Sports => Football => Topic started by: kev on August 16, 2008, 04:07:53 AM

Title: Sunderland v Liverpool
Post by: kev on August 16, 2008, 04:07:53 AM
The match is 5.30 GMT tonight.

Was fearing the worst with still no CH but Liverpool looked very rusty the other night so who knows, still think anything would be a bonus, since we have no real CF.

Possible Links

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=16450&part=sports

http://www.justin.tv/sportsmmans   
(There are a few on here not sure about quality of this one but there will be others showing it)

Sunderland team news
[/color][/size]
El-Hadji Diouf, Steed Malbranque, Teemu Tainio and Pascal Chimbonda are set to make their Premier League debuts for Sunderland against Liverpool.

Kieran Richardson (calf), Phil Bardsley (hamstring) and Danny Higginbotham (back) have recovered from injuries and are in contention.

Kenwyne Jones (knee) and Dwight Yorke (eye) miss out.

Roy Keane said: "Apart from a couple of lads, I've got pretty much a full squad to choose from and I'm pleased to have a selection headache."

Premier League teams can name seven players on the substitutes' bench this season.

Sunderland: Gordon, Ward, Fulop, Chimbonda, Bardsley, Nosworthy, Collins, Higginbotham, Liddle, Edwards, Diouf, Tainio, Whitehead, Leadbitter, Reid, Richardson, Malbranque, Miller, Luscombe, Henderson, Chopra, Murphy, Stokes, Waghorn.
Title: Re: Sunderland v Liverpool
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 06:21:43 AM
audio link please anyone?
Post by: KND2 on August 16, 2008, 06:58:16 AM
Damn sunderland get some players , chimbonda, and malbranque is good players you can really help sunderland play better football.
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 10:17:53 AM
starting line ups
sunderland
Line-up
A. Reid
T. Tainio
C. Gordon
D. Collins
D. Murphy
El-Hadji Diouf
K. Richardson
N. Nosworthy
P. Bardsley
P. Chimbonda
S. Malbranque

pool
Line-up
A. Dossena
D. Kuyt
D. Plessis
F. Torres
J. Carragher
J. Reina
R. Keane
S. Gerrard
S. Hyypiä
A. Arbeloa
Y. Benayoun
Post by: jimmel14 on August 16, 2008, 10:32:31 AM
d game LIve on Sports max.. now... nil nil after 2 mins
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 10:39:49 AM
jimmel u from tobago?
Post by: dinho on August 16, 2008, 10:48:01 AM
murphy shoulda score...

sunderland actually knocking ah nice brand.
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 10:49:23 AM
yeah dread ah only saying if KJ was there

edwards look as he can be in for a long pine ride once malbranque(sp) is fit
Post by: arrow on August 16, 2008, 10:50:41 AM
No Carlos?  He shoulda fly down to Cuba early
Post by: boss on August 16, 2008, 10:52:29 AM
Lord, Rafa killing me with this team selection. No Agger or Alonso? Keane and Torres not involved at all...

I don't feel bad about not supporting Sunderland since no Trinis on the field  ;D

Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 10:54:36 AM
No Carlos?  He shoulda fly down to Cuba early

maybe he got a text msg 2
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 10:59:07 AM
ah must say sunderlnad looking good real good ball movement. need to be a bit sharper in the last third
Post by: morvant on August 16, 2008, 11:13:58 AM
they look better than that shyt they was playin last year

i wouldnt wear that liverpool kit if i get it free

i would take it but never wear it
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 16, 2008, 11:18:56 AM
Lord, Rafa killing me with this team selection. No Agger or Alonso? Keane and Torres not involved at all...

I don't feel bad about not supporting Sunderland since no Trinis on the field ;D

Ah believe Agger and Skrtel are still recovering from injuries.  When fit, Agger should be the first center back on the team sheet.  Looks like Rafa looking to sell Alonso, cause he start Plessis today, although they said he didn't play well in the Champions League game this week.
Post by: SabreWolves on August 16, 2008, 11:21:29 AM
0-0  Half time
Post by: boss on August 16, 2008, 11:26:04 AM
Ah believe Agger and Skrtel are still recovering from injuries.  When fit, Agger should be the first center back on the team sheet.  Looks like Rafa looking to sell Alonso, cause he start Plessis today, although they said he didn't play well in the Champions League game this week.

They playing slightly better than they did on Wednesday (that was REAL shit!) but still no service for Torres and Keane...Rafa will throw a tantrum and hopefully throw Alonso on...I don't know who would buy Alonso now that he's cup tied.
Post by: Midknight on August 16, 2008, 11:27:22 AM
http://matchlive.safc.premiumtv.co.uk/mlex/258741/matches/10212007/2861244/match_console.html?clubid=10281
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 11:31:28 AM
http://matchlive.safc.premiumtv.co.uk/mlex/258741/matches/10212007/2861244/match_console.html?clubid=10281
thanks boy this website is d real deal 4 total coverage
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 16, 2008, 11:33:47 AM

They playing slightly better than they did on Wednesday (that was REAL shit!) but still no service for Torres and Keane...Rafa will throw a tantrum and hopefully throw Alonso on...I don't know who would buy Alonso now that he's cup tied.

Yeah, Alonso is cup tied for the GROUP
Post by: boss on August 16, 2008, 11:35:30 AM
Alonso on for Plessis...
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 16, 2008, 11:36:36 AM
Alonso on for Plessis...

Good move.  Plessis doesn't have the passing range of Alonso. 
Post by: FF on August 16, 2008, 12:03:43 PM
Carlos for Malbranque 73rd min
Post by: Babalawo on August 16, 2008, 12:05:32 PM
Yea Carlos just come on.  I wished  he did stay off to save energy for wednesday.  Game on Fox Soccer Channel
Post by: Midknight on August 16, 2008, 12:07:35 PM
For the sake of mih fantasy team, come on Carlos. A little assist or goal would be nice
Post by: FF on August 16, 2008, 12:13:15 PM
Torres score..

mixed feelings... Sunderland losing... but fantasy points for meh skipper
Post by: Midknight on August 16, 2008, 12:13:53 PM
Torres score..

mixed feelings... Sunderland losing... but fantasy points for meh skipper

Fricking hell...but i have him too. this game was screaming 0-0 though
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 16, 2008, 12:14:15 PM
Yea Carlos just come on.  I wished  he did stay off to save energy for wednesday.  Game on Fox Soccer Channel
If a 20 minutes gon bun him, he in a mess.
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 16, 2008, 12:15:43 PM
Best forward in the world:  TORRES
Post by: boss on August 16, 2008, 12:16:12 PM
Goal Torres!

Undeserved, but I'll take it!
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 12:18:13 PM
dont give  big playas time and space . one chance one goal
Post by: boss on August 16, 2008, 12:24:45 PM
Match done. Sunderland can take positives from this...their squad already seems better and deeper than last year, and that's still with Kenwyne (and Yorke) to come back from injury. For Liverpool, 3 points while playing badly. That's what Man Utd and Chelsea were able to do last year from time to time, so I'm taking this as a positive, rather than the negative that we played kind of flat and blah  :beermug:
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 16, 2008, 12:27:13 PM
Match done. Sunderland can take positives from this...their squad already seems better and deeper than last year, and that's still with Kenwyne (and Yorke) to come back from injury. For Liverpool, 3 points while playing badly. That's what Man Utd and Chelsea were able to do last year from time to time, so I'm taking this as a positive, rather than the negative that we played kind of flat and blah :beermug:

Wondering whether we should sell Alonso, although Barry scores a lot and has good chemistry with Gerrard.  Alonso was the difference in the second half.  Robbie Keane will get going soon.  Needs a few more games to settle in.
Post by: firefish on August 16, 2008, 12:29:02 PM
 ;D goal TORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS  a win is a win 8)
Post by: dinho on August 16, 2008, 12:30:42 PM
Elementary mistake cost them the game, you don't give a player of Torres calibre that kinda real estate.

Malbranque, Diouf and Chimbonda definitely add a lot of quality to this Sunderland side, and at times they were playing some football I didn't see all of last season.

But also study if they go revert to the same long ball target man brand when KJ returns. And if they don't, how will KJ adjust to a side that actually willing to knock around the ball on the floor?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 16, 2008, 12:31:53 PM

mixed feelings... Sunderland losing... but fantasy points for me

same
Post by: mukumsplau on August 16, 2008, 12:34:31 PM
carlos form worries me
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 16, 2008, 12:35:05 PM
Elementary mistake cost them the game, you don't give a player of Torres calibre that kinda real estate.

Malbranque, Diouf and Chimbonda definitely add a lot of quality to this Sunderland side, and at times they were playing some football I didn't see all of last season.

But also study if they go revert to the same long ball target man brand when KJ returns. And if they don't, how will KJ adjust to a side that actually willing to knock around the ball on the floor?
That is how he accustomed to playing with Southampton. Dey midfield was playing dat same knockaround style. Different level, but still. He eh have much adjustment to make besides speed of thought and better touch.
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2008, 12:37:22 PM
Damn sunderland get some players , chimbonda, and malbranque is good players you can really help sunderland play better football.
Glad I'm not the only one... Malbranque, Chimbonda... Diouf??  Where've I been? lol

Darn good players... will be interesting to see how the temperamental Diouf copes with the equally temperamental Keane.

Tough loss... but brilliant strike by Torres.
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2008, 12:39:27 PM
they look better than that shyt they was playin last year

i wouldnt wear that liverpool kit if i get it free

i would take it but never wear it

good to sleep in outside... fend of de mosquitoes.
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 16, 2008, 12:42:46 PM
for those who were able to see, d defense lookin stronger dis rounds, dey still shaky, or it still too early to decipher? flow block fsc so wasn't able to see game.

bless!!
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2008, 12:48:46 PM
for those who were able to see, d defense lookin stronger dis rounds, dey still shaky, or it still too early to decipher? flow block fsc so wasn't able to see game.

bless!!

much stronger squad both in defence and inmidfield
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 16, 2008, 12:50:03 PM

bless!!

much stronger squad both in defence and inmidfield

thanks.  :beermug:
Post by: arrow on August 16, 2008, 01:04:07 PM
carlos form worries me

yea like he forget how to run past men, and giving away the ball easy easy
Post by: Bianconeri on August 16, 2008, 01:20:05 PM
side lookin stronger...

the game was still boring no mudda!
was tuff to sit still and watch it
Post by: dinho on August 16, 2008, 02:24:04 PM
i wonder if i will keep getting these hasty post match emails from Roy when Sunderland hit ah bad patch?

Dear Sunderland supporter,

We were tiring in the last 10 or 15 minutes, which I take responsibility for, because maybe we should have had one or two more tougher games in pre-season.

Other than the goal, I thought we played well.

This time last year we scored three minutes into injury time, you have just got to take it on the chin, but performance wise, I was fairly pleased.

I thought we played some good stuff today, we had one or two chances, but when you get chances against one the big teams, you have got to take them.

If we had gone a goal up today, it would have been very hard for Liverpool, after their game in midweek.

Liverpool were getting stronger as the game went on. When you drop off Torres like that, you know what can happen. As soon as it left his foot I thought 'goal'. That's why he costs a few bob.

When we played Liverpool and teams like that last year, I hoped we'd get a result; this morning I believed we'd get a result. That's the big difference, that's the progress we've made.

Liverpool will get on the bus and they'll be glad to see the back of us, and that's a good sign for us. It was a big result for Liverpool today, a big result.

The new lads did well - but all the lads did. Some of our players tired in important positions, the last 15 minutes was always going to be tough for us.

Bardo had not played much in pre-season and he gave a good performance, I can't fault the players, they all contributed today.

But for all our effort and good play, we lost. We have got to take it on the chin, this is the Premier League, the toughest league in the world.

Thanks for your support,

Roy Keane

Sunderland 0 Liverpool 1
Post by: Midknight on August 16, 2008, 03:00:16 PM
i wonder if i will keep getting these hasty post match emails from Roy when Sunderland hit ah bad patch?

You now come or what? I have at least 38 or those in my inbox from last year...
I think is a nice touch, when you see "you have received an e-mail from Roy Keane, lol
Post by: kev on August 16, 2008, 03:00:43 PM
The game turned out much as I thought although thought the draw would of been OK. 

I thought tireness got in, Malbranque especially but his transfer dragged on the longest so unsure how much it effected his preseason training.

Midfield was good, as expected very little firepower / toothless up front, rumour a striker is due to sign early next week ( probably Benni McCarthy being linked all week) I think we need someone with a bit more power. 

The defence was what I expected the goal was coming a couple of times players were free 5 yards or so outside the box with the defenders seemingly happy to hold the penalty box as a line. 2 poor headers lead to the goal should of been cleared.  Still need a CH and a LB.

Carlos just doesn't seem to want to hold the ball or go past players, don't know what is going to happen there. 

Kenwyn will have to play a different game on his return, with ball in front of him and finding space, I hope he is equally effective at it, discussed on the transfer thread.

We are as said 3/4 palyers short of a decent team, Liverpool didn't play well today, but in truth we never really threatened them, but played pretty football.  Still think there is improvement in the team.   
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on August 16, 2008, 03:40:06 PM
I saw nothing today to convince me that the vermin are title contenders.

Post by: Tenorsaw on August 16, 2008, 03:48:55 PM

It's early out still.  We still have three players to return from the Olympics:  Babel, Lucas, and Mascherano.  I think we need one more quality signing before the transfer window closes.
Post by: dinho on August 16, 2008, 03:52:50 PM

true talk.. just wait till you see those prawn sandwich eaters tomorrow. ;)