Sports => Football => Topic started by: royal on October 07, 2008, 05:35:47 AM

Title: Sancho to NE Stars
Post by: royal on October 07, 2008, 05:35:47 AM
Brent Sancho signed a contract for the remainder of the season with North East Stars.He just want to keep match fit.But only  he and God alone knows why North East?
He's still contracted with Silverbacks for another year and hope to be playing in Europe sooner rather than later.   
Title: Re: Sancho to NE Sars
Post by: redtrinigirl on October 07, 2008, 05:45:57 AM
Oh dear.  :-\
Post by: Themanfriday on October 07, 2008, 05:48:13 AM
Well I think it is a smart move. since he playing local de cyah say dey don't know how he performing.  He will be right there in their face.
Post by: Fyzoman on October 07, 2008, 05:58:51 AM
Well I think it is a smart move. since he playing local de cyah say dey don't know how he performing.  He will be right there in their face.

Exactly!!!!
Post by: Themanfriday on October 07, 2008, 06:01:35 AM

Exactly!!!!

If Akil Edwards making de team. Dey go be dead wrong not to give him ah bligh.  I want to see what excuse de go use den
Post by: Sando on October 07, 2008, 06:01:40 AM
Good move, keep fit and be close to home were  Maturana   Corneal can see you.
Post by: Big Magician on October 07, 2008, 06:29:39 AM
welcome home Brent
Post by: NUFF on October 07, 2008, 07:03:07 AM
I doubt we will ever see Sancho in a T&T uniform again.  I hope I am wrong but what other explanation is there for him not even getting a look.
Post by: Touches on October 07, 2008, 07:04:15 AM
Inserts Andre Tanker's Greatest Hits Vol 1 into the cd player

Selects track 2

Press Play

Cranks Volume Right Up!!!!

Drums

Flute

Guitar strum

I went awaaaayyyy, I leave and I come back home, I come back to stay, I must see meh waaaaayyy

I went away looking for another home, tried to run away, run way from my destiny,

In another world, a world that was strange to me, tried to change myself, change my identity

But strong is the power of love, and the power of freedom and the power of blackness fills my heart here

Bam Bam Be Deeyyyyyy

Title: Re: Sancho to NE Stars
Post by: Big Magician on October 07, 2008, 07:21:16 AM
Touches...drop ah smoke fuh meh nah
Post by: FireBrand on October 07, 2008, 07:53:45 AM
Watch Stars shine now!  ;D

Brent wants to be back in T&T colours bad, but he believes the 'powers that be' will not let that happen....regardless of how well he is performing for ANY club.
Post by: sweetiepaper on October 07, 2008, 07:56:31 AM
 :rotfl:  Touches, boy why yuh high so early in the morning
Post by: rickstaa on October 07, 2008, 08:02:29 AM

Exactly!!!!

If Akil Edwards making de team. Dey go be dead wrong not to give him ah bligh.  I want to see what excuse de go use den
:beermug: :beermug:
Post by: elan on October 07, 2008, 08:58:57 AM
Akil Edwards it have men on my travel team better than he.  :devil:
Post by: palos on October 07, 2008, 10:05:18 AM
How old is Brent Sancho?
Post by: PEG on October 07, 2008, 10:28:32 AM
Touches,

Off football.  That Andre Tanker tune is one of the greatest tunes of all time.  Absolutely under rated artist.  Everytime i hear that song brings back waves of nostalgia
Post by: Sam on October 07, 2008, 10:57:00 AM
He shoulda go to Joe Public, they need all de help they can get in defence, besides, playing for Joe Public and Jack Warner will enhance his chance to get on the national side.
Post by: Touches on October 07, 2008, 11:05:26 AM
Touches,

Off football.  That Andre Tanker tune is one of the greatest tunes of all time.  Absolutely under rated artist.  Everytime i hear that song brings back waves of nostalgia

Peg you wouldnt believe how people does watch me ahow when i jamming dat cd in the office or if I driving.

all kinda comments like..wha kinda music is dat?...who is dat? etc.

Is only people over 30 could appreciate and understand how great the man was.

The other album Wild is a nice collection of tunes too.

Post by: Sando prince on October 07, 2008, 11:06:09 AM
Welcome home Brent..Yes Stars may not be the best team in T&T..but  players on their team like Guevara and Wolfe have made the national team more than once this year so Stars have been represented on the national frontline.. Brent if this is your only option to remainn fit and stay in competitive shape for the rest of the year then its a good move..
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2008, 11:07:28 AM
How old is Brent Sancho?
Post by: kicker on October 07, 2008, 11:29:01 AM
Inserts Andre Tanker's Greatest Hits Vol 1 into the cd player

Selects track 2

Press Play

Cranks Volume Right Up!!!!

Drums

Doh forget the tambourine/jingle bells

Flute

Guitar strum

I went away looking for another home, tried to run away, run way from my destiny,

In another world, a world that was strange to me, tried to change myself, change my identity

Bam Bam Be Deeyyyyyy

Is "back home" yuh jammin' dey?....haha...vintage
Post by: weary1969 on October 07, 2008, 12:13:15 PM
Well as I type new excuse being sought by d chipmunks and co
Post by: WestCoast on October 07, 2008, 12:42:24 PM
Touches,
Peg you wouldnt believe how people does watch me ahow when i jamming dat cd in the office or if I driving.
all kinda comments like..wha kinda music is dat?...who is dat? etc.
Is only people over 30 could appreciate and understand how great the man was.
The other album Wild is a nice collection of tunes too.
one can download the MP3's of those albums
here
http://cdbaby.com/found?artist=andre+tanker&soundlike=&style=&album=
or here
http://payplay.fm/andretanker and http://payplay.fm/andretanker2
or here
http://www.tradebit.com/filesharing.php?keywords=andre+tanker&x=25&y=5
Post by: Andre on October 07, 2008, 12:49:19 PM
i think sancho moving back to the PFL was inevitable. best of luck there.

Post by: palos on October 07, 2008, 12:58:06 PM
De way Brent goin, he might be playin Super League jes now.

Ting is....when dis move was first suggested as an option fuh Brent, real peeps here get on and say how he is a World Cup defender and he deserve to be in England etc.

All a we hope fuh de bess fuh ALL we players, but leh we face it......Brent is not a top class player.  He is a heart and soul man who will give his all every time and we love him fuh it....but it eh no coincidence dat he eh get a contrack overseas.  If Dog wasn't injured in Germany, Brent wouldn't a get a sniff wit de soca warriors eedah.  Of course....he perform to the best of he ability and dat is all we as fans can ask for.  Men sayin he better dan who we have now.  Me eh know bout dat and me eh know if Brent heself would say or feel so.

Good luck Brent in whatever yuh do.  We ALL grateful for the sacrifices you have made for T&T football.  Maybe one day we'll see yuh in National colours again.
Post by: elan on October 07, 2008, 01:20:34 PM

Ting is....when dis move was first suggested as an option fuh Brent, real peeps here get on and say how he is a World Cup defender and he deserve to be in England etc.

All a we hope fuh de bess fuh ALL we players, but leh we face it......Brent is not a top class player.  He is a heart and soul man who will give his all every time and we love him fuh it....but it eh no coincidence dat he eh get a contrack overseas.  If Dog wasn't injured in Germany, Brent wouldn't a get a sniff wit de soca warriors eedah.  Of course....he perform to the best of he ability and dat is all we as fans can ask for.  Men sayin he better dan who we have now.  Me eh know bout dat and me eh know if Brent heself would say or feel so.

Good luck Brent in whatever yuh do.  We ALL grateful for the sacrifices you have made for T&T football.  Maybe one day we'll see yuh in National colours again.

Palos Sancho smarter, more technical and tactically, and physically equipped than any of our back 6 right now. Yes Lawrence in that too. Watch Lawrence vs Bahrain at the HCS, vs England at Home, watch carefully.
Post by: palos on October 07, 2008, 01:30:48 PM

Palos Sancho smarter, more technical and tactically, and physically equipped than any of our back 6 right now. Yes Lawrence in that too. Watch Lawrence vs Bahrain at the HCS, vs England at Home, watch carefully.

Wit all due respeck, I tink you conveniently overlookin de shit Sancho does do and has done in de past.

If he was so smart, technical, tactical and physically equipped, he woulda get a contrack by now yuh doh tink?
Post by: Coop's on October 07, 2008, 01:51:34 PM

:applause: :applause:Well said Palos.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 07, 2008, 02:21:32 PM

If sancho so good why he can't get a decent contract anywhere...the way things going with him, he might end up playing with San Juan or Naps in the SSFL.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 07, 2008, 02:42:15 PM

Oh laaawwwddddd Touches the perfect way to end de day....yuh good boy.... :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: arrow on October 07, 2008, 04:21:52 PM
All a we hope fuh de bess fuh ALL we players, but leh we face it......Brent is not a top class player. 

But Daniel is a world class left midfielder ent
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on October 07, 2008, 04:32:55 PM
So in d past 2 years Sancho has rapidly declined tuh d point dat he doh even deserve ah try-out wit d national team.........everybody who was blacklisted deserve ah chance tuh make d team besides Sancho......ah starting tuh tink dis forum is part ah TTFF bizzarro world
Post by: palos on October 07, 2008, 04:35:58 PM
All a we hope fuh de bess fuh ALL we players, but leh we face it......Brent is not a top class player. 

MUCH more world class footballer than Brent Sancho
Post by: Controversial on October 07, 2008, 04:45:44 PM

its all in the eye of the beholder, which central defender is better currently than brent?
Post by: Sando prince on October 07, 2008, 04:49:02 PM
Welcome Controversial...u have plenty jabloteh fan company in here...hopefully you can give us more insight of whats going on in Jabloteh camp..cause de PFL stickin
Post by: Controversial on October 07, 2008, 04:52:27 PM
Welcome Controversial...u have plenty jabloteh fan company in here...hopefully you can give us more insight of whats going on in Jabloteh camp..cause de PFL stickin

well heres a little food for thought for all who are interested, the international audience may be seeing pfl games soon :beermug:
Post by: palos on October 07, 2008, 05:02:10 PM

its all in the eye of the beholder, which central defender is better currently than brent?

The 3 current one's.
Post by: Controversial on October 07, 2008, 05:04:55 PM

The 3 current one's.

curley, larry and mo? or tom, dick and harry?
Post by: morvant on October 07, 2008, 05:06:39 PM

well heres a little food for thought for all who are interested, the international audience may be seeing pfl games soon :beermug:

doh preach that here atall. we heard it all b4.
Post by: elan on October 07, 2008, 05:14:24 PM

If sancho so good why he can't get a decent contract anywhere...the way things going with him, he might end up playing with San Juan or Naps in the SSFL.

How simple....there are many great players without contract. I never said the man was one of the best in the world, what I said is he better than who we have now. Lawrence positive is his height.

A lot of us just go with the tide, and do not really hold to a strong belief or idealogy of what is good and what is not. Imagine Akiel Edwards on the National team, so he must be good.
Post by: palos on October 07, 2008, 05:16:34 PM

The 3 current one's.

It could be patrick, bas, and winston.....dey still better than Sancho.
Post by: weary1969 on October 07, 2008, 07:54:31 PM
All yuh does get on like all yuh does live wit Tatoo on Fantasy Is
Post by: davidephraim on October 08, 2008, 12:31:57 AM
Touches...drop ah smoke fuh meh nah

BM allyuh gone clear yes... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Coop's on October 08, 2008, 07:37:22 AM
Guys if you look at the situation with our national team it's like one big headache,it's one issue after another and there seems to be no end in sight,i would just like to mention a couple concerning players eg Stern"s captaincy/not being called,Birchall not called,Scotty called/on bench,KJ fit to play,Yorke and Carlos continuous problems with Sunderland/TTFF,Lawrence called/on bench,Latapy Player/Coach.

I don't think it's a Football issue the Federation have with Sancho,he has to understand he dug his grave with the association and they have written him off,they don't want to have to add that issue to what they already have at this stage,it seems we have more problems off the field than on it,how players functioning under these conditions amazes me,what state of mind are they in before,during and after the game.Players most affected by this are the locals and is more because of there inexperience to deal with big issues,they don't have any agendas and have to pay the price for it.     
Post by: andre samuel on October 08, 2008, 08:22:40 AM
I agree with palos. 

While i understand that sancho was given a raw deal by the TTFF, i still feel that his abilities are being magnified on this site.  The fact that he has been to so many trials and not come out of any of them sucessfully has to mean someting. 

People here tend to have short memories.  They forget how many people were complaing on how Sancho was too quick to go to ground and stuff like that.

As palos said, the man would have been an "atiba charles" in the world cup if marvin andrews wasnt injured, but now people getting on like if he is our defensive saviour!!

Does anyone know what games he was involved in leading while in qualifying for 2006?

Post by: samo on October 08, 2008, 08:42:05 AM
As palos said, the man would have been an "atiba charles" in the world cup if marvin andrews wasnt injured, but now people getting on like if he is our defensive saviour!!
Maybe so, but how many players have been called to step up to the plate and failed... Even though he might have been 2nd behind Marvin, when called up he did very well. Many players when given the opportunity, because of injury or whatever else, doh always step up..
I have not seen Brent play since the WC,so I cannot say he deserve to get pick based on 2006. If he get pick, I glad for him, but if he does not, then whoever is picked need to step up like Brent did in the WC.
Post by: Tallman on October 08, 2008, 08:45:31 AM
Does anyone know what games he was involved in leading while in qualifying for 2006?
Matches Played by Brent Sancho (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/player-directory.html?view=matchfixtures&pid=391)
Post by: weary1969 on October 08, 2008, 08:55:03 AM
Sancho a WC player like all avialable WC players should have been invited 2 a camp 2 c what dey have 2 offer. If dey eh have nutten 2 offer then they would have been sent packing. Dat has not happen because of d pettiness of d association. D fact d has not not been able 2 find a club has nothin 2 do wit it. Hyland d 2nd comin has played unattached 4 mths.
Post by: TRUwarrior on October 08, 2008, 09:41:08 AM
Well wah yuh go do?
after up is down....and once yuh in Jackula bad books....yuh hatta suck salt
Post by: Coop's on October 08, 2008, 09:47:45 AM
Sancho a WC player like all avialable WC players should have been invited 2 a camp 2 c what dey have 2 offer. If dey eh have nutten 2 offer then they would have been sent packing. Dat has not happen because of d pettiness of d association. D fact d has not not been able 2 find a club has nothin 2 do wit it. Hyland d 2nd comin has played unattached 4 mths.
     Weary the difference between Sancho and Hyland is,Sancho played in the last WC,every Coach/Team know and saw him yet can't find a team to play on through a call up or trial,something just not adding up,who is Hyland?nobody knows,he have to be doing something for him to keep getting called up,team or no team,i don't know or have never seen this guy play but i'm just going with what my senses tells me.  
Post by: Controversial on October 08, 2008, 10:10:01 AM

The 3 current one's.

It could be patrick, bas, and winston.....dey still better than Sancho.

you meant to say manning, rowley and warner and somethng missing. But then you have to ask the question when was the last time these 3 individuals performed and I'm not referring to a sideshow.
Post by: fordy on October 08, 2008, 01:23:35 PM
i saw brent play while in atlanta and he looked very good. i think the move back home is a good one, to keep fit and in playing shape. silverbacks season is over and there isnt any transfer window between now and January, so its the right and smart thing to do all around.

i for one would love to see brent back in the team. he can only do better than the current crop of "defenders" we have now. good move for him all around! :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: vb on October 08, 2008, 05:28:27 PM

:beermug: :beermug:

Also take into consderation what Sammo said earlier.

Sancho had to come off the bench in the WC and PERFORM. He did so admirably. He was NEVER out of his depth and marshalled his defense. I've seen many TT players never get a contract to just write him off so. Look at Whitley he get dissed by a league in Vietnam of all places, but the TT team wants him.

But I can only assume that those dissing Brent now, have actually SEEN him play this year.

Post by: weary1969 on October 08, 2008, 09:34:53 PM
Coops we know it have all kinda ah reason y man cyah get a team. He played wit Ross County at d end of last season so is not like he eh play wit nobody. We like 2 discard peeps real quick plus is not like d forward line where we have peeps at we disposal. At d game 2day Ince try he best not 2 cuss Hislop plus in d JP game Keyano play a pile but we have a WC central defender not even being call 2 camp utter nonesense
Post by: Savannah boy on October 08, 2008, 09:48:07 PM
Every time ah play de Nintendo DS...Sancho scoring 4qing own goal and T&T losing...steups.
Post by: palos on October 08, 2008, 11:58:25 PM
Coops we know it have all kinda ah reason y man cyah get a team. He played wit Ross County at d end of last season so is not like he eh play wit nobody. We like 2 discard peeps real quick plus is not like d forward line where we have peeps at we disposal. At d game 2day Ince try he best not 2 cuss Hislop plus in d JP game Keyano play a pile but we have a WC central defender not even being call 2 camp utter nonesense

How come ah doh hear a peep from you, not once, demandin a return fuh Ian Cox?  Or Atiba Charles?  Like dem wasn't WC defenders too. Cox still playin in de English Leagues...de same Leagues dat reject Sancho.

Nobody sayin Brent shouldn't get an opportunity to train wit de team to show wha he have, but tryin to compare he and Hyland situations doh fly.  Is 2 very different scenarios.  And Brent is no sure pick fuh dis team IMO.
Post by: weary1969 on October 09, 2008, 12:30:01 AM
Palos u know dat nobody is a sure pick as 4 Cox and Charles dem was squad players neva kick a ball in d WC and was very low down d peckin order. Unattach means unattach whether u unattach because is some nonesense dat Jabloteh did. Nobody say give Sancho a spot on d team but d defence has and still is we weakest part of our game. Hislop and d lesser extend Thomas eh ready saw both ah dem at d HCS yday.
Post by: palos on October 09, 2008, 12:37:38 AM
Palos u know dat nobody is a sure pick as 4 Cox and Charles dem was squad players neva kick a ball in d WC and was very low down d peckin order. Unattach means unattach whether u unattach because is some nonesense dat Jabloteh did. Nobody say give Sancho a spot on d team but d defence has and still is we weakest part of our game. Hislop and d lesser extend Thomas eh ready saw both ah dem at d HCS yday.

I respeck yuh opinion but we go agree to disagree on de Sancho issue.  Ah go jes say dat unattached in DIS situation is NOT unattached.

Hyland unattached because there is a team that wants him and he doesn't want to jeopardise his chances of signing with that team.  A team that just happenns to be an EPL team.

Sancho was unattached because no matter where he went in England or Scotland or Wales, nobody wanted him badly enough to sign him.

Daz 2 completely different kinda unattached.
Post by: weary1969 on October 09, 2008, 12:43:07 AM
U know I was just goin 2 say leh we agree 2 disagree on dis 1 but d unattach mean none ah dem was playin regular ball and dat was d reason y Sancho was not selected.
Post by: royal on October 10, 2008, 07:11:07 AM
Its official

Sancho joins North East Stars

Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup defender Brent Sancho is back in Trinidad to play after five years in the UK and has joined Sangre Grande-based Economy North East Stars for the remainder of the 2008 T&T Pro League season.

The 31-year-old former Sancho is no stranger to the local League, having previously played for San Juan Jabloteh and Joe Public.

Club owner Daryl Mahabir confirmed adding the drealocked defender to his roster this week, saying he is delighted to recruit a player of such stature for his club.

"We always believe in giving players the opportunity to play at our club," said Mahabir, referring to Sancho, who has struggled to settle at a British club following the World Cup two years ago in Germany.

Sancho, who played in the Scottish Premier League with Dundee United and with English League One club Gillingham, also represented Millwall FC and Scottish Division Two club Ross County before joining USL (United Soccer Leagues) club Atlanta Silverbacks earlier this year.

Silverbacks is also the former club of North East Stars' players Anthony Wolfe and Kevin Jeffrey, who had an input in Mahabir's decision to hire Sancho.

"We at North East Stars believe it's in our best interest to add high-profile names to our structure like we did with Jerron Nixon, former coach Everald "Gally" Cummings, Kendall Velox and present player Anthony Wolfe," said Mahabir.

"And with our latest addition, Brent Sancho, we can expect improvement in our team.

"We think that his presence will add confidence to the rest of players to go out and actually win some sort of pride this season," he added.

Sancho has signed with the Stars for the remainder of the 2008 campaign and, as Mahabir explained, the door is wide open for the 2009 season.

"His agent, Heather McKenzie, belives that there are opportunities for him abroad in 2009, but I can say that at North East Stars we are willing to keep him on for the next season," confirmed the North East Stars owner.

Sancho, victim of the infamous hair pulling by England's Peter Crouch before the lanky striker scored his team's second goal in the 2006 World Cup Group match, has not played for Trinidad and Tobago since their appearance in Germany.

He was among the national players involved in a dispute with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation over payment of bonuses from money generated by T&T qualifying for the 2006 World Cup.

Most of the players have returned to the national fold since then, except Sancho.

trinidadexpress
Post by: Bakes on October 10, 2008, 08:26:59 AM

Sancho was unattached because no matter where he went in England or Scotland or Wales, nobody wanted him badly enough to sign him.

Sancho gone from Dundee tuh Grande.... well yes.
Post by: FF on October 10, 2008, 09:30:16 AM
Its official

Sancho joins North East Stars

Sancho, victim of the infamous hair pulling by England's Peter Crouch before the lanky striker scored his team's second goal in the 2006 World Cup Group match, has not played for Trinidad and Tobago since their appearance in Germany.

Steups... it was the 1st goal... I know dis maybe a minor error... but oh gawd man.... de local press too damn slack
Post by: Midknight on October 11, 2008, 01:24:12 AM
When does the proleague season end?
Post by: Tallman on October 11, 2008, 07:18:26 AM
When does the proleague season end?
The regular league ends in the middle of November, but then the other competitions like the Big Six and FA Trophy go on until around Dec 19th.
Title: Sancho Is Back
Post by: E-man on October 28, 2008, 08:47:35 PM
Sancho Is Back
By: Sean Nero (Trinidad Guardian).

FORMER national footballer Brent Sancho made his official return to local football last Thursday, but not in the capacity for which he’s known and loved—as a member of the Soca Warriors.

Sancho, 31, took to the field at the Hasley Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, Port-of-Spain, as the newest addition to former Pro-League champion Economy North East Stars.

He wore the number 17.

The ex-Soca Warrior, playing the sweeper position, seemed to gel with his North East Stars team-mates who got the better Superstar Rangers 3-1.

For many, it was odd seeing the experienced defender at home dressed in colours other than those assigned to the national squad.

Yet, somehow, Sancho did not appear to play with any less resolve.

Both at half-time and at the end of the match, Sancho left the field with no sign that he felt out of place or lacked confidence.

It was his maiden game and the result was an indication that he was signed to a team that aims high—exactly where he had his sights.

After the team’s post game chat, Sancho showered, change and sat down for this Arena interview.

But the international footballer was quick to declare that appearing under North East Stars’ banner should not be considered as a retrograde step in his football career.

Sancho said: “I don’t look at any move in relation to football as being backward or forward. I look at it as gaining a next contract and playing.”

He added: “I’m here because I’ve just finished my season in the US, with the Atlanta Silverbacks and couldn’t move to any other club in Europe, until January. This is how it is and this is the direction it’s going.

“Happiness is not always that big million-dollar move. I need to get that foundation where I’m enjoying football again.”

Lengthy discussions paved the way for his eventual arrival into the camp of North East Stars.

The club’s management convinced him that he’d be an excellent fit in the progressive outfit.

“They called me,” Sancho recalled. “I had a couple other offers. I could have gone to Clico San Juan Jabloteh, but I wanted a challenge.

“I want to fall in love with football again. Atlanta was great, now I want to go where I’m constantly being challenged. I felt that North East (Stars) would give me that opportunity.”

Sancho knew that explanation would not deflect pertinent questions from football fans relative to his absence from the national senior football team, in its World Cup 2010 campaign, when so many ex-Warriors have been recalled.

Being a role model

Even as the latest addition to the North East Stars line-up, Sancho believes he’s been given some sway to use his experience and expertise, towards bolstering the quality of game offered by his team-mates. He had no doubts that football locally has a long way to go to attain the international seal of professionalism, but he’s seen enough to take comfort that things are heading in the right direction.

As fate would have it, Sancho believes he’s one of many who had a vital role in this stage of football’s development.

“Maybe that’s my calling. God wants me to come back and impart some of my knowledge to the clubs and players, and I hope that I can do that. I hope I can give them that inspiration and give them a taste of what it’s like in Europe.”

A desire to win

Satisfied that his talent and fitness level remain polished, he denies any intent to sit back and pass in a rocking chair.

“North East Stars is a club that wants to win trophies. I want to win trophies.

“I want to look back on my career and say I won a Trinidad FA or League Cup,” he said.

Sancho lauded the spirit and conviction he witnessed from team-mates and describes the club’s management as passionate in the execution of their duties.

A big welcome

He sings praises that members of North Stars gave no resistance to his inclusion in the team.

“I thank God. The boys at North East (Stars) are a really good bunch. They’ve welcomed me with open arms.”

News coming out of the camp is that players are already looking up to him. Not only is he a role model, but a mentor.

Where are they fans?

Coming from a culture where stepping onto the field is saluted by a thunderous roars, Sancho expressed surprise about the poor attendance at Pro-League matches.

“I think the local game needs that support from the fans. I haven’t been here long enough to know why the fans stay away from the games and I wouldn’t speculate. It’s a disappointment.”

He made it clear that athletes must be able to rise above such happenings and know that once they cross the chalk, they are there to win every time.

Sancho confessed that he didn’t know what to expect when he took the field.

So what did he do?

“I prepared myself as though it was a game against Sweden. I went through the game in my mind the night before. I was going out there to win, giving a 150 per cent.”

Fit as an Ox

One month of training proved difficult for Sancho.

It seemed spending so much time abroad had reduced his tolerance, somewhat, for the much sought after Caribbean weather.

“Training has been tough,” he said. “The heat has been a factor. It was hard adjusting. Other than that everything else was good.”

Nevertheless, Sancho took up cycling during the August vacation and could find no better partner than national cyclist Ako Kellar.

“It’s a bit strange wearing a helmet and tights and riding to Macqueripe. And we did spin classes (too). Sometimes we train twice a day. It has helped with my level of fitness. It has helped my speed, given me another perspective into another sport and new techniques in fitness training.”

Soca Warrior Forever

Rumours continue to circulate that Sancho had not been called to duty by national coach Francisco Maturana because he has not been playing much football, as compared to his ex-team-mates. Further to that it’s been said that he’s not as fit as he used to be, although he had been playing football with US-based Atlanta Silverbacks over the past four months. But Sancho tackled the issue with a touch of diplomacy.

“If I get selected or not, is not up to me.

“It’s up to the national team manager. If the call up comes, then so be it. I’ll just wait an see,” he said.

He revealed that being left out of the team although he’s as fit and committed to T&T’s football goals as other foreign-based players was unnerving.

“The biggest joy I have is playing for my country. It’s difficult watching the boys play. I’m a patriot. I love for us to do well and I want to go out there and represent my country, but at the end of the day, there’s not much I can.”

(http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/9682/20081029p020yag4.jpg)

Title: Re: Sancho Is Back
Post by: weary1969 on October 28, 2008, 09:20:58 PM
Palos Eman post dat just 4 uuuuuuuuuuuu enjoy
Post by: g on October 28, 2008, 09:21:34 PM
I saw him in a lil party on Monday night, he look strong but I didn't think he looked overweight as some others have observed.
Post by: Trini Madness on October 28, 2008, 10:09:45 PM
i dont like how it say he's a "ex soca warrior". he was a soca warrior and still is a soca warrior to this day.
Post by: elan on October 28, 2008, 10:32:41 PM
Eman you set meh up boy.

I thought they say the man real fat and out of shape.
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2008, 06:59:45 PM
D fella who say dat made his analysis from a pic. It was a real gr8 pick because he figured dat he needed 2 go on d biggest loser
Post by: morvant on October 31, 2008, 09:08:07 AM
ah wonder who is the sexy daughters of sports???

and sancho if yuh want to know why fans doh go to the games. just go to one and halftime try to buy somthing to eat