Sports => Football => Topic started by: Touches on August 11, 2008, 06:00:47 AM

Title: Hyland will join Premiership
Post by: Touches on August 11, 2008, 06:00:47 AM
Agent: Hyland will join Premiership.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Portsmouth still keen on 'Warrior'

Nineteen-year-old Trinidad and Tobago footballer Khaleem Hyland is still listed as unemployed, almost eight months after he walked out on Pro League champions Clico San Juan Jabloteh. But British agent Steve Davies insisted that the teenaged international is "destined for big things".

Only a work permit stands in the way of Hyland's proposed move to England Premier League club, Portsmouth, and, although there is no guarantee that the midfielder would satisfy the British Home Office before the start of the 2008/09 season, Davies is certain that his entrance in the Premiership is a matter of when rather than if.

"The kid is going to play in the Premiership," said Davies, who also represents 2006 World Cup defender Brent Sancho. "He is an exceptional talent and is destined for big things. Portsmouth have a four year contract on the table and it is a very, very good contract."

Hyland failed to satisfy the criteria for a work permit because of Trinidad and Tobago 's low present global ranking, which the Home Office believes indicate that the foreigner does not have sufficient quality to be allowed to displace a British player.

Portsmouth have lodged an appeal and, on Monday, Davies will be given a date for their hearing. If the appeal fails, Hyland must wait six months before he can reapply.

Sheffield United failed to secure a work permit for Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams last month and sent him out on loan in the Hungarian Second Division until they can try again. There is a similar arrangement in place for former national youth team players Aaron Downing and Matthew Bartholomew who, like Williams, are former W Connection employees and were farmed out by Sheffield.

Davies suggested that Hyland could end up temporarily plying his trade in Belgium if his appeal is unsuccessful.

"We are hopeful about the appeal," said Davies, "but failing that they will still sign him and send him on loan to Belgium until he meets the requirements. If Trinidad (and Tobago ) does well in the (2010 World Cup) qualifiers then, at the latest, he should be a Premiership player by Christmas."

Hyland has not played a competitive club match since leaving Jabloteh last December. Davies explained that he remained inactive this year, apart from international duty, in an effort to avoid complications for his proposed Portsmouth move as well as to lessen the risk of injury.

"If he had played (for a Pro League team), his club might have wanted compensation and he could have gotten injured," said Davies. "God forbid he broke his leg with a (Premiership) contract on the table."

If Hyland's Premiership move goes through, he would be the second "Soca Warrior" to represent Portsmouth after retired goalkeeper and local Hall of Famer Shaka Hislop who was on board when the club won promotion to England's top flight. At present, the Sunderland trio of Dwight Yorke, Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards represent the twin island republic in one of Europe 's most successful and profitable leagues.

The 2006/07 season was the only term that Trinidad and Tobago were not represented in the Premiership since its inception in 1992. Hyland should join a distinguished line of local exports to the Premier League that includes Clint Marcelle (the present Economy North East Stars coach), Stern John, Yorke, Jones, Edwards and Hislop.

Portsmouth manager Harry Redknapp is no stranger to T&T players as he managed Hislop at West Ham and Portsmouth and gave Jones his Premier League debut at Southampton . Davies hopes that Hyland would soon have the benefit of his tutelage.
Title: Re: Hyland will join Premiership
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 11, 2008, 06:26:19 AM
Meanwhile, not playing competitive matches, according to reports he getting worse.
Post by: Ngozi on August 11, 2008, 07:20:51 AM
Getting worse because he isn't playing competitively and he is playing on a bad national team
Post by: SHOTTA on August 11, 2008, 07:42:18 AM
THIS agent is a idiot

so he didnt thoink that d break foot or injury cuda come in traing or on he way home or whereever

hyland is a layer in my book but in jabloteh colours he was a force nt in this big boy syndrome he have now
Post by: Peong on August 11, 2008, 07:49:15 AM
Is "only a work permit" issue.
No big ting.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 11, 2008, 07:54:32 AM
THIS agent is a idiot

so he didnt thoink that d break foot or injury cuda come in traing or on he way home or whereever

hyland is a layer in my book but in jabloteh colours he was a force nt in this big boy syndrome he have now

agreed... star boy ting.. i hope he f**king reading this
Post by: injunchile on August 11, 2008, 08:01:00 AM
Hyland's agent needs to hire two strong unemplyed youths to carry him on their shoulders for fear of a foot injury.Where did they get this agent- no wonder Sancho is where he is today.
Post by: Trin on August 11, 2008, 08:28:21 AM
 ::) how long have we been hearing the same tune. dat record stick since last year.
Post by: daryn on August 11, 2008, 09:08:25 AM
Tallman/Flex/E-man,

anybody have a list of foreign-based players and their agents?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 11, 2008, 09:14:46 AM
Steups.
Post by: morvant on August 11, 2008, 09:18:35 AM
if he does go

when cuppa nations come around and all them africans portsmouth have gone

he go shine ;D
Post by: Youth Baller on August 11, 2008, 09:36:40 AM
You normally have to have a good! GOOD! case and there is a lot of investication into the player when he is DENIDED AND THE CLUB APPEALS THIS.
IT HARDLY FALLS THROUGH MAYBE 1 OUT OF 10.
Post by: Touches on August 11, 2008, 09:58:28 AM
All  the agent and Portsmouth reps hadda do is show the clip of him hitting Gerrard a Spanner...ithat go convince the Home Office.  ;D
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 11, 2008, 10:55:38 AM
Hmmm, and this is the same agent doing wonders for Sancho's career. Right.  ::)

Anyhow, go with God small man.
Post by: Filho on August 11, 2008, 11:06:25 AM
Hmmm, and this is the same agent doing wonders for Sancho's career. Right.  ::)

Anyhow, go with God small man.

hmmm...so is Sancho agent  ???
Post by: pompey_researcher on August 11, 2008, 11:19:47 AM
Least he will be a pompey player soon then.

Will do him good to play in Belgium anyway
Post by: weary1969 on August 11, 2008, 12:41:28 PM
Only a work permit is like sayin yuh little bit pregnant. He need d permit otherwise he eh reachin d Mother Country. So who did not c d blank comin? As 4 agent ne may b a clown but at least he eh a crook like some others we know
Post by: Sando prince on August 11, 2008, 12:46:28 PM
Like I said in a previous thread..Hyland will be signed to Pompey before the end of the summmer..and like every T&T player I wish him the best  :beermug:..
Post by: pompey_researcher on August 11, 2008, 01:54:50 PM
I know some of you play Football Manager how would you rate him for that as hes currently blank in every attribute bar one
Post by: Sam on August 11, 2008, 04:52:15 PM
I know some of you play Football Manager how would you rate him for that as hes currently blank in every attribute bar one

Same attributes as Lassana Diarra..... Hyland might be technically better though, especially going forward while Lassana Diarra has more experience. They even look the same, same height, size and head....
Post by: dinho on August 11, 2008, 05:08:53 PM

Same attributes as Lassana Diarra..... Hyland might be technically better though, especially going forward while Lassana Diarra has more experience. They even look the same, same height, size and head....

Lol.. technically better than diarra ???

steups.. hyland cyah tie diarra shoelace right now..

Post by: Sam on August 11, 2008, 05:16:03 PM
YES  - Hyland is technically better. If both had the same experience Hyland would have been the better of the two especially going forward.  Diarra might have the edge defensively. At the moment,  Diarra is better because of experience.

Trust me, if Hyland signs with Portsmouth he will develop into a top player and under Harry you will see his true ability.

Hyland needs a new agent, and to be playing regular football with a top team and a good football enviorment, he needs to get out of T&T quick. Same with Peltier and Guerra. Another thing is, Hyland is calm like Jones and Yorke and players like that you have to becareful with, ask Steven Gerrerd, he knows first hand.
Post by: Sando prince on August 11, 2008, 05:53:01 PM
Hyland have potenetial and talent but if he stay in Trinidad his potential will not develop into much..Pompey could take his potential and talent to another level
Post by: maxg on August 11, 2008, 07:21:05 PM
dey could take meh pardna "fisher" potential and talent to anudda level too, but before they call him personally, question is wha he could do for them that they can't get from a homegrown...oh yeah, beat Gerrad once..buh juss maybe homeboy could do that too, in ah ah Rednapp retirement fete-match   :devil:
Post by: Sando prince on August 11, 2008, 07:54:26 PM
....and yes de Trini chupid talk start.."de only ting Hyland ever did well was beat Gerrard"...and some man implying that he cant do shit for Pompey but yet Pompey still interested  :rotfl: ...Hyland go do yuh ting doh let de bad mind ting stir yuh away..
Post by: maxg on August 11, 2008, 08:00:35 PM
....and yes de Trini chupid talk start.."de only ting Hyland ever did well was beat Gerrard"...and some man implying that he cant do shit for Pompey but yet Pompey still interested  :rotfl: ...Hyland go do yuh ting doh let de bad mind ting stir yuh away..
bad mind, Sando ?
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 11, 2008, 08:33:08 PM
You really think Pompey buying him because he reach? They buying him because he have good potential. He eh reach yet. And nutting wrong with saying he eh reach yet.
Post by: dcs on August 11, 2008, 08:35:18 PM

Wonder if the agent was recommended/endorsed by FPATT

He not a miracle worker though...he can't change the home office rules and cah help T&T rankings so that is what he have to work with.
Post by: Sando prince on August 11, 2008, 08:49:29 PM
You really think Pompey buying him because he reach? They buying him because he have good potential. He eh reach yet. And nutting wrong with saying he eh reach yet.

when did I ever say he reach?..Scroll up and yuh will see where I wrote he has potential and talent!!...Atleast yuh say potential instead of mentioning a spanner dat gerrard get is de reason for dis and dat!..cause ah fed up hear dat chupid talk!!
Post by: dinho on August 11, 2008, 08:52:28 PM
all this talk about the spanner gerrard, get WHAT HAPPENED AFTER?
Post by: FF on August 11, 2008, 09:25:29 PM
all this talk about the spanner gerrard, get WHAT HAPPENED AFTER?

well de bar i was in... everybody bawl out like jamette and de carnival start... we start to like weself like mad...  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on August 11, 2008, 09:33:15 PM
Exactly dcs all yuh want he agent 2 change d WP rules? When I saw dat Jan Micheal get blank I know we salt plus d rankin eh helpin niether
Post by: just cool on August 12, 2008, 03:06:59 AM
Hyland will get through on the next try ! remember we was @ 102 in the fifa ranking about 2 weeks ago which leads me to believe that they put in for the permit when we was above 100, now we under 100 @ 92.

i don 't see what will hinder him on the next try, he have the caps reqired, he have the rating reqired aswell so i would say it's ah rap.

time will tell.                                            positive.
Post by: andre samuel on August 13, 2008, 05:45:13 AM
From www.skysports.com on 2008.08.13

Portsmouth are still holding out hope they will be able to sign Trinidad & Tobago international Khaleem Hyland.

As revealed by skysports.com back in July, Portsmouth have lined up a deal to bring Hyland to Fratton Park

The 19-year-old is very highly rated in his homeland and Pompey boss Harry Redknapp has been looking to sign him for over a year.

Hyland enjoyed a trial at Pompey last year alongside compatriots Lester Peltier and Atullah Guerra and all three were offered deals but none were able to secure work permits.

Hyland has gone on to become a full T&T international and featured against England in their friendly in the Port of Spain in June - but the British Home Office do not take non-competitive games into account.

He is also now a free agent after rejecting a new contract with San Juan Jabloteh and Pompey are continuing their efforts to sign him.

"We have always been looking at Hyland but there are complications with the work permit situation," said chief executive Peter Storrie.

"At the moment he fails to satisfy the criteria. He has played in friendly matches but they have to be competitive so do not count.

"It's a shame because he is very much one for the future and a player we are interested in.

"We are not even sure when we will find out the outcome, it's a case of how long is a piece of string.

"The powers that be are still working towards the permit so we will just have to wait and see."
Post by: 7 blessings on August 13, 2008, 06:01:39 AM
I just find is ah real shame that these work permit rules keeping so much ah we young players out ah top flight football where dem can develop, improve and strengthen our selection pool. This ruling that because of our ranking that one of our players cannot displace ah english player is crap..if the club's scout find we players will fit into dem club, den dat should be good enough...but i guess England lookin out for dem own yute too which i cyah blame dem for..jus as a trini i would like to see our players get ah bligh..hope he goes out there and really work hard..

on the other hand now what d skin is dis i hearing bout he agent keep he from playing cause he fraid he break he foot...dais d chupidest ting i ever hear..poor sancho yes...Hyland havebrittle bone or wah? dat jus doh make no sense and for Hyland to agree wid dah crap, sounds kinda girlish to me..u is ah footballer..u start playin football in all kinda oloe filed and kicking bottle and now cause u feel u get big u eh wah play cause u go break yuh foot...steupssssssss....gimme a break nah man, get serious eh, u and ur manager..and i hope sancho read this article and see dat he have ah quack for ah agent
Post by: kev on August 13, 2008, 06:12:39 AM
I think the rule is rank 70 in the world, given the general feeling is hardening from the FA with regards foriegn players the only ones they can stop is Non Eu that don't satisfy the existing criteria.  It also has to be said who is applying for the permit makes a difference top 4 clubs have less hassle.  Liverpool recent had to send an argentine lad abroad on a 2 year loan because his "Italian" passport was revoked, although did not have international appearances.

Someone on here mentioned the rules changing shortly, all I can see is a even harder criteria for Non Eu players being put in its stead.
Post by: pompey_researcher on August 13, 2008, 06:26:04 AM
Hyland would benefit from playing in Belgium for 3 years anyway.
Post by: andre samuel on August 13, 2008, 08:19:56 AM
I think that this whole break foot thing is being blown out of proportion.  

I think it is feasible for an agent to not want his player to be complicated by the terms and conditions of a new contract.

The break foot senario was just a by the way situation he just brought up as a possibility.........no need for us to over react.

Post by: Youth Baller on August 13, 2008, 09:49:11 AM
Hopefully this is done before Septemeber ranking come out and make it harder , becasue we already lose against Haiti for August.
Post by: FireBrand on August 13, 2008, 10:14:12 AM
Hopefully this is done before Septemeber ranking come out and make it harder , becasue we already lose against Haiti for August.

That's why we need to beat El Salvador and Cuba....no ifs, ands or buts....
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2008, 12:40:44 PM
Preach Fire Preach no if buts or maybe so who startin d pray and fast chain because dat is what dat team needs nuff sack cloth and ashes
Post by: kev on August 14, 2008, 02:24:04 AM
Checked the prem league rule.

Its a top 70 Ranking, based on an average of the past 2 years, I would imagine this would help a bit as you have slipped down recently iirc.
Post by: E-man on August 14, 2008, 01:44:47 PM
Pompey pursue Hyland chase
by Adam Polkinghorne (Setanta)

13 August 2008

Harry Redknapp is still hoping to capture the signing of Trinidad & Tobago international Khaleem Hyland.

The highly-rated 19-year-old midfielder enjoyed a trial with the FA Cup winners last year alongside compatriots Lester Peltier and Atullah Guerra and all three players were offered deals but work permit problems put an end to any deal.

Hyland featured in the Trinidad & Tobago friendly against England in June and he is now a free agent after rejecting a new contract with San Juan Jabloteh with Pompey looking to step up their interest.

“We have always been looking at Hyland but there are complications with the work permit situation,” said chief executive Peter Storrie.

At the moment he fails to satisfy the criteria. He has played in friendly matches but they have to be competitive so do not count.  He is very much one for the future and a player we are interested in but we will just have to wait and see.”

David James has expressed his fear at the impact European football could have on Pompey’s Premier League campaign.

Portsmouth’s entry into the UEFA Cup brings European football to Fratton Park for the first time in the club’s history but the England keeper feels it could stretch the Pompey squad.

“We’ve a UEFA Cup bid and that’s going to put a strain on us with the amount of games and the size of our squad,” James said.

“Middlesbrough proved in 2006 you can go so far in the UEFA Cup but unless you win it, it becomes a bit of a fruitless task. It’s going to be important we keep our players fit to do well in Europe and on the other front do well in the league.”

James added his concern more cup success for the South Coast club could see them slip down the league after Portsmouth lost their last four games last season when they reached the cup final.

“Arguably we could have finished fifth, but with the FA Cup we didn’t and we ended up eighth.”
Post by: Babalawo on August 14, 2008, 09:10:17 PM
Portsmouth's attempts to sign Trinidad defender Khaleem Hyland could be scuppered after the initial application for a work permit was rejected by Home Office (Daily Mirror).
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/15082008/58/premier-league-transfer-talk.html
Post by: D.H.W on August 14, 2008, 09:19:56 PM
sigh
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 14, 2008, 09:25:50 PM
keep your head up, good things will  come
Post by: SUPA on August 14, 2008, 11:19:16 PM
Portsmouth's attempts to sign Trinidad defender Khaleem Hyland could be scuppered after the initial application for a work permit was rejected by Home Office (Daily Mirror).
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/15082008/58/premier-league-transfer-talk.html

Oh boi, hold de faith Hyland, yuh young de man above go bless yuh wid something soon. HIGHLY BLESSED.

As we proceed yes indeed

Team USA basketball team picked another win on their towards dat gold medal. They defeated de Greece team yesterday morning, wid a score of 92-69. All scores was lead by Kobe (18), Bosh(18) and Wade again in fine form wid 17 points, 5 assist and 6 steals  ;)  ;D. Well give credit where it is deserved, tuh me it was a great team effort, but de Toronto Raptors Bosh  ;D had an outstanding game, wid some solid defending. James and Wade, as usual, dey were involved in some very good defending as usual. Next stop for my bois, will be on Saturday, dey come up against Spain  8).
Post by: supporter on August 15, 2008, 08:50:16 AM
Pompey pursue Hyland chase
by Adam Polkinghorne (Setanta)

13 August 2008

Harry Redknapp is still hoping to capture the signing of Trinidad & Tobago international Khaleem Hyland.

The highly-rated 19-year-old midfielder enjoyed a trial with the FA Cup winners last year alongside compatriots Lester Peltier and Atullah Guerra and all three players were offered deals but work permit problems put an end to any deal.

Hyland featured in the Trinidad & Tobago friendly against England in June and he is now a free agent after rejecting a new contract with San Juan Jabloteh with Pompey looking to step up their interest.

“We have always been looking at Hyland but there are complications with the work permit situation,” said chief executive Peter Storrie.

At the moment he fails to satisfy the criteria. He has played in friendly matches but they have to be competitive so do not count.  He is very much one for the future and a player we are interested in but we will just have to wait and see.”

David James has expressed his fear at the impact European football could have on Pompey’s Premier League campaign.

Portsmouth’s entry into the UEFA Cup brings European football to Fratton Park for the first time in the club’s history but the England keeper feels it could stretch the Pompey squad.

“We’ve a UEFA Cup bid and that’s going to put a strain on us with the amount of games and the size of our squad,” James said.

“Middlesbrough proved in 2006 you can go so far in the UEFA Cup but unless you win it, it becomes a bit of a fruitless task. It’s going to be important we keep our players fit to do well in Europe and on the other front do well in the league.”

James added his concern more cup success for the South Coast club could see them slip down the league after Portsmouth lost their last four games last season when they reached the cup final.

“Arguably we could have finished fifth, but with the FA Cup we didn’t and we ended up eighth.”

Dont tell me our England match still classified as "not competitive".  steups
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2008, 12:27:06 PM

It never was, and never will be, independently of the number of subs that were made...
Post by: E-man on August 15, 2008, 01:41:00 PM

It never was, and never will be, independently of the number of subs that were made...

yeah it was in danger of losing "A level" status, but still a friendly. Competitive means qualifiers, finals and the like.
Post by: pompey_researcher on August 31, 2008, 12:37:49 PM
http://fansonline.net/portsmouth/mb/view.php?id=85835

Just seen this on one of our forums. Any info your side of the water?
Post by: dinho on August 31, 2008, 12:44:42 PM
http://fansonline.net/portsmouth/mb/view.php?id=85835

Just seen this on one of our forums. Any info your side of the water?

A chap from Trinidad came through Gatwick today claiming he was here to sign for Pompey. Didnt manage to get his name but didnt we have one on trial last year? He reckons he turned down Kevin Keegan to join us.

This is why I does marvel at this age of information we live in yes. A man pass some talk in the airport and this already making circles around the world. Truly amazing.

On a second note this reminds me of the scene from the movie Goal when the fellah reach Heathrow and immigration ask him what he come for and he say to work.. They watch him cross eye, then he say he going and play for Newcastle, the man say "that is my club give him ah bligh yes" lol.
Post by: FireBrand on August 31, 2008, 01:33:56 PM
 :praying:
Post by: weary1969 on August 31, 2008, 02:46:35 PM
Time will tell if Firebrand prays go b answered
Post by: D.H.W on August 31, 2008, 03:47:57 PM
Hardest  :devil:
Post by: boss on September 01, 2008, 09:28:32 AM
From Sky Sports  >:(

16.09 Skysports.com understands Portsmouth target Khaleem Hyland has been refused a work permit.
Post by: boss on September 01, 2008, 09:29:30 AM
Pompey fail in Hyland bid
Caribbean star refused work permit
Last updated: 1st September 2008
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4082193,00.html

Skysports.com understands Portsmouth target Khaleem Hyland has been refused a work permit.

Pompey have been chasing the Trinidad & Tobago star for most of the summer, well aware that this situation could arise.

The 19-year-old is highly rated in his homeland and seemed set to secure a move to Fratton Park last year, before a similar problem scuppered his plans.

He is a free agent after rejecting a new contract with San Juan Jabloteh, but remains without a club as new campaigns get underway across the world.

He did not make his full international debut until January of this year, but has been a regular since then.

He featured in a summer friendly defeat against England, while he scored his first goal for his country against Jamaica in June.

The midfielder had been desperate to fulfil his dream of securing a move to Europe, but the saga looks set to end in disappointment for both Hyland and Pompey boss Harry Redknapp.
Hyland work permit refused.

Pompey have been tracking Trinidadian midfielder Khaleem Hyland for well over a year now, but this move again appears doomed to fail...

Sky sports is reporting - as we had expected to be honest - that he has again been refused a work permit so his move to Fratton has yet again fallen through, as it did last summer when he and a couple of other Trinidadian stars were offered contracts after successful trials.

Other clubs have signed players then agreed deals to loan them out to 'feeder clubs' in the past until the can claim themselves a European passport, and it had been suggested that we could have done this and sent him to Zulte in Belgium, although this looks unlikely and the free agent will now most likely end up somewhere else...

This is of course disappointing news, but to be honest do we really think that he would have made an impression on the 1st team in the near future? It is also news that I think we had been expecting in all honest hadn't we?

So, with around six and a half hours of the transfer window left we remain left on the edge of our seats wondering 'if', as unlikely as it might seem at the moment, we could pull off one last deal, but mostly wondering 'if' we will lose any more key players...
Post by: Jayerson on September 01, 2008, 09:48:22 AM
Damn it. Was hoping for good news.  :(
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2008, 09:51:04 AM
refused work permit on the basis of  our rankings  or caps ?  .. If so this would be the doing of the ttff..... Thanks alot jack for screwing us up
Post by: weary1969 on September 01, 2008, 09:51:45 AM
All yuh blieve in d tooth fairy and Santa Claus. Dey eh have a youth academy that they could ah filter he true or some other club in Europe. If he so hot some other club go pick he up
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2008, 09:53:55 AM
All yuh blieve in d tooth fairy and Santa Claus. Dey eh have a youth academy that they could ah filter he true or some other club in Europe. If he so hot some other club go pick he up

he should go to holland or Germany .. I wonder who is his agent ... Man even try celtic again
Post by: mukumsplau on September 01, 2008, 10:03:45 AM
i wonder if maturana pickin him now...bess he go atlanta silverbacks..wa yuh say brent?!!
Post by: g on September 01, 2008, 10:19:20 AM
If Pompey is prepared to appeal against this he will get through eventually.

The reality is he is a permanent fixture in the squad for the last 9 months....

We have not played in any competitive FIFA matches for the year other than the 3 WC qualifiers so far. So our rankings will ultimately suffer as a result. Especially with so many european teams in competitive action in qualifying and participating in Euro 2008. Olympics too.

Those things should work in his favour, is only if Pompey want to go through it.

Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2008, 10:22:27 AM

We have not played in any competitive FIFA matches for the year other than the 3 WC qualifiers so far. So our rankings will ultimately suffer as a result. Especially with so many european teams in competitive action in qualifying and participating in Euro 2008. Olympics too.

Those things should work in his favour, is only if Pompey want to go through it.

Our ranking suffer cause ah that asss warner
Post by: fishs on September 01, 2008, 10:29:11 AM

Allyuh is some real haters in here.
 The youth exceptionally talented but allyuh only decrying like if anyone of allyuh ever do anything big in football or even in the lil exsistence allyuh have in the wuk yuh doing.
 If ah could see some of allyuh in front of mih is 10yr old season bullpistle fuh allyuh.
Post by: Sando prince on September 01, 2008, 10:31:12 AM
i wonder if maturana pickin him now...bess he go atlanta silverbacks..wa yuh say brent?!!

steupse..u cant be serious..
Post by: weary1969 on September 01, 2008, 10:33:38 AM
Jan Michael play every game after d WC and he eh get he WP dat was b4 d rankingsbecame a radio stadion ranking and he eh get he WP. After dat I know man salt
Post by: dinho on September 01, 2008, 10:45:06 AM

to be honest, the vibes I get is that Pompey have exhausted all their options. I think the work permit was already an issue and this rounds it was about going back to them to get this sorted once he got the necessary caps under his belt.

The reality is that despite being a fixture in the squad for this year, we were ranked much lower than the requisite 75th place throughout the course of the year which is a problem. In addition, he hasn't racked up enough competitive fixtures to factor in and his only saving grace would be for them to somehow prove that he is a talent FAR exceptional to anything in England at the moment. With the amount of South American and African talent pressing for the same opportunities that are better than him at an even younger age, it is hard for me to see how they would swing that one.

He might have to just wait it out another year until he makes the amount of competitive games necessary and even then our ranking will be an obstacle.

Anyhow you look at it, this is sourness like graeme. Thanks again Jack for the blacklist.
Post by: g on September 01, 2008, 10:53:07 AM
Kenwyne Jones also required a work permit for his move to Sunderland and he was granted one after he was initially turned down cause of the blacklist. It is just a matter of whether the club willing to go through the appeal process.

I am yet to hear whether Pompey are willing to go through that process. We all know that he will not make the cut on the standard conditions, all this talk about Pompey so interested, they have to now really show their worth and go through the appeal process. Hyland will suffer if he doesnt sign for a club and i don't think he can hold out till January again just for the sake of playing in 5 more competitive fifa matches hoping that our rankings improve, even though i think that once we make the hex by november we should be back inside the top 75.

If he does sign for a club before, then Pompey will have to pay a transfer fee for him. I am thinking that Premiership clubs will get a more favourable outcome than lower league clubs in those appeals.
Post by: FLi ! on September 01, 2008, 10:56:07 AM
Kenwyne Jones also required a work permit for his move to Sunderland and he was granted one after he was initially turned down cause of the blacklist. It is just a matter of whether the club willing to go through the appeal process.

I am yet to hear whether Pompey are willing to go through that process. We all know that he will not make the cut on the standard conditions, all this talk about Pompey so interested, they have to now really show their worth and go through the appeal process. Hyland will suffer if he doesnt sign for a club and i don't think he can hold out till January again just for the sake of playing in 5 more competitive fifa matches hoping that our rankings improve, even though i think that once we make the hex by november we should be back inside the top 75.

If he does sign for a club before then Pompey will have to pay a transfer fee for him. I am thinking that Premiership clubs will get a more favourable outcome than lower league clubs in those appeals.

You don't appeal for appealing sake....you have to have some reasonable prospect of success in the appeal.

Kenwyne situation is markedly different; we weren't as low as we are now in the rankings and  he had played more competitive national games than Hyland has at this point in time

Arsenal had trouble getting a work permit for Eduardo, even Aston Villa had problems getting the American keeper Guzman a work permit, but the relationships and assurances given by both country's federations would have assisted greatly as well.
Post by: g on September 01, 2008, 11:02:36 AM

If he does sign for a club before then Pompey will have to pay a transfer fee for him. I am thinking that Premiership clubs will get a more favourable outcome than lower league clubs in those appeals.

You don't appeal for appealing sake....you have to have some reasonable prospect of success in the appeal.

Kenwyne situation is markedly different; we weren't as low as we are now in the rankings and  he had played more competitive national games than Hyland has at this point in time

Arsenal had trouble getting a work permit for Eduardo, even Aston Villa had problems getting the American keeper Guzman a work permit, but the relationships and assurances given by both country's federations would have assisted greatly as well.

Well my argument is premised on me thinking that he has a good enough case to win an appeal given the points made in my earlier post.
Post by: mukumsplau on September 01, 2008, 11:07:25 AM

off course ah not serious...anyways..seein dat he unattached can he move even after d window closed?..if t&t were to pull off victories against guatemala and d usa our rankings shud climb considerly and cud boost his chances..am i rite am i rite?
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 01, 2008, 11:18:07 AM

off course ah not serious...anyways..seein dat he unattached can he move even after d window closed?..if t&t were to pull off victories against guatemala and d usa our rankings shud climb considerly and cud boost his chances..am i rite am i rite?

its the average ranking over a two year period boss And we eh beating the USA i cannot see that
Post by: just cool on September 01, 2008, 02:46:52 PM
Doh sweat that! Hyland will get through in the january transfer window.                               positive.
Post by: kev on September 01, 2008, 02:59:04 PM
Kenwyn was slightly different as he had to renew his work permit with the transfer.  I seem to remember someone not TTFA wrote a letter for him explaining the blacklist and if it wasn't in place he would of been playing for T & T.  The FA accepted this, I also think you rating was much higher then than it is now over the 2 year average. 

I think the rating is top 70 (average over last 2 years), the FA are changing the rules on this, likely to make it harder for non EU players to get in.  Attitudes have hardened towards foriegn players as the national teams performances get poorer and the number foriegn players in the prem being seem as part of the reason for that.  Quite a few have been turned down recently so I wouldn't hold your breath particularly if the new rules come in.

I think the lad maybe better off trying a different European country at this moment in time.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 01, 2008, 03:06:38 PM
Wherever it is, he needs to get a club sorted it out quickly. Because, from most accounts, the lack of regular football is leading to poorer and poorer performances.
Post by: Reggaefan on September 01, 2008, 04:14:36 PM
Wherever it is, he needs to get a club sorted it out quickly. Because, from most accounts, the lack of regular football is leading to poorer and poorer performances.

Tell his agent to look to Continental Europe, Scandinavia in particular. Jamaica's Rudy Austin was recently turned down by the UK home office for the very same reasons that Hyland is being held back (TT/JA not satisfying the top 70 criteria). Austin just this Friday secured a 1 million pounds move to FC Brann in the Norwegian premier division (the same amount of money stoke was offering for his services). Austin's team has a Eufea Cup game this weekend vs Deportivo. I believe this brings the number to 7 Jamaicans to hjave secured professional contracts in Scandinavia in recent times.
Post by: dwn on September 02, 2008, 05:06:42 AM
Doh sweat that! Hyland will get through in the january transfer window.                               positive.

Since he is a free agent, I don't think the transfer window matters in his case.
Post by: pompey_researcher on September 10, 2008, 03:03:31 AM
Hi any news on whats happening?
Post by: weary1969 on September 10, 2008, 11:02:15 AM
Thank u d brudder eh need no window d door wide open. Pompey he get blank
Post by: just cool on September 10, 2008, 11:32:46 AM
Due to work permit complications, he would have to wait until the january transfer, providing our rankings jumps up to 70 or below, he also needs more international competitive caps. keep your fingers crossed.                                    positive.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on September 10, 2008, 11:42:32 AM
Due to work permit complications, he would have to wait until the january transfer, providing our rankings jumps up to 70 or below, he also needs more international competitive caps. keep your fingers crossed.                                    positive.

not entirely true. He is a free agent therefore does not have to wait till January. He just needs to meet the requirements for a work permit and hope the team still wants to give him a contract
Post by: boss on September 16, 2008, 05:40:56 AM
Portsmouth still keen on Hyland 
bbc.co.uk
Page last updated at 10:52 GMT, Tuesday, 16 September 2008 11:52 UK

Portsmouth manager Harry Redknapp says he still hopes to sign Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Khaleem Hyland despite work permit issues.

Hyland is still trying to convince the British authorities to allow him to play in the Premier League.

The 19-year-old has been a regular for his national side since making his debut in January and featured against England in the friendly on 1 June.

"We are still trying - he's a very good young player," said Redknapp.

"We've had him over for training and seen a lot of him to know what he's all about. I think he can be a good player here.

"It has gone on for quite a while, which is a bit frustrating. It's just about getting that work permit and then we can get him down here. We'll just have to wait and see what happens."

Hyland is a free agent after rejecting a new contract with San Juan Jabloteh in Trinidad and Tobago.

Post by: frico on September 16, 2008, 08:34:10 AM
Just saw the news and Harry Redknapp said that he still wants K.Hyland and is willing to do his best to get him because he is a very good 19 year old.Teletext sports news at 3.30 pm,Tuesday 15-09-08.Seems that he would be at Pompey sooner than later.NICE!
Post by: Weh-it-is on September 16, 2008, 09:45:47 AM
This is a little off topic but I'll ask anyway. Between the two Kaleem Hyland and Keon Daniels. Who's better you think??? 
Post by: rickstaa on September 16, 2008, 10:44:19 AM
This is a little off topic but I'll ask anyway. Between the two Kaleem Hyland and Keon Daniels. Who's better you think??? 
both of them is bosses ah guess only time will tell
Post by: Touches on September 16, 2008, 11:06:20 AM
Doh hijack the thread nah...this could be a separate post....

Depends,

Both of them are central midfielders even though pacho uses them on the wings at times.

Defensively Hyland is better, stronger and puts in the tackle. Daniel ent doing that.

Skill wise I find Hyland better. ( But Daniel real improve of late)

In terms of shooting and passing, Daniel is better and he has really come along in the last few games.

In terms of work rate and consistency...Daniel drifts in and out of matches, Hyland will be at it right tru.

Up to the other day Daniel for me woulda be the first man to get drop from the side, now the man is the go-to guy and in form player. Same way Hyland was "it" but his lack of training and professional environment killing his game.

Hyland better...but Daniel in form.
Post by: andre samuel on September 16, 2008, 11:21:01 AM
Touches you making me real smile with that assessment. 

I remember you, cowen, small mag and patriot giving me talk when i bigging up de man, but i know deep down inside that you is ah "Hyland fan" too.........lol.

well said horse, well said.

Post by: dinho on September 16, 2008, 11:50:31 AM
Doh hijack the thread nah...this could be a separate post....

Depends,

Both of them are central midfielders even though pacho uses them on the wings at times.

Defensively Hyland is better, stronger and puts in the tackle. Daniel ent doing that.

Skill wise I find Hyland better. ( But Daniel real improve of late)

In terms of shooting and passing, Daniel is better and he has really come along in the last few games.

In terms of work rate and consistency...Daniel drifts in and out of matches, Hyland will be at it right tru.

Up to the other day Daniel for me woulda be the first man to get drop from the side, now the man is the go-to guy and in form player. Same way Hyland was "it" but his lack of training and professional environment killing his game.

Hyland better...but Daniel in form.

lol..

yuh say doh hijack the thread but then yuh hijack it ???

I find it hard to compare them both like for like, because they play different positions but I find Hyland is the better prospect. Daniel is the more skillful player and i real interested to see what he'll do if given licence in a central midfield role with the form he's currently in. However, he does drift out of games and does need to put on some more pounds. Hyland is a harder worker and seems a bit more intelligent and to me shows more promise to cut it at the highest level.

Put another way, if they both got the same coaching, same development, I think Hyland would turn out to be a bigger player than Daniel.

Both great prospects though.
Post by: Weh-it-is on September 16, 2008, 12:16:10 PM
Well Touches yuh hijack...i was going and ask flex to put it separate. The reason I bring it up is because to me they are both promising mid-fielders and posses alot of talent. Keon is a lil more skillful than Hyland and he's a little more a hustler than Keon. They both have plenty potential. I never really saw Hyland shooting ability can he shoot the ball like Keon...I never saw him play school ball. 
Post by: palos on September 16, 2008, 12:40:58 PM
But Daniel real improve of late

Wha you seein as "improve of late" is merely a function of confidence.  Basically, Keon's potential is NOW being scratched.  Keon is being encouraged and supported and kudos must go to coach Maturana for recognising and nurturing that talent.

SH & myself said it back in 2004 that he was "next" (along with Kevon Neaves) and it's good to see him on the way to realizing his potential.  Neaves is not doing himself any favours (from a footballing career perspective) by remaining in the US Colleges System (at University of South Florida?  ::)).  A virtual "black hole" for T&T players with long term international aspirations.
Post by: theworm2345 on January 06, 2009, 11:07:58 PM
T&T are now in the top 100 and the transfer window is open.  Hyland has surely played enough competitive games recently...so will this go though?
Post by: weary1969 on January 06, 2009, 11:18:42 PM
T&T are now in the top 100 and the transfer window is open.  Hyland has surely played enough competitive games recently...so will this go though?

He eh even reach Belgium not 2 mention d crap he playin at d moment.
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 07, 2009, 12:20:12 AM

He eh even reach Belgium not 2 mention d crap he playin at d moment.
As well as the fact that Redknapp not there no more.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 07, 2009, 01:26:47 AM
He go ketch lung cancer wid all that smoke they blowing up he backside
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 07, 2009, 05:57:41 AM
he better find a club soon
Post by: de_redman on January 07, 2009, 06:25:39 AM

He should not be considered for selection without a club, but we all know it doesn't work so... who he feel he is? Latapy?  ;D
Post by: Controversial on January 07, 2009, 08:31:14 AM
i dont see anything great about hyland, keon and guerra are better players, much mre creative and can pass much better, everyone hyping up this youth and hes not that spectacular at all
Post by: weary1969 on January 07, 2009, 08:32:41 AM

He should not be considered for selection without a club, but we all know it doesn't work so... who he feel he is? Latapy?  ;D

Unattach is a very popular club at d moment he have company d French fella unattach as well.
Post by: Big Magician on January 07, 2009, 11:01:08 AM
www.UnattachedFCsignsHyland.com   
Post by: weary1969 on January 07, 2009, 11:31:17 AM

Thanks 4 d link  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Babalawo on January 07, 2009, 11:45:23 AM

Thanks 4 d link  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Along with Keon Daniel and Chris Birchall  :rotfl:
Post by: Daft Trini on January 07, 2009, 01:16:02 PM
best and worst club to play for....

I joined un attached club fc back in 2006... riding pine ever since....
Post by: lil damo on January 30, 2009, 04:17:10 PM
Did Hyland sign for anyone yet? Any news? It's almost the end of the Transfer Window.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 30, 2009, 04:35:14 PM
Did Hyland sign for anyone yet? Any news? It's almost the end of the Transfer Window.

he and peltier  should go with MLF
Post by: lil damo on January 30, 2009, 04:36:56 PM
agreed
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 30, 2009, 05:52:01 PM
At this point an U-20 World Cup is the best venue for him to showcase himself. Getting on to that team ASAP is probably in his best interest. 
Post by: Babalawo on January 30, 2009, 10:42:32 PM
Question:  Does he have a father or someone that will guide him correctly in his career.
Post by: acb on January 30, 2009, 11:57:34 PM
Question:  Does he have a father ....

wayyy boy ... how yuh go make the man sound like a horn chile?
dry jess so? lol.
Post by: D.H.W on January 31, 2009, 06:39:52 AM
he aint sign yet?
Post by: Touches on January 31, 2009, 07:13:12 AM
Why does he need a father when he could get a MILF
Post by: mal jeux on January 31, 2009, 09:04:25 AM
Why does he need a father when he could get a MILF

:rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:
Post by: Daft Trini on January 31, 2009, 09:12:48 AM
I guess harry did not really want him  :-[
Post by: elan on January 31, 2009, 11:08:56 AM
he aint sign yet?

Ask Sam and Sando they will tell you for sure........if they could fund this thread again.

Hyland has potyential and talent, but that's it. He have so much work to do it not funny. I like the kid as a true midfielder, but he cannot take anyone spot in the EPL if he showed up. Most team nowadays looking or instant success. The team that building players struggling big time (Re: Arsenal) so he need to do some hard work to move up. As a matter of fact he should not have retained his place in the squad after the Ash Wednesday game until he improve. I saw hiom that game and he has gotten no better, as a matter of opinion he has magaged to play himself out the games he played consistently.
Post by: Brownsugar on February 01, 2009, 06:59:16 PM
I never could reconcile how he was able to become a staple of the National team over a year when his high point was dat spanner against England and dat was it, nothing else to remember......and especially at a time when the team change so much I couldn't keep track of who, what, where, when and how at one point.....

But say wha....the football gods must be real like he..... :-\

(just checking.....he's not in Argentina right??)
Post by: acb on February 01, 2009, 07:06:34 PM
Does anyone have footage or a gif file of that spanner?

maybe we could post it here so people (and scouts) could see what we talking about.

and in all seriousness, I want to see it since people ALWAYS deferring to that spanner.
Post by: spideybuff on February 01, 2009, 07:09:07 PM
I never could reconcile how he was able to become a staple of the National team over a year when his high point was dat spanner against England and dat was it

That was a high point? To me, that show me exactly why few Trinidad players really making it big. He hit Gerrard a spanner and get kick down one time and we thought it was something good. Imagine getting that every day in training when you playing against professional defenders? U feel it nice to icing your ankles every night? They will kick that out of him quick, quick.So that was no high point cause he didn't go nowhere after spannering Gerrard.

He has potential though...for his age. But if he turn twenty and that potential is still at the same level or regressing, he will get bypass soon
Post by: Brownsugar on February 01, 2009, 07:47:47 PM
I never could reconcile how he was able to become a staple of the National team over a year when his high point was dat spanner against England and dat was it

That was a high point? To me, that show me exactly why few Trinidad players really making it big. He hit Gerrard a spanner and get kick down one time and we thought it was something good.

Spidey ah hearing yuh, I refer to it as a high point cuz dais all people does remember when they think of what he's accomplished over the past year....yeah he's got potential and ah wish him luck but like you say, he'd better do something with that potential real soon....
Post by: weary1969 on February 01, 2009, 08:16:17 PM
D rate he goin d spanner go b on he tombstone. Have not seen a player regress so fast in a while.
Post by: Blue on February 02, 2009, 09:34:37 AM
According to BBC:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/7858331.stm

PREMIER LEAGUE TRANSFER TRACKER:
In: Everton (Jo), Fulham (Gray), Portsmouth (Basinas), Stoke (Camara)

Out: Fulham (Leijer,Teymourian), Liverpool (Gulacsi, Hamill), Man City (Jo), Man Utd (Chester), Portsmouth (Hyland), Wigan (Camara)

"Portsmouth's 19-year-old Trinidad & Tobago defensive midfielder Khaleem Hyland has signed on a six-month loan for Belgian club Zulte Waregem. How can you be a defensive midfielder at only 19? That's borderline farcical. Maybe he'll learn how to play in a normal midfield position while he's in Belgium."
Post by: D.H.W on February 02, 2009, 10:19:30 AM
 :thinking:
Post by: spideybuff on February 02, 2009, 10:52:18 AM
How can you be a defensive midfielder at only 19? That's borderline farcical. Maybe he'll learn how to play in a normal midfield position while he's in Belgium."[/i]

Umm...I doh know,it just happens...? I was one since bout 13 when i went to secondary school and start making the side in that spot. I never described myself as centre mid cause then people will expect me to be the creative playmaker which I knew i could never be. I was the hard tackling, work horse, def mid.

I think the way the game is going, u either a def mid or an att mid and then your game develops rather than the other way around. That is why Theobald and Rahim careers get lost i think, cause they were neither.

Apart from Lampard...every other midfielder was labeled as either or: Keane, Viera and Gerrard were all considered Def Mid when they were signed for the clubs they made their name for. I glad the man get labeled so maybe Maturana would stop trying to play him just behind the striker on the left side and then watch the man play shite.

Imagine Makelele in one of them posititons cause he just labeled "midfielder"? He wouldn't look good but it doh mean he is not a good player.
Post by: Big Magician on February 02, 2009, 07:22:09 PM
thats more like it Hyland...good luck
Post by: weary1969 on February 02, 2009, 07:35:58 PM
Gr8 d yute sign get him fit and fly yute fly.
Title: midfield fuh portsmouth
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 29, 2009, 10:32:03 AM
was lookin at de rosters in de epl.guess who in midfield fuh portsmouth.since when?
Post by: spideybuff on July 29, 2009, 10:39:41 AM
he owned by them, he just on loan to a feeder club until he eligible for the work permit requirements. If Hart never see him though and he not there for pre-season, he not making the break through this season and will be back out on loan in Belgium
Post by: Trinidogg on July 29, 2009, 12:00:00 PM
Hyland don't have enough caps yet to play in England?
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 29, 2009, 01:19:50 PM
Signed a three year deal with Zulte didnt he?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 29, 2009, 01:58:41 PM
Its not only caps but our rankings also ...
Post by: Trinidogg on July 29, 2009, 02:07:42 PM

Yea above 70 in the ranking but i think that's more important if u only have a few caps... If you have a lot of caps and rank low u should be fine i think...
Post by: chelsealife on July 31, 2009, 08:36:09 AM

Yea above 70 in the ranking but i think that's more important if u only have a few caps... If you have a lot of caps and rank low u should be fine i think...
Zulte Waregem ended all affiliations with Portsmouth and Hyland went in that direction. He was co-owned and decided to sign a three year deal with them. Was a key figure in their midfield in the second half of last season. As for the rankings, he should have been able to move this summer bcuz its the to 75 in the world and T&T are dead on 75th
Post by: E-man on August 03, 2009, 11:51:16 AM
(http://www.hln.be/static/FOTO/pe/10/5/14/media_xl_946514.jpg)

from June 25

google translation of hln.be story

Khaleem Hyland, a 20-year-old from Trinidad & Tobago international has a contract for three years signed to Zulte Waregem. The midfielder played in the back round of last season before Zulte Waregem, for six months that he had inherited from the English Portsmouth.

"I am extremely pleased that we again play a decisive figure as Hyland us could bind," says team manager Vincent mannaert. "He is part of our youthful and has much potential growth margin. Hyland doubt can play an important role in the development of this team."

Hyland also reacts satisfied. "I have half season games and know that this is the best club to progress further progress. I should be able to play, that's my main goal. Departure Friday I practice with the team camp. On August 1 we have done for the launch, which will be important. The player group is a perfect mix of youthful talent and experience. We should make as close as possible to the European places to relax. "