General => General Discussion => Topic started by: morvant on March 11, 2008, 05:30:56 PM

Title: Dreadlocks Thread
Post by: morvant on March 11, 2008, 05:30:56 PM
when ah rastaman taking ah pic he does make ah kinda diamond with his hand. i does do it too.

what does it mean???
Title: Re: question fuh de rastas
Post by: Aviator on March 11, 2008, 05:43:19 PM
If yuh talkin about this sign that Jay-Z is making with his hands it is the illuminati/freemason sign of the "all seeing eye". Which is found on the U.S. dollar Bill

(http://vh1divas2000live.com/shared/media/news/images/j/Jay_Z/sq-jay-z-diamond-msg.jpg)

I am anxious to see the rasta's meaning of it.
Post by: Tallman on March 11, 2008, 05:53:09 PM
when ah rastaman taking ah pic he does make ah kinda diamond with his hand. i does do it too.

what does it mean???

We answer dat ahready. Check de Rastafari and Dreadlocks thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=21846.msg205660#msg205660)
Post by: Aviator on March 11, 2008, 06:04:05 PM

what does it mean???

We answer dat ahready. Check de Rastafari and Dreadlocks thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=21846.msg205660#msg205660)

Interesting...........
Post by: Dutty on March 11, 2008, 06:07:50 PM
If yuh talkin about this sign that Jay-Z is making with his hands it is the illuminati/freemason sign of the "all seeing eye". Which is found on the U.S. dollar Bill

(http://vh1divas2000live.com/shared/media/news/images/j/Jay_Z/sq-jay-z-diamond-msg.jpg)

ah think Jay-z does throw up dat  as symbol of he rockafella record label...yeh it kinda tie into rockerfeller, money capitalism etc...but I doh think he reach illuminati money yet
Post by: Aviator on March 11, 2008, 06:23:11 PM

ah think Jay-z does throw up dat  as symbol of he rockafella record label...yeh it kinda tie into rockerfeller, money capitalism etc...but I doh think he reach illuminati money yet

I hear yuh there, even though there are alot of people who think otherwise, but when you decide to name your company after a man(in essence glorying him)  who was gay and died of AIDS, it will raise some eyebrows.
Title: police vs rasta in Laventille
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 19, 2008, 01:36:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/KyDoFzgROak

Title: Re: police vs rasta in Laventille
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 19, 2008, 01:39:17 PM
REAL LICKS

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/3vjBUcGta38
Post by: Jah Gol on December 19, 2008, 04:05:07 PM
fight on beetham (trinidad)
http://www.youtube.com/v/YEVeBfYbGnc&feature=related
Post by: Deeks on December 19, 2008, 04:29:02 PM
Laventille, Rio, Kingston, Port-au-prince,Lagos, Kabera. Same difference!!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 19, 2008, 04:38:24 PM
fight on beetham (trinidad)
http://www.youtube.com/v/YEVeBfYbGnc&feature=related

dat youth get a combo dey
Post by: Deeks on December 19, 2008, 05:20:20 PM
Idle hands!!! Nothing to do!!!!!
Post by: Babalawo on December 19, 2008, 08:45:35 PM
Idle hands!!! Nothing to do!!!!!
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 20, 2008, 05:01:30 PM
de man in de drawers is de best,he ketch de man kung fu kick. :rotfl:
Post by: Savannah boy on December 23, 2008, 06:44:54 PM
Den two in Beetham smiling after...dem stage dat.
Title: One for the Rasta thread...Republic "No hat" policy to protect customers
Post by: Touches on January 19, 2011, 08:14:57 AM
Tallman,

Yuh cyar walk een Republic bank down here no more..... :devil: :devil:

Republic: 'No hat' policy to protect customers

By Richard Charan richard.charan@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 18, 2011 at 11:54 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 18, 2011 at 11:54 PM ECT

Rastafarian Michael Scott is claiming he was booted out of the Siparia branch of Republic Bank Ltd because he refused the bank's request to remove the hat covering his dreadlocks.

Scott said when he protested, his account was closed by the bank's manager, who promised a cheque for all his outstanding deposits would be sent in the mail.

As of yesterday, Scott said he was yet to receive the cheque.

Scott's claims are made in a letter sent yesterday by his attorney, Derek Ali, to Republic Bank's managing director, David Dulal-Whiteway. Scott also intends to complain to the Equal Opportunity Commission and the Banking Ombudsman.

Contacted yesterday afternoon by phone, the bank's general manager, marketing and communications, Anna-Maria Garcia-Brooks was asked to comment on the allegations, but confirmed only that Republic Bank had a no-hat policy.

She told the Express the policy was instituted for the protection of the bank's customers.

Garcia-Brooks said the policy has been in place for some time. She was contacted later again yesterday for further comment, but said she could not comment further at that time.

Scott, 52, of Beach Road, Palo Seco, who retired medically unfit from the Water and Sewerage Authority, said he was a customer at the bank for 32 years.

The lawyer's letter states that on January 7, Scott went to the bank to do business and was told by the security guard that "the bank's policy dictated that no one will be allowed service at the bank while wearing a hat or while utilising a cellphone".

Scott said his dreadlocks were neatly tucked under the appropriate headwear and it was no different from what he wore for three decades. He said he tried to explain to the bank guard that his dreadlocks were an expression of his faith.

Scott said his explanation was not accepted by the guard or bank manager, "who insisted that he subject himself to the humiliation of removing his headwear in full public view or he will not be allowed service at the bank". He said when he complained that the bank was discriminatory against "Rastamen", he was "promptly thrown out the bank in full public view".

Attorney Derek Ali said the actions against Scott "are not enforced against any members of other religious groups, for example, members of the Muslim faith are allowed to attend the bank wearing either a Hijab or a Burka; members of the Baptist faith are permitted to attend the bank wearing full Baptiste headwear and members of the Hindu faith can attend the bank wearing either an Orhni or similar headwear".

In a letter dated January 10 by the bank's branch sales manager, Scott was told a cheque would be delivered since "we are unable to provide you with the standard of service required by your good self despite our efforts. This was evident by your behaviour/actions and the use of obscene language in our banking hall, on more than one occasion directed to staff, the security guard and the branch manger".

Scott said he never misbehaved, and his lawyer believes the bank is liable to pay damages for breach of contract.
Title: Re: One for the Rasta thread...Republic "No hat" policy to protect customers
Post by: Tallman on January 19, 2011, 08:32:34 AM
Well yes. A luta continua.

Contacted yesterday afternoon by phone, the bank's general manager, marketing and communications, Anna-Maria Garcia-Brooks was asked to comment on the allegations, but confirmed only that Republic Bank had a no-hat policy.

She told the Express the policy was instituted for the protection of the bank's customers.

Protection ??? Steups!
Title: Re: One for the Rasta thread...Republic "No hat" policy to protect customers
Post by: elan on January 19, 2011, 09:13:18 AM
Things are really wrongsided in T&T.  :-\    no customer service whatsoever. Why can't I use my cell phone in a bank? That's some :bs:
Post by: Touches on January 19, 2011, 09:48:34 AM
Elan dey feel that the cell phone is because you alerting yuh partner outside who doing what transaction and to jump dem when they come out the door.

I find is a stupid ting bout hat...they should ban shades one time too or glasses.

Also I woulda dig a real horrors if a Muslim or a Baptist in the headgear and I have on my tam and I getting a doh come back here kinda pressure.

Honestly if I was d ras I going to the "people's bank" First Citizens and tell republic how dey mudder make dem.

Post by: Tallman on January 19, 2011, 10:00:30 AM
So now ah hadda add ah bank tuh meh list:

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok
Republic Bank
Post by: elan on January 19, 2011, 10:01:48 AM
Elan dey feel that the cell phone is because you alerting yuh partner outside who doing what transaction and to jump dem when they come out the door.

I find is a stupid ting bout hat...they should ban shades one time too or glasses.

Also I woulda dig a real horrors if a Muslim or a Baptist in the headgear and I have on my tam and I getting a doh come back here kinda pressure.

Honestly if I was d ras I going to the "people's bank" First Citizens and tell republic how dey mudder make dem.

I thnk that's what they looking at the alert yuh padna thing. The hat thing however eh make no sense. The hat on yuh head. You can still see the person face, cameras can still record their faces. I don't understand what they hope to accomplish. Never like Republic and Royal at all. Use to bank with FCB.
Post by: Touches on January 19, 2011, 10:11:27 AM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

So enlighten me bout these two places....they watch yuh and say sorry we full...no reservations.

Or they ent fart on yuh after they seat you at the table?

When I up on your side I does get that sometimes....or dey does seat meh in d back, far from d door so nobody could see meh when they come in.

But I realise dey doh put meh near d toilet cause is a area where people passin regular.

I feel, dey feel I go eat and ride so they giving me the longest stretch to walk so they could ketch you before the door.

Most of the time they are usually surprised when you give them a decent tip.

Post by: mukumsplau on January 19, 2011, 10:39:14 AM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura

Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok
Republic Bank

u actually let dis pass tru yuh head ? stoosh central ?
Post by: truetrini on January 19, 2011, 11:15:00 AM
Many banks here in the US ask you to remove hats and shades also.
Post by: giggsy11 on January 19, 2011, 11:51:51 AM
I will never forget when I was server in a US establishment, a rastaman came in with his dreds tucked under his hat and you should have seen how the other servers reacted in awe. They had never seen "such a sight"; what did he have under his hat? They couldn't believe that was his hair under the hat. If the banks reason for asking the removal of the hat were for "security reasons'; is that the same requirement at airports or government buildings?
Post by: Bakes on January 19, 2011, 12:22:45 PM
So enlighten me bout these two places....they watch yuh and say sorry we full...no reservations.

When I up on your side I does get that sometimes....or dey does seat meh in d back, far from d door so nobody could see meh when they come in.

But I realise dey doh put meh near d toilet cause is a area where people passin regular.

I feel, dey feel I go eat and ride so they giving me the longest stretch to walk so they could ketch you before the door.

Be happy that yuh never get seated close to the toilet... if is not cleaning supplies yuh smelling, is a steady traffic of people near yuh elbow.  As for them discriminating by sending yuh way to de back as yuh suspect, these places typically rotate where a customer is seated (but you are always free to ask for another table).  The rotation is to ensure that every server gets customers, servers typically are assigned a zone in the restaurant each night... so they rotate customers thru the zones.

As for the hat thing... I too think the 'security' or safety talk is nonsense, but I don't necessarily agree that it is discriminatory.  Wearing a hat is not the same as a "headwrap", or burqa, hijab or ohrni.  I also don't see what the EOC will/can do... and this is not no "breach of contract."
Post by: Controversial on January 19, 2011, 12:38:15 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

surprised at that treatment, service in TT has gone to the dogs long time now.
Post by: elan on January 19, 2011, 12:43:37 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

Name one time in TT history when service was not discriminatory?
Post by: Tallman on January 19, 2011, 12:49:52 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

One night ah say lemme go and check out what Zen is all about. When was my turn tuh go through security, dey start jumbiein meh about meh hat and de number of buttons (three) dat was open on meh shirt. Ah button up de shirt tuh dey satisfaction. Den dey tell meh how ah have tuh keep meh shirt on when I inside because if dey see meh bareback dey go throw meh out. Me eh study dem. So when it come tuh de hat scene, dey say how ah have tuh take it orf and leave it wit dem and ah could pick it up when ah leaving. Ah say nah, me eh want tuh go in dey so bad, allyuh could keep allyuh club. So den ah make ah spin by Jenny's. Ah gone downstairs by de bar and ah order ah Stag. De bartender tell meh he cyar serve meh. When ah ask him why. He point tuh ah sign dat say yuh cyar have on no headwear. So I buss it from dey and went by Crobar.

I went Woodford Cafe on Tragarete Road some years ago and everyting was cool, but when ah went by de one in Movie Towne two years ago, dey point tuh ah sign about headwear. So me eh even reach inside yet.
Post by: Controversial on January 19, 2011, 12:55:15 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

One night ah say lemme go and check out what Zen is all about. When was my turn tuh go through security, dey start jumbiein meh about meh hat and de number of buttons (three) dat was open on meh shirt. Ah button up de shirt tuh dey satisfaction. Den dey tell meh how ah have tuh keep meh shirt on when I inside because if dey see meh bareback dey go throw meh out. Me eh study dem. So when it come tuh de hat scene, dey say how ah have tuh take it orf and leave it wit dem and ah could pick it up when ah leaving. Ah say nah, me eh want tuh go in dey so bad, allyuh could keep allyuh club. So den ah make ah spin by Jenny's. Ah gone downstairs by de bar and ah order ah Stag. De bartender tell meh he cyar serve meh. When ah ask him why. He point tuh ah sign dat say yuh cyar have on no headwear. So I buss it from dey and went by Crobar.

I went Woodford Cafe on Tragarete Road some years ago and everyting was cool, but when ah went by de one in Movie Towne two years ago, dey point tuh ah sign about headwear. So me eh even reach inside yet.

thats ridiculous, these establishments can't ask or differentiate between religious head gear and fashion.

its like asking a sikh to remove his turban. there has to be a point where religious head gear is made seperate than just a hat.
Post by: Dutty on January 19, 2011, 01:05:08 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

for a sout man you does move everywhere in de north oui....I shame to say I pass troo coffee st. twice since ah born
Post by: weary1969 on January 19, 2011, 01:16:12 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

for a sout man you does move everywhere in de north oui....I shame to say I pass troo coffee st. twice since ah born

Doh shame Dutty always remember d distance from POS to Sando is longer than Sando to POS so north peeps have problems reachin.
Post by: Jumbie on January 19, 2011, 01:23:40 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

I say yuh belly didn't agree with the Char siu pork at Jenny's so you add them to the "list"
Post by: Daft Trini on January 19, 2011, 01:55:02 PM
Honestly Republic Bank has the worst customer service... On my last visit to trini- I wanted to chash my travlers check so I could have pocket money for tobago... de clerk make me sign the check... i have all the ID ect ... only have the manager deny me... since I did not have an account with them. I explained to her that I was a tourist... she say she eh care about that... and proceeded to lecture me... she was tryin her best to belittle me at her best. But had no problem helping the white tourist who were there.  thank god RBTT accepted the signed checks...
Post by: weary1969 on January 19, 2011, 02:05:59 PM
Honestly Republic Bank has the worst customer service... On my last visit to trini- I wanted to chash my travlers check so I could have pocket money for tobago... de clerk make me sign the check... i have all the ID ect ... only have the manager deny me... since I did not have an account with them. I explained to her that I was a tourist... she say she eh care about that... and proceeded to lecture me... she was tryin her best to belittle me at her best. But had no problem helping the white tourist who were there.  thank god RBTT accepted the signed checks...

Republic and RBTT is for business not d lil man.
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 19, 2011, 02:22:41 PM

Zen
51 Degrees
Aura
Woodford Cafe
Jenny's Wok

Republic Bank

I think you make ah mistake, Is T&T you mean, Right?
Post by: sammy on January 19, 2011, 02:42:09 PM

As for the hat thing... I too think the 'security' or safety talk is nonsense, but I don't necessarily agree that it is discriminatory.  Wearing a hat is not the same as a "headwrap", or burqa, hijab or ohrni.  I also don't see what the EOC will/can do... and this is not no "breach of contract."

true.

Post by: Blue on January 19, 2011, 02:44:44 PM

doh feel shame, i sure dey have several north fellas who have digressed more dan twice.
Post by: just cool on January 19, 2011, 02:50:27 PM
The last time i was in "monkey land" i swore never to set foot in that place again, of course that decision was made in haste anger and frustration simply BC i got bad service from the hotel to the airport! talk about "UN"necessary stress! it seems to me that these ppl does make an extra effort tuh make xpats feel unwelcomed and uncomfortable as they possibly can.

now imagine this dotish policy in this day and age, like TI said, if ah big sheik or ah seikh was in they turban, or ah muslim womon in ah nikab, what dey go do, tell dem take it off or we can't serve yuh?  these ppl eh bettin they dotish fuh spite nah!

there's no banks or commercial office spaces here in NYC where they have such primitive policies, @ least i've never seen it and there more bank robbers here than down there.

and allyuh want ppl tuh move back there, yuhs must be mad! not fackin me!
Post by: just cool on January 19, 2011, 02:54:01 PM

true.

Rastas doh wear hats for religious purposes? so lemme get this straight, all the other religions is official and ratafarianism is not?? something seriously wrong wid this thinking my brother.
Post by: soccerman on January 19, 2011, 03:41:53 PM
This whole hat for security reasons is absurd. I currently live in the US and I've seen all kinds of people the banks wearing what they want. Then too the amount of camera's in these banks at all different angles, they can see everyone who enters, leaves and they spot you almost everywhere you turn even at the ATM machines. I guess the bank is a private entity and they can stipulate restrictions on attire but it can hurt their image and cause them to loose clients. Yuh see Tallman done scratch dem off he list :mackdaddy:

Then again Republic bank have all kinda security with firearms, they still want you to remove your hat? They might has well put a metal detector by the door as you walk in. I was home over Christmas and went to check a friend at Republic Bank in west mall for lunch. While I was waiting on her de security guard was watching me real hard like a hawk. Ah say to myself is either I look like a criminal or I was moving wid he gyal. The amount time he spend watching me other people could've walked in robbed the bank and left easy easy.
Post by: Peong on January 19, 2011, 03:48:07 PM

doh feel shame, i sure dey have several north fellas who have digressed more dan twice.

There's no such thing as a "North man".  Iz either East or West.
Post by: Blue on January 19, 2011, 04:13:07 PM

Strictly speaking iz either West or 'past de lighthouse'
Post by: PantherX on January 19, 2011, 05:20:28 PM

What's this West business?  I was from de North, anything east of the lighthouse was East.  Down the Butler highway was South unless you only reach halfway then that was Central  :D.

Never had no West  ???
Post by: Bakes on January 19, 2011, 05:33:44 PM
Rastas doh wear hats for religious purposes? so lemme get this straight, all the other religions is official and ratafarianism is not?? something seriously wrong wid this thinking my brother.

Nah, something wrong with your comprehension pardna... what I said is that wearing a "hat" is not the same as wearing a "headwrap", burqa or ohrni.  I never touched on the religious reasons behind who wear what.
Post by: Touches on January 19, 2011, 06:19:20 PM
Alyuh being politically correct.....a white Ras could move in Jenny's, Zen and Republic Bank normel.

Yuh ent see whademoder get hold in a road block for weed and get away free...if it was a ninja....is all kinda lockup for he.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 19, 2011, 08:03:03 PM
Tallman experience at Zen (and others) reminds me of the Club Deja Vu in Roundabout Plaza who had done a similar thing to a few dreads, a few days later Deja Vu was no more.  Our land so tiny and cosmpolitan, places like Fortress, Genesis, Deja Vu, Zen and others should not be even allowed to exist
Post by: just cool on January 19, 2011, 09:08:02 PM

Nah, something wrong with your comprehension pardna... what I said is that wearing a "hat" is not the same as wearing a "headwrap", burqa or ohrni.  I never touched on the religious reasons behind who wear what.
My comprehension on point bro, it can't be more clear that you was making a religious reference since a burqa, a head wrap / turban (don't know what an ohrni is) is religious oriented, or @ least that's how i interpret it.

anyway misunderstanding someone is ah part of life, especially on here. is small ting, no need tuh confer on it.
Post by: just cool on January 19, 2011, 09:30:13 PM
Tallman experience at Zen (and others) reminds me of the Club Deja Vu in Roundabout Plaza who had done a similar thing to a few dreads, a few days later Deja Vu was no more.  Our land so tiny and cosmpolitan, places like Fortress, Genesis, Deja Vu, Zen and others should not be even allowed to exist
Breds, this is one of the reasons why i couldn't live in T&T no mo, too much double standards! when i left there i swore i would never go back. i was a revolutionary yute, was into all kinda black power movement on the island, and was trying to get into politics by joining NJAC as a junior member, but when i finally realize that them ppl would never relinquish power and it didn't have enough conscious black ppl on the island tuh make any kinda change, right after the neocolonialist NAR won the election i bounced.

right here in foreign i tried to start all kinda proactive groups to make life easier and more productive for black ppl , but to no avail. my opinion though, black ppl deserve all the sh!t they being fed, that's BC very few blacks want tuh stand up for fear of inconvenience, they just want tuh sit by and enjoy the fruits of another man's labor while they run around and act the fool!

look @ T&T 24 yrs later, the place is the same way i left it, as ah matter of fact it got worst! no serious improvements on race relation and equal opportunity, the social fabric of the society broke down real bad, wid criminal activity, immorality, and racial tension on ah total up spiral, i could go on and on but i go stop here.

trinidad was always ah paradise, but according to bro valentino, "for men like sabga, for kirpalini and Y-delima" not the poor children of former slaves.
Post by: Bakes on January 19, 2011, 09:44:58 PM
My comprehension on point bro, it can't be more clear that you was making a religious reference since a burqa, a head wrap / turban (don't know what an ohrni is) is religious oriented, or @ least that's how i interpret it.

anyway misunderstanding someone is ah part of life, especially on here. is small ting, no need tuh confer on it.

This is the most accurate part of your post.
Post by: sammy on January 19, 2011, 10:30:46 PM

true.

huh? i say that Rastafarianism is not official?

anyhow, i dint know that wearing a hat and not showing their locks in public is a part of their religion.

Is bobo shanti/ dreads the same as a rasta?
Post by: truetrini on January 20, 2011, 09:39:36 AM

he dunce no c**t
Post by: just cool on January 20, 2011, 11:28:51 PM

he dunce no c**t
This coming from the meanest most abusive member on the board does loads of damage to my character and feelings.  :puking: i'm sure i will not be able to sleep now BC of the unsavory words spewed by an unsavory character, matter of fact i may never recover. :nailbiting:
Post by: truetrini on January 21, 2011, 09:56:29 AM

he dunce no c**t
This coming from the meanest most abusive member on the board does loads of damage to my character and feelings.  :puking: i'm sure i will not be able to sleep now BC of the unsavory words spewed by an unsavory character, matter of fact i may never recover. :nailbiting:

yuh is ah facking dunce..ah glad yuh eh debate dat likkle fact
Post by: Tallman on January 21, 2011, 12:12:56 PM
Mankind jes hadda transfer dey money yes

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZjaaRLlaWG0
Post by: just cool on January 21, 2011, 03:55:34 PM

he dunce no c**t
I'd rather be ah dunce than an abusive piggish brute.
Post by: truetrini on January 21, 2011, 04:02:21 PM

he dunce no c**t

hawk too
Post by: just cool on January 21, 2011, 09:57:11 PM

he dunce no c**t

hawk too
My point exactly!  :loser:
Post by: Tallman on April 09, 2011, 12:50:59 PM
Now dey say is only if de hat have ah peak.

http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_ir8bdt5v/uiconf_id/1892491
Post by: Conquering Lion on April 10, 2011, 08:12:12 AM
Mankind jes hadda transfer dey money yes

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZjaaRLlaWG0

Ey......and if iz ah bank yuh not familiar with, make sure yuh wear yuh hat in dat bank eh Tallman  :beermug:
Post by: just cool on October 09, 2012, 08:08:59 PM
Word iz that snoop dog lion tun rasta and dun wid rap forever.

never though i'd see something this bizarre.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTqyV5Kw9Ss

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0t6CaN3ifH0&feature=relmfu
Title: Re: Snoop dog tun rasta??
Post by: asylumseeker on October 10, 2012, 06:24:18 AM
I think there's a thread abt this in the Entertainment section.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 10, 2012, 06:48:57 AM
dunno if he turn ras, but he was outgrowing hip hop for a long time now. he is lucky enough to have a good life and family, the man can't pretend to be a cynical gangster/player anymore. good for him for moving in a new direction. part conviction, part hype...all good.

Post by: Touches on October 10, 2012, 01:49:21 PM
I see him in the Fifa 13 ad.

Rasta does play xbox 360 online too...I thought that is babylon ting.
Post by: Bourbon on October 10, 2012, 03:56:30 PM
I see him in the Fifa 13 ad.

Rasta does play xbox 360 online too...I thought that is babylon ting.

Yeah he's a fan....

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/video/espnfc/video?id=1170656&cc=3888

Dat video showing de effects of too much weed.

Post by: Bitter on January 29, 2013, 02:16:04 PM
This one is for Tallman: Dread thieves cut and run

Dread thieves cut and run

Jan 29, 2013 | POPPY LOUW
http://www.timeslive.co.za/thetimes/2013/01/29/dread-thieves-cut-and-run

Jasper Munsinwa was partying at a Johannesburg club when he noticed his friend was missing. Minutes later, he found him passed out - with all of his dreadlocks shorn off.

Munsinwa's friend, Mutsa Madonko, who was visiting from Zimbabwe early this month and has since left, is one of a growing number of people who have had their dreadlocks stolen in the past few months.

The thefts, said hair stylists, were probably connected to the rising demand for natural dreadlocks as extensions.

Shoulder-length dreadlocks are sold for between R200 and R700, while longer ones cost as much as R2500.

Munsinwa said it was clear that whoever stole his friend's hair - which had taken him 10 years to grow - was after nothing else.

"When we found him, he still had his cellphone and wallet with all his money inside."

Dreadlock stylists outside the Central Methodist Church in central Johannesburg said such is the demand for dreadlocks that few ask questions when the matted locks are offered for sale.

Said John Wushe: "They are becoming very popular. On a busy day we get about 10 people [wanting] to extend their hair."

But not everyone is keen on using a stranger's hair.

Willy Selahla of Soweto said: "I'm using my brother's hair because I know where it comes from and that he wasn't hurt."

For clients wanting the extensions, the dreadlocks are either woven in individually using a thin crocheting hook or sewn together using a needle and thread .

The process usually takes about two hours to complete and costs between R250 and R1500 depending on the length and thickness of the hair.

Although more and more stories of dreadlock theft are coming to light, only one case was reported to the Durban central police station last year.

Johannesburg police spokesman Captain John Maluleka encouraged victims to open cases of assault. He said: "We have only heard stories - no cases have been reported to us."

Maluleka said it could be a case of victims being too embarrassed to report the theft of their hair.

Randburg stylist Lebo Masimong said women were the most vulnerable.

"You are an easy target if you walk around the CBD and your hair is loose. They don't care about your money or fancy phone. They are only after your hair."

Title: Re: This one is for Tallman: Dread thieves cut and run
Post by: Tallman on January 29, 2013, 04:24:02 PM
Dem eh go want mine. It too wild and all how.
Title: Re: This one is for Tallman: Dread thieves cut and run
Post by: asylumseeker on January 29, 2013, 09:50:43 PM
Spare a thought for the victims. Ah know dey feeling naked and stripped of dey identity.
Title: Student will be barred from graduation unless he cuts his dreadlocks, school say
Post by: asylumseeker on January 24, 2020, 03:18:47 PM
Student will be barred from graduation unless he cuts his dreadlocks, school says
By Lateshia Beachum,  The Washington Post

A black Texas student might miss out on his senior prom and his high school graduation ceremony because he wears dreadlocks.

DeAndre Arnold, 18, has been growing his dreadlocks since he was a seventh-grade student in the Barbers Hill Independent School District in Mont Belvieu, he told Fox 26 Houston.

DeAndre’s father, David Arnold, is of Trinidadian descent, and men in his family often grow their dreadlocks past hip length, the teen told KPRC.

As his hair grew, he and his mother, Sandy Arnold, would cornrow it down or intricately tie up his locs in a voluminous dark brown and honey gold bun to make sure his hair was off his collar, away from his earlobes and out of his eyes so he could meet the school district’s dress-code policy.

Her styling was no longer enough for the school, Sandy Arnold told Fox 26 Houston. Right before the school’s winter break, she and her son were called into the Barbers Hill High School principal’s office, where they were given an ultimatum: Cut DeAndre’s dreadlocks or face in-school suspension.

“They say you can’t get around the dress code by having it up,” she told Fox 26 Houston’s Isiah Carey. “We’re at a standstill."

DeAndre is now suspended from school, KHOU-11 reported.

The Arnold family contends the dress-code policy concerning male hair was changed in the middle of the school year, they said in a Monday night school board meeting.

The school district is standing firm on its policy, which states male students can’t have their hair “gathered or worn in a style that would allow the hair to extend below” the collar, earlobes and eyes when let down.

DeAndre and his mother consider the policy to be sexist, something Barbers Hill superintendent Greg Poole disagrees with.

“Every school district in the nation has a dress code,” Poole told KHOU-11, while emphasizing that school districts have the right to make dress codes that meet local expectations of style. “I don’t think you can go to school in your underwear.”

DeAndre’s refusal to cut his hair has stopped him from returning to normal classes, and his mother claims his only other option is to consider attending a nearby alternative school, according KHOU-11.

“My hair has nothing to do with my ‘excellence,’ as we say in Barbers Hill,” the teenager told the station. “How smart I am, what job I’m going to get — my hair doesn’t determine that. I determine that for my character.”

Schane Niemann, a barber, said he has known about the district policy for years and has seen boys in his chair because of the dress code. His shop is across the street from the school.

“Every day we have kids coming in saying that the school makes them come over to get their hair cut because they’re not in compliance,” Niemann said in an interview with KHOU-11. He added, “It’s by far not a race issue.”

Local activists scoff at that assertion, considering the demographics of the district and its city. African Americans make up 3.1 percent of the school district’s population, according to school district data. The black population in Mont Belvieu, the city in which the school district is located, is 8.5 percent, according to census data.

Gerry Moore, the executive director of the United Urban Alumni Association, attended the school board meeting on Martin Luther King Jr. Day to scold the school board for not understanding the religious and cultural meaning of dreadlocks.

“I get it. You don’t understand locs because ain’t none of y’all black,” he said to board members, who are mostly white, amid finger snaps and mumbles of approval.

Other residents in the school district remarked about the reasons the policy should stand or not.

“I won’t stand for anybody bullying my child,” David Arnold said, stating that he and his wife have tried to address school board meetings with no luck to discuss the policy they say was amended in the middle of the school year. "All he wants to do is graduate.”

The issue has caught the attention of high-profile athletes and politicians.

California’s governor, Democrat Gavin Newsom, called the policy “racial discrimination” in a Thursday tweet and touted his state’s reputation as among the first to ban hair discrimination.

Houston Texans wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins, who shares a first name and wears a hairstyle similar to that of DeAndre Arnold, tweeted his support for Arnold on Wednesday.

Arnold has no intention of doing so.

“You can’t just let people walk all over you or anything like that,” he told KHOU-11. “You have to be willing to take a stand, and that’s what I’m going to do.”
Title: Re: Student will be barred from graduation unless he cuts his dreadlocks, school say
Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2020, 04:43:48 AM
The family is Trinbagonian. (https://www.washingtonpost.com/education/2020/01/23/texas-dreadlocks-suspension/)

Another chapter in the queue of matters involving school districts and similar pronouncements. Won't be the last.

He probably shouldn't have gone to a school district named Barbers Hill? :)

De barber smiling all de way to the bank.
Title: Re: Student will be barred from graduation unless he cuts his dreadlocks, school say
Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2020, 05:02:48 AM
California’s governor, Democrat Gavin Newsom, called the policy “racial discrimination” in a Thursday tweet and touted his state’s reputation as among the first to ban hair discrimination.

Went into effect in July 2019. It is powerful in expression and worthy of digesting here - even at the risk of imputing race where it is not explicitly stated in the Texas matter above.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The Legislature finds and declares all of the following:

(a) The history of our nation is riddled with laws and societal norms that equated “blackness,” and the associated physical traits, for example, dark skin, kinky and curly hair to a badge of inferiority, sometimes subject to separate and unequal treatment.

(b) This idea also permeated societal understanding of professionalism. Professionalism was, and still is, closely linked to European features and mannerisms, which entails that those who do not naturally fall into Eurocentric norms must alter their appearances, sometimes drastically and permanently, in order to be deemed professional.

(c) Despite the great strides American society and laws have made to reverse the racist ideology that Black traits are inferior, hair remains a rampant source of racial discrimination with serious economic and health consequences, especially for Black individuals.

(d) Workplace dress code and grooming policies that prohibit natural hair, including afros, braids, twists, and locks, have a disparate impact on Black individuals as these policies are more likely to deter Black applicants and burden or punish Black employees than any other group.

(e) Federal courts accept that Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination based on race, and therefore protects against discrimination against afros. However, the courts do not understand that afros are not the only natural presentation of Black hair. Black hair can also be naturally presented in braids, twists, and locks.

(f) In a society in which hair has historically been one of many determining factors of a person’s race, and whether they were a second class citizen, hair today remains a proxy for race. Therefore, hair discrimination targeting hairstyles associated with race is racial discrimination.

(g) Acting in accordance with the constitutional values of fairness, equity, and opportunity for all, the Legislature recognizes that continuing to enforce a Eurocentric image of professionalism through purportedly race-neutral grooming policies that disparately impact Black individuals and exclude them from some workplaces is in direct opposition to equity and opportunity for all.

Ring ah bell for freedom.

Post by: Tallman on January 25, 2020, 10:10:01 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/wINfONQGlGA

https://www.youtube.com/v/LyiTROM7S4I
Post by: E-man on August 03, 2020, 09:40:20 PM
School can ban dreadlocks, Jamaica’s high court rules

By Kate Chappell
The Washington Post
KINGSTON, Jamaica — Jamaica’s high court ruled Friday that a school was within its rights to demand that a girl cut her dreadlocks to attend classes, a surprise decision that touched on issues of identity and one the most recognizable symbols of the island’s Rastafarian culture.

The ruling by the Supreme Court of Jamaica capped a two-year battle after the girl — then 5 years old — was told she must cut her dreadlocks for “hygiene” reasons to study at Kensington Primary School in a Kingston suburb.

A rights group, Jamaicans for Justice, had initially lent support to the family, saying the order for the girl to cut her dreadlocks amounted a denial of her freedom of expression and her access to education.

Others viewed the court battle as a stand against rules seen as discrimination against people who wear “natural” hair, including Rastafarians whose dreadlocks are part of their religious tradition.

The girl and her parents, Dale and Sherine Virgo, who both wear dreadlocks, plan to appeal, said their lawyer, Isat Buchanan.

“I will not be cutting my daughter’s hair,” Sherine Virgo said immediately after the ruling. “If they give me that ultimatum again, I will be moving her.”

Virgo’s daughter — now 7 years old and identified in court papers only as Z because she is a minor — was attending classes at the school after the courts delivered an injunction against the Ministry of Education, allowing her to go to school with her dreadlocks intact.

When the school closed this spring because of the coronavirus pandemic, the girl was home-schooled.

“I am more than surprised. It is most unfortunate,” Buchanan said. “It is a most unfortunate day for Black people and for Rastafarian people in Jamaica.”

The girl’s father called the ruling another sign of “systemic racism.”

“A child was refused because of her Black hair, you know?” said Dale Virgo. “It’s so weird that right now in the current climate of the world, in 2020, we are having protests, and Black people are fed up.

“This is an opportunity the Jamaican government and the legal system had to right these wrongs and lead the world and make a change,” he continued. “But they have decided to keep the same system.”

The judgment was delivered in a small courtroom populated mainly by lawyers and the girl’s parents.

The minister of education, Karl Samuda, declined to comment on the ruling, which came on the eve of Emancipation Day, celebrated in Jamaica and elsewhere to mark the end of slavery in the British Empire.

“I’m very cautious about where I tread,” he said, “especially on a sensitive enough subject like that.”

Verene Shepherd, director of the Center for Reparation Research at the University of the West Indies, said the Ministry of Education is debating issues of student clothing and hairstyles, including dreadlocks.

The Virgos say they do not identify as Rastafarian, but they say that wearing dreadlocks is an expression of their identity. All Virgo family members wear that natural hairstyle, as do many Jamaicans who identify as Rastafarian.

Though Rastafarians account for only about 2 percent of Jamaica’s population, the movement has an outsize influence in the culture. Made popular by perhaps the world’s most famous Rastafarian, Bob Marley, it is a political and religious movement that was founded in the 1930s, drawing from African, Revivalist and Christian traditions.

Despite its popularity, Rastafarians, and people who wear natural hair, still face discrimination in Jamaica.

Some schools, including Kensington Primary, explicitly state that dreadlocks are not allowed, and other schools have banned students who refuse to cut them. In the wake of the challenge, the Ministry of Education issued guidelines for hairstyles, including a directive that if children wear dreadlocks, they must be “neat.”

“In general, I think that discrimination on the grounds of hairstyle is wrong,” Shepherd said. “I do not think our children who are Rastafari and who express their culture through their hair should be discriminated against.”
Post by: asylumseeker on August 04, 2020, 11:15:20 AM
Look how much has changed since Bustamente,  Sangster and Shearer.  :flamethrower:
Title: Re: Dreadlocks Thread
Post by: soccerman on August 10, 2020, 08:57:39 AM
Like I saw someone on social media posted, Jamaica and other Caribbean Islands use images of Rastafarians in their tourism ads to North America and Europe, portraying an image to come to the islands to relax, have a good time and all that jazz. Now they're going against their very own people whose images they use to sell.