Sports => Football => Topic started by: palos on June 27, 2008, 12:15:08 AM

Title: SOS For T&T World Cup Stars!
Post by: palos on June 27, 2008, 12:15:08 AM
SOS for T&T World Cup stars.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express)
[/color]

Two-time Colombia World Cup coach Francisco Maturana suffered the indignity of a mass interrogation from his Trinidad and Tobago Pro League counterparts as the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) pressed the panic button on Wednesday afternoon.

The "Soca Warriors" scraped into the CONCACAF 2010 World Cup qualifying second round with a 3-2 aggregate win against Bermuda over two legs. Bermuda are ranked 52 places below Trinidad and Tobago at 139th in the world.

T&TFF special adviser and FIFA vice-president Jack Warner has publicly pronounced his confidence in the squad, but it was a different story in the aftermath of Sunday's nervy win in Hamilton.

Warner chaired a discussion between the national technical staff and the local club coaches in the CONCACAF Centre of Excellence's Nelson Mandela Room at midday on Wednesday.

The Colombian remained in charge at the end of the meeting but his authority, according to a source, was significantly undermined.

On June 1, Maturana reluctantly bowed to Warner's demand to allow Sunderland midfielder and 2006 World Cup captain Dwight Yorke into his squad for the country's centennial match against England. The Colombian might as well leave the team's door open now.

He is likely to be pressured into selecting more than half-dozen players before the next qualifying round, including the World Cup quartet of midfielders Chris Birchall (Coventry) and Densill Theobald (Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA) and defenders Brent Sancho (unattached) and Cyd Gray (CLICO San Juan Jabloteh).

Ma Pau striker Cornell Glen and Miami FC left back Avery John, both also World Cup players, were also mentioned, along with Wrexham midfielder Silvio Spann and W. Connection utility player Clyde Leon.

Maturana's tactics and his perceived reliance on assistant coach Anton Corneal to identify national prospects also drew negative comments from the floor. Corneal allegedly stressed that he was not a decision maker within the technical staff and merely followed orders.

Maturana, a qualified dentist and one of South America's more respected coaches, pointed to his South American Copa Libertadores title and two World Cup appearances to defend his football knowledge and suggested that the cohesion within his squad was breached with the introduction of the country's foreign-based stars.

He singled out one of the more senior Warriors for creating a difficult atmosphere for the younger players to work in. For the most part, the Pro League coaches argued that the T&TFF still lacked a proper structure to identify and develop players at youth level.

It would not have been music to the ears of technical director Lincoln Phillips, who did not attend, although it may add credence to early criticisms from the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs.

Warner was said to have acknowledged the need to improve the long-term structure of the organisation, but seemed more interested in saving the present campaign. It could mean a shock recall for Birchall and Sancho, who apparently suffered more than their teammates for their role in the World Cup players' legal action against the Federation.

Maturana supposedly pointed to the lack of playing time for both players in the 2007/08 English club season. However, a Pro League coach pointed out that teenage midfielder Khaleem Hyland was also not playing competitive domestic football.

It was suggested, too, that Sancho could return to the Pro League to ensure he is match fit for the next qualifying round. The T&TFF hope to schedule as many as five friendly matches before their opening semifinal round group match away to Cuba on August 20.

South American neighbours Venezuela are touted as possible opponents, along with Honduras, El Salvador and Suriname. Maturana should still be on the bench-unless the Colombian opts to fall on his own sword. But the squad that struggled to out-do Bermuda is likely to undergo major surgery over the coming three months.
Title: Re: WOW!!! SOS For T&T World Cup Stars!
Post by: Tha G. on June 27, 2008, 12:28:06 AM
leh we see wah go happen with this one. Time for heads to bounce down the aisle. Bachanal time.
keeping my hopes up
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 27, 2008, 12:39:46 AM
Give them hell!  Is long time overdue the Pro league give JWFF two hard slap, if they do not stand up for football in this country who else will???

"Warner was said to have acknowledged the need to improve the long-term structure of the organisation, but seemed more interested in saving the present campaign"

??????
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 27, 2008, 12:49:36 AM
Maturana... suggested that the cohesion within his squad was breached with the introduction of the country's foreign-based stars
The squad was cohesive before?
Post by: Bakes on June 27, 2008, 01:22:59 AM
Bravo!

The general public might be collective dunces where this post-World Cup impasse is concerned, but give credit to the local footballing fraternity, in the persons of the Pro League Coaches... for standing up and asking the tough questions that needed to be asked. 

This reminds me of that careerbuilder.com commercial about working with monkeys... just because Pacho working for an ass doesn't mean has has to perform his job like one.
Post by: sjahrain on June 27, 2008, 04:28:17 AM
Its time for Jack to bury the blood stained hatchet,you have been hold form some time now,you have made many of our brighter performers with a very bitter taste in thier mouths where they would rather not represent

It time for our best team to take the field and end all this bitterness,in the end Jack you may be a FIFA VP but our love of this beautiful game is much bigger than you,so while you have brought our game into disrepute by enriching yourself,just remember when you are gone you cannot take the riches you have aquired with you

This game is will always outlive you 
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 04:39:09 AM
Sancho and Ince on Gayelle
Post by: Trini on June 27, 2008, 04:50:07 AM
Daaamn, is this the first ray of light behind the dark grey clouds??

All the country deserves is the best players playing for them, and we done so small already, losing the cream of the crop is already shooting yourself in the foot.

I wonder who is the senior warrior who causing drama...

I will not be too surprised if it was number 14. Stern is the leader among the remaining warriors now that Dwight and latas have gone, and he is practically untouchable in terms of selection.
What one man interprets as causing trouble could be another man's idea of standing up for what is right. Stern, if it is you bredda, or whoever, I sure yuh doing the right thing, and even if u not, I supporting the Warriors over any official.

Somebody make a post the odda day about what will JW's legacy be, he has a big opportunity now for people to start back respecting him fully.

B & S right too, we must give credit to the local football fraternity for discussing these difficult issues. Lots of times these coaches have their personal agendas which supercede the common good.

I didnt know that we had technical discussions with the national coaching staff and local fraternity after games though...

The mere fact that such a meeting was brought up shows a step in the right direction by someone in the TTFF...We can all see it, the big problem now is not the coaching staff capability (they have not been given a fair chance), but its the player selection.

Lets see what develops.

PS - no mention of Kelvin Jack and Colin Samuel huh. The suggestion of players returning to the pro-league to get back in match fitness was a good idea.

Keep us posted weary.
Post by: Tallman on June 27, 2008, 04:55:20 AM
I will not be too surprised if it was number 14. Stern is the leader among the remaining warriors now that Dwight and latas have gone, and he is practically untouchable in terms of selection.

He far from untouchable. Doh forget dat he wasn't originally included in de squad against England, and only due tuh de uncertainty about Kenwyne's hand injury was he called in.
Title: Re: SOS For T&T World Cup Stars!
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:06:23 AM
Stern was on tv last nite makin a plea 4 d guys 2 b given a recall
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:18:15 AM
Well I said my piece on Gayelle dis morning and of cause let dem know dat d WN IN DEY CORNER.
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:20:07 AM
Patrriot on nowwwwwwwwwwww
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:22:55 AM
Patriot ask Ince y he eh play in d 2nd leg and he say nobody eh tell him y he get drop. So from d horses mouth he get drop.   
Post by: Fyzoman on June 27, 2008, 05:27:56 AM
the best news ah get all year!!!
by de way, dis meeting was wednesday??
so how come dis news now breaking, like we eh have no local coaches on dis forum or what?
finally, light at de end of de  tunnel, give thanks!!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:30:31 AM
Is only Lisana go give u dat info and he doh write everyday 4 d express
Post by: FF on June 27, 2008, 05:32:35 AM
papayo!!

this one come out of the blues
Post by: Themanfriday on June 27, 2008, 05:40:19 AM
Maturana... suggested that the cohesion within his squad was breached with the introduction of the country's foreign-based stars

He singled out one of the more senior Warriors for creating a difficult atmosphere for the younger players to work in.

I think this was the telling part of that paragraph. I said it before and I believe it is true that Ince did not have confidence in the team and expressed it causing in-cohesiveness.
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:44:37 AM
Corneal was on tv 6 and when asked if d team should b beefed up he ask if d players go come from mars. I eh know what 2 say bout he again d man say he did not know dat Forbes and Roberts had all all dat in dem. He thanks Maturana because he has been all ovah d pro league and d US and find d present crap ah players
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:51:28 AM
Cohisiveness breach wit d introduction of d foreign base dat is oui coach talkin dat niceness. Now we all now dat Ince eh no team man just check KJ interview.

Post by: Fyzoman on June 27, 2008, 06:14:47 AM
Corneal was on tv 6 and when asked if d team should b beefed up he ask if d players go come from mars. I eh know what 2 say bout he again d man say he did not know dat Forbes and Roberts had all all dat in dem. He thanks Maturana because he has been all ovah d pro league and d US and find d present crap ah players

Corneal really say dat?!?!?
Anyway i done know dis man is ah friggin imps.....buh like Ince is ah imps too?!?!
Post by: Sam on June 27, 2008, 06:22:04 AM
Somebody need to put a cap in Anton Corneal ass and Alvin Corneal too.....

Two real assholes.....

I guess Clayton Ince was de man who was negative and was dropped....

Come on Jack Warner, do yuh special and get rid of them... Anton, Alvin and de Chipmonks...

Lincoln Phillips is in Florida with the T&T under 17 women team...
Post by: injunchile on June 27, 2008, 06:41:07 AM
This is the best news about the Warriors for a long time. Credit must be given to the Pro League coaches for recommending W/C players. It would have been easy to big up their own pro league members.
 Finally Cohesion comes with respect and if men pulling stones on the field and experience men believe for the good of the whole- some men not ready for that level. then there is nothing wrong for voicing that opinion.
 It seems to me that Maturana was on the defensive when he started to talk about his resume.
 I told a friend the stuggle against Bermuda was the best thing to happen to T&T- Why- Because Jack knows that the present team cant cut it.
 Jack's bottom line is Money and Power- So he called this meeting.All the blacklisted will become money listed
Post by: Themanfriday on June 27, 2008, 06:44:33 AM
This is truely good news to awake too

NICENESS 8)
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on June 27, 2008, 06:59:08 AM
Looks good......but my heart will only rejoice when ah see dem fellas on d field.
Post by: Trini on June 27, 2008, 07:09:19 AM
Looks good......but my heart will only rejoice when ah see dem fellas on d field.

Fuh real
Post by: samo on June 27, 2008, 07:12:50 AM
Great news...
But ah will wait until ah see it happenening to start rejoicing.
Post by: Star Child on June 27, 2008, 07:16:20 AM
Anton Corneal, Alvin Corneal, Richard Gorden, Oliver Camps and Michael McComie will take T&T down !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: palos on June 27, 2008, 07:26:56 AM
IMO Anton gets a bad rap purely because he is Alvin's son.

Too bad because I sincerely believe he has T&T's best footballing interests at heart AND he has also done the work by doing the courses, putting in the time and being a student of the game.

Yes, is more dan likely dat he has gotten opportunities because of who his father is but again, daz not exactly his fault.  Is not like he not qualified with regards to certification etc. He does lack experience but other coaches talking to him have mostly very positive feedback about the guy.

Imagine what it must be like to be Anton Corneal and yuh faddah is Alvin.  It easy fuh we here on de board to say "jes tell yuh faddah yuh doh want no interference from he" but maybe in more ways than one, Anton might idolise he dad, jes like many a we think de world of we own.

I eh tryin to make excuses fuh de fella....jes appreciatin dat his situation is not an easy one and when he say he not a decision maker but jes obeyin orders....I believe him.

I doh tink de son IN DIS CASE should be punished fuh de sins of de faddah, but Anton also have to deal wit de reality dat as long as dat professional association is there (fuhget father and son), it have consequences for that. 
Post by: ribbit on June 27, 2008, 07:34:03 AM
It seems to me that Maturana was on the defensive when he started to talk about his resume.

for real - like he come out with "qualified dentist". :rotfl:  :rotfl:
Post by: mukumsplau on June 27, 2008, 07:40:41 AM
OH GAD OI!!!! dis is ah good mornin....after hearin alvin corneal verbal diahorrea on mornin edition i get so sick eh...i hope things are shaken up rel soon... ah wish dat imps of ah host joel villafana was mor in d julian rogers mode d man jus doh kno wat questions tuh ask....
Post by: trinikev on June 27, 2008, 07:43:23 AM

My sentiments exactly. Great news, but i doh want to get too excited as yet, just cuz is Jack we dealing with. But i real glad the pro league coaches came out and said their piece, and put pressure on the administration. They show some real cojones, well done  :applause:
Post by: Jayerson on June 27, 2008, 07:43:30 AM
Sigh.....Thank you Lord. Best news in a very long time re: T&T football. Gosh man, just think how close to elimination we had to come for them to realise that something had to be done. Only in T&T football.
Post by: dinho on June 27, 2008, 07:45:46 AM
finally some good news..

just yesterday i meet this chick from kenya in de bar watching the spain game and we start to talk football..

she tell me kenya used to have a good side back in the 80s but after they make the world cup, corruption and politics set in and the team was never the same since then.. i get bummy one time thinking bout that one..

i feel the ones causing the tension in the squad is either ince or edwards based on the cues picked up about their attitudes in the last few games.. but also, the untenable situation with that team right now does lend itself to frustration and incohesiveness..

Another good point is that SANCHO NEEDS TO GET FIT! Of all the blacklisted ones with a serious claim to be included, in my books he is at the bottom of the ladder.. I like the suggestion of him taking up a loan stint with a pro league side to prove his worth.

but good to hear the pro league coaches stepping up and putting pressure on them to right the ship..

also think its obvious that the discourse on this board does count for something in the battle.. just look at the title of the article!

so keep it up fellas.
Post by: Themanfriday on June 27, 2008, 08:01:57 AM
I believe that the players should use that invitation to play for TnT that on de site to start like new. I don't want de JWFF saying they had de information to apply out there and de players did not apply therefore de eh intrested.

Post by: Tenorsaw on June 27, 2008, 08:16:07 AM
No disrepsect to the local based. but when man come from foreign playing at a higher standard and they meet young guys that are still at an embryonic level, relatively speaking, these things will happen.  Maturana needs to realize that there needs to be a mix that gives some of our experienced foreign players a bigger role.  Any dressing room with man like Birchall is beneficial.  We need that kind of steel in the middle.  We don't have much time for development here.  The blooding was supposed to be done when Whim was in charge, but he was whining.  Now we just need to assemble the best.  Plain talk.
Post by: kounty on June 27, 2008, 08:16:26 AM
good news in the short term... a lil distraction on jack part - lewwe say pacho lose the 1st game of the nex rounds (at most dey go bring back 1 blacklist player) - fire pacho, get new coach, jack is hero again...real boo for hunt.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 27, 2008, 08:23:13 AM
[/color]

He singled out one of the more senior Warriors for creating a difficult atmosphere for the younger players to work in. For the most part, the Pro League coaches argued that the T&TFF still lacked a proper structure to identify and develop players at youth level.

Well what the f**k you expect... Cuz they know there is at least 10 other players who are better that can make that shit side...

f**k you Maturana...f**k you Corneal(s).... Get out

My 18 for Cuba:

K.Jack(if fit)
Ince

Cyd Gray
D.Lawrence
B.Sancho
J.James
A.John
N.Daniel

Carlos Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
D.Theobald
C.Birchall
K.Daniel

S.John
J.Scotland
D.Roberts
C.Samuel(can play Wing as well)
Post by: assrancid on June 27, 2008, 08:32:19 AM
You ar sure you want to include Samuel over Glen?
Post by: saga pinto on June 27, 2008, 08:36:27 AM
[/color]

Well what the f**k you expect... Cuz they know there is at least 10 other players who are better that can make that shit side...

My 18 for Cuba:

K.Jack(if fit)
Ince

Cyd Gray
D.Lawrence
B.Sancho
J.James
A.John
N.Daniel

Carlos Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
D.Theobald
C.Birchall
K.Daniel

S.John
J.Scotland
D.Roberts

Add cornell glen to that list.........
Title: How do you bring down an empire ?
Post by: fishs on June 27, 2008, 08:42:13 AM

As Hannibal Najjar rightly says, the man pays all the salaries, he owns all the buildings, he is CFU president, CONCACAF president and FIFA Vice president.
He has been this for some time, so I'm sure the TTFF books will show them owing this man unimaginable millions.
He can make or break footballers, anybody who wants to work in "officail" football must pay homage to the emperor.
He cares not about the fans, they mean nothing to him , most do not comprise his political constituency .
His alleged fraud is treated by FIFA as aberrations.
Even opposing politicians in power succumb to his relentless postering.
Fans have tried protests, letters, visual aids etc. A journalist has written widely on him exposing many truths and many more suspicious wheelings and dealings, one man owned TV rights and was disrgaeded only to see the special emperor buy same for 1$ and multiply that a million fold.
A heroic team has been emasculated for a query, team mates have deserted each other as a result, a bunch of part timers in sea side shorts beat the once mighty warriors of the caribbean.
On and On the travesty goes .
The question is what , who and when will the clothes change ?
Clearly the man owns our beautifull game and when he rides out into a deserved dark night don't be surprised if the empire becomes a dynasty.
Title: Re: How do you bring down an empire ?
Post by: assrancid on June 27, 2008, 08:45:44 AM
Reminds me of the Shah of Iran, The Duvaliers, The Marcos'  where are they now?

Where there is a will there is a way.  Maybe the demise will not be a coup as we all imagine, maybe like the Roman Empire of old, the Dynasty will self destruct...implode even!
Post by: ckhan on June 27, 2008, 08:58:48 AM
A step in the right direction.  Hopefully, some action will take place.  Keep up de pressure!
Post by: davidephraim on June 27, 2008, 09:10:58 AM
boy ah see this real late. Good show... I see some people hating on Ince but it seems Ince mighta get drop for saying de same things that these Pro league coaches echoing. If dat is called underming the Team then we have also undermined the team and so have de PFL coaches. Pacho talking about cohesiveness and upset Yorke come to play. Yorke looked better than most with he old ass in de Hengland game. It hard to disqualify dat kinda player. Bring back we Birchall... bring back we Sancho.. and for dam sure bring back we Ince.
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 09:13:11 AM
Me eh really 2 excited because as was pointed out dat d meetin tok place nuff days ago and only 1 media man cover d story. D media man in question thou freelance could have been asked 2 interview d clown name Alvin.

I agree wit palos havin Alvin as a fadder must b real hard on Anton dat bein said doh get invited 2 ah interview and tell he so he go turn up. Get some balls yes he is yuh pooper but cut d navel strings and become yuh own man. What he go do doh invite yuh 4 Xmas dinner steupsssss
Post by: elan on June 27, 2008, 09:25:55 AM
IMO Anton gets a bad rap purely because he is Alvin's son.
Too bad because I sincerely believe he has T&T's best footballing interests at heart AND he has also done the work by doing the courses, putting in the time and being a student of the game.

Yes, is more dan likely dat he has gotten opportunities because of who his father is but again, daz not exactly his fault. Is not like he not qualified with regards to certification etc. He does lack experience but other coaches talking to him have mostly very positive feedback about the guy.

Imagine what it must be like to be Anton Corneal and yuh faddah is Alvin. It easy fuh we here on de board to say "jes tell yuh faddah yuh doh want no interference from he" but maybe in more ways than one, Anton might idolise he dad, jes like many a we think de world of we own.

I eh tryin to make excuses fuh de fella....jes appreciatin dat his situation is not an easy one and when he say he not a decision maker but jes obeyin orders....I believe him.

I doh tink de son IN DIS CASE should be punished fuh de sins of de faddah, but Anton also have to deal wit de reality dat as long as dat professional association is there (fuhget father and son), it have consequences for that.

Palos check Weary post below. I can't see how he have T&T best interest at heart and he makiing statements like that

What Forbes do that he was so spectacular? A blind could see that Roberts was a must for inclusion on the team.

No disrepsect to the local based. but when man come from foreign playing at a higher standard and they meet young guys that are still at an embryonic level, relatively speaking, these things will happen. Maturana needs to realize that there needs to be a mix that gives some of our experienced foreign players a bigger role. Any dressing room with man like Birchall is beneficial. We need that kind of steel in the middle. We don't have much time for development here. The blooding was supposed to be done when Whim was in charge, but he was whining. Now we just need to assemble the best. Plain talk.

That's what I saying Tenor, even in college when men come in for preseason and the coach recruit shyte players the men who better does let it be known. Nobody passing the ball to the crappy players. Coach have to bench he.
When I watch how some of them men does pass the ball it does hut me, the rolling like it flat and taking forever to get way it going. I always say look at the difference in when Stern, Carlos, Yorke pass the ball. The pass does make yuh move,you have to take action, you can't just stand there and receive it, cause you will lose it. The ball does skate into you, make you play.
Post by: grskywalker on June 27, 2008, 09:46:11 AM

HA HAHAH Maturana have to go, despite the events of the first game, it is the foreign stars that saved the day Sunday. The collective experience of the blacklisted men will come to bear once they are brought back into the fold. We must also play every game as if it is the last qualifying match
Post by: palos on June 27, 2008, 09:55:53 AM
Palos check Weary post below. I can't see how he have T&T best interest at heart and he makiing statements like that

What Forbes do that he was so spectacular? A blind could see that Roberts was a must for inclusion on the team.

I read dat as ALVIN was on TV6 and make dah comment.  I would be surprised if was Anton who did say dat.  If he did, he deserve de licks he gettin.
Post by: grskywalker on June 27, 2008, 10:07:34 AM
[/color]

My 18 for Cuba:

K.Jack(if fit)
Ince

Cyd Gray
D.Lawrence
B.Sancho
J.James
A.John
N.Daniel

Carlos Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
D.Theobald
C.Birchall
K.Daniel

S.John
J.Scotland
D.Roberts

Why all yuh us is always leave out the dog with  the big bite CORNELL GLEN
Cornell will always make my team whether starting or coming off the bench as a super sub he is the dagger we need up front
Post by: Coop's on June 27, 2008, 10:53:25 AM
I like all the progress that is being made with getting all the so called blacklisted players to represent the country again but it seems we already forgetting there are issues still not settled with these players which will come to the forefront once things not going well,what sort of conditions these players are playing under,i guess to play they will have to accept what the TTFF/JW has to offer,what sort of agreements do they have with the TTFF/JW,are they being represented by PFATT,are they signing contracts before each game,are the foreign/local based getting the same salary,are the former WC players happy playing without being paid their money agreed too by the arbitration? etc etc

Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 10:59:35 AM
Is Alvin d chimp Anton eh go b so silly he have he fadder DNA is true but he mudder own save he from sayin such nonesense
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 27, 2008, 11:19:25 AM
[/color]

My 18 for Cuba:

K.Jack(if fit)
Ince

Cyd Gray
D.Lawrence
B.Sancho
J.James
A.John
N.Daniel

Carlos Edwards
A.Whitley
K.Hyland
D.Theobald
C.Birchall
K.Daniel

S.John
J.Scotland
D.Roberts

Why all yuh us is always leave out the dog with  the big bite CORNELL GLEN
Cornell will always make my team whether starting or coming off the bench as a super sub he is the dagger we need up front

It was tough.. but I only picking Glen unless he willing to run either Wing should he have to...  Sammy would gladly play on each Wing...

Imagine I could pick a side better than Maturana and Corneal.. and dem getting paid for picking Smith Cupid Farrier Makan Forbes Gay and the list goes on..
Post by: R45 on June 27, 2008, 11:27:13 AM
Cautiously optimistic.

I think jack realised that T&T has no chance whatsoever with this current team, it's in his interest to bring back our better players if he wants to have more blood to suck out of T&T in the WCQ campaign... otherwise it'll be a quick death.
Post by: elan on June 27, 2008, 11:40:07 AM
I was gonna put this in a new thread but decided to post it here.

What if we pick we best side and then we lose? What then? How would that look in terms of us complaining about the locals and the coaching staff?
Alvin and Anton and allan will say "see, what have we been saying."

Now I don't care as long as we look like we have played the game before, the best players available on the field and not learning as we go.
Post by: grskywalker on June 27, 2008, 11:49:52 AM
Well the sooner we get them back into training the better, Guatemala and CUBA ain't no walk over team either so we have to bring it from the word go. Let us go into the US  game with max result in our favor
Post by: Touches on June 27, 2008, 12:08:29 PM
Elan,

It is better to lose knowing that you had your best player available...rather than losing and wondering what if??

It is always better to know exactly where you stand in the scheme of things rather than be caught guessing....this is compounded if the game is close and you narrowly lose to a far superior team or lose to a shit side.

Post by: Storeboy on June 27, 2008, 12:24:08 PM
Jack Warner and Mugabe cut form the same clot.  They start off as heroes and liberators then become the hated, brutish, Hitler-like, Stalinist, monsters.  Get out, Jack, before you end up naked and in obscurity, vilified by the same TTFF lapdogs and FIFA officials who today supporting you vengeful agenda.
Post by: Sando prince on June 27, 2008, 12:38:48 PM
Cohisiveness breach wit d introduction of d foreign base dat is oui coach talkin dat niceness. Now we all now dat Ince eh no team man just check KJ interview.

Actually we dont know dat lol...We can assume dat for now..but we all dont know jack shit about who causing what 4sure..but maybe if I  like bacchanal talk then I will start assuming that the too..
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 05:05:10 PM
4 Ince 2 testify 4 Berry he eh nooooooooo team man. As whether is he who d dentist talk bout breakin d cohesion it is a good guess
Post by: D.H.W on June 27, 2008, 05:33:39 PM
Dwight york has expressed interest in returning to the team, news just in on cnc3
Post by: Storeboy on June 27, 2008, 05:35:28 PM
Ah sure is either  Stern or Lawrence they referring to.  Especially with Stern sitting for Jerold Forbes in Bermuda? You have to be kidding.
Post by: arrow on June 27, 2008, 05:44:59 PM
Dwight york has expressed interest in returning to the team, news just in on cnc3

Alright just need Latas to come back now and we back in business!
Post by: DeSoWa on June 27, 2008, 05:47:10 PM

wha bout nahkid?  ::)

Post by: D.H.W on June 27, 2008, 05:50:02 PM
i hope he fight to bring back the players and doh sell out
Post by: Babalawo on June 27, 2008, 05:51:13 PM
THIS IS GREAT. THE PRO LEAGUE COACHES SAYING EVERY THING I BEEN SAY.  How Hyland get call and he not playing with a club, So that's not argument to leave out Birchall, Sancho, and Theobald.   THE CORNEALS MUST GO . This will make the chemistry much better.  A local pro league coach like Brian Williams should be the Assistant coach instead.  How no body mention Kelvin Jack.  He deserves to be out starting goalkeeper.   Glad to See Stern John speaking out.  When some like him speaks people will listen.
Post by: Coop's on June 27, 2008, 05:51:54 PM

       Don't forget we still need a Coach,i real enjoying this.
Post by: WestCoast on June 27, 2008, 05:57:27 PM

       Don't forget we still need a Coach,i real enjoying this.
what
Mats gorn
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 06:24:41 PM
2 late dwight done sell out he in a unique fraction d fraction dat make he own deal so he really need Latas 2 come back so he go have a pardner
Post by: WestCoast on June 27, 2008, 06:24:55 PM
Is Alvin d chimp Anton eh go b so silly he have he fadder DNA is true but he mudder own save he from sayin such nonesense
he mudda DNA save he  :rotfl: :rotfl:

buh I ent tink so eh as dat Shitty DNA real strong and he does be like he fadda.
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 06:34:12 PM
Nah Anton eh he own man in fact he eh he own boi but u doh choose yuh parents so he have Alvin DNA but peeps who know d fella say his main problem is he fadder
Post by: grskywalker on June 27, 2008, 06:55:38 PM
Dwight and Birchie in the middle oh yeah. Dwight could take us to qualify but I  doubt he able with another World Cup
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 27, 2008, 07:02:33 PM
i hope he fight to bring back the players and doh sell out

yeah agreed... I Hope Dwight returns with K.Jack Cyd Avery Sancho Andrews Theobald Birchall Samuel Glen
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 08:57:48 PM
Everybody except Latas who eh comin back, Wise who was d luckiest man in dat team and Shaka who retire. Once dey fit and a 1/2 decent coach we have places 2 goooooooooo
Post by: arrow on June 27, 2008, 09:10:18 PM
BRING BACK A. WOLFE
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2008, 09:19:47 PM
Me 4 get Wolfe oui
Post by: dreamer on June 28, 2008, 09:45:06 AM
[/color]

Two-time Colombia World Cup coach Francisco Maturana suffered the indignity of a mass interrogation from his Trinidad and Tobago Pro League counterparts as the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) pressed the panic button on Wednesday afternoon.

The "Soca Warriors" scraped into the CONCACAF 2010 World Cup qualifying second round with a 3-2 aggregate win against Bermuda over two legs. Bermuda are ranked 52 places below Trinidad and Tobago at 139th in the world.

T&TFF special adviser and FIFA vice-president Jack Warner has publicly pronounced his confidence in the squad, but it was a different story in the aftermath of Sunday's nervy win in Hamilton.

Warner chaired a discussion between the national technical staff and the local club coaches in the CONCACAF Centre of Excellence's Nelson Mandela Room at midday on Wednesday.

The Colombian remained in charge at the end of the meeting but his authority, according to a source, was significantly undermined.

On June 1, Maturana reluctantly bowed to Warner's demand to allow Sunderland midfielder and 2006 World Cup captain Dwight Yorke into his squad for the country's centennial match against England. The Colombian might as well leave the team's door open now.

He is likely to be pressured into selecting more than half-dozen players before the next qualifying round, including the World Cup quartet of midfielders Chris Birchall (Coventry) and Densill Theobald (Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA) and defenders Brent Sancho (unattached) and Cyd Gray (CLICO San Juan Jabloteh).

Ma Pau striker Cornell Glen and Miami FC left back Avery John, both also World Cup players, were also mentioned, along with Wrexham midfielder Silvio Spann and W. Connection utility player Clyde Leon.

Maturana's tactics and his perceived reliance on assistant coach Anton Corneal to identify national prospects also drew negative comments from the floor. Corneal allegedly stressed that he was not a decision maker within the technical staff and merely followed orders.

Maturana, a qualified dentist and one of South America's more respected coaches, pointed to his South American Copa Libertadores title and two World Cup appearances to defend his football knowledge and suggested that the cohesion within his squad was breached with the introduction of the country's foreign-based stars.

It would not have been music to the ears of technical director Lincoln Phillips, who did not attend, although it may add credence to early criticisms from the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs.

Warner was said to have acknowledged the need to improve the long-term structure of the organisation, but seemed more interested in saving the present campaign. It could mean a shock recall for Birchall and Sancho, who apparently suffered more than their teammates for their role in the World Cup players' legal action against the Federation.

Maturana supposedly pointed to the lack of playing time for both players in the 2007/08 English club season. However, a Pro League coach pointed out that teenage midfielder Khaleem Hyland was also not playing competitive domestic football.

It was suggested, too, that Sancho could return to the Pro League to ensure he is match fit for the next qualifying round. The T&TFF hope to schedule as many as five friendly matches before their opening semifinal round group match away to Cuba on August 20.

South American neighbours Venezuela are touted as possible opponents, along with Honduras, El Salvador and Suriname. Maturana should still be on the bench-unless the Colombian opts to fall on his own sword. But the squad that struggled to out-do Bermuda is likely to undergo major surgery over the coming three months.

Mr Liburd, Mr dependable. Nice article touching many relevant points. Wish he could write every week about this.