Sports => Football => Topic started by: D.H.W on April 19, 2008, 09:53:37 PM

Title: Manchester Utd vs Barcelona CL SEMIFINAL Leg 1
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2008, 09:53:37 PM
Wed 23,  2:45pm et kickoff
Venue: L'Estadi (Camp Nou) Stadium

(http://graphicslib.viator.com/graphicslib/2840/SITours/Manchester-logo.jpg) vs (http://www.agprint.am/logo/logo_barca.jpg)

Ferguson relishing Barcelona test

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is excited by the prospect of playing Barcelona after his team defeated Roma in the Champions League.

Carlos Tevez scored as United won the second-leg 1-0 to secure a 3-0 victory on aggregate over Roma - and set up a semi-final tie with the Catalan giants.

"I'm looking forward to it," said Ferguson. "I think that we have something special in our team.

"We cannot go to Spain and be negative, we must be positive."

United last met Barcelona in the Champions League in 1998 when their group encounter at the Nou Camp ended in a 3-3 draw.

But United won the Champions League final at the Nou Camp in 1999, with a spectacular 2-1 victory over Bayern Munich.

The first leg of this year's tie will also take place in Spain, on 23 April, with the return leg at Old Trafford on 29 April.

Barca defender Carles Puyol will be missing from the first leg after picking up a yellow card in the 1-0 win over Schalke.

United defender Nemanja Vidic missed Wednesday's game against Roma because of a knee injury but Ferguson added: "Hopefully by then we will have him back. If we have a full squad then we will have a very good chance."

Roma were handed a lifeline in their tie with United when referee Tom Henning Ovrebo awarded the Italian team a penalty following a challenge by Wes Brown on Mancini.

However, Daniele de Rossi smashed the spot-kick comfortably over the United crossbar.

Ferguson said of the ruling: "It was a bad decision. Wes Brown got the ball, no doubt.

"We are just pleased to be through. We had to play well but it was a European quarter-final against the team lying second in Italy and you expect them to play a bit.

"Our home record has been very good and is something to be proud of and it will have to remain so because European football is difficult."

United's defeat of Roma was their 11th straight win at home in the Champions League - a new record for the competition.

Roma coach Luciano Spalletti conceded that the best team had won the tie but stated: "We put in a good game and a good performance.

"We had to take one or two risks. It was important to exploit chances when we actually created them but we didn't capitalize on them.

"If we had it would have changed the face of the game."

Gary Neville came on as a late substitute for United - his first appearance since he picked up an ankle injury against Bolton on 17 March 2007.

"I hope for this season I can come in and play a small part because it's frustrating missing run-ins," said the defender, who also believes the tie with Barca is one to be relished.

"We have two unbelievable games of football to look forward to, two football clubs who play the game the right way and they will be unbelievable occasions to be part of," he said.

"Anyone who is a football fan will be tuning in."

Barca's Messi set to face Man Utd

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi is set to win his fitness battle for the Champions League semi-final first leg against Manchester United on 23 April.

Argentine sensation Messi, 20, has been named in the Barca squad for Saturday's La Liga game against Recreativo Huelva.

He tore a muscle in his left thigh in the Champions League last 16 game against Celtic on 4 March and has been recovering from injury in Argentina.

Barca are without Brazilian playmaker Ronaldinho for the rest of the season.

The 28-year-old, who has struggled to hold down a regular place this season, pulled a leg muscle in training last week.

Barca forwards Thierry Henry and Bojan Krkic picked up knocks in the European game against Schalke on Wednesday, while midfielder Andres Iniesta has a knee problem.

Portuguese midfielder Deco has missed the last month with a calf injury, but he may still be fit for the first leg.
Title: Re: Manchester Utd vs Barcelona CL SEMIFINAL Leg 1
Post by: rotatopoti3 on April 19, 2008, 09:59:59 PM
Wait nah Barca aint cut dey ass as yet... :rotfl:
Post by: Grande on April 19, 2008, 11:46:11 PM
United last met Barcelona in the Champions League in 1998 when their group encounter at the Nou Camp ended in a 3-3 draw.

Dwight Yorke was MOM that game with two goals and an assist while Rivaldo was on fire for Barca

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nJoW8NTP3g

highlights worth a look - that game was voted as one of the best CL games ever played

Post by: freakazoid on April 20, 2008, 05:33:46 AM
i must add barca has never been beaten by manu
Post by: redtrinigirl on April 20, 2008, 06:22:58 AM
Go Barca!!!!!!!  :wavetowel:
Post by: skins on April 20, 2008, 08:22:58 AM
Few more days for the big one. Go Barca........ ;D
Post by: Bourbon on April 20, 2008, 08:41:02 AM

Dwight Yorke was MOM that game with two goals and an assist while Rivaldo was on fire for Barca

highlights worth a look - that game was voted as one of the best CL games ever played

Was a real dread game in true. I download it the other day...no commentary...only stadium noise....and it was still engrossing.
Post by: Observer on April 20, 2008, 08:45:43 AM

Was a real dread game in true. I download it the other day...no commentary...only stadium noise....and it was still engrossing.

I love dem feeds with only stadium noise. I wish all games was broadcast so. Dat way I eh have to listen to the likes of Tommy Shit
Post by: giggsy11 on April 20, 2008, 08:53:00 AM

I love dem feeds with only stadium noise. I wish all games was broadcast so. Dat way I eh have to listen to the likes of Tommy Shit

Ah does cringe when the game on ESPN. Ah does mute his arse, no style, no substance.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 20, 2008, 09:47:57 AM
Barcelona's fall from the heights can lift United

How the Barca family fell apart

Duncan Castles
Sunday April 20, 2008
The Observer

There is a strange sub-contest taking place in this season's Champions League. Not to be the best football club in Europe, but the continent's most dysfunctional. Only at Manchester United do the waters run untroubled. Along the M62, owner tears shreds off owner as a forlorn chief executive attempts to remind them of 'the Liverpool way'. Down in London, a mutinous Chelsea support regularly remind their manager Avram Grant that he does not know what he is doing.

And then, there is Barcelona. Two years ago, the most beautiful team on the planet. Champions of Europe, champions of Spain. Blessed with the world's finest footballer. More adventurous, more skilful, more exciting and more successful than anyone else. Remember them? Well, visit a few moments of Barça's recent history and prepare to be shocked.

October: Club president Juan Laporta trumpets the introduction of a new 'discipline rulebook', widely perceived as an attempt to rein in the supposed nightlife excesses of Ronaldinho and Deco. 'Some of our players went beyond the limit last season and we will not allow complacency to damage us again,' says Laporta. His targets are distinctly unimpressed. 'There is no way the club can force us to stay imprisoned in our houses,' says Deco. 'We are young and we have all the right in the world to go out when we choose to. If a guy has to be at work at 9am, he arrives on time, and does a good job, he's not a bad professional is he?'

November: Edmilson talks of the faultlines in the Barcelona squad. 'In the world there are good and bad people,' says the defensive midfielder. 'In our dressing room there are good people, but also others who seem not to want anything to do with us. Within our group of players and coaches, we've formed a family. And many times in a family there are black sheep.' Edmilson is forced to apologise though coach Frank Rijkaard says he is 'not wrong'.

Mid-season: As fans bemoan the team's lack of stamina and glut of injuries, sports daily El Mundo Deportivo posts footage of a Barcelona training session on its website. In contrast to the coach's usual passive touchline pose, Rijkaard is shown joining his players in a keep-ball session. 'The day he worked the most all season,' comments the paper.

April: Xavier Sala Martín, president of Barcelona's economic commission, claims the club has removed ill-disciplined players from the squad, fabricating injuries to cover up their absence. 'These gentlemen, who do not want to work, who are not doing anything, who have not been playing for weeks, have been separated for weeks,' says Martín. 'And we disguised it with injuries.' His words are regarded as an attack on Ronaldinho and Deco, who demands Martín name names. 'He should be fired and I'm thinking about taking legal action,' says Deco. Samuel Eto'o labels the entire board, Laporta apart, 'shit'.

Last week: Ronaldinho's agent announces the forward is satisfied with personal terms on a proposed summer transfer to Milan. He is not expected to make anything except a valedictory farewell appearance for Barcelona before leaving the club. Supporters attend a training session to demand 'less millions, more bollocks' from the squad.

Ahead of the city derby with Espanyol last night, Barça were nine points adrift of league leaders Real Madrid, who have managed to lose nine of 32 games this season. In 'the league no one wants to win', the Catalans have found it all but impossible to succeed away from Camp Nou. Domestically, they have won just one of their last nine matches. Even in Europe, a trio of 1-0 victories over Celtic and Schalke have failed to impress.

Regular observers describe a team that 'walks instead of running'. Where attacking play was once concentrated in the opposition's half of the field, it now begins in their own. Possession is handed over too easily, while the famed invention of their attacking play has withered to predictability. The aggressive pressing of opponents formerly led by Deco has dissipated. 'You can see it in their play,' says a leading coach. 'The players have lost their desire.'

Worryingly, there are those within the camp who would not disagree with that analysis. 'I think what happened is we took our foot off the gas and now we are paying the price for that,' says midfielder Xavi. 'Everyone at the club relaxed, not just the players, but also the coaches and the board of directors.' Both Xavi and Edmilson have argued for a change of system, proposing a switch from their flagship 4-3-3 to a midfield diamond when playing away from home. It is symptomatic of the politics of Barcelona that the move was shouted down by Johan Cruyff, the totemic former player and coach whom Laporta regards as 'a very important reference' in his decision making. Cruyff has laid into Ronaldinho this season at a time when the Brazilian appeared to be recovering his form, and steadfastly opposed both the dismissal of Rijkaard and his replacement with José Mourinho.

Rijkaard's own intentions are a puzzle. Both this season and last he has been expected to leave Barcelona of his own volition only to remain. Once regarded as the balm that held a talented yet fractious team together, his laissez-faire style of leadership is now considered a handicap - the training regime and discipline too lax for a demotivated squad.

Thierry Henry's £16million transfer from Arsenal has been such a failure that Barcelona will allow him to leave after one, injury-ravaged season if a reasonable offer is received. Used primarily as a left winger, the Frenchman, who has settled poorly into the dressing room, has complained of being asked to run too much and of receiving the ball too far from the opponents' goal.

With Lionel Messi seemingly recovered from his latest hamstring pull, Henry is not expected to start against Manchester United in Wednesday's home leg. Yet even the return of their mesmeric Argentine has left the Barça socios unconvinced of their chances. It is not a state of affairs that suits Sir Alex Ferguson - a man interviewed for the Barcelona job some 20 years ago.

'The media seem to think we're favourites because our form is good and more consistent than Barcelona's,' said the United manager. 'Barcelona's players will respond to the occasion, we're aware of that. They have players who can change a game because of their individual brilliance, we're aware of that. You don't take semi-finals against Barcelona for granted, there are a lot of advantages for Barcelona in this game.' Not, though, as many as Barça hold in Europe's self-demolition derby.

Post by: D.H.W on April 20, 2008, 10:01:34 AM
cant wait for wednesday, is not everyday a match this big comes around
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 20, 2008, 10:06:49 AM

first of all we are man utd.. not man u.. 

secondly we've beat Barca twice and lossed once in the Cup winners Cup ...we beat Barca in the final..with your so called unbeatables

In CL.. We've drawn 3 and lost 1..(4-0 in the nou camp...that was during the time where there was a foreigner ban)
Post by: giggsy11 on April 20, 2008, 10:22:57 AM
cant wait for wednesday, is not everyday a match this big comes around

Yeah boy, should be sweet. Ah have more confidence in United's ability to play defence against Barca than I do in Barca to play defence against United. Ah glad dat Chelski v United startin early Saturday morning and we doh have tuh wait until Sunday! Let's hope for a Successful week!
Post by: RedDevils on April 20, 2008, 10:23:44 AM
Giggs and Scholes need ah rest. Fergie please start Owen and anderson.

Glory Glory Man-United.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 20, 2008, 10:26:15 AM

Glory Glory Man-United.

i talk to Fergie... de squad is a 4-5-1 in defence...4-3-3 in attack..

VDS

Brown
Vida
Rio
Evra

Ronaldo(expect to see him central and Wazza drop on the LW)
Hargreaves
Carrick
Anderson
Park/Nani..(he was unsure)

Rooney

Bench: TK..Silvestre..Gaz..Scholes..Giggs..Nani/Park...Tevez

Post by: dinho on April 20, 2008, 11:06:43 AM

secondly we've beat Barca twice and lossed once in the Cup winners Cup ...we beat Barca in the final..with your so called unbeatables

In CL.. We've drawn 3 and lost 1..(4-0 in the nou camp...that was during the time where there was a foreigner ban)

We??

You does play for Man U?

You have shares or membership?

Or u just feel to bawl wee like ah french pig..

Ah find allyuh getting ahead of allyuh self.  Yes barca eh clicking in de league and in some turmoil but doh figure dey eh go turn it on come wednesday.. This fixture go make or break their season and i rest assured they saving it all up to unleash it in champions league.

Also i would be kinda worried about allyuh side. Seems to me like allyuh side running out of a lil steam.

Vidic look kinda iffy against blackburn, Wes Brown cyah handle Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo dont show up for big games.. On top of that man u have the chelsea game to study on saturday and have to recover from that for the all important 2nd leg. So I wouldn't keep talking as if it were a done deal if i were u guys.

Cant wait.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 20, 2008, 12:14:43 PM

We??

You does play for Man U?

You have shares or membership?

Or u just feel to bawl wee like ah french pig..

Ah find allyuh getting ahead of allyuh self.  Yes barca eh clicking in de league and in some turmoil but doh figure dey eh go turn it on come wednesday.. This fixture go make or break their season and i rest assured they saving it all up to unleash it in champions league.

Also i would be kinda worried about allyuh side. Seems to me like allyuh side running out of a lil steam.

Vidic look kinda iffy against blackburn, Wes Brown cyah handle Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo dont show up for big games.. On top of that man u have the chelsea game to study on saturday and have to recover from that for the all important 2nd leg. So I wouldn't keep talking as if it were a done deal if i were u guys.

Cant wait.

Yes we.. Players.. Fans..the Manager..his staff and the Club's Staff are all a family at Man Utd... something i'm proud to be a part of.. And yes i am a member..i have been to old trafford and i havent missed a Utd games for over 2 seasons.. so yes..we

and also no 1 here has stated we are going to win... we know Barca is the hardest team to play and no1 has underestimated Barca... It will be a great game and may the best team go through..

I declare War
Post by: D.H.W on April 20, 2008, 12:24:50 PM
who running out of steam not us. after wednesday i go hear alyuh :devil: this aint no shit german team alyuh playing wednesday, is Manchester Utd FC alyuh playin, if i was alyuh haters i would HUSH until after d game wednesday  :devil:
Post by: giggsy11 on April 20, 2008, 01:40:50 PM

Mags yuh spittin in the wind when yuh say not tuh refer to United as Man U. But I understand why yuh took offense.

This is why it is Man United and not Man U

Man U is not a term United fans refer to themselves as. The term is only used by other supporters as a complete and utter insult to the club. The "u" is meant to be "you" by the rival fans.

An early example of its usage is this chant by West Brom fans: "Duncan Edwards is manure, rotting in his grave, man you are manure- rotting in your grave". The origin of "Man u" is a song to insult the dead Duncan Edwards.

Liverpool and Leeds fans copied this with their own man you /u versions to insult all of the lads who died at munich.

"Man U Man U went on a plane Man U Man U never came back again"

and..

"Man U Never Intended Coming Home" (if you combine the first letter of each word you get the word "munich").

Post by: RedDevils on April 20, 2008, 03:46:39 PM

Glory Glory Man-United.

i talk to Fergie... de squad is a 4-5-1 in defence...4-3-3 in attack..

VDS

Brown
Vida
Rio
Evra

Ronaldo(expect to see him central and Wazza drop on the LW)
Hargreaves
Carrick
Anderson
Park/Nani..(he was unsure)

Rooney

Bench: TK..Silvestre..Gaz..Scholes..Giggs..Nani/Park...Tevez

he should go with Park.....bring on Nani and Tevez in d 2nd to run circles round them
Post by: freakazoid on April 20, 2008, 03:57:20 PM
In an interview broadcast today on the Spanish radio station RAC 1, Samuel Eto’o declared that if things continued the same and Barça didn’t win anything next season, he will look for a move abroad. Eto’o stated that he had reached the top in Spain at Barça but he wanted to win titles and if that if he left Barça it would be to move to a club in another country.

>:( >:(

Post by: dinho on April 20, 2008, 03:59:26 PM

Yes we.. Players.. Fans..the Manager..his staff and the Club's Staff are all a family at Man Utd... something i'm proud to be a part of.. And yes i am a member..i have been to old trafford and i havent missed a Utd games for over 2 seasons.. so yes..we

and also no 1 here has stated we are going to win... we know Barca is the hardest team to play and no1 has underestimated Barca... It will be a great game and may the best team go through..

I declare War

umm.. you may be a fan but you ain't no family of 'Man U'.

Maybe if you had spend for a season ticket or club membership then you could lay some claim to that.. And no not that free online membership that gets you weekly spam mail and zero preference for tickets on match day.

Right now you're just another dude who bought a ticket and a jersey and your status lies in a grey area somewhere between an outside child and an ugly duckling.

Post by: giggsy11 on April 20, 2008, 04:07:31 PM
In an interview broadcast today on the Spanish radio station RAC 1, Samuel Eto’o declared that if things continued the same and Barça didn’t win anything next season, he will look for a move abroad. Eto’o stated that he had reached the top in Spain at Barça but he wanted to win titles and if that if he left Barça it would be to move to a club in another country.

>:( >:(

Dread yuh team fallin apart. Next year yuh might jus routin for Messi, Henry and the yute man Bojan. I actually like Barca, dise my team in Spain but dey need tuh bring in some players with improved character, to much undermining of the manager. Deco need tuh go and the negative energy dat bringing down the team. Ah hope dey straighten it out.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 20, 2008, 05:22:22 PM

I declare War

umm.. you may be a fan but you ain't no family of 'Man U'.

Maybe if you had spend for a season ticket or club membership then you could lay some claim to that.. And no not that free online membership that gets you weekly spam mail and zero preference for tickets on match day.

Right now you're just another dude who bought a ticket and a jersey and your status lies in a grey area somewhere between an outside child and an ugly duckling.

I am a one united member for 3 seasons now...
you have to pay 30 pounds and you get benefits such as applying for tickets..buying tickets through viagogo(a ticket exchange website)...monthly newsletter..discounts on tickets and magazine..and you get a welcome pack every season full of memorabilia...

is a real cool offer and is a safe bet to get tiks.. thats how i got my tiks earlier this year..
Post by: ttcom on April 20, 2008, 06:32:41 PM
Barca all the way
Post by: weary1969 on April 20, 2008, 09:36:23 PM
Dat go b a big game and I go b in a class dat cyah b rite steups I will have 2 organize meh taxt updates 2 know when Barca score.
Post by: freakazoid on April 21, 2008, 05:59:58 AM
Tévez: “Like the final brought forward”

Sandra Sarmiento

Manchester United’s Argentinean forward has stated that the semi-final against Barça is “an opportunity to make his mark”, and that he feels confident that his team will make it to the final.

He’s Ferguson’s second highest scorer, and he’ll arrive at Nou Camp with his morale high after getting the equalizer against Blackburn Rovers in last Saturday’s Premiership match.
Manchester United now has just a three-point lead over Chelsea. In a statement to Barça TV and www.fcbarcelona.cat, the Argentinean Carlos Tévez said that the semi-final against Barça was “an opportunity to make his mark. It’s a game in another dimension”. Tévez added that the duel between the Blaugranes and the English side was “like the final has been brought forward”.

Confidence in the results

With only three league games left, Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United is league leader with a three-point advantage over Chelsea. They face each other next Saturday at Stamford Bridge. The Red Devils are bringing an incredible season to a close. They are unbeaten in the Champions League and in the English league they have only notched up four defeats. They haven’t lost in their last nine league games, and they arrive at Nou Camp full of confidence. Tévez stated that getting a good result was “just down to us”. “If we continue playing in the same way, with the same passion, we’ve got a chance. Obviously it’s all down to us”.

The keys to the semi-final

tevezesquena.jpgCarlos Tévez started out in English football in 2006, helping save West Ham United from relegation. Halfway through 2007 he went to Manchester United on loan for two seasons. Known as “the Apache” in Argentina, Tévez has become one of the key players in Sir Alex Ferguson’s game plan, having so far scored 13 league goals and 4 in the Champions League. Tévez has been following the Spanish league and Barça’s results: “They’re coming to the game with a lot of pressure on them. If we get to play in our style, we can make it very difficult for Barça. There are 180 match minutes ahead. Two games to play and we have to be smart. We have to come out focussed and play well in all areas”.

Reunion with Messi

Carlos Tévez celebrated his 24th birthday last February 5th. Having started out in Boca Juniors, he played for Corinthians in Brazil before coming to Europe. He’s not from the same generation as Messi, but they have coincided on various occasions playing for Argentina. Tévez laid a challenge for Messi and Barça: “Let him play. If we beat them with Messi, there’ll be no excuse”. Yet the Manchester United player is full of praise for his compatriot: “He’s from another planet. He’s got amazing acceleration. He’s a marvellous player
Post by: Toppa on April 21, 2008, 07:38:23 AM
ManUUUUUUUU goan get a Messi lesson.

Messi: I'm Ready For United

http://goal.com/en/articolo.aspx?contenutoid=666982
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 21, 2008, 07:39:09 AM

umm why are you even commenting in this thread?...

Stop being a Troll

Post by: Toppa on April 21, 2008, 08:04:41 AM

Stop being a Troll

Buh wha de arse is dis? Boy move eh.
Post by: dinho on April 21, 2008, 08:08:19 AM

Stop being a Troll

Toppa he's just trying to Man You.. lol
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 21, 2008, 08:13:50 AM

yuh sad boy
Post by: dinho on April 21, 2008, 08:15:53 AM

yuh sad boy

nah just wilding allyuh up before the game..

but he has membership so he get a bligh.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 21, 2008, 08:38:05 AM
Past meetings in Europe

1999 Champions League, first group phase
Man Utd - Barça ... 3-3
Barça - Man Utd ... 3-3

1995 Champions League, group phase
Man Utd - Barça ... 2-2
Barça - Man Utd ... 4-0

1991 Cup Winners Cup final (in Rotterdam)
Man Utd - Barça ... 2-1

1984 Cup Winners Cup, quarterfinals
Barça - Man Utd ... 2-0, 0-3
Post by: giggsy11 on April 21, 2008, 09:00:01 AM
LoL, alll yuh funny yes! Smalls dey jammin yuh from all sides!
Post by: D.H.W on April 21, 2008, 10:48:15 AM

Stop being a Troll

stueps girl ride out with yuh shit team nah  :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on April 21, 2008, 10:51:24 AM
Barcelona v Man Utd

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44586000/gif/_44586490_barca_manu_226x170.gif)

Barcelona striker Thierry Henry was unable to take part in training on Monday morning because of illness.

The France international, who was an unused substitute in Saturday's goalless league draw against Espanyol, was suffering from a fever.

Ronaldinho, Lilian Thuram, Jose Edmilson and back-up goalkeeper Albert Jorquera also missed training.

Man Utd team news to follow later.

BIG MATCH STATS

Head-to-heads

FC Barcelona and Manchester United have met seven times in a European club competition. Both clubs have won twice and three matches were drawn. The goal difference is 15-13 in favour of the Spaniards.

One of these encounters was the final of the 1991 Cup Winners Cup, played in Rotterdam and won by United (2-1).

The last two meetings were in the 1998-99 season, when both matches in the Champions League ended in spectacular 3-3 draws. Four players from the current Manchester United squad featured in those matches: Gary Neville, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Wes Brown; Barcelona's only survivor is Xavi.

European history

Barcelona have won the Champions Cup/ Champions League twice, in 1992 and 2006. They have also amassed four Cup Winners' Cups, three Fairs Cups and two European Super Cups.

This is the 23rd season in which Barcelona has reached the semi-finals of a European club competition. They progressed 14 times and were knocked out eight times. It is the ninth time they have reached the last four in the Champions Cup/Champions League, not including the semi-final group stage in 1991-92. They went on to reach the final four times and were eliminated four times.

Manchester United have won three European trophies - the 1967-68 Champions Cup, 1990-91 Cup Winners' Cup and 1998-99 Champions League. The final for the most recent of those was staged in Barcelona's Camp Nou Stadum, when Bayern Munich were defeated 2-1.

This is the 13th time that United have reached the semi-finals of a European club competition. They were knocked out nine times, but went on to win the trophy all three times they progressed. It is also the 10th time the Red Devils have qualified for the last four of the Champions Cup/Champions League. They went on to reach the final twice and were eliminated on the other seven occasions.

Last season, Barcelona reached the last 16 of the CL and were eliminated by Liverpool; United got to this semi-finals and were knocked out by eventually winners AC Milan.

Current European form

Barcelona and Manchester United are both unbeaten this Champions League season.

Barce have won five on the spin in this competition, and are unbeaten in 11 since the 1-2 home defeat by Liverpool on 21 February 2007. They have also won their last five home matches in the Champions League, and kept clean sheets in each of the last three at the Camp Nou.

United are undefeated in 10 CL matches, since losing 3-0 at AC Milan in last May's semi-final second leg. They have won their last three home and away, and have not conceded a single goal in those games.

Player and disciplinary info

Carles Puyol (Barcelona) is suspended for this match. Lionel Messi, Yaya Toure, Rafael Marquez and Gabriel Milito are all one yellow card away from suspension. Manchester United's Nani and Patrice Evra will also be suspended upon receiving a yellow card.

Puyol and Xavi have played 74 Champions League matches for Barcelona, a club record.

If selected, Gary Neville and Paul Scholes will both make their 100th appearances in the Champions League; Neville made his CL debut in a 3-1 defeat at IFK Gothenburg on 23 November 1994, Scholes' first taste of CL action was in the home 2-2 draw with Barcelona on 19 October 1994.

Cristiano Ronaldo is this season's CL top scorer with seven goals.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/7356114.stm

Post by: freakazoid on April 21, 2008, 11:08:52 AM
BRING ON THE BRITS, i seeing plenty freekicks
Post by: trinipepper on April 21, 2008, 11:13:37 AM
Go barca  drop some goals on man u..!!! la liga vs premier ... let us  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: and be merry for de bacchanal deya ..
Post by: Grande on April 21, 2008, 02:36:23 PM
Hopefully Thierry get better in time, need him for this one
Post by: Filho on April 21, 2008, 03:42:15 PM
Hopefully Thierry get better in time, need him for this one

I was thinking the same thing. All the talk about his poor form, noone will be more motivated to play manU than the ex-Arsenal man. His EPL experience could prove invaluable and he will have a psychological impact on the ManU defense. Similar to how Gudjohnsen came on against Liverpool last season and was unplayable. too little to late at the time, but that EPl experience can be a big help.
Post by: Jumbie on April 21, 2008, 05:08:22 PM
FYI. For the peeps in canada, TSN will have both CL games (Tue and Wed) cook allyuh cassava and saltfish and get ready. Go barca.
Post by: 7 blessings on April 21, 2008, 06:11:20 PM

eh heh way u download dat from hoss? Is long time i wah taken a classic game when Yorke and Cole was strike partners...one ah the deadliest partnership ever in Europe.

But on another note...hope Barca pull it off dis wednseday!
Post by: giggsy11 on April 21, 2008, 06:16:14 PM
Ah love all this hate, good vibes for Wednesday! Keep it comin hators!
Post by: D.H.W on April 21, 2008, 06:19:39 PM
stueps it have rel Man utd haters on dis forum lol ::) i was now typing about giggsy u beat me to it lol
Post by: giggsy11 on April 21, 2008, 06:24:16 PM
stueps it have rel Man utd haters on dis forum lol ::) i was now typing about giggsy u beat me to it lol

If again! dey aint even studyin dat 'other game' at anfield aka 'sh!t on a stick'!
Post by: dinho on April 21, 2008, 06:32:17 PM
it have real man u lovers on de forum too...

man talking bout 'vidas' and 'roo' like dey pitch marbles lol..

i want to see if cristiano ronaldo go turn up, since is ah big game nuh.

allyuh remember what gattuso do he last year??   :devil: :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on April 21, 2008, 06:36:40 PM

If again! dey aint even studyin dat 'other game' at anfield aka 'sh!t on a stick'!
Post by: giggsy11 on April 21, 2008, 06:45:18 PM
it have real man u lovers on de forum too...

man talking bout 'vidas' and 'roo' like dey pitch marbles lol..

i want to see if cristiano ronaldo go turn up, since is ah big game nuh.

allyuh remember what gattuso do he last year??   :devil: :devil:

You better hope one of yuh two teams make it tuh the finals.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 21, 2008, 07:02:39 PM

blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport > Sid Lowe 

Henry attracts few homages in Catalonia as form and fitness fade

Thierry Henry will miss the semi-final clash with Manchester United, but Barcelona fans won't miss him
Sid LoweApril 22, 2008 12:29 AM

If Thierry Henry thinks Barcelona fans will fret about his absence, thanks to the fever that kept him out of training yesterday, from tomorrow's Champions League semi-final first leg against Manchester United, he will be disappointed - almost as disappointed, in fact, as they have been with him.

Some 35,000 people attended Henry's presentation as a Barça player last summer, gathering to see him perform a few keepy-ups. The feeling now is that he has done little else; he certainly has not been worth €24m (nearly £16m at the then rate of exchange). Nor has he been the player he was in the Premiership. He has snapped at suggestions that he should aspire to be so. "You can forget all about the Arsenal Henry," he said. "This is the Henry you'll see from now on."

That is not the message Barça fans want to hear; this is not a player with whom they are enamoured. Nor is Barcelona's notorious "entourage" impressed, the media regularly attacking him - although Johan Cruyff, the former coach and unofficial presidential adviser, a kind of Cardinal Richelieu to Joan Laporta's Louis XIII, has defended him. The vice-president Ferran Soriano said Henry was not for sale. A decent offer and that could change.

Henry has scored 14 goals in 40 games, seven in the league - a goal fewer than Lionel Messi, despite playing over 1,000 minutes more, and, in the league, seven less than Samuel Eto'o, who has missed over half of the season. Nor has he always been available, suffering with an achilles problem and chronic back pains brought from London. One newspaper declared: "The man who was supposed to solve the problems of Ronaldinho's absences has become a problem in his own right."

After one recent game he was described as a "relic", a reporter remarking that "to describe Henry as pathetic would be an understatement". The Barcelona newspaper Sport gave him four out of 10 for his display in the Champions League quarter-final second leg against Schalke, saying he had performed "as flatly as he has done of late". El Mundo Deportivo shrugged: "No. There's no way of getting him to play well. Not even the Champions League could reactivate him."

That Henry has not had the impact anticipated is hardly surprising: he has too often played in an unfamiliar left-sided role as the Barcelona coach, Frank Rijkaard, remains faithful to the 4-3-3 tradition, passed down by Cruyff, which once cost Gary Lineker, another centre-forward forced to play wide, so dearly.

"If I play on the left, you'll see the Henry who plays on the left," the Frenchman said recently. "I have lost my attacking reference points by being on the wing. I'm just the guy that plays on the wing at Barcelona. I start 60 metres from goal, I run more than ever before and I'm not succeeding in one-on-ones because I'm shattered." Rijkaard merely shrugged. "He's playing OK there," he said.

Henry also complained that he has been unable to see his daughter, Tea. During one press conference he returned to the same theme again and again - to the exasperation of the local press. Asked what he could do to improve he snapped, "Get my daughter here with me," refusing to countenance any other reason for his dip in form, despite subsequently revealing his tactical concerns.

While Henry has a point, his complaints have not fallen on sympathetic ears. His professionalism and his desire not to get drawn into the Eto'o-Ronaldinho civil war have won him the respect of most team-mates, as has his desire to be a father figure to Bojan Krkic, who is likely to replace him against United. But the media and supporters have grown tired not just with his displays but also with what they see as self-indulgence and a propensity to whinge, on and off the pitch.

When, yesterday, one Catalan journalist was asked what kind of fever had kept Henry out of the weekend's 0-0 draw with Espanyol, he snapped: "An 'I can't be bothered' kind of fever." That might have been unfair but it said much.

"What was he doing leaning on the post just watching the move that led to the goal?" asked El Mundo Deportivo after the Schalke game; Sport picked up on Henry's "constant moaning". He is, as one headline put it, "the man who's never happy". And that is not just because he looks set to sit out the biggest game of his Barcelona career.

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 21, 2008, 07:10:27 PM

blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport > Sid Lowe 

Henry attracts few homages in Catalonia as form and fitness fade

Thierry Henry will miss the semi-final clash with Manchester United, but Barcelona fans won't miss him
Sid LoweApril 22, 2008 12:29 AM

If Thierry Henry thinks Barcelona fans will fret about his absence, thanks to the fever that kept him out of training yesterday, from tomorrow's Champions League semi-final first leg against Manchester United, he will be disappointed - almost as disappointed, in fact, as they have been with him.

Some 35,000 people attended Henry's presentation as a Barça player last summer, gathering to see him perform a few keepy-ups. The feeling now is that he has done little else; he certainly has not been worth €24m (nearly £16m at the then rate of exchange). Nor has he been the player he was in the Premiership. He has snapped at suggestions that he should aspire to be so. "You can forget all about the Arsenal Henry," he said. "This is the Henry you'll see from now on."

That is not the message Barça fans want to hear; this is not a player with whom they are enamoured. Nor is Barcelona's notorious "entourage" impressed, the media regularly attacking him - although Johan Cruyff, the former coach and unofficial presidential adviser, a kind of Cardinal Richelieu to Joan Laporta's Louis XIII, has defended him. The vice-president Ferran Soriano said Henry was not for sale. A decent offer and that could change.

Henry has scored 14 goals in 40 games, seven in the league - a goal fewer than Lionel Messi, despite playing over 1,000 minutes more, and, in the league, seven less than Samuel Eto'o, who has missed over half of the season. Nor has he always been available, suffering with an achilles problem and chronic back pains brought from London. One newspaper declared: "The man who was supposed to solve the problems of Ronaldinho's absences has become a problem in his own right."

After one recent game he was described as a "relic", a reporter remarking that "to describe Henry as pathetic would be an understatement". The Barcelona newspaper Sport gave him four out of 10 for his display in the Champions League quarter-final second leg against Schalke, saying he had performed "as flatly as he has done of late". El Mundo Deportivo shrugged: "No. There's no way of getting him to play well. Not even the Champions League could reactivate him."

That Henry has not had the impact anticipated is hardly surprising: he has too often played in an unfamiliar left-sided role as the Barcelona coach, Frank Rijkaard, remains faithful to the 4-3-3 tradition, passed down by Cruyff, which once cost Gary Lineker, another centre-forward forced to play wide, so dearly.

"If I play on the left, you'll see the Henry who plays on the left," the Frenchman said recently. "I have lost my attacking reference points by being on the wing. I'm just the guy that plays on the wing at Barcelona. I start 60 metres from goal, I run more than ever before and I'm not succeeding in one-on-ones because I'm shattered." Rijkaard merely shrugged. "He's playing OK there," he said.

Henry also complained that he has been unable to see his daughter, Tea. During one press conference he returned to the same theme again and again - to the exasperation of the local press. Asked what he could do to improve he snapped, "Get my daughter here with me," refusing to countenance any other reason for his dip in form, despite subsequently revealing his tactical concerns.

While Henry has a point, his complaints have not fallen on sympathetic ears. His professionalism and his desire not to get drawn into the Eto'o-Ronaldinho civil war have won him the respect of most team-mates, as has his desire to be a father figure to Bojan Krkic, who is likely to replace him against United. But the media and supporters have grown tired not just with his displays but also with what they see as self-indulgence and a propensity to whinge, on and off the pitch.

When, yesterday, one Catalan journalist was asked what kind of fever had kept Henry out of the weekend's 0-0 draw with Espanyol, he snapped: "An 'I can't be bothered' kind of fever." That might have been unfair but it said much.

"What was he doing leaning on the post just watching the move that led to the goal?" asked El Mundo Deportivo after the Schalke game; Sport picked up on Henry's "constant moaning". He is, as one headline put it, "the man who's never happy". And that is not just because he looks set to sit out the biggest game of his Barcelona career.

Great Article... useless cocky french ass

Go back to Le Arse and rekindle yuh career
Post by: dinho on April 21, 2008, 07:45:55 PM
Just in case you guys forgot what happened the last time you were so enthusiastic about a CL semi final tie..

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc62/trini_omar/74051471.jpg)

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc62/trini_omar/74058165.jpg)

Post by: Grande on April 21, 2008, 07:46:23 PM
I think Rijkaard more interested in grooming Krkic and Dos Santos as attackers instead of putting Henry there

Barca fans being too hard on Thierry...surely they can't expect a deluge of goals from him because he ain't striking and is pretty much playing left wing and while it is unfamiliar, I find he doing fine in dat position. That is a great position to exercise the kind of vision he has. How many assists has he given so far?
Post by: giggsy11 on April 21, 2008, 07:58:12 PM
Just in case you guys forgot what happened the last time you were so enthusiastic about a CL semi final tie..

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc62/trini_omar/74051471.jpg)

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc62/trini_omar/74058165.jpg)

Who is the Gatusso on Barca? 
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 21, 2008, 08:14:06 PM
Omarldinho f**k you...

Study yuh Russian side semi 2moro...   yuh pathetic..yuh have 2 squads... what a true fan you are...

Besides...CR7 played 50+ games to Gattusso 30+

Who would be fresher?

Post by: dinho on April 21, 2008, 08:15:01 PM
Omarldinho f**k you...

Study yuh Russian side semi 2moro...   yuh pathetic..yuh have 2 squads... what a true fan you are...

Who would be fresher?

lol.. it take yuh long enough..
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 21, 2008, 08:17:51 PM
Omarldinho f**k you...

Who would be fresher?

lol.. it take yuh long enough..

lol.. heat of the moment

May the best team prevail
Post by: D.H.W on April 21, 2008, 08:36:46 PM
 :rotfl: things gettin a little  heated man poking fire to get burn, wed go have rel gunman talk i could see it now  :devil:
Post by: Bourbon on April 21, 2008, 08:42:39 PM

eh heh way u download dat from hoss? Is long time i wah taken a classic game when Yorke and Cole was strike partners...one ah the deadliest partnership ever in Europe.

But on another note...hope Barca pull it off dis wednseday!

http://rapidshare.com/files/46369285/United_vs_Barca_98_99.part1.rar.html
http://rapidshare.com/files/46389813/United_vs_Barca_98_99.part2.rar.html
http://rapidshare.com/files/46465364/United_vs_Barca_98_99.part3.rar.html
http://rs115cg2.rapidshare.com/files/46475100/United_vs_Barca_98_99.part4.rar.html

And the Barca at home leg
http://rapidshare.com/files/47514577/Barca_vs_United_98_99.part1.rar.html
http://rapidshare.com/files/47533624/Barca_vs_United_98_99.part2.rar.html
http://rapidshare.com/files/48748725/Barca_vs_United_98_99.part3.rar.html
http://rapidshare.com/files/48860465/Barca_vs_United_98_99.part4.rar.html

I neutral about this game...i back both teams. Given form and confidence and other factors...i can see Manchester United taking the tie...but i wont be vex if Barcelona pull through. Once chelsea suck some salt.....and whoever win dis game win the whole thing....i good.
Post by: D.H.W on April 22, 2008, 12:51:41 PM
thanks bourbon
Post by: Filho on April 22, 2008, 02:00:23 PM

lord..allyuh ManU fans love a persecution complex eh? haters. heheheh  :devil:

there are actual Barca supporters on the site too yuh know. supporting the Blaugrana no matter what  ;) :beermug:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 22, 2008, 02:21:30 PM

there are actual Barca supporters on the site too yuh know. supporting the Blaugrana no matter what  ;) :beermug:

Tot el Camp
The whole Stadium
És un Clam
Is chanting
Som la Gent Blaugrana,
We are the "Blaugrana" people
Tant se val d'on venim,
It doesn't matter where we come from
Si del Sud o del Nord,
From the South or from the North
Ara estem d'acord, estem d'acord,
Now we all agree, we all agree
Una bandera ens agermana.
A flag joins us Brotherhood
Blaugrana al vent,
"Blaugrana" in the wind
Un crit valent,
A valient scream
Tenim un nom,
We have a name
El sap tothom:
The whole world knows it
BARÇA !, BARÇA!, BARÇA!,

---------------
Jugadors,
Players
Seguidors
Fans
Tots units fem força
All united we have the strength
Són molts anys plens d'afanys,
So many years full of hard work
Són molts gols que hem critdat,
So many goals we have cheered for
I s'ha demostrat, s'ha demostrat,
and we have shown, we have shown
Que mai ningú no ens podrà tòrcer.
that nobody will be able to break us
Blaugrana al vent,
"Blaugrana" in the wind
Un crit valent,
A valient scream
Tenim un nom,
We have a name
El sap tothom:
The whole world knows it
BARÇA !, BARÇA!, BARÇA!,

That singing right before the CL Anthem.
Post by: Andre on April 22, 2008, 02:37:44 PM
i see chelski players really resect grant.

2127: Nicolas Anelka replaces Michael Ballack. He'll have four minutes to make a difference. Ballack is not happy about coming off. He should have come off a couple of minutes but decided to look the other way when his number came up. Nice.
Post by: kicker on April 22, 2008, 05:15:52 PM

Tot el Camp
The whole Stadium
És un Clam
Is chanting
Som la Gent Blaugrana,
We are the "Blaugrana" people
Tant se val d'on venim,
It doesn't matter where we come from
Si del Sud o del Nord,
From the South or from the North
Ara estem d'acord, estem d'acord,
Now we all agree, we all agree
Una bandera ens agermana.
A flag joins us Brotherhood
Blaugrana al vent,
"Blaugrana" in the wind
Un crit valent,
A valient scream
Tenim un nom,
We have a name
El sap tothom:
The whole world knows it
BARÇA !, BARÇA!, BARÇA!,

---------------
Jugadors,
Players
Seguidors
Fans
Tots units fem força
All united we have the strength
Són molts anys plens d'afanys,
So many years full of hard work
Són molts gols que hem critdat,
So many goals we have cheered for
I s'ha demostrat, s'ha demostrat,
and we have shown, we have shown
Que mai ningú no ens podrà tòrcer.
that nobody will be able to break us
Blaugrana al vent,
"Blaugrana" in the wind
Un crit valent,
A valient scream
Tenim un nom,
We have a name
El sap tothom:
The whole world knows it
BARÇA !, BARÇA!, BARÇA!,

That singing right before the CL Anthem.

Blah blah blah blah....  ;D
Post by: dinho on April 22, 2008, 06:03:32 PM
so now that the chelsea game is out of the way, lemme hate on this man u side a little more...

this is how i put the esteemed jersey to good use.

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc62/trini_omar/PC240014.jpg)

:devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Bourbon on April 22, 2008, 06:23:51 PM
so now that the chelsea game is out of the way, lemme hate on this man u side a little more...

See...even de dog appreciate quality teams. If was a chelsea jersey i sure he woulda piss on it and walk off.
Post by: D.H.W on April 22, 2008, 07:51:32 PM

but d WTF  ::) alyuh gone yes, new level of haters  :D
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 07:56:37 AM
messi t shirt in hand               ah ready
Post by: TRUwarrior on April 23, 2008, 08:05:10 AM
I thought is only Paris Hilton use tuh dress her dog :rotfl: :rotfl:
thats really gay
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 08:06:27 AM
I thought is only Paris Hilton use tuh dress her dog :rotfl: :rotfl:
thats really gay

the jersey or the dog?  :devil:
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 08:12:02 AM
well the jersey have c ronaldo . so i believe is  d jersey

yuh knw ronaldo is one of the most hated and yet most loved players at the same time.

Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 11:26:30 AM
Manager Sir Alex Ferguson has urged his Manchester United side to write a new chapter in the club's rich history.

United face Barcelona in the Champions League semi-final, first leg on Wednesday in the Nou Camp - where they last won the trophy in 1999.

Ferguson said: "The players have seen the game many times on video and TV, so I don't think it's lost on any of them.

"What is more important is that they can shape their own history. I think they are good enough to do that."

He added: "It is almost 10 years since we won the final. The team of today do not need to worry about the past and be reminded of the past."

United were beaten in last year's semi-finals by eventual winners Milan, who inflicted a humiliating 3-0 defeat on the English champions in the second leg in Italy to overturn a narrow 3-2 defeat at Old Trafford.

But Ferguson said he was confident his side were better prepared than last year, when they were hampered by injuries and tiredness.

"We were not ready for last season's game," he said, "but I am far more confident now. I think the winners will stand a great chance in the final [against Liverpool or Chelsea, who drew 1-1 at Anfield on Tuesday]."

He said he expected the game to be "very balanced - it is a platform for players to do well."

Winger Cristiano Ronaldo believes the quality of the modern-day side can only be gauged at the end of the season.

United are attempting a Premier League and Champions League double, with boss Ferguson claiming his squad is the best he has had at his disposal.

"I also think that this is the most talented team but you can only confirm this at the end of the season, by what was won," said Ronaldo, 23.

Ronaldo has been in inspirational form for United this season, scoring 38 goals during the campaign.

On the way, he has overtaken George Best's record of 32 goals in a season by a winger at the club, which was set in 1968.

United, who are being pushed by Chelsea in the battle for England's top-flight crown, achieved the Treble in 1999 but Ronaldo has played down making any comparisons with Red Devils teams of yesteryear for the time being.

"There is a lot of talent, I think that we are going along the right path," he added.

"Game after game we have shown that we have a fantastic team, with a lot of talent and magnificent players, but at the end of the season we will be able to provide a definite answer if this team is the best Manchester United side of all time.

"If we win the Champions League or the Premier League we will have a better idea."

Barcelona coach Frank Rijkaard said he admired his opponents.

"They are able to play the English style because they play in the English Premier League every week and are used to that, but they also have a lot of players who are able to adapt to the European game," said the Dutchman.

"It is clear that they have many great players and Cristiano Ronaldo is one of them, but it is not a game about one player. There will be two great teams out there and the best team will win the tie.

Barcelona star Thierry Henry has recovered from illness and could start alongside Lionel Messi and Deco in the Champions League semi-final, first leg.

Ronaldinho is injured and skipper Carlos Puyol is banned, so Rafael Marquez is set to play in defence.

Manchester United defender Nemanja Vidic, who has just returned following a knee injury, is doubtful after a stomach complaint late on Tuesday.

Wes Brown picked up a minor knock at the weekend but trained on Tuesday.

Goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar, striker Wayne Rooney, and midfielders Owen Hargreaves and Anderson are all fit.

England star Rooney has overcome the hip injury he suffered in the 1-1 draw with Blackburn on Saturday, while Hargreaves and Anderson sat out the match to allow them to recover from minor knocks.

Dutch goalkeeper Van der Sar is back after recovering from a groin injury.

Messi, the 20-year-old Argentine striker and Barca's leading player this season, has made just two appearances as a substitute since returning to action after six weeks out with a thigh injury.

Former Arsenal star Henry, who was an unused substitute in Saturday's goalless draw with Espanyol, returned to training on Tuesday after sitting out Monday's session because of a fever.

Portuguese midfielder Deco has overcome a calf injury but is still building up his fitness.

"Messi is progressing well and could start. Henry has been with the team on Tuesday and we will see how he is in the training session.

"Deco is OK too, he has worked hard in the last few training sessions," said coach Frank Rijkaard.

Mexican defender Marquez has been suffering from bruising and inflammation in his right foot but seems set to partner Gabriel Milito in the centre of defence.

Man Utd (from): Van der Sar, Neville, Evra, Hargreaves, Ferdinand, Brown, Ronaldo, Anderson, Rooney, Giggs, Park, Vidic, Carrick, Nani, Scholes, Pique, O'Shea, Fletcher, Silvestre, Kuszczak, Tevez, Heaton, Welbeck.

Man Utd wait on Vidic after scare

Manchester United's Nemanja Vidic was taken to hospital on Tuesday with a stomach complaint ahead of his side's Champions League tie against Barcelona.

The centre-back remains a doubt for the semi-final first leg in Spain.

"He was brought here on Tuesday with a stomach problem and kept in for a couple of hours," said a spokesman for Barcelona's Hospital de Bellvitge.

"But he was later released as the condition was not very serious and I'd have thought he will be able to play."

Vidic was the player put up for interview by the club at Tuesday's pre-match news conference and appeared relaxed.

But he sat out training before being taken to the hospital later on Tuesday.

He only recently returned to action after three weeks out because of a knee injury.

The final decision on the Serbia international's availability will be left to the Manchester United team doctors.

"Whether he plays or not is not our decision," added the hospital spokesman. "He is back with the team and the club doctors will decide if he is fit to play this evening."

Vidic has been a mainstay at the heart of United's defence, along with fellow central defender Rio Ferdinand, for most of the season and has been integral to his side's success this season.

Wes Brown would be a contender to replace him but he is also struggling with a knock picked up in the 1-1 draw with Blackburn last Saturday.

That could mean a start for Gerard Pique, who joined as a trainee from Barcelona.

Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 11:50:03 AM
right...

so it looking like no vidic.. brown at CB.

looking like hargreaves at right back and giggs and anderson on de bench. Park starting.

It have goals in dis for Barca!

For Barca, Bojan and Henry on de bench and Deco starting.. hmmm

Man Utd: Van der Sar, Evra, Hargreaves, Ferdinand, Brown, Ronaldo, Rooney, Park, Carrick, Scholes, Tevez. Subs: Kuszscak, Anderson, Giggs, Nani, Pique, O'Shea, Silvestre.
Barcelona: Valdes, Milito, Marquez, Xavi, Iniesta, Eto'o, Zambrotta, Messi, Deco, Abidal, Toure.
Post by: Filho on April 23, 2008, 11:51:59 AM
Deco?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2008, 11:53:40 AM
Vidic out...stomach bug..

VDS

Hargreaves
Brown
Rio
Evra

Ronaldo
Carrick
Scholes
Park

Rooney
Tevez

Bench: Kooshie..Anderson..Giggs..Nani..Pique..O'Shea..Silvestre

Barca:

Valdes

Zambrotta
Marquez
Milito
Abidal

Deco
Ya Ya
Xavi
Iniesta

Eto
Messi

Bench: Pinto..Gudjohnsen..Henry..Slyvinho..Gio Dos Santos..Thuram..Bojan

Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 12:43:14 PM
that man start abidal boy steups
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 12:48:07 PM
shit hong ronaldo  :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 12:59:27 PM
ronaldo miss a penalty?

lol.. big game player
Post by: Babalawo on April 23, 2008, 01:02:13 PM
ronaldo miss a penalty?

lol.. big game player

Is this true? i have to see the half time highlights

How much you want to bet Eto gonna score 2 goals today
Post by: grimm01 on April 23, 2008, 01:06:02 PM
ronaldo miss a penalty?

lol.. big game player

Is this true? i have to see the half time highlights

How much you want to bet Eto gonna score 2 goals today

de man miss the top right V.
aside from the penalty, Barca really controlling so far, but the touches or lack of touches in the box letting them down. they have not tested Van der Sar at all.
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 01:18:36 PM
evra jus run into d highlights package. messi give hm a cap with  he signature on it
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2008, 01:22:35 PM
I in so much conflict with this game now. I eh know how to react when something happen.....if to cheer...or....get sour. With de penalty....i cussing cuz it get give...and cussing that he miss.  Buh...dat cap evra get was wicked!
Post by: Babalawo on April 23, 2008, 01:24:30 PM
All the English players on United messing up the play l :rotfl: Rooney and Scholes shaming the UK
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 01:26:55 PM
dey saying messi running the show...

how he playing?
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 01:31:39 PM
manu playing coward and barcelona playing small goal, they wont shoot for goodness sake
Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 01:34:14 PM
concentration is d key to this game
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 23, 2008, 01:36:47 PM
I eh go lie, a little bit ah tu-tu come out when C Ronaldo was running up to hit the penalty, then a little bit ah wee-wee came out when he miss.

I losing control of my bodily functions as the minutes tick on.

Aside from that, Patrice Evra get the neatest cyap (from Messi) I see since Zidane hit Ronaldo one in the WC.

Post by: Dr. Rat on April 23, 2008, 01:53:27 PM
All yuh see Rio's face!
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2008, 01:54:04 PM
My heart might give out before dis game done yes. When i see dat net ripple i bawl...den i realise is side netting. Twice too....Etoo den carrick...good lawd...
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2008, 02:03:36 PM
Frank Protecting Messi...taking him off and bringing on Bojan. Might prove critical in the final outcome.

And Henry warming up.....hmmm....i eh know wha to make of his body language doh...
Post by: sprog on April 23, 2008, 02:04:07 PM
keep me updated please i aint infront a tv
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 23, 2008, 02:11:58 PM
Man U disappointing me..I not a fan but they doh usually play this damn boring, usually i expect them to go at teams even when they away. This game they really jus seem to be hoping for nil nil and go back to Old Trafford...
hope Barca buss de net if only to get some life in de game
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2008, 02:16:05 PM
Not surprising from the team from La Agua...Barca players diving all over the place.
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2008, 02:16:48 PM
Man U disappointing me..I not a fan but they doh usually play this damn boring, usually i expect them to go at teams even when they away. This game they really jus seem to be hoping for nil nil and go back to Old Trafford...
hope Barca buss de net if only to get some life in de game

To attack in the Camp Nou with the noise on classico setting eh easy eh. And Barca was rushing at them.........once teams do Man U that......their whole game gets thrown off i realise.  Ronaldo try to get bout 2 penalty since....had slight contact from abidal...buh he make it look bad....Ineista do a Ronaldo. eh get through........Deco breed carrick.......and now nani coming on....hmmm...Man U looking like they trying to retain possession. Deco off...Henry on. Deco getting a round of applause as he exits...this performance probably getting the forgiveness of the faithful.If 10R was playing this game......lawd.......Man U woulda be under more pressure.
Post by: samo on April 23, 2008, 02:18:12 PM
I eh go lie, a little bit ah tu-tu come out when C Ronaldo was running up to hit the penalty, then a little bit ah wee-wee came out when he miss

I eh like none ah dem teams.( Chelsea and Real M), but ah like ManUre even less than Barca.... So go Barca
Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 02:19:23 PM
pressure lol, ah hav a headacke
Post by: Filho on April 23, 2008, 02:28:14 PM
Not surprising from the team from La Agua...Barca players diving all over the place.

careful pardnah..you know yuh team have more Spaniards than half de teams in La Liga. kix

cyah see the game. i only bracing and taking a small peek avery 10 minutes to see if anyone score.

BARCA forever
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 23, 2008, 02:30:01 PM
henry causing most pressure for Man Utd now...i really disappointed with this game, i miss class hoping for a classic. Instead i more bored than anything else
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2008, 02:31:04 PM
Henry like he have something to prove. 3 Clean shots....had van de sar making some good saves. Ronaldo eh getting nothing happening for him it seem.  barca winning possession doh.....63%. LAWD.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 23, 2008, 02:33:44 PM
now i really hope the second leg is much better...Waiting to see what teams show up, if barca cud put in an early one i think we wud be in for a hell of a game
Barca hadda be pissed they eh end Man Utd tonite after all dat possession
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2008, 02:34:42 PM
I go take dis result. De next leg go be much worse doh...
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 02:38:11 PM
Barcelona was way too casual. Manu were way too respectful, i believe Barcelona are going to win at Old Trafford because manu wll try to throw back some punches this time. Henry is going to start cause he showing he still have that fire in him 4 manu. i will have to congrat manu 4 not conceding but i feel good that barcelona didnt concede an away goal. i honestly dont see us losing this tie now
Post by: Observer on April 23, 2008, 02:38:35 PM
henry causing most pressure for Man Utd now...i really disappointed with this game, i miss class hoping for a classic. Instead i more bored than anything else

When only one team cme to play, it will never be a classic. Very cowardly game by the great ManU with all its great players. No attempt to attack, boom kick and peppered with poor passing.
Hats off to Scholes and Rio good game
Having said that Barca looked more like Barcarsenal. Plenty passing and no penetration & shots on goal.
Eto like he has yet to get back his pace since the knee injury.
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2008, 02:44:43 PM

careful pardnah..you know yuh team have more Spaniards than half de teams in La Liga. kix

cyah see the game. i only bracing and taking a small peek avery 10 minutes to see if anyone score.

BARCA forever

Dem Spaniard in Anfield eh schupid...dem realize by now English pitch hard  :rotfl:
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2008, 02:45:08 PM

When only one team cme to play, it will never be a classic. Very cowardly game by the great ManU with all its great players. No attempt to attack, boom kick and peppered with poor passing.
Hats off to Scholes and Rio good game
Having said that Barca looked more like Barcarsenal. Plenty passing and no penetration & shots on goal.
Eto like he has yet to get back his pace since the knee injury.

Man U are never able to play when a team rushes at them. The atmosphere added to it..and after that penalty miss...their confidence was impacted. Etoo now cut he hair.....so he go take some time......but....in my view...this tie going down to penalties.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 23, 2008, 02:47:15 PM
i hope Barca really do continue to go at them in de return...If it goes down to penalties i eh go be pleased, but who knows next ting Manchester come out wit a vengance in de second leg. I doubt it but we shall see
Post by: Arazi on April 23, 2008, 02:47:52 PM
GRANTED I am a Man U hater... even trying to be objective i would be thoroughly let down by this bitch assedness man u try to pass up as football... even if alyuh had get the penalty score..that kinda football don't deserve to win no fletching champion's league...alyuh play like alyuh was down to ten men.. even when you had your attacking triumver of tevez, rooney and cronaldo on the pitch...

that performance was a disgrace to the title winning team of 1999...steups...

I hope the next leg in old trafford will be a better game...sigh...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2008, 02:51:35 PM
Cowardly..Disgrace?

My god boy... it was obvious Fergie was going for a 0-0 and if we were lucky to hit them on the counter attack

I do agree we should have attacked them a little more but we also couldn't concede

A very professional job done....Onto Old Trafford
Post by: Arazi on April 23, 2008, 02:55:30 PM
Cowardly..Disgrace?

My god boy... it was obvious Fergie was going for a 0-0 and if we were lucky to hit them on the counter attack

I do agree we should have attacked them a little more but we also couldn't concede

yeah..we got that by the way you defended with your entire team in your own half for large chunks of the game...the manner is what was disappointed me...jah i coulda swear tevez and rooney was playing as defensive wingbacks instead of strikers...when you see good attacking teams like man u play like that..it makes feel to give up on watching football...
Post by: Observer on April 23, 2008, 03:20:34 PM
Cowardly..Disgrace?

Sorry I must disagree, but yes you are entitled to your opinion.  Hiding under the banner of professionalism. Please ! When everyone talks about the Greatness of ManU and greatness of Ronaldo & Rooney etc with a squad priced better than the GNP of most countries. It was a performance that was cowardly and lacked any true football quality what so ever. If every team played football like that the stands will be empty in less than a year.
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2008, 03:39:44 PM
Cowardly..Disgrace?

Sorry I must disagree, but yes you are entitled to your opinion.  Hiding under the banner of professionalism. Please ! When everyone talks about the Greatness of ManU and greatness of Ronaldo & Rooney etc with a squad priced better than the GNP of most countries. It was a performance that was cowardly and lacked any true football quality what so ever. If every team played football like that the stands will be empty in less than a year.

Well said.  Cynical. unimaginative football at its best...and I am hard-pressed to ever root for an Iberian team, so you know where my loyalties lie.
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 03:44:50 PM
Zidane did it consistently.

Ronaldinho did it consistently.

Rivaldo did it consistently.

Figo used to do it.

Ronaldo (the real one) used to do it.

Beckham did it once against Greece.

Gerrard does it.

Kaka does it.

Messi does it.

But i'm still waiting to hear about Cristiano Ronaldo grabbing a big game by the scruff of the neck and giving us a performance that we could croon over and tell our kids about.... against top class opposition.

It's the one thing that makes me bite my tongue to label him the best player in the world..

Post by: Peong on April 23, 2008, 03:52:21 PM
(http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/80836626.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CE41B024AE96D64D721B0CA597242C81E30A760B0D811297)

(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/80836608.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CE41B024AE96D64DABC4668A277D9CD1E30A760B0D811297)

(http://cache4.asset-cache.net/xc/80836190.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CE41B024AE96D64D11962864F235B4E6E30A760B0D811297)

(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/80836086.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CE41B024AE96D64D1AA7AF77DA41C72EE30A760B0D811297)

(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/80835414.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CE41B024AE96D64D758D9639229CF917284831B75F48EF45)
Post by: Toppa on April 23, 2008, 04:03:18 PM
Ok...I am very tipsy so I'll keep this brief...ManU is shit.  8)
Post by: RedDevils on April 23, 2008, 04:08:31 PM
Fergie played it to safe man......Barca had there chances and couldn't crack d defence or Van dar sar infront there home crowd, wah make them think they will do it in Old Trafford ? De few times we went at  barca defence they looked shaky at times, they go get cracked. Why didn't Anderson play ? and  Nani should have come on earlier than that.
Post by: sammy on April 23, 2008, 04:10:32 PM
Ok...I am very tipsy so I'll keep this brief...ManU is shit.  8)
yeah boy.....Real go  mash we up in the final  ::)  :rotfl:
Post by: elan on April 23, 2008, 04:13:11 PM
Honestly I can't believe the game Man United play. I understand it, but damn. I always believe that if you are a big team you are a big team. Go to the NOU camp and show your mettle. You don't have to be Cavalier, but a little football would not hurt.

So good football is only to be played when there is nothing to play for or you playing at home? F*2%ing disgrace.
Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 04:22:40 PM
Football is not always attacking, what alyuh see there today is some hardcore defending at the highest level  :beermug: good job team
Post by: Organic on April 23, 2008, 04:26:39 PM
Football is not always attacking, what alyuh see there today is some hardcore defending at the highest level  :beermug: good job team
allyuh eh bet allyuh full ah shit oui. but is ok...
cry baby miss a penalty to day like one ole goat...he does dance around mediocre tall day....any time he meet ah big team he does catch eh ass....but wah u go do........
allyuh is some real yes men..fergie cyah do no wrong...liek allyuh fraid to call a spade a spade...dey play  lala

Post by: Arazi on April 23, 2008, 04:36:13 PM
as i tell all the man u men in work...no man u fan could talk about chelsea and dem playing no kinda boring shit defensive football after a game like dat..there are ways to play defensive counter attacking football..what i witness today was gobar extrodinaire..i hope barca rape alyuh in the theatre...

Post by: kicker on April 23, 2008, 04:41:21 PM
Cowardly..Disgrace?

Poor performance. Teams with a certain pedigree, reputation,  & payroll are expected to play well against any opposition, and under any circumstances...intentional or not, professional or not, they were disappointing & poor tonight. Only one team came out to play football today- admit it.
Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 04:46:57 PM
ok ok , we play bad alyuh happy now  ::)
Post by: elan on April 23, 2008, 04:47:43 PM
Scoring Summary 
Barcelona                   Man Utd 
                                  Cristiano Ronaldo (pen miss 3)  
Match Stats 
                           Barcelona                              Man Utd 
Shots (on Goal)        20(6)                                   7(1) 
Fouls                       12                                       20 
Corner Kicks             8                                         3 
Offsides                   0                                         3 
Time of Possession    73%                                    27%  
Yellow Cards             1                                        1 
Red Cards                0                                         0 
Saves                      1                                         6 

Match Information 
Stadium: Estadio Camp Nou, Spain
Attendance: 98,000
Match Time: 14:45 ET
Referee(s):
Massimo Busacca (Referee)

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=239745&cc=5901

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2008, 04:50:06 PM
Follow Follow Follow
United are going to Moscow!
And there'll be thousands of Reds,
And we'll be pissed out our heads,
Because United are going to Moscow!
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 05:59:17 PM
Follow Follow Follow

ok cool allyuh going moscow. my only question is, who allyuh go be supporting barcelona or chelsea?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2008, 06:11:46 PM
Follow Follow Follow
Post by: Jah Gol on April 23, 2008, 06:21:06 PM
We should have scored a goal to take to Old Trafford.

All allyuh men who talk bout world class and best this and that need to take a lil break. Man U play 10 men behind the ball in the defensive 3rd for most of the game. I can't recall Valdez ever making a save. It look a lil bit like Trinidad in the World Cup against more experienced superior opposition.

OT will be tough I'm sure but I'm confident of a positive result there.
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 06:23:31 PM
i think barcelona have the slight edge, because they kept a clean sheet at home and the onus is on man utd to not concede at home.

Any goal scored at Old Trafford will count for double because of the away goals rule.

Messi, Eto'o, Henry and co more than capable of bussing de net next week.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 23, 2008, 06:29:38 PM
Welcome to Spain. (http://www.dailymotion.com/country:fr/tag/france/video/x56ove_sombrero-de-messi-sur-evra_sport)
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 06:32:20 PM
Welcome to Spain. (http://www.dailymotion.com/country:fr/tag/france/video/x56ove_sombrero-de-messi-sur-evra_sport)

OH GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD OOOOYE!!

dat is ah cap hoss...

he run into to dat one easy, easy..
Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 06:41:21 PM
stueps
Post by: Peong on April 23, 2008, 06:42:19 PM
Evra, iz only in de EPL yuh could rush in and doh get leff.
Dat was NASTY.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2008, 06:51:03 PM
Follow Follow Follow

Post by: dinho on April 23, 2008, 06:54:09 PM
Follow Follow Follow

is not China allyuh does go for preseason tour??

Russia does be cold in summer u know..
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2008, 06:56:20 PM
Follow Follow Follow

Post by: Jah Gol on April 23, 2008, 06:58:06 PM
SM like he ketch d power oui. Singing like he gone mad.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 23, 2008, 07:04:14 PM
Watch allyuh boy talking shit after playing shit.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=ykF-oITWHZs
Post by: Daft Trini on April 23, 2008, 07:05:32 PM
What kinda boots Messi does wear???
Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 07:10:21 PM
What kinda boots Messi does wear???

adidas the f series i think
Post by: rotatopoti3 on April 23, 2008, 07:10:42 PM
well done united.....as dey say...allyuh in barcelona fig......
all yuh coulda have ah 2 goal advantage....but allyuh miss penalty....
cutass booked....any goal barca score..yuh have to score 2..... :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on April 23, 2008, 07:11:14 PM
Follow Follow Follow
Post by: elan on April 23, 2008, 07:16:34 PM
Watch allyuh boy talking shit after playing shit.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=ykF-oITWHZs

The man say the create more chances than Barcelona yes.......... :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Daft Trini on April 23, 2008, 07:33:24 PM
I ah go fight man down... but we play tata.... CR7 should get docked 300K for missing that penalty....

I supporting Man U 23 years now and ah must say, in all honesty this was a loss to me...

OT here we come...
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 23, 2008, 07:42:52 PM
manboo is always a threat to score (or win a penalty, whether it be a good call or a cronaldo dive) especially at home so Barca will need to come out attacking and score early. to place the pressure squarely on them............meh fingers cross! A man suggested (on anudder tread) dat abramogrant go "park de bus in front de goal" at Stamford Bridge, but, after watchin' manboo today........tink he go get de keys from fergie in time?      :devil: :devil:
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2008, 07:54:06 PM
i am claret and blue but ronaldo owe mi ah better performance next leg man. like d man does really hiide in big gaames.

ronaldo's response 2 if he think they should have had a 2ndpenalty confusing mi. ah go jus say he get tizic when he hear the interviewer talk about penalty cause his rresponse was kinna basic
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2008, 08:19:52 PM
i am claret and blue but ronaldo owe mi ah better performance next leg man. like d man does really hiide in big gaames.

ronaldo's response 2 if he think they should have had a 2ndpenalty confusing mi. ah go jus say he get tizic when he hear the interviewer talk about penalty cause his rresponse was kinna basic

Nah he get bundled over on de right edge of the box in the 2nd half.  Seamus Malin was all over him for his 'antics' but about 4-5 mins later they showed the replay and either Abidal or Yaya Toure tripped him up...it was just inside the box and very much a missed call. 
Post by: doublet750 on April 23, 2008, 08:38:14 PM
Follow Follow Follow

THe only strong red pressence that go be in Moscow will be the remnants of those who still wave the Communist Flag
BTW to the man who was mad abidal play he look well 2day 2 me........

Rooney was out of it .....CR7 tried but wasnt consistent(penal mis changed teh game).....Think Evra was prolly the best Man U player out there...rarely got beaten by Messii and Iniesta and show some adventure down the Wing at times.....TEVEZ run he heart out but it was clear that the brand played by United isnt his type ...he kinda look like a Kuyt with less being done......so amazed by the Man U performance tht im struggling to rcall that Scholes and Carrick played in the midfield along with Park Ji Sung..

Barcelona....for once they finally start back playin some football...but they needed to add 2 goals on the board with all that possesion stats. To me they often made the wrong choice in the final 3rd....Best player cant really pick...Gthey all did their job to me.

Profesional Job by united well done but no longer can u speak of boring football.....as for Barca nice football but at home no score is a good score in a home and away leg ((PROVIDED tht u can win or draw in the away leg))

HIGHLIGHTS

CR7 LEAVING A MAN SKINUP ON D FLOOR N TAKIN PACE DOWN THE LEFT (WAS SO QUIK I COULDNT SEE WHO D VICTIM WAS)

INIESTA MAKING HARGREAVES DIZZY ((ONLY 2 GIVE A POOR BACKPASS TO CR7))

ALOT OF OTHERS LIKE SOME MESSI WORK N SOME BOJAN WORK BUT NOTHING MUCH ELSE
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2008, 08:45:57 PM
Iniesta also made Scholes look extra foolish for rushing een wid ah neat sex in midfield...

Otherwise Scholes and Evra really had nice games today...Evra did his level best to contain Messi and Eto'o whenever they came his way.
Post by: elan on April 23, 2008, 09:12:28 PM
Iniesta also made Scholes look extra foolish for rushing een wid ah neat sex in midfield...

Otherwise Scholes and Evra really had nice games today...Evra did his level best to contain Messi and Eto'o whenever they came his way.

Scholes had a good game ???   :rotfl:

Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2008, 09:57:44 PM

Scholes had a good game ???   :rotfl:

Scholes had an excellent game.
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2008, 09:59:26 PM
CR7 was the best player on the pitch
FACT
Post by: davidephraim on April 23, 2008, 10:16:44 PM
manboo is always a threat to score (or win a penalty, whether it be a good call or a cronaldo dive) especially at home so Barca will need to come out attacking and score early. to place the pressure squarely on them............meh fingers cross! A man suggested (on anudder tread) dat abramogrant go "park de bus in front de goal" at Stamford Bridge, but, after watchin' manboo today........tink he go get de keys from fergie in time?      :devil: :devil:

Park de bus is joke. Drogba go be playing defensive midfield
Post by: Trinitim on April 23, 2008, 11:12:44 PM

CHRISTIANO TALKING A PACK OF SHIT SAYING MANCHESTER CREATE MORE CHANCES THAT BARCELONA. HE OBVIOUSLY IS VERY MISTAKEN ANYBODY WHO SEE THE GAME WILL AGREE THAT BARCELONA HAD MORE CHANCES. JUST LOOK AT THE STATS BARCELONA 20 SHOTS TO MANCHESTER 6 SHOTS. 73% posession I mean the stats speak for themselves. I think Barcelona will feel disappointed that they did not put Manchester away. Somebody stated on this board that when a team rushes Manchester and takes the game to them it does throw them off their game plan and is true. ROONEY, TEVEZ, RONALDO NON EXISTANT!!!!!!!!!!!!! CANT WAIT FOR THE SECOND LEG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: freakazoid on April 24, 2008, 03:44:53 AM

Nah he get bundled over on de right edge of the box in the 2nd half.  Seamus Malin was all over him for his 'antics' but about 4-5 mins later they showed the replay and either Abidal or Yaya Toure tripped him up...it was just inside the box and very much a missed call. 

"well i am not sure but i THINK he touched me"  that was ronaldo's response when questioned about his shout 4 a second penalty. that statement just sounds clueless to me.

And yes Abidal played well, the whole Barca defence did actually  but Abidal was on a woeful run of form which was why i thought he wouldnt be included in the starting line up. he is a high penalty risk in my eyes cause he makes some rash decisions at times. but he has d pace to cope with whatever manu throws down on that flank
Post by: Midknight on April 24, 2008, 03:47:37 AM
I divided on this one.

The way ManUre play you woulda swear CR7 had score the penalty in the first minute. Ferguson was clearly playing for the 0-0, I never see men with so much attacking talent devote time to defending so. But they did a very good job of it. Barca look like they could play whole night and never get the ball in. Van de Sar make some good saves, but is not saves like Cech day before where you not sure another keeper would have kept it out.

The only thing is I kept saying that with the amount of fouls Scholes was making around the box (I can't understand how anybody could say he had a good game) somebody woulda score off a free kick in the second half, but nobody (except Xavi once) try to make anything out of it.

And the strange thing is that after all the old talk, ManUre with it 30% possession or whatever it was had the most dangerous opportunities...the penalty that CR7 miss and the one he shoulda get from Abidal wildness in the box (ah believe he was also the last defender on the play)

I'm going to root for Barca in the second leg because a team with ManURe potential should never be playing 11 men in they own half like that, no matter who the opposition is, but I not holding mih breath on it. It hard to believe but I think SAF was saving up for the Chelsea game as well. After this and the Roma games I realise that ManUre is the anti-Arsenal. They know how to obtain their desired result without looking pretty and how to apply minimum service when necessary. And they also know how to turn it on when needed.

Unless Chelsea shake their confidence on the weekend I expect them to go through

*goat mouth applied*
Post by: Toppa on April 24, 2008, 04:19:33 AM
Eto could have had a penalty in the second half if he had gone down on a ManU challenge but he didn't.

Anyway...Manu play with 10 men in defence...lol...Barca will mash them up in Old Trafford cos ManU will be forced to be more attacking and make themselves vulnerable.
Post by: freakazoid on April 24, 2008, 04:27:20 AM
yeah i banking on manu  throwing d kitchen sink but i think fergie ah bit too wise 4 that. doesnt make 2 much sense to go into a slug fest with iron mike
Post by: Toppa on April 24, 2008, 04:43:09 AM
yeah i banking on manu  throwing d kitchen sink but i think fergie ah bit too wise 4 that. doesnt make 2 much sense to go into a slug fest with iron mike

True, but I think ManU would be under more pressure to score so theyll attack more, Barca'll ht them on the counter, away-goal, more pressure for ManU.

Ah mean, a 0-0 draw is a decent result if you just look at that alone, but the way Barca dominated them completely...dise problems.

Post by: Toppa on April 24, 2008, 04:49:41 AM
Player ratings from goal.com

Barcelona

Valdés - 6: Untested and looked relatively calm.

Zambrotta - 7.5: A solid outing and dealt with everything superbly. Also went up the right in good support, and had a couple of good attempts from long range. One of his better displays in a Barcelona shirt.

Márquez - 7: A strong presence in defence, but lucky to get away with a foul on Ronaldo in the area. Kept the vigil and allowed little past him otherwise.

Milito - 6.5: A shakier presence in defence, but a touch unfortunate to concede the early penalty. Thankfully for him, it was put wide by Ronaldo. Like his defensive partner, did much of nothing for most of the game.

Abidal - 7.5: Looked fairly strong up and down his flank, very athletic and a good outlet.

Xavi - 7: Rarely gave the ball away, kept things ticking in midfield, but didn't bring his expansive game to the table and could not produce a decisive final ball.

Yaya Touré - 8.5: Dominant. Won the ball consistently in midfield and distributed well. Also made some good forward runs.

Deco - 7: Surprisingly energetic for someone who has missed nine games. Bossed Paul Scholes with great workrate we have not seen from the Portuguese in a long time. His passing was not quite as incisive as Barça would have hoped, though, and he tired in the second half.

Messi - 8: The outstanding player in the first half. Every time he got on the ball he looked to charge straight through United's defenses and, more often than not, he did a good job of it. Lit up an already exciting encounter and all he lacked was end product.

Eto'o - 5.5: Was well marked by Rio Ferdinand for most of the game, wasn't sharp enough with the few chances that came his way. Improved in the second half, but should have done better and scored at least one goal.

Iniesta - 6: Full of energy. Uninvolved in the first half, but in the second he showed off his touch and dribbling from time to time. Lacking an end product - the story of Barcelona's evening. A poor pass almost gifted United a goal.

Substitutes

Bojan - 6: Did not get in the game as much as he would have liked. Unable to put any mazy runs together.

Henry - 6.5: Lashed a shot at Van der Sar soon after coming on and struck a decent free-kick, but had little time to do anything else.

Manchester United

Van der Sar - 5.5: Largely untested, but some stray kicks put his defence under undue pressure. In the second half he made a few good stops and will be happy with the clean sheet.

Hargreaves - 7.5: Looked competent in an unfavoured position at right-back. Is good defensively and a hard worker, but was missed in midfield.

Ferdinand - 8: Strong in defence and never looked like being beaten. Matched Samuel Eto'o very well and almost kept United in the game single-handledly times. Almost conceded a penalty in the second period, but his rating does not suffer too much, as was covering for a mistake by defensive partner Wes Brown.

Brown - 5: Started a little slow, but grew in confidence and was solid on the cover for most of the first half. Lucky his error didn't ultimately cost his side a penalty in the second half.

Evra - 7.5: A bundle of energy and was a little erratic to start with, but kept the ball better from then on. A good outlet on the left and strong defensively when left one-on-one with whoever was put infront of him.

Carrick - 6: Bypassed quite frequently, but fairly strong in the challenge on occasion. Made a great saving tackle at the beginning of the second half and had a better end to the game.

Scholes - 4: Despite glowing praise from his manager, it appeared to be a somewhat humiliating outing for the veteran. Deco has not played in several weeks, having been out with an injury, and in recent times, has not been known as the most industrious player. With that considered, the Portuguese bossed Scholes from minute one. Only after the Barca man's substitution did he have any impact at all. Won a few balls, but lost a lot more.

Park - 4: Energetic but ultimately of little use going forward. Could perhaps have been deployed in a defensive capacity to make up for Scholes' deficiencies in midfield, but he wasn't. Fairly useless from an attacking perspective. Worked tirelessly, but always second best in midfield.

Tévez - 5: Made some sloppy challenges when dropping deep and again, was not able to impose himself in an offensive capacity due to a strange choice of formation. Ineffective.

Ronaldo - 5: Won a free-kick, won a corner, won a penalty and missed the penalty - all within the first two minutes! Cristiano Ronaldo in a nutshell. Looked lively and his movement kept Barcelona busy, but ultimately, he missed the only clear-cut opportunity of the whole game, for either side. Could have had another penalty later in the first half, but the referee probably felt he was evening things out by denying the Devils on that occasion.

Rooney - 4: Curiously played on the right and as good as anonymous for most of the game. Shadowed well by Abidal and just not able to get in the game at all.

http://www.goal.com/en/articolo.aspx?contenutoid=670462
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 24, 2008, 07:00:50 AM
manboo is always a threat to score (or win a penalty, whether it be a good call or a cronaldo dive) especially at home so Barca will need to come out attacking and score early. to place the pressure squarely on them............meh fingers cross! A man suggested (on anudder tread) dat abramogrant go "park de bus in front de goal" at Stamford Bridge, but, after watchin' manboo today........tink he go get de keys from fergie in time?      :devil: :devil:

Nah, bredda, doh try dat! Yuh know "DDQ" does drop back and defend on a regular so dat eh go be nutting new. But he eh go be no defensive mid, either! He go be right up front battlin' it out wit Jaime "No Nonsense-The Bruiser" Carragher.
Watch yuh mout!     ;D
Post by: freakazoid on April 24, 2008, 02:29:36 PM
All the camp,
is a clam,
we are the blue and red people,
doesn’t matter where we come from,
from the south, from the north,
just like that, we all agree, we all agree,
a flag makes us brothers (or sisters),
Blue and claret in the wind,
a Valiant cry!
We have a name!
The whole world knows!
Barça!, Barça !, Baaaarça !!!!

Players
Sociopaths,
All united we have POWER,
There are lots of years full of sacrifice,
There are lots of goals we were screaming about,
and we have demonstrated, we have demonstrated,
and No-one Never will ever silence us,
a Valiant cry!
We have a name!
The whole world knows!
Barça!, Barça !, Baaaarça !!!
Post by: Filho on April 24, 2008, 04:09:40 PM
cyah hate on manU. last year they went bold into Milan and get part like the Red Sea. At this stage, CL is about getting the business done and this was a distinct improvement over ManU's last semifinal away from home. you think they have anybody to study when it comes to style and bravery points. plus, Barca sounds like they played well. Perhaps ManU was at times forced to defend more than initially planned, Plus..it's only half time. Tables might be reversed at Old Trafford and allyuh might have to eat your words. I eh know what is all this talk about big teams supposed to play ball no matter what. From where I sit, very few big teams subscribe to dat....not the world champions Italy. Not even Brazil. maybe Argentina. maybe Barca under Rijkaard. maybe Arsenal under Wenger (altho when they won the FA Cup on penalties against ManU a few years ago they parked the bus in front of goal and I could swear Wenger and all was on the field defending). When we reach the business end of the season..big teams only know one thing..how to get results. If ManU had play Barca in the group stage, at Camp Nou it woulda be a nice flowing attacking game. These days I think it naive to expect that with 270 minutes to glory

Anyway, ah smelling 1-1 draw  in the return, Barca through  :praying:
Post by: Toppa on April 24, 2008, 05:17:41 PM
cyah hate on manU. last year they went bold into Milan and get part like the Red Sea. At this stage, CL is about getting the business done and this was a distinct improvement over ManU's last semifinal away from home. you think they have anybody to study when it comes to style and bravery points. plus, Barca sounds like they played well. Perhaps ManU was at times forced to defend more than initially planned, Plus..it's only half time. Tables might be reversed at Old Trafford and allyuh might have to eat your words. I eh know what is all this talk about big teams supposed to play ball no matter what. From where I sit, very few big teams subscribe to dat....not the world champions Italy. Not even Brazil. maybe Argentina. maybe Barca under Rijkaard. maybe Arsenal under Wenger (altho when they won the FA Cup on penalties against ManU a few years ago they parked the bus in front of goal and I could swear Wenger and all was on the field defending). When we reach the business end of the season..big teams only know one thing..how to get results. If ManU had play Barca in the group stage, at Camp Nou it woulda be a nice flowing attacking game. These days I think it naive to expect that with 270 minutes to glory

All dat n yuh'n watch de match?
Post by: JDB on April 24, 2008, 05:49:01 PM

Filho you take the words right out my mouth. Couldn't agree with your assessment more.

1. Is a two legged tie. If United comes out and rips Barca to shreds in the 2nd leg you can't really fault them for choosing to play a more conservative first leg. They would be worthy winners.

2. Year after year United has been among the top scorers in Europe, and now suddenly people trying to make them out to be the 2004 Greece team.

3. Every year United has faltered by losing the first leg of their tie, whether it is giving up away goals like last year, or losing the first leg out right. Feguson clearly decided that they mus not lose at all costs. As fans we would love to see them play each game like is a sweat but Ferguson actually has a responsibility to try and win the tie.

4. I glad that you notice that Barca is a damn good side. United was clearly prepared to condede space but didn't expect that Barca would be so stingy in possession. In the end they played a lot more defensively than planned, but a lot of that has to do with Barcelona.

5. United are not the only ones to play this way. Liverpool, Chelsea, Every Italian team and even the beautiful glorious Arsenal and mighty Brazil do it when they feel like it. Especially funny to have Chelsea fans griping on here when United outscores Chelsea with regularity at home and in Europe.

6. Ultimately Ferguson is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't. I would have prefered to have a lead with an away goal or two and play that kind of game at home. Barcelona has the advantage because any goals will have United on the backfoot. Even with a 1 goal lead United will be in danger. The onus is really on Nited to strike early and effectively and geta 2 goal lead. If they do it great, if they don't they out once again.

At least this time they try something different. United played the same game in Rome, although they were not as wary of Roma as Barca and Roma make the mistakes they wanted. It worked and they won the tie. Hopefully it will work again.
Post by: kicker on April 24, 2008, 06:12:25 PM

Filho you take the words right out my mouth. Couldn't agree with your assessment more.

1. Is a two legged tie. If United comes out and rips Barca to shreds in the 2nd leg you can't really fault them for choosing to play a more conservative first leg. They would be worthy winners.

2. Year after year United has been among the top scorers in Europe, and now suddenly people trying to make them out to be the 2004 Greece team.

3. Every year United has faltered by losing the first leg of their tie, whether it is giving up away goals like last year, or losing the first leg out right. Feguson clearly decided that they mus not lose at all costs. As fans we would love to see them play each game like is a sweat but Ferguson actually has a responsibility to try and win the tie.

4. I glad that you notice that Barca is a damn good side. United was clearly prepared to condede space but didn't expect that Barca would be so stingy in possession. In the end they played a lot more defensively than planned, but a lot of that has to do with Barcelona.

5. United are not the only ones to play this way. Liverpool, Chelsea, Every Italian team and even the beautiful glorious Arsenal and mighty Brazil do it when they feel like it. Especially funny to have Chelsea fans griping on here when United outscores Chelsea with regularity at home and in Europe.

6. Ultimately Ferguson is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't. I would have prefered to have a lead with an away goal or two and play that kind of game at home. Barcelona has the advantage because any goals will have United on the backfoot. Even with a 1 goal lead United will be in danger. The onus is really on Nited to strike early and effectively and geta 2 goal lead. If they do it great, if they don't they out once again.

At least this time they try something different. United played the same game in Rome, although they were not as wary of Roma as Barca and Roma make the mistakes they wanted. It worked and they won the tie. Hopefully it will work again.

No one is doubting the merit or rationale behind tactics & strategy, at the expense of attractive football...No one is saying that big teams don't play like that when they see fit.... All people are saying is that big teams are not expected to play like that....No matter how many times over and over Brazil, or Arsenal or Italy comes out cagy and overly tactical, so long as it compromises the entertainment factor, they will get criticized (and maybe even booed by their own fans) for not playing the type of football that people want to see. I'm pretty sure that everyone understands exactly why Man U played the way they did....Heck with a little more luck, they coulda even won the game.....doesn't meant that it was enjoyable or worthy of praise from people who tuned in to watch an entertaining match....

Football is a business, and the bottom line is results, but it's a spectator sport and a form of entertainment too....so the fans will have their say.
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2008, 06:51:34 PM
No one is doubting the merit or rationale behind tactics & strategy, at the expense of attractive football...No one is saying that big teams don't play like that when they see fit.... All people are saying is that big teams are not expected to play like that....No matter how many times over and over Brazil, or Arsenal or Italy comes out cagy and overly tactical, so long as it compromises the entertainment factor, they will get criticized (and maybe even booed by their own fans) for not playing the type of football that people want to see. I'm pretty sure that everyone understands exactly why Man U played the way they did....Heck with a little more luck, they coulda even won the game.....doesn't meant that it was enjoyable or worthy of praise from people who tuned in to watch an entertaining match....

Football is a business, and the bottom line is results, but it's a spectator sport and a form of entertainment too....so the fans will have their say.

Kicker correct mih if ah wrong...but ah think yuh really saying that IF you are indeed a big team yuh shouldn't have to play like that b/c 'big' team doh play coward football. 

Now my use of 'coward' might be a bit strong but that aside...if that is what you're saying then I with you.  There's a difference between playing it smart and playing it safe.  Playing it safe is more akin to playing so that yuh doh lose de game.  That's not something one would readily associate with a 'big team' mentality.  Big team should be boldface enough to want to crush every opponent, and confident enought to try.  That's not to say that they should be foolhardy, I'm sure we'll all agree...but ManU pull ah TnT v. Sweden dey yesterday and relatively speaking big team like ManU should never be pulling ah TnT.
Post by: Filho on April 24, 2008, 06:54:11 PM

All dat n yuh'n watch de match?

u hadda be on kix
Post by: kicker on April 24, 2008, 07:33:23 PM

Kicker correct mih if ah wrong...but ah think yuh really saying that IF you are indeed a big team yuh shouldn't have to play like that b/c 'big' team doh play coward football. 

Now my use of 'coward' might be a bit strong but that aside...if that is what you're saying then I with you.  There's a difference between playing it smart and playing it safe.  Playing it safe is more akin to playing so that yuh doh lose de game.  That's not something one would readily associate with a 'big team' mentality.  Big team should be boldface enough to want to crush every opponent, and confident enought to try.  That's not to say that they should be foolhardy, I'm sure we'll all agree...but ManU pull ah TnT v. Sweden dey yesterday and relatively speaking big team like ManU should never be pulling ah TnT.

Something to that effect, but more from a (football) fan's point of view....When I tune in to watch a "big side", I want to (and expect to) see "good" football (notice the quotes because it's obvious that good is subjective, but ah think yuh know whatta mean)....Madrid is my side, and I tired see them win games where they didn't really play "well"....no doubt I was happy, but can't deny the disappointment in not being sufficiently entertained or thoroughly satisfied....We all know Man U played a tactical, defensive game... and they executed it to perfection, and we all know they are a quality team...but that game was supposed to be one of the highlights of my week, and I real looked forward tuh it.....and was a bit let down......oh well- all left to play for next week  :beermug:
Post by: elan on April 24, 2008, 08:24:39 PM

Something to that effect, but more from a (football) fan's point of view....When I tune in to watch a "big side", I want to (and expect to) see "good" football (notice the quotes because it's obvious that good is subjective, but ah think yuh know whatta mean)....Madrid is my side, and I tired see them win games where they didn't really play "well"....no doubt I was happy, but can't deny the disappointment in not being sufficiently entertained or thoroughly satisfied....We all know Man U played a tactical, defensive game... and they executed it to perfection, and we all know they are a quality team...but that game was supposed to be one of the highlights of my week, and I real looked forward tuh it.....and was a bit let down......oh well- all left to play for next week  :beermug:

Kicker, Bakes that's what I am saying. Man United is expeced to paly smart and not go head first into this game. However, they did not give us anything. Even they trademark counter attack did not happen. I really disappointed in the way they actually went about the game. They have to bevery thankful Henry did not start, cause you see the intention he had when he came on. Defending that much and that deep cld have worked against them. Had Barca pull the trigger a few times more, who knows what may have happened.

At the end of the day, they probably get the score they wanted. Can't fault them really. When (hopefully not) they sailing into the finals none of this would matter.
Post by: Arazi on April 24, 2008, 08:33:16 PM

I am quite familiar with the tactic..but the execution of the tactic was horrible... yes chelsea, liverpool,arsenal, italy, germany and recently brazil have adopted similar tactics...but none of these teams have been so limp in doing so... ALL of these teams listed were capable of killing the game because they KEEP possession of the ball just as much as they defend..

I even think the greece team that played in euro 2004 was more adventurous thatn man u yesterday...and for damn sure they did not concede 70% possession

what makes it worst is that man u put out a team that promised offensive strength bu offered little to nothing in attack..other than the penalty man u only had one good chance from hargreaves and the other penalty shout ...

now this tactic was employed against a barca side that...
A - has had erratic runof form of late
B- was without their most reliable defender and captain
C- was depending on two men returning from lenghty lay-offs to gudie their attack

yes barca is a dangerous side..but they still weren't up to full strength..if they were..alyuh woulda collect 2 goals easy based on some of the plays made..and freekicks given away by man u in and around the penalty area..

and I AM glad u brought up the fact that Man u played the same way agianst roma..this is why I DOH EVER wanna hear no man u fan telling about chelsea playing boring defensive shit football..
chelsea under mourinho in his first 2 seasons were the stingest defence but also the most prolific team in the premier league...
playing a similar counter attack system chelsea handed out nuff 4-0 drubbings of team..including one to liverpool at andfield...
chelsea went to the nou camp 3 times in the the last 3 years in the UCL....AND SCORED IN ALL 3 GAMES!!!

so jdb..not method i knocking...is execution...all get an D-...yuh get spare the F because the game end goalless and the POTY aka big game goat throw way d penalty..
Post by: kicker on April 24, 2008, 08:51:55 PM
I think ManU had one eye on the Chelsea match this weekend too..... Barca , Chelsea & Barca again in the space of 6 days is alotta tough football to play....

Like ah say...reasonable tactics, but unfortunately not easy on the eyes....
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2008, 09:23:49 PM

Ah with yuh now....it really wasn't pretty to watch fuh real from a pure fan's perspective, but I guess in the end the managers aren't really concerned with pretty or entertaining football...unless yuh happen to name Wenger that is, lol

Elan hopefully the return leg will be more entertaining...hopefully we'll have some fireworks from de red sideline up at Stamford Bridge on Tuesday too  :devil:
Post by: davidephraim on April 24, 2008, 09:55:58 PM

Nah, bredda, doh try dat! Yuh know "DDQ" does drop back and defend on a regular so dat eh go be nutting new. But he eh go be no defensive mid, either! He go be right up front battlin' it out wit Jaime "No Nonsense-The Bruiser" Carragher.
Watch yuh mout!     ;D

gey dem Mango gey dem... Ah forget, we still have autopilot to rely on. Go Avram :praying: :praying:
Post by: davidephraim on April 24, 2008, 09:59:30 PM
All the camp,
is a clam,
we are the blue and red people,
doesn’t matter where we come from,
from the south, from the north,
just like that, we all agree, we all agree,
a flag makes us brothers (or sisters),
a Valiant cry!
We have a name!
The whole world knows!
Barça!, Barça !, Baaaarça !!!!

Players
Sociopaths,
All united we have POWER,
There are lots of years full of sacrifice,
There are lots of goals we were screaming about,
and we have demonstrated, we have demonstrated,
and No-one Never will ever silence us,
a Valiant cry!
We have a name!
The whole world knows!
Barça!, Barça !, Baaaarça !!!

Who sing dat? Willie Nelson  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 25, 2008, 03:30:55 AM

Nah, Filho, doh do dat! Doh bring Brah-zil into dis. Brazil only plays "ugly" when their opponents' tactics prove to be "ugly". For YEARS Brazil had to endure teams employing the defensive tactics like what manboo employed, combined with the coy physical tactics that has steadily become accepted in today's game and the "final" straw (NPI) was what many regard to be the "ugly" game against Italy (arguably the pioneers, or maybe the "perfectors" of modern "ugly" football) in '94. The Brazilians have a legacy and a popularity to protect that they will gladly put on the line to play attractive, beautiful football, as long as their opponents come to "play football", re: their matchups against teams like Argentina (no matter the tournament, be it WCQ's, Confederations' Cup Or that THRASHING friendly at the Emirates not too long ago) England, France, Turkey, Sweden, Denmark, etc., as opposed other games against the other ugly teams: ITALY!
Truth is, once you come to play Brazil, Brazil coming to play you! plain and simple.

It is fair to consider that manboo have a lot on the line  over a short space of time, having to play my side tomorrow, but that is really no excuse for how they played day before. With all of Barca's problems limping into this semi final matchup, I would have expected a little more than the five minutes of ambition that manboo offered up. Barca was clearly (still) the superior of the two in all facets of the game, and I don't think it was simply because they (manboo) were willing to drop back and absorb pressure. the kinds of passes they were stringing together clearly highlighted the differing styles between and abilities of the two teams and, to me, manboo is not in their league when Barca is at full strength. 

If cronaldo woulda score dat penalty, fergie clearly woulda drop everybody back in their 18 and mighta even keep about six men on de goal line!   IMO,  when you is "Sir Alex Fergeson" and you are trying to REALLY, FINALLY stamp your own legacy on European competition after being given a gift by Bayern Munich, with the so-called best team in Europe and in the world, with the so-called best player in the world and an ailing Barcelona as your opponent before you, then what is there to fear? Put Barca to the sword, do it in style (the style you and your fans claim to have in so much abundance. After all, when AC came-a-knockin' last year, both home and away, they didn't come to play for now "draw")
   and do it convincingly so that your "legacy" can be heralded by all, fans and haters alike.

Otherwise, you're just using "tactics" to win a trophy.                ;) :devil:
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 25, 2008, 03:41:10 AM

Watch yuh mout!     ;D

gey dem Mango gey dem... Ah forget, we still have autopilot to rely on. Go Avram :praying: :praying:

Who de hell come up wit dat "autopilot" one boy? Ah mussbe miss dah tread dred.   :rotfl:
Post by: Filho on April 25, 2008, 04:58:44 AM

Truth is, once you come to play Brazil, Brazil coming to play you! plain and simple.

Chow..yuh kow I'm a Brazil fan. I know that about Brazil..but since people picking on ManU for ONE..ONE game and not looking at their entire legacy of how they usually play, i will make my argument that there is the odd occassion where even the might Brazilians look like they just come out to defend..either by design or by being overwhelmed or some combination...Copa America 2004 final against Argentina for example.

btw. If Barca was superior in all facets of the game...the score would not have been 0-0. They seem equal in the facet of finding the back of the net on the day  :'(

C'mon Barca
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 25, 2008, 06:16:20 AM

Ah did forget to modify meh post:

..........unless Carlos Alberto Parreira is dey coach. ;D

Chow..yuh kow I'm a Brazil fan. I know that about Brazil..but since people picking on ManU for ONE..ONE game and not looking at their entire legacy of how they usually play, i will make my argument that there is the odd occassion where even the might Brazilians look like they just come out to defend..either by design or by being overwhelmed or some combination...Copa America 2004 final against Argentina for example.

btw. If Barca was superior in all facets of the game...the score would not have been 0-0. They seem equal in the facet of finding the back of the net on the day  :'(

C'mon Barca

Hear where Chow comin' from eh...... man u, in particular, "saf's man u" has romped, stomped and ruled the roost of domestic football, ah cyah deny dem DAT. However, when it comes to the European stage, their achievements haven't quite matched their "legacy" and I find they still have something to prove, unlike  AC, Real, and even Barca (or Brazil at their respective level) and the mantle of "best team in the world" is not quite a place fuh dem if they gonna come out and play "SAFe" football against a fellow  but wounded footballing giant.  While it is only "ONE" game that they have parked the proverbial bus, in all other attempts for European glory (but for the B.Munich gift) they have consistently fallen short.

If they would have come out and played Barca the way AC came out against them and mash dem up last year, I would give them all the credit in the world. manboo used underdog tactics against a less than efficient Barca and that smells like fear and caution. Too much fear and caution for such a big side with everyting going for them including the yellow card tally.

btw: yuh ketch meh on dat "facets of the game" technicality smartie pants ;D but it eh change nuttin. Barca is still de superior side.......still outplay dem by a mile..........so far. So doh worry. Yuh prearz go get a positive nod.   

btw: dat Brazil side in '04 was mostly a yute side. More like de Olympic team. Argentina play dey senior side and was supposed to walk away wit dat game. watch dat!   ;D         
Post by: RedDevils on April 25, 2008, 07:44:55 AM
I think ManU had one eye on the Chelsea match this weekend too..... Barca , Chelsea & Barca again in the space of 6 days is alotta tough football to play....

Like ah say...reasonable tactics, but unfortunately not easy on the eyes....

you finally startin to think  ahead..........Now fergie can go back to his preferred lineups and tactics......watch an see, chelski game will not be played like the Barca game even doh we away again........
Post by: sammy on April 25, 2008, 07:48:48 AM
i Realize all the bitchin seems to be coming from haters only........
Post by: JDB on April 25, 2008, 08:34:04 AM
and I AM glad u brought up the fact that Man u played the same way agianst roma..this is why I DOH EVER wanna hear no man u fan telling about chelsea playing boring defensive shit football..
chelsea under mourinho in his first 2 seasons were the stingest defence but also the most prolific team in the premier league...
playing a similar counter attack system chelsea handed out nuff 4-0 drubbings of team..including one to liverpool at andfield...
chelsea went to the nou camp 3 times in the the last 3 years in the UCL....AND SCORED IN ALL 3 GAMES!!!

Yuh could still get talk because United still plays more enterprising football than Chelsea week in week out. If you can't come to terms with that that is your business. One highlight year under Mourinho not changing that. You also referencing wins in the EPL when we talking about CL. Why no 4-0 wins against Liverpool in the CL, Chelsea plays them often enough. Could it be that Chelsea approaches CL games differently.

And talking about goals in the Nou Camp is kinda useless when, despite the goals, Chelsea still fails to win there in the knockout stages.

If cronaldo woulda score dat penalty, fergie clearly woulda drop everybody back in their 18 and mighta even keep about six men on de goal line!   IMO,  when you is "Sir Alex Fergeson" and you are trying to REALLY, FINALLY stamp your own legacy on European competition after being given a gift by Bayern Munich, with the so-called best team in Europe and in the world, with the so-called best player in the world and an ailing Barcelona as your opponent before you, then what is there to fear? Put Barca to the sword, do it in style (the style you and your fans claim to have in so much abundance. After all, when AC came-a-knockin' last year, both home and away, they didn't come to play for now "draw")
   and do it convincingly so that your "legacy" can be heralded by all, fans and haters alike.

Otherwise, you're just using "tactics" to win a trophy.                ;) :devil:

There is a lot in here attributed to Sir Alex Ferguson and Manchester United that has nothing to do with either.

This legacy talk doesn’t come from Ferguson or United. The club and manager are trying to win a two-legged tie, plain and simple. They are not trying to “be heralded by haters”, or to stamp a legacy or to make up for a “gifted title” that, by the way you are harping on it, I guess they didn’t really win. That is all projected by you as some goal or standard that this game should be judged by.

You keep harping on the 1999 CL as a gift when it was a game that they won fair and square. You saying that is was a gift doesn’t detract from the achievement because at the end of the day they scored the most goals in the comp., and beat the biggest teams put in front of them. You make it sound as if the win was undeserved. If showing up and taking advantage of opponents weaknesses is the same as being gifted then Dortmund and Leverkusen were gifted CL final places in 1997 and 2002.

If you really think that they were not worthy winners of the Champions League in 1999 just come out and say so instead of casting aspersions on the result as if they did something untoward.

If they would have come out and played Barca the way AC came out against them and mash dem up last year, I would give them all the credit in the world. manboo used underdog tactics against a less than efficient Barca and that smells like fear and caution. Too much fear and caution for such a big side with everyting going for them including the yellow card tally.

Revisionism. Last year Milan benefited from United's openness and naivety last year. So how come they not getting credit for that. Pleas edon't try to make peope, believe that Milan tries to open up football
games. A more typical Milan performance is the 1-0 bore at United a couple years ago or that great final against Juve in 2003. Seems to me that even the high pedigree side with legacy that you use as an example has taken a "tactical" approach to games when it suits them.

Also I fully expect in a couple months to hear that Barcelona was playing with two one-legged men and a blind man. They were missing Ronaldinho and Puyol. United was missing Vidic. Deco and Messi play so talk about illness and fitness and Barcelona being out of form is a red herring.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 25, 2008, 10:59:07 AM

Yuh could still get talk because United still plays more enterprising football than Chelsea week in week out. If you can't come to terms with that that is your business. One highlight year under Mourinho not changing that. You also referencing wins in the EPL when we talking about CL. Why no 4-0 wins against Liverpool in the CL, Chelsea plays them often enough. Could it be that Chelsea approaches CL games differently.

And talking about goals in the Nou Camp is kinda useless when, despite the goals, Chelsea still fails to win there in the knockout stages.

There is a lot in here attributed to Sir Alex Ferguson and Manchester United that has nothing to do with either.

This legacy talk doesn’t come from Ferguson or United. The club and manager are trying to win a two-legged tie, plain and simple. They are not trying to “be heralded by haters”, or to stamp a legacy or to make up for a “gifted title” that, by the way you are harping on it, I guess they didn’t really win. That is all projected by you as some goal or standard that this game should be judged by.

Tell me something I don't know, boss.  It's y'all fans that want to place the title on the team and it's y"all fans I am addressing on the forum.....but neither saf nor the team would refuse the crown that y"all want to crest them with though.

You keep harping on the 1999 CL as a gift when it was a game that they won fair and square. You saying that is was a gift doesn’t detract from the achievement because at the end of the day they scored the most goals in the comp., and beat the biggest teams put in front of them. You make it sound as if the win was undeserved. If showing up and taking advantage of opponents weaknesses is the same as being gifted then Dortmund and Leverkusen were gifted CL final places in 1997 and 2002.

If you really think that they were not worthy winners of the Champions League in 1999 just come out and say so instead of casting aspersions on the result as if they did something untoward.

I have never posted or said anything in person to deny my sentiment.  I DON"T THINK they deserved the title in '99.  B. Munich did. but they lost. and what did they do? Came out and won it the following year.

I am only pointing out that y"all won more because of a lack of on-field leadership in the dying stages of the game, the subsequent defensive implosion and missed chances on B. Munich's part (including a brilliant save by Peter Schmeichel) but if Dortmund had won in similar fashion against manu, I would have said the same thing about them, too.  Fact is, though, Dortmund outplayed manu that year when they knocked them out.  They were the better team.

Revisionism. Last year Milan benefited from United's openness and naivety last year. So how come they not getting credit for that. Pleas edon't try to make peope, believe that Milan tries to open up football
games. A more typical Milan performance is the 1-0 bore at United a couple years ago or that great final against Juve in 2003. Seems to me that even the high pedigree side with legacy that you use as an example has taken a "tactical" approach to games when it suits them.

Also I fully expect in a couple months to hear that Barcelona was playing with two one-legged men and a blind man. They were missing Ronaldinho and Puyol. United was missing Vidic. Deco and Messi play so talk about illness and fitness and Barcelona being out of form is a red herring.

I find it interesting that you would associate manu with any form of the word "naive" and are willing to liken Vidic' contribution to manu on the same level as that of Ro-Ro and Puyol to Barca..   AC came to old trafford and they came to play. They hosted manu and they played.  Plain and simple.  Even in the debacle against liverpool, they came out and played.

But I will  ask you this:  If the opposite circumstances were true for either team last wednesday? Let's say Barca was coming in at full strength with only Marquez out from injury, and Manu was coming in missing Rio and cronaldo and Rooney was only just returning from a long absence due to injury, do you really believe Frank woulda had Barca playing as defensive as manu played? I really don't think so.  No red herring, boss.  I doh even like smoke herring. 

Post by: dinho on April 25, 2008, 11:08:14 AM
Sacchi: Man Utd Betrayed England :applause:

http://www.goal.com/en-US/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=672721

Former Milan coaching great Arrigo Sacchi has launched a withering attack on the three English teams remaining in the Champions League, and has hit out at the quality of this week’s semi-finals.

Both first legs proved to be matches that will not live long in the memory as Liverpool and Chelsea drew 1-1 at Anfield, before Manchester United shut up shop in their 0-0 stalemate at Barcelona.   

"Is it worth Chelsea investing so much money in a team with such little joy and harmony?,” Sacchi asked in the Gazzetta dello Sport.   

"As for Liverpool, Benitez is praised for his tactical work, but the technical quality individually and collectively is not high, so goes their ability to dribble, keep possession of the ball and play a fantasy game.

"Manchester United arrived in great form, and played a game that betrayed the English culture and its history.   

“They thought only to defend with everyone back, attacking with few players. There was no action.”   

Sacchi, while recognising that Barcelona tried to play the game in the right way, also had some harsh words to say about the in-fighting in the Barcelona camp.

”The Blaugrana have shown that they are in an inadequate mental and physical shape,” he continued.   

“This is a team where envy, jealousy and the bourgeoisie have undermined professionalism, motivation and playing."   
Title: Re: Manchester Utd vs Barcelona CL SEMIFINAL Leg 2
Post by: D.H.W on April 25, 2008, 11:47:42 AM
fellas this thread will be used for leg 2, seeing it still going strong lol
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 25, 2008, 12:12:13 PM
Sacchi: Man Utd Betrayed England :applause:

http://www.goal.com/en-US/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=672721

Former Milan coaching great Arrigo Sacchi has launched a withering attack on the three English teams remaining in the Champions League, and has hit out at the quality of this week`s semi-finals.

Both first legs proved to be matches that will not live long in the memory as Liverpool and Chelsea drew 1-1 at Anfield, before Manchester United shut up shop in their 0-0 stalemate at Barcelona.   

"Is it worth Chelsea investing so much money in a team with such little joy and harmony?,`` Sacchi asked in the Gazzetta dello Sport.   

"As for Liverpool, Benitez is praised for his tactical work, but the technical quality individually and collectively is not high, so goes their ability to dribble, keep possession of the ball and play a fantasy game.

"Manchester United arrived in great form, and played a game that betrayed the English culture and its history.   

``They thought only to defend with everyone back, attacking with few players. There was no action.``   

Sacchi, while recognising that Barcelona tried to play the game in the right way, also had some harsh words to say about the in-fighting in the Barcelona camp.

``The Blaugrana have shown that they are in an inadequate mental and physical shape,`` he continued.   

``This is a team where envy, jealousy and the bourgeoisie have undermined professionalism, motivation and playing."   

Is only sour grapes in he mout (from AC gettin' knockout) have 'im talkin so.   :P :P :P
Post by: freakazoid on April 25, 2008, 12:17:09 PM
sacchi boy i feel u is ah carpenter

well said
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 25, 2008, 12:30:58 PM
fellas this thread will be used for leg 2, seeing it still going strong lol

I mite start a Leg 2 Thread...  We'll see
Post by: dinho on April 26, 2008, 10:18:46 AM
WILL ROONEY BE FIT FOR BARCELONA ???
Post by: D.H.W on April 26, 2008, 10:21:26 AM

STUEPS
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 26, 2008, 10:49:18 AM

STUEPS

;D Yuh right to "stueps" cuz vidic might be out, too, even tho ah doubt it. He try to take a page outta liverpool book and was goin' fuh Drogba knees ;D but like he take anudder page outta liverpool book and use he head insteada he foot :devil:
Post by: dinho on April 26, 2008, 10:52:31 AM

STUEPS

;D Yuh right to "stueps" cuz vidic might be out, too, even tho ah doubt it. He try to take a page outta liverpool book and was goin' fuh Drogba knees ;D but like he take anudder page outta liverpool book and use he head insteada he foot :devil:

classic boy chow. that could go in the 'memorable quotes' thread, but ah get de feeling football banter eh go be appreciated in dey.
Post by: D.H.W on April 26, 2008, 10:54:40 AM
it aint over yet  ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 26, 2008, 11:19:12 AM

STUEPS

classic boy chow. that could go in the 'memorable quotes' thread, but ah get de feeling football banter eh go be appreciated in dey.

;D ;D

doh mind dem, Omar. Blue is de colour. Will ALWAYS BE de colour!  (BRAZIL included!! ;D)