Sports => Football => Topic started by: prodigy23 on March 10, 2008, 10:51:39 AM

Title: How old were u when u realized that werent gonna make it as a pro player!???
Post by: prodigy23 on March 10, 2008, 10:51:39 AM
I know we all dreamed this same dream growing up.  I was on d bench for d second 11 team at tranquil, and we were the worst team in North Zone. After that i realized i might as well focus on d books :(
Title: Re: How old were u when u realized that werent gonna make it as a pro player!???
Post by: morvant on March 10, 2008, 11:04:40 AM
i still in denial. tallest get sign when he was like 27 or somthing
Title: Re: How old were u when u realized that werent gonna make it as a pro player!???
Post by: Andre on March 10, 2008, 11:05:04 AM
i never aspired to be a pro. mih lil twice a week sweat was always good enough 4 me.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 10, 2008, 11:08:00 AM
still waitin fuh de big day.
Post by: TRUwarrior on March 10, 2008, 11:14:08 AM
IT HAVE MEN IN DEY LATE 30'S, STILL HOLDIN ON TUH D DREAM LOL!!
BIG BELLY AN ALL :devil:
Post by: #4 on March 10, 2008, 11:41:40 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIYWYQY7uQ4  :D
Post by: RGarcia on March 10, 2008, 12:14:36 PM
i is 23 now playing in college.. going into my senior year this look like it for me...so i will say 23
Post by: Big Magician on March 10, 2008, 12:22:58 PM
never thought about it
Post by: Daft Trini on March 10, 2008, 12:27:03 PM
When her parents told me after Graduation, you both will be getting married  ;D
ended my pro playa days

After SSFL... in truth... just played for fun in de US...
Post by: Small Change on March 10, 2008, 12:29:48 PM
RGarcia, once u go that college route, u can almost forget about playing Professional Football at a high level. College football or soccer as it is called in the US, does not prepare u to be a professionall footballer. It prepares u for a job after school or continuing education if u wish, but football wise, it's poison. U most likely gonna end up working 9 to 5 job.

If a youth want to make it high as a pro, do not go to college! Had Stern stayed in College, or had Kenwyne Jones gone to the US and go to college, he would not be where he is today making about $25,000 pounds a week!!!!!
Post by: Bally on March 10, 2008, 12:31:31 PM

that is Palos  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: KND2 on March 10, 2008, 12:43:22 PM
Dont ever lose your Dream of Becoming a professional footballer, Just Update the Dream. My dream update from Playing Pro to Coaching Pro to buying a pro team etc etc.

Once you love the game find a way to stay in the game.
even if it is a Sunday evening league

While you playing your lil sweat visualize that you in the San Siro.

Records were made to be broken.

Roger Milla play at 42
Trinidad make world cup with yorke and latapy on their last legs when the came close as tenagers.

one day a man will run out on the field as a 50 year old rookie in a professional league.

Nothing is Impossible
you could make at any age, all you need to be is good enough!

Frankly if one day I dig for oil down in south and I get rich like Ambromovich I go buy Chelsea and guess what.
I putting my name on the team sheet and taking a lil 10 minutes now and then.

Never Give Up!

Post by: Weh-it-is on March 10, 2008, 12:52:21 PM
It have real men on here is Pro, like you ent know. With FIFA WC on play station you can become the best in the world. :rotfl:

I still do believe that I can make our national team with what I have left. When I see how bad those wingers are I do believe in the dream. The thing is you ain't leaving yuh decent job and go back to Trini for no fame and glamour because they ent go pay yuh mortgage and car note...oh yeah and child support. ;D
Post by: freakazoid on March 10, 2008, 02:01:24 PM
never asipred , was kinna bright in sch so mi path picked itself

think i could seriously pursue football as a goal keeper though mi 1st football fav was actually pompido(sp)
Post by: dwn on March 10, 2008, 02:03:54 PM
one day a man will run out on the field as a 50 year old rookie in a professional league.

... as a rookie physio ... goal line referee?  ;D

i studying to quit my job, get a personal trainer and give the pfl a shot.  ;D
Post by: Dutty on March 10, 2008, 02:13:02 PM
Post by: GunnerStunner on March 10, 2008, 02:37:01 PM
probably after meh second or third touch of d ball
Post by: Observer on March 10, 2008, 02:37:55 PM
When we played in front of a sold out Skinner Park in a  North vs South, Roy Joseph Cup, win it and all we get was ah buns and a sweet drink  ;D (I was 15 or 16 can't even remember)
Post by: Tallman on March 10, 2008, 03:05:15 PM
When we played in front of a sold out Skinner Park in a  North vs South, Roy Joseph Cup, win it and all we get was ah buns and a sweet drink  ;D (I was 15 or 16 can't even remember)
What kinda sweetdrink it was? Cannings (tall 12, mango, big red), Fat bottle Solo, Cole Cold ?

De buns was de kind yuh could squeeze up in yuh hand and pop it een yuh mout?
Post by: freakazoid on March 10, 2008, 03:44:56 PM
probably after meh second or third touch of d ball

Post by: Deeks on March 10, 2008, 04:42:18 PM
All yuh crazy or what. I still dreamin' I go make it as a pro!!!. I most certain that I will going to my grave still dreamin'.
Post by: weary1969 on March 10, 2008, 04:53:26 PM
Dreams are free so y not have a big 1
Post by: Mr Fix-it on March 10, 2008, 05:40:09 PM
Dreams is free....Jus de other day I dream I score for MANU LOL :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: 
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 10, 2008, 05:51:24 PM
i is 23 now playing in college.. going into my senior year this look like it for me...so i will say 23

nope you can try out with a usl div 1 or 2 team in open tryouts ... you neva know then call it quits
Post by: ttcom on March 10, 2008, 05:56:40 PM
Dont ever lose your Dream of Becoming a professional footballer, Just Update the Dream. My dream update from Playing Pro to Coaching Pro to buying a pro team etc etc.

Once you love the game find a way to stay in the game.
even if it is a Sunday evening league

While you playing your lil sweat visualize that you in the San Siro.

Records were made to be broken.

Roger Milla play at 42
Trinidad make world cup with yorke and latapy on their last legs when the came close as tenagers.

Nothing is Impossible
you could make at any age, all you need to be is good enough!

Frankly if one day I dig for oil down in south and I get rich like Ambromovich I go buy Chelsea and guess what.
I putting my name on the team sheet and taking a lil 10 minutes now and then.

Never Give Up!

I guess I have one more year to make it to the Pros. I sure I could take Titus Bramble postion. I stand corrected; my 64 year old father can get that position
Post by: dinho on March 10, 2008, 06:13:43 PM
i still dreaming of making it pro, i hoping abramovich come to Trinidad under lows for vacation and spot me sweating on de beach and offer me a contract on de spot...

never hurt to dream..
Post by: Bakes on March 10, 2008, 07:27:55 PM
I wash out by de second PE class Form 1...since then I say fack playing fuh de team, I go work on owning it instead  :devil:
Post by: Deeks on March 10, 2008, 07:50:04 PM
Anyone who just finish playing US college ball should give a shot, seriously. If it does not work out, you have your degree to fall back on.
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 10, 2008, 08:59:32 PM
In meh last league match ah hear ah scout was checking de team out hard, ah still waitin by meh phone anxiously, holdin on to de dream!!!   ;D

Seriously, age 19 or so when ah realize dat wasn't part ah de almighty plans fuh de I and I
Post by: WestCoast on March 10, 2008, 09:09:44 PM

that is Palos  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
nah dah ent right ;D ;D
Post by: che on March 10, 2008, 09:10:22 PM
In ah inter-class game in 86 when they pick a girl in the starting  eleven and leave me on de bench.
Post by: MEP on March 11, 2008, 12:46:27 AM
Dreams is free....Jus de other day I dream I score for MANU
is yuh ah did give dat sweet pass to????
Post by: maxg on March 11, 2008, 09:52:54 AM
Last week, while on vacation, and ah didn't get pick for ah small goal on the beach...an later dat nite in the disco, when ah hottie come up to meh an hit meh up with, " Sir, here, please take my bar-stool"  ::)

ah think even 'Smooth' cyah help mh
Post by: Mose on March 11, 2008, 10:57:49 AM
Never had that dream! The few football skills I have were developed late in life.
Post by: WestCoast on March 11, 2008, 11:09:54 AM
the moment that 7 goals were scored on me during a game against a set ah "hard back farm boys" in a high school game in ontario ;D ;D ;D ;D
that was the worst game I ever played....dem fellas were tough
Post by: Bakes on March 11, 2008, 11:33:54 AM
the moment that 7 goals were scored on me during a game against a set ah "hard back farm boys" in a high school game in ontario ;D ;D ;D ;D
Reminds me ah when Charlo and de rest ah dem fellas in Upper Six drop 8 in mih ass...all by half-time.  Poor me still had visions of Jorge Campos dancing in mih head.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 11, 2008, 11:41:09 AM
Reminds me ah when Charlo and de rest ah dem fellas in Upper Six drop 8 in mih ass...all by half-time.  Poor me still had visions of Jorge Campos dancing in mih head.

When Police hit us (Gasparillo Ambassadors) 10 in South Zone 1994... Imagine police keeper chest trappin man shot... I knew if I was on de bench and man doing that tuh we... then I should stick to the books...
Post by: Mr Fix-it on March 11, 2008, 03:32:17 PM
Dreams is free....Jus de other day I dream I score for MANU
is yuh ah did give dat sweet pass to????
LOL
Post by: Dutty on March 11, 2008, 06:35:35 PM
In ah inter-class game in 86 when they pick a girl in the starting  eleven and leave me on de bench.

Post by: berris on March 11, 2008, 06:43:48 PM

Oh Gawd NO !!!   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: dumpalewie on March 11, 2008, 06:51:49 PM
34 ;D

Seriously, after college (American U) I was playing a little semipro with the Baltimore Bays. I talked to Kona Hislop who told me how hard it was in England. Decided to go to med school instead.

I still regret it. ;D

In fact, if i were 14 now I might be thinking about it. I understand now the commitment required. I don't know if I would have as a teenager though!!
Post by: GunnerStunner on March 11, 2008, 06:56:07 PM
knee injury at 13
all clear at 18
4 months later tear acl
6 months out

i coulda be a contender! i coulda been somebody! sob sob

i coulda been birchal hahaha
Post by: Daft Trini on March 11, 2008, 07:13:23 PM
34 ;D

Seriously, after college (American U) I was playing a little semipro with the Baltimore Bays. I talked to Kona Hislop who told me how hard it was in England. Decided to go to med school instead.

I still regret it. ;D

In fact, if i were 14 now I might be thinking about it. I understand now the commitment required. I don't know if I would have as a teenager though!!

Funny thing is ah man 10 years ago give me ah Bay's shirt (red one)

Yuh ever tried out for Baltimore Spirits???
Post by: dumpalewie on March 11, 2008, 07:17:15 PM
34 ;D

I still regret it. ;D

Funny thing is ah man 10 years ago give me ah Bay's shirt (red one)

Yuh ever tried out for Baltimore Spirits???
Nah only played 1 year and it wasn't all that special.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 11, 2008, 07:20:17 PM
I wash out by de second PE class Form 1...since then I say fack playing fuh de team, I go work on owning it instead  :devil:
navis wouldn like that statement. :rotfl:
Post by: Daft Trini on March 11, 2008, 07:48:19 PM

Bakes is ah Mark Cuban oui....  ;D
Post by: Bakes on March 11, 2008, 07:49:16 PM

Aye...thanks tuh Navis I still cut like ah schoolboy oui, de amount ah facking sit ups and push ups he had mankind do.  Me and dem fellas use tuh run competition, he tell we give him 20...we want to see who could do 30 wid ah smile, lol
Post by: asylumseeker on March 11, 2008, 09:45:56 PM
Dahs a question for a whole different generation ... I never even thought about ketching a pro match live ... especially after Heysel.