Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on August 26, 2008, 09:25:21 PM

Title: USA midfielder confident of win over T&T
Post by: E-man on August 26, 2008, 09:25:21 PM
USA midfielder confident of win over T&T
Trinidad Express

Wednesday 27th August ,2008

United States head coach, Bob Bradley and his USA team are determined to contest a sixth Fifa World Cup finals in succession by qualifying for the 2010 spectacular in South Africa.

The North Americans have appeared at every single showdown between the 32 best nations in the world since the 1990 tournament in Italy.

Bradley and his boys have no intention of breaking that streak when the global event touches down in African soil for the first time. Their qualifying campaign has passed off without a hitch, so far.

The USA comfortably overcame Barbados in pre-qualifying, and now lie second in a group, also including T&T, Cuba and Guatemala, on three points from their solitary fixture so far.

When the USA visit the Cubans on September 6 in search of three more points on the road to South Africa, midfielder Steven Cherundolo will be on the eve of his ninth anniversary as an international.

After, the Americans host T&T at Bridgeview, Chicago, on September 10 and Cherundolo reveals that he feels his team can pick up a sure six points in their next two matches.

"I'm certain we'll win these matches (against Cuba and T&T), provided we play to our potential. However, and I'm sure it won't happen, but if we fail to take these games seriously, it'll be extremely difficult. Both countries are capable of very good football, but I'm still expecting two wins for us," he said on fifa.com.

"Mexico are our strongest opponents. Then there's Costa Rica, who always put out a good team. Canada are physically strong and improving technically all the time. Then you have T&T, who made it all the way last time. And there's always a surprise package, maybe Guatemala or Jamaica, who are very, very good. So there are a number of teams in with a chance."

Already looking ahead to South Africa 2010, Cherundolo added: "I think the tournament will be a real boost to South Africa's confidence as a nation, due to staging such a big event, building the stadiums and organising a successful tournament. I think it'll be an important factor for the years afterwards too, both financially and in terms of youth development.
Title: Re: USA midfielder confident of win over T&T
Post by: MEP on August 26, 2008, 09:35:30 PM
and people does want to know why ah doh support de US...damn arrogance.. ..now if only we could get some pride and put them in dey place....
Post by: Deeks on August 26, 2008, 10:27:59 PM
We have pride. our team is not good enough......... yet!!!!!
Post by: Sentinel on August 26, 2008, 10:56:08 PM
Yes....we are good enough....but....we must believe it.

We will be here in Chi-Town to support our Soca Warriors!

Soca Warriorrs you must believe...like we believe in you.

Big shout out....when you come to Chicago...we will be there for you...be there for us!

Ah hope some...if not all....know it is all about God....and your skills....believe in yourselves....and I hope you read this!

YOU CAN DO IT....DONT GIVE UP.....be prepared to out do yourselves.....OURSELVES!

IT is war.....and we prepared.
Post by: theworm2345 on August 26, 2008, 11:05:44 PM
Cherundolo is an arrogant twat who probably couldn't make the T&T team himself
Post by: Zeppo on August 26, 2008, 11:17:35 PM
Cherundolo is a defender -- not a midfielder.
Post by: socachynee on August 27, 2008, 01:34:09 AM
6 points from Cuba and TnT...

I think that article should be posted in our locker room,
motivation enough to have mr defender eat his words.

Post by: Bakes on August 27, 2008, 02:00:25 AM
and people does want to know why ah doh support de US...damn arrogance.. ..now if only we could get some pride and put them in dey place....

You're entitiled to your opinion and all...but I don't see what's so arrogant about what he said..."I'm certain we'll win these matches (against Cuba and T&T), provided we play to our potential."  Let's face it, going off recent history...anytime we beat the US it's an upset.  If they play to their potential it will be difficult for us to beat them.  Frankly, if we were in their shoes and we were talking about a Jamaica... then we'd be perfectly correct as well.

Still... this should make for good locker room motivation all the same.
Post by: arrow on August 27, 2008, 04:05:20 AM
we would be confident too if we were playing a side that hasn't beaten us in a competitive match in decades...or perhaps ever?
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 27, 2008, 05:30:55 AM
We wasn't arrogant facing Bermuda? Kenwyne and all was quoted as saying it would be like 2 practice matches. Do so ent like so? Cherundolo eh do a damn thing wrong.
Post by: Midknight on August 27, 2008, 05:58:37 AM
was expecting the protestation.

Cherundolo ent say a damn thing wrong.

We just need to play to ours and see how it pans out.
Post by: MATADOR on August 27, 2008, 06:03:33 AM
If you are a player in Cherundolo's shoes you would say the same thing if not worst...The man is confident in his team and needs to portray that especially to the media. Who do you think he would say is the best coach in the tournament...Bradley!! This type of talk comes with the territory and the way he phrased his comments covered his butt both ends..When we do indeed put a spanking on them he will turn around and say,"Trinidad & Tobago really took it to us today, we never really played to our potential". :rotfl:

Post by: Filho on August 27, 2008, 06:57:21 AM
thank goodness for the sane responses from the latter group of posters. i was wondering if some of allyuh cannot read. nothing arrogent about what the man sasid. he is confident his side can win, but he explicitly said that T&T and Cuba can play good football and the US has to play to its potential and take the games seriously or they will be in trouble. The man went on to list  a set of teans in Concacaf, INCLUDING T&T, who the US have to watch out for. Steeups...some of allyuh is jess plain kix yes. We cyah beat the U.S home and away and I fully expect our players to be confident that they can win the home leg. Yet a man who team used to whetting we on de regular cyah be confident of victory...that supposed to be arrogance?  ::)

at the same time..I glad he said it. That is jess extra motivation for us. Jess the part where he said they expect the 6 points..doh show the players the rest. Manipulate that interview to fire up de troops. But lewwe study Guateh first. De Guatemalans have a nice side. Dat is the direct competition for us
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 27, 2008, 07:10:56 AM
“I'm certain we'll win these matches (against  T&T)”,  This is what you chalk up on ah black board when you doing class room work with your team and fire them up! If we ent beat nobody else, Beat the US!   I want we to beat them bad, bad, bad.  :whip:
Post by: Socaman on August 27, 2008, 07:37:14 AM
“I'm certain we'll win these matches (against T&T)”, This is what you chalk up on ah black board when you doing class room work with your team and fire them up! If we ent beat nobody else, Beat the US! I want we to beat them bad, bad, bad. :whip:

Man,I hope we beat that US team, Just to prove a point to them...
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 27, 2008, 07:46:49 AM
“I'm certain we'll win these matches (against T&T)”, This is what you chalk up on ah black board when you doing class room work with your team and fire them up! If we ent beat nobody else, Beat the US! I want we to beat them bad, bad, bad. :whip:

Man,I hope we beat that US team, Just to prove a point to them...

They like to run they mouth to much. It should only motivate and fire up yuh team to put hard lash on them. Hard tackle every time, especially fuh thee one who run he mouth.
Post by: dombasil on August 27, 2008, 07:52:31 AM
What exactly did he say that was wrong.
Bulletin board motivation for the T & T team, but nothing out of line.
The last time we beat dem fellas was when Adam was a little boy.
In fact I don't even remember.
Until we beat them,they will continue to think it is a sure six points.
It is up to us to walk the talk.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 27, 2008, 07:58:22 AM
What exactly did he say that was wrong.
Bulletin board motivation for the T & T team, but nothing out of line.
The last time we beat dem fellas was when Adam was a little boy.
In fact I don't even remember.
Until we beat them,they will continue to think it is a sure six points.
It is up to us to walk the talk.

Well said, as said by other posters before, I'd put this up in the locker as a motivator....
Post by: Touches on August 27, 2008, 08:00:50 AM
D man ent lie.

At our best we never beat them in a WCQ.

Let it just pan out on the field.

Hope for the best and expect the worse.
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 27, 2008, 08:07:59 AM
The thing is thee US ent really no football nation. They have money. We on de road with no shoe kicking ball bare feet, gehing buss foot and bo bo and thing... on thee beach playing football since we small anything we see, we kicking. Is we culture! US ent know nothing about that...so leh them go so with tha formality  of the game “soccer”. We have passion for the game.

What yuh want.
Post by: spideybuff on August 27, 2008, 08:13:25 AM
Well ususally when we refer to a small side as one that we sure to beat, we is pay the price ( a la Bermuda) so hopefully it work in our favour this time
Post by: futbolfan on August 27, 2008, 08:15:47 AM
I read de headline and de fus thing come to mind was oh gosh what Donavon gone and say now...That being said de man could talk all he want, until we show  that we have what it takes to consistently beat the best teams in the region, we cyar fault de man for making dem comments....
Post by: asylumseeker on August 27, 2008, 08:39:38 AM
I look forward to the day when all of our players are as comfortable in the spokesperson role as Cherundolo comes across in those few paragraphs.
Post by: elan on August 27, 2008, 08:40:44 AM
I want to see us beat the US. Let hope it eh turn out like USA vs Bimshire couple months ago cause with our defense and no midfield we ripe for it. The US would not send a 2nd team to play us watch for the full squad. Pressah.
Post by: Observer on August 27, 2008, 08:59:42 AM
Win the game and talk done!
Post by: supporter on August 27, 2008, 09:03:07 AM
How is he being arrogant? Everything he said sounds about right to me
Post by: Big Magician on August 27, 2008, 09:10:03 AM
f#ck dem
Post by: slates on August 27, 2008, 09:21:08 AM
The thing about these articles too is that usually, nothing is said about the question that was posed. A man responds to a question but only the response is printed. That could easily lead to interpretation of arrogance.

That said, I don't think it was an arrogant comment either. the man clearly noted that T&T is a capable team, but that he feels they can handle the challenge if they play to their full potential. Nutten wrong wit dat. I making the trip to see it unfold for miself.
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 27, 2008, 09:26:53 AM
De man eh lie..De last time we beat US in an international match was a friendly at the Haseley Crawford Stadium back in the mid nineties (can't remember the year). After dat, was defeat after defeat fuh we.

So, based on prior history, Cherundolo is justified in his statements.
Post by: warmonga on August 27, 2008, 09:32:16 AM
allyuh fellas is sum jackass in here boy.. wey de facking man sey dat is so arrogant>. USA Have own TNT and they have de flicking right to say what dey want. Come September, TNT need to step there game up and then Things will be great.. If Anybobody should be upset should be Reggaefan.. de man outright diss De Reggaeboys class dem wid shitsquad Guatemala..
Post by: vapotrini on August 27, 2008, 09:51:04 AM
Agree with most everyone here, nothing at all wrong it what he said. The truth is we've been there whipping boys for a long time now, so until we change that they can say whatever they like imo.

Besides, nothing wrong with them beating us, as long as they do the same to Guatemala! I'm extremely worried about the last game of this stage, the Guatemala Vs. USA game. If the US has already qualified would they just send out a B team and not care? That could really cost us if it's close at the end.

Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 27, 2008, 10:47:56 AM
Hardly arrogant and not unlike comments our players and coaches have made in the past. That said lets pull a Joe Public on dey backside and send them home crying.
Post by: trinimuse on August 27, 2008, 10:56:09 AM
Jes de fact that dem torking about we like dat, is a good sign.  Be sure dat dem coming here with a game plan to win because it obvious dey planning arready..  I hope we have we own plan ready by then.
Post by: palos on August 27, 2008, 11:03:25 AM
Jes de fact that dem torking about we like dat, is a good sign.  Be sure dat dem coming here with a game plan to win because it obvious dey planning arready..  I hope we have we own plan ready by then.

Plan?  TTFF?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Fantastic on August 27, 2008, 12:55:37 PM
If we didn't beat dem last qualifying in de Oval, we might never beat dem again oui. Dem men was holding out for better contracts, dey start preparing a misfits team to take dey place, end up signing and training bout a day and a facking half and run rings around we in de oval. I ent saying shite bout de US until we actually beat dem.
Post by: UPRISING on August 27, 2008, 01:07:01 PM
The key ingredients to beat the US:
Limit the number of dead balls - they will dominate us in the air.  1/2 their goals come from FKs and corners.

After I saw them play Guat.  I am perplexed as to why we do not beat that side?  It just tells me that the psychological part of the game is just as important as all other elements (technical, tactical and physical)...the US has severly damaged the psyche of our team..we need players that just don't give a dam_ and just play, no matter the opposition ..... dem mudda suckas does lace up dey shoes jes like we!!!
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 27, 2008, 01:48:36 PM
    Discipline in the back - stay compact and concentrate for the full 90+
  • Patience in attack - keep the ball when you win it
  • Attack with confidence in the attacking 3rd - a la Richardson from Joe Public
Limit the number of dead balls - they will dominate us in the air.  1/2 their goals come from FKs and corners.

After I saw them play Guat.  I am perplexed as to why we do not beat that side?  It just tells me that the psychological part of the game is just as important as all other elements (technical, tactical and physical)...the US has severly damaged the psyche of our team..we need players that just don't give a dam_ and just play, no matter the opposition ..... dem mudda suckas does lace up dey shoes jes like we!!!

Soldier, Now I thinking about this...do you really believe is ah mental? Fuh thee past years of them beating we, did they have better players than us or did we already beat ourselves mentally even before we lace up we boots? ???
Post by: UPRISING on August 27, 2008, 02:34:21 PM
    Discipline in the back - stay compact and concentrate for the full 90+
  • Patience in attack - keep the ball when you win it
  • Attack with confidence in the attacking 3rd - a la Richardson from Joe Public

Soldier, Now I thinking about this...do you really believe is ah mental? Fuh thee past years of them beating we, did they have better players than us or did we already beat ourselves mentally even before we lace up we boots? ???

I think it is a combination of a few issues.  Their youth dev. systems are better than our but I am prayin that Lincoln has an impact on that.  I also think that our foreign coaches (even Beene as evidenced by the fact that Latas played only 20 mins in the WC) - have not figured out how to put a team together of players that have the flair and creativity like the Strike Squad ...to be quite frank ...our football has become a bit white washed..with players hesitant to play with flair and take chances. 

Trust that the US team came to T&T on Nov 19 ...mindful that they could have lost that game..but they put a plan in place to stop Latas and Yorke that day..and they did ... Latas en relly make a note dat day...tink about it..... from then our psyche has been damaged..

WHo on that US team should we relly relly be worried that we cannot neutralize without the proper plan??  ...our coaches have to coach...put a plan in place to play to our strengths and be fearlesss... but disciplined.
Post by: WARRIORKING on August 27, 2008, 03:29:26 PM
alluy know wat is the problem with trinidad and all these other carribbean countires when  it comes to  football , is they never have a coach that put that type of belief and confidence in the players ,for example if u playing a european side  like england or france or italy . the coaches will already put in the players head that teams is better than you  and the only way we have a chance  we have is if we stay back and defend . so now they scared to attack. why u think the united states  came so far when it comes to soccer even though they don't have the best skilled players  americans naturally have that confidence they suppose to be the best at every thing  and that is half the battle cause if u feel a team better than u why even bother to play de game. so these players need to develop that in arrogance with in themselves not out loud so the can really believe the can win
Post by: berris on August 27, 2008, 07:16:07 PM
Most ah all yuh right ,de man eh say nuttin wrong,but it still doh take way de fact that what he said was 'arrogant' .The mere idea that yuh cud use what he say as 'locker room motivation' show yuh is nuttin less than arrogance and disrespect.
IMO he cud say what de fack he want ,is up to we tuh silence he mudda con't on de pitch for counting 3pts before de game even play.

p.s   Anything less than arrogance coming from USA, in any sport ,is ah surprise.
Post by: weary1969 on August 27, 2008, 08:03:23 PM
Nutten wrong wit d statement but if we beat dem and he say is obeah ah go have a problem
Post by: Touches on August 27, 2008, 10:36:10 PM
Honestly,

The US fitter than TT they could run hard and keep the intensity for 90+ min...they good at free kick and corner and even if we outplay them on the field the blasted goalkeeper...from Meola right down to Howard does have a good game.

You know how much time the US goalies save them from cutarse.

Also they are bigger in size, they physical.

I find they fraid hard jam and any team that runs at them have them shakey...down to Haiti I see the US ketch they tail to beat.

Mentally they have our number. They have that edge on us. Remember in a Gold Cup Dwarika score 2 goal and we had them 2-0 at the half and they come back and score win 3-2.

The oval game aside we draw with them 0-0 in the stadium in a WCQ and Rougier and Dwarika nearly poison they tail. We were already out and they already qualified but we nearly beat them that day. Is heroics from Friedel save them.

If we get thru to the hex we will play them 4 times...I sure we could ketch dem at least once. Is about time.

Post by: Zeppo on August 28, 2008, 12:04:30 AM

Not true. Apart from Onyewu our team is no bigger than average sized.

And many of our key players are downright small: Donovan, Beasley, Convey, Cherundolo, Feilhaber, Adu, etc.

Post by: Brownsugar on August 28, 2008, 07:27:54 AM
uuuuuummmmm Zeppo, have you seen our players??.... :-\

On another note....
      GO T&T!!!.....     
Post by: TrinInfinite on August 28, 2008, 07:35:58 AM
Honestly,

The US fitter than TT they could run hard and keep the intensity for 90+ min...they good at free kick and corner and even if we outplay them on the field the blasted goalkeeper...from Meola right down to Howard does have a good game.

I find they fraid hard jam and any team that runs at them have them shakey...down to Haiti I see the US ketch they tail to beat.

Mentally they have our number. They have that edge on us. Remember in a Gold Cup Dwarika score 2 goal and we had them 2-0 at the half and they come back and score win 3-2.

The oval game aside we draw with them 0-0 in the stadium in a WCQ and Rougier and Dwarika nearly poison they tail. We were already out and they already qualified but we nearly beat them that day. Is heroics from Friedel save them.

If we get thru to the hex we will play them 4 times...I sure we could ketch dem at least once. Is about time.

touches though u make some valid points, the bigger in size garbage allyuh does talk about on this board is rediculous bc them south american players not no damn giants, so really stop that garbage, football is 80% mental and 20% PHYSICAL the faster allyuh people could realize that the faster we will have a better way of thinking....
Post by: TrinInfinite on August 28, 2008, 08:12:19 AM

Not true. Apart from Onyewu our team is no bigger than average sized.

And many of our key players are downright small: Donovan, Beasley, Convey, Cherundolo, Feilhaber, Adu, etc.

the US have beaten us bc they have been mentally prepared better than us, their training is more intense and they have a never say die attitude, trinidad can beat the US if we are mentally prepared and play as a cohesive unit we will win, the wc team could have beaten the us, but they never played them, this team with a creative mid like a dwarika, hardest or guerra could beat the US..
Post by: arrow on August 28, 2008, 11:31:11 AM
this team with a creative mid like a dwarika, hardest or guerra could beat the US..

what was our record against the US when we had Latas AND/OR Dwarika?
Post by: Fantastic on August 28, 2008, 12:01:03 PM
Hands down dey players pound for pound have been bigger, stronger, fitter over the years. This seems to be changing recently though. Ask any player that play against de americans. no matter how much skill yuh display, if yuh not faster and fit enough to run dem whole game dey will use dey superior strength and usually height to impose dey will on yuh. Dis is one of dey weakest sides in years doh. We better beat dem now while dey searching for de right mix of skill and brute force. Dey realize dey could beat dey concacaf opponents with dey strongman antics, but technically superior players from de brazils and Portugals of this world was still mashing dem up. Trini, on de other hand have decent height, but most of de men still looking nashy, nashy, like is only doubles, Royal Castle, and sno cone dey eatin
Post by: Zeppo on August 28, 2008, 12:18:44 PM
To see your record against the USA dating back to 1985 just go to this link and punch in T&T as the opponent:

http://www.sams-army.com/index.php?Mlist=results&Group=men

But I have to warn you that, from your end, it ain't pretty!
Post by: Brownsugar on August 28, 2008, 12:36:01 PM
To see your record against the USA dating back to 1985 just go to this link and punch in T&T as the opponent:

http://www.sams-army.com/index.php?Mlist=results&Group=men

But I have to warn you that, from your end, it ain't pretty!

We know....we eh need you to rub it in ok......
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 28, 2008, 12:54:42 PM
Honestly,

touches though u make some valid points, the bigger in size garbage allyuh does talk about on this board is rediculous bc them south american players not no damn giants, so really stop that garbage, football is 80% mental and 20% PHYSICAL the faster allyuh people could realize that the faster we will have a better way of thinking....
When they talking size, they ain't talking bout height. They talking bout how many of our team are skinny weaklings, getting hustled and pushed off the ball by breeze.