General => General Discussion => Topic started by: D.H.W on September 23, 2008, 08:25:13 PM

Title: Google's Android unveiled
Post by: D.H.W on September 23, 2008, 08:25:13 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7630888.stm

Google's Android mobile unveiled

(http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.engadget.com/media/2008/09/g1.jpg)
The T-Mobile G1 is the first phone to use Android

Specs http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_g1-2533.php

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/7632395.stm <---- video link

The T-Mobile G1 handset will be available in the UK in time for Christmas.

The first device to run the search giant's operating system will feature a touch screen as well as a Qwerty keyboard.

It will be available for free on T-Mobile tariffs of over £40 a month and includes unlimited net browsing.

Other features include a three megapixel camera, a 'one click' contextual search and a browser that users can zoom in on by tapping the screen.

The handset will be wi-fi and 3G enabled and has built-in support for YouTube.

Users will also have access the so-called Android Market, where they will be able to download a variety of applications.

Prototypes

Google announced its plans for the Android phone software in November 2007 with a declared aim of making it easier to get at the web while on the move.

To help develop Android, Google also unveiled the Open Handset Alliance - a partnership of more than 30 firms that would work to make phone software easier to work with.

The group includes operators such as Telefonica, handset makers such as HTC and Motorola as well as chip makers such as Intel and Qualcomm.

Many of the partners demonstrated early prototype Android phones at the Mobile World Congress held in Barcelona in mid-February.

The idea behind Android is to do for phone software what the open source Linux software has done for PCs. Developers of phone software can get at most of the core elements of the Android software to help them write better applications.

Smartphones

However, in launching Android, Google faces stiff competition from established players such as Nokia with its Symbian software and Microsoft with its Mobile operating system.

More recently Apple has been gaining customers with its much hyped iPhone.

The Android software is squarely aimed at the smartphone segment of the handset market which adds sophisticated functions to the basic calling and texting capabilities of most phones.

Current estimates suggest that only 12-13% of the all handsets can be considered smartphones.

IMAGES

(http://img.gsmarena.com/vv/pics/htc/t-mobile-g1-1.jpg)

(http://img.gsmarena.com/vv/pics/htc/t-mobile-g1-4.jpg)

(http://img.gsmarena.com/vv/pics/htc/t-mobile-g1-2.jpg)

(http://img.gsmarena.com/vv/pics/htc/t-mobile-g1-3.jpg)
Title: Google Android Technology
Post by: Bakes on September 23, 2008, 08:27:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOSk9TW7z-4

...exciting stuff.  T-mobile just launched their G1 phone (http://www.t-mobileg1.com/?WT.mc_t=OnsiteAd&WT.mc_n=G1PreRegProspect_home1) today as Android makes its debut.

I'll probably wait until better models come out before upgrading... I have the Dash 14 months now, I could wait another year before getting a new phone.
Title: Re: Google Android Technology
Post by: D.H.W on September 23, 2008, 08:29:45 PM
lol i just post the same thing  :D we both exited
Title: Re: Google Android Technology
Post by: Bakes on September 23, 2008, 09:33:48 PM
Lol...yours was just before mine too, and ah make sure and scan tuh see if anybody had posted it enuh, lol.  Hopefully the mods will merge.
Title: Re: Google's Android mobile unveiled (Made by HTC)
Post by: Jah Gol on September 24, 2008, 08:01:16 AM
Can Android run on the Iphone hardware ?
Post by: D.H.W on September 24, 2008, 09:00:11 AM

i think so its open source seeing its just an OS, i saw someone talking about it

http://hackinthebox.org/index.php?name=News&file=article&sid=28327
Post by: D.H.W on September 24, 2008, 11:06:51 AM
check out sony ericsson's new beast Sony Ericsson Xperia X1

http://www.theunwired.net/?item=videoview-hands-on-with-sony-ericsson-s-latest-xperia-x1-built

Post by: Bakes on September 24, 2008, 11:53:48 AM

Yeah it's supposed to be open source as Die Hard posted... you should be able to run it on any mobile device.
Post by: Jah Gol on September 24, 2008, 01:21:08 PM
In that case you be able to get around all the silly restrictions apple put on the iphone.

I have a Motorola a1200
Apparently this guy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWi2y5o2Bgs) got Android to work on it

I won't try it until I have a replacement.
Post by: elan on September 24, 2008, 09:07:46 PM
http://www.phonemag.com/htc-dream-phone-031838.php (http://www.phonemag.com/htc-dream-phone-031838.php)
Post by: Bakes on September 25, 2008, 12:53:42 AM
In that case you be able to get around all the silly restrictions apple put on the iphone.

I have a Motorola a1200
Apparently this guy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWi2y5o2Bgs) got Android to work on it

That is too facking cool.... :o
Post by: TriniCana on September 25, 2008, 05:18:08 PM

I have a Motorola a1200

Jah I'm in the market for a new phone. I had my eyes on the a1200 but found out that there's a a1600 hanging somewhere in China. Not sure if they deciding to bring it to North America yet. I love my flip phones plus stylus pen (cyah live without them). So Jah tell me how you find the 1200 working for you ? I currently have a Motorola a288. Old faithful as I call it, but it's time to give it up.

Give me the pros and cons about a1200 from your prespective please Jah??

DieHard if only that was a flip phone boy.....steupse :(
Post by: Jah Gol on September 25, 2008, 05:49:43 PM

I have a Motorola a1200

Jah I'm in the market for a new phone. I had my eyes on the a1200 but found out that there's a a1600 hanging somewhere in China. Not sure if they deciding to bring it to North America yet. I love my flip phones plus stylus pen (cyah live without them). So Jah tell me how you find the 1200 working for you ? I currently have a Motorola a288. Old faithful as I call it, but it's time to give it up.

I love the a1200. Even though it was released since 2006 it still cool. I can't go back to a regular keypad phone. The interface is good , very responsive and the phone itself works fast unlike some other touchscreen phones. You get decent 2.0 mp (1600x1200 pixel) camera without a flash. There is a  voice and video recorder ( decent quality) for a cheap phone too.

As phone I have few problems. I have bars when a lot other phones have "emergency only". The speaker phone is good too.

If you like to customise the look of the phone there are lots of options online. There are endless skins available. I flashed my phone and added some stuff to it too. I've never installed programs easier on a phone. Java files are  ridiculously easy to install. One program I would recommend is Opera mini browser, which  is a full html browser. If you're on the Digicel network the GPRS works almost automatically. On the Bmobile you have to do a little configuring.

One drawback some people talk about is the texting which utilizes an on-screen keyboard or handwriting. Some people say it is too hard to use. I disagree. Even the handwriting works well and I never won any awards for penmanship in school.

I am disappointed that it doesn't have WIFI. nb WIFI is included in the a1600

I want to get the Iphone in a few months but if the a1200 is anything to go by I think its successor (a1600) will be a good bet as well.
Post by: TriniCana on September 25, 2008, 06:11:53 PM
thanks luv

if it's one thing i don't have the patience for is texting with ya thumbs.
this is why i'm quite happy with my stylus pen and on screen keyboard.

i'll wait for the a1600. my old faithful a388 was before a1200 i believe and still going strong.

Post by: D.H.W on September 25, 2008, 06:33:33 PM

I have a Motorola a1200

:rotfl: doh worry im sure someone might make your beloved flip soon  :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on September 25, 2008, 06:46:46 PM

I have a Motorola a1200

I love the a1200. Even though it was released since 2006 it still cool. I can't go back to a regular keypad phone. The interface is good , very responsive and the phone itself works fast unlike some other touchscreen phones. You get decent 2.0 mp (1600x1200 pixel) camera without a flash. There is a  voice and video recorder ( decent quality) for a cheap phone too.

As phone I have few problems. I have bars when a lot other phones have "emergency only". The speaker phone is good too.

If you like to customise the look of the phone there are lots of options online. There are endless skins available. I flashed my phone and added some stuff to it too. I've never installed programs easier on a phone. Java files are  ridiculously easy to install. One program I would recommend is Opera mini browser, which  is a full html browser. If you're on the Digicel network the GPRS works almost automatically. On the Bmobile you have to do a little configuring.

One drawback some people talk about is the texting which utilizes an on-screen keyboard or handwriting. Some people say it is too hard to use. I disagree. Even the handwriting works well and I never won any awards for penmanship in school.

I am disappointed that it doesn't have WIFI. nb WIFI is included in the a1600

I want to get the Iphone in a few months but if the a1200 is anything to go by I think its successor (a1600) will be a good bet as well.

dread you know how to get bmobile GPRS to work. i does use opera mini on my digicel but i cah get it to work on bmobile

this go be my next baby when i get some cash  ;) alyuh stay with alyuh flip Motorola  :devil:

(http://sonyericsson-x1.com/media/1/20080524-xperia-x1-sony-ericsson.jpg)
Post by: Jah Gol on September 25, 2008, 07:39:35 PM
My cousin who working TSTT put in his blackberry sim card in my a1200 change 2 lil settings and the internet worked faster on my phone than his blackberry.
Post by: TriniCana on October 02, 2008, 04:07:53 PM
http://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_a1600_with_gps_and_wlan-news-469.php <-----meh dream phone  :'(
meh loves it ;D

ah call motorala.ca today to ask dem if dey planning on bringing it down to dey DOT. Hear what dis man tell me nah, oh it might be a bit expensive plus he doubt dat any of the service providers would also.

steupse and double steupse oui.

ah have meh peeps in england, US and Trinidad on dey look out.
dat phone is mine and fido better doh play dey arse when ah come to stick ein meh sim card and get meh tra lala from dem. once ah remind dem dat meh contract go be up wid dem by dey end of dey year, come bet something hadda wouk :devil:
Post by: WestCoast on December 20, 2008, 10:32:13 PM
I am torn betwen the HTC Touch Diamond and the Nokia N95
The HTC is a sweet looking phone, but the N95 have lots of stuff.
any suggestions from owners
thanks
Post by: Jah Gol on December 21, 2008, 07:34:00 AM
I am torn betwen the HTC Touch Diamond and the Nokia N95
The HTC is a sweet looking phone, but the N95 have lots of stuff.
any suggestions from owners
thanks
Ent the N95 is an old phone. The N96 is the upgrade to it. Its a good phone but I wouldn't buy something so old. Go for the N96 instead if thats the route you want to take.

That HTC brand is making progress now. I hardly hear anything negative about their phones. Check this  (http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_touch_diamond-2368.php). That rating is good for that site. Since the A1200 I real like touch screens. I would go for this one. The fluidity of movement on the screen is not as smooth as the Iphone (but nothing is anyway).
Post by: Organic on December 21, 2008, 07:49:28 AM
I have the HTC DIAMOND
Post by: D.H.W on December 21, 2008, 10:20:18 AM
HTC DIAMOND IS A BOSS PHONE, u cah go wrong there

but here is a comparison

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone2=1716&idPhone1=2368
Post by: g on December 22, 2008, 03:26:16 AM
I have a HTC Touch Cruise

running GPRS on bmobile... Faster than most blackberrys. It sweet to bad but i already trying to upgrade to the pro version which has the flip keyboard

(http://www.xenmobile.com/images/htc/htctouchcruise.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on December 23, 2008, 03:18:00 PM
this go be my next baby when i get some cash 

in addition to the HTC Touch Diamond,
I am also looking at the LG Voyager (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ostm0hEu1pg), but it is not even listed on the GSMArena website?
PhoneScoop compares them (http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/compare.php?id%5B%5D=1333&id%5B%5D=1692&id%5B%5D=&id%5B%5D=&id%5B%5D=)
(http://www.engadgetmobile.com/media/2007/11/lg-voyager-main-review.jpg)
Post by: Organic on January 03, 2009, 01:06:25 PM
someone asked....cyah remeber who lossed the pm..so ah replying here
the htc touch diamond/ google maps powered by tom tom/gps system
is partly fucntional in trini. it pin pts your location within 100 meters or so. but driving directions not available..
the phone working very nicely in trini ah liking meh self.
Post by: TriniCana on January 03, 2009, 01:14:54 PM
Meh boss an' he wife buy meh ah iphone 3g for christmas. ah guess he heard dat ah phone searching. Steupse!
He set up everything already - all ah hafta do is put ein meh sim card. AH STICK! He stick meh man. It coming in dey mail dis week coming....

Ah say thanks and give he ah little hug, but ah vex no arse, cause allyuh know dis girl like she flip and stylus pen.  Ah not ungrateful, is juss he mess up meh plans man... And knowing he, he go be asking me non stop how dey phone working, how dey phone working. SO AH CYAH SELL IT now  :-[

Ah want meh motoming 1600 bad. Dese flippin service providers over here playin dey arse, bout how dey system won't support dis and dat. But dem feel i born lass week wednesday.
Post by: Organic on January 03, 2009, 01:21:00 PM
Meh boss an' he wife buy meh ah iphone 3g for christmas. ah guess he heard dat ah phone searching. Steupse!
He set up everything already - all ah hafta do is put ein meh sim card. AH STICK! He stick meh man. It coming in dey mail dis week coming....

Ah say thanks and give he ah little hug, but ah vex no arse, cause allyuh know dis girl like she flip and stylus pen.  Ah not ungrateful, is juss he mess up meh plans man... And knowing he, he go be asking me non stop how dey phone working, how dey phone working. SO AH CYAH SELL IT now  :-[

Ah want meh motoming 1600 bad. Dese flippin service providers over here playin dey arse, bout how dey system won't support dis and dat. But dem feel i born lass week wednesday.
lol@lst week wednesday.......is not 1972 u born....ah hear yuh had some afro days, bell bottoms.. etc
 the 1600 decent. canada and northamerica on de whole backward wiht fone gyul..the slight advantage is ..after the come out in eurpoe and asia and the glithces are identified they usally rectified before they reach northiamerica

htc diamond had some problems...european version was slow....the americna version...wukkin crisp..
on a side..note
why trinis does act so never see come see with fone.? ah gyul breaking she neck ina  resturant to look at the kinda fone ahhave.. whne she couldnt take it no more she walk up and ask meh.....smiling smiling
if she was only red, with(cana wah size bra again) breasts ..was me and she...to bad she was ah bloody.........lol
Post by: TriniCana on January 03, 2009, 01:26:31 PM
1902...watch meh profile nuh?
ah older dan dirt

hmm for ah lesbian you ain't know cup size juss by watching boobs yet ??  Shame
Go on Spike TV and watch Manswers....

BTW ah was surprised that Blackberry Storm get so much bad ratings. I was tempted to take a long look at it, until i read some bad ratings, like it too big, touchscreens detection bad..etc etc..
Post by: D.H.W on January 03, 2009, 04:18:38 PM
this go be my next baby when i get some cash 

in addition to the HTC Touch Diamond,
I am also looking at the LG Voyager (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ostm0hEu1pg), but it is not even listed on the GSMArena website?
PhoneScoop compares them (http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/compare.php?id%5B%5D=1333&id%5B%5D=1692&id%5B%5D=&id%5B%5D=&id%5B%5D=)
(http://www.engadgetmobile.com/media/2007/11/lg-voyager-main-review.jpg)

gsm arena doh have CDMA phones which sprint ans verizon use, only GSM phones
Post by: WestCoast on January 03, 2009, 04:44:26 PM
gsm arena doh have CDMA phones which sprint ans verizon use, only GSM phones
Thanks
too much Fernades and Punch a creme I guess
Post by: D.H.W on January 04, 2009, 09:28:24 AM
gsm arena doh have CDMA phones which sprint and verizon use, only GSM phones
Thanks
too much Fernades and Punch a creme I guess

Post by: WestCoast on March 18, 2009, 09:43:34 PM
OK DHW,
which system is better
CDMA
or HSPA
Post by: D.H.W on March 19, 2009, 11:49:13 AM
OK DHW,
which system is better
CDMA
or HSPA

HSPA OR HSPDA ?

CDMA cannot work in most countries including Trinidad. since most of the world is GSM.
Post by: WestCoast on March 19, 2009, 12:26:55 PM
OK DHW,
which system is better
CDMA
or HSPA

HSPA OR HSPDA ?

CDMA cannot work in most countries including Trinidad. since most of the world is GSM.
yes HSPDA of course
Thanks man
I have then decided to get the HTC Touch Diamond from Rogers wireless
Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2010, 03:25:18 PM
and the evolution continues for this amazing OS , now at V2.1, Alyuh stay with Alyuh beloved Steve jobs Phone  :devil:

Sprint has unveiled the worlds first 4G phone powered by Android OS, it is also the most advanced phone released to date.

HTC EVO 4G is Sprint's Android-powered knight in superphone armor, we go hands-on

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2010/03/htc-evo-4g-01-top.jpg)

We've been rumoring a WiMAX "HTC Supersonic" for a while now, and Sprint just dropped the hard news: the phone will be dubbed the HTC EVO 4G, will be released this Summer and it's easily the best specced phone we've ever witnessed. The hardware is of quite obvious HD2 descent, but with Android onboard and some nice aesthetic tweaks, the EVO 4G takes on a life of its own. The handset is centered around a 480 x 800 4.3-inch TFT LCD, with a Snapdragon QSD8650 1GHz processor under the hood (the CDMA version of the QSD8250 in the HD2 and Nexus One), and even a helpful 1GB of built-in memory and 512MB of RAM -- hello app storage! Even the battery is bigger than the HD2, and the camera is an 8 megapixel monstrosity with flash, that's capable of 720p video, and is augmented by a 1.3 megapixel front facing camera for good measure. The phone features HDMI out (though you'll need an adapter for turning it into a TV-familiar HDMI plug), 802.11b/g WiFi, and an 8GB microSD card. There's that still-rare Android 2.1 underneath an updated version of HTC's Sense UI. But... despite all these wild features, what actually  sets the EVO 4G apart is the fact that it's Sprint's first 4G phone. The handset runs a combo of EV-DO Rev. A and WiMAX, with calls still being made over CDMA and the EV-DO / WiMAX options for data. Interestingly, it sounds like concurrent data and voice use might be possible for the first time on CDMA carrier in this way (killing AT&T's well-advertised differentiator), though Sprint says that's still in the testing phase. One other new feature is the Sprint hotspot app, another MiFi-style connection sharing number, which is obviously aided greatly by the WiMAX on board and can support up to eight concurrent users. Follow after the break for our hands-on impressions and videos of the phone in action, including an up-close-and-personal test of the touchscreen keyboard. Below you'll find galleries of the phone by its lonesome and up against the Nexus One and iPhone 3G.

More with video and pics - http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/23/htc-evo-4g-is-sprints-android-powered-knight-in-superphone-armo/
Post by: lefty on March 23, 2010, 03:36:29 PM
dey supposed to be working on ah nexus version wit ah hardware keyboard if will work in trini ah goh latch on to dat or a htc evo if dey release ah HW keyboard version
Post by: Themanfriday on March 24, 2010, 07:08:54 AM
Wow,

I thought that I was ah cell phone nerd. I didn't know all this going on here. I am about to get the back flip from at&t

I have an incite now and the wifey got the LG Vu.

I just want the backflip I like the rewards. I tell you what, I like the windows enabled phones. THe backflip will be my first try at the andriod OS
Post by: D.H.W on March 24, 2010, 07:47:43 AM
Motorola was saved by android, imagine they out of the red for the first time in years , just because of they Droid phone, and the Other android devices they releasing. it have a big demand for android now
Post by: Themanfriday on March 25, 2010, 06:25:37 AM
Has anyone here actually physically compared the DRIOD to Windows 6.1or 6.5 phones?
Post by: lefty on March 25, 2010, 06:39:36 AM
Has anyone here actually physically compared the DRIOD to Windows 6.1or 6.5 phones?

not really, my reason for favoring android is that the platform is open/unrestricted for now anyways, an' since 3rd version of the 3d engine I use will have android backend, I stand to get access to the mobile gaming "market" virtually for free- as in not at the whim of the platform owners, like some other devices dat shall remain nameless.........I-phone ::)
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2010, 08:50:02 AM
cough  ::)
Post by: Themanfriday on March 25, 2010, 01:58:53 PM
Either this weekend or EOM I will get the backflip. Guess I can compare them then.

ANDROID™ PLATFORM
Android 1.5 (upgradable to Android 2.1)

(http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/Consumers/Services/MOTOROLA-BACKFLIP/US-EN/_Images/_Staticfiles/B2C-hero-homescreen-US-EN.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2010, 02:18:14 PM
that looking sweet  :drool:
Post by: Bakes on March 25, 2010, 02:32:55 PM

I haven't compared the phones... but there's simply no comparing the platforms.  Windows Mobile is Grade A crapola compared to Android.. at least when one considers the compatibility of software available for each.  I went from a Windows Mobile- run Dash to the Android operated HTC Touch.  Night and Day in terms of browsing ability and user interface.  Say nothing of the Apps.

I still say that Apple's safari browser interfaces better with it's OS than Android and it's browsers... plus that "pinch to zoom" is a killer... coolest thing out.  I have both the iPod Touch and the HTC Touch and to be honest there's some redundancy in both devices.  The iPod Touch is essentially an iPhone w/o call capability and I could have saved about $180 by just getting an iPhone... but I wasn't about to be chained to AT&T and they shitty coverage.  They love to boast about how you can surf the web and talk at the same time... but what good is any of that functionality if I can't even get a blasted signal?  Nah, I good fuh now.  Next phone might be ah Nexus doh... but dat eh go be for at least another year.
Post by: Themanfriday on March 25, 2010, 02:33:18 PM
Ordering mine now. Just find out they only have the andriod 1.5.
Post by: Themanfriday on March 25, 2010, 02:50:03 PM
Just learned that the 2.1 Is a web update. Great, I just ordered it from Radio Shack for free only shipping $20. I will have it tomorrow.

GREAT!!!!!!!!!! :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2010, 03:38:14 PM
lucky u , and congrats  :beermug: , edit , give we your review of 2.1 android when u upgrade it
Post by: Themanfriday on March 28, 2010, 07:33:46 AM
got it and well it seems 2.1 is not fully out right now. They are releasing it by phone. So the upgrade for the MB800 (backflip) is not out yet. The only consolation is that it is listed as one of the phones to get the free upgrade.

I like it so far. Can't say much yet since I have not had 1 work week with it. I suppose after next week I will be able to say more.

So far I have gone from the Black berry -> LG Incite -> Backflip. I think I have a good basis for a review.
Post by: D.H.W on May 10, 2010, 11:06:35 AM
told you so  ;D

NPD: Android ousts iPhone OS for second place in US smartphone market

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2010/05/android-skate-05-10-2010.jpg)

"We're number two" might not be the chant everyone's after, but we have a feeling that Google is more than satisfied with that in this case... for now. According to market research firm NPD, Google's Android operating system edged up into second place in the US smartphone market during the first quarter of the year, leaving it still well behind RIM's BlackBerry OS, but marking the first time that it has moved ahead of Apple's iPhone OS. Specifically, NPD found that RIM maintained a strong 36 percent market share for the quarter, with Android coming in at 28 percent, and iPhone OS in third at 21 percent. The growth for Android was attributed largely to strong carrier support -- like Verizon's buy-one-get-one free offer which, incidentally, also helped Verizon maintain a 30 percent smartphone market share, which is just slightly behind AT&T at 32 percent, and ahead of T-Mobile and Sprint at 17 and 15 percent, respectively.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/10/npd-android-ousts-iphone-os-for-second-place-in-us-smartphone-m/

Post by: Bakes on May 10, 2010, 11:46:50 AM
I'm an Android adherent but ^^^^ this really doesn't say much.  Apple's OS is only available on one phone... and one network at that.  Android runs on a growing array of phones, which are then available on every major network in the US.  The market share doesn't reflect a preference for Android over Apple, but rather the sheer numbers in which it is available to consumers.
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2010, 09:07:28 AM
NPD: Android is now top-selling OS in American smartphones

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2010/08/10x0804ib13513andro.jpg)

Step aside, BlackBerrys and iPhones, the American consumer has voted with his wallet and picked Android as his favorite flavor in the quarter just gone. NPD's number crunchers have just announced their findings for Q2 2010, concluding that 33 percent of phones sold during the period had Android on board. This marks the first time in eons (Q4 2007, to be more precise) that RIM has not held the crown of most purchased smartphone OS on US soil, with its BlackBerrys accounting for 28% of the market and Apple's iPhone occupying third spot with 22%. Motorola and HTC are the key suspects fingered for Android's continuing ascent, with the "large screen allure" of their handsets playing well with the buying public. Skip after the break for a more detailed breakdown.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/04/npd-android-is-now-top-selling-os-in-american-smartphones/
Title: Re: Google's Android unveiled
Post by: D.H.W on August 12, 2010, 07:08:50 AM
Exclusive: Sony Ericsson to introduce Android 3.0 gaming platform and PSP Go-like smartphone

There's no question that gaming on the Android  platform has heretofore been relatively underwhelming, but that looks like it's all about to change. It seems that Sony Ericsson -- a company that has yet to even introduce an Android 2.0 device -- is at work on a project to redefine gaming on Google's mobile platform. We now know (via a trusted source) that the company is actively and heavily developing a brand new gaming platform, ecosystem, and device (possibly alongside Google) which are already in the late stages of planning. And we've got the goods on it.

Here's what we can tell you about the hardware: if you're a gaming fan, this is exactly the kind of phone you've been waiting for. The device is described as cross between the Samsung Captivate and the PSP Go -- in other words, it's a landscape slider with game controls in place of the typical QWERTY keyboard. The D-pad is here, but instead of the small joystick, the device will have what was described as a "long touch pad" for analog controls, along with standard PSP buttons and shoulder buttons. The phone has a large display, described as being between 3.7 and 4.1 inches with WVGA or better resolution, a 5 megapixel camera that we're told might not be final, and it'll likely have a 1GHz Snapdragon CPU on board. The phone is mostly black with some silver highlights, and the gamepad area is white / silver in color. Apparently it's currently branded as a Xperia device, but it looks like it will carry PlayStation branding as well. Those who've seen the phone say it looks "pretty damn sexy." The mockup above probably doesn't do the actual hardware justice, but it should give you an idea of what you'll be dealing with.

On the software side, it looks like the device will be running Gingerbread (Android 3.0) with a phone-specific skin, and there will be a new area of the Android Market specifically for the games. That content will be initially accessible only by the halo device, but from the sounds of things, these titles might be made available to other Android phones if their specs and button layouts meet requirements. Games will be graphically in the range of PSX or PSP games, meaning true 3D gaming is headed to Android. Titles currently being shown off seem to be focused around some older PSX as well as new PSP offerings, with God of War, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, and LittleBigPlanet possibly on tap, and future plans for titles which incorporate augmented reality features.

In terms of release, it's possible that the phone and ecosystem could be introduced as early as October of this year, but we have yet to confirm.

Right now we're working on getting even more detail about the phone and partnership, but we can tell you now that this is not a random rumor -- we have reason to believe that what we've heard and seen is real and coming to market. It makes perfect sense in a way -- Google gets a much-needed push into the gaming and entertainment space for Android, while Sony (via its partnership with Ericsson) finally delivers the PlayStation phone users have been wanting. We see it as a major win for both companies and the consumer... and we always need another distraction. Stay tuned to this space for updates as we get them, and in the meantime, start socking away the pennies.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/11/exclusive-sony-ericsson-to-introduce-android-3-0-gaming-platfor/
Post by: lefty on August 12, 2010, 07:47:49 AM
lookin for ah new phone d 3 lg finally startin to cough up blood, but ah findin it hard to choose boy, a have ah mind two wait for d nexus 2, but dat hardly out of initial rumor stage and I ent diggin d backflip body design ......dat exposed keyboard ting :(, look at pro versions, doh really like d total dependence on touch tech
Post by: D.H.W on October 27, 2010, 08:01:20 AM
The PlayStation Phone

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2010/10/engadgetpspphone7-1288145212.jpg)

It's hard to believe that what we're looking at is real -- but we assure you, the picture above is in fact the PlayStation Phone you've long been waiting for. As we reported back in August, the device you see is headed into the market soon, likely boasting Android 3.0 (aka Gingerbread), along with a custom Sony Marketplace which will allow you to purchase and download games designed for the new platform. The device snapped up top (and in our gallery below) is sporting a 1GHz Qualcomm MSM8655 (a chip similar to the one found in the G2, but 200MHz faster), 512MB of RAM, 1GB of ROM, and the screen is in the range of 3.7 to 4.1 inches. Looking almost identical to the mockup we hit you with this summer, the handset does indeed have a long touchpad in the center which is apparently multitouch, and you can see in the photos that it's still bearing those familiar PlayStation shoulder buttons. For Sony buffs, you'll be interested to know that there's no Memory Stick slot here, but there is support for microSD cards.

The particular model in these shots is still in prototyping mode. As such, the unit doesn't have a custom skin (not even SE's Timescape design seen on the Xperia devices), and is said to be rather buggy. We're digging into more facts as we speak, but it's likely that much of what we reported earlier is still accurate, and though the device could still be headed for a 2010 release, 2011 is looking much more realistic. Still, there's a lot of time between now and the holidays... so keep your fingers crossed!

MORE IMAGES
http://www.engadget.com/photos/the-playstation-phone/#3511124
http://www.engadget.com/photos/playstation-phone-details-0/#3511050

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/26/the-playstation-phone/
Post by: pecan on December 08, 2010, 01:35:15 PM
Exclusive: Sony Ericsson to introduce Android 3.0 gaming platform and PSP Go-like smartphone

There's no question that gaming on the Android  platform has heretofore been relatively underwhelming, but that looks like it's all about to change. It seems that Sony Ericsson -- a company that has yet to even introduce an Android 2.0 device -- is at work on a project to redefine gaming on Google's mobile platform. We now know (via a trusted source) that the company is actively and heavily developing a brand new gaming platform, ecosystem, and device (possibly alongside Google) which are already in the late stages of planning. And we've got the goods on it.

they just released Android 2.1 for the Xperia X10a smart phone

I upgraded a short while ago

Big improvement over 1.6.  real cool
Post by: Bakes on December 08, 2010, 02:21:44 PM
I upgraded to Android 2.2.1 for the MyTouch (also known as the HTC Magic in lesser developed parts of the civilized world) about two months ago, and to say that I am thrilled would be an understatement.  I've never had an iPhone... but at this rate I don't need one and probably never will.  Apple might woo with a setta whiz bang third part apps, but in terms of sheer practicality nothing beats this little device. 

Standard with the latest Android upgrade is Speech To Text, a voice-recognition software which makes it moot to type on your phone.  Just speak the words when sending an email, text, browsing the internet, searching for directions etc.. and the software converts your spoken words to text.  It's not quite 100% accurate, but it's around 95%, pretty darn good.  This has been out for some time now, for instance, back when I was with Sprint there was a version out about 5-6 yrs ago, but it did a very poor job in my mind, and took eons to come back with suggested text even then.  The current version is boss, plain and simple.

Another feature which I literally just realized was available, is the ability to "tether" my phone to my PC.  When you tether your phone you essentially connect your computer to the internet via your phone's USB cable, accessing the 3G (or 4G if you have it) connection.  My 3G connection thru the phone was even faster than my home DSL (base) connection.  So essentially, wherever I have service on my phone, I have internet access for my laptop.  No more staring at the walls in airports.

I need to test it a bit more to see what if any effect there is on connection speed during peak hours.  I also need to know if there are any drawbacks to having my phone connected to my laptop all the time, like battery wear etc. Assuming all goes well then Verizon can kiss my monthly payment goodbye.
Post by: Themanfriday on December 08, 2010, 03:46:59 PM
I have been tethering for awhile now and found no draw backs. I travel a lot and I thank God for that capability. Upgraded my Backflip from 1.5 to 2.1 Andriod just recently and that has made everything even better.
Post by: Bakes on December 08, 2010, 09:33:56 PM
I have been tethering for awhile now and found no draw backs. I travel a lot and I thank God for that capability. Upgraded my Backflip from 1.5 to 2.1 Andriod just recently and that has made everything even better.

Thanks fuh de info... will definitely be checking it out next time ah on de road too.  I normally doh pay fuh internet when I stay at hotels, but this gives me even more options.
Post by: elan on December 08, 2010, 09:51:32 PM
I upgraded to Android 2.2.1 for the MyTouch (also known as the HTC Magic in lesser developed parts of the civilized world) about two months ago, and to say that I am thrilled would be an understatement.  I've never had an iPhone... but at this rate I don't need one and probably never will.  Apple might woo with a setta whiz bang third part apps, but in terms of sheer practicality nothing beats this little device. 

Standard with the latest Android upgrade is Speech To Text, a voice-recognition software which makes it moot to type on your phone.  Just speak the words when sending an email, text, browsing the internet, searching for directions etc.. and the software converts your spoken words to text.  It's not quite 100% accurate, but it's around 95%, pretty darn good.  This has been out for some time now, for instance, back when I was with Sprint there was a version out about 5-6 yrs ago, but it did a very poor job in my mind, and took eons to come back with suggested text even then.  The current version is boss, plain and simple.

Another feature which I literally just realized was available, is the ability to "tether" my phone to my PC.  When you tether your phone you essentially connect your computer to the internet via your phone's USB cable, accessing the 3G (or 4G if you have it) connection.  My 3G connection thru the phone was even faster than my home DSL (base) connection.  So essentially, wherever I have service on my phone, I have internet access for my laptop.  No more staring at the walls in airports.

I need to test it a bit more to see what if any effect there is on connection speed during peak hours.  I also need to know if there are any drawbacks to having my phone connected to my laptop all the time, like battery wear etc. Assuming all goes well then Verizon can kiss my monthly payment goodbye.

Be careful with tethering, that need to be part of your cell phone plan.
Post by: Bakes on December 08, 2010, 09:58:56 PM
Be careful with tethering, that need to be part of your cell phone plan.

Yeah it is... unlimited data plan  :beermug:
Post by: JDB on December 09, 2010, 08:11:37 AM

I still sticking with the iPhone because I not looking forward to learning a new interface. I use my phone so muhc that the risk of a big disruption in function is too much. I looking forward to a new iPhone on Verizon sometime next year because right now AT&T not letting me upgrade to the iPhone 4 without paying a 4200 penalty.

Also I think there is not much between these phones and you tend to get locked into what yuh comfortable with but the iPhone also has the Voice command feature. Can't say how it compares to other phones but you can make calls play songs, albums using the commands. I also don't know if it types text within emails or the web browser because in general I rarely use it. The iPhone 4 also supports tethering.

The app I would actually like to see on these is something that goes the other way, translating text to voice so you could "read" a page of text. without having ot look at the phone.

As for the apps most of the good apps are good because they deliver content that is popular elsewhere. The portability is a winner and the good apps are available on both iTunes and on the Android marketplace. The big thing with apple is brand strength, form and simplicity, the latter of which has its drawbacks. Also the retina display gives it the best display on the market.

When I have time I will start an "Apps" thread because I finding a lot of great apps out there and I realize that it have even more that you never hear about.
Post by: Bakes on December 09, 2010, 12:54:28 PM
I still sticking with the iPhone because I not looking forward to learning a new interface. I use my phone so muhc that the risk of a big disruption in function is too much. I looking forward to a new iPhone on Verizon sometime next year because right now AT&T not letting me upgrade to the iPhone 4 without paying a 4200 penalty.

Also I think there is not much between these phones and you tend to get locked into what yuh comfortable with but the iPhone also has the Voice command feature. Can't say how it compares to other phones but you can make calls play songs, albums using the commands. I also don't know if it types text within emails or the web browser because in general I rarely use it. The iPhone 4 also supports tethering.

The app I would actually like to see on these is something that goes the other way, translating text to voice so you could "read" a page of text. without having ot look at the phone.

As for the apps most of the good apps are good because they deliver content that is popular elsewhere. The portability is a winner and the good apps are available on both iTunes and on the Android marketplace. The big thing with apple is brand strength, form and simplicity, the latter of which has its drawbacks. Also the retina display gives it the best display on the market.

When I have time I will start an "Apps" thread because I finding a lot of great apps out there and I realize that it have even more that you never hear about.

New 'interface' or new OS?  The Android interface works identical to Apple's touchscreen.  Since I last posted on teh interface some months ago the new upgrade has the interface working a lot smoother, and it now rotates 360 degrees and not the 180 that it first used to.  Still no pinch to zoom though.

Android has voice command too, but I'm not sure if you can use it to play music, since I don't play music on my phone.  You can definitely dial and search via voice command though.  Agreed that text to voice would be a cool feature, however it's not one I likely would use a whole lot.  I like text to speech because as much as I try to avoid texting while driving sometimes it's necessary.  This makes the process simpler and safer.  Also when having to type numerous entries/responses, or a lot of text, there is no substitute.  Only real drawback is that you have to minimize background noise (obviously) for the software to understand what you're saying.  But it's pretty sensitive... you don't need absolute silence in the background.

As for Apps... there was a discussion in this thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=47230.0) created by Sam some time back.
Post by: JDB on December 09, 2010, 02:10:07 PM

New 'interface' or new OS?  The Android interface works identical to Apple's touchscreen.  Since I last posted on teh interface some months ago the new upgrade has the interface working a lot smoother, and it now rotates 360 degrees and not the 180 that it first used to.  Still no pinch to zoom though.

Android has voice command too, but I'm not sure if you can use it to play music, since I don't play music on my phone.  You can definitely dial and search via voice command though.  Agreed that text to voice would be a cool feature, however it's not one I likely would use a whole lot.  I like text to speech because as much as I try to avoid texting while driving sometimes it's necessary.  This makes the process simpler and safer.  Also when having to type numerous entries/responses, or a lot of text, there is no substitute.  Only real drawback is that you have to minimize background noise (obviously) for the software to understand what you're saying.  But it's pretty sensitive... you don't need absolute silence in the background.

As for Apps... there was a discussion in this thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=47230.0) created by Sam some time back.

I probably mean neither interface nor OS but more how to navigate the phone and integrate it into day to day life. I have a system for using my phone for specific daily functions. The most important function is downloading and managing podcasts and music, most of which I could do outside iTunes but there are a couple that requires subscriptions that iTunes are necessary for. Everytime I ask an Android user how they access and store podcasts I get blank stares.

Web-browsing is also a big plus although this is similar across the platforms, but the iPhone still has what is considered to be the best interface. I use Google Maps a lot and of course the Android phones have a much better app for that with turn by turn navigation built in.

A couple months ago I picked up a Samsung fascinate in the store and got a sales pitch. It seemed like a real nice phone and I could have seen myself buying it, then I pick up the iPhone 4 and it just seem more natural, probably just because that is what I am accustomed to, especially when I scope out the 5 MP camera and hi-def video capture and editing on the 4. I think blackberry users suffer something similar in their resistance to switch to Apple or Android.
Post by: pecan on December 09, 2010, 02:47:00 PM
Bakes, thanks for tip on voice to text. I found the setting - have to check it out.

On the tether capability - Android 1.6 had that and I did set up for it data wise (at least 1Gb/month).  But am somewhat leery of it.  Are you using an app that needs direct access to the root?.  Did you buy yours or download a free app?

So far, I have not been tempted to explore it further as I use a "stick' to access the internet when I am traveling in Canada. I dont like the idea of messing with the root OS on my phone.  With my luck, I will mess it up,

http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/ (http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/)

http://lifehacker.com/5447347/how-to-tether-your-android-phone (http://lifehacker.com/5447347/how-to-tether-your-android-phone)
Post by: Bakes on December 09, 2010, 03:46:19 PM
Bakes, thanks for tip on voice to text. I found the setting - have to check it out.

On the tether capability - Android 1.6 had that and I did set up for it data wise (at least 1Gb/month).  But am somewhat leery of it.  Are you using an app that needs direct access to the root?.  Did you buy yours or download a free app?

So far, I have not been tempted to explore it further as I use a "stick' to access the internet when I am traveling in Canada. I dont like the idea of messing with the root OS on my phone.  With my luck, I will mess it up,

http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/ (http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/)

http://lifehacker.com/5447347/how-to-tether-your-android-phone (http://lifehacker.com/5447347/how-to-tether-your-android-phone)

Nah... I didn't have to download anything or use a third party app.

Settings-------> Wireless and Networks-----------> Tethering----------> USB tethering.

There should also be an option to tether your phone as a portable WiFi Hotspot but for some reason I don't have that option and been meaning to call them about it.

http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=182134
Post by: pecan on December 09, 2010, 04:11:51 PM

Nah... I didn't have to download anything or use a third party app.

Settings-------> Wireless and Networks-----------> Tethering----------> USB tethering.

There should also be an option to tether your phone as a portable WiFi Hotspot but for some reason I don't have that option and been meaning to call them about it.

http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=182134

hmmm ... not in android 2.1.  Steups.

Your comment prompted me to do a quick search now that I know tethering like you described is possible.
 Found out that it is not available on Android 2.1 without rooting.

I am now learning that "Android 2.2 Froyo will support USB tethering for data connections along with being able to create WiFi hotspots, and furthermore will be much faster than Android 2.1 apparently up to 450% faster, and have full Flash support. 450% more faster than Android 2.1 Eclair"

Furthermore, there was question as to when Sony Ericsson will upgrade to 2.2.  Given that they only now upgrade from 1.6 to 2.1, I guess 2.2 not happening for a while.

So if I want tethering, it will have to be a third party app ... and that not happening.

Got my hopes up only to have then dashed against the rocks of 2.1.  sigh
Post by: Bakes on December 11, 2010, 02:06:17 AM
hmmm ... not in android 2.1.  Steups.

Your comment prompted me to do a quick search now that I know tethering like you described is possible.
 Found out that it is not available on Android 2.1 without rooting.

I am now learning that "Android 2.2 Froyo will support USB tethering for data connections along with being able to create WiFi hotspots, and furthermore will be much faster than Android 2.1 apparently up to 450% faster, and have full Flash support. 450% more faster than Android 2.1 Eclair"

Furthermore, there was question as to when Sony Ericsson will upgrade to 2.2.  Given that they only now upgrade from 1.6 to 2.1, I guess 2.2 not happening for a while.

So if I want tethering, it will have to be a third party app ... and that not happening.

Got my hopes up only to have then dashed against the rocks of 2.1.  sigh

Hard luck dey... call yuh provider and find out when 2.2 will become available.  My version is 2.2.1... not sure how that different from 2.2 or 1.6 for that matter.  Strange that the upgrades aren't universally available... I'd call and ask questions.  If nothing else at the end of your contract you may look into upgrading or swapping out to an unlocked GSM phone, provided that 2.2/2.2.1 is compatible with your provider's network.

As for the Text to Speech... as I said it came standard with the OS upgrade, didn't really have to adjust any settings.  Once you activate the keyboard, in the lower left near the numbers key (the key you press to pull up the numbers) there should be a key with a little microphone symbol... just press and talk.
Post by: D.H.W on January 07, 2011, 10:53:08 AM
ComScore: Android jumps ahead of iOS in total US smartphone subscribers

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2011/01/11x0107ju45and.jpg)

We've seen plenty of data to show that Android is the hottest-selling smartphone OS among US buyers today, but now we have a stat point to show that it's doing pretty well in cumulative terms as well. According to ComScore's latest estimates, Android had 26 percent of all US smartphone subscribers in the quarter ending November 2010, bettering Apple's iPhone for the first time. The major victim of Android's ascendancy has actually been RIM's BlackBerry, whose lead at the top contracted by 4.1 percentage points (nearly 11 percent less than the share it had in the previous quarter). Guess those Verizon iPhones and dual-core BBs had better start arriving pretty soon.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/07/comscore-android-jumps-ahead-of-ios-in-total-us-smartphone-subs/

Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2011, 01:57:03 PM
What about the HTC EVO?
Post by: Preacher on January 07, 2011, 03:56:41 PM
What about the HTC EVO?

If I'm not mistaken that runs on the Andriod platform.  I was think about upgrading from Blackberry to an Andriod phone (EVO).  I'm still not sure what I want to do. 
Post by: Bakes on January 07, 2011, 05:11:58 PM
Yeah the EVO is Android... it's gotten great reviews, but ah li'l to big fuh my tastes.  My MyTouch still going strong 18 months later.  Contract up in July and I'll explore options then... the Nexus tempting, but 6 months is an eternity in the SmartPhone industry, we'll see what out then.
Post by: Preacher on January 07, 2011, 10:08:48 PM
I was going to do the Blackberry Bold because I know RIM's OS and it works well for me.  I'm with sprint, I have an 8330 and was due for an upgrade since July 09.  :)  The next thing I need on my phone is voice txting and RIM don't have that yet I don't think.  I need voice txting bad.  :devil:
Post by: Bakes on January 08, 2011, 12:13:51 AM
I was going to do the Blackberry Bold because I know RIM's OS and it works well for me.  I'm with sprint, I have an 8330 and was due for an upgrade since July 09.  :)  The next thing I need on my phone is voice txting and RIM don't have that yet I don't think.  I need voice txting bad.  :devil:

Trust mih... dat text to speech is crack.  De other day I on facebook sending somebody ah message and, no lie almost start talking to de computer  :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on January 31, 2011, 07:47:26 AM
Canalys: Android overtakes Symbian as world's best-selling smartphone platform in Q4 2010

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2011/01/11x01311109nd.jpg)

One day somebody will write a book called "The rise and rise of Android" and this moment will be highlighted in bold. Canalys' latest smartphone sales figures show that Android phone makers managed to shift a cool 33.3 million handsets in the last quarter -- more than any other smartphone platform out there, including the previous leader, Symbian, which sold 31 million units. That's a mighty leap from the 20.3 million Android devices the stats agency estimates were sold in Q3 2010. Symbian itself grew from 29.9m in Q3 to 31m in Q4, but Android's pace of expansion has been so rapid as to make that irrelevant.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/31/canalys-android-overtakes-symbian-as-worlds-best-selling-smart/
Post by: D.H.W on February 06, 2011, 08:20:31 PM
Alyuh check this commercial out nah lol

http://www.youtube.com/v/M4lxuoGgbxs
Post by: lefty on February 06, 2011, 08:53:09 PM
dere is is ah disturbin creepiness bout dat ad :'( :'( :-\
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2011, 06:37:06 PM
dere is is ah disturbin creepiness bout dat ad :'( :'( :-\

check the new one

http://www.youtube.com/v/GO5VJz4q66I&
Post by: Bakes on March 14, 2011, 06:44:27 PM
My new playground (http://forums.cnet.com/android-forum/?tag=nl.e497l)... for other Android devotees.
Post by: elan on March 14, 2011, 08:18:23 PM
Black Berry PlayBook (http://us.blackberry.com/playbook-tablet/)

http://www.youtube.com/v/s72rGDUn2uo
Post by: D.H.W on May 07, 2011, 03:42:02 PM
Android smartphones widen lead in US market

SAN FRANCISCO — Smartphones powered by Google software widened their lead on BlackBerry handsets in the US market during the first three months of the year, industry tracker comScore reported on Friday.
Android smartphones dethroned BlackBerry in January by capturing 31.2 percent of the US market and that share grew to 34.7 percent by the end of March, according to comScore.
BlackBerry handsets made by Canada-based Research In Motion (RIM) lost ground in the quarter, ending March with 27.1 percent of the US market.
Apple was close behind RIM with iPhone running on the California company's mobile platform commanding 25.5 percent of the market, according to comScore.
Samsung was the top handset manufacturer overall with a 24.5-percent share of the US market, comScore said, followed by LG with 20.9 percent, Motorola with 15.8 percent, RIM with 8.4 percent and Apple with 7.9 percent.
According to comScore, 234 million Americans owned mobile devices at the end of March and the number of smartphones owned climbed 15 percent to 72.5 million.

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5iYNvpEetuxJQm5z_B4F4boecUV0Q
Post by: D.H.W on October 03, 2012, 03:23:01 PM
iPhone 5 vs Samsung Galaxy S III Comparison Smackdown

http://www.youtube.com/v/819bO19bKKg

http://www.youtube.com/v/FHNSFJEWfLY

Post by: Bakes on October 03, 2012, 04:22:12 PM
I divorce Android... iPhone 4S almost a year now.
Post by: D.H.W on November 11, 2012, 08:37:58 PM
Read recently, Samsung has surpassed Apple as the number 1 smartphone maker in the world. The Galaxy S3 is now the world's most sold smartphone surpassing the IPhone 4. In just a few months.
Post by: Cantona007 on November 11, 2012, 09:02:03 PM
Read recently, Samsung has surpassed Apple as the number 1 smartphone maker in the world. The Galaxy S3 is now the world's most sold smartphone surpassing the IPhone 4. In just a few months.

Not hard to see why. I have the S3 (a couple months now) and it is almost perfect in terms of performance and stability.
Post by: Peong on November 11, 2012, 10:33:39 PM
I doh even have the latest and greatest.  My family dealin with my Samsung Nexus S, my wife's HTC Evo 3D and an Acer A200 tablet, all on Android and these things run real good.  I have all the apps I want to play around with, usually for free.  I even messin around with building my own app.
My phone is linked to my google account so I get gmail, google+, my documents, map info all synched.
I real happy with Android.
Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2012, 12:28:26 AM
I doh even have the latest and greatest.  My family dealin with my Samsung Nexus S, my wife's HTC Evo 3D and an Acer A200 tablet, all on Android and these things run real good. I have all the apps I want to play around with, usually for free.  I even messin around with building my own app.
My phone is linked to my google account so I get gmail, google+, my documents, map info all synched.

Uhm... that applies to de iPhone too.  8)
Post by: Jah Gol on November 12, 2012, 06:31:10 AM
I hate how the ios has a locked filing system. Its a lil better when you jailbreak it but it really gets me they way they force you to do things. For instance the need to use itunes. You can't just plug the device in a pc and browse or transfer files. The apps don't integrate as well as the android either. Sharing files via multiple platforms is much easier too . Customization is much better on the android too.

Never used an Iphone 5 but my galaxy S2 is faster than the Iphones I've used and my iPad2 .
Post by: Controversial on November 12, 2012, 08:59:24 AM
love my droid...

in the studio its apple all the way though
Post by: Peong on November 12, 2012, 12:15:22 PM
I doh even have the latest and greatest.  My family dealin with my Samsung Nexus S, my wife's HTC Evo 3D and an Acer A200 tablet, all on Android and these things run real good. I have all the apps I want to play around with, usually for free.  I even messin around with building my own app.

Yeah but for hundreds more.
Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2012, 03:16:13 PM

Really?  You paying the same $200 for a top line, brand new Adroid phone as you would for an iPhone.  I like Android, but the only hold for me was the stranglehold AT&T  had on the contract with Apple.  Since Sprint and Verizon join de party the service prices get more reasonable.  Android still cool... but no real comparison to the iPhone in my mind.
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2012, 04:47:47 PM
Isheep
Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2012, 04:48:49 PM
Isheep

Sure... if that gives you comfort.  I was an Android adherent before you even heard of the term.  I think I'm qualified to speak.
Post by: elan on November 12, 2012, 05:09:19 PM
I see Apple coming out with iphone 6 in spring 2013  ::)
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2012, 05:33:40 PM
IOS 6  vs Jellybean , what does Apple do better?

http://www.youtube.com/v/YwwJ8kgmcdc

http://www.youtube.com/v/RNrb5neu6kw

Post by: pecan on November 12, 2012, 09:04:30 PM
IOS 6  vs Jellybean , what does Apple do better?
]

speed and cloud services?

but I still prefer Android.
Post by: Jumbie on November 12, 2012, 10:09:36 PM
for the average user there's no real difference between iphone and droids and it comes down to preference. But if you plan on having a device close or as powerful as a compact laptop, droid would get my vote.

Fellas in Canada, you guys see where there's going to be new legislation where all cell phone in Canada will be on lock down if it goes missing or stolen. means no matter what jail break you try a phone registered on one network will not work on another as long as it's reported.

Post by: soccerman on November 12, 2012, 11:25:52 PM
I have an HTC evo android now and can't complain about anything, it does everything I need it for but I was considering getting the new iPhone 6 when it comes out next spring....however all my friends with the new Samsung Galaxy S3 has nothing but good things to say about it so I really don't know. Glad I found this thread, now I'll keeping reading this and here what the peeps on here have to say before I make up my mind.
Title: Re: Re: Google's Android unveiled
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2012, 04:36:41 AM
I have an HTC evo android now and can't complain about anything, it does everything I need it for but I was considering getting the new iPhone 6 when it comes out next spring....however all my friends with the new Samsung Galaxy S3 has nothing but good things to say about it so I really don't know. Glad I found this thread, now I'll keeping reading this and here what the peeps on here have to say before I make up my mind.

Galaxy S4 will be out by Q1 next year same yearly trend. Samsung has Apple under it's cross hairs, they have got a foothold on the Smartphone market. You will have plenty thinking to do next year.
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2012, 05:16:20 AM
considering the S3.....since nutten nice comin with hardware keyboard no more............but anybody know why name brands doh enter d duel sim market.......dem clones jus not up to scratch and I dont want to be totin two phones around
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2012, 07:20:17 AM
You still carrying two phones? I ditch bmobile long time. Plus you can forward calls from a digi to a bmobile phone, not sure if you can forward bmobile to Digicel, last I checked a few years ago it didn't work.
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2012, 08:28:13 AM
You still carrying two phones? I ditch bmobile long time. Plus you can forward calls from a digi to a bmobile phone, not sure if you can forward bmobile to Digicel, last I checked a few years ago it didn't work.

two phones ??? never did :P my present phone is duel sim and while b'mo get mih vex, when dey try ah shit wit d free bonus top up, it still better for b'mo to b'mo since I have more b'mo people dan digi, but if I am forced to go single sim might opt to keep the digi installed outa dreadness >:( d bmo f**kers still have $20 for me tie up in a 121 account although they switch back d system.

just saw d sumsung S duos, but dat less powerful then d S3 by some measure and yuh not gettin no warranty on amazon.........I dont trust shopping direct from Asia
Post by: pecan on November 13, 2012, 08:35:53 AM

Galaxy S4 will be out by Q1 next year same yearly trend. Samsung has Apple under it's cross hairs, they have got a foothold on the Smartphone market. You will have plenty thinking to do next year.

ay DHW,  I still toting around a Galaxy SGH-I896 with gingerbread (no android updates for this model as of yesterday) and was considering upgrading to the S3. Should I wait for the S4?
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2012, 08:51:08 AM
ay DHW,  I still toting around a Galaxy SGH-I896 with gingerbread (no android updates for this model as of yesterday) and was considering upgrading to the S3. Should I wait for the S4?

they do upgrade beyond a couple versions far as I know due to changes in tech over time, might wait for S4 as well ..........anybody know other good sites to get unlocked smartphones
Post by: Michael-j on November 13, 2012, 08:51:32 AM

two phones ??? never did :P my present phone is duel sim and while b'mo get mih vex, when dey try ah shit wit d free bonus top up, it still better for b'mo to b'mo since I have more b'mo people dan digi, but if I am forced to go single sim might opt to keep the digi installed outa dreadness >:( d bmo f**kers still have $20 for me tie up in a 121 account although they switch back d system.

just saw d sumsung S duos, but dat less powerful then d S3 by some measure and yuh not gettin no warranty on amazon.........I dont trust shopping direct from Asia

How you mean it tie up?? You should be drawing from that bonus account when you call a bmobile phone...
On another note, I think bmobile steals money from my prepaid account now and then...I sometimes don't use my phone for a while but my balance still decreases  ???
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2012, 09:07:03 AM

How you mean it tie up?? You should be drawing from that bonus account when you call a bmobile phone...
On another note, I think bmobile steals money from my prepaid account now and then...I sometimes don't use my phone for a while but my balance still decreases  ???

it not decreasin as far as I can tell
Post by: Michael-j on November 13, 2012, 09:09:45 AM

it not decreasin as far as I can tell

So your main balance is decreasing instead when you call a bmobile phone?  :o Nah man, yuh getting cheat out..
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2012, 09:24:18 AM
ok ah lie ah jus check it is $11 now(after being stuck at 21 for a while), but get this when they switch back d system ah had $0 in mih mean acc and 21 in d bonus acc..........I put on 20 and get 20 bonus daiz 40, but as of today d main account is (*120)$13 an dat bonus account now readin $11    :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: an is only bmo my bmo sim callin
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2012, 09:37:10 AM

If you don't like Buyers remorse you can wait, but it will be a few months away. If you really need a new phone you can get the Nexus 4 or S3
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2012, 09:38:11 AM
ok ah lie ah jus check it is $11 now(after being stuck at 21 for a while), but get this when they switch back d system ah had $0 in mih mean acc and 21 in d bonus acc..........I put on 20 and get 20 bonus daiz 40, but as of today d main account is (*120)$13 an dat bonus account now readin $11    :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: an is only bmo my bmo sim callin

I can even get Bmobile signal where i living , and i living in Arima , signal always cutting out.
Post by: Michael-j on November 13, 2012, 09:38:22 AM

I dunno what to say about that nah,....I feel bmobile moves by vaps sometimes  ???
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2012, 09:38:46 AM

they do upgrade beyond a couple versions far as I know due to changes in tech over time, might wait for S4 as well ..........anybody know other good sites to get unlocked smartphones

The Nexus 4 worth $300 came out today , beast price if you buy direct from the Google Play Store. Probably the best phone right now under the S3

Use Tunnel Bear to access the US site http://www.tunnelbear.com/

https://play.google.com/store

Nexus 4 reviews (Comes with Jelly Bean OS out of the box)
http://www.engadget.com/2012/11/02/nexus-4-review/
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6440/google-nexus-4-review

"If you're an Android enthusiast, the Nexus 4 is obviously the phone to have right now. The combination of APQ8064 and MDM9x15 is excellent in spite of some unfortunate thermal throttling, and we'll be seeing many more Fusion 3 based devices in time at prices well above the Nexus 4 out of contract. At a fundamental level there is quite literally no better vehicle out there for Google to communicate its smartphone platform via than the yearly Nexus refresh. On its own, the Nexus 4 would otherwise be phenomenally great hardware. As a Nexus, it's a level even beyond that.

Google has come an exceptionally long way since that first Nexus One."
Post by: Peong on November 13, 2012, 01:32:04 PM

Really?  You paying the same $200 for a top line, brand new Adroid phone as you would for an iPhone.  I like Android, but the only hold for me was the stranglehold AT&T  had on the contract with Apple.  Since Sprint and Verizon join de party the service prices get more reasonable.  Android still cool... but no real comparison to the iPhone in my mind.

Because there are so many android devices you can get something that's not top of the line but still very good, for much less than an iphone.
Plus the difference between my little Acer tablet and an ipad 1 is a couple hundred, and my screen is still bigger.
Avoiding Apple saves a lot of dough :)
Post by: soccerman on November 13, 2012, 02:28:50 PM

Look at that, didn't even know the S4 was coming out already....that will be a tough decision in trute.
Post by: Bakes on November 13, 2012, 10:29:22 PM
Because there are so many android devices you can get something that's not top of the line but still very good, for much less than an iphone.
Plus the difference between my little Acer tablet and an ipad 1 is a couple hundred, and my screen is still bigger.

Haha... yeah you eh lie.  I not a hardcore Apple adherent, doh have an iPad and won't have one for a while... took me a while to take de plunge, but Apple's rep for design and performance is well-earned.
Post by: soccerman on November 14, 2012, 12:13:48 AM

Haha... yeah you eh lie.  I not a hardcore Apple adherent, doh have an iPad and won't have one for a while... took me a while to take de plunge, but Apple's rep for design and performance is well-earned.
That's why I was leaning towards the i-phone but Samsung came back into the cell phone market and they're right up there with them, at least with the Galaxy phones.
Post by: pecan on November 14, 2012, 07:39:14 AM
as long as Apple and the rest of the smart phone developers go at it, and the consumers willing to pay for it, the technology will continue to improve. Long live competition.
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2012, 11:04:02 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/opGRHj-h_D4

http://www.youtube.com/v/MV2_7QApIRI
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2012, 03:51:56 PM
Android and Samsung build on their market shares in Q3 2012

Android's market share increased significantly during the third quarter of 2012, with the Google OS powering 72.4% of all smartphones sold in the three months' period. Apple's iOS came a very distant second with a market share of 13.9%.

(http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/12/11/gartner-q3-2012/gsmarena_002.jpg)

This is an impressive accomplishment for Google's mobile OS, considering Android's market share was 52.5% in Q3 of 2011.

Samsung saw its position as the leading mobile manufacturer increase to 22.9% after selling almost 100 million phones in the three month period ending in September. This was mostly at the expense of Nokia, which saw its market share slide almost 5 percent points year-over-year.

(http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/12/11/gartner-q3-2012/gsmarena_001.jpg)

The holiday season should see Apple take back some of both of those pies, as many iOS-faithfuls held off on replacing their smartphones until the iPhone 5 came around. Apple's new smartphone top dog is expanding its availability to many new markets in Q4, which should help Apple arrest the fall in iOS market share.

http://www.gsmarena.com/android_and_samsung_build_on_their_market_shares_in_q3_2012-news-5082.php
Post by: D.H.W on November 16, 2012, 07:44:28 PM
Galaxy S4 with Full HD Super AMOLED display to show up at CES?

Samsung might be plotting something

Samsung might be pulling out all the stops at CES 2013, at least according to a rumor coming out of Korea.
The firm might unveil a phone loaded with a 4.99-inch Full HD Super AMOLED display at the Vegas show, one that rivals devices coming out of HTC, LG, Sharp and Sony.
According to a Samsung official speaking to a Korean newspaper, the company will pull out a handset featuring the ultra-thin AMOLED material and a screen with a 441 pixel per inch density.
Such blockbuster screen specs are likely to only show up on a blockbuster handset, pointing to the possibility that the main attraction Samsung offers the CES crowd is the Galaxy S4.

S4 time

According to the paper's source, Samsung is using its current mass production method mixed with advanced LITI technology to bring the phone to life.
It should feature a resolution of 1920 X 1080 and if kinks in mass production scaling can get ironed out, the S4 should arrive during the second quarter of 2013.
The source also reportedly said that the head of Samsung Electronics demanded the SIV feature a Full HD AMOLED display and not (yawn) LCD, giving it a unique selling point over new arrivals like the Droid DNA, the rumored Sony Yuga and Odin and Sharp's Aquos SH903W.
TechRadar will be in the lion's den that is the CES show floor come January, so stay tuned for word on what Samsung brings forth.

http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/galaxy-s4-with-full-hd-super-amoled-display-to-show-up-at-ces-1113293?src=rss&attr=all
Post by: Jah Gol on November 17, 2012, 09:52:57 AM
That S4 will be the phone to finally unseat the iphone.
Post by: D.H.W on November 22, 2012, 09:00:32 AM
Samsung expected to sell some 60 million smartphones in Q4

Samsung has gradually become a one-stop-shop for Android smartphones, with devices available in almost every conceivable variety for almost any budget. It's no real shocker that it is the number one smartphone manufacturer globally, and will likely continue to hold the lion's share of the pie for some time to come.

UBS financial analytics estimate that some 61.5 million units will be sold in the final 3 month period of 2012. This will mark the first time a manufacturer ships more than 60 million units in a single quarter, but is hardly surprising given that Samsung shipped some 57 million handsets in Q3.

Sales of the Galaxy S III and Note II are expected to lead the way in sales, with the S III having shipped some 5.5 million units in October alone.

Samsung's lesser-known devices, like the WP8-running Ativ S, and its Bada lineup, are not expected to have a significant impact on sales figures.

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_expected_to_sell_some_60_million_smartphones_in_q4-news-5109.php
Post by: D.H.W on December 06, 2012, 08:14:30 PM
Samsung Galaxy S IV to come in April with unbreakable screen?

Samsung's upcoming Galaxy S IV is making the headlines again with new rumors hinting at a possible April 2013 announcement date.

In addition, Reuters is reporting some gossip about an unbreakable display that the flagship will be featuring. Samsung is said to ditch the usual glass cover for its displays in favor of a plastic one, which is said to be virtually impossible to break.

If indeed that's the case, Samsung might be making a case for a huge selling point with a display that doesn't shatter when dropped or hit with heavy object.

Add this to the previous rumors of the device packing a 4.99" 1080p full HD display with a pixel density of 441ppi, and the Galaxy S IV is shaping up to be one extraordinary device indeed. As expected, Samsung has refused to comment on any of the rumors for now.

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_to_out_the_galaxy_s_iv_in_april_2013_with_a_plastic_display-news-5169.php
Post by: asylumseeker on December 24, 2012, 07:23:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/4kk0B93b0cs

I had an HTC Evo for the past 20 months ... recently the USB port was destroyed (piece severed as a result of dropping the phone). Went to the phone company they gave me a half-baked external charger that was tedious to deal with (took too long to charge the phone, and once fully charged, the charge wouldn't hold fuh long). Finally had the time to devote to shopping fuh ah replacement ... purchased an iPhone 5 today but the Samsung Note II caught my eye in the process (the customer service person was pushing it coz he doh like Apple).

Ah kinda torn about losing the GPS set-up on the android side.
Post by: D.H.W on December 24, 2012, 07:33:19 PM
Look how tiny the Iphone is  ;D , Hardware wise the Note 2 kills it. But i guess is what is important to you. Personally i taking that Note 2 anyday of the week
Post by: asylumseeker on December 24, 2012, 07:39:58 PM
Ah leaning strongly in that direction but I will give this a lil chance.
Post by: lefty on December 24, 2012, 07:43:21 PM
Look how tiny the Iphone is  ;D , Hardware wise the Note 2 kills it. But i guess is what is important to you. Personally i taking that Note 2 anyday of the week

might go for the S3 or 4 mihself but ah also have mih eye on a nvidia 580gtx to build a rendering rig...doh ask :( and 35mm Cine lens.....again doh ask...........and a slowly cobbling up a budget to get whichever goh be most useful at that time.............if ah win d lotto doh might get all three.............side-note somebody loss d $17m ticket ah here it unclaimed ???
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2012, 03:36:04 PM

Google just released Google Maps for iPhone about three weeks ago... so you can still have the same GPS functionality.  You also have it with Apple Maps and MapQuest as a third party app.
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2012, 03:40:18 PM

Can you carry that big thing in yuh pocket comfortably?  Hold it up to yuh ear to speak?  As you said, it's what's important to you individually.  I like the bigger screen for if I'm surfing the net, but I doh really spend that much time surfing on my phone... that's what my laptop is for.  I doh have a tablet, but if I did that would be one less reason to have a mini tablet in my pocket.
Post by: lefty on December 25, 2012, 03:57:45 PM
it really kinda big for ah  phone...........I was jokin wit mih brother dat yuh need a holster to carry it. lol
Post by: asylumseeker on December 25, 2012, 07:12:52 PM

Google just released Google Maps for iPhone about three weeks ago... so you can still have the same GPS functionality.  You also have it with Apple Maps and MapQuest as a third party app.

I wasn't aware of that. Good to know.  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on December 25, 2012, 07:41:53 PM

Can you carry that big thing in yuh pocket comfortably?  Hold it up to yuh ear to speak?  As you said, it's what's important to you individually.  I like the bigger screen for if I'm surfing the net, but I doh really spend that much time surfing on my phone... that's what my laptop is for.  I doh have a tablet, but if I did that would be one less reason to have a mini tablet in my pocket.

Is definitely not for everyone thats for sure. Worse yet for people with small palms
Post by: Bakes on December 26, 2012, 02:02:34 AM

I wasn't aware of that. Good to know.  :beermug:

That was the only thing I missed when I made the switch a year ago... MapQuest was decent, just didn't like the interface too much.  Apple was a mess... decent, but yuh better have a back up plan, like somebody to call when yuh get near because it might route yuh two blocks away.  Google Maps for iOs is the shit though.

http://reviews.cnet.com/software/google-maps-ios/4505-3513_7-35558172.html
Post by: soccerman on December 26, 2012, 03:04:35 PM
Ah leaning strongly in that direction but I will give this a lil chance.
So you made the switch to apple....well I'm due for an upgrade a Feb so I have 2 months to decide. Apple or Samsung....decisions, decisions.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 27, 2012, 11:41:52 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-20850778

A smartphone and tablet said to be the first designed by an African company have beenlaunched.

The products, designed by Congolese entrepreneur Verone Mankou, are manufactured in China.

His company VMK's devices run Google's Android software. They will retail at $170 (£105) for the smartphone and $300 (£185) for the tablet.

"Only Africans can know what Africa needs," said Mr Mankou at the Tech4Africa conference in Johannesburg.

"Apple is huge in the US, Samsung is huge in Asia, and we want VMK to be huge in Africa."

Technology blog Smartplanet reports that the tablet offers wi-fi connectivity and four gigabytes of internal storage. Its name, Way-C, means "the light of the stars" in the local Lingala language.

The smartphone has rear and forward facing cameras and a 3.5in (8.9cm) screen.

There are plans to sell the devices across 10 other West African countries as well as Belgium, France and India.

Mr Mankou said he hoped to launch a cheaper tablet for students next year.

First?

The devices will come up against several already well-established and popular brands.

Most notably, Blackberry-maker Research in Motion (RIM) has a significant presence on the continent, despite flagging sales in the western market.

The tablet is similar in size to Samsung's Galaxy Tab Popular too are handsets from Nokia which is working closely with Facebook to grow African's interest in both mobile communication and social networking.

However, there is an increasing desire among African communities to support homegrown products, spurred on by fledgling technology scenes in various cities across the region.

'Offended'

Attempts to be seen as African have caused some firms to be accused of dishonesty. Companies were highly criticised after they were deemed to be marketing products that were made offshore but simply branded locally.

VMK insisted that while the product was manufactured in China for cost reasons, the design and engineering was entirely African.

A page on the company's website stressed that statement, saying: "We are somewhat offended by the disregard of those who persist in denying the authentication of our products, despite evidence.

"Most of those critics are either Afro-pessimistic (who argue that 'nothing good can come from Africa'), or just (future) competitors."

The company added that unlike previous "African" smartphones and tablets, there were no products matching the VMK devices in other countries under different branding.
Post by: D.H.W on December 28, 2012, 06:12:53 PM
Samsung Galaxy S IV to launch in April with S Pen functionality?

Here is a juicy rumor fresh out of Korea - the Samsung Galaxy S IV might be the first handset in the series to launch with an S Pen and the accompanying functionality as Samsung is allegedly looking to unite its Note series with the flagship Galaxy S IV. This would be a huge change for Samsung and interestingly enough is allegedly confirmed by a quote from a Samsung official.

Moreover, Korean sources agree that the Samsung Galaxy S IV will launch in April.

Along the way, we are hearing more confirmations that the S IV will indeed come with a 5-inch 1080p AMOLED display, something that almost seems like a fact right now judging by what the competition is bringing.

Additionally, whispers are that the new Samsung Android flagship will run on Jelly Bean and be powered by a quad-core Exynos 5440 chip manufactured using 28nm high-K metal gate technology. It is also possible that it will use ARM big.LITTLE architecture with an energy-efficient A7 processor for basic tasks paired with A15 for more intense loads.

Other details about the upcoming Galaxy S IV are a 13-megapixel rear auto-focus camera and slightly thicker, 9.2mm body, a development that would make it very Note-like. How does this all seem to you, do you think that a slightly thicker S Pen-equipped S IV is a good idea or not?

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsung-Galaxy-S-IV-to-launch-in-April-with-S-Pen-functionality_id38138
Post by: grimm01 on December 29, 2012, 10:20:40 AM
Instead of faster chips that open apps micro-seconds faster and screens with more pixels I would prefer that these phone manufacturers advance the battery technology. At this point processor, graphics and screen improvements are incremental, and other than the techies, most consumers couldn't tell yuh how much RAM in the phone, if it had 2 or 4 cores, or much less spot the performance differences. But everyone one can tell yuh if their phone can last a full day on a charge or not.

Time to work on the battery and make the tech leaps that we seeing in other aspects of the phone hardware and software.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 29, 2012, 11:10:20 AM
Good point about battery life. I went back to the store to learn more about the Note II and found out that it holds charge for about 15 hours ... However ah have to say I'm impressed or - at a minimum - satisfied with the iPhone in this respect.
Post by: D.H.W on December 29, 2012, 11:46:48 AM
Its coming. Just give it time

Battery breakthrough: New technology promises to triple lithium ion capacity

http://www.geekwire.com/2012/battery-breakthrough-technology-promises-triple-lithium-ion-capacity/
Post by: pecan on December 29, 2012, 11:59:12 AM
Apple Will Drop Galaxy S III Mini from Samsung Patent Suit

http://www.journalnow.com/business/business_news/national_international/article_502693d8-5165-11e2-91db-0019bb30f31a.html
Bloomberg News

SAN FRANCISCO — Apple Inc. has agreed to drop Samsung Electronics Co.’s Galaxy S III Mini from a patent-infringement lawsuit against the South Korea-based company, according to court records.

Apple said it agreed to withdraw the smartphone from its case because Samsung assured the court the phone won’t be sold in the United States, according to a filing Friday in federal court in San Jose, Calif. The filing, which follows an August verdict in the same court in Apple’s favor on other infringement claims, comes in a second patent case between the two companies, scheduled for trial in 2014.

Apple will withdraw the Galaxy S III Mini “given Samsung’s representation that it is not making, using, selling, offering to sell or importing that product into the U.S.,” according to the filing. Apple claims that the smartphone is available for sale through Amazon.com, and said it will agree to drop its claims against the Galaxy S III Mini only if Samsung’s assurances remain true.

In the earlier case, a jury decided Aug. 24 at the end of a trial that Samsung should pay $1.05 billion for infringing six Apple patents. Apple awaits a decision from U.S. District Judge Lucy Koh on its request for additional damages against Samsung for infringement after the iPhone maker lost its bid to block U.S. sales on 26 of the Galaxy maker’s devices. Apple failed to establish that consumer demand for Samsung products was driven by technology it stole, Koh ruled.

At a Dec. 6 hearing, Apple asked Koh to increase the damages awarded by the jury by $536 million, while Samsung said the verdict should be reduced by more than $600 million. Koh hasn’t ruled on the matter.

Samsung and Apple, the world’s two biggest smartphone makers, have each scored victories in their patent disputes fought over four continents since Cupertino, Calif.-based Apple accused Asia’s biggest electronics maker of “slavishly copying” its devices. The companies are competing for dominance of a global mobile-device market estimated by Yankee Group at $346 billion this year.

Samsung, facing an antitrust probe by European regulators, has said it will halt efforts to block sales of Apple products in Europe.

Newer smartphones made by both companies, including Samsung’s Galaxy S III and Apple’s iPhone 5, have been added to the case set for trial in 2014.

Adam Yates, a spokesman for Suwon, South Korea-based Samsung, declined to comment.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 29, 2012, 01:57:17 PM
There's an interesting article from a few months ago about her ascendance to the bench and about perceptions (unfounded) of whether her Korean ancestry implicates favoring Samsung.
Post by: D.H.W on January 04, 2013, 09:08:23 AM
comScore: Samsung and Android continue to dominate US

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_and_android_continue_to_dominate_latest_us_comscore_figures-news-5287.php
Post by: pecan on January 04, 2013, 10:32:39 AM
comScore: Samsung and Android continue to dominate US

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_and_android_continue_to_dominate_latest_us_comscore_figures-news-5287.php

(http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/01/comscore-november-2012/gsmarena_002.jpg)

is the Symbian same as a Sybian? Takes the "m" out of mastubtating. Howard Stern would be happy.
Post by: Bakes on January 04, 2013, 01:39:23 PM
None of this is really surprising... Google was smart enough to license Android to any and all makers, so it makes sense that as long as the majority of cellphone customers not buying expensive iPhones, then if you go after that segment of the market you will dominate all other OS.  Not sure what going on with RIM... and Windows, I dunno, never try the new OS but the old one was some shit.  For the sake of competition I hope they reinvent deyself 'cause right not iOS and Android rendering them obsolete.
Post by: D.H.W on January 04, 2013, 03:54:54 PM
Rim has a new revamped OS. BlackBerry 10 with some new phones coming out in January. Not sure if it will be enough.
Post by: lefty on January 04, 2013, 04:16:12 PM
Rim has a new revamped OS. BlackBerry 10 with some new phones coming out in January. Not sure if it will be enough.

apart from BB what is\was the appeal of black berry anyways ??? was never really ground breaking tech......I know the data encryption was supposedly "the shit", so corporate types flocked to it, as it allowed u to communicate sensitive data safely with each other...but what else......all that to say I would buy an android based blackberry ....especially for a hardware keyboard
Post by: pecan on January 04, 2013, 04:49:14 PM

apart from BB what is\was the appeal of black berry anyways ??? was never really ground breaking tech......I know the data encryption was supposedly "the shit", so corporate types flocked to it, as it allowed u to communicate sensitive data safely with each other...but what else......all that to say I would buy an android based blackberry ....especially for a hardware keyboard

If you are a betting man, now is the time to buy RIM shares:

(https://www.google.ca/finance/chart?q=TSE:RIM&tlf=12&chst=vks&chs=306x96&p=5Y&nocache=1357339721234)
Post by: D.H.W on January 04, 2013, 05:17:13 PM

apart from BB what iswas the appeal of black berry anyways ??? was never really ground breaking tech......I know the data encryption was supposedly "the shit", so corporate types flocked to it, as it allowed u to communicate sensitive data safely with each other...but what else......all that to say I would buy an android based blackberry ....especially for a hardware keyboard

They should of gone android instead of making a new OS. They better have a good backup plan if bb10 fail.
Post by: Bakes on January 04, 2013, 05:54:10 PM

If you are a betting man, now is the time to buy RIM shares:

(https://www.google.ca/finance/chart?q=TSE:RIM&tlf=12&chst=vks&chs=306x96&p=5Y&nocache=1357339721234)

Would have loved to short that stock.
Post by: D.H.W on January 05, 2013, 06:20:37 AM
BB10

https://www.youtube.com/v/fg2xZed84Jg

Post by: pecan on January 05, 2013, 09:53:55 AM
RIM was the darling of Canadian Hi Tech and the co-CEOs took their eyes off the ball and got caught up in too much hype, bidding to buy an NHL team, establishing the Perimeter Institute (theoretical physics etc) in which Stephen Hawking has a chair. They allowed RIM to fall behind. Not sure if the new management team can recover. But the BB10 does look cool. Stock trading at $11-12.  Will they ever get back to $150? Likely not but even $50 will do nicely.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 05, 2013, 10:34:28 AM
RIM was the darling of Canadian Hi Tech and the co-CEOs took their eyes off the ball and got caught up in too much hype, bidding to buy an NHL team, establishing the Perimeter Institute (theoretical physics etc) in which Stephen Hawking has a chair. They allowed RIM to fall behind. Not sure if the new management team can recover. But the BB10 does look cool. Stock trading at $11-12.  Will they ever get back to $150? Likely not but even $50 will do nicely.

Correk is right, cyar sleep in dis economy
Post by: grimm01 on January 05, 2013, 12:04:32 PM
BB10 looking good but might be too little too late.

On the consumer side of things the smartphone market has moved beyond the phone and the OS to ecosystems. People not just buying a droid or iphone but getting locked into ecosystems by buying apps, movies, music, books for use on phones & tablets etc. Ecosystems make the switching costs high and in the case of Android, if you get tired of your phone you could always buy the next Nexus/Galaxy/HTC phone and still keep all your content. I see BB10 finally bring BB close enough to the competition to retain current BB users and stem losses, but it makes it really hard to convert people. Plus aside from the focus on gestures, i not seeing anything that is a leap beyond what already in the market.

On the business side, the bring your own device trend (BYOD) too far down the road. I work for a company that is ultra conservative when it comes to security because we deal with personal health info. They used to hand out BB's then one day the CEO say he want a iphone and ipad and IT had to make it happen. This week one of the admins tell me that a new policy started in 2013, no more BB's. People can use an application called Good with their own phone and the company giving up to $50 for phone bills.

BB will be fighting up for the scraps with Windows Phone.
Post by: Bakes on January 05, 2013, 02:01:04 PM

This takes credit away from the innovative leap that was the iPhone... simply put it revolutionized the cellphone industry by by better integrating the old mobile phone/PDA into emerging technologies (touch screen, apps, mobile web browsing etc.) to consolidate the old mobile phone into a versatile mobile communication platform... aka the smartphone.  Google was smart in taking what Apple was doing and tweaking it... open source development of Android as an OS, and open source app development as well, minus the iron-handed grip employed by Apple.  I actually think Apple is poised for even greater success... just a hunch.  I think the dictatorial methods employed by Jobs was necessary to streamline everything, R&D, production, marketing... even down to sales.  But I think there'll be greater freedom now where design is concerned.  You're already starting to see minor departures away from that with the iPhone 5 -whether it works or not remains to be seen.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 05, 2013, 02:21:14 PM
I'm noticing Internet connectivity issues with the iPhone 5 :( ... Also didn't think about not being able to have iMessaging available during calls. For international messages this is an inconvenience particularly when an incoming call you can't decline comes in. Throws everything into text message mode @ cost.

Post by: Bakes on January 05, 2013, 02:53:20 PM
I'm noticing Internet connectivity issues with the iPhone 5 :( ... Also didn't think about not being able to have iMessaging available during calls. For international messages this is an inconvenience particularly when an incoming call you can't decline comes in. Throws everything into text message mode @ cost.

Never really had any issues connecting on the 4G networks... unless I completely didn't have any reception.  As for the iMessaging issues.  iMessaging will occasionally not be available, even to my other iPhone contacts but I iMessage during calls all the time.
Post by: D.H.W on January 06, 2013, 04:24:33 PM
Samsung Galaxy S II JB update detailed, coming very soon

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s_ii_jelly_bean_update_detailed_coming_very_soon-news-5292.php
Post by: D.H.W on January 07, 2013, 07:41:00 PM
Sony Xperia Z, new beast on the market soon , announced at CES , trumps S3 on specs

Sony Xperia Z announced: HDR video capture, 5-inch 1080p Reality Display, water-resistant

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2013/01/sonyxperiaz.jpg)

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2013/01/xperiaz3.jpg)

"Another software addition is a new intelligent battery saver mode. This specific stamina mode will turn off any power-hungry apps (chosen either automatically by the phone, or by a user-made list) when the screen is switched off. This means you can let your email or Twitter continue to receive pings but can shut down pretty much everything else."

http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/07/sony-xperia-z-hands-on-ces-2013/

http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/07/sony-xperia-z-announced-ces-2013/

http://www.youtube.com/v/_-voVE2bVYw

Post by: JDB on January 09, 2013, 08:00:18 AM

Is this with verizon or AT&T?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 09, 2013, 12:10:32 PM
Neither.
Post by: Bakes on January 09, 2013, 02:16:43 PM
Neither.
Ahhh... Sprint.  Therein lies your problem.
Post by: D.H.W on January 14, 2013, 01:55:51 PM
Apple shares drop amidst rumors of low iPhone 5 demand

http://blog.gsmarena.com/apple-shares-drop-amid-rumors-of-low-iphone-5-demand/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Post by: lefty on January 14, 2013, 02:24:08 PM
Apple shares drop amidst rumors of low iPhone 5 demand

http://blog.gsmarena.com/apple-shares-drop-amid-rumors-of-low-iphone-5-demand/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

anyone of the internet traders does accept foreign users...wit small money :D ........a could buy apple and short he ass
Post by: Bakes on January 14, 2013, 02:54:26 PM
Read two nights ago that Walmart were talking about selling the iPhone 5 for $127, which would be stunning if true. Not only would that be a steep $72 below the MSRP of $199, but also such a steep price reduction two-three months after the phone was just released is a trouble signal that sales are slow.  Same article said that the iPad 3 was being discounted too... so I'm not surprised by the drop in the share price.

What this does (if you ask me) is to signal to Apple that they can't just keep making these essentially cosmetic changes to their devices and expecting the market to support the outlandishly high price points.  What they will need to do is to regroup and save upgrades for substantial improvements, or just price their upgrades more modestly.  Smart money is on the former, rather than the latter.
Post by: truetrini on January 14, 2013, 02:59:48 PM
Read two nights ago that Walmart were talking about selling the iPhone 5 for $127, which would be stunning if true. Not only would that be a steep $72 below the MSRP of $199, but also such a steep price reduction two-three months after the phone was just released is a trouble signal that sales are slow.  Same article said that the iPad 3 was being discounted too... so I'm not surprised by the drop in the share price.

What this does (if you ask me) is to signal to Apple that they can't just keep making these essentially cosmetic changes to their devices and expecting the market to support the outlandishly high price points.  What they will need to do is to regroup and save upgrades for substantial improvements, or just price their upgrades more modestly.  Smart money is on the former, rather than the latter.

ANDROID in dey pweffen!   Samsung to be exact!
Post by: Peong on January 14, 2013, 04:43:41 PM
Allyuh see the bendable touchscreen and the bumpy one?
Post by: Bakes on January 14, 2013, 05:42:34 PM

I doh think so... the poor sales would suggest that not even the Apple loyalists upgrading to the new iPhone 5 the way they did for the other iterations.  Most likely they just waiting for the next version to come out, with better bells and whistles.  For instance, I won't call myself a loyalist just yet, but it will take a lot for me to go back to Android.  Even so, I only have my phone 14 months now and it still wukking like de day I take it out the box... what I upgrading for, half ah square inch bigger screen?
Post by: truetrini on January 14, 2013, 05:45:43 PM

I doh think so... the poor sales would suggest that not even the Apple loyalists upgrading to the new iPhone 5 the way they did for the other iterations.  Most likely they just waiting for the next version to come out, with better bells and whistles.  For instance, I won't call myself a loyalist just yet, but it will take a lot for me to go back to Android.  Even so, I only have my phone 14 months now and it still wukking like de day I take it out the box... what I upgrading for, half ah square inch bigger screen?

No if yuh wanted to upgrade yuh woulda get more versatility with android.
Post by: D.H.W on January 14, 2013, 05:49:53 PM
Rim shot!
Post by: Bakes on January 14, 2013, 06:21:48 PM

Yeah?  How so?
Post by: truetrini on January 14, 2013, 06:27:04 PM

Yeah?  How so?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhhwqbabxYY
Post by: D.H.W on January 15, 2013, 11:58:49 AM
Allyuh see the bendable touchscreen and the bumpy one?

https://www.youtube.com/v/kJEHp15Hoo0

https://www.youtube.com/v/vSm-AVcBlOA&
Post by: D.H.W on January 15, 2013, 01:20:50 PM
BlackBerry Z10 shown in first hands-on video

http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/15/blackberry-z10-first-hands-on-video/
Post by: elan on January 16, 2013, 02:20:06 PM
Anyone walking around with an Iphone 5 got duped by sensationalism. That phone does 0 that any other simple smartphone can do. You have to be a basic techie to be attracted to Iphone. You cannot do anything with that that you cannot do with a basic smartphone. How long can you talk to siri? WOW a do not disturd setting, how about the silent button on your phone? Panoramic pics, there's an app for that.

When apple can let me have my music and videos that I bought, then they are making strides. I can put music on my droid from ANY computer, no extra app or software. Drag and drop.
Post by: Bakes on January 16, 2013, 03:17:21 PM
Anyone walking around with an Iphone 5 got duped by sensationalism. That phone does 0 that any other simple smartphone can do. You have to be a basic techie to be attracted to Iphone. You cannot do anything with that that you cannot do with a basic smartphone. How long can you talk to siri? WOW a do not disturd setting, how about the silent button on your phone? Panoramic pics, there's an app for that.

When apple can let me have my music and videos that I bought, then they are making strides. I can put music on my droid from ANY computer, no extra app or software. Drag and drop.

Do Not Disturb isn't unique to the iPhone 5, nor does it work the same as the "silent" button on your phone.  Silent button silences everything, including incoming calls, the Do Not Disturb features allows you to customize what you want to receive or not... plus you configure when you want it to kick in and end, you don't have to worry about forgetting to silence your phone at night.  As for music, I'm not sure why you think Apple won't let you "have" music and videos that you bought... you just upload them to iTunes.  Now if yuh doh want to deal with iTunes then I can't help yuh with that... I've been using iTunes about 7 years now, long before I made the switch.  Of late I've been using Spotify a lot though, similar to iTunes, but with social media integration.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 16, 2013, 04:00:29 PM
Siri had me rolling yesterday. In response to a command to return to one of several options provided, Siri come wid: that's not within my capacity. She geh cuss. Next ting I hearing is: there's no reason for profanity. Next thing she bawl is: I'd blush if I could.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on January 16, 2013, 04:26:57 PM
Lol... that's funny.  I doh even fack with Siri though, waste ah time.  Or maybe I just ent figure out how to use it efficiently, I know plenty swear by it.  I does still place my calls and make my own appointments in my calendar the old-fashioned way.
Post by: D.H.W on January 21, 2013, 10:04:02 PM
Samsung Galaxy S4 Benchmark Confirms Eight Cores

According to the benchmark, the Galaxy S4 boasts Samsung's Exynos 5 Octa processor -- the world's first eight-core mobile processor -- clocked at 1.8GHz. It'll apparently launch with Android 4.2.1 Jelly Bean.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Samsung-GT-I9500-Galaxy-s-IV-s4,20587.html#xtor=RSS-181
Post by: D.H.W on January 22, 2013, 11:07:27 AM
Rumor: Samsung Galaxy S4 unveiling set for March 22, first shipment mid-April

According to a “telecommunications industry” cited by Korea’s Asian Economies, Samsung will host an Unpacked event in the United States on Friday, March 22 to unveil the Samsung Galaxy S IV. SamMobile has also chimed in, claiming that Samsung will start shipping the Galaxy S IV in week 16 of 2013 (that’s the week of April 15 for those of you too lazy to pull up your calendar).

http://androidandme.com/2013/01/smartphones-2/rumor-samsung-galaxy-s4-unveiling-set-for-march-22-first-shipment-mid-april/
Post by: D.H.W on January 25, 2013, 01:29:10 PM
Apple loses most valuable company title

Apple shares have fallen further, meaning that it has been overtaken by oil giant Exxon Mobil as the world's most valuable publicly-traded company.

The iPhone-maker's stock fell 2.4% to $439 a share for a market value of $413bn (£261bn). Exxon's value is currently around $418bn.

Its shares have fallen almost 40% since hitting a record $702 in September.

The tech giant has been hit by fears over its future growth, despite record profits.

The firm said late on Wednesday it had sold more iPhones (47.8 million) and iPads (22.9 million) in the final three months of last year than in any previous quarter, but investors had expected yet more.

On Thursday, about $50bn was wiped off Apple's value after the biggest daily drop in the firm's stock in four years.

Apple is also facing fierce competition from rivals like Samsung, which accounted for one in four of all mobile phones shipped worldwide last year, according to Strategy Analytics.

Apple's share price rose sharply following a revival under Steve Jobs, who died in 2011, which came about first in computers and then the iPod music player, and was then followed by the iPhone and iPad.

Apple's shares were worth as little as $3.19 in 1997 when it faced the possibility of bankruptcy.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-21205692
Post by: D.H.W on January 29, 2013, 04:03:04 PM
Android claimed 70 percent of world smartphone share in Q4 2012 

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2013/01/strategy-analytics-os-q4-2012.jpg)

Maybe it's easier being green than we thought. We suspected Android would do well in smartphone market share when Strategy Analytics had Samsung surging ahead in the fourth quarter of 2012, but the firm's newer breakdown of estimated share by OS shows an even larger jump for Google's overall platform -- from 51.3 percent in fall 2011 to 70.1 percent one year later. Apple was knocked down slightly to 22 percent, although it's mostly other platforms that took the bruising. Collectively, BlackBerry, Symbian, Windows Phone and other platforms sank from 25.1 percent of the smartphone space in late 2011 to just 7.9 points as 2012 drew to a close. When just two companies' platforms make up 92 percent of smartphones, it's safe to call the result a duopoly, like Strategy Analytics does -- even if others aren't so content with the idea.

http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/29/strategy-analytics-android-70-percent-share/
Post by: D.H.W on January 30, 2013, 05:31:29 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/-rvbtkWFDFM
Post by: lefty on January 30, 2013, 05:43:42 PM
d blackberry seems to hold its own, functionality wise, it would be interesting to see a multimedia comparison though
Post by: pecan on January 30, 2013, 06:11:43 PM
RIM aka Blackberry share price dropped today.

(http://freechart.globeinvestor.com/servlet/charting?pi_symbol=rim-T&chart_width=380&chart_height=225&chart_style=medium_chart&chart_type=png&period=5D&x_scale=true&img_bg=)
Post by: D.H.W on February 03, 2013, 09:30:00 AM
Samsung Mobile USA - The Next Big Thing (Super Bowl Commercial)

http://www.youtube.com/v/5ae7E8J7h7Y
Post by: D.H.W on February 19, 2013, 09:34:19 AM
HTC One goes official with 4.7" 1080p screen, quad-core CPU

Just as we expected, the HTC events turned out to be about the company's new flagship - the HTC One.
HTC One features a 4.7-inch Super LCD 3 display of 1080p resolution (that's 469ppi). It should be able to match the image quality of the Butterfly's unit.

(http://cdn.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/02/htc-one-official-render/gsmarena_001.jpg)

The One is powered by the latest Qualcomm Snapdragon 600 chipset (the same ticking inside the LG Optimus G Pro) utilizing a quad-core 1.7GHz Krait 300 processor, Adreno 320 graphics and 2GB (LPDDR3) of RAM.

The test of the HTC One specs include a 4MP camera with 1080p@60fps video recording relying on a new ultrapixel technology for improved image quality, 32 or 64 GB of non-expandable storage and rich connectivity settings including LTE, NFC, Wi-Fi a/ac/b/g/n, Bluetooth 4 and GPS with GLONASS.

HTC One will launch running on Android 4.1.2 but the 4.2.2 update is already in the works.

The new flagship is made out of aluminum and is about 9.3 mm thick. It has stereo speakers at the front with impressive 93db loudness and a 2300 mAh non-removable battery. Also, its Power/Lock key on top is transparent and doubles as an IR port to control home equipment.

HTC One will be available in black and silver colors and will launch in March this year. HTC has already made deals with 185 carriers worldwide including USA's AT&T, T-Mobile and Sprint; all major UK carriers and many more. There is still no info on its retail price, though.

You should check out this article for live photos of the HTC One, garnished with our first hand impressions of the device.

http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_one_goes_official_1080p_screen_quad-news-5566.php

(http://androidandme.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/htc-one-silver-630.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2013, 06:01:18 AM
Galaxy S IV to premiere at Times Square on March 14

Samsung has already sent out invitations for a press event on March 14, where it will unveil the Galaxy S IV smartphone. It seems though its plans for the announcement are much bigger.
Today Samsung invites all of its social network followers to join the Galaxy S IV premiere in New York. Everyone is invited on March 14, 7PM at Times Square.
The people there will be able the follow the UNPACKED announcement event via a livestream, which, we guess, will be hooked on to some of the big screens, lining the square. They should also be able to "experience Samsung's new flagship smartphone at Times Square", whatever that means.

http://www.gsmarena.com/galaxy_s_iv_to_premiere_at_times_square_on_march_14-news-5625.php
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 28, 2013, 06:51:41 AM
UK based, how is BB10 doing?  Supposedly goes on sale in US from Fri
Post by: D.H.W on March 03, 2013, 09:45:08 AM
(http://cdn.gottabemobile.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Samsung-Galaxy-S4-Teaser-575x575.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2013, 06:58:16 AM
S4 is going to be revealed today
Post by: pecan on March 14, 2013, 08:11:03 AM
Blackberry announced they just received an order for 1 million phones. No word on who the customer is.
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2013, 05:55:38 PM
S4 Hands on

https://www.youtube.com/v/j4K61QXrEMM&

The GS 4 features a 5-inch 1080p (1,920 x 1,080) Super AMOLED panel which offers a pixel density of 441 ppi and the ability to use your gloves at the same time. It's also a powerful beast: it packs 2GB RAM and will come with either a 1.6GHz Exynos Octa-core chip or a 1.9GHz quad-core Qualcomm, depending on your region. (Unfortunately, Samsung hasn't yet specified which Snapdragon we can expect, but we're guessing it's at least a 600 if not an 800.) Refreshingly, it will also come with Android 4.2.2 on-board when it launches.
Post by: lefty on March 14, 2013, 06:50:00 PM
just add ah S3 mini to mih cart............wonder if dey goh release a s4 mini....me eh tink I want a big ass phone I get used to have a pouch on mih waist
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2013, 07:33:44 PM
Official video with all the features.

https://www.youtube.com/v/2LHv1FPd1Ec&
Post by: elan on March 15, 2013, 08:31:01 AM
Was in Time Square last nigh and they had a free demo event going on. Line was too long to stand in the cold to play with that.
Post by: lefty on March 15, 2013, 08:43:09 AM
just add ah S3 mini to mih cart............wonder if dey goh release a s4 mini....me eh tink I want a big ass phone I get used to have a pouch on mih waist

and two sim cards....still not convinced cross network calls doh hurt yuh pocket on digicel, ah really thinkin on d S4 though ah would take ah S4 duos if it sized like d mini...rumour is dat comin too..... ah go take less features , processing power and less size to not have to carry two phone

wonder if d smaller phones will have gorilla glass ???
Post by: D.H.W on March 15, 2013, 10:11:21 AM
Once it in the upper echelons it should.

I saw this today.

S4 has Gorrilla Glass 3

" According to the manufacturer, the Gorilla Glass 3 is
stronger, and is 3x more scratch-resistant than Gorilla
Glass 2. Plus some 40% less scratches are visble once
they occur."
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2013, 01:37:34 PM

and two sim cards....still not convinced cross network calls doh hurt yuh pocket on digicel, ah really thinkin on d S4 though ah would take ah S4 duos if it sized like d mini...rumour is dat comin too..... ah go take less features , processing power and less size to not have to carry two phone

wonder if d smaller phones will have gorilla glass ???

for you lefty

First Samsung Galaxy S4 mini live photos appear

"The Galaxy S4 mini (GT-I9190) will be available in a dual-SIM version as well"

(http://cdn.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/03/s4-mini-live-photos/gsmarena_001.jpg)

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s4_mini_live_photos_appear_packs_dualcore_cpu-news-5750.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Post by: lefty on March 22, 2013, 04:02:14 PM
yeah a could rock dat
Post by: pecan on April 10, 2013, 01:35:22 PM
Once it in the upper echelons it should.

I saw this today.

S4 has Gorrilla Glass 3

" According to the manufacturer, the Gorilla Glass 3 is
stronger, and is 3x more scratch-resistant than Gorilla
Glass 2. Plus some 40% less scratches are visble once
they occur."

DHW as the resident Android expert, yout opinion please - I use a netbook to take notes (Word) when I meet my clients.

What is your gut opinion: should I use the S3 notes in this scenario and take written notes which I can convert to text.  Or upgrade to the S4 for my phone and use another device for note taking in the field?

Right now, I have a older Galaxy Captivate + Acer netbook + separate wireless internet (I do not use the Captivate as a internet portal as the battery dies faster than a corbeaux in Chaguaramas).

Also, your opinion on Sony Google TV - I can get one by cashing in some credit cards rewards points. Is that a good alternative to a Smart TV?
Post by: D.H.W on April 10, 2013, 01:54:52 PM
Depends. Nothing beats a good old fashion keyboard. But if you take notes on the fly, then you could use the galaxy note 2, since that has the pen functionality to write with. That more suited for those things.

As for the TV, never dig to much into it. You better off looking at reviews and articles online, cause I might give yuh bad info.

Galaxy Note 2 Review.

https://www.youtube.com/v/VdsMwGWvhO4&
Post by: D.H.W on April 10, 2013, 02:29:30 PM
For those on the fence

Samsung Galaxy S4 vs Galaxy S III: Advanced fence-sitting

(http://cdn.gsmarena.com/vv/reviewsimg/samsung-galaxy-s4-vs-galaxy-siii/gsmarena_001.jpg)

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s4_vs_galaxy_siii-review-918.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Post by: pecan on April 10, 2013, 07:55:34 PM
Depends. Nothing beats a good old fashion keyboard. But if you take notes on the fly, then you could use the galaxy note 2, since that has the pen functionality to write with. That more suited for those things.

As for the TV, never dig to much into it. You better off looking at reviews and articles online, cause I might give yuh bad info.

Galaxy Note 2 Review.

https://www.youtube.com/v/VdsMwGWvhO4&

thanks for this link ... greatly appreciated.
Post by: D.H.W on April 28, 2013, 09:36:21 AM
Alleged image of Samsung Galaxy Note III appears online

The rumors of the next generation Samsung Galaxy Note phablet are growing thick and fast. An alleged image of the Galaxy Note III phablet has appeared online, sporting a 5.9-inch display.

(http://cdn.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/04/samsung-galaxy-note-3-image/gsmarena_001.jpg)

According to a report from MyDrivers, the upcoming Galaxy Note phablet will feature a Full HD display and packs a punch with the company's own Exynos 5410 Octa processor, with the four powerful Cortex A15 chips clocked at 2.0 GHz, and the remaining four power-saving Cortex A7 chips running at 1.7 GHz.
Samsung Galaxy Note III is said to come with 3 GB of RAM and will run on Android 4.2 Jelly Bean. Furthermore, the phablet is rumored to be unveiled during IFA 2013.

http://www.gsmarena.com/alleged_image_of_samsung_galaxy_note_iii_appears_online-news-5935.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Post by: Preacher on April 29, 2013, 10:03:44 PM
Thinking about upgrading my phone.  Any suggestions?   Right now I'm swinging with an HTC EVO Shift.  It's done well.  It's hard to pick because every phone can do everything.  A bigger screen may not be to bad. 
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2013, 08:11:17 AM
(http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/05/android-iphone-sales-gartner/gsmarena_003.jpg)

(http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/05/android-iphone-sales-gartner/gsmarena_005.jpg)

(http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/05/android-iphone-sales-gartner/gsmarena_002.jpg)

http://www.gsmarena.com/75_of_handsets_sold_in_q1_run_android_apple_is_far_behind-news-6033.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2013, 08:44:20 AM
New BB announced today

(http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/13/05/blackberry-announces-q5/gsmarena_002.jpg)
Post by: Jah Gol on May 14, 2013, 10:52:44 AM
BBM will launch on Android and IOS.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2418946,00.asp (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2418946,00.asp)
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2013, 11:06:52 AM
BBM will launch on Android and IOS.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2418946,00.asp (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2418946,00.asp)

This is big news
Post by: Jah Gol on May 14, 2013, 12:12:47 PM
It's a free download too.
Post by: D.H.W on May 18, 2013, 08:36:47 AM
Digicel launches its own smart phone

http://www.youtube.com/v/PAKMYVNRDOQ&

800 TT Prepaid

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/phones/phones_list.php?filter_manu=38&filter_styl=&filter_ring=&filter=search
Post by: D.H.W on August 12, 2013, 03:24:26 PM
New leak shows off Sony “lens cameras” that attach to and are controlled by a smartphone

(http://androidandme.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Sony-QX10-Xperia-Z-630x505.jpg)

Sony seems to have a new, innovative product up their sleeve. This is a leak and a rumor, but it’s pretty damn credible. The rumored devices are the DSC-QX10 and QX100, which are new products Sony will probably call “lens cameras.” With a lens, image sensor, BIONZ image processor, WiFi, NFC and an SD slot, they are fully equipped to take high quality photos. However, they lack a screen or any way to control them.

They are made to attach to a smartphone. Using WiFI and/or NFC, they will connect to the phone and allow it to control the lens camera. With this fairly small accessory, you’ll be able to take awesome photos on the go using your favorite smartphone. And best of all, these accessories will work with both Android and iOS devices.

(http://androidandme.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Sony-QX10-QX100-630x419.jpg)

According to this leak, there will be two models. The bigger one will contain the 20.2MP RX100 Mark II sensor, which is a very large 1-inch sensor. The other model will come with a smaller 1/2.3-inch 18MP sensor and 10x zoom lens. Those are pretty impressive sensors for phone accessories.

(http://androidandme.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Sony-QX100-happy-dude-630x419.jpg)

This photo is a double leak, because if you look closer, the phone that is being used is actually the rumored Sony Honami.

We hope that Sony will price these devices well, because these could really improve mobile photography while we wait for phones to get better sensors and lenses. We may see these devices at IFA on September 4, so stay tuned. Would you get one? And if not, tell us why!

http://androidandme.com/2013/08/devices/new-leak-shows-off-sony-lens-cameras-that-attach-to-and-are-controlled-by-a-smartphone/
Post by: D.H.W on August 29, 2013, 10:46:24 AM
Coming soon BBM for Android and iPhone
http://ca.blackberry.com/bbm.html

http://www.engadget.com/2013/08/29/bbm-android-iphone/
Post by: D.H.W on September 18, 2013, 12:30:19 PM
 Blackberry's message service coming to Android on Sept 21st and iPhone on Sept 22nd.
Post by: OutsideMan on September 18, 2013, 03:00:36 PM
Blackberry's message service coming to Android on Sept 21st and iPhone on Sept 22nd.

I never used BBM, but I've been awaiting the the BBM-App for the iPhone for months now. 4 more days! 
Post by: D.H.W on September 18, 2013, 06:18:12 PM
BBM Available for Android on September 21 and iPhone on September 22

(http://rimblogs.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/screen-shot-2013-09-17-at-5-53-15-pm.png?w=620&h=514)

That’s right BBM fans — the iconic mobile social network will begin rolling out for Android and iPhone customers around the world from September 21. Soon, you’ll be able to easily connect with friends on different platforms. As you may know BBM was previously exclusive to BlackBerry smartphones, and it will be available as a free download in Google Play and the App Store.

While some of you are no strangers to BBM, many will be new and might be asking: What is BBM? Below, you’ll find all the highlights for BBM for Android and iPhone.

BBM for Android and iPhone features:
BBM Chat – Enjoy real, immediate conversations with friends on Android, iPhone and BlackBerry smartphones. Not only does BBM let you know that your message has been delivered and read, it also shows you that your friend is responding to the message.

More than chat – With BBM you can share files on your phone such as photos and voice notes, all in an instant.

Keep your group in the loop – Multi-person chats are a great way to invite contacts to chat together. BBM Groups lets you invite up to 30 friends to chat together, and go a step further than multi-chat by sharing photos and schedules. And, with Broadcast Message, you can send a message out to all your BBM contacts at once.

Post Updates and stay in the know – BBM lets you post a personal message, profile picture and your current status, and lets your contacts know instantly in Updates.

Your unique PIN – Every BBM user has a unique PIN that maintains your privacy, so you don’t have to give out your phone number or email address to a new or casual contact.

BBM gives you a private social network for active, real conversations and it has more than 60 million customers on BlackBerry alone. The overwhelming majority use BBM an average of 90 minutes per day. BBM customers collectively send and receive more than 10 billion messages each day, nearly twice as many messages per user per day as compared to other mobile messaging apps. Messages on BBM are typically read within seconds, reflecting how truly engaged BBM customers are.

It’s immediate. BBM is always on so you are always connected. And because messages on BBM are typically delivered and read within seconds, it’s the closest thing to a live conversation.

You trust it. BBM always tells you that messages are delivered and read. BBM conversations come alive on a private network you can count on.

You control it. BBM allows you to choose your contacts and how you share your information. BBM uses a PIN so you don’t have to give anyone your phone number or email address.

In a recent press release, Andrew Bocking, Executive Vice President for BBM at BlackBerry said:

“BBM is a very engaging messaging service that is simple to use, easy to personalize and has an immediacy that is necessary for mobile communications. With more than a billion Android, iOS, and BlackBerry smartphones in the market, and no dominant mobile instant messaging platform, this is absolutely the right time to bring BBM to Android and iPhone customers.”

Availability
BBM will be available as a free download for Android smartphones running Ice Cream Sandwich and Jelly Bean (Android 4.x) beginning at 7AM EDT on September 21. BBM for iPhones running iOS 6 and iOS 7 will become available for each market on the App Store schedule of 12:01 AM local time on September 22. For more information, or to download BBM for Android or iPhone, visit www.BBM.com.

BBM will continue to evolve quickly. Later this year, BBM Channels will provide a forum for active, real conversations between you and the people, brands, celebrities, artists, service providers, communities and more, that matter to you. By creating a Channel, individuals and brands can engage their friends and communities in conversations sparked by their thoughts, ideas and passions. Subscribing to a Channel will let you join conversations with people who share your interests. In addition, BBM Video calling and BBM Voice calling are planned for availability for Android and iPhone in a future version.

Excited about getting BBM on your Android or iPhone? Let us know in the comments and spread the word to your friends.

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-for-android-iphone/?CPID=SOC_C_WW_TW1379525489
Post by: lefty on September 19, 2013, 07:21:46 AM

people done sayin dey too late .....even in trini where d proportion of BB to android and iOS still high............plenty people I know stickin to BB only 'cause dey ent have no money or dey BB still workin good, but goh change when dey circumstances change

BB have to do someting real special at this point to get people interested.
Post by: mal jeux on September 19, 2013, 10:31:23 AM

people done sayin dey too late .....even in trini where d proportion of BB to android and iOS still high............plenty people I know stickin to BB only 'cause dey ent have no money or dey BB still workin good, but goh change when dey circumstances change

kids (teenagers) usually are the ones to fuel digital growth and I see they're using iphone face to face thing on the regular, even more than skype, whatapp etc. so yea, BB (if they're smart) will try to get their old customers back due to nostalgia PLUS, their system is still considered very easy to use so look for them to target the 40 something + age group. bb with the physical keyboard is still a draw for older folks with thick fingers, who also like the feel of pressing a keyboard
Post by: lefty on September 19, 2013, 10:51:24 AM

kids (teenagers) usually are the ones to fuel digital growth and I see they're using iphone face to face thing on the regular, even more than skype, whatapp etc. so yea, BB (if they're smart) will try to get their old customers back due to nostalgia PLUS, their system is still considered very easy to use so look for them to target the 40 something + age group. bb with the physical keyboard is still a draw for older folks with thick fingers, who also like the feel of pressing a keyboard

I favor a physical keyboard to touch tech but I 36........doh mind touch.... is jus dat mih hands heavy....and have been known to be slippery at times too, fraid ah break it, thinking about d duel sim S4 still though, jus waitin for a cheaper price...............would be willing to get a BB if they dropped their OS and adopted android...plenty potential their I think
Post by: D.H.W on September 19, 2013, 03:38:43 PM

WSJ reports BlackBerry may lay off up to 40% of its employees

http://www.gsmarena.com/wsj_reports_blackberry_will_layoff_up_to_40_of_its_employees-news-6820.php
Post by: D.H.W on September 21, 2013, 06:46:04 PM
Blackberry fails again

BBM for Android and iPhone Update

Prior to launching BBM for Android, an unreleased version of the BBM for Android app was posted online. The interest and enthusiasm we have seen already – more than 1.1 million active users in the first 8 hours without even launching the official Android app – is incredible. Consequently, this unreleased version caused issues, which we have attempted to address throughout the day.

Our teams continue to work around the clock to bring BBM to Android and iPhone, but only when it’s ready and we know it will live up to your expectations of BBM. We are pausing the global roll-out of BBM for Android and iPhone. Customers who have already downloaded BBM for iPhone will be able to continue to use BBM. The unreleased Android app will be disabled, and customers who downloaded it should visit www.BBM.com to register for updates on official BBM for Android availability.

As soon as we are able, we will begin a staggered country roll-out of BBM for Android and continue the roll-out of BBM for iPhone. Please follow @BBM on Twitter for the latest updates and go to www.BBM.com to sign-up for updates about BBM for Android and iPhone. These issues have not impacted BBM service for BlackBerry.

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-for-android-iphone-launch-update/?CPID=SOC_C_WW_TW1379807723
Post by: OutsideMan on September 22, 2013, 05:29:09 PM
BBM to iPhone and Android still delayed in most places. 
Post by: Dutty on September 23, 2013, 05:15:50 AM

incredible!! handin over they prized jewel an all gettin fork up

sad to see ah company go from King Kong to ah stuffed monkey in less than 5 years
Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2013, 05:43:25 AM

sad to see ah company go from King Kong to ah stuffed monkey in less than 5 years

Daiz because dey was too damn harden and arrogant, not to mention dotish.
Post by: D.H.W on September 23, 2013, 11:56:57 AM

And just like that BlackBerry is sold off

@BBCBreaking: Smartphone maker Blackberry agrees to sell to group led by largest shareholder, Fairfax, for $4.7bn (£2.9bn)

http://t.co/oMsZLrE9RX
Post by: lefty on September 23, 2013, 03:42:59 PM
yeah boy.........ah tink d writing was always on d wall though....let see what happens going forward..........
Post by: OutsideMan on September 23, 2013, 03:45:19 PM

And just like that BlackBerry is sold off

@BBCBreaking: Smartphone maker Blackberry agrees to sell to group led by largest shareholder, Fairfax, for $4.7bn (£2.9bn)

http://t.co/oMsZLrE9RX

I just saw the news, but it states that nothing has been agreed to as of yet, and that Fairfax Financial has no exclusivity on the deal (meaning that BB can still speak to other potential suitors).  Also, I'm wondering if the entire rollout debacle this weekend was due to some sort of ultimatum by Fairfax Financial, informing RIM to halt the distribution of the BBM service to other outlets since they (Fairfax) see BBM as the only main positive for the company.

The tentative offer of $4.7 billion seems a bit too high valuation for RIM in relation to all of their recent financial struggles and lack of demand for their products.  The price may come waaaaay WAAAY down if any deal is to eventuate.   
Post by: OutsideMan on September 24, 2013, 07:17:47 AM
Just read this update from the EVP of the BBM division at RIM.

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-android-iphone-update/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+InsideBlackberry-TheOfficialBlackBerryBlog+(Inside+BlackBerry+-+The+Official+BlackBerry+Blog)
Post by: D.H.W on September 27, 2013, 05:32:28 AM

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-android-iphone-update/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+InsideBlackberry-TheOfficialBlackBerryBlog+(Inside+BlackBerry+-+The+Official+BlackBerry+Blog)

And the hits keep coming

@BBCWorld: #Blackberry confirms $965m net loss for second quarter of 2013, a week after announcing it was cutting 40% of jobs

Post by: OutsideMan on September 27, 2013, 09:25:20 AM

And the hits keep coming

@BBCWorld: #Blackberry confirms $965m net loss for second quarter of 2013, a week after announcing it was cutting 40% of jobs

Yeah, that $965 million loss was released about 2 weeks ago, but wasn't fully confirmed until just recently.  They took a lot of risk with the release of their last phone earlier this year...and the thing didn't sell at all.  I believe that's where the bulk of their losses stemmed from.

It's one of the reasons that the $4.7 Billion price being discussed may very well end-up being a lot less when all is said and done.  Wouldn't surprise me if we see that deal being consummated at a $400-$600 million valuation.
Post by: D.H.W on September 27, 2013, 09:32:10 AM

And the hits keep coming

Yeah, that $965 million loss was released about 2 weeks ago, but wasn't fully confirmed until just recently.  They took a lot of risk with the release of their last phone earlier this year...and the thing didn't sell at all.  I believe that's where the bulk of their losses stemmed from.

It's one of the reasons that the $4.7 Billion price being discussed may very well end-up being a lot less when all is said and done.  Wouldn't surprise me if we see that deal being consummated at a $400-$600 million valuation.

Blackberry should of gone with Android. Probably too late now
Post by: Tallman on October 01, 2013, 05:53:25 AM
Inside the fall of BlackBerry: How the smartphone inventor failed to adapt (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/the-inside-story-of-why-blackberry-is-failing/article14563602/?page=all)
Post by: Dutty on October 03, 2013, 10:32:02 AM
Inside the fall of BlackBerry: How the smartphone inventor failed to adapt (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/the-inside-story-of-why-blackberry-is-failing/article14563602/?page=all)

Interesting read on the behind the scenes wrestling match dat went on....the underlying theme throughout seems to be Too slow.

ALL Dem boys at de top commin out nice with golden parachutes oui..Heins drive de car into a wall and he get ah $80million dollar airbag for that crash

I have ah contractor pardner doin work on the addition to balsille house at present. He tell mih he have wukk dey for the next two years

dem fellahs good to go
Post by: D.H.W on October 23, 2013, 10:06:48 AM
BBM for Android is released.
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2013, 04:41:23 PM
Motorola G $179 8gb unlocked. $199 for 16gb.Coming Soon

Quad core Snapdragon 400 cpu
4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Interchangeable cases / covers
Water proof coating
stock android 4.3, guaranteed upgrade to 4.4
5mp rear camera. 1.3mp front
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference
https://www.youtube.com/v/4jrz4c0UDKY&

Demo
https://www.youtube.com/v/DKeZveLfQpI&

(http://img.talkandroid.com/uploads/2013/11/moto_G_876.png)

(http://static.ibnlive.in.com/pix/slideshow/11-2013/moto-g-motorolas/6-moto-g-131113.jpg)

(http://www.dvice.com/sites/dvice/files/styles/blog_post_media/public/moto-g.jpg?itok=Y2SklhJX)

(http://cdn.pocket-lint.com/r/s/300x/assets/images/phpwrvp7r.jpg)
Post by: pecan on November 16, 2013, 08:37:26 PM

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

Just got the Nexus 5 on Nov 11th. hmmmm.  DHW, what is the strategy for Motorola? wont this cannibalize its other products?
Post by: D.H.W on November 17, 2013, 03:18:10 AM

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

Just got the Nexus 5 on Nov 11th. hmmmm.  DHW, what is the strategy for Motorola? wont this cannibalize its other products?

It's made for the developing market. Third world countries. In America it won't really dent anything it's going to be sold as a prepaid phone. Motorola international presence is pretty low so this should help, I cah even remember when last I see a Motorola phone selling in Trinidad lol. And remember Google owns Motorola mobile devison, so its a great ploy to get more people on Android. I need a new phone but I might hold out for this. $179 is too good to pass up.

Nexus 5 is a better phone, so don't worry too much.

Off topic. Trinidad going to get LTE 4g. Digicel already start upgrading.
Post by: pecan on November 19, 2013, 06:36:57 AM

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

It's made for the developing market. Third world countries. In America it won't really dent anything it's going to be sold as a prepaid phone. Motorola international presence is pretty low so this should help, I cah even remember when last I see a Motorola phone selling in Trinidad lol. And remember Google owns Motorola mobile devison, so its a great ploy to get more people on Android. I need a new phone but I might hold out for this. $179 is too good to pass up.

thanks ...

was trying to acquire a Note 2 but I waited too long. Could have got it for "free' with my carrier (2 year contract) but will I was hemming and hawing about a Note 3, they sold out. So have not done anything as yet.  the Nexus 5 was for my daughter. So as usual, the children have better technology than me.
Post by: lefty on November 19, 2013, 08:50:17 AM

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

dat eh soundin bad at all was waitin on S4 mini duos to drop some more, it still just over 300US for dat plus d import costs
Post by: D.H.W on November 20, 2013, 07:48:00 PM
Motorola G vs Nexus 5 performance test

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xvKo2vTesg&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: pecan on November 20, 2013, 08:12:28 PM
Motorola G vs Nexus 5 performance test

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xvKo2vTesg&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Post by: pecan on November 21, 2013, 10:59:16 PM

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

thanks ...

was trying to acquire a Note 2 but I waited too long. Could have got it for "free' with my carrier (2 year contract) but will I was hemming and hawing about a Note 3, they sold out. So have not done anything as yet.  the Nexus 5 was for my daughter. So as usual, the children have better technology than me.

found a Note 2. Should be here by Monday I hope ...
Post by: D.H.W on December 06, 2013, 05:40:10 PM
Motorola G selling on Amazon for 179 and 199
Post by: lefty on December 06, 2013, 06:33:45 PM
no sd card :( otherwise fair enough, but no secondary is stupid
Post by: D.H.W on December 06, 2013, 06:37:22 PM

Cah complain considering the price. 16gb big enough for me. Considering this for Christmas not sure yet. My ideal phone would be a S3
Post by: lefty on December 06, 2013, 06:52:44 PM

Cah complain considering the price. 16gb big enough for me. Considering this for Christmas not sure yet. My ideal phone would be a S3

my new cheap ass dotish phone has an sd slot, phones die and their internal storage tend to die with them
Post by: D.H.W on December 06, 2013, 06:54:23 PM

my new cheap ass dotish phone has an sd slot, phones die and their internal storage tend to sie with them

Good point.
Post by: pecan on December 09, 2013, 06:44:03 PM
Just as I was about to sign for the Note 2, I noticed that the price of the Note 3 had dropped. So I ended up getting the Note 3 instead of the 2.

Extremely happy with the device.  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on December 09, 2013, 07:18:05 PM
Just as I was about to sign for the Note 2, I noticed that the price of the Note 3 had dropped. So I ended up getting the Note 3 instead of the 2.

Lucky. That's a beast phone.
Post by: pecan on December 09, 2013, 09:18:07 PM

I rationalized the purchase as I am able to use the notes feature for work related meetings ... the ability to make notes, annotate photos and save it as a PDF is/will my life easier when I am on a shop floor making notes and sketches. I still have to get better with the handwriting to text mode though. A little to slow but I expect the speed to pick up as I get used to the device. And the camera and HD resolution is great. And finally, I like to bigger phone size too.
Post by: D.H.W on December 25, 2013, 05:14:47 PM

I rationalized the purchase as I am able to use the notes feature for work related meetings ... the ability to make notes, annotate photos and save it as a PDF is/will my life easier when I am on a shop floor making notes and sketches. I still have to get better with the handwriting to text mode though. A little to slow but I expect the speed to pick up as I get used to the device. And the camera and HD resolution is great. And finally, I like to bigger phone size too.

Bought the Moto G have to wait till Fri. will try and post some pics of it for those interested in it. And a small review. Need to buy a case for it now 
Post by: pecan on March 23, 2014, 03:29:32 PM

Bought the Moto G have to wait till Fri. will try and post some pics of it for those interested in it. And a small review. Need to buy a case for it now 

Just accepted the notification to upgrade to Kit Kat 4.4.2 for the Note 3.

Not seeing any significant differences. However, the icons in the notification bar are all white. In the prior version. I had coloured icons. Not sure how to fix that. Not a major issue but .... colour was nice.

Will have to read-up on what the improvements are.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 29, 2014, 06:05:46 AM

So where de pics and review boss??   :waiting: ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on March 29, 2014, 06:08:49 AM
So I am toying with the idea of upgrading.  Have an S2 now.  What should I go to next?

I will be in the US in August and thinking of buying a phone then.  Ah feel like bmobile sticking it to me without Vaseline with them prices ah seeing here in T&T...

Suggestions folks.  Please and thanks.....

(note to self,  organise a lime with the US based crew..... :))
Post by: D.H.W on March 29, 2014, 06:14:28 AM
S5?
Post by: Jumbie on March 29, 2014, 07:02:09 AM
HTC making some waves..

http://technology.canoe.ca/Mobile/News/2014/03/25/21555936.html

Post by: grimm01 on March 29, 2014, 11:27:47 AM

So I am toying with the idea of upgrading.  Have an S2 now.  What should I go to next?

I will be in the US in August and thinking of buying a phone then.  Ah feel like bmobile sticking it to me without Vaseline with them prices ah seeing here in T&T...

What kinda budget yuh working with? The S5 is an option but I partial to the fit and finish of the new HTC One. Both of them brand new and carrying the latest tech so yuh will be good for a while. LG have a new flagship coming out but I not impressed by LG hardware or Android skin. These phones will run yuh $600-$700 off contract.

Nexus5 is another option, it about half the price of the S5 and HTC but the battery and camera may not be as good and no SD card slot. The Nexus comes without the software bloat and gets updates direct from Google.

Yuh could also get a MotoX cheap and I think they have the best OEM software on Android. The downside is the specs were midrange when it launched last year so it may not be as future proof and rumors saying an update launching in the summer.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 31, 2014, 12:21:36 PM
HTC making some waves..

http://technology.canoe.ca/Mobile/News/2014/03/25/21555936.html

Yes I've been reading a bit about this in past few days.....will take a read of this article in a few minutes.....
Post by: Brownsugar on March 31, 2014, 12:24:40 PM

What kinda budget yuh working with? The S5 is an option but I partial to the fit and finish of the new HTC One. Both of them brand new and carrying the latest tech so yuh will be good for a while. LG have a new flagship coming out but I not impressed by LG hardware or Android skin. These phones will run yuh $600-$700 off contract.

Nexus5 is another option, it about half the price of the S5 and HTC but the battery and camera may not be as good and no SD card slot. The Nexus comes without the software bloat and gets updates direct from Google.

Yuh could also get a MotoX cheap and I think they have the best OEM software on Android. The downside is the specs were midrange when it launched last year so it may not be as future proof and rumors saying an update launching in the summer.

Thanks Grimm......was planning to spend no more than $500 (TT $3,200) and even that ah find is plenty to spend on a phone......I eh de techie type that MUST have every new gadget that comes out......but I know the S2 is a dinosaur now so ah looking to upgrade but not necessarily to the latest gadget.......
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2014, 08:38:26 PM
M8 rel sexy
Post by: Brownsugar on August 19, 2014, 09:37:09 AM
Alright peeps.  So I'm about to buy de phone. BUT, Best Buy have one for $650. (De Samsung S4 that is).
Ah find dat is too much for ah S4.
Amazon have them marked down to $400 and de mini at $289. That within mih budget BUT.....

What does this mean?

"Features & details
Cellular Band - Quad-Band 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 Mhz
Cellular Band 3G - 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100-LTE Mhz"

This would work in T&T?? Is Quad-Band the same as 4G?

Help ah sistah out pls and thx......:)

Post by: Bourbon on August 19, 2014, 11:09:23 AM
Quad band means that it could be used for roaming. Providers use different frequencies to transmit signals...quad band is able to receive all.

4G is
4G is the fourth generation of mobile phone communications. It is a wireless broadband technology that allows high-speed mobile data services. It enables users to download and upload data up to 70 times faster so that they can experience rich multimedia and large files.

Any 3G, WCDMA, HSPA, HSDPA and HSPA+ enabled smart phones, tablet, laptops and computers will allow you to enjoy the fastest download/upload and browsing speeds available over the bmobile 4G service. Check your handset manufacturer website for specifics on your phone

At one time bmobile had a listing telling you what specifications that the phone would need to work with their network. I cant find it now though.

Whatever you do.. make sure the phone IS NOT CDMA. That cant work here.

Think that should help you out.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2015, 02:06:02 PM
Looking to get feedback on the LG G4. Anyone with insights?
Post by: Jumbie on June 19, 2015, 05:20:40 PM

my boi did a review , see: https://youtu.be/VTUDzrIgZlI

Post by: grimm01 on June 19, 2015, 08:58:25 PM
MKBHD is always a good source for reviews.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 20, 2015, 03:54:51 AM

my boi did a review , see: https://youtu.be/VTUDzrIgZlI

Thanks for that! Been hearing it's a better product than the iPhone 6.