Sports => Football => Topic started by: CarenageBoy on October 13, 2008, 08:09:34 AM

Title: What of Maturana?
Post by: CarenageBoy on October 13, 2008, 08:09:34 AM
Okay. We walked away from Guatemala with a point. Does that mean that Pacho is out of the woods? Should we take our chances and hope that raw talent will pull us through?

Or, should we cut our losses (so to speak) and start looking for a new coach?
Title: Re: What of Maturana?
Post by: Controversial on October 13, 2008, 08:11:28 AM
he coaches well against central american teams, which will be the majority we are gonna play in the hex
Post by: injunchile on October 13, 2008, 08:17:12 AM
After Wednesday- , All and sundry will be hailing him as the new King. He will be the new Bennie.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 13, 2008, 08:19:05 AM
After Wednesday- , All and sundry will be hailing him as the new King. He will be the new Bennie.

not me
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on October 13, 2008, 08:23:35 AM

Hill?
Post by: E-man on October 13, 2008, 08:24:32 AM

Hill?

There's no way he could ever move that fast.
Post by: Big Magician on October 13, 2008, 08:30:16 AM
even if we win the World Cup...he should get fired...
dis man just done fit in...sorry...notice i eh say he is a shithound... he just dont fit...
Post by: superoli on October 13, 2008, 08:33:18 AM
anyone who do that have to have serious amnesia, if we had the team from Saturday in the first place against Guat at home we probably wouldnt be in the position we in now.
Post by: andre samuel on October 13, 2008, 09:26:41 AM
he coaches well against central american teams, which will be the majority we are gonna play in the hex

I was once told by michael maurice that maturana said that "honduras, guatemala and costa rica will be no problem for Trinidad"

Post by: Big Magician on October 13, 2008, 09:48:42 AM
I hear dem tings too
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 12:56:48 PM
I know all yuh have a short memory but dat 3-0 v USA will b wit me 4 a long time. I eh go have 2 worry bout firin he if we win d WC he go b gone and dat is all I want
Post by: Deeks on October 13, 2008, 03:38:40 PM
What of maturana? Fire Jack!!!!!!!!
Title: Fire Maturana now
Post by: fishs on October 15, 2008, 08:07:57 PM

Even the commentators who was blasting the man praising him now.
 But fire him .
Post by: assrancid on October 15, 2008, 08:10:49 PM
Hush your backside fishes, fire him yes!

He did nothing but bring in players that should have been there before.  He is a damn myopic dunce!

Latapy is a footballing GOD!
Post by: fishs on October 15, 2008, 08:37:15 PM
Hush your backside fishes, fire him yes!

He did nothing but bring in players that should have been there before.  He is a damn myopic dunce!

Latapy is a footballing GOD!

Lol what I especially like about trinis is yuh could never admit yuh wrong
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 15, 2008, 09:08:58 PM
Would be nice to see us start the Hex (when we make it) w/a new coach, alas, this is probably not going to happen....
Post by: TriniItalian on October 15, 2008, 09:14:29 PM
he is very shitty but they don't fire them when they winning his chance to be fired gone and he will play a different game against the jose's we going to meet in the hex so jus wish the man luck in anycase is no longer anton whispering in he ears is latas!
Post by: assrancid on October 15, 2008, 09:16:08 PM
admit we were wrong?  About what?

The fact that you wearing rose tinted glasses and feel that Maturana is a good coach has nutten to do with the fact that he is shitty!

If he had picked the right team all along, we would not have been hoping that Cuba beat Guatemala, we would have already qualified.

You and Elan and Peg should get together and circle jock!

It is a good thing that Scotland, Lawrence, Stern and Birchall decided to still play for T&T after the shabby treatment that they received!

It is  a good thing that yorke and Latapy felt patriotic enough to come back yet again for a last hurrah!
Post by: Socapro on October 15, 2008, 09:19:34 PM
What of Maturana?

We won despite of him, similar to us qualifying for d last World Cup despite of Jack!  8)
Post by: sjahrain on October 15, 2008, 09:28:06 PM
Blaming the coach is one thing but is much politricks involved in that team and you can`t give all the baggage to Paco because can anyone actual say for sure who truly calling the shots,from the time they appoint him coach to now,I am positive many different answers will come in to address that
Give Paco some credit because he dint have much fans here but guess what he have a winning record and looking decent,between the first US game and now this team make much progress and alot of that has to do with personnel
Post by: Socafan on October 15, 2008, 09:28:32 PM
admit we were wrong?  About what?

You and Elan and Peg should get together and circle jock!

:o :rotfl:

Boy Trinis is de bess yes.....I man laughing loud, loud in de people house late in de night.
Post by: Socafan on October 15, 2008, 09:37:40 PM
even if we win the World Cup...he should get fired...
dis man just done fit in...sorry...notice i eh say he is a shithound... he just dont fit...

Yuh know what.....I got that from the hugs and shakehands passing around after the game. It just struck me that the man is a little strange right at the point when Anton was shaking his hand. His reaction, body language, and facial expressions just make me think the man a little eccentric.

I think personality wise he does not fit. It could be cultural too.

Anybody know who was the bearded man that he hug up and walk off with? My mind just say....obeahman. Me eh know....
Post by: Big Magician on October 15, 2008, 09:44:27 PM
Yea boy Socafan...de beardman is ah real papaneezer
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2008, 11:59:28 PM
Let's hear 4 d best coach we ever hadddddddddd he take we from d brink of elimination 2 d brink of makin d hex. D Muhammed Ali of coachin he is d gr8test
Post by: Cocorite on October 16, 2008, 12:24:29 AM
Seriously,

There is toooooooo much uncertainty within the team. WHO? will instill confidence and leadership in the team should Yorke & Latapy get injured? can't make it for whatever reason? Who? The coaching staff and administration have not demonstrated that they can do it.

When Mats first arrived, he appeared to possess a good rapport with the team on the field of practice. But T&T has done well dispite the fragility within the camp.

Post by: Baygo Boy on October 16, 2008, 12:36:23 AM
Well, well let's see here. He beat the USA after so many years. BSC didn't do it, Gally fall short, beenie didn't come close, forget Wim, and he beat dem with de same players Beenie and Wim had at their disposal, and he do it after a few games with this squad  :devil: :beermug: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Jefferz on October 16, 2008, 12:42:33 AM
its only been a few games... and really its gunna take alot more wins for him to shrug off that image of him sittin down doing NOTHING while the US embarrassed us in our first leg against them...

just cuz he pick scotty after he blasted scored 2 goals himself in de very next game he play in de championship after he say dis coach eh play me once after i fly out missin club trainin fuh WHAT!?

warm bench while the coach doesnt even bother to try any other avenues of attack, nay without even seemingly in the slightest bit like he's watching his team get a thurough cut ass, he didnt even seem to be vaguely aware of the fact that a team was playing football for a man that if supposed to be a well respected manager of the sport, far less a team that is his own.

he's a f**kin dunce to me, as of now and i doubt its gunna churn until i see serious interaction with the players, recognition of this from the players and some improvin fackin results...

yes the win was great tonight, but we should have scored more... plain and simple... just like in guatemala.

no excuses, fedup of the schizophrenic style band waggon hopping.
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 06:26:42 AM
D DL exclusion in game 1 v USA will 4ever have him as a hound in my books
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 16, 2008, 06:32:31 AM
Well, well let's see here. He beat the USA after so many years. BSC didn't do it, Gally fall short, beenie didn't come close, forget Wim, and he beat dem with de same players Beenie and Wim had at their disposal, and he do it after a few games with this squad  :devil: :beermug: :rotfl: :rotfl:

So we coming down from de high, and lets now put this USA team into its rightful context:  that was essentially the Olypmic team that is being blooded for the future.  The most recent games before last night, were against an American team with established players.  Good win, but against a less experienced team.  We were almost fully loaded last night.
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 06:35:51 AM
Dem have some vested interest in callin dumbtist a good coach lef dem
Post by: pardners on October 16, 2008, 06:53:05 AM

None of those other coaches played against the US 'B' team.
Post by: Midknight on October 16, 2008, 07:02:39 AM

you can't be serious
Post by: Yogi on October 16, 2008, 07:08:33 AM
Maturana and Corneal still have to go!!!
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 07:09:44 AM
Yogi excellent 2nd post
Post by: salsero on October 16, 2008, 07:43:49 AM
Get off the coach, he got the job done that no other coach could accomplish. First he was trying to build a system concentrating on the local players (JACK's PLAN), this did not work, also T&T Sports Ministry would not grant the use of the national stadium, Jack Warner's intervention on team selection, what a disruptive situation. In Colombia or any country these disruptions for the national team would never occur.People give the man credit, he got the job done from a soccer federation and sports ministry in dissarray
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 07:51:47 AM
Salsero where d MOS say dey cyah use d stadium post d link ah waitin.
Post by: salsero on October 16, 2008, 08:03:26 AM
For the Bermuda game, then to play in the Manny Ramjohn, there are High School Stadiums in poorer countries that are on par with this stadium
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 08:12:48 AM
Brudder d MOS neva say dey cyah play dey just say 2 pay 4 it just like d SSFL does pay 4 it 4 d Intercol final who have more money d SSFL or d TTFF
Post by: salsero on October 16, 2008, 08:25:05 AM
For a country that is probably the richest country(income per capita) in the caribbean and Latin America (Stats From CNN) having it's national team play at that 3rd class venue. Bottom line is Maturana is doing fine in a very bad situation. I did not agree with his selection against the USA in september, but in the organized world, results is what matters.
Post by: MATADOR on October 16, 2008, 08:39:26 AM
Quite honestly everyones entitled to their own opinion and in no way shall we agree on everything... However I think that Pancho is doing a fine job and I have said this before on this board even after our lost to the US. There is a lot of adversity to work with and around in dealing with the national team and dont think for one minute Beenie as well as L. Phillips weren't close to the chopping blocks or the hatchet man.

Lets concentrate on our players and stop all the negativity towards the coach..it is what it is.. Look at the US with Bradley...the man has a very good track record since taking over the team yet the pundits still call for his head.
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 08:41:45 AM
Exactly Matador callin 4 d coach head is ah part ah d game but when u call 4 d afro head is a problen. Not 2 mention he do nuff ting 4 we not 2 call 4 he head but he hold body
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 16, 2008, 09:06:36 AM
Now me eh no Maturana fan but de man ha to get some credit.  Sure we looked ridiculous in Illinois but the man have us back in the thick of it and looking better as a team right now.  I not putting a lot of stock in the US win.  It is a milestone for our football because it's historical but it was essentially their young guns who are being bred for the future we beat.  With that said however, a win is in fact a win and we moved 3 points closer to the hex under his guidance as manager.  So while I am not a fan of his I have to give him credit for having us in position to compete for another WC appearance.
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 09:16:11 AM
I givin d credit 2 Latas and Yorke u feel dumbtst and chipmunk call back Spann doubt it very much. Me eh agree wit d recall but dem made dat call while he make d call 2 drop Avery
Post by: lil damo on October 16, 2008, 09:20:45 AM
Congrats to the coaching staff for a job well done.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 16, 2008, 09:21:45 AM
I givin d credit 2 Latas and Yorke u feel dumbtst and chipmunk call back Spann doubt it very much. Me eh agree wit d recall but dem made dat call while he make d call 2 drop Avery

So then yuh sayin Maturana is part of ah Puppet Regime then?  Allyuh does confuse me bad oui.  If man eh get call back or a subpar team (as we see it) plays is Mats do bullshit, but when (what appears to be ) de right men get call back and a good squad play is not he ent?  Allyuh rell fulla shit in troot oui!!
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 09:24:39 AM
Is d pope catholic? So d subpar team wit Lawerence on d bench who do dat u eh hear players was not bein played because dey was disruptive etc who eh pick dem Mats eh have a clue. D man watch tapes and only c Whitley
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 16, 2008, 09:31:04 AM
If had pick the best team from the start of the campaign the fans would have no problem with him...  but he made things hard for himself...now we know he is just a puppet cuz he not picking the team... he just picking a formation and picking the starting xi(dangerous thing to give him)

He is ok at best and apparently the players dont like his methods saying he reminds them of bertille... he not fresh he not motivating the team and the players decided they hadda do it themselves and run the show...

I dont see why we just cant bring in a lively english speaking coach and provided we reach the hex give it a real go

instead of wasting money on "the dumbist" (copyright weary)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 16, 2008, 09:32:21 AM
Breds is eida yuh give him credit fuh all or none, doh cherry pick to attribute bullsit alone to de man an give de glory to others.  Dat is pure grade A kakaholishness!!
Post by: fishs on October 16, 2008, 09:38:24 AM
Breds is eida yuh give him credit fuh all or none, doh cherry pick to attribute bullsit alone to de man an give de glory to others.  Dat is pure grade A kakaholishness!!

Ah like how these new posters seeing things and allyuh hardback ole posters cyar see what they talking  bout.

They getting orn like TT ent suppose to try and develop new home spun players for the future and incidently this is the time for that and not the hex.
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 09:51:29 AM
so far our results have been better than the last campaign, so why men crying wolf, mats is not the man who mess with selection, its corneal, when will these guys understand that, big mag needs to tell them again
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 10:13:20 AM
How it betta we reach d hex yet
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 16, 2008, 10:38:24 AM
so far our results have been better than the last campaign, so why men crying wolf, mats is not the man who mess with selection, its corneal, when will these guys understand that, big mag needs to tell them again

When it come to football it seem we SW supporters only kno how to panic.  If de man give de yutes ah run, den he wrong to leave out de vets.  But when de time reach dat de vets unable (whether injuries or age) cah make it an we young talent underdeveolped den what?  Bet de same people go say he's ah imps fuh relyin on dem old players so much and not bringing along the youngsters!  Cah friggin please dem people at all nah!!
Post by: WestCoast on October 16, 2008, 10:53:37 AM

When it come to football it seem we SW supporters only kno how to panic.  If de man give de yutes ah run, den he wrong to leave out de vets.  But when de time reach dat de vets unable (whether injuries or age) cah make it an we young talent underdeveloped den what?  Bet de same people go say he's ah imps fuh relyin on dem old players so much and not bringing along the youngsters!  Cah friggin please dem people at all nah!!
My complaint was that Jack dropped ALL the forren and did not include them for awhile
Jack has a great FIFA business brain...but for him to do that he knows SHIT ALL about chemistry within a team.
He should have kept the nucleus and added/Dropped players as need be. Just like how the USA operated last night.
but NOT a full blown BlackList...Oh Gaum man
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 16, 2008, 11:12:42 AM
Me eh know what going on in training or in de dressing room, so me cyah judge him on dat. My only beef with Maturana was his selection policy. If you picking a shit squad, no matter how much instruction you give dem, you'll be putting out shit on de field. And that's what was pissing me off. As long we using our best available 22-30 players and we playing alright, me and Pacho cool.
Post by: warmonga on October 16, 2008, 11:24:57 AM
look like he learning the game better and better after every game played . He will become a great coach one day .
Post by: damiangoal on October 16, 2008, 11:32:28 AM

Hill?
ha,ha,ha!!!!! :rotfl:
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 16, 2008, 11:39:59 AM
My complaint was that Jack dropped ALL the forren and did not include them for awhile
Jack has a great FIFA business brain...but for him to do that he knows SHIT ALL about chemistry within a team.
He should have kept the nucleus and added/Dropped players as need be. Just like how the USA operated last night.
but NOT a full blown BlackList...Oh Gaum man

I thought that whole blacklist thing was complete bullshit mihself too!
Post by: sjahrain on October 16, 2008, 11:59:14 AM
The cream always rise to the top,Jack figured one that one late... :devil:
Tha coach has wining record and the want his head....... ???
You bring in a new coach now,you will be starting all over again,at this time I fail to see the wiseness in that logic,there are too many varables that we cannot address nor for see at this point,to be making that kind of change
Post by: pardners on October 16, 2008, 01:21:20 PM
I could only compare Mats with who we had before and given the challenges he faced in the earlies.  I look at how our players...same foreign based players...if yuh want to call them that was playing under Bertille and the difference in play under Beenie, and it was chalk and cheese.  Everyone could have seen a remarkable improvement in the players and their approach to the game.

Mats started off with amatuers and played against lowly opponents and got justifiable results.  MY opinion is that ANY coach given the team he had wouldve produced the same results.  I still think so given the players he now has at his disposal.  I doh think Corneal or Bertille or even Wim could have done worse with the team last night.  I didn't see anything in their play that suggests that we are a world beating team better now that Maturana in charge.  In the past he had lots of questionable player choices with no explanation, lost a game to Bermuda, but drew twice against Jamaica, substitution policies in games kinda inexplicable....  I think he still running on Beenie dregs...Beenie leave a lasting impression on the overseas players and anybody come next just lapping it up.

If you really want to test his mettle, then let's play top competition with out the foreign based and see how we fare. 
Post by: palos on October 16, 2008, 01:25:21 PM
How it betta we reach d hex yet

Wha flava yuh drink dis mawnin weary?  ;D ;D

(http://www.warpedtoys.com/images/product_images/haterade.gif)
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 01:26:45 PM
ALL
Post by: palos on October 16, 2008, 01:29:31 PM
ALL

Post by: fishs on October 16, 2008, 01:43:41 PM
ALL

 weary ent no hater she jus tells it as she sees it  ;D ;D
Post by: injunchile on October 16, 2008, 02:10:36 PM
The Man just got his contract renewed for another year- November 2009
Post by: Baygo Boy on October 16, 2008, 04:57:43 PM

Imagine this LOL - when ah say is Dwight and Latas and the players that get us to the 06 WC ppl say is Beenie. All yuh not easy LOL
Post by: Baygo Boy on October 16, 2008, 05:00:39 PM

you can't be serious

When de story is written there will be no footnote stating that it was dey so-called "B" team.
Post by: Baygo Boy on October 16, 2008, 05:11:24 PM
If had pick the best team from the start of the campaign the fans would have no problem with him...  but he made things hard for himself...now we know he is just a puppet cuz he not picking the team... he just picking a formation and picking the starting xi(dangerous thing to give him)

He is ok at best and apparently the players dont like his methods saying he reminds them of bertille... he not fresh he not motivating the team and the players decided they hadda do it themselves and run the show...

I dont see why we just cant bring in a lively english speaking coach and provided we reach the hex give it a real go

instead of wasting money on "the dumbist" (copyright weary)

Small, sometimes ah does feel yuh not correct in yuh head. You been on this site and paying attention to T&T football fuh too long to not know that is JW who run things. Yuh really believe that Anton doh know that we 06 players are superior, and that if we to have any chance to make it we need them players? Yuh really believe Pacho doh want to take we to SA?

JW didn't want the blacklisted players, but he too realized that we need them in order to move on. I am certain Anton and Pacho and Lincoln requested them, but Jack refused to spend on them. If JW say no they not playing. You and others only vex because Pacho, Lincoln, Anton, Groden, Camps and all football stakeholders in T&T including de fans are all puppets to JW. Even you is a puppet because yuh not regonizing that is JW why we didn't have most ah dem early.

Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 07:32:46 PM
Me eh sayin dat LP and d chipmunk ask 4 anybody because I hear Lp talk one set ah tata after we lost d game v d US. Is just d might $ dat have d players back nutten but d almighty $