Sports => Football => Topic started by: Cartman on February 22, 2008, 06:40:08 AM

Title: Redknapp: Kenwyne is the next Drogba.
Post by: Cartman on February 22, 2008, 06:40:08 AM
Pompey boss: Kenwyne is the next Drogba.
By: Sunderland Echo.

Harry Redknapp has described Sunderland's Kenwyne Jones as the new Didier Drogba. And the Portsmouth boss says taming the Black Cats striker this weekend is the key to Pompey continuing their surge towards European qualification.

Redknapp watched as Jones gave his defence a battering in the 2-0 loss at the Stadium of Light last month. The Trinidad and Tobago international has been a revelation on Wearside this season following his £6m summer move from Southampton.

He has helped himself to six goals and given teams a torrid time with his brute strength and power. Redknapp says he see similarities between Jones and Chelsea striker Drogba, with both men possessing the ability to terrorise defences.

The Pompey boss worked with Jones while at Southampton, and knew then he had the assets to make it at the highest level.

He said: "Kenwyne Jones is a threat and I've been impressed with him. "He's a fantastic athlete with a great leap and terrific spring and he caused us problems at the Stadium of Light.

"I've seen him batter a lot of defenders this season. I worked with him at Southampton. He was a player you would be scared to sell unless it was for big money.

"I thought this could be one which comes back to haunt you. He needed to be more aggressive in his play but it seems like the penny is dropping with him. "He could be the new Didier Drogba. That's not impossible. "He's a real handful."

Redknapp also believes Sunderland boss Roy Keane is someone heading to the top of the management tree. He reckons the former Manchester United hero's presence means his side will win their fight to stay in the Premier League this season.

And he lauded his success in getting Jones to fulfil his potential. Redknapp said: "I thought Kenwyne had everything needed to be a top, top player.

"It was all there – but I didn't know whether he'd put it all together. "He was relaxed and I didn't know if he was capable of getting out of that laid-back mode of his, but he's pushed on.

"He has got it all though, believe you me. "Look at him. He has the lot and Roy Keane has managed to get that out of him.

"He should be a top player and I think he is showing that now. "A lot of it is probably confidence. Roy is pushing him and pushing him, and he probably realises what he can achieve now."
Title: Re: Redknapp talks about Kenwynne
Post by: palos on February 22, 2008, 06:50:42 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 22, 2008, 06:56:04 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY
How many was he scoring at Kenwyne's age at a lower level of football?
Post by: Themanfriday on February 22, 2008, 06:59:24 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY

He has a supporting cast too. Boy why men here jess like tuh pull down dey own  ??? ??? Ah guess Palos know more about football players skill and potential dan Harry Redknapp and dem other managers dat saying de same thing :-\.

Even de New trini coach act like he never seen ah player as good like kenwyne Jones after de friendly. But men here ..................... dey always know better.

Ah guess T&T could never produce something or someone that is de best in de workd. ::)
Post by: Cartman on February 22, 2008, 07:06:15 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY

It's not just about scoring goals mate, he is a team player who creates chances for his team. His all round play in phenominal, remember he is playing in a team which has struggled near the bottom of the league all season. He is our best player by far both up front and at the back defending free kickes and corners.

Post by: pass(10trini) on February 22, 2008, 07:16:05 AM
I had to read over the article to understand a bit what others been disagreeing about. Redknapp just saying that he has the abilities, potential to be a very good player. And I guess to call Drogba is just to help people grasp his conviction. As we alll know what damage Drogba does out there on the field.
Post by: andre samuel on February 22, 2008, 07:21:08 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY

Kenwyne scored 5 goals and had 9 assists this season so far! A total of 14 goals he had a direct impact on in his first season in the premier league....what more yuh want palos?

Post by: just cool on February 22, 2008, 07:21:51 AM
I had to read over the article to understand a bit what others been disagreeing about. Redknapp just saying that he has the abilities, potential to be a very good player. And I guess to call Drogba is just to help people grasp his conviction. As we alll know what damage Drogba does out there on the field.
Because he play with one of the best clubs in Europe if not the world! if KJ had his service weekly, then you may be able to render a fair assesment.
Post by: samo on February 22, 2008, 07:21:57 AM
I doubt Redknapp & Keane wrong about Kenwyne...I am sure given an opportunity to play with quality players he will shine... Look at Yorke... People used to say Yorke doh play good for T&T??? But same as Kenwyne, he did not have the caliber of players around him to show his full potential...
Post by: truetrini on February 22, 2008, 07:27:13 AM
I doubt Redknapp & Keane wrong about Kenwyne...I am sure given an opportunity to play with quality players he will shine... Look at Yorke... People used to say Yorke doh play good for T&T??? But same as Kenwyne, he did not have the caliber of players around him to show his full potential...

I don't think it is the calibre of players as much as the WILL and the professional attitude to succeed!

Jones has the potential to be as good as Drogba...the potential, until he starts to score more goals, he will jes have de potential.

That said he creates many opportunities for his team mates as well as makes defence men tizic.

So he is good...but not yet great.

Post by: Sandboy on February 22, 2008, 07:38:59 AM
he's looked fantastic in a pretty shit team

I only hope I get the chance to see him surrounded by good players in red and white
( and Sunderland, not Man Utd )
Post by: saga pinto on February 22, 2008, 07:46:47 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY
How many was he scoring at Kenwyne's age at a lower level of football?

Great point!
Post by: saga pinto on February 22, 2008, 07:47:27 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY

He has a supporting cast too. Boy why men here jess like tuh pull down dey own  ??? ??? Ah guess Palos know more about football players skill and potential dan Harry Redknapp and dem other managers dat saying de same thing :-\.

Even de New trini coach act like he never seen ah player as good like kenwyne Jones after de friendly. But men here ..................... dey always know better.

Ah guess T&T could never produce something or someone that is de best in de workd. ::)

Also another great point!
Title: Re: Redknapp: Kenwyne is the next Drogba.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 22, 2008, 08:32:15 AM
Sounds like Harry wants him
Post by: redtrinigirl on February 22, 2008, 08:42:23 AM

How does that saying go again.... oh yes. "Too late, too late shall be the cry!"
Post by: sjahrain on February 22, 2008, 08:56:08 AM
First season in the Premier,he belongs when people of standing making such parallels to other more established players
It says to me we have a good player who some day we will be saying he is a or was a great player
Post by: Fyzoman on February 22, 2008, 09:00:53 AM
ah don't know if i is de only one who SOMETIMES does wish dat Sunderland get demoted and Kenwyne get sold? as much as ah want to see Sunderland do well, ah much rather see Kenwyne play on a better team, then yuh ha to study, but what go happen to Carlos?

Can you imagine Kenwyne playing(training everyday)wid Nani/Ronaldo/Scholes/Ferdinand or Terry/Cole/Lampard or the Gunners group?
Post by: duscam on February 22, 2008, 09:25:34 AM
this season
Kenwyne - 5 goals
Drogba- 5 goals
Post by: Midknight on February 22, 2008, 09:36:23 AM
ah don't know if i is de only one who SOMETIMES does wish dat Sunderland get demoted and Kenwyne get sold?

Hull!

Alyuh men real short sighted. Trust me, if Sunderland stay up, KJ stock going to go up even more. And ah don't care what Keane say. If a team come with the kind of money that that performance merit, Kenwyne will be on his way out.

KJ moving up and Sunderland staying up are not completely incompatible.

Here's another scenario. Can you imagine Kenwyne benching everyday behind Tevez/Rooney/Saha Drogba/Shevchenko/Kalou Torres/Crouch(god forbid)/Voronin Adebayor/Van Persie/Walcott  ::)

Everything in its time. When KJ ready to move on not a thing in the world going to stop him...

Post by: samo on February 22, 2008, 09:36:30 AM
Jones has the potential to be as good as Drogba...the potential, until he starts to score more goals, he will jes have de potential.

That said he creates many opportunities for his team mates as well as makes defence men tizic.

So he is good...but not yet great

I agree, especially with the last line
Post by: Mr Mc on February 22, 2008, 09:41:59 AM

sounds like Harry realize he wasnt coach enough to get it out of him.
Post by: Peong on February 22, 2008, 09:44:05 AM
In Drogba's first full season in Ligue 1 he scored 17 goals for Guingamp.
He was 23 or 24.
Next season he went Marseille.
Post by: Midknight on February 22, 2008, 09:47:48 AM

you really trying to compare KJ from before the WC to KJ now ?
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 22, 2008, 10:09:51 AM
He was 23 or 24.
Kenwyne now turn 23 at the end of last year. At Kenwyne age Drogba was still in Ligue 2 at Le Mans. 12 goals over 63 appearances.

"...in January 2002, Didier left Le Mans, to experience Ligue 1 competition for the first time at the age of 24."   

http://www.didierdrogba.com/en/biographie/lemans.asp
Post by: dinho on February 22, 2008, 10:15:50 AM
speak nothing of the fact that the EPL is much more difficult league to score goals in than league 1..

Drogba himself at the peak of his powers and at the best team in the league found that out himself
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 22, 2008, 10:28:49 AM
Drogba scores goals.

REGULARLY

Kenwyne scored 5 goals and had 9 assists this season so far! A total of 14 goals he had a direct impact on in his first season in the premier league....what more yuh want palos?

Well me doh know what Palos want nah...Like he want the man blood or wha....If Trinidadian people is not the greatest I doh know nah...lol
Post by: Mr Mc on February 22, 2008, 11:17:45 AM

you really trying to compare KJ from before the WC to KJ now ?

No Im really trying to say that Harry giving Keane alot of credit for KJ's performances, having coached KJ as well.

Redknapp also believes Sunderland boss Roy Keane is someone heading to the top of the management tree. He reckons the former Manchester United hero's presence means his side will win their fight to stay in the Premier League this season.

And he lauded his success in getting Jones to fulfil his potential. Redknapp said: "I thought Kenwyne had everything needed to be a top, top player.

"It was all there – but I didn't know whether he'd put it all together. "He was relaxed and I didn't know if he was capable of getting out of that laid-back mode of his, but he's pushed on.

"He has got it all though, believe you me. "Look at him. He has the lot and Roy Keane has managed to get that out of him.

"He should be a top player and I think he is showing that now. "A lot of it is probably confidence. Roy is pushing him and pushing him, and he probably realises what he can achieve now."
Post by: palos on February 22, 2008, 11:23:46 AM
Did I say something wrong?

Does Drogba NOT score goals?   REGULARLY?
Post by: Filho on February 22, 2008, 11:26:03 AM
He was 23 or 24.

Doh make sense trying to make such literal comparisons. Someone could always argue that the same Drogba..who cost Chelsea $24 million only scored 10 goals in his first season in the EPL. 10 EPL goals is an acheivable target for kenwyne in his first full EPL season. Plus, KJ cost a lot less, playing for a far less talented team and is younger. Drogba also scored 12 EPL goals the season after. Not exactly prolific numbers and not exactly the point either.

The question is, do you really see KJ developing into the kind of player Drogba is, or of similar quality. Some think so and he seems to have the tools. You see flashes of what a good player he can be and with hard work, good health and a little luck, he looks like he could have an outstanding career. We hadda just enjoy de ride and hope the comparisons have real basis
Post by: Brownsugar on February 22, 2008, 12:27:40 PM
Kenwyne Jones have no right near a Premiership side!!!...IMO 
[/b]

:devil: :devil:
Post by: Storeboy on February 22, 2008, 12:35:35 PM
[/b]

...and Brownsugar is a more knowledgeable football guru than Keane and Rednapp.  So his words make a lot of (non)sense.
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 22, 2008, 12:50:28 PM
[/b]

...and Brownsugar is a more knowledgeable football guru than Keane and Rednapp.  So his words make a lot of (non)sense.
Nah. Dey just hoping for de Adebayor Effect.
Post by: WestCoast on February 22, 2008, 12:55:29 PM
all Brownsugar saying is that, if FLi ! realise that KJ in de EPL, he go come with that title for a thread :devil: :devil:
Post by: Filho on February 22, 2008, 12:58:17 PM
[/b]

Sarcasm Storeboy. Sarcasm. Yuh hadda catch Fli thread about Adebayor to get it  :beermug:
Post by: andre samuel on February 22, 2008, 03:54:06 PM
this season
Kenwyne - 5 goals
Drogba- 5 goals

Palos, take dat in yuh pwefen!!

Does Drogba NOT score goals? REGULARLY?

doh try and pull out now, yuh done get de kenwyne waggonists committee vex already!!

Post by: palos on February 22, 2008, 03:56:16 PM
this season
Kenwyne - 5 goals
Drogba- 5 goals

doh try and pull out now, yuh done get de kenwyne waggonists committee vex already!!

Ah not pullin out a anyting.

Men callin Kenwyne next Drogba and men lappin it up.

Kenwyne has done NOTHING thus far.

Let me repeat....he has done NOTHING.  Nice start, but that's about it.

Because he tall, powerful and black he is de next Drogba?

You ever REALLY see Didier Drogba play?

Steupes.
Post by: TrinInfinite on February 22, 2008, 04:01:45 PM
this season
Kenwyne - 5 goals
Drogba- 5 goals

Steupes.

:rotfl: allyuh men is de bess, palos makin ah good point, kj have real talent but he hasnt dominated the epl as yet to say hes a drogba, tt made a good point also, he has alot of potential but he has to live up to that potential in order to be great, kenwyne need tuh stay humble about it and play hard and improve on his dribbling skills and possession b4 hes claimed as de bess striker in the epl....right now the most potent striker we still have is stern, like it or not... until then kj still have to prove himself..

God is de BOSS.....
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 22, 2008, 04:07:20 PM
this season
Kenwyne - 5 goals
Drogba- 5 goals

Steupes.
Nobody eh say he doh have a way to go. Nobody eh say he reach. But comparing KJ now to Drogba now is pointless. People saying he 'could be the next.' Drogba self wasn't Drogba at Kenwyne age.
Post by: andre samuel on February 22, 2008, 04:09:52 PM
Yuh damn right, he tall, he powerful he black and he have a ras, so, all things being equal, he is de next drogba, when, quite frankly, he plays completely different from didier.  If his hair was straightened they mighta call him de next adebeyor.....lol

I enjoying de hype and the talk! Plenty people saying all kinda ting and ent have a clue as to what going on, but i find it quite entertaining!

Man done start to bring drogba stats from when drogba was 23 all kinda ting...........i tell yuh, this site is de best ting in de world!

I taking this opportunity to give you ah lil pong, cause is long time since yuh get something!!

Post by: Dutty on February 22, 2008, 04:11:52 PM
If I may interject, ah think what Palos and TI trying to say is...Kenwyne need to straighten he hair with ah cheap box ah perm first, to reach Drogba level
Post by: Jefferz on February 22, 2008, 04:17:23 PM
I doh think theres too much wrong with what redknapp say, he sayin he "could be"  and quite frankly he certainly has the potential to be even better than drogba and anyone that is willing to seriously deny that i cyah understand at all.

One thing though is him sayin he needed to be more "aggressive" and yet still reserving that he saw sum "special" in him from the start.

stewps.

well Harry,

A real top class manager would have been able to find that trigger to motivate Kenwyne to work harder instead of loanin him off to ah shit team and then lettin him go.

Now he back and yeah yuh damn right he hauntin yuh.

Perhaps if yuh woulda put more pressure on him to fulfill this Drogba level talent that you "always saw in him" then he woulda been ah premiership regular for ah a year or two now and well pass Drogba or anyone else for that matter in the premiership goal race this season.
Post by: scooby on February 22, 2008, 05:19:25 PM
ah wondering if there is anybody who still thinks that he should be playing in defense
Post by: WestCoast on February 22, 2008, 06:39:41 PM
ah wondering if there is anybody who still thinks that he should be playing in defense
Touché  ;)
Post by: trinbago on February 22, 2008, 07:07:14 PM
Does anyone interpret the name of the thread "Kenwyne is the next Drogba" to mean Kenwyne plays like Drogba currently???

Or is it just youPalos...............yuh stickin !! :rotfl:
Post by: Filho on February 22, 2008, 07:12:44 PM

well Harry,

A real top class manager would have been able to find that trigger to motivate Kenwyne to work harder instead of loanin him off to ah shit team and then lettin him go.

oh Lord. where you come up wit dat one. and dropping it wit conviction too. i'm sure if you think hard enough, you can think of a few good players that didn't perrform under top class managers at one club, but then blossomed at another. In any case loaning KJ out gave him a chance to play and give him a lot of confidence. After proving himself at the lower levels, he was brought back to SH. Much better than rotting on the bencha nd playing in the reserves. Where you come up with anyone letting him go?
Post by: Grande on February 22, 2008, 10:32:30 PM
Freddy Adu was de next Pele, Messi is the next Diego, Walcott is the next Henry, we hear it all the time... hype will always be hype but it is always good to hear one of our players get big up.

Truth be told I was hardly a fan of KJ's game in the T&T colours. Now that he's matured it is reassuring to know he will be spearheading our central forward line - I jess hope he can replicate dat EPL form in the international game
Post by: fishs on February 22, 2008, 11:48:05 PM

KJ dominating in what essentially is a shyte side in the EPL.
This team fighting for their life to stay up, so the twist is that unlike other people here that saying if he had better service he would have scored more goals, I'm saying because he is the only real outlet for Sunderland his goal tally should have been better than 5.
No doubt with more experience at the top flight he will develop into the superstar everybody in here desperately want but until then for me at least the jury still out.
By the way if you want to make comparisons, compare Dwight Yorke at his age.
Post by: d_#1Trinba on February 22, 2008, 11:50:09 PM
kewnwyne is unique!!
Post by: Quags on February 23, 2008, 12:46:18 AM

This team fighting for their life to stay up, so the twist is that unlike other people here that saying if he had better service he would have scored more goals, I'm saying because he is the only real outlet for Sunderland his goal tally should have been better than 5.
No doubt with more experience at the top flight he will develop into the superstar everybody in here desperately want but until then for me at least the jury still out.
He should start back scoring soon I agree ,but if he try any harder he go hurt something .His non excited pace will lead him gracefully into next season,after I see Dayne Wade strech he guts to win ,then hurt for two years now ........bur he need a goal now .
Ppl say Dwight played neck and neck with the greats ,and he blaze a trail ....true but when Dwight reach the promise land ,the first thing he did was fall rite back down ,I hope Kewnwyne coulld reach and surpass what dwight started .He should first start by scoring a goal .Dwight use to score ,whenever they finally decide to sub him een .
Post by: dcs on February 23, 2008, 01:39:32 AM

The man playing defense, midfield and forward all in one game.  Always the one clearing away headers at the back....dropping deep to get the ball.
Ah wonder how much kms he is cover in a game.
Post by: kev on February 23, 2008, 02:12:21 AM
There's not a lot wrong with what HR said " KJ could be the next DD"

DD didn't have a great 1st season in the prem and looked more out of sorts than KJ has, but has better control, finishing, composure and awareness than KJ.  He is also surrounded by players that can pass when he moves and he is fairly sure that it will reach him.

Sunderland would of been sunk without trace without KJ this season, but strangely its how poor the rest have been and playing to KJ strengths back to goal getting hoof balls that has help him look so good.  KJ is still a kid as a CF and has a lot to learn, he needs to improve all the things above and and produce more weeks than not, especially now as he is a marked man.  Would he have looked so good at clubs like Arsenal etc with so many other good players around him, I don't think he would of.  The fact is none of them were interested in him.

KJ has the potential to be great it is up to him and Sunderland has to play its part by providing him with team mates that can help him learn  improve and provide him with better service.  I have read many posts going on about "big" clubs which really means money.  The club is in the same position as KJ, 2 years ago when being relegated stone cold bottom and the take over coming 40 odd thousand turned up on the last game against Arsenal to show the new owners.  Chelsea took 2,000 fans to Everton for a cup semi final, sunderland have had 11,000 applications for an away trip to Derby. 

KJ has the potential to be treated like a god in the North East its upto him to make it, or become another 1 season wonder who the likes of HR and everybody else that is praising him now will turn around and say "I told you he was never worth that money".

Post by: Cartman on February 23, 2008, 02:23:49 AM
ah don't know if i is de only one who SOMETIMES does wish dat Sunderland get demoted and Kenwyne get sold?

Hull!

Alyuh men real short sighted. Trust me, if Sunderland stay up, KJ stock going to go up even more. And ah don't care what Keane say. If a team come with the kind of money that that performance merit, Kenwyne will be on his way out.

KJ moving up and Sunderland staying up are not completely incompatible.

Here's another scenario. Can you imagine Kenwyne benching everyday behind Tevez/Rooney/Saha Drogba/Shevchenko/Kalou Torres/Crouch(god forbid)/Voronin Adebayor/Van Persie/Walcott  ::)

Everything in its time. When KJ ready to move on not a thing in the world going to stop him...

What a great point, the voice of reason
Post by: Cartman on February 23, 2008, 02:39:58 AM
this season
Kenwyne - 5 goals
Drogba- 5 goals

Steupes.

Completely disagree with you saying Kenwynee has done nothing, this is first season in the PL andhe has established himself as one of the biggest threats in the division.

He has made mistakes and missed chances but I think any of the teams bar Man United, Chelsea and Arsenal would love to have him. It is no secret that Liverpool were ready to offer £12m for him.

He is nowhere near the finished product but he is still very young and is learning all the time. If he has a hand in keeping Sunderland up this season then he will have achieved something very special imo

It seems some of you don't really like Kenwynne that much, why is that?
Post by: fishs on February 23, 2008, 02:53:07 AM

That is not true, all that is happening is people are expressing thoughts that differ on Kenwyne's football at this time.
Unlike Dwight Yorke and Russel Latapy, Kenwyne did not light up for us the first time we saw him play.
Yorke and Latapy were 2 players that as soon as you saw them as teens you knew that there was greatness in front of you.
Kenwyne being compared to Drogba and other established superstars is a bit out of order at this stage and the more pragmatic will adopt a wait and see attitude and hope he becomes as great as his promise suggests, but the stats ( 5 or 6 goals) for the season so far speak for themselves.

We all are fully surpportive of KJ
Post by: Trinitim on February 23, 2008, 03:01:58 AM

Cartman some of them have unrealistic expectations. Many believe Kenwyne should be scoring week in and week out. He is just a youth. I remember Keane saying He does not want to put to much pressure on him , he still young. Many times he is the lone striker. He does hardly get service everything is a boom kick. They does just kick the ball and hope kenwyne do the rest. There is no midfield build up. I am not saying he is the finished product in football you are always learning, even He said so but I believe he has demonstrated determination,strength, speed and he can get better with time. I still feel he have to work on his dribbling, shooting and finishing. Don't waste him down. HE IS A GREAT TALENT AND HE REPRESENTS OUT COUNTRY. A DOT ON THE MAP OUR TALENT POOL IS NOT LARGE, HE IS A DIAMOND THAT'S FOR SURE HE JUST NEED POLISHING AND SMOOTHING OF THE ROUGH EDGES.
Post by: just cool on February 23, 2008, 04:47:10 AM

you call sulun a shyte team ? well if sunlun is a shyte then the team we send to the WC is a managarie of shyte team, BC most of them players cant even land a contract on a league one team, far less a facking championship team. only KJ and carlos was lucky to get a bliegh. most of allyuh real bias yes. i bet you any money that sunlun could beat T&T senior team any day, but yuh calling them a shyte team.             yuh see how it feel to get diss!    how would you like it if they said T&T was rubbish.               fackry.
Post by: Midknight on February 23, 2008, 06:24:31 AM

you call sulun a shyte team ? well if sunlun is a shyte then the team we send to the WC is a managarie of shyte team, BC most of them players cant even land a contract on a league one team, far less a facking championship team. only KJ and carlos was lucky to get a bliegh. most of allyuh real bias yes. i bet you any money that sunlun could beat T&T senior team any day, but yuh calling them a shyte team.             yuh see how it feel to get diss!    how would you like it if they said T&T was rubbish.               fackry.

First constructive idea come out of this thread...

Alyuh think we brilliant TTFF could organise a preseason warmup between Sunderland and the Soca Warriors if they stay up? Dwight could play a farewell game on Sunderland side and Kenwyne and Carlos on the Soca Warriors side...or they could do half and half.

It can't be worse for Sunderland than playing Cork or Galway, and it can't be worse for TNT than playing El Salvador...
Post by: dinho on February 23, 2008, 09:05:52 AM
If it was a case where Kenwyne was not putting away easy chances and shouldve realistically had 10 goals for the season, i could give some credit to a criticism about his goalscoring..

But from the games I've seen, chances have been few and far between..

Against the better teams, he's been isolated alone up front leading the line, mostly trying to head the ball onto teammates, or trying to get something from set pieces..

When he has played with another striker, i hardly ever see him being the recipient of an incisive pass or played into threatening positions. The service from the wings and the midfield is piss poor.

So Kenwyne is doing the best with what he is being given to work with. His coach is elated. Other coaches in the league have sit up and taken note of his performances..

He's being compared to drogba because of his physique, his pace and his ability to physically dominate defences like no one else in the league can besides drogba, adebayor and maybe dean ashton at his best..  I see nothing at all wrong with that.. Based on his performances, the goals should come once the service improves..

Some of allyuh really eh know how to appreciate allyuh heros nuh.. steups
Post by: palos on February 23, 2008, 09:31:45 AM

That is not true, all that is happening is people are expressing thoughts that differ on Kenwyne's football at this time.
Unlike Dwight Yorke and Russel Latapy, Kenwyne did not light up for us the first time we saw him play.
Yorke and Latapy were 2 players that as soon as you saw them as teens you knew that there was greatness in front of you.
Kenwyne being compared to Drogba and other established superstars is a bit out of order at this stage and the more pragmatic will adopt a wait and see attitude and hope he becomes as great as his promise suggests, but the stats ( 5 or 6 goals) for the season so far speak for themselves.

Well said sah!

Lissen to some on here and any refusal to drink de kool aid in EXACTLY de same manner as dem is seen as some kinda fight dong.  Or de "classic" failure to appreciate yuh heros.  ::)
Post by: TrinInfinite on February 23, 2008, 10:11:04 AM

Well said sah!

Lissen to some on here and any refusal to drink de kool aid in EXACTLY de same manner as dem is seen as some kinda fight dong.  Or de "classic" failure to appreciate yuh heros.  ::)

i agree with the statement but every player has their own path tuh walk, some players exhibit greatness early, some later, kj is later, his greatness will come with time as he progresses..... we'll wait and see, he has some elements of his game 2 work on, one bad ting about latas was that he could have had a better agent early in his career to get him playing for better teams..

God is de BOSS....
Post by: kicker on February 23, 2008, 12:43:34 PM
Kenwyne Jones is the next Kenwyne Jones.....

Just wish him the best and put this thread to rest nuh....
Post by: WestCoast on February 23, 2008, 12:46:55 PM

dis is de clincher as we could never replicate the exact situations that Drogba had played in....
So KJ keep up doin your thing Man........and maybe one day you too will be included in the discussions about the best strikers in the EPL as right now there seeems to be LOTS of potential.
Post by: Filho on February 23, 2008, 12:51:30 PM

Well said sah!

nah boss. is a classic example of people talking two different things. noone hear thinks KJ is as good as Drogba, nor think he is the same model of player. In fact, I think he will develop into a very different player altogether but with one or two similarities. Some her are agreeing with HR that in the future he might show that level of class. So it just amazing that you base your whole point on the fact that KJ is not as good as Drogba right now...cuz noone disagrees with that.  
Post by: Filho on February 23, 2008, 12:52:13 PM

couldn't say it better
Post by: dinho on February 23, 2008, 02:57:13 PM

Well said sah!

Look palos gih we a chance with that kool aid talk eh.... your drink of choice seems to be haterade.

de "classic" appreciate yuh heros statement is born out of the fact that you read a whole article and your very first inclination is to slight de man, which was pretty obvious from your assertion that kenwyne aint scoring goals like drogba.. the article never said he "is drogba" it speaks to his potential to get to that level, and is based on certain aspects of his game that lend to the obvious comparisons..

once again palos...

do you feel that he should have alot more goals given his opportunities with this team? Is he throwing away goals?

You need to provide some kinda basis for your criticism..

is one thing if you don't see the similarities and dispute that..

no problem there at all.

but based on your statements, it seems like u just trying to pour cold water where it isnt really necessary.

Post by: fishs on February 24, 2008, 12:50:22 AM

you call sulun a shyte team ? well if sunlun is a shyte then the team we send to the WC is a managarie of shyte team, BC most of them players cant even land a contract on a league one team, far less a facking championship team. only KJ and carlos was lucky to get a bliegh. most of allyuh real bias yes. i bet you any money that sunlun could beat T&T senior team any day, but yuh calling them a shyte team.             yuh see how it feel to get diss!    how would you like it if they said T&T was rubbish.               fackry.

I really don't understand your point. Sunderland is a shyte team in the EPL plain and simple.
About our WC team, who do you think should have landed a big contract.
No goals scored 2 games lost nothing by any player to make the world stand up and ask " who's that guy?".
You are delusional if you think there were individual performances in our WC team (apart from Shaka who too old ) for any team to want to snap up, especially when compared to the rest of individual talent that was on display.
As you say your diatribe is jus " Fackery"
Post by: Jefferz on February 24, 2008, 02:16:54 AM

I really don't understand your point. Sunderland is a shyte team in the EPL plain and simple.
No goals scored 2 games lost nothing by any player to make the world stand up and ask " who's that guy?".
You are delusional if you think there were individual performances in our WC team (apart from Shaka who too old ) for any team to want to snap up, especially when compared to the rest of individual talent that was on display.

i not one ah de men tuh say kenwyne is as good as drogba now, but as filho put it, reddknap isnt sayin he's as good as drogba now and more so that in time he can grow into it,

but, at the same time you should also study the fact that ontop of those 5 goals he also has 9 assists for the session and is fourth in the whole epl for assists wit only men like berbatov (possibly the best man tuh have wit you if yuh open in de box and he have de ball) and Ronaldo and what have you.

so five goals and having a setting up 9, kenwyne has BEEN there winning factor, most of the time he doh score he still part uh de reason he score, he put pressure on ah man or his shot deflect to ah team mate or hell he pass it right off to him, himself.

sofuh me, he well on track.
Post by: just cool on February 24, 2008, 09:03:29 AM

My point is, why not clean yuh own house before yuh tell ah man his house in ah mess. only KJ out of the whole WC team get drafted to the EPL, and a year later after the WC, not BC he impressed on the world stage , but BC he had a great season with SH last season. if you say sulun is a shyte team then we is more shyte cause most of our player whom you hold in high esteem is playing in the lower leagues, and when i say lower i mean league 1 and 2. to me sulun is doing an amazing job considering their injury list , and especially to their midfielders, and they've been able to cope dispite not being able to sign the players that could strenghten their squad.
Post by: Midknight on February 24, 2008, 09:33:16 AM
Look palos gih we a chance with that kool aid talk eh.... your drink of choice seems to be haterade.

Whattap!

Palos ah have to agree. You actually gone from a point where men was supporting you initial point to wondering if you have some kinda axe to grind against KJ. I was one of his biggest critics at the beginning - at one time I had Sealy in frint of him in th estriking pecking order, but the fact of the matter is that the man has been exceeding expectations in his first EPL season.

Whether you want to take a bit of idle/speculative talk from Redknapp and run with it is your prerogative, but you might want to think about giving it a rest - Right now it sound more like a personal agenda than anything else.

A call to caution and levelheadedness will suffice...Who doh want to listen is their problem. Leave it at that.
Post by: Cocorite on February 24, 2008, 01:05:34 PM
If it was a case where Kenwyne was not putting away easy chances and shouldve realistically had 10 goals for the season, i could give some credit to a criticism about his goalscoring..

But from the games I've seen, chances have been few and far between..

Against the better teams, he's been isolated alone up front leading the line, mostly trying to head the ball onto teammates, or trying to get something from set pieces..

When he has played with another striker, i hardly ever see him being the recipient of an incisive pass or played into threatening positions. The service from the wings and the midfield is piss poor.

So Kenwyne is doing the best with what he is being given to work with. His coach is elated. Other coaches in the league have sit up and taken note of his performances..

He's being compared to drogba because of his physique, his pace and his ability to physically dominate defences like no one else in the league can besides drogba, adebayor and maybe dean ashton at his best..  I see nothing at all wrong with that.. Based on his performances, the goals should come once the service improves..

Some of allyuh really eh know how to appreciate allyuh heros nuh.. steups

The voice of reason. Eloquently stated. Balanced and fair. Insightful.
Post by: morvant on March 05, 2008, 09:29:52 AM
this season
Kenwyne - 5 goals
Drogba- 5 goals

Steupes.

and he faster than ato
Post by: spideybuff on March 07, 2008, 07:53:24 AM

couldn't say it better

Well actually you could...cause it kinda hard to be the NEXT Kenwyne Jones when u already are the FIRST Kenwyne Jones... ;D

Alrite, alrite..i realise it corny but that's because i now eat a KISS cornbread... ;D