General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: pecan on May 16, 2008, 08:06:01 PM

Title: Moruga Tales - now available in Bookstores and eBook format
Post by: pecan on May 16, 2008, 08:06:01 PM
With all de talk about La Diablesse/Soucoyant/Douennes/Papa Bois, I decided to upload some folklore from Moruga.

These stories are written by June Lee-Sing.  The play "Moruga in June" by my cousin from The Brown Cotton Ensemble (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=34328.0) was inspired by these tales.

This is the first publication of these tales.  With permission from the author.

These tales are based on true events - no lie except the underlying fact that it is all fiction. Names, characters and incidents are the products of the author's imagination or are used fictitiously.

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/prologue.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/moruga_3.jpg)
Title: Re: Moruga Tales - Folklore from Moruga - Based on true events
Post by: pecan on May 16, 2008, 08:13:24 PM
TALE #1

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale1_1.jpg)
(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale1_2.jpg)
(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale1_3-1-1.jpg)
Post by: Quags on May 16, 2008, 09:39:34 PM
My dad tell me a very similar story way back in like 86,.. that had happen to him when he was younger ,just he was in his taxi ...really similar .Infact so similar ,kinda making me beleive touches post that yah parents use to make this shit up lol .
But I have ah couple stories ,where I actually know the ppl ,one was ah lagahoo and ah soucoyant.....that bitch.
Post by: Bakes on May 16, 2008, 11:07:54 PM
I've heard similar stories....I was actually waiting for the part where he lit the match  ::)
Post by: WestCoast on May 17, 2008, 07:17:45 AM
I've heard similar stories....I was actually waiting for the part where he lit the match  ::)
He lit de match and she disappear at the same time

anyway, look de Silk Cotton Tree
(http://lh4.ggpht.com/macdate/RRlp1QF9ABI/AAAAAAAAAXs/TpyRniH4bzs/CIMG4075.JPG?imgmax=512)
if ya look close ya might see she in the bottom right corner
muuuu haaaaaa haaaaaaaa ;D

Good one Pecan
Post by: Sando prince on May 17, 2008, 08:32:43 AM
I never beleieve none of dem ting nah..but de people who make up dem tales rel creative and imaginative
Post by: Dutty on May 17, 2008, 08:39:54 AM
I never beleieve none of dem ting nah..but de people who make up dem tales rel creative and imaginative

no tv, no internet, no radio reception

plenty of time to give ah boring story ah lil sparkle
Post by: TriniCana on May 17, 2008, 08:42:07 AM

Sando believe it douxs....dey out dere :devil:
Post by: TriniCana on May 17, 2008, 08:47:42 AM
pecan is there a book published ? Because I for one would purchase this.

Moruga especially La Lune has a spot in my life's history. I've spent several August vacations there and believe me, they are very fond memories. Some I hope to tell my grand kids about one day.

From the RC Church straight down to the lagoon to climbing tree and seeing La Diablesse....to eating wild meat, rice and pigeon peas...lawd

thanks for the read pecan :beermug:
Post by: Sando prince on May 17, 2008, 09:04:26 AM

Moruga especially La Lune has a spot in my life's history. I've spent several August vacations there and believe me, they are very fond memories. Some I hope to tell my grand kids about one day.

From the RC Church straight down to the lagoon to climbing tree and seeing La Diablesse....to eating wild meat, rice and pigeon peas...lawd

:rotfl: dem treess you climb musbe was too high for yuh ..cause yuh start seeing shit
Post by: AB.Trini on May 17, 2008, 09:17:23 AM
This holds a special place for me.  I delivered my dad's eulogy in the R.C. church in  G.C. My grand father lived in Edwards Trace and I spent many a school holidays  up there. Still have family up that way.
Anyone with family p.m. me and we could exchange surnames to see if there is a connection.

Nice story; it brought back my childhood days of walking through the trace with no electricity; about listening to my great aunt' husband  talk of the spirits in the woods and going to the  well for water. Lawd dem days were very very precious...... no talk of bandits!!!!! locking up your doors...... not afraid to walk late at nights...people were respectful...look nah with all this advancements in society... in some places we gone real horrid!!!!!
Post by: pecan on May 17, 2008, 09:21:04 AM
no book yet

The author is only now putting pen to paper as she recalls her youth.

I will publish a new story every week.

Here is the list of what we have so far:

MORUGA TALES

1.   PROLOGUE

2.   TALE #1:   Cecil’s  Story
                                                 Cecil and La Diablesse

3.  TALE #2 :   Freddie’s Story
                                                  Freddie and the Mermaid

4.  TALE #3:   June’s Story
                                                 Dwens in the Woods

5.  TALE #4:   Rupert’s Story
                                                 Ti-Jean and the Diablotins

6.  TALE #5:   Chunnie’s Story
                                                 The Stranger in the Shop

7.  TALE #6:   Angie’s Story
                                                 Big John and the Creature

8.  TALE #7:   The Soucoyant
                                                 Soucoyant

Post by: TriniCana on May 17, 2008, 09:24:26 AM

:rotfl: dem treess you climb musbe was too high for yuh ..cause yuh start seeing shit

well yeah dat make sense...ah was seeing you too.

Sando babes doh go dere nuh...doh tell me what i did or didn't see.
we go leave dat right dere :beermug:
Post by: TriniCana on May 17, 2008, 09:27:06 AM
This holds a special place for me.  I delivered my dad's eulogy in the R.C. church in  G.C. My grand father lived in Edwards Trace and I spent many a school holidays  up there. Still have family up that way.
Anyone with family p.m. me and we could exchange surnames to see if there is a connection.

Nice story; it brought back my childhood days of walking through the trace with no electricity; about listening to my great aunt' husband  talk of the spirits in the woods and going to the  well for water. Lawd dem days were very very precious...... no talk of bandits!!!!! locking up your doors...... not afraid to walk late at nights...people were respectful...look nah with all this advancements in society... in some places we gone real horrid!!!!!

So damn true....
As I was telling pecan, my father is originally from Moruga. La Lune to be precise. I'm aware of Edwards Trace.
I"m sure you know about Taghadeen grocery
Post by: pecan on May 17, 2008, 09:29:12 AM

dais why it is called Folklore

The imagination can entertain for forever. 

The old form of story telling is a human tradition that we might soon lose as video/internet/tv takes over.

btw: my sister done get suck by a soucoyant a few times when we use to holiday in Moruga.

Dem fuh real boy.   :angel: :angel:
Post by: pecan on May 17, 2008, 09:36:45 AM

I just update the original post with a Google Earth pic of Moruga  (scroll to the top of the thread)

you can see the RC church where AB went.  The Lee Sing shop still at the south west corner of the main intersection
Post by: WestCoast on May 17, 2008, 09:39:43 AM
btw: my sister done get suck by a soucoyant a few times when we use to holiday in Moruga.

dais from bats man (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/3f/Desmodus.jpg/630px-Desmodus.jpg)
my cousin did get bite also ;D ;D

my wife tell me she went there, with the Ministry of Agricultue, in 1980 to investigate if the fishing village should be moved
Post by: AB.Trini on May 17, 2008, 09:47:25 AM
 In a quiet trace along a river bank IN G.C.  I laid my father's ashes in the place where he  found eternal peace.
Post by: pecan on May 17, 2008, 10:00:04 AM

dais from bats man (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/3f/Desmodus.jpg/630px-Desmodus.jpg)

my wife tell me she went there, with the Ministry of Agricultue, in 1980 to investigate if the fishing village should be moved

yuh sure dat is a moruga bat?

i took this pic on the beach in Moruga last year.

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/IMG_2052.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on May 17, 2008, 10:01:27 AM

yuh sure dat is a moruga bat?

i took this pic on the beach in Moruga last year.

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/IMG_2052.jpg)
waz dat?
moruga chicken :devil: :devil:

Just KIDDING people ;)

I ent hearin no talks about Phantoms
day used to straddle de road and not let cars pass
at least up in the top of Maraval we had dat ;)
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2008, 12:19:05 PM

West Coast I'm aware of that... the "ah light ah match and *poof* she vanish saying 'yuh lucky, yuh geh way tonight' " is a paradigm of the Soucouyant (Sucriant) stories.  It's so predictable that I was waiting on it.

Hope that helps.
Post by: WestCoast on May 17, 2008, 02:16:05 PM
West Coast I'm aware of that... the "ah light ah match and *poof* she vanish saying 'yuh lucky, yuh geh way tonight' " is a paradigm of the Soucouyant (Sucriant) stories.  It's so predictable that I was waiting on it.
Hope that helps.
oh shit man :shameonyou:
dais a nice *WHOOSH* (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=whoosh) ya geh meh, oui :rotfl:
I shoulda kno you by now :angel:
my bad ;D ;D
Post by: Sando prince on May 17, 2008, 03:06:41 PM

well yeah dat make sense...ah was seeing you too.

Sando babes doh go dere nuh...doh tell me what i did or didn't see.
we go leave dat right dere :beermug:
Look yuh already start to tote...All these folklore stories does get in allyuh head so much that it becomes allyuh reality...Anyway Cana ah glad that ting didnt follow yuh up de tree ;D
Title: Re: Moruga Tales - Folklore from Moruga - Tale #2 new
Post by: pecan on May 22, 2008, 07:14:33 PM
Tale Number 2

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale2_1.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale2_2.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale2_3.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on May 24, 2008, 11:37:35 AM
Nice one Pecan

people in TnT used to call "SeaCow (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manatee)", mermaids.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on May 24, 2008, 03:02:17 PM
Pecan I want to read these when there is nothing clamouring for my attention. I don't like to read people work in a hurry, dais bad manners. This whole week was a nightmare with me running around like a chicken with a head cold and no head.  :)
Title: Moruga Tales - Folklore from Moruga - Tale #3 new
Post by: pecan on June 06, 2008, 04:18:37 PM
Tale Number 3

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale3_1.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale3_2-1.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale3_3-1.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale3_4-1.jpg)

Note on the spelling of Dwen

"Dwen" is commonly spelled "Douen".  But we think that both forms are right (or there is no correct form). Patois, or the creole French spoken in the islands, was never a written language i.e. it was learned and passed on through speech only. Just as Trini speak is creole English, so today as we try to write it down, there is disagreement on whether it should be spelled phonetically, or as if it was French.

As far as these tales are concerned, the important thing is to be consistent.  The author grew up spelling it phonetically and the play "Moruga in June" has adopted that spelling.  So for consistency, "Dwen" is the chosen spelling in these stories.

Pecan

Title: Re: Moruga Tales - Folklore from Moruga - Tale #3 - June's Story
Post by: Deeks on June 06, 2008, 06:24:23 PM
Guys,
                 Don't stop this thread!. We want more...... More, more, more.....!!!!!
Post by: Organic on June 06, 2008, 08:19:13 PM
Pecan these stories are really really good. the content is consistent true to the culture. the nostalgia it brings back..with some of the expressions and sayings is heart warming.
classic trini
 thanks man
keep them coming
Post by: matapèl on June 13, 2008, 08:47:23 PM
Guys,
                 Don't stop this thread!. We want more...... More, more, more.....!!!!!

I have some stories that were told be me by my grandparents, anyway according to them the La Diablesse was a curse on some béké families (white planters) as well as a form a form of revenge on Africans who did them wrong in the past. Also some of the folklore that I heard as been forgotten by people living outside of Creole speaking areas. I will post the stories when I get the chance don't worry wonderful thread! ;D
Title: Moruga Tales - 'Ti-Jean and the Diablotins - Tale #4 - Rupert's Story
Post by: pecan on June 23, 2008, 04:53:59 PM
Tale #4

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale4_1.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale4_2.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale4_3.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale4_4.jpg)
Title: Re: Moruga Tales - 'Ti-Jean and the Diablotins - Tale #4 - Rupert's Story
Post by: TriniCana on June 23, 2008, 06:13:02 PM
Well pecan ah couldnah make ah trip back home and ain't go down to La Lune Moruga.  Sat down on dey beach for more ah ah hour just going down memory lane.
Anyways here are ah couple of snaps dat ah focus meh camera on.  Aye ah have ah uncle name rupert eh and ah fine dat half ah dem names ya using dere real close to dem slack relatives ah have ;D

Time for dat book pecan...time for dat book :beermug:

(http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t76/TCana/586733297306_0_ALB.jpg)

(http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t76/TCana/873633297306_0_ALB.jpg)
Title: Re: Moruga Tales - 'Ti-Jean and the Diablotins - Tale #4 - Rupert's Story
Post by: elan on June 24, 2008, 04:47:09 PM
I born and grow in Moruga, that's exactly where I am from. My grandfather lived La Lune, my grandmother lived Grand Chemin, and I lived Basse Terre. I actually went to Grand Chemin AC. We used to sing this for the RC school children;

"RC bush bug, black eye peas"   :rotfl:
Post by: TriniCana on June 24, 2008, 06:00:37 PM
elan that is good to know. A couple of us either grew up, have family there or spent the majority of summer vacations down there due to the fact we parents wanted we out dey house...go by allyuh aunty.

My father is originally from La Lune Moruga. Still have a lot of family down there.  I know AlbertaTrini, pecan and a couple of others have stories to tell.
There is thread in here somewhere about us talking bout our experiences in good ole La Lune.

I'll try and fine it for you.
Post by: matapèl on June 24, 2008, 10:09:21 PM
excellent story, have not heard a djablotan story in a long while, I also remember that according to Creole folklore Mama Malade was supposed to have control over them.    :) loved it!
Post by: pecan on June 30, 2008, 04:45:09 PM
excellent story, have not heard a djablotan story in a long while, I also remember that according to Creole folklore Mama Malade was supposed to have control over them.    :) loved it!

Thanks for the positive feedback.

btw, what does matapèl mean? 
Post by: elan on June 30, 2008, 05:30:29 PM
Ah Matapel is ah Ant eater not so? Does taste sweet to bad when you buccaneer it and then cook it.
Post by: TriniCana on June 30, 2008, 05:58:13 PM
uhmm somebody say wild meat  ;D
Post by: matapèl on June 30, 2008, 07:16:07 PM
Ah Matapel is ah Ant eater not so? Does taste sweet to bad when you buccaneer it and then cook it.

yes a matapèl is patois for ant eater from Spanish  mata+perro
Post by: pecan on July 31, 2008, 05:54:46 PM
Tale #5

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale5_1.jpg)
(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale5_2.jpg)
(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/tale5_3.jpg)
Title: Moruga Tales - Book Launch
Post by: pecan on December 05, 2011, 04:37:35 PM
So after three and a half years of idleness, I finally managed to pull together the various stories that my Mom wrote and got them published.  There are now ten tales all together plus an introduction, prolouge, epilogue and glossary.

I will set up a simple web site when I have some time later this week.

here are a couple pictures of the books.

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/CIMG5976.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/CIMG5981.jpg)

Title: Re: Moruga Tales - the book
Post by: asylumseeker on December 05, 2011, 05:38:10 PM
Congratulations! Obviously a labour of love and something immortalised for everyone, Trini and non ... to digest. Looking forward to reading it.
Post by: pecan on January 16, 2012, 08:11:10 PM
We have a Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales?sk=wall (https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales?sk=wall)

The first Canadian printing is just about sold out.

We are planning a print run in T&T. If you are local and interested in acquiring a copy, keep checking this page periodically or PM me.

Post by: elan on January 16, 2012, 10:52:33 PM
We have a Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales?sk=wall (https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales?sk=wall)

The first Canadian printing is just about sold out.

We are planning a print run in T&T. If you are local and interested in acquiring a copy, keep checking this page periodically or PM me.

Got to get this book
Post by: Daft Trini on January 16, 2012, 11:49:55 PM
Elan I remember my coco spanish granny use to use the phrase "buccaneer it" what does that mean? I was too young to remember what the process really is, but I remember the word being used for cooking
Post by: elan on January 17, 2012, 02:21:23 PM
Some people do "buccaneering" differently. What we called "bucaneering", when Hunters go deep into the forest where they have to spend like a week or so, they would kinda half roast the meet on a fire side then bury it in the dirt close the water on a river bank. The water made the dirt cold and so it kept the meat. When they were ready to return they would dig it up.

The main place this use to happen was when hunters go up the beach to Canari.
Post by: truetrini on January 17, 2012, 11:29:47 PM
Elan I remember my coco spanish granny use to use the phrase "buccaneer it" what does that mean? I was too young to remember what the process really is, but I remember the word being used for cooking

Boucanier (French)...that led to buccaneer..as in bar b que..cooking over a fire pit etc, aka a boucan so I was taught in History class in Trinidad as a youngster.  Runaway slaves joined them as well as deserters...they were french and the Spanish hated them and tried to kill them off.  They raided ships etc.  Henry Morgan was a Buccaneer, they maily hung out in what is today Hait and Dominican Republic aka Hispaniola.
Post by: TriniCana on January 18, 2012, 09:50:10 AM
Congrats pecan! This book will sure be present on my coffee table.
Perfect gifts for the old aunties down Moruga :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: pecan on April 24, 2012, 03:38:07 PM

FIRST TIME AUTHORS PROGRAMME: WORLD BOOK AND COPYRIGHT DAY

Author June Lee-Sing Khan was recognized as a first time author for her book "Moruga Tales" by the Trinidad and Tobago National Library and Information System Authority (NALIS) during their celebration of UNESCO's World Book and Copyright Day. The presentation was made on April 23, 2012.

http://www2.nalis.gov.tt/Libraries/HeritageLibrary/FirstTimeAuthorsAppreciationProgramme/tabid/331/Default.aspx (http://www2.nalis.gov.tt/Libraries/HeritageLibrary/FirstTimeAuthorsAppreciationProgramme/tabid/331/Default.aspx)

Here is the link to the Moruga Tales Facebook Page (https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales?bookmark_t=page)

Please "Like" if you feel so inclined.

The second printing of Moruga tales is currently underway in Trinidad. Copies will be available soon (in at last one book store).

Publishing is hard work.  :)

Post by: pecan on May 17, 2012, 07:59:59 AM
Books now available locally

"MORUGA TALES" books can be purchased from 2-6pm, Mon - Thurs, at BROWN COTTON OUTREACH, 13 Ana ST., Woodbrook.

Call 681-9985, 625-6549 for further information.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on May 21, 2012, 11:19:19 AM
Why am I only now seeing this? steupse.
Pecan, boy BIG UP!  :beermug: :beermug:
If I may assist in anyway, let me know!  Mi knowledge, es su knowledge!
Post by: pecan on November 05, 2012, 08:00:06 PM
Why am I only now seeing this? steupse.
Pecan, boy BIG UP!  :beermug: :beermug:
If I may assist in anyway, let me know!  Mi knowledge, es su knowledge!

Queen, and I only now seeing your post.

Anyways, thanks for the offer. I have been on/off moving this project forward but I do need some pointers on getting traction in the Toronto market. My cousin has some printed in Trinidad and we are now in a few local book stores.

Get your copies at:

R.I.K. Services Ltd., 104 High St. San Fernando
Queen St. POS
Grand Bazaar
West Mall
Long Circular Mall
Gulf City
Trincity Mall

Also, I have been busy the past few days formatting it for eBook: Kindle, Epub, PDF and LRF as well as online reading.

eBooks are 2.99 USD for immediate download on Smashwords

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/252039

Hopefully, it will be distributed to Apple, Amazon and Barnes & Noble, Sony, Kobo etc. in the next week or so.  I am waiting for Smashwords to complete their review.

Checkout our facebook site as well

https://www.facebook.com/Moruga.Tales

Title: Re: Moruga Tales - now available in Bookstores and eBook format
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on November 08, 2012, 06:13:51 PM
check your messages.
Title: Re: Moruga Tales - now available in Bookstores and eBook format
Post by: pecan on November 13, 2012, 06:59:22 PM
For those of you following the saga of my Mom's book from the original PDF stories I posted on this forum to the first print run last year to getting into book stores in Trinidad, thanks for the support. I can say that feedback on the original stories prompted my Mom to work on the original drafts to get them into shape for printing.  Thank you all  :beermug: :beermug:

We have hit a new milestone. I used www.smashword.com to prepare the book for e-publishing. They have a premium catalog that they distribute to the major online retailers.  Well today, they approved the book for inclusion in this catalog.

The online retailers include:

Apple (distribution to iBookstores in 50 countries), Barnes & Noble (US and UK), Sony, Kobo, WH Smith in the UK and FNAC (both powered by Kobo), the Diesel eBook Store,  eBooks Eros (operated by Diesel), Baker & Taylor (Blio and the Axis360 library service), Page Foundry (operates retail sites Inktera.com and Versent.com; operates Android ebook store apps for Cricket Wireless and Asus),

So we have gone worldwide.

The eBook will be shipped to these retailers on Thursday or Friday and depending on the retailers, will be available anywhere from a few days to 2 weeks after shipment.

Thanks again for the feedback.