Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tongue on August 23, 2008, 07:39:09 PM

Title: Sheva Back to Milan
Post by: Tongue on August 23, 2008, 07:39:09 PM
SHEVCHENKO BACK TO MILAN
Chelsea FC.

Chelsea Football Club has agreed terms for Andriy Shevchenko to return to AC Milan. Details of the agreement will remain confidential. The move is subject to a successful medical.

Shevchenko signed for Chelsea from Milan before the 2006 World Cup for an undisclosed club record fee but the goals did not flow at the rate seen in Italy

He ended his first English season with 14 in total, four in the League, although there were some great strikes among them, not least at White Hart Lane in an FA Cup replay. However a hernia operation in the closing weeks of the 2006/07 season ruled him out of the Cup Final win at Wembley.

By then he was already a Carling Cup winner, having played all but the closing seconds of a 2-1 win over Arsenal at Cardiff.

Although the surgery cleared the way for a full pre-season the following summer, fitness problems returned to keep Andriy out of competitive action until mid-September 2007.

In his second game back he scored the final goal of the José Mourinho era, in a home Champions League draw to Rosenborg.

There followed an outstanding strike in the Carling Cup against Leicester but just as Shevchenko hit a good groove leading up to Christmas, scoring six important goals in ten appearances with Didier Drogba out injured, back-related problems called a seven-week halt.

Although he made seven more sub appearances and scored the final league goal of last season, he did not start a game in 2008. His 2007/08 record was 8 goals in 12 starts 13 sub appearances, taking his Chelsea totals to 22 goals in 53+23 games.

Further surgery this summer left him behind in the pre-season fitness schedule and although he was involved in games in Malaysia and Russia, he was not part of the opening weekend win against Portsmouth.

A completed move to Milan will see Shevchenko return to a club he first joined in 1999 and one where is all-time second highest scorer with 173 goals in 296 games. Chelsea Football Club would like to thank Andriy for his contribution during his two seasons in England.
Title: Re: Sheva Back to Milan
Post by: Padams on August 23, 2008, 08:38:14 PM
D Boss comin back home!  ;D
Post by: iceberg on August 23, 2008, 08:40:49 PM
He is definitely a great striker but made a bad decision to go to Chelsea.  In fact Jose Murinho never really wanted him at Chelsea in the first place but Roman Abramovich was pushing for that move.  Doh worry Sheva even though you waste 2 years of yuh career at Chelski you still have time to make up for it at Milan.
Post by: freakazoid on August 24, 2008, 05:51:31 AM
If sheva lights up the Italian league when he returns  Can we make any inference on his status as a  world class player and can we make any comparison on the english and italian league
Post by: sammy on August 24, 2008, 07:36:54 AM
If sheva lights up the Italian league when he returns  Can we make any inference on his status as a  world class player and can we make any comparison on the english and italian league

remember he didnt really get much of a chance in the BPL.
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on August 24, 2008, 11:49:38 AM
He was supposed to win them the league. He was supposed to win them the Champions League...

In the end, he did neither.

Post by: iceberg on August 24, 2008, 12:11:26 PM
I just think he didn't fit into the system that Murinho implemented.  He is quality but just not fit in.
Post by: spideybuff on August 25, 2008, 07:01:47 AM
Hmm...I wonder who bound to score the winning goal when Milan play Mourinho's Inter this season. that is a virtual gurantee to happen the way football is work (once Sheva not injured)
Post by: dinho on August 25, 2008, 07:13:59 AM
thanks for saving that ball off the goal line against man united last season.

sorry it didnt work out as planned.

best of luck in your new career endeavors.
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on August 25, 2008, 08:06:34 AM
thanks for saving that ball off the goal line against man united last season.

As if it made any difference...

Post by: JDB on August 25, 2008, 11:16:06 AM
I just think he didn't fit into the system that Murinho implemented.  He is quality but just not fit in.

The sad thing is he would do a lot better in this current side with Deco supplying him. Sheva is a thru ball champion, not a hold up man, or a run wide and cross player.

Chelsea Football Club has agreed terms for Andriy Shevchenko to return to AC Milan. Details of the agreement will remain confidential.

Who this is to protect. Chelsea, who fraid to admit that they spend 30M on a player only to send him back for peanuts or Milan wo shame to admit that they spending too much money on what could be a washed up player.
Post by: Daft Trini on August 25, 2008, 11:41:22 AM
Some world class players are not suited for the BPL....!

Sheva was one ah dem...... I will miss seeing him manhandled though.... (daiz when he get ah sweat)

Post by: 7 blessings on August 25, 2008, 01:50:41 PM
I jus hope that this is not part ah some deal that will see Kaka out of Milan this season or next season. Sheva i still vex wid yuh for riding outta we..i sure it had nuff school dat does teach english in italy;  but daiy was yuh chupid cover for leavin we and yuh gone and shine pine...doh come back and play no tatta for we cause we done vex wid yuh already...at least 15 goals dis season or back to Dynamo Kiev
Post by: freakazoid on August 27, 2008, 07:14:26 AM
MILAN, Aug 27 (Reuters) - Andriy Shevchenko failed at Chelsea because he was too used to being treated like a prince at AC Milan, according to his former coach Jose Mourinho.

Click here
The Ukraine striker has just returned to Milan, where he spent seven successful seasons, after struggling for form during two torrid years in London.

Mourinho, now Inter Milan coach, was in charge of Chelsea when they signed Shevchenko in 2006 for a club record fee of around 30 million pounds ($55 million).

'He was like a prince in Milan and at Chelsea our philosophy was different, we had no princes. Everybody needs to work like everybody else and everybody needs to prove he deserves to play,' Mourinho told Ford's Feelfootball.com.

'I think maybe he lost some self-confidence. Step by step a player goes in the wrong direction.'

The Portuguese, who will come face to face with Shevchenko again in this season's Milan derbies, said the striker was not his first choice in the transfer market.

'He was not my first option but the club gave him to me as a second option,' added Mourinho, who left Chelsea in September.

'I believe in the future he will again be a player of high quality. The truth is I never had a single personal problem with him and I wish him well for the future.'

Shevchenko, 31, bears no grudges against Mourinho.

'I hope he does well at Inter like he has done elsewhere. He's a coach who knows what he wants,' the striker told reporters.
Post by: spideybuff on August 27, 2008, 08:16:14 AM
Very diplomatic by Shevchenko " He is a coach who know what he wants" ...

you could just see the rest of the sentence saying, "and he clearly didn't want me"
Post by: weary1969 on August 28, 2008, 12:15:49 PM
Mourinho does just say anyting he wants