Sports => Football => Topic started by: KND2 on November 07, 2005, 09:20:46 AM

Title: What is the origin of the Soca Warriors nickname?
Post by: KND2 on November 07, 2005, 09:20:46 AM
Tallman now that we on the Verge of History, Where is the History recorded?

Now that we on the verge of making the World Cup where is the information on how the Socawarriors name came about etc.

I cant remember the details even though it is a recent name.

We need to document this good because right about now we walking in the History.

All about this time so next week TnT up 5-0 from the forst leg and Party done start already.
Title: Re: What is the origin of the Soca Warriors nickname?
Post by: Tallman on November 26, 2005, 01:33:38 PM
I am not sure of de exact set of circumstances, but de team started using de name in 1999. In 2000,  Alison Ayres (composer of "Road to Italy") tried to change it to de "Soca Bomb Squad" but nobody eh take he on. Of course, Warner try tuh change it tuh jes Warriors but dat and all eh wuk.
Post by: JDB on November 26, 2005, 01:38:23 PM
I always thought that it was a move to give the team a marketable identity simlar to the JA team being called the reggaeboyz, which in turn (I suspect) was an identification with the Samba boys moniker used for Brazil.

I don't know of any team using national music to symbolize the team before Brazil
Post by: Feliziano on November 26, 2005, 01:42:58 PM
ah just had a thought..allyuh think they going to retire the 'Soca Warriors' name after the World Cup?..just like how "Strike Squad" is now symbolic with our past?..and we say there will never be 'another' Strike Squad.
whats allyuh opinion on this?
Post by: FF on November 26, 2005, 01:46:35 PM
ah just had a thought..allyuh think they going to retire the 'Soca Warriors' name after the World Cup?..just like how "Strike Squad" is now symbolic with our past?..and we say there will never be 'another' Strike Squad.
whats allyuh opinion on this?

Nah Soca Warriors there for good.... we was Soca Warriors last campaign too
Post by: fari on November 26, 2005, 01:48:40 PM
leave well enough alone
Post by: Feliziano on November 26, 2005, 01:51:20 PM
but it remained cause the other team previously failed..right?
if thats not the case..why they retire Strike squad then?
Post by: Big Magician on November 26, 2005, 02:13:17 PM
i am 99.9% sure of this.....peter miller the englishman in charge of marketing for the ttff 4 yrs ago
came up with the " soca warriors" name.......i even saw a soca warriors football scarf in his office.....i collect football scarves from around the world and i would really like to get that one.....tnt tnt tnt
Post by: palos on November 26, 2005, 02:17:57 PM
As long as I been comin on dis website...it's been known as the soca warriors.  That means it was around at least as long as 2000.  That lyrics about Peter Mitchell starting it seems to ring a bell with me.  Think that may well be accurate.
Post by: Socaman on November 26, 2005, 02:48:29 PM
i heard that peter Mitchell was the man that satarted calling the team de socawarriors!!! Don't know if it's true
Post by: sub1 on November 26, 2005, 04:04:54 PM
i heard that peter Mitchell was the man that satarted calling the team de socawarriors!!! Don't know if it's true

You guys never heard of a poster called Defender? Well he is the originator of that name. A business man, a friend and a patriot. He never told me why he stopped posting just that he is too busy with his businesses and for other reasons he has never told me. All he does is read when he has the time.
Post by: palos on November 26, 2005, 04:06:48 PM

Peter Mitchell?  Like you join Observer in dah fan club or wha?   ;D
Post by: ß!aCkŇuT on November 26, 2005, 04:42:37 PM
Dey cyah change d name because we goin to make history...We goin to be d smallest team ever to win the world cup :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Cowen on November 26, 2005, 04:44:13 PM
i am 99.9% sure of this.....peter miller the englishman in charge of marketing for the ttff 4 yrs ago
came up with the " soca warriors" name.......i even saw a soca warriors football scarf in his office.....i collect football scarves from around the world and i would really like to get that one.....tnt tnt tnt

After the game against Bahrain on the radio ... the commentators asked that very same question. Who came up with the name Soca Warriors. From what they all said it was the commentator Selwyn (who ever ...can't rememeber his last name... but the boring one) who called the National team Socawarriors first. Everyone was in agreement with that claim to fame so ..... it could be him. Apparantly he did it while commentating a game and it stuck.

Post by: ß!aCkŇuT on November 26, 2005, 04:49:12 PM
After the game against Bahrain on the radio ... the commentators asked that very same question. Who came up with the name Soca Warriors. From what they all said it was the commentator Selwyn (who ever ...can't rememeber his last name... but the boring one) who called the National team Socawarriors first. Everyone was in agreement with that claim to fame so ..... it could be him. Apparantly he did it while commentating a game and it stuck.

Post by: vb on November 26, 2005, 04:56:27 PM

You guys never heard of a poster called Defender? Well he is the originator of that name. A business man, a friend and a patriot. He never told me why he stopped posting just that he is too busy with his businesses and for other reasons he has never told me. All he does is read when he has the time.

The name "Soca Warriors," came around in very early 1999 ... but was being bandied about in late 98 by the TTFF and their marketing thrust.

on the old TTFOL...Defender told us the name would be used ....however, he never admitted to having anything to do with it. In those days he was persona non grata with Jack..so ah know he wasnt working with them.

De asses decided on Soca Warriors becz ppl were still talking about the Reggae Boyz in France.

We had the Strike Squad..then the Dream Team...now Warriors.

We always have to go and spoil a good thing..we just can't leave well enough alone.
Just like the team uniform of the Strike Squad days and the 90s.

Peace,
Post by: sub1 on November 26, 2005, 05:01:04 PM

Selwyn melville ....not. Selwyn, Defender and I were in T&T When Selwyn was forced to acknowledge Defender as the originator. They were friends but after a business deal went south they went their seperate ways as, according to Defender, he, defender, is still waiting for for the Melville's fishing boat to make maoney so he, Melville, could pay him. I beieve that Melville is hoping for a copyright payout. Unlucky for him Defender has the post from Marc Pucell's site where he announced to the world the name  SOcawarriors.... Tallman may not know but I bet you Flex does. Flex and Defender, according to defender, knew each other very well and he gave Flex permission to use the name because of the respect that he had for the work that Flex was doing.....He showed me the email from Flex. So there you have it. Sub is seldom ever wrong.
Post by: vb on November 26, 2005, 05:09:55 PM
I was on the site..when he announced the name...he did so a few weeks before it was official.

However, I dont remember him TAKING credit for it.

I'm not saying he's not the originator...but I just don't remeber him acknowledging it.. And I remember his post well.

Do any of the other regulars...Jumbie, SH etc, remeber this.

Peace,
Post by: sub1 on November 26, 2005, 05:18:10 PM
I was on the site..when he announced the name...he did so a few weeks before it was official.

I'm not saying he's not the originator...but I just don't remeber him acknowledging it.. And I remember his post well.

Peace,

You are right he still doesnt take credit for it.  But he is upset with those who are trying. A La MElville. He told me how he came up with the name and why he put it over as such. If he gives me the OK I will share it with you. I dont even feel comfortable with what i have i just put on the site.........I will defer to you VB.
Post by: vb on November 26, 2005, 05:25:07 PM
Well u is a man who doh defer too often..  ;D

If there's more than meets the eye...

Post by: StoreBayLimer on November 26, 2005, 09:59:15 PM

Selwyn Melville is the originator of the name socawarriors.  Some time around 1996, and before Marc Purcell started his site, Marc was asking around on the newsgroup soc.culture.caribbean what would be a good nickname for the team.  Socawarriors was not even mentioned then, it was some time later after Selwyn calling them that, that the name sort of stuck.  Let’s not forget also about the name soca-babes for the youth team of 1991.

Post by: truetrini on November 26, 2005, 11:09:01 PM
me eh know about selywn, but ah know defender say dat was going to be de name.

Anyway..it come like when kitch call simon spree de inventor ah de pan....irrelevant since nobody patent it.
Post by: futbolfan on November 27, 2005, 12:45:17 PM
sub1...me eh no bout all de details....but ah do remeber defender iz de fus person who ah hear wid de name back in de day  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: morvant on November 27, 2005, 01:32:59 PM

Anyway..it come like when kitch call simon spree de inventor ah de pan....irrelevant since nobody patent it.

so wait we doh have ah patent?
Post by: monty on November 27, 2005, 01:51:07 PM

so wait we doh have ah patent?

Not quite sure about this either.. but you must remember the short lived uproar regarding this:

Pan Future (http://www.visittnt.com/carnival2003/pan_future1.htm)

In 2002, we were rudely made aware of how easily we can lose what we so glibly took for granted. For in April of that year the US Government granted the Whitmyre/Price patent to two Americans for supposedly being the first to make a steelpan using a hydrofoam press. It has been claimed that Dr. Clement Imbert, Senior Lecturer at the University of the West Indies and Eugene McDavid had already discovered this process in the 70’s, but lacked the financial resources to undertake the expensive and lengthy process for applying for a patent. The patent is now being challenged, but that is only the tip of the iceberg
Post by: morvant on November 27, 2005, 02:00:52 PM
monty boy that article almost bring tears to mah eyes :(
Post by: dutchman on November 27, 2005, 06:05:47 PM
Trini walking in germany.
who are you ?
we are 'warriors'
what ?
yeah ah 'warrior'?
Well you look like a friendly guy to me,I'm danish and..
we are RED,
we are WHITE
we are DANISH DYNAMITE
ah we are the 'SOCA WARRIORS' ;)

I think Socawariors is a great name
why on earth did Jack wanted to change it into warriors ?
does anyone know that ?
For me warriors by itself sounds like a 70ties B movie.
dream team that sounds to me like US basketball
Belgium is not going to be in Germany so you could call yourself ''RED devils" naaa
it's Socawarriors you have the pan man... you don't realize how much better they sound then samba boys from Brazil or Argentina drums.. African drums the're all the same.
You're name needs that music connection just like JAmaica did.
Post by: Tallman on December 06, 2005, 05:22:55 PM
Check dis, Swallow had ah album in 1989 entitled "The Soca Warrior".

(http://www.reggaerecord.com/shared_img/item/64912/64912_01_360.jpg)
Post by: Jefferz on December 06, 2005, 05:51:47 PM
tallman yuh become a fugitive awa?  :rotfl:

NICE who would have thought they had secturity an ting  :D
Post by: dcs on December 06, 2005, 05:54:07 PM
COTT not making joke
Post by: vb on December 06, 2005, 06:27:05 PM
 ;D :rotfl:

LOOK TING...TM IS A INTERNET MAFIA.... :devil: :rotfl:

BTW what the hell is Calypso archives...Good to know there is such a thing.

Si dem bitches is visit Socawarriors..net

Peace,
Post by: Socapro on December 07, 2005, 07:56:13 AM

Peace,

I remember Defender's post on this! At the time we were debating a good name for our team after acknowledging that the name 'Strike Squad' was associated with our close failure in '89 and should be retired.

I think with the name of our team "Soca Warriors" in mind that we should by extension call our Supporters Club "Soca Warriors Army" or "Soca Warriors Tribe" or "Soca Warriors Crew". Lets keep the name for us Supporters close to that of the team so folks on the outside can immediately make the connection! Keep it simple and easy to follow!! 8)
Post by: Sam on December 07, 2005, 08:02:23 AM
SocaCrapo, stick to PNM politics nah, even yuh DJ business buss.
Post by: Socapro on December 07, 2005, 08:19:49 AM
Boy I busier than hell over here in London.

Playing out every Friday, Saturay & Sunday night and even some Wednesday nights between now into the New Year!

Btw I've never voted for either PNM or UNC! Left T&T when I was 18 and although I go back almost every year for Carnival have never voted in T&T, sorry to disappoint you.  :(

Take care. 8)
Post by: real-warrior on December 07, 2005, 09:18:59 AM
 why would jack want to change it from soca warriors to just plaine warriors. That Soca part tells who we Trini's are not just warriors das so lame! >:(
Post by: real-warrior on December 07, 2005, 09:21:23 AM
Check dis, Swallow had ah album in 1989 entitled "The Soca Warrior".

(http://www.reggaerecord.com/shared_img/item/64912/64912_01_360.jpg)

Tallman wat happen dere boy. Like u gettin to be some criminal :rotfl:
Title: Who Came up With "Soca Warriors"?
Post by: Baygo Boy on June 22, 2008, 01:51:23 PM
Call me ignorant, but ah really doh know, or cah remember. Cheers
Title: Re: Who Came up With "Soca Warriors"?
Post by: PATRIOT on June 22, 2008, 01:54:09 PM
Call me ignorant, but ah really doh know. Cheers
Selwyn "Otto" Melville during a commentary. However this like EVERYTHING else in T&T Footbal is the subject of contention between Mr Melville and the TTFF  :-\
Post by: Babalawo on June 22, 2008, 01:59:34 PM
i think it come up out the hype and effect the reggae boyz had, hence naming the team after the national music
Post by: Baygo Boy on June 22, 2008, 01:59:58 PM
Patriot, yuh lie -  yuh mean is a Bago man gih we de name - no wonder ah love it. Just like the TTFF to deny Tobago  ;D :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: sub1 on June 22, 2008, 02:09:34 PM
Call me ignorant, but ah really doh know. Cheers
Selwyn "Otto" Melville during a commentary. However this like EVERYTHING else in T&T Footbal is the subject of contention between Mr Melville and the TTFF  :-\

Wrong Patriot....Selwyn was not the originator...Defender was and Selwyn first used it on the air...they corresponded on this...Sad to see Selwyn playing greedy now.
Post by: sub1 on June 22, 2008, 02:20:12 PM
i think it come up out the hype and effect the reggae boyz had, hence naming the team after the national music

No it was not hype ....it was a planned conscious effort on the part of Defender and Melville. Defender asked Melville to use it on the air. If MElville says otherwise he is truly a bigger liar than Jack. Defender trold him as such because of his dishonesty in other business they conducted.

Ask Flex who gave him permission to use the name socawarriors for his website.
Title: Soca Warriors name change....
Post by: Brownsugar on June 04, 2013, 07:54:40 AM
Forumites,
I don't have time to google right now or search the site and I promised someone the answer since Sunday.  When was the Senior Men's National team officially named "Soca Warriors"?

I was thinking in the run up to the 2006 campaign but it may be for the 2002 campaign.  Not sure.

Thanks in advance, dear forumites.

Title: Re: Soca Warriors name change....
Post by: g on June 04, 2013, 08:01:36 AM
I remember there was a big argument in the Media pre WC 2006 about the origin of the name Soca Warriors. Various print and electronic media persons were laying claim. Ruskin Mark said that he first used the term in a newscast somewhere around 2001.

Tallman should be able to clarify.
Post by: weary1969 on June 04, 2013, 10:57:59 AM
I remember there was a big argument in the Media pre WC 2006 about the origin of the name Soca Warriors. Various print and electronic media persons were laying claim. Ruskin Mark said that he first used the term in a newscast somewhere around 2001.

Not Ruskin Mark Selwyn Melville
Post by: g on June 04, 2013, 11:39:29 AM

Ah yes youre right
Post by: weary1969 on June 05, 2013, 10:16:58 AM

Ah yes youre right

9/10 I am right lol
Post by: E-man on June 06, 2013, 01:00:33 AM
Here's a reference from October 1999 - Fuentes in the Guardian

http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/1476

Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2013, 10:17:25 AM
I think it could have been Defender who came up with the name "Soca Warriors" as I remember us discussing names for our team on Flex's or Marc's old discussion board after the "Reggae Boyz" success in France 1998.

Does Defender still post here on this forum and what handle does he use?
Also what is Defender's real name as he should be given his official due credit for coming up with the name if it is officially confirmed that he came up with the name.

If my memory serves me right it was him (Defender) who came up with the name "Soca Warriors" when we were discussing names for our team on one of the old T&T football forums somewhere between 1998 and 1999.

Of course before "Soca Warriors" the last nickname we had for our T&T football team which stuck was the "Strike Squad".
Post by: Trinitozbone on June 08, 2013, 06:45:07 PM
I believe the name came from the type of football we were playing with the Strike Squad which was Kaisoca soccer. It was coined in Lancelot Layne's song. It was the rhythm in our football that Gally tried to play which was natural to the players. Just like Samba is to the Brazilians. Reggae Boyz followed us after they qualified in 1998 since as it was said several times , they were inspired by the Strike Squad's efforts. All of the Caribbean was supporting chief among them Patterson the Prime Minister, Viv Richards and other high profile persons. So they adopted
The Reggae Boyz but to tell you the truth, it was aggressive than rhythmic.
It was the song by Maximus Dan that caused the name to stick and he too said he was a little boy and cried on November 19th. In fact he opposed Jack when he wanted to drop Soca and call the team Warriors after  we qualified with the Dutch coach and it was strongly resisted by all and sundry.  But to be honest there is no rhythm in our football . Mass confusion they don't know what they playing.
Selwyn Melville tried to patent the name a few years ago  trying to make money and Gally went to the newspapers and spoke about the
 origin. After which he lambasted Gally on his Programme but he got exposed and dropped his legal battle after it. I think Gally's point was that no one can own what belonged to the people and he coined it because the style was passed down to him through the years which he developed by learning from all the great players who preceded him.
Post by: Jack Horner on June 08, 2013, 06:48:34 PM
Who cares, the name Soca Warriors is garbage, everyone beats the Soca Warriors.

Not a name to be boasting about.

Post by: Trinitozbone on June 08, 2013, 06:55:35 PM
Well we were talking about the origin. But agreed they playing neither soca or are they warriors. When we start to like we self we go look like we self
Post by: E-man on June 10, 2013, 10:58:49 PM
  But to be honest there is no rhythm in our football . Mass confusion they don't know what they playing.

Kind of like soca music these days??  :-\ ;)
Post by: Anbrat on June 14, 2013, 07:11:16 PM
  But to be honest there is no rhythm in our football . Mass confusion they don't know what they playing.

Kind of like soca music these days??  :-\ ;)
You are on de button, E-man!
Post by: Trinitozbone on June 15, 2013, 07:54:21 AM
And all yuh want Beenhakker ! We go be defending right through! Playing Not to  lose !
Post by: FF on June 15, 2013, 08:02:07 AM
And all yuh want Beenhakker ! We go be defending right through! Playing Not to  lose !

good!
Post by: weary1969 on June 15, 2013, 09:04:48 AM

good!

All of a sudden not losing is a bad ting.
Title: Re: Re: What is the origin of the Soca Warriors nickname?
Post by: D.H.W on June 15, 2013, 09:11:05 AM

good!

All of a sudden not losing is a bad ting.

Ent. We ain't winning anyway
Post by: Flex on May 15, 2016, 04:41:58 AM
TTFA, Melville reach agreement on ‘Soca Warriors’ name ownership.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Sports commentator Selwyn Melville may soon be smiling all the way to the bank after the board of the T&T Football Association (TTFA) agreed he was the one who coined the phrase “Soca Warriors.”

It will also bring an end to years of battle between the parties, dating back to 2005, during the qualifiers for the 2006 FIFA World Cup that was held in Germany.

Melville, when contacted yesterday, confirmed he met with board members—second vice president Joanne Salazar, first vice president Ewing Davis, Tobago Football Association (TFA) president Anthony Moore and assistant general secretary Michelle Lynch among others, on May 2, at the office of the TTFA, Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, where an agreement was reached on the matter.

The meeting concluded with both parties agreeing that the football association, which is being led by David John-Williams, will contact Melville at another date.

Melville refused to comment on how much he would like to receive for the “Soca Warriors” name, but it is understood the association has since been considering two options of settlement.

The first includes going through the route of Intellectual Property Right (IPR), which among others, would enable it to create a partnership with Melville for the use of the “Soca Warriors” name in the future. The other, according to the board member, could see the embattled football association paying out Melville for his work.

The sports commentator said he has had to endure a period of hardship from former special adviser to the then T&T Football Federation (TTFF) Jack Warner, who refused to acknowledge him as the one who coined the phrase. Later, he was also pulled off a radio station and banned from commentary as the station management also did not accept him as the one who came up with the phrase, although it had been registered.

He praised the current football administration, saying: “After dealing with the Jack Warner administration and seeing how the Raymond Tim Kee-led administration failed to honour its promises, I felt that the best chance of this reaching a resolution had to be from the present administration. To be honest, the mere fact that they have met with me is a positive sign,” Melville said yesterday.

A few years ago Melville brought down 2,000 Soca Warriors brand watches, which he explained was to send a message that the “Soca Warriors” brand had belonged to him and will soon be in his sports store. They were given out, free of charge, to students who sat the Common Entrance then, but this stopped to allow the matter to be resolved.

“I didn’t want to be bringing in items and the matter was still unsure,” Melville said.

He added: “Before I can bring in anything it would depend on the decision of the TTFA. If they decide to create a partnership with me then both parties will have to sit down and agree on what percentage both will get and what the brand will look like. On the other hand, if they decide to pay me off, then it will be all theirs, or they can decide not to accept the ‘Soca Warriors’ brand and do some rebranding of their own,” he pointed out.

He ended by saying: “Whichever way it goes I will still be a happy man, in the context of the matter finally coming to an end after so long.”

Post by: weary1969 on May 15, 2016, 08:34:45 PM
This matter was still going on. My word
Title: Melville declares war on TTFA
Post by: Tallman on August 12, 2016, 03:56:23 AM
Melville declares war on TTFA
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

Sports commentator Selwyn Melville has declared war on the T&T Football Association. The move follows a decision by the Association to file for  trademark in the United States and Europe for the ownership of the ‘Soca Warriors’ brand.

The proceedings began under the Raymond Tim Kee-led football association but is being followed up by the TTFA, currently headed by David John-Williams. Yesterday calls to Tim Kee’s phone went unanswered while Joanne Salazar, third vice president of the present administration, did not respond to calls and voice messages.

Melville has since initiated legal action against the TTFA, confirming his legal team has written to the Association and is awaiting a response.

The Guardian understands the matter is currently logged at the Intellectual Property Office (IPO) here in Trinidad but the IPO office is unable to give trademark to any party until the local courts decide on ownership.

Melville has been in a battle with the Association over the years, dating back to the Jack Warner era over the ownership of the ‘Soca Warriors’ name, which he claimed, was coined by him. John-Williams appointed a committee to meet with Melville and it was reported that the Association was considering either buying him out or rebranding.

Talks broke down after Melville reportedly requested a whopping $30 million for the use of the name.

In a release yesterday, Melville revealed that in June, the TTFA got an extension on their trademark request in the US as they needed to provide the authority with certain information. He noted the presentation to the US Trademark office was filled with information designed to open doors to Europe, and hinges particularly on their Trademark Proposal in the US.

Melville explained the European Application was already filed under the Tim Kee administration with hope that there will be benefits, if it succeeds under the present administration.

He noted it is also rumoured that FIFA had an arrangement with the Tim Kee-led administration to conduct a pilot project with merchandising Soca Warriors products. He said this was being done on the basis that the TTFA owned the brand and would  introduce it in other countries. FIFA, he said, injected US$800,000 towards the project.

According to Melville, the world governing body for football later discovered that the brand did not belong to the TTFA and cancelled the investment. 

He told the Guardian he felt betrayed, as the John-Williams led administration pretended to communicate with him under the disguise of a possible settlement, but had ulterior motives.

He is calling on Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, President Anthony Carmona, Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Daryl Smith and Minister of Legal Affairs Stuart Young to intervene.
Post by: boss on August 12, 2016, 07:57:25 AM
Talks broke down after Melville reportedly requested a whopping $30 million for the use of the name.

:o
Post by: Mose on August 12, 2016, 08:22:55 AM

:o

Of course talks broke down. He dreaming in Technicolor. I would walk away too and rebrand like Tim-Kee was going to do. The better option would be to negotiate his licensing fee as a percentage of the total sales. And there is absolutely no need for the President, Prime Minister or anybody else to intervene.
Post by: SLIM on August 12, 2016, 12:27:09 PM
So you guys know how much the Soca Warriors name is worth from merchandising alone?
Post by: Mose on August 12, 2016, 01:12:00 PM
So you guys know how much the Soca Warriors name is worth from merchandising alone?

Actually or potentially?
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 12, 2016, 03:41:30 PM
I luv meh team. Luv the name. But I think the name might be a "likkle too follow fashion".. The name came after the Jamaicans became the Reggae Boyz. If the Jamaicans drop Reggae Boyz, I guarantee we would do the same.

My suggestion.. TNT DYNAMITE!
Post by: Tallman on August 12, 2016, 06:15:18 PM
I luv meh team. Luv the name. But I think the name might be a "likkle too follow fashion".. The name came after the Jamaicans became the Reggae Boyz. If the Jamaicans drop Reggae Boyz, I guarantee we would do the same.

Even if is so, what is de big deal? De amount of national team nicknames that have an animal in it or a colour, or have Boys at de end. Ent too much ah dem names have originality. Soca Warriors been in use in excess of 15 years. Anyway, Trinidad and Tobago = Bacchanal Right Through.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 13, 2016, 10:35:53 AM

Even if is so, what is de big deal? De amount of national team nicknames that have an animal in it or a colour, or have Boys at de end. Ent too much ah dem names have originality. Soca Warriors been in use in excess of 15 years. Anyway, Trinidad and Tobago = Bacchanal Right Through.

TM, yuh hit de nail on de head, dais we new name

"de bacchanalists"
Post by: Sando prince on August 13, 2016, 02:04:56 PM

You the only one thinking about Jamaica Reggae Boyz name when 'Soca Warriors' name is mentioned. the 'Soca Warriors' name has evolved into something sentimental and close to the T&T public. This name evokes pride like our national motto, we take pride in the 'Soca Warriors' name. You do not feel the same so you just want to ups one day and call to change it? and change it to some chupid 'dynamite' name? yuh think this is some American basketball club chupidness? steupse
Post by: Mose on August 15, 2016, 09:33:41 AM

You the only one thinking about Jamaica Reggae Boyz name when 'Soca Warriors' name is mentioned. the 'Soca Warriors' name has evolved into something sentimental and close to the T&T public. This name evokes pride like our national motto, we take pride in the 'Soca Warriors' name. You do not feel the same so you just want to ups one day and call to change it? and change it to some chupid 'dynamite' name? yuh think this is some American basketball club chupidness? steupse

I would think the same could be said re the change from Strike Squad to Soca Warriors.
Post by: palos on August 15, 2016, 10:27:10 AM

TM, yuh hit de nail on de head, dais we new name

"de bacchanalists"

https://www.youtube.com/v/lBFKar0HX6c

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 15, 2016, 11:03:23 AM

I would think the same could be said re the change from Strike Squad to Soca Warriors.

How so? Not seeing the comparison.  Soca Warriors doesn't sound like a cliche american sports franchise name.  It is rooted in our culture.  How is T&T dynamite symbolic of anything culturally related to T&T?
Post by: g on August 15, 2016, 11:55:09 AM
If it were me I would have negotiated a revenue sharing arrangement. You are talking about a lifetime and generational revenue stream that could be worth even more than that negotiated figure.

Alternatively it could be less too but i think "Soca Warriors" moniker is here to stay for all time so the brand and revenue stream will fluctuate but never cease.

Even if he wanted a lil upfront commission he could have negotiated for example around 2 million upfront and settle on a 5% of revenue (not profits) annually. That contract could be handed down to his children and grandchildren or any aspect of his estate.
Post by: Mose on August 15, 2016, 12:28:46 PM

How so? Not seeing the comparison.  Soca Warriors doesn't sound like a cliche american sports franchise name.  It is rooted in our culture.  How is T&T dynamite symbolic of anything culturally related to T&T?

I feel that the following sentiment would not have been out of place at the time of the name change to Soca Warriors from Strike Squad.
the 'Strike Squad' name has evolved into something sentimental and close to the T&T public. This name evokes pride like our national motto, we take pride in the 'Strike Squad' name. You do not feel the same so you just want to ups one day and call to change it?

And, for the record, I don't like the name T&T Dynamite.
Post by: Mose on August 15, 2016, 12:35:22 PM
If it were me I would have negotiated a revenue sharing arrangement. You are talking about a lifetime and generational revenue stream that could be worth even more than that negotiated figure.

Alternatively it could be less too but i think "Soca Warriors" moniker is here to stay for all time so the brand and revenue stream will fluctuate but never cease.

Even if he wanted a lil upfront commission he could have negotiated for example around 2 million upfront and settle on a 5% of revenue (not profits) annually. That contract could be handed down to his children and grandchildren or any aspect of his estate.

As stated earlier, I believe that would have been the better option. Asking for a 30 million upfront fee is asking TTFA to make a HUGE bet on what the earnings would end up being. Also, it could take them years to recoup that kind of money and TTFA doesn't have that kind of time or that kind of money.
Post by: Sam on August 16, 2016, 09:33:12 AM
Melville is a puss.

Nobody really know where de name came from.

socawarriors.net have it registered, they should pay Flex and Tallest.

Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2016, 08:17:14 PM
WATCH: Selwyn Melville sues the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association over the use of the Soca Warriors name.

https://www.youtube.com/v/IHWWf3CJoq8
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2016, 09:29:41 PM
WATCH: Selwyn Melville sues the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association over the use of the Soca Warriors name.

https://www.youtube.com/v/IHWWf3CJoq8

So what happen to Defender the man who came up with the name "Soca Warriors" and encouraged Selwyn Melville to first use it on air during a broadcast back in 2001?
I believe Defender and Selwyn Melville were once business partners.
I hope Selwyn Melville planning to give Defender his cut!

PS:
Also according to that video report above, Selwyn Melville first used the name Soca Warriors in a newspaper article in 2009!!! That has to be erroneous reporting as the name "Soca Warriors" was well established by 2006 when we went to the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany. I think Maximus Dan's "Fighter" anthem promoting the "Soca Warriors" name came out in 2005.
Post by: dcs on September 20, 2016, 11:45:53 PM
The game against Colombia was in 1999.

At the end of the day nobody actually have the patent?
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 20, 2016, 11:46:28 PM
well if it is registered as Soca Warriors which is two words, why not just go with Socawarriors one word, and I offer this free to ttfa...
Post by: Bakes on September 21, 2016, 05:18:37 AM
At the end of the day nobody actually have the patent?

Trademark.

well if it is registered as Soca Warriors which is two words, why not just go with Socawarriors one word, and I offer this free to ttfa...

Doesn't make a difference.
Post by: Sam on September 21, 2016, 05:43:49 AM
Why Selwyn Melville doh hull he mudda corn hucks.

Post by: maxg on September 21, 2016, 06:02:53 AM
I went looking in old post to try and find when I name the national team socawarriors, or did I prefer calypsokings, or was it ,parang Masters..whatever, I saw this post by uprising
With Rojas struggling do we think that Sancho can fill the void at left back?  Or even play Sancho central and push Avery out on the left?  They really need to sure up that d because alot of our goals conceded have been 'soft'.

Sounds like Yorke is playing at his best (at this point in his career, not a youth anymore). I truly hope that this and other forums helps to put people in the seats, we need to pack stadiums the way we used to and really get behind this team.  Who else is there to back?? Seriously?!  Football has to be a closer second to liming and fete in our lives/culture.  National pride and support of our teams and athletes is a sure antidote to de madness going on with the crime scene in Trini. 

I have been outside for 15yrs now and everyday I studying how and when I will move back HOME, but I cyar convince my wife (american...ah know ah know) dat is a solid move when the murder rate is as it is.  Not to mention kidnapping and drugs etc etc etc... so please Lord let this team do something, to help my argument that life in TT is what it used to be..ah tired ah de cold (Bush is ah madman!!!!!)

Bush must be singing kool moe dee "how yuh like me now" in a Texan accent...contact
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 21, 2016, 11:37:15 AM
there are cases where claiming ownership by trademark registration has been denied by law based on the fact that SOCA has a deep cultural meaning to the people of tnt and intellectual property law is designed to protect in such matters...
Title: Melville tells TTFA cease patent application abroad
Post by: Tallman on September 22, 2016, 05:08:58 AM
Melville tells TTFA cease patent application abroad
T&T Newsday

NOTED local sports broadcaster and businessman Selwyn Melville, through his attorney Egon Embrack, has called on the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), and its president David John-Williams, to “immediately instruct your foreign agents to formally discontinue all foreign prosecutions/ applications of the subject trademark and provide us with proof of same.”

This is regarding the use of the subject trademark Soca Warriors, which was allegedly coined by Melville in 1998. According to a pre-action protocol letter which was issued to the TT FA and its president on Monday (a copy of which was obtained by Newsday yesterday), “we (the attorneys) became aware that the TT FA, in bad faith, had engaged foreign agents to apply for and prosecute the subject trademark Soca Warriors, both before the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the European Intellectual Property Office.” The letter also made mention of the fact that, “in 2007, the Controller of the Trinidad and Tobago Intellectual Property Office (TT IPO) refused Trademark Applications Nos 36696 and 37173 in the names of Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation and our client, respectively under Section 14(3) of the Trade Marks Act until the rights of the Parties have been determined by the Court.”

Accusing the TT FA of acting in bad faith, “we (the attorneys) think it only prudent that the Parties take the one and proper course of action namely that our client, the originator of the mark, register the name and then arrange with the TT FA for use of the name by assignment or licensing agreement.”

The attorneys have given the TT FA 28 days to acknowledge receipt and respond to the pre-action protocol letter, or face legal proceedings.
Post by: Sando prince on September 26, 2016, 06:13:20 PM
Maybe he will sue Benjai next for using the Soca Warriors name in this new song. Yuh know how some people want ah piece in every pie  :)

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/1149111685163691
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 27, 2016, 11:38:59 AM
  yuh see Sell-win when yuh open yuh mouth an $30 million jump out, things changed, you cannot sell (soca) what you do not own,

Ras Shorty I (who coined Soca) is singing "Watch out my children", lets hope you don't end up in court saying, is it to late now to say

"Sorry", Bieber's mega soca hit which jus broke all records almost 2 billion youtube views...
Post by: kaliman2006 on November 21, 2016, 10:06:54 AM
Greetings Forumuites,

For the legal minds on here, can any or us or other individuals can be fined for use of the term "Socawarriors" to refer to our national football team?
Post by: Mose on November 21, 2016, 10:57:17 AM
Greetings Forumuites,

For the legal minds on here, can any or us or other individuals can be fined for use of the term "Socawarriors" to refer to our national football team?

Disclaimer: I'm not a legal mind, just a sometimes logical speculator.

Opinion: We can't be fined for using the term to refer to the team.

Reasoning:

The legal minds can go into the details.
Post by: Sando prince on November 21, 2016, 11:45:08 AM
It matters not what the TTFF do and what the clown Selwyn do,because THOUSANDS of T&T football fans refer to the national team as the SOCA WARRIORS and the people will continue to dictate the name of the team on the ground

http://tinyurl.com/hez22fn

Post by: g on November 21, 2016, 11:58:14 AM
Greetings Forumuites,

More logic: I don't think you can be fined for using the term, that's like telling me I can be sued by Nike for saying "Just Do It" in conversation. I doubt you can even levy on a media house for using the term in its reporting. I will defer to those in the know on that one.

Logically it MAY imply that you can be sued for using the term FOR PROFIT. Meaning re-using the term for advertising and/or merchandising purposes, or any kind of commercial use like songs or movies.

I am interested to see if he attempts to take action on this parent website. I don't see any real ad space sales on www.socawarriors.net so his legal team may determine that it may not be commercially viable.

I caught a snippet of DJW on radio about this. Apparently the FA's legal team's advice was to buy the name outright, and as a result Selwyn Mellville legal team put that price tag of 30 million on the outright sale. I think that is where it stands to date, FA want to go in another direction and has board approval to do so but DJW still saying the door is still open to negotiate, he is saying that Mellville has not made another approach subsequent to the pre action letter.

A whole bunch of foolishness on both sides.
Post by: dcs on November 22, 2016, 04:03:43 PM
It matters not what the TTFF do and what the clown Selwyn do,because THOUSANDS of T&T football fans refer to the national team as the SOCA WARRIORS and the people will continue to dictate the name of the team on the ground

http://tinyurl.com/hez22fn

If that's the case why doesn't Melville get the copyright and start selling merchandise and make sure the name stays despite any rebranding effort?
And he could go so far as using "Trinidad & Tobago Football" and other generic references.
He wouldn't be able to partner with a big name manufacturer but he could probably pull off something small. That could be the counter to DJW rebranding threat where he gauging public opinion and reaction.

In the end the income and any chance of rebranding success is tied to the senior men's team results which is up and down so best they just go back to the table and work out a revenue sharing model. Both sides probably far over estimating revenues on this to be honest and making it too big a deal.

If your lawyers tell you back down on the copyright application then you all but conceding he has a legitimate case.
Get it over with already.
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2022, 08:17:46 PM
Melville receives trademark certificate for Soca Warriors name
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

VETERAN Trinidad and Tobago sports broadcaster Selwyn Melville has received the trademark certificate for the term Soca Warriors, which is the nickname for the TT men's football team.

In 1998, Melville coined the nickname Soca Warriors while covering a T&T men's team encounter against El Salvador in the United States. The team were called Soca Warriors during their successful 2006 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign, with soca artiste Maximus Dan (now MX Prime) releasing a song called Fighter, which was dedicated to the squad.

Since 2005, Melville has been in a legal battle with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (now T&T Football Association) concerning the ownership of the nickname.

On Tuesday, Melville got the certificate for the Soca Warriors term at the Intellectual Property Office (IPO) in Port of Spain.

According to Melville, "There is no issue again with the matter being settled. We (himself and his legal team) can have conversations with the Football Association to settle this matter. We're not in any fight with anyone, we want to sit at the table and see what could be done."
Post by: Flex on July 20, 2023, 01:22:20 AM
Selwyn Melville to bring German football team to Tobago.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

FOOTBALL enthusiast and broadcaster Selwyn Melville is planning a match between a Germany women’s football team and a Tobago women’s XI which will not only give the footballers exposure, but it will help put Tobago on the map. The match is expected to be played in November.

Melville, who has decades of experience in sports coverage, is Tobagonian.

Tobago has produced several of T&T’s women’s footballers including Kennya Cordner, Asha James and the Forbes sisters – Karyn and Kimika.

“We are getting support from Germany for a German women’s football team to visit and play a game in Tobago,” Melville said.

“We are yet to get the full approval from the Tobago Football Association, but there is a meeting that is coming up on Thursday. We are getting the word out there early and what is scheduled to come and the interest has been very high from a number of people who see it as a great initiative for Tobago.”

Melville said the Germany XI will be made up of many players who recently retired so they are expected to be a tough unit.

The German team will record their experience which will help promote Tobago.

“They have decided that they are going to bring a television crew…to send the game live back to Germany and other places in Europe that may have interest in what is going to happen. In addition to that they are going to do a documentary on Tobago…it is not just a game, but the tourism aspect.”