Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on May 15, 2008, 12:04:10 PM

Title: Maturana names his squad for England clash.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 15, 2008, 12:04:10 PM
Maturana names his squad for England clash.

Francisco Maturana has called up a squad of twenty-six players to prepare for the upcoming friendly international against England carded for the Hasely Crawford Stadium on June 1.

Maturana finalized his squad on Sunday following the 3-0 victory over Barbados at the Marvin Lee Stadium and will begin training on May 24 at the Larry Gomes Stadium, leading up to the game.

Included in the squad are ten overseas-based professionals. They are Stern John (Southampton), Kenwyne Jones (Sunderland), Kevaughn Connell (Sannois Saint-Gratien), Clayton Ince (Walsall), Jan Michael Williams, Dennis Lawrence (Swansea City), Ancil Farrier (University of Southern Connecticut), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Carlos Edwards (Sunderland) and Dutch-based forward Darryl Roberts.

Several home-based professionals who have featured in recent internationals have been included by Maturana. They include Kern Cupid, Makan Hislop, Anton Pierre, Keon Daniel, Ataullah Guerra and strikers Jamal Gay and Jerol Forbes among others. Interim captain Aurtis Whitley has also been included.

“This is the list of players that we have come up with for the match against England. These are the players we think will help to make the best team for the match and we will work and prepare as best as possible to make it happen,” Maturana told TTFF Media.

“We have included some of the younger players who we have seen progress from and the opportunity is now there for them to showcase themselves. The game is an important warm up for our team and we will take every moment in the preparation and the match seriously. I also want to mention that we will continue to monitor players over the coming period,” Maturana concluded.

It is with great pride that we submit our provisional list of selected players who shall participate in the training sessions leading up to the Centennial match.

Of this initial group of twenty-six (26), a final squad of eighteen (18) shall be named on May 27th to go into camp along with the technical staff for final preparations. We would like to express our appreciation for the loyalty shown by our local fans in the past few home friendly games and we look forward to that continued support as the National Team continues its journey. The Soca Warriors are currently unbeaten in 8 straight matches.

The England National team, for which a provisional squad has already been named, will arrive here on May 29 following its departure out of Luton.

Provisional Squad List for T&T vs England.

Goalkeepers[/b]

1.Clayton Ince - Walsall FC
2.Jan Michael Williams – Sheffield United
3.Marvin Phillip – W Connection

Defenders
4.Kareem Smith – United Petrotrin
5.Kern Cupid – W Connection
6.Keyeno Thomas – Joe Public
7.Makan Hislop – United Petrotrin
8.Anton Pierre – Defence Force
9.Dennis Lawrence – Swansea City FC
10.Akeem Adams – W Connection
11.Ancil Farrier – University Of Southern Connecticut
12.Akile Edwards – Defence Force
13.Osei Telesford – Puerto Rico Highlanders

Midfielders
14.Aurtis Whitley – W Connection
15.Keon Daniel – United Petrotrin
16.Ataullah Guerra – San Juan Jabloteh
17.Khaleem Hyland – Unattached
18.Kevon Carter – Defence Force
19.Carlos Edwards – Sunderland
20.Kevaughn Connell – l'Entente SSG
21.Stephan David – Caledonia AIA

Forwards
22.Jerol Forbes – United Petrotrin
23.Jamal Gay – Under 20s
24.Stern John – Southampton
25.Kenwyne Jones – Sunderland
26.Darryl Roberts – Dutch-based
Title: Re: Maturana names his squad for England clash
Post by: Sando prince on May 15, 2008, 12:07:32 PM
So Patterson aint get a bligh 
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 12:10:36 PM

Patterson and Scotland should have been in for Forbes and Gay

Birchall for Stephen David

I will allow Avery and Sancho to be excused due to lack of fitness... Also Cyd and Andrews out with Injury... so those 4 omissions are fine....

Ummm?  Why No Scotland? No reason was told...

Post by: supporter on May 15, 2008, 12:12:48 PM
You gotta be flickin shitting me...

Someone from the university of southern connecticut got called up for this game? We're not playing american samoa.

Hyland is selected even though he has no club

Jan Michael Williams playing regularly for Sheff Utd?

Telesford at Puerto Rico? He just signed and hasnt been playing much.

Sancho, Avery, Scotland, Spann and Birchall must really be in the doghouse if these guys are selected before them. Now you can definetly say there is a blacklist and all the reasons Maturana gave for not including people like Birchall was complete bullshit. Im tired of the lies, and disappointed that our new coach is in on the lying game, as well.

btw Fuentes couldnt even list the club for Darryl Roberts? How unprofessional and sloppy is that

We're collecting 8 in our arse
Post by: Sando prince on May 15, 2008, 12:14:55 PM

Someone from the university of southern connecticut got called up for this game? We're not playing american samoa.

Telesford?

Sancho, Avery, Scotland, Spann and Birchall must really be in the doghouse if these guys are selected before them. Now you can definetly say there is a blacklist and all the reasons Maturana gave for not including people like Birchall was complete bullshit. Im tired of the lies, and disappointed that our new coach is in on the lying game, as well.

btw Fuentes couldnt even list the club for Darryl Roberts? How unprofessional and sloppy is that
Sancho is not fit and you are a brave man to mention Spann right now
Post by: SUPA on May 15, 2008, 12:21:12 PM
Wid all de thing and thing, dat lil yute (Gay) name just keep showing up on all games. Apart from all de lil issues here and there, ah like tuh see dem yutes getting dey chance. Ah know some members listed his faults, dat is understood, cuz he is still ah baby in my book, he will only get better. What making meh feel really good, is dat de coach have tuh be seeing something special in dat kid. Cuz Maturana not taking any prisoners, he leaving out people left and right from he squad. I think is just a matter of time before Gay really light it up. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 15, 2008, 12:21:41 PM

roberts  got released from his old club
Post by: supporter on May 15, 2008, 12:22:45 PM

Telesford?

Sancho is not fit and you are a brave man to mention Spann right now

ok well i mention spann but hes getting more training than some of the guys named.

And, where's Sealy? James? Wheres Neaves?

Its like we started over  ???
Post by: supporter on May 15, 2008, 12:24:16 PM

roberts  got released from his old club

mustve missed that one. I take back my Fuentes comment then....thought he was showing well over at Rotterdam. Im gonna have to look that story up
Post by: SUPA on May 15, 2008, 12:28:22 PM
Ah know each member will have dey opinion, some of us might be pissed off and thing, it is understood. I and all eh 2 please, but ah willing tuh wait and see if de coach system and specially picked players give us a solid and proud performance first, before ah empty a bottle of Tylenol. All yuh doh get hyped up as yet nah man, let dem play, give dem a chance. Yuh never know, a new superstar from Trinidad & Tobago might be found. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Coop's on May 15, 2008, 12:32:45 PM
I like this Coach boy,do your thing as you see fit,play your game as you see it,because in the end is you that have to take the blame for everything,one good thing after all is said and done you don't have to stay and live here, like all the others.Coaching in T&T is a tough job and i'm not sure if Coaches that has ever worked in T&T does want to return weather they are successful or not.  
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 12:32:56 PM
My 18 and Starting XI

GOALKEEPERS
2.Jan Michael Williams - Sheffield United

DEFENDERS
4.Kareem Smith - United Petrotrin
7.Makan Hislop - United Petrotrin
9.Dennis Lawrence - Swansea City FC
11. Ancil Farrier- University Of Southern Connecticut
12. Aklie Edwards – Defence Force
13. Osei Telesford – Puerto Rico Highlanders

MIDFIELDERS
15.Keon Daniel - United Petrotrin
17.Khaleem Hyland - Unattached
18.Kevon Carter - Defence Force
19.Carlos Edwards - Sunderland
20.Kevaughn Connell - French based

FORWARDS
23.Jamal Gay - Under 20s
24.Stern John- Southampton
25.Kenwyne Jones- Sunderland

Starting XI:

C.Ince

K.Smith
O.Telesford
D.Lawrence
A.Edwards

C.Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
K.Daniel

S.John
K.Jones

Subs: JM.Williams....M.Hislop...A.Farrier....K.Carter...K.Connell...J.Gay..D.Roberts

*I pick Gay cuz Forbes style is similar to Stern and Roberts...Gay is a target man like KJ..

Starting XI i will kill someone for:

K.Jack(even though we safe with Ince..i just prefer Jack)

C.Gray...get Fit!!!...With Smith/Cupid/Spann/Atiba Charles as cover
D.Lawrence
B.Sancho or M.Andrews...either or one starting one on the bench....With J.James/Hislop/Telesford/A.Pierre as cover
A.John...with A.Edwards/A.Farrier/A.Adams as cover

C.Edwards.....with Kerry Baptiste/Tinto/Carter as cover
A.Whitley
C.Birchall!!!!!!!!!!!!!! with Hyland/Theobald/Spann as cover for the CM's
K.Daniel/K.Connell....with C.Samuel as cover

S.John
K.Jones ....with Roberts and Scotty as cover for the Strikers

Post by: Trini _2026 on May 15, 2008, 12:53:40 PM
My 18 and Starting XI

GOALKEEPERS

DEFENDERS

MIDFIELDERS

FORWARDS
23.Jamal Gay - Under 20s

Starting XI:

C.Ince

K.Smith
O.Telesford
D.Lawrence
A.Edwards

C.Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
K.Daniel

S.John
K.Jones

Subs: JM.Williams....M.Hislop...A.Farrier....K.Carter...K.Connell...J.Gay..D.Roberts

*I pick Gay cuz Forbes style is similar to Stern and Roberts...Gay is a target man like KJ..

D.Lawrence
B.Sancho or M.Andrews...either or one starting one on the bench....With J.James/Hislop/Telesford/A.Pierre as cover

A.Whitley

S.John

why daniel on the left? that is Connell spot
Title: Re: Maturana names his squad for England clash.
Post by: truetrini on May 15, 2008, 12:59:15 PM
And Bleeder drop case against TTFF, Jacko make he Captain and now he get dropped.

ahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Karma is ah BIATCH!
Post by: warmonga on May 15, 2008, 01:08:39 PM
I tell yuh I like this man .. He picking a young squad and aint looking to bring ole man outta retirement.. Respect Maturana everytime
War
Post by: Touches on May 15, 2008, 01:11:48 PM
Small Mag,

I like them two post yuh make there...Scotland,Patterson and Birchall in Forbes, David and Guy out.

In the second post yuh have I ent want to believe Aklie Edwards could make that squad. Luton Shelton and Tyrone Marshall eat that up raw and Maturana had to save him by subbing him.

He ent ready for Rooney and dem. It have men on my fete match squad ripping he...In fact I with meh bad knee big belly self could give him a portion.

Yuh Leave out Keyno Thomas...I want he to partner Lawrence in the back. He is the best defender for us over all the games thus far and the one with experience. Yuh ent see how he handle the Jamaicans or wha. Even the commentators mentioned his strength.

My side will be

Ince

Smith    Thomas   Lawrence  Carlos Edwards

Latapy   Yorke    Whitley    Connell

Stern     Jones

Subs....Hyland for Yorke, Daniel for Latapy, Roberts and Guy to get a  corbeaux at the end.

Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 01:15:57 PM
stueps better than nothing yes  :'(, good luck Warriors  :beermug:. at least they should of give Scottie and Birchie a try out, if they aint make the cut to 18, no scene
Post by: E-man on May 15, 2008, 01:19:40 PM
I see Yorke and Latas didn't respond to the call up.
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 01:20:11 PM
ah want to see who making the final 18
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 01:21:09 PM

they must be say let the young fellas get some experience our time gone.
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 01:22:00 PM
nice tream selection Jack maturana   :'(
Post by: Touches on May 15, 2008, 01:33:01 PM
You sure bout that E-Man

I real want to see Latapy tun up Gerrard and Lampard!

I still hoping for him and Yorke...in some article it was said they getting a 45 min run.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 15, 2008, 01:33:48 PM
Small Mag,

I like them two post yuh make there...Scotland,Patterson and Birchall in Forbes, David and Guy out.

In the second post yuh have I ent want to believe Aklie Edwards could make that squad. Luton Shelton and Tyrone Marshall eat that up raw and Maturana had to save him by subbing him.

He ent ready for Rooney and dem. It have men on my fete match squad ripping he...In fact I with meh bad knee big belly self could give him a portion.

Yuh Leave out Keyno Thomas...I want he to partner Lawrence in the back. He is the best defender for us over all the games thus far and the one with experience. Yuh ent see how he handle the Jamaicans or wha. Even the commentators mentioned his strength.

My side will be

Ince

Smith    Thomas   Lawrence  Carlos Edwards

Latapy   Yorke    Whitley    Connell

Stern     Jones

Subs....Hyland for Yorke, Daniel for Latapy, Roberts and Guy to get a  corbeaux at the end.

It was Akeem Adams the 17 year old that had to get sub off...pure nerves... He is decent for the future but not now at all... LOL imagine him vs Any England Right winger lol..

Also sorry  that starting XI is shit...Latas on the right?  de man is nearly 40 lol!   Carlos will play RW...he chose 3 LB's   1 will start in his "gain experience campaign"

Let that f**king Colombian get anything wrong over the next 2 games..."Stand Up if you want him out" Campaign will be in full effect...

I would do a "Take your Shoes off..if you want him out" Campaign to get more media attention like Newcastle and other English Clubs do but Stupid Trini's wouldnt understand..it will be more like "You out your fuking mind awa white boy" "I ent taking off my clarks for nothing"
Post by: PATRIOT on May 15, 2008, 01:34:43 PM

Nah man, that up there is MATURANA's call up, DW & RL are JW's call-up...besides all the ads for the game showing DY and RL...yuh tink they could do that and them 2 fellas NOT play? That would be highly unethical and definitely false advertising...ENT??? :devil: :rotfl:
Post by: PATRIOT on May 15, 2008, 01:36:17 PM

Patterson and Scotland should have been in for Forbes and Gay

Birchall for Stephen David

I will allow Avery and Sancho to be excused due to lack of fitness... Also Cyd and Andrews out with Injury... so those 4 omissions are fine....

Ummm?  Why No Scotland? No reason was told...

Agree 1000% WIT YUH THERE!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on May 15, 2008, 01:39:16 PM
And Bleeder drop case against TTFF, Jacko make he Captain and now he get dropped.

ahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Karma is ah BIATCH!

......and de congregation say Amen (sorry truetrini  ;D)..

...ah know it had another reason ah doh like him.  How could I forget besides not doing nutten to deserve being on de team, he jump ship on the others like a snake when push come to shove..... >:(

Whey yuh kiffy??....
Post by: palos on May 15, 2008, 01:44:46 PM
In fact I with meh bad knee big belly self could give him a portion.

::) ::)
Post by: Babalawo on May 15, 2008, 01:47:26 PM
oh god let the man lose more games than he won to start critizing him nah.  allyuh trini worst than them new yorkers we :rotfl: . Isn't Maturana undefeated?
Post by: kounty on May 15, 2008, 01:50:07 PM
Wid all de thing and thing, dat lil yute (Gay) name just keep showing up on all games.  HIGHLY BLESSED.

that Gay fella have a vibes just like the vibes when yorke was breaking into the team.  I hope he buss out and score vs England, den everybody go say Maturana is a Boss - Gay for the future.  Or it might backfire, somebody say he getting more confident with every game and playing better...I believe he muss have something special to get that call.  coach jus puttin faith in him.
Post by: Dutty on May 15, 2008, 01:52:29 PM
ah hope dah spanish man know wuh he doin in trute

de only way I could see dis workin out good is if he plan to spike to english team water cooler wit babash
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 02:01:52 PM
ah hope dah spanish man know wuh he doin in trute

de only way I could see dis workin out good is if he plan to spike to english team water cooler wit babash

good plan :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on May 15, 2008, 02:27:27 PM

De 'someone' is a D-II first-team All-American. Buh that shouldn't matter ... this game is less about labels and more about how one shows. Apparently he shows.

Secondly, I am yet to hear/read Maturana making any pronouncement on Birchall. 

Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 02:38:42 PM

De 'someone' is a D-II first-team All-American. Buh that shouldn't matter ... this game is less about labels and more about how one shows. Apparently he shows.

Secondly, I am yet to hear/read Maturana making any pronouncement on Birchall. 

is always corneal talking, i doh think i ever hear maturana talk yuh know.
Post by: just cool on May 15, 2008, 02:53:48 PM
What happen to Julius James ?
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 03:06:02 PM

aye, i forget about he yes.
Post by: Gladman on May 15, 2008, 03:53:39 PM
Whats d worst that could happen verses England .Now if d man get a positive result everybody will say he is a master tactician ,but d man givin d youth a chance.Givin the local players this international exposure will only improve our standard of play.
Post by: dinho on May 15, 2008, 04:05:05 PM
Here wuz my problem eh..

Is no scene if yuh going and try the youths and dem..

if that is the stated policy then all well and good..

But if that is the case, then why yuh hadda leave man like Birchall, Scotland, Glenn, Avery and company out in the cold without a clue as to what the methodology is??

Yuh mean to say, yuh cyah give ah man ah call and say:

"Hear what nuh Scotty. Oigame for ah second.. Right now we looking for de best combinations and giving men some opportunities, but we want you to know that you in de pool and we know what you could do. Congrats on your player of the year, golden boot and league championship by de way eh hombre.. Adios amigo"

"Birchall.. We know what yuh could do and we go be looking for you to play a big part in de future.. Ah did see the tapes of your golazos and me gusta mucho... But right now we giving Hyland a run so that when de time come, we go have a big squad to choose from.. Gracias Gringo"

I could live with that man, it have ah proper way to do things.. the way them going about it make me feel like dem fellahs not in the man plans altogether.

Anyway my starting lineup:

Ince

K. Smith     Lawrence   Telesford   A. Edwards

Edwards    Whitley    Hyland      Daniel

Jones      Stern

but i have my doubts about whether Stern and Jones can play together. Also how Farrier come out from nowhere and overtake Julius James just so?
Post by: Tallman on May 15, 2008, 04:20:14 PM
Also how Farrier come out from nowhere and overtake Julius James just so?

Well is about 2 or 3 times Julius get call, and for one reason or de other he eh show up yet, plus he eh get ah sweat for TFC yet, so he hadda hold tight.
Post by: kicker on May 15, 2008, 04:38:35 PM
Interesting squad- will be nice to see the locals try to test their wits against the Brits & get a taste of where they need to be to compete against World Class opposition.....but I think we're in for a long long & very rough day in this one.....like Maturana's spirit though.....investing in the youth.

If we concede less than 4, I consider it a moral victory.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 15, 2008, 04:48:12 PM
Also how Farrier come out from nowhere and overtake Julius James just so?

Well is about 2 or 3 times Julius get call, and for one reason or de other he eh show up yet, plus he eh get ah sweat for TFC yet, so he hadda hold tight.

BINGO!
Post by: frico on May 15, 2008, 04:51:47 PM
If we can keep the score down to 6-0 Iwould see it as a good result for us but if England takes this game serious it could be 8 or 9.Ijust hope that doesn't happen.
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 04:56:20 PM
all this talk about 6 and 7 and 9 goals, stueps alyuh feel is facking Jamaica England playing ah what stueps. talk some positive stuff nah, it bad enough aready. 
Post by: dcs on May 15, 2008, 04:57:43 PM
I like K. Smith but allyuh not worried about his speed?..allyuh brave considering the speed we coming up against.

Triniman....if I remember correctly it had look like Connel and Daniel were interchanging lil bit in the Grenada game....ending of the game.

Gay confidence/fitness definitely improving since his first game.  He coming along fast and look like he doing good bit of work.

C Ince
Cupid        Thomas      Tallest       Farrier
Carlos        Whitley      Hyland      Daniel
Stern   Kenwyne

Gay,Roberts on for both fwds...wonder if coach will start one of them instead of the 2 regulars
Latas and Dwight should play 2nd half or 1st?  England might be bringing on 5 subs in 2nd half so the 1st half might be the more serious half...better test unless we have the game close going into the 2nd half.
Carlos mightn play whole game either.
I find our wing backs giving the opposition plenty real estate...doh know if that is their decision or playing to instructions but if that is the plan   :nailbiting:
Post by: davidephraim on May 15, 2008, 05:54:01 PM
Ah was coming on dis thread to real cuss (show my displeasure) in extension and connection to Jason Scotland getting dropped and de fact dat ah really feal Jack still have he hand in it and probably tellin de coach replace dem fellas with locals if yuh can... (dat is a whole different story right dey because maybe he right)anyway, Ah slow meh horses though when ah see a midfield of Keon daniel, Edwards, Whitley and hyland.... Now is not dat dat is a great midfield but with Carlos on one flank and Daniel on de next ah start to soften up a bit. Personally ah think that Birchall can take de place of Hyland ah see Hyland play Ash Wednesday... but short of dat I dont know who else ah taking out of dat midfield.. Now we onto de Forward line... Scotty get drop.. Ah feelin bad because 1. De man real ball dis year and is due de promotion as he has always been second fiddle to de likes of Yorke and Stern (kinda like Shaka and Ince) but I also know dat scotty has an eccentric way of play and as a coach is either it works for you or it doesnt. We still have Kenwayne and Stern upfront so is not like Pancho completely off he rockers. And when Kenwayne was in trouble dey call Stern who also had a magnificent season so again de reasoning is justifiable.  Onto de defence now. We defence always had issues even though De WC bunch was probably de best since de dam strike squad...Lawrence and Telesford are back in de fold and ah not sure dat avery still has what it takes.. (havent seen him play recently) Cyd gray and Sancho both did well in de WC I dont know whats up with Cyd and form and Sancho outta fitness (supposedly) so in retrospect ah realise ah go have to save meh cussin for until after de game at least because de level of play (not de result) will tell if Pancho is a mad scientist or just a madman... 

Pancho... Ah rooting for yuh... If yuh didnt just come up with de best mix and yuh only gave into pressure from JW, as de level of play will tell (not just de results), It aint go be no cake walk round these parts.  We go start to put some pressure on yuh ass. 
Post by: Diambars on May 15, 2008, 07:15:14 PM
ah though the Jack invited Yorke and latas ... it would be interesting to see if Jack will change this squad to include them.
Post by: Midknight on May 15, 2008, 07:24:04 PM
Gracias Gringo"

lord have mercy...:rotfl: You couldn't say MiMama instead? Omar dread, you have real points dey, but I not saying a word anymore. Nuff men seem to have de attitude "Let de man pick who he picking and do he job and we go shut the **** up right?."
Fair enough, but when Pacho contract up and is we to ketch in whatever situation we find weself, I doh want to hear nothing from nobody...

If England come here to curry favour they ent going and beat nobody no 6-0, whether they capable of it or not. Capello go ring in subs like mad if they cruising at the half. Way to experiment and avoid injuries while looking like you actually concerned about what going on on the field. Dis 'moral victory' talk ent worth a cent.

Anyway, as I said, I concerned about Bermuda and beyond.
I can't logically say that it ent no scene if KJ ent sweat and then get on all ignant about poor Scotty getting cut, unfortunately. I go worry what going on by the time September reach, cause mark my words, this will be one hard no ass semi group. We could get 6 points from the first two matches in the semis and still get squeeze out of going to the hex by Guatemala, if Cuba end up getting bobolise from everybody.

So I staying quiet. But I still keeping the black shirt on though.
Post by: Trinishottaz on May 15, 2008, 07:29:26 PM
Maturana  is flickin assssssssssssss if u doe like that thaz yuh blasted business we goin n get 6 in we ass . is ENGLAND we playin not barbados , grenada or none of them shit side.man who ent even playin with a club get pick n they ent pick scotty
Post by: Sando prince on May 15, 2008, 07:49:35 PM
oh god let the man lose more games than he won to start critizing him nah.  allyuh trini worst than them new yorkers we :rotfl: . Isn't Maturana undefeated?
  :applause:
Post by: Bianconeri on May 15, 2008, 11:47:02 PM
My 18 and Starting XI

GOALKEEPERS

DEFENDERS

MIDFIELDERS

FORWARDS
23.Jamal Gay - Under 20s

Starting XI:

C.Ince

K.Smith
O.Telesford
D.Lawrence
A.Edwards

C.Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
K.Daniel

S.John
K.Jones

D.Lawrence

A.Whitley

S.John

just making a comment on what ya woulda like to see. Lemme hear what ya tink

now....in my opinion...i see no need in a Cyd gray, c. Samuel, m. andrews and a. john at this stage
all a dem could get d axe in my books
nothing against them...think is time to develop new fellas...
maybe Avery could come back but the others...aint seeing it... Samuel REAL boil down since that WC ...eh know whas his scene

i see  Forbes play only once ...i tink he deserve a shot though
we have REAL talent there..not sayin he hadda get a 45mins but go be good to bring along some a dem younger fellas like roberts, forbes etc

but with all that said. TT NEEDS to play more friendlies jed...even if is not a official FIFA friendly date..
i keep sayin it and will say it again. It cannot be that hard to get a game against the likes of:

Venezuela(aye they playin in a hard no ass zone and should be around our level competitively. and they always put up a fight when we play them. Literally and figuratively. lol)

Bolivia...play them in bolivia at altitude...cause ya know we gonna play side like mexico (not sure if Costa rica and guatemala and dem is do d same ting..???) goin to play us at that level

Peru . not the cream of the crop but they will provide much better opposition than side like Guyana and barbados
hadda play better sides to improve....a lil test good every now and then...

honduras, Canada, Cuba---sides who seem to be improvin more and more.

and all these sides within close proximity to us...unlike goin to europe or england to play side...
and it might be a nice experience to go England and play some club sides to get accustom to that kinda environment....but is club sides! get real...

somebody on the board.....go and apply for a wok in TTFF and see if ya get a position in the mgm't team or soemthing...cause dem decisions to keep play much lower caribbean opposition could give us a false sense of our level of play.
Even if we play a Peru and get liks...so what...play dem d next week like a home and away friendly kinda vibe

what ya tink?

Post by: davidephraim on May 16, 2008, 12:46:14 AM
definetly we opposition recently has been smaller outfits. so from dis England game de real measuring up start.  Ah cya wait to see dat game.
Post by: Sando on May 16, 2008, 04:45:11 AM

He was callled twice but never came, one was through injury, so why should he be called now ? time waits for no one, he will get his chance again down the road.

BY THE WAY !!!!!!!

Fuentes really know how to spice things up so when England look at T&T squad they will feel ok about having a few overseas professionals on it. Jan Michael Williams (Sheffield United)...  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Didn't know Jan Michal played in England, I thought he was keeping fit at some third division team in Belgium. Where we wasn't getting any playing time either.

No offence, Shaun cool, but the fake reports will not cut it. If I am wrong, forgive me Mr Fuentes.

Who the hell is Puerto Rico Highlanders ? I thought it was Islanders.....  :rotfl:

And isn't Darryl Roberts unattached....
Post by: dreamer on May 16, 2008, 05:16:09 PM
Maturana names his squad for England clash.

Francisco Maturana has called up a squad of twenty-six players to prepare for the upcoming friendly international against England carded for the Hasely Crawford Stadium on June 1.........

.... Of this initial group of twenty-six (26), a final squad of eighteen (18) shall be named on May 27th to go into camp along with the technical staff for final preparations. We would like to express our appreciation for the loyalty shown by our local fans in the past few home friendly games and we look forward to that continued support as the National Team continues its journey. The Soca Warriors are currently unbeaten in 8 straight matches.

The England National team, for which a provisional squad has already been named, will arrive here on May 29 following its departure out of Luton.

Provisional Squad List for T&T vs England.

Goalkeepers[/b]

2.Jan Michael Williams – Sheffield United
3.Marvin Phillip – W Connection

Defenders
4.Kareem Smith – United Petrotrin
5.Kern Cupid – W Connection
6.Keyeno Thomas – Joe Public
7.Makan Hislop – United Petrotrin
8.Anton Pierre – Defence Force
9.Dennis Lawrence – Swansea City FC
10.Akeem Adams – W Connection
11.Ancil Farrier – University Of Southern Connecticut
12.Akile Edwards – Defence Force
13.Osei Telesford – Puerto Rico Highlanders

Midfielders
15.Keon Daniel – United Petrotrin
16.Ataullah Guerra – San Juan Jabloteh
17.Khaleem Hyland – Unattached
18.Kevon Carter – Defence Force
19.Carlos Edwards – Sunderland
20.Kevaughn Connell – l'Entente SSG
21.Stephan David – Caledonia AIA

Forwards
22.Jerol Forbes – United Petrotrin
23.Jamal Gay – Under 20s
24.Stern John – Southampton
25.Kenwyne Jones – Sunderland

One thing about Maturana is that he seems to have  respect for local talent that shows potential and probably an eye for that special li'l yout' who needs that break to blossom big. The way he latch on to, for example, Guerra, who is obviously something special with his touch on the ball but easily prone to become an outcast to some, says to me that he is about football with no obvious bias. Papa Cornmeal especially would probably have had nothing to do wit' he, as Papa, and to a lesser extent, son, seem to be, sorry to say this, somewhat star struck by the more "socially acceptable" college boys who hit de US circuit. This is a good combination of L'il Cornmeal and Francisco, so some credit to Anton. Telesford is de future, a Sancho type defender wit' some "defensive general" characteristics and comfortable wit' de ball at his feet. The wing backs obviously have some talent and it's a decent gamble to see how they can cope with a (much) higher level of play. Probably more conservative experimenting will occur at the all important do-or-die World Cup qualifiers. One thing worries me though is a player that has a reputation for being "slow"  in defense. To me that is a trait with a no-win scenario. Sad. I eh go mention names right now as ah need to see it again wit' meh own 2 eye.

Well, Anton can get more respect if he shows some more courtesy to some of the players who waiting fuh a calll with baited breath and who bracing for the expected TTFF-led persecution/blacklist. Just to say, breds we eh fuhget yuh eh, doh fret.. everybody go get a chance depending on de strategic need at the time......someting so nah.

Anyhow, good luck Warriors. The TT Proleague will be very well boosted by this.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 16, 2008, 05:42:15 PM
 Barbados highlights
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZAfP0EkNLKs
Post by: Storeboy on May 16, 2008, 06:06:09 PM
AS much as I am disappointed with Birchall not getting a call up, it reinforces one thing.  We have a deeper pool of talent than previously thought and anyone who play lazy getting ditched.  Look at the names not being used:  Birchall, Julius James, Scott Sealy, Randi Patterson, Densil Theobald, Silvio Spann, Avery John, Kelvin Jack.  And if Maturana mess up with his picks, we can string him up.
Post by: kiffysmooth on May 16, 2008, 09:38:06 PM

ahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Karma is ah BIATCH!

......and de congregation say Amen (sorry truetrini ;D)..

...ah know it had another reason ah doh like him. How could I forget besides not doing nutten to deserve being on de team, he jump ship on the others like a snake when push come to shove..... >:(

Whey yuh kiffy??.... 
Sugar, one day yuh goh be able to appreciate good football.....Ah cyah blame yuh right now cause yuh is ah female.........  But yuh aint see de last ah Bleedah...trust meh
Post by: Sando prince on May 16, 2008, 09:42:12 PM
AS much as I am disappointed with Birchall not getting a call up, it reinforces one thing.  We have a deeper pool of talent than previously thought and anyone who play lazy getting ditched.  Look at the names not being used:  Birchall, Julius James, Scott Sealy, Randi Patterson, Densil Theobald, Silvio Spann, Avery John, Kelvin Jack.  And if Maturana mess up with his picks, we can string him up.
Yeh am looking at the names not being used (the ones I highlighted) and based on recent performances I know why (and most of us know why) they aint being used
Post by: rippin on May 16, 2008, 10:08:31 PM
Warning long post ahead.

Ah WC 2006 squad vs the up and coming and fringe players would be interesting. I was one who was all for mixing the foreign based with the locals but I start watching Maturana sessions and realize something. The man teaching them players basics in training. I see screening, defensive positioning and finishing drills. Maybe this bunch in time will be more technically and tactically sound than the current crop we have. I think Maturana woulda make a boss youth coach. All the players Maturana has not picked we have all found faults with them during their games.

Birchie is a man I respect and his bullets up there with some of the best memories I have of the team however men here couldn't finish cry down the man for his passing. His work rate high and he was our Gattuso, a role plenty people does overlook, however he turned over the ball to frequently after breaking up the play.

Scotland first touch leaves something to be desired. I still think he hasn't been truly tested yet. In the games I have seen him in a TnT kit he didn't have an impact. Too me Patterson has had more of an impact than Scotland. That being said doh ask meh how much game I see Scotland in. ;D

Spann I have no comment on.

Cyd I ain't sure if his foot out of cast but I sure he not match fit and he not getting younger.

Avery, nuff man here call him a wild man and heart in they mouth when he playing. Plus he not guaranteed match fit.

Sancho if match fit I would still put in front of the young fellas but I am no judge of talent so maybe Maturana think with games some of the young fellas would be better.

In closing men need to remember Cyd and Medford and Cyd in the Gold Cup. Left to us he woulda never smell the side after those performances.

Just like how some didn't like Beenie and still hating on him I think with Maturana the proof will be in the pudding. Only time will tell whether or not he is the real deal. Unfortunately time is the one thing we don't have.
Post by: spideybuff on May 16, 2008, 10:21:52 PM
If we can keep the score down to 6-0 Iwould see it as a good result for us but if England takes this game serious it could be 8 or 9.Ijust hope that doesn't happen.

England doh beat side bad. And they always play shit against smaller teams. Plus, based on the makeup of the squad and the proximity of the two games including travelling time, I taking a gander that Fabio using the A-side against the USA and let the fringe players play aganst us. However, if the A-side still not performing well after the USA game, that is when he will probably make minimal changes against us and we will see the A-team.

Then again, what is an A-team and B-team when Michael Owen, Owen Hargreaves and either Frank Lampard or Gareth Barry not starting
Post by: Quags on May 16, 2008, 10:35:27 PM
Warning long post ahead.

Ah WC 2006 squad vs the up and coming and fringe players would be interesting. I was one who was all for mixing the foreign based with the locals but I start watching Maturana sessions and realize something. The man teaching them players basics in training. I see screening, defensive positioning and finishing drills. Maybe this bunch in time will be more technically and tactically sound than the current crop we have. I think Maturana woulda make a boss youth coach. All the players Maturana has not picked we have all found faults with them during their games.

Birchie is a man I respect and his bullets up there with some of the best memories I have of the team however men here couldn't finish cry down the man for his passing. His work rate high and he was our Gattuso, a role plenty people does overlook, however he turned over the ball to frequently after breaking up the play.

Scotland first touch leaves something to be desired. I still think he hasn't been truly tested yet. In the games I have seen him in a TnT kit he didn't have an impact. Too me Patterson has had more of an impact than Scotland. That being said doh ask meh how much game I see Scotland in. ;D

Spann I have no comment on.

Cyd I ain't sure if his foot out of cast but I sure he not match fit and he not getting younger.

Avery, nuff man here call him a wild man and heart in they mouth when he playing. Plus he not guaranteed match fit.

Sancho if match fit I would still put in front of the young fellas but I am no judge of talent so maybe Maturana think with games some of the young fellas would be better.

In closing men need to remember Cyd and Medford and Cyd in the Gold Cup. Left to us he woulda never smell the side after those performances.

Just like how some didn't like Beenie and still hating on him I think with Maturana the proof will be in the pudding. Only time will tell whether or not he is the real deal. Unfortunately time is the one thing we don't have.
Good post and it make sense and make me feel better too ,cause I starting to feel we go get like 8 .But one thing with the things men cry down about the missing warriors as you said ,These new players could make the same mistake as them with out bringing to the table their great attributes.e.g they go give way the ball  like Birchie ,but eint go have his shot or tackling .

Also if I remember correctly when this coach get the job .His bio said when he got the Colombian job ,he cause controversy when he mostly selected his own players and not the old proven players ....eint ,so I think he has a track record of this can somebody confirm,I beleive he chose players from his club side .
Post by: just cool on May 16, 2008, 11:14:59 PM
I believe the coach between ah rock and ah stiff c@ck if yuh ask me. 1st off) he has to follow at least some of jack's request and doesn't have the liberty to do as pleased.

2nd) remember what papa jack said when he decided to come down to earth and deal with the black list, let me remind allyuh.

he said i'm not going to need the sevices of the older warriors since they past their prime or something to that effect, he went on to say , just a few of the younger players that went to germany and the local youths would make up the team. did allyuh forget!!! so don't blame the coach.

remember the coach has a boss!!and his name is jackular!!!!

the man working with what he's got, and i think he's doing a fine job.

ah next thing. ancil farrier from what i heard played the left back better than any other left back we've had in yrs, even better than akile edwards, from the reports i've got on radio and from fellas who saw the game.

I like this team for England.

INCE.

C.  EDWARDS          O. TELESFORD    D. LAWRENCE.          A. FARRIER

D. ROBERTS             K.   HYLAND           A.   WHITLEY       K.   CONNEL

S.  JOHN                K.    JONES.

SUBS:    K.   DANIEL.    A. GUERRA.    J.  GAY.    K. THOMAS.    k. CARTER.     A. EDWARDS.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 17, 2008, 03:43:19 AM

ahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Karma is ah BIATCH!

......and de congregation say Amen (sorry truetrini ;D)..

...ah know it had another reason ah doh like him. How could I forget besides not doing nutten to deserve being on de team, he jump ship on the others like a snake when push come to shove..... >:(

Whey yuh kiffy??.... 
Sugar, one day yuh goh be able to appreciate good football.....Ah cyah blame yuh right now cause yuh is ah female.........  But yuh aint see de last ah Bleedah...trust meh

......alright now that you've shown yourself to be an absolute ididot I done wid you......and as for Bleeder coming back....I just can't wait, de excitement killing mih!!!.... ::) ::)
Post by: dcs on May 17, 2008, 07:38:34 AM

ah next thing. ancil farrier from what i heard played the left back better than any other left back we've had in yrs, even better than akile edwards, from the reports i've got on radio and from fellas who saw the game.

Need to see some more of him against better opposition but it looking that way....not sure about best in years yet eh but looking very promising with his passing and speed.
Post by: Midknight on May 17, 2008, 08:19:53 AM
I believe the coach between ah rock and ah stiff c@ck if yuh ask me.

What de ??? Thank god we didn't ask you eh... pressure

JC doh take it on eh, but is the first time I hearing that one and ah nearly fall off mih chair when I read it...
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2008, 11:09:39 AM
......alright now that you've shown yourself to be an absolute ididot I done wid you......and as for Bleeder coming back....I just can't wait, de excitement killing mih!!!.... ::) ::)

Lmao....aye, I see dat last night eh... and ah was going and ask Spliffy "so, because she's ah woman she cyah appreciate good football?".  Ah say yuh know what, de two ah dem juss messing wid each other, lemme hush.

Oh gawd, Spliffy yuh go kill we  :rotfl:
Post by: just cool on May 17, 2008, 01:03:27 PM
I believe the coach between ah rock and ah stiff c@ck if yuh ask me.

What de ??? Thank god we didn't ask you eh... pressure

JC doh take it on eh, but is the first time I hearing that one  and ah nearly fall off mih chair when I read it...
Doh shoot the messenger eh. dat one came from ah old trinidadian from curepe who's been living in america since the devil was a little boy.

as a matter of fact, he happens to be one of massefae's good friends (if yuh don't know who massefae is, he's an old legend from the east, like baddest maraj, battalal, and santa). any way that came from them old timers i used to play cards with in brooklyn.                     positive.

PS:   more importantly, what yuh think about the team i selected. i like daryl roberts in the midfield in an attacking position, and carlos could play the right back better than anyone ah dem rookies.

ah willing to bet after this game  d. roberts,K. daniel if he plays and guerra as well will land contracts in england. also whitley.
Post by: dcs on May 17, 2008, 02:29:58 PM
Guerra hasn't started in the recent games...coming on as a sub last 2 games.
Post by: Midknight on May 17, 2008, 03:59:29 PM
Doh shoot the messenger eh. dat one came from ah old trinidadian from curepe who's been living in america since the devil was a little boy.

as a matter of fact, he happens to be one of massefae's good friends (if yuh don't know who massefae is, he's an old legend from the east, like baddest maraj, battalal, and santa).
Mastifey Mastifey, meet me down by de croisee, Cutouter cutouter meet me down by Green Corner... I is one youth know mih trini mythology...

PS:   more importantly, what yuh think about the team i selected. i like daryl roberts in the midfield in an attacking position, and carlos could play the right back better than anyone ah dem rookies.
If connell look as good as people say on de left, I like you team. I just have two reservations. What is Telesford best position? He start off as a central defender and now he playind d-mid for TNT and the Islanders. I never see him in the back, so I don't know.

You a brave man to put Carlos back in the back once again after complaining that Avery getting send off deprive us of our best attacking option going forward against Sweden.I suppose is one way of dealing with the defensive problems on the flank if you have confidence in Roberts ability on the wing. I rate him (Roberts) a lot as a player, but I never see him on the wing. However, if men say that is where Sparta does play him, It good to go.
The real question mark is Hyland. I not half as impressed with him as most people seem to be, but I only see him in one game where the team as a whole was globally bad with only 2 exceptions. I would keep Tallman behind him.
Post by: kicker on May 17, 2008, 04:16:42 PM

ah willing to bet after this game  d. roberts,K. daniel if he plays and guerra as well will land contracts in england. also whitley.

Here we go again...just like after W.C. all our players were going to get contracts overseas.....A little naive innit?...

Hope yuh right though ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 17, 2008, 04:46:55 PM
keon daniel need to play in central mid
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 17, 2008, 05:25:10 PM
I feel they go play a 4-5-1. And if so, you might get your wish. I could see Daniel in de middle with a midfield five and Connell on left wing.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 18, 2008, 06:19:28 AM

Lmao....aye, I see dat last night eh... and ah was going and ask Spliffy "so, because she's ah woman she cyah appreciate good football?".  Ah say yuh know what, de two ah dem juss messing wid each other, lemme hush.

Oh gawd, Spliffy yuh go kill we  :rotfl:

Ah really wanted to give him 2 Larry Achong, but ah decide nah ah goh leave de wajang behaviour to de Parliamentarians.....dem have de market cornered on dat.... ;D
Post by: Sando prince on May 18, 2008, 10:15:01 AM
See Daniel and Hyland possibly coming on as subs in midfield...Connel will start on the left, Carter on the right, and Whitley will start in the middle with Roberts (we know that Roberts is very capable of playing in the midfield)..Now keep in mind that Carlos played alot of games as a defender in the right back position for T&T hence the reason why I think Carter may start in the midfield (Carter has been playing really well for the national team in the right wing position)..But if Maturana start Carlos on the right wing then Carter will most likely start on the bench.
Post by: grskywalker on May 18, 2008, 01:37:25 PM
NO Birchall!
NO SAMUEL!
NO SEALY!
NO CORNEL GLEN!
NO Scottie
NO Sancho

NO WIN!
Post by: just cool on May 18, 2008, 02:54:11 PM
NO Birchall!
NO SAMUEL!
NO SEALY!
NO CORNEL GLEN!
NO Scottie
NO Sancho

NO WIN!

Give the youths ah chance. Remember latapy and yorke started at a tender age , and doh tell meh them men was extra special.                                  positive
Post by: Midknight on May 18, 2008, 03:15:28 PM
NO Birchall!
NO SAMUEL!
NO SEALY!
NO CORNEL GLEN!
NO Scottie
NO Sancho

NO WIN!

Give the youths ah chance. Remember latapy and yorke started at a tender age , and doh tell meh them men was extra special.                                  positive
Dem men was extra special.
Post by: triniwings on May 18, 2008, 03:20:42 PM
It go be like dis:

Stern

Roberts

Connell                                                            Edwards

Whitley              Hyland

Farrrier                Lawrence               Hislop              Cupid

Ince

Subs: Jan,K.Daniel,Kenwyne,Gay,K.Thomas,Telesford,Guerra

I say this because.....

-He would want a holding Mid to play alongside Whitley and I do not see him starting David over Hyland.

-Daniel would come on for either Hyland or Connell.

-Telesford could come off the bench and slot in anywhere in defence or as holding mid.  He possibly could even start ahead of Hyland.  

-Kenwyne would come on in d 2nd half for Stern or Roberts.

Fellaz..wa alya tink?

Post by: dinho on May 18, 2008, 03:21:50 PM
It go be like dis:

Stern

Roberts

Connell                                                            Edwards

Whitley              Hyland

Farrrier                Lawrence               Hislop              Cupid

Ince

I say this because.....

-He would want a holding Mid to play alongside Whitley and I do not see him starting David over Hyland.

-Telesford could come off the bench and slot in anywhere in defence or as holding mid.  He possibly could even start ahead of Hyland. 

Fellaz..wa alya tink?

what i think?

kenwyne on de bench?

Post by: triniwings on May 18, 2008, 03:26:41 PM
omar....

dee man in soft cast....give him a bly nah.

He would play, but let him come on when Rio and Terry bun...and cah jump no more. :)
Post by: FATZ on May 18, 2008, 03:28:28 PM
They mad to leave out Scotland, Roberst only in there because that is one of Corneal's cash cows.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 18, 2008, 03:32:39 PM
omar....

dee man in soft cast....give him a bly nah.

He would play, but let him come on when Rio and Terry bun...and cah jump no more. :)

Not an impossible scenario ... as far as a delayed entry, that is. No comment on formation.
Post by: triniwings on May 18, 2008, 03:32:51 PM
Yeh....I happy with the entire selection except dah one....Scottie should have been there.

But to be fair, Roberts need the exposure to play for T&T at a high INTERNATIONAL level as well....Scottie got the exposure in Gold Cup, WCQ and and World Cup.  We know what we gettin wit Scottie so his place I think is sealed for the upcoming WCQ.

Also his ommission indicates that Mataz only playin one striker so I doh mind after all.  He will get his chance. Let d youts get this lil bit of exposure that we could rarely give them...wah ya say?

Post by: Dinner Mints on May 18, 2008, 03:52:07 PM
They mad to leave out Scotland, Roberts only in there because that is one of Corneal's cash cows.
Roberts is there because he was playing and scoring in a top flight European league. Just because you don't follow the Dutch league, or because he doesn't have 20 threads dedicated to him, doesn't mean his pick is undeserved.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 18, 2008, 04:24:28 PM
It go be like dis:

Stern

Roberts

Connell                                                            Edwards

Whitley              Hyland

Farrrier                Lawrence               Hislop              Cupid

Ince

I say this because.....

-Telesford could come off the bench and slot in anywhere in defence or as holding mid.  He possibly could even start ahead of Hyland.  

Fellaz..wa alya tink?

the college boy start well yes !!!
Post by: triniwings on May 18, 2008, 04:37:03 PM
Trini_2010.....did you see the Barbados game?

Barbados was their biggest test(after Jamaica) and d yout look like on of the more complete left sided players I have seen play at left back for T&T.  I also like Akile Edwards(reliable and tidy)...but Farrier is a more complete player defensively and offensively.

Just take a look at the highlights of the Barbados game(see link below and scroll down to Tallman post wit d highlights).

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=35783.90

The yout rel involved going forward...and I think he solid and reliable as well as a defender.  Imagine for the first time, our left side go be rel strong(Farrier-Connel). Wat a ting.

Wa ya say?

Post by: Trini _2026 on May 18, 2008, 04:50:53 PM

Barbados was their biggest test(after Jamaica) and d yout look like on of the more complete left sided players I have seen play at left back for T&T.  I also like Akile Edwards(reliable and tidy)...but Farrier is a more complete player defensively and offensively.

Just take a look at the highlights of the Barbados game(see link below and scroll down to Tallman post wit d highlights).

The yout rel involved going forward...and I think he solid and reliable as well as a defender.  Imagine for the first time, our left side go be rel strong(Farrier-Connel). Wat a ting.

Wa ya say?

based on a game against barbados ?  well yes!1  i hope it eh ashley young that start
Post by: triniwings on May 18, 2008, 04:57:27 PM
Who ya rather....Farrier..Akile Edwards or CXC Form5 boy Akeem Adams.

Give d yout a chance....he showin rel potential.  The US colleges play at a decent level.....he will handle he stories.

Dey are all good players wit potential....but Farrier is a more complete player...daz jus my opinion....

triniwings.
Post by: just cool on May 18, 2008, 04:58:00 PM

Wa ya say?

based on a game against barbados ?  well yes!1  i hope it eh ashley young that start
Ashley young is ah left winger, i've never seen him play on the right side before.
Post by: FATZ on May 18, 2008, 05:39:47 PM
They mad to leave out Scotland, Roberts only in there because that is one of Corneal's cash cows.
Roberts is there because he was playing and scoring in a top flight European league. Just because you don't follow the Dutch league, or because he doesn't have 20 threads dedicated to him, doesn't mean his pick is undeserved.

If you only knew the real story behind Roberts you would never be saying that, how many goals did he score for Sparta? 7 is the answer and right now he's out of a contract and Sparta just finish above the drop zone, Corneal set up the contract and get big money now he is out of contract, he has to get caps to get another contract meaning more money for Corneal and since the beginning Corneal was the man scouting for and pcking the side for Maturana.
Post by: davidephraim on May 18, 2008, 05:53:21 PM

not to mention that roberts is a real hard worker. Scottie is a scorer but not a hard worker... 
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 18, 2008, 06:08:17 PM

If you only knew the real story behind Roberts you would never be saying that, how many goals did he score for Sparta? 7 is the answer and right now he's out of a contract and Sparta just finish above the drop zone, Corneal set up the contract and get big money now he is out of contract, he has to get caps to get another contract meaning more money for Corneal and since the beginning Corneal was the man scouting for and pcking the side for Maturana.
How many goals did Kenwyne score for Sunderland and where did they finish in their league?

Corneal could set up what he want. If Roberts wasn't performing to the required level at Sparta, he wouldn't be getting games. And he has been getting games and starting consistently throughout the season. So, the fact remains he's a Eriedivisie standard player who has had reasonable success in that league. So his pick is deserved. Who make money off of it, me eh business.
Post by: WestCoast on May 18, 2008, 06:13:37 PM

things that make you go
hhhmmmmmm  :thinking:
i was confused when he got released.
some body had a post of why they thought Roberts was released, but I cant find it as yet.
Post by: just cool on May 18, 2008, 06:18:19 PM

Fatz the man score 7 this season, not total tally. if yuh looking for arguement then let meh oblige yuh. do you know the dutch league is one of the most prestigious leagues in the world, and Daryl was plying his trade on the highest level.

another thing, did you ever watch this youth play any national games ?  BC if you did you would see where he's a cut above the rest with a high work rate. don't talk too fast guy, watch the England game then get back to meh.
Post by: dcs on May 18, 2008, 09:36:02 PM

Farrier against JA would be a good test.  I think of all the auditions at that spot he perform the best, all of them need to work on stuff and will be in the mix in the future for sure but I feel Farrier *might* be the most ready right now...England is a pretty big test though. He have the speed.
I not sure what going on with our wing backs giving so much space to the opposition. g tell meh they playing to instruction to be compact but that not looking right.
Post by: FATZ on May 19, 2008, 07:26:56 AM

How many goals did Kenwyne score for Sunderland and where did they finish in their league?

Corneal could set up what he want. If Roberts wasn't performing to the required level at Sparta, he wouldn't be getting games. And he has been getting games and starting consistently throughout the season. So, the fact remains he's a Eriedivisie standard player who has had reasonable success in that league. So his pick is deserved. Who make money off of it, me eh business.

Know your facts, for the last 2 months he got 2 starts and was substituted at halftime for the 2nd start then he played a sub role for the remainder of the season with his most mins being 30 so i guess he was a consistent sub and his last goal was on the 9th March
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 19, 2008, 07:52:48 AM

Know your facts, for the last 2 months he got 2 starts and was substituted at halftime for the 2nd start then he played a sub role for the remainder of the season with his most mins being 30 so i guess he was a consistent sub and his last goal was on the 9th March
How does that make anything I said wrong?
Post by: andre samuel on May 19, 2008, 08:09:31 AM
FATZ, I have a question.

Do you really think that you can compare the Eredevisie with League One?

Daryl Roberts is one of our better players.  He is playing in a high league and has a work rate that is 20 times higher than Jason Scotland's. 

It's true that Scotland scored a whole heap of goals and in my opinion he should be in the squad.  But the comparison and the justifications between him and Roberts are out of order.

Roberts starting/off the bench for a team in a league that is in the top 15 leagues in the world, and u want to compare that to league one? Are u serious?

As i said before, Maturana went to a Swansea game and saw the same thing that the section of Swansea fans have been booing for some time. A poor work ethic.  The coach knows what kind of players he wants in his team and i think at this point in time, he aint want to have Scotland and Stern John...........lol

nb: Kenwyne only scored 7 goals this season too. 

Post by: FATZ on May 19, 2008, 04:45:09 PM
FATZ, I have a question.

Daryl Roberts is one of our better players.  He is playing in a high league and has a work rate that is 20 times higher than Jason Scotland's. 

It's true that Scotland scored a whole heap of goals and in my opinion he should be in the squad.  But the comparison and the justifications between him and Roberts are out of order.

Roberts starting/off the bench for a team in a league that is in the top 15 leagues in the world, and u want to compare that to league one? Are u serious?

As i said before, Maturana went to a Swansea game and saw the same thing that the section of Swansea fans have been booing for some time. A poor work ethic.  The coach knows what kind of players he wants in his team and i think at this point in time, he aint want to have Scotland and Stern John...........lol

eredevisie is better than league one yes but Scotland still scored 26 goals and goals is goals in any competition because you still have to be able to score them and he was working fine enough and he deserved a pick more than Roberts because of the way Darryl got his pick. I'll just leave it to performance on the day and see what happens with whoever starts the England game then we could fight each other down and everybody else who decides to jump in the battle. I can't wait for the jabber after the match!!! To hear and see who have to eat their words. :rotfl: :rotfl:

n.b Kenwyne also had about or over 10 assists
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 19, 2008, 06:16:41 PM
FATZ, I have a question.

eredevisie is better than league one yes but Scotland still scored 26 goals and goals is goals in any competition because you still have to be able to score them and he was working fine enough and he deserved a pick more than Roberts because of the way Darryl got his pick. I'll just leave it to performance on the day and see what happens with whoever starts the England game then we could fight each other down and everybody else who decides to jump in the battle. I can't wait for the jabber after the match!!! To hear and see who have to eat their words. :rotfl: :rotfl:

Jermaine Beckford was right behind Scotty with 20. Ah waiting for his England call-up.
Post by: just cool on May 19, 2008, 09:06:10 PM
FATZ, I have a question.

Jermaine Beckford was right behind Scotty with 20. Ah waiting for his England call-up.
Doh mind fatz nah cory, for some ppl seeing is believing.
Post by: FATZ on May 20, 2008, 07:22:27 AM
FATZ, I have a question.

Is this a trick question or are you that foolish? Don't even bother to reply because i'm done speaking about this topic
Post by: superoli on May 20, 2008, 07:25:13 AM
by the way to throw in my 2 cents I dont believe the Dutch league apart form the top three is that much better than league 1, I have seen some of the lower team games and they are shit !
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 20, 2008, 07:54:24 AM
by the way to throw in my 2 cents I dont believe the Dutch league apart form the top three is that much better than league 1, I have seen some of the lower team games and they are shit !
Try watching Yeovil vs. Hartlepool.
Post by: superoli on May 20, 2008, 08:02:53 AM
yes exactly about the same level !
Post by: Midknight on May 20, 2008, 08:32:54 AM
Whatever the relationship between Anton and Roberts, it doh take rocket science to figure out that Roberts earn his place in that squad easy. Is the only forward we have in the group who competent (and accustomed) playing both midfield and/or the flank. If yuh watch him play the Jamaica game you 'll realise that until they decide to call back Birchall or one of the other fellas step up, he's the best thing we have to a workhorse, no disrespect to Whitley, who does a fairly good job at it, but has had too much weight put in his shoulders. Now I'm not saying that Roberts should or will play d-mid, just that he brings that energy and industry that a Me-mum is known for. and through it, can lift the whole team.

Nah, Roberts earn he pick. De only forward in that list who not suppose to be in front of Scotty, everybody know who it is and just fraid to say it because they doh want to knock a up and coming youthman.

However, if you accept the idea that, Gay there as the Anthony Wolfe/Theo Walcott type who going to be groomed to be the phenom for 2014, then the only man Scotty coulda replace in de forward line was Stern (on the basis of Stern age, not his ability nor form), because we all know that a fit KJ untouchable until the contrary is proven.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 20, 2008, 08:38:22 AM
Whatever the relationship between Anton and Roberts, it doh take rocket science to figure out that Roberts earn his place in that squad easy. Is the only forward we have in the group who competent (and accustomed) playing both midfield and/or the flank. If yuh watch him play the Jamaica game you 'll realise that until they decide to call back Birchall or one of the other fellas step up, he's the best thing we have to a workhorse, no disrespect to Whitley, who does a fairly good job at it, but has had too much weight put in his shoulders. Now I'm not saying that Roberts should or will play d-mid, just that he brings that energy and industry that a Me-mum is known for. and through it, can lift the whole team.

Nah, Roberts earn he pick. De only forward in that list who not suppose to be in front of Scotty, everybody know who it is and just fraid to say it because they doh want to knock a up and coming youthman.

However, if you accept the idea that, Gay there as the Anthony Wolfe/Theo Walcott type who going to be groomed to be the phenom for 2014, then the only man Scotty coulda replace in de forward line was Stern (on the basis of Stern age, not his ability nor form), because we all know that a fit KJ untouchable until the contrary is proven.
Or Jorsling.
Post by: TrinInfinite on May 20, 2008, 08:50:00 AM
FATZ, I have a question.

Daryl Roberts is one of our better players. He is playing in a high league and has a work rate that is 20 times higher than Jason Scotland's.

It's true that Scotland scored a whole heap of goals and in my opinion he should be in the squad. But the comparison and the justifications between him and Roberts are out of order.

As i said before, Maturana went to a Swansea game and saw the same thing that the section of Swansea fans have been booing for some time. A poor work ethic. The coach knows what kind of players he wants in his team and i think at this point in time, he aint want to have Scotland and Stern John...........lol

mr 3000, some of these men dont understand the level of the Eredevisie, they think is a joke league, teams like ajax and feyernord beat small countries in their day and are still top flight clubs with great histoiry and an excellent youth system, epl has the marketing money, but skill for skill Eredevisie can match, roberts work ethic is far superior to scotlands

God is de BOSS....
Post by: superoli on May 20, 2008, 08:53:12 AM
yes but apart from the top four that league is no better than league one in my opinion
Post by: Midknight on May 20, 2008, 09:02:44 AM

Or Jorsling.
Damn, I forget he get call up too. My bad.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 20, 2008, 09:21:35 AM
yes but apart from the top four that league is no better than league one in my opinion
Dread, you really eh watch too many League One games. Dat shit is dire. The top teams like Swansea and Leeds and so on play relatively decent. But the lower teams? Absolutely awful. You really saying lower league English football is on par with top flight ball on the continent?

I watched Sparta (a lower Dutch team) play some other team that was on their level (I forget which one) and the game was very watchable. Decent passing, decent technique, shaky defending. Definitely not as good as the EPL. But the few games I've seen were on about level with a mid-table Championship clash.
Post by: superoli on May 20, 2008, 09:29:06 AM
I said in my opinion, I spent some time in the Hague and I stopped watching games because they were so crap. I believe after the top four the football was the same level as league one or at best low championship.
Post by: TrinInfinite on May 20, 2008, 10:40:12 AM
I said in my opinion, I spent some time in the Hague and I stopped watching games because they were so crap. I believe after the top four the football was the same level as league one or at best low championship.

when my cousins played for ajax/rotterdam fc and feyernord, the games i saw was on par with epl, still today the top teams can ball with the epl giants, like i said tv rights and marketing money drive the epl but the youth system in holland is 2nd to none
Post by: superoli on May 20, 2008, 11:00:46 AM
I agree with you but thats top four you talking about is the rest I talking about !
Post by: Youth Baller on May 25, 2008, 09:30:51 PM
Starting Line-up
Marvin Phillip/ Jan MIcheal Willaims
.Ancil Farrier    Dennis Lawerence  Makan Hislop   Kareem Smith
.Hayden Tinto   Aurtis Whitley  Atuallah Guerra   Carlos Edwards
Stern John  Kenwyne Jones

Post by: davidephraim on May 25, 2008, 10:08:46 PM
Starting Line-up

if they play carlos on de left that would be crazy man business... Keon Daniel on de left and carlos on de right... Tinto coming off de bench... Dont get meh wrong Tinto is meh boy but he not making in dat position before carlos edwards
Post by: Touches on May 26, 2008, 05:58:36 AM
Youth Baller no way Williams or Phillip starting before Ince...unless something happen to him.
Post by: andre samuel on May 26, 2008, 06:42:21 AM
Starting Line-up

You missing three men who starting for sure

Daryl Robets on de left,
Hyland in de middle,
Clayton Ince in goal.

I watching we backline and i feeling sorry for them........lol

Post by: FireBrand on May 26, 2008, 07:20:34 AM
I watching we backline and i feeling sorry for them........lol

Daz no joke nah Dre... :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting:

Post by: weary1969 on May 26, 2008, 08:55:43 AM
Feel sorry 4 all ah we d defence is and will always b stress
Post by: elan on May 26, 2008, 09:43:05 AM
FATZ, I have a question.

England have so many players playing in the EPL, why would they need to call up a guy from league 1? That's the worst comparison you could have used.   We on the other hand have 3 players in the EPL and only 1 playing regularly. If that's how we want to think, why did Stern get picked ahead of Scotty? Stern scored how many goals on a team that finished 2 places above relegation in the championship, whereas Scotty just fired his team into the Championship.
So we have to pick where we players performing at.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 26, 2008, 09:48:00 AM
FATZ, I have a question.

England have so many players playing in the EPL, why would they need to call up a guy from league 1? That's the worst comparison you could have used.   We on the other hand have 3 players in the EPL and only 1 playing regularly. If that's how we want to think, why did Stern get picked ahead of Scotty? Stern scored how many goals on a team that finished 2 places above relegation in the championship, whereas Scotty just fired his team into the Championship.
So we have to pick where we players performing at.
That's the same point I making.

Is FATZ who say goals is goals in any competition. So in his mind level doh matter. I was just calling his bluff. England have a 20 goal striker in Beckford. So using FATZ logic, he should be in de starting line-up.
Post by: Youth Baller on May 27, 2008, 08:52:13 PM
Starting Line-up

Carlos Edwards and Kareem Smith being Right Wigerer and Right Back sry ddint make it clear.
I rate Atuallauh Guerra as one of the best midfeilders in the country , excellent on the ball , good ball control and great vision and passing. For the past two games he came on he impressed.
And well maturana said it himself when he now arrived that tinto is one of the most skilled players in the pro league. I hope these two youths start or getto play a good portion of the game.

Tell me what you'll think ,that squad there an hopefully , Scotland, Theobald and maybe Julius James could fall in, still dont care much for Gay at this level.