Sports => Football => Topic started by: black chinee on April 14, 2008, 04:30:06 PM

Title: Training squad for Puerto Rico clash.
Post by: black chinee on April 14, 2008, 04:30:06 PM
French-based striker in.
...Forbes called for Puerto Rico friendly.

Trinidad and Tobago National Team head coach Francisco Maturana has selected a squad of twenty-six players to attend training sessions ahead of this country’s next friendly international against Puerto Rico at the Marvin Lee Stadium on April 27.

The Colombian-born coach has called up French-based forward Kevaughn Connell and in-form United Petrotrin striker Jerol Forbes. Connell is a 24-year-old striker with French Third Division club L'Entente Sannois Saint-Gratien.

Forbes meantime was a member of the T&T Under 17 team at the 2001 FIFA Under 17 World Championship, scoring T&T’s lone goal in its defeat to Brazil at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Team manager David Muhammad confirmed that Connell who had stints with Joe Public, Clico Jabloteh, New York/New Jersey MetroStars as well as played for French club AS Cannes, was already contacted and will make the trip home for the encounter.

Also earning calls for the encounter is Toronto FC defender Julius James, English-based goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams, Lester Peltier of Clico San Juan Jabloteh and Charleston Battery’s Randi Patterson.

Current team captain Aurtis Whitley is also in the mix with some other recalls including Defence Force defender Anton Pierre, Devon Jorsling, Michael Edwards and Caledonia AIA’s Stephan David.

The rest of the squad, for training which begins a week ahead of the game includes members of the teams which defeated El Salvador 1-0 and drew 2-2 away to Jamaica last month. They are goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, Keon Daniel, Kern Cupid, Akile Edwards, Kerry Baptiste, Keyeno Thomas, Jamaal Gay, Silas Spann, Keston Williams, Makan Hislop and Akeem Adams.

Maturana, who has viewed some of the opening round matches in the T&T Pro League, maintains that he will use the opportunity to see how the players fare in the training sessions and against international opposition. Some of the other overseas-based players were not considered due to the game falling outside of the FIFA international window.

“It’s a good opportunity for the players to be involved and we have made the calls according to what we have seen here in the League and of course we have our reports on some of the players from abroad,” Maturana told TTFF Media. “It is very important that we maintain our philosophy of working with the players who show the right potential and attitude that we are looking for. The last two games I saw a lot of promise and a lot of heart from my players and we are hoping to continue this pattern,” he added. Puerto Rico meantime, held T&T 2-2 in a friendly earlier this year are preparing for upcoming World Cup qualifying action against Honduras in June.

T&T will also face Barbados on May 11 in another friendly international on a request from the Barbados FA with their team preparing for their World Cup qualifier against United States.

The 2010 Local Organizing Committee, under the chairmanship of Jack Warner, met on Sunday at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence to discuss the planning and hosting of upcoming events including the friendlies against Puerto Rico and Barbados, the June 1 Centennial clash with England and the June 7 return friendly international against Jamaica in Port of Spain. The “Soca Warriors” will also face Bermuda in its first 2010 World Cup qualifier on June 15 in Trinidad followed by the away leg a week later.

Squad invited for training ahead of Puerto Rico game.

1-Marvin Phillip – W Connection
2-Kern Cupid – W Connection
3-Makan Hislop – United Petrotrin
4-Akile Edwards – Defence Force
5-Kerry Baptiste – Joe Public F.C.
6-Aurtis Whitley – W Connection
7-Keon Daniel – United Petrotrin
8-Keyeno Thomas – Joe Public F.C.
9-Lester Peltier – Clico Jabloteh F.C.
10-Randi Patterson – Charleston Battery
11-Julius James – Toronto F.C.
12-Khaleem Hyland – unattached
13-Akeem Adams – W Connection
14-Jamaal Gay – Under 20 National Team
15-Jan Michael Williams – English-based
16-Kevaughn Connell – French-based
17-Jerol Forbes – United Petrotrin
18-Devon Jorsling – Defence Force
19-Anton Pierre – Defence Force
20-Stephan David – Caledonia AIA
21-Keston Williams – Defence Force
22-Silas Spann – Joe Public F.C.
23-Glenroy Samuel – Under 20 National Team
24-Michael Edwards – Defence Force
25-Kevon Carter – Defence Force
26-Daniel Cyrus – Under 20 National Team

Video

Aurtis talks after Jamaica match--- see his goal (http://youtube.com/watch?v=4AJvs_Smes4)
Title: Re: Training Squad for Puerto Rico Clash
Post by: Jah Gol on April 14, 2008, 04:46:48 PM
When you really watch it that mostly local based squad ain't bad at all.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 14, 2008, 05:16:09 PM
Jah Gol so no tinto carlon murray hugton hector or andre pacheco  ??? .. Anyway  Francisco Maturana will  just continue to add what he sees more proleague games... good to have a local base though....
Post by: Bourbon on April 14, 2008, 05:17:12 PM
I dunno if i getting old or what....but didnt Nkosi Blackman score that lone goal in the U17 World Cup? Afterwards he got in an accident and never was the same since?

Next ting...what time is this game? I have a meeting on dat day....buh i want to come dis bad.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 14, 2008, 05:22:32 PM
Naw jerol forbes  scored against brazil also  nkosi scored against Croatia.... and yes he got into the accident ....
Post by: black chinee on April 14, 2008, 05:25:44 PM
Khaleem Hyland – unattached and foreign based ???? didn't know he left Jabloeth
Post by: Bianconeri on April 14, 2008, 05:54:33 PM
hyland still in england on trials??
hope he get thru jed...seriously

hearin too much bad news bout we trinis gettin cut...and i not on blightin d youth
Samuel, Telesford, Denzil, Patterson, Toussaint, Wolfe ...pull up ya socks and play with some pride!!

any word on scott Sealy? or he have no chance again?
Post by: Big Magician on April 14, 2008, 05:59:10 PM
Hyland playing de ass.....

de army center back...he played agaings El Salvador..Keston Williams ??..is that right ??...is he still injured ??..

yea...no tinto, aguillera, well like Murray  get drop for de last jabloteh game...and word is Trent noel playing well...from Captain to discard....hhmmmmm
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 14, 2008, 06:11:48 PM
big magician where is attula guerra

Oh hyland was on a one year contract at jabloteh.... so he is a free agent
Post by: ZANDOLIE on April 14, 2008, 06:14:38 PM
When you really watch it that mostly local based squad ain't bad at all.

Especially considering the age of these players. The final squad could be competitive with our digicel squad from last year.

I think we are on the verge of something great (for our normal standards), provided that (1) We realize that we no more or less talented than the rest of the Caribbean and what makes the difference is continual proper exposure and development of youth players with the opportunity to be seen. In the past we had the $$$ and the connections but lack the will.  (2) Defence should no longer be the ugly sister of goal scoring and mid-field wizardry (3) We must be prepared for a young T&T team to loose games for quite some time when our seniors are not present. We Trinis don't tend to look ahead or practice patience too well but once we keep the faith, in about 4 years time we could have the most powerful team we have ever fielded.
Post by: dinho on April 14, 2008, 06:21:56 PM
Congrats meh boy Kevaughn..   :beermug: :beermug:

This news make my day...

This fellah could be the answer to our left midfield.
Post by: biga84 on April 14, 2008, 06:33:53 PM
James from TFC get call up???  he juss coming off an injury geez, I wonder if TFC go let him go...
Post by: Jah Gol on April 14, 2008, 09:05:55 PM
Jah Gol so no tinto carlon murray hugton hector or andre pacheco  ??? .. Anyway  Francisco Maturana will  just continue to add what he sees more proleague games... good to have a local base though....
I think he's(as advised) trying more players. I am fan of Tinto as well. He really coulda include him there. 
Post by: Jah Gol on April 14, 2008, 09:11:08 PM

de army center back...he played agaings El Salvador..Keston Williams ??..is that right ??...is he still injured ??..

yea...no tinto, aguillera, well like Murray  get drop for de last jabloteh game...and word is Trent noel playing well...from Captain to discard....hhmmmmm
To me, Williams once fit has realistic chance of  hold down a CB position on the side.
Post by: royal on April 14, 2008, 09:37:04 PM
I would have like to see Boucard,Shakes,Norville and Warner get a little shout too.He already see what jan has to offer.And if TTFF had balls Sancho and Birchall also.
Post by: Big Magician on April 15, 2008, 04:45:55 AM
Trini 2010....Guerra played for Jabloteh last week vz NE Stars...so he around ....for now

Terry Fenick asks the same question..where is Guerra ??
Post by: Brownsugar on April 15, 2008, 05:04:10 AM
And if TTFF had balls Sancho and Birchall also.

This name in particular cross mih mind when ah see de list....more and more ah really feeling like will NEVER see he in de Red, white and black again....   :(
Title: Re: Training squad for Puerto Rico clash.
Post by: Themanfriday on April 15, 2008, 05:48:09 AM

This name in particular cross mih mind when ah see de list....more and more ah really feeling like will NEVER see he in de Red, white and black again.... :(

People like alyuh eh read de post good. This game falls outside de international dates. Therefore no setta foriegn players getting a bligh
Post by: Midknight on April 15, 2008, 06:31:06 AM
Is interesting that the game not on a fifa date and they still call Connell. That is at least 10 hours  of flying right there.

Now check the scene, anybody else find is funny to have a international game like this on a Sunday? Entente have a match at 8pm on Saturday the 26th . Toronto (James) and Kansas City (Sealy) playing each other at 3:30 in the afternoon that same day. Charleston have a match at 7pm.

Post by: Brownsugar on April 15, 2008, 06:36:46 AM

This name in particular cross mih mind when ah see de list....more and more ah really feeling like will NEVER see he in de Red, white and black again.... :(

People like alyuh eh read de post good. This game falls outside de international dates. Therefore no setta foriegn players getting a bligh

ooppss...my bad..... :) but ah still have a funny feeling bout Birchall, ah waiting patiently  :waiting:
Post by: royal on April 15, 2008, 07:44:04 AM

Understand but Birchall not on Coventry 1st team squad ? Yea think Coventry will say no to him coming and getting a run?
Post by: Ponnoxx on April 15, 2008, 08:04:39 AM
I want to see Hughton Hector on that team but say what...Hector performance against Chivas prove he is talent...I doh know what going with Andre Toussaint but as a person that highly rates him I would like to see him in the mix..It have a defender by the name of Fabien Lewis long overdue for a National call-up...I think he was playing A-League d2 last year when it have men unattached training and getting caps...I remember him playing for Naps...Was an absolute force in defense...Simoes give him some run too I think...I would really like to see these guys come out and help our country to the Next World Cup, but Maturana is the boss...Hopefully he find dem...Go T&T
Post by: Babalawo on April 15, 2008, 08:15:36 AM
I Guess Collin Samuel ent go get a sweat for a while after that stunt he pull before the jamaica game :rotfl: Maturana was really dissapointed in him for his no show, but i wonder if Pacho made this list before Samuel was released.  The man get 2 rejections in one week. but i still stress that he should start concentrating a developing as a midfielder, i think he'll be a better midfielder than striker from now
Post by: Sam on April 15, 2008, 08:21:47 AM
Yo Babalawo that graphic you have there fing up my screen bro. Serious, if you dont mind, you need to change that... maybe one alone... ask somebody else too.

Ah see Kevon Carter back in de mix.....

Strange to see Osei Telesford out ?

Whats the deal with Andrei Pacheco, Errol McFarlane, Glenton Wolfe, Ataullah Guerra, Cornell Glen and Nigel Daniel ?

Give Matthew Bartholomew, Simeon Augustus, Hughton Hector, Jason Marcano, Richard Roy, Corey Rivers, Larry Bacchus, Andre Boucaud, Chris Birchall and Ricky Shakes a call too.. maybe for de Barbados game...
Post by: weary1969 on April 15, 2008, 09:53:32 AM
What time is dat game is a sunday so it might b a hot sun scene
Post by: 7 blessings on April 15, 2008, 12:38:48 PM
I want to see Hughton Hector on that team but say what...Hector performance against Chivas prove he is talent...I doh know what going with Andre Toussaint but as a person that highly rates him I would like to see him in the mix..It have a defender by the name of Fabien Lewis long overdue for a National call-up...I think he was playing A-League d2 last year when it have men unattached training and getting caps...I remember him playing for Naps...Was an absolute force in defense...Simoes give him some run too I think...I would really like to see these guys come out and help our country to the Next World Cup, but Maturana is the boss...Hopefully he find dem...Go T&T
I supporting you 100% with them selections pannox. Is long time Fabien should get a call up. He have the right skills and the right attitude towards the game to be a great addition to the squad. And Hector was trouble since he small...would really like to see us have moreplayers that really willing AND ABLE to run at defenders....Question whatever happen to this boy..Gourion Hyley..if dais how u spell his name that use to play for Arima?
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on April 15, 2008, 01:06:12 PM
yea geh hughton ah bligh...ah teach him ah ting or two n trust mih he bad  ;D
Post by: Tallman on April 15, 2008, 01:50:12 PM
Ah understand dat Jerrrol Forbes promise tuh stop playing de ass and tuh remain focussed on football.
Post by: najee on April 15, 2008, 04:28:33 PM
Guy's you think Atiba will get call...and what the story about some of the oversea player...not making the first team...and some even getting cut from the there team
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 15, 2008, 04:49:49 PM
if forbes finally got serious then i go be real happy...is to watch and see
Post by: g on April 15, 2008, 07:16:25 PM
cyah please everybody in this world. I just glad we playing a regular schedule of games to bring the locals more exposure regardless of squad composition.
Post by: trinsolutions on April 15, 2008, 10:33:41 PM
de local team did very well against de jamaicans. i hope they can keep it up and continue de success in de future.
Post by: dwn on April 17, 2008, 12:53:11 PM

To me, Williams once fit has realistic chance of  hold down a CB position on the side.

I thought Williams was impressive against El Salvador. Would like to see him against better opposition. He look like a real good player.