Sports => Football => Topic started by: palos on September 20, 2008, 08:47:37 AM

Title: Leonson Lewis Thread
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 08:47:37 AM
Leonson Lewis.  Was he really that good?

I see men real ratin up Leonson Lewis.  Some people ratin him as one of the best footballers to never play in a World Cup and ting.

Now I know nostalgia is a powerful ting and we does all fall under it's spell at times.  But I jes wondering if Leo was as good as is being portrayed.  I doh see de same accolades fuh Jerren Nixon fuh example who achieved a lot more in his club career and they were pretty much contemporaries.

Title: Re: Leonson Lewis. Was he really that good?
Post by: kicker on September 20, 2008, 09:42:40 AM
yeah he was really that good... A natural born winger turned striker who was probably the best finisher T&T had seen before Stern. 

Yorke (though he underperformed for T&T for a long time), Latas Leo... In their prime they were a notch ahead of their T&T teammates.

Post by: Fantastic on September 20, 2008, 09:48:19 AM
Doh know if he WAS really that good, ah know he COULD have been really really good. Best combination of athletic ability and skill ah see on that left side. Not sure about de mental side of it though
Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2008, 09:51:58 AM
yeah he was really that good... A natural born winger turned striker who was probably the best finisher T&T had seen before Stern. 
natural born goalkeeper turned winger turned striker
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 09:54:37 AM

Huh?

No Steve David?  ???
Post by: Big Magician on September 20, 2008, 10:01:53 AM
yea palos...he was that good... ask anyone in Coimbra and  Boavista, and
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 10:06:54 AM

If Leo was THAT good, how come he didn't go to a top club like Porto for example?  The vast majority of his professional career was spent in the Portugese Second Division no?  No disrespeck but the Portugese Second Division is about equivalent in quality if not lesser dan de Scottish 1st Division.
Post by: look at ting now! on September 20, 2008, 10:10:35 AM
Leonson was as good as rated. Look I saw Leonson in a build up game to the 1990 WC playing against a South American team,  think it was Paraguay {I stand corrected} and from where I was in the covered stands he started from the half line cutting in towards the goal and beat five men in the process. He leave them in they boots wondering what happen. Then the most beautiful left foot in the history of T&T football took the keeper the wrong way...boom GOAL!!!!! I saw him against an English team, whoever that was, and in the box he collected facing the bleachers, turned and let loose a left foot up in the jepp nest. School football, the man was just too good on the left. A perfect choice for T&T football in his day. And that is only some recollections of his talent.
Post by: Big Magician on September 20, 2008, 10:17:59 AM
palos...he spend one more yr in de second division that Latas...they were both at academica...check this...Marcelle got to the 1st division before Latas and leo...is Marcelle better than latas then ???

He was the top scorer for Boavista and also top foreign scorer for a season..
remember in dem days it had the foreign player quota in the UK...so it was real tough for them fellas...notice hw long it took for Latas to make it to the UK...
watch meh...if all dem boys now playing in the UK....even jamaican shithongs..Leo woulda been tops...and plenty others too
Post by: daryn on September 20, 2008, 10:22:08 AM
I saw him against an English team, whoever that was, and in the box he collected facing the bleachers, turned and let loose a left foot up in the jepp nest.

dat was the game against crystal palace.  I think that was right after Palace had loss to Man U in an FA cup final.
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 10:23:17 AM
I saw him against an English team, whoever that was, and in the box he collected facing the bleachers, turned and let loose a left foot up in the jepp nest.

dat was the game against crystal palace.  I think that was right after Palace had loss to Man U in an FA cup final.

I was at that match.  That was also a fete match for Crystal Palace.  Leh we keep tings in proper perspective.  The goal he scored that I remembered in that game that was most impressive to me is one with his back turned and hook over he shoulder into de net.  Special.
Post by: fatimarima on September 20, 2008, 10:23:49 AM
Leonson Lewis did not have good agents.  At one point many big clubs were interested in him but the deals fell through due the agents actions. The man score a beaver trick (4) against crystal palace when they were big in the EPL.   Dishonest scheeming agents = no big contract......to answer your question palos
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 10:25:44 AM
Leonson Lewis did not have good agents.  At one point many big clubs were interested in him but the deals fell through due the agents actions. The man score a beaver trick (4) against crystal palace when they were big in the EPL.   Dishonest scheeming agents = no big contract......to answer your question palos

Beaver trick yes.  Fete match also yes.
Post by: fatimarima on September 20, 2008, 10:44:55 AM

Beaver trick yes.  Fete match also yes.
[/quote]

Fete match?       Fact: no   Your opinion: yes

Tri 4  Palace 0?   Fact: yes   my opinion: no

the fact is that leonson score 4 goals vs an inform crystal palace
Post by: Ngozi on September 20, 2008, 11:03:37 AM
It eh have no nostalgia bout Leonson ....the man was a demon spawn......In comparison to Nixon personally Nixon is more skilful.....both at top speed I'm not sure because both of them was extremely quick and I mean realll toes ...men does talk about Carlos being quick compared to leo he is a joke .......Leo was definitely more athletic than Nixon and stronger ...the man used to come to benedicts practice and sweat with us and when leo just in his shorts alone ...men stunned the man cut as hell with little or no body fat and things like bicycle kicks scissors kicks diving headers stuff like that he all up for that........on a through ball it make no sense chasing him...its a lost cause.....to me he isnt as clinical as he could have been but his presence always created space for others because his pace had to be respected  very dangerous player........I remember seeing a game when he played with boavista vs porto and his team lost 5-2 ... he scored both goals and was literally walking through porto defense they had no answer for him ...........too strong too fast and too determined....I always say with no disrespect to Gally if the strike squad had a Leo beenhakker...we'd have qualified with a game to spare.....Palos as for the fete match with Crystal Palace they played the national team two games and I went to both games...firstly the goal of no fete match is to lose 4-0 especially if the man score all 4 goals secondly if it was a fete match then someone didnt tell Ian Wright because he was running Trinidad defense ragged  the previous game was drawn 2-2 it wasnt no fete match...leo scored one of the two goals ...Ive seen leo play alot and in a different time he would have had a bigger impact ...that was pace and athleticism that money couldnt buy.... I even here some Yardie rate him up when he and latas played for a jamaican team name Port Morant and yuh know them doh like giving trinis props ........overrated ....Helll No!
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 11:09:06 AM
It eh have no nostalgia bout Leonson ....the man was a demon spawn......In comparison to Nixon personally Nixon is more skilful.....both at top speed I'm not sure because both of them was extremely quick and I mean realll toes ...men does talk about Carlos being quick compared to leo he is a joke .......Leo was definitely more athletic than Nixon and stronger ...the man used to come to benedicts practice and sweat with us and when leo just in his shorts alone ...men stunned the man cut as hell with little or no body fat and things like bicycle kicks scissors kicks diving headers stuff like that he all up for that........on a through ball it make no sense chasing him...its a lost cause.....to me he isnt as clinical as he could have been but his presence always created space for others because his pace had to be respected  very dangerous player........I remember seeing a game when he played with boavista vs porto and his team lost 5-2 ... he scored both goals and was literally walking through porto defense they had no answer for him ...........too strong too fast and too determined....I always say with no disrespect to Gally if the strike squad had a Leo beenhakker...we'd have qualified with a game to spare.....Palos as for the fete match with Crystal Palace they played the national team two games and I went to both games...firstly the goal of no fete match is to lose 4-0 especially if the man score all 4 goals secondly if it was a fete match then someone didnt tell Ian Wright because he was running Trinidad defense ragged  the previous game was drawn 2-2 it wasnt no fete match...leo scored one of the two goals ...Ive seen leo play alot and in a different time he would have had a bigger impact ...that was pace and athleticism that money couldnt buy.... I even here some Yardie rate him up when he and latas played for a jamaican team name Port Morant and yuh know them doh like giving trinis props ........overrated ....Helll No!

Looks like all dem coaches at dem european & british top clubs must be have no eye fuh talent den.  Big up Leo.  Case is proven without a shadow of a doubt.  He score a beaver trick against Crystal Palace.  Dat seals it. 
Post by: Filho on September 20, 2008, 11:18:53 AM
yep..he was really that good.

when the portuguese came to scout Latas in Jamaica, they said they'd take him only if they could get the #11. They were that impressed by him, that Latas move to Portugal at the time hinged on Leo going..as told by Leo in an interview. By the way, Leo in the same interview said he ddin't see himself in the same class as Latas..so lewwe set that record straight before man get tie up wit what I saying.

doh matter if you think the game against CPalace was a fete match. Real ballers get transfers to leagues after roughing up a club in a friendly. Plus they wanted him and his agent asked for way too much money. CPalace was a decent side then as well. wasn't the only time his agent kill a move to a higher league. Leo had to eventually fire the man.

Leo was top foreign scorer in Portuguese first division one season and the best striker for T&T in my lifetime.

If you never see the man play in his prime..nobody could convince you. BUt doh try and rate him by level of success he achieved abroad. De man is a Trini who had a shite agent who he eventually had to fire,and he was relatively old for team's to take a risk on when he started to come into his own as a striker. You really find Latas club career match his ability. Man like Christian Karembau who play for Real madrid for years and fellas like Fabio Rochenbach and Giovanni who was starters at Barca..dem men were better than Latas? The list is a long one. Club success hinges on a lot more than just ability and even performance.

When you from a small nation with no int'l pedigree, get notice relatively late and have poor management..well bredda..de man do reaal good to be one of the top strikers in Portugal in his prime. And he was only in the POrtuguese 2nd division one season longer than Latas.

And please doh compare the man to Jerren Nixon. Portuguese league much stronger than the Swiss..and Leo was far more accomplished at national level. Plus, he give us our only win ever against the US  ;D (ok..dat doh matter but i felt like squeezing it in there).

LEO was de man at one time. Real boss
Post by: Filho on September 20, 2008, 11:25:40 AM
Looks like all dem coaches at dem european & british top clubs must be have no eye fuh talent den.  Big up Leo.  Case is proven without a shadow of a doubt.  He score a beaver trick against Crystal Palace.  Dat seals it. 

why ask if your mind done made up. Beaver against CPalace is all you really think he was about?
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 11:45:52 AM
Leo was top foreign scorer in Portuguese first division one season and the best striker for T&T in my lifetime.

1- So a portugese (or more) score more dan he dah season den?

2 - Stern John wasn't in your lifetime?  Or is a duppy mek dah post?  ;D
Post by: vb on September 20, 2008, 11:52:22 AM

Palos,

I am surprised all of this needs to be explained to you. An in depth interview was done with LL (was it by SWN??) and he explained his success in Portugal and the actions of his agent which mitigated his ability to move on to other clubs in Portugal and Europe when they wanted him.

Also, Crystal Palace wanted him to come over immediately after he buss four on dem. Ah guess they were impressed by his fete match performance.

A great player, who should be rated up there with Latas and Dwight. Amazing blend of speed and skill. I was told by those who played vs. them, that he was even faster than Clint Marcelle.

Peace,
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 12:14:58 PM
It really understandable how strongly & vividly peeps hold their memories and recollections.

Talk to men like Trevor, Deeks, Coop's anbrat and dem and dey would go to dem grave swearin it had no group of footballers that could ever match De Leon, Cummings, Archibald etc.  Dem was de best.

Older peeps might say de same bout Carlton Franco, Alvin Corneal, Sedley Joseph etc

De 80's generation will swear by Latas, Yorke, Lewis etc.

However...sometimes de REALITY doh match de POSSIBILITY.

Take for example Carlos Edwards.  I fuh one had destined him for great things and swore that he woulda rip de EPL.  De REALITY is dat he cyah even make de bench now fuh Sunderland.  Yes..he's had some terrible injuries..but dat still dh change his REALITY.

Maybe Lewis was bad lucky.  Maybe his agent was evil and unscrupulous.  Maybe he merely came along at a bad time compared to today's players.  But great right up there with Latas and Yorke?  No disrespeck to de man but not even in de same area code.  Not de Leonson Lewis I see play and I see him play many times, at school level, minor league level, national team level, and club level.
Post by: Filho on September 20, 2008, 12:18:07 PM

1- So a portugese (or more) score more dan he dah season den?

2 - Stern John wasn't in your lifetime?  Or is a duppy mek dah post?  ;D

1. yep. still a notable accomplishment, given he was on a kinda average team. but he did help them raise the Portuguese Cup that season which was quite an upset.
2. personally, i fine Leo was miles ahead of Stern

why focus on those two points anyway? what about the other points made by me and others. you don't seem to want to give the benefit to much. anyway..trying to measure his accomplishments is a kinda waste with someone whose mind done made up. either you saw him play and you rate him or you didn't. respeck
Post by: vb on September 20, 2008, 12:20:09 PM
All I could say is that those who ddn't see LL play, lose out.

Perhaps just like I lose out not seeing Gally, Steve David and De Leon in their prime.

The first time I saw the man was for the national youth team. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. One thought came to mind. "His cup brimmeth over with skill."

I made up my mind right then and there to track his career.

Wonderful player.

Thanks for your contribution LL. It was an honour and a privlege.

Sadly as great as he and his colleagues were. He was in an era when the national team just underpeformed.

Peace,
Post by: dreamer on September 20, 2008, 01:10:50 PM
Ah couldn't resist as ah see dis thread. My li'l 2 cents...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=771ApbEQQWo

Palos get a grip breds. Leonson was borse!!!!!! .. Yuh hear meh!? Borse!!!!!!!

Big Mag give yuh a good concept to digest with Latas and Marcelle, which addresses false reasoning in rating a player by the club he geh to go to. Marcelle move up before Latas so Marcelle better? .... not necessarily. (No offense to Marcelle a man ah real erespect too). C'mon man. Allyuh please doh mess wit' established history please and stop dis reckless revisionist thinking.  ;D Nothing wrong with revisionist stuff eh .. but yuh gotta be careful and responsible wit' we heroes as li'l youts like Morvant, Small Mag and dem  ;D  reading dis ting.

Skills, athleticism, ball-at-your-feet skills, screening, fitness, power, speed, break away like Cornell Glen, single-mindedness, patriotism, goal scoring. Leonson had it all. A true winger who sored like a striker and tracking back fuh de full 90 minutes like real beas' eh.

If Leonson could go back in time and bring himself with his skills to today's market when T&T actually has name recognition for football, and we have real agents ang not back alley conmen who figure yuh cyah do better, he would geh a big contract easy peasy and make men like Highland look like joke.

By de way de fellah real fit even now!!! He eh easy.
Post by: sub1 on September 20, 2008, 01:39:45 PM

Not only them coaches maybe me too. In my opinion Leo was good but please dont try to take it further people. a good analogy for me is that if the top footballers that I have seen from the days of Gally to now were olympic sprinters Leo would have made the second rounds. He couldn't make the semis far less the finals. Good fast fit player, not much brain. If twinkle toes Brewster had his size and speed the record books might have been re-written.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 20, 2008, 01:57:52 PM
If Leonson was born in England..he would be ah big player and receive the same or even better accolades than Paul Ince, Luther Blissett. Leon was ah boss ...doe let anybody fool yuh...

But Palos know dat...he only mamaguying d forum....good thread....i cant think of ah better striker apart from the GREAT STERN JOHN.... ;D
Post by: sub1 on September 20, 2008, 02:00:58 PM
If Leonson was born in England..he would be ah big player and receive the same or even better accolades than Paul Ince, Luther Blissett. Leon was ah boss ...doe let anybody fool yuh...

But Palos know dat...he only mamaguying d forum....good thread....i cant think of ah better striker apart from the GREAT STERN JOHN.... ;D

Then you must be autistic.
Post by: weary1969 on September 20, 2008, 02:11:20 PM
Loved 2 c him play
Post by: lefty on September 20, 2008, 02:30:28 PM
unstoppable on the wings, skillful, graceful, aggressive when needed, a total package, don't have to many like him in TT anymore ...........sadly:(
Post by: vb on September 20, 2008, 03:00:11 PM
unstoppable on the wings, skillful, graceful, aggressive when needed, a total package, don't have to many like him in TT anymore ...........sadly:(

Doh have nobody like in TT right now.

Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 03:28:21 PM

Skills, athleticism, ball-at-your-feet skills, screening, fitness, power, speed, break away like Cornell Glen, single-mindedness, patriotism, goal scoring. Leonson had it all. A true winger who sored like a striker and tracking back fuh de full 90 minutes like real beas' eh.

If Leonson could go back in time and bring himself with his skills to today's market when T&T actually has name recognition for football, and we have real agents ang not back alley conmen who figure yuh cyah do better, he would geh a big contract easy peasy and make men like Highland look like joke.

Hmmm.....dis man soundin almost as good as Troy Marquis.  ;D
Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2008, 03:48:15 PM
Yes, Leo was dat good. He was de cause of me getting subbed at half-time in junior intercol. Nothing more needs to be said.
Post by: weary1969 on September 20, 2008, 03:58:29 PM
Well Tman dat seals it Leo was dat good
Post by: reggae-fan on September 20, 2008, 04:19:20 PM
I had the pleasure of watching both Leonson Lewis, Russel Latapy and another player called Micheal Rosales play in what was perhaps the Caribbean's only truely professional football club at the time Port Morant United (PMU). Lewis was a true striker, who was hands down the best player in the Jamaica league for the 3 or so seasons he played there. The PMU midfield was being marshalled at the time by Hug "Bingie" Blair, Russel Latapy, Wayne Palmer and former Jamaica stand out Alan "Skill" Cole (who to this day remains the caribbeans only player to have played professionally in the Brazil top flight)

In fact, Many Jamaicans who saw Latapy and Lewis play would quickly give Lewis the edge as the better player of the two.
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 04:21:43 PM
Yes, Leo was dat good. He was de cause of me getting subbed at half-time in junior intercol. Nothing more needs to be said.

De goalie get sub at half time?  WTF???  U mus be did really bad dat day boy Tallest!  ;D ;D
Post by: injunchile on September 20, 2008, 04:25:59 PM
Fellas it is a generational thing. Every generation would have us believe they were the best. I have been looking at football from the age of nine at the Grand Stand Grounds - Queens"s Park Savannah from the days of  The Glamour Boys. Malvern was my side but in all honesty I admired Corneal from Maple as well as Lincoln in Goal. Chalky Hamel Smith from Shamrock and a host of others. Leonson Lewis together with Sammy Llewelyn could have made any T&T team based on speed and the ability to take the ball from the half line  and run straight to goal and score. Kelvin Nancoo in the late 90"s and Raeburn from Fatima later on had that gift.
 In all honesty Carlos not in their league. Leonson Lewis is what you call Warrior- Helping the Defence and running at defence for 90 minutes. What I like about him was his passion for T&T- Blood- Sweat and Tears.
 Only Buggy Haynes can compare with his passion. Ask Coop's.
Post by: dinho on September 20, 2008, 04:43:52 PM
yep..he was really that good.

when the portuguese came to scout Latas in Jamaica, they said they'd take him only if they could get the #11. They were that impressed by him, that Latas move to Portugal at the time hinged on Leo going..as told by Leo in an interview. By the way, Leo in the same interview said he ddin't see himself in the same class as Latas..so lewwe set that record straight before man get tie up wit what I saying.

doh matter if you think the game against CPalace was a fete match. Real ballers get transfers to leagues after roughing up a club in a friendly. Plus they wanted him and his agent asked for way too much money. CPalace was a decent side then as well. wasn't the only time his agent kill a move to a higher league. Leo had to eventually fire the man.

If you never see the man play in his prime..nobody could convince you. BUt doh try and rate him by level of success he achieved abroad. De man is a Trini who had a shite agent who he eventually had to fire,and he was relatively old for team's to take a risk on when he started to come into his own as a striker. You really find Latas club career match his ability. Man like Christian Karembau who play for Real madrid for years and fellas like Fabio Rochenbach and Giovanni who was starters at Barca..dem men were better than Latas? The list is a long one. Club success hinges on a lot more than just ability and even performance.

When you from a small nation with no int'l pedigree, get notice relatively late and have poor management..well bredda..de man do reaal good to be one of the top strikers in Portugal in his prime. And he was only in the POrtuguese 2nd division one season longer than Latas.

And please doh compare the man to Jerren Nixon. Portuguese league much stronger than the Swiss..and Leo was far more accomplished at national level. Plus, he give us our only win ever against the US  ;D (ok..dat doh matter but i felt like squeezing it in there).

LEO was de man at one time. Real boss

good post filho..

lewwe kill this fete match talk one time.. Cristiano Ronaldo is at Manchester United right now because of his performance in a same 'fete match' against them..

this man is one of the reasons i fall in love with trinidad football.. He was an amazing talent, he really had the full package..

i had the honor of playing against him about 4 yrs ago in a fete match against strike squad and he real pepper meh goal but i pull off some big save.. prob the best game i ever keep in goal. but even at this age, he still have touches like dat..

yes, he was really that good!
Post by: Observer on September 20, 2008, 04:54:26 PM

lard!! ah sub get sub!  ;D
Post by: Big Magician on September 20, 2008, 05:46:07 PM
excuse me....he could head de ball also...ask el salvador

palos...Benfica, porto and sporting Lisbon ..das  forever portugal big 3... in we lifetime that wont change... you saying everbody else playing in the portugese 1st division is shithongs ??
is that the same for players in the EPL outside the big 4 in sunderland, Fulham etc ???
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 06:00:45 PM

palos...Benfica, porto and sporting Lisbon ..das  forever portugal big 3... in we lifetime that wont change... you saying everbody else playing in the portugese 1st division is shithongs ??
is that the same for players in the EPL outside the big 4 in sunderland, Fulham etc ???

Dey nearly on par wit Falkirk & St Johnstone dem so.

In a few years, somebody go post how Densil Theobald was de real deal, had grace, skill, could head de ball, power in both feet, captain T&T, dribble men at will, was de full package and coulda even wine on a plane to boot.  How he play professionally in Scotland and Hungary and even play in a World Cup too.  Actually, kiffysmooth might tell yuh dat all now.. ;D

So it go.
Post by: Big Magician on September 20, 2008, 06:01:59 PM
wine on a plane to boot.... nice one Palos
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2008, 06:08:57 PM

If Leo was THAT good, how come he didn't go to a top club like Porto for example?  The vast majority of his professional career was spent in the Portugese Second Division no?  No disrespeck but the Portugese Second Division is about equivalent in quality if not lesser dan de Scottish 1st Division.

Wheyyy Palos you real disappoint mih here fella. 

I haven't read all the posts in this thread so maybe someone might have mentioned this by now, but Tallman did an excellent interview with Leo in Miami a li'l while back...and this was answered.  I obviously can't attest to the truth of it, but Leo cited collusion between his agent and his club's management as the reason for limited opportunities elsewhere.

As he put it, bigger clubs, especially Newcastle were interested in him, but his club's management got with his agent (who was chummy with them) and inflated the asking price thereby discouraging the other teams from pursuing him.  In exchange for denying his client opportunities elsewhere, his agent received periodic kickbacks from the club.  So he rather cut off his own nose in order to spite he face of professional opportunities.
Post by: palos on September 20, 2008, 06:13:47 PM

Wheyyy Palos you real disappoint mih here fella. 

I haven't read all the posts in this thread so maybe someone might have mentioned this by now, but Tallman did an excellent interview with Leo in Miami a li'l while back...and this was answered.  I obviously can't attest to the truth of it, but Leo cited collusion between his agent and his club's management as the reason for limited opportunities elsewhere.

As he put it, bigger clubs, especially Newcastle were interested in him, but his club's management got with his agent (who was chummy with them) and inflated the asking price thereby discouraging the other teams from pursuing him.  In exchange for denying his client opportunities elsewhere, his agent received periodic kickbacks from the club.  So he rather cut off his own nose in order to spite he face of professional opportunities.

Thanks
Post by: vb on September 20, 2008, 06:18:13 PM

In a few years, somebody go post how Densil Theobald was de real deal, had grace, skill, could head de ball, power in both feet, captain T&T, dribble men at will, was de full package and coulda even wine on a plane to boot.  How he play professionally in Scotland and Hungary and even play in a World Cup too.  Actually, kiffysmooth might tell yuh dat all now.. ;D

So it go.

Boy de only ting worse than these pitiful attempts at attention, is the fact that some ppl actually taking you on.

Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2008, 06:19:34 PM

So it go.

Boy de only ting worse than these pitiful attempts at attention, is the fact that some ppl actually taking you on.

I juss coming to say dat I suspect is juss play he playing de ass  ;D
Post by: pass(10trini) on September 20, 2008, 07:49:43 PM
Fellas it is a generational thing. Every generation would have us believe they were the best. I have been looking at football from the age of nine at the Grand Stand Grounds - Queens"s Park Savannah from the days of  The Glamour Boys. Malvern was my side but in all honesty I admired Corneal from Maple as well as Lincoln in Goal. Chalky Hamel Smith from Shamrock and a host of others. Leonson Lewis together with Sammy Llewelyn could have made any T&T team based on speed and the ability to take the ball from the half line  and run straight to goal and score. Kelvin Nancoo in the late 90"s and Raeburn from Fatima later on had that gift.
 In all honesty Carlos not in their league. Leonson Lewis is what you call Warrior- Helping the Defence and running at defence for 90 minutes. What I like about him was his passion for T&T- Blood- Sweat and Tears.

Coop's you answer dem nice. I could not have said it better(I not from your time though) ;D

Boss Boss Boss player, striker. I was a real Leo fanatic so doh start meh Palos.
Post by: Filho on September 20, 2008, 08:24:19 PM
palos. time to face the music. yuh ask de question and the answer was a resounding 'YES'

if this was a poll, it woulda be lopsided.

when yuh realize yuh eh get the answer yuh want to hear, yuh say mankind not in touch wid reality, but somehow you know de real deal. ruuuyyyt  :devil:

as for all those who say is a generational thing..of course it is. it always is. from de stefano to kaka is a generational thing.

but i have to thank yuh boy palos....this Leo thread make me happy. My faith in the T&T football watching public has been restored  :beermug:
Post by: Anbrat on September 20, 2008, 08:28:16 PM
Putting aside the generational ting, we have to give Jack he jacket. Leonson Lewis was a class act. Exciting to watch! Always a threat, athletic, skilful and speedy. Definitely a stand out!
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2008, 09:06:15 PM

Coop's you answer dem nice. I could not have said it better(I not from your time though) ;D

Boss Boss Boss player, striker. I was a real Leo fanatic so doh start meh Palos.

You fall asleep on yuh keyboard or what?
Post by: elan on September 20, 2008, 11:37:24 PM
Leonson was good but no way he in the region of Yorke. Man United and Chelsea was interested in me one time too, but my agent get greedy and I suck salt  ;D  . How come Aston Villa made sure they got Yorke and they really came to look at someone else? I does wonder about men on this forum sometimes, a man post a video of LL scoring aginst Barbados yes and using that as argument.

he score against Crystal Palace and we use that to compare him to Yorke who buss up the net against all them big clubs in Europe. The agent mess up one transfer, two transfers, you will retain him to mess up the third one? I am a big fane of leonson Lewis, but we getting carried away. 
Post by: Bakes on September 21, 2008, 01:38:48 AM
Leonson was good but no way he in the region of Yorke. Man United and Chelsea was interested in me one time too, but my agent get greedy and I suck salt  ;D  . How come Aston Villa made sure they got Yorke and they really came to look at someone else? I does wonder about men on this forum sometimes, a man post a video of LL scoring aginst Barbados yes and using that as argument.

he score against Crystal Palace and we use that to compare him to Yorke who buss up the net against all them big clubs in Europe. The agent mess up one transfer, two transfers, you will retain him to mess up the third one? I am a big fane of leonson Lewis, but we getting carried away. 

If a team comes and offers a $250,000 contract... the agent sees 3-5% of that, roughly $15,000 max on that contract.  Let's say the contract is for 5 yrs...for the incumbent club to keep the player they'd have to match or beat that price... obligating them to pay the player $50,000 per year for the duration of the contract. Now if they're in collusion with the agent they can give him $30k, and have him sign the player for $200,000... or $40k per year.  The total they'd pay on that contract is $200k + $30k= $230,000, a savings of $20,000. 

The player trusts his agent and so leaves all the negotiations to him.  He has no idea what was being offered by the competing club (20 yrs ago transfer fees and such was hardly ever reported in the papers, let alone for smaller name players)...all of that info went thru the agent.  Especially if you have a young naive caribbean yute dealing with these sharks in Europe.  So check the figures... club re-signs the player for $200K... the agent gets his typical 3-5% commission... PLUS the $30k the club gave him.  So whereas on the open market he could get a bigger contract for the player, but by colluding with the club instead of $15,000 commission, he gets $40,000 in commission and kickback.

In case you don't know it, the world is rife with crooked agents (just google the name Tank Black for starters).  So before you start laughing and dismissing the talk as exaggeration, think ah little bit about what it is you read.  Then again, I wasn't there and only regurgitating what Leonsen Lewis himself said.  For all we know he could be lying, right?
Post by: Ngozi on September 21, 2008, 06:53:35 AM

Not only them coaches maybe me too. In my opinion Leo was good but please dont try to take it further people. a good analogy for me is that if the top footballers that I have seen from the days of Gally to now were olympic sprinters Leo would have made the second rounds. He couldn't make the semis far less the finals. Good fast fit player, not much brain. If twinkle toes Brewster had his size and speed the record books might have been re-written.

I've seen smarter players yorke, latas, nixon but note I'm maintaining athleticism and speed and he isn't as dumb a player as you think and he was def going past the second rounds
Post by: Filho on September 21, 2008, 07:43:47 AM

cuz the coach liked Yorke better from what he saw. noone denying Yorke is a seeerious BORSE. that doh mean Yorke was a different level. Yorke was more of what Ron Atkinson was looking for. Aston Villa didn't take Latas..what does that mean? Plus Yorke was a teenager. Bringing in a coachable youth will always be a more attractive proposition, all other things being equal. And doh be a clown. With everything being said, you take away that people using goals against C Palace to compare him to Yorke..big steeups. That is just one highlight in a great career.

In any case..people hadda realize that Yorke, Latas, Leo and Marcelle were trailblazers. No Trinis before excelled like them in any of Europe's top leagues. Things real different now where every man jack getting a trial with ah EPL club. the networking with clubs in Europe infinitely better now. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in particular did it the reaaaal hard way. Big up them three. Not that it was a walk in the park for Yorke. BUt with Yorke, they signed potential. Much harder to get signed when you are already considered the finished article. And in them days..teams taking 3 foreign players..fullstop. None of this 3 non-Euro players. So breds...some of allyuh jess doh get it. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in the Portuguese 1st division is near miraculous.

respeck :beermug:
Post by: Observer on September 21, 2008, 08:02:12 AM
Good Pro. Served the country well. Filled many with memories to talk about. Lets move on.
Post by: kicker on September 21, 2008, 08:52:24 AM
Good Pro. Served the country well. Filled many with memories to talk about. Lets move on.

Best post in the thread.
Post by: Ngozi on September 21, 2008, 11:28:35 AM

So it go.

Saddist anybody with a footballing brain will NEVER say that about Densil Theobald  allyuh does always upset my day when allyuh talk about this man ..... how is this man on my national team ... how is this possible have we really fallen so far .... In a discussion about Leo  ...densil name should never prop up ..or even peek out
Post by: kicker on September 21, 2008, 11:40:37 AM
Saddist anybody with a footballing brain will NEVER say that about Densil Theobald  allyuh does always upset my day when allyuh talk about this man ..... how is this man on my national team ... how is this possible have we really fallen so far .... In a discussion about Leo  ...densil name should never prop up ..or even peek out

Oh gaawwd boy Ngozi, because I rate Observer post as the best post of the thread, you hadda come and make a besss post too? .... ;D ;D

Big post breds

Ah give yuh some respect here:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=20761.210

cheers  :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 21, 2008, 11:44:35 AM

So it go.

Doh mean to hijack this thread eh, but oh gosh, ah cyar agree more, ah really feel he have some incriminaating photos of the powers that be (as someone said before) a la "Bank Job", absolutely unbelieveable
Post by: sub1 on September 21, 2008, 12:17:59 PM
I had the pleasure of watching both Leonson Lewis, Russel Latapy and another player called Micheal Rosales play in what was perhaps the Caribbean's only truely professional football club at the time Port Morant United (PMU). Lewis was a true striker, who was hands down the best player in the Jamaica league for the 3 or so seasons he played there. The PMU midfield was being marshalled at the time by Hug "Bingie" Blair, Russel Latapy, Wayne Palmer and former Jamaica stand out Alan "Skill" Cole (who to this day remains the caribbeans only player to have played professionally in the Brazil top flight)

In fact, Many Jamaicans who saw Latapy and Lewis play would quickly give Lewis the edge as the better player of the two.

Not surprising at all. Many Jamaicans also say that Boyd was good and Fuller too. One Jamaican even say that Tappa was the best midfielder in the caribbean and many have said that Gayle and Hinds were better than Lara. So this is not surprising given the Jamaican's penchant for bestowing greatness on the quite ordinary. You have to realise RF that you all are nothing more than football neophytes. As such even Telesford would have been considered great back then.
Post by: Ngozi on September 21, 2008, 02:07:26 PM

Oh gaawwd boy Ngozi, because I rate Observer post as the best post of the thread, you hadda come and make a besss post too? .... ;D ;D

Big post breds

Ah give yuh some respect here:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=20761.210

cheers  :beermug:

lol oh lawd
Post by: elan on September 21, 2008, 07:32:10 PM

cuz the coach liked Yorke better from what he saw. noone denying Yorke is a seeerious BORSE. that doh mean Yorke was a different level. Yorke was more of what Ron Atkinson was looking for. Aston Villa didn't take Latas..what does that mean? Plus Yorke was a teenager. Bringing in a coachable youth will always be a more attractive proposition, all other things being equal. And doh be a clown. With everything being said, you take away that people using goals against C Palace to compare him to Yorke..big steeups. That is just one highlight in a great career.

In any case..people hadda realize that Yorke, Latas, Leo and Marcelle were trailblazers. No Trinis before excelled like them in any of Europe's top leagues. Things real different now where every man jack getting a trial with ah EPL club. the networking with clubs in Europe infinitely better now. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in particular did it the reaaaal hard way. Big up them three. Not that it was a walk in the park for Yorke. BUt with Yorke, they signed potential. Much harder to get signed when you are already considered the finished article. And in them days..teams taking 3 foreign players..fullstop. None of this 3 non-Euro players. So breds...some of allyuh jess doh get it. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in the Portuguese 1st division is near miraculous.

Filho, not to throw the thread off, but didn't they come to see some guy from Tobago name Collin or Colvin or something like that? I think I read this on this board sometime ago.
Post by: Filho on September 21, 2008, 09:03:12 PM

Filho, not to throw the thread off, but didn't they come to see some guy from Tobago name Collin or Colvin or something like that? I think I read this on this board sometime ago.

not sure if they came to see Colvin Hutchinson, but they took him with Yorke for trials, but pretty much knew they didn't want him. He was brought so Yorke would know someone and be more relaxed at trials.

i wasn't insinuating that they came to look at Latas'..the question was asked why Yorke and not Leo if Leo was soo good. So I just said..why Yorke and not Latas..since the general view is that Latas is as talented if not moreso than Yorke
Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 21, 2008, 10:17:09 PM
they took both yorke and colvin hutchinson to england...but even though both did well in trials..they gave yorke a contract because they felt he was young and could be molded into a top class player...as for colvin...they felt he was too old and they already had enough players his age around so it was a hard luck scene for he...
Post by: fishs on September 22, 2008, 12:04:00 AM
they took both yorke and colvin hutchinson to england...but even though both did well in trials..they gave yorke a contract because they felt he was young and could be molded into a top class player...as for colvin...they felt he was too old and they already had enough players his age around so it was a hard luck scene for he...

See Yorke in intercol final against SanJuan knew he was destined for greatness.
Leonson Lewis was great on the wing for us but if you ever saw Steve David most people here might change their minds.
Post by: KND2 on September 22, 2008, 11:36:51 AM
He leonson was really good he would have cross in a ball on Nov the 19th instead of constantly running straight outside with the ball.

He had some good talent

speed with and without the ball

good goals for a midfielder but he lacked technical skill to deliver a good cross.

With some beeter youth coaching he would have been a complete player.

The physiscal aspect is there but the technical execution was lacking as in the example above.
Post by: elan on September 22, 2008, 11:43:44 AM

Hmmm.....dis man soundin almost as good as Troy Marquis.  ;D

So we talking C. Ronaldo comparison here then?
Post by: Deeks on September 22, 2008, 03:28:57 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!
Post by: kicker on September 22, 2008, 04:25:37 PM
He leonson was really good he would have cross in a ball on Nov the 19th instead of constantly running straight outside with the ball.

He had some good talent

speed with and without the ball

good goals for a midfielder but he lacked technical skill to deliver a good cross.

With some beeter youth coaching he would have been a complete player.

The physiscal aspect is there but the technical execution was lacking as in the example above.

Aye when yuh post from yuh phone yuh must proof read breds....  ;D T9 technology doesn't always select the right words...  Secondly if you judging Leo based on Nov 19th, then yuh shortchanging the man because his career lasted way beyond that date....
Post by: palos on September 22, 2008, 04:44:13 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

What wrong wit Elan question?  Wit all de superlatives dished out to Leo on dis thread, dat is a very valid question no?
Post by: Ngozi on September 22, 2008, 05:45:15 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

What wrong wit Elan question?  Wit all de superlatives dished out to Leo on dis thread, dat is a very valid question no?

Nah not really two different types of wingers ............  Ronaldo for one wasnt as fast as Leo but he definitely more skilfull ...... Ronaldo wing play is based on trickery leo is based on pure pace ....ronaldo has to be compared to similar type players like quaresma, figo, nani etc ...ps pure coincidence that the players called are all portuguese but i guess thats the factory that producing them
Post by: kicker on September 22, 2008, 06:28:07 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Nah not really two different types of wingers ............  Ronaldo for one wasnt as fast as Leo but he definitely more skilfull ...... Ronaldo wing play is based on trickery leo is based on pure pace ....ronaldo has to be compared to similar type players like quaresma, figo, nani etc ...ps pure coincidence that the players called are all portuguese but i guess thats the factory that producing them

I eh know boy Ngozi....CR have real toes...
Post by: palos on September 22, 2008, 06:38:28 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leh we say you right (I doh agree BTW), the comparison I think Elan makin is that a player who is considered to be a specialist winger, scorin goals regularly.  Not they type of winger they were (pace versus skill).  Would that be a fair comparison in your opinion?

Was Leonson Lewis "Cristiano Ronaldo" (in terms of a winger regularly scoring goals) before Cristiano Ronaldo came along?
Post by: Ngozi on September 22, 2008, 07:44:50 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leh we say you right (I doh agree BTW), the comparison I think Elan makin is that a player who is considered to be a specialist winger, scorin goals regularly.  Not they type of winger they were (pace versus skill).  Would that be a fair comparison in your opinion?

Was Leonson Lewis "Cristiano Ronaldo" (in terms of a winger regularly scoring goals) before Cristiano Ronaldo came along?

leo score alot of goals but 42 goals for one season is in a class of its own so  I'd have to say no
Post by: Deeks on September 22, 2008, 08:31:07 PM
Leonson played left wing. Then I will compare with Alvin, Archie, Leo Brewster and Jerron Nixon.
Post by: jai john on September 22, 2008, 08:43:30 PM
Palos without reading the replies on dis thread I go say you really have time on yuh hands man !!! those of us who here long know you is ah Leonsen lewis fan so wha yuh trying ? Yuh forget some ah de tings yuh was arguing bout Lou. Lou is meh pardner and I eh have nothing bad to say bout him ...you is meh pardner too ...on dis forum ...so I eh go say no more !
Post by: Deeks on September 22, 2008, 09:34:55 PM
I will even put meh pardner Mike Grayson in that comparison.
Post by: elan on September 23, 2008, 10:29:06 AM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Look at my previous post and what I qoute. The descrition of LL sound very muchlike C. Ronaldo, fast, skillful, strong, scores goals like a striker, etc. This is how we does describe C.Ronaldo.

BTW Naini has to be compared to Ronaldo, not the other way around.
Post by: Filho on September 23, 2008, 11:38:42 AM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leo played the early part of his career as a winger. But soon after the Strike Squad campaign he was converted into a center forward for both country and club. Most of Leo's greatest years was as T&T's point man leading the line. How allyuh go fforget that. The Shell Cup right here in T&T when he top score..is center forwad he play. The Gold Cup when he scoer the bike against the US and then follow that up with a goal against CR (almost ahd two as he catch the keeper ofde line and shot from almost the center circle. Hit the crossbar and St Louis finish the rebound for a 2-0 win). Allyuh really forget that. Leo was a centerforward for a long time. As a winger he didn't have that many goals for T&T. Come nah man..somebody please tell meh they remember that. When we beat the US 1-0 in the Nov 19 anniversary in the HC..tell me..where he play when we score. You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.
Post by: FF on September 23, 2008, 11:48:37 AM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leo played the early part of his career as a winger. But soon after the Strike Squad campaign he was converted into a center forward for both country and club. Most of Leo's greatest years was as T&T's point man leading the line. How allyuh go fforget that. The Shell Cup right here in T&T when he top score..is center forwad he play. The Gold Cup when he scoer the bike against the US and then follow that up with a goal against CR (almost ahd two as he catch the keeper ofde line and shot from almost the center circle. Hit the crossbar and St Louis finish the rebound for a 2-0 win). Allyuh really forget that. Leo was a centerforward for a long time. As a winger he didn't have that many goals for T&T. Come nah man..somebody please tell meh they remember that. When we beat the US 1-0 in the Nov 19 anniversary in the HC..tell me..where he play when we score. You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.

Tell dem Filho...

Also de Norway game where everybody remember Latapy ripping up... it was really de Leonson-Latapy combo mash dem up...

Leonson up top ... Latapy creating behind him... remember de slick one two between dem that send through Latas for de equalizer!
Post by: kicker on September 23, 2008, 11:51:20 AM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Tell dem Filho...

Also de Norway game where everybody remember Latapy ripping up... it was really de Leonson-Latapy combo mash dem up...

Leonson up top ... Latapy creating behind him... remember de slick one two between dem that send through Latas for de equalizer!

Except that St Louis didn't score the rebound off Leo's half line shot...it was Alvin Thomas  ;D
Post by: Filho on September 23, 2008, 12:02:30 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Tell dem Filho...

Except that St Louis didn't score the rebound off Leo's half line shot...it was Alvin Thomas  ;D

skinny foot..brown skin...big fro'....dey look alike on the field..until St. Louis fro went clear ;D

Post by: Filho on September 23, 2008, 12:06:57 PM
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Tell dem Filho...

FF..I am one of the hugest Leo fans but I never saw that game (tears) and cyah remember the highlights other than Latas scoring.

Hear nah...I done make men out long time. Most of the people who eh rating the man talking about his deficiencies as a winger. I start to realize they missing half de story if they eh realize what a killa de man was up top. Doh mind I was a huge fan when he was a specialist winger too eh
Post by: palos on September 23, 2008, 12:59:44 PM
You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.

How does that prove that he wasn't playing left wing?  ???
Post by: Filho on September 23, 2008, 03:09:33 PM
You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.

How does that prove that he wasn't playing left wing?  ???

who said it proves anything..I citing games he scored in hoping people have memory. i know he was playing as a striker cuz I was dey. How any of the games or goals I mention prove what position he was playing? steeups..you eh see you jess wasting people time  ;D
Title: Leonson enjoying new role
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2010, 08:09:13 AM
Leonson enjoying new role
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Leonson Lewis, one of the lethal attacking players of this country’s 1990 Road to Italy campaign, is now the technical director of the Naparima College football team and describes his current post “as the best job in the world.” Lewis played professionally in Portugal from 1990 to 2002 scoring 82 goals before returning to W Connection where he has been in charge of the club’s Under-14 and Under-16 teams. “Coaching has its ups and downs but when things go right you feel very proud and that’s how I feel at the moment. I think my job is the best in the world because of how much I enjoy it. “I prefer to work with the youths because they grasp things better and are willing to learn all the time and it’s easier to change the bad habits than that of an older player,” said Lewis who netted 21 goals in 30 official appearances for T&T.

“I want to thank principal Michael Dowlat for the opportunity. It’s all about trying to help the school and my coaching is about trying to get players on national teams, local professional teams and also opportunities abroad,” added the man who struck a beavertrick against English side Crystal Palace in Port-of-Spain. Looking back at his transition from player to coach,  the ex-Naparima College player said, “At first it was difficult because you still feel the urge to play but yet your legs don’t allow you. Over the past three years, I’ve become comfortable and fallen into my own style. “I have to thank Stuart Charles Fevrier also for teaching me everything from breaking down a team to how to coach a team in every department. He really put the blueprint on what I should do as a coach.” “Naps” have won the national Intercol crown on six occasions (1973, ’76, ’77, ’99, 2000 and 2007). They won their 11th BG Trinidad and Tobago South Zone League title and their 14th South Zone Coca Cola Intercol title in the 2010 season.

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/leonson.jpg)
Title: Leonson thinks U-17s have good qualifying chance.
Post by: Flex on March 21, 2013, 05:58:13 AM
Leonson thinks U-17s have good qualifying chance.
By Shaun Fuentes.

Former T&T winger Leonson Lewis is expecting the national Under-17 men’s team to perform creditably at the upcoming Concacaf final round of U-17 World Cup qualifiers in Panama City and is optimistic of T&T sneaking into the semifinal round.

If T&T can progress beyond the opening three-team group phase and then win its quarterfinal clash, it will be among the four countries from Concacaf appearing at the 2013 Fifa U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. T&T faces Canada on April 6 and Costa Rica two days later. The top two teams advance to the quarterfinals.

Lewis is one of the assistant coaches on the U-17 team alongside fellow assistant Terrance Marcelle. Shawn Cooper is the head coach.

Lewis has been working with the team for several months and is one of the local coaches who have been part of the TTFF Coach Education Programmes overseen by technical director Anton Corneal and his group of local coach instructors.

Lewis says on a daily basis he tries to pass on his knowledge and experience as a player for the national team to upcoming ones.

Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-youth-team/youth-team-news/mens-u17/12296-leonson-thinks-u-17s-have-good-qualifying-chance.html)

Title: Re: Leonson Lewis Thread
Post by: Flex on January 21, 2016, 02:49:08 AM
Exclusive Interview with Leonson Lewis.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former national team winger Leonson Lewis has given credit to the Secondary Schools Football League for helping shape his career from his early teenage days as a player.

Lewis was a standout with Naparima College and San Fernando Technical Institute but recalls how he first entered St Benedict’s College before transferring to “Naps”. At that time in the early 80s he played for the “Naps team that was managed by David John-Williams, the current President of the TTFA. Lewis was among players honoured by the League last Saturday as one of the top players of the 1990s alongside the likes of Russell Latapy, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke, Marvin Faustin, Hutson Charles, Anthony Sherwood, Shawn Boney, Marvin Oliver, Wesley Webb, Angus Eve, David Nakhid, Garth Pollonais, Timothy Haynes, Clint Marcelle and Neil Williams

“It means a lot for me to be recognised because I came from an era where there a lot of great players. Not everyone could be chosen but it had players like Todd Willis, Andrew Ali as a goalkeeper, Russell Sutton and so many others. There were so many good players, so that to recognized as one of the best players is a huge honour.

“I think it would be with San Fernando Tech where I had my best memories because we won everything that year. We only draw one game with Shaka Hislop and the St Mary’s College and they got on like they had won the World Cup,” Lewis laughed.

“For Naparima College, it was the time that really built me as a player. I remember one game when we had beaten ‘Tech’ with all their stars as one of the top moments. This period in Secondary Schools really shaped my career. This was where it all started. I had a lot of friends in St Benedict’s before I transferred but then I had a lot of fans when I went to Naps. At Naps is when I made up my mind that I wanted to be a professional footballer,” Lewis added.

“David John Williams was my manager when I was at Naparima College. He did whatever we needed in the team and it’s funny that now he is the President of the TTFA. I know he will focus a lot on youth development and he means well for the development of the game locally.”

Post by: vb on January 21, 2016, 03:45:59 PM
Exclusive Interview with Leonson Lewis.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former national team winger Leonson Lewis has given credit to the Secondary Schools Football League for helping shape his career from his early teenage days as a player.

Lewis was a standout with Naparima College and San Fernando Technical Institute but recalls how he first entered St Benedict’s College before transferring to “Naps”. At that time in the early 80s he played for the “Naps team that was managed by David John-Williams, the current President of the TTFA. Lewis was among players honoured by the League last Saturday as one of the top players of the 1990s alongside the likes of Russell Latapy, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke, Marvin Faustin, Hutson Charles, Anthony Sherwood, Shawn Boney, Marvin Oliver, Wesley Webb, Angus Eve, David Nakhid, Garth Pollonais, Timothy Haynes, Clint Marcelle and Neil Williams

That should be the 1980s.
Post by: Flex on September 22, 2017, 01:43:11 AM
Benedict’s shuffle staff; “Coachman” Leonson set to lose post after three straight defeats.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) Elite Youth Development coach Leonson Lewis looks set to be the first Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) Premier Division head coach to lose his job, just three games into the 2017 season, as St Benedict’s College try to recover from a woeful start to the new campaign.

Lewis, a former Strike Squad star and Portugal-based striker, was offered a three-year contract from St Benedict’s in 2016 only for the La Romaine-based school to spend much of the term flirting with relegation while the new boss raised eyebrows with a public warning against players calling him “Coachman”.

Benedict’s avoided relegation with at least a game to spare in the end but a poor start to the 2017 season apparently further eroded confidence in Lewis’ ability to lead the proud southern institution towards the top end of the standings.

Benedict’s lost all three games in 2017 and trailed St Augustine Secondary 3-0 at halftime on the weekend before a late rally salvaged some pride—but no points—as they eventually succumbed 4-2.

St Benedict’s team manager Ravi Ramgoolam was tight-lipped as to who will run the school’s technical area on Wednesday evening, when they face St Mary’s College at Serpentine Road in St Clair. Assistant coach Nolan Bernard also refused to confirm or deny whether he is set take the reins on an interim basis.

However, Ramgoolam did admit that there will be a change.

“[Lewis] is still a part of the coaching staff,” Ramgoolam told Wired868, “[but] one of the assistant coaches will [run the bench].”

Despite the impending technical staff shuffle, the St Benedict’s manager suggested that their poor returns this season—which sees the squad at the bottom of the standings—was down to bad luck.

“Pre-season didn’t go too badly and I think we just need a little luck this season,” said Ramgoolam. “The boys have showed the fighting spirit and the drive to do well. I know the team is willing to work and they are well meshed. But you have to have to a little bit of luck.”

Whether Benedict’s will find that good fortune against a St Mary’s team that is second from bottom in the standings but playing its first home game of the season is another story.

The “Saints” have played just twice so far this year—their first fixture against St Augustine was postponed due to bad weather—and managed a high scoring draw against San Juan North before being thumped 4-1 by Presentation College (San Fernando) last weekend.

If Benedict’s win tomorrow, they could potentially climb as high as 13th in the 16-team standings while St Mary’s would go dead last. And it might be CIC coach Ryan Shim who would end up looking over his shoulder.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 15, 2018, 05:59:21 PM
WATCH Highlights of Felgueiras vs FC Porto. Goals by Russell Latapy (Porto) and Leonson Lewis (Felgueiras) to earn a 1-1 draw for their respective teams on Matchday 5 of the Portuguese Primeira Divisão, 1995-96 season.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Pn0BSGdQgYk
Post by: asylumseeker on March 16, 2018, 05:30:37 AM
Are there other instances of T&T players scoring for opposing teams during a match in a foreign league?
Post by: Deeks on March 16, 2018, 04:26:32 PM
Probably in the old NASL. We go have to look it up.
Post by: Tallman on October 18, 2019, 04:18:53 PM
WATCH: Former Trinidad and Tobago and Portuguese-based forward Leonson Lewis talks about his playing time for country and clubs. He talks about his early period dealing with racism for the first time with Academica in Portugal alongside the "Little Magician" Russell Latapy.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZZGxqNtLXlM
Post by: Tallman on October 21, 2019, 07:07:48 PM
WATCH: TTFA Media Officer Shaun Fuentes chats with former Trinidad and Tobago forward Leonson Lewis ahead of the 30th anniversary of November 19th 1989 to discuss among other things, the '89 experience where he goes into detail about the campaign and the fateful November 19th 1989, his playing days from Mon Repos to Portugal, and his thoughts about T&T's footballing future.

https://www.youtube.com/v/WdE5-ioYseU
Post by: Sando prince on October 21, 2019, 08:48:19 PM

^^ Very good discussion. I hope our youth footballers will see that interview. I first saw it posted on Team T&T https://tinyurl.com/y4ad29xv
Post by: pull stones on October 22, 2019, 01:16:27 AM
at minute 4.14 the attacker was fouled in the box but the nincompoop decided to jump right up :yellowcard:. what kind of idiots was coaching this team, that was a clear penalty if he had stayed down and play dead like those spanish speaking players. ok then on to the present.