Sports => Football => Topic started by: Babalawo on June 24, 2008, 07:24:30 PM

Title: Watch Thierry Henry Play For Free in New York...
Post by: Babalawo on June 24, 2008, 07:24:30 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ESPN - Soccer Stars: Steve Nash, Baron Davis, Thierry Henry and Company - TrueHoop By Henry Abbott

Soccer Stars: Steve Nash, Baron Davis, Thierry Henry and Company

June 24, 2008 10:19 AM

ESPN's Marc Stein has word that Steve Nash and many of his friends -- including several NBA players, and some of the best soccer players on the planet -- will be playing a soccer game tomorrow afternoon in New York City to raise money for charity.

It's free and open to the public. It will take place at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday at Nike Field in Sara D. Roosevelt Park. The game is just off Chrystie Street (between Rivington and Stanton Streets) south of Houston.

Among those expected to participate are Baron Davis, Jason Kidd, Raja Bell, Leandro Barbosa, Joakim Noah, Thierry Henry, Claudio Reyna, Robbie Fowler, Steve McManaman, Jozy Altidore, Juan Pablo Angel, and Gregg Berhalter.

What Stein's story does not mention, however, is that Marc Stein himself will be playing. He's a die-hard soccer fan who plays regularly.

He has a tactic in mind to look good in such a high-level game: Stay close to the NBA players like Kidd and Davis who did not grow up with the sport.

Davis, however, reportedly wants to get around his inexperience with his feet by playing goalie.

UPDATE: Turns out Stein won't be the one on the court who is not a current full-time professional athlete. Nash's good friend Simone Sandri from NBA TV, Italy's Sky TV and the online edition of Italian newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport will also play. Sandri is a midfielder who played soccer at Seton Hall and played professionally in his native Italy for clubs in the third division (his hometown club Novara) and fourth division (Saviglianese). Stein is not without his own credentials, having spent one week on the books of the Dallas Sidekicks of Major Indoor Soccer League fame, in 1999.

Stein explains how the game came about:

Nash spends a good bit of his summers playing soccer in New York and has grown close with Reyna, who moved to Major League Soccer's New York Red Bulls after playing in four World Cups and a long career in Europe that included stints in Germany, Scotland and England. Nash and Reyna are co-hosting the event and a subsequent private auction in SoHo to benefit their respective foundations, billing it as "The Showdown In Chinatown."

Henry and Nash are also close, but the Barcelona striker didn't expect to be available to make a trip to the States this week. That changed when France crashed out early at Euro 2008, placing last in the so-called Group of Death behind the Netherlands, Italy and Romania and managing just one goal -- from Henry -- in three games. ...

The Suns have to come to accept that Nash, 34, will play a lot of soccer in the offseason as a way to keep his body in top condition while also taking a break from competitive basketball. He still schedules regular shooting sessions in the summertime, but the bulk of Nash's regimen features gym work and rec-league soccer.

"I can't wait," Nash said. "Football and my foundation are two of my big passions and the chance to bring together guys like Thierry and Baron and Jason and Claudio ... it's going to be a lot of fun. And the best part is that it's free to anyone who wants to come watch us."

Asked about Nash's soccer habit, Suns president Steve Kerr said: "I have no problem with it. It keeps him in shape and keeps his mind fresh."

Title: Re: Watch Thierry Henry Play For Free in New York...
Post by: Bakes on June 24, 2008, 09:44:07 PM
Some ah allyuh men should go and take some pics...
Post by: Babalawo on June 24, 2008, 10:27:23 PM
Im going bout I hope they aint lock meh out cuz i think its for kids.. Ill still try
Post by: RedDevils on June 25, 2008, 07:38:04 AM
Cool, Nash got some skills, i played with him Monday gone in pier 40, he comes there alot to play pick up games
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 25, 2008, 08:22:10 AM
Cool, Nash got some skills, i played with him Monday gone in pier 40, he comes there alot to play pick up games

RD, you play 11 vs 11 in Pier 40 or 7 vs 7?  A few of the NY/NJ forumites have played the past few seasons 11 vs 11 game
Post by: trinikev on June 25, 2008, 08:45:29 AM
I go try and check it out too
Post by: RedDevils on June 25, 2008, 09:11:18 AM

RD, you play 11 vs 11 in Pier 40 or 7 vs 7?  A few of the NY/NJ forumites have played the past few seasons 11 vs 11 game

at pier 40 i mostly play pick-up games which most of d time is 8 vs 8, that urban soccer league they got there is so-so....i play 7vs 7 in a league in brooklyn.........where do you guys play ?
Post by: FF on June 25, 2008, 09:38:51 AM

at pier 40 i mostly play pick-up games which most of d time is 8 vs 8, that urban soccer league they got there is so-so....i play 7vs 7 in a league in brooklyn.........where do you guys play ?

We used to play in de Gotham Soccer League at Pier 40 which was at 10 pm..
11 v 11 full field...

We side was Soca Labourers.... it had ah next trini side called Cosmos too...
Post by: RedDevils on June 25, 2008, 09:44:40 AM

We used to play in de Gotham Soccer League at Pier 40 which was at 10 pm..
11 v 11 full field...

We side was Soca Labourers.... it had ah next trini side called Cosmos too...

yeah i know of that league to, they play the late games....i saw a trini side once, can't remember there name doh. they wore all red kits, some had on black pants......some of d guys i know from seeing them in BK and playing in Caton park on ah sunday.....you still play at d pier ?
Post by: FF on June 25, 2008, 09:47:56 AM

yeah i know of that league to, they play the late games....i saw a trini side once, can't remember there name doh. they wore all red kits, some had on black pants......some of d guys i know from seeing them in BK and playing in Caton park on ah sunday.....you still play at d pier ?

Yeah dat red side is we... but we ent know if we going back in dat league this year...

I know who de caton men is you talking bout too
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 25, 2008, 10:32:06 AM

Yeah dat red side is we... but we ent know if we going back in dat league this year...

FF, check yuh PM
Post by: dinho on June 25, 2008, 10:36:54 AM

whenever ah recover from this debilitating case of jumper's knee ah coming and beg ah sweat by one ah allyuh eh...
Post by: SUPA on June 25, 2008, 11:05:04 AM
How come Kobe not dey, dat boi was wicked when he was living in Europe dey said. Well is either he is not Nash friend or he still recovering from dat Celtics cut azz  :rotfl:. Me eh business nah, is back tuh meh Wade and de Heat now yes  ;). HIGHLY BLESSED.

NBA draft people, don't miss it at 7:00 PM 2morrow(Thursday). De Heat baby  ;).
Post by: supporter on June 25, 2008, 01:42:52 PM
Ill try to check it out
Post by: dinho on June 25, 2008, 07:49:13 PM
de sweat was decent..

reaaaaal people turn up and surround the field.. I had to tiptoe to see and gradually inch meh way in to get a good look from the outside.  it had people climb up on the tall chain link fence, it had people perch up in the trees and some people standing on cars and trucks in the road..

the yellow side had Thierry Henry, Steve Nash, Raja Bell, Steve Mc Manaman and Robbie Fowler etc...

the blue side had Saloman Kalou, Jozy Altidore, Claudio Reyna, Baron Davis, Leandro Barbosa and Jason Kidd etc..

Henry was trying a setta gallery star boy ting, one setta mash and flick, shake and shimmy, but most of them wasnt really coming off. The best thing he do was sombrero a man somewhere in midfield.

Kalou was de most skillful ting on de pitch with a wide selection of spanner, fan, cut back, flick and heel on offer.

And for a baller Steve Nash have reaaaaaaal touches!!! I feel Nash could easily be a football player.  Barbosa could play and have plenty skill too but i think he's brazilian so that hereditary.

Baron Davis was surprisingly not too bad although he play with a baseball cap and must be give way bout 3 penalty handsing the ball. He was on a kicks scene throughout..

Jason Kidd in a mess..

but all in all it was yuh normal celebrity sweat..

a couple pics...

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3180/2612244270_b04d769b0a.jpg?v=0)

mcmanaman, raja bell and claudio reyna
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3005/2612246842_2f9e3bd398.jpg?v=0)

henry in this one.. must recognize the elbows.
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3087/2611413079_b2ac821d39.jpg?v=0)

ball girls..
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3282/2612248290_1c4da57811.jpg?v=0)
Post by: trinikev on June 25, 2008, 08:19:22 PM
I went too, it was a nice sweat. Like Omar say, Henry do he ting, was successful sometimes, at other times he wasnt. Kalou show reaaalll touches. Steve Nash showed his skills, which didn't surprise me as he grew up playing both football and basketball. He real impress me with a chest and volley for a goal from a long pass up the field from Steve Macmanaman. That was real class.

It was nice to see these fellas having a good time and playing to entertain. Hopefully they organize ah next one soon....
Post by: Babalawo on June 25, 2008, 08:59:38 PM
I reached like an hour before it started and i was crowded already. . But with my good instincts i alway find my self into a good spot and also inside

Byron Davis of the Golden State Warriors.  Was a crowd favorite, people really want him to come play for the Knicks.  He was loving the crowd too.
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3077/2611533297_d7e1bc272e.jpg)

Jason Kidd
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3030/2611533469_6547d51604.jpg)

Henry. Drew the most crowd
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3025/2612368162_ed5332af59.jpg)

Left to Right.  Some guy, Steve McManaman (Most none from Liverpool, I was next to this drunk british fan who scaled the fence and kept chanting his name  :rotfl:, Robbie Fowler (Former Liverpool, Plays for Cardiff City now), Thierry Henry (M.O.M.), Raja Bell (NBA Pheonix Sun & US. Virgin Islands, i thought he was french all this time), Juan Pablo Angel and Josey Altidore (Current and Former NY Red Bull)
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3093/2612368330_484c9ea5cc.jpg)

Robbie Fowler
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3132/2611534109_f4da92404c.jpg)

Raja Bell
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3138/2612369110_5647fd56de.jpg)

Steve Nash and Henry
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3173/2611534961_c763f5aab3.jpg)

Henry and Steve McManaman
(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2361/2612369918_180d510683.jpg)

Yellow team line-up. Top. McManaman, Nash, ??, Bell, Henry, Leandro Barbosa (Pheonix Suns & Brazil), ?? - Fowler
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3061/2611535731_9dda2c3370.jpg)

Claudia Reyna thanked me for coming out to the event
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3249/2611536085_45f3c36f3a.jpg)

Nash celebrates one of his goals. Kidd and McManaman looked burned
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3168/2611536563_2d3bdfc835.jpg)

Yellow scores another goal
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3004/2611537113_104a37c25e.jpg)

Salomon Kalou of Chelsea and Ivory Coast. looks taller on tv
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3062/2612371980_095a20be49.jpg)

Leandro Barbosa
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3229/2612372416_9e57c859f5.jpg)

Me and Leandro Barbosa.  Bad shot >:(
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3151/2612372822_5687d693e0.jpg)

I have some videos too but dont have a youtube account like that
Post by: dinho on June 25, 2008, 09:30:57 PM
wow babalawo..

great pics!!! how u get so close??

let me guess you were one of dem who storm de pitch as soon as sweat done ent? lol

yuh makin meh feel to pull dem suffering ass behind de fence shots ah post here now.. :notworthy:
Post by: weary1969 on June 25, 2008, 10:34:50 PM
Doh show off I still have meh pic of me and d Henry cut out in d Gatwick airport.
Post by: Bakes on June 25, 2008, 11:05:57 PM
Baba yuh show reallllll hustle dey boy... great pics  :beermug:

Really nice of Reyna to personally thank yuh fuh coming out too...lol I eh know what dat about  :rotfl:

...yeah man Raja from de VI.  How Barbosa look...wid he Brazilian self?

Not at all surprised by Nash... one of my exes was close with the family after they moved to Vancouver, but moreso with his brother and sister, both of whom represented their respective Canadian National Team.  He comes from a solid football background, despite the basketball prowess.
Post by: 2cents on June 25, 2008, 11:27:45 PM
Dreaaad...d NY men need to post ah thread wid ah pic ah dey face or somethin...allyuh was in this...and plus in Nevada Smith for d 1st game vs Bermuda and ah still ent know anybody.

Anyhow...I real enjoy tha sweat...didn't get inside but was right on d fence in a good spot. All ah dem jump out dey SUVs right where ah was standing...my crew get good pics (iman have no digi cam...jus mih berry  :( ). As the pro ballers in d sweat...Henry and Kalou do reaaal runnin...dem fellaz was taking it mostly serious even though Henry real skills out too...he hit Kidd ah double furs right in front ah me...ah real wig out. Nash had moments but he didn't look as good as I thought he would. Kidd make real runs on d wing, he wasnt on a lazy man scene...unlike B-Diddy who reaaaaaaaal wig. Barbosa was decent as well. The disappointments were Altidore (sweat in ah corkmouth), McManaman and Fowler even though he score ah bess goal.

Back to mih original point b4 ah go...ah had on ah lime green Eto'o Barca today and ah Trini Latapy in Nevada...let me know d NY men sometime...could link ah sweat or something. blessed
Post by: FF on June 26, 2008, 09:49:32 AM
Last year we had we New York Warrior Nation sweat and nobody ent come...

The year before when we was going world cup was more successful...
Check the pics and ting here.

http://www.thewarriornation.com/component/option,com_gallery2/Itemid,40/g2_itemId,1409/

http://www.thewarriornation.com/content/view/51/36/

I couldn't find the pics from Continental bar and Mangoville for the qualifiers back in 2005... anybody have ah link for those?

Post by: Augi on June 26, 2008, 10:28:55 AM
RD is there a pick up sweat at Pier 40 on a friday? How is it? I wanna check it out after work
Post by: Babalawo on June 26, 2008, 02:36:18 PM
Dreaaad...d NY men need to post ah thread wid ah pic ah dey face or somethin...allyuh was in this...and plus in Nevada Smith for d 1st game vs Bermuda and ah still ent know anybody.

Anyhow...I real enjoy tha sweat...didn't get inside but was right on d fence in a good spot. All ah dem jump out dey SUVs right where ah was standing...my crew get good pics (iman have no digi cam...jus mih berry  :( ). As the pro ballers in d sweat...Henry and Kalou do reaaal runnin...dem fellaz was taking it mostly serious even though Henry real skills out too...he hit Kidd ah double furs right in front ah me...ah real wig out. Nash had moments but he didn't look as good as I thought he would. Kidd make real runs on d wing, he wasnt on a lazy man scene...unlike B-Diddy who reaaaaaaaal wig. Barbosa was decent as well. The disappointments were Altidore (sweat in ah corkmouth), McManaman and Fowler even though he score ah bess goal.

Back to mih original point b4 ah go...ah had on ah lime green Eto'o Barca today and ah Trini Latapy in Nevada...let me know d NY men sometime...could link ah sweat or something. blessed

Yea dread i saw someone wearing that jersey, I assumed it was someone from Cameroon since he from they. link up next for a sweat
Post by: trinikev on June 26, 2008, 02:47:35 PM
RD is there a pick up sweat at Pier 40 on a friday? How is it? I wanna check it out after work

Yeah RD was telling me yesterday about that sweat.....he say it decent, so i checking it out tomorrow after work myself. He say is usually like a 8v8, and they's have ppl waiting on the side so they normally play like a 2-goal side off ting. Come out, it wud be nice to meet some of the NY-based forumites
Post by: Augi on June 26, 2008, 02:53:52 PM
niceness trinikev. I will be there ! look for de "AUGI" on de back of my Arsenal shirt
Post by: Andre on June 27, 2008, 08:59:39 AM
more:

http://web.mlsnet.com/news/mls_news.jsp?ymd=20080626&content_id=168431&vkey=news_mls&fext=.jsp

http://web.mlsnet.com/media/player/mp_tpl.jsp?w=mms%3A//a1503.v115042.c11504.g.vm.akamaistream.net/7/1503/11504/v0001/mlbmls.download.akamai.com/11504/2008/shows/mls/062608_mls_showdown_chinatown.wmv&w_id=21274&catCode=game_package&type=v_free&_mp=1
Post by: trinikev on June 27, 2008, 09:34:01 AM
more:

http://web.mlsnet.com/news/mls_news.jsp?ymd=20080626&content_id=168431&vkey=news_mls&fext=.jsp

http://web.mlsnet.com/media/player/mp_tpl.jsp?w=mms%3A//a1503.v115042.c11504.g.vm.akamaistream.net/7/1503/11504/v0001/mlbmls.download.akamai.com/11504/2008/shows/mls/062608_mls_showdown_chinatown.wmv&w_id=21274&catCode=game_package&type=v_free&_mp=1

Thanks Andre  :beermug:

Ah ready for de next one!
Post by: Andre on June 27, 2008, 10:51:12 AM
yeah dred. it woulda boss to be there. that is life FIFA street come to real life.
Post by: trinikev on June 27, 2008, 11:16:12 AM
yeah dred. it woulda boss to be there. that is life FIFA street come to real life.

That's exactly what it was like......it was kinda surreal watching them play in a park in the city, a real good experience
Post by: Bakes on June 27, 2008, 01:37:33 PM
more:

Good stuff... thanks Andre  :beermug:
Post by: 2cents on June 27, 2008, 02:10:01 PM

Yea dread i saw someone wearing that jersey, I assumed it was someone from Cameroon since he from they. link up next for a sweat

King ah really hope is me you see eh...I have ah ras, eh know much african with that. Anyhow...where allyuh does sweat...I don't really know d men here except like FireBrand and Fli...but ah sure ah will know some faces...bless
Post by: Babalawo on June 22, 2009, 10:16:56 AM
its on again this wednesday
Post by: Andre on June 22, 2009, 10:45:34 AM
they expecting a massive crowd. i bet man line up from now.
Post by: acb on June 22, 2009, 10:49:06 AM

will be there rain or shine.
Post by: acb on June 22, 2009, 10:51:15 AM

you have a link to the press release? ... same location?

It will take place at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday at Nike Field in Sara D. Roosevelt Park. The game is just off Chrystie Street (between Rivington and Stanton Streets) south of Houston.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 22, 2009, 10:57:11 AM

"It's back on again this year, for the night before the draft. Wednesday, June 24, at 6 p.m., at Sara D. Roosevelt Park Chrystie and Houston streets in New York City.

Steve Nash, Tony Parker, Jason Kidd, Grant Hill, Chris Bosh and Raja Bell are on the list of NBA players who are probably somewhere right now working on foot skills.

Actual soccer players will include Claudio Reyna, Thierry Henry, Javier Zanetti, Salomon Kalou, Ryan Babel, Giovanni van Brockhurst, Mathieu Flamini, Ivan Cordoba and Adrian Mutu."
Post by: acb on June 22, 2009, 11:17:52 AM

"It's back on again this year, for the night before the draft. Wednesday, June 24, at 6 p.m., at Sara D. Roosevelt Park Chrystie and Houston streets in New York City.

Steve Nash, Tony Parker, Jason Kidd, Grant Hill, Chris Bosh and Raja Bell are on the list of NBA players who are probably somewhere right now working on foot skills.

Actual soccer players will include Claudio Reyna, Thierry Henry, Javier Zanetti, Salomon Kalou, Ryan Babel, Giovanni van Brockhurst, Mathieu Flamini, Ivan Cordoba and Adrian Mutu."

hell yeah ... the after party will be sick.
Last year was maddness!!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 22, 2009, 11:58:03 AM

Last year was maddness!!

Well I go be dey fuh sure!!
Post by: Babalawo on June 22, 2009, 08:39:27 PM
some of the players recently confirmed Joe Cole, Alessandro Del Piero, Gennaro Gattuso, Massimo Ambrosini, Kaká ;D (I doubt since he in SA), and Thierry Henry
Post by: dinho on June 22, 2009, 10:41:42 PM

Last year was maddness!!

it had ah after party last year ???

where was it and where will it be this year?
Post by: acb on June 23, 2009, 10:09:53 AM

Last year was maddness!!

it had ah after party last year ???

where was it and where will it be this year?

yeah, it was "unofficial" ... just a whole set of them hitting up the clubs afterwards, esp 1Oak & Marquee.

Funny thing was all the fellas knew who they were - and all the girls wanted to know why they weren't getting any attention from any of the fellas.

Tomorrow I will try to remember to bring my camera.
Post by: dinho on June 23, 2009, 10:29:29 AM
some of the players recently confirmed Joe Cole, Alessandro Del Piero, Gennaro Gattuso, Massimo Ambrosini, Kaká ;D (I doubt since he in SA), and Thierry Henry

these men really coming or this is just ole talk....

links anyone?
Post by: dinho on June 23, 2009, 10:35:49 AM
Steve Nash Showdown in Chinatown soccer game

http://www.insidehoops.com/steve-nash-showdown-chinatown.shtml (http://www.insidehoops.com/steve-nash-showdown-chinatown.shtml)

InsideHoops.com | June 24, 2009

Steve Nash Showdown in ChinatownTwo-time NBA MVP Steve Nash and soccer great Claudio Reyna announced today that their Showdown in Chinatown is returning for a second year to New York City’s Lower East Side. The Showdown, a free 8-a-side soccer match between teams of NBA and professional soccer players, will kick-off at Sara D. Roosevelt Park at 6pm on June 24 to benefit the work of the Steve Nash Foundation (http://www.stevenash.org) and the Claudio Reyna Foundation (http://www.claudioreynafoundation.org).

“This event gets right at two of my passions — football (soccer) and helping improve conditions for kids,” said Nash. “The Showdown shows off what the world’s top athletes can do, what they’re willing to do to help, and I can’t wait to get on the field. We’ll be right in the middle of the Lower East Side, a phenomenal neighborhood in a beautiful city, just a couple of guys getting a match on.”

Last year's game was lots of fun. Here was the Steve Nash charity soccer game from 2008. Just the bare-bones info but plenty of pictures.

The game starts at 6pm and is at Sara D. Roosevelt Park (Chrystie Street & Houston Street) in downtown Manhattan, New York. The field is very small and there's no actual seating, so unless you go really early to press against the fence you won't see it -- but judging by last year there will be video footage of every cool sequence on the internet by the next morning.

ROSTER OF PLAYERS IN 2009 STEVE NASH 'SHOWDOWN IN CHINATOWN' CHARITY SOCCER GAME

BASKETBALL STARS PLAYING:
Steve Nash (Phoenix Suns)
Tony Parker (San Antonio Spurs)
Jason Kidd (Dallas Mavericks)
Grant Hill (Phoenix Suns)
Chris Bosh (Toronto Raptors)
Raja Bell (Charlotte Bobcats).

SOCCER STARS PLAYING:
Claudio Reyna (US/Former NY Red Bull)
Thierry Henry (France/FC Barcelona)
Javier Zanetti (Argentina/Inter Milan)
Salomon Kalou (Ivory Coast/Chelsea)
Ryan Babel (The Netherlands/Liverpool)
Giovanni van Bronckhurst (The Netherlands/Feyenoord)
Mathieu Flamini (France/AC Milan)
Ivan Cordoba (Columbia/Inter Milan)
Adrian Mutu (Romania/ACF Fiorentina)

"I’m very excited to be part of bringing soccer to New York City sports fans in a fun, friendly, and unique way. We hope that we can at least match the excitement that was created last year when we had players from the world of soccer and basketball come together to provide great entertainment,” said Reyna.

“It’s a tough time for non-profits across the country,” said Nash, “and we’re so grateful to our partners for supporting our efforts. They all love the game -- ICAP, Medco, Metro PCS, GREY GOOSE Vodka, vitaminwater and Calle.” The players will be wearing Calle Soccer uniforms, inspired by the street play that rises up in neighborhoods all over the world.

The Showdown comes to New York City thanks to the help of Nash’s latest soccer innovation, Football-For- Good.com (http://www.football-for-good.com).
Post by: doublet750 on June 23, 2009, 11:03:59 AM
NY based fellas anytime alyuh linkin up to sweat or lime jus PM meh and i go come through
Post by: acb on June 24, 2009, 09:02:47 AM
what a glorious day today.
I see lightning/thunderstorms in the forecast around the time the sweat supposed to take place, but rain or shine - this should be good.
Post by: Andre on June 24, 2009, 09:04:16 AM
NY crew - provide pix and video please.
Post by: kicker on June 24, 2009, 09:25:51 AM
Seen Steve nash play at Pier 40- good baller.  Played D1 soccer at Santa Clara University, and apparently has trained with the New York Red Bulls in the b-ball off season...

Not sure about the other bball players playing but somehow I could see Tony Parker & Jason Kidd handling their stories...
Post by: Marcos on June 24, 2009, 09:29:38 AM
Parker I could see. Kidd not so much...maybe 4 years ago when he was quick
Post by: kicker on June 24, 2009, 09:38:51 AM
The Sarah D. Roosvelt park scene has become a sh*t show when these pro ballers come to town.  Gattuso, Pirlo & Gilardino were there years back and no one knew about it..I have pics from there, and it was a lil camera crew and them with a few passers by...The next year Barcelona came to open up the new fields at the park and it was mayhem... got some pics from that- think I posted them on the forum...

Last year was the first time Nash had his event and I hear it was pretty crowded...this year I expect that it'll be even worse.  I live about 3 blocks from SDR park, but I doubt I botherin' wid dat unless I get a last minute jumbie...

Whoever is going, go early... 
Post by: dinho on June 24, 2009, 09:53:21 AM
baron davis and raja bell have some touches but that is about it.. Baron davis is ah kicks man..

Nash could real ball, and football was actually a career option for him at one point.

last year kalou issue some shake.

is a good thing i kinda tall, cause last year that is the only thing that save meh when yuh standing up behind 5 rows of people press on de fence.

i trying to run down there around 530 and will lime for ah hour or so, but if it have rain then fire for that.
Post by: acb on June 24, 2009, 10:14:11 PM
had great seats to view, but poor for pictures - so I took about a zillion videos.
will take some time and effort to upload and post all/ many of them - but will get on it soon.

Edgar Davids was a bit of surprise but Babalawo definitely chain meh up with ....
some of the players recently confirmed Joe Cole, Alessandro Del Piero, Gennaro Gattuso, Massimo Ambrosini, Kaká ;D (I doubt since he in SA) ...

Davids and Kalou was boss. Kalou get brainwashed to think that no matter where he sweating, he hadda play extra hard to make Chelsea side. Kalou was sweating for a spot on Chelsea bench next year - but he real play. Davids still have it - real touches.
Babel was off and on, but cap a man and set up Flamini for the first goal that was one of them Chris Birchall laser volley.

Grant Hill hit Chris Bosh one of the stinkest beats of the century. A beat so stink, he will get nuff shit-talk for the next NBA season. When Hill hit him it, people bawl and scream - people who doh know bout football bawl and scream.
Nash have real touches - and he could play. I bet Nash could walk on plenty MLS sides without breaking a sweat.

Cordoba run like a machine whole day. Mutu ... and Henry was focussed on the afterparty. Henry come on for a half and was rocking some hightops - maybe because he have to flams the Nike instead of the Calle. See Reyna liming by Thompson hotel about 20 mins ago - he play a good controlled game (??) like if he was not playing in a fete match - same as Zanetti.

Overall, it was great - videos soon to follow
Post by: dinho on June 24, 2009, 10:59:45 PM
doh say ah never do nutten for allyuh....

Zanetti

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3412/3659336918_e9424d7d85.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3662/3659335864_e8c1ea06ee.jpg?v=0)

Kalou

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3302/3659336122_8baec5ff9f.jpg?v=0)

Ivan Cordoba

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3299/3659335990_4bbee9080a.jpg?v=0)

Mutu

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3664/3658539475_b2111080d2.jpg?v=0)

Warmup

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2441/3658539683_1612e57226.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2429/3658539541_3303e04561.jpg?v=0)
Post by: acb on June 25, 2009, 12:19:03 AM

I remember that bamcee.
the front was nice too.
Post by: Jumbie on June 25, 2009, 09:00:46 AM

I remember that bamcee.
the front was nice too.

recession hitting hard in the US.. even the buttocks looking under-fed!
Post by: acb on June 26, 2009, 07:31:43 AM
ok - so how do you imbed a video from Youtube now?
I saw somebody giving a tutorial this week, but can't remember the thread it's in.
Post by: dinho on June 26, 2009, 07:36:45 AM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=39976.0
Post by: acb on June 26, 2009, 07:43:10 AM
thanks
Post by: acb on June 26, 2009, 07:54:17 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/dqnlBmSzpLw

http://www.youtube.com/v/Sop-FNI9_P8

http://www.youtube.com/v/dMp-TIvtPmY

http://www.youtube.com/v/tBkKgcTTnQ8

http://www.youtube.com/v/2B0VFurW7Kw

http://www.youtube.com/v/AO1LkUmSTK8

http://www.youtube.com/v/fmx-Uufi6pY

http://www.youtube.com/v/LgHzviTEsDA

Post by: Andre on June 26, 2009, 08:59:12 AM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12876_5401979,00.html

Henry weighs up MLS move
Frenchman tempted by New York Red Bulls

Barcelona in 2011 and could sign for a Major League Soccer club.

The France striker joined Barca from Arsenal in 2007 and, after a disappointing debut campaign, shone for the Primera Division champions last season.

Henry has been linked with a return to the Premier League but has revealed that he could be tempted to ply his trade in America.

Speaking at a promotional event in New York, the 31-year-old explained that he would consider joining the New York Red Bulls.

"Could I play for New York Red Bulls at some point? It could be possible in 2011," he is quoted as saying by Sport.

"One never knows, but the truth is that it is an option that could be likely.

"I want to stay with Barcelona for two more seasons and then I will leave."
Post by: boss on September 14, 2010, 06:48:08 AM
Thierry Henry has a train buddy in Rafa Marquez, random strangers  :beermug:
http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/dirty-tackle/post/Thierry-Henry-has-a-train-buddy-in-Rafa-Marquez-?urn=sow-268650

(http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/ept_sports_sow_experts__12/ept_sports_sow_experts-835290564-1284092695.jpg?ymXc0vDDIGAfw66s)