Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on September 09, 2005, 07:57:53 AM

Title: Mucurapo open in style
Post by: Tallman on September 09, 2005, 07:57:53 AM
Mucurapo open in style
By Kern De Freitas (Trinidad Express)

Mucurapo opened their defence of the BG T&T Secondary Schools Football League North Zone title with a comfortable 3-1 victory over St Anthony's College at the Hasely Crawford Stadium yesterday.

The win was a big one for "Compre", as it means they have gotten past their major rivals in the North in their first outing. St Anthony's, the 2003 North champs and returning Inter Col winners, though, will have to re-group if they are to have a chance of claiming national honours this year.

After an even opening 15 minutes where the teams battled for control of the midfield, it was Mucurapo who settled first, and it was no surprise when Khaleem Highland put them in front in the 20th minute, beating Kevin Mossio in the "Tigers" goal after dribbling his way to the 18-metre area.

St Anthony's picked up their game, though, and striker Akil De Freitas earned their reward, as he was brought down in the Compre penalty area when his quick dribbling panicked Mucurapo's defence in the 32nd minute. Lester Peltier stepped up to convert, beating Denzil Cazabon to level the scores at 1-1.

But six minutes later, Mossio's failure to hold onto a low freekick just to his left led to Mucurapo's second, as he allowed to ball to squeeze beneath him and roll over the line for a 2-1 score, which remained at the half.

Mucurapo's Kevon Piper closed out the scoring when he dribbled his way into the area on the right on a counter attack and with Mossio alone to beat slotted home for a 3-1 advantage in the 64th minute.

In the second match of the double-header, QRC had two goals a minute apart at the end of regulation time to sink Malick Senior Comprehensive 2-0.

Competition kicks off in the SSFL South Zone today with a double-header at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, with Naparima College taking on St Benedict's College at 3 p.m., before Vessigny Secondary meet Fyzabad Composite at 5 p.m.
Title: Re: Mucurapo open in style
Post by: jaden on September 09, 2005, 08:02:05 AM
how much of st anthonys team is returning players???
Post by: spideybuff on September 09, 2005, 08:04:06 AM
Went to the games yesterday...all 4 teams look like crap, but I haven't seen SSFL for about 7 years so maybe my view is biased and I expected too much. St. Anthony;s look better than Malick and QRC, even though they lost and Compre deserve the win so I betting those 2 might be top of the north zone again..but of course it still early. Like I said, I haven't seen school football in a while but Malick was always a powerhouse, competitive even if they were not  dominating anymore but yesterday they looked like real poor. Can anyone tell me if they have been on the decline for a while or is this one of those rebuilding years for them?

and Tallman...I don't know how good your stats are at this level, but can you tell me when last QRC beat Malick in the stadium? Or when last QRC beat Malick by a 2 goal or more margin...?
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 09, 2005, 08:36:10 AM
Akil De Freitas now at st anthonys he was not at fatima last season?
Post by: Bally on September 09, 2005, 11:27:23 AM
GO COMPRE ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Israel on September 09, 2005, 01:29:45 PM
Akil De Freitas now at st anthonys he was not at fatima last season?
he was playing for d tigers last season.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 09, 2005, 01:35:54 PM
oh i got him mixed up with Chad De Freitas od superstar ranger
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 09, 2005, 02:13:16 PM
CICCCCCCC   WE GOIN BLOW OUT TRANQUILL MONDAY

A RAZZA TAZZ
Post by: fordy on September 09, 2005, 06:07:27 PM
small magician when de saints playin...and who/where they playing?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 09, 2005, 06:28:56 PM
Tranquill in d stadium    at i tink 3:30     das wa martin tell me

monday de 12th    sry
Post by: fordy on September 09, 2005, 06:34:17 PM
Tranquill in d stadium    at i tink 3:30     das wa martin tell me

when next yuh talk to hayden tell him fordy says whats up!!!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 09, 2005, 06:35:01 PM
yeh my boi    wen u went saints
Post by: fordy on September 09, 2005, 06:40:10 PM
96-98. did A's there...played both years. before that played at trinity.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 09, 2005, 06:43:51 PM
or ok cool  i started in 2002  i in form 4 now             
Post by: fordy on September 09, 2005, 06:51:05 PM
nice man...yuh tryin out for de team yet.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 10, 2005, 05:24:29 AM
nah i went away 2 many times dis summer    nex season 4 sure i'll try
Post by: Sentinel on September 10, 2005, 06:06:54 AM
Small M.

Do me a favour.  Tell Hayden Martin and Wayne Alexander...Tony Pacheco sends greetings from Chicago. 

Hayden and I are old Fatima classmates.

Wayne and I worked at St. Marys during the 70s.

Luv U T&T
Post by: vb on September 10, 2005, 08:55:00 AM
Small M.

Do me a favour.  Tell Hayden Martin and Wayne Alexander...Tony Pacheco sends greetings from Chicago. 

Hayden and I are old Fatima classmates.

Wayne and I worked at St. Marys during the 70s.

Luv U T&T

Sentinel,

in case u eh see it yet..

http://www.fatimaboys.homestead.com/welcome.html