Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on May 14, 2008, 10:04:42 PM

Title: Jason Scotland gets axe for England.
Post by: E-man on May 14, 2008, 10:04:42 PM
Scotland gets axe for England.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express)

The Trinidad and Tobago national football team could well start the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign without another of their stars in Germany 2006, Jason Scotland.

The Express was informed yesterday, 29-year-old Swansea striker Jason Scotland, a squad member at the 2006 World Cup in Germany has failed to make the cut for the June 1 centennial match against England. The squad for that game is expected to be announced today.

Also, it is understood that record goalscorer Stern John was included in the squad partly as a result of the wrist injury to Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones.

The 31-year-old John has a remarkable strike ratio of 67 goals in 101 appearances and is the eighth most prolific forward in the history of the game.

Scotland, who has five goals from 27 international outings, and John, are coming off their most productive seasons in Britain and were the leading scorers and Most Valuable Players for their respective employers.

Scotland bagged a division-high 29 goals in all competitions to help Swansea gain promotion into the England Championship Division. His tally set a modern day record for the Wales-based club and he was named to the League One All Star Team. The former Malick schoolboy and Defence Force star has also attracted interest from several high profile English teams including Derby and Crystal Palace.

John notched one goal in his sole Premiership appearance for Sunderland in 2007/08 before moving to Championship outfit, Southampton, where he scored a team high 19 goals including a double in the final match of the season as the south club staved off relegation.

Maturana was present at Southampton to see John's heroics in their 3-2 win over Sheffield United.

Scotland and John arrived in Trinidad this week but neither could be reached for comment before press time.

Maturana apparently sees Sunderland striker Jones as the leader of his frontline and does not see Scotland as the ideal partner for the England Premiership star.

The 23-year-old Jones also played in the Germany showcase tournament and is regarded as the country's hottest commodity at present although his strike tally stands at a mediocre three goals from 31 outings. He was used up front in 17 of those appearances while the others came at right back and central midfield.

Maturana is likely to choose three attackers from Sparta Rotterdam's Darryl Roberts, 18-year-old El Dorado Secondary Comprehensive schoolboy Jamal Gay, United Petrotrin's Jerol Forbes and Defence Force's Devon Jorsling to serve as Jones' supporting cast.

The only other World Cup players likely to be included on June 1 are Sunderland winger Carlos Edwards, Swansea defender Dennis Lawrence, Walsall goalkeeper Clayton Ince and Vibe CT 105 W. Connection midfielder and present international captain Aurtis Whitley.

FIFA vice-president and T&TFF special advisor Jack Warner allegedly promised 45 minutes each to retired stars and ex-World Cup players Dwight Yorke (Sunderland) and Russell Latapy (Falkirk) against England but it is uncertain whether Maturana will live up to his end of the bargain, though.

The impending omission of Scotland is par for the course under the respected coach who has ignored a string of World Cup Warriors including Coventry midfielder Chris Birchall (24), Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA playmaker Densill Theobald (25), Ross County defender Brent Sancho (31), ex-New England Revolution defender Avery John (32) and Ma Pau striker Cornell Glen (27).

If Maturana's selection policy raises eyebrows, the two-time Colombia World Cup coach has won only praise for his work on the field so far. He is undefeated in five games against Guadeloupe, El Salvador, Jamaica, Grenada and Barbados. Three of those outings ended with wins for T&T while his squad is yet to concede a goal at home.
Title: Re: Jason Scotland gets axe for england
Post by: freakazoid on May 14, 2008, 10:07:19 PM
hmmm

allyuh ah have 2 tickets 2 sell
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2008, 10:08:03 PM
look thing, god help us :(  , Have Faith  :-\  :praying:  :'( , this young team he trying better work out yes
Post by: weary1969 on May 14, 2008, 10:10:59 PM
So much 4 not suing d TTFF they could a pick him 4 dat alone. Lime wit we in d stand in black
Post by: dreamer on May 14, 2008, 10:11:33 PM
Thank you Lasana. Doh let nobody muzzle yuh. Jackula promise 45 mins....  Who de ass he feel he is... Whappum, he is de team selectuh?  So who really wearing de fleckin' drawz here and in charge of de team .....  >:(  Steupppsss..
Post by: dinho on May 14, 2008, 10:13:10 PM
mudda..

if de man say he picking on club form, what did devon jorsling and darryl roberts do to merit a call over jason scotland?

what more must a man do?
Post by: freakazoid on May 14, 2008, 10:15:16 PM
ah think we have to say what more must scottie do. like d man cant catch ah break no matter wat he do yes
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2008, 10:19:23 PM
nothing makes sense any more. time will tell if Manturana will apologizing after the game.
Post by: ckhan on May 14, 2008, 10:22:11 PM
Wasn't looking for Scotty to get de boot but this is only a "glamour friendly", bigger fish to fry down de road.
Post by: weary1969 on May 14, 2008, 10:24:43 PM
Now self Latas and Yorke betta b wit we in d stand
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2008, 10:29:33 PM
Not understanding this at all...the man is in the prime of his career, and on quite a tear professionally.  I won't criticize the coach though, he knows more than I do, but let's see if this mess continues into qualification...ckhan, we of the same mind on this.
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2008, 10:34:57 PM
Not understanding this at all...the man is in the prime of his career, and on quite a tear professionally.  I won't criticize the coach though, he knows more than I do, but let's see if this mess continues into qualification...ckhan, we of the same mind on this.

ent they say they picking man on form, so i guess this proves it. so much for logic.
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2008, 10:42:17 PM
fellas i have a serious question, what competitive friendlies our national team play to get us prepared for England? because right now i feeling we in for a good rub down when June 1 reach. but i keeping the faith.
Post by: DeSoWa on May 14, 2008, 10:45:26 PM
...things that make you go......hmmmmm...wtf!!!?

Oh well...jus another reason to wear black(list)

Post by: weary1969 on May 14, 2008, 11:32:53 PM
Like part ah d deal 2 play oui was dat dey embarass oui. It eh have no way Scotland not makin dat team. D man eh even gettin call
Post by: palos on May 14, 2008, 11:51:58 PM
Put aside the emotion for a moment.

Is there a valid FOOTBALLING reason for Scotty's omission?

Seems as if Maturana sayin Kenwyne leadin de line.  De kind of striking partner he lookin for is one who will complement Jones.

Jones is a mobile type of forward who is a colassic target man.  Which means he needs someone to play off of him as he not exactly the most skillful type of player.

Question is...is Scotty that player?
Post by: davidephraim on May 15, 2008, 02:14:04 AM

Seems as if Maturana sayin Kenwyne leadin de line.  De kind of striking partner he lookin for is one who will complement Jones.

Jones is a mobile type of forward who is a colassic target man.  Which means he needs someone to play off of him as he not exactly the most skillful type of player.

Palos boy... ah fraid to answer dis one.  part of me feelin that de coach knows what he doin de next part feel like dis is a continuation of de Roy Keane target man type football and ah scared...  just kick it to Kenwayne let someone run next to him so he could pass it off just before dey kick it back to him again and then hope for de best...
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 02:25:47 AM
so let me see
jason Scotland breaks records is scoring for fun cant get pick
Birchall playing every reserve game and scoring cant get pick
John top scorer for his club and might just get in

men who have no club and not even playing every week getting pick

right I understand now ??? ???
Title: Re: Jason Scotland gets axe for England.
Post by: injunchile on May 15, 2008, 04:07:51 AM
1- Let the Coach be the Coach- That is why we have a coach,
2- He saw Scotland / Jones combo against Guadelope.
3- Let us await the official players called before Man blood pressure raise.
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 04:11:55 AM
and let me be an armchair critic  ::)
Post by: frico on May 15, 2008, 04:42:20 AM
It is now clear that maturana is a puppet to JW who is now acting with a vendetta against the players who got together to sue the TTFA.
we may say what we like about him he has done a lot for our football and one can understand his present attitude if even we do not condone it.I feel certain that the players who brought this action against the TTFA are the bigger culprits,it would havebeen much better if it had gone to arbitration rather than take legal action,after all JW DID NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT TO GIVE WHAT THE PLAYERS ARE ASKING.My understanding is that he made a verbal statement in the heat and excitement when we held Sweden to a draw.I cannot see the players getting more than a few thousand dollars more.The greed shown by a few players is the cause of our present predicament not
JW.Surely,with a bit more common sense the problem could have been dealt with differently,consider too'that all the players got $1,000,000 from the government.When England put about 6 or 7 pass us we will be certain that we are not going to SA 2010 but instead rebuilding for 2014 wherever it may be.
Post by: FLi ! on May 15, 2008, 04:52:16 AM
It is now clear that maturana is a puppet to JW who is now acting with a vendetta against the players who got together to sue the TTFA.
we may say what we like about him he has done a lot for our football and one can understand his present attitude if even we do not condone it.I feel certain that the players who brought this action against the TTFA are the bigger culprits,it would havebeen much better if it had gone to arbitration rather than take legal action,after all JW DID NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT TO GIVE WHAT THE PLAYERS ARE ASKING.My understanding is that he made a verbal statement in the heat and excitement when we held Sweden to a draw.I cannot see the players getting more than a few thousand dollars more.The greed shown by a few players is the cause of our present predicament not
JW.Surely,with a bit more common sense the problem could have been dealt with differently,consider too'that all the players got $1,000,000 from the government.When England put about 6 or 7 pass us we will be certain that we are not going to SA 2010 but instead rebuilding for 2014 wherever it may be.

a/s/l/m ?

(age, sex, location.....motive )
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 05:05:01 AM
Boi, where some people been Hiding ???
hear nuh go and read this thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=24764.msg271021#msg271021)(<-- click here)  and when ya dun read this thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=15743.msg162330#msg162330), then check this one (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=33830.msg393866#msg393866) den when you tink ya dun read this thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=30863.msg353663#msg353663), watch ah next thread to read (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=28302.msg320366#msg320366), then get back to me.....

AND Jason deserves a call up.
Post by: Themanfriday on May 15, 2008, 05:18:23 AM
look thing, God help us :(  , Have Faith  :-\  :praying:  :'( , this young team he trying better work out yes

Fixed it for yuh......since it is a noun like Sam and Kenwyne ;)
Post by: FLi ! on May 15, 2008, 05:22:36 AM
look thing, God help us :(  , Have Faith  :-\  :praying:  :'( , this young team he trying better work out yes

Fixed it for yuh......since it is a noun like Sam and Kenwyne ;)

unless of course he is referring to a demi god  ;)
Post by: Themanfriday on May 15, 2008, 05:24:16 AM

But what de............................. :o

We have ah place fuh alyuh people, it called ST. Anns ::)
Post by: frico on May 15, 2008, 05:42:59 AM
The players who instigated this legal action should have used alittle bit more common sense after all we had only just competed on the biggest stage in the world.For the betterment of our football a little bit of patience was better.I am also quite sure that not all the players involved was 100% behind this but only a few.I am sure you all know who they are,it was only a matter of solidarity that made most of the players act the way they did.They must now be regretting the actions coz all it has done is keep our football from progrssing as it should have done.I AM JUST HOPING THAT WE DO NOT BECOME A LAUGHING STOCK TO THE FOOTBALL WORLD ASSUMING ENGLAND PUT 8 GOALS PAST US.
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 05:46:05 AM
The players who instigated this legal action should have used alittle bit more common sense after all we had only just competed on the biggest stage in the world.For the betterment of our football a little bit of patience was better.I am also quite sure that not all the players involved was 100% behind this but only a few.I am sure you all know who they are,it was only a matter of solidarity that made most of the players act the way they did.They must now be regretting the actions coz all it has done is keep our football from progrssing as it should have done.I AM JUST HOPING THAT WE DO NOT BECOME A LAUGHING STOCK TO THE FOOTBALL WORLD ASSUMING ENGLAND PUT 8 GOALS PAST US.
Jack is de laughing stock of the football world...with all the players he has at his dispossal...we still end up in a mess because of him.....One Case in Point....he cant even pick Jason Scotland
I still doh believe some people who want to philosiphise why Jason ent gettin called.
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 05:52:30 AM
frico you need to really check yourself..............you bother reading anything at all on the impasse before you type that tata ?
Post by: Brownsugar on May 15, 2008, 06:10:11 AM

Jackula is dat you? 
Post by: Brownsugar on May 15, 2008, 06:13:18 AM
.....and also it have forumites who actually debated/debating whether or not to don a black juzzy....

GO BLACK IF YUH WANT JACK TO TRACK BACK!!!!   
Post by: spideybuff on May 15, 2008, 06:17:33 AM
I feel de "co" in "frico" name stands for all the coke he\she\it sniffing.
Post by: doc on May 15, 2008, 06:24:02 AM

Even if he is not that player, what is plan B? Jones already carrying an injury that can rule him out, or can get injured. If he aint on the pitch, does it matter much who can play with him? :devil: Scottie deserves to be in the squad.
Post by: jimmel14 on May 15, 2008, 06:26:26 AM
lawd have mercy pon d TTFF. for they no what d fak dey doing
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 06:29:08 AM
If this is true which it most likely is....Well..."Campaign to kick this f**king Colombian Puppet Out"

Dont f**k with the Fans...We'll f**k all of you up....
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 15, 2008, 06:32:14 AM
what did ... darryl roberts do to merit a call over jason scotland?
Roberts, like Kenwyne, playing top flight football and scored just as many as Kenwyne, and was, by some accounts, impressive against Jamaica. He earn his call. Jorsling? Me eh know.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 06:40:40 AM
what did ... darryl roberts do to merit a call over jason scotland?
Roberts, like Kenwyne, playing top flight football and scored just as many as Kenwyne, and was, by some accounts, impressive against Jamaica. He earn his call. Jorsling? Me eh know.

I have no problem with Roberts getting the call...cuz He is a good player....But when en liikse f**king jamal gay and forbes and jorsling get a chance over Scotty...when just recently the coach said players getting picked on current form...How can Scotty be off form???? 

Post by: Midknight on May 15, 2008, 06:45:28 AM

But what de............................. :o

We have ah place fuh alyuh people, it called ST. Anns ::)

Leave my neighborhood out ah that kind of insanity eh...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 06:47:30 AM
I Cannot wait for the excuse for this one....
Post by: Midknight on May 15, 2008, 06:50:40 AM
I does keep quiet, until I have all the facts about certain things, but is keeping quiet for the last 2 years that have we where we are right now. I have nine words to say, and it right in mih signature. I glad to see brownsugar take up the call.
Post by: Touches on May 15, 2008, 07:06:00 AM
Dat is real shit dey.

I say Carlos go play wing back and they coulda put him to play the right wing.

Steupppssss
Post by: dinho on May 15, 2008, 07:12:04 AM

Palos.. Putting aside all emotion to answer you..

In a squad of 23, the norm is to go with 5 or 6 forwards.. Your starters and replacements for each striker position.

Now lets us say for argument sake and to be generous, the thinking is to go with 2-3 "classic target men" as you put it, then 2-3 more mobile forwards in the other position to play off of them..

1. Then Jones and John cannot start together because they do not 'complement' each other. If they do start together, I want you to respond to this the day after the game and admit that on pure footballing reasons, Scotland's omission is assanine.

2. What justifies the inclusion of an untried and untested Jamal Gay for the 3rd 'target man' berth, ahead of a 29 goal, player of the season, form of his life, world cup experienced Jason Scotland?

3. Did Maturana not say days ago that players were being picked based on club form? How does Devon Jorsling's, Darryl Roberts' and Jamal Gay's club form match up with that of Jason Scotland

4. Should we then assume then that under Maturana, it is impossible for Scotland to force his way into the T&T side barring injury to either Jones or John? Because we can't ask much more of him can we.

Just a few thoughts from someone trying to understand the FOOTBALLING reasons for Scotland's omission.
Post by: Big Magician on May 15, 2008, 07:24:56 AM
IT GOOD FUH WE !!
Post by: Football supporter on May 15, 2008, 07:25:45 AM

Just to clarify a few points for you FRICO.

Jason Scotland has never been part of the dispute.

The case is at arbitration.

Warners "verbal statement in the heat and excitement when we held Sweden to a draw" followed his agreement of 30% made with the players. Subsequently Warner repeated the 50% offer several times in the media when he was distanced from " the heat and excitement when we held Sweden to a draw"

A verbal contract, particularly if repeated in the media, is legally enforceable. So, if your boss comes to you and asks you to work an extra shift and get paid double time, do you always insist on a contract in writing?

The greed you refer to is purely an employee asking for what is rightfully his. The players had no idea, when the agreement was made, how much money would be involved because sponsorship deals were still being negotiated. As far as the players knew, the 30% agreed at the time may have only amounted to $50,000TT. Also, when the agreement was made, the players had no idea they would receive a seperate financial reward from the government. It is not reasonable to expect an employee to not want his employer to honour a financial contract because a seperate body has paid him a bonus.

With "a bit more common sense", surely there would be some of the $173 million TT still in the TTFF pot even after the players bonuses had been put to one side.

You blame the players when everyone is aware that TTFF have none of the money from the World Cup campaign or the millions paid by the government for the 2010 campaign. This was admitted by Mr Warner when he had to take an advance of the concacaf funding and mortgage his property to pay match fees. Shouldn't you really be asking why these bonus payment promises were made and why so much money has disapeared, yet no one from TTFF is prepared to be accountable and explain how this money has been spent?

Post by: Ngozi on May 15, 2008, 07:33:25 AM
Aint no way this so cut and dry something big went down behind the scenes that we don't know about ....something payoff between the staff and Scotty and they keeping it hush hush ...... even if they didnt think he was a fit they would still keep him on the bench....waiting for the truth to come out
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 07:34:43 AM
Aint no way this so cut and dry something big went down behind the scenes that we don't know about ....something payoff between the staff and Scotty and they keeping it hush hush ...... even if they didnt think he was a fit they would still keep him on the bench....waiting for the truth to come out
eh ???
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 15, 2008, 07:39:59 AM
He is undefeated in five games against Guadeloupe, El Salvador, Jamaica, Grenada and Barbados. Three of those outings ended with wins for T&T while his squad is yet to concede a goal at home.

to bad you cannot compare these teams to a full strength england team
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 07:41:17 AM
Omar yuh real f**king dotish !     ;)

check his stats:

Football League One Winner
Football League One Top Scorer
Football League One Team Of the Season

how that could compare to men sweating in King George V ?
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 07:42:33 AM
Omar yuh real f**king dotish !

check his stats:

aye aye aye
not soooo early in de morning nuh :devil:

"sweating in King George V park"  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: dinho on May 15, 2008, 07:46:04 AM
Omar yuh real f**king dotish !

check his stats:

which is what i trying to understand mehself...
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 07:48:36 AM
I know I know I getting kicks
Post by: SuperTrini on May 15, 2008, 07:54:13 AM
Calm down people....Jamal Gay won't start...he'll probably get 10 or 20 mins minutes in de dreggs. I feel is Daryll Roberts...and Stern up front if Jnoes can't play. I don't care bout de result. This game is for local talent to get a look so that we good get more young players in Europe playing.....so that in later qualifying we could compete wit America and Mexico. Plus forget strikers we have dat....Do we have a proper midfield  and defense for these games comin up :rotfl:
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 07:58:59 AM
I hope yuh saying dat when we get we ass cut because we put forward an intercol side
Post by: SuperTrini on May 15, 2008, 08:04:27 AM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:   off course i will not be so positive lol.....that's what we all do...AFTER THE FACT :rotfl:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 08:05:31 AM
I hope yuh saying dat when we get we ass cut because we put forward an intercol side

In a way...I wouldn't mind us getting crushed to f**king wake up everyone especially Maturana and staff...

That man have men like Scotty..Glenn..Sealy...  all 3 recognised strikers but the great striker trio of Gay Forbes and Jorsling can keep them out...

Birchall..Samuel...Theobald...Spann...  i like our midfield of K.Daniel/Connel...Hyland..Whitley..Edwards...  but i want Depth in midfield...

Makan Hislop..Anton Pierre over Sancho?...A.Adams and A.Edwards over Avery.. You f**king having a laugh!

Anyway, Hopefully the Squad can do a good job in the quartet of games coming up...

Post by: TrinInfinite on May 15, 2008, 08:05:54 AM
i really dont know how to justify the exclusion but maturana is doing his ting, he saw what scotty offers and maybe he feels forbes or another youth has more, who knows  ??? based on performance scotland should play but scottie hasnt done anything menacing for the red white and black like stern, so if based on that, these youths that have been playing have been scoring in the warm ups, maturana maybe has a method for his madness, not all club players play good intl football, but if he said  he is picking on form, i really dont know the justification of the exclusion.

God is de BOSS....
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 08:09:37 AM
i really dont know how to justify the exclusion but maturana is doing his ting, he saw what scotty offers and maybe he feels forbes or another youth has more, who knows  ??? based on performance scotland should play but scottie hasnt done anything menacing for the red white and black like stern, so if based on that, these youths that have been playing have been scoring in the warm ups, maturana maybe has a method for his madness, not all club players play good intl football, but if he said  he is picking on form, i really dont know the justification of the exclusion.

God is de BOSS....

Edit:

if you meant "like Stern" as in Scooty and Stern arent menacing read below:

You just showed everyone you are a c**t (like if it wasnt known already)

67 in 101 games.... nothing menacing about that  ::)

5 Hex Goals to take us to the World Cup.... like if KJ or anyone would have scored those 5 hex goals

Stern John= Trinidadian Legend...Irreplaceable...and Maturana will realise it if he drops Stern...

if you meant "like Stern" as in Scotty hasnt done anything but Stern has been menacing well:

Sorry...

But knowing you...you meant like Stern as my first thought..Cuz I know you is a Stern hater and a Glenn fan

Post by: TrinInfinite on May 15, 2008, 08:13:57 AM
i really dont know how to justify the exclusion but maturana is doing his ting, he saw what scotty offers and maybe he feels forbes or another youth has more, who knows ??? based on performance scotland should play but scottie hasnt done anything menacing for the red white and black like stern, so if based on that, these youths that have been playing have been scoring in the warm ups, maturana maybe has a method for his madness, not all club players play good intl football, but if he said he is picking on form, i really dont know the justification of the exclusion.

God is de BOSS....

67 in 101 games.... nothing menacing about that ::)

5 Hex Goals to take us to the World Cup.... like if KJ or anyone would have scored those 5 hex goals

Stern John= Trinidadian Legend...Irreplaceable...and Maturana will realise it if he drops Stern...

say what you like but strike partners are the key to every good forward line, scottie hasnt buss nets recently, maturana is either acting on jw behalf or his own guile, ill wait to see after the match what happens, theres more important games anyways to come, like a world cup qualifier, i think people 4getting what counts the most, i doubt scotland is excluded indefinately.

God is de BOSS...
Post by: dinho on May 15, 2008, 08:14:20 AM

God is de BOSS....

ummm....... small mag ???

take a re-read of what yuh bold there
Post by: dinho on May 15, 2008, 08:15:26 AM
i really dont know how to justify the exclusion but maturana is doing his ting, he saw what scotty offers and maybe he feels forbes or another youth has more, who knows ??? based on performance scotland should play but scottie hasnt done anything menacing for the red white and black like stern, so if based on that, these youths that have been playing have been scoring in the warm ups, maturana maybe has a method for his madness, not all club players play good intl football, but if he said he is picking on form, i really dont know the justification of the exclusion.

God is de BOSS....

say what you like but strike partners are the key to every good forward line, scottie hasnt buss nets recently, maturana is either acting on jw behalf or his own guile, ill wait to see after the match what happens, theres more important games anyways to come, like a world cup qualifier, i think people 4getting what counts the most, i doubt scotland is excluded indefinately.

God is de BOSS...

TI, Scotty cannot score goals for the RWB if he never gets to play for the RWB
Post by: TrinInfinite on May 15, 2008, 08:23:17 AM

God is de BOSS....

God is de BOSS...

TI, Scotty cannot score goals for the RWB if he never gets to play for the RWB

he has played breddah and hasnt done anything noteworthy in the recent future but he deserves a call but im not the coach and im not in his mind, so far maturana has done well, who am i to judge a 2 time world cup coach who has beaten teams like argentina, its really up to him, hopefully the decision wasnt swayed but alternative powers, scotty will get his chance, i rather see him upfront for a wc qualifier, this is a fete match in all honesty.

God is de BOSS...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 08:28:32 AM

God is de BOSS....

ummm....... small mag ???

take a re-read of what yuh bold there

hah i edited my post... 2 situations... He would have said something in his defence if "like Stern" meant anything else...
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 08:33:24 AM
men like to rub salt eh !!!

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=35916.0
Post by: Peong on May 15, 2008, 08:34:19 AM
Leaving out Scotland is a big mistake.
He might not be one of the starting 2 but the man is a prolific forward, AND he accustomed to playin up front by himself which is rough.
The man knows how to make striker's runs unlike KJ.
Plus KJ doubtful for the game.

The good thing is that Scotland doesn't need this game, he could always fall in the squad later after Maturana realise wha he do.

In a way...I wouldn't mind us getting crushed to f**king wake up everyone especially Maturana and staff...

Doh lie, yuh wouldn't mind becuz yuh have a crush on the england squad.
Post by: Sam on May 15, 2008, 09:03:01 AM
There is a difference with club football (Jason Scotland) and international football (Stern John). Lets wait and hear from the TTFF the real reason. Maybe Maturana looking for a particular type of player who also have many years to contribute to T&T football.

Glen might be the only forgotten Warrior who get a raw deal, but playing for Ma Pau may have worked against him.

Stern John deserve a call up, and yes Jason Scotland too. But remember Jason Scotland is a man who always felt he was never given the respect by T&T and has always been a back up for when problems hit T&T so he probably rebelling now. But be better than Jamal Gay even though the experience might worth more to Gay than Scotland.

Darryl Roberts wasn't called, I dont know why.

Kenwyne Jones uncertain.

Yorke and Latapy, a waste to give them any run.

Sancho dose not deserve a call up for this game. Same with Kelvin Jack and Chris Birchall. Maybe against Bermuda, I hope they get the call to at least train. But these men are not match fit, they might be training, but they not match fit. Even an unattached Hyland getting more playing time.

Avery John only just got back and cannot even hold down a regular spot on Miami FC side.

On de flip side of this, I think Maturana should be careful if he is getting involved with the TTFF and the players rift, he should not pick sides, if he have no choice then he should quit because his reputation is on the line, June his contract will up.

But T&T in a big hole right now and the TTFF digging it deeper. Money is really the root of all evil...
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 09:09:05 AM
There is a difference with club football (Jason Scotland) and international football (Stern John). Lets wait and hear from the TTFF the real reason. Maybe Maturana looking for a particular type of player who also have many years to contribute to T&T football.

Glen might be the only forgotten Warrior who get a raw deal, but playing for Ma Pau may have worked against him.

Stern John deserve a call up, and yes Jason Scotland too. But remember Jason Scotland is a man who always felt he was never given the respect by T&T and has always been a back up for when problems hit T&T so he probably rebelling now. But be better than Jamal Gay even though the experience might worth more to Gay than Scotland.

Darryl Roberts wasn't called, I dont know why.

Kenwyne Jones uncertain.

Yorke and Latapy, a waste to give them any run.

Sancho dose not deserve a call up for this game. Same with Kelvin Jack and Chris Birchall. Maybe against Bermuda, I hope they get the call to at least train. But these men are not match fit, they might be training, but they not match fit. Even an unattached Hyland getting more playing time.

Avery John only just got back and cannot even hold down a regular spot on Miami FC side.

On de flip side of this, I think Maturana should be careful if he is getting involved with the TTFF and the players rift, he should not pick sides, if he have no choice then he should quit because his reputation is on the line, June his contract will up.

But T&T in a big hole right now and the TTFF digging it deeper. Money is really the root of all evil...

Birchall playing reserve football eh, it kinda harsh to say he not match fit.
Post by: Sam on May 15, 2008, 09:14:45 AM

This is how reserve footballers does look/get... check de creole on the far left...  :rotfl: :rotfl:

That muddafo0cker drunk,,,,,, he looking like ah facking teddy bear....

(http://www.sparta-rotterdam.nl/UserFiles/Image/roberts_BVV.jpg)
Post by: pass(10trini) on May 15, 2008, 09:30:56 AM

This is how reserve footballers does look/get... check de creole on the far left...  :rotfl: :rotfl:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:   Take win sam. heh :beermug:
Post by: SUPA on May 15, 2008, 09:32:18 AM

Sam, yuh good yes  :rotfl:  :rotfl:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on May 15, 2008, 09:38:25 AM
I must admit, dat I'm quite surprised about dis information on Scotland and especially Stern. However, I believe in giving someone a chance to prove themself. So wid dat said folks, let us doh jump tuh no conclusions or start tuh fight down Mr. Maturana, please give him, his staff and his system a chance to prove to us and de rest of de world, dat dey know what they are doing. May de man above bless our country and national teams. Bless. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 09:48:25 AM
Birchall playing 1-2 games a week and you know what he like ! the man more match fit than plenty men in pro league !
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 09:55:48 AM

:devil:  :rotfl: yuh get meh there lol hahahaha

Birchall playing 1-2 games a week and you know what he like ! the man more match fit than plenty men in pro league !

agreed  :beermug:
Post by: chinee boi on May 15, 2008, 10:19:05 AM

Jackula is dat you? 

girl that is exactly what i was thinking
Post by: Themanfriday on May 15, 2008, 10:21:33 AM

Jackula is dat you? 

Fuh real me too :o
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 10:35:03 AM
1- Let the Coach be the Coach- That is why we have a coach,
2- He saw Scotland / Jones combo against Guadelope.
3- Let us await the official players called before Man blood pressure raise.

Agreed.  Pacho isn't nearly as emotionally caught up in this game as the rest of us are (perhaps he doesn't quite grasp the significance) and so for him it very well could just be part of the evaluation process.  With a finite number of games in qualification/friendlies it is entirely possible that he feels he knows what Scotland has to offer, and prefers to evaluate different players in this game.

This is why I said I'd prefer to wait and see how the rest of qualification plays out before I let any blood rush to my head.
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 10:43:31 AM
but then why would he call up Stern ? he defintely knows what he can/cant do ? in fact why would he have any of the top guys ? I think there will be changes for qualification as our intercol side will get rinse in the stadium !
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 10:54:08 AM

Jackula is dat you? 

:devil: jack want to get in he little 2cents ::)
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 11:11:52 AM
yuh know i was thinking about something, this is a good test for dem young fellas to see who could step up to d big stage, i pretty sure that is d motive behind the current team selection.
Post by: Themanfriday on May 15, 2008, 11:26:08 AM

Jackula is dat you? 

:devil: jack want to get in he little 2cents ::)

He betta save it tuh pay de players
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 11:35:30 AM
but then why would he call up Stern ? he defintely knows what he can/cant do ? in fact why would he have any of the top guys ? I think there will be changes for qualification as our intercol side will get rinse in the stadium !

Maybe because he wants a mixture of youth and experience??

....jeezus crise
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 15, 2008, 12:31:34 PM
Well, emotion aside the coach has extensive experience and done well so far. So I holding my mouth until....

But Maturana had better be correct with he gambling. I like the exposure of the youths,  but for the life of me I cyah see any footballing reasons how Jamal  Gay, as promising as the young man is,  get pick over Scotland, except for discipline or confidence  reasons.

For that alone I backing the squad 200%, and I want to see Gay and Forbes buss England net or at least get an assist and have the coach prove all of us wrong.

Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 12:46:20 PM
dam right jesus christ

dats who we going to need
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 01:02:23 PM
dam right jesus christ

Nah man...Jesus Saves!  We ent need no more goalies.
Post by: Themanfriday on May 15, 2008, 01:04:50 PM
dam right Jesus christ

Fixed it for you since it is a noun ;D
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 01:13:36 PM
Tanks / Thanks
Post by: frico on May 15, 2008, 03:24:56 PM
I would have preffered that the footballers in Trinidad abandon all international football in solidarity with the WC players and fight JW and Camps that way.This would have given the TTFF  no room to manouvre as they are capable of doing right now..with a puppet coach.That leaves us in a position to be badly beaten by England and then Jamaica.Who wants to be in that situation with WC matches just around the corner.An all out strike by our footballers would have sent out the right message to JW.We should have given up the 2010 effort in order to straighten out Mr.Jacula as he is known,you cant have your cake and eat it,some sacrifices are necessary.
Post by: dinho on May 15, 2008, 03:30:12 PM
I would have preffered that the footballers in Trinidad abandon all international football in solidarity with the WC players and fight JW and Camps that way.This would have given the TTFF  no room to manouvre as they are capable of doing right now..with a puppet coach.That leaves us in a position to be badly beaten by England and then Jamaica.Who wants to be in that situation with WC matches just around the corner.An all out strike by our footballers would have sent out the right message to JW.We should have given up the 2010 effort in order to straighten out Mr.Jacula as he is known,you cant have your cake and eat it,some sacrifices are necessary.

you are a joker.

where you was hiding these last few months when things was going good?

is like you just couldn't wait for the first sign of distress to come running out de woodworks..

steups
Post by: Deeks on May 15, 2008, 03:34:30 PM
I say give Pacho the benefit of the doubt on this one. This is not a WC match or the final 22(if we qualify for SA).

This game as far as I am concern is a big hype-out of proportion fete match. Let us see how they do against Bermuda first before we start ponging Pacho.

Jason will be on the team as long as his name keep appearing in the scoring column in England. Our biggest problem is our very slown start coupled with our weak mid-field and shaky defence.

Strilkers is the least of our problem right now.
Post by: sub1 on May 15, 2008, 05:11:04 PM
Maturana has been to the WC on more than one occasion and knows that football is a "young people" sport. We went to the last WC with one of the oldest teams in the competition's history. The least of our worries is up front. Jason was not, is not and will not be our savior. I dont see any conspiracy here. The man has the experience of Stern to work along with Kenwyn and the youths to learn from them. If we qualify Stern will not be a starter! Our problem is in defence hence Lawrence, who Simoes discarded, will be an automatic starter.

I am 100% behind Maturana on this one. He is 5 games without a loss. How would picking Scotland prevent a loss when he does not play defense....at all.......Football is for young people. Leave Maturana and his kids alone. They may very well surprise all the naysayers as he has surprised me.
Post by: Football supporter on May 15, 2008, 05:27:28 PM
dam right jesus christ

Nah man...Jesus Saves! Yeah, but Kenwyne scores with the rebound   :rotfl:  We ent need no more goalies.
Post by: Midknight on May 15, 2008, 07:00:05 PM
dam right jesus christ

I like the joke...but alyuh really believe JMW/M. Phillip is the second coming of Gordon Banks?

Genuine question eh. I ent see either one play enough to know.
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 07:14:25 PM
dam right jesus christ

I like the joke...but alyuh really believe JMW/M. Phillip is the second coming of Gordon Banks?

Genuine question eh. I ent see either one play enough to know.

Haven't seen a whole lot of JMW, and none of Marvin Phillip...but I'm a Williams fan.  I think he has the potential to be the next in a line of great TnT custodians.  He needs more seasoning and being farmed out to Belgium or wherever he is right now should reap benefits by time 2010 comes around, qualify or no qualify.
Post by: Grande on May 15, 2008, 07:24:30 PM
There is definitely something to be said for the obvious "mixture of youth and experience" approach but as strikers playing up front, how exactly are Jones and Stern going to exercise that experience upon the youth and locals?

How well Stern and Jones play depends more on how Hyland, Whitley and Daniel use their brains on the field...not de other way around. And well Scotland does run at men but he eh playin

That midfield decent but it hardly deep...throw Yorke or Latas or Birchall or Samuel in there, them will be spraying passes all over, forcing the youths/locals to make runs and think wider.. and then yuh could talk 'mixture of youth and experience'...Stern and KJ can't really do that from their positions

Anyway friendly is a friendly and WCQ is priority but I still wish we had we best side for England
Post by: Trinishottaz on May 15, 2008, 07:45:10 PM
i ent lying to tell  alyuh but we goin get a dread cut ass thanks to this shit coach they appoint .we hav shit defense aton on it ,shit midfield oh yes we goin to be de laughin stock of the world when dis match done
Post by: Jefferz on May 15, 2008, 07:45:38 PM
now this is enough to really break the man's spirit.

cruel f**kin blow.

cruel.
Post by: ZionYouth on May 15, 2008, 08:02:54 PM
Dat is f**k'n bullshit....
Post by: Trinishottaz on May 15, 2008, 08:05:04 PM
not cruel meh boy i jus being honestttttttttttttttttttttttttttt u really feel that sid ethat mad man coach pick coul every beat england ,david beckam ,wanye rooney ,lampard, you could lie to urself ,i chosse not to :(
Post by: Jefferz on May 15, 2008, 08:12:36 PM
not cruel meh boy i jus being honestttttttttttttttttttttttttttt u really feel that sid ethat mad man coach pick coul every beat england ,david beckam ,wanye rooney ,lampard, you could lie to urself ,i chosse not to :(

huh?

i wasnt replyin to your post i was just sayin that it was a cruel blow for scotland.

especially after not gettin ah chance to play in the world cup and now this, even after he's had such a good season.

it's unacceptable.
Post by: weary1969 on May 15, 2008, 08:33:03 PM
Let's give Pancho d benefit of d doubt after all in door 1 he has Scotland and door 2 he has El Dorado Snr Comp starr. I side with Pancho go wit d yute I mean it obvious 2 everybody except we on dis site what Pancho doin after al he is we coach so we need 2 back we coach
Post by: frico on May 16, 2008, 03:19:34 AM
That is exactly my feeling,you have put that very simple and to the point.I am with Trinishottaz all the way you do not play England with in-experienced yutes,Iwould be praying on my knees that they dont put 8 in we rass.That man Maturana is a puppet.Ah just dont want the rest of the world to laugh at us.
Post by: WestCoast on May 16, 2008, 03:23:05 AM
hole orn, HOLD ORN, I hoping dats Mats does speak TrinBagonian oui,  as ent      AXE = Ask :devil:

maybe Lasana get mix up :rotfl:
Post by: Sando on May 16, 2008, 04:35:17 AM

Sam, yuh really really really good bro !!!!!!

Guys, lets forget about Jason Scotland for now.... give the youths a chance. Jason has always had an attitude problem, I am sure there is some logical explanation. Jason himself dosen't even care, why should we.
Post by: WestCoast on May 16, 2008, 05:23:26 AM
Guys, lets forget about Jason Scotland for now.... give the youths a chance. Jason has always had an attitude problem, I am sure there is some logical explanation. Jason himself dosen't even care, why should we.
1) Yeah Jason have some ATTITUDE problem allright..........HE SHOWED dem this year that he deserved a call up by scoring 29 GOALS...
Nice ATTITUDE I say ;)
2) How do you know that he does not care? Maybe he fed up with Jackula and Jackula's GAMES over the years.  Nobody knows what he Cares about...........except that he Cared enough this past year to score 29 Goals and get the golden boot award.
ALLYA getttin my point?
Post by: Themanfriday on May 16, 2008, 05:36:25 AM

CENT, FIVE CENT, TEN CENT, HMMMM ah need another drink
Post by: Sando on May 16, 2008, 07:41:16 AM
1) Yeah Jason have some ATTITUDE problem allright..........HE SHOWED dem this year that he deserved a call up by scoring 29 GOALS...
Nice ATTITUDE I say ;)
2) How do you know that he does not care? Maybe he fed up with Jackula and Jackula's GAMES over the years.  Nobody knows what he Cares about...........except that he Cared enough this past year to score 29 Goals and get the golden boot award.
ALLYA getttin my point?

So !!!!! de man get dropped.... big deal... maybe being dropped might work to our advantage, he may come back hungry.... give the youth a chance, this is the only way they will become better...

This game has more meaning to Jamal Gay that it is to Scotland...
Post by: trinikev on May 16, 2008, 07:55:28 AM
Nice ATTITUDE I say ;)
ALLYA getttin my point?

So !!!!! de man get dropped.... big deal... maybe being dropped might work to our advantage, he may come back hungry.... give the youth a chance, this is the only way they will become better...

Where u get that from?? I looking for clarification, cuz i cah see right now where u comin from with this statement
Post by: WestCoast on May 16, 2008, 08:10:49 AM
Nice ATTITUDE I say ;)
ALLYA getttin my point?

I goin an call you Clair
short for Clairvoyant ;D ;D
Post by: Sando on May 16, 2008, 08:36:31 AM
You guys head shallow... the game will do Gay (for example) a whole heap of good (experience). Scotland have experience under his belt allready, let the youth get a chance he might surprise you.

A good mixture of experience and youth is the way forward. By the next world cup we will have a seasoned bunched thanks to Matruana whether he here or not.
Post by: madness1969 on May 16, 2008, 09:09:15 AM
allyuh need to respect de coach. at de end of de day, de coach will be blamed for selecting a wrong team. tnt needs de mixture on de field. if u look around de world and looking at de us and mexico, they mixed up de teams. de coach have to find a chemistry in de players. i think tnt will give england a good run for their money. i smelling a upset in de friendly.
Post by: TrinInfinite on May 16, 2008, 10:09:08 AM
You guys head shallow... the game will do Gay (for example) a whole heap of good (experience). Scotland have experience under his belt allready, let the youth get a chance he might surprise you.

A good mixture of experience and youth is the way forward. By the next world cup we will have a seasoned bunched thanks to Matruana whether he here or not.

in all honesty, if you look at the level of play of each of our strikers, darryl is playing at a very high level, higher than the championship and league one, Eerste Divisie is at the same level as the epl, so really, jones and roberts playing at a higher level than stern and scotland, jones injured, so roberts and stern are next in line then scotland, plus maturana believe in the youths so he will try them over a foreign based because of our future prep, i doubt scotland will miss wcqualifiers.

God is de BOSS...
Post by: dinho on May 16, 2008, 10:20:45 AM

in all honesty, if you look at the level of play of each of our strikers, darryl is playing at a very high level, higher than the championship and league one, Eerste Divisie is at the same level as the epl, so really, jones and roberts playing at a higher level than stern and scotland, jones injured, so roberts and stern are next in line then scotland, plus maturana believe in the youths so he will try them over a foreign based because of our future prep, i doubt scotland will miss wcqualifiers.

God is de BOSS...

so what you are saying is.. once you playing first division football, then it dont matter if yuh not getting picked or not performing, because yuh national team pick sure?

even if a man a couple divisions below smash records, win player of the season and win titles?

then i guess scotland should just tell heself he go never sweat for trinidad.. ever
Post by: Bakes on May 16, 2008, 10:21:12 AM

God is de BOSS...

You must be smoke some bad weed to think that the Dutch Eredivisie is at the same level as the EPL.
Post by: UPRISING on May 16, 2008, 10:44:43 AM

God is de BOSS...

You must be smoke some bad weed to think that the Dutch Eredivisie is at the same level as the EPL.

Aye boss - doh put down weed like dat nah bredda - - Dat man is obviously a spranga tuh make dat statement..check him fuh coke, crack and hero!!
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 16, 2008, 10:55:18 AM

God is de BOSS...

so what you are saying is.. once you playing first division football, then it dont matter if yuh not getting picked or not performing, because yuh national team pick sure?

even if a man a couple divisions below smash records, win player of the season and win titles?

then i guess scotland should just tell heself he go never sweat for trinidad.. ever
But Roberts was picked  in almost every single game. Started quite a few. Subbed on in quite a few others. Was the leading scorer of his team for a while til he get overtake near the end. So the scenario you describing doesn't apply.

And whatever level of play you ascribe to the Eriedivisie, it's surely higher than League One. Nuff men score up a storm in League One, went Championship and couldn't make a note.
Post by: trinbago on May 16, 2008, 11:02:03 AM
While the EPL is great, if not the BEST....some people seem to think once yuh playin in England, regardless of the league, it better than any other league in the world.....
Post by: dinho on May 16, 2008, 11:18:08 AM
Is almost like allyuh trying to slight Scotland's accomplishments?

I not trying to compare leagues and levels, but my point is.. yuh cyah just say well because a man playing Eridivisie he pick sure regardless of what ah next man do in League One. Regardless of your opinion on the level he's playing at, when someone scores 30 goals at any level of football, you sit up and take notice.

Don't get me wrong eh because I real happy that Roberts has been selected, but I was just addressing TI's statement.

I not for totally omitting a player with proven quality who is in the form of his life.

If anything they shouldve picked them both!
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 16, 2008, 11:29:29 AM

I not trying to compare leagues and levels, but my point is.. yuh cyah just say well because a man playing Eridivisie he pick sure regardless of what ah next man do in League One. Regardless of your opinion on the level he's playing at, when someone scores 30 goals at any level of football, you sit up and take notice.

Don't get me wrong eh because I real happy that Roberts has been selected, but I was just addressing TI's statement.

I not for totally omitting a player with proven quality who is in the form of his life.

We agree.

Post by: D.H.W on May 16, 2008, 11:32:08 AM

We agree.

i was thinking the same thing, yuh have 26 men yuh call up, why not 27 one man extra.
Post by: Bakes on May 16, 2008, 11:36:43 AM
Aye boss - doh put down weed like dat nah bredda - - Dat man is obviously a spranga tuh make dat statement..check him fuh coke, crack and hero!!

I ent put down weed bredda...just 'bad' weed  ;D

While the EPL is great, if not the BEST....some people seem to think once yuh playin in England, regardless of the league, it better than any other league in the world.....

I fail to see the pertinence of this comment...seeing that no one has said anything about which league is 'BEST'.
Post by: WestCoast on May 16, 2008, 11:37:41 AM

I ent put down weed bredda...just 'bad' weed  ;D
maybe it have some "dust" in it :devil:
Post by: Midknight on May 16, 2008, 11:56:56 AM

Also, it is understood that record goalscorer Stern John was included in the squad partly as a result of the wrist injury to Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones.

This line have me confused though. Is Liburd saying that Stern only get call up because KJ might not play the game and he is going to have to cover for KJ and/or he wasn't in the original list? Does that mean we done know we playing 4-5-1 or 5-4-1 against England  and we only planning to have one man up top (KJ if fit, Stern if not?), long before training, videotape session etc start? Does that mean if KJ didn't have the injury, Maturana wouldn't have bother to call back Stern to ride pine?
Post by: takenoprisoners on May 16, 2008, 02:06:27 PM

This line have me confused though. Is Liburd saying that Stern only get call up because KJ might not play the game and he is going to have to cover for KJ and/or he wasn't in the original list? Does that mean we done know we playing 4-5-1 or 5-4-1 against England  and we only planning to have one man up top (KJ if fit, Stern if not?), long before training, videotape session etc start? Does that mean if KJ didn't have the injury, Maturana wouldn't have bother to call back Stern to ride pine?

Dais how I read it. Probably  Stern was  included in case Kenwyne could not play. My guess is they were planning to share the big forward role between Kenwyne and Gay 45mins each with Roberts and Jorslin as support strikers.( 4-4-1-1)
Maturana is using this game to blood the yutes, he have b@lls!!!. :beermug:  TTFF sold the game based on the hype of Latapy ,Yorke et al " a score to settle" which gave the impression we would be fielding our strongest team.  ::)