Sports => Football => Topic started by: Touches on February 19, 2008, 01:22:33 PM

Title: Are the High Price of Boots Worth it?
Post by: Touches on February 19, 2008, 01:22:33 PM
Forumites,

When watching big players on TV they sport usually the "bess boots" at the time and they are personalised with a number, initials etc.

Now there was a point in time $100 US would be real expensive for a boots but now that is cheap.

Imagine the kinda gold/bronze boot worn by Ronaldo et al is $300 US.

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/300/280841.JPG)

Soccer.Com (http://www.soccer.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Merchant_Id=1&Section_Id=1&pcount=&Product_Id=313009)

What this boot have in it to make it cost so much?

I know it have a plastic coating on it...so when it brand new the ball does stick to it so yuh could, trap and curl a ball better but still...once yuh shitty, that cyar help yuh.

Then this puma and Adidas is $199 each

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/300/101455.JPG)  (http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/300/019997.JPG)

Boot Prices (http://www.soccer.com/)

Geez,

Title: Re: Are the High Price of Boots Worth it?
Post by: Daft Trini on February 19, 2008, 01:26:49 PM
No... ;D

I was having this same discussion with a friend of mine this weekend bredda...

Is ridiculous, but the orange one is made of Carbon fiber that moulds to your foot...

In the end the Copas are the most enduring... and all dem fancy boots doh improve yuh skillz...

and men often breaking dey foot in dem nikes...
Post by: RedDevils on February 19, 2008, 01:30:05 PM
dais why all de boots that pros wear also have a cheaper version so people can afford it........
Post by: RGarcia on February 19, 2008, 01:31:29 PM
As a player i think that technology comes with price. also its has something to do with believeing in that technology. i think that the price is worth the boots and because you get it lighter and it give you that frame of mind where you believe it helps your game. this all goes away after you first back cross or pass and your coach(collegefor me) yells at you and curse. but all in all i will definitely purchasea $200 boots cause i think it works for me.  ;)
Post by: Observer on February 19, 2008, 01:36:44 PM
All dem thing is marketing shit. Pure rubbish.
I don't know how many of you followed the story in Basketball world concerning the shoes sworn by Stephon Marbury.
The man bring out a $15.oo basketball sneakers that he wearing in the League. He said its madness that kids are being asked to pay hundreads of dollars for sneakers.

All kind of experts cut up the shoes and have supported the fact that they are as good as anything made by Nike or Adidas.
Marbury laugh because he got them made by the same factory as Nike and them in China.
Post by: Daft Trini on February 19, 2008, 01:36:58 PM
As a player i think that technology comes with price. also its has something to do with believeing in that technology. i think that the price is worth the boots and because you get it lighter and it give you that frame of mind where you believe it helps your game. this all goes away after you first back cross or pass and your coach(collegefor me) yells at you and curse. but all in all i will definitely purchasea $200 boots cause i think it works for me.  ;)

I'll support that on your premise, because of who you are.... ;D

I remember when the first Predators came out in the 90's... I believed in the fin technology, I felt that i could not make a bad cross, pass, back heel or shot... de ugliest boot ever made but sure was a confidence booster... made me train and play more also...
Post by: Touches on February 19, 2008, 01:41:25 PM
Now from my little readings, the price and value of an item is reflective of three things.

1) Functional/Cost value

2) Emotive Value

3) Self Worth Value

I feel functionally it cost bout $20 to make, and to protect and serve yuh foot and grip the ground that will give about 10$ more.

In terms of emotion I think the feeling you get from owning one and putting it on yuh foot and stepping out worth bout 50$

I think the self worth value...i.e. the feeling you get from others..when they see you and the envy is what makes up the rest of the price.

$300 ent worth it atall...That boots should cost $60US max.

Personally I like a simple boot.

Also I cyar play in plastic boots...I prefer Leather so Puma King and Copas are my speed. Plus my foot narrow so Nikes too big in the toe box and heel for me.

Right now this boot real appealing but I cyar pay $125US to run in Presidents and Savannah. The kinda Orange Clay mud we have down here...that does dinge anything.

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/661806.JPG) (http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/661806.FW18.JPG)
(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/661806.FW25.JPG)
Post by: Daft Trini on February 19, 2008, 01:43:24 PM
All dem thing is marketing shit. Pure rubbish.
I don't know how many of you followed the story in Basketball world concerning the shoes sworn by Stephon Marbury.
The man bring out a $15.oo basketball sneakers that he wearing in the League. He said its madness that kids are being asked to pay hundreads of dollars for sneakers.

All kind of experts cut up the shoes and have supported the fact that they are as good as anything made by Nike or Adidas.
Marbury laugh because he got them made by the same factory as Nike and them in China.

In an economics class I took in college, in a product analysis of the then Jordans estimated cost $ 125:00 retail, we discovered the same shoe was actually worth $ 33:00, taking into consideration, that the vietnamese rubber, chinese man made materials, assembly in the Philippines, marketing and shipping  it would cost you a difference of $ 92:00 profit.. for retailer and Nike to share...

But there is some improvement in these shoes in sport technology and should help... as they convince you it should... but skills is always a requirement... and does not come retail  ;D
Post by: Andre on February 19, 2008, 01:49:56 PM
i never spend more that $100 US on a pair of boots.

the best ever that i've had is the classic adidas beckenbauer's. buy them in 98 and they still usable. i doh use them too much though as i move on to the $90/mid range predators since.

i try nike but never like them.

i hear puma is make good shoe.

i do feel shoe is affect yuh game but shoody shoe could contribute to injury due to lack of suppport and blisters.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on February 19, 2008, 01:55:37 PM
at the end of the day Adidas and Nike have to pay R9, R10, David Beckham and C Ronaldo to wear said boots and dem fellas does call real money.

So the $300 does not reflect the true cost of the boots and a lil mark up but the marketing cost of the boots.

All dem bess ad we does see with Ronaldo running down Veyron and R10 pinging ball off post does cost money to make and as the consumer we have to bare the cost.

Dem sneakers Marbury wearing the only reason I ever hear bout dat is becuase it had an article in a mag no an ad but an article, That therefore mean that if I did not read the article and jes skim through the mag like most people I would've never seen it.

There is something to be said for research and development of new boots though. I personally find Copas while durable are uncomfortable. Give me an Adidas F50 or Nike Vapor any day. My only complaint with new boots is that when yuh get mash yuh does feel it not so much with a copa probably. 
Post by: Mose on February 19, 2008, 02:01:56 PM
Granted that if you look only at the manufacturing and shipping costs, the boots should cost a lot less than the advertised prices. However, I think we should also take into consideration the cost of the research that goes into the technology used in the boots. Companies like Nike and adidas spend millions on that and they have to recoup it, hence the initially high price of many of these boots.

Nevertheless, I'm pretty sure they're still overpriced. But as I often tell people. These companies will charge what the market will bear. Ask yuhself dis: if you selling a shoe fuh $500 and it selling out, yuh go drop de price?
Post by: Bianconeri on February 19, 2008, 02:33:22 PM
dem fancy boots not good for trini grounds.

ya gonna get more headache with ya feet than anything.
real pain.
ESPECIALLY from nike boots. I always seeing fellas buyin d newest nike, like the vapour for example, and it is known to give blisters but they still gettin it and playin in pain and not gettin a full life from the boots..

cannot go wrong with a Copa or a adidas...Adidas have the most durable and suitable boots for trini

puma and nike too soft and delicate
Post by: pardners on February 19, 2008, 02:35:48 PM
I went in a sports store in Philly last year...South St for fellas in the area....the owner was selling a pair of collector's item Jordan sneakers.  It was priced at US$1200, but ah beat him down to $1000 and he say he not moving from dey.  He claimed that the sneakers (which was wrapped in glad wrap) had actual gold inside it.  I couldn't verify that, nor was I going to pay that much for it anyway, cause I would not have been able to show people the gold inside unless ah take off the shoe.

The shoes I sweat with in we small sweat the other day cost me $150.00...TT  ;D
...and Morvant was only able to get one past mih  ;D
Post by: dinho on February 19, 2008, 03:06:04 PM
i like buying boots off Final Score which is basically a discount site for Eastbay...

Not paying more than $70 for a boots or sneakers for that matter...

but if yuh think the price of dem boots amazing, wha yuh go say for dem clima-cool jerseys??

i can just picture the marketing exec who came up with the idea to make jerseys out of the least raw material imaginable and market it as some futuristic 'moisture-wicking' technology shit.. and then sell said jerseys at premium prices..

Man bonus must be fat!
Post by: kicker on February 19, 2008, 04:44:05 PM
There is something to be said for research and development of new boots though. I personally find Copas while durable are uncomfortable.

There is a range of copas with differing leather types. The most expensive one is really soft and comfortable.....Copas are generally made for people with skinny feet though.
Post by: Deeks on February 19, 2008, 04:55:42 PM
The price of an item is worth what you are willing to pay for it. If it cost 300.00 and we are willing to pay 300.00, then that the price. If we don't want to pay that amount and then the merchant drop the price to 150.00 and then we buy it. Then 150 is the price. Econ. 101.
Post by: Observer on February 19, 2008, 05:00:13 PM
People are idots when it comes to all this shit. Is the same with replica shirts for 80 - 120 dollars. Imagine I had on a Barca away shirt from 2005, ah man see the shirt. He say is a long time I looking for that because he collects shirts.  Ill give you $75,00 now, I say nah I pay $120. He say ok I'll give you $100.00. Then I had to tell him I'll give him the shirt. So I gave him without explaination. The truth is I pay $10.00 in Mexico. It have everything even the CL tag on the side.
Me for one eh buying nutten so. research will tell you all football boot soles are made by just two companies. etc etc. Man right most players don't buy boots because of the fit, comfort etc,  they buying because of popularity. The Vapor boots mash up nuff man foot, yet youths wearing it talking about it does look good.

No boots doh make yuh play better, bend ball, shoot harder. pass better nutten so. People who believe that are SUCKERS.
Post by: Deeks on February 19, 2008, 05:06:02 PM
I hate coloured boots. Black or nothing else.
Post by: Dutty on February 19, 2008, 05:55:12 PM
(http://www.moshoes.com/prodImages/MM10046r.jpg)

(http://www.moshoes.com/prodImages/Mez3024f.jpg)

(http://www.moshoes.com/prodImages/MM10229h.jpg)

Post by: Big Magician on February 19, 2008, 07:01:53 PM
ahhh deekes....is only black boots fuh me too....

ah time i rushing down de road to sweat and i notice my boots in the car with the front open up....so i rush in a sport store and could only get a fancy blue ting in my size nah....
man ah buy it cause ah tusty fuh ah sweat....ah feel shame laceing up dat ting on the pavement....ah wear it twice and buy a black and white copa....

talking bout dat....ah need ah new one soon ....when is fathers day ??...small maggggg
Post by: freakazoid on February 19, 2008, 07:09:03 PM
long live bolt
Post by: Tha G. on February 19, 2008, 07:58:15 PM
I say if ah man want to pay $200 $ 300 fuh ah pair of boots let him pay it, ah mean, I will buy it if an can afford it, but look how long man buying Air jordan In T&T fuh $200 us and eh playing no friggin basketball.
Post by: Daft Trini on February 19, 2008, 09:23:52 PM
Blame de whole coloured booth thing on Enzo Schifo... he use to be ah beast in dem red diadoras.
Post by: RGarcia on February 20, 2008, 07:21:50 AM
Blame de whole coloured booth thing on Enzo Schifo... he use to be ah beast in dem red diadoras.
i say blame Cornell Glen!! ;D ;D :beermug:
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on February 20, 2008, 07:42:33 AM
long live bolt

personally as a defender i prefer mitre, damage real man in meh mitres

but fot real guys de profit dey does mek pun dem boots too much. I bought ah pair of starburys (Stevem Marburys shoe) last year fuih $14 and it going jsut as good as me adidas. Bought it almost same time as meh vans and meh vans going. so what ah spendind all dat money for when ah cud get a cheap shoes just as good.

so meh next boots going and be ah mitre fuh bout 150 TT
Post by: JDB on February 20, 2008, 08:00:42 AM
The shoes I sweat with in we small sweat the other day cost me $150.00...TT  ;D
...and Morvant was only able to get one past mih  ;D

I feel we buy the same boots.

I get a $200 gift certificate from Francis when I was home for Christmas and went and buy a Umbro for $200.00.

It had round pegs and stiching on the bottom so I don't need much more for a part-time sweat.

I hate coloured boots. Black or nothing else.

I with yuh all the way.

Nothing but black. I am also not interested in anything with a blade or whatever fancy pegs they have.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on February 20, 2008, 08:28:06 AM
dem fancy boots not good for trini grounds.

ya gonna get more headache with ya feet than anything.
real pain.
ESPECIALLY from nike boots. I always seeing fellas buyin d newest nike, like the vapour for example, and it is known to give blisters but they still gettin it and playin in pain and not gettin a full life from the boots..

cannot go wrong with a Copa or a adidas...Adidas have the most durable and suitable boots for trini

puma and nike too soft and delicate

yuh talking lala

yuh feel when Nike or Adidas make a boots they does say well this is only for European ground or this is only for Bermuda grass and not Hasley Crawford Stadium grass with all the sand throw on it.

Every individual's foot is different, so some boots will fit differently than others. They are players who believe in Copa's I personally never got one to fit me properly and I find they are too heavy.

I had the first Vapor and I never had a problem and it lasted a good while, no blisters, no pain.

Now if yuh tell meh that in April when the ground hard and is only nut grass then NO boots go be good enough, weather it's the $200 ones or the $75 ones. Yuh would have to get a turfs and I cyah play in turfs neither because I will be sliding and falling down whole day.
Post by: GunnerStunner on February 20, 2008, 08:37:48 AM
can't beat ah pair of copas, but get a proper fitting first, my pair i bout half size smaller when i shoulda bought is a whole size smaller

i personally prefer leather anyday, brands that provide accurate sizing, nike, adidas, puma

also my fav boot manufacturers, although i miss and stil looking for a pair of lanzeras? anyone?
Post by: dinho on February 20, 2008, 08:51:40 AM
from what i've seen, from the time you don't see the words 'synthetic leather' in the boot description then the price goes up exponentially...

Some of those synthetic leather boots does be too hard and plasticy, but I always like how the Total 90s does trap a football.. First time i sweat with that my game went up by about a 25%.. I find that is the best median between quality and price cause you could get one for reasonable...

At the end of the day, i think even though boots expensive, if you are a serious footballer by trade, then it is an investment much the same as a carpenter or mechanic would invest heavily in the tools of the trade..

All depends on how much value you place on it. Nothing ent wrong in splurging out on something that will give a significant return on investment in terms of satisfaction..
Post by: WestCoast on February 20, 2008, 08:58:00 AM
from what i've seen, from the time you don't see the words "synthetic leather" in the boot description then the price goes up exponentially...
occasionally they use a different term
"Man Made Leather" ::)
Post by: GunnerStunner on February 20, 2008, 10:17:04 AM
hahah

25% nice improvement lol

i don't like the "scale dong" version of the top line boots, all the manufacturers do it

nike murcurial, t 90 laser, ledgend
adidas predator, and lower end copa-likes
the difference in quality is soemtimes even visual

i say invest properly buy for where you play, turfs for turf hard gorund etc, and clean n care for your boots and they will last, especially the higher end ones, but don't expect a 100-300 us dollar boots to stand up to savanah and fete match sweat, with teemaire, nut grass, gravel, big stone, and wlaking over concrete n shite to get to the pitch.

first thing as a youth yuh always taught keep yuh boots in topnotch

then if you can stretch ah boots 3-4 seasons yuh done pay for itself already

my copas stiched once already, had them 5 years now, looking to get ah new pair preferably the anniversary edition in a size 9 even though i wear a 10

Post by: GunnerStunner on February 20, 2008, 10:18:44 AM
and given my style of play a boots like ah predators or nike murcurial would be flashy n pretensious

but i also looking hard at the nike T90 laser
Post by: Touches on February 20, 2008, 10:31:26 AM
Yuh must buy 2 boots and rotate.

I had two pairs of Puma King...the black classic with the bottom like a Copa and the white one with the blades. Both of them Kangaroo leather.

They were about 114$ US but because I was wukking in a football store I get them for $50 each.

That was in 2001.

The black one buss the other day and I use the white one in the warrior nation sweat the other day. I use that boot right tru.

I bought both of them a 1/2 size small wet them, and stretch them out, till they moulded perfectly to my feet.

You must not beat out any tugs, I sweat 4-5 days a week, both dry and wet season and after yuh sweat yuh must take the boots, run it under a pipe and with a small brush take off any excess mud.

Let it air dry but dont put it in sun.

Finally a lil coat of Dubbin every 2 weeks or so does keep yuh boots good and waterproof and the leather sorf and nice.

If yuh sweat tuesday, rotate and wear the other boot wed, and bring it back out thursday.

So right now is a Copa and the white Puma I rotating. But the Puma on its last life...it lorse about 8 already. If anything I go call another Copa. I was lucky and get the 25 Anniversary edition for 400tt on sale in Sports World...it was 1200.

Post by: GunnerStunner on February 20, 2008, 10:36:01 AM
Yuh must buy 2 boots and rotate.

I had two pairs of Puma King...the black classic with the bottom like a Copa and the white one with the blades. Both of them Kangaroo leather.

They were about 114$ US but because I was wukking in a football store I get them for $50 each.

That was in 2001.

The black one buss the other day and I use the white one in the warrior nation sweat the other day. I use that boot right tru.

I bought both of them a 1/2 size small wet them, and stretch them out, till they moulded perfectly to my feet.

You must not beat out any tugs, I sweat 4-5 days a week, both dry and wet season and after yuh sweat yuh must take the boots, run it under a pipe and with a small brush take off any excess mud.

Let it air dry but dont put it in sun.

Finally a lil coat of Dubbin every 2 weeks or so does keep yuh boots good and waterproof and the leather sorf and nice.

If yuh sweat tuesday, rotate and wear the other boot wed, and bring it back out thursday.

So right now is a Copa and the white Puma I rotating. But the Puma on its last life...it lorse about 8 already. If anything I go call another Copa. I was lucky and get the 25 Anniversary edition for 400tt on sale in Sports World...it was 1200.

no effin way
dat is ah steal!
Post by: Coop's on February 20, 2008, 11:40:05 AM
People are idots when it comes to all this shit. Is the same with replica shirts for 80 - 120 dollars. Imagine I had on a Barca away shirt from 2005, ah man see the shirt. He say is a long time I looking for that because he collects shirts.  Ill give you $75,00 now, I say nah I pay $120. He say ok I'll give you $100.00. Then I had to tell him I'll give him the shirt. So I gave him without explaination. The truth is I pay $10.00 in Mexico. It have everything even the CL tag on the side.
Me for one eh buying nutten so. research will tell you all football boot soles are made by just two companies. etc etc. Man right most players don't buy boots because of the fit, comfort etc,  they buying because of popularity. The Vapor boots mash up nuff man foot, yet youths wearing it talking about it does look good.

No boots doh make yuh play better, bend ball, shoot harder. pass better nutten so. People who believe that are SUCKERS.
       :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
            Well said.
Post by: Touches on February 20, 2008, 12:08:04 PM

I always like how the Total 90s does trap a football.. First time i sweat with that my game went up by about a 25%.

Hrmmm Interesting
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 20, 2008, 12:22:39 PM
A lotta men does buy a bess brands and feel confident dey game go improve to superstar status once dey step out on the field.  Sadly for most, dat confidence does ebb faster than low tide down Staubles Bay once dey (again) mis-trap dey first ball after steppin' out wit dey fancy nike vapid vapour and mercurial or whatever.  Like some of de old-skool players above, gimme a classic black and white copa or a World Cup or the old Puma king or the all-black puma rubbers. 
Post by: dinho on February 20, 2008, 01:41:04 PM
Nah man, ah want to pour some water on de men who discounting the impact that a good pair of boots could have on one's game...

Firstly, some boots are much less prohibitive to a person's running.. I find the blade technology pegs does enable a player to run much faster and more comfortably but still maintain the traction of normal pegs on firm ground... If you feel more comfortable running, obviously its a plus to your game.

Then some boots just naturally enable you to trap the ball and run with it so much more easily.. Sometimes when you trap a ball with a new pair of boots, it feels so easy, that you can try alot of things with the ball that you wouldn't normally do.. Technically there is improvement, and then your confidence in your ball control increases thus improving your overall game...

I don't find boots make much difference in shooting in terms of improving power and swerve but i am not a demon-hitting man myself.. Maybe someone else can weigh in...

Point is, even marginally, the better the quality of the boots, the bigger impact it will have on your overall game...

Which is why in a sport where at the highest level, where even the most minute factors could make a difference, technology is being innovate to get players one up on the competition.
Post by: ttcom on February 20, 2008, 03:45:27 PM
Remember all them boots made in china or Taiwan cost 15.00US. The markup is what's killing people.
Post by: WestCoast on February 20, 2008, 04:15:34 PM
It is sounding like some men come like super heroes when there strap on their boots.
Lightening does strike and birds does scatter, and they go out on the field ready to take on anyone....taa daarr ;D ;D
Post by: Touches on February 20, 2008, 04:26:22 PM
Big Mag and Deeks

I sure alyuh watch Champions League today...Imagine in the ManU game is only bout 4 men had on black boots and one was the referee  ;D

It look like White and Silver is the new Black.

Funny eh.

Post by: FATZ on February 21, 2008, 02:22:26 AM
What determines the cost of boots these days are generally materials used to make it, technology put in for comfort and the weight. Then there's the fact of which player wears the boot to actually play that sends the price up a bit as well. I'm sure that no player in Trinidad without a sponsor will actually pay upwards of US$100 for a boots and well upwards of US$200 in Europe or the US. But in the end it might worth paying the money because the more expensive boots may actually last longer.
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 21, 2008, 04:51:44 AM
 Actually they are quite worth it...However the better question is If they are required for everyone?...Some of us like myself play for recreation and exercise and a expensive boot with features great touch and may give me a slight edge may not necessarily be needed...However that is not to say I wouldn't want that from time to time...and if I can afford it ...why not....People that play on a more competitive level...like for school teams, clubs and country and so on may need every bit of advantage they can get ...That Mecurial Boots(R9 inspired by the way) is a boot made for speed and control at high speed ...now it not going to gift a player that but if a player has pace and good control he can appreciate it better....and at them high levels.....0.01 seconds which the boot might enable a player might win a game....millions of euros right there...so I think in the grand scheme of things it worth it
Post by: WestCoast on February 21, 2008, 05:23:46 AM
what dis fellas is wearing (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsO6D1rwrKc)  ;)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on February 21, 2008, 08:16:00 AM
what dis fellas is wearing (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsO6D1rwrKc)  ;)

dem R10's bad

not a big fan of leather boots but that leather nice and sorf
Post by: Marcos on February 21, 2008, 08:44:23 AM
All the people talking about the R&D that goes into these boots are correct. NIke has to recover all the money they put into designing and researching all the aspects of the material, coating etc..
Pharmaceutical and technology companies do the same thing. You really think an intel chip or a viagra cost much? I don't know about the chips, but I definitely know that the drugs cost mere cents to manufacture but the pharmaceutical companies spend hundreds of millions to design and test the drug. These companies need to charge high prices.

Plus, they need to keep spending these R&D dollars to come out with the "next" thing because after a few years the patent runs out and is realllllllllllllllllllllllllll imitators jumping in to make a generic version.

Post by: Observer on February 21, 2008, 09:40:54 AM
Understand something, the boot Ronaldinho, Beckham, Kaka, and all of them wear is not what is sold in stores. These players receive boots made to their specifications, through foot scans etc. What is actually sold is a mass produced replica of that shoe. This is nothing new, as it was done for Pele by Puma due to the fact that Pele had flat feet. The cost of developing individual shoes for each athlete is very expensive (as others have indicated) and cost need to be offset through mass sales..
Post by: GunnerStunner on February 21, 2008, 05:25:43 PM
does ah bess boots mae yuh butt ah ball better?

ask adebayor:D
Post by: Fyzoman on February 22, 2008, 09:14:31 AM
every time ah see ah expensive boots ah does wonder how much more goal de ole Pele woulda score if he had dem instead.
ah was ah Copa man until ah buy de first Ronaldinho(red/white) some years ago....i just buy the ALL BLACK Adidas 7406, i sweat a few times indoor, yuh know one set ah man saying dey want one too, they like the ALL BLACK "Kangaroo Leather".
Post by: Peong on February 22, 2008, 09:54:02 AM
Understand something, the boot Ronaldinho, Beckham, Kaka, and all of them wear is not what is sold in stores. These players receive boots made to their specifications, through foot scans etc. What is actually sold is a mass produced replica of that shoe.

So because it have a custom shape that makes it a different shoe?
I disagree.
Post by: Touches on May 21, 2008, 09:36:21 AM
Alyuh watch the latest money theif ting from Adidas

The whole soleing and back of the boot is See tru..

350 US for this fella

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/148268.FP29.JPG)

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/148268.JPG)

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/148268.FP53.JPG)

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/148268.FP43.JPG)

(http://www.soccer.com/Images/Catalog/ProductImages/600/148268.FP66.JPG)
Post by: superoli on May 21, 2008, 09:40:28 AM
gosh man I have to go and buy a next pair of f50's.............dam ::)
Post by: Deeks on May 21, 2008, 04:30:26 PM
At my age now, I will say it's not worth it. But When you are a youth into SERIOUS football, off course you want the latest. But everybody knows that it is not the boots, but it is the skills that the player has.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 21, 2008, 04:35:58 PM

350 US for this fella

....so dem men who doh lotion dey foot and does be wearin' a setta leg-warmers fuh socks hadda watch dey self den?   
Post by: giggsy11 on June 13, 2008, 08:42:36 PM

350 US for this fella

....so dem men who doh lotion dey foot and does be wearin' a setta leg-warmers fuh socks hadda watch dey self den?   

LOl! Wah happen yuh talkin from experience oh wat? LOL! The coconut oil aint takin?
Post by: elan on June 13, 2008, 09:15:06 PM
NO boots can improve your game, it may be more comfortable for you, but it cannot improve your technique. If you ah shyte hound then you ah shyte hound no $300 boots changing that. These expensive boots are for those players who are exceptional and looking for the edge. We who playing college and sweating really cannot benefit or appreciate these kind of expensive boots. I not paying more than $20 (I wearing copas) for a pair of boots.

Remember when you could not wear a pair of coloured boots to play, worst yet a white pair. The white boots only stars could wear that. I remember men losing they white boots cause they were not good enough to wear them. Now every body wearing coloured boots.
Post by: breezers on June 14, 2008, 01:26:54 AM
I believe dey worth it!! But is all about wuh stage yuh in..it go be ah different scenario fuh everybody..cuz if ah fella jus wuh ah boots tuh sweat on evenings or play sunday league or in de minor league home he mightn't wanna spend de coil tuh get the real boots. But if ah fella wanna play more serious football and thinkin bout goin pro he might treat heself nice with de better quality boots cuz he might wanna do everything in he power tuh improve he trade...cuz look at it dis way..de difference between ah serious tradesman and ah mickey mouse tradesman is de serious one does have he tools and the best ones too while the mickey mouse one lookin tuh borrow..lol. So as ah baller if yuh want de best technological tools on the market..yuh hadda pay de cost..no 2 ways bout it!
Post by: giggsy11 on June 14, 2008, 09:44:03 AM
NO boots can improve your game, it may be more comfortable for you, but it cannot improve your technique. If you ah shyte hound then you ah shyte hound no $300 boots changing that. These expensive boots are for those players who are exceptional and looking for the edge. We who playing college and sweating really cannot benefit or appreciate these kind of expensive boots. I not paying more than $20 (I wearing copas) for a pair of boots.

Remember when you could not wear a pair of coloured boots to play, worst yet a white pair. The white boots only stars could wear that. I remember men losing they white boots cause they were not good enough to wear them. Now every body wearing coloured boots.

LOL!  I agree. If you are an unskilled labourer, you are an unskill labourer! I thnk is mind over matter when men/woman pull it on.  Yuh even have professional sh!thounds wearing coloured boots.
Post by: Tha G. on June 14, 2008, 09:53:47 AM
Howmuch men puttin on air jordan, and cyah play basketball....... if man want to laceup pretty boots.let them.
Post by: g on June 14, 2008, 10:38:26 AM
To me, quality comes at the end of the sweat.... I used to go low grade, but after d sweat is one set a blister on meh foot.

Kangaroo leather boots is d way to go. I got the cheapest ever k-leather boots when i was in d states. $20US for a kelme.... That one last about 5 years cause i used to sweat on a turf field so it was less wear

Now is d profi liga adidas.. Dat boots is d best. It as light as a vapor but very durable with d kinda surfaces it have down here..

Yea constant maintenace is a must...
Post by: Daft Trini on June 14, 2008, 11:50:30 AM
I sweating in Umbro SX Valor and I eh miss a penalty yet... so is not the boot is the player  :rotfl:
Post by: john_public on June 14, 2008, 04:45:35 PM
i agree de to expensive, just thurs i pay £28 for a boots, dats my kinda range   :beermug: