Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on August 14, 2008, 03:51:38 PM

Title: Maturana names 18-man squad to face Cuba in W/Cup qualifiers.
Post by: Flex on August 14, 2008, 03:51:38 PM
Maturana names 18-man squad to face Cuba in W/Cup qualifiers.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Francisco Maturana announced his 18-man squad to face Cuba in next Wednesday’s world cup qualifier against Cuba in Havana on the eve of the team’s departure from Washington where it played El Salvador on Thursday.

The squad include twelve players who were part of the contingent for the two warm up internationals against Haiti and El Salvador over the past week. Six overseas professionals have been invited and will join the team in Havana with some of them arriving there from Friday.

The invited overseas pros include Swansea City defender Dennis Lawrence, Sunderland midfielder Carlos Edwards, Ferencvaros FC goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams, Miami FC defender Avery John, Coventry City midfielder Chris Birchall and Denizlispor FC striker Darryl Roberts.

The other players included are goalkeeper Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Makan Hislop (United Petotrin), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public), Cyd Gray (Clico San Juan Jabloteh), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Keon Daniel (United Petrotrin), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Khaleem Hyland (unattached), Aurtis Whitley (W Connection), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Andre Toussaint (W Connection) and speedy striker Cornell Glen who is currently undergoing contract negotiations with an overseas club. Maturana commented on his selection, citing the importance of a good start for the team in Havana.

“I believe these players can be well put together to bring us the performance and the result which will be good for us in Cuba. We start the round away from home and that is always a difficult task but we will play the game with all the passion and purpose to bring home a good result –a win,” Maturana told TTFF Media.

Edwards should be the only late arriving player as he will be allowed to play for Sunderland in their Premiership opener against Liverpool on Saturday before joining the team in Havana a day later.

“I am looking forward to both games with a lot of excitement. It’s the start of the new season in England and it’s the start of the new qualifying round for the World Cup so obviously I want to be on two winning teams and I will try my best in both matches,” Edwards said. “I think if we can go to Cuba and get points then it would be the ideal start. We cannot underestimate them nor any of the other teams in the group which is why it will be a plus to get points off Cuba in their home venue.”

Edwards’ Sunderland teammate Dwight Yorke was not considered due to injury. Yorke’s World Cup teammate Densill Theobald doesn’t expect his absence to have a negative effect on the team though.

“Dwight’s presence always brings a lot to the team and when we heard he was making himself available again we felt good about it but I don’t think it’s a big setback with him not coming for the Cuba game. We have worked really hard over the past few weeks and the team has the type of experienced players needed to put out a good performance and get the result we are hoping for. When Dwight comes in he will boost the team but for now we will have to go out and get the job done,” Theobald added.

Meantime, the starting team for Thursday night’s friendly against El Salvador is: Marvin Phillip, Makan Hislop, Keyeno Thomas, Cyd Gray, Aklie Edwards, Densill Theobald, Clyde Leon, Keon Daniel, Khaleem Hyland, Andre Toussaint and Cornell Glen. Scouts from the United States and Cuba are expected to be at the RFK Stadium to witness Thursday’s friendly which according to the match organizers will draw close to 20,000 fans or more.
Title: Re: Maturana names 18-man squad to face Cuba in W/Cup qualifiers.
Post by: christiano on August 14, 2008, 03:57:07 PM
I think we are lacking quality stricking options and depth. Is it that we are planning to be defensive in these two matches ?
Post by: mukumsplau on August 14, 2008, 03:57:24 PM
glen wa club is dat boy?..i hope is a top flight somtin
Post by: g on August 14, 2008, 04:05:04 PM
No Stern  ???
Post by: arrow on August 14, 2008, 04:18:01 PM
First he get bench for Forbes and now STERN GET DROP??  This is the final nail in the coffin for Maturana.

Stern on his worst day is 10 times the goal scoring threat that Toussaint is
Post by: arrow on August 14, 2008, 04:22:44 PM
Meantime, the starting team for Thursday night’s friendly against El Salvador is: Marvin Phillip, Makan Hislop, Keyeno Thomas, Cyd Gray, Aklie Edwards, Densill Theobald, Clyde Leon, Keon Daniel, Khaleem Hyland, Andre Toussaint and Cornell Glen.

Is that a 4-4-2 I see?  Who playing on the right side of midfield?
Post by: Babalawo on August 14, 2008, 04:23:03 PM
No Stern  ???
He we get blank in the score sheet.   Maturana will get fired
Post by: andre samuel on August 14, 2008, 04:27:09 PM
No Stern?

The man who 2/3 goals for us in qualifying in this campaign so far and 6/10 goals for us in qualifying for 2006 not on de team?

We better beat Cuba 5-0!!

Post by: Babalawo on August 14, 2008, 04:27:34 PM
Meantime, the starting team for Thursday night’s friendly against El Salvador is: Marvin Phillip, Makan Hislop, Keyeno Thomas, Cyd Gray, Aklie Edwards, Densill Theobald, Clyde Leon, Keon Daniel, Khaleem Hyland, Andre Toussaint and Cornell Glen.

Is that a 4-4-2 I see?  Who playing on the right side of midfield?
Hyland does play right side for Maturana too. although he's not build like one
Post by: Sam on August 14, 2008, 04:28:48 PM
This Maturana fella kinda confusing sometimes we...
Post by: D.H.W on August 14, 2008, 04:39:39 PM
where stern  ???
Post by: sub1 on August 14, 2008, 04:46:59 PM
I think in his arrogance maturana considers Stern to be a disruptive element to the team. So ah buy it so ah sell it. He thinks that hthere is more love and greater purpose in and around the team when Stern is not present. Why is that ? I dont think Stern has much respect for him as human or as a coach.
Post by: madness1969 on August 14, 2008, 04:47:56 PM
we neeed 2 look at de latest players and give them a chance
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 14, 2008, 04:50:31 PM
I think in his arrogance maturana considers Stern to be a disruptive element to the team. So ah buy it so ah sell it. He thinks that hthere is more love and greater purpose in and around the team when Stern is not present. Why is that ? I dont think Stern has much respect for him as human or as a coach.

I think pacho lost his head were is he going with toussaint ?
Post by: Touches on August 14, 2008, 05:00:36 PM
Besides Stern...This side is the best we have available.

Like we playing for a draw or a 1-0 in Cuba.

Now way no how Toussaint should be there before Stern.

Glen score a tap in vs Haiti down here but he play in a good few games and he salting bad.

Unless he starting Roberts and bringing on Glenn as the super sub in the second half.

I want him keep Phillip in the goal.

Other than Stern, the defence locked, but the middle is a real headache...Whitley ent play a game for the longest while. He have two ineffective midfielders who need caps in Hyland and Daniel. Theobold in the mix, Birchall in the mix, Leon dey too and Edwards spot locked.

The invited overseas pros include Swansea City defender Dennis Lawrence, Sunderland midfielder Carlos Edwards, Ferencvaros FC goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams, Miami FC defender Avery John, Coventry City midfielder Chris Birchall and Denizlispor FC striker Darryl Roberts.

Phillip

Cyd          Hislop       Lawrence      Avery

Leon

Edwards     Whitley   Birchall/Theobold   Hyland/Daniel

Glenn/Roberts

The other players included are goalkeeper Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Makan Hislop (United Petotrin), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public), Cyd Gray (Clico San Juan Jabloteh), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Keon Daniel (United Petrotrin), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Khaleem Hyland (unattached), Aurtis Whitley (W Connection), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Andre Toussaint (W Connection) and speedy striker Cornell Glen who is currently undergoing contract negotiations with an overseas club. Maturana commented on his selection, citing the importance of a good start for the team in Havana.
Post by: sub1 on August 14, 2008, 05:02:00 PM

He is the typical latin american black man....very insecure, which shows up in his arrogance and as such totally abhors anytype of opposition, perceived or real. In Colombia he has to re-earn respect on a daily basis as a black man. Maybe he could coach. From the little I have seen I know he could coach but in order to show who is boss he would sacrifice whomever to keep his place of pride, which is believing he knows it all and he must not be second guessed.I saw this before and its name was Gally.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 14, 2008, 05:05:34 PM

we regress so much from  comprehensively beating  Cuba with an experimental side under wim in at the digicel  ...  to play for a draw in Cuba ? hope that is not the case ... cause cuba is the team we need to beat
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 14, 2008, 05:08:01 PM
Wow... Wow ...Wow..

Thats it folks...how we gonna score goals without the goalscorer?

I dont know about allyuh... but this is absolutely terrible...  How can a coach drop Stern John for Trinidad and Tobago when he is fit and available

I hope we lose... so dat f**king Colombian and his c**thole f**king assistants could get out of here 

f**k you Maturana Corneal and all others related...you have just crossed the line

Post by: weary1969 on August 14, 2008, 05:16:49 PM
D disruptive element is Ince so me eh know y he drop Stern. Dat man could get u in an accident imagine drivin and hearin no Stern. But is 5-0 we winnin how much is own goal?
Post by: sub1 on August 14, 2008, 05:22:51 PM
D disruptive element is Ince so me eh know y he drop Stern. Dat man could get u in an accident imagine drivin and hearin no Stern. But is 5-0 we winnin how much is own goal?

But ah just tell you why.
Post by: palos on August 14, 2008, 05:23:50 PM

I also don't see the value of Toussaint.  He is way too lightweight to play the position he plays.  He has ability but isn't anywhere near strong enough to be effective.

When you consider that Toussaint went to the USL last year and had little or no impact, yet Randi Patterson is ripping up the League, and Patterson played well on his few appearances for T&T, one has to wonder about the selection philosophy.  But we've been wondering about that all year.

Nothing we can do about it but voice our concerns and support Toussaint to come good.  Maybe he needs some confidence and someone who has confidence in him, in addition to some strength on the ball.  

Good luck to the entire team.

No Stern is baffling.  Especially considering Alvin is a Stern fan.  Maybe Pacho runnin de team after all.
Post by: weary1969 on August 14, 2008, 05:25:44 PM
Well ok sub it have 2 disruptive element
Post by: sub1 on August 14, 2008, 05:29:34 PM

I also don't see the value of Toussaint.  He is way too lightweight to play the position he plays.  He has ability but isn't anywhere near strong enough to be effective.

When you consider that Toussaint went to the USL last year and had little or no impact, yet Randi Patterson is ripping up the League, and Patterson played well on his few appearances for T&T, one has to wonder about the selection philosophy.  But we've been wondering about that all year.

Nothing we can do about it but voice our concerns and support Toussaint to come good.  Maybe he needs some confidence and someone who has confidence in him, in addition to some strength on the ball.  

No Stern is baffling. Especially considering Alvin is a Stern fan.  Maybe Pacho runnin de team after all.

On the money. Stern and Alvin got rid of Najjar but Maturana is proving to be a STERNer test for them both. All I can say is that Maturana is one wierd character. The sooner he goes the better.
Post by: weary1969 on August 14, 2008, 05:31:10 PM
D remnants of d blacklist he did testify in d arbitration
Post by: sub1 on August 14, 2008, 05:33:02 PM
Well ok sub it have 2 disruptive element

Comprehension Weary, Maturana considers Stern to be disruptive wheras Ince has proven to be so regardless of whomever is in charge. The others overlooked it up to a point but floorMAT has to prove a point.
Post by: TrinInfinite on August 14, 2008, 05:35:32 PM
no stern? ??? no creative mid ???? that translates into the team struggling for goals oui...

God is de BOSS....
Post by: TrinInfinite on August 14, 2008, 05:41:33 PM
phillips

gray   thomas    lawrence     avery

leon

edwards       theobald       daniel(what the frige happen to samuel?)

whitley

roberts

Post by: weary1969 on August 14, 2008, 05:47:17 PM
So what pt he tryin 2 make dat he is d Imps not Ince because betta Stern disruptive and score some goals 4 we than d place calm and we salt
Post by: D.H.W on August 14, 2008, 05:48:29 PM
Colombia really have good cocaine boy
Post by: sub1 on August 14, 2008, 05:51:24 PM
So what pt he tryin 2 make dat he is d Imps not Ince because betta Stern disruptive and score some goals 4 we than d place calm and we salt

Back to pundit status weary.
Post by: andre samuel on August 14, 2008, 06:01:08 PM

I hope we lose... so dat f**king Colombian and his c**thole f**king assistants could get out of here 

I aint that mad........

No Stern hurts, but let's see how his plan works.....

ah aint love it!!
Post by: MEP on August 14, 2008, 06:02:07 PM
wait wait a minute allyuh hold up!!!! Is Stern injured?? was a reason given for his non-selection?
Post by: Brownsugar on August 14, 2008, 06:04:46 PM
 :whistling: at this whole thread....

SM yuh have to be real vex boy..... :o  :o

I hope we lose
Post by: D.H.W on August 14, 2008, 06:04:54 PM
wait wait a minute allyuh hold up!!!! Is Stern injured?? was a reason given for his non-selection?

nope
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 14, 2008, 06:16:13 PM

I hope we lose

well obviously the recent disasters wasnt getting de powers at be to fire him...so maybe a shock loss would get him packing.... i am willing to sacrafice 1 game to get these jackasses off the coaching staff.... enough points can be gained after cuba..

but Maturana and his staff should be axed if we win or lose... 
Post by: andre samuel on August 14, 2008, 06:44:39 PM
You really feel that ah shock loss would send him packing?

The only people who are affected when we lose are supporters like us, not them......

We already had a shock loss to BERMUDA and no one was fired

Post by: fatimarima on August 14, 2008, 06:51:08 PM

I hope we lose

well obviously the recent disasters wasnt getting de powers at be to fire him...so maybe a shock loss would get him packing.... i am willing to sacrafice 1 game to get these jackasses off the coaching staff.... enough points can be gained after cuba..

but Maturana and his staff should be axed if we win or lose... 

nah fella  :shameonyou:  yuh gettin on with some madness.  T&T cant afford to sacrifice any games.  Sorry you feel that way about the coach and the coaching staff but thats your personal problem.  I want T&T to win everytime regardless of who coaching.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 14, 2008, 07:11:04 PM

No Stern is baffling. Especially considering Alvin is a Stern fan.  Maybe Pacho runnin de team after all.

On the money. Stern and Alvin got rid of Najjar but Maturana is proving to be a STERNer test for them both. All I can say is that Maturana is one wierd character. The sooner he goes the better.

he is very funny indeed.  no telesford etc  he mess with guerra not sure what toussaint has done this year in the proleague even wolfe two guys who stuggled in the USL but patterson get blank ........ I think he is working by guess ..... he is not sure what he is doing anyway best of luck to the TEAM ...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 14, 2008, 07:13:34 PM
Fair enough... i just venting..at the end of the day is T&T ...and i supporting the selected players and the non selected... not Maturana not Corneal not any of them...only the players

I would love to know the reason why Stern was not selected... but i think I already know... I am certain he probably gave Anton and Maturana a piece of his mind after the Bermuda game(keeping him on the bench)

but i dont blame him... He is Legend 14... He will be back ... cuz I can guarantee we will need him... You cant win games without goals...
Post by: weary1969 on August 14, 2008, 07:20:00 PM
Agree Andre if nobody eh lost dey wuk because ah Bermuda nobody eh loosin dey wuk
Post by: royal on August 14, 2008, 07:52:53 PM
So we ain't have journalist to ask these questions to hear the reasoning behind these insane selections ?
Post by: weary1969 on August 14, 2008, 09:24:53 PM
D only 1 in d olympics so not a ? go b ask
Post by: SUPA on August 14, 2008, 10:55:06 PM
Ah now see dis thread yes, lawd no Stern. I'm so disappointed about dat, I will refrain from any comments, cuz ah might just loose it, say de wrong thing and get ban. Maybe there is something going on dat we doh know, cuz dat doh make no facking sense to me at all. Ah will still support any team dat take de field next week, but ah really screwin on dat one. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2008, 11:36:25 PM
Maturana please explain!
Fuentes yuh could pass de message for me.
Post by: SUPA on August 15, 2008, 12:38:55 AM
Ah was so facking mad, ah didn't even realise dat there is no Ince either. Like is ah conspiracy against de people dat came from ELDO ah what. But what de MC is dis boi? Somebody dat does talk tuh Mutt and Jef, please beg dem tuh take a read on dis forum, especially dis thread. Maturana, Corneal and company, all yuh better get de results we need yuh know. Ah only hope is nothing personal wid some players, dat is why dey didn't get pick, we need de best team on de field, so dat we country cud qualify fuh 2010. We eh have no time for no bad mind, girlish behavior. So wid dat said, for de time being ah will trust all yuh selection and hold my peace until after Wednesday. Again Maturana, Corneal, dis is not a game, make sure and handle all yuh business, alright. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: frico on August 15, 2008, 03:33:49 AM
It is surprising that Stern is not in the selected 18 but he hasn't really done much in the matches he's played so far.Since back in England he hasn't played a full 90 minutes as yet.In the meantime Roberts and Cornell have had more time on the pitch and Cornell is beginning to look like himself again,maybe just maybe Cornell,Toussaint and Roberts would be enough for Maturana's match plans.I can only suspect that as long as Stern gets a few matches he would be Cornell's striking partner,the point is the strikers he is going with have in recent times been together and are looking good if not lighting up the world but the win against El Sal and Haiti was good enough to keep that partnership if only for this Cuba match,dont forget that Haiti robbed us recently so its not really that bad.The fact that we are so close to the Cuba match probably led Maturana to not breaking a partnership that  is beginning to look good.I do hope that Stern starts getting some minutes i for Southampton.When did last beat anybody so convincing,good luck and hope to see Stern soon.
Post by: futbolfan on August 15, 2008, 06:33:56 AM
rumor has it that Stern was given the arm band for the last game he played, but before the match start he gave it up.... :-\
Post by: andre samuel on August 15, 2008, 06:58:34 AM
It is surprising that Stern is not in the selected 18 but he hasn't really done much in the matches he's played so far.

What shit u talking?

Trinidad 1 (S.John) Bermuda 2.......first leg

Trinidad 2 (S.John, D.Roberts) Bermuda 0.........second leg

He scored in our last two competitive matches!!

Plus he scored a couple of goals for Southamptom in pre season!
Post by: palos on August 15, 2008, 07:11:06 AM
It is surprising that Stern is not in the selected 18 but he hasn't really done much in the matches he's played so far.

Ah tink people does take Stern fuh granted yuh know.

Hasn't done much?  Ah tink ah get whey byuh comin from...

BUT

Yuh know is Stern goal dat have we in dis position to be in wit a chance fuh de Hex right?  If wasn't fuh dat goal, it might well have been Bermuda playin Cuba on de 20th.
Post by: Baygo Boy on August 15, 2008, 07:42:52 AM
There is no place on this squad for John - he is too slow and does loaf too much. Thanks for your service Stern.
Post by: KND2 on August 15, 2008, 07:44:34 AM
We saving stern for the next set of games. (Guatemala & USA)

Maybe he asked to be excused to start off the season correct.
Post by: rickstaa on August 15, 2008, 08:00:11 AM
i went to the el sal game yesterday with carlos,avery(who is very much needed & birchie with the team i see yestreday we should BEAT CUBA. But we really need ah left back, no3 last night we left back should not be on the team,even though he set up the 2nd goal for we he gave EL sal their first,they kept picking on him in the first half.But i think is ah nice squad i got some confidencs back last night ;D
Post by: NUFF on August 15, 2008, 08:04:17 AM
To leave Stern out of de squad is just plain madness.  Fuh all de shit people want to talk about him he have 2 out of de 3 goals so far.  He singlehandedly took us too Germany 2006.  

In my book yuh don't leave Stern out of de team unless he foot break.  Is donkey years now people bawlin how Stern doh do nutten, how he lazy blah blah blah.  All he does is score goals.
Post by: Trini on August 15, 2008, 08:16:43 AM
for real, it have nuff men here who dont rate him so i hope they happy now.
No Stern, KJ injured.
In early June before the England game, who woulda thought eh...

Best of luck to Glen and the rest of the team...
Post by: arrow on August 15, 2008, 08:16:48 AM
Maybe he asked to be excused to start off the season correct.

That would be very unlike Stern especially in a crucial WCQ but who knows.  There better be a good reason though.
Post by: frico on August 15, 2008, 08:31:19 AM
Yes andre samuel he scored those goals but a man of his experience playing in such good company in England and before that in the MLS SHOULD REALLY HAVE PUT AWAY HALF THE CHANCES HE HAD,THEN WE WOULD NOT HAVE LOST AGAINST BERMUDA.Stern also scored in a friendly,Glen would hae done the same.I am not saying Stern should not play but Maturana is probably playing to a plan,when the Cubans start to run at us we need 10 men to be all working for each other,Stern does not fit the puzzle for this match.You have obviously seen the Cubans before,I am certain Stern will be back,in any case why break up a partenership that is looking good...for the time keep it so.
Post by: SHOTTA on August 15, 2008, 08:34:13 AM
Yes andre samuel he scored those goals but a man of his experience playing in such good company in England and before that in the MLS SHOULD REALLY HAVE PUT AWAY HALF THE CHANCES HE HAD,THEN WE WOULD NOT HAVE LOST AGAINST BERMUDA.Stern also scored in a friendly,Glen would hae done the same.I am not saying Stern should not play but Maturana is probably playing to a plan,when the Cubans start to run at us we need 10 men to be all working for each other,Stern does not fit the puzzle for this match.You have obviously seen the Cubans before,I am certain Stern will be back,in any case why break up a partenership that is looking good...for the time keep it so.

that partnership aint lookin good no how

no stern no peacre

PRESIDENT OF THE STERN FOR GOAL COMITTEE
Post by: supporter on August 15, 2008, 08:46:22 AM
Why is Jason Scotland always overlooked?? I know hes coming off injury but he should be match fit by now. We need all our big guns for Cuba. Why not take a guy who scored 29 goals last season?
Post by: UPRISING on August 15, 2008, 09:01:40 AM
Besides Stern...This side is the best we have available.

Now way no how Toussaint should be there before Stern.

Glen score a tap in vs Haiti down here but he play in a good few games and he salting bad.

Unless he starting Roberts and bringing on Glenn as the super sub in the second half.

I want him keep Phillip in the goal.

Other than Stern, the defence locked, but the middle is a real headache...Whitley ent play a game for the longest while. He have two ineffective midfielders who need caps in Hyland and Daniel. Theobold in the mix, Birchall in the mix, Leon dey too and Edwards spot locked.

Phillip

Cyd          Hislop       Lawrence      Avery

Leon

Edwards     Whitley   Birchall/Theobold   Hyland/Daniel

Glenn/Roberts

Toussaint should not  even get a corbeaux sweat again for this team - based on what I see last night vs. ES...

From last night's display..I feel we should go wit..

Williams

Cyd            Lawrence         Hislop            Avery

Birchall
Edwards                                           Theobald
                           Hyland

Daniel                Roberts

A bit unorthodox with Daniel up top - but he is better technically than Glen and would link better with the midfield, which would help us maintain possession and get more players involved in the attack.  He is certainly a better option than Toussaint. If he is able to turn his defender...he strikes the ball well.

Subs;
Glen for Daniel (60')
Whitley for Birchall (70') - move Hyland back to DM let Whitley play AM
Leon for Theobald (70')
Post by: frico on August 15, 2008, 09:09:13 AM
Baygo boy  ah almost want to agree wid yuh but ah feel for this match I'll give Maturana the benefit and yes we cant afford no loafers for this match against Cuba.John puts too much pressure on other players and we cant afford that kind ah luxury against Cuba.We need 10 men fighting for each other.Nuff said!
Post by: NUFF on August 15, 2008, 09:10:43 AM
I would put Daniel on the left and Start glenn.  The only left Theobald should play is left bench. I doh know why he on de team at all.

Another thing, seem like every game maturana starts de game wid ah 4-5-1 formation.  What make yuh think he go start wid 2 forwards in de Cuba game?
Post by: SHOTTA on August 15, 2008, 09:12:11 AM
Baygo boy ah almost want to agree wid yuh but ah feel for this match I'll give Maturana the benefit and yes we cant afford no loafers for this match against Cuba.John puts too much pressure on other players and we cant afford that kind ah luxury against Cuba.We need 10 men fighting for each other.Nuff said!

11 men on a side  :beermug:

no stern no peace

PRESIDENT OF THE STERN FOR GOALS COMITTEE
Post by: frico on August 15, 2008, 09:22:09 AM
Use yuh head Shotta there are 10 outfield players and a Goal Keeper.The out field players consists of defence,mid field and strikers,they are the men who have to fight all de time for each other.The GK DONT COME INT THAT ARGUEMENT.
Yuh ever see goalkeepers in the outfield,so I willsay again 10 men will be fighting for each other,yuh get dat.
Post by: SHOTTA on August 15, 2008, 09:35:31 AM
steups all the players fight for each other hence the name team

u ever see a side beat somebody if outfield fightin and keepr relaxing?

not really ur fault though football as well as counting are difficult traits to master

11 men on a side 11 men have to fight

no stern no peace

PRESIDENT OF THE STERN FOR GOALS COMITTEE
Post by: just cool on August 15, 2008, 10:30:10 AM
Maybe stern asked to be excused like someone mentioned in ah previous post, after all it's the beginning of the season.

we really don't know the reason for his exemption, so i don't think ppl should conclude that it was done maliciously.

i have ah feeling we will see stern in the other semifinal games and beyond.                                         positive.
Post by: dinho on August 15, 2008, 10:35:36 AM
Maybe stern asked to be excused like someone mentioned in ah previous post, after all it's the beginning of the season.

we really don't know the reason for his exemption, so i don't think ppl should conclude that it was done maliciously.

i have ah feeling we will see stern in the other semifinal games and beyond.                                         positive.

judging from the way TTFF media presents information, I'm almost 100% sure that if there was some other factor responsible for Stern's omission, it would certainly have been mentioned.

thats just based on my observations.
Post by: weary1969 on August 15, 2008, 11:40:43 AM
I luv d position left bench so who playin on d right bench?
Post by: rickstaa on August 15, 2008, 11:56:00 AM
I luv d position left bench so who playin on d right bench?
#3 FROM LAST NIGHT  :rotfl:
Post by: weary1969 on August 15, 2008, 12:01:21 PM
I blieve dat is Cyd
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2008, 12:07:49 PM
There is a case for Scotland not being selected just coming off that injury, but Stern out is worse than Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle bibliography cobined when it come to mystery...

I give up. I think i now understand what Touches was saying bout entertainment.

All the best to the Warriors...

ps: Does that mean Cyd missing the Cuba match ?
Post by: weary1969 on August 15, 2008, 12:12:04 PM
It was said dat friendly reds doh count so we hope he will play and doh get send off
Post by: Coop's on August 15, 2008, 12:14:07 PM
I have a question any one can answer,if Kenwyne and Stern was in the squad where would Glen play or should he start?
Post by: weary1969 on August 15, 2008, 12:26:21 PM
I personally luv 2 c Cornell cmin off d bench. Me eh know if d Sweden game spoil meh but dat is where I like c he
Post by: frico on August 15, 2008, 01:40:18 PM
OK Shotta ah go start learning how to add but ah go be looking to see how well we goalkeeper start closing dong people who getting into attacking positions and also dropping back into defensive positions when we under pressure,at de same time ah hope he can get back between de post to make all de important saves, ;D
Post by: UPRISING on August 15, 2008, 01:47:32 PM
I have a question any one can answer,if Kenwyne and Stern was in the squad where would Glen play or should he start?

Coop's wha vibes!!??

IMHO - Glenn coming off the bench.  For a 20 - 25 min sweat.
Post by: ann3boys on August 15, 2008, 01:57:31 PM
sorry uprising, but I think Stern should be the striker coming off the bench. I can't see him doing full 90 mins too often. He needs to play intense shorter periods IMHO- man getting old and tired quick, quick
what do I know, eh? ;D
Post by: rickstaa on August 15, 2008, 01:59:45 PM
I blieve dat is Cyd
cyd was #8
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 15, 2008, 02:01:43 PM
sorry uprising, but I think Stern should be the striker coming off the bench. I can't see him doing full 90 mins too often. He needs to play intense shorter periods IMHO- man getting old and tired quick, quick
what do I know, eh? ;D
De man playing 90 minutes whole last season. Suddenly he get old?
Post by: Storeboy on August 15, 2008, 02:31:53 PM
All you breathe easy!  Ah know it hard to see Stern off the team but I willing to give Maturana the benefiit of the doubt until 2 seconds after the Cuba game and then he honey moon over.

On the other hand, it is clear that Maturana thinking about 2010 and forget that we have to qualify now.  If we pull it off then I will give him his duty.

On the another point, isone thing to have an opinion about a starting team, but how is it possible to also name the substitutes and list the time the men coming off the bench before you even play the game.  That is a tactical decision and determined based on the flow of the game, the fouls received, and the way your team playing and the opposiiton.  We so upset about Pacho that we over analysing.

Go Warriors!  I am for the team not the coaches or TTFF
Post by: 7 blessings on August 15, 2008, 02:56:49 PM
I would like to see both Glenn and Jones striking with Jones being a target man on top with Glenn feeding off of him...and Jones attacking them crosses....IF WE DO GET IN MORE CROSSES.

With Jones strenght and Glenn speed dat go be ah interesting partnership to see.
Getting all dat fantasy football out the way (cause Jones not available right now and we have games to play) I hope to see more creativity from the midfield as well as more hunger to win and keep the ball against Cuba..while its the strikers' duty to finish, its the midfield's duty to create.
Go Warriors!!!
"Bottle and Spoon"
Post by: weary1969 on August 15, 2008, 03:09:01 PM
Glaad 2 hear 3 was not meh boi Cyd because d defence need 2 b tight
Post by: berris on August 16, 2008, 01:54:19 AM

''So ah buy it so ah sell it ''

Yuh buy SHIT .....Yuh talking ah pack ah assness .
Post by: morvant on August 16, 2008, 06:34:14 AM
Baygo boy  ah almost want to agree wid yuh but ah feel for this match I'll give Maturana the benefit and yes we cant afford no loafers for this match against Cuba.John puts too much pressure on other players and we cant afford that kind ah luxury against Cuba.We need 10 men fighting for each other.Nuff said!

eh puff puff pass meh boy

ah man scoring ah goal ah game and you complaining???

if i man score a goal a game ANYWHERE he would top his league with goals.

put the controller down, go outside and play ah 90 and re-evaluate yuh decision?
Post by: weary1969 on August 16, 2008, 06:37:27 AM
I tink 3 is Edwards so right bench 4 he
Post by: Mock de Dread on August 16, 2008, 06:57:23 AM

Daryl roberts is in effective and andre toussaint is a high waist pip squeak

Glenn boy i put my faith in you !!!! For dropping stern
Pancho lost my respect
Post by: SUPA on August 16, 2008, 03:32:56 PM
There is no place on this squad for John - he is too slow and does loaf too much. Thanks for your service Stern.

Yuh looking tuh start some shit on dis thread ah what. My friend, ah know we are all entitled to our opinion, which I do respect and accept. However, ah will also like tuh advise dat yuh picking de wrong time tuh make dat comment. I know Stern personally and I'm also a big admirer of his services to T&T football. So wid dat said, ah just not having it, so please keep dem kind ah fack up comments fuh bedroom, ah beggin yuh, please. Yuh must be ah wanna be supporter, although ah might act like ah mad man on de forum sometimes, doh ever get it twisted, I do take my national team deep at heart, so please think about what yuh saying. KROSS, CLICK-CLICK.
Post by: Big Magician on August 16, 2008, 05:12:52 PM
thanks again SUPA
Post by: elan on August 16, 2008, 06:17:01 PM
What is Akile Edwards strong point that he is a fixture on the national team?
Post by: Jah Gol on August 16, 2008, 06:28:09 PM
                                Phillip

Gray            Hislop                 Lawrence              John

Leon       

Birchall                    Theobald
  Edwards                                                     Daniel

Roberts
Post by: Midknight on August 16, 2008, 06:35:34 PM

He has a left foot? odr does he ?
Post by: Jah Gol on August 16, 2008, 06:44:30 PM
He is not bad going forward but by no means outstanding either.
Post by: Babalawo on August 16, 2008, 07:40:20 PM
                                Williams

Gray            Hislop                 Lawrence              John

Leon       

Hyland               
  Edwards                                                     Daniel

Glen     Roberts
Post by: elan on August 16, 2008, 08:00:58 PM
                                                Williams

Hislop        Lawrence

Gray                                  John

Birchall       Thomas

C. Edwards                Hyland                 Daniel

Roberts/Glenn       
Post by: weary1969 on August 16, 2008, 08:43:43 PM
I hear d fella Edwards best suited 4 right bench