Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on October 28, 2008, 08:46:48 AM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua Game (05-Nov-2008).
Post by: Flex on October 28, 2008, 08:46:48 AM
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the Digcel Championship game vs Antigua & Barbuda (November 05th) at the Marvin Lee Stadium (7pm) will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.

I95.5fm (http://www.i955fm.com/nowplaying.aspx)

TV Viewing.

To be updated

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers

Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Glenroy Samuel (United Petrotrin).

Defenders

Sean Power (Joe Public), Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin), Julius James (Toronto FC), Karlon Murray (San Juan Jabloteh), Lyndon Diaz (United Petrotrin), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Avery John (Miami FC), Keyeno Thomas (Joe public).

Midfielders

Khaleem Hyland (SV Zulte Waregem), Aurtis Whitley (W Connection), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Keon Daniel (United Petrotrin), Arnold Dwarika (Joe Public), Lester Peltier (San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards

Scott Sealy (San Jose Earthquakes), Cornell Glen (San Juan Jabloteh), Andre Toussaint (W Connection), Devon Jorsling (Defence Force), Jamal Gay (Joe Public).
Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua Game (05-Nov-2008).
Post by: Jah Gol on October 28, 2008, 08:52:56 AM
Any word on prices for these games. Last year Digicel come good with the $20 tix.
Post by: weary1969 on October 28, 2008, 09:36:03 AM
Dat was last yr I expect dey go bust a blues on oui after all is ah double header
Post by: Sando on October 28, 2008, 10:29:37 AM
Nice bunch of players. Only Boucaud and Patterson missing.
Post by: TRUwarrior on October 28, 2008, 10:31:36 AM
Add Sealy tuh the list of forwards
Post by: acb on October 28, 2008, 11:38:46 AM
Is there any chance of James, Hyland and Birchall catching hell from their managers to be released for these games since they are not being played on designated International FIFA dates?

I know Birchall doesn't figure into Coventry's plans in the immediate future ... but what about James and Hyland?

I figure this would positively benefit Hyland since he'll be playing more full internationals to help him out with more caps and the work visa in England. But would his club allow him to travel though?
Post by: palos on October 28, 2008, 11:45:28 AM
Dat was last yr I expect dey go bust a blues on oui after all is ah double header

Yuh goin even doh Sancho eh playin?  :o  ;D
Post by: morvant on October 28, 2008, 11:52:57 AM
Is there any chance of James, Hyland and Birchall catching hell from their managers to be released for these games since they are not being played on designated International FIFA dates?

I know Birchall doesn't figure into Coventry's plans in the immediate future ... but what about James and Hyland?

I figure this would positively benefit Hyland since he'll be playing more full internationals to help him out with more caps and the work visa in England. But would his club allow him to travel though?

julius season done
Post by: Tallman on October 28, 2008, 11:56:48 AM
Any word on prices for these games. Last year Digicel come good with the $20 tix.
I have heard $100 for adults and $50 for children. Of course, it subject to change.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 28, 2008, 12:11:27 PM
I have heard $100 for adults and $50 for children. Of course, it subject to change.
steups.
Post by: weary1969 on October 28, 2008, 12:17:09 PM
Tallman I saw dat comin Jah hard luck. Yeah Palos I accustom limin wit Sancho in d stand
Post by: Bourbon on October 28, 2008, 12:26:13 PM
LAWD!!  I knew de 5th was someting...i thought was somebody birthday. I hadda go tobago and de only boat coming back is 11pm. I go hadda miss dis one.

Den again...100 dollars? Cyar make dat.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 28, 2008, 12:26:45 PM
300 to support my side .Oh well.
Post by: weary1969 on October 28, 2008, 01:09:29 PM
500 in football in Nov Palos boi d drapes idea like it go have 2 bare some fruit
Post by: palos on October 28, 2008, 01:17:21 PM
500 in football in Nov Palos boi d drapes idea like it go have 2 bare some fruit

Yuh lorsin yuh skillz or wha?  Yuh boy Sancho go sponsor yuh...doh fret.. ;D
Post by: weary1969 on October 28, 2008, 01:28:32 PM
Use all 2 d skillz 2 get WIM
Post by: theworm2345 on October 31, 2008, 10:30:58 AM
Kerry Skepple, who has scored the most goals for Antigua's national team this year (5) has been left out of their squad for the DCC due to "communication problems"  Theres still a chance they can get him in.

They are bringing in England based Justin Cochrane (League 1 last year, played in some WCQs for them) and Mikele Leigertwood (QPR, has played in the EPL), he was sent off in QPR's last match, maybe thats why he is eligible now  ;).  I guess Marc Joseph (League 2, played WCQs) will not be making the trip

Antigua Squad (with nicknames):
Goalkeepers:
Kieta DeCastro and Javid Joseph

Defenders:
Garfield “Garry” Gonsalves, George “Sowa” Dublin, Brain Samuel, Damien “Shaster” Farrell and Roy “Ratty” Gregory.

Midfielders
Desmond “Zico” Bleau, Ranjae “Carpy” Christain, Teran Williams, Ken Pennyfeather, Lennox “Fox” Julian, Justin Cochrane and Mikele Leigertwood

Forwards
Peter “Big Pete” Byers, Gason “Bubbler” Gregory, Jamie “Central” Thomas, Randolph “Etty” Burton and Okeem “Soda” Challenger

Antigua Squad (no nicknames)
Kieta DeCastro, Javid Joseph, Garfield Gonsalves, George Dublin, Brain Samuel, Damien Farrell, Roy Gregory, Desmond Bleau, Ranjae Christian, Teran Williams, Ken Pennyfeather, Lennox Julian, Justin Cochrane, Mikele Leigertwood, Peter Byers, Gason Gregory, Jamie Thomas, Randolph Burton, Okeem Challenger

Keep in mind Antigua beat Guyana 3-0 only a month or so ago, so they won't be a pushover

Post by: Sam on November 04, 2008, 10:42:34 AM
Ah going brave.

Phillip
James, Hislop, Thomas, Avery
Gray, Whitley, Leon, Daniel
Sealy, Glen
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 04, 2008, 10:45:46 AM
anyone see a add on the papers or tv? or even a notice on radio?

up to now i dont have a clue on the ticket price

Post by: Touches on November 04, 2008, 10:53:38 AM
Forumites,

I taking a lil sabbatical from these matches...while I would like to see Whitley back, with leon, hyland, Daniel  Wolfe, Sealy and James...I even want to see if Power could handle it just to ease meh partner Palos mind.

I just cyar give Jack and dem a 1000$ This month to see football.

100$ is only the cost of admission and I not really feeling to watch Antigua and the rest.
When yuh factor in beer and food money, travel money, plus the hassel of going home to take a fresh, then to hustle transport to reach and then come back home.

Sorry eh forumites.

I go update alyuh for the Cuba match.

Laters.

p.s. Small Mag they have ad every day in the papers...digicel promo yuh know.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 04, 2008, 11:01:42 AM
mite take in one of the games but sick right now so cant make dat drive to the east
$100 is real pressure tho
Post by: FF on November 04, 2008, 11:03:02 AM
Forumites,

I taking a lil sabbatical from these matches...while I would like to see Whitley back, with leon, hyland, Daniel  Wolfe, Sealy and James...I even want to see if Power could handle it just to ease meh partner Palos mind.

I just cyar give Jack and dem a 1000$ This month to see football.

100$ is only the cost of admission and I not really feeling to watch Antigua and the rest.
When yuh factor in beer and food money, travel money, plus the hassel of going home to take a fresh, then to hustle transport to reach and then come back home.

Sorry eh forumites.

I go update alyuh for the Cuba match.

Laters.

p.s. Small Mag they have ad every day in the papers...digicel promo yuh know.

Touches, Touches... yuh disappointing meh man...

Now I know that money hard to cough up these days... but it have ah big storming thread going on right now that youself post some gems in... Yuh mean to say yuh ent self get no inspiration to jump ah fence... suck een yuh belly and squeeze through de turnstyle... Walk in bold like you is Ollie Camps self?

Go strong Touches... we with yuh in spirit... yuh must get thru!!
Post by: Touches on November 04, 2008, 11:17:57 AM
Oh Gorm Man FF, you self

Is one thing to storm a all inclusive with Johnny Flowing and Woman wining.

Is one thing to Storm a WCQ in the stadium.

But to travel quite up in the east, to storm the COE to watch Seon Power run out vs Antigua.

Nah I good dey!

Post by: FF on November 04, 2008, 11:29:48 AM
Oh Gorm Man FF, you self

Is one thing to storm a all inclusive with Johnny Flowing and Woman wining.

Is one thing to Storm a WCQ in the stadium.

But to travel quite up in the east, to storm the COE to watch Seon Power run out vs Antigua.

Nah I good dey!

Point taken
Post by: E-man on November 04, 2008, 12:21:55 PM
match coverage also at the sponsors site: http://digicelfootball.com/

and before anybody asks, http://chat.socawarriors.net is the chat room.
Post by: weary1969 on November 04, 2008, 01:16:24 PM
Yeah Touches I understand yuh dilemna iz 500 4 football dis mth
Post by: palos on November 04, 2008, 01:46:39 PM
I takin bets.

Touches CYANNOT RESISS going COE, payin Jackula he $100 to watch Seon Power run out fuh T&T in AT LEAST 1 game in de Digicel Cup!

Weary needah!
Post by: Jah Gol on November 04, 2008, 03:58:20 PM
I will be there.
Post by: Big Magician on November 04, 2008, 04:20:52 PM
see you there Touches
Post by: morvant on November 04, 2008, 04:23:38 PM
watch out fuh #3
Post by: g on November 04, 2008, 05:21:41 PM
lol @ Touches, i dey
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 04, 2008, 05:25:17 PM
lol @ Touches, i dey

only cuz is a small trod for u!! u goin anyting in de COE!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 04, 2008, 05:58:11 PM
Why has the 18 man squad yet to be released?

Post by: palos on November 04, 2008, 06:36:44 PM
watch out fuh #3

Yuh know players sah.  Seon number dat... ;D
Post by: weary1969 on November 04, 2008, 07:34:11 PM
I always plan 2 b dey cing d new and improve Seon Power priceless
Post by: g on November 04, 2008, 09:40:52 PM
lol @ Touches, i dey

only cuz is a small trod for u!! u goin anyting in de COE!

when  game playing in d mannie i dey too.... well whenever dey plan to  ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 05, 2008, 08:51:15 AM
Why has the 18 man squad yet to be released?

he keeping it close to his chest imagine that
Post by: Sando on November 05, 2008, 09:19:09 AM
Ah going brave.

Phillip
James, Hislop, Thomas, Avery
Gray, Whitley, Leon, Daniel
Sealy, Glen

I like that team Sam. We have no natural right wingers, so Gray might to well and at the same time add some stability to the midfield.
Post by: Big Magician on November 05, 2008, 12:22:09 PM
    4-4-1-1                                                        phillips

Gray        Hislop     James      A John

Peltier/Hyland      Leon     Whitley      Daniel

Dwarika

Glenn
Post by: TRUwarrior on November 05, 2008, 02:27:48 PM
allyuh sure is antigua we playin?...why are we cloggin up d midfield against them?
antigua = usa???
ah  4-4-2 would not have done any harm
Post by: theworm2345 on November 05, 2008, 03:46:13 PM
1st match starts in a few minutes, anyone about radio or TV?
Post by: The_Ice on November 05, 2008, 05:07:02 PM
any coverage for the game anywhere?I95 dont seem to have anything on it.
Post by: theworm2345 on November 05, 2008, 05:09:08 PM
any coverage for the game anywhere?I95 dont seem to have anything on it.
I checked I95, FM 103, CTNT and CNC 3, nothing on any of them  :(  I did see an ad for Digicel Football on CTNT though   :-\
Post by: najee on November 05, 2008, 05:26:02 PM
could one tell me if the game over ctnt  or 95.5fm...iam not getting anything...could someone help if a getting feed
Post by: Boodsy on November 05, 2008, 05:30:18 PM
TT 0 - ANT 1

antigua just score on 23rd minute..
Post by: theworm2345 on November 05, 2008, 05:31:55 PM
TT 0 - ANT 1

How you know?
Post by: just cool on November 05, 2008, 05:32:41 PM
could one tell me if the game over ctnt  or 95.5fm...iam not getting anything...could someone help if a getting feed
Najee the game on vibe CT as i type.                              positive.
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 05, 2008, 05:32:54 PM
http://www.jumptv.com/en/channel/thevibect105fm/

You have to sign up for dat site, though.
Post by: Boodsy on November 05, 2008, 05:35:24 PM
TT 0 - ANT 1

How you know?

I'm listening live in Trinidad Vibe CT 105...not on the internet though
Post by: Sando on November 05, 2008, 05:36:36 PM
Both game still in progress.

Guyana 1 vs St. Kitts & Nevis 1

Trinidad and Tobago 0 vs Antigua & Barbuda 1 (Sean Power own goal 23).
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 05:39:20 PM
the other match 1:1

A first half dominated by Guyana who are clearly the favourites in this match - I just wish they would be more confident in moving the ball forward. Its one way traffic although the game poised at 1-1

Post by: theworm2345 on November 05, 2008, 05:40:02 PM
Both game still in progress.

Guyana 1 vs St. Kitts & Nevis 1

Trinidad and Tobago 0 vs Antigua & Barbuda 1 (Sean Power own goal 23).
I heard it was Byers who scored...they showed a live look in on CTNT Sport, don't know why they're not showing it live
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 05:41:57 PM
http://chat.socawarriors.net

Post by: Boodsy on November 05, 2008, 05:43:39 PM
plenty chances but the ball just won't go in..... >:(

sub
sealy on for wolfe...
dwarika on for whitley
Post by: Toussaint on November 05, 2008, 05:51:12 PM
You guys can also get updates here: http://www.digicelfootball.com/ (http://www.digicelfootball.com/) (I am not sure how often they update the info, though).
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:00:55 PM
at the half it's still 1:0 to Antigua
Post by: kounty on November 05, 2008, 06:01:46 PM
You guys can also get updates here: http://www.digicelfootball.com/ (http://www.digicelfootball.com/) (I am not sure how often they update the info, though).

I spot this on that site http://www.digicelfootball.com/nmcms.php?snippet=news&p=news_item&id=272 (http://www.digicelfootball.com/nmcms.php?snippet=news&p=news_item&id=272)
seem like cuba ent slippin'  hope muh boy mats and dem fellas ent bouce dey head on nov 19th.
Post by: che on November 05, 2008, 06:15:19 PM
shit I forget that toronto one hour behind T&T now
Post by: Boodsy on November 05, 2008, 06:17:51 PM
ah getting frustrated listen to this match...de fellas not stepping up the game...antigua still managing to shoot at we goal but ah eh hearing no action on the other side...it eh sounding like a T&T team at all   >:(
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:21:23 PM
Here is an alternate link that doesn't require sign in (http://meta.globix.net/m/wm/wls-10/ct105.wax)
Post by: NUFF on November 05, 2008, 06:25:42 PM
How de ass we losing to Antigua?  And these suppose to be professional players we have.
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:28:11 PM
Maturana stands up !!!
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:28:53 PM
Cornell goal 1:1
header into the roof of the net.

a minute later Sealy throw away.
Post by: NUFF on November 05, 2008, 06:30:08 PM
Header by Glen
Post by: rickstaa on November 05, 2008, 06:30:54 PM
http://www.jumptv.com/en/channel/thevibect105fm/

You have to sign up for dat site, though.
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:33:08 PM
Dwarika goal 2:1 . Daniel through to Dwarika

Post by: rickstaa on November 05, 2008, 06:34:02 PM
goal goal goal :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Boodsy on November 05, 2008, 06:34:55 PM
Dwarika goal 2:1 . Daniel through to Dwarika

ah wonder if the floodgates go open up now... ;D
Post by: NUFF on November 05, 2008, 06:35:56 PM
Dem ole men eh makin joke.  Latapy, Yorke and now Dwarika.
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:37:20 PM
Toussaint replaces Glen
Post by: che on November 05, 2008, 06:38:55 PM
how much time left?
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:39:44 PM
how much time left?

79th minute
Post by: che on November 05, 2008, 06:41:26 PM
how much time left?

79th minute

Thanks, we need one more goal.
Post by: rickstaa on November 05, 2008, 06:44:23 PM
Toussaint replaces Glen

Toussaint should do well against Antigua
Post by: Boodsy on November 05, 2008, 06:47:31 PM
3:1  Toussaint scores
Post by: NUFF on November 05, 2008, 06:48:15 PM
Goal Toussaint.
Post by: samo on November 05, 2008, 06:48:57 PM
Dwarika has always performed well for T&T...
Go T&T
Post by: frico on November 05, 2008, 06:52:09 PM
Trinidad is getting like de Bajans dey like coming from behind.
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 06:52:27 PM
3:2 (0:1)

FINAL

Byers 23

Glen 68
Dwarika 73
Toussaint 88

Burton 90+

digicelfootball.com: FULL TIME Trinidad 3 - Antigua 2 Trinidad as expected really turned up for the second half and proved that they really are favourites to top this group. Relentless in front of goal with three goals in the second half...great stuff in front of a full patriotic home crowd...roll on Friday

Post by: Boodsy on November 05, 2008, 06:54:33 PM
3:2 now

FINAL

STEUPS...why the ass  dey does always do dah kinda sh*t boi
anyway...ah still thankfull for the win
Post by: FireBrand on November 05, 2008, 07:00:16 PM
De corbeaux brand strikes again!  ::)

Post by: frico on November 05, 2008, 07:02:28 PM
When will TT learn to keep playing till the end of a match.F*****G  DEFENDERS NOT CLOSING DOWN DE OPPOSING ATTACKERS JUST BCOZ THE MATCH COMING TO AN END,play de game till the end man.How could anybody trust dis team to go SA.
Post by: D.H.W on November 05, 2008, 07:09:01 PM
When will TT learn to keep playing till the end of a match.F*****G  DEFENDERS NOT CLOSING DOWN DE OPPOSING ATTACKERS JUST BCOZ THE MATCH COMING TO AN END,play de game till the end man.How could anybody trust dis team to go SA.

well technically is not the same team, but i get what u mean
Post by: theworm2345 on November 05, 2008, 07:16:52 PM
Match Facts:
http://caribbeanfootballdatabase.com/matches/2008/trinidadandtobagovsantiguaandbarbuda1152008.html
Post by: frico on November 05, 2008, 07:31:26 PM

well technically is not the same team, but i get what u mean
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 05, 2008, 07:35:34 PM
ah win iz ah win.
Post by: Babalawo on November 05, 2008, 07:54:41 PM
Dwarika has always performed well for T&T...
Go T&T

Yea i want to see all Dwarika bad talkers now. Whey allyuh dey.
Post by: g on November 05, 2008, 08:02:58 PM
Well folks i now come back from d MLS, dem men play one set ah nonsense tonight....

But we still win... go figure.....

Maturana got it all wrong again on team selection and formation 4-5-1 was tried and failed today.

Whitley hasnt kicked a ball in months and start.... At least he corrected himself with the first half subs.

We basically played with no motivation, but Antigua is big and strong in all areas of the field, a cohesive unit as well. Is only when we start to see d clock ticking near the middle of the second half, we start to up the intensity and scored the goals.

Watching the wing backs on both sides was painful tonight... I not sure if i making d other games as Antigua was our strongest opposition in this group stage.
Post by: E-man on November 05, 2008, 08:04:51 PM
Well folks i now come back from d MLS, dem men play one set ah nonsense tonight....

Maturana got it all wrong again on team selection and formation 4-5-1 was tried and failed today.

Whitley hasnt kicked a ball in months and start.... At least he corrected himself with the first half subs.

We basically played with no motivation, but Antigua is big and strong in all areas of the field, a cohesive unit as well. Is only when we start to see d clock ticking near the middle of the second half, we start to up the intensity and scored the goals.

Watching the wing backs on both sides was painful tonight... I not sure if i making d other games as Antigua was our strongest opposition in this group stage.

g, how much were tickets and how large was the crowd?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 05, 2008, 08:07:01 PM
Maturana is a rell ass...  start an unfit Whitley...start with a 4-5-1 at home against Antigua... start shithong Akeil Edwards and Makan....put Dwarika RW until Dwarika beg to go in cm resulting the 1st goal within 2 mins of that  then right after Dwarika score the 2nd....Take off Wolfe who was having a good game and left on Hyland who played level shit and push Dwarika out right and left Hyland in when Wolfe wud have been the better option on the wing and Dwarika in for Hyland....

why this man still here!!!!????

positives:
Scott Sealy was good when he came on
Dwarika was very good when he was central
Wolfe had good aggression and did very well on the wing

negatives:
Akeil Edwards....my god...that bad
Hyland and Leon...were terrible today

ok's:
Daniel...very normal performance
Seon Power...he not fully fit as yet and had a ok game
Post by: najee on November 05, 2008, 08:08:22 PM
i don't understand this shit...i keep saying this over and over...national football players from young and old have to start playing consistently and with more focus...that shit with these defenders...they lack of focus...and stop kicking the f**king ball over bar...else train to kick the the ball in a empty net....what the f**k...and these guys are professional...are you kidding me
Post by: acb on November 05, 2008, 08:21:19 PM
Whoa .... people, take a step back and breathe!!

I understand the frustrations .... but this game was a friendly with the intentions to experiment before the HEX start.

I actually will break with the status quo and commend Mats for trying something new and something different in this game. I expect to see more of the organised mess in the next practice match we have as well.

If we had played a good game, well every would be happy ... but this is a game for him to experiment and give futher fringe players a chance to make a strong case to be in the final team that will play in the hex.

Knowing that it have two or more players competing hard for the one spot in the field in the games that matter will drive men to focus, play better and be more consistent. That is something that both Mats and us can agree on.

Everything else we might need to agree to disagree with Mats ... but the results will speak the loudest.
Post by: samo on November 05, 2008, 08:21:29 PM
Thanx Small M for the mini report
Post by: Big Magician on November 05, 2008, 08:23:02 PM
nail biting win vz antigua...

Maturana...hear nah.... de man pick power and edwards over gray and john... pick an unfit rusty whitley...and play he 4-5-1 vz antigua... so them 4-4-1-1 vz guatemala and USA was not his preferred system then??...
he change it in the 35th min...4-4-2 ...... with sealy on for wolfe...and arnold for whitley....
 so he did not know all this before ??...ent dem training since sunday??..ent antigua play the u-20,s in tobago ??.. no scouts ??.. no info from vranes ???

anigua big..strong..some good pace in front with Byers etc...they not keeping no ball...playing a lil counter...

check this too.... he call dwarika to the team right ???...which tells me he see the man in some PFL games and CCL games...yuh know he put arnold to play wide right ...then he finally put him in the middle...hyland was poor all night ..pick up a yellow...yet still he take off the energetic wolfe...and let hyland play 90 with a yellow for like 25 mins...silly....

quick ratings

phillips... rather sloppy tonight...5

hislop...sloppy...poor decisions.....5

thomas....flat...but decent...6

edwards....sorry for this kid...no confidence...poor...3

power..good engine...heads the ball well..some good overlap and crosses....but if yuh think he could replace Gray and stop the yellow and red card flow...well he is a card man also...but i know he coming off a lay off etc...good cover...6

Leon...poor...5

Hyland...poor poor poor...where is the Hyland vz england ??... and he carrying a "big player" style...only looked the part in the last 10 mins...4

whitley...well i was asking small mag on the way to the game if whitley played any matches or reserve team matchs for connection recently...or if he "still" with connection...so what basis was he recalled ... because babwha say he drop foof gone ???.. so what we put the man iun for ?/..with the armband...wont it be better if he came on for a last 20 mins and work his way back in ???.....4

daniel...starting to fall off also...and i am sure thats to do with his club..his bad trial with west ham...it looks mental...but he did well on the night....7

wolfe...bustle, hustle and energy...but he does it with the ball also..so always looks like he is going to lost control of the ball...wrongly subsituted....6

Glenn..."de" star boy...needs a slap around the ear from "real" star boys... well i guess he is the only tnt player in history to hit a world cup post ...so he is a star,,,,scored a good header... 5

subs

Dwarika...as he said on TV last night before tha game " you will get Arnold"..and thats what we got...some neat passing...some mismatched bounce around in midfield...cross foot...drag ( left foot one)... his first touch for the goal he scored was worth the price of admission..serious... and he was involved in all 3 goals...   7

sealy...did some hustle around...and did well to knock back some smart passes with his back to goal..... 6

Toussaint... tickle tickle here and there....was stange that 2 defenders refused to tackle him in the box for the goal he scored...loked like they were afraid to give up a penalty...good finish...5

to me maturana should start these first 2 matches with the strongest 11... secure the group and give the other players a chance in the last match...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 05, 2008, 08:24:11 PM

I understand the frustrations .... but this game was a friendly with the intentions to experiment before the HEX start.

I actually will break with the status quo and commend Mats for trying something new and something different in this game. I expect to see more of the organised mess in the next practice match we have as well.

If we had played a good game, well every would be happy ... but this is a game for him to experiment and give futher fringe players a chance to make a strong case to be in the final team that will play in the hex.

Knowing that it have two or more players competing hard for the one spot in the field in the games that matter will drive men to focus, play better and be more consistent. That is something that both Mats and us can agree on.

Everything else we might need to agree to disagree with Mats ... but the results will speak the loudest.

u for real?

the man gambled with our WC qualifiers...needed Jack Dwight and Latas to pick a proper 18 and save the journey

now he gambling with our progress to the digicel finals and Gold Cup 2009...   

we have no more time for gambling son... send his ass back to Colombia
Post by: acb on November 05, 2008, 08:32:01 PM
nobody saying that the man not gambling and it didn't backfire in his face the first time.
But WCQ takes priority over Digicel Cup and Gold Cup anydays.

If Digicel and Gold Cup was so important, the man wouldve picked the 18 saviours.

Need to give the man the opportunity to bleed new talent in International Matches.
Whitley and company not looking unfit, rusty and sloppy because they shitty. Men have zero match fitness.
So give them a run out in an International against some competition other than PFL grafters.

Is opportunities like this that Beenie show us Whitley, and Mats/Wim show us Daniel.

Post by: Big Magician on November 05, 2008, 08:38:08 PM
acb ??  wha friendly you talking about ..or is it ABC ??
Post by: acb on November 05, 2008, 08:40:06 PM
acb is right.

I initially thought that this was a friendly to prep for the game against Cuba on Nov 19th.
Didn't follow that this was part of the Digicel Cup.

my bad.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 05, 2008, 08:56:31 PM
So did peltier make the team ??
Post by: weary1969 on November 05, 2008, 09:02:51 PM
Firebrand has already spoken 4 me.
Post by: najee on November 05, 2008, 09:08:39 PM

acb...i understand this is a friendly or practice to some...but for me...iam looking for consistency with there game play..because the gold cup or hex...the mistake and lack of focus will course direly in game that really matter
Post by: acb on November 05, 2008, 09:21:43 PM

acb...i understand this is a friendly or practice to some...but for me...iam looking for consistency with there game play..because the gold cup or hex...the mistake and lack of focus will course direly in game that really matter

nah boss ... I agree with you. You preaching to the choir. We absolutely need to get more consistent.
However, how we get from the point of inconsistency to consistency could possibly be solved over the course of several warm-ups and practice matches.
Ent you have to creep before you could walk? Same thing here. We need to master the basic steps and them men have to get challenged.

I sure in practice, man does be bussing the onion bag 10 outta 10 times. When it comes to real matches against sturdy competiton, men scoring 1 out 10 times.

We have a man that does wear #14 - in the top 5 in the whole wide mudda c**t world for International goals scored. Yet ... how much more that coulda be?
Stern does throw-way, yes. But he does buss the net when we really need it. 
Post by: just cool on November 05, 2008, 09:32:02 PM
nobody saying that the man not gambling and it didn't backfire in his face the first time.
But WCQ takes priority over Digicel Cup and Gold Cup anydays.

If Digicel and Gold Cup was so important, the man wouldve picked the 18 saviours.

Need to give the man the opportunity to bleed new talent in International Matches.
Whitley and company not looking unfit, rusty and sloppy because they shitty. Men have zero match fitness.
So give them a run out in an International against some competition other than PFL grafters.

Is opportunities like this that Beenie show us Whitley, and Mats/Wim show us Daniel.

Breds digicel and gold cup is legitimate internationals, those is the kind of matches that counts when it comes to over seas contracts in britain as far as work permit eligibility is concerned.

we need to be in all those tourneys if we expect to advance our fifa rating,in addition helping young talents the like of daniels, A edwards, hislop and hyland to have the caps needed to play on ah higher level.
Post by: najee on November 05, 2008, 09:36:27 PM

nah boss ... I agree with you. You preaching to the choir. We absolutely need to get more consistent.
However, how we get from the point of inconsistency to consistency could possibly be solved over the course of several warm-ups and practice matches.
Ent you have to creep before you could walk? Same thing here. We need to master the basic steps and them men have to get challenged.

I sure in practice, man does be bussing the onion bag 10 outta 10 times. When it comes to real matches against sturdy competiton, men scoring 1 out 10 times.

We have a man that does wear #14 - in the top 5 in the whole wide mudda c**t world for International goals scored. Yet ... how much more that coulda be?
Stern does throw-way, yes. But he does buss the net when we really need it. 

acb..iam not only talking about our Senior team but our u20, u17, u15 and whatever else team they have...the local coached from the back yard to intercol have to start train these kid the very right way..with holeing procession, traping..speed up the pace the game with consistency and be more aggressed
Post by: Warrior30 on November 05, 2008, 09:44:35 PM
Question:::::::

Why Avery John and Julius James aint play????? ANYONE can answer that please.

thanks
Post by: acb on November 05, 2008, 09:46:18 PM
JC, I not disagreeing with you at all on that one. Yes we absolutely need to be in all those tournaments.
However, we need to use fringe players at some point so that we have a wider talent pool to choose from.

Using the best, same 18 for WCQ, Digicel Cup and Gold Cup is not giving the other players the chance to stand out - or at least display what they have to offer.

We have to find a way to give some of the other players exposure, and sometimes when you dealing with a younger, inexperienced squad you have to experiment with the formation and tactics in order to protect some of the players weaknesses, and adjust during the game as need be.

If Mats is not experimenting a little, and not giving daniels, A edwards, hislop and hyland the chance to play over the preferred 18/ starting squad that we run with versus Guatemala and the US - then:
1. They will never have any of the important caps to ply their trade with a foreign club.
2. We will be depending on the same old players without bleeding any new talent.
3. There is no way that preferred players such KJ, Yorke, Latas, Stern, etc will get released to play in these games versus Antigua and company.

Other question: Was today a part of the international calender where if we had called up our preferred players, that they had to be released?
Post by: theworm2345 on November 05, 2008, 10:37:51 PM

Other question: Was today a part of the international calender where if we had called up our preferred players, that they had to be released?
It was not, the 19th is the only date in November
Post by: palos on November 06, 2008, 12:16:27 AM

thanks

Because only 14 can play?  Me eh know.  I jes guessin

What I do know is dat it seem no matter wha mats do, it eh go ever be enough fuh some peeps.

If Whitley didn't play, peeps woulda be bawlin...how come Whitley eh play?  If he play, dey bawlin why he play?

Same ting fuh almost everybody else.

And all dis after yet another win for T&T.

Oh well.
Post by: Youth Baller on November 06, 2008, 12:48:05 AM
Question...... So I guess Latapy really did get blank the assistant coach Job. Or is it just for WCQ.....?
Post by: lil damo on November 06, 2008, 01:05:39 AM

thanks

Because only 14 can play?  Me eh know.  I jes guessin

What I do know is dat it seem no matter wha mats do, it eh go ever be enough fuh some peeps.

If Whitley didn't play, peeps woulda be bawlin...how come Whitley eh play?  If he play, dey bawlin why he play?

Same ting fuh almost everybody else.

And all dis after yet another win for T&T.

Oh well.

Palos, I agree completely. One of the reasons why I visit this site less and less is because of the incredible amount of negativity towards everything the coach does. You put it rightly, if Whitely didn't play we’d here criticism, he played and we still hearing criticism. It really doesn’t matter what the coach does someone will find a reason to criticize. We won the game and frankly, I’m happy to see some of the younger and more inexperienced players like Powers, Leon, Hyland, Hislop, Daniels, Phillips and Edwards getting a chance to grow.

This is a perfect opportunity for the coach get some of these players CAPs, experience and exposure. Hopefully we will see some of these guys transfer abroad in January. We underestimate some of the other leagues out there besides England like Switzerland, Portugal, Netherlands, Belgium, Turkey, Russia, Ireland, Czech Republic, and Brazil. I’d like to see some of these guys populate some of those other leagues instead of holding out for these English clubs. 
Post by: dombasil on November 06, 2008, 03:27:31 AM
Alyuh jes not serious.
Doesn't Whitley need as much match practice as possible?
Yes, it is an official tournament but compared to the WC qualifiers it is a practice match. One in which the coach can and should experiment with some players, give others a chance (Sealy) as well as get players who are recovering from injury, players who when fit would be on the WC squad playing time (Whitley).
Post by: Big Magician on November 06, 2008, 05:43:17 AM
whitley...well i was asking small mag on the way to the game if whitley played any matches or reserve team matches for connection recently...or if he "still" with connection...so on what basis was he recalled ... because babwha say he drop foof gone ??.. so what we put the man in for ?/..with the armband...wont it be better if he came on for a last 20 mins and work his way back in ???.....4

people..please... the national team is not for "match practice"...thats what his club for... i not vex he play..but make some sense ...all over the world you see players coming back into it gradually...look KJ...some second half sweat..then a start.... or i guess we change the world

is aurtis whitley still with connection ???
Post by: Oz on November 06, 2008, 06:07:02 AM
Yes, Big Mag, Aurtis is still with Connection.

He came on as a sub against Rangers last Thursday at Ato Boldon.

He is obviously not match fit as yet. Not the Aurtis that we know, but class is class, and he will get there.
Post by: g on November 06, 2008, 06:17:30 AM

g, how much were tickets and how large was the crowd?

Stadium was about 2/3 full.
Post by: jai john on November 06, 2008, 07:24:11 AM
I agree with those who have stated that Maturana cannot please some people. I wonder if those same negative people are looking at football worldwide ? Brazil eh walking over Bolivia, peru and Venezuela again !! England kyah even qualify for the European champioships, Argentina, with all their stars, have had a dismal showing in their last 6 games prompting a new coach, Real madrid struggling, etc.. its happening everywhere folks and victory is now not certain anywhere.
It is very unfair that a coach trying to blood new talent is criticized , even in victory !
Check the man's record ! Damned if he wins damned if he doesn't !
If any of these detractors feel strongly about it maybe they could name a replacement ? 
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 06, 2008, 07:29:49 AM
I agree with those who have stated that Maturana cannot please some people. I wonder if those same negative people are looking at football worldwide ? Brazil eh walking over Bolivia, peru and Venezuela again !! England kyah even qualify for the European champioships, Argentina, with all their stars, have had a dismal showing in their last 6 games prompting a new coach, Real madrid struggling, etc.. its happening everywhere folks and victory is now not certain anywhere.
It is very unfair that a coach trying to blood new talent is criticized , even in victory !
Check the man's record ! Damned if he wins damned if he doesn't !
If any of these detractors feel strongly about it maybe they could name a replacement ? 

who is  the new talent on that digicel team?
Post by: lil damo on November 06, 2008, 08:31:41 AM
No Offense intended but how long u following this national team? New talent include Hyland, Edwards, Leon, Powers, Hislop, Gay, Josling, Daniels (still relatively new to int'l football), Phillips, James and the sub keeper, I forget his name. Although some of these guys playing all year with the WCQ team, it doesn't mean they are veterans; all of those guys are new and inexperienced when you consider they've only been introduced to int'l football within the last year and 1/2. They absolutely need to play in these competitions to continue to grow and in some cases get recognized by foreign clubs.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 06, 2008, 09:10:49 AM
BTW

If allyuh men see dem Digicel Girls...wow    and dey put them on some tall barrel thingy and they whine for the first 20 mins of the game...  The entire male population in the crowd didnt watch the first 20 mins... ;D

i'll take the camera next time for allyuh  ;D
Post by: warmonga on November 06, 2008, 09:47:05 AM
this score line is a joke .. antigua 2 trinidad and tobago 3 .. dem yute dem wutless. we should just play we under 17 in this tournament I gurantee dey will play better than this squad we have dey..
Post by: Touches on November 06, 2008, 09:48:57 AM
AH boy,

Like I ent miss nuttin....well maybe the digicel girls. (Small M, were they in white pants tighter dan a vice grip  :D )

I taking Big M view as "truth"...and he is a little more forgiving than me so in other words it sound like men real play shit last night.

Oh well we triumphed in a come from behind win vs Antigua so its all good.

Good Job fellas, thanks for the write up, appreciated  :beermug:

Post by: Sam on November 06, 2008, 11:03:48 AM
First game fellas, relax.

Anybody have pictures of the digicel girls ?
Post by: weary1969 on November 06, 2008, 12:52:55 PM
All who in a foreign land who not visitin d site regular stop comin since ash wed man see this side and no improvement but we winnin so we must swing from d rafters. Howver, when we needed2 win Bermuda cut we tail u know y because it have sooooooooo musch luck ah team could have. So leh we beat Cuba and reach d hex u go c y man sayin that d team is a joke once Latas and Yorke eh around
Post by: jai john on November 06, 2008, 01:25:19 PM
two world cupa ago Brazil was in a must win situation against venezuela to qualify for the World Cup. Imagine Brazil in a must win situation down to the last game !!!! History will show they went on to win de World Cup ...i it has happened. We eh dere yet but dont rule us out ... If some ah we did see messi when he was 12 we woudda write him off ..in fact most people did ..except Barcelona who later took a chance on him paying in advance for his medical bills and growth hormone treatments ...anybody want to say whether that was a good decision or not ?
we are to creep before we walk ...some people want instant success . I just chalk it down to this instant generation... all yuh know it have countries like Venezuela who never play in ah world cup yet ? ....we win two silver medals in the olympics one with reserves ....... trinidad beat Middlesex , a professional team with men who have other jobs to survive ..STOP ALL DIS NEGATIVE TALK ! GIVE THE TEAM A CHANCE !
Post by: Weh-it-is on November 06, 2008, 01:26:52 PM
Maturana is a rell ass...  start an unfit Whitley...start with a 4-5-1 at home against Antigua... start shithong Akeil Edwards and Makan....put Dwarika RW until Dwarika beg to go in cm resulting the 1st goal within 2 mins of that  then right after Dwarika score the 2nd....Take off Wolfe who was having a good game and left on Hyland who played level shit and push Dwarika out right and left Hyland in when Wolfe wud have been the better option on the wing and Dwarika in for Hyland....

why this man still here!!!!????

positives:
Scott Sealy was good when he came on
Dwarika was very good when he was central
Wolfe had good aggression and did very well on the wing

negatives:
Akeil Edwards....my god...that bad
Hyland and Leon...were terrible today

ok's:
Daniel...very normal performance
Seon Power...he not fully fit as yet and had a ok game

He much better inside than on the wing, Give him some time. He know this is he last chance. Ah make ah call.  ;)
Post by: Fantastic on November 06, 2008, 02:31:48 PM
Why man does get vex when people criticize Mats or players here on this board? Isn't de purpose to sound off with yuh opinions and get feedback. Man does be bashing Brazil coach, Portugal coach, England coach while dey discussing football, but people must come on dis board with pompoms or flag and be all positive? Look, let people express deyself whether yuh agree or not and you welcome to do de same. BTW, Mats does do some good thing in my opinion along with de shit that he does do. Ah fully understand why man does get frustrated because his methods are not clear and easily understood. It is hard to analyze what he does, what is just luck, what he has no control over, how he feels about most things etc. That is his choice to do things in that inconsistent way and not pacify the supporters by even offering a hint of an explanation to his method of  madness. Therefore, i feel if he doesn't care if we criticize him, why  men feel de need to defend him?
Post by: injunchile on November 06, 2008, 03:19:05 PM
We do the same with every coach except Bennie- That is what makes us Trini.
 Even Bennie came in for some criticism with respect to Latapy. Every serious trini supporter is a coach, unfortunately only elen players on the field at a given time. Maturana was grooming a team for 2014, until someone told him the next W/C is 2010.
Post by: theworm2345 on November 06, 2008, 03:44:00 PM
I have like 3-5 minute video of the middle of the first half and an offside goal for Antigua if anyone would like to see it
Post by: Deeks on November 06, 2008, 04:05:58 PM
Worm,
 leh we have it.
Post by: morvant on November 06, 2008, 04:38:29 PM
I have like 3-5 minute video of the middle of the first half and an offside goal for Antigua if anyone would like to see it

we doh ask them kinda questions on this board. we taking warm-up and all
Post by: theworm2345 on November 06, 2008, 04:54:10 PM
Worm,
 leh we have it.
OK, its only like 2 minutes and I couldn't cut it as its in an ASF file, but it should play in Windows Media Player.  8:15 in.
http://sharebee.com/5f097d6c
Post by: Lower St. John on November 06, 2008, 05:10:22 PM
De problem for me with our national football team is not the crap that is played on the field but not understanding the coaches' decisions.  Most National Team coaches have media conferences where the press (public representative) has an opportunity to question the decision made.  A coach explaining the reasons for the different formations and player personnell selection (injuries, form, nothing over board) would allay most of my feelings that the coach is an idiot or a puppet.  

I could stomach de corbeaux football if I know it was a conscious decision to play Akile Edwards over Avery, Leaving out Julius and sticking with Makan Hislop, trying out players over the senior team players (no reason needed), or to play Dwarika on the wing, or to play 4-4-1-1 or not wanting to make subs during the game although some men running with their tongue out, or continuing with certain players while not trying out other players.

De results will always be men voicing their opinions as though it is bond without anything to support it.

Blessing
Post by: theworm2345 on November 06, 2008, 05:31:45 PM
I got highlights of both matches on the way  :)
Post by: Jah Gol on November 06, 2008, 06:03:12 PM
Worm what tv card you using ?
Post by: just cool on November 06, 2008, 06:18:29 PM
To me this coach is ah egomaniac! he had my support until the first gautemala and USA game, after that he loss me in ah fog of madness.

when you could leave out avery john for slow backpassing all the time aklie edwards, and put on slow man jason over lightening speed daryll in such a critical must win game is ah forkin mind boggling mystry to me!!

this coach don't know what real talent is even if it jumped up and bit him on the nose, and it's evident since he has exercised extremely poor judgement throughout this WCQ campaign as far as team selection is concerned.

I hope he's gone by FEB 11th, if not there's a chance of him causing us the campaign with his erratic team selection policy.                               positive.
Post by: theworm2345 on November 06, 2008, 06:19:57 PM
Worm what tv card you using ?
I use a ATI Wonder Pro (or something like that), but thats not what I use for these, I just recorded a stream...I don't get T&T channels here :)
Post by: Jah Gol on November 06, 2008, 06:23:47 PM
cool
Post by: weary1969 on November 06, 2008, 07:28:21 PM
Y he go give press conference not even in he native tougue he could explain he selection criteria and d crap d players playin.
Post by: acb on November 06, 2008, 09:24:09 PM
Y he go give press conference not even in he native tougue he could explain he selection criteria and d crap d players playin.

we have any reporters that could speak Spanish besides the words "Hola, trabajas en villa capri?"