Sports => Football => Topic started by: palos on October 12, 2008, 04:13:38 PM

Title: Anthony Wolfe Thread
Post by: palos on October 12, 2008, 04:13:38 PM
Every team have a unsung hero eh.  A man who taken fuh granted but does do de dirty work dat oddah luminaries does shun but dat work does be essential iof de TEAM is to have any kinda success.

I tinkin Anthony Wolfe is T&T equivalent of Liverpool's Dirk Kuyt.  De man have engine...he fightin de game...Avery had it relatively easy on de leff side....and he is a threat offensively as his IS a striker by trade.  I eh sayin he good like Kuyt..ah jes sayin he performs a similar role for his team.

As much as meh layer is Keon and I did question Maturana selection of Wolfe in de squad in de fuss place from de start a de campaign, he is a perfect example of de fact dat we as fans doh see wha does go on in practice and who performin and who not.  Daz why coaches know best fuh de most part.

Much respeck to dis guy.  Fast becoming a favourite player of mine and he will be missed on Wednesday.
Title: Re: Anthony Wolfe
Post by: Ngozi on October 12, 2008, 05:43:28 PM
Kinda like Hutson Charles
Post by: just cool on October 12, 2008, 06:15:47 PM
Every team have a unsung hero eh.  A man who taken fuh granted but does do de dirty work dat oddah luminaries does shun but dat work does be essential iof de TEAM is to have any kinda success.

I tinkin Anthony Wolfe is T&T equivalent of Liverpool's Dirk Kuyt.  De man have engine...he fightin de game...Avery had it relatively easy on de leff side....and he is a threat offensively as his IS a striker by trade.  I eh sayin he good like Kuyt..ah jes sayin he performs a similar role for his team.

As much as meh layer is Keon and I did question Maturana selection of Wolfe in de squad in de fuss place from de start a de campaign, he is a perfect example of de fact dat we as fans doh see wha does go on in practice and who performin and who not.  Daz why coaches know best fuh de most part.

Much respeck to dis guy.  Fast becoming a favourite player of mine and he will be missed on Wednesday.
Darryl roberts have every thing he have two times over, daryl have hustle speed and a much better eye for goal than any other soca warrior with the exception of stern. the man is ah pure clutch player and scores goals out of nothing. yuh eh see the goal the man score against bermuda, ah class goal! and the one against dominican rep was priceless.

i've seen most of his goals in the eridivise, and they were all well placed intricate shots, not no boom kick lucky goals, but well placed shots. they doing this kid wrong dread , well wrong! 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReqvkCLZBV4&feature=related        
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXdTi1vlVLY
look @ this goal against the great AJAX
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHPnIrA77L4&feature=related
l
Post by: arrow on October 12, 2008, 07:32:21 PM
thank god he suspended...then again Pacho go still probably name him in the final 18
Post by: kiffysmooth on October 12, 2008, 07:49:50 PM
Beg to differ Palos......Like Maturana rubbing off on you
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 12:19:54 AM

Dis comin from somebody who think Densil Theobald is a boss player?  8)
Post by: Brownsugar on October 13, 2008, 05:16:55 AM

*choking back mih laugh*

Post by: Midknight on October 13, 2008, 05:24:32 AM

Owned
Post by: fishs on October 13, 2008, 05:27:08 AM

ah cyar help it  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Controversial on October 13, 2008, 07:48:10 AM

latas thinks the same thing also, so i guess he dont know either?  :o
Post by: fishs on October 13, 2008, 07:50:15 AM

Latas would say that about u too if yuh was looking for wuk.
Post by: andre samuel on October 13, 2008, 07:55:41 AM
Excellent observation palos, the man played well.  It would be interesting to see who matas puts in that role when we playing the US on wednesday!!

Post by: spideybuff on October 13, 2008, 09:59:39 AM

Denzil was a boss player then when Latas thought so...he fall off since he went to Falkirk.
Post by: kiffysmooth on October 13, 2008, 11:01:45 AM
Yuh know....Denzil have far more talent dan Wolfe with de fitball....but ah aint goh argue dat with all yuh...  And somebody bring up ah interesting point....Latas, de man who everybody rate as de fitball wizzard, is actually de man who see de most potential in Bleedah...Not only he, but Yorkie know also dat Densil could jook it.  Is only all yuh does be seeing different.  But once yuh is ah visionary on de field (like myself, Yorke, Latas and a few others on de forum), yuh not going to see what we does see.  And for this, accept my sympathy.  I know the eyes of fans compared with the eyes of players, is like cataracts versus hawk eye - respectively.  But hey, please doh take offense people  ;)  Kiffy doh know nutting because he is ah advocate for Theobald ;D
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 12:45:23 PM
Kiify is 2 Denzil what TI is 2 Hardest
Title: Where is Anthony Wolfe?
Post by: dreamer on September 07, 2013, 11:24:18 AM
A nex' one going Point Fortin Civic Centre (PFCC)? Whom is he playing for. How did his trials go? Is he making himself available for Hart to see? What's going on.
Title: Re: Where is Anthony Wolfe?
Post by: Tallman on September 07, 2013, 12:14:04 PM
He is at North East Stars. He did not earn a contract in Malaysia.

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1172472_236217543192794_669603303_o.jpg)
Title: Re: Where is Anthony Wolfe?
Post by: dreamer on September 07, 2013, 12:47:05 PM
Nice stuff Tallman.
Title: Churchill Brothers sign Trinidad & Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe
Post by: Tallman on December 11, 2013, 06:58:01 AM
Churchill Brothers sign Trinidad & Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe
By Amoy Ghoshal (sportskeeda.com)

I-League holders Churchill Brothers have completed the signing of Trinidad and Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe, Sportskeeda can confirm. Wolfe was part of his country’s 2006 FIFA World Cup squad and thus will become the seventh World Cupper to play in India.

Wolfe will also become the second Trinidad and Tobago World Cupper to feature in this season’s I-League with Shillong Lajong having Cornell Glen in their ranks. Two seasons ago another T&T World Cupper Densil Theobald played for Dempo.

The Goan club and Wolfe have agreed on a contract with the player’s ITC (International Transfer Certificate) expected to arrive in the next few days. The move was facilitated by Kolkata-based sports management company High Life Management.

Churchill Brothers endured a horrendous start in this I-League campaign and thus released all four foreigners that were registered at the start of the season. The additions of Syrian defender Naser Al Sebai, Egyptian midfielder Abdel Hamid Shabana and Syrian striker Yasser Shahin did bring their first win of the season against Sporting Clube but they are rooted to the bottom place in the table following back-to-back home defeats against Bengaluru FC and Shillong Lajong.

The Red Machines would be hoping that the signing of Wolfe solves their goal scoring problems as they have the worst offensive record in the league with just nine goals in 12 games. Wolfe had been on trials since last week and impressed the club management with his performances in training and practice matches.

Wolfe has spent most of his career in the domestic league of Trinidad and Tobago and was one of the few local-based players in the 2006 World Cup squad. He didn’t make any appearance in Germany 2006 but played in his country’s 3-0 win over India in an international friendly two years ago.

The 29-year-old is very versatile as he can play upfront, on the wings and as an attacking midfielder so it remains to be seen where technical director Subhash Bhowmick uses him.
Title: Re: Churchill Brothers sign Trinidad & Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe
Post by: Tiresais on December 11, 2013, 09:38:55 AM
Bit of a Strange one - Wolfe is definitely a good player, but if you're looking for strikers from Trinidad then surely Jorsling, Roy or Modeste are more natural choices? But definitely congrats!!!
Post by: vb on December 11, 2013, 12:08:30 PM
Bit of a Strange one - Wolfe is definitely a good player, but if you're looking for strikers from Trinidad then surely Jorsling, Roy or Modeste are more natural choices? But definitely congrats!!!

You have a point. But he offers versatility. I glad for him. Has had a tough time post 2006.

Post by: dreamer on December 11, 2013, 12:11:28 PM
Great news!! Put food on de table!!! Well done Wolfee!!!! Persistence boy!
Post by: Deeks on December 11, 2013, 05:16:59 PM
Churchill Bros seems to be pretty good organization. They take their footie seriously. Here is a Wiki link on them.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill_Brothers_S.C.
Post by: weary1969 on December 11, 2013, 07:47:45 PM

You have a point. But he offers versatility. I glad for him. Has had a tough time post 2006.

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2013, 12:33:02 PM
T&T 2006 World Cup striker, Anthony Wolfe signs for I-League club, Churchill Brothers FC
Trebol Sports International

We are pleased to announce that our client, Anthony Wolfe has signed for Goa based I-League side, Churchill Brothers Football Club for the remainder of the 2013-14 I-League season.

Anthony impressed the club in a 1-week trial with 6 goals in 3 trial games.  He is now fully focused on the huge task placed on his shoulders.   

"Before I came, I knew where Churchill Brothers lied on the League table.  I know that I have to put in a tremendous amount of hard work in our upcoming games after the Christmas break to restore the club to where it rightfully belongs.  I am definitely up for it.

From Day 1, the wonderful reception from my teammates makes it easier for me to settle in. I watched the 2 home games and felt that the team was playing well but wasn't converting their chances.  I hope I am the answer to their goal drought.  I will like to thank my representatives, Trebol Sports International and their Indian partner, High Life Management for getting me this opportunity. They have shown confidence and great belief in me.

I will also like to wish my ex-team, North East Stars well for the remainder of their season".

Anthony has set himself a few immediate targets for the remainder of the season.

"I will like to stay as fit as possible and injury free so that I can help Churchill Brothers embark on a winning streak.  I am aiming for at least 8 goals in the remaining months of the season and hopefully, my goals will spur the team to success in the domestic Cup and AFC Cup as well".

Trebol Sports International and our Indian partner, High Life Management will continue our efforts to boost Indian football with quality foreign players like Anthony.
Title: Spirited Goa-India go down to Churchill Bros in friendly
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2014, 07:13:18 PM
Spirited Goa-India go down to Churchill Bros in friendly
The Navhind Times

A spirited Goa-India football team for Lusofonia Games went down fighting by a solitary goal to Churchill Brothers SC in a friendly game played at Tilak stadium, Vasco on Thursday.

Churchill’s Trinidad and Tobago international Anthony Wolfe scored the all-important goal in the 75th minute.

With both the teams Churchill and Goa-India using the match as preparation for the Federation Cup and Lusofonia Games respectively, it started at an easy pace and it took 21 minute for the match to see a significant attempt on goal when Abdel Shabana’s volley just went wide of the Goa-India goal post. Then in the 27th minute Anthony Wolfe saw his shot deflected out for a corner. At the end of half-time, the score

Second half also began at a slow pace with most of the action being held in the midfield. Goa-India had a few cracks on the Churchill Brothers goal in the second half but were unable to score. Then in the 75th minute, Anthony Wolfe scored an opportunistic goal to give the Red Machines a 1-0 victory. Initially Abdel Shabana had taken a shot from outside the box which was fumbled by the goal-keeper, Anthony was the first to react as he slotted home the all-important goal. 
Title: Anthony Wolfe loves Tendulkar and Lara
Post by: Tallman on January 14, 2014, 06:18:19 AM
Anthony Wolfe loves Tendulkar and Lara
By Stan Ryan (The Hindu)

He has been to football’s biggest stage, the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany, but there was a time when Anthony Wolfe was in two minds: whether to pursue a career in football or cricket.

“It was like between cricket and football. You know what, I had to choose one and it was football. But, I still love cricket,” the Trinidad and Tobago striker, who is here for football’s Federation Cup, told The Hindu here on Sunday.

Joy to watch legends

“We have legends in cricket as well in our country. Just as you have Sachin (Tendulkar), we have Brian Lara. And sometimes, it’s more joy for me to watch cricket than football. I always liked Sachin because I compared him with Brian Lara. It was a joy to watch both legends go at each other.”

Wolfe, who joined the struggling I-League champion Churchill Brothers a few days ago, will make his Indian ‘debut’ in the Federation Cup opener against United SC at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Tuesday evening.

He was a batsman as a youngster. “I didn’t like bowling and while batting, I used to open and sometimes played in the middle order. I played cricket for about three years with our county team, till about 21 years.”

But with his entire family into football, it was easy to grow in the beautiful game.

“It wasn’t a hard thing for me to get into football. That football background also gave me the encouragement to grow because people talk about my uncles, my father, my grandfather and stuff,” revealed the 30-year-old.

“And I was successful in football. My most memorable time in football, obviously, was going to the World Cup because there’s nothing close to it.”

Wolfe’s elder brother, Glenton, has also played in the national team.

“And we played a few times together. It was fantastic, I love playing with him because he plays at the back and I play at the top so if one defender whacks me, he whacks him in return.”

All for a reason

But, why should a star who has been to the World Cup come to India, which is ranked 154 in the world, to ply his trade? After seeing the World Cup, did he think something like that would happen?

“Well, to be honest, I really wanted to play in a different league but sometimes God sends me to certain places for a reason and I think He sent me here for a reason,” he explained. “And whatever opportunity comes my way, I grab it, it’s a one-time, life-time situation.”

“I’m here and I’ve got to get the job done. I know the situation the team is in, it is not doing well in the I-League as well but I am focused on the Federation Cup now, the League I’ll deal with later.”

Deep trouble

Churchill, the winner of the I-League just a year ago, is currently in deep trouble. The Goan side is at the bottom of the I-League table this season with just two wins from 13 games, with the threat of relegation hanging over its head.

And the team is now looking at Wolfe – and at the soon-to-join Cristian Lagos who is hoping to impress his national selectors and play for Costa Rica in the coming World Cup in Brazil – to haul it out of the mess.

“I know the workload will be on me because I’m the striker. If I don’t deliver, the fans, the owners, the coaches will probably come down on me but I am prepared for that,” said Wolfe. “Because, as I said, when cometh the moment, cometh the man. I’m here for the job and I’m sure I’ll do my best.”
Post by: Tallman on January 20, 2014, 02:05:17 PM
Anthony Wolfe got on the scoresheet for the first time for his new club when he scored a brace for Churchill Brothers in their 3-2 win over Pune FC in the 2014 Federation Cup.
http://www.goal.com/en-india/match/122940/churchill-brothers-sc-vs-pune-fc/report
Post by: Tallman on January 23, 2014, 10:54:02 AM
Anthony Wolfe scores the game-winning goal (PK) as Churchill Brothers defeat Mohun Bagan 2-1 to advance to the 2014 Federation Cup final.
http://www.goal.com/en-india/match/129397/churchill-brothers-sc-vs-mohun-bagan-ac/report
Post by: Tallman on January 24, 2014, 07:57:34 AM
Wolfe’s game-winning penalty against Mohun Bagan in the 2014 Federation Cup Semifinal
https://www.youtube.com/v/Gx9AvJgPXHg&start=78

The Balotelli of Indian football
https://www.youtube.com/v/PtoLQPbRci8
Post by: Tallman on January 25, 2014, 01:25:28 PM
Anthony Wolfe picks up his first piece of silverware with his new club, Churchill Brothers, after they defeated Sporting Clube 3-1 in the 2014 Federation Cup final at the Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium, Kochi, India on Saturday, January 25th 2014.

(http://static.sportskeeda.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/champs-2090706.jpg)
Post by: Tiresais on January 25, 2014, 01:58:39 PM
Great news for Wolfe - glad he's having a good time over there
Post by: Pointman on January 25, 2014, 04:16:47 PM
well done young warrior :beermug:
Title: Anthony Wolfe: Cornell Glen encouraged me to come to India
Post by: Tallman on January 28, 2014, 06:32:37 AM
Anthony Wolfe: Cornell Glen encouraged me to come to India
By Neil Modi (goal.com)

The Churchill Brothers’ star was pleased with his form as he played an important role in his team’s Federation Cup triumph…

Churchill Brothers won the Federation Cup for the first time in their history by beating Sporting Club de Goa 3-1 in the final last weekend. It came much to the delight of everyone associated with the club, as they currently sit at the bottom of the I-League.

Anthony Wolfe, who made his debut for the Red Machines in the Federation Cup, explained how the winning the Cup competition will motivate the team to perform better in the I-League where they are placed at the bottom of the table.

‘‘I am pretty happy that we won the Federation Cup. We were going into the Federation Cup more as underdogs because we are at the bottom of the table in league. I think it’s a great achievement for the club, players and for the supporters as well.

“It encourages the supporters to come watch the team when the team play the next home game and stuff but I think it’s more of a motivational step for us in the I-League where we aim to come from the bottom of the table to at least finish fifth-or-sixth at the end of the season. So I think winning this cup was very, very important for us as players.  I think we trained hard and responded on the field and no one disrespected each other.”

The Trinidad and Tobago striker, who was part of his country’s 2006 World Cup squad, has set some personal targets for the rest of the season.

“I set myself personal goals. Firstly I want to help the team come up from the bottom near the middle, at least out of the relegation zone. I set myself a target for eight goals, like six6-to-eight goals for the season because as I just said I just came here.

“Hopefully next season it will be more goals and that’s for sure because I’ll be more in tune with the culture and stuff. Because as a foreigner coming into a new team it takes a while as some players adjust quickly and some take a while. The language will take a while. It will take me the next two-or-three games as well to really get going but I think coming in pretty okay, good start, getting my goals and assisting as well. I assist and score but I am a team player - whenever anything is required I do what I have to do to get the job done.”

Wolfe explained as to what made him sign for the Goan giants who are known to release the foreign players should they fail to perform up to the level demanded by the management. Add to this, Churchill Brothers sit rock bottom of the league with 13 points from 10 games. He mentioned of having spoken to fellow Trinidadian Glen Cornell who plays for Shillong Lajong before joining the reigning I-League champions.

“The reason why I asked Cornell was because he was here before me so he had a better idea about the league and the clubs because playing at the clubs you hear different things from other players. So I asked him what he thought about taking the deal and he said it’s all about the opportunity and the team is at the bottom of the table, they are reshuffling players, because the foreign players are not doing that well and the team is at the bottom. So the owner is getting rid of them so it’s a great chance for me. I just have to come and prove myself and get the job done and I took the opportunity and so far things are going well.”

He had kind words for the Churchill Brothers team and management and praised the overall effort put in.

“I feel comfortable. I feel a family bond. No one disrespects each other. The staff works their socks off to put things in place for the players. So if the staff does that, no doubt players will get the job done for the team .So that’s like a chain reaction -You give nothing you get nothing-That’s life. You have to give to get. And if they do their part, we’ll do well like we showed at the Federation Cup.”
Post by: Tallman on March 19, 2014, 07:54:21 PM
HIGHLIGHTS of Anthony Wolfe’s goal in an AFC Cup Group E match between Churchill Brothers and Home United at Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium, Goa, India on March 18th 2014. Churchill Brothers won 3-1.

https://www.youtube.com/v/DNE0Y73juUY?start=39
Post by: Deeks on March 19, 2014, 09:51:18 PM
nice header. Good going Mr. Wolfe.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 15, 2014, 12:43:36 PM
Competition coming Churchill Bros way ...

April 13, 2014

As part of its global expansión plan, Atlético de Madrid introduces its first international franchise to the Indian market with Atlético de Madrid Kolkata which will compete in the Indian Super League.

Atlético de Madrid has first been introduced by a group of private investors led by Former Indian Cricketing Legend Sourav Ganguly to the Indian football market, and will collaborate in translating Atlético’s unique characteristics and strong image to Atlético de Madrid Kolkata.

http://en.clubatleticodemadrid.com/noticias/atletico-de-madrid-to-establish-a-franchise-in-india
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2014, 01:14:41 PM
Anthony Wolfe’s game-winning goal takes Churchill Brothers to the last 16 of the AFC Cup.
https://in.news.yahoo.com/afc-cup-radiant-1-2-153124254.html
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2014, 01:42:37 PM
TAKE A LOOK at Anthony Wolfe’s game-winning goal for Churchill Brothers against New Radiant in the AFC Cup. Wonderful determination backed up by a clinical strike.
https://www.youtube.com/v/mDGG0K9OIFI?start=102
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2014, 04:27:02 PM
That is a hell of goal. Pure determination.
Post by: Tiresais on April 24, 2014, 12:08:38 AM
Nice goal, damned powerful shot!
Post by: Flex on April 24, 2014, 01:58:07 AM
Wolfe scores fifth goal
T&T Express Reports.

ANTHONY WOLFE scored his fifth goal of the season since joining Indian club Churchill Brothers in January and what an important one it was.

Wolfe scored a 64th minute winner as Church Brothers won 2-1 away to New Radiant at Rasmee Dhandu Stadium in the Maldives yesterday in an Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup tie.

It was also Wolfe’s third goal in the competition which gave 32 clubs from developing Asian nations a chance to grab two spots into the 2015 Asian Champions league.

Victory gave Churchill Brothers second spot in Group E and a place in the round of 16, just edging out Singapore club Home United, who also finished on 10 points after scoring a 2-0 away win over group winners Persipura Jayapura, an Indonesian club. In the end, just Wolfe’s goal proved the difference since his team advanced with a plus-three goal difference, compared to plus-two for Home United.

Also in the last 16 is Vietnam club Hà NOI T&T, the club of Trinidad and Tobago international Hughtun Hector, who played the full 90 minutes as his team rallied from a goal down to edge Indonesian side Arema Cronus. However, both teams filled the top spot and advanced as the top two Group F finishers.

AFC CUP STANDINGS:

GROUP E

Team P W D L F A GD PTS
Persipura Jayapura (Indonesia) 6 3 2 1 9 4 +5 11
Churchill Brothers (India) 6 3 1 2 10 7 +3 10
Home United (Singapore) 6 3 1 2 8 6 +2 10
New Radiant (Maldives) 6 1 0 5 2 12 -10 3

GROUP F

Team P W D L F A GD PTS
Hà Noi T&T(Vietnam ) 6 5 0 1 14 7 +7 15
Arema Cronus (Indonesia) 6 3 1 2 10 9 +1 10
Selangor (Malaysia) 6 2 2 2 9 6 +3 8
Maziya (Maldives) 6 0 1 5 7 18 -11 1
Title: Anthony Wolfe set to move to Sporting Clube de Goa
Post by: Tallman on September 17, 2014, 08:39:43 PM
Anthony Wolfe set to move to Sporting Clube de Goa
The Times of india

Sporting Clube de Goa appear to have narrowed down on Trinidad and Tobago World Cupper Anthony Wolfe as their marquee player for the season.

Sporting Clube de Goa have just two foreign players at the moment with Australian striker Boima Karpeh (Jerry) and Spanish defender Pablo Gallardo completing their transfers. The club still needs two more players to complete their foreign quota, and Wolfe is expected to help the club breathe a little easy in the next 48 hours.

"Wolfe has already applied for his visa. He should be here in Goa soon," said one Sporting Clube official.

Wolfe qualifies as the marquee player having represented his country at the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

Wolfe, 29, was contracted with Churchill Brothers and was among the more impressive players, even though Churchill struggled for most part of the season. His control with the ball and ability to run into open spaces caught everyone's attention.

"Wolfe is a good player but he was surplus to requirement at the club. We have released him to join Sporting Clube," said Churchill Brothers boss Churchill Alemao, who opted for Nigerian striker Odafa Okolie as his lone foreign striker upfront.

Churchill Brothers are still hoping they will be around when the next edition of I-League kicks off in January, next year. A pending High Court hearing is scheduled in Delhi on September 23, and should there be positive news for the club, Churchill said he would immediately hunt for another marquee signing.
Title: Anthony Wolfe to spearhead Churchill’s attack on Sunday
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2017, 04:59:49 PM
Anthony Wolfe to spearhead Churchill’s attack on Sunday
By Minoo Fernandes (The NavHindi Times)

Trinidad and Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe will spearhead Churchill Brothers Sports Club strike force when the team plays Mumbai FC in their first home game at the Tilak maidan in Vasco on Sunday.

Wolfe, who was known for his marauding skills upfront in the past, has started practice with the team and is expected to fill in the vacuum the team faced in their opener against Mohun Bagan in Kolkata.

“Anthony Wolfe will be the only new addition to the team. I will field the rest of the players who played against Mohun Bagan,” Churchill Brothers SC coach Alfred Fernandes told The Navhind Times.

“Our team is determined to settle for nothing less than a win and the boys are ready to go and play flowing football as was exhibited against Mohun Bagan in Kolkata the other day,” added coach Alfred.

“I had to use Brandon Fernandes and Agnelo Colaco to play forward. Agnelo nearly scored. Has his shot entered the nets, we would have returned home with a crucial point. Agnelo came in as a substitute. We needed a striker very badly and now that Wolfe is with us, I expect a different game,” stated Alfred. Alfred Fernandes disclosed that striker Kromah from Mali, Liberia is supposed to join the team in addition to Krygistan defender Baktur. “We will be having three foreign players in action soon. The approach will definitely be different,” stated Alfred.

He also disclosed that at present the team has registered only 21 players and that 14 more players will be signed to make it a strong 35 member squad. Four of these will be foreign players, while the rest will be mostly from Goa, asserted the Churchill Brothers coach.

“In our opener, we played with as many as nine Goan players,” said Alfred. “Our focus will be to recruit more Goan players to make it a Goan fan based team and this is the motto of the management,” disclosed Alfred.

“We are definitely going to win the match on Sunday. We are there to win all matches but sometimes plans do not materialse. But with Wolfe joining in, the other players will have plenty of room to manoeuver,” disclosed Alfred.

“Keenan is a brave captain and should be playing on Sunday. He is recovering after receiving three stitches on his head. He is under medical observation and should be practicing with the team at Ambelim ground today,” Alfred said.

“Sunday will be the day when all our fans will witness some exciting football which has not been seen in Goa for many years. We are getting ready to give our best,” stated Alfred. I think defender Satish Singh and goalkeeper Priyank had a great game against Mohun Bagan and I expect them to continue giving their best,” concluded Alfred.
Title: My first priority is to perform well then goals will come, says Wolfe
Post by: Tallman on January 13, 2017, 04:57:37 PM
My first priority is to perform well then goals will come, says Wolfe
By Minoo Fernandes (NavHindi Times)

Churchill Brothers SC is feeling the need of a striker since the start of their I–League campaign. With Wolfe joining the team a lot is expected from the team that did reasonably well in Kolkata but was woeful in attack. Minoo Fernandes caught up with Anthony Wolfe for a chat on football and more.

Q: Which year did you play in India and which club?
A: I played for Churchill Brothers SC in 2013, when I first played in India.

Q: How many goals have you scored in India?
I must have scored around 22 goals in India after playing for Churchill Brothers and Sporting Clube de Goa in various tournaments these two teams participated.

Q: How many did you score for Sporting and how many for Churchill Brothers?
I cannot give you the exact break up but I think I have roughly scored around 14 to 15 goals when I played for Sporting Clube de Goa and the rest for the Churchill Brothers. It’s difficult to recollect the number of goals right now but the records will be there which can be verified.

Q: In which country you were playing before you set out to India and which was your favourite club?
I was playing in Trinidad and Tobago. I played for Club Ma Pau Stars.

Q: How did you get into football?

I started playing at the age of five in Trinidad and Tobago when I went to preparatory school. Thereafter, I continued playing in the primary school called Manzanilla Government school where I was voted as ‘M.V.P.( Most Valuable Player) and that was the award  which I cherish. This happened when I was 12 years old. I made by debut as a professional player, playing for Finland thereafter I finished my secondary school from Mayarp Composite school  and then went on to qualify for Inter collegiate senior grade .Thereafter , I joined Lindsey Wilson College at Columbia in USA when I was around 20 to 21 years old. But then, I went back to Trinidad and Tobago to play for my country Trinidad and Tobago in the World Cup, 2006 held in Germany.

Q: What was your contribution to your country in the World Cup?
I helped my country in the qualification stage where I was a regular in the first eleven of the team.

Q: How did Trinidad and Tobago fair in this World Cup in Germany?
My country drew against Sweden 0-0, lost to England 2-0 and narrowly lost to Paraguay, I do not remember the score.

Q: How old are you now and is age a predicament?
I am 33 years old now. Age is not a factor provided one eats well and practices well. You as an individual will know if your body can take the vigorous training, if not then the player must decide his plans. As for me, I am fit and fine and am ready for action.

Q: When did you arrive in Goa to play for Churchill Brothers SC this season?
I arrived on January 2 and started practicing from January 4.

Q: Have you adjusted with the team?
So far, so good.

Q: Are you going to be amongst the goal scorers on Sunday?
My first priority is to perform well and by doing this, goals will come. I do not want to jump the gun and say ‘yes’ which will put pressure on me. But I am a striker and I came here to score goals and help my team in any way possible .All players, including local guys must play their part as well and will achieve what is required. Each one, help one. Team work is important.

Q: Did you score for your country? if so how many?
I scored eleven goals for the national side, which includes the Caribbean Cups and friendlies.

Q: Which is your most favourite position?
I am a striker, but my nation used me as a ‘utility player’ as well .I was used to play on the wings.
Title: Re: Anthony Wolfe Thread
Post by: Tallman on March 07, 2017, 02:07:47 PM
WATCH: Anthony Wolfe scores the first goal and sets up the second one in Churchill Brothers’ 2-1 win over East Bengal.

https://www.youtube.com/v/KSkwjtiZTyk?start=7
Post by: Tallman on August 14, 2017, 09:33:28 PM
Anthony Wolfe has joined Calcutta Premier Division club, Tollygunge Agragami.

(https://scontent-dft4-2.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/20748419_1423403794410842_8039660399469687567_o.jpg?oh=a6f45534f422c4dd96829e6d760ed07a&oe=5A1D36B8)
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2018, 02:08:59 PM
WATCH: Anthony Wolfe’s header gives Peerless SC a 1-0 win over Mohammedan SC

https://www.youtube.com/v/7quyKhSfVqM
Post by: Tallman on September 11, 2018, 07:34:26 AM
WATCH: Anthony Wolfe scores a cracking half-volley to cap off Peerless SC’s 3-0 win over Tollygunge Agragami

https://www.youtube.com/v/3QOPO6yqBWA?start=77
Post by: Tallman on December 10, 2018, 03:21:45 PM
WATCH: Anthony Wolfe scores on his return to Churchill Brothers in their 4-1 win over Aizawl FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/8BnmJnvzjfg?start=326