Sports => Other Sports => Topic started by: ckhan on July 21, 2008, 11:40:21 AM

Title: NFL - Taylor get traded..a good move
Post by: ckhan on July 21, 2008, 11:40:21 AM
Jason Talyor traded to de Redskins is de best thing for both parties.  Taylor can now play for a playoff bound team and Miami can continue with its rebuilding process with their picks in 2009.  However, the redskins are in the same division with Cowboys and Philly so I don't think they (Redskins) will go very far if all remains status quo.  I wonder if he (Taylor) will play for more than one season in DC?
Title: Re: NFL - Taylor get traded..a good move
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2008, 12:14:37 PM
Jason Talyor traded to de Redskins is de best thing for both parties.  Taylor can now play for a playoff bound team and Miami can continue with its rebuilding process with their picks in 2009.  However, the redskins are in the same division with Cowboys and Philly so I don't think they (Redskins) will go very far if all remains status quo.  I wonder if he (Taylor) will play for more than one season in DC?

...de man ent even throw de reigning SB Champion ah bone nuh boy
Post by: Tigger on July 21, 2008, 12:19:24 PM
that what you get from doing chupidness like  "dancing with the stars"
Post by: ckhan on July 21, 2008, 12:24:04 PM

..LOL....I really fuhget dem in truth...damn Giants...beat my Patriots but that's a story fuh another day

Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2008, 01:10:31 PM

..LOL....I really fuhget dem in truth...damn Giants...beat my Patriots but that's a story fuh another day

I think it's a boss move for the Redskins... and a nice change of scenery for Jason Taylor.  Bill Parcells is ah ass, with his outdated old-school policies.  I used to be a huge Parcells fan (being a Giants fan), but he's like an old dinosaur insisting that the rest of the world wait while he evolves at his own pace.  Look at Coughlin and how he's adapted...and look at the result...not just the Championship, but more directly the relationship with his players.  You have to treat these men like adults and not incorrigible kids.  What a grown man wants to do in the OFF SEASON is his business.  There's a reason why OTA's are voluntary...
Title: Re: NFL trades
Post by: daryn on July 21, 2008, 10:10:50 PM
might as well make this a de facto NFL offseason thread

NEW ORLEANS (AP) -- Jeremy Shockey was traded to the Saints for two draft picks Monday, giving New Orleans a disgruntled star tight end who watched from afar while injured as the New York Giants surged to the Super Bowl title.

The Giants will get second- and fifth-round picks in the 2009 draft. The deal must be approved by the league and is contingent on Shockey passing a physical.

The deal reunites Shockey with Saints coach Sean Payton, who was the Giants' offensive coordinator in 2002, when Shockey was Rookie of the Year.

"I have had a relationship with coach Payton and I appreciate what he has done as a head coach," Shockey said in a statement released by the Saints. "The Saints have a lot of weapons starting with Drew Brees and I look forward to joining my teammates at training camp. This will be a fun year."

The Saints report to training camp in Jackson, Miss., on Wednesday with several other tight ends on the roster, including last year's starter, Eric Johnson, along with Billy Miller and Mark Campbell.

Shockey, a four-time Pro Bowl selection who spent six seasons with the Giants, broke his leg against the Washington Redskins on Dec. 16.

He is known for his offensive ability more than his blocking, and was unhappy even before the injury -- he was asked to block in addition to catch. Once hurt, he didn't like the fact that much was made of the Giants winning with rookie Kevin Boss in his place.

"Jeremy brought great energy to the game every time he stepped on the field," said Giants team president John Mara, son of the late Wellington Mara, a longtime owner of the team. "He had a close relationship with my father from the time we drafted him, and I had a couple of long conversations with Jeremy this spring and summer. From those conversations, it was apparent to me that a fresh start was the best thing for us and for Jeremy."

The Giants, a proven winner without Shockey in the lineup, cut ties with a player who provided plenty of excitement on the field and plenty of distractions off it -- once throwing a cup of ice in the stands during a playoff game in San Francisco, criticizing Giants fans for leaving a game early, blaming Giants coach Tom Coughlin's staff for a loss in 2006 or skipping voluntary team workouts in favor an offseason program run by his agent.

The Giants also unload the remainder of a five-year, $31.2 million contract extension that Shockey signed in 2005.

Shockey had 371 catches for 4,228 yards and 27 touchdowns with the Giants. He was drafted out of Miami with the 14th overall pick in the 2002 draft.

Coughlin called the departing tight end "an outstanding football player who plays the game full speed and plays the game the way it was meant to be played."

"I wish him the best," the coach added.

The Giants still have five tight ends, including Boss, who started the last six games of last season. The others are rookie Eric Butler, Jerome Collins, Darcy Johnson and Michael Matthews.

"We have five young kids who are all vying for the position," Coughlin said. "The tight end position will be a very competitive position in training camp."

The Saints have been seeking a tight end who is a downfield threat. Eric Johnson, who started 12 games for the Saints last season, caught 48 passes for 378 yards and two touchdowns.

"Jeremy is a player that we are excited to have on our roster. He is someone I am familiar with as a player," Payton said. "He brings a skill set to the position that I feel will be a tremendous benefit to our offense."

The Saints' offense has been among the best in the NFL during Payton's first two seasons as coach, with Brees eclipsing 4,000 yards passing in each of them.

The hope in New Orleans is that Shockey's addition as a receiving threat, when combined with receiver Marques Colston and Reggie Bush coming out of the backfield or lining up in the slot, will give Brees the options he needs to move the ball, no matter what defenses attempt.

Shockey's agent, Drew Rosenhaus, called last season a difficult one for his client, who was looking for a change of scenery.

"He's been one of the most successful tight ends in NFL history, but now I think he's going to be more prolific in the Saints' offense," Rosenhaus said. "I don't think Jeremy could ask for a better situation."
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2008, 11:54:52 PM
I think it's a huge loss for us. While I'm willing to defer to the coaching and management staff on this (they know their talent better than me), Boss to me is not half the receiver that Shockey is. Part of Shockey's problem was that he played so damn hard... kept getting injuries. But his reaction while hurt down the stretch was a disappointment to me... and I think he let some of the idiot NY fans get inside his head, believing all the "cancer" talk. He was ready for a change in scenery... and the Giants probably figure they could do without the distractions.

The fact that Eli won't have to worry about Shockey pouting b/c of every ball NOT thrown his way is a huge plus I guess...but Eli is not that fragile to let that shit bother him. Second and Fifth round picks are huge, given his declining production the last couple years... but still. That was my boy... I predict he will be a beast down in the Bayou.

Nobody played harder for us.
Post by: futbolfan on July 22, 2008, 12:46:02 AM

I concur, considering  Washington lost 2 of there DE on the first day of training camp.
It will definitely be a all out slug feast in NFC east division  for the upcoming season.
Ultimately one of these teams will represent the NFC in the super bowl....let the games begin  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on July 22, 2008, 05:22:55 PM
D trade talks was on 4 wks
Post by: Themanfriday on July 22, 2008, 05:59:31 PM

Yet and the EAGLES are getting ready for the battle.   EAGLES all the way.