Sports => Football => Topic started by: capodetutticapi on April 12, 2008, 09:42:05 PM

Title: MAN U V ARSENAL
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 12, 2008, 09:42:05 PM
Preview: Manchester United vs. Arsenal
by RivalsDM
Updated: April 11, 2008, 8:49 AM EST 1 comment
add this RSS blog email print
Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand will face Arsenal at Old Trafford on Sunday despite needing three stitches in his foot in midweek.

Ferdinand suffered the injury in the victory against Roma in the Champions League in midweek.

The foot was also swollen but Sir Alex Ferguson expects him to recover in time for the match against their title rivals.

Patrice Evra could return at left-back after missing the European game with a knock.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney are both expected to be restored to the side after being on the bench against Roma.

Nemanja Vidic (knee), Nani (thigh), Darren Fletcher (knee) and Louis Saha (hamstring) remain sidelined through injury.

Meanwhile Mathieu Flamini has been ruled out of Arsenal's key clash with Manchester United on Sunday so Gilberto is set for a rare start at Old Trafford.

Flamini has been ruled out for three weeks with an ankle problem and will almost certainly be replaced in the starting line-up by Gilberto.

Defender Bacary Sagna remains on the sidelines with his ankle problem but striker Robin van Persie could start after coming on as a substitute against Liverpool.

Kick-off on Sunday is at 4pm.

United (from): Van der Sar, Neville, Brown, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Evra, 0'Shea, Ronaldo, Scholes, Anderson, Hargreaves, Carrick, Giggs, Park, Rooney, Tevez, Kuszczak, Foster, Pique, Welbeck.

Gunners (from): Almunia, Toure, Gallas, Senderos, Clichy, Eboue, Fabregas, Hleb, Van Persie, Adebayor, Lehmann, Song, Gilberto, Hoyte, Bendtner, Walcott, Diaby.
Title: Re: MAN U V ARSENAL
Post by: GunnerStunner on April 13, 2008, 07:15:48 AM
oh f**k wenger

START FRICKIN WALCOTT BEFORE EBOUE!!!!
Post by: dinho on April 13, 2008, 08:23:35 AM
Looking like Lehmann bouf Wenger into getting a sweat yes...

And Alexandre le shitpot Song starting too?? Wenger really want to roll over on this one yes...
Post by: RedDevils on April 13, 2008, 08:30:02 AM
C'mon UNITED.

Glory Glory Man-United  :devil:
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 08:44:08 AM
ah calling it early mi crystal ball say "lameman" go put down  ah howler
Post by: black chinee on April 13, 2008, 08:54:29 AM
oh f**k wenger

START FRICKIN WALCOTT BEFORE EBOUE!!!!

My sentiments exactly..... geeeeze
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 09:01:39 AM
walcott is still ah 30 mins player in my book
Post by: Ngozi on April 13, 2008, 09:14:05 AM
i agree eboue is shit but walcott not ready to put it together for the entire game still have lots to learn
Post by: kicker on April 13, 2008, 09:34:04 AM
Arsenal's been the better team (in possession and approach) at the moment, but they are shaky at the back. Man U actually look more likely to score.

Love Hleb but he's starting to become one of the more annoying players to watch.....
Post by: dinho on April 13, 2008, 09:40:59 AM
about 3 amateurish mistakes from Song in central defence..

Senderos is bad but to start Song there in front of him is a real slap in de face.
Post by: Warrior till death on April 13, 2008, 09:50:10 AM
MY PADNER LOOKING FOR A LIVE ONLINE FEED FOR THIS GAME
ANY HELP???
Post by: dinho on April 13, 2008, 09:52:40 AM
i am using sop://broker1.sopcast.com:3912/22260

tell him get in now on half time does take a while for de feed to iron out
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2008, 09:57:05 AM
MY PADNER LOOKING FOR A LIVE ONLINE FEED FOR THIS GAME
ANY HELP???

http://www3.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=10086&part=sports

or tell him to download the TVU player and then select the channel called "soccer"
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:05:54 AM
I feel Rooney and Adebayor have a sidebet to see who could throw way more goal.

Adebayor winning right now.
Post by: DeSoWa on April 13, 2008, 10:09:36 AM
gooooaaaaalllll!!!!

Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 10:09:54 AM
want that adebayour's hand?
Post by: kicker on April 13, 2008, 10:11:06 AM
Look like Adebayor handled it....awful defending on that goal.....look like a rec league goal...
Post by: black chinee on April 13, 2008, 10:11:26 AM
GOOOOAAAAALLLLL Gunners 1
Post by: elan on April 13, 2008, 10:13:51 AM
Handle my rass....goal in they mudasrunt. :whip:
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 13, 2008, 10:14:19 AM
Buh Gallas is some kinda backside or what? Clear handball!
Post by: black chinee on April 13, 2008, 10:14:54 AM
Doh shit me up Gallas........   
Post by: elan on April 13, 2008, 10:16:32 AM
I can't see how they does let Ronaldo take those penalty. Doesn't the rule state once you start moving forward you cannot stop? The second time he still stop to look where the GK heading.
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:17:32 AM
clear hands by Gallas eh fellas.

Yuh know allyuh like to cry wolf whenever United get a penalty
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 10:17:40 AM
when a man becomes his hair cut...........gallas gallas gallas

where in the rule books does it say u cant come to ah full stop then start again  in yuh run up to take ah penalty. i have always heard it but never seen it written anywhere
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2008, 10:18:09 AM
MUHAHAHAAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

GOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL!
Post by: Daft Trini on April 13, 2008, 10:18:59 AM
Galas looking ugly all around today (his game and his mohawk)
Post by: Daft Trini on April 13, 2008, 10:20:14 AM
when a man becomes his hair cut...........gallas gallas gallas

where in the rule books does it say u cant come to ah full stop then start again  in yuh run up to take ah penalty. i have always heard it but never seen it written anywhere

Pele was guilty of this tactic also... in his words he wanted to see which side the keeper would dive....
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 10:22:16 AM
walcott on after 60 mins   right on cue
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 13, 2008, 10:23:25 AM
CR7 equalize in de 53rd.
Post by: kicker on April 13, 2008, 10:25:57 AM
Arsenal will do well to end this game with 11 men on the field...
Post by: WestCoast on April 13, 2008, 10:31:36 AM
Both 'Keepers puttin on a good showing

beaut of a Free Kick...... ;)
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:34:01 AM
Gooaaaaaalllllll.

Hargreaves.

Pressure
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2008, 10:34:32 AM
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOALLLLLLLLL!!!!!

BLAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:34:46 AM
Arsenal will do well to end this game with 11 men on the field...

Yeah that could have easily been a 2nd yellow for Adebayor
Post by: kicker on April 13, 2008, 10:36:04 AM
What's up with the wall not jumping?

well placed free kick, but not nearly enough up and down put on that ball to beat a good wall....

Arsenal curtains are closing....
Post by: black chinee on April 13, 2008, 10:36:50 AM
doh shit meh up nah man :banginghead: :frustrated: all de chances and in shit still
Post by: Jah Gol on April 13, 2008, 10:37:23 AM
That penalty CR take legal ?
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 10:38:09 AM
is there anyone stronger on d ball than obi mikel and anderson? i have never seen them muscled off d ball
Post by: Daft Trini on April 13, 2008, 10:39:18 AM

Must be or the Ref doh know how to do he Job  :devil:
Post by: Jah Gol on April 13, 2008, 10:41:31 AM

Doesn't the player have to make one continuous motion ? Ronaldo literally stopped and stepped again before striking the ball.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 13, 2008, 10:41:59 AM
come on manchester.show them want champions are made of.
Post by: WestCoast on April 13, 2008, 10:42:33 AM
Man U is ah set of Beasts oui   goin for 3 ;)
Post by: Trininho on April 13, 2008, 10:45:10 AM

Doesn't the player have to make one continuous motion ? Ronaldo literally stopped and stepped again before striking the ball.

I didn't see the penalty myself, but according to Law 14 from the Laws of The Game:

"Feinting to take a penalty kick to confuse opponents is permitted as
part of football. However, if in the opinion of the referee the feinting
is considered an act of unsporting behaviour, the player shall be
cautioned."

So it is up to the discretion of the referee.
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:45:37 AM
Rio deserve a MoTM for his performance today.

He real gettin on.
Post by: Daft Trini on April 13, 2008, 10:46:19 AM

I use to think so too, I remember they restricted Pele from taking them kinda penalties (he use to fake kicking it though)... The ref let it stand... so it must be legal and the commentators did not say much about it either...
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:48:24 AM
fellas the style of penalty taking is a non issue.

Ronaldo doing that for years and he is not the only one.
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 10:48:42 AM
toure sub, like they resting him for d champions league  :rotfl: :rotfl:

okay  ok he probably injured
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 10:50:10 AM

true but wat no one mention is d ref disallowed his first kick and he had 2 retake d penalty
Post by: Bitter on April 13, 2008, 10:50:44 AM
Come on Arsenal!
Chelsea need a goal!
Post by: Bitter on April 13, 2008, 10:51:34 AM

true but wat no one mention is d ref disallowed his first kick and he had 2 retake d penalty
The re-take was for encroachment
Post by: WestCoast on April 13, 2008, 10:52:19 AM
van der Sar really doin well.
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:53:19 AM

He real gettin on.

Change that to Van Der Sar
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 10:56:11 AM
United toying with Arsenal.
Post by: Reaper2004 on April 13, 2008, 10:56:18 AM
Game done United 2 Arsenal 1
Post by: Ponnoxx on April 13, 2008, 10:59:06 AM
 All I have to say is Football is a cruel sport
Post by: fari on April 13, 2008, 11:00:21 AM
well played united.  they rode their luck at times and of course the 2nd half subs played a big part. arsenall just couldnt finish their chances and when they were on target either the woodwork or VDS made a save.   i am gutted the gunners lost but in the end manu were worthy victors.
Post by: freakazoid on April 13, 2008, 11:00:50 AM

ah didnt get that impression . go have 2 wait 4 highlights 4 this 1
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2008, 11:01:25 AM
Doh shit me up Gallas........   

hmmm remember when he had that "display" when clichy gave up the penalty agasint Birm?
hhehahahahehehaehahahehahae

i wonder if words go fly in the dresing room?  :rotfl:
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2008, 11:02:47 AM

ah didnt get that impression . go have 2 wait 4 highlights 4 this 1

nah it was for encroachment for sure.....arsenal men run in the box b4 the kick was taken....also..llehman came of his line long before the kick
Post by: doc on April 13, 2008, 11:04:37 AM

He real gettin on.

Change that to Van Der Sar
When ah see he save dem two bullets from Rio and Wes, ah say not today!  :(
Post by: D.H.W on April 13, 2008, 11:05:34 AM
allyuh barca boys really want to test this team stueps. dream on.  good kill today fellas   :beermug:  man utd forever
Post by: doc on April 13, 2008, 11:11:15 AM
clear hands by Gallas eh fellas.

Yuh know allyuh like to cry wolf whenever United get a penalty
No penalty, my call is offside
Post by: JDB on April 13, 2008, 11:14:40 AM
Long time I ent enjoy a game of football so, even when Arsenal was up the game was enjoyable.

Arsenal was incisive but the lack of experience show even though is the most experienced man who make the biggest mistake. That defence is just not good enough and I does feel sorry for Hoyt because he just not ready for these big games. Adebayor too good striker scores big goals but misses the chances that could kill teams off.  Walcott is the real deal and need to get more playing time. He have pace and skill but most of all knows how to play a final ball and has awareness of the players around him unlike the next one at Tottenham.

People also don't joke when they say that Arsenal want to walk the bal into the net. Bentdner get a ball on the penalty spot and pass it forward to nobody.
Post by: elan on April 13, 2008, 11:20:45 AM
Good football Arsenal....keep in mind though all that matters is the result. Check Man U.

Post by: dwn on April 13, 2008, 11:45:09 AM
see alyuh in august.
Post by: GunnerStunner on April 13, 2008, 12:16:40 PM
at least we put up a dammned good fight, coulda had it 3-0 or 3-1 by half time
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 13, 2008, 12:18:44 PM
STUNNEDGUNNER..TOUCHES and Company

Watch allyuh daddy
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/80658404.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/80657996.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/80658518.jpg)

(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/trophycabinetdy2.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/n285402202_2003817_1929-1.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/sicko1largeaem0.jpg)

f**king Shithongs...Piss Off!
Post by: GunnerStunner on April 13, 2008, 12:26:25 PM
f**k you you c**t you were shitting it big time the first half ,and yuh big shithounds in the back nearly added to the goals for arsenal , so doh act all high and mighty be humble in your achievements and you might win more admirerers yuh c**t
Post by: WestCoast on April 13, 2008, 12:27:14 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: oh gaum Wazza :rotfl:
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/trophycabinetdy2.jpg) ;D
Post by: D.H.W on April 13, 2008, 12:31:13 PM
gunner, alyuh fackin lorse doh butter it up, shithounds  :devil:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 13, 2008, 01:00:26 PM
f**k you you c**t you were shitting it big time the first half ,and yuh big shithounds in the back nearly added to the goals for arsenal , so doh act all high and mighty be humble in your achievements and you might win more admirerers yuh c**t

lol ya sounding like me back in the day

FT 2-1
Post by: Sando prince on April 13, 2008, 01:46:24 PM
What's amazing is Man U did not even play to their full potential and still won the game
Post by: D.H.W on April 13, 2008, 01:56:23 PM
What's amazing is Man U did not even play to their full potential and still won the game
sign of a good team
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2008, 02:15:39 PM
sign of a good team

true ::)
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 13, 2008, 03:10:09 PM
Arright, arright, Die.Hard, Small Mag & Co. allyuh was good aa well as lucky today, and ah cyah say that any of the poor refereeing decisions had any effect on the result. Ass-'n-all, once again, played a great game and could have more than easily secured 3 points to help out dey fellow London-based Chelsea but in the end, proved to be their own worst enemy.
  I doh know WHY these men 'fraid to shoot so! Thefew times they do, is because shooting is the obvious option, is a log-range desperate effort and about 3 or 4 defenders closing down on the shooter to block it anyway. Dem men does be WIDE OPEN on the corner of the six-yard box and lookin' to pretty-pass instead of forcing vDS to make a save and/or give up a rebound. Adebayor miss that sitter because he so telegraphed what he was going to do that vDS read him and made a save that was easier for him than it looked. All Adebayor had to do was fake las' post and round vDS and......WALK EEN de damned goal wit de ball (like dey does be tryin' to do all de time!).
  Eboue might be a decent defender, according to some, but every TIME he make a run up front, de man will dribble past 2-3 defenders, end up in a nice space in de 18........den make the most IDIOTIC pass to destroy the whole play. Wenger is really a IMPS to be relying so heavily on HIS "attacking prowess".............and keepin' T Walcott on de bench so long. I cyah figure dat one out.
   As much as ah give rooney credit for maturing as a player, he shows me, time and again that he has no skill (trying to take on defenders) and his game really is best for when manboo is in counter attack mode. He and cronaldo didn't hve no setta impact on this game. Even though I have my doubts about if Gallas intended to handle dat ball, it was a legit call by the ref, and fellas, the reason the penalty had to taken over was because JS Park had encroahed the box. Even though an Ass-'n-all player did as well, the fact that cronaldo scored as JSP encroached, he HAD to recall it. If cronaldo would missed, the ref woulda recalled it for the encroachment on the defender's part.
 one las' ting: Ass-'n-all eh learn against liverpool about puttin' short man (fabregas) on de post?!?! so why dey come today and put a setta hobbit in de wall?!? Dat free-kick was WICKED, but it had "goal" written on it from de time i see how it was set-up.
Season done!

Post by: redtrinigirl on April 13, 2008, 04:30:32 PM
Alright, I am not one to hide. Let me say congrats Man U (choke!) on a game well played. Just make sure allyuh win dat title ahead of Chelski!

Wenger NEED to spend big this summer and offload some ah dat dead weight on de team. Yes they could play good, but we need players who are great. ESPECIALLY in defense, he need to bring in some MEN, some big name defenders. The attacking line up good, just unfortunate with injuries. Would be nice to have a big name talisman again, a la Henry. But better to have five men who could score than one man who could score and the others just tapping in a goal once in a while. Men like Senderos, Hoyte, Bendter, Eboue, dem men not supposed to be playing in any of the Big 4 sides. Lower half of the EPL table, sure.

Oh well, on to next season.  :-[
Post by: dinho on April 13, 2008, 04:44:36 PM
Alright, I am not one to hide. Let me say congrats Man U (choke!) on a game well played. Just make sure allyuh win dat title ahead of Chelski!

Wenger NEED to spend big this summer and offload some ah dat dead weight on de team. Yes they could play good, but we need players who are great. ESPECIALLY in defense, he need to bring in some MEN, some big name defenders. The attacking line up good, just unfortunate with injuries. Would be nice to have a big name talisman again, a la Henry. But better to have five men who could score than one man who could score and the others just tapping in a goal once in a while. Men like Senderos, Hoyte, Bendter, Eboue, dem men not supposed to be playing in any of the Big 4 sides. Lower half of the EPL table, sure.

nah rtg, ah find yuh harsh..

Yuh side just need to add a few brand name players to bolster the squad in some positions where they are short of cover.. Is lack of depth that mash them in.

I would agree with running Senderos and Bendtner but Eboue just needs to go back to right back and compete with Sagna. Hoyte could stay as a squad player for Carling Cup and FA cup early rounds..

Also, wouldn't hurt to find a first team coach that will give men plenty laps for not shooting de government ball..
Post by: Filho on April 13, 2008, 08:01:28 PM

true dat. you can stutter step on penalties. it was outlawed at one time but then reinstated (no too sure about the history). But it is a fact that you can definitely fake a keeper out with a stutter..it's well within the laws of FIFA. I pointed this out in an old discussion..it was in a FIFA QA document about the laws of the game on their official site. CR's pk was retaken cuz a United player encroached the box. There were Arsenal players too, but you do not recall a pk that scores when the opposition encroaches, only when your teammates do.
Post by: GunnerStunner on April 13, 2008, 09:14:59 PM

true dat. you can stutter step on penalties. it was outlawed at one time but then reinstated (no too sure about the history). But it is a fact that you can definitely fake a keeper out with a stutter..it's well within the laws of FIFA. I pointed this out in an old discussion..it was in a FIFA QA document about the laws of the game on their official site. CR's pk was retaken cuz a United player encroached the box. There were Arsenal players too, but you do not recall a pk that scores when the opposition encroaches, only when your teammates do.
there are four scenarios where penalty kicks are retaken as pre the rule sof the game, lehman got bokked but i am not sure if it was for stepping off his line due to cr STOP step

ppl there is a difference between a stutter and a stop BUT the ball isn't in play until the attacking teams kicker touches the ball
Post by: dwn on April 14, 2008, 06:16:25 AM

I think they were expecting Hargreaves to dummy and Ronaldo to take the shot.

They need more depth. But they don't need big name players. Sagna and Eduardo were not big name players and they were quality signings. I say if your options are Senderos or a big name, go for the big name. But if you can recruit another Sagna and not pay inflated prices, why not? Then maybe we could sign 2 players at $5mil a piece instead of 1 player at $15mil.

Eboue was a quality right back LAST SEASON and performed consistently well. So I wouldn't put him in the same category as Hoyte, Senderos and Bendtner. Just don't think he adapted to the change in position very well.

And Bendtner has potential. I wouldn't get rid of him. He's not there yet but he has youth on his side. Without injuries he is actually the 4th choice striker after Adebayor, vPersie and Eduardo. And he isn't bad as a 4th choice.

I think Arsenal needs natural wingers as much as they need a central defender. The team plays with a lot of width but doesn't have real wingers to maximize the danger they can cause from those positions. Rosicky is the only play who looks comfortable on the wing. All the other players used on the wing this season weren't really comfortable there. Not even Walcott - he had a few flashes of brilliance but he really wasn't on top of his game for most of the season. Even he states that he is more comfortable as a forward.

Post by: Daft Trini on April 14, 2008, 06:22:12 AM
Plus all yuh wingers does do all sorta fancy pass and foot work... cut in and loose de ball.... namely Hleb was guilty of that... and for some reason all yuh love to pass but fraid to shoot!
Post by: Carib-Briton on April 14, 2008, 06:23:31 AM

nah rtg, ah find yuh harsh..

Yuh side just need to add a few brand name players to bolster the squad in some positions where they are short of cover.. Is lack of depth that mash them in.

I would agree with running Senderos and Bendtner but Eboue just needs to go back to right back and compete with Sagna. Hoyte could stay as a squad player for Carling Cup and FA cup early rounds..

Also, wouldn't hurt to find a first team coach that will give men plenty laps for not shooting de government ball..

Like Hoyte because he's a supporter of the club but he has to go and Senderos . Allow Bendtner, don't get rid of them.

I agree with the rest (don't really have to be ''brand names'' just solid players you can rely on)
Post by: Carib-Briton on April 14, 2008, 06:24:15 AM

I think they were expecting Hargreaves to dummy and Ronaldo to take the shot.

They need more depth. But they don't need big name players. Sagna and Eduardo were not big name players and they were quality signings. I say if your options are Senderos or a big name, go for the big name. But if you can recruit another Sagna and not pay inflated prices, why not? Then maybe we could sign 2 players at $5mil a piece instead of 1 player at $15mil.

Eboue was a quality right back LAST SEASON and performed consistently well. So I wouldn't put him in the same category as Hoyte, Senderos and Bendtner. Just don't think he adapted to the change in position very well.

And Bendtner has potential. I wouldn't get rid of him. He's not there yet but he has youth on his side. Without injuries he is actually the 4th choice striker after Adebayor, vPersie and Eduardo. And he isn't bad as a 4th choice.

I think Arsenal needs natural wingers as much as they need a central defender. The team plays with a lot of width but doesn't have real wingers to maximize the danger they can cause from those positions. Rosicky is the only play who looks comfortable on the wing. All the other players used on the wing this season weren't really comfortable there. Not even Walcott - he had a few flashes of brilliance but he really wasn't on top of his game for most of the season. Even he states that he is more comfortable as a forward.

Nice Post
Post by: Touches on April 14, 2008, 06:52:57 AM
COngrats ManU fans,

Job well done

I was disappointed that my team did not put you away early.

Arsenal is lacking a quality proven finisher...had Adebayor taken his chances we could have been 3-0 but so it go.

Also too it has been shown that we lack depth in each department. We need to stop the youngster blooding and buy 3 proven men who can deliver. A fwd, a midfielder who can score and a good center back. I would even throw in another keeper. I not sold on Almunia yet.

But nice game, free flowing and full of action.

I find Rooney does pelt some real wild blade...a man go deal with him soon.

Manu is a side even if they dont create nuttin will still take their chances and also too even if they play bad ( not the case today) will still grind out a win. That is the difference between 1st and 2nd place.

So congrats fellas...it was nice...good luck in your future matches.

Post by: Mango Chow! on April 14, 2008, 07:07:50 AM
COngrats ManU fans,

Job well done

I was disappointed that my team did not put you away early.

Arsenal is lacking a quality proven finisher...had Adebayor taken his chances we could have been 3-0 but so it go.

Also too it has been shown that we lack depth in each department. We need to stop the youngster blooding and buy 3 proven men who can deliver. A fwd, a midfielder who can score and a good center back. I would even throw in another keeper. I not sold on Almunia yet.

But nice game, free flowing and full of action.

I find Rooney does pelt some real wild blade...a man go deal with him soon.

Manu is a side even if they dont create nuttin will still take their chances and also too even if they play bad ( not the case today) will still grind out a win. That is the difference between 1st and 2nd place.

So congrats fellas...it was nice...good luck in your future matches.

Can't agree with you more on Adebayor and his scoring  chances in the game (manu was a bit lucky as van Der Saar was very good, too) on Almunia who I find can be very good but needs to be more consistent, and on Rooney. I don't understand HOW he didn't get a yellow duh dat blade he swing.

Post by: JDB on April 14, 2008, 07:37:18 AM
I think Arsenal needs natural wingers as much as they need a central defender. The team plays with a lot of width but doesn't have real wingers to maximize the danger they can cause from those positions. Rosicky is the only play who looks comfortable on the wing. All the other players used on the wing this season weren't really comfortable there.

I agree with you here but I think that is Wenger’s style. I happen to like teams that play with natural wingers. I believe that a cross ball from the touchline is one of the hardest plays to defend.

But Wenger has never really gone for out and out wingers. Other than Overmars in all the “wingers” he buys are skill players who can play outside but not noted for trying to take on players and get crosses in like (for example) Giggs, Ronaldo, Kanchelskis etc).

Pires, Ljungberg, Reyes and even Rosicky, who I believe plays centrally for the Czech Republic really don’t stretch teams by mashing line. To a man, they all come in to make space for the fullbacks (Cole, Clichy, Lauren, Eboue) to do the crossing.

To be honest it is not just Wenger very few teams try to play two out and out wingers these days. Most times they just play a really talented midfielder who will invariable move all over the place.

Another thing that Ferguson does better is rotate his players. Fabregas just tired but he has no backup because the youths that everybody was raving about last year not ready yet. Of course if Wenger does not play them they will never be ready, so it is a catch-22. People does laugh when Ferguson put players like Fletcher and Park to play big games. Neither of these players would get into Arsenal or Chelsea teams but Ferguson plays them and if United lose so be it, but at least the guys develop and could pull their weight when they get played now.

I agree though that people going overboard. The defence looks bad and could do with one player and a striker would help now but that is only because Eduardo and RVP have been injured. But no one could really have predicted that (maybe RVP). Manchester United start the season with a similar strike force. One old - Rooney (Adebayor), one new – Tevez (Eduardo), and one always injured – Saha (RVP).

The difference is that United has a winger who could play off a single striker while Arsenal trying to do it with Hleb, which is just not his game because he is not a finisher.

For all the talk about Arsenal this and Arsene that a little confidence and better luck and Arsenal still in the hunt.

Post by: dinho on April 14, 2008, 09:42:40 AM
I think Arsenal needs natural wingers as much as they need a central defender. The team plays with a lot of width but doesn't have real wingers to maximize the danger they can cause from those positions. Rosicky is the only play who looks comfortable on the wing. All the other players used on the wing this season weren't really comfortable there.

I agree with you here but I think that is Wenger’s style. I happen to like teams that play with natural wingers. I believe that a cross ball from the touchline is one of the hardest plays to defend.

But Wenger has never really gone for out and out wingers. Other than Overmars in all the “wingers” he buys are skill players who can play outside but not noted for trying to take on players and get crosses in like (for example) Giggs, Ronaldo, Kanchelskis etc).

Pires, Ljungberg, Reyes and even Rosicky, who I believe plays centrally for the Czech Republic really don’t stretch teams by mashing line. To a man, they all come in to make space for the fullbacks (Cole, Clichy, Lauren, Eboue) to do the crossing.

To be honest it is not just Wenger very few teams try to play two out and out wingers these days. Most times they just play a really talented midfielder who will invariable move all over the place.

Another thing that Ferguson does better is rotate his players. Fabregas just tired but he has no backup because the youths that everybody was raving about last year not ready yet. Of course if Wenger does not play them they will never be ready, so it is a catch-22. People does laugh when Ferguson put players like Fletcher and Park to play big games. Neither of these players would get into Arsenal or Chelsea teams but Ferguson plays them and if United lose so be it, but at least the guys develop and could pull their weight when they get played now.

I agree though that people going overboard. The defence looks bad and could do with one player and a striker would help now but that is only because Eduardo and RVP have been injured. But no one could really have predicted that (maybe RVP). Manchester United start the season with a similar strike force. One old - Rooney (Adebayor), one new – Tevez (Eduardo), and one always injured – Saha (RVP).

The difference is that United has a winger who could play off a single striker while Arsenal trying to do it with Hleb, which is just not his game because he is not a finisher.

For all the talk about Arsenal this and Arsene that a little confidence and better luck and Arsenal still in the hunt.

nice post  :beermug:
Post by: dwn on April 14, 2008, 10:06:57 AM

I hear you. Maybe it is a style of play thing. But it's as though you were more likely to see Pires and Ljungberg making bursting runs from wide positions into space behind the defence. More than you would see from Arsenal wide players now.

When I think about it, Eboue hasn't been bad in terms of getting into dangerous areas, his execution in the final third is just lacking.   

With respect to rotating players and Fabregas being tired - Arsenal started the season with Flamini, Gilberto, Denilson, Diaby, Diarra as other central midfielders. And I wouldn't really say that any of these players "aren't ready". Or any less ready than Fletcher. Diarra's exit and the timing of injuries played a major part in Fabregas not being rested for lesser games.
Title: SOS!!! HAs anyone seen or heard
Post by: Lazie on April 14, 2008, 12:57:11 PM
from Palos or Touches?  Easy fellas ... y'all tried.  Here is the consolation for you ... if the Empire couldn't win, we'd have wanted Arsenal to win instead ... but .. then "If not Manu, then who?"

:beermug: :beermug:
Title: Re: SOS!!! HAs anyone seen or heard
Post by: palos on April 14, 2008, 01:01:58 PM
Congrats man.  Yuh team ride dey luck well.  8)
Post by: Lazie on April 14, 2008, 01:09:11 PM
How things boss, long time.

Luck?  Did you say luck?  That was like a boxing match .. the Champ vs the Challenger.  All Arsenal was doing was throwing alot of punches while the Empire bobbed and weave to deliver an upper cut and a straight right.

Twas an entertaining game though ... if y'all had played Chelsea in such a way .. you'd still be second.

Hold a red stripe from a red devils fan. :beermug:
Post by: Touches on April 14, 2008, 01:24:09 PM
Congrats Lazie...

Job well done.

My team has not delivered and taken their chances. Now I would say we were victims of bad calls in the CL but such is the game of football.

We will try again next yr.

Cheers
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 14, 2008, 01:45:42 PM
All together now:

His name is Owen Hargreaves
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/80658404.jpg)
He came over from Mu-nich
And when he played the Arsenal,
He scored a great free-kick.
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/80657996.jpg)
It made the Pedo question..
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/sicko1largeaem0.jpg)
If luck is on his side?
f**k OFF Arsene Wenger, Your team's a load of shite!!!!!
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/trophycabinetdy2.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on April 14, 2008, 01:52:59 PM
the empire strikes back :devil: :beermug:
Post by: trinipepper on April 14, 2008, 01:57:23 PM
Man u made Arsenal looked like a circus i never saw so many clowns in a wall.. lol what ah goal...  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:.. better luck next year arsenal... de mighty man u
Post by: Ponnoxx on April 14, 2008, 03:40:26 PM
 Season int done papa
Post by: Peong on April 14, 2008, 03:44:32 PM
That pic of the trophy cabinet is de bess one.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 14, 2008, 03:48:06 PM
Season int done papa

for yall..yes

For the Champions...nat at allll
Post by: D.H.W on April 14, 2008, 03:51:42 PM
Season int done papa

for yall..yes

Post by: black chinee on April 14, 2008, 07:00:42 PM

I didn't see the penalty myself, but according to Law 14 from the Laws of The Game:

"Feinting to take a penalty kick to confuse opponents is permitted as
part of football. However, if in the opinion of the referee the feinting
is considered an act of unsporting behaviour, the player shall be
cautioned."

So it is up to the discretion of the referee.

They Guys on Fox soccer fone in were just talking about it. and they said you can't come to a complete stop. you can fake and stutter but must not come to a complete stop. So the argument was did he come to a complete stop or not
Post by: Daft Trini on April 14, 2008, 08:47:00 PM
Season int done papa

for yall..yes

Ah love it (Andre Samuel)
Post by: GunnerStunner on April 14, 2008, 09:10:22 PM
Man u made Arsenal looked like a circus i never saw so many clowns in a wall.. lol what ah goal...  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:.. better luck next year arsenal... de mighty man u

thats why i feel almunia shoulda been picked

when i saw the wall i looke daway hoping who kicked missed
it was agonising to watch
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 14, 2008, 11:34:30 PM

thats why i feel almunia shoulda been picked

when i saw the wall i looke daway hoping who kicked missed
it was agonising to watch

Man, wit all dem short man allyuh had in dey I eh so sure yuh coulda call it a wall nuh. Dat was a damned fence......or a hedge. Adebayor was jes' de corner post.....or de lone palm tree. I eh so sure Almunia woulda make a difference.  :)