Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on May 15, 2008, 05:33:49 PM

Title: Jason Scotland not discarded.
Post by: FireBrand on May 15, 2008, 05:33:49 PM
Scotland not discarded.

Trinidad and Tobago Assistant Coach Anton Corneal, after being quizzed on Thursday said there were no particular reasons away from football for the exclusion of Swansea City striker Jason Scotland for the June 1 encounter against England. Scotland’s omission was the only notable one from the list of overseas-based players included in Francisco Maturana’s 26-man squad.

But questions were raised to which Corneal replied: “There’s nothing particular about his omission. The head coach did his work and after studying the players he has available he looked closely at some points and one of them is that Jason was competing in a very tight department which is the forward line where we have in form players who have all played consistently well at a higher level that him (Jason). This does not mean that he has been discarded but we felt that the forwards we selected were the ones able to fit into the team’s preparations for the England game,” Corneal said.

“We also decided that we wanted to give the opportunity to two of our local forwards, one who is the top-scorer in the T&T Pro League, the opportunity to be in the squad and be part of the whole build up and possibly the match as well.”

There has been no confirmation of Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke and Maturana didn’t see this as disappointing, maintaining that was confident in the abilities of his squad. Whether they are available or not, the two T&T legends were not listed in the 26-man squad as they would in any event appear as guest players. Scotland won the Puma League One Golden Boot Award and will receive it from the League on his return to England.
Title: Re: Scotland not discarded
Post by: E-man on May 15, 2008, 05:39:11 PM
Scotland’s omission was the only notable one from the list of overseas-based players included in Francisco Maturana’s 26-man squad.

I think there are several more notable ones.

There has been no confirmation of Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke and  Maturana didn’t see this as disappointing, maintaining that was confident in the abilities of his squad. Whether they are available or not, the two T&T legends were not listed in the 26-man squad as they would in any event  appear as guest players.

what did I tell yuh.
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 05:43:21 PM
so wah happen to Birchie, Fuentes give we a official news about he nah
Post by: freakazoid on May 15, 2008, 06:44:38 PM
no he not discarded he jus not good enough to get a place infront of the inform pro league strikers

and to think i was vex with some of the swansea fans yes.
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 06:50:56 PM
no he not discarded he jus not good enough to get a place infront of the inform pro league strikers
the way Jackula does move, reminds me of the following
http://youtube.com/watch?v=bhKiqo-nqm0&feature=related
Post by: Midknight on May 15, 2008, 07:28:13 PM

Just waiting for Big Mag to say it...
Post by: D.H.W on May 15, 2008, 07:34:00 PM

Scotch and coconut water  :beermug: :devil:
Post by: DeSoWa on May 15, 2008, 07:38:46 PM

Scotch and coconut water  :beermug: :devil:

Lazy Bitch  >:(

Post by: Dinner Mints on May 15, 2008, 07:39:13 PM
Call me crazy, but I understand the reasoning.
Post by: freakazoid on May 15, 2008, 07:44:10 PM
crazy

::)
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 07:45:04 PM
OK den
please explain to me HOW Jason is playing at a lower level than some of de fellas in TnT.
Please and Thanks

oh and please peruse this post by Omar (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=35904.msg426800#msg426800)
Post by: freakazoid on May 15, 2008, 07:46:45 PM
The head coach did his work and after studying the players he has available he looked closely at some points and one of them is that Jason was competing in a very tight department which is the forward line where we have in form players who have all played consistently well at a higher level that him (Jason).

if u can expalin this ah good 2 go
Post by: Jefferz on May 15, 2008, 07:47:43 PM

ill wait until i can find a word that transcends "crazy."
Post by: just cool on May 15, 2008, 07:55:06 PM
I agree with cory somewhat. scotty and dem done have their over seas contract, i think maturana want them locals to get some exposer in the england game, and just maybe! they could get picked up by scouts watching the game,and earn some contracts.

plus scotty played in the gaudleope game, and just maybe! maybe pancho wasn't too impress with his game.   just my guess.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 15, 2008, 08:14:09 PM
OK den
please explain to me HOW Jason and Chris are playing at a lower level than some of de fellas in TnT.
Please and Thanks
Me eh know wha de deal is with Chris. Or de midfield and defence in general. But...

Wit de strikers, they going for a mix of foreign-based and local. Yuh cyah just rely on throwing all the overseas players together. What is de point of local players training den? How dat benefitting them? So instead of putting out 5 foreign strikers, he pick the three that playing and scoring at de highest levels. Add in Gay for the experience. And Jorsling, I doh know too much bout, but he apparently performing well in training.

Personally, I'd have Roberts in midfield (which he prefers) and bring in Scotty as de third foreign-based striker. But I could see de coach point.
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 08:25:47 PM
OK den
please explain to me HOW Jason and Chris are playing at a lower level than some of de fellas in TnT.
Please and Thanks
Me eh know wha de deal is with Chris. Or de midfield and defence in general. But...

Wit de strikers, they going for a mix of foreign-based and local. Yuh cyah just rely on throwing all the overseas players together. What is de point of local players training den? How dat benefitting them? So instead of putting out 5 foreign strikers, he pick the three that playing and scoring at de highest levels. Add in Gay for the experience. And Jorsling, I doh know too much bout, but he apparently performing well in training.

Personally, I'd have Roberts in midfield (which he prefers) and bring in Scotty as de third foreign-based striker. But I could see de coach point.
OK, cool, as it is not a WCQ.
he better play in later games

I hope you saw my edit of my post ;)
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 15, 2008, 08:51:41 PM
I agree with cory somewhat.
How you know all dem details, boss?
Post by: spideybuff on May 15, 2008, 09:16:28 PM
They real watching the site. They answering every question we pose that implying there is a blacklist.  Whether the answer is the truth or not, they providing an answer.

That is called C.Y.A in the professional world
Post by: Midknight on May 15, 2008, 09:22:49 PM

Edwin Ayoung is crazy.

You mad no ass :rotfl:
Post by: Midknight on May 15, 2008, 09:24:49 PM

confuffle yuh ass?

ps...i know what it mean eh...
Post by: Big Magician on May 15, 2008, 09:29:44 PM
Lazy Bitch is now ah bad joke... 
Post by: weary1969 on May 15, 2008, 09:34:53 PM
Fuentes go b able 2 report on a whole side of who eh discarded, who still in d plans just now
Post by: just cool on May 16, 2008, 12:48:21 AM
IMO it's a strategy on the head coach part to put the locals in ah real pressure game to see how they would respond before putting them in a real live situation like the WCQ.

i can't find any other reason, that and the one i mentioned earlier. yuh know for the past two years all i hear is man second guessing the coaches,and their decision making, why not stand by them and support them even if we don't comprehend their choices and decisions.                                    positive.
Post by: davidephraim on May 16, 2008, 12:58:51 AM
OK den
Please and Thanks

seems quite logical too me....
Post by: WestCoast on May 16, 2008, 02:12:12 AM
Fuentes go b able 2 report on a whole side of who eh discarded, who still in d plans just now
wha....ent about 16 "not discarded" :devil:
Post by: dwn on May 16, 2008, 05:41:27 AM

If this is what Dry So means, I think I understand their reasoning too.

Stern (Championship), Kenwyne (EPL), Roberts (Eredivisie) are higher than League 1.
And rather than have Scotland is a 4th choice, they'd prefer to give a local the experience.

I not defending it as the best decision, but just understanding their reasoning based on the statement.
Title: Re: Jason Scotland not discarded.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 16, 2008, 06:04:38 AM

Stern (Championship), Kenwyne (EPL), Roberts (Eredivisie) are higher than League 1.
And rather than have Scotland is a 4th choice, they'd prefer to give a local the experience.

I not defending it as the best decision, but just understanding their reasoning based on the statement.
Yep. Exactly what I mean.

Post by: Brownsugar on May 16, 2008, 06:05:33 AM
Scotland not discarded.

Scotland’s omission was the only notable one from the list of overseas-based players included in Francisco Maturana’s 26-man squad.

Eh heh??   look another notable one.....

BIRCHALL!!!....     
Post by: ironman on May 16, 2008, 07:51:55 AM
A spin I would like to put on this is this.I think one of the footballing humps id that it is apparent that Scotland  and Jones will not be a pairing will be automatic.A equation could be High work rate striker needs High work rate partner otherwise they would be stretched apart,eg in th Guadeloupe game it was glaring that Scotland just was not able keep up consistantly with Jones pace of play, constant movement and lacked the know how to captilise on the countless knock downs,he gets his goal for Swansea in a totally different manner.He has his strengths but i dont think it will consistantly compliment Jones style of play.I have looked at Scotland since his early days with Defence Force he is not the type of player to feed of another target esp. a super quick and extra mobile one.
Post by: trinbago on May 16, 2008, 08:01:23 AM

If this is what Dry So means, I think I understand their reasoning too

Sounds logical enough for me....
Post by: lickslikefire on May 16, 2008, 08:24:15 AM

I asked this question before, i.e. the fact that we have so much depth in the forward line (Kenwyne,Stern, Roberts, Scotland, Glen + rest of local base forwards), couldn't we not transform one of those players to an attacking midfielder.  It's not like we have real depth in our midfield that we cah do that.  Leaving out the top scorer in League one just doh make sense to me. I rather have Scotland playing a different position than him not being on the squad at all. 

Similarly, does that mean we bench Darryl if Stern and Jones starting?  We only have so much quality players.  We have to make the best use out all of them in my opinion.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 16, 2008, 08:42:47 AM

I asked this question before, i.e. the fact that we have so much depth in the forward line (Kenwyne,Stern, Roberts, Scotland, Glen + rest of local base forwards), couldn't we not transform one of those players to an attacking midfielder.  It's not like we have real depth in our midfield that we cah do that.  Leaving out the top scorer in League one just doh make sense to me. I rather have Scotland playing a different position than him not being on the squad at all. 

Similarly, does that mean we bench Darryl if Stern and Jones starting?  We only have so much quality players.  We have to make the best use out all of them in my opinion.
Roberts could play attacking mid. In fact he says he prefers that role. I doh know why we insist on sticking him as striker when we have a glut at that position and famine everywhere else.
Post by: Midknight on May 16, 2008, 08:46:48 AM

Alright. I take it back. You ent reach mano stage yet...
Post by: Bakes on May 16, 2008, 10:39:38 AM
They real watching the site. They answering every question we pose that implying there is a blacklist.  Whether the answer is the truth or not, they providing an answer.

Yuh notice dat too eh?  De lapdog working hard tuh earn he kibbles.
Post by: Storeboy on May 16, 2008, 11:32:40 AM
I am prepared to give Maturana the benefit of the doubt in his selections.  So far so good!  Let’s see how the young ones fare.  Men here have been asking for Yorke and Latapy and Dog.  But here is my logic to support the coach’s decisions so far:
1.   Yorke and Latapy and Dog have served the Warriors well and brought us to WC 2006, but I hope folk realize that the WC is in 2010 and everyone will be two years older; even Stern  John may be significantly slower and less effective by then.  Dog will be about 36 on a bum knee.  Latapy 41, Yorke 39.
2.   It is time too make a change over to bring in the young ones.  The exposure gives theses guys like Forbes, Gay and Hyland opportunities for foreign contracts which will allow them to mature even more by the time the meat of our qualifications occurs next year.
3.   In two years they will be far better than they are now because they playing with the best and training with the best.
4.   At 17, 18 or 19, you good only get better.  At 32, 33, and 34 you only getting slower though maybe still wise enough to barely hold on.
Post by: Trin on May 16, 2008, 11:57:42 AM
not discarded, just put to de side den.
Post by: just cool on May 16, 2008, 04:17:56 PM
I am prepared to give Maturana the benefit of the doubt in his selections.  So far so good!  Let’s see how the young ones fare.  Men here have been asking for Yorke and Latapy and Dog.  But here is my logic to support the coach’s decisions so far:
1.   Yorke and Latapy and Dog have served the Warriors well and brought us to WC 2006, but I hope folk realize that the WC is in 2010 and everyone will be two years older; even Stern  John may be significantly slower and less effective by then.  Dog will be about 36 on a bum knee.  Latapy 41, Yorke 39.
2.   It is time too make a change over to bring in the young ones.  The exposure gives theses guys like Forbes, Gay and Hyland opportunities for foreign contracts which will allow them to mature even more by the time the meat of our qualifications occurs next year.
3.   In two years they will be far better than they are now because they playing with the best and training with the best.
4.   At 17, 18 or 19, you good only get better.  At 32, 33, and 34 you only getting slower though maybe still wise enough to barely hold on.

Pure sense. i agree.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 16, 2008, 04:52:56 PM
Just Cool ... :cheers: