Sports => Football => Topic started by: wrexham dragon on October 13, 2008, 02:41:47 AM

Title: Silvio recalled by Trinidad.
Post by: wrexham dragon on October 13, 2008, 02:41:47 AM
Silvio recalled by Trinidad.
wrexhamafc.co.uk

The Reds have lost another player to international duty with midfielder Silvio Spann recalled by Trinidad & Tobago for their World Cup qualifier with the US this coming Wednesday evening.

Events developed very quickly on Sunday night, as the T&T party made their way home from Saturday's game away to Guatemala.

In that game, which was drawn 0-0, the Soca Warriors had Cyd Gray sent off before half time, but produced a sterling defensive display to earn a vital World Cup point.

Trinidad are in a four-team group, which sees the top two qualifying for the final round-robin stage for the three automatic places in the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa.

The United States will top their group, but the Trinis are battling it out with Guatemala for second place.

With two games to play, both country's are on the same points, Trinidad finish with home games against the US and Cuba, while their rivals play the same teams but away from home.

Silvio was delighted at the news of his return to the national side.

"I got a phonecall late on Sunday afternoon," he said.

"After that it was a bit of a panic to get in touch with the gaffer to clear it with him and then sort out flights.

"The TTFF officials were still travelling home from Guatemala on Sunday, so they couldn't organise my travel. Hopefully, everything will drop into place and I will be back in Trinidad late on Monday.

"That will give me time to prepare myself for the game on Wednesday evening.

"This is a very important game for my country and it's get to be involved again."

Due to the times of return flights from the Caribbean, Silvio will head back to Wrexham on Thursday evening, arriving back at lunchtime on Friday.

Manager Dean Saunders was happy for the player.

"Silvio has been down a bit of late, but playing against York and now being recalled by his country has given him a lift," said the manager.

"This is exactly the sort of thing I was trying to point out to the players, if you put in the work, then you will get your rewards.

"It is a long trip for him, but he's used to it and it's great to see him smiling again."
Title: Re: Silvio on his way home
Post by: Bakes on October 13, 2008, 03:02:48 AM
*phew*

Scared me there for a second... I thought he got dropped by Wrexham.
Post by: just cool on October 13, 2008, 03:28:32 AM
Carlos is ah far better right back than him, i'm begining to dispise this coach yes!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 13, 2008, 03:47:49 AM
Carlos is ah far better right back than him, i'm begining to dispise this coach yes!

Carlos will prob play RB and Spann RW    even though Spann can play RB very well
Post by: just cool on October 13, 2008, 03:55:28 AM

Carlos will prob play RB and Spann RW    even though Spann can play RB very well
cornell glenn is a far far more better option for RW, even better than carlos.

to me spann is ded weight, he has ah killer free kick but that's about it. he fell off big time after that injury.

i'll even take wolf over him, glenn would ultimatly be my first choice for that position then roberts, but yuh could never tell with the mad men who selecting the team these days.
Post by: Midknight on October 13, 2008, 04:50:56 AM
Wow...
Post by: Brownsugar on October 13, 2008, 05:10:51 AM
Lord fadder, what next??....Beenie come baaaaacccckkkkk....
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 13, 2008, 06:16:05 AM
if they could call spann they can call andre boucard
Post by: dinho on October 13, 2008, 06:19:36 AM
ally-y-yuh wanted w-w-w-arriors.. look allyuh w-w-w-warriors..
Post by: arrow on October 13, 2008, 06:26:55 AM
nah man.  call him back to ride bench?  cause hell no he can't start against the US
Post by: Jah Gol on October 13, 2008, 06:32:26 AM
Allyuh feel the team veterans have anything to do with this ?
Post by: vb on October 13, 2008, 06:35:34 AM
Carlos and Silvio alternated very well in the past.

It also gives us depth in terms of offense and defense.

If this is the Spann of 2006...I cool wid dat.

Post by: Ngozi on October 13, 2008, 07:00:10 AM
LOL I mean Sancho right there  ....Matur f**king rana and Anton f**king corneal ....if Spann played like VB said in 2006 but I'm not sure he ready he had one good game and when he get lost he is very lost...sigh what next
Post by: sweetiepaper on October 13, 2008, 07:16:21 AM
This ride getting more and more dizzy.
Spann is one of my favourite players. I would have liked to see him back in the mix in the next rounds  ;D
but to call him back now with two days to go  ??? If they that desperate. Sancho right here.
Anyway if they call him back, it have to be to play. The veterans had to call that shot. He and Carlos used to have a good thing on the right. Interchanging with one another. Hope they could still click.
I getting a real sense that Tutu-rana not calling the shots no more. He don't know Spann.
Title: Re: Silvio recalled by Trinidad.
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 13, 2008, 07:29:02 AM
Well, he got a ph call and not a text, so maybe that says something
Post by: andre samuel on October 13, 2008, 07:36:19 AM

What makes you say this?

Spann played right back for us - when Denis lawrence got sent off against the USA during the last qualifying campaign - in tandem with Carlos on the wing and Benhakker left them as his starting right pair for the remaining qualifiers!!

I am not saying that Spann now is the same Spann in 2006, but he is an option and i feel that Yorke and them fellas prefer Silvio at the back with carlos than one of the younger players.

Even Carlos at the back made some mistakes with some serious misskicks and ting.

Post by: Controversial on October 13, 2008, 07:41:14 AM
very good call up, i said this in an earlier post, they will move silvio to either right winger or right back, silvio is a very good dead ball specialist.
Post by: 7 blessings on October 13, 2008, 07:47:50 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: RedDevils on October 13, 2008, 07:48:16 AM
They calling everybody but Sancho, de man done in de country and is a good defender. they gone and pull ah man from england who most likely going and warm d bench. dis ttff is one circus show yes.
Post by: morvant on October 13, 2008, 07:49:59 AM
i support that recall

maybe he could take the freekicks now

i know yorke hit the post but span coulda buss de net from they
Post by: Touches on October 13, 2008, 09:04:23 AM
Waste of airfare and air miles.

Silvio gorn tru, he blight with a capital B.

He have no speed and he does not tackle. His best position is center mid.

He own manager say he down of late.

Free kick to take in front of who...Latapy, Yorke, Birchall or Daniel?

Carlos best game for TT in this campaign was in that right back slot...yuh will have to be a imps to move or replace him.

I real hurting me to type this...but I putting Telesford infront of he.

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 13, 2008, 09:12:22 AM

Gosh boy Touches
Post by: Bourbon on October 13, 2008, 09:13:48 AM
I eh know what to say bout this nah.......Spann never really impressed me as a right back.
I remember the other day when the Wrexham fans were raving over his performance and they mentioned it could be because he wasnt assigned a defensive position so he could concentrate on going foward. Men talking about he could take free kicks now.....if they wanted a variety in freekick takers..they have keon daniel that doh get to take any since the big players reach back. Buh.....it might work out yes.....either they drop carlos back and let spann take wing..and let him loft crosses in the box.....or they leave spann at right back and let carlos drive in. The best option to match up with Onyewu physically in the box for crosses would be stern in that case. Buh...ize jus a armchair coach. Let me leave coaching up to the pros.

Edit..now remember Onyewu eh go be dey.

But i doubt dem american defenders go be anything less than tall anyhow.

Post by: Dinner Mints on October 13, 2008, 09:25:47 AM
If they need a right wing player to replace Carlos, Darryl Roberts sitting right dey. I see him play well dey for Sparta in dat same 4-5-1/4-3-3 set up.
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 09:31:57 AM
i support that recall

De bess free kick taker on de team bar none is not Yorke.  Is not Latapy.  Is not Spann.

It is Keon Daniel.  Ah see Yorke and Latas come back wit de dotishness bout dem have to take all de free kick & corner.  When last eedah score a free kick for T&T in any game...practice match or not?  Birchall should be takin more dead balls dan dem fellas.
Post by: arrow on October 13, 2008, 09:40:20 AM
Maybe whoever picking the side now really ent have no faith in Daniel and Spann coming down to replace Wolfe on the left?
Post by: Big Magician on October 13, 2008, 09:42:15 AM
good call up.... welcome home Spanner
Post by: najee on October 13, 2008, 09:49:49 AM
the thing about all this guy's is that we guessing...some say Sancho and other say yea Spann...we just don't know who will show up come game time....ah just hope who ever it is play with heart and soul....we just don't know...we just don't know...consistentcy is alway problem with some players...I love both player... sometime they play very good and some other time they lost..like ah say...who ever it is..play with heart and soul come wednesday cause we need the ah win...not a draw....AH WIN to put ourself in the driver seat
Post by: spideybuff on October 13, 2008, 09:50:21 AM
See? Another clear example of the class of 2006 take over. Silvio playing RB wednesday cause they not trusting no new comer or "Pacho Picks". Sancho will be back by the Cuba game since he locally based now,to take over from Keyeno Thomas.
Keon Daniel getting a bligh because Wolfe suspended and Dwight set him up and he convert nicely, in the first Guatemala game. So he will stay in the mix.

Other than that...all them youths better put their head down and work hrd to get on that plane for South Africa. I just hope Latas choose a youth and work with him 24/7 so he could be ready two years time when the 42 year old magic will be even more fleeting.
Post by: Baygo Boy on October 13, 2008, 09:51:25 AM
Good call up. Thought Josh Johnson would have been called to replace Carlos on de wing
Post by: Baygo Boy on October 13, 2008, 09:53:06 AM
LOL I mean Sancho right there  ....Matur f**king rana and Anton f**king corneal ....if Spann played like VB said in 2006 but I'm not sure he ready he had one good game and when he get lost he is very lost...sigh what next

Sancho is a CD without speed - how yuh goh use in at RB - he goh burn Carlos on de right side LOL
Post by: kicker on October 13, 2008, 09:54:45 AM
Apart from the freekick he scored in the gold cup, his last performances for T&T have been poor.  I hope they're not calling him up based the good run of form he had over 2 flickin' years ago....but then again I won't be surprised if that's the case either....
Post by: najee on October 13, 2008, 10:01:00 AM
Apart from the freekick he scored in the gold cup, his last performances for T&T have been poor.  I hope they're not calling him up based the good run of form he had over 2 flickin' years ago....but then again I won't be surprised if that's the case either....

kicker don't say that.. nah....consistent play...lol oh men...just hope he proved us wrong
Post by: Storeboy on October 13, 2008, 10:15:25 AM
Fun in the Forum!  This is a lot a fun.  So much arm chair coaches; so much opinions!  This is what does make Trini football sweet, win lose or blasted! Some say good, some say bad! Some say Pacho crazy, some say he know what he doing! Some say is Anton and JW calling the shots, some say is Yorke and Latas!  Being a Trini is the best ting in the World!  Go Soca warriors, whoever you be - Sancho or Silvio, Alvin or Anton, Latas or Beene, Yorkey or Birchy.
I am a Trini!

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Preacher on October 13, 2008, 10:41:21 AM
i support that recall

De bess free kick taker on de team bar none is not Yorke.  Is not Latapy.  Is not Spann.

It is Keon Daniel.  Ah see Yorke and Latas come back wit de dotishness bout dem have to take all de free kick & corner.  When last eedah score a free kick for T&T in any game...practice match or not?  Birchall should be takin more dead balls dan dem fellas.

Agree with yuh first 2 but Birchie can't come near Spann's dead ball abilities.  and we'll need that against the USA.  I would leave Carlos RB and Glen on the Wing.  Then rest Glen if needs be latter.  Real excitment in this place.
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 10:56:29 AM
i support that recall

Agree with yuh first 2 but Birchie can't come near Spann's dead ball abilities.  and we'll need that against the USA.  I would leave Carlos RB and Glen on the Wing.  Then rest Glen if needs be latter.  Real excitment in this place.

By dem fellas ah mean Yorke and Latas.

Fuh experienced players, me eh know how come dem fellas doh know about mixin tings up.  Yorke & Latas are great players, but dem eh no David Beckham.  J Cloth's crossing is the best in the team and while he isn't as good as Spann on dead balls...he could be involved in de mix.
Post by: Bakes on October 13, 2008, 10:57:43 AM

I am Bakes... and I approve of this message.
Post by: Lower St. John on October 13, 2008, 11:27:26 AM
This call up clearly shows that Pacho is not calling the shots.  Why would he call up a guy he has never had play a game in his system.  Plus, it is not as though he is calling up a defensive player but a make shift one at best.  This is to accomplish what, recreating the magic of the Span/Silvio interplay of 2005??  What does Pacho know about this and if he is buying this two days before a critical match weell then he is really the kakahole we all think he is!!!

I await our starting lineup on Wednesday.  Hopefully I don't get a headache in the stadium.

Blessing
Post by: zuluwarrior on October 13, 2008, 11:31:39 AM

Bakes yuh soundin like dem polytrikshan them  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: trini_stallion on October 13, 2008, 11:52:08 AM

haahah @ bakes...

whatever the case maybe by bringing back Spann, it is evident that we boys going in for ah WIn and not ah draw...also Matttucrap definitely eh calling no shots they, cuz ah forumites said, he eh KNOW SPANN at all...

My bet would be latas nd yorke...them look like they ha a lil vision...i hope kenwyne clda get ah bligh in this game as well...scotty, glen..dem boys...they goood-ish, but jones is ah str8 up bosss...with ah 4 4 2, de us getn cornnnnn!!! :devil:

I look forward to the line up come Wednesday...anyone know wuz de scene with Stern? he wanst even on de bench when we was in Guat... ???
Post by: Touches on October 13, 2008, 11:55:03 AM
This call up clearly shows that Pacho is not calling the shots.  Why would he call up a guy he has never had play a game in his system.  Plus, it is not as though he is calling up a defensive player but a make shift one at best.   

St. John...Maturana saw and started Silvio in the infamous "captain armband" Ash Wed Guadeloupe match.

Silvio was running neck and neck with Theobold for the pullstones of the match award.

St John, this site have those who don't see...and others who conveniently don't remember!!!
Post by: kiffysmooth on October 13, 2008, 12:04:03 PM
This call up clearly shows that Pacho is not calling the shots.  Why would he call up a guy he has never had play a game in his system.  Plus, it is not as though he is calling up a defensive player but a make shift one at best.   

St. John...Maturana saw and started Silvio in the infamous "captain armband" Ash Wed Guadeloupe match.

Silvio was running neck and neck with Theobold for the pullstones of the match award.

St John, this site have those who don't see...and others who conveniently don't remember!!!

Touches...you is kicks we....Take win
Post by: Lower St. John on October 13, 2008, 12:07:15 PM

Thanks Touches.  I disregarded that game since Pacho was not really the Head Coach on the side lines at the time and as such Spann never played under his system.  I thought we were still under the Wim system and was awaiting what Pacho had in store for us (which turns out to be nothing).  Also what position did Silvio play in that game?  

For me, I cannot understand how a man can get a last minute call up, and start ahead of man who were in the squad and played in previous games.  If that is the case, this individaul should have been in the squad all along if he was not injured.

Blessings
Post by: najee on October 13, 2008, 12:10:40 PM

hahahahaha...I see....you guys are funny
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 12:16:09 PM
For me, I cannot understand how a man can get a last minute call up, and start ahead of man who were in the squad and played in previous games.  If that is the case, this individaul should have been in the squad all along if he was not injured.

Blessings

Dat is an excellent point.

Fuh a NORMAL team.

Me eh know of many (or ANY) other countries who have a Special Advisor dictatin who could get selected and who can't doh.

As such....given OUR TEAM, OUR SPECIAL SET OF CIRCUMSTANCES, it entirely understandable.  Dis remember from a team dat name an ineligible player to the squad for 2 consecutive WCQ matches.

At the end of the day, who yuh prefer to have goin up against DaMarcus Beasley in a cyah lose, close to must win game IF de decision is not to start Carlos at right back?

Gyasi Joyce?

Or

Silvio Spann?

I wouldn't be surprised if is Dwight & Latas call fuh Spann to fall een needah.
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 12:18:04 PM
Well when next u c d definition of a palce coup u go c Lattas and Dwight picture. No way I was callin pack Spann I still have nightmares when I tink of dat Ash Wed nonsense. No matter who was d coach d dumbtist or d chipmunk. All d best bredda grab d opportunity wit both hands and feet
Post by: Sando prince on October 13, 2008, 12:18:58 PM
Gyasi Joyce?

Or

Silvio Spann?

But that comparison does not make sense as of right now..cause it looks like Spann is getting recalled to fill in a position in the starting lineup and joyce spot is on the bench..so how is it Spann or Joyce?
Post by: Touches on October 13, 2008, 12:22:11 PM
I was going and mention all the anton ting but if Afro ben for the captain armband issue in that match...then he had to have some kinda input.

Silvio played on the right wing and was backed up by Seon Power....lets just say it was d wuss combo yuh could ever put together, even on paper.

I will remember this game for sitting next to TI and for him seeing the la la live.

I have a match report somewhere...

Post by: arrow on October 13, 2008, 12:22:31 PM
Every personnel decision that has been made before and during these 2 matches was taken straight out of Beenie's 2005/6 coaching book.  Is either Yorke & Latas calling the shots or Pacho finally got a chance to study the tapes.
Post by: Bakes on October 13, 2008, 12:25:13 PM
Maybe I missing something... where did it say that Spann starting fuh anybody? 

We have one less defender available due to suspension... they bring in another man (with an eye towards identifying future options, for all any of us know) and all of a sudden the armchair coaches in full swing.

Have to love all de wanna-be football experts on this site yes.
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 12:28:18 PM
Arrow it have 2 b d former because he saw tapes and d only effect was d return if Aurtis
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 12:29:20 PM
Gyasi Joyce?

Or

Silvio Spann?

But that comparison does not make sense as of right now..cause it looks liek Spann is getting recalled to fill in a position in the starting lineup and joyce spot is on the bench..so how is he replacing Joyce?

Cyd Gray = starting right back

Joyce = cover for Cyd Gray aka substitute right back

Cyd Gray got red carded, so 11-1 = 10

The team therefore needed to consolidate so (10-1, Latapy (offensive midfielder) +1, Leon (substitute defensive midfielder) = 10

Total = 0-0

Next game, No Cyd.....but we need a starting right back

Gyasi Joyce < Silvio Spann

AKA

Silvio Spann > Gyasi Joyce

Therefore, (=if Carlos Edwards does not start at Right Back against USA), Silvio Spann = Starting Right Back
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 12:35:42 PM
Palos when u postin in d day and u eh doin yuh wuk u mean is chirren u suppose 2 b teachin maths. Is only X and Y missin from dem formulae
Post by: Sando prince on October 13, 2008, 12:37:24 PM
So Palos yuh saying Spann is our most capable right back (which is not the position he normally plays) after Cyd and Carlos and then deserved to be rushed back into the squad ?..and your maths only giving your opinion on who is better than who

yes there is no report that says he going to start..but you dont have to read reports to know why some players are called back to a team in situations where another player is suspended to fulffill a certain role..and i never said I was a football expert..  ::)
Post by: Lower St. John on October 13, 2008, 12:38:08 PM
Maybe I missing something... where did it say that Spann starting fuh anybody? 

We have one less defender available due to suspension... they bring in another man (with an eye towards identifying future options, for all any of us know) and all of a sudden the armchair coaches in full swing.

Have to love all de wanna-be football experts on this site yes.
Bakes - Why would someone call a midfieldplayer to add to the squad when a defensive player will be suspended?  With all of the otherplayers tried and tested by Pacho here locally, why call a man to fly home.  I would question the logic in this if it is to ride the pine but then again is Pacho we dealing with?? I get yuh point!!!

Blessings
Post by: spideybuff on October 13, 2008, 12:48:18 PM
I find allyuh men moving real confused. It have no confusion here. The man get call up by Latas and Yorke to play rb cause he do it for the side in 2005.

Whether it right or wrong, it is the reality so it have no argument about men who on the bench getting bypassed and how the coach shoulda have the man in the side before. The men who picking the side Wednesday wasn't involved in calling up them men who on the bench.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 13, 2008, 12:51:41 PM
The most sensible Right side for this game should be

Spann and Carlos

Either Spann at RB and Carlos RW or Carlos RB and Spann RW
Post by: Trini Madness on October 13, 2008, 01:00:07 PM
The most sensible Right side for this game should be

Spann and Carlos

Either Spann at RB and Carlos RW or Carlos RB and Spann RW

i say de same thing. carlos was probably de best player against de US last game.
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 13, 2008, 01:11:12 PM
After all dis argument, watch Telesford start at RB on Wednesday.
Post by: supporter on October 13, 2008, 01:55:06 PM

seriously though, i dont understand calling up an out-of-form player from the blue square conference division for a crucial match against USA,
Post by: just cool on October 13, 2008, 02:46:55 PM
I know one thing is ah sure deal for wednesday, the USA not coming here to loss, and dem youngstars will be running @ us even more-so than they 1st team. which means all old men except yorke , and all slow men have to come on in the 2nd half.

latas , spann, and hislop have to @ least ride pine in the 1st half in order for us to stand ah fighting chance.

i would definitely leave carlos in the right back position put glenn on the right wing BC that's what beenie did in the paraguay game, glenn has speed to burn and dribbling skills nuff, plus him and stern seem to have an understanding.

put daniel as the other winger with yorke and birchall as center mids, and roberts and stern as strike partners , one is relentless(roberts) and the other have the muscle and height to dominate in the center(stern) to weaken the defence.

that's the same thing they did in the 2nd bermuda game, they used daryl to terrorize the defence and keep them busy so they had more time defending than attacking and stern came on to clean up an already fatigued defence. and it worked like ah charm.

we need fit fast guys for this game, @ least in the 1st half, BC the US does play break away football.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on October 13, 2008, 02:50:28 PM
I know one thing is ah sure deal for wednesday, the USA not coming here to loss, and dem youngstars will be running @ us even more-so than they 1st team. which means all old men except yorke , and all slow men have to come on in the 2nd half.

latas , spann, and hislop have to @ least ride pine in the 1st half in order for us to stand ah fighting chance.

i would definitely leave carlos in the right back position put glenn on the right wing BC that's what beenie did in the paraguay game, glenn has speed to burn and dribbling skills nuff, plus him and stern seem to have an understanding.

i eh tink we eh stand a fighting chance with them on de pitch...is once we not reacting to USA playing and we have them reacting to us!
i don't find glenn and stern have an understanding either...unless the understanding is that they doh like each other head!
Post by: D.H.W on October 13, 2008, 03:08:43 PM

is the opposite position carlos right back silvio right wing like how beenie use to do it
Post by: Midknight on October 13, 2008, 05:04:23 PM
Sancho will be back by the Cuba game since he locally based now,to take over from Keyeno Thomas.

You really believe the palace coup could go that far?
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 13, 2008, 06:47:23 PM
All who want to talk talk about meh boi Spann, go back and watch thee both qualifies to go WC 2006 against  Bahrain and The Gold Cup in the US last year ah think, weh Silvio was big, hustling thee whole game like he was thee only man playing. That is ah hustler an a true warrior. He and Birchall will do goood fuh we together in thee midfield. I was wondering when they were going and call him back. He's ah believer and GOD is good.  Well come back Brethren.  :)

Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 06:50:16 PM
If Sancho come back by Cuba dat eh go b know palace coup dat go b a bloody revolution
Post by: AB.Trini on October 13, 2008, 07:51:48 PM
Whatever happened to Kevaughn Connell ?
Post by: Big Magician on October 13, 2008, 07:57:18 PM
good question AB....

and about Spann recall...the word is "UTILITY"... is more that right back he covering eh...
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 08:04:26 PM
Connell I 4get bout he yes. I c d thread news bout he come leh meh c what is d latest
Post by: berris on October 13, 2008, 09:00:49 PM
I find allyuh men moving real confused. It have no confusion here. The man get call up by Latas and Yorke to play rb cause he do it for the side in 2005.

Whether it right or wrong, it is the reality so it have no argument about men who on the bench getting bypassed and how the coach shoulda have the man in the side before. The men who picking the side Wednesday wasn't involved in calling up them men who on the bench.

True ...Bottom line is, Dwight and Latas calling the shots now ,remember Latas is 'player coach' and they know just who they want on the pitch. It eh by chance Ince ,Birchall,Stern and Spann get recall,or DL back in the starting line up , and quite rightly so.Last hex we didn't struggle to get out of the first round like we doing now , is the second round that we had to fight to get through .Now we have these same players available, but becuz we have ah seedless GOAT for ah manager name maturana, they were not played. Had this change happen before the Bermuda game we may definately would not have been in this dogfight now to get out of this round as the players would have been more in sync and we wudda cut USA arse.
Sancho need to be on the team ,don't be supprise to hear he get a  call . ;)
Post by: Deeks on October 13, 2008, 09:41:51 PM
Berris,
          a seedless goat as a special advisor!!!!
Post by: palos on October 14, 2008, 12:33:29 AM
Last hex we didn't struggle to get out of the first round like we doing now , is the second round that we had to fight to get through .

Actually, not true.

Like yuh fuhget de game we nearly lorse against St Vincent when dey had we on de ropes wit a 1-0 lead and 2 subs save we.  Hector Sam equalize late in de game (past de 80th minute) & den Angus Eve score de winner in extra time to send we thru to de Hex.

If St Vincent did manage to hold on to de lead, it woulda be dem instead a we in de Hex.

CHECK DE PLAYERS WHO DID PLAY DAT GAME (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/fixtures-results.html?view=matchreport&id=386)
Post by: Midknight on October 14, 2008, 04:47:49 AM

It has happened several times in this smae campaign. I can't remember who get called, but I remember Guerra end up riding pine and man who wasn't even on the team list start
Post by: Midknight on October 14, 2008, 04:50:26 AM
After all dis argument, watch Telesford start at RB on Wednesday.
Post by: Midknight on October 14, 2008, 05:03:11 AM
Last hex we didn't struggle to get out of the first round like we doing now , is the second round that we had to fight to get through .

Actually, not true.

Like yuh fuhget de game we nearly lorse against St Vincent when dey had we on de ropes wit a 1-0 lead and 2 subs save we.  Hector Sam equalize late in de game (past de 80th minute) & den Angus Eve score de winner in extra time to send we thru to de Hex.

If St Vincent did manage to hold on to de lead, it woulda be dem instead a we in de Hex.

Not true either.

If we had loss the match 1-0 we'd have been level on points with St. Vincent. However we would have still been leading them in head to head (we won the first match 2-0) and goal difference (+1 to -5). SVG actually needed to beat us by 3 goals to advance. A 2-0 loss would have pushed the game into extra time or a playoff (not sure which).

http://www.planetworldcup.com/CUPS/2006/concacaf_wrapup03.html
Post by: arrow on October 14, 2008, 05:18:20 AM

The fact that this is an earlier round makes no difference because it's the same Guatemala and US teams that we struggled with last time in the Hex that we struggling with now, as opposed to Vincy and St. Lucia.
Post by: Themanfriday on October 14, 2008, 06:13:37 AM
Gyasi Joyce?

Or

Silvio Spann?

But that comparison does not make sense as of right now..cause it looks liek Spann is getting recalled to fill in a position in the starting lineup and joyce spot is on the bench..so how is he replacing Joyce?

The team therefore needed to consolidate so (10-1, Latapy (offensive midfielder) +1, Leon (substitute defensive midfielder) = 10

Total = 0-0

AKA

Therefore, (=if Carlos Edwards does not start at Right Back against USA), Silvio Spann = Starting Right Back

De crazy ting here is I actually understand dat Math  ;D
Post by: andre samuel on October 14, 2008, 06:54:56 AM
Plenty people talking about putting glenn on the wing and stuff like that, but allyuh forgetting that we need wing players who can track back defensively!!

That is why keon daniel was on the bench and anton wolfe played!!

That is why kevaughn connell cant see this side!!

So please factor that in when allyuh "picking" de team.

Daryl roberts, in my opinion will be the man on the left, and they going with spann and carlos on de right.  If Touches only right about his Telesford prediction, then we in serious trouble!!

Post by: sjahrain on October 14, 2008, 07:01:52 AM
We have to win this game tomorrow because if we go through,we are looking at playing them(US) twice again and the psychology of the game will be in their favor if we cannot beat them with what amounts to their B team...just truth
Post by: sjahrain on October 14, 2008, 07:24:34 AM
If Silvo and Edwards can develop any kind of chemisrty on the right side over the next 2 games,these 2 players are interchangable in both positions on the right side,some may be crying and some screeming,Cyd could well have played his last game,my reasoning is that by the time 2010 comes around all our players will be 2 years older I am not sure of Cyd age but I am sure he is in his 30`s,lets face it we have a bunch of gereatrics on the field and now is good a time as ever to start preparing ourselves that some who have brought us this far will not be there in the end I also think is time the kuckleheads to stop playing with it and bring back Sancho as lawerence is no spring chicken,having experience is great but due to ineptness we have not considered the future........Julius and KJ plese get fit soon our future is depening on you
Title: Trinidad Express: Spann gets call, Cornell has hamstring problem
Post by: Touches on October 14, 2008, 07:59:39 AM
(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2008/10/14/s2.jpg)

Wrexham's Silvio Spann has been called up by Trinidad and Tobago head coach Francisco Maturana for tomorrow's crucial 2010 World Cup qualifier against the United States at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Spann, who last played for T&T in a 0-0 draw with Guadeloupe in February, was scheduled to arrive yesterday evening and will join the team camp at the Crowne Plaza in Port of Spain.

In other team news, there is some doubt over striker Cornell Glen who is carrying a hamstring problem and he will be monitored closely up until today.

There is better news for defender Dennis Lawrence, who picked up a strain in Saturday's 0-0 draw with Guatemala, but has been given the all-clear to train and play.

Southampton striker Stern John also got the green light for Wednesday's match
after nursing a hamstring strain.

Spann, summoned with defender Cyd Gray and midfielder Anthony Wolfe suspended,  was delighted with the call-up, which came from the airport in Guatemala prior to the national team's departure.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) was able to confirm Spann's travel arrangements.

"I got a phone call late on Sunday afternoon," he said.

"After that it was a bit of a panic to get in touch with the gaffer to clear it with him and then sort out flights.

"The TTFF officials were still travelling home from Guatemala on Sunday, so they couldn't organise my travel. Hopefully, everything will drop into place and I will be back in Trinidad late on Monday. That will give me time to prepare myself for the game on Wednesday evening.

"This is a very important game for my country and it's great to be involved again."

Due to the times of return flights from the Caribbean, Silvio will head back to Wrexham on Thursday evening, arriving at lunchtime on Friday.

Wrexham manager Dean Saunders was happy for the player.

"Silvio has been down a bit of late, but playing against York and now being recalled by his country has given him a lift," said the manager.

"This is exactly the sort of thing I was trying to point out to the players-if you put in the work, then you will get your rewards.

"It is a long trip for him, but he's used to it and it's great to see him smiling again."

And after the Guatemala game, President George Maxwell Richards and TTFF special adviser Jack Warner were all smiles as they greeted T&T captain Dwight Yorke and the national team prior to boarding the Dominican Airways charter flight out of Guatemala City on Sunday.

Warner told the squad earlier in the day that the TTFF would double the players' match wage.

"What a show of character, determination, fight and belief. What those guys displayed out there is what we need more of in our country...to be able to combat the problems we are facing today. We are all proud of the efforts. Never before did one point have so much value," Warner said of the 0-0 draw against the Central Americans.

"I have told them that their match fees have been doubled for what they did against Guatemala and they deserve every bit of it."
Title: Re: Trinidad Express: Spann gets call, Cornell has hamstring problem
Post by: Peong on October 14, 2008, 08:04:49 AM
"The TTFF officials were still travelling home from Guatemala on Sunday, so they couldn't organise my travel."

So TTFF had NOBODY on the ground to arrange flights for Spann?

Look Jack offerin more money again.  Ah hope they get it in writing.
FPATT look allyuh have more wuk to do.
Post by: NUFF on October 14, 2008, 08:47:16 AM
Nobody seem to be considering the possibility that Silvio Spann might be called back as cover for Carlos Edwards.  Edwards was the cover for Cyd Gray at right back now Cyd is out we need someone to cover for Carlos Edwards.  What if Edwards gets a red card or gets injured who is his cover?  Calling back Spann is a sensible decision since he can play either the right wing or right back position.  He did it under Beenie during the last WCQ campaign and him and Carlos interchanged very well.. 

Another thing to keep in mind.  Yorke played the full 90 against Guatemala and he ran his guts off.  He might not be able to last the full 90 against the US.  Clyde Leon looked lost in the last 2 games against the US and Guatemala.  Spann's natural position is defensive midfield so he would also be cover for Yorke also.  Maybe he is not in the best form right now but he has experience playing all three of the previously mentioned positions.  I am not saying whether he should start or not but when you look at it from the perspective of his experience playing three different positions calling him back makes a lot of sense.
Post by: Socafan on October 14, 2008, 09:14:13 AM

Warner told the squad earlier in the day that the TTFF would double the players' match wage.

"I have told them that their match fees have been doubled for what they did against Guatemala and they deserve every bit of it."

:o :rotfl: Anybody else see this and stunned? Them men get pay yet from the last campaign? If I was one of the players I woulda just steups and walk off.....
Post by: NUFF on October 14, 2008, 09:21:59 AM
(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2008/10/14/s2.jpg)

Wrexham's Silvio Spann has been called up by Trinidad and Tobago head coach Francisco Maturana for tomorrow's crucial 2010 World Cup qualifier against the United States at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Spann, who last played for T&T in a 0-0 draw with Guadeloupe in February, was scheduled to arrive yesterday evening and will join the team camp at the Crowne Plaza in Port of Spain.

In other team news, there is some doubt over striker Cornell Glen who is carrying a hamstring problem and he will be monitored closely up until today.

There is better news for defender Dennis Lawrence, who picked up a strain in Saturday's 0-0 draw with Guatemala, but has been given the all-clear to train and play.

Southampton striker Stern John also got the green light for Wednesday's match
after nursing a hamstring strain.

Spann, summoned with defender Cyd Gray and midfielder Anthony Wolfe suspended,  was delighted with the call-up, which came from the airport in Guatemala prior to the national team's departure.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) was able to confirm Spann's travel arrangements.

"I got a phone call late on Sunday afternoon," he said.

"The TTFF officials were still travelling home from Guatemala on Sunday, so they couldn't organise my travel. Hopefully, everything will drop into place and I will be back in Trinidad late on Monday. That will give me time to prepare myself for the game on Wednesday evening.

"This is a very important game for my country and it's great to be involved again."

Due to the times of return flights from the Caribbean, Silvio will head back to Wrexham on Thursday evening, arriving at lunchtime on Friday.

Wrexham manager Dean Saunders was happy for the player.

"This is exactly the sort of thing I was trying to point out to the players-if you put in the work, then you will get your rewards.

And after the Guatemala game, President George Maxwell Richards and TTFF special adviser Jack Warner were all smiles as they greeted T&T captain Dwight Yorke and the national team prior to boarding the Dominican Airways charter flight out of Guatemala City on Sunday.

"What a show of character, determination, fight and belief. What those guys displayed out there is what we need more of in our country...to be able to combat the problems we are facing today. We are all proud of the efforts. Never before did one point have so much value," Warner said of the 0-0 draw against the Central Americans.

Oh shucks.  Ah see another blacklist coming.  Ent dis is de same thing that lead to de first row between Jack and de 2006 players.  Now Jack making verbal money promises again.  Ah hope this time the players either get him to put it writing or tell him no thanks.  FPATT allyuh seeing this.
Post by: andre samuel on October 14, 2008, 09:50:40 AM
Never before did one point have so much value," Warner said of the 0-0 draw against the Central Americans.

Let me go get my court clothes........lol

Never before? i thought the draw against Sweden was bigger.  Like Jack Warner like tuh give away money when we draw.

Post by: NJsTriniGunna on October 14, 2008, 09:51:56 AM
Maaan, i just wanna hear the announcer say "SI-SI-SIIIIILVIOOOOOOOOO" again.
Post by: palos on October 14, 2008, 10:14:00 AM
Dem players should know better dan to fall for dis double de wages ting.

Dey should know dat Jack mean NET...which could mean anyting.

I could jes see it now.. (All prices in US$)

Players match fee + $5,000

Player insurance - $3,000

Airfare - $1,000

Meals, Accomodation & Ground Transportation - $800

Training Balls, Gatorade, Uniforms, & Nets - $500

NET TOTAL =  - $300

Double players match fee = -$600

Jackula to Players.....aaaaa...lll...yyyyuuuuhhhh oooooooooowe meeeeehhhhhhh US$600 EACH!
Post by: morvant on October 14, 2008, 10:21:47 AM
palos is more like 2 gran us ah game
Post by: WestCoast on October 14, 2008, 10:26:17 AM
leh we calculate with what Morvant said that they get

Players match fee + $5,000 $2,000
Airfare - $1,000
NET TOTAL =  - $300
Double players match fee = -$600 - $5,200
Jackula to Players.....aaaaa...lll...yyyyuuuuhhhh oooooooooowe meeeeehhhhhhh US$600 US$5,200 EACH!
JackAss does be making money off ah we players ;) ;)
Post by: Socafan on October 14, 2008, 10:27:40 AM

Players match fee + $5,000

Airfare - $1,000

NET TOTAL =  - $300

Double players match fee = -$600

Jackula to Players.....aaaaa...lll...yyyyuuuuhhhh oooooooooowe meeeeehhhhhhh US$600 EACH!

LOL....
Post by: just cool on October 14, 2008, 02:05:00 PM
Plenty people talking about putting glenn on the wing and stuff like that, but allyuh forgetting that we need wing players who can track back defensively!!

That is why keon daniel was on the bench and anton wolfe played!!

That is why kevaughn connell cant see this side!!

So please factor that in when allyuh "picking" de team.

Daryl roberts, in my opinion will be the man on the left, and they going with spann and carlos on de right.  If Touches only right about his Telesford prediction, then we in serious trouble!!ah love it!!
Dre, Osie is ah very good defender breds, maybe even better than most we have available. the thing is the coaches has been playing dude out of position, and he ails @ his midfield role, but as ah defender he's quite capable.

did you see the bermuda game, he actually played the wing back position and did an amazing job of it.

on ah lighter note. jack warner more scared than all the forumites put together, of us making the hex.  right now he shaking more than ah maple leaf in the in the middle of fall,Bc he sponsorship dollars going down the gully on ah cardboard raft @ ah rapid pace so he promising all kinda ting to whoever could rescue it.

isn't them the same fellas that was greedy and too old to represent we and we going with the youths and ah few of the WC players.....ya di  ya di ya di ya di yaaa!             anyway  good luck warriors.                                  positive.
Post by: bajanscout on October 14, 2008, 02:14:01 PM
wow am back didnt i tell u ppl dem young fellas is shit ????? did i not say de old men will come back??? and what alyuh did not cuss me and say i doh no wat i talking bout??? will u all believe me if i said imps is shit and dey better start back marvin ...
Post by: palos on October 14, 2008, 02:20:50 PM
on ah lighter note. jack warner more scared than all the forumites put together, of us making the hex.  right now he shaking more than ah maple leaf in the in the middle of fall,Bc he sponsorship dollars going down the gully @ ah rapid pace so he promising all kinda ting.

Huh?  ???
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 14, 2008, 02:22:35 PM
wow am back
:-[
Post by: just cool on October 14, 2008, 02:28:15 PM
wow am back
:-[
Please forumite! ignore this fella and lewwe continue on the topic, BC yuh dun know he doh have no positive input to add to the dicourse. just let him brea! when he tired he go stop.                                     positive.
Post by: Soccer Lover on October 14, 2008, 03:14:09 PM
Can I ask you how many times have you represented your country? ??? ??? You people that find fault and criticize if given the opportunity cannot and would not do better. Until you could wear the red black and white and do the country proud Kiss SILVIO SPANN'S BLACK @#*

Carlos best game for TT in this campaign was in that right back slot...yuh will have to be a imps to move or replace him.

Post by: berris on October 14, 2008, 07:15:42 PM

Actually, not true.

CHECK DE PLAYERS WHO DID PLAY DAT GAME (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/fixtures-results.html?view=matchreport&id=386)

Actually, true .
Palos wham yuh bunning some hard ting or wha ...Yuh eh hear what ah say, the 'last hex' 
After we beat SVD to go throught to the 'hex' (ah highlight wha yuh say ) ;D we came out of the first round pretty easy.It was the last round we had to fight all de way to Bahrain.
Post by: weary1969 on October 14, 2008, 08:51:47 PM
I hope dem players steups loud when dey hear bout d double wages
Post by: Flex on October 15, 2008, 10:10:51 AM
(http://www.newsday.co.tt/galeria/46-1a_t&t_warm_up_(2).jpg)
Post by: Sando prince on October 15, 2008, 08:44:39 PM
Gyasi Joyce?

Or

Silvio Spann?

All that mathematics you did still could not help Spann today?..but am just an armchair coach and so called wannabe expert so what do i know ..Spann didnt have to be rushed back today to prove to us that he aint ready yet lol..You still have not answered my question..Is Spann the best RB (A psoition he does not even normally play) T&T have after Carlos and Edwards?...But saywha de man was part of the 2005 and 2006 squad so leh we give he, Sancho, wise and Jack a chance nah...Allyuh want allyuh w-w-w warriors !! take allyuh warriors !!  8)

Total = 0-0

AKA

All that mathematics you did still could not help Spann today!!..but am just an armchair coach and so called wannabe expert so what do i know ..Spann didnt have to be rushed back today to prove to us that he aint ready yet lol..You still have not answered my question..Is Spann the best RB (A position he does not even normally play) T&T have after Carlos and Edwards?...But saywha de man was part of the 2005 and 2006 squad so leh we give he, Sancho, wise and Jack a chance nah...Allyuh want allyuh w-w-w warriors !! take allyuh w-w-warriors !!   8)
Post by: dumpalewie on October 15, 2008, 08:49:27 PM
Both of our wingbacks were horrible!!!
Post by: Babalawo on October 15, 2008, 08:49:41 PM
Its about time.  The men on my signature play their hearts out.  Now we missing Kelvin Jack to stabalize the Goalkeeper  positive if Ince gets injured.
Post by: palos on October 15, 2008, 08:50:47 PM
All that mathematics you did still could not help Spann today!!..but am just an armchair coach and so called wannabe expert so what do i know ..Spann didnt have to be rushed back today to prove to us that he aint ready yet lol..You still have not answered my question..Is Spann the best RB (A psoition he does not even normally play) T&T have after Carlos and Edwards?...But saywha de man was part of the 2005 and 2006 squad so leh we give he, Sancho, wise and Jack a chance nah...Allyuh want allyuh w-w-w warriors !! take allyuh warriors !!   8)

Like yuh vex we win wit Spann in de line up or wha?   8)

And de ting is....yuh woulda tink a man like you woulda be happy a South Man actually get to play on de team... ;D
Post by: Jay10 on October 15, 2008, 10:25:42 PM
Can I ask you how many times have you represented your country? ??? ??? You people that find fault and criticize if given the opportunity cannot and would not do better. Until you could wear the red black and white and do the country proud Kiss SILVIO SPANN'S BLACK @#*

Spanner?... ;D
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2008, 10:35:08 PM
He eh play worse than Edwards y was he on d field?
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 15, 2008, 11:07:15 PM
He eh play worse than Edwards y was he on d field?
We in real trouble in dem full back positions. At least central defence have Julius and Hislop and Telesford to step in when Tallest dem gone. When Cyd and/or Avery hang up de boots, we in a mess.
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2008, 11:39:28 PM
We in a hot mess we betta groom who ever playin dem position in d under 20 and under 17 teams
Post by: Bakes on October 16, 2008, 12:54:17 AM
Silvio boy yuh let mih down... once elected ah was going tuh put yuh in mih cabinet.  Right now ah doubt yuh even making side cupboard.
Post by: just cool on October 16, 2008, 04:33:20 AM
Our whole defence with the exception of lawarence was abbysmal! spann needs to forget local football, no disrespect to silvio,but he slow like moracoy.

aklie edwards on the other hand have the potential to be ah great wing back, but he needs to go to either germany or italy and learn his position under the masters of defence.

i was ah huge fan of maturana , but this fella just losing my support as the days go by. could you imagine if birchall didn't play how many goals we would've conceded. how yuh go leave out avery and telesford who are proven defenders.

ah getting fedup of this coaches mad crazy head strong selection. like jason scotland who did absolutly nothing all game . he didn't  challenge the defence once !

he can't penetrate BC he too dogone slow, he took ah shot out side the 18 yard box when he had enough room to advance on the keeper!

the man have no right to play the lone striker position, BC he not a creative striker, not taking any thing away from scotty , he's @ best an opportunist but in no wise creative, and we need much more creativity up front.  thank yuh God by your grace kenwyne will be back soon.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 16, 2008, 08:06:04 AM
i was ah huge fan of maturana , but this fella just losing my support as the days go by. could you imagine if birchall didn't play how many goals we would've conceded. how yuh go leave out avery and telesford who are proven defenders.

Ah ask in another thread if any one knew why Avery was left out....I keep thinking he was injured and we eh know, cuz he didn't have 2 yellows coming into this.....but please, please doh tell mih Maturana leave he out just so, just so...like Lawrence against the US, for no reason....nah man....ah cyar make dat thought cross mih mind...there MUST be a logical, rational reason....

But ah glad to see yuh eh fraid to admit as one of Maturana's fiercest defenders yuh realise he does do some real, real tata...
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 08:10:23 AM
Well Brown u know it go b a cold day in hell b4 we know y Avery eh play
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 16, 2008, 08:12:27 AM
Silvio boy yuh let mih down... once elected ah was going tuh put yuh in mih cabinet.  Right now ah doubt yuh even making side cupboard.

Post by: Babalawo on October 16, 2008, 08:16:32 AM
Some of allyuh chupid or what.  Spann shut down the left side with Beasley etc.  And he knows when to run up in the attack causing the US defense to mis-mark men and created scoring chances.
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 16, 2008, 08:34:09 AM
Some of allyuh chupid or what.  Spann shut down the left side with Beasley etc.  And he knows when to run up in the attack causing the US defense to mis-mark men and created scoring chances.

Like somebody ask me...yuh was watching thee thee tv upside down ah wah. Spann get beat ah couple times and he ent lock down no Beasley. I like Spann and ah realle big him up before thee game but last night he was in ah mess.  :-\
Post by: arrow on October 16, 2008, 09:04:11 AM
I doh find Spann play well but not as bad as some making it out to be, especially considering he barely had a chance to train with the squad.  At the end of the day he wasn't responsible for any goals (it was Lawrence who made a clumsy challenge when he should have cleared when Altidore overpush the ball on his run to the top of the box) so I can live with his performance.  More importantly I think he did better than Joyce probably would have done and it allowed us to keep Carlos in a more advanced role which obviously paid dividends for us as he had a great game.

The real question is why did Avery get benched for Aklie Edwards who got so badly exposed the last time we played the U.S.  That was like playing with a time bomb about to go off and with a little less luck could have been disastrous.  Hopefully it was some minor injury and not some petty discipline thing with Maturana like he call him "Pancho" instead of "Pacho" or "tu" instead of "usted".  We need Avery back on the team NOW Edwards is NOT ready yet and we will pay the price for starting him against better teams if/when we make the Hex.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 16, 2008, 09:08:24 AM

The real question is why did Avery get benched for Aklie Edwards who got so badly exposed the last time we played the U.S.  That was like playing with a time bomb about to go off and with a little less luck could have been disastrous.  Hopefully it was some minor injury and not some petty discipline thing with Maturana like he call him "Pancho" instead of "Pacho" or "tu" instead of "usted".  We need Avery back on the team NOW Edwards is NOT ready yet and we will pay the price for starting him against better teams if/when we make the Hex.

heh heh heh.... ;D
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 16, 2008, 09:17:23 AM
Some of allyuh chupid or what.  Spann shut down the left side with Beasley etc.   And he knows when to run up in the attack causing the US defense to mis-mark men and created scoring chances.

If you din say dis I woulda swear I was watchin ah different game from everybody else oui.  De friggin right flank on de other hand was horribly defended.  Imaging Heduk havin all da space eveytime dong de right an man raggin on Spann!! 
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 16, 2008, 09:27:33 AM
I doh find Spann play well but not as bad as some making it out to be, especially considering he barely had a chance to train with the squad.  At the end of the day he wasn't responsible for any goals (it was Lawrence who made a clumsy challenge when he should have cleared when Altidore overpush the ball on his run to the top of the box) so I can live with his performance.  More importantly I think he did better than Joyce probably would have done and it allowed us to keep Carlos in a more advanced role which obviously paid dividends for us as he had a great game.

Avery was in the stand with Cornell so i am 100% sure he was injured...no way he would m iss a match of this importance

Also ease off Spann.. first game back with the national team since feb and he arrived late monday night.. yes he could have played better at RB which he has done before... but he is better RB and LB quality than Kern Cupid..Kareem Smith..A.Edwards..O.Telesford..A.Farrier

not saying he hadda start but he will certainly push Cyd and that is good competition

Also he can play anywhere in the mid...so he is very versatile

He will only get better.... Come on Spanner

Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 10:14:54 AM
He had betta b injured because real dotishness if he get drop
Post by: trini warrior on October 16, 2008, 11:16:15 AM
they claimed on the radio that the reason he was left out was because he was on a yellow and pacho left him off so he doh get a 2nd yellow and miss the final game against cuba.
dunno if this makes sense in a must win game. but at the end of the day we hadda accept certain things dread - let the youths get the exposure now. think of brazil 2014 who will step in for yorke, latas, cyd, avery, lawrence, ince, jack, stern & dem. that's alot of men to replace dread. even if the man akile edwards didn't have the game of his life, he is a solid player so exposure will get him there. dunno if  woulda play him in a must win but aye we won - so yuh hadda give pacho credit. we now have a youth with an additional bit of experience and a winning cap.
all de better
when he bring in keyeno thomas he mad - bring in keyon danliel he mad - bring in spann he mad - bring in akile edward he mad. lewwe be real dread. latas & yorke and many others cyah come back after this campaign. who will play for us? jack & roger boynes & anil roberts & liburd & suan fuentes & dem?
get real dread
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 11:24:17 AM
silvio played well at right back, he has to get back into the swing of things but he doesnt give away the ball that easy and held down the right flank
Post by: damiangoal on October 16, 2008, 11:28:34 AM
silvio played well at right back, he has to get back into the swing of things but he doesnt give away the ball that easy and held down the right flank
He allowed the winger to run past him on occasion! :thinking:
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 11:30:33 AM
He allowed the winger to run past him on occasion! :thinking:

twice but he caught up, the man never even train with the team, far less hasnt played for how long, i guess you rather joyce or wild man cyd who cant pass and cross like spann?
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 11:34:50 AM
people must understand the defenders are responsible for the build up of attack, the transition, spann is a wise choice and knows how to dribble and pass, also cross and is good in dead ball situations, if we have no build up from the back, how the hell will we survive against teams like costa rica and honduras in the hex? especially since they will pressure our wing backs and cut off their passing lanes. we need a defender like spann who could dribble and pass and build the attack for latas and yorke, cyd doesnt have the passing ability nor the crossing or dribbling skills like spann.
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 16, 2008, 12:48:09 PM
people must understand the defenders are responsible for the build up of attack, the transition, spann is a wise choice and knows how to dribble and pass, also cross and is good in dead ball situations, if we have no build up from the back, how the hell will we survive against teams like costa rica and honduras in the hex? especially since they will pressure our wing backs and cut off their passing lanes. we need a defender like spann who could dribble and pass and build the attack for latas and yorke, cyd doesnt have the passing ability nor the crossing or dribbling skills like spann.
All dat sounding nice going forward. Now what about de defending part?
Title: Silvio...
Post by: kaisocagoals on October 16, 2008, 01:02:54 PM
missed being in the squad?... or proved his point last night...

admittedly, a bit sloppy at times, but is superb in his position...

Ideal too, from distance with the dead ball situations...

if yuh had to pick a solid 11 for the Hex...

is Silvio in your squad?...
Post by: arrow on October 16, 2008, 01:03:59 PM
they claimed on the radio that the reason he was left out was because he was on a yellow and pacho left him off so he doh get a 2nd yellow and miss the final game against cuba.

If that is the case then Pacho should be fired on the spot cause that makes NO sense!!  In a must-win game how can you even fathom benching a key defender for a man who got embarrased the last time he played the US?  Because there's a chance he could pick up another yellow and miss a match?  Like Avery has never played a match without picking up a yellow?  You have to field your strongest possible team at all times and not worry about the 'what if' scenarios.
Nah that can't be it.
Post by: just cool on October 16, 2008, 01:04:08 PM
What about the speed part ? ah hear fellas talking bout first game back, but the bredder doh have no speed! i saw beasley blow past the man on ah few occasions like he was ah training cone.

there's no excuse for that, it could prove costly @ the next level. we just cannot afford that kind of ineptitude on our defensive flanks. he needs to work on speed or no deal!
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 01:14:40 PM
What about the speed part ? ah hear fellas talking bout first game back, but the bredder doh have no speed! i saw beasley blow past the man on ah few occasions like he was ah training cone.

there's no excuse for that, it could prove costly @ the next level. we just cannot afford that kind of ineptitude on our defensive flanks. he needs to work on speed or no deal!

alright howie its a deal, but spann is faster than what he played last night, ive seen defenders blow past avery and he pelt blade and get a yellow before but fellahs still love him to death for whatever reason, in all honestly akile did well this time because he had tallest there and ince commanding his defenders well, he has potential and did not shitdong himself, thank god, avery will play against cuba, so dont worry and mr rampage himself will be back on the right to inflict bodily harm on the strikers :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 01:23:31 PM
Accordin 2 d rep nominee 4 prez my friend dumbtist eh gettin drop. He drop DL what was d reason
Post by: Brownsugar on October 16, 2008, 01:26:47 PM

If that is the case then Pacho should be fired on the spot cause that makes NO sense!!  In a must-win game how can you even fathom benching a key defender for a man who got embarrased the last time he played the US?  Because there's a chance he could pick up another yellow and miss a match?  Like Avery has never played a match without picking up a yellow?  You have to field your strongest possible team at all times and not worry about the 'what if' scenarios.
Nah that can't be it.

Yuh wanna bet?....we still eh know why Dennis was left on de bench for the away game against de US and was fit as ever.... :-\
Post by: palos on October 16, 2008, 01:29:12 PM
Like Avery has never played a match without picking up a yellow? 

Hmmmmmm.....very good question.  Has he?  :thinking:  8)
Post by: palos on October 16, 2008, 01:35:15 PM
ive seen defenders blow past avery and he pelt blade and get a yellow before but fellahs still love him to death for whatever reason,

While I for one would not have Akile Edwards anywhere near the T&T team at the moment, he did do enough not to be a total embarassment like he was against the US in Chicago, and we won the game.  Yuh cyah fault that.

Avery plays for me because I haven't seen anyone better in that position.  That said, Avery should have cost us the Guatemala game on Saturday with his totally idiotic and uncalled for challenge on the Guat player, in the area, in the 80 somethingth minute of de game.  That was a penalty and it was only the referee's ineptitude that saved us from it being rightfully called.  For that alone, Avery coulda get drop.  As asinine and bonehead a play as you could ever see from an allegedly experienced player.
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 01:38:53 PM
Until I find a replacement is Avery and he wildness
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 01:40:21 PM
ive seen defenders blow past avery and he pelt blade and get a yellow before but fellahs still love him to death for whatever reason,

While I for one would not have Akile Edwards anywhere near the T&T team at the moment, he did do enough not to be a total embarassment like he was against the US in Chicago, and we won the game.  Yuh cyah fault that.

Avery plays for me because I haven't seen anyone better in that position.  That said, Avery should have cost us the Guatemala game on Saturday with his totally idiotic and uncalled for challenge on the Guat player, in the area, in the 80 somethingth minute of de game.  That was a penalty and it was only the referee's ineptitude that saved us from it being rightfully called.  For that alone, Avery coulda get drop.  As asinine and bonehead a play as you could ever see from an allegedly experienced player.

well cyd plays a good left back also, as well as nigel daniel, seon power was atrocious in passing but had the speed and dribbling, spann did well for his first time back and lack of match practise with the team. I think nigel daniel would be another good option to explore if he is fit and up to par again.
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on October 16, 2008, 01:52:23 PM
I think he played exceptionally well under the circumstances as a last minute addition........i also think the attacking component of the game changed when he made that 1 overlap and ah believe Scotland was able to take a shot on goal with only 1 defender in his way.
Post by: Bakes on October 16, 2008, 02:41:30 PM
Some of allyuh chupid or what.  Spann shut down the left side with Beasley etc.   And he knows when to run up in the attack causing the US defense to mis-mark men and created scoring chances.

If you din say dis I woulda swear I was watchin ah different game from everybody else oui.  De friggin right flank on de other hand was horribly defended.  Imaging Heduk havin all da space eveytime dong de right an man raggin on Spann!! 

So wait... because de right side played worse dat mean Spann played well?  What kinda ass-backwards logic is that?

Man ent talking about no facking right side defending when de thread is about Silvio Spann.