Sports => Football => Topic started by: palos on May 20, 2008, 05:37:36 PM

Title: Government institutes levy on use of Stadium effective Immediately
Post by: palos on May 20, 2008, 05:37:36 PM
Just heard this on C.

This is above and beyond the previously agreed to fees according to TTTFF Secretary Richard Groden and is tantamount to a breach of contract.

I think the figure I heard was $150,000 or 10 % of gate receipts, whichever was greater.

The money is supposed to go for the upgrade and maintenance of the stadium and Minister Gary Hunt stated that the Government has already spent a lot of money to upgrade the facilities & ensure the Stadium is ready for June 1st's game against England.

It was on C television stream so ah doh have a link to de story.

More bacchanal.
Title: Re: Government institutes levy on use of Stadium effective Immediately
Post by: dreamer on May 20, 2008, 05:42:07 PM

Everybody wah dey pong ah flesh from Jackulito ... and well done to boot. Accountabiliy now for all dah money yuh plan to stash wey wit Scampinho. Share out some nah for those who break dey back fuh you to salivate over de bonanza. I agree.

Huh!!yuhyai !! dah ruling open up a hornets nest dread. People seeing weakness fuh de first time and smelling blood. Seek um!!   :whip:
Post by: D.H.W on May 20, 2008, 05:46:40 PM
lord the news hitting left and right tonight on tv, Sancho was on Tv6 , then ah hear on CNC3 about the money, and jack already issue he statement sounding vex, Scottie get interview , Sancho say he baffled by some of the team selection, Stadium bacchanal, New Kit come out today, lord rel action.
Post by: WestCoast on May 20, 2008, 05:49:40 PM
its the HCS Jack Tax ;D
or the TTF F right off Tax

all I know is dat Jack Sphincter MUST be in spasms oui
Post by: redtrinigirl on May 20, 2008, 05:50:13 PM
Boy, politics and football doh mix. Yuh cyah want to be de godfather of de football mafia AND ah godfather in the opposition party too. ::)

And yuh cyah play wrong and strong, especially when yuh know that de money yuh intend to fleece make off people AAAALLLLLLL depends on T&T staging that game. After all, no TV rights for you if dey want to hold it in England.  ;D
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 20, 2008, 05:52:26 PM
Yall laughing and shit...The game can get canceled if this not resolved
Post by: Deeks on May 20, 2008, 06:01:12 PM
TTFF can't have it both ways. They want a spic and span stadium for the centennial match. They complain the gov't eh doing nothing. Well the gov't spend the "people's money" for the big occasion. All the tickets are sold out. Why get the people get a return on their investment.
Post by: D.H.W on May 20, 2008, 06:04:54 PM
true that, this aint no ordinary match, upgrades had to be done.
Post by: spideybuff on May 20, 2008, 06:08:02 PM

This game not more important than cleaning up our football.

Plus the game can't be canceled once tv involved already, trust me. Too much money will get lost.
Post by: FireBrand on May 20, 2008, 06:10:41 PM
Letter issued to Minister of Sport Re: Rental of Hasley Crawford Stadium for T&T vs England.

Attached is a letter sent to Minister of Sport Gary Hunt on Tuesday May 20, 2008 in reference to the issue over the Rental of the Hasely Crawford Stadium for the T&T vs England encounter. Ministry issues letter on May 15 insisting on new rental fees for the encounter... fees totally different to what have been the norm over past twenty years.

20th May 2008

The Minister of Sport
The Honourable Gary Hunt
Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs
Issa Nicholas Building
Corner Duke and Frederick Streets.
Port of Spain.

Dear Sir,

I act for and on behalf of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF).

I am instructed that my client will be hosting the historic international friendly football game between Trinidad and Tobago and England on the 1st June 2008 which said game is scheduled to be played at the Hasley Crawford (HC) stadium in Port of Spain.

In contemplation of this game, my client approached the Ministry of Sport by letter dated 18th February 2008 requesting the use of the facility for the game and received a written response from Mr. Wilfred Stephen, Stadium Manager dated March 11th 2008 agreeing to the use of the facilities subject to the rescheduling of certain events carded for the same date.

The TTFF was also informed in the said letter that rental charges would be forwarded at a later date. Mr. Richard Groden, General Secretary of the TTFF and Mr. Stephen met on or about 15 March 2008 when it was agreed that the stadium was available for use by the TTFF and that the only issue to be agreed upon would be the rental cost. Mr. Stephen agreed that the terms of renting the stadium would be the same terms on which the TTFF had rented the stadium over the past 20 years for national and international games.     

Accordingly, and having received oral confirmation to that effect, and in reliance thereon,  Mr. Groden entered into an agreement for and on behalf of the TTFF with the English Football Association (FA) on the 17h March 2008 for the hosting and conduct of the game at the stadium.

The terms and conditions of the agreement dealt inter alia with the use of the stadium for the purposes of advertising, tickets and access. Pursuant to this agreement and with the knowledge and confirmation of Mr. Stephen, the TTFF hosted officials of the English FA at the HC stadium on or about 12th to 14th March 2008 and conducted an examination of the facility and reviewed the use of it insofar as advertising, seating and security were concerned. This demonstrated further ratification of the said agreement entered into between your Ministry and my client.

This game is not only historic, but indeed unprecedented since the hosting of England in Trinidad & Tobago places the country at a different level on the international footing in the sporting world. The TTFF which celebrates its 100th  year anniversary this year endured great efforts to secure England to play this game in Trinidad and Tobago and considers that their presence here would be a victory for all Trinbagonians. The TTFF has had a long and distinguished history in the promotion and hosting of the sport of football and the individual players. Indeed, the success of qualifying for the 2006 World Cup speaks volumes for the contribution the TTFF has made and continues to make to the sport of football in the country.

My client, in the spirit of this historic game, requested by letter dated April 12th 2008 that you consider a waiver of the fees agreed to in March for the use of the stadium but later withdrew the request by letter dated May 5th 2008 due to the lack of co-operation from you.

I am instructed that my client was shocked and astounded to receive from your Mr. Stephen a draft lease agreement on 15th May 2008 when Mr. Richard Groden attended a meeting which Mr. Stephen had requested. The said draft lease contains terms and conditions which were markedly different to those which were agreed to at the previous meetings and upon which my client placed heavy reliance and acted upon.

By letter dated 20th May 2008 my client wrote to you seeking an urgent determination of this matter.

I am instructed to request from you a declaration that the contract entered into on or about 15th  March 2008 and the oral representations made between the TTFF and yourself are binding and to renege therefrom would amount not only to a breach of contract but will have serious consequences of loss, embarrassment and liability to my client. My client agreed to use the facilities of the national stadium solely on the basis of the agreement entered into on or about the 15th day of March 2008. This eleventh hour draft lease which does not reflect the agreement between your ministry and our client, with less than 10 days before the scheduled game is not only disingenuous but will cause irreparable damage to reputation of the TTFF and subject each and every citizen of Trinidad and Tobago to shame and humiliation and will result in a breach of contract with the English FA and may result in a cancellation of the match.

The TTFF also on the basis of the said agreement advertised and sold tickets locally and internationally for the match which is to take place on 1st June 2008. Had the Ministry of Sport any objection to the hosting of the game at the stadium it should have taken all steps necessary to advise the TTFF and the public that tickets ought not to be sold.

I am further instructed to inform you that this international game is scheduled to be televised world wide thereby commanding great attention and respect for this country and the sport of football. As a consequence it is imperative that personal and political differences are buried at this crucial hour and the joint efforts of your Ministry and our client are mobilized in the national interest.

I am instructed to request that you respond to this letter by 9:00 a.m on Friday 23rd May 2008 and indicate whether you are prepared to honour the terms of the agreement of the 15th March 2008 upon which my client has relied and upon which the game depends, failing which my client will be left with no alternative but to institute legal proceedings against you for breach of contract and seek injunctive relief to restrain you from denying my client access to the use of the facilities as previously agreed.

I look forward to your urgent response in this matter and hope that good sense will prevail so that an amicable resolution can be reached in the national interest.

Yours faithfully

Om Lalla

cc.Mr. Jack Warner
    Mr. Richard Groden

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Ministry's Press Release 
Ministry Insists on rental agreement with TTFF for use of Stadium

A rental agreement is part of the standard procedure in place for the use of any of the Ministry sporting facilities. As such, a similar document has been prepared for the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) as a condition for the use of the Hasely Crawford Stadium. The TTFF proposes to host a friendly international at the Stadium on 1 June 2008 between Trinidad and Tobago and England.

Among the conditions contained in the agreement are:
-    A rental sum of TT$150,000 plus VAT or 10 % of the gross gate receipts, whichever sum is greater.
-    A refundable deposit of TT$45,000 towards damages.
-    Provision of advertising space, at a cost, within the television arc
-    Prohibition of alcohol and tobacco advertising

The agreement was prepared by the Ministry’s Legal Officer and is an attempt to professionalize the way the State-owned sport facilities do business with their clients. The Ministry is of the view that events of this level of international significance and magnitude must receive careful and detailed attention in order to ensure all liabilities are covered.

The Government of Trinidad and Tobago, through, the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, has pumped about TT$1.3 million into the upgrade and renovation of the playing surface, practice field and other amenities at the Stadium. Mr Wilfred Stevens, Manager of the Hasely Crawford Stadium confirms that the works are 90% complete and will be ready in time for the encounter billed as “A Score to Settle”.

Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, Hon Gary Hunt confirms the agreement is “not too onerous” when compared to the costs associated with hosting such an event at a private facility. Minister Hunt adds that the contract agreement is keeping with the “new professional relationship” the Ministry wants to build with its stakeholders in sport.

Further, the Ministry has not received any indication from the TTFF that it is not in agreement with the proposed terms and conditions for the use of the Stadium

Post by: WestCoast on May 20, 2008, 06:11:09 PM
This game not more important than cleaning up our football.
Tell dem Spidey

is like having Cancer...you have to undergo pain from the removal to be rid of the malignancy
Post by: weary1969 on May 20, 2008, 06:19:51 PM
Charge dem no game eh being cancel
Post by: andre samuel on May 20, 2008, 06:21:25 PM
This facking politics ting........

When i heard this on news, i just hold my head and bawl as to how petty these people really are.

How de arse they could send ah letter stating the terms and conditions of the use of the stadium 2 weeks before the game!!??

That is real shit!!  Anyways, some seious chess/poker playing going on here

Your move Jack Warner, your move.....the f**king plot thickens!!

Post by: Babalawo on May 20, 2008, 06:30:42 PM
CHARGE THEM  ;D  Jackass Warner pimping of trini football love is no more.  Gary Hunt hitting them left and right :rotfl:
Post by: Bourbon on May 20, 2008, 06:33:09 PM
My word. Jack hagging over the validity and binding nature of a ORAL contract. My goodness.
Post by: WestCoast on May 20, 2008, 06:37:47 PM
My word. Jack hagging over the validity and binding nature of a ORAL contract. My goodness.
So Bourbon, did the arbitrator, Ian Mill, make a mistake or you do agree with him.
Oral Contracts ARE binding.
Post by: Bourbon on May 20, 2008, 06:41:37 PM
So Bourbon, did the arbitrator, Ian Mill, make a mistake or you do agree with him.

Welll...what was the previous arrangement? $150,000 or 10% of the gate receipts which ever is greater? If those conditions ARE the previous ones...and someone said that would be the agreement used....well.....dahs wha dey hadda go with. De heart attack Jack musbe getting is the 10% of gross receipts. Buh...lets see how it develops. :devil:
Post by: WestCoast on May 20, 2008, 06:48:03 PM

Welll...what was the previous arrangement? $150,000 or 10% of the gate receipts which ever is greater? If those conditions ARE the previous ones...and someone said that would be the agreement used....well.....dahs wha dey hadda go with. De heart attack Jack musbe getting is the 10% of gross receipts. Buh...lets see how it develops. :devil:
firstly my bad as I thought that you were referring to the Arbitrators rulling......

Yes, you may be right, this could get troubling as the fee was agreed to, now the government increased the fee. The Govt cant act like Jack now
Post by: weary1969 on May 20, 2008, 06:49:11 PM
Let him pay d govt and he eh payin d players
Post by: E-man on May 20, 2008, 07:06:34 PM

10% of gross is:

gross: $1200 x 1000 + $600 x 4150 + $300 x 18040 = $9,102,000
10% $910,200 - a little bit more than $150,000
Post by: ricky on May 20, 2008, 07:10:49 PM

10% of gross is:

gross: $1200 x 1000 + $600 x 4150 + $300 x 18040 = $9,102,000
10% $910,200 - a little bit more than $150,000

I could be wrong but as soon as i read it, i took the 150K to be US not TT
that would be about $945,000

EDIT, duh my bad... i see its TT$$
i feel like a 9000 post man now
Post by: weary1969 on May 20, 2008, 07:11:53 PM
Eman go on d money threat and calculate d money d players could get
Post by: Brownsugar on May 20, 2008, 07:16:30 PM

.....and..... ???
Post by: grimm01 on May 20, 2008, 07:16:58 PM
thief from thief does make God laugh.
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2008, 07:18:27 PM
This facking politics ting........

When i heard this on news, i just hold my head and bawl as to how petty these people really are.

How de arse they could send ah letter stating the terms and conditions of the use of the stadium 2 weeks before the game!!??

That is real shit!!  Anyways, some seious chess/poker playing going on here

Your move Jack Warner, your move.....the f**king plot thickens!!

Nothing petty at all....the TTFF puts forth a good case in their letter, but the government has an equally convincing case for raising the fees.  I'd be surprised if this actually ever makes it to court.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 20, 2008, 07:19:30 PM

.....and..... ???

And?  are you kidding me....How embarrassing it would be on a world stage...De TTFF , Government ,Nation... we will all look like jokers ...

Post by: Bourbon on May 20, 2008, 07:21:14 PM

And i sure God musbe front row dead centre in comedy fest.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 20, 2008, 07:25:32 PM
What wrong with what the Ministry do ?
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2008, 07:28:01 PM
Yes, you may be right, this could get troubling as the fee was agreed to, now the government increased the fee. The Govt cant act like Jack now

There was no prior fee agreed to... the arrangement Lalla is referring to is the fact that the gov't has been charging them a standard fee the past twenty years, so his argument is that the prior business dealings between them have established a set fee.  In reliance upon this fee (it is argued) that the TTFF budgeted what their expenses would be for hosting the event.

The Ministry of Sport could easily counter that the costs for this particular game has made it necessary to increase the rental fee...besides, it's imprudent to expect fees to stay the same for as long as 20 yrs, let alone beyond.  Even so, if you ask me $150,000 (given how much the TTFF is projected to rake in) still seems quite a bargain.
Post by: Deeks on May 20, 2008, 07:28:32 PM
Wazza,
            I don't care who feel embarassed. The world eh care about TT football anyhow. We need to rectify our football admin. once and for all. As much as I want this game to play, it it take embarassment to straighten out, so be it.
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2008, 07:29:25 PM

.....and..... ???

And?  are you kidding me....How embarrassing it would be on a world stage...De TTFF , Government ,Nation... we will all look like jokers ...

I have to remind myself that you still young...and naive to even think this game anywhere close to getting cancelled.
Post by: WestCoast on May 20, 2008, 07:35:18 PM

There was no prior fee agreed to... the arrangement Lalla is referring to is the fact that the gov't has been charging them a standard fee the past twenty years, so his argument is that the prior business dealings between them have established a set fee.  In reliance upon this fee (it is argued) that the TTFF budgeted what their expenses would be for hosting the event.

The Ministry of Sport could easily counter that the costs for this particular game has made it necessary to increase the rental fee...besides, it's imprudent to expect fees to stay the same for as long as 20 yrs, let alone beyond.  Even so, if you ask me $150,000 (given how much the TTFF is projected to rake in) still seems quite a bargain.
Cool
Thanks
Post by: Victor on May 20, 2008, 07:36:43 PM
Source: Trinidad Guardian

BY FRANCIS JOSEPH

THE international friendly dubbed A Score to Settle between T&T and England scheduled for June 1 is now in jeopardy.

This is because of a new dispute between the Minister of Sport Gary Hunt and the T&T Football Federation (TTFF) over the use of the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The Minister of Sport has submitted a new draft lease agreement for the use of the stadium. But this has not gone down well with the TTFF, who insists there was a binding agreement made on March 15 that the TTFF used to negotiate for the June 1 encounter with the English Football Association (FA).

Lawyers acting for the TTFF have given the Minister of Sport until Friday morning to resolve this matter, failing which they intend to take the matter to the High Court to seek injunctive relief.

The cancellation of the T&T vs England match could also lead to legal action being taken by the English FA for losses incurred, sources said last night.

The match was organised to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the TTFF, and the healing of wounds between FIFA vice president Jack Warner and the English FA over comments made last year.

‘Same terms’

Om Lalla, attorney for the TTFF, in a three-page letter to the Minister of Sport yesterday pointed out that his client approached the Ministry by letter dated February 18 requesting the use of the stadium for the England match.

Lalla said a written response, dated March 11, was received from stadium manager Wilfred Stephen agreeing to the use of the facilities subject to the rescheduling of certain events at the stadium.

The TTFF, he added, was also informed that the rental charges would be forwarded at a later date.

TTFF general secretary Richard Groden met with Stephen on March 15 when it was agreed that the stadium was available for use by the TTFF and the only issue to be agreed upon was the rental cost.

Lalla said Stephen agreed that the terms of the rental of the stadium would be the same terms on which the TTFF had rented the stadium over the past 20 years for national and international matches.

The Guardian was informed that, in recent years, the TTFF was called upon to pay a rental of $3,000 plus VAT or ten per cent of the gate receipts, whichever sum was greater, plus $2,000 and VAT for electricity.

Having received oral confirmation, Groden entered into an agreement on behalf of the TTFF with the English FA on March 17 for the hosting of the game at the stadium.

According to Lalla, the terms and conditions of the agreement dealt with the use of the stadium for the purposes of advertising, tickets and access.

He said the TTFF also hosted officials of the English FA to the stadium in March and conducted an examination of the facility.

Lalla, in his letter, said the TTFF sent a letter dated April 12 requesting a waiver of the fees agreed to in March for the use of the stadium. He said the local federation withdrew the request by letter dated May 5 due to a lack of co-operation from the Minister.

‘Markedly different’

Lalla said the TTFF executive was shocked to receive a draft lease agreement from Stephen on May 15. He said the draft lease agreement contained terms and conditions that were markedly different to those agreed upon at previous meetings.

The Ministry of Sport, in a media release yesterday, said among the conditions contained in the draft lease agreement were:

n a rental sum of $150,000 plus VAT or ten per cent of the gross gate receipts, whichever sum was greater;

n a refundable deposit of $45,000 towards damage;

n provision of advertising space, at a cost, within the television arc; and,

n prohibition of alcohol and tobacco advertising.

Lalla said Groden sent off a letter yesterday to the Minister seeking an urgent determination of this matter. The TTFF attorney reminded Hunt that the contract entered between the parties on March 15, was binding.

“To renege therefrom would amount not only to a breach of contract, but will have serious consequences of loss, embarrassment and liability to my client,” he said.

“My client agreed to use the facilities of the national stadium solely on the basis of the agreement entered into on or about the 15th of March 2008.

“This 11th-hour draft release, which does not reflect the agreement between your Ministry and our client, with less than ten days before the scheduled game, is not only disingenuous, but will cause irreparable damage to the reputation of the TTFF and subject each and every citizen of T&T to shame and humiliation and will result in a breach of contract with the English FA and may result in a cancellation of the match.”

Lalla said the TTFF advertised and sold tickets locally and internationally for the match.

The Port-of-Spain attorney reminded Hunt that the match was scheduled to be televised worldwide.

“As a consequence, it is imperative that personal and political differences are buried at this crucial hour and the joint efforts of your Ministry and our client are mobilised in the national interest,” Lalla wrote.

Ban on alcohol ads baffles Carib
Colin Murray, sponsorship and events manager at Carib, said his company had entered into an agreement with the TTFF for billboard and other advertising at the stadium.

As the official beer of the match, Murray said Carib had no agreement with the Ministry of Sport.

He could not understand the prohibition of alcohol advertising at the stadium, saying Heineken and Carling featured prominently in the English Premiership, while other alcohol companies were main sponsors for sport around the world.

Warner: No more matches at stadium
FIFA vice president Jack Warner said last night the T&T-England match on June 1 would be the last international game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Commenting on the sudden increase in rental at the stadium, Warner said Minister of Sport Gary Hunt wanted to put his back to the wall, “but he cannot do that; I am going after him, mark my words.”

Warner said the last sports minister Roger Boynes had waived the fees at the stadium for the World Cup qualifying matches for the 2006 campaign.

“Look at what this minister has done,” Warner said.

“He has asked for a rental of $150,000 or ten per cent of the gate receipts.

“This match is costing us $15 million. We have sold $7.8 million in tickets, that means he wants $780,000 for the rental of the stadium.

“Where is the rest of the money going to come from?”

Warner said the Ministry was charging $10,000 for each of the 32 advertising billboards within the television arc and $5,000 for other advertising.

“We agreed for the English FA to come with six boards, what are we to do now?” he asked.
Post by: dcs on May 20, 2008, 07:41:38 PM

I doh think the issue is over the fee. It is probably more over the advertizing space.

4 years of war....how is this going to affect our qualifying effort.
Post by: kentsoulman on May 20, 2008, 07:43:52 PM
Just an observation, but if the govt has been charging the same fee for 20 years, how the hell can the stadium be maintained satisfactorily?

Gary Hunt has come in and decided that sport should be run professionally. For 20 years TTFF have been increasing ticket prices, yet paying the same rent. Which means Jack makes the money while taxpayers subsidise TTFF.

I sense this is a move to antagonise Jack, but, lets face it, its about time he got his cumuppance. TTFF will still make money. Maybe, at last, Jack has found his nemesis?

Regardless of timing or the effects on the England match, you guys should see a new dawn on the horizon. Twice in two days Jack has got a bloodied nose.

The war is going nuclear!
Post by: kentsoulman on May 20, 2008, 07:54:56 PM
Silly me, but isn't  The Guardian was informed that, in recent years, the TTFF was called upon to pay a rental of $3,000 plus VAT or ten per cent of the gate receipts, whichever sum was greater, plus $2,000 and VAT for electricity.

the same as "He has asked for a rental of $150,000 or ten per cent of the gate receipts.

“This match is costing us $15 million. We have sold $7.8 million in tickets, that means he wants $780,000 for the rental of the stadium.

Ok, the initial figure is lower, but the 10% rule would apply either way. So Jacks really arguing about advertising. Now I have to admit, I've been to over 30 English matches this season and I do't remember any pitchside alcohol advertisements. Sponsorships such as the Carling Cup, yes, but no product adverts pitchside.

Personally, in this instance, if I was Hunt, I would waive the advertising fees for this game and take the $780,000.
Post by: dcs on May 20, 2008, 08:10:34 PM

Wonder if there was advertising with Carib prior to this....

all this is foolishness
Post by: Eldo man on May 20, 2008, 08:13:20 PM
Wazza,
            I don't care who feel embarassed. The world eh care about TT football anyhow. We need to rectify our football admin. once and for all. As much as I want this game to play, it it take embarassment to straighten out, so be it.

Deeks boy.....I second that.
Post by: ckhan on May 20, 2008, 08:42:01 PM
Oral agreement again?????....LOLOLOLOL

This is one heck of a time to pull off this updated change, 2 weeks before game time!!!!! Are you blasted kidding?????  I don't mind the gov't getting their fair share but 2 weeks dread???  What de hell?????  Its like two cars heading towards each other playing chicken, which one will back down first??? 

Anyhow, if this Stadium thing is not resolved, would the game move to de oval?
Post by: kandi_tt on May 20, 2008, 08:44:33 PM
ticket for sale!!!

lookinh like i go watch it off ah feed on ah projector screen in kanditown...
Post by: D.H.W on May 20, 2008, 08:46:45 PM
ticket for sale!!!

lookinh like i go watch it off ah feed on ah projector screen in kanditown...

Post by: Midknight on May 20, 2008, 08:56:45 PM

Dat is the first thing I see.

Is 5 am, I ent have the energy to read all the details, but from what I see, de government moving real dirty, but they have a convincing argument. If TTFF didn't batten down the hatches before budgetting, that is their problem.

Smelling blood is joke...Is a damn abbatoir we dealing with.
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2008, 09:02:10 PM
Oral agreement again?????....LOLOLOLOL

This is one heck of a time to pull off this updated change, 2 weeks before game time!!!!! Are you blasted kidding?????  I don't mind the gov't getting their fair share but 2 weeks dread???  What de hell?????  Its like two cars heading towards each other playing chicken, which one will back down first??? 

Anyhow, if this Stadium thing is not resolved, would the game move to de oval?

Is 5 am, I ent have the energy to read all the details, but from what I see, de government moving real dirty, but they have a convincing argument. If TTFF didn't batten down the hatches before budgetting, that is their problem.

All ah allyuh who having issues with the timing and who feel the gov't moving 'dirty'...

Did allyuh NOT read about the state of the HC stadium just a couple months ago? 

Where do you suppose money was to come from to make the upgrades?

Why do you feel that the gov't could have come up with an earlier cost projection, which to factor into the lease terms?

Should the gov't even factor in the new costs...or should they continue to hand over the facilities to the TFF for baubles and trinkets?
Post by: Midknight on May 20, 2008, 09:05:26 PM

All ah allyuh who having issues with the timing and who feel the gov't moving 'dirty'...

Did allyuh NOT read about the state of the HC stadium just a couple months ago? 

Where do you suppose money was to come from to make the upgrades?

Why do you feel that the gov't could have come up with an earlier cost projection, which to factor into the lease terms?

Should the gov't even factor in the new costs...or should they continue to hand over the facilities for baubles and trinkets?

You're taking my quote out of context. By 'dirty' I mean they playing hardball,not necessarily insinuating is a bad or unnecessary thing. Is 5am, as I said. Doh blame me if the expression kinda sketchy.
Post by: WestCoast on May 20, 2008, 09:08:59 PM
The Minister of Sport had to start some time to bring the whole process up to date and I believe that he is doing the right thing.
Post by: weary1969 on May 20, 2008, 09:14:14 PM
Kent u hit d nail on d head no wonder d stadium in a mess dey pay 1988 fees.
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2008, 09:15:50 PM
You're taking my quote out of context. By 'dirty' I mean they playing hardball,not necessarily insinuating is a bad or unnecessary thing. Is 5am, as I said. Doh blame me if the expression kinda sketchy.

I see whey yuh say "they have a very convincing argument"... but yeah 'dirty' kinda carries connotations that they acting less than fair.  I can't sit here and say for sure that it took them two months to come up with proper costs...but I can see it taking that long for a number of reasons.  construing the events in a light most favorable to the TTFF...let's not forget that this is TnT we talking about after all, with it's serpentine bureaucracy.
Post by: ckhan on May 20, 2008, 09:21:49 PM
I am

I see whey yuh say "they have a very convincing argument"... but yeah 'dirty' kinda carries connotations that they acting less than fair.  I can't sit here and say for sure that it took them two months to come up with proper costs...but I can see it taking that long for a number of reasons.  construing the events in a light most favorable to the TTFF...let's not forget that this is TnT we talking about after all, with it's serpentine bureaucracy.

I am glad you said that B'n'S, because we all should know who we are dealing with.  Mine word, for twenty years you have been paying the same fees and now you decide to clean up....NOW!!! Nah, this is a little too coincidential.
Post by: ckhan on May 20, 2008, 09:24:26 PM
ps...at least "grandfather" the TTF into the this change and not drop it just so.  I am not a fan of TTFF practices but the gov't could have moved differently on this one.
Post by: weary1969 on May 20, 2008, 09:26:32 PM
Y because we playin d Mother Country?
Post by: D.H.W on May 20, 2008, 09:30:31 PM

;D :devil: :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2008, 10:30:33 PM

I am glad you said that B'n'S, because we all should know who we are dealing with.  Mine word, for twenty years you have been paying the same fees and now you decide to clean up....NOW!!! Nah, this is a little too coincidential.

Coincidental?  How so?  Hunt has signaled from early that he plans on doing things much differently than in the past.  Even if we are to construe this as a tit for tat situation...let's not lose sight of who fired the first salvo by their refusal to make themselves accountable for the public money given to them by the gov't.

Nothing happens in a vacuum.
Post by: just cool on May 20, 2008, 11:04:36 PM

.....and..... ???

And?  are you kidding me....How embarrassing it would be on a world stage...De TTFF , Government ,Nation... we will all look like jokers  ...

Again ?!!!! did i miss somthing!! when did we stop being jokers ?!!!  this don't happen in the UK, or the US. only in ah banana republic.  do the math.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 21, 2008, 04:35:45 AM

.....and..... ???

....first dis game going to play....doh worry....

second....Jackula/TTFF are already an embarrasment to our football......stay dey and feel the world eh done alerted to how much of an embarrasment de TTFF and Jackula in particular are for us....
please note....the English fans are boycotting dis game over statements the Special Advisor made about their football....dey done see through he and his attempt to play politics with this game......

If only we Trinbagonians could see through de smoke screen too and boycott de blasted game too!!!....however since dat goh happen when pigs fly.....me and mih black juzzy will have to make do!!!...
Post by: WestCoast on May 21, 2008, 04:41:13 AM

Coincidental?  How so?  Hunt has signaled from early that he plans on doing things much differently than in the past.  Even if we are to construe this as a tit for tat situation...let's not lose sight of who fired the first salvo by their refusal to make themselves accountable for the public money given to them by the gov't.

ya Know BnS,
it really amazes me HOW quick some forget Jackulas antics.

What I would ask everyone is to imagine HOW successful TnT football would really be if Jackula and his underlings Picked the BEST players and not their favorites as I have been told that Cornmeals love to do.
Post by: ckhan on May 21, 2008, 06:31:01 AM

Coincidental? How so? Hunt has signaled from early that he plans on doing things much differently than in the past. Even if we are to construe this as a tit for tat situation...let's not lose sight of who fired the first salvo by their refusal to make themselves accountable for the public money given to them by the gov't.

You are right, it is a tit for tat situation and b/c of the history between these two I guess there is no right way but moreso my way of handling.  I will continue to observe.

As for WC, no one will even know how it would have been if best players would be picked b/c favourtism is the rule of the day - especially in TnT football.
Post by: ann3boys on May 21, 2008, 06:43:19 AM
All of you who are venting on the TTFF have obviously not had a good look at the facts.
1. If there is a rental in place for a period of time, a landlord cannot cannot change this without notice- more than 2 weeks.
2. The condition of the stadium before this match was not the fault of the TTFF or any football playing club. It was because of the fetes for carnival, and the presidential inauguration ceremony taking place at that venue.
3. Because of 2. the responsibility and cost of cleaning up the venue rests with the landlord. The landlord cannot penalise the NEXT renter for the PREVIOUS renters' misdeeds or damage to the property. That should have been covered by their deposits.

Yes, everybody may have a bone to pick with Jack, but fair is fair, and this reeeks of political victimisation. I am sure if the TTFF knew of this increase in fees, the prices for the match would have been higher to match the higher costs.

A question: why did the govt wait until the tickets were sold out before announcing this increase?

Think about this.
Post by: Bourbon on May 21, 2008, 06:46:59 AM
All of you who are venting on the TTFF have obviously not had a good look at the facts.
1. If there is a rental in place for a period of time, a landlord cannot cannot change this without notice- more than 2 weeks.
2. The condition of the stadium before this match was not the fault of the TTFF or any football playing club. It was because of the fetes for carnival, and the presidential inauguration ceremony taking place at that venue.
3. Because of 2. the responsibility and cost of cleaning up the venue rests with the landlord. The landlord cannot penalise the NEXT renter for the PREVIOUS renters' misdeeds or damage to the property. That should have been covered by their deposits.

Yes, everybody may have a bone to pick with Jack, but fair is fair, and this reeeks of political victimisation. I am sure if the TTFF knew of this increase in fees, the prices for the match would have been higher to match the higher costs.

A question: why did the govt wait until the tickets were sold out before announcing this increase?

Think about this.

I doh think you take a good look at the facts. The agreement is $150000 or 10% of gate receipts which ever is greater. The previous agreement was 2000 or 10% of gate receipts which ever is greater. In either scenario, the amount of payment would be the 10% of gate receipts. So what is so different?
Post by: WestCoast on May 21, 2008, 06:52:15 AM
I doh think you take a good look at the facts. The agreement is $150000 or 10% of gate receipts which ever is greater. The previous agreement was 2000 or 10% of gate receipts which ever is greater. In either scenario, the amount of payment would be the 10% of gate receipts. So what is so different?
very simple really
10% it is
Post by: Organic on May 21, 2008, 06:52:25 AM
Look at alot of allyuh, because allyuh game  posisbly in jeopardy  allyuh willign to suffer jack jus for one match. This is a positive move. Accountability and progressiveness seems to be the new theme. Hlaf of allyuh who anti hunt anti pnm whihc has little to do with the football itsself. well unless where jack is concerned.
From day one when hunt say allyuh have to show accountability ...he said this to all de federations mind you, all the paritsans jump up and start to talk. I dont see any of this being bad. in the long run.
trinidadians still too shortsighted in thier outlook.
Post by: ann3boys on May 21, 2008, 06:57:46 AM
What about the increase in fees for the advertising, and the imposition of the NEW ban on alcohol ads? We don't know whick billboards the english are walking with, but there is also an agreement for them to bring along 6 ads to place around the grounds. This increase in fees is also in the change.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 21, 2008, 07:07:25 AM

Lalla said the TTFF executive was shocked to receive a draft lease agreement from Stephen on May 15. He said the draft lease agreement contained terms and conditions that were markedly different to those agreed upon at previous meetings.

The Ministry of Sport, in a media release yesterday, said among the conditions contained in the draft lease agreement were:
n a rental sum of $150,000 plus VAT or ten per cent of the gross gate receipts, whichever sum was greater;
n a refundable deposit of $45,000 towards damage;
n provision of advertising space, at a cost, within the television arc; and,
n prohibition of alcohol and tobacco advertising.

Lalla said Groden sent off a letter yesterday to the Minister seeking an urgent determination of this matter. The TTFF attorney reminded Hunt that the contract entered between the parties on March 15, was binding.

Ann3boys...I saw this earlier and meant to comment but forgot with all the information I went on to read.....is it really the Ministry that waited until the tickets were sold out...(i.e in that we all went and paid on Sunday)??....seems to me de TTFF was de ones playing dead to catch corbeaux alive....

In any event, ah sorry eh BUT....Jackula/TTFF has done de same blasted thing to everything and everyone related to football....the fans, the players, the gov't, the sponsors....is shaft all we get at some point or another.....so while Gary Hunt's move could be seen as just political grandstanding....

KARMA IS A BIATCH!!!!....
Ah love it!!  (copyright Andre Samuel)
Post by: ann3boys on May 21, 2008, 07:12:07 AM
Tickets went on sale May 5th and were announced sold out on 6th.
Post by: Bourbon on May 21, 2008, 07:19:08 AM
What about the increase in fees for the advertising, and the imposition of the NEW ban on alcohol ads? We don't know whick billboards the english are walking with, but there is also an agreement for them to bring along 6 ads to place around the grounds. This increase in fees is also in the change.

NEW ban on alcohol ads? Remember a few years ago the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year was sponsored by WITCO? You know why they not sponsoring it now and First Citizens Bank took over? Because the Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs instituted a policy that prohibited companies that advertise tobacco and alcohol from being front line sponsors of sporting events that they were affiliated with.
Also if your property would be used for advertisment...you have an entitlement to a portion of the revenue from them. I am sure that the advertising revenue from this game.....from the British Standpoint are phenomenal. Nothing has changed as much as the TTFF would make one believe. The only change is the baseline figure from the fees...which will not be a factor because the 10% would be higher.
Post by: Bourbon on May 21, 2008, 07:20:08 AM

One day. So given what window did the Ministry have to correspond?

Hear nah...i hearing dis lying snake on radio....he say....dey doh have a projection for the income from advertising revenue. What they plan to do is to sit down after the game and determine and if they have a profit they declare it or if they have a loss declare it. HOW DE ASS YUH COULD DO DAT?
Post by: Jah Gol on May 21, 2008, 07:28:00 AM

Think about this.
I happen to agree with you. I not so sure that it was any bombshell the Ministry dropped 2 weeks before the event. The Fed would have known about it in advance and are trying to milk the controversy.

In principle I have no problem with the ministry's aim to enforce the rules. 
Post by: Brownsugar on May 21, 2008, 07:29:47 AM

But we didn't actually fork over any money till de 18th of May while the TTFF knew of the changes on May 15th....
Post by: FF on May 21, 2008, 08:01:31 AM
Arbitrator come and rule against Jack..

now Jack come out to dazzle everybody with bullsh!t...

Ppl start thinking intelligently please... don't get confuse
Post by: supporter on May 21, 2008, 08:07:07 AM
Cant TTFF get a gov't order to have this matter resolved after June 1st?
Post by: Brownsugar on May 21, 2008, 08:13:39 AM
Arbitrator come and rule against Jack..

now Jack come out to dazzle everybody with bullsh!t...

Ppl start thinking intelligently please... don't get confuse

But check it nah...he say TTFF going to CAS....he say he never agreed to the Gross receipts he is a business man he know better dan dat....

he say how it have no more revealing of revenues to be shown....dey (TTFF) done give de figures dey rec'd already...

and further he say de players shouldn't be taking out a claim against de TTFF dey dealt with him not de TTFF (and we all know yuh eh nutten to do wid de TTFF right Jackula??   ::) )

He say if push come to shove de TTFF goh have to sell a few properties etc. etc to pay de players cuz de TTFF eh have no money....as usual, right Jackula....how could de TTFF have any money...dey always owing you...

Look ah just laughing yes or else ah goh cry!!....
Post by: fishs on May 21, 2008, 08:29:42 AM

This is pure raw politics.
 The stadium is not a private facility.
Even this year men throwing big fete in the stadium and paying small fees, $ 50,000.00 I think was the biggest fee paid .
The stadium is operated and managed by public servants therefore maintained by tax payers money, no way could event receipts cover the cost of maintaining the facility.

I have been cussing in bars for years that promoters getting away with murder when they rent public facilities at small rates for private money raising ventures so I do not have a problem with the stadiium management raisiing they fees for this game since TTFF does run like a private entity.

What is BS is that you decide when everything done fix for the game to adjust the terms , less than 2 wks before the game.

Whilst Jack and cronies may not operate in a fair and honest manner it does not give the authorities the right to do so also.
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2008, 11:06:33 AM

Think about this.

Fella this is not about venting on the TTFF this is about the public getting it's just due for the use of it's facilities.  Aside from which none of your arguments stand up to scrutiny.

There IS no rental in place...which is to say there is no existing lease.  This is not a Term of Years lease as you insinuate, this at best can be termed a Periodic Lease, the terms of which are subject to negotiation at the beginning of each new term.  In this case the "term" would be the date/s for which the stadium is being rented.  As such the old rental terms do not govern future agreements and the parties are not bound, legally, morally, ethically (however you look at it) by the terms of prior agreements.

This may well be true, but it is ultimately immaterial to the discussion as outlined below...

Responsibility and costs for making the facility 'habitable' or, since this is a commercial lease, to make it usable does indeed lie with the landlord.  However the issue wasn't that the stadium in it's prior state wasn't suitable for a football match... the issue was that it wasn't up to standards for THIS particular match, according to the TTFF and the FA.  As such it is entirely within the Ministry's rights to factor costs of improvements per the TTFF's specifications, into the lease terms.

To give an analogy...if I own a warehouse and you come to me with an offer to lease it from me with an eye towards turning it into a call center to house customer service reps for your Credit Card company, my empty shell of a warehouse won't meet your specifications as is.  Improvements have to be made where instead of an open floor, cubicles have to be installed, each cubicle has to be wired for lighting and power for workstations etc.  More bathrooms have to be put in to accommodate the number of workers, new exits (fire safety), ventilation...outside facilities must be improved (re-paving to create parking lots) etc.  Those improvements are necessary.  We can either agree that you rent the facility as is and suffer the burden of the ameliorative costs...or, I as landlord can make the improvements, but obviously I'm not going to charge you the same rent for a brand new refurbished call-center, as I would for an empty shell of a warehouse.

Not saying that the improvements to the HC stadium has been so drastic...but neither has been the cost increase.
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2008, 11:09:04 AM

Fiction.

Again...people reading but not understanding.  There is mention of "provision of advertsing space within the television arc at costs".  How that become "increase in advertising fees"???
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2008, 11:15:16 AM
What is BS is that you decide when everything done fix for the game to adjust the terms , less than 2 wks before the game.

Whilst Jack and cronies may not operate in a fair and honest manner it does not give the authorities the right to do so also.

Apparently you still spending too much time in bars...because everything was not "done fix" for the game.  If anything there was an incomplete agreement in place with cost of the lease being deferred to a future time.  Lalla's letter does not actually indicate when those terms were agreed upon, and since the TTFF agreed to defer such an important term they cannot now cry about the timing...that should have been the first matter agreed upon "how much allyuh charging we tuh rent de stadium?"
Post by: legal alien on May 21, 2008, 11:21:32 AM
i won't be there, but i think i'll reconsider ever supporting PNM again i this match cancel... if this is the way Gary hunt move. look at the timin of this ting.petty
  i wonder if jack onto something when he say that gary not into football...
Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2008, 11:34:35 AM
Legal pleezeeeeeeeeee it have a 1001 reason not 2 support d PNM dis is not 1 of dem. So Hunt not into futbol what else JW spin u believe. Dis is just a smoke screen because oui startin wit 44million any currency besides Guyanese is real money he have pay so doh fall 4 he foolishness
Post by: kentsoulman on May 21, 2008, 11:51:14 AM

Apparently you still spending too much time in bars...because everything was not "done fix" for the game.  If anything there was an incomplete agreement in place with cost of the lease being deferred to a future time.  Lalla's letter does not actually indicate when those terms were agreed upon, and since the TTFF agreed to defer such an important term they cannot now cry about the timing...that should have been the first matter agreed upon "how much allyuh charging we tuh rent de stadium?"

You know, in these two current stories involving TTFF (arbitration and stadium) one thing is clear (and f*cking amazing). No written agreements were in place. Either Jack prefers this because he can then alter terms after the event, or Jack & TTFF are a bunch of amateurs. TTFF should have issued a contract immediately after the meeting with the players, or at least sent them a letter confirming the outcome. They should also, in the absence of confirmation from the stadium manager, written to him conirming their conversation and detailing their understanding of the rental agreement inc financial figures.

In both instances, the liability falls to TTFF.

Hopefully, they will learn from this.
Post by: Organic on May 21, 2008, 11:54:44 AM
i won't be there, but i think i'll reconsider ever supporting PNM again i this match cancel... if this is the way Gary hunt move. look at the timin of this ting.petty

case in pt..sigh

IMAGINE U ARGREEING WITH JACK........steups..lemme repost this

yup shortsighted again...i knwo rela fans want to see this game gneuine fans but how many fo them going jus to lime wiht out care concern or understanidn what really going on in the football in trini.
jack praying on de ignorance of the majority who dont have a clue what going on...blacklist....no money  etc..
so he will use that to make the minstry look like the bad ones....
and the "fans" on here should know better. They just care bout seeing the game. And de day after when jack still smiling baring his teeth allyuhw ill be back cursing him and complaning again.
why is the the"legit" federations gave the minsitry what the asked for in term sof acc**tability?
steups oui

half ah allyuh in here more fickle than ah $5 prostitute. 

Post by: fishs on May 21, 2008, 11:58:04 AM

Mr Perry Mason yuh trying to twist my words or wha ?
Everything done fix for the game meant, agreement with England, team picked and players coming home, tickets bought  by fans.
You just find you must open up for everything that you could.
Why did not the Ministry indicate what the new terms and conditions of use for the stadium would be when the furore over the state of the ground was ?
Is it unreasonable for the landlord to say , I am going to fix this place up to meet such and such standards however the costs will have to be now passed on to the tenants at that time ?
Why at the 11th hour impose new charges ?
And all the legal BS yuh on aside, this stadium belongs to the people of TT and no government should use it as a political football.
99% of the football fans inTrinidad and Tobago doh really give a flying eff if Jack tief or did not tief when it comes to them watching a game like this.
Post by: FF on May 21, 2008, 12:06:59 PM
Fishs what has changed?

Going forward the minimum payment is $150,000. That DOES NOT apply in this case...

Jack is the one playing political football... The ministry did not put out a press release saying "ticket or leave it" pay up... Jack and cronies did..

The material cost for this event remains the same.. Jack is coldly and calculatingly looking to gain political points by making the government look bad... adopting the victim stance... and at the same time riding to the rescue when he claim to pay the price out of his own pocket...

One only needs to look at the language in his recent classless and shameless press release about the game.

If i was Hunt I would say fine.. 20,000 or 10% of the gate... is the same amount... but going forward this is the jamming $150,000 "ticket or leave it" ... hey this might happen anyway!
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2008, 12:26:29 PM

You know, in these two current stories involving TTFF (arbitration and stadium) one thing is clear (and f*cking amazing). No written agreements were in place. Either Jack prefers this because he can then alter terms after the event, or Jack & TTFF are a bunch of amateurs. TTFF should have issued a contract immediately after the meeting with the players, or at least sent them a letter confirming the outcome. They should also, in the absence of confirmation from the stadium manager, written to him conirming their conversation and detailing their understanding of the rental agreement inc financial figures.

In both instances, the liability falls to TTFF.

Hopefully, they will learn from this.

It's not necessarily a bad thing Kent...we're a country of just over 1million people and indeed at times it seems even smaller than that.  Many people are familiar with each other, especially in smaller circles such as gov't, sport and business.  So informal ad hoc (handshake) agreements still find favor with many.  Not always the best way to conduct business...obviously.
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2008, 12:35:52 PM
Mr Perry Mason yuh trying to twist my words or wha ?
Everything done fix for the game meant, agreement with England, team picked and players coming home, tickets bought  by fans.
You just find you must open up for everything that you could.
Why did not the Ministry indicate what the new terms and conditions of use for the stadium would be when the furore over the state of the ground was ?
Is it unreasonable for the landlord to say , I am going to fix this place up to meet such and such standards however the costs will have to be now passed on to the tenants at that time ?

It should be apparent to anybody with sense that if you come with new requirements as far as the standard of the facilities...then the added cost will factor into your rent.  You another one distracted by Jack Jedi mind games...de sleight of tongue have yuh bazodee.

Why at the 11th hour impose new charges ?

For the umpteenth time...WHAT new charges?

And all the legal BS yuh on aside, this stadium belongs to the people of TT and no government should use it as a political football.
99% of the football fans inTrinidad and Tobago doh really give a flying eff if Jack tief or did not tief when it comes to them watching a game like this.

...and this is precisely why I don't waste time arguing with fools.  This is a legal situation...breach of contract, so yuh'd have to excuse me for looking at it from that angle.  I don't have time with nonsense mauvais langue talk about gov't conspiracy to "sabotage match and make TTFF look bad" and all dat bullshit.  I only interested in looking at facts and if half ah allyuh Trinidadians would take allyuh head out allyuh ass and open allyuh eyes and read fuh allyuh selves allyuh would see the bullshit Jack waving in front allyuh face talking about "look at the pretty colors".  Jack have allyuh head tie up with some $2 magic tricks and allyuh tripping all over allyuhself falling fuh de same ole bullshit.

Give Jack he Jacket...de man ent in de public eye for so long without mastering a few tricks.  Judging by some of the responses to this issue it is evident that his efforts are being validated.
Post by: WestCoast on May 21, 2008, 02:57:34 PM
Give Jack he Jacket...de man ent in de public eye for so long without mastering a few tricks.  Judging by some of the responses to this issue it is evident that his efforts are being validated.
and with the average person on the street.
was listening to the News at noon in TnT and most people interviewed on the street sided with Warner

As soon as he says "The Sky is falling" people go "Gah Gah"
Post by: Baygo Boy on May 21, 2008, 09:47:18 PM
Jack don't have much of a case, especially if he didn't have a long term lease agreement with the Government. He shouldn't assume that his previous rental costs and agreement will be in effect for future events (that's was stupid).

Apart from that - The stadium manager does not set lease fees or rental terms - the Ministry does, so he is in no position to give fee guarantees to the TTFF.
Post by: spideybuff on May 21, 2008, 10:24:44 PM
Jack getting it from all sides: The government, the players and the fans (if we wear black).

Yet ppl stil trying to fight down everything becuase" it not going to make a difference." and saying how Hunt is *unt, wearing black doh make a difference and the players greedy.

I just doh understand it. Thank goodness I was born after slavery was abolished otherwise I woulda never be free cause when the revolution start, half of allyuh woulda run and warn d massa.
Post by: Deeks on May 21, 2008, 10:41:23 PM
The funny thing about the man on the street is that he don't even go and see football anymore. Well only on the big occasion. WC and The occasional celebrity match. We lost 2, maybe 3  generation of fans. Look how the English does support their local teams.

The best present for TT football for this Centennial year is for all the waggonists to go and support their local pro, semi-pro, quarter-pro teams. Take some of the youths to the games instead of letting them hang out in the streets to develop bad habits. carry some drums and percussion instruments so that they can enhance their musical skills. So when the WC games come around we have the real passionate fans jamming in the stadium.
Post by: spideybuff on May 21, 2008, 10:44:44 PM
I realise allyuh doh have the background here.

Jack sent a memo to the government that only the President and PM getting comps. All other ministers, including the minister of sport, have to pay to come to the game and fight to get tickets like all of we. That was just vindictiveness on Jack part, especially when ypu know Panday and the opposition up in the VIP.

So in retaliation, the government decide "well, if Jack want to move so and rob us of our money plus make a profit off of everybody, we will have to find a way to humbug that scene."Thus, after looking at their options, this was a decent way of doing it cause the reason was plausible.

It only happened at this point because this law could not be passed while Hampton Games were going on in the stadium, because is jack specifially they want to screw over, since EVERYBODY know that the money he getting going to him and not the development of we football or the TTFF. So, this way, the government will at least get some of the money that jack gettign off of us  that could possibly be reinvested in the stadium or sports (or be stolen by the government themselves).

Either way, with Hunt and them, we have a chance that the money could go to one them white boy sports(like Jack say). With Jack we have none cause even the players who sweat blood and tears and bring him all th emoney cah share in the pot.

So...all in all, is small minded vindictiveness and revenge, but to me it better than letting Jack continue to do whatever he want un impeded.

And all of allyuh who say this is an embarassment need to take a step back and look at how many times Jack Warner embarass us internationally and understand that Jack is an ambassador for the country. Everything he does is a reflection of our society and our people in the eyes of the world. Can you imagine all those eastern european countries who never hear about trinidad but know Jack warner because of FIFA? That is their vision of what a Trinidadian is. Please remember that when u talking about embarassment.
Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2008, 10:50:07 PM
Same crap different day. A lil improvement did d Prez and d PM get invited 2 d Peru game
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2008, 11:55:22 PM
I juss vex Hunt boil down from 10% to $150,000
Post by: WestCoast on May 22, 2008, 02:23:07 AM
buh wha de armen

anyway the jack supporters goin an still complain that the Govt tryin to hijack the England Game.
Post by: kentsoulman on May 22, 2008, 03:32:31 AM

Hunt was never going to let the game be cancelled. He wanted to put down his marker and let Jack know-publicly-that he can no longer do what he wants, when he wants. If he doesn't follow correct procedure, Hunt will stop him.

Warner knows he's in a fight and cannot be seen to be subservient to the government (which every citizen should be). Therefore, despite Hunt saying he will revert to original agreement (which was probably his intention all along), Warner still wants to take it to court so he can prove a point. No Minister is gonna tell him what he can do in the country he owns. If he loses the England game, he knows some unintelligent people will side with him. He can go to Sydney and tell FIFA "Look what I'm up against. I've been planning this game for 3 years and the stupid minister cancelled it because of politics"

Post by: redtrinigirl on May 22, 2008, 08:24:23 AM
Ah sorry eh, but the more I read bout this issue on this forum the clearer it is that there are varying levels of intelligence on this forum. There is book sense, and there is common sense, but then yuh have people on this site making no sense. ::)

They really say the english language is a difficult one, but some people clearly cannot read and understand, nor read between the lines. Another great Trinidadian trait is not reading or researching for yourself, but depending on someone to tell you what is what. And of course that leads to believing spin and nonsense.

Bakes, WestCoast and de rest, fellas leave people to believe what they want. We know what going on, what has been going on all this time, and no one can make us believe any spin or media hype.
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2008, 08:36:48 AM
Trinis can always read and write but neva comprehend reds u want dem 2 do research come nah man or should I say woman. It have 2 peeps on dis board peeps who like football and eh care dat in order 4 d game dey like 2 progress we need 2 get rid ah JW. Then u have does who know dat JW have 2 go and would take baby steps 2 get their. D WN press release last yr was a baby step and wearin black is another baby step
Post by: elan on May 22, 2008, 02:59:03 PM
Trinidad stadium row threatens England friendly

Updated: May 22, 2008, 7:39 AM ET

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, May 21 (Reuters) - England's friendly international with Trinidad and Tobago on June 1 risks being cancelled due to a domestic row over rental terms for the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The Caribbean nation's football federation (TTFF) and Ministry of Sports are in dispute over advertising issues, rental fees and other elements of an agreement the TTFF said was changed last week by the ministry, which owns the ground.

On Wednesday, Jack Warner, a TTFF 'special advisor' and FIFA vice-president, said unless the terms were changed or an injunction against the sports minister was successful the England match would be cancelled.

'If the minister does not answer and withdraw this agreement, we have authorised (our attorney) to file an injunction to restrain the minister for imposing these conditions. If the injunction fails, the match fails, I refund people their money and apologise to the world.

'If the injunction wins, then the game is on. If the minister chooses to withdraw this today, then there is no injunction, the game is on, ' Warner, who is also joint-leader of the country's opposition party, said on local radio.

A letter from the TTFF's attorney, published in local media on Wednesday, said the conditions demanded by the ministry 'will result in a breach of contract with the English FA and may result in a cancellation of the match'.

However, an FA spokesman was quoted in British media saying: 'We have not been made aware of any threat to the game and fully expect it to go ahead as planned. This is an internal issue which we are confident will be resolved soon.'

The dispute is the latest in a series of spats involving the TTFF and comes after it was ordered this week by an arbitration panel in London to pay its 2006 World Cup squad extensive bonuses.

The players, who have been refusing to play for the national team due to the nearly two-year long dispute, were told by the panel they should receive half the country's participation money and commercial revenues and income from pre-tournament friendly matches.

The players' England-based attorney, Michael Townley, said on Wednesday he intended to file for an interim award of US$7 million to be split among his clients based on the 'limited information made public by the TTFF'.

It would mean each player would be entitled to about US$280,000. The TTFF initially offered them US$910 each in October, 2006.

'At the moment, the players have not received a single cent and it is important to have some money flowing from this exercise,' said Townley.

Trinidad and Tobago sports minister Gary Hunt is confident the friendly will go ahead as planned.

Hunt told the Trinidad Express: 'The government has entered in talks with the TTFF with a position that we would like the game to go on.

'They (the TTFF) are willing (to talk).

'There is legal posturing, but they are willing. That is the impression left with me today.'

http://soccernet-akamai.espn.go.com/news/story?id=537762&cc=5901
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2008, 04:14:50 PM
D players who refuse 2 play 4 d last 2 yrs who is d foooooooooool dat write dat piece ah crap. D blacklist suppose 2 b lifted and people eh even know dat there was a blacklist
Post by: Babalawo on May 23, 2008, 01:34:12 AM
Aye cyah believe the ttff wanted to pay $910 measley dollars each to we football hero.  Any way we know Warner and TTFF will blink first cuz he know he cyah cancell the match. He will get nuff bottle pelt he way :beermug:
Post by: Midknight on May 23, 2008, 05:20:52 AM
D players who refuse 2 play 4 d last 2 yrs who is d foooooooooool dat write dat piece ah crap. D blacklist suppose 2 b lifted and people eh even know dat there was a blacklist

I tried commenting on the article to correct it, but you have to be a member of the site to post comments. I really can't be bothered. Anyone who can feel free to post this

The players have not been "refusing to play for the national team for the past two years." They were officiously barred from selection after the announcement of their initial decision to take the federation to court for their unpaid dues. Some 8 odd months later, this secret "blacklist" was officially avowed.
It remained in effect until it was lifted in February of this year. While a few of the players party to the suit (4) have since been reintegrated to the team in one manner or another, there remains however a secondary officious list targetting the perceived ringleaders of the players movement.
Post by: FATZ on May 23, 2008, 09:01:08 AM

This is exactly what Warner wants people to do, he politicises everything to make the current government look bad and he's the biggest thief in the country. All the crime happening and he can't say a word because he's a white collar criminal himself, the worst of the lot.

On the fact of the stadium rental, the agreement was always there but since the TTFF never have money, they used to get a 'bligh' now the stadium management realise the kind of money being hidden, they must have said no more. Gary Hunt still giving them a bligh because he said he'll take the 150k and not the 10% of gate money which is more. Jack could pull that money out of his wallet but since he's the scamp who he is, he doesn't want to pay and then have people thinking he's lost a battle.
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2008, 09:29:58 AM

This is exactly what Warner wants people to do, he politicises everything to make the current government look bad and he's the biggest thief in the country. All the crime happening and he can't say a word because he's a white collar criminal himself, the worst of the lot.

On the fact of the stadium rental, the agreement was always there but since the TTFF never have money, they used to get a 'bligh' now the stadium management realise the kind of money being hidden, they must have said no more. Gary Hunt still giving them a bligh because he said he'll take the 150k and not the 10% of gate money which is more. Jack could pull that money out of his wallet but since he's the scamp who he is, he doesn't want to pay and then have people thinking he's lost a battle.
TELL DEM FATZ

if Hunt come through.....I going and Support PNM
(Allya doh tell TT eh...he go soak dong heself) :devil: :devil:
Post by: Rastaman on May 23, 2008, 11:19:33 AM
Any updates on this impass..I have been stuck behind this computer all morning
Post by: weary1969 on May 23, 2008, 11:27:41 AM
D TTFF eh turn up 4 d meeting
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2008, 11:33:11 AM
De meeting dat was set for today, ya talkin bout day Weary?
Post by: Rastaman on May 23, 2008, 11:34:28 AM

Ah was kinda expecting it the other way around since I was listening to Minister Hunt on the radio at minutes to 8 this morning. Ahh well.

It real hard for me because I collecting my tickets tomorrow.(yes the TTFF gave us Tobagonians a bit of help) Everybody done pay already but I have to hand over meh $1200(not reserved but 4 uncovered) knowing full well that it might be in vein.
Post by: weary1969 on May 23, 2008, 11:35:13 AM
correct dat meeting
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2008, 11:36:15 AM
Ah was kinda expecting it the other way around since I was listening to Minister Hunt on the radio at minutes to 8 this morning. Ahh well.
It real hard for me because I collecting my tickets tomorrow.(yes the TTFF gave us Tobagonians a bit of help) Everybody done pay already but I have to hand over meh $1200(not reserved but 4 uncovered) knowing full well that it might be in vein.
is Intravenous ya takin dem tings man?

easy on meh eh Rastaman, is Friday orrite :devil:
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2008, 11:38:02 AM
De meeting dat was set for today, ya talkin bout day Weary?
correct dat meeting
and some people BLAMING de Government

Boy, I ent kno nuh
Open allya eyes and ears people
TTFF is de REAL Shithongs
Post by: Rastaman on May 23, 2008, 11:40:00 AM

Ent they say the meeting was 9 o'clock, or was that just the deadline ???

Ah sorry but ah was more up to date when ah was living n England  ;D
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2008, 11:41:35 AM
arm......... :whistling:
check de hi-lited word up so ;D
Post by: Rastaman on May 23, 2008, 11:44:18 AM
arm......... :whistling:
check de hi-lited word up so ;D

OK OK ah look for that one  :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2008, 11:46:20 AM
Yeah, weary say de TTFF ent show......
Om Lalla must be tell Jackula to stay home and keep he mout shut
Post by: Rastaman on May 23, 2008, 11:52:29 AM
Um Balla must be tell Jackula to stay home and keep he mout shut
Well let we hope he listen to him.
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2008, 11:53:58 AM
or hor
you talkin
PERMANENTLY
dat WOULD be sweet :devil:
Post by: Rastaman on May 23, 2008, 12:06:01 PM
or hor
you talkin
PERMANENTLY
dat WOULD be sweet :devil:
If only we would be so lucky....

ah going and see if I could get any news.
Post by: sammy on May 23, 2008, 03:44:38 PM

Um Balla

Post by: weary1969 on May 23, 2008, 05:27:26 PM
Iujunction dey b4 Madam Justice Carol Gobin as I type
Post by: WestCoast on May 24, 2008, 05:59:16 PM
Um Balla
I have to Clarify that it was me that made the original mistake about the spelling of Om Lalla's name and not Rastaman
I had fixed it, but not before my post was quoted.
Sorry for any inconvenience
Post by: Rastaman on May 26, 2008, 12:59:43 PM
Um Balla
I have to Clarify that it was me that made the original mistake about the spelling of Om Lalla's name and not Rastaman
I had fixed it, but not before my post was quoted.
Sorry for any inconvenience
Goosh.....them men ent missing a beat boy