Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on October 15, 2008, 08:05:36 PM

Title: Warriors make history with 2-1 win over USA.
Post by: Flex on October 15, 2008, 08:05:36 PM
Warriors make history with 2-1 win over USA.

Dwight Yorke converted a 79th-minute penalty to give Trinidad & Tobago a 2:1 victory (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8EypZq-QDw) over the United States on Wednesday, moving it to the brink of the the final round of World Cup qualifying.

It was the Soca Warriors’ first victory over the USA in 12 tries in World Cup qualifying, and ended the Stars & Stripes’ six-game winning streak in their bid to reach the 2010 finals in South Africa.

The USA already had clinched its place in the six-team CONCACAF “hexagonal”, but the result moved Trinidad into second place in second-round Group A with eight points, three better than Guatemala, which was beaten 2:1 by Cuba.

Only one game remains in the second round of qualifying. Trinidad will be at home against Cuba on 19 November while Guatemala will have to travel to face the USA.

Yorke converted after Trinidad was awarded the penalty when Jozy Altidore dragged down Makan Hislop by grabbing his shirt on a corner kick. Forty-year-old Russell Latapy gave Trinidad the lead with his 29th career goal in the 61st minute. Latapy, who has played for Falkirk in Scotland since 2003, scored after Trinidad had more of the possession and chances.

Chris Birchall sent the ball down the right to Carlos Edwards, who chipped it back to the top of the area. Latapy stuck the volley with his left foot, hitting the left post, but the ball rebounded off the back of diving goalkeeper Brad Guzan and deflected back into the goal.

The USA, which used eight different starters from Saturday night’s 6:1 victory over Cuba that sent the Stars & Stripes into the final round of qualifying, equalized in the 75th minute. Maurice Edu was able to force the ball into the penalty area and off to the right to Altidore, who sent a short cross in front to Charlie Davies, who converted for his first international goal.

T&T: - 1.Clayton Ince, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 3.Aklie Edwards, 5.Keyeno Thomas (4.Makan Hislop 35th), 11.Carlos Edwards, 16.Silvio Spann, 17.Dwight Yorke (capt), 7.Christopher Birchall, 9.Keon Daniel, 10.Russell Latapy (8.Khaleem Hyland 75th), 12.Jason Scotland (14.Stern John 66th).

CONCACAF.COM
U.S. Falls 2-1 to T&T in Trinidad.

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (Oct. 15, 2008) — With a berth to next year’s Final Round of qualifying already secure, the U.S. Men’s National Team fell 2-1 to Trinidad & Tobago on a 79th-minute penalty kick on Wednesday night at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Trinidad.

Experience was the story of the game, as Russell Latapy, 40, and Dwight Yorke, 36, scored both goals for Trinidad, while also helping the Soca Warriors hold a U.S. lineup that averaged less than 24-years-old to just three shots all evening. After a scoreless first half, Latapy opened the scoring in the 61st minute and then Charlie Davies notched the equalizer with 15 minutes remaining, but Yorke put the Soca Warriors one step closer to advancing to the Final Round when he stepped up and buried the game-winning spot kick.

For the U.S., only four of the 11 starters had more than 10 caps going into the game, while central defender Michael Orozco was making his first career international appearance. Jose Torres, who made his first appearance as a reserve against Cuba just four days earlier, was also making his first career start for the U.S. Men. Meanwhile, for Trinidad & Tobago, Latapy and Yorke played in the infamous match on Nov. 19, 1989, in which Paul Caligiuri scored the goal that gave the U.S. a 1-0 victory and earned a place at the 1990 FIFA World Cup.

The win for Trinidad & Tobago was their first in 14 years against the U.S., and first-ever FIFA World Cup qualifying win in a dozen tries.

“It was a hard fought match. I thought both teams went after each other in a way that made it hard,” said U.S. head coach Bob Bradley after his first loss to a CONCACAF opponent. “In the second half, I thought we had a good response when we went down 1-0, and unfortunately when the game is 1-1 and everything is to play for, we have a foul.  Certainly we have a lot of respect for Trinidad & Tobago.  They have a lot of talented players, and we knew it was going to be a physical game. It was hard match and a physical match, with intensity on both sides."

After a nervous first quarter by both teams that included two chances on set pieces by Trinidad & Tobago, the game settled down and the U.S. was able to hold possession but struggled to create any dangerous chances in the final third.

Trinidad & Tobago’s first chance came from a few yards outside the top corner of the penalty area in the fourth minute after a foul by José Torres. Keon Daniel curled in a right footed free kick that goalkeeper Brad Guzan punched out at the far post. His clearance bounced off the foot of Maurice Edu and came back toward goal, but Orozco was able to clear the dangerous rebound.

In the 17th minute there was again a nervous moment for the U.S. in the area, when a corner kick bounced around Guzan’s area before it fell to Keyeno Thomas, who first whiffed at the ball, but got a second chance only to drill a 12-yard shot over everything.

The hosts would have three more chances in the first half, the first in the 24th minute with Jason Scotland forcing a Guzan save at the near post, and later a shot by Chris Birchill that deflected off Orozco and took a tricky bounce before Guzan smothered. In first half stoppage time, Scotland shot wide from 20 yards after a pass from Latapy split the U.S. defense.

The best U.S. chance of the first half was in the 25th minute, as Jozy Altidore dribbled past one defender and held the ball just long enough to time a through ball to DaMarcus Beasley, who got into the area alone. Before Beasley, wearing the captain’s arm band for the first time in his 82 appearances, could cut the ball back, the linesman signaled offside in a decision that was later refuted by television replays.

The second half started with much of the same, as a Torres through ball for Altidore caused the lineman to raise his flag on a close call, and on the other end Scotland couldn’t get a ball inside the post after Trinidad & Tobago caught the U.S. pushing up and Birchill sent the clearance back into the area.

Trinidad & Tobago got on the score sheet first in the 61st minute as they attacked the U.S. up the middle before the ball was sent wide right to Carlos Edwards. He dribbled one-on-one vs. Heath Pearce to get into the area before chipping a soft pass back into the center. Latapy backed off his run to create space away from Danny Califf, and hit a first-time shot that hit the post and went off a diving Guzan’s back before going into the net.

The U.S. was able to respond in the 75th minute, as Davies found the back of the net just six minutes after coming into the game. The play started on the right with Altidore laying the ball back to Maurice Edu. Edu’s first touch forward was overcooked, but fortunately went right back to Altidore who was able to turn through the Trinidad & Tobago defense and dribble to the endline, where his low cross was tapped into an open goal by a charging Davies.

Three minutes later, Edwards was dangerous again as Trinidad & Tobago substitute Khaleem Hyland sent a cross from the left that was deftly settled by Edwards beyond the far post before he uncorked a shot that was cleared over the goal by Orzoco. On the ensuing corner, Altidore surrendered a penalty as he grabbed a handful of Makan Hislop’s jersey in plain site of referee Walter Quesada, who pointed to the spot. Yorke converted the game-winner for Trinidad & Tobago.

In the 83rd minute Altidore had the opportunity to redeem the penalty he surrendered. Beasley sent a long free kick to the right side of the area that was headed across goal by Sacha Kljestan and then flicked left again by Davies. Altidore was unmarked at the far post, but hit the header wide from three yards out.

The U.S. team’s seven-game winning streak in qualifiers that dated to 2005 was snapped, as was their perfect run in 2010 qualifying. The loss also snapped a record three-game winning streak in road qualifiers. Pearce, making the start at left back, is now the only U.S. player to appear in all seven FIFA World Cup qualifying matches this cycle.

In the other Group 1 match, Cuba stunned Guatemala 2-1 in Havana, meaning that Trinidad & Tobago holds a three point edge over Guatemala going into the final match day.

The U.S. team will regroup for its final match of the year and final qualifier from the Semifinal Round on Nov. 19 vs. a Guatemala team that needs a win for any hope of advancing to the hexagonal next year. Tickets for their first-ever appearance at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. are on sale now at ussoccer.com, the stadium’s box office, and Colorado Dick’s Sporting Goods stores.

U.S. Men's National Team Match Report

Match-up: USA vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Date: October 15, 2008
Competition: 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying – Semifinal Round
Venue: Hasely Crawford Stadium – Port of Spain, Trinidad
Kickoff: 8 p.m. ET
Attendance: 18,000
Weather: 80 degrees, clear

TRI – Russel Latapy (Carlos Edwards) 61st minute
USA – Charlie Davies (Jozy Altidore) 75th.
TRI – Dwight Yorke (penalty kick) 79th

Line-ups:

USA: - 18-Brad Guzan; 15-Heath Pearce (11-Chris Rolfe, 88), 14-Danny Califf, 5-Michael Orozco, 2-Frankie Hejduk; 7-DaMarcus Beasley, 4-Jose Francisco Torres (8-Danny Szetela, 84), 17-Freddy Adu (10-Charlie Davies, 69), 13-Maurice Edu, 16-Sacha Kljestan; 17; 9-Jozy Altidore.

Subs: 1-Troy Perkins, 3-Jonathan Bornstein, 6-Marvell Wynne, 12-Brian Carroll.

Head Coach: Bob Bradley

TRI: 1-Clayton Ince; 3-Akile Edwards, 5-Keyeno Thomas (4-Makan Hislop, 35), 6-Dennis Lawrence; 7-Chris Brichill, 9-Keon Daniel, 10-Russel Latapy (8-Khaleem Hyland, 76), 11-Carlos Edwards, 16-Silvio Spann, 12-Jason Scotland (14-Stern John, 67), 17-Dwight Yorke.

Subs: 2-Clyde Leon, 13-Osei Telesford, 15-Darryl Roberts, 18-Marvin Phillip.

Head Coach: Francisco Maturana

Stats Summary:

USA / TRI
Shots                  3 / 8
Shots on Goal       1 / 4
Saves                 2 / 0
Corner Kicks         4 / 4
Fouls                 14 / 11
Offside                3 / 2

Misconduct Summary:
USA – Jozy Altidore (caution) 78th minute

Officials:

Referee: Walter Quesada (CRC)
1st Asst.: Leonel Leal (CRC)
2nd Asst.: Osvaldo Luna (CRC)
Fourth Official: Oscar Moncada (HON)

Post-Match Quote Sheet:

Head Coach Bob Bradley
Reaction ot the result: "It was a hard fought match. I thought both teams went after each other in a way that made it hard. In the second half, I thought we had a good response when we went down 1-0, and unfortunately when the game is 1-1 and everything is to play for, we have a foul. Certainly we have a lot of respect for Trinidad & Tobago. They have a lot of talented players, and we knew it was going to be a physical game. It was hard match and a physical match, with intensity on both sides."

Midfielder/captain DaMarcus Beasley
On what the team can take from the match: "It's tough. We can take a lot from this experience. We had a lot of young guys who got their first taste of qualifying away. I thought for the most part we held our own. We had some chances, but the final pass in the final third wasn't right tonight. It's disappointing to lose. Things happen, and you just have to learn from them.

"There are some positives. You sometimes learn more when you lose than when you win. When we tied the game 1-1, that's when you have to be smart, especially when you're on the road. If you can get the point, that's a good point to take. It goes down to inexperience and a little bit of mental toughness at the end of the match. Once some of the guys get used to these types of games, it can only get better."

Midfielder Sacha Kljestan
On the team's performance: "I don't think we were at our best. We knew what to expect out of Trinidad. We knew it was going to be a physical battle. I think we did an OK job of matching their intensity, but it was too easy for them to play through us in the middle. The fight of the guys was there until the last minute, and we had some chances that we just didn't put away."

On what the players can take from the game:
"We had a young group out there, and were not very experienced. There's a lot to learn from this game in the sense that you know it's going to a battle every time you play a CONCACAF opponent on the road. We have to be able to match their intensity. This helps understand what it takes to win games on the road."

On the team getting a goal back and then giving up the penalty:
"The team showed a lot of resilience in order to come back after they scored the first goal. We didn't put our heads down, and pressed on right after the kickoff, so I was proud of the guys in that respect. In terms of giving up the penalty, I think that's just a little bit of a lack of experience, especially since we are at 1-1 on the road."

Goalkeeper Brad Guzan
On the performance: "I thought it was a decent game for us. At moments we were able to keep the ball, move forward and create some chances. At the same time, we allowed them to keep the ball and get a bit of a rhythm, especially in dangerous parts of the field. Overall, there's a lot to be learned from this game, especially with all the young players we had on the field. We can learn the little things that make a big difference, and that's what we need to take away from a game like this."

On the ball that rebounded off of him the first T&T goal:
"I'm not sure if that situation repeated itself 50 times that it would happen that way again. We can say a little bit unlucky, but there were definitely things that we could have done better on that play to prevent it from happening in the first place."

On what he takes away from the game:
"As a goalkeeper, you want to be able to make the saves that help the team be successful. That's why you play these games, to be in big situations like that. I came up a bit short tonight, but in saying that I will be able to take these experiences away from this game and make myself better. For the team, these were tough lessons to learn, but that only helps us down the road."

USSOCCER.COM
Title: Peg Elan and the rest of naysayers......
Post by: assrancid on October 15, 2008, 08:09:08 PM
pucker up allyuh lips and kiss my ass!

Latapy is still a boss.  His vision is awesome and we have no player that can replicate his plays!

Additionally, his leadership in the middle made all the difference in this game, he marshaled Birchall and had the middle like a fortress, something we have never been able to do against the USA!

Peg, listen girl, stick to cake decorating and floral arrangement.

Latapy is again T&T's saviour!
Title: Re: Warriors make history with 2-1 win over USA.
Post by: theworm2345 on October 15, 2008, 08:10:12 PM
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: NJsTriniGunna on October 15, 2008, 08:11:10 PM
WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY!!!
THank you Jozy Altidore, just what we needed man.
Post by: Rodney on October 15, 2008, 08:11:28 PM
Congrats T&T  :beermug:

Strange games...Guatemala and the US equalise almost at the same time then T&T and Cuba regain the lead at the same time as well.

Still...we beat the US....ah could'nt care less about the excuses they go make. Finally that damn record gone.
Post by: Fyzoman on October 15, 2008, 08:12:16 PM
Give thanks!!!

Touches doh geh no horrors eh, but we eh want no report (at least not til tomorrow).

Latas the king!!!!!
Post by: NJsTriniGunna on October 15, 2008, 08:12:28 PM

Strange games...Guatemala and the US equalise almost at the same time then T&T and Cuba regain the lead at the same time as well.

Still...we beat the US....ah could'nt care less about the excuses they go make. Finally that damn record gone.
Yea, i notice that too. But meh nuh care nuh. We in great position for hex.
Post by: Bally on October 15, 2008, 08:19:53 PM
YESS THIS FEELS GOOD :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 15, 2008, 08:24:14 PM
Birchall is we Gattuso.  De man play like ah bulldog that just get loose.  His passing into the open channels on the counter was lethal, and he really pressed the issue.  Ah hope men could see what it means to wear the national jersey: blood, sweat, and tears.
Post by: trini_stallion on October 15, 2008, 08:25:16 PM
Is ah feeling of relief...
we play good, Latas is STILL ah boss<
Edwards run like de Edwards we know,
Birchie is de best thing on de midfield,
Yorke relly play like ah boss, he experience and skill was relllllllll visible tonight!

Finally we beat the US, and we in rel good shape fuh de hex!!!!! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

great job felllas!!!

Title: To all the die hard Latapy worshippers...
Post by: kicker on October 15, 2008, 08:29:07 PM
Play yuhself lol  ;D
Title: Re: To all the die hard Latapy worshippers...
Post by: DeSoWa on October 15, 2008, 08:29:59 PM
jus read my signature and go in ah corner and stand up for me please  ;D

Post by: Preacher on October 15, 2008, 08:31:00 PM
How much yuh think de man that get Yorke Jeerze can get for it?
Title: Re: Peg Elan and the rest of naysayers......
Post by: elan on October 15, 2008, 08:32:27 PM

Latapy is still a boss.  His vision is awesome and we have no player that can replicate his plays!

Additionally, his leadership in the middle made all the difference in this game, he marshaled Birchall and had the middle like a fortress, something we have never been able to do against the USA!

Latapy did not Marshall anyone, he had more bad passes than positive one. He stepped up and finished the goal, but by no means did he rally the midfield. Half the time he was playing as a 4-4-2.

Don't get it wrong. I am really glad that he was on the field and scored but he pull real stone.

If you want we can do a conference in the chat room while watching the game and we can do a break down of the game.
Post by: zuluwarrior on October 15, 2008, 08:34:17 PM
DE 2 warriors score dey go always remember that  .
Post by: Peong on October 15, 2008, 08:35:13 PM
I was callin for Latas to get sub at half time lol.
Good ting I is not de coach. :)

The most amazing thing about that goal was that Carlos hit a good cross :)
Post by: Kingk on October 15, 2008, 08:44:58 PM
when can we get video highlights ;D
Post by: Fyzoman on October 15, 2008, 08:49:45 PM

Peong allyuh good yes, but point taken jed!
Post by: Flex on October 15, 2008, 08:50:33 PM

Short highlight. More to come..

T&T's 2:1 victory (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8EypZq-QDw)
Post by: g on October 15, 2008, 08:51:23 PM
Redemption time for the same two players who was on the field Nov 19th, 1989.

I real happy for them and the team.
Title: Ultimate sheiler of the ball!!!
Post by: Phensic on October 15, 2008, 08:51:47 PM
Gents!

At the end of the day...Dwight demonstrates the ultimate technique of shielding the ball when in possession. "Harkes" give some kukos to Dwighty tonight...dee man have some good genes fellas.

BUT!, what's most important of a great player iz how easy he makes it look!

Last time I see ah man in the college's league show any little reflection of that was Miguel Mitchell (St.Anthonys vs QRC)

Nuff respect to the "Yokre!"

Cheers
-K
Title: Re: Ultimate sheiler of the ball!!!
Post by: palos on October 15, 2008, 08:53:01 PM
If yuh notice...dey cyah get de ball off Keon Daniel needah.
Post by: Preacher on October 15, 2008, 08:54:46 PM

Keon in ah league by heself.  Is like man playing boys.  He doing that way to easy.
Post by: Phensic on October 15, 2008, 08:55:51 PM
True...future talent!
-K

P.S. Horse dat was a pretty wicked post about your exploits in GUA! But yuh make we proud!
Post by: Savannah boy on October 15, 2008, 08:57:55 PM
Conference Call?  Arks Zeppo if he joining in.   :rotfl:
Post by: Preacher on October 15, 2008, 08:58:32 PM

What yuh saying dey about de coach?   8)  Say he name man MATURANA!!! :D
Post by: Socapro on October 15, 2008, 08:58:50 PM
Fellas, we won this game but there is still room for improvement!

Congrats to the team for breaking the losing blight against the USA and more importantly for the 3 points that takes us to 2nd in d group!

Thanks to Cuba too & well done to JA!!  :beermug:
Post by: Golnoir on October 15, 2008, 09:00:00 PM

No excuses from this US fan.  You guys got it done.  Congrats.  I'm sure you're happy to stop hearing about 1989. 
Finish the job next month and hopefully we'll do our part to help get you guys through to the Hex.

Again, congrats.  
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 15, 2008, 09:02:36 PM
Birchall is we Gattuso.  De man play like ah bulldog that just get loose.  His passing into the open channels on the counter was lethal, and he really pressed the issue.  Ah hope men could see what it means to wear the national jersey: blood, sweat, and tears.

Fuh real eh, geez, dat is energy and imagine is w/o yam and dasheen
Title: Everybody Say it.
Post by: Preacher on October 15, 2008, 09:03:50 PM
Thank You JACK
Thank You Maturana
Thank You Cornmell

Mame always teach us to say thanks so come on now.   ;D

They this like Hancock.  G-G-G-O-O-O-DDDD  J-J-O-B  ;D
Post by: TriniItalian on October 15, 2008, 09:05:38 PM

lol somebody else notice lol ah wonder what deal jack strike up boy the linesmen kinda move shady with usa and for some youth men trying to make an impression usa lack killer instinct, that being sed WE WIN OH GWAD OYE !!!! we played well loved keon daniel a lil while now he looked really impressive latas technique was good for that shot in the penalty ah was jus praying "Please Yorke don't be sexy, stop the chipping shit jus slot it in"
Title: Re: Everybody Say it.
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on October 15, 2008, 09:05:51 PM
Fork You JACK
Fork You Maturana
Fork You Cornmell

no problem
Post by: assrancid on October 15, 2008, 09:06:08 PM
hush yuh backside.
Post by: Babalawo on October 15, 2008, 09:06:42 PM
OH GOD I THOUGHT YORKE MISS THE PENALTY CUZ I SEE THE BALL IN THE BACK OF THE GOAL ROLLING BY THE BILLBOARD... What kinda net the TTFF put up they lol.  But when the US scored i was not sad, because i thought T&T was still going to score again like a 3-1 victory.  Good game by Latas, Scotland, Spann, Birchall, Yorke, and Keyeno Thomas.
Post by: trini_stallion on October 15, 2008, 09:07:06 PM

No excuses from this US fan.  You guys got it done.  Congrats.  I'm sure you're happy to stop hearing about 1989. 
Finish the job next month and hopefully we'll do our part to help get you guys through to the Hex.

Again, congrats.  

:beermug: Cheers man...

I hope pisss-e-o cld see this, Golnoir not being ah sore loser...
Post by: Preacher on October 15, 2008, 09:07:12 PM
hush yuh backside.

Post by: Kingk on October 15, 2008, 09:07:23 PM

Short highlight. More to come..

T&T's 2:1 victory (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8EypZq-QDw)
thnx flex
Post by: Babalawo on October 15, 2008, 09:09:38 PM
Thank You JACK
Thank You Maturana
Thank You Cornmell

Thank you for what?????????   This squad should been playing since day 1.  From Clayton Ince to Chris Birchall. Why the last minute thing them doing now.
Post by: assrancid on October 15, 2008, 09:12:35 PM

Latapy did not Marshall anyone, he had more bad passes than positive one. He stepped up and finished the goal, but by no means did he rally the midfield. Half the time he was playing as a 4-4-2.

Don't get it wrong. I am really glad that he was on the field and scored but he pull real stone.

If you want we can do a conference in the chat room while watching the game and we can do a break down of the game.

Breds yuh talking shit.

latas laid off some sweet passes to Scotland, and to Edwards.

he was closed down plenty, but still he si de man.

Yuh could say what yuh want...if he did not come back, we ass dark and you and that girl name Peg woulda be making baby all now.

You find latas pull stones, becasue dat is what yuh wanted to see.
Post by: Peong on October 15, 2008, 09:12:56 PM
OH GOD I THOUGHT YORKE MISS THE PENALTY CUZ I SEE THE BACK OF THE GOAL ROLLING BY THE BILLBOARD...

Yeh Babalawo, I start to celebrate, then hesitate, then realise it have a hole in de net lol.
Real kicksy ting eh.
Post by: Preacher on October 15, 2008, 09:25:45 PM
Thank You JACK
Thank You Maturana
Thank You Cornmell

Thank you for what?????????   This squad should been playing since day 1.  From Clayton Ince to Chris Birchall. Why the last minute thing them doing now.

B is time to let the past be the past man.  It's a new day and everybody sharing in the victory.
How is it we quick to blame but slow to give credit.  We only give great to superstars. Come on PEOPLE it wasn't Dwight and Russel out there alone.  And they didn't pick the system either. 

Let meh hear yuh Baba  G-G-G-O-O-O-DDDD  J-J-O-B  ;D
Post by: sammy on October 15, 2008, 09:28:35 PM
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOIIII

congrats to we team and the supporters, although i find things was a bit quiet this rounds....anyhow, tomorrow for constructive criticisms  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: trinikev on October 15, 2008, 09:29:38 PM

J Cloth himself man, cleaning up everything in front the defence!!..........He was Man of the Match for me, no question  :beermug:
Post by: The_Ice on October 15, 2008, 09:36:07 PM
Francisco Pacho Maturana... steups... he better talk englisho during the press conference
Post by: JDB on October 15, 2008, 09:37:50 PM

Breds yuh talking shit.

Yuh could say what yuh want...if he did not come back, we ass dark and you and that girl name Peg woulda be making baby all now.

Latapy was a boss because of the side we play tonight. Not taking anything away from the win but even against this team Latas was out of it for long stretches. Still great on the ball when given time but he needs more time these days than he used too.

Eventually Maturana will have to make a decision similar to what Don Leo had. Can you start with Latas against very physical, disciplined running teams that are willing to stifle Latas to kill our play?

For Don Leo Latas was good enough for the Hex but not good enough for Bahrain Part 2 or the WC. 3 years pass now and he still good enough for the semi-fnal round but we won't know about the Hex games against CR, Mexico and USA until the Hex start (if we qualify).

I will say though that playing 4-5-1 with Latas is the best option if Latas playing. Maybe he could be "carried" for parts of a game and create a moment of magic. He also has a great effect on the team confidence just by being in the team and that is valuable. Latas and 2 strikers would be a tough one unless we playing a soft side.
Post by: WestCoast on October 15, 2008, 09:47:27 PM
Elan, give we Man Latas a small bligh nuh
WE BEAT THE USA
In other words
what if the player who was charged in marking Latas did what he was supposed to do.
De man stick on him like la glee
could that not be why Latas did not do AS well as you say he did
I have seen other major players who have been shut down in such a way....not so?
geh we man a bligh ;)

WE BEAT THE USA - 15 Oct 2008
Post by: kicker on October 15, 2008, 10:06:55 PM

Breds yuh talking shit.

Rancid seriously if Latas didn't score that goal his contribution woulda been close to nil...let's be honest- he lost the ball very easily 3 out of every 4 times, his passing was not very accurate and he didn't provide any off the ball movement for Scotland esp in the first half...but that "IF" in my first statement is a BIG BIG IF...The fact is he came up with a massive goal- a total game changer...and hence he was one of the heroes for us tonight- no question about that.  Latas doh need to do anything else to prove his value to us as a baller- the man is a legend....testament of which is that every good play he makes is inflated times 100 in our perception as fans.....Tonight is case in point.
Post by: Cocorite on October 15, 2008, 11:17:10 PM
If/When we make it to the Hex we should have Kenwyn Jones with a few games under his belt.
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2008, 11:25:03 PM
Dat 4 5 1 when will it b given a rest a permanent rest
Post by: palos on October 15, 2008, 11:27:20 PM
Dat 4 5 1 when will it b given a rest a permanent rest

Wit Latas in de lineup...is really more of a 4-4-1-1
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2008, 11:33:09 PM
I know dat is d role meh boi Dog say dat Don Leo should have played him. When he is sub go wit d 4-4-2 plus even b4 Latas that was his MO excet d 3-5-2 v Bermuda but 2nite only happy thoughts
Post by: Ngozi on October 16, 2008, 01:06:23 AM
That may be true but Keon not making no forward motion with the ball he either screen it then loss it or play inside ....I think they trying to make Keon into something he simply isn't  a left winger because he really isnt gonna take on anyone and head down the wing
Post by: redtrinigirl on October 16, 2008, 03:33:59 AM

Fuh real eh, geez, dat is energy and imagine is w/o yam and dasheen

Post by: Sam on October 16, 2008, 06:32:41 AM
Ince 7 - did what he had to do.

Lawrence 8 - simply the best defender we have.

Thomas 6 - did great while he was on.

Aklie 6 - Showed something, but little to slow for the LWB position.

Spann 5 - Spann cannot play right back and made some bad passes.

Carlos 9 - played like the Carlos we know.

Birchall 10 - I say man of the match for us again.

Yorke 8 - showed leader qualities, but coming down in the end he looked tired.

Daniel 7 - still some more penetrative runs needed, but no one can touch him on the ball, he almost got away with a Riquelme famous beat but was fouled. Even helped in defence.

Latapy 7 - use his experience well, made some intelligent passes. But you can see he was getting tired, but his vision is still the BEST we have.

Scotland 6 - use his strength well, but needs to take more shots on goal.

Subs:

Hislop 7 - I was worried about Hislop, but he came on and did well.

Stern - No rating. Was up on top alone.

Hyland - No rating. Looked composed.
Post by: saga pinto on October 16, 2008, 06:32:56 AM

Breds yuh talking shit.

I agree he talking ah pile poop,all analytical bull-shit,maybe bleeder is he midfielder and he would've prefered him in latas place,these so-called professors of football are always so off base,I've been playing this game for a longtime and I also know latas very well and let me tell you it's not by any means his best performance,but he was the most clinical of the midfielders and the vision and passes were none short of brilliant,sure he made some mistakes but when it counted he delivered.

End of f**king story,take that asshole talk to the yardie website......    
Post by: Zeppo on October 16, 2008, 06:44:35 AM
Congratulations, Trinis! Your team played well last night. The midfield looked especially solid, and all the players were hungry and determined. In particular, the old-timer duo of Yorke and Latapy shined. I think that quite a few of our youngsters were a bit overwhelmed by the Trini determination and spirit, and it showed.

That being said, you guys clearly received two huge gifts with those botched offside calls. Especially on the second, as Altidore would have been 1on1 with your keeper right in the middle of the box. Count yourselves lucky for that.

Anyway, good luck in your final game. I would much rather see you guys in the Hex than those dirty, diving Guats. You deserve it more.

Cheers!  :beermug:

Post by: assrancid on October 16, 2008, 07:07:30 AM

Ent!  And they cyar dribble pass him either.  he needs to learn to stay on his feet though.
Post by: RasIred on October 16, 2008, 07:07:44 AM
Cheers to the Warriors......that was a great result and against this less experienced U.S.A it was expected! The U.S team is still a classy team , however this is T&T strongest side ( exception of Kenwyne) so if we cant beat this U.S side we able to beating anyone of note !

Birchall had an excellent game, he is by far the best defensive midfielder we have!! Latas is still class and @ 40 is the best creative midfielder we have. Carlos had a nice game as well as Dwight. Lawrence was the pick of the defence...... I eh go lie, we play okay and still come out on top so for that I am Jumping for joy, however it still have plenty work to do !! We didnt play great, Zeppo was right thank GOd the Linesman made the call against Altidiore ...... also we have to put away we chances and against bigger teams we have to take the LEAD and bury our chances!!

Post by: benedicts bwoy on October 16, 2008, 07:21:56 AM
Ince 7 - did what he had to do.

Lawrence 8 - simply the best defender we have.

Thomas 6 - did great while he was on.

Aklie 6 - Showed something, but little to slow for the LWB position.

Spann 5 - Spann cannot play right back and made some bad passes.

Carlos 9 - played like the Carlos we know.

Birchall 10 - I say man of the match for us again.

Yorke 8 - showed leader qualities, but coming down in the end he looked tired.

Daniel 7 - still some more penetrative runs needed, but no one can touch him on the ball, he almost got away with a Riquelme famous beat but was fouled. Even helped in defence.

Latapy 7 - use his experience well, made some intelligent passes. But you can see he was getting tired, but his vision is still the BEST we have.

Scotland 6 - use his strength well, but needs to take more shots on goal.

Subs:

Hislop 7 - I was worried about Hislop, but he came on and did well.

Stern - No rating. Was up on top alone.

Hyland - No rating. Looked composed.

Spot on Sam..........I agree wit all yuh assessments.
All doh A Adams deserved dat rating.......yuh coulda see sumting dere an he need to work on his reaction time and not losing de ball.
I was scared when Hislop came on but he acquitted himself very well.
Keon Daniel playing like ah WARRIOR now.....RESPECT breddah! He has come on leaps an bounds. De boy winnin balls all nite an ah know one of de knocks on him was dat he played no defense but tonite was ah eye opener!
Hyland also........played very well.
Birchill was MOM, dat boy played like a true champion. We always need him on de side once he fit, RESPECT!
Post by: JDB on October 16, 2008, 07:28:39 AM
Congratulations, Trinis! Your team played well last night. The midfield looked especially solid, and all the players were hungry and determined. In particular, the old-timer duo of Yorke and Latapy shined. I think that quite a few of our youngsters were a bit overwhelmed by the Trini determination and spirit, and it showed.

That being said, you guys clearly received two huge gifts with those botched offside calls. Especially on the second, as Altidore would have been 1on1 with your keeper right in the middle of the box. Count yourselves lucky for that.

Anyway, good luck in your final game. I would much rather see you guys in the Hex than those dirty, diving Guats. You deserve it more.

Respect Zeppo. You think Bradley will take it easy with his selcetions for Guatemala. The game doesn't mean anything but two losses to Concacaf opposition going into the Hex is not good form (especially if it includes a home loss) even if there might be reasonable justification for it.
Post by: Filho on October 16, 2008, 07:39:14 AM
Ok..I over de euphoria of last night...kinda ;D

It was a good win, a vital win. In my opinion, T&T is proving to be one of the mentally toughest sides in the region. Those were two back to back clutch performances when we needed them most. It's no surprise that it required a solid base of players who went through the fire of the last Hex, and the Bahrain playoff. Of course, we still have to finish the job. It is by no means over. One more game left.

Assuming we make the Hex...this side needs some SERIOUS work papa. We played a very very poor USA B team and I believe that if the linesman didn't botch that offside call in the 2nd half against Altidore, you talking a very different result. We were also fortunate to get a penalty out of nothing because of Altidor's inexperience. Altidor (yeah..him again) also missed a sitter of a header basically on the goal line. And Latas 'goal'. Well...he actually missed. good fortune the keeper big head got in the way  ;D We probably won't be so lucky in the Hex. But you also make your own luck and we deserved the win over the 90 minutes of play, if that concept even means anything in football.

Sadly we still play a slow, overly laborious style of football, with little change of pace when we need quick transition from midfield to defense. We need to be able to move the ball more quickly. if every man on T&T squad played with the heart and intensity of Birchall and Carlos, we'd be a powerhouse in Concacaf. Dat is why lesser or equally talented sides like Jamaica does beat we. We like to call them wild..but is 11 Birchall's they coming at us with. I mean dat alone doh win matches..but we need to improve that. Plus, the core of this team to play more together to build some chemistry. chemistry and confidence moves mountains in sport.

lastly..tactically, we not going to see much improvement in defense imo. Talles is the only man in that back 4 i think MUST start. I think we need a 2nd ball harrier to help Brichall. T&T needs a solid 5 man midfield, or we will struggle (imo). Big teams like Brazil, Argentina, France, Italy etc...play with 2 hustlers in the middle and a deep lying playmaker. Yorke is  a lock as the deep lying playmaker and Birchie is our Gattusso/Mascherano/Gliberto Silva. I think we also need a complimentary defensive midfielder like a De Rossi/Cambiasso/Josue.

latas didn't look his regular self. didn't see the Guate game, but maybe lacking match practice. maybe just age. don't see him as a starter against tougher harder running teams.

Keon Daniel has tons of skill and potential, but he needs to open up and play with speed now and then..aka Carlos Edwards. We marvel at his talent, but he kills our attack almost every time he gets the ball because he allows the opponent to regroup fuss he slow on the ball. lot to be said about all that skill and ability to maintain possession tho. If he could play a little quicker at times, he would be T&T's next bonafide star. Then again..I hear he playing out of position.

Carlos..hope that was not a one-off. That was the Carlos of old. Confident, fast, determined and taking on his man with no shortage of success. The crossing is till toots (like I say..carlos of old)..but the assist on the first goal was perfection.

Yorke, Birchie, Carlos, Keon Daniel, Talles, Ince must start. De rest of the starting lineup need a little rejiggering, if last night's performance is anything to go by.

Yeah..I smiling at work. Det think I loss meh mind over here. Is not even de Hex and I feel like we jess win something huge. Imagine if we had never disband this side.

GO T&TT!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on October 16, 2008, 07:42:03 AM

Thanks Zeppo  :beermug:....uuuummmm I might stop being so irrational about yuh team from now.....naaaahhhhh  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 07:42:50 AM
Plenty plenty wuk but we does wuk hard when we eh postin here so dem have 2 wuk hard 2 get 2 SA
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 16, 2008, 07:44:53 AM
Ok..I over de euphoria of last night...kinda ;D

It was a good win, a vital win. In my opinion, T&T is proving to be one of the mentally toughest sides in the region. Those were two back to back clutch performances when we needed them most. It's no surprise that it required a solid base of players who went through the fire of the last Hex, and the Bahrain playoff. Of course, we still have to finish the job. It is by no means over. One more game left.

Assuming we make the Hex...this side needs some SERIOUS work papa. We played a very very poor USA B team and I believe that if the linesman didn't botch that offside call in the 2nd half against Altidore, you talking a very different result. We were also fortunate to get a penalty out of nothing because of Altidor's inexperience. Altidor (yeah..him again) also missed a sitter of a header basically on the goal line. And Latas 'goal'. Well...he actually missed. good fortune the keeper big head got in the way  ;D We probably won't be so lucky in the Hex. But you also make your own luck and we deserved the win over the 90 minutes of play, if that concept even means anything in football.

Sadly we still play a slow, overly laborious style of football, with little change of pace when we need quick transition from midfield to defense. We need to be able to move the ball more quickly. if every man on T&T squad played with the heart and intensity of Birchall and Carlos, we'd be a powerhouse in Concacaf. Dat is why lesser or equally talented sides like Jamaica does beat we. We like to call them wild..but is 11 Birchall's they coming at us with. I mean dat alone doh win matches..but we need to improve that. Plus, the core of this team to play more together to build some chemistry. chemistry and confidence moves mountains in sport.

lastly..tactically, we not going to see much improvement in defense imo. Talles is the only man in that back 4 i think MUST start. I think we need a 2nd ball harrier to help Brichall. T&T needs a solid 5 man midfield, or we will struggle (imo). Big teams like Brazil, Argentina, France, Italy etc...play with 2 hustlers in the middle and a deep lying playmaker. Yorke is  a lock as the deep lying playmaker and Birchie is our Gattusso/Mascherano/Gliberto Silva. I think we also need a complimentary defensive midfielder like a De Rossi/Cambiasso/Josue.

latas didn't look his regular self. didn't see the Guate game, but maybe lacking match practice. maybe just age. don't see him as a starter against tougher harder running teams.

Keon Daniel has tons of skill and potential, but he needs to open up and play with speed now and then..aka Carlos Edwards. We marvel at his talent, but he kills our attack almost every time he gets the ball because he allows the opponent to regroup fuss he slow on the ball. lot to be said about all that skill and ability to maintain possession tho. If he could play a little quicker at times, he would be T&T's next bonafide star. Then again..I hear he playing out of position.

Carlos..hope that was not a one-off. That was the Carlos of old. Confident, fast, determined and taking on his man with no shortage of success. The crossing is till toots (like I say..carlos of old)..but the assist on the first goal was perfection.

Yorke, Birchie, Carlos, Keon Daniel, Talles, Ince must start. De rest of the starting lineup need a little rejiggering, if last night's performance is anything to go by.

Yeah..I smiling at work. Det think I loss meh mind over here. Is not even de Hex and I feel like we jess win something huge. Imagine if we had never disband this side.

GO T&TT!!!!

Spot on Filho, I particularly want to endorse your pt about our lack of intensity at times w/the exception of Chris and Carlos....based on the game vs Guatemala, Wolfe showed he can be that 2nd hustler in midfield, we'll see how everything pans out....
Post by: Brownsugar on October 16, 2008, 07:46:14 AM
GO T&TT!!!!

Yuh understand??!!.......just imagine...
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 07:48:28 AM
Leh we not talk bout side dat get disband hapy thoughts happy thoughts
Post by: andre samuel on October 16, 2008, 07:49:48 AM

Post by: RedDevils on October 16, 2008, 08:01:26 AM
Good game WARRIORS, you guys deserve that victory. BIRCHALL was Man of the Match for me, i really cant see him being left off this team again nah, he's a boss.....i must admit, before Latas score i was cussin for them to take him off, even after he scored i still felt the same way. But congrats to him and the team all the same.
Title: Scotland shouldn't start ahead of Roberts and Glen
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 08:10:23 AM
Now scotland is a good player and has done well for his club, however some players are better for their club than their country, scottie has a stern john finish, they are similar players.

From watching the game I believe scottie needs to come off the bench because he was not effective, I saw mistrapping and throwing away chances, when he had a chance to dribble into the box he passed. Hes a poacher in every sense of the word.

The coaching staff should start roberts and sub on glen, john doesn't look 100% and should not have been subbed in. It is obvious when jones returns he will start, but the 2nd and 3rd option should be roberts and glen. They are the opposite of john and scottie and we need that variation upfront.
Title: Re: Scotland shouldn't start ahead of Roberts and Glen
Post by: grskywalker on October 16, 2008, 08:15:42 AM
I find Scotland should start on the left wing, his speed strength is needed on that left.
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 16, 2008, 08:16:01 AM
Now scotland is a good player and has done well for his club, however some players are better for their club than their country, scottie has a stern john finish, they are similar players.

From watching the game I believe scottie needs to come off the bench because he was not effective, I saw mistrapping and throwing away chances, when he had a chance to dribble into the box he passed. Hes a poacher in every sense of the word.

The coaching staff should start roberts and sub on glen, john doesn't look 100% and should not have been subbed in. It is obvious when jones returns he will start, but the 2nd and 3rd option should be roberts and glen. They are the opposite of john and scottie and we need that variation upfront.

Well he need to loose fat or whatever it is have him slow so. Well doh worry, we have KJ coming back. He do he best, but they should let Roberts get some burn.
Post by: assrancid on October 16, 2008, 08:16:18 AM
Fellas it was reported that Glen had an injury as did Stern.
Post by: Babalawo on October 16, 2008, 08:17:13 AM
R u serious ???
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 16, 2008, 08:18:21 AM
I find Scotland should start on the left wing, his speed strength is needed on that left.

Scotty in front ah who on the left wing, Keon or Hyland? He ent ready to go over deh nah Sky. :-\
Post by: Big Magician on October 16, 2008, 08:19:55 AM
ok
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 08:31:34 AM

Scotty in front ah who on the left wing, Keon or Hyland? He ent ready to go over deh nah Sky. :-\

I had a few friends with me watching the match in its entirety, scottie doesnt have the speed of a glen or roberts, on one occassion he couldn't beat the defender to the ball in oppositions 1st third, if it was glen, glen would have won the race, if glen is injured ok, but roberts is much better a player and he comes back in the mid to assist on defense and build up, I think the coaching staff needs to give scottie a rest, he is a good player for his club but he is failing for his country. Latas gave him some gifts for instance and he throw away and didn't do anything with them.
Post by: arrow on October 16, 2008, 09:14:11 AM

Whitely?

Add Cyd, Sancho and Avery to the defense, Whitely to the middle, KJ as the striker and we good to go!
Post by: KND2 on October 16, 2008, 09:14:16 AM
To play with Zess we have to pick players with zess.

Picking a squad and telling them to run hard will never work.

For example Telesford have zess and yorke have none. but Teslesford cannot maintain possesion so we in a catch 22

In the end our players choices are limited so if we need to play slow we need to play slow.

Speed of Play is not easily increased.
The tendancy of our players is the slow build up.
Title: Any Highlights of T&T vs USA?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 16, 2008, 09:31:58 AM
Any Highlights of T&T vs USA?

HQ if possible
Post by: WestCoast on October 16, 2008, 09:40:20 AM

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
allya had me in ah sweat here Zeppo
GREAT game
It is amazing that Latas and Dwight scored for us

Well done USA... :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
maybe we should meet with both of our full squads
Title: Re: Any Highlights of T&T vs USA?
Post by: superoli on October 16, 2008, 09:40:36 AM

http://sports.espn.go.com/broadband/video/videopage?videoId=3645960&categoryId=2731137
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 16, 2008, 09:41:57 AM

http://sports.espn.go.com/broadband/video/videopage?videoId=3645960&categoryId=2731137

thanks
Post by: Midknight on October 16, 2008, 09:47:35 AM

Whitely?

Add Cyd, Sancho and Avery to the defense, Whitely to the middle, KJ as the striker and we good to go!

--------------Ince-------
El Cyd - Sanch---Tallest---Blade
-------Me Mum-----Gangsta
-------------Dwight-----------
--Carlos------------------Skilla
----------------KJ--------------

Dat looking like a nice side on the road...
I not sure at home when we need a win if is the best thing though.
Post by: fatimarima on October 16, 2008, 09:47:55 AM
This was a good win for T&T.   If we were able to go with this team when we played USA in the first round I guarantee the score would not have been 3-0 in the usa's favor.  Although usa tried out a lot of their younger players this was still a very competitive game.  This time around we had Birchall and Yorke in the midfield and we had Lawrence to keep the defence in order.  Birchall and Yorke really hustled to win balls and distribute. Carlos Edwards and Keon Daniel also put in a good shift.  Our midfield Kept the USA tied down with tight marking, physicall play and consistent strong tackles.  This was the main thing that was different from the last time we played USA.  The last time we did not have the required personnel and our midfielders were timid and gave the USA a lot of time and space to play and punish us.  I think the presence of Yorke and Birchall for this game really helped our midfield and it inspired the other guys to step their game up and play like warriors.    :beermug:
Post by: Babalawo on October 16, 2008, 09:51:37 AM
ah hungry for highlights.  I didnt tape the game because im superstitious, everytime i tape a game my team lose.  And i notice espn was using a local truck feed to the us because the game wasnt coming through on HD.  One day it will have HD broadcasting in TnT, its less expensive than how it was before.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 16, 2008, 09:54:31 AM
Match video anyone ?
Post by: QWT on October 16, 2008, 09:55:27 AM
Thanks for the highlights, but does anyone know where (if at all) I can get the full game?
Post by: Filho on October 16, 2008, 09:59:51 AM

Whitely?

I liking KJ up top and Whitley in the middle once they return to form from long term injuries. Avery at left back too. Cyah argue against Cyd..but I eh know about Sancho. How he looking these days?

For example Telesford have zess and yorke have none. but Teslesford cannot maintain possesion so we in a catch 22

In the end our players choices are limited so if we need to play slow we need to play slow.

eh? you don't have to have fast players to play with more urgency. and noone saying to always play with speed. dat is sensless. but at times, you have to change up the rythm of play. T&T play is generally too predictable and one-paced.

no team will ever achieve anything without having some element of zess. we need more. it isn't the only ingredient, we need..but we need more.

and yeah..you can take lethargic players and make them quicker. faster better thought process, smarter better timed runs off the ball, never say die attitude...they can be taught to some extent.
Post by: trinbago on October 16, 2008, 10:00:43 AM
I think the other person that can possibly compliment Birchall is Autis Whiley...what's the deal with him...nobody mentions him anymore..he played pretty well in the first few qualifiers....is he still injured....??
Post by: fatimarima on October 16, 2008, 10:03:55 AM

KND2, You really think Yorke have no zess?  I think you are confused.  After watching Yorke for all these years I think he has some zess. He is just older and maybe not as energetic as before.  I think you might be confusing ZESS and WILDNESS.  I think that Telesford has plenty of ZESS but he is fairly wild and uncontrolled at times. This means he is not using his zess efficiently.  Yorke has some zess too, but he is really composed and makes things look so easy when he hustles to win a ball or distribute a ball.  Birchall has plenty plenty Zess, and he also has enough control and composure to be very effective.   Yorke has zess, he just not wild and overly energetic.
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 10:04:15 AM
Hey QWY u still around what's up brudder?
Post by: elan on October 16, 2008, 10:05:59 AM

Breds yuh talking shit.

Here is what you believe what you as your put down will make it right.

I will watch the game later and give you specifc plays to back up my argument, instead of put down.
Post by: warmonga on October 16, 2008, 10:10:27 AM
very sad display of football by TNT . A win is a win and I will tek dat especially against USA but man I depressed to see my team playing like dat...
Post by: elan on October 16, 2008, 10:13:59 AM

Way alyuh learn football. Scottie work really hard. He played vertically and horizontally. This kept at least 3 US defenders busy. He had little help when he got the ball and did well to hold up the ball. His work rate was great.

Stern did not replicate such work and the Coach missed when he made that sub as it gave the US defenders the opportunity to go forward. That was one of the reason the US pushed on the out of timing sub.

Scotland did well,, his early shots and deft touche, made the defender have to play behind him as they could not take the chance to cheat forward for fear that Scottie will exploit a back 2.  
Post by: Babalawo on October 16, 2008, 10:14:04 AM
i find them usa commentators didnt bad talk or butcher any of we players names like foxsport does do.  I guess the good working relations they had with the ttff and shaka hislop have something to do.  they even interviewed Yorke after the game rather than an american player too.
Post by: elan on October 16, 2008, 10:16:36 AM

I had a few friends with me watching the match in its entirety, scottie doesnt have the speed of a glen or roberts, on one occassion he couldn't beat the defender to the ball in oppositions 1st third, if it was glen, glen would have won the race, if glen is injured ok, but roberts is much better a player and he comes back in the mid to assist on defense and build up, I think the coaching staff needs to give scottie a rest, he is a good player for his club but he is failing for his country. Latas gave him some gifts for instance and he throw away and didn't do anything with them.

At what point in time of the games were those gifts given? What about the gift he gave to Latas and he could not go past the first defender as his feet got stuck under him.
Post by: Andre on October 16, 2008, 10:17:05 AM
more highlights here - mexico-canada & el sal-surinam.

SEEDORF FOR SURINAM!

http://digg.com/soccer/CONCACAF_World_Cup_Qualifier_Highlights_for_10_16_08
Post by: warmonga on October 16, 2008, 10:17:19 AM
hear nah dat fatman who kicking air name scotland? dais de man everybody saying is de real deal? lawd look thing .. dat man is simple shithound.. put back glen upfront ..dais mi bwoy!!!!!!!!!! then hit dem de killer Stern  look thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
war...
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 10:24:10 AM
hear nah dat fatman who kicking air name scotland? dais de man everybody saying is de real deal? lawd look thing .. dat man is simple shithound.. put back glen upfront ..dais mi bwoy!!!!!!!!!! then hit dem de killer Stern  look thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
war...

scottie shouldnt be starting over glen and roberts, thats just plain nonesense, i haven't seen a noteworthy performance from scotland to date, other than the 9-0 thrashing of DR.
Post by: fatimarima on October 16, 2008, 10:27:19 AM

Way alyuh learn football. Scottie work really hard. He played vertically and horizontally. This kept at least 3 US defenders busy. He had little help when he got the ball and did well to hold up the ball. His work rate was great.

Stern did not replicate such work and the Coach missed when he made that sub as it gave the US defenders the opportunity to go forward. That was one of the reason the US pushed on the out of timing sub.

Scotland did well,, his early shots and deft touche, made the defender have to play behind him as they could not take the chance to cheat forward for fear that Scottie will exploit a back 2.  

I have to agree with Elan with respect to Jason Scotland's good performance.  I think scottie was very effective.  He needs to sharpen up a bit but overall he was very good and he kept the US back line under pressure.  
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 10:31:18 AM

I have to agree with Elan with respect to Jason Scotland's good performance.  I think scottie was very effective.  He needs to sharpen up a bit but overall he was very good and he kept the US back line under pressure.  

what game allyuh watching? the DR replay ???
Post by: sinned on October 16, 2008, 10:31:47 AM
i find them usa commentators didnt bad talk or butcher any of we players names like foxsport does do.  I guess the good working relations they had with the ttff and shaka hislop have something to do.  they even interviewed Yorke after the game rather than an american player too.

I was surprised at how well the US commentators handled the game. They weren't overly critical of our players and team and didn't really question the refereeing decisions when it went against the US. They gave us credit where it was due and didn't completely focus on the US players alone as has been done in the past
Post by: palos on October 16, 2008, 10:32:39 AM

Whitely?

IMO..daz about as good as it gets wit we Midknight.  If we go into a game wit dat line up & everybody healthy, I satisfied.  We could do no more.  :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on October 16, 2008, 10:37:12 AM

I was surprised at how well the US commentators handled the game. They weren't overly critical of our players and team and didn't really question the refereeing decisions when it went against the US. They gave us credit where it was due and didn't completely focus on the US players alone as has been done in the past
allya sure it was yankee commentators :devil:

Serious: That is REAL good to hear.....props to ESPN :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
contact page (http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/news/story?page=contact/index)
Post by: theworm2345 on October 16, 2008, 10:52:25 AM
There is a slight chance the full match will be posted on www.fbtz.com, I'll post a link here if it is.  It will probably be a torrent
Post by: Montjoy on October 16, 2008, 10:55:27 AM
Ah happy like hell and ah vex like hell because ah still trying to figure out why a man like Latapy was sitting on de bench in world cup games
Post by: fatimarima on October 16, 2008, 11:07:49 AM

To people like yourself who are probably not as knowlegable about the game, it may appear that Scottie was not effective at all.  His game definitly could have been better but he was actually very effective.  He was effective because the defenders were really focused on him and that gave other players more space. He was also strong enough to hold the ball up and lay it off to other guys. His movement across the field and his willingness to close down defenders when they won possesion helped our midfield get back into position and it forced defenders to give up corner kicks.  These are the type of things that less knowlegable people don't notice and dont give credit for. However these things have a huge effect on the outcome of the game. I am also a huge fan of cornel glen, Daryl Roberts and Stern John, but it's up to the people in charge to pick the starting squad and choose the players that fit into their tactical plan.  I think Glen was injured anyway.
Post by: damiangoal on October 16, 2008, 11:09:54 AM
he was winnig balls in the centre and creating at the same time and by the way, YIP, YIP, YIP,AHA,AHA! :cheers: :wavetowel: :afro:
Post by: Bourbon on October 16, 2008, 11:28:34 AM

Whitely?

IMO..daz about as good as it gets wit we Midknight.  If we go into a game wit dat line up & everybody healthy, I satisfied.  We could do no more.  :beermug:

Allyuh do realise dat is only one player on that side dat wasnt a WC 2006 player right? So in all the time since then....the only player that develop enough to make side is daniel?
Post by: damiangoal on October 16, 2008, 11:31:09 AM

Whitely?

Allyuh do realise dat is only one player on that side dat wasnt a WC 2006 player right? So in all the time since then....the only player that develop enough to make side is daniel?
Don,t forget Hyland! :)
Post by: supporter on October 16, 2008, 11:39:27 AM
Tremendous result, very happy. How ridiculously solid was the trio of Edwards, Birchall and Yorkie today!
Post by: Bourbon on October 16, 2008, 11:40:46 AM

Whitely?

Don,t forget Hyland! :)

I talking bout the lineup that listed there. In any event.....wha i trying to avoid most of all is...that after we make SA 2010 (if we do) dat we end up in the same kakhi pants like last time....the old guard unable to play for whaever reason..(most likely..given that side there...a good portion would be getting down in age)...and the young/local players eh good enuff to make de grade.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 16, 2008, 11:44:24 AM

Wha f**kin speed he ha?!!! Slow motion?  :rotfl:
Post by: palos on October 16, 2008, 11:44:33 AM

Whitely?

If yuh willing to overlook Keyeno Thomas who admittedly has done nothing wrong to be excluded (and Sancho hasn't played a game at international level for nearly 2 years so his inclusion is based on what he used to be able to do), Keon Daniel is the only automatic pick of the young breed for me yes.  Khaleem Hyland, Makan Hislop, Clyde Leon, Marvin Phillip & Darryl Roberts are all integral members of the team as well.  Just not the starting XI at this time.  Players like Osei Telesford, Julius James, Akeil Edwards, Gyasi Joyce, are on the fringe of the team but still have gained valuable experience along the way.  Then yuh have the likes of Jamal Gay, Randi Patterson, Matthew Bartholomew, Aaron Downing, Scott Sealey, Leston Paul, Atullah Guerra, Josimar Belgrave, Akeem Adams, etc all to come for 2014.  By that time, Yorke, Latas, Tallest, Cyd, Avery, will most likely be gone from the international scene and dem fellas have to step een.

When yuh look at a team like France for example....they've been using more or less the same lineup since Euro 2000 give or take a player or two.  And yuh know dat if Zidane today were to say that he comin out of retirement, he would walk straight into de startin lineup too.  So we not doin badly in dis respect at all.  Our most dire need, as it has always been, is to have some quality defenders.  
Post by: Controversial on October 16, 2008, 11:45:09 AM

To people like yourself who are probably not as knowlegable about the game, it may appear that Scottie was not effective at all.  His game definitly could have been better but he was actually very effective.  He was effective because the defenders were really focused on him and that gave other players more space. He was also strong enough to hold the ball up and lay it off to other guys. His movement across the field and his willingness to close down defenders when they won possesion helped our midfield get back into position and it forced defenders to give up corner kicks.  These are the type of things that less knowlegable people don't notice and dont give credit for. However these things have a huge effect on the outcome of the game. I am also a huge fan of cornel glen, Daryl Roberts and Stern John, but it's up to the people in charge to pick the starting squad and choose the players that fit into their tactical plan.  I think Glen was injured anyway.

well with your infinite wisdom you have seemed to forget that roberts and glen also help the midfield and run back on defense, and they also create space for the midfielders, not to mention they run at defenders and create opportunities, unlike scotland and they also score on occasion, unlike scotland, not to mention they trap the ball better and can actually dribble against defenders, barring glen was injured, roberts would have been a better choice by far, especially since we now have a creative midfielder, just wanted to highlight those points to people who feel they are knowledgable about the game of football.
Title: Player ratings: USA vs. Trinidad and Tobago
Post by: trinbago on October 16, 2008, 12:23:41 PM
Player ratings: USA vs. Trinidad and Tobago
By Kyle McCarthy, Goal.com
25 minutes ago

AP - Oct 15, 10:59 pm EDT World Soccer Gallery Related CoverageA lackluster U.S. performance against Trinidad and Tobago Goal.com World Cup 2010 qualifying coverage Dwight Yorke’s late penalty gave Trinidad and Tobago a 2-1 victory over the United States to give the Trinis a much-needed three points in their fight for a place in CONCACAF’s final round of World Cup qualifying.

UNITED STATES

Brad Guzan: 6 – Not to blame on either of the goals and generally looked in command of his penalty area. A competent and reliable second-string keeper.

Heath Pearce: 4 – Consistently looks out of match practice and out of his depth at international level. When paired against a good player, like Carlos Edwards, Pearce often comes off second best.

Michael Orozco: 6 – Looked the more comfortable and composed of the two center backs. Did well to hack clear a dangerous rebound in the opening stages and deflect an Edwards shot in the second half. Showed enough to prove he has a future at this level, especially with his physical play.

Danny Califf: 4.5 – This isn’t the game Califf sought to distinguish himself from Orozco and the injured Jay DeMerit. Often looked a step slow and failed to anticipate the play.

Frankie Hejduk: 5 – What you see is what you get from Frankie. He’ll go out and do a competent job in the back while ineffectively trying to provide width going forward. Not a bad effort.

DaMarcus Beasley: 5 – Stand-in captain tried to influence the game early, but generally faded away. Difficult to place too much blame on him considering the ineffective play in the middle of the field.

Jose Francisco Torres: 5 – Looked the best of the four other midfielders. Generally tidy in his passing and willing to step into the passing lanes. Remains to be seen whether he is a first-team player or a fringe player going forward.

Freddy Adu: 4.5 – Ineffective in breaking down the T&T defense. Aside from a long-distance shot that went astray, Adu had little impact on the match.

Maurice Edu: 4 – Passing bordered on criminal for most of the night. For a player with defensive tenacity, Edu showed precious little of it on this evening. Needs game time at Rangers or a loan to another club.

Sacha Kljestan: 4.5 – Not impressed with his passing, either. Did well to get into the wide-right channel on occasion but his final service lacked what it needed.

Jozy Altidore: 5 – His uneven performance is why Brian Ching remains on the team. Made a great run to set up Davies’ goal, but a spurned open net and a needless penalty giveaway topped off a generally ineffective night. Not that coach Bradley or his teammates gave him much support.

Substitutes

Charlie Davies: 6 – Came on for Adu in the 69th and showed enough to make Bob Bradley want to leave Eddie Johnson in Wales for the considerable future. Scored one and should have had an assist but for Altidore’s profligacy. … Danny Szetela: no rating – Replaced Torres in 84th minute. … Chris Rolfe: no rating – Replaced Pearce in 88th minute.

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

Clayton Ince: 6 – The keeper didn’t have much to do, but remained a calm force behind the T&T backline.

Akile Edwards: 6 – The better of the two fullbacks on the evening. Didn’t venture forward much, but didn’t make anyone forget Avery John either.

Dennis Lawrence: 6 – Sometimes rickety in his old age but generally did the job. Questions will be asked about where he was on the American goal.

Keyeno Thomas: 5 – Whiffed twice on an opportunity from a corner kick before leaving the match with an injury.

Silvio Spann: 5.5 – Looked a bit out of his depth at right back. It’s not his natural role, but he’s done well enough here to get the job done.

Keon Daniel: 4.5 – Has electric pace yet struggled to get in behind defenders. Abjectly neglected any sort of defensive duties. Again, the question has to be whether this is a good spot on the field for him.

Chris Birchall: 7 – How Birchall was ever left out of the team remains anyone’s guess. Did the things you want Michael Bradley to do in the center of the field. Held well while seizing his moments to plunge forward. Provided the impetus for the first goal.

Russell Latapy: 7 – Father Time has no mark on the 40-year-old playmaker. He fades in and out of the game now, but his first goal was well taken. Never puts a pass astray and generally found himself in the right spots.

Dwight Yorke: 6.5 – Very quiet up until scoring the winning penalty. Asked to do yeoman’s work in the middle of the park and completed the task well. Could T&T ask for a better option to take a penalty with the team’s World Cup future on the line?

Carlos Edwards: 7.5 – It’s not too much of a stretch to say Edwards has a case to be the best right winger in CONCACAF. Consistently gets in behind defenses and constantly threatens the opposition. Most players with attacking ability shirk defensive responsibility; Edwards tracked back frequently to foil Beasley. The best player on the field on this evening.

Jason Scotland: 6 – Does everything one can ask from a lone center forward. Holds the ball up well, stretches defenses by tracking down balls and competes for everything. Finishing touch wasn’t there, but a good shift.

Substitutes

Makan Hislop: 5.5 – Caught ball watching on the Americans’ goal. Otherwise, steady as she goes. &hellip: Stern John: 5 – Pretty quiet night for the Southampton striker. … Kareem Hyland: 6 – Looked active and bright at time when T&T needed his fresh legs.
Title: Re: Player ratings: USA vs. Trinidad and Tobago
Post by: trinbago on October 16, 2008, 12:26:01 PM
A lackluster U.S. performance against T&T
By Noah Davis, Goal.com
1 hour, 12 minutes ago

Getty Images - Oct 15, 11:02 pm EDT World Soccer Gallery Related CoveragePlayer ratings: USA vs. Trinidad and Tobago Goal.com World Cup 2010 qualifying coverage On a brutal pitch that felt close to 100 degrees, the U.S. national team fell 2-1 in an ugly match against Trinidad and Tobago at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

Already through to CONCACAF’s final round of World Cup qualifying, the Americans didn’t need to win the game, while a result was of the utmost importance for T&T, which began in the night in a tie with Guatemala for the second and final qualifying spot in Group A.

The U.S.’s place on the table allowed Bob Bradley to play a host of youngsters – Freddy Adu and Jozy Altidore saw their first starts of the round, while second-half substitute Charlie Davies scored the Red, White, and Blue’s lone goal.

Trinidad and Tobago: In trouble

Ultimately, this game says more about T&T than it does about the U.S. Certainly, the home team put itself in position to advance to the second round, especially with Guatemala’s 2-1 loss to Cuba, but the Soca Warriors didn’t impress on their turf. Neither did the squad’s fans, who failed to fill Hasely Crawford and were almost silent for much of the first half and part of the second until Russel Latapy’s goal in the 61st minute.

Conventional wisdom states that a win is a win, but – as we’ve seen too often in the case of the United States – there’s frequently much more to a victory than simply the score. While T&T simply has to avoid losing to Cuba at home in November to advance into the Hexagonal, the team’s fate in the next round is precarious unless it improves dramatically.

ADVERTISEMENT

The future of Beasley

DaMarcus Beasley, the most capped player in the United States lineup, had a solid, if never spectacular, match. He looked dangerous at times, although seemed overmatched in a leadership position without compatriots Landon Donovan, Clint Dempsey and others to help run the offense. Beas wore the captain’s armband, but Frankie Hejduk, merely a cap behind the Rangers man, earned respect with his hustle.

Furthermore, I’m not convinced DaMarcus is the solution at left back, a position he played in the latter stages of Saturday’s match against Cuba. He’s not just small, he’s tiny – Freddy Adu looked downright bulky standing next to Beas in a wall – and the United States gives up too many free kicks in dangerous positions to concede height. And yet, after the past two matches, there’s clearly a place for the midfielder on the 2010 World Cup team, just not in an obvious leadership role.

Guzan is no Howard

This isn’t a revelation, but if anyone doubted who was the American No. 1 keeper before Wednesday, those thoughts have been banished. Tim Howard’s backup from Aston Villa flubbed multiple forays by the Soca Warriors and generally looked off his game. While the first goal wasn’t Guzan’s fault, it did careen off the back of his head – after ricocheting off the post – and find its way into the net.

Trinidad and Tobago almost scored a goal early in the match after Guzan failed to punch away a free kick (why Adu and Beasley were in a two-man wall is another story), and only Michael Orozco’s correct positioning kept the game scoreless. Wednesday’s keeper will always be a serviceable No. 2 for the U.S., but that’s all he’ll be.

Jozy’s vision

Some talk before the match centered around whether Jozy Altidore could create within the context of the offense. While he scored against Cuba, it was on a semi-breakaway where he held off a defender one-on-one. But, lo and behold, Altidore showed he knows where his teammates are.

In the first half against T&T, the Villarreal striker slid a beautiful seeing-eye pass to Beasley who was in alone but, wrongly, ruled offside. Davies’ goal came on a feed from Jozy. By no means does Altidore have a complete understanding of the offense, but the kid’s only 18. Let’s give him a couple of months at least before requiring he pass the American soccer fan GRE.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 16, 2008, 12:34:03 PM
100 degrees ?
Post by: Brownsugar on October 16, 2008, 12:50:27 PM
Chris Birchall: 7 – How Birchall was ever left out of the team remains anyone’s guess. Did the things you want Michael Bradley to do in the center of the field. Held well while seizing his moments to plunge forward. Provided the impetus for the first goal.

Simple.  We have a Federation dat just believe in shooting itself in de foot....is nutten...we used to it... ::)
Post by: trini_stallion on October 16, 2008, 12:53:47 PM
A win is a Win...

Post by: kicker on October 16, 2008, 01:20:51 PM
100 degrees ?

I think it was 80 degrees but with the humidity the effective temperature was in the 90's...

fahrenheit of course...
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 01:34:41 PM
Email it 2 d head chipmunk y was he out ah d team
Post by: Bakes on October 16, 2008, 02:05:38 PM

Your team certainly didn't make it easy for us... I can't really say much about the offsides calls, but we kinda gifted you guys your goal in that messy scramble.

Still best scene of the night for me was when Latapy was subbed off, he was about to pass by Klijestan who reached out and gave him some dap.  Classy move between two professionals.
Post by: Sando prince on October 16, 2008, 02:23:13 PM
Some will argue that 5.5 is still too high for Spann lol
Post by: fatimarima on October 16, 2008, 03:02:34 PM
Now Scotland is a good player and has done well for his club, however some players are better for their club than their country, scottie has a stern john finish, they are similar players.

well with your infinite wisdom you have seemed to forget that roberts and glen also help the midfield and run back on defense, and they also create space for the midfielders, not to mention they run at defenders and create opportunities, unlike scotland and they also score on occasion, unlike scotland, not to mention they trap the ball better and can actually dribble against defenders, barring glen was injured, roberts would have been a better choice by far, especially since we now have a creative midfielder, just wanted to highlight those points to people who feel they are knowledgable about the game of football.

Please read my previous post a few more times until you understand what I said.  You will notice that I never compared Scotland to Glen or Roberts. I also did not comment on how Glen or Roberts perform in games. In addition to that I did not attempt to rank these guys in order of who should be 1st, 2nd or 3rd choice.   So, Mr or Ms Controversial, I did not forget anything about anybody.  My simple point was that Scotland was actually effective and you seem to be overlooking some of his important contributions.  I am a big fan of Scottie, Glen, Roberts, Stern John and KJ.   Who ever starts up front, I wish them the best and hope that they can contribue to a Trinidad victory.
Post by: tsingh on October 16, 2008, 03:28:54 PM
Congrats to the team and to the die-hard supporters.  A win is a win.  I agree with most posters that Birchall really earned the MOM Award.  Without him in the line-up is pressure.  But going in to the last game with not so much pressure to win and playing the last placed team at home is good for once.  Great job by Latapy and Yorke ... playing at that age at that level aint easy.

Word of caution though ... the usa we will probably face in the next round won't be the usa we play last night.  Jut trying to keep things in perspective.  Hopefully we will have a better balanced stronger team in the next round. 
Post by: QWT on October 16, 2008, 07:15:04 PM
Hey QWY u still around what's up brudder?

Yeah I'm still around.

Haha, I just don't post much...

Also ever since the last server move I haven't been online much as the website is unavailable in China. It's not blocked because of content though, but probably just because of the IP or something like that if it's on a shared server.
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2008, 07:24:55 PM
Glad dat u around hope u wukin on d next boss video
Post by: Flex on October 17, 2008, 04:09:20 AM
Guatemalans cry over result.
-Ian Prescott (Express).

Ramon Maradiaga, Guatemala's Honduran coach, has come in for harsh criticism and likewise Trinidad and Tobago for twice ending Guatemala's World Cup run, according to the country's top newspaper Prensa Libre.

La Presa's main story yesterday said: "Trinidad y Tobago, su verdadera bestia negra", which roughly translates to "Trinidad and Tobago is a true black beast".

Prensa Libre carried reports on both T&T's 2-1 win over the USA and Guatemala's 2-1 defeat, their first-ever loss against Cuba.

One report commended T&T, describing the Soca Warriors as showing they can play good football against the USA, while the other story described T&T as black beasts.

It was reported that Guatemalans packed bars and homes anticipating a good result on Wednesday against Cuba. There was a great uproar when they were level 1-1, and at the same time the USA equalised with Trinidad and Tobago in the 75th minute.

Prensa Libre reported that the night eventually ended in anger and sorrow for many Guatemalans.

Yesterday's Prensa Libre headline read: "Adios SudAfrica" (Goodbye South Africa).

And although Guatemala still have a mathematical chance of advancing to CONCACAF'S Final Round of World Cup qualifying, the consensus in the Central American country is that their World Cup chances are gone. 

They say the beginning of the end came when Guatemala failed to beat T&T last Saturday.
Post by: weary1969 on October 17, 2008, 05:31:56 AM
Yep dat was d beginnin ah d end when dey eh beat oui
Post by: Peong on October 17, 2008, 05:46:12 AM
Black beasts eh?
That is a questionable comment.
Title: Goal.com Player ratings: USA vs. Trinidad and Tobago
Post by: Andre on October 17, 2008, 07:42:28 AM
http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=go-usaratings101608&prov=goal&type=lgns

Player ratings: USA vs. Trinidad and Tobago

By Kyle McCarthy, Goal.com
Oct 16, 1:18 pm EDT
Buzz Up
Print

Man of the match: Edwards (R).
AP - Oct 15, 10:59 pm EDT

World Soccer Gallery

Related Coverage
A lackluster U.S. performance against Trinidad and Tobago
Goal.com World Cup 2010 qualifying coverage

Dwight Yorke’s late penalty gave Trinidad and Tobago a 2-1 victory over the United States to give the Trinis a much-needed three points in their fight for a place in CONCACAF’s final round of World Cup qualifying.

UNITED STATES

Brad Guzan: 6 – Not to blame on either of the goals and generally looked in command of his penalty area. A competent and reliable second-string keeper.

Heath Pearce: 4 – Consistently looks out of match practice and out of his depth at international level. When paired against a good player, like Carlos Edwards, Pearce often comes off second best.

Michael Orozco: 6 – Looked the more comfortable and composed of the two center backs. Did well to hack clear a dangerous rebound in the opening stages and deflect an Edwards shot in the second half. Showed enough to prove he has a future at this level, especially with his physical play.

Danny Califf: 4.5 – This isn’t the game Califf sought to distinguish himself from Orozco and the injured Jay DeMerit. Often looked a step slow and failed to anticipate the play.

Frankie Hejduk: 5 – What you see is what you get from Frankie. He’ll go out and do a competent job in the back while ineffectively trying to provide width going forward. Not a bad effort.ADVERTISEMENT

DaMarcus Beasley: 5 – Stand-in captain tried to influence the game early, but generally faded away. Difficult to place too much blame on him considering the ineffective play in the middle of the field.

Jose Francisco Torres: 5 – Looked the best of the four other midfielders. Generally tidy in his passing and willing to step into the passing lanes. Remains to be seen whether he is a first-team player or a fringe player going forward.

Freddy Adu: 4.5 – Ineffective in breaking down the T&T defense. Aside from a long-distance shot that went astray, Adu had little impact on the match.

Maurice Edu: 4 – Passing bordered on criminal for most of the night. For a player with defensive tenacity, Edu showed precious little of it on this evening. Needs game time at Rangers or a loan to another club.

Sacha Kljestan: 4.5 – Not impressed with his passing, either. Did well to get into the wide-right channel on occasion but his final service lacked what it needed.

Jozy Altidore: 5 – His uneven performance is why Brian Ching remains on the team. Made a great run to set up Davies’ goal, but a spurned open net and a needless penalty giveaway topped off a generally ineffective night. Not that coach Bradley or his teammates gave him much support.

Substitutes

Charlie Davies: 6 – Came on for Adu in the 69th and showed enough to make Bob Bradley want to leave Eddie Johnson in Wales for the considerable future. Scored one and should have had an assist but for Altidore’s profligacy. … Danny Szetela: no rating – Replaced Torres in 84th minute. … Chris Rolfe: no rating – Replaced Pearce in 88th minute.

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

Clayton Ince: 6 – The keeper didn’t have much to do, but remained a calm force behind the T&T backline.

Akile Edwards: 6 – The better of the two fullbacks on the evening. Didn’t venture forward much, but didn’t make anyone forget Avery John either.

Dennis Lawrence: 6 – Sometimes rickety in his old age but generally did the job. Questions will be asked about where he was on the American goal.

Keyeno Thomas: 5 – Whiffed twice on an opportunity from a corner kick before leaving the match with an injury.

Silvio Spann: 5.5 – Looked a bit out of his depth at right back. It’s not his natural role, but he’s done well enough here to get the job done.

Keon Daniel: 4.5 – Has electric pace yet struggled to get in behind defenders. Abjectly neglected any sort of defensive duties. Again, the question has to be whether this is a good spot on the field for him.

Russell Latapy: 7 – Father Time has no mark on the 40-year-old playmaker. He fades in and out of the game now, but his first goal was well taken. Never puts a pass astray and generally found himself in the right spots.

Dwight Yorke: 6.5 – Very quiet up until scoring the winning penalty. Asked to do yeoman’s work in the middle of the park and completed the task well. Could T&T ask for a better option to take a penalty with the team’s World Cup future on the line?

Carlos Edwards: 7.5 – It’s not too much of a stretch to say Edwards has a case to be the best right winger in CONCACAF. Consistently gets in behind defenses and constantly threatens the opposition. Most players with attacking ability shirk defensive responsibility; Edwards tracked back frequently to foil Beasley. The best player on the field on this evening.

Jason Scotland: 6 – Does everything one can ask from a lone center forward. Holds the ball up well, stretches defenses by tracking down balls and competes for everything. Finishing touch wasn’t there, but a good shift.

Substitutes

Makan Hislop: 5.5 – Caught ball watching on the Americans’ goal. Otherwise, steady as she goes. &hellip: Stern John: 5 – Pretty quiet night for the Southampton striker. … Kareem Hyland: 6 – Looked active and bright at time when T&T needed his fresh legs.
Post by: BAGOGYUL on October 17, 2008, 07:47:15 AM
what a game! I woke up the entire neighborhood after dwight scored that penalty kick.
Post by: BAGOGYUL on October 17, 2008, 07:49:26 AM

ENT, i thought that was awesome.
Post by: Andre on October 17, 2008, 07:51:18 AM
what a game! I woke up the entire neighborhood after dwight scored that penalty kick.

bagogyul,

i hear yuh bawling. do po po looking for yuh now fuh dat.
Title: Guatemalans cry over result
Post by: Reaper2004 on October 17, 2008, 10:05:34 AM
Guatemalans Cry Over Result
Ian Prescott (Daily Express)

Ramon Maradiaga Guatemala's Honduran coach, has come in for harsh criticism and likewise Trinidad and Tobago for twice ending Guatemala's World Cup run, according to the country's top newspaper Prensa Libre.

La Presa's main story yesterday said: "Trinidad y Tobago, su verdadera bestia negra", which roughly translates to "Trinidad and Tobago is a true black beast".

Prensa Libre carried reports on both T&T's 2-1 win over the USA and Guatemala's 2-1 defeat, their first-ever loss against Cuba.

One report commended T&T, describing the Soca Warriors as showing they can play good football against the USA, while the other story described T&T as black beasts.

It was reported that Guatemalans packed bars and homes anticipating a good result on Wednesday against Cuba. There was a great uproar when they were level 1-1, and at the same time the USA equalised with Trinidad and Tobago in the 75th minute.

Prensa Libre reported that the night eventually ended in anger and sorrow for many Guatemalans.

Yesterday's Prensa Libre headline read: "Adios SudAfrica" (Goodbye South Africa).

And although Guatemala still have a mathematical chance of advancing to CONCACAF's Final Round of World Cup qualifying, the consensus in the Central American country is that their World Cup chances are gone.

They say the beginning of the end came when Guatemala failed to beat T&T last Saturday.
Post by: teddy bear on October 17, 2008, 10:06:38 AM

especially when yuh give skilla a 4.5?
Title: Re: Guatemalans cry over result
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 17, 2008, 10:16:02 AM
.It good fuh them let them cry and they like to throw beer on wee and start fight. :)

We team is really thee "Black Beast" because after we finish off Cuba, it go more weeping and garnishing of sliver teeth.  ;D
Post by: Midknight on October 17, 2008, 10:18:25 AM
Before all yuh start, "black beast" have no racist connotation eh.

In French (bête noir) and Spanish, black beast mean you nemesis, yuh blight, your insurmountable obstacle.

Funny though how many languages the word black/dark has so many negative connotations...
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 17, 2008, 10:32:54 AM
is cuba put ah cutass on them and they blamin we.
Post by: WestCoast on October 17, 2008, 10:33:51 AM
In French (bête noir) and Spanish, black beast mean you nemesis, yuh blight, your insurmountable obstacle.
Funny though how many languages the word black/dark has so many negative connotations...
just last week I came across this website
http://french.about.com/library/bl-frenchinenglish-list.htm
"bête noire - black beast - Similar to a pet peeve: something that is particularly distasteful or difficult and to be avoided. "

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Filho on October 17, 2008, 10:37:44 AM

not that funny, given many of the  sayings have roots in the drkness of night, or winter...rather than skin color
Post by: RedDevils on October 17, 2008, 10:38:22 AM

well somebody have to take de blame  :devil:

they don't want to take blame so pass it on, as long as they dont make it pay them losers no mine.
Post by: Big Magician on October 17, 2008, 10:40:17 AM
Haul dey mudder c#nt
Post by: benedicts bwoy on October 17, 2008, 10:44:44 AM
Haul dey mudder c#nt

I am Benedicts Bwoy and I approve of this message !
Post by: Big Magician on October 17, 2008, 10:47:45 AM
Thanks BB...but ah have a bone to pick with you with that talk bout USA giving we de match...
Post by: palos on October 17, 2008, 10:54:07 AM
Wouldn't you cry if you was dem?

We is dem Haiti, USA & Jamaica all roll into one.

De only other team dem hate more dan we is Honduras.  Dem 2 actually had a war over a football match back in de day.  No lie!

We poison dem in 89

We poison dem in 2005

We poison dem again in 2008

I totally understand their frustration.  Especially when they see us in footballing terms like how we used to see de USA back in 89, and how we see Barbados now....as a footballing non entity.  Whether they correct or not...and obviously they not, they feel dey superior to we in terms of football.  Dey feel dey more skillful, better players etc and view us as "WILD".

Sound familiar?
Post by: Brownsugar on October 17, 2008, 10:57:04 AM
Haul dey mudder c#nt

Me too.... ;D
Post by: benedicts bwoy on October 17, 2008, 10:58:22 AM
Chech yuh email BM!
Post by: Rodney on October 17, 2008, 10:58:55 AM

De only other team dem hate more dan we is Honduras.  Dem 2 actually had a war over a football match back in de day.  No lie!

We poison dem in 89

We poison dem in 2005

I totally understand their frustration.  Especially when they see us in footballing terms like how we used to see de USA back in 89, and how we see Barbados now....as a footballing non entity.  Whether they correct or not...and obviously they not, they feel dey superior to we in terms of football.  Dey feel dey more skillful, better players etc and view us as "WILD".

Sound familiar?

That was actually El Salvador and Honduras....Guatemala was'nt involved.
Post by: palos on October 17, 2008, 11:00:54 AM

We poison dem in 89

We poison dem in 2005

Sound familiar?

That was actually El Salvador and Honduras....Guatemala was'nt involved.

My bad.  Thanks for de correction.  Den it eh have any team dem hate more dan we.  8)
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 17, 2008, 11:06:08 AM
Haul dey mudder c#nt

Me too.... ;D

That approving message business. I trade mark tha phrase on here, so alyuh have to pay me ah monie to use it ok.  ;)

I need ah wuk.
Post by: kicker on October 17, 2008, 11:07:11 AM
Then yuh have idiots going on record promising that we'll get to South Africa....  :-\
Post by: Filho on October 17, 2008, 11:07:38 AM

i agree w. the report. i find Daniel had a medicore game. One of our least effective players, without necessarily looking it.

he have a real nice touch and a bess shield. he keeps possession well, but he too slow to distribute, and almost always allows the opposing team to regroup cuz when he gets, he most likely to turn his back on his marker and enagage in ah shielding exercise. he made no crosses of note and didn't show much of a passing range. compare him to his opposite..Carlos Edwards. Carlos covered every inch off that right side. Daniel didn't seem to travel more than a few yards either side of half line. For a left sided midfielder, he did little to stretch the US right back and he didn't do enough in defense to protect Akil Edwards. He is a neat, skillful player, and it was there for all to see. But to me, his performnace could best be described as someone with definite skill and great balance, who didn't appear to do anything wrong. unfortunately, that doh mean he did too much right
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 17, 2008, 11:08:30 AM

We poison dem in 89

We poison dem in 2005

Sound familiar?

Imagine dat!!!  They probably feel exactly the same as we feel about de US all dem years (have better talent but can never get de result).  Sad part is I think (like we do at times as well) they overestimate their talent and quality.
Post by: kicker on October 17, 2008, 11:15:51 AM

To me Keon Daniel has a nice shot...other than that I doh really rate him yet.  Trinis love a player who appears fleet footed and could put a beat down on the opposition...so a player like Keon will be a local favorite.  I think he has potential because of his physical attributes, because he can shoot and he appears to have confidence with the ball at his feet... but from what I've seen apart from the goal against Guate his actual output on the field has been ordinary at best.

Post by: Flex on October 17, 2008, 11:18:05 AM
To me Keon Daniel has a nice shot...other than that I doh really rate him.  Trinis love a player who appears fleet footed and could put a beat down on the opposition...so a player like Keon will be a local favorite.  I think he has potential because of his physical attributes, because he can shoot and he appears to have confidence with the ball at his feet... but from what I've seen apart from the goal against Guate his actual output on the field has been ordinary at best.

Releasing potential and realizing potential are matters of choice, not chance.... 8)....
Post by: Bakes on October 17, 2008, 11:31:15 AM
Black beasts eh?
I have a feeling that Ian Prescott taking that 'black beast' thing out of context.  There's a french term bete noire (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/bete%20noire) that yes, means "black beast", but it's not a racial reference, but rather a reference to something that's been a particular bane or source of fear.

for example... the US has long been our footballing bete noire.   I have a feeling that that's how Prensa Libre meant it.

Lol... ah know ah shoulda finish reading before ah post  :D
Post by: Midknight on October 17, 2008, 11:56:30 AM
Black beasts eh?
I have a feeling that Ian Prescott taking that 'black beast' thing out of context.  There's a french term bete noire (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/bete%20noire) that yes, means "black beast", but it's not a racial reference, but rather a reference to something that's been a particular bane or source of fear.

for example... the US has long been our footballing bete noire.   I have a feeling that that's how Prensa Libre meant it.

Lol... ah know ah shoulda finish reading before ah post  :D

you will get the hang of it one day grasshopper. Until then ...

Wax on, wax off :devil: ;D
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 17, 2008, 01:42:47 PM
Alyuh could correct me if ah wrong. I hear two man from thee Cuba team, they players was staying in Crystal City VA, fuh thee match against the US and they leave the hotel and didn’t return back to Cuba wit thee team. Two ah them want to become illegal aliens.
Post by: Filho on October 17, 2008, 02:20:25 PM
Alyuh could correct me if ah wrong. I hear two man from thee Cuba team, they players was staying in Crystal City VA, fuh thee match against the US and they leave the hotel and didn’t return back to Cuba wit thee team. Two ah them want to become illegal aliens.

they mentioned it during our game. i don't know how important these guys were (were they starters?). But there were two defectors...and they say the want to continue playing ball in the MLS
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 17, 2008, 02:37:12 PM

they mentioned it during our game. i don't know how important these guys were (were they starters?). But there were two defectors...and they say the want to continue playing ball in the MLS

Even if they wasn’t starters, they starting ah new life in the US. They must be hiding, like meh self (sike), because thee man and them in the moss green suits coming fuh them.
Title: Trinidad is a true black beast!
Post by: D.H.W on October 17, 2008, 03:39:18 PM
Guatemalans cry over result
-Ian Prescott

Friday, October 17th 2008

Ramon Maradiaga, Guatemala's Honduran coach, has come in for harsh criticism and likewise Trinidad and Tobago for twice ending Guatemala's World Cup run, according to the country's top newspaper Prensa Libre.

And although Guatemala still have a mathematical chance of advancing to CONCACAF'S Final Round of World Cup qualifying, the consensus in the Central American country is that their World Cup chances are gone.Â

Title: Re: Trinidad is a true black beast!
Post by: Preacher on October 17, 2008, 04:07:00 PM
That have a nice ring to it.  Maybe we should start change Soca Warriors to "The Black Beast"   Sound menacing.  ;D
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 17, 2008, 04:09:07 PM
That have a nice ring to it.  Maybe we should start change Soca Warriors to "The Black Beast"   Sound menacing.  ;D

With de way some ah dem fellas passive dey go ridicule oui jedd!  Nex ting we is Black P U S S Y and all kinda jackassness!  Keep SW
Post by: palos on October 17, 2008, 04:16:12 PM

How Birchy go feel?  ???
Post by: dinho on October 17, 2008, 04:20:42 PM

How Birchy go feel?  ???

lol...

more the "The Black Panda"!
Post by: Preacher on October 17, 2008, 04:25:27 PM

How Birchy go feel?  ???

lol...

:rotfl:  See allyuh ent good nah.  We play USA slow enough to be a panda.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 17, 2008, 04:29:41 PM

How Birchy go feel?  ???

lol...

now dat would be f**k up!! :rotfl:
Post by: sub1 on October 17, 2008, 04:35:04 PM
Guatemalans cry over result
-Ian Prescott

Friday, October 17th 2008

And although Guatemala still have a mathematical chance of advancing to CONCACAF'S Final Round of World Cup qualifying, the consensus in the Central American country is that their World Cup chances are gone.Â

Una Bestia Negra is not racist but is a form of saying that T&T is like a their nemesis or better yet bette noire. We are like their party spoiler. It is more of a praise in this circumstance.
Post by: just cool on October 17, 2008, 04:45:41 PM
Bad mind and the envious never prosper.
Post by: mwanasoka on October 17, 2008, 04:49:28 PM
That have a nice ring to it.  Maybe we should start change Soca Warriors to "The Black Beast"   Sound menacing.  ;D
Nice idea.I all for that.The Guatevillians just cyah stann no small island KUTTIN DEY ASS.This sound so much like the inwardly effeminate sobbings of girly men.

Post by: weary1969 on October 17, 2008, 04:53:49 PM
Doh study dem Guatemala bois
Post by: Deeks on October 17, 2008, 05:29:12 PM
Some of us taking the the black-beast conotation out of context. Bakes is correct in clarifying what the term really meant. To me it means that TT is a pain in Guatemala arse. That is all. Nothing else.
Post by: supporter on October 17, 2008, 05:40:23 PM
Is there any video highlights of the match yet? Not counting the soccernet recap one
Post by: Reaper2004 on October 17, 2008, 05:41:11 PM
Didnt I just post this story earlier today????? ??? ??? ???
Post by: trini_stallion on October 17, 2008, 05:45:14 PM

How Birchy go feel?  ???

lol...

hhahaha..reminds me of that sesame street song...one of these things is not like de other, one these things jst doesnt belong...nahhh fyah fuh black beastt...Panda cld work tho!

Post by: weary1969 on October 17, 2008, 05:56:54 PM
Yuh waxing philosphical dey Flex
Post by: elan on October 17, 2008, 08:55:01 PM
Anyone noticed Scotland movement on the first goal?
Post by: Bakes on October 17, 2008, 11:17:45 PM
Didnt I just post this story earlier today????? ??? ??? ???
Doh study it.. you was still half a day behind flex and dem... this was posted at least three times today.
Post by: Sando prince on October 18, 2008, 12:06:15 AM
Guys MORE HIGHLIGHTS of the recent T&T vs USA game  :beermug:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XqqMLWk2N9w&feature=related
Post by: chinee boi on October 18, 2008, 05:44:38 AM
Guys MORE HIGHLIGHTS of the recent T&T vs USA game  :beermug:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XqqMLWk2N9w&feature=related

sando thxs man nice find  :beermug:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 18, 2008, 06:01:06 AM

thanks...good stuff

hopefully on of you computer guys can d/l it in HQ then release it for us to have lol

i know how to d/l it off youtube but the quality is ok... i want HQ  :)
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 18, 2008, 07:17:10 AM

Nah, Tell we what yuh mean. Off the ball or like disappointed that it wasn’t him that score? 

Post by: Sando prince on October 18, 2008, 11:48:48 AM
Since this was our first win against the U.S in a WC campaign..I took the liberty and put the video in the gols galore forum  :)...Where it would be more accessible in the future
Post by: elan on October 18, 2008, 01:53:08 PM

Nah, Tell we what yuh mean. Off the ball or like disappointed that it wasn’t him that score? 

His run across the goal forcing the defender with him to create space for Latas to step into for the volley.
Title: USA VS Trinidad (replay)
Post by: D.H.W on October 18, 2008, 01:58:12 PM
http://www.ctntworld.com/livestream/index.html game going on now
Post by: Midknight on October 18, 2008, 01:58:21 PM

His run across the goal forcing the defender with him to create space for Latas to step into for the volley.

really nice heads up. Is about 36 hours now I was wondering why Latas was in the box and not the designated striker...
Title: Re: USA VS Trinidad (replay)
Post by: Sando prince on October 18, 2008, 02:00:12 PM
Thanx Jah Gol  :beermug:
Post by: legal alien on October 18, 2008, 02:05:26 PM
thaks dread. I had wanted to see one with trini commentary
Post by: D.H.W on October 18, 2008, 02:07:53 PM
it have plenty commercial doh
Post by: D.H.W on October 18, 2008, 02:08:00 PM

is die hard eh  ;D
Post by: Sando prince on October 18, 2008, 02:09:27 PM

is die hard eh  ;D

:rotfl: yuh ketch meh before ah try to change it boss
Post by: weary1969 on October 18, 2008, 02:09:36 PM
Excellent sando well done
Post by: D.H.W on October 18, 2008, 02:10:21 PM

is die hard eh  ;D

:rotfl: yuh ketch meh before ah try to change it boss

:devil: :devil: :devil:  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Kingk on October 18, 2008, 03:11:07 PM
does anyone have a copy of the game online ? i missed the replay  :-\
Post by: Jah Gol on October 18, 2008, 03:12:01 PM
How to record ?
Post by: D.H.W on October 18, 2008, 03:51:52 PM
How to record ?

i find this

http://www.wmrecorder.com/

i going to see if i get the torrent for it i check it out
Post by: D.H.W on October 18, 2008, 03:54:34 PM
i a find to link to download it

http://isohunt.com/torrent_details/51113920/wm.recorder?tab=summary

edit

http://www.mininova.org/tor/975970
Post by: Jah Gol on October 18, 2008, 04:03:01 PM
cool
Post by: D.H.W on October 18, 2008, 04:20:52 PM
cool

that program rel decent , it recording the c stream automatically yes  :devil: :devil: :devil:  ;D
Post by: vapotrini on October 18, 2008, 09:18:48 PM
I forgot to mention something... what's with all these idiots throwing their bottles towards the field whenever we score lately? After we scored the second goal I cant tell you the amount of bottles (100% plastic yes but still) I saw being launched. Listen, the rest of the CONCACAF already hate us, let's not give them any reason to punish us for such stupidity, please!
Post by: weary1969 on October 18, 2008, 09:37:38 PM
Dem waggonist feel is ah feteeeeeeeee real football fans know dat not acceptable