioned question

and the ever popular yet highly effective...yuh pullin stones.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 09, 2008, 03:15:47 PM
yuh loafing.
Post by: Themanfriday on February 09, 2008, 03:22:55 PM
"GOAL in yuh TUN TUN"

"Deh cyah handle yuh dred"

"sub he dred SUB HE!!"

"aye! giwwe ah Next man he cyah play"
Post by: FF on February 09, 2008, 03:32:49 PM

rasta belt- when yuh belt ah man

A belt is ah belt....

A Rasta belt is ah long long belt.... when de man hadda run ten yards or more to retrieve de ball...

"YUH WANT SOME BREAD WITH THAT JAM" - self-explanatory
Post by: Themanfriday on February 09, 2008, 03:34:01 PM
"res ah beat on him"
Post by: rotatopoti3 on February 09, 2008, 03:47:40 PM
Yuh only kicking Toepee - man kicking ball high in d air to score...

Post by: redtrinigirl on February 09, 2008, 03:48:36 PM
Tack back! Tack back! - telling men to run back and defend against a break away play
Post by: Benchwarmer on February 09, 2008, 04:47:06 PM
"maradona ( or any big player) pass the ppl and them ball nah"

"look is best i stay home yes"- when the sweat just go shitty

'PASS THE F..ING BALL"- dont need to say more
Post by: Tallman on February 09, 2008, 05:06:47 PM
"run yuh shit" - typically shouted to a player who takes a shot dat goes rell wide or high over de goal, and nobody doh want tuh go for de ball.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 09, 2008, 05:11:08 PM
Set Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh! - player (generally in motion) announcing to a teammate an opportunity to beat the field (or a cluster of players) with an incisive pass he hopes to collect on the run ... sometimes could be a great through ball situation if the man would be a lil more tactful and less loud

Drop or drop orf ... said to encourage teammates to take up defensive positions in anticipation of a change in possession or out of desperation after possession has been lost
Post by: dwn on February 09, 2008, 05:37:00 PM
FIX D POST NAH ... after a man hit a shot off the post

DA BALL GONE ... when a man fail to save the ball going out behind the goal
Post by: d_#1Trinba on February 09, 2008, 05:45:06 PM
ARe you all giving the key of the trinidadian soccer..everything cool now the adversity know all the trini talks on the field...if we were at war i would have seen all of you on the other side of the baatlefield!!!
Post by: Fyzoman on February 09, 2008, 06:26:40 PM
DUMMY!!!!!

Dais is ah hospital ball!!!!

Football made simple!!!(when yuh side rel knocking it)

Skills and drills!!!!(same as above)

Brazil reach!!!(same as above)

Boy me eh effing coming off, dat pass thru de side netting!!!!
Post by: Themanfriday on February 09, 2008, 06:43:24 PM
"Geh meh ah stick"- when de ball gone in ah drain. 
" yuh shuda stop it mark de man!"
"You go get it"
Post by: Ngozi on February 09, 2008, 06:46:27 PM
buh ey ey how he beating you so like he's yuh fatha ......... a man ketching some serious beat and can't recover .........
Post by: Trinitim on February 09, 2008, 06:47:02 PM

DAT MAN NEED TOILET PAPER DREAD - SHIT RUNNING DOWN HE LEG - MAN PLAYING REAL SHIT AND YANKING REAL STONES!!!!!!!!!!!!! DONKEY KONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Dr. Rat on February 09, 2008, 06:51:41 PM
Da mudda-ass ref sucking de whistle!"
Post by: legal alien on February 09, 2008, 06:52:56 PM
"dah keeper get string up"- goalkeeper concede a nice (sometimes unsavable) goal
Post by: legal alien on February 09, 2008, 06:54:29 PM
somebody tell me what they mean when they say a goal score in the "jep nest"
Post by: Themanfriday on February 09, 2008, 06:58:37 PM

goal in de V
Post by: Dr. Rat on February 09, 2008, 07:06:16 PM
"Stop hittin toe-pee na man!"
Post by: JDB on February 09, 2008, 07:08:40 PM
"dais yuh fadda?" when a man get bobolized

Also
"yuh get work(ed) boy"
Post by: legal alien on February 09, 2008, 07:16:03 PM

goal in de V

thanks. a man like me shoulda know that. how we could forget this one:

"de man get a corbeau sweat"- when a footballer  played only a few mins of the game due (sometimes) to early substitution or  (especially)  being put on when the game is  almost over
Post by: WestCoast on February 09, 2008, 07:30:05 PM
goal in de V
thanks
never heard that saying before
I have learnt something new today
Post by: pass(10trini) on February 09, 2008, 07:48:25 PM
Ooh goooode, dah man leave him like Boldon boy. ;D

This is de bess.........Alibey...Alibey..... :rotfl:
Post by: dwn on February 09, 2008, 10:06:00 PM
"Set me for the Kerry"
Post by: Quags on February 09, 2008, 10:41:51 PM
Yah knee have water owa - A weak shot
Dah man foot bend - shooting and inacturate passing.
Man kicking like he swiping grass jed - wild kicking
Wicked curlers -swerving shot .
Them beats doh work again uncle .
Post by: JDB on February 09, 2008, 10:59:00 PM
"De man unscore the goal yes"

"Philbert Jones" simlar to "Alibey"
Post by: Trini boi on February 09, 2008, 11:38:32 PM
BUSS DE NET!!! - take de shot hard, or just take de shot

BEADS BOI!!! - when a man get shake up

CHO WAY DA GOAL! - when someone misses an easy shot on goal

TOE-PEE!!  - man hits the shot with the front part of his foot, most likely his big toe

lolll @ some of the earlier comments....PRICELESS..keep dem coming....
Post by: triniairman on February 10, 2008, 02:00:36 AM

HELP BACK - someone yuh could pass to behind yuh doh lose that ball stupid... or Back is ah play same meaning.
Post by: behind-de-bridge on February 10, 2008, 03:34:36 AM
Last goal win. Usually said by the team that's losing.
Post by: arrow on February 10, 2008, 06:17:54 AM
yuh foot need a compass
Post by: saga pinto on February 10, 2008, 06:54:25 AM
"Dah man geh ah cobo sweat boi" -he either playing real shit at the start of the game and the coach pull him off or he come on 2mins before the game done..........
Post by: kevinAckin on February 10, 2008, 08:41:14 AM
how allyuh leave out the most common and frequently said phrase boy?????.................

"HARD LUCK" .........  either when yuh now shit down yuhself or when yuh applauding a man for a close effort
Post by: pass(10trini) on February 10, 2008, 08:53:36 AM
Gih blade, gih him blade

Wet him......
Post by: Daft Trini on February 10, 2008, 09:03:40 AM
de referee is ah bulla man..... - when the ref decisions doh go your way.
But ref he weak-                     when you jam ah man and he go down easy and yuh pleading yuh case...
You need some senna-             when man playing real $hit...
Who he think he is, Maradona?- When ah man dribbling all the time.
Back is ah pass-                       when man only want to go forward with de ball and getting stick.
You is ah small goal champ     - Could swing both ways with this....
Yuh name is Villa Capri-             Getting sexed all the time or man stripping you of de ball.
50/50 challenge
break foot ball-                        when you are put in that precarious position to get a ball.
Yuh need ah bush bath-            -self explanitory
Which obeah man all yuh see before all yuh come here- When a team lucky...
You go win ah oscar for that performance- When yuh go down easy and the ref buys it...
Post by: rocoply on February 10, 2008, 10:14:20 AM
Rusty spanner :)
Air spanner ;)
who the cap fit 8)
rooolly polliiie :o
cryuff :P
yuh get fan out  ;D
dat keeper could fly  :angel:
yuh get drag :rotfl:
breed, f*ck, sex, rape, having meh baby, 9 mnths, when yuh delivering :'(
dat man is a shitong ???
hit tha man a blade :devil:

Post by: kiffysmooth on February 10, 2008, 10:46:29 AM
"On de biscuit" - when yuh want it on yuh chest

"Sweat close" - million man sweat, and yuh doh want no more players to join

"Beat his ass" - when yuh want to see ah nice beat

"clinic" - when de knock brand raise to ah higher level

"Man up" - when yuh get ah tackle and yuh on de floor bawling

"Ballack, Ronaldinho, Latas" - when yuh want ah man feel good yuh call him one ah dem name so he go give yuh all de ball
Post by: Filho on February 10, 2008, 11:21:40 AM
Omar..this is a boss thread
Dwn..dat is a classis..."Set me for de kerry" :rotfl: :rotfl:

check some more:

"mark ah man" - time to defend

"daiz your shot?" - interchangeable with "try and pass de ball next time nah?". Two questions that ain't really questions

"you eh like de man or wha" - anytime you mess up a real easy pass to a man in front of goal. or when you res a shot in a man midsection and curl him up him like a congarie

"is football we playin' hoss" - when a man buss a wild foul on yuh

"doh leh de ball bounce" - anytime de ball loop up in de air.

"man on" - as you colleck dis you go be under pressure

"knock de ball" - related to "keep it simple"

"rub it..is yours" - when you take one in de jewels..or anywhere painful

"u know how long i eh sweat boy" - allyuh know yuhself. men who cover dey a$$ before game start in case dey play shit

Post by: dwn on February 10, 2008, 11:29:33 AM
yuh hav a pump? ... (cause the ball is mess)  ;D
Post by: Daft Trini on February 10, 2008, 11:42:10 AM
The plethora of nick names too:- giving a complement, giving condolences, giving insults, not knowing ah man name etc..

Like yuh is ah maradona, hard luck, yuh is ah macomeh man, shithound ect, blackie, toolum boy, chinee, doougs.... 
Post by: Sando prince on February 10, 2008, 11:44:12 AM
Jedd like yuh eh know dem does call me Ronaldo  ;D
Post by: football king on February 10, 2008, 12:10:11 PM
'man is ah abortionist'
da man need a purge, man is a  a pothound-same thing
'hospital ball'
'man leggoo a chenette'-slow weak shot that roll and bounce
'wrong address'
Post by: JDB on February 10, 2008, 02:17:58 PM
'man is ah abortionist'
da man need a purge, man is a  a pothound-same thing
'hospital ball'
'man leggoo a chenette'-slow weak shot that roll and bounce
'wrong address'

"Keeepaaaah" Don't know if this was mentioned yet.

also

"Gallery" or "Flams"

for men who more interested in plays that look good as opposed to being actually productive.
Post by: Quags on February 10, 2008, 02:22:52 PM
Dah man beatsing he self jed .
Sun to hot ,I going  by the river .
Smallman go for the ball it under the goo goo bef tree .
Post by: d_#1Trinba on February 11, 2008, 03:47:26 AM
come to meh jung boy..thats what the central defender of the leading team say when the oponent try to go back to the score  ...u will usually hear that talks in d savanah...
Post by: JDB on February 11, 2008, 08:58:03 AM
come to meh jung boy..

You sure you ent hear that late at night in Curepe junction instead?
Post by: SHOTTA on February 11, 2008, 09:45:42 AM
take for yuhself...............when yuh tellin a man to control the ball close to him

do yuh ting................when yuh tell a man beat at will

leh meh join galactica...........refferin to galactica games world in gulf city ( from the advertisement on tv) normally when u want to share beat too

forward ever.........when the last man makin a overlappin run outta the blue

oooooogooooooood.............exclimation for anyting spectacular

sombrero..........when yuh say is a cap but yuh did jus kick the ball strait up high and the man run under it , minmal skill involved.

throw a lil dirt on the oil .........when a ol car leak a seta oil where yuh does sweat

move da big man.........when someone have to da dog shit from way yuh does sweat
Post by: dinho on February 11, 2008, 10:00:42 AM
HE GET AH HARD BANG!  -  when someone get struck with the ball with force

YUH STICK UP IN DE GOAL! - exclaimed at men like Supa who sole function is to goalkeep in small goal   :devil:

DOH WORRY WE GO MAKE HE COME OUT or WORK DAT - a remedial tactic to deal with said Supa stick up in de goal.  it involves ah hard bang..

HE SWINGING ON MEH STONES - he playing shit..

HE IS REAL LALA  -  he playing shit

HE SHEEEEEEEETYYYYYY -  last word is said in a very high pitch tone, for someone who playing real shit
Post by: superoli on February 11, 2008, 10:28:46 AM
"oh goooooooooood " = when a shot go close without scoring, so the word "good" but real stretched out

"back is a pass" = letting a man know the ball doh always have to go forward

"you in his pocket" = letting a man know that he cyah pass a man...... he have your number.

"that leg is a walking stick" = when a man only good with one foot 
Post by: teddy bear on February 11, 2008, 10:46:55 AM
dis is a couple from Bago dat yuh hear all de time.

" Off de map" when men run out a bounds wid de ball.

" yuh shin cya bend" when an opponent pass de ball next to yuh foot and yuh cya touch it"

"da is your ball or wha?" when a man doe want to pass.

"dis ent yuh bedroom boi" when man only cryin cause he get kick
Post by: Papasmurf on February 11, 2008, 11:08:04 AM
"Open he chest...!" - (in reference to the goal keeper). This phrase urges the offensive player to take a shot as hard as possible, such that if the keeper stops it it will cause him physical damage.
"Jah doh sleep" - when a ref makes a bad call and the resulting play ends in no harm done.
"Daiz how allyuh men playing or wuh...orright!" - a threat in response to a team playing very physical.

Post by: Coach on February 11, 2008, 12:13:15 PM
We all used these two but, Peter Mitchelle use it the most on less skillful players cause he was a "ballhoe"

"LABOURER" and "PULLSTONES"

Post by: Coop's on February 11, 2008, 12:52:48 PM
goal in de V
thanks
never heard that saying before
I have learnt something new today
         I remember another saying we had for that was "where Paddy put the dollar".
Post by: Mr Mc on February 11, 2008, 02:16:39 PM
ah hear a man say a few weeks ago
'Yuh aint know this is a 52 inch here o what?!"
when screening the ball from his opponent.

my personal favorite i does use everyweek

"ah not taking no bang in goal if allyuh not defending!"

preceeded by
 "step to the ball, doh stand up and watch them!"
Post by: Observer on February 11, 2008, 02:41:49 PM
shittin on yuh tail /  When man playing tata
Post by: College on February 11, 2008, 03:54:57 PM
"better yuh did stay home an bake a cake" ..used when a man pulling real stones!

"defence out" ..used to make fun of a forward after he shoot the ball a mile over bars.

"nashee" sometimes used to describe a player of slight built and size. (eg Coop's)  ;D

"barefoot champ" an man who cyah play with shoes on!

"smellin bamsee" when yuh only taking beat and man running past yuh

A personal favorite.....allyuh try this. When calling a man for a pass, use "mister" before his name. He is more likely to pass the ball.
Post by: Observer on February 11, 2008, 05:08:44 PM
"pass the people dem ball nah man":     buff for ah man who would not pass
"take it is yours"        No explaination need
"control fuh yuhself"  Telling a team mate to take it down clean
"abortion"                 Fuh ah man who throw way ah easy chance
"dat is yuh father, how he beating yuh so"   When ah man getting real beats all game
" run yuh shit"           When ah man kick way over bars and nobody want to go for it
"down line"          No explaination needed
"Ah blind man would ah read dat pass"  No explaination needed
"dis side easy"
Post by: freakazoid on February 11, 2008, 05:37:16 PM

" run yuh shit"           When ah man kick way over bars and nobody want to go for it

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: tru dat

usually accompanied by loud steups from yuh teammates as well as yuh opponents
Post by: Dutty on February 11, 2008, 06:31:20 PM
"LINE!! LINE!"---- the recipient  wants the ball passed in a linear motion toward them so they can collect it and score....unfortunately in trinidad "line" does mean horizontal, vertical, curve and zig zag

"da dougla in de red pants, yuh know she?"--- preparations for a different kinda sweat
Post by: Fyzoman on February 11, 2008, 07:49:27 PM
ah try to post dis last week and it end up in cyberspace, here goes again...

DUMMY!!!

Dais ah hospital ball!!

Football made simple!!(who remember dat show) When yuh side rel knocking it.

Skills and drills! again when yuh side rel knocking it.

Brazil reach!!!(see above)

Me eh effing coming off, dat pass thru de side netting!!!!!
Post by: Coach on February 11, 2008, 08:17:28 PM
"Check your jockstrap" - Man get a sweet beat
"Breakfoot pass" - Man give you 50-50 pass
"Come for ah sweat nah" - you begging man to come and play.
"Police" - playing in the street at times cops would come to arrest man so when man say police you run and hide.
Post by: Jay10 on February 11, 2008, 08:36:53 PM
beat his ass- urging a team mate to dribble an opponent

oh goooosh..yuh go kill him- usually said when someone gets dribbled

dogshit- a wild sliding tackle which misses everything

man on yuh back...(leave him!!..-wat reggaefan and ja2009 would reply)
Post by: Daft Trini on February 11, 2008, 08:39:21 PM
HYMC- From de national stadium to every patch where sweat occurs- could be used in varying circumstances.
Post by: Bourbon on February 11, 2008, 09:53:24 PM
Shot have a "o"...not a "i"......when a man try something and eh come off...
OH GORM!! Dahs Kay Donna!.....when a man screen off bout 2 men...
Yuh's a defensive striker or wha?
Where you get dat beat? Dollar rescue?
Better yuh go and get a bag ah ice dey....
Post by: FF on February 11, 2008, 10:32:07 PM
ah surprise this one eh pass yet unless ah miss it...

C A R !!!
Post by: Feliziano on February 11, 2008, 10:32:54 PM
"Lash it!!"...hit the shot.
"Who send you in de cooler?"...when somebody went and try to drink beers without permission.
"Who want ah sub?"...when yuh begging for ah run.
"Boy yuh foot hard like Banga"..when yuh could take hard jam.
"Boy you is a real wild man yes..steups"..when some jackass hit a hopeless shot and it gone over in somebody yard or he buss the ball on ah galvanise fence.
"Boy you is ah gladman yes"...when some jackass does try out bicycle, diving header and scissors on barber-green or gravel (dat used to be me  ;D ).
Post by: asylumseeker on February 12, 2008, 05:44:20 AM
How about this one
MAN ON MAN ON --- when someone comming to tackle yuh
beat his ass- urging a team mate to dribble an opponent

oh goooosh..yuh go kill him- usually said when someone gets dribbled

dogshit- a wild sliding tackle which misses everything

man on yuh back...(leave him!!..-wat reggaefan and ja2009 would reply)

In Brazil in this situation they say 'ladrão' which literally means 'thief'. The first time I heard it it struck me because it reflects the focus and commitment to protecting the ball.

The real kix dis come when some of us use these terms in a mixed sweat setting with non-Trinis/non-Caribbean players ... ah see rell men geh confuse on dat score

Anyhow, wha ah gehhin from this thread is we dis talk plenty buh not all de chatter on the field is  constructive. ;D

Post by: Mr Mc on February 12, 2008, 06:34:24 AM
"Check your jockstrap" - Man get a sweet beat
"Breakfoot pass" - Man give you 50-50 pass
"Come for ah sweat nah" - you begging man to come and play.
"Police" - playing in the street at times cops would come to arrest man so when man say police you run and hide.

??? :o :rotfl:
Post by: Sando prince on February 12, 2008, 07:49:00 AM
Dat man spanner rel rusty boi
Post by: Andre on February 12, 2008, 07:58:07 AM
"yuh mudda c*nt!" - no explanation needed
Post by: Touches on February 12, 2008, 08:43:10 AM
I surprised men leave out this one...

SIDE, SIDE

When is plenty men and yuh playing one goal come orf and 10 min elapse or a goal just score.
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on February 12, 2008, 08:44:12 AM
Fall Baaack!!!- said usually when a defender is left alone to holdtwo or more attackers

I not running your shit - usually said by the last man whenan attacker fails to score

Is de boots !! - the excuse an attacker gives when he throw away or if any player make a bad pass

do tek it so - when an attacker outplays another player with a wonderful display of skill

what is dat brown ting on yuh leg? - siad to the player who is doing real sh!t

ah in next/ my side next - an indication to theother teams that one particular side has dibs on the next match

shut up and play de game nah man - the game tends to have on player who talks excessively; these words are usually said to him
Post by: kiffysmooth on February 12, 2008, 08:47:57 AM
I doh know bout car is.......................IRON! (when ah car passing through de sweat)

"Measure dah post over"  - when yuh making goal post with big stone or sneakers and men trying to inch it smaller dan de next one

"Too high" - when yuh playing big stone goal post yuh hadda keep yuh shot on de ground.

"First team to score johzee staying on" - playing to see who goh play skins

"Last goal raid" - when yuh playing slack ene slack out and de ten minute period almost up

"yuh goh come on for me in ah lil bit" - when yuh trying to tell ah man he cyah really make de team, but he doh know yuh not really coming off

"somebody run ah lines" - yuh trying to hint to de shittiest man dat it have odder wuk for him

"yuh aint see dah shot wha hit de post" - ah shithong's biggest glory.  dey rather see deyself hit de post to talk bout it whole day, dan to score.  Someting bout hitting de post does make dem feel special...but nobody doh ever remember it

"ah furs" - odderwise known as ah cap

"Ball mah lion" - usually said when ah man make ah perfect pass

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on February 12, 2008, 08:49:25 AM

C A R !!!

That was a regular in Woodbrook when we use to play in the road on Luis St.

one yuh does hear plenty of is

"EH!!! Who bring that man boy?" Said to the general sweat when ah new man playing and he is real shit

"Eh, meh boy, take ah lil thing in the back nuh" Said to the man who striking and doing utter sh!t by a better player who defending
Post by: dinho on February 12, 2008, 08:56:53 AM
de word "EH" is probably the most used word in a sweat... often used multiple times over in de same sentence..

eg.  "eh... eh... knock meh... eh..... ah gone... eh.. eh.... doh take it so.. eh"
Post by: grskywalker on February 12, 2008, 09:40:43 AM
"maradona ( or any big player) pass the ppl and them ball nah"

"look is best i stay home yes"- when the sweat just go shitty

'PASS THE F..ING BALL"- dont need to say more

Post by: grskywalker on February 12, 2008, 09:44:18 AM
DOWN THE LINE is usually just shouted as LIIINE!!! ;D
HEEL!- When you are in the perfect position for a backheel from the man on the ball
Post by: fivers on February 12, 2008, 10:57:46 AM
You foot need ah compass - This means a player is always off target when trying to pass the ball or when trying to score. :)
Post by: saga pinto on February 12, 2008, 11:18:27 AM

C A R !!!

That was a regular in Woodbrook when we use to play in the road on Luis St.

one yuh does hear plenty of is

"EH!!! Who bring that man boy?" Said to the general sweat when ah new man playing and he is real shit

"Eh, meh boy, take ah lil thing in the back nuh" Said to the man who striking and doing utter sh!t by a better player who defending

Ah remember men saying car doh wear plaster paris.........
Post by: slates on February 12, 2008, 11:27:46 AM
kick in ah block - when yuh shoot as ah another man come with ah hard tackle

captain america shield - when ah man could real screen it, use his body to shield the ball

dat shot (shirt) missin buttons - when ah man hit ah real weak shot

you is Dino Zoff or what - small goal and ah man standing up in the goal like a keeper

he take yuh mate - when ah man push de ball thru another man legs

put mi off nah - when yuh try to sub ah so-called bad man

de man have la-glee on he foot - when ah man have real control and de ball seem to stick to his foot

buss de onion bag - small goal and onion bags used in place of net
Post by: maxg on February 12, 2008, 11:32:49 AM
"time, time"
"Morgenthaler" - abortionist
"doh fraid" - man markin yuh, buh yuh still want the pass
"hyo, dah posey full"
"ah wide open, man" - everybody always free after the other guy do tata
"dah man poopsin"
"Nice"
"Loser buy"
"Doh try dat"
"dah iz yuh daddie"
"next"
Post by: dinho on February 15, 2008, 01:44:34 PM
this one will require an entire generation of trinidadians to die off before yuh cant hear it in a sweat again....

yuh put down ah ALIBEY boy! - when yuh throw way an easy goal