Sports => Football => Topic started by: Bitter on June 18, 2008, 12:53:37 PM

Title: Euro 2008: Russia vs Sweden
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2008, 12:53:37 PM
Last meaningful game of the 1st round... On ESPN Now

Hiddink on the attack for Sweden showdown
by Paul Bryan from Innsbruck
http://www.euro2008.uefa.com/tournament/matches/match=300705/report=pr.html

Guus Hiddink is adopting a positive approach as he prepares his Russia side for their do-or-die UEFA EURO 2008™ Group D game against Sweden in Innsbruck, iterating: "There's no other way to play than by trying to win from the first minute."

Three points required
The sides are level on three points in the section having each lost to Spain and defeated holders Greece although Sweden have a superior goal difference, meaning Hiddink's side will be eliminated if the game at the Stadion Tivoli Neu ends in anything but victory for them. With a quarter-final against his native Netherlands the reward, the coach is keen to accentuate the positives, saying: "We're happy to have the opportunity to play this decisive game, especially when you see that other teams have gone home already. I'd have preferred the option to go for a draw but it's OK."

Arshavin available
Andrei Arshavin is available for the first time in these finals after serving a two-match ban yet there are no guarantees the FC Zenit St. Petersburg playmaker will start as Hiddink ponders possible changes to a team he believes did a "decent job" in defeating Greece 1-0 on Saturday. "There's a lack of rhythm to Arshavin's game because he hasn't played recently. He's not match-fit so I don't know if he'll start," said the coach. Yuri Zhirkov and Diniyar Bilyaletdinov are also likely to be available, despite bruised knees picked up against the deposed holders and Dmitri Torbinski is recovering from fatigue.

'Easy to read'
The 61-year-old Hiddink has never before encountered Swedish opposition in his long coaching career, though with Russia having failed to beat the Scandinavian side in five attempts as an independent nation, he is under no illusions as to the task ahead. "Despite a population of eight or nine million, Sweden always manage to be in the big tournaments. They're easy to read; they're very clear in the way they play and have always had good results playing like this. We like to play very attacking football when possible but the dirty work – the defensive work-rate – also needs to be done. [Sweden] aren't easily upset nor do they panic. It's a very controlled and concentrated squad."

Ibrahimović in doubt
Sweden have progressed to the knockout stage at their last three major tournaments, although coach Lars Lagerbäck found himself fielding more questions about the state of Zlatan Ibrahimović's knee – which forced his half-time substitution in Saturday's 2-1 loss to Spain – than on how his team would go about gaining the point they need to advance. "We're not sure about Ibrahimović. We have an individual training plan for him," said Lagerbäck, already without Christian Wilhelmsson due to a hamstring problem while Niclas Alexandersson is struggling with a calf strain.

'Nothing dramatic'
"Russia have a strong team offensively and we have to be very focused on that," the Sweden coach added. "All their players are good; they're very strong on the left side in particular. We always prepare in a similar way. There's nothing dramatic, it's just about being ready for all the eventualities that may arise. What we need to improve on is keeping the ball in the final third. It's very difficult to say who are the favourites as it's such a decisive game. It starts at 50-50 I think."
Title: Re: Euro 2008: Russia vs Sweden
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2008, 01:10:06 PM
Russia Score!

Sweeping move down the left.

This game has been end to end, I expect the russians to be able to exploit Sweden's need to come forward now.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 18, 2008, 01:18:11 PM
russia playing good man...crowd was singing "In Gus we trust" lol
Post by: samo on June 18, 2008, 01:19:35 PM
Ah backing the Swedes... For the most part they were great fans in Germany
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 18, 2008, 01:27:29 PM
goal for greece in de nex game..nice header
Post by: Bakes on June 18, 2008, 01:46:48 PM

They were... with very little exception.  That, plus Larsson is one of my all-time favorite players.  They getting ran this game though.  They seized a bit of momentum near the end of the first half and they'll need to sustain that in the second half if they want to have any chance of moving on.
Post by: Bakes on June 18, 2008, 01:52:35 PM
so much for that... Arshavin looks to send the Swede home with a clinical finish in the 50'

2-0 russia
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2008, 01:52:43 PM
Goal!!! Russia

The running off the ball in this game has been superb.
Another deadly quick counter attack

6 touches and 4 passes later - Goal.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 18, 2008, 01:52:54 PM
liked the fans also..they were a lot of fun..but eh care for de side
Russia now buss they net again 2-0
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2008, 01:56:51 PM
T&T need a Hiddink about now.
Post by: weary1969 on June 18, 2008, 02:03:59 PM
Hard luck dey Sweden all yuh tie with we football now like Bahrain I eh want 2 say Bermuda
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2008, 02:10:08 PM
Russia don't seem to have exceptionally skilled Starboys.
But the movement and passing and work rate making the difference now.

Ribbit say we need a Hiddink. This kinda brand could get you a WC spot in CONCACAF real easy.
Post by: FF on June 18, 2008, 02:35:18 PM

Ribbit say we need a Hiddink. This kinda brand could get you a WC spot in CONCACAF real easy.

Well we had a beenie for half a campaign and look ting....

we get a half ah spot
Post by: freakazoid on June 19, 2008, 06:44:42 AM
nice russia nice ah watching allyuh 4 mi underdogs from long time. the only prob i seeing with this is like they jus a bit over anxious.  holland could be in for a bit of a suprise
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2008, 08:02:10 AM

That would be Arshavin ...
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2008, 08:03:49 AM

They were... with very little exception.  That, plus Larsson is one of my all-time favorite players.  They getting ran this game though.  They seized a bit of momentum near the end of the first half and they'll need to sustain that in the second half if they want to have any chance of moving on.

Ah eh back de Swedes since the days of Dahlin
Post by: Peong on June 19, 2008, 08:30:29 AM

Dahlin, Kennet Andersson and Tomas Brolin.  That was some good football.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2008, 08:52:13 AM

Dahlin, Kennet Andersson and Tomas Brolin.  That was some good football.

Yes sir!
Post by: Bitter on June 19, 2008, 09:03:01 AM

I ent say good players, I say exceptional. Russia doh have a man who would just pick up and dribble 5 men to score. They playing within the system.
Post by: Bakes on June 19, 2008, 10:07:54 AM

Nice... I eh go lie doh, I only start paying attention in 1994...when fuh de fuss time ah see dey had ah black fella on dey team (in midfield ah believe).

Also you are quite correct on Arshavin... poison!!
Post by: Bakes on June 19, 2008, 10:09:02 AM

I ent say good players, I say exceptional. Russia doh have a man who would just pick up and dribble 5 men to score. They playing within the system.

Apparently you ent too familiar with Arshavin...b/c dat is precisely his game.

Pace.  Touch.  Finishing.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2008, 10:11:07 AM

Take it up with Arsene ... de reports indicate he looking to dish out big money fuh a 27 year old ... hmm?
Post by: dinho on June 19, 2008, 10:21:41 AM

bitters, maybe what you mean to say is Russia have no namebrand players, but their strength is in the team game which is the truth..

The fitness, pace, movement and passing is a hallmark of Hiddink's brand which was evident in PSV, South Korea, Australia and now Russia..

i just watched the highlights (http://www.tvgolo.com) and that first Russian goal was a thing of beauty.. That was knockology 101.. a swift, concise passing move leading up to the goal.. best they had put cones on the field instead of defenders.

But make no mistake, Arshavin is a big player, i have my eye on him long time now and listed him as one of my 5 players to watch for a breakout tournament.. I don't know if anyone caught the pre-match interview but when asked about Arshavin coming back, Hiddink said he was a plus however he wasn't match fit so he might not have been able to start the game.. Guus pull ah fast one, Arshavin was tusty for that sweat..  :D

If it wasn't for him getting suspended for the first 2 matches, I feel Spain coulda get poison in the first game..

Thats how much of a difference he makes..