Sports => Football => Topic started by: Dinner Mints on March 22, 2008, 01:29:18 PM

Title: Kenwyne and Carlos set to miss out.
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 22, 2008, 01:29:18 PM
Kenwyne and Carlos set to miss out.
By: Sunderland AFC.

Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards are set to miss Wednesday's international game in the Caribbean. Jones missed Sunderland's 1-0 win at Aston Villa after picking up a virus earlier in the week and Edwards has a groin strain.

The winger started at Villa Park despite suffering the injury in training on Wearside yesterday but he was substituted in the 67th minute. Both players were named in the Trinidad and Tobago squad for their friendly against Jamaica in Kingston on Wednesday.

Roy Keane, Sunderland's manager, confirmed: "Kenwyne didn't train yesterday, he has a virus and could not travel.

"I spoke to the doctor and he told me that Kenwyne was not right. The temptation is always to take a risk but it would not have been fair. I doubt whether it's a 24 hour thing, it will be longer than that.

"Carlos has a groin injury which he picked up in training yesterday, he won't be fit to travel."

Danny Collins picked up a dead-leg in the win at Villa Park and Keane is hoping he is fit for Sunderland's game against West Ham at the Stadium of Light next week.
Title: Re: Kenwyne and Carlos Set to Miss Out.
Post by: kev on March 22, 2008, 01:32:29 PM
naughty naughty RK

Actually that pisses me off having thought about it, if Carlos had a groin strain he shouldn't of played him, and I can smell trouble if he plays him next week.  T & T are quite within their rights to ask him to travel for asessment, and I wouldn't blame them.  Even though given the circumstances I do think he should of never been called up for this game in the first place.
Post by: weary1969 on March 22, 2008, 01:38:24 PM
What d TTFF go do blacklist been there done that
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 22, 2008, 01:39:35 PM
Ban them for 2 or 3 games like they did Ince. Keane is, therefore, shooting himself in the foot.
Post by: kev on March 22, 2008, 01:42:28 PM
Ban them for 2 or 3 games like they did Ince. Keane is, therefore, shooting himself in the foot.

Can't do that.

KJ didn't wasn't even in the squad so nothing can be done.

As above for Carlos they either accept Sunderlands explanation or require hime to travel for asessment, if they do that and the club refuses then he can be sanctioned.

Thats my understanding of the rules but I may be proved wrong again on here as I was the last time :-[
Post by: weary1969 on March 22, 2008, 01:44:11 PM
He who alleges must prove KJ eh train 4 d week and we know that Carlos is Mr. Injury prone so why is it that dey must fly across d Atlantic 2 d land of Achee and saltfish for what bragging rites.

Prove dat it deliberate or else dey both staring next week 4 Sunderland
Post by: dervaig on March 22, 2008, 01:52:00 PM
He who alleges must prove KJ eh train 4 d week and we know that Carlos is Mr. Injury prone so why is it that dey must fly across d Atlantic 2 d land of Achee and saltfish for what bragging rites.

Here is what I am baffled over.

These two guys earn their living playing for a club who is fighting for
their Prem life. Why would they risk taking a trip to Jamaica, to play
in the Savannah (they call it 'd oRfice'), and get good kick up?
The game against JA is MEANINGLESS!
It's a notch above a fete match, with the victor getting bragging rights.
So what!

I fully understand the debate between club and country, but this
is a fight to stay up versus getting kick-up in the Savannah.
Post by: Reggaefan on March 22, 2008, 02:07:07 PM

So what!

We  might as well call of the game if K Jones and C Edwards wont be showing up in Kingston.
Post by: WestCoast on March 22, 2008, 02:20:50 PM
but this
is a fight to stay up versus getting kick-up in the Savannah cow pasture.
Post by: Midknight on March 22, 2008, 02:29:07 PM
And the plot thickens...
Post by: dervaig on March 22, 2008, 03:05:48 PM
We  might as well call of the game if K Jones and C Edwards wont be showing up in Kingston.

I wouldn't go so far as to call it off.
The experience these young guys will get playing in 'd Savannah', versus
playing in the Crawford or the Ramjohn will be good.
A good kick-up before WC qualifying will harden some of 'dese nashi' lads
we have.

Post by: Tenorsaw on March 22, 2008, 03:08:31 PM
Call Stern and ....
Post by: biga84 on March 22, 2008, 03:19:23 PM
If RK didnt kick up a stink in the begining no one would be questioning these circumstances...No need for them fellas to risk worst injury etc for a trip to JA...Waiti until the return leg
Post by: truetrini on March 22, 2008, 03:25:00 PM
De office is described by jamaicans as a cow pasture...doh f**k up we savannah..a-a...saying we savannah jes like de office is an affront to a national instituton like de savannah.

ketch yuhself, ketch allyuh self.

NOW!
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2008, 03:46:13 PM
THIS IS VERRRRY BAD  >:(
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 22, 2008, 04:36:13 PM
Me eh know how I feel about this yet.

I didn't think they should be coming. But the way they going about it leave a bitter taste in mih mouth.

If they didn't want to come, why they didn't just ask to be excused? Like Stern ask. Or like Darryl Roberts ask against Guadeloupe.
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2008, 04:39:56 PM
BULLSHIT  >:( SUNDERLAND
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 22, 2008, 05:19:08 PM
RK def. using some tactics, but this game to some degree was rendered meaningless from the get go when only a fraction of the eligible foreign base was called (Stern apart), TTFF continues to be the major impediment to the dev. of our football, nothing new.  Continue to build the local team w/this game vs tougher opposition.  Since JA have recalled most of their eligible foreign base they would no doubt see it as a slap in the face
Post by: najee on March 22, 2008, 05:26:21 PM
from the min..the coach from sunderland start compaining about K. Jones and Carlos...ah know this will be a back and fort thing...cause he wouldn't bitch about it.... if it was a english boy or player from wale or ireland or any other european country .....and yuh would think he give ah shit about Trinidad and Tobago road to 2010...no he doesn't....and  i know you guy's will disagree with me in what i have to say...cause it seen that Trinidad and Tobago is the only country having this problem with club and country went other country having their players without any problem...all on sutton one have the flu and the other a groin injury and i will alway blame TTFF for this...if only they get their shit together
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2008, 05:44:36 PM
So guys is it too late to call in replacement foreign based players for dem like birchall or scotland, how long must must a club be notified that a country wants the players for a friendly
Post by: StoreBayLimer on March 22, 2008, 05:49:31 PM

Something like this was more or less expected and people cannot really fault R. Keane.  There are only 7 more games to go.   It was fine for Kenwynne to be given a rest this week, and it also serves another purpose.
Post by: madness1969 on March 22, 2008, 06:40:48 PM
i think the team will be fine. KJ and Carloes is true. just call back Stern and Jaason.that alll
Post by: dinho on March 22, 2008, 07:10:55 PM
i eh care what nobody say, whether or not Carlos and Kenwyne should have come back for the Jamaica game, this here is bullshit..

If i was in charge of the TTFF, I was bringing both dey sick and injured asses back to Trinidad even if is to lounge on de bench and watch proceedings solely based on principle... Because that was a poor way to handle this situation. They couldve asked to be excused or worked out some arrangement or the other, or engage in some kinda dialogue..

You cyah tell me Carlos have ah "groin injury" but starting against Aston Villa but not fit for Wednesday, then starting next saturday..

You cyah tell me Kenwyne have ah flu that you as a coach with no medical credentials diagnose will make him unfit for travel..

Come nuh Keane.. Come better than that!!!
Post by: kounty on March 22, 2008, 07:30:05 PM
i eh care what nobody say, whether or not Carlos and Kenwyne should have come back for the Jamaica game, this here is bullshit..

If i was in charge of the TTFF, I was bringing both dey sick and injured asses back to Trinidad even if is to lounge on de bench and watch proceedings solely based on principle... Because that was a poor way to handle this situation. They couldve asked to be excused or worked out some arrangement or the other, or engage in some kinda dialogue..

You cyah tell me Carlos have ah "groin injury" but starting against Aston Villa but not fit for Wednesday, then starting next saturday..

You cyah tell me Kenwyne have ah flu that you as a coach with no medical credentials diagnose will make him unfit for travel..

I think if the players was slaves then they coulda handle dem like dat
Post by: Ngozi on March 22, 2008, 07:56:21 PM
Wouldnt this be a good opportunity to bring Cornel Glen back into the mix? I mean what is the keep back here? No offense but nobody telling me the youth man gay is a more dangerous option than Cornell so he should definitely be brought in unless he is on tour wth Jabloteh as well...is he?
Post by: weary1969 on March 22, 2008, 08:15:10 PM
Club v Country debate is always country 4 me but not dis time. JW and dem blacklist man 4 over a yr, this could have affected KJ gettin he work permit. If Carlos was a woman dey would say he is a victim of Domestic Violence d amount of time he does b injured.

I doubt KJ was fit and eh play 2day so Keene must pay 4 he sick men 2 go to JA. We know is coach that they was goin and is Keeane woulda have 2 pay he pounds to upgrade dem 2 first class.

4get dat fete match in JA
Post by: Babalawo on March 22, 2008, 08:45:30 PM
Roy Keane and the players. smarts that good what they do the ttff  :rotfl:  Betcha Keane was keeping them out for next week tougher games.  He knew schemical wise he could win today, then make up a false report so the players don't have to travel lol.  Wouldnt be suprise if Yorke was behind this too :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2008, 08:58:32 PM

true that

I think if the players was slaves then they coulda handle dem like dat

what wrong with that  :devil:

Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2008, 09:00:20 PM
this smelling foul off a plot to stop them from playing Wed, i bet u jacko aint going to let this slide knowing him
Post by: Quags on March 22, 2008, 09:01:15 PM
The men change they minds ,when they finally stop thinking about home ,and realize they on the edge of a giant precipice  :o ,they do ah wile cayote ,and run back on the cliff . And Roy was more than happy to lie for them ,if they wanted to come they would have .But dry so rite ...they do it Dry so .
This is revenge for Gayle not picking jaggernauth ,for a jamaican  :P
Post by: grskywalker on March 22, 2008, 09:11:20 PM

Why! They have done nothing wrong! Have we gotten so shitty that we cannot field a decent team for Jamacia without KJ and Carlos???!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on March 22, 2008, 09:19:00 PM
Play d local base dem is d future I hear Corneal say so
Post by: che on March 22, 2008, 09:19:15 PM
These guys are  starters for us. They will be missed but to qualify for a WC you need lots of depth. This is a good chance to see how some of the new players will perform in a hostile environment . Playing in the oesophagus will not be easy. But the warriors will do us proud.
Post by: dcs on March 22, 2008, 09:20:52 PM
If in KJ and Carlos conversations with the team staff they say they what they want to do then end of story...neither the public nor Keane may know what they discussed and decided.
Post by: Storeboy on March 22, 2008, 10:33:22 PM
naughty naughty RK

Actually that pisses me off having thought about it, if Carlos had a groin strain he shouldn't of played him, and I can smell trouble if he plays him next week.  T & T are quite within their rights to ask him to travel for asessment, and I wouldn't blame them.  Even though given the circumstances I do think he should of never been called up for this game in the first place.

It make me wonder if he really have a groin stain or if Keane trying to pull one.  How could he have a groin strain and play for 67 minutes in the game on Saturday?  Hmmm!
Post by: arrow on March 23, 2008, 06:48:58 AM
naughty naughty RK

It make me wonder if he really have a groin stain or if Keane trying to pull one.  How could he have a groin strain and play for 67 minutes in the game on Saturday?  Hmmm!

Anyone see the match?  How did Edwards play before he came off.  If he was pulling stones no point bringing him down at this point
Post by: kev on March 23, 2008, 07:00:57 AM
naughty naughty RK

Anyone see the match?  How did Edwards play before he came off.  If he was pulling stones no point bringing him down at this point

Still not 100% match fit and lack of matches / sharpness fairly obvious, by the time he gets it back still wouldn't of proved if he can cut it in the prem ( I think he can).
Post by: Reggaefan on March 23, 2008, 07:22:52 AM
Club v Country debate is always country 4 me but not dis time. JW and dem blacklist man 4 over a yr, this could have affected KJ gettin he work permit. If Carlos was a woman dey would say he is a victim of Domestic Violence d amount of time he does b injured.

I doubt KJ was fit and eh play 2day so Keene must pay 4 he sick men 2 go to JA. We know is coach that they was goin and is Keeane woulda have 2 pay he pounds to upgrade dem 2 first class.

4get dat fete match in JA

I've been hearing the term "fete match" being thrown about. Can someone tell me what a fete match is? Is it the same as a "friendly"?  Th4 squad that narrowly beat Guadeloupe recently, was that the strongest T&T team assembled in recent years, and was that match considered a "fete" match too?

Just trying to get an understanding of what qualifies as a "fete match"
Post by: arrow on March 23, 2008, 07:52:14 AM
Playing against a joke of a football team like Jamaica is a fete match...and is treated as such.
Playing against a country that has a proper football team is a friendly.
Post by: Midknight on March 23, 2008, 08:55:13 AM

Fete match as the term suggests, is a match that is played as an excuse for a fete (party) and/or to make money. Not only is the result completely anectodic, but generally speaking so are the players on the field (you could have retired out of shape men, little kids etc. Whatever "stars" are present are there mainly for their ability to dribble as opposed to actually being able to score etc etc.

One could argue that we took Guadeloupe seriously because they actually happen to be a Gold Cup side. I personally think that the composition of our squad is just a lack of foresight from the TTFF, and yes, as a Jamaican I would consider it a bit disrespectful to not send our strongest squad when you are clearly making an effort to do same.
That said it may be fairly indicative of where both administrations stand in relation to the teams' fans. The JFF obviously feels that they have to prove a point. The TTFF (despite the crap thats been going on since the World Cup) doesn't consider that they owe us anything, seeing that we've actually gone on to qualify for the final phases of the last twp premier competitions we've participated in (World Cup/Gold Cup).

Its the typical scenario... 'little' country is proud to get friendly with 'big' country. 'Big' country sends its reserves. 'Little' country loses, no one complains, 'little' country draws/wins, 'little' country's fans are happy. Ironically, right about now, like it or not, Jamaica is the "little" country in this arrangement.

I don't like it anymore than you do, but this is unfortunately, how the TTFF seems to be looking at it. And your federation is lapping it up hook line and sinker.

You shouldn't be surprised. You're the guy who still brags about beating a PFL 11 with 4 non trinis in the lineup 6-1 10 years ago... ::)
Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2008, 09:19:18 AM
Bring back Birchall
Post by: Midknight on March 23, 2008, 09:30:22 AM
Playing in the oesophagus will not be easy.
Post by: Jayerson on March 23, 2008, 09:35:15 AM
Bring back Birchall

Birchall's days are done, as stupid as it sounds. Everyone is getting a chance to be seen, please. They trying to bring an unfit Carlos but leaving out a Birchall who openly said he's intersted in coming back for the J'can game.
Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2008, 09:38:49 AM
Bring back Birchall

Birchall's days are done, as stupid as it sounds. Everyone is getting a chance to be seen, please. They trying to bring an unfit Carlos but leaving out a Birchall who openly said he's intersted in coming back for the J'can game.

so true would u know i was thinking d same thing yesterday, really really sad
Post by: dervaig on March 23, 2008, 09:46:58 AM
I've been hearing the term "fete match" being thrown about. Can someone tell me what a fete match is? Is it the same as a "friendly"?  Th4 squad that narrowly beat Guadeloupe recently, was that the strongest T&T team assembled in recent years, and was that match considered a "fete" match too?

Fan, with all due respect to Midknight, let me give you the meaning of
'Fete Match'.

Now this is the official version 'cause it comes from 'Cote ce Cote la', d
ONE AND ONLY TRINI DICTIONARY.

A fete match is .............. A friendly game of football, cricket, hockey etc. where the accent is on having a good time with lots of accompanying food, drink and "fatigue", the outcome of the match is purely for boasting rights

Funnily enough, the 2008 version of  'Cote ce Cote la' was recently released,
and the example the book gave as a Fete Match is the upcoming game in
D Savannah between JA and D Warriors.

Hope this helps!
Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2008, 10:01:46 AM

'Fete Match'.

A fete match is .............. A friendly game of football, cricket, hockey etc. where the accent is on having a good time with lots of accompanying food, drink and "fatigue", the outcome of the match is purely for boasting rights

Hope this helps!

Post by: Dinner Mints on March 23, 2008, 10:06:28 AM
Roberts get taken off at half time in his game today. Another "injured" foreign-based?
Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2008, 10:16:01 AM
Roberts get taken off at half time in his game today. Another "injured" foreign-based?

boy doh depress me now nah  :( :(
Post by: Sando prince on March 23, 2008, 01:14:34 PM

So what!

I dont get it! How is a preparation game for our WC campaign meaningless?...Do you think we should start to acknowledge games with a high level of importance now or when WC qualification begin?
Post by: Reggaefan on March 23, 2008, 01:32:54 PM

Fete match as the term suggests, is a match that is played as an excuse for a fete (party) and/or to make money. Not only is the result completely anectodic, but generally speaking so are the players on the field (you could have retired out of shape men, little kids etc. Whatever "stars" are present are there mainly for their ability to dribble as opposed to actually being able to score etc etc.

One could argue that we took Guadeloupe seriously because they actually happen to be a Gold Cup side. I personally think that the composition of our squad is just a lack of foresight from the TTFF, and yes, as a Jamaican I would consider it a bit disrespectful to not send our strongest squad when you are clearly making an effort to do same.
That said it may be fairly indicative of where both administrations stand in relation to the teams' fans. The JFF obviously feels that they have to prove a point. The TTFF (despite the crap thats been going on since the World Cup) doesn't consider that they owe us anything, seeing that we've actually gone on to qualify for the final phases of the last twp premier competitions we've participated in (World Cup/Gold Cup).

Its the typical scenario... 'little' country is proud to get friendly with 'big' country. 'Big' country sends its reserves. 'Little' country loses, no one complains, 'little' country draws/wins, 'little' country's fans are happy. Ironically, right about now, like it or not, Jamaica is the "little" country in this arrangement.

I don't like it anymore than you do, but this is unfortunately, how the TTFF seems to be looking at it. And your federation is lapping it up hook line and sinker.

You shouldn't be surprised. You're the guy who still brags about beating a PFL 11 with 4 non trinis in the lineup 6-1 10 years ago... ::)

Thanks for clearing that up Midknight. It appears what you are saying tro me is simply this: the TTFF and Coaching staff are not serious about the business of football and getting your team adequately prepared for South Africa 2010.

From Jamaica's perspective, I can categorically say here now that we are NOT taking this T&T game more or less seriously than any of the 4 games we played in recent times. Apart from the fact that this is the Caribbeans biggest rivalry, the coaching staff is still using this game to look at players, just liek I assume your coaching staff is doing. Aint no bragging rights involved in it like people are suggesting. Thats the furthest thing from Simoes mind.

And regarding Jamaica being the "little country" in this arrangement. Ehe eh. I find that funny.

Post by: Reggaefan on March 23, 2008, 01:40:20 PM
Playing against a joke of a football team like Jamaica is a fete match...and is treated as such.
Playing against a country that has a proper football team is a friendly.

OK. have you guys ever played a friendly match vs Jamaica or have they all been "fete matches". Interesting.
Post by: Reggaefan on March 23, 2008, 01:43:29 PM

'Fete Match'.

Hope this helps!

Sounds like some early excuses for the whoop areseing that you see coming your way.  :)
Title: Re: Kenwyne and Carlos set to miss out.
Post by: weary1969 on March 23, 2008, 03:19:15 PM
Is a fete match whether all yuh beat we or not d state ah we football is a fete match. Until d best team take d feel is fete match. As d man say all yuh fielding a full team wit all dem Brits and we top scorer eh comin.
Post by: Lionpaw on March 23, 2008, 03:29:58 PM
Is a fete match whether all yuh beat we or not d state ah we football is a fete match. Until d best team take d feel is fete match. As d man say all yuh fielding a full team wit all dem Brits and we top scorer eh comin.

Dumb shyt, this is not our top team either. Ricardo Gardner(captain), Ian Goodison and Ricardo Fuller(top  5 scorer in the Championship) are out. Why are you Trinis making excuses before the game even start? Jesus. At least have a little hope and tell us you're going to win or summ'n.
Post by: che on March 23, 2008, 03:36:32 PM
Bring back Birchall

I second  that. he is our best defensive midfield player.
Post by: Midknight on March 23, 2008, 06:35:04 PM

Thanks for clearing that up Midknight. It appears what you are saying tro me is simply this: the TTFF and Coaching staff are not serious about the business of football and getting your team adequately prepared for South Africa 2010.
No shit, Captain Obvious...

From Jamaica's perspective, I can categorically say here now that we are NOT taking this T&T game more or less seriously than any of the 4 games we played in recent times. Apart from the fact that this is the Caribbeans biggest rivalry, the coaching staff is still using this game to look at players, just liek I assume your coaching staff is doing. Aint no bragging rights involved in it like people are suggesting. Thats the furthest thing from Simoes mind.

And regarding Jamaica being the "little country" in this arrangement. Ehe eh. I find that funny.
Weren't you the one suggesting that we cancel the friendly based on the fact that TWO of our players couldn't make it? You don't see us bitching because poor old Gardener bruised his ribs/is needed by Bolton to fight off relegation/fill in excuse as needed.

The fact of the matter is that we (or at least the TTFF) don't care. Sounds like one team is definitely attatching a lot more importance to the friendly than another. Here's a hint: they won't be the ones playing in red
Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2008, 06:38:18 PM

Dumb shyt, this is not our top team either. Ricardo Gardner(captain), Ian Goodison and Ricardo Fuller(top  5 scorer in the Championship) are out. Why are you Trinis making excuses before the game even start? Jesus. At least have a little hope and tell us you're going to win or summ'n.

i didnt know dem men is what u call good  :D
Post by: Midknight on March 23, 2008, 06:43:42 PM
Aye. When you jump on a train that already pulling away, it not logical to sue people because yuh tail get break up from falling off...

Since yuh wasn't paying attention, is yuh troll mate Reggaefan that mention that the squad was weak. All people doing here is agreeing with him. If you have any beef with that, you could go right down Kingston and beat him for it without coming on here to aggravate people.

And wait nah is 35-36 year old Ian Goodison who playing third division football yuh mentioning in yuh "top players" list? You ent shame?
Post by: weary1969 on March 23, 2008, 08:42:30 PM
We eh makin excuse we know that we team in a mess and we Trinis honest enough 2 admit dat unlike all yuh boyz who all yuh feel is d best team since Pele 1970 team
Post by: dcs on March 23, 2008, 11:02:42 PM
Despite what some people here saying this game IS very important and it means PLENTY who wins.  I want a win in da office and I don't care who we send I want them to beat JA.
Our team is not weak just young but that can be said for a lot of teams rebuilding at this point so it is not an excuse at all.

U take all games against potential WCQ opponents VERY seriously because in the final stages every bit counts especially the psychological edge.  Win or lose eh matter but u go in dere and play to win and make sure they know and FEEL that u going for blood.
Post by: Quags on March 23, 2008, 11:19:44 PM
Tell them .

This ein t no stinking fete match ,THIS IS WAR !!! the only fete will be BLOOD ,SWEAT and FETE .
Massacre them young warriors .Cyar let jamaica win ya know .Is Monday time to bring out the war paint .
Post by: Benjie on March 24, 2008, 12:08:35 AM
Well if they out we just have to let the coach look at other players maybe more from the Under 17 or the Under 15this time?
Post by: dervaig on March 24, 2008, 05:29:53 AM
Sounds like some early excuses for the whoop areseing that you see coming your way.  :)

Fan, how you wound up so tight?
When carnival hits JA, make sure you take ah jump
up, an get 'een sum $ wine'.

Of course T&T needs warm-up games, Lord knows we
need all 'd sweat' we can get.
If JA wins, good for you!
If T&T wins, good fuh we!
If we draw, good fuh boat ah we!
At the end of the day, both countries have (or should have)
one goal, South Africa 2010.

Excuses?
Nah man!
Post by: Brownsugar on March 24, 2008, 08:14:37 AM
Tell them .

This ein t no stinking fete match ,THIS IS WAR !!! the only fete will be BLOOD ,SWEAT and FETE .
Massacre them young warriors .Cyar let jamaica win ya know .Is Monday time to bring out the war paint .

Boy....I with you....

IS.... :whip: :whip: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

for JA.....
Post by: Reggaefan on March 24, 2008, 09:11:33 AM

Weren't you the one suggesting that we cancel the friendly based on the fact that TWO of our players couldn't make it? You don't see us bitching because poor old Gardener bruised his ribs/is needed by Bolton to fight off relegation/fill in excuse as needed.

The fact of the matter is that we (or at least the TTFF) don't care. Sounds like one team is definitely attatching a lot more importance to the friendly than another. Here's a hint: they won't be the ones playing in red

MidKnight. Yes, Jamaica is taking this warm-up game very seriously..not becuase we are playing T&T, but because we are preparing ourselves to qualify for South africa 2010. In fact, I am disappointed that negotiations broke down with Honduras(the team simoes wanted to bring to Jamaica, but had to settle for T&T when Honduras pulled out)

I dont understand why the TTFF would choose to take a friendly game with Guadeloupe more seriously than a friendly game with its biggest caribbean rival...perhaps like many of the posters here, they are afraid to come to the office with a full strength squad and ahve their asses handed to them on a platter like have been the trend in the past. Not being able to beat Guadeloue at home with a full strength squad is perhaps not what the TTFF was looking for. So they decide to send a "fete" match team to Kingston. I recall the last time that happened the scorline was ver lop-sided. Jones and Edwards must have gotten cold-feet at the last moment. :)

Regardless, I am sure simoes and his troops will be going into the game to play football, despite the quality of the opposition, it should be a good work out for the boyz.
Post by: weary1969 on March 24, 2008, 09:18:25 AM
Yeah real impt who win bragging rites. Not 1 tink else. Anybody hear dat Pancho contract goin and b extended. Or come July we goin and have 2 start ovah. Much more crucial issues than beatin d reggae boyz
Post by: FireBrand on March 24, 2008, 09:41:47 AM

I am disappointed that negotiations broke down with Honduras(the team simoes wanted to bring to Jamaica, but had to settle for T&T when Honduras pulled out)

Yuh should not be disappointed...yuh should be happy a quality team like T&T felt sorry enough to give u game...considering how decent teams like Honduras, Nigeria etc. blank all yuh. And what's the story with the well hyped up Argentina-Ja clash? Is it still on?
Post by: Reggaefan on March 24, 2008, 11:25:35 AM

I am disappointed that negotiations broke down with Honduras(the team simoes wanted to bring to Jamaica, but had to settle for T&T when Honduras pulled out)

Yuh should not be disappointed...yuh should be happy a quality team like T&T felt sorry enough to give u game...considering how decent teams like Honduras, Nigeria etc. blank all yuh. And what's the story with the well hyped up Argentina-Ja clash? Is it still on?

I cant speak for the Jamaica vs Argentina clash, you have to ask the JFF president that question. Not sure why Argentina would want to play Jamaica in a friendly though....nothing in it for them really.

when did Nigeria blank Jamaica? the last game that we were supposed to play fell through because the JFF didnt want to pay their airfare to Jamaica from Mexico on top of the US$70K match fee they were being paid. I dont think Jamaica have a problem getting teams to come to Jamaica, because we are able to pay them, mainly from the strong gate reciepts. Honduras only declined our recent offer simply because they didnt feel comfortable with us having them in Kingston seeing that both nations will more than likely end up in the same group come June. In fact, teh story broke in the Honduran media long before it broke in the Jamaica media. Having played Guatemala, Canada, Panama, El Salavdor, Costa Rica etc in recent times, I suppose the next best work out for us would be to take Kenwyn Jones and company to the office. I hear the JFF is currently negotiating with Mexico for a game in the NY area.

Post by: dcs on March 24, 2008, 11:41:25 AM

Is how much 3+ years RF was in hiding and had to hush he mouth now he cud talk big   :rotfl:
Imagine if they actually win the game.  He go still come back and take he licks when we beat them right?

Honduras qualify for the WC?  They came close a time but some team from the Caribbean beat them at home in their last game   :thinking:
Post by: D.H.W on March 24, 2008, 01:01:12 PM
Tell them .

Boy....I with you....

IS.... :whip: :whip: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

for JA.....

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Weh-it-is on March 24, 2008, 01:09:29 PM
So wah alyuh think? This is ah big game for we…bragging rights against Jamaica is ah big deal! Even when we playing in Brooklyn, DC or Miami tournaments for money and small trophy, is battle for years against the two islands. So we need we big players. Keane and them ent know that we have ah rivalry going on ah wah. That ent right…he to stupid because it seems to obvious for all of a sudden them men injured? They should slap him with ah big fine!  ;D
Post by: Quags on March 24, 2008, 01:21:23 PM
The only reason I say le them they ,is because Carlos have one foot ,and they would probably bench Randi for KJ and Randi in better form .Scotland woulda been nice doh ,what happen there ?
Post by: Reggaefan on March 24, 2008, 01:56:17 PM

Is how much 3+ years RF was in hiding and had to hush he mouth now he cud talk big   :rotfl:
Imagine if they actually win the game.  He go still come back and take he licks when we beat them right?

Honduras qualify for the WC?  They came close a time but some team from the Caribbean beat them at home in their last game   :thinking:

If Jamaica win the game its not a big deal. we have been beating you consistently over the years. Its a bigger deal if we lose to you, regardless of what team you send....
Post by: Quags on March 24, 2008, 02:03:00 PM
 :rotfl: nice well prepare for a big deal  :rotfl: living in the past man ah ride harse .Some 16 and 18 year ole school boys gonna beat alyah  :rotfl:
Post by: Sando prince on March 24, 2008, 06:51:08 PM
Aye. When you jump on a train that already pulling away, it not logical to sue people because yuh tail get break up from falling off...

Since yuh wasn't paying attention, is yuh troll mate Reggaefan that mention that the squad was weak. All people doing here is agreeing with him. If you have any beef with that, you could go right down Kingston and beat him for it without coming on here to aggravate people.

And wait nah is 35-36 year old Ian Goodison who playing third division football yuh mentioning in yuh "top players" list? You ent shame?
Ah guess he have no shame...Goodison right now is a mess but to dem he is a top player  :-\
Post by: Midknight on March 24, 2008, 07:26:11 PM
Honduras only declined our recent offer simply because they didnt feel comfortable with us having them in Kingston seeing that both nations will more than likely end up in the same group come June. In fact, teh story broke in the Honduran media long before it broke in the Jamaica media. Having played Guatemala, Canada, Panama, El Salavdor, Costa Rica etc in recent times, I suppose the next best work out for us would be to take Kenwyn Jones and company to the office. I hear the JFF is currently negotiating with Mexico for a game in the NY area.

Going on your rationale for Honduras pulling out (which I agree with), why would Mexico agree to play you? Won't they be in the same group as well?
Post by: just cool on March 24, 2008, 07:40:16 PM
Is daryl roberts comming for the game ?
Post by: Quags on March 24, 2008, 07:59:23 PM
Is daryl roberts comming for the game ?
Nah he get  injured last game .
Post by: weary1969 on March 24, 2008, 08:02:39 PM
How we know dat Daryl really injured since is more conspiracy than Al Queda in Iraq
Post by: trinsolutions on March 24, 2008, 09:07:40 PM
can allyuh give me de real deal on these players pls.
Post by: frico on March 25, 2008, 03:53:04 AM
Reggaefan is saying that we are making excuses coz we are going to loose,its not excuses ,we are just being realistic.Before we were refused Carlos and Kenwynne we were already without John,Scotland,Ince and Lawrence.We are now without first choice defenders and first choice strikers what do you expect us to do,celebrate the fact that some of our best players are not coming.By the way you mentioned your great pool of players,tell me,what have they got you over the last couple of years.I am talking about your reserves,go on and tell us.I know what our reserves have been doing since 2006 and its better than your reserves.Now since we are so depleted Reggaeboyz should win at least 2-0,anything less than that would show frailties in your team,if we hold you to a draw then bragging rites is ours.Here is my prediction...1-1 at the Office.
Post by: Midknight on March 25, 2008, 04:03:25 AM
can allyuh give me de real deal on these players pls.

meaning?
Post by: just cool on March 25, 2008, 01:24:18 PM
I read in an article where daryl is comming and will be present for the game in kingston. lets hope so.       positive.