Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: daryn on October 29, 2008, 06:53:39 PM

Title: Official Knicks 08-09 thread
Post by: daryn on October 29, 2008, 06:53:39 PM
first game tonight.  vs the Heat of Miami.

...and no, I not shame.

Title: Re: Official Unofficial Knicks thread
Post by: daryn on October 29, 2008, 08:20:04 PM
1-0 for the current joint-leaders of the Eastern conference/Atlantic Division.
Post by: sinned on October 29, 2008, 09:33:37 PM
i see the knicks drop a 120 on miami. good for the knicks. the league is better when they're competitive. i'll be interested to see what kind of effect d'antoni has over the course of the season
Post by: daryn on October 29, 2008, 09:43:41 PM
can't really extrapolate too much from one game but 120-115 is a typical scoreline for a game involving a D'Antoni coached team.

if we play a run and gun style we will probably over-achieve (at least as far as wins and losses).  Most NBA teams have trouble adjusting away from the half-court style of bball on a one-off basis.
Post by: Dutty on October 30, 2008, 02:33:58 PM

...and no, I not shame.

give it a month or so...de shame go come back like waves at maracas
Post by: daryn on October 30, 2008, 02:49:01 PM

...and no, I not shame.

give it a month or so...de shame go come back like waves at maracas

frustrated, disappointed, vex maybe

between T&T, West Indies, Pres, Knicks and Mets, I see real hard times as a sports fan but never shame yet

Post by: dinho on October 30, 2008, 03:27:14 PM

...and no, I not shame.

you eh shame?
Title: Re: Official Knicks 08-09 thread
Post by: Bakes on October 30, 2008, 10:53:18 PM
Well the Knicks are my team and will always be my team... however my emotions have been put on the shelf and I dealing with the Knicks as currently constituted on a very objective and rational basis.  I really not getting caught up in no hype or disappointment for another couple years.  We ent go do ah damn thing this year, possibly next year... and maybe even the year after that. 
Post by: daryn on October 31, 2008, 10:42:27 AM
Well the Knicks are my team and will always be my team... however my emotions have been put on the shelf and I dealing with the Knicks as currently constituted on a very objective and rational basis.  I really not getting caught up in no hype or disappointment for another couple years.  We ent go do ah damn thing this year, possibly next year... and maybe even the year after that. 

objectivity in analysis is all well and good I suppose but as a fan I always hope to win the next game.

win or lose, I posting in this thread for all 82 games this season.

tonight the Knickerbockers visit Philadelphia.  Hopefully they can, in some small way, strike a blow for NY sports against Philly sports in the aftermath of a horrific baseball season.

Post by: Bakes on October 31, 2008, 11:25:47 PM

objectivity in analysis is all well and good I suppose but as a fan I always hope to win the next game.

win or lose, I posting in this thread for all 82 games this season.

tonight the Knickerbockers visit Philadelphia.  Hopefully they can, in some small way, strike a blow for NY sports against Philly sports in the aftermath of a horrific baseball season.

I definitely rooting for them to win... just not getting too caught up is what I saying.  And I supporting since the days of the "Bomb Squad" with Pitino as the coach and men like Oak, Sidney Green, Kenny 'Sky' Walker, Strickland, Jackson, Trent Tucker, Gerald Wilkins and Ewing on de team, so no fair weather fan here.

btw... folks with DirecTV, they're offering a free preview of NBA League Pass thru next Thursday or Friday so get your TV b-ball on while you can :beermug:
Post by: daryn on November 01, 2008, 10:18:44 AM
good ting I didn't stay home to watch that game.  must have been ugly.  29 pt loss.
Post by: Bakes on November 01, 2008, 02:04:08 PM
I not sold on D'Antoni's system yet... at some point yuh need to focus on defense.

I also doh really like what going on with Steph... dude is a head case for sure, but unless Steph being disruptive in the locker room there's no reason for his benching. They trying to frustrate the yute into a buyout so that they don't have to pay him that $22 mil they owe him this year... and that's foul.

Steph dun say they'll pay him every last cent they owe him doh.
Post by: daryn on November 02, 2008, 09:20:33 PM
8 point loss tonight to Milwaukee.

yeah, if they doh want the man they should just cut him. 

the knicks is the last organization that should be complaining bout saving a season's salary.  dem making terrible financial decisions since the off-season they give allan houston 99 mil and chris childs a whole other set of money.  and they can't find a way to make a loss yet somehow or the other.  life is good in the biggest market in the world.

other NBA news: first victory ever for the Oklahoma City thunder in the other game tonight.
Post by: fari on November 04, 2008, 03:58:35 PM
knicks 4 life...i expecting a gradual turnaround this season... Isaiah was the worst... also i lookin for meh boy balkman to develop some kind of game, whether it be hitting a jump shot consistently or something.
Post by: daryn on November 04, 2008, 04:27:39 PM
knicks 4 life...i expecting a gradual turnaround this season... Isaiah was the worst... also i lookin for meh boy balkman to develop some kind of game, whether it be hitting a jump shot consistently or something.

yeah, I really wanted Balkman to stay with the Knicks.  I have to keep track of him on the nuggets now.  Him and David Lee was the best things Isiah ever bring to the team.
Post by: Bakes on November 04, 2008, 06:02:43 PM

yeah, I really wanted Balkman to stay with the Knicks.  I have to keep track of him on the nuggets now.  Him and David Lee was the best things Isiah ever bring to the team.

I liked Balkman... and his success bodes well for Ewing Jr. as an NBA player... granted I bias when it comes to him.  Hopefully the Knicks will find a way to pick him back up.
Post by: daryn on November 06, 2008, 12:20:19 PM
Knicks win 101-98 defeating former coach L. Brown and the Bobcats.

I was in a bar watching highlights on MSG.  They didn't show CHA making a single basket, then when the game done the final margin of victory is only 3 points.  very misleading.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 07, 2008, 07:51:09 AM
knicks makin de playoffs this year,watch and see.
Post by: Bakes on November 07, 2008, 11:26:52 AM
knicks makin de lottery this year,watch and see.

Fixed.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 10, 2008, 07:50:19 AM
NY hand utah they 1st lorse last nite.
Post by: daryn on November 11, 2008, 09:07:26 PM
Utah win was the first meaningful one in my opinion.

currently at halftime in a close game with the heavily depleted Spurs.  need to take these opportunities.

still trying to get a handle on the conference this year.  Of the teams below the Knicks right now I'd expect Chicago, Toronto and Philly to start finding their rhythm soon. 
Post by: daryn on November 11, 2008, 10:03:59 PM
lost by 12 against SAS getting outscored by 6 and 9 in the 3rd and 4th quarters respectively after holding a narrow half-time lead.

hope this is not the start of a trend.  these kinda games were commonplace last season.
Post by: rickstaa on November 12, 2008, 04:39:38 PM

...and no, I not shame.

same hear ah like the STL Rams to so ah need ah good season from my Knicks
Post by: daryn on November 12, 2008, 11:00:04 PM
29 point win tonight 132-103.

grizzlies not the most formidable opponent but job extremely well done.

record is 5-3 now.

Wilson Chandler had one of the best games he will ever have 11-12 (including 4-4 from 3) from the field and 1-1 from the line for 27pts.  thus far he fitting in well.

people could say what they want bout Isiah but the man always get value for his draft picks ever since Raptors days: he get bashed for drafting Damon Stoudamire, Tracy McGrady, David Lee, Renaldo Balkman... too bad he couldn't keep from fiddling with the roster and the coaching was a whole other story.     

Gallinari look like he done for the season.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 13, 2008, 08:08:00 AM
although de season now start,i could see NY makin headway under mike.fuh some reason thomas wasn't ckickin.
Post by: daryn on November 13, 2008, 03:29:26 PM
November 13, 2008
Knicks Fans Discover Striking Palms Together Makes Uplifting And Appreciative Noise

NEW YORK—Following the Knicks' surprising 4-2 start, fans' instinctual boos have been interrupted by what many are referring to as "a strange, repeated bringing-together motion of the hands," an act resulting in an uplifting sound that can be used to respond to successful plays by the team.

"It seems to be really effective when a lot of people do it at the same time," said fan Adam Blake, 32, whose face has recently begun to contort in such a way that his mouth curls upwards at the corners, often exposing the fronts of his teeth. "It's a lot less natural for me than yelling at players and coaches, but unlike throwing garbage on the court, the security guards say you're allowed to do it. I guess if I had to choose between the old way and this new hand-slapping thing, I'd pick hand-slapping. It seems to be making the players, and me, feel kind of—I don't know—good." Upon returning home, fans were shocked to learn that emotional connections could be made with friends and family by not making sarcastic comments about their weight and intelligence and instead wrapping their arms around each other and pressing their bodies close together.
Onion Sports.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 14, 2008, 10:46:31 AM
Report: Knicks, Marbury discuss breakup detailsby Marc Berman, FOXSports.com

NEW YORK - Exiled Stephon Marbury was summoned Thursday morning to a 45-minute meeting with Knicks president Donnie Walsh at the team's Westchester headquarters, and the sides held preliminary discussions about a buyout, two sources told The New York Post.

Marbury, who has no agent, was joined by Players Association attorney Hal Biagas.The ball is now rolling for a Marbury-Knick divorce. A team source said an official breakup could happen in one week.

According to a source, Marbury asked Walsh for permission to talk with other clubs, and Walsh is expected to grant that wish soon. Walsh may request that Marbury agree not to sign with an Eastern Conference team.

Marbury will be on the bench Friday in street clothes when the Knicks host Oklahoma City.

It will be Marbury's eighth straight "inactive" after a DNP in the opener. Walsh has refused to waive Marbury, though coach Mike D'Antoni will not use him.

It's a decision the coach can start to justify considering the Knicks' successful 5-3 start following their 132-point explosion in Memphis on Wednesday.
Walsh probably realizes it's the opportune time to open a roster spot, especially with Danilo Gallinari potentially out for several months and Eddy Curry out indefinitely.

Releasing Marbury would give Walsh the opportunity to re-sign popular Patrick Ewing Jr., who's contemplating a move either to Europe or the developmental league.Marbury has said repeatedly he wants "every penny" of his $21.9 million salary. However, if he signs with a new team, the Knicks will save a percentage of his new contract in a complicated formula.

If Marbury signs for the minimum contract, $1.2 million, the Knicks would save $300,000. Certainly the Knicks want more of a savings.

The Marbury-D'Antoni impasse became absurd during the two-game road trip to San Antonio and Memphis, when D'Antoni chose to activate an injured Curry instead of Marbury to replace the absent Gallinari.

Marbury's friends have referred to his status with the Knicks as "being held hostage."

Miami has interest in Marbury. The Celtics could be a strong possibility, too. Marbury has said he'd be willing to back up point guard Rajon Rondo.

The Nuggets had interest but just traded for Chauncey Billups. The Clippers need point-guard help, and Marbury is a friend of Baron Davis. San Antonio is in the market for a point guard, and Marbury has the Spurs atop his list.

After the preseason, D'Antoni decided Marbury would not be able to handle a diminished role, backing up Chris Duhon, without complaint.

Post by: capodetutticapi on November 14, 2008, 10:47:56 AM
marbury is ah bitch,put he and vince carter in de WNBA.
Post by: fari on November 15, 2008, 12:43:02 PM
send marbury up in toronto or oklahoma city to one of them crap teams... even charlotte would do so i could go and take him in.
Post by: daryn on November 15, 2008, 01:05:04 PM
another win last night vs the Thunder.
6-3 record right now
29 each for Jamal and Randolph.
Post by: daryn on November 15, 2008, 01:57:49 PM
marbury is ah bitch,put he and vince carter in de WNBA.

they just need to pay the man the money they owe him.  simple as dat.
Post by: daryn on November 16, 2008, 08:26:03 PM
124-114 overtime loss at home to the Mavs tonight.

score only 2 points in the overtime period.  27 points and 18 boards for Zach Randolph.  Let's see if we could get Eddy Curry off the books without too much pain.
Post by: daryn on November 18, 2008, 11:10:41 PM
9 point loss to the champs tonight.  record starting to even out as we play more a more representative sample of opponents.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 19, 2008, 08:18:53 AM
even without KG boston still dominant.
Post by: Bakes on November 21, 2008, 02:22:29 PM
Jamal Crawford traded to the GS Warriors for Al Harrington.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/22/sports/basketball/22knicks.html?hp

Don't like the move... I'm a Crawford guy... but I understand the move.
Post by: big dawg on November 21, 2008, 02:34:43 PM

Not sure how good that trade is..... get rid of yuh best 2 and season leading scorer for a injury prone man...
hope it works out

Post by: daryn on November 21, 2008, 02:39:36 PM
wow.

Jamal was my favourite Knick.  I was excited about getting Al Harrington when I was hearing the rumours but it never cross my mind we'd give up JC.

Jamal was one of the few Knicks who actually had a good contract: i.e. he was probably a little underpaid if anything in my opinion.  I suppose that also meant he was one of the more attractive trade targets for anybody else.

so it goes.

Post by: daryn on November 21, 2008, 02:46:35 PM

Not sure how good that trade is..... get rid of yuh best 2 and season leading scorer for a injury prone man...
hope it works out

remember the time we went and see Knicks-Suns and he score about 39? 

I eh know if Harrington injury-prone.  I now looking it up, it seems like he play most games in his career.  He only on GS inactive list because he say he wanted a trade.

Donnie Walsh was the man who draft Al back in the Pacers days.  I figure they will just move Chandler or Richardson to the 2 without having to make any other adjustments to the starting lineup.

I doh know what the Warriors want another perimeter player for.
Post by: Bakes on November 21, 2008, 03:15:39 PM

hope it works out

Salary dump...

besides... Trader Don still at it... Zach Randolph and Mardy Collins sent to the Clippers for Tim "that bum" Thomas and Cuttino Mobley.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/knicks/2008/11/21/2008-11-21_knicks_trade_jamal_crawford_for_al_harri.html
Post by: daryn on November 21, 2008, 03:53:27 PM

hope it works out

Salary dump...

besides... Trader Don still at it... Zach Randolph and Mardy Collins sent to the Clippers for Tim "that bum" Thomas and Cuttino Mobley.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/knicks/2008/11/21/2008-11-21_knicks_trade_jamal_crawford_for_al_harri.html

what the hell is this.

I'm guessing they going to re-activate Eddy Curry in that case.  Curry will be hard to trade unless he could get some playing time and at least start back getting the numbers he was getting season before last.  Even so it will be difficult to get somebody else to take on that long-term high-paying salary for a 7-footer who does play whole game and average 6 rebounds and less than 1 block.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 21, 2008, 05:01:02 PM
they lose in speed but gain in size.jamal creative.wait and see.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 22, 2008, 09:52:15 AM
Knicks gain cap space by dealing top scorersby Marc Berman, New York Post
LeBron James steps foot inside the Garden on Tuesday night, and Friday Knicks president Donnie Walsh took two giant steps closer to making room for the King of Cleveland in the summer of 2010. In a historic day of frenzied Knicks trading, Walsh blew up the roster, made two blockbusters, dishing his two leading scorers in Jamal Crawford and Zach Randolph, getting in return two Jersey products, Al Harrington and Tim Thomas, as well as Cuttino Mobley.

It does not make the Knicks a better team this season, but the three hired guns with short-term deals put the Knicks in great shape to be $18.5 million under the salary cap to give James the maximum contract when he's a free agent. Crawford made $10 million in 2010-11 and Randolph made $17.5 million. That's $27.5 million in cap savings.

If Walsh can also trade Eddy Curry's long-term deal, Walsh could be in position to sign two maximum players during the star-studded free-agent class of 2010 that also includes Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh and Amare Stoudemire.

"This goes back to my first press conference when I said we need to competitive for two years, then have cap flexibility after that," Walsh said in a conference call Friday night while the undermanned Knicks faced the Bucks at Bradley Center. "I think I accomplished both goals and brought in three players who can adapt to Mike's style."

The Crawford-for-Harrington trade was announced in the afternoon, and three hours later Walsh sent Randolph and Mardy Collins to the Clippers for Thomas and Mobley. The Knicks had seven healthy bodies and by league rules were forced to dress Stephon Marbury.

Knocking the Knicks Just when the Knicks were becoming watchable again, they sacrificed their present for an uncertain future, says FOXSports.com NBA analyst Charley Rosen. Crawford and Randolph raised their trade value in leading the Knicks to a solid 6-5 start entering Friday night's game in Milwaukee. Crawford was averaging 19.6 points and Randolph 20.5. Walsh may have felt the Knicks were headed south from here and needed to capitalize on the two players' revived trade values.

According to Players' Association attorney Ron Klempner, the salary cap for 2010 is expected to be about $64.6 million. The Knicks would need to have a payroll of roughly $46 million to give James the maximum wage.

With Crawford and Randolph gone, the Knicks have four players signed in 2010-11 for $24 million: Wilson Chandler, Danilo Gallinari, Curry and Jared Jeffries. If they could also ship Curry, that would also give Walsh a chance to re-sign David Lee and Nate Robinson and give James a young nucleus to join.

"You just can't expect a guy to come to a team because it has a building" Walsh said. "It has to be a good team to be put around whoever that is."

However, the Knicks could be awful. They had just seven healthy bodies entering last night, forcing outcast Stephon Marbury to dress, though he refused to play.

"Obviously, I want to think about that now," Walsh said.

The disgruntled Harrington, who can play small or power forward, has a contract that expires after the 2009-10 season and his addition emboldened Walsh to move Randolph.

"It's always going to be a possibility that one day the face of the franchise is going to change," coach Mike D'Antoni said. "Donnie's plan is pretty clear, that in a couple of years we'll be under the cap. Everything we do will lead us to the possibility of being under the cap in two years. Then I'll deal with making sure the team is competitive.

"I want to dispel the notion we did it just to clear space. We're not throwing away this year and thinking we're not making the playoffs."

Making the playoffs truly does not seem a priority after this move. Without a first-round pick for 2010, the Knicks may be content with a lottery pick for this year's draft to boost their roster to attract James.

Post by: daryn on November 24, 2008, 06:56:37 PM
Everything we do will lead us to the possibility of being under the cap in two years. Then I'll deal with making sure the team is competitive.

"I want to dispel the notion we did it just to clear space. We're not throwing away this year and thinking we're not making the playoffs."

he sound like he realise he could get in trouble for the first statement and follow it up fast with a cover-up.
Post by: Bakes on November 24, 2008, 07:55:37 PM
Everything we do will lead us to the possibility of being under the cap in two years. Then I'll deal with making sure the team is competitive.

he sound like he realise he could get in trouble for the first statement and follow it up fast with a cover-up.

He trying to chain up the public into still shelling out ducats to come see that sorry team.
Post by: Bakes on November 27, 2008, 01:47:30 AM
I've been having Steph's back throughout all of this... but I think I've finally reached my limit... once more he refused to enter the game when asked by his coach:

Richardson was easing a compression sleeve on his forearm when he was asked how he felt about a healthy teammate who wouldn’t play.

“You mean Steph?” Richardson said. Speaking without rancor, he continued: “I don’t consider him my teammate. He hasn’t played with us all year. He didn’t want to play with us. I don’t look at him as a teammate because teammates don’t do that.”

He added: “Regardless of if you’re trying to stick it to whoever you’re trying to stick it to, at the end of the day we’re short-handed. People are hurt.”

Marbury was unavailable for comment. He had left the locker room by the time it was opened to reporters. Although the Knicks did not discipline Marbury the first time, his latest refusal could push team officials to take action, with a fine or a suspension.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/27/sports/basketball/27knicks.html?ref=sports

Without a doubt the Knicks fired the first salvo and started this mess... but there comes a time when you have to live up to your status as a professional.  The Knicks would be lucky if they get a can of tomatoes for this fool now.
Post by: daryn on November 27, 2008, 09:22:43 AM
this is the last I'm going to address that whole situation with steph.  one way or the other.  it's just time to move on.

I think he really just hurting himself by doing that. 

From his POV: He going to get his money for this season in any scenario, the question is if anyone will give him a paycheck next year.

From the team's POV: given the salary dumping of the last week, I'd be surprised if they had any interest in trading him for anything but a similar amount of expiring money in any case. 
Post by: fari on November 28, 2008, 11:25:29 AM
yeah, is kind of a lose lose situation.   even if he plays now the rift is just too much between him and his teammates.  knicks just need to find some quick way to end his contract, trade him or something b/c it is becoming a huge distraction.   
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 28, 2008, 10:38:48 PM
yeah, is kind of a lose lose situation.   even if he plays now the rift is just too much between him and his teammates.  knicks just need to find some quick way to end his contract, trade him or something b/c it is becoming a huge distraction.   
tink he'll be gone very very soon.
Post by: daryn on November 29, 2008, 06:26:38 PM
Jamal back in the garden tonight with the warriors.
Post by: daryn on November 30, 2008, 06:35:38 PM
win over the warriors last night. 

some franchise records set but I wouldn't put any stock in that but it's good to see David Lee get 37 and 21.  almost every knicks game going to be a shootout.
Post by: daryn on November 30, 2008, 11:32:14 PM
A player who was an all-star playing for D'Antoni with a large expiring contract is on the trading block.  His team is in danger of tanking the season anyway and need a PG badly. hmmm.... 
Post by: Bakes on November 30, 2008, 11:49:38 PM
A player who was an all-star playing for D'Antoni with a large expiring contract is on the trading block.  His team is in danger of tanking the season anyway and need a PG badly. hmmm.... 

Sadly Steph is also about the same age as him so unlikely the Suns will go that route.
Post by: daryn on December 01, 2008, 09:01:10 AM
actually i was referring to Shawn Marion in Miami.

Miami basically torn between making a move to possibly jump-start their team and letting that big contract come off the books at the end of the season.  trading for steph could potentially meet both criteria (the latter definitely and the thinking with the former is that steph will be on his best behavior for the rest of the season).

In any case, I now reading that Walsh and Marbury meeting today to finalize a buyout under the condition that Steph don't sign for Miami.

I had say I was done with this storyline but it is really the gift that keeps on giving

NEW YORK (AP) -- With his career in New York seemingly finished, Knicks guard Stephon Marbury lashed out at teammates and coach Mike D'Antoni a day before he was to meet with team president Donnie Walsh about a possible buyout, the New York Post reported in Monday's edition.

Walsh suspended Marbury for Saturday's game against Golden State because the Knicks said Marbury refused to play Wednesday night in a loss at Detroit. The Knicks also docked his pay from that night, with the penalties costing Marbury nearly $400,000.

"I sat there for three weeks and didn't say one word," Marbury told The Post. "I didn't hear one of my teammates say, `Why isn't Stephon Marbury playing? This is a good system for him, even to play with the second unit and bring more firepower.'

"When things got bad and then worse, guys like Quentin Richardson say, `I don't consider him a teammate. He let his teammates out to dry.' He didn't care I was his teammate when I was banished. They left me out for dead. It's like we're in a foxhole and I'm facing the other way. If I got shot in the head, at least you want to get shot by the enemy. I got shot in the head by my own guys in my foxhole. And they didn't even give me an honorable death."

Marbury isn't part of D'Antoni's plans and has been on the inactive list most of the season. However, D'Antoni twice asked Marbury if he would play when the Knicks were undermanned.

"Mike had no intentions of me playing basketball here," Marbury said. "He gave me straight disrespect. It was beyond disrespect. He put in (Danilo) Gallinari, whose back is messed up and (who) didn't participate at all in training camp ahead of me (in the season opener). ... That's saying, `I'm letting you have it right now.' He was sticking it to me."

Walsh has said he's opposed to buyouts and agreed that it's difficult to trade Marbury because of his salary of approximately $21 million.

"He (D'Antoni) knew I was in my contract year and did everything they asked me to do. He's not trying to help me. He's trying to hurt me," Marbury said.

Marbury agreed to suit up last Friday night in Milwaukee so the Knicks would have the league-mandated eight players in uniform, but declined D'Antoni's offer before the game to take some available minutes.

D'Antoni and Walsh didn't feel that was insubordination, but Walsh believed he had to act this time, when Marbury turned D'Antoni down after guards Nate Robinson and Cuttino Mobley were unavailable in the second game of a back-to-back.

"He suspended me without hearing both sides," Marbury said. "That wasn't fair. He took it upon himself to fine me without even speaking to me."

The players' association plans to file a grievance because Marbury insists he never refused to play.

"Mike gave the option to play," he said. "He couldn't come to me man to man and say, `You have to play.' It was an option."
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 02, 2008, 08:41:37 PM
Way, ah cyar believe it have a Knicks thread, ever since 96 ah swear dat whole organization need a bush bath, livin in NY 11 years now and find it real hard to support dem, say wah, dais NY fuh yuh, tough love   ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 04, 2008, 08:51:25 AM
oh god NY get slam lastnite hard by king james and co.they lose by about 40 pts.
Post by: daryn on December 04, 2008, 11:25:31 AM
the knicks were on the wrong end of a 118 - 82 scoreline.  I believe the technical term is 'blow-out'.  In some circles it is common procedure to omit the hyphen.
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 11, 2008, 06:17:04 PM
good win by de knickerbockers last nite against new juzzy.
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 16, 2008, 09:14:49 AM
NY in LA 2nite.
Post by: daryn on December 16, 2008, 09:21:19 AM
yeah, lost last night against the suns.  111-103.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 16, 2008, 07:09:48 PM

make it two after tonite, Laker basketball
Post by: daryn on December 17, 2008, 07:29:12 AM

thanks for the heads up.  knickerbockers go down 116-114 last night.  best game I've seen all season.
Post by: big dawg on December 17, 2008, 08:50:21 AM
The team is howing some improvements most definately...still 9th in the East.. I predict they go be 7th by all star break.. possibly 6th by the time playoffs begin.. either which, Stefan Malbury should be some where in the italian legue counting his millions
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 17, 2008, 09:09:53 AM
The team is howing some improvements most definately...still 9th in the East.. I predict they go be 7th by all star break.. possibly 6th by the time playoffs begin.. either which, Stefan Malbury should be some where in the italian legue counting his millions

Yeah, NY were a bit unlucky last night, but big teams find ways to win games even when they are not playing at their best.  LA was horrible in the 1st half, but take nothing away from NY during the same period.  Would be nice to see the Knicks in the playoffs again, could give New Yorkers something to cheer about
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 17, 2008, 04:07:31 PM

thanks for the heads up.  knickerbockers go down 116-114 last night.  best game I've seen all season.
knicks had LA reelin in de 1st half,they shot 11/22 from 3pt land.
Post by: daryn on December 27, 2008, 08:20:56 AM
knicks loss to the wolves last night 120-107.

I still can't believe they trade Crawford and Randolph.
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 27, 2008, 09:19:40 AM
knicks loss to the wolves last night 120-107.

I still can't believe they trade Crawford and Randolph.
is games like these does get me vex,timberwolves have one of de worse records in de league,yet NY ketchin hell.
Post by: daryn on December 28, 2008, 06:20:23 PM
6th straight loss today.  this time to the nuggets.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 02, 2009, 08:57:39 PM
ah nailbiter in MSG .9 secs to go and ny down by 2.
Post by: daryn on January 02, 2009, 09:10:47 PM
game done.  pacers win.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 04, 2009, 07:24:51 PM
knicks rippin boston ah new asshole in de 4th.leadin 98-86 with 2 mins to go.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 04, 2009, 07:28:26 PM
game done NY win 100-88
Post by: big dawg on January 04, 2009, 07:52:02 PM
game done NY win 100-88

where upsets happen... ;D
Post by: daryn on January 04, 2009, 09:32:35 PM
das what we talking bout.
Post by: Quags on January 05, 2009, 01:26:43 AM
what ...see what a good coach could do .
Post by: daryn on January 05, 2009, 09:42:51 AM
what ...see what a good coach could do .

now if only that good coach didn't have us on pace to win the same amount of games as the last few years.
Post by: big dawg on January 05, 2009, 10:55:49 AM
Let meh Start it Early..

WHERE 2O10 HAPPENS

(http://www.michaeldoret.com/doret/artwork/knicks.gif)

(http://clevelandsports.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/lebron-james.jpg)
Post by: daryn on January 05, 2009, 11:41:33 AM
I really hope so.  if they throw away 2 seasons and he decide to stay in cleveland or go with Jay-Z dat go be a real comedy of errors.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 05, 2009, 01:10:48 PM
MSG is de fadda of forums is only fair NY have de best player in de world.
Post by: fari on January 05, 2009, 06:57:15 PM
with all due respect to cleveland, is only 2 cities fit for a media darling like lebron...ny and la.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 10, 2009, 09:44:22 PM
NY fall to houston 96-76.de bleedin must stop.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 12, 2009, 09:25:14 PM
big big win in new orleans.101-95.
Post by: daryn on January 12, 2009, 10:12:29 PM
yeah, now come to post that.  def a quality win.
Post by: daryn on January 15, 2009, 12:16:03 AM
128-122 over the Wizards of Washington.

record now stands at 15-22.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 15, 2009, 08:31:35 AM
yuh tink they could hit de .500 mark by de all star weekend
Post by: daryn on January 15, 2009, 01:05:55 PM
hmm, was just looking at the schedule.  there are 15 games between now and the break.  We'd have to go 11-4 to get to .500.  Have plenty winnable games on the schedule but I'd guess not: we eh really show enough consistency against mediocre teams yet.  that stretch where we host Lakers, Cavs and Celts on the Mon, Wed, Fri of the same week could be a killer.

(http://www.darynr.com/images/tillallstar.JPG)
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 22, 2009, 10:13:03 AM
Report: Greek team bidding for Marburyby Marc Berman, New York Post
Stephon Marbury told The New York Post on Wednesday he's all ears as far as playing for the Greek team Olympiacos, whose owners have interest in bringing the point guard to Greece.
According to reports in Greece, Olympiacos owners have said they are interested in offering about $15 million — a development that has Knicks officials excited.

"I will listen to what they have to say," Marbury wrote in an e-mail.

Olympiacos is the same team former Hawk Josh Childress plays for. Contrary to a report, Knicks president Donnie Walsh claimed he had yet to hear from Olympiacos, but his European sources tell him the interest is genuine. The Knicks prefer Marbury playing in Europe.

Hal Biagas, representing Marbury for the players' union, told The Post he hopes to listen to their spiel this week, but has yet to be contacted by Olympiacos.

Two years ago, Marbury told The Post of his intentions of playing in Italy when his contract expired, but he does prefer to play in the NBA this season and has a commitment from at least one NBA team, believed to be Boston. That is why he recently put his $1M giveback on the table.

Knicks owner James Dolan supposedly has told WFAN's Mike Francesa he'd take the buy-out offer of $2 million less. But the Knicks may be able to get a lot more savings if Olympiacos' interest is for real.

"We'll proceed and see what they have to say," said Biagas, who is proceeding cautiously because of the recent hoax involving Real Madrid's interest when two people posing as Swiss investors connected to Real Madrid approached Marbury.
Post by: big dawg on January 24, 2009, 01:01:08 PM
3 game streak.. .. look out for # 4 in Philly  :beermug:
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 24, 2009, 01:18:16 PM
3 game streak.. .. look out for # 4 in Philly  :beermug:
ah didnt want to say anyting and blight them,yuh come and post this. ;)
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 24, 2009, 09:37:11 PM
steups.see.they lost to philly.
Post by: big dawg on January 25, 2009, 10:27:17 AM
steups.see.they lost to philly.

Hard Luck Yes..
Post by: daryn on January 25, 2009, 05:23:27 PM
Eddy Curry's ex-girlfriend, the mother of his 3-year-old son, was killed along with her 9-month-old daughter in Chicago. 

Multiple gunshot wounds.  She had a restraining order against her boyfriend.  Investigation ongoing.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 25, 2009, 07:36:38 PM
sad.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 25, 2009, 08:46:12 PM
Extremely sad
Post by: big dawg on January 25, 2009, 09:04:01 PM
this is not a good 2009 for Eddie....
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 26, 2009, 09:03:29 PM
beat rockets 2nite 104-98.4th win in ah row at de garden.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 28, 2009, 08:56:21 PM
another victory in de garden today,beat hawks 112-104.nate with 20 in de 4th.
Post by: daryn on January 29, 2009, 09:33:32 AM
yeah 20-25 is the record now.

indy up next before the killer stretch with Celts, Lakers, Cavs.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 29, 2009, 11:19:57 AM
yeah 20-25 is the record now.

indy up next before the killer stretch with Celts, Lakers, Cavs.
was hopin they hit de 500 mark by de allstar weeked but it eh lookin so
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 31, 2009, 07:39:36 PM
lookin at de pacer game goin on now.harrignton is an underrated player.he could shoot from de perimetre,he strong in de paint and he could defend.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 31, 2009, 08:21:34 PM
NY win 122-113.lakers rollin in de garden on monday.
Post by: royal on February 01, 2009, 03:11:28 PM
Must give D'Antoni his props.Isaiah had that team in tatas.One could imagine if they had kept Crawford and Randolf they'll be doing much better.I know they're working with a plan for the first time in years.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 02, 2009, 08:55:42 PM
pressure NY gettin they ass kick
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 02, 2009, 09:14:44 PM
they lose 126-117
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 03, 2009, 11:12:34 AM
Kobe breaks MSG record with 61 pointsby Marc Berman, New York Post
NEW YORK - Kobe Bryant felt a different vibe than usual while lifting weights in the fitness room at the Lakers' hotel yesterday morning before his team's Garden showdown last night against the Knicks.
"This morning in the workout room, people aren't talking about how many points I'm going to score," Bryant said before his lone Garden appearance of the season. "Today, a lot of people are talking as if the Knicks will win."

Well, they should have been talking about how many points Bryant was going to score because he was hours from smashing the Garden scoring records of Bernard King and his idol, Michael Jordan.

In a landmark, transcendent performance, Bryant lit up Broadway with the most prolific outing in the current Garden's history, rampaging for 61 points in 36:48 before an adoring, MVP-chanting crowd in the Lakers' 126-117 victory.

Bryant, who piled up 34 points in the first half, broke King's record of 60 points, set on Dec. 25, 1984, minutes after smashing Jordan's mark for points by an opponent -- 55 -- set on March 28, 1995.

"It's a blessing to do what you love and have moments like this," said Bryant, who was 20 of 20 from the free-throw line and 19 of 31 from the field.

Bryant came out of the game with 1:48 left to a standing ovation and more "MVP" chants with the Lakers leading 126-108. The chants started early in the first quarter, the first time Bryant went to the line, and were heard periodically across the night. The noise was louder after his buckets than Knicks' scores.

"It was like a road game for us," Knicks coach Mike D'Antoni said.
Bryant set both Garden records while at the foul line. He passed Jordan by making three straight free throws with 3:56 left after drawing a foul on a 3-point attempt during garbage time. He got to 61 points with 2:33 left on free throws.

"This place is special," Bryant said of the Garden. "Fans will boo you before the game. But they appreciate the game. Tonight, it felt great to get the reaction from the fans. It's saying we love what you do."

"(The Garden's) the last one left. I never played Boston Garden. There's the Forum, then there's this building. This is the last one that holds all the memories."

Bryant said he was fueled by the notion of meeting Knicks superfan Spike Lee after the game to discuss a documentary on which they plan to work. "That was added incentive, seriously," Bryant said. "I didn't want to get an earful from him."

Bryant also was spurred by memories of conversations during the Olympics with D'Antoni, an assistant coach on he U.S. team. "Don't underestimate the trash-talking going on between us (in Beijing)," Bryant said.

Bryant recalled his Garden debut in the 1996-97 season. "I (stunk)," Bryant said. "I remember coming in being nervous as heck, guarding John Wallace. My career has progressed since then."

Lakers coach Phil Jackson coached Jordan in his 55-point game while with the Bulls. Unknowingly, Jackson looked to take Bryant out of the game when he had 54 points, but Bryant motioned to stay in.
Garden promoters billed this as "Dream Week," with LeBron James and the Cavaliers (tomorrow) and the defending champion Celtics (Friday) following the Lakers. But last night, Bryant was the home team's worst nightmare as the purple and gold ran over D'Antoni's streaking club for the most points the Knicks (21-26) have given up this season.

Bryant got to 40 points with 5:04 left in the third on a twisting runner in the lane. Bryant carried 46 points into the fourth , tying his best-ever game at the Garden, set in 2003.

After Bryant toasted defenders Quentin Richardson, Al Harrington, Wilson Chandler and David Lee in the first half, D'Antoni turned to Jared Jeffries to shadow him.

"It's not like guys were playing soft," Lee said.

Kobe scored 18 points in the first quarter, hitting three long-range jumpers in the opening 2:05 and racking up 13 of the Lakers' first 16 points. At one point, he was outscoring the Knicks 13-11.

On the last play of the quarter, Bryant dribbled down the clock and drove left on Chandler, who blocked his shot emphatically. That only seemed to rev up Bryant's motor.

Post by: capodetutticapi on February 03, 2009, 10:11:19 PM
cavs in de garden tomorrow,now is king james turn.
Post by: daryn on February 04, 2009, 07:23:00 PM
game in progress.  knickerbockers down by 8 in the 2nd quarter.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 04, 2009, 07:31:48 PM
NY stickin close.
Post by: daryn on February 04, 2009, 08:20:00 PM
let's go knicks.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 04, 2009, 08:34:01 PM
king james havin ah good game.2 rebounds away from his 4th triple double ah de season.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 04, 2009, 08:43:31 PM
is like ah punchin match between harrignton and james
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 04, 2009, 09:03:58 PM
107-102 cavs win,king james 52pts,11 assist,10 reb.
Post by: Bakes on February 04, 2009, 09:23:32 PM
Lebron just put Kobe's 61 (and all the shit talk about it being the greatest performance at MSG) in perspective.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 04, 2009, 09:56:51 PM
Lebron just put Kobe's 61 (and all the shit talk about it being the greatest performance at MSG) in perspective.
king james saw kobe 61 and raise him ah triple double.
Post by: big dawg on February 04, 2009, 10:34:10 PM
Once again.. that was a preview to his home in 2010...... as a refresher

Let meh Start it Early..

WHERE 2O10 HAPPENS

(http://www.michaeldoret.com/doret/artwork/knicks.gif)

(http://clevelandsports.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/lebron-james.jpg)

Post by: 100% Barataria on February 05, 2009, 02:39:55 PM
Knicks need more dan Lebron, a bush bath would be a good place to start
Post by: daryn on February 05, 2009, 04:10:58 PM

John McCain, yuh come back with this politics of fear?
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 05, 2009, 05:04:58 PM

lol, only b/c iz you I eh takin de John McCain comment seriously....seriously doh, Knicks look better w/new coach, not sure Lebron is the ans, need some defence as well, but we shall see, that's 2009-2010, onwards to the championship for this season for LAL, only beantown culd stop we
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 05, 2009, 06:45:00 PM
Game of one-upmanship breaks out at Madison Square Garden

Anything you can do, I can do better.

LeBron James didn't top Kobe Bryant's MSG-record 61 points. But one could argue he had the more impressive performance with 52 points, 10 rebounds and 11 assists -- his 21st career triple-double -- in a 107-102 victory (Recap | Box Score) over the Knicks.

Not too shabby, King.

"You guys seen every phase of my game tonight, the scoring, the rebounding, the assists and defensively just trying to attack the opposing team," James said.

James, who became the first player since Kareem Abdul-Jabbar in 1975 to have a triple-double in a 50-point game, joined Michael Jordan as the only players with multiple 50-point games at the present Madison Square Garden.
"I never thought you could look at the box score and see somebody with 50 with a triple-double, but it's happened.''

Post by: daryn on February 06, 2009, 09:32:24 AM

lol, only b/c iz you I eh takin de John McCain comment seriously....seriously doh, Knicks look better w/new coach, not sure Lebron is the ans, need some defence as well, but we shall see, that's 2009-2010, onwards to the championship for this season for LAL, only beantown culd stop we

I taking lakers over celtics any day.  In fact I taking anybody over the celtics for the title this year.  Now that they have their title I elevating the dislike to hatred.  I feel cavs just as likely to win the east as beantown.   
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 06, 2009, 12:26:29 PM

I taking lakers over celtics any day.  In fact I taking anybody over the celtics for the title this year.  Now that they have their title I elevating the dislike to hatred.  I feel cavs just as likely to win the east as beantown.   

Somedays I feel like this but then at other times I have to wonder, Orlando was looking pretty good too but have had their own recent injury scare; all in all though, playoffs should be exciting
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 06, 2009, 09:24:05 PM
boston bounce back against NY 110-100.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 06, 2009, 10:18:30 PM
Kaplowitz, original member of Knicks, dies at 89Ralph Kaplowitz, an original member of the New York Knicks, died Monday from kidney failure, 14 weeks shy of his 90th birthday.

Kaplowitz, an All-American at NYU, joined the Knicks in 1946, their first season. The 6-foot-2 guard averaged 5.6 points in 105 professional games and 6.6 points in 23 playoff games.

Kaplowitz was in the starting lineup on Nov. 1, 1946, the first New York Knicks game. He was joined in the starting lineup by Leo Gottlieb, Ossie Schectman, Stan Stutz and Forest Weber. The Knicks beat the Toronto Huskies, 68-66.
Post by: daryn on February 08, 2009, 06:36:19 PM
knicks down against blazers now.

come on fellas, win one for kaplowitz.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 09, 2009, 05:04:49 PM
ah nasty one point lorse.that does be hard to swallow.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 10, 2009, 11:40:53 PM
they gettin blow out in de 4th.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 12, 2009, 12:16:33 AM
6 game skid,they deserve that loss in staples against clippers.128-124.
Post by: daryn on February 12, 2009, 07:07:28 AM
all-star break couldn't be better timed.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 17, 2009, 08:58:43 PM
OT in msg against spurs.tied at 102.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 17, 2009, 09:17:05 PM
ny win 112-107,snap 6 game losin streak.
Post by: daryn on February 17, 2009, 09:21:18 PM
yeah.  good tough win. 

was good to see us take charge at the beginning of overtime.  usually that's when we does get leave out.  was fraid to come and post it here lest I blight the team.
Post by: daryn on February 19, 2009, 02:55:29 PM
couple trades today:

getting Larry Hughes for Tim Thomas, Anthony Roberson and Jerome James.

also Chris Wilcox for Malik Rose.
Post by: Quags on February 19, 2009, 03:20:30 PM
Nicee ,all we got was a seven foot kid Patrick O bryant from boston for will solomon .
Post by: Dutty on February 19, 2009, 06:15:10 PM
Nicee ,all we got was a seven foot kid Patrick O bryant from boston for will solomon .
solomon gone?
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 20, 2009, 08:02:54 PM
toronto gettin ah blowout.26 point lead goin into de 4th.
Post by: Dutty on February 20, 2009, 08:25:01 PM

ah switch off de tv....ah cyah even watch dat shit

yuh could see the raptors eh even studyin to play, the team so demoralized and disorganised....NY men runnin in with layup normal normal
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 20, 2009, 08:29:57 PM

ah switch off de tv....ah cyah even watch dat shit

yuh could see the raptors eh even studyin to play, the team so demoralized and disorganised....NY men runnin in with layup normal normal
nah man put it on half ten,hornets go put ah cutass on lakers
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 20, 2009, 08:51:53 PM
127-97 very impressive victory.if they have to make de playoffs they need wins.bottom line.imagine last year they had 23 wins fuh de entire season.tonite was their 23 win.mike earnin he $$$.doh worry compre we comin toronto on sunday.
Post by: Quags on February 21, 2009, 10:23:44 AM
Go true ,i prefer a top 6 pick than 6 more wins ...but alyah go loss tomorrow.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 21, 2009, 10:25:25 AM
Go true ,i prefer a top 6 pick than 6 more wins ...but alyah go loss tomorrow.
compre wake up,yuh dreamin. ;D
Post by: Quags on February 21, 2009, 09:27:24 PM
eh it seems like Deja vu oui  ;)
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 22, 2009, 12:35:37 PM
close game,no room fuh error.compre yuh wake up yet.
Post by: Quags on February 22, 2009, 12:45:45 PM
yeah yeah ah watching .
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 22, 2009, 01:20:05 PM
these 2 teams fightin fuh ah playoff spot,good win fuh raps 111-100
Post by: Quags on February 22, 2009, 02:07:18 PM
If we hd Al Harrington ,we mighta make the 2nd round .love that type of  game..Gerrard Wallace is the same.
NY amazes me the players they have walking in and out there team,I is wish and dream we even get one of those players ,you trade for on a weekly basis .
Having said that you guys not in our caliber yet .Lots of energy doh ,and that will help you in the post season good luck .I hoping for a high pick.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 22, 2009, 02:11:01 PM
ny quicker make de playoffs than toronto
Post by: Quags on February 22, 2009, 02:14:39 PM
I implied that ,hearing The Matrix talking about going for it doh steuppss.If Chris bolt ,it would be great to have another franchise player on deck now.
But yeah Ny playing great now,better than us.
Just saying remember TO was built for a championship run,when Boston Flip the script ,to another level.But if we play or best in one game the only team that could still beat us is Cleveland.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 23, 2009, 08:28:19 AM
Lawyer charged in killings of Curry's ex, babyAssociated Press
CHICAGO (AP) - A 36-year-old attorney fatally shot the former girlfriend and infant daughter of New York Knicks player Eddy Curry during a domestic-related dispute, according to police and published reports.
Fredrick Goings of Chicago was charged Sunday with two counts of first-degree murder, Cook County State's Attorney spokeswoman Sally Daly said.

Police said Goings was arrested Friday evening as he was getting into his car outside a relative's place in Chicago. Goings has not made any statements to authorities and is not cooperating in the investigation, Lt. Denis Walsh said.

It was not immediately clear who was representing Goings. A message left at his Chicago law office Sunday was not returned. Goings was due in bond court on Monday.

The bodies of 24-year-old Nova Henry and her 9-month-old daughter, Ava, were found in their Chicago apartment on Jan. 24. Both died of multiple gunshot wounds.

Henry also was the mother of ex-Chicago Bulls player Curry's 3-year-old son, who was found unharmed at the scene.

Court records show that Goings was Henry's attorney in a paternity case with Curry involving Ava.

According to the Chicago Tribune, records show that DNA tests confirmed Ava was Curry's daughter. Curry, through Knicks spokesman Jonathan Supranowitz, declined comment. Messages left Sunday for his attorney were not immediately returned.

Police said Goings and Henry had "a relationship" and the motive for the shooting was "domestic related" but declined to elaborate.

According to police, Nova Henry let Goings into the apartment on Jan. 24 and the two quarreled.

"What happened inside that apartment will have to come out at a later date," Walsh told reporters Sunday. "There obviously was an argument."

Police said surveillance images and other evidence linked Goings to the case, but authorities declined to give details.

Goings has been practicing law since April 2005, according to state records.

Post by: daryn on February 23, 2009, 12:06:39 PM
really hard times for eddy.
Post by: daryn on February 23, 2009, 12:11:15 PM
record stands at 23-32.  The Bucks have the 8th spot right now at 28-31.  Chi-town (25-31) and the rocafellas (24-32) in between us and dem.  Detroit and Philly tied at 27-27 for the 6th and 7th spots.  Detroit might be imploding and Elton Brand down for the season I think.

Hopefully nobody below us make a run.

27 games to play for the Knicks.

Post by: capodetutticapi on February 23, 2009, 09:09:46 PM
nate with ah huge game 41 pts,pacers fall 123-119.shake and bake.
Post by: chinee boi on February 23, 2009, 09:20:37 PM
nate with ah huge game 41 pts,pacers fall 123-119.shake and bake.

yes i saw this  :beermug: GO NY GO NY GOOO
Post by: daryn on February 24, 2009, 08:53:00 AM
yeah, nate really coming good dis season.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 24, 2009, 09:15:24 AM
harrignton playin good ball too.
Post by: daryn on February 24, 2009, 10:20:10 AM
plus he take up where starbury left off as far as providing cheap sneakers to the masses (http://protegemvp.com/ (http://protegemvp.com/)), without any of the drama.

selling shoes @$35 with the kinda season he having, I think he could move a lot of product in the recession.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 24, 2009, 10:29:34 AM
wuh really goin on with marbury,they tradin him,keepin him.personally get rid ah he.
Post by: daryn on February 24, 2009, 05:29:08 PM
they meeting with his agent to work something out.

he definitely not playing for the knicks again.  they trying to see if they could agree on a buyout.  If they don't release him by March 1st he can't sign for anybody else so yuh know for sure he ent go give up a single penny after that.

boston, LA and heat have contracts waiting for him to sign so knicks don't want to buy him out only for him to go one of them places and sign for the league minimum because he done get paid already.
Post by: Quags on February 24, 2009, 07:03:17 PM
Well I think you guys safe from us,we have The Suns ,Rockets,mavericks,Jazz,Heat,76"s and Pistons up next  :rotfl:
Post by: daryn on February 24, 2009, 07:47:21 PM
Marbury agrees to buyout, expected to join Celtics

By Ian Thomsen, SI.com

Stephon Marbury has agreed to a contract buyout with the New York Knicks, league sources told SI.com. Marbury is expected to sign with the Boston Celtics as a free agent before March 1.

Marbury had been at odds with the Knicks while failing to play for them this season, and he faced an arbitration hearing with the team Tuesday. The buyout was not official, according to a league source, but was expected to be finalized Tuesday night.

"A comprehensive agreement was made this afternoon between the New York Knicks and Stephon Marbury,'' reported the Knicks in a statement co-signed with Marbury. ''Under its terms, the grievance has been resolved and the Knicks have requested waivers on Stephon. No additional terms will be disclosed."

If he signs with the NBA champion Celtics before March 1, Marbury will be eligible for their playoff roster. He and veteran big man Mikki Moore -- who agreed to terms with the Celtics earlier Tuesday after being bought out by the Sacramento Kings -- would be expected to enhance Boston's bench, which has been weakened by an injury to Tony Allen and the preseason departures of James Posey and P.J. Brown.

After the Cavaliers failed to make a move at the trading deadline last week, the Celtics may have gained the advantage for their anticipated showdown at the Eastern conference finals in May -- provided that Marbury agrees to terms and accepts his role as a backup to third-year starter Rajon Rondo.

Post by: Dutty on February 25, 2009, 06:47:32 PM
wayzz :o
Imagine marbury as a back-up point guard on a team that talented
Boston lookin to make everybody cannon fodder this rounds
Post by: Quags on February 25, 2009, 07:25:36 PM
Yah think that bad Dutty ....remember Mikki Moore ,he killed us in the playoffs against the Nets few yrs ago ? Well Boston sign him today  7fter.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 25, 2009, 09:08:39 PM
boston need some fresh blood.they lose de killer instinct they had last year.
Post by: daryn on February 25, 2009, 09:51:29 PM
knicks take a L tonight against the magic.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 25, 2009, 09:57:04 PM
heartbreaker.114-109
Post by: daryn on February 27, 2009, 12:25:53 PM
we hosting philly tonight.  this is a good game to show whether or not we going to hold things together down the stretch or collapse.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 27, 2009, 11:32:51 PM
ny lose to philly 108-103
Post by: Quags on February 28, 2009, 01:18:05 AM
cant afford to do that .
Post by: daryn on March 01, 2009, 01:01:17 PM
yesterday was a tough loss to take.   get outscored by 20 in the 4th quarter and blow a big lead in the process.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 01, 2009, 02:25:34 PM
flash was boss,46 points.
Post by: daryn on March 04, 2009, 11:28:10 PM
we win tonight.  beating a team that going to make the playoffs in the process.  let's go knicks.  we hadda finish up strong,
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 05, 2009, 08:01:42 AM
comin dong to de end of de season,these NY teams does just buss.mets last 2 years and we all know wuh happennin to de knickerbockers in recent times. :(
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 08, 2009, 03:52:12 PM
NY @ NJ.i gave up any hope of NY in de playoffs.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 08, 2009, 06:37:10 PM
nets win 106-101.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 10, 2009, 09:00:35 PM
big win tonite in milwaukee 120-112
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 11, 2009, 08:26:41 PM
big win in detroit.116-111
Post by: chinee boi on March 11, 2009, 08:37:51 PM
big win in detroit.116-111

:applause:
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 08:25:18 PM
another win fuh NY in minnesota 102-94
Post by: daryn on March 13, 2009, 09:26:17 PM
yeah man.  glad I took this game in.

3 game win streak and we a game out of the last playoff spot.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 09:54:08 PM
yeah man.  glad I took this game in.

3 game win streak and we a game out of the last playoff spot.
and 3 wins on de road to boot.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 15, 2009, 08:25:46 PM
NY lost to cavs 98-93.
Post by: daryn on March 18, 2009, 11:18:01 AM
Gallinari heading back to Italy to see specialists about his back.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 18, 2009, 01:35:42 PM
they does get ah good few minutes and production from this fella.
Post by: daryn on March 18, 2009, 07:50:05 PM
26 pt loss tonight against the Nets of all teams. 
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 19, 2009, 10:06:04 AM
was checkin de score periodically,NY neva had ah chance.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 23, 2009, 08:25:58 PM
tough loss at home.orlando 106-102.
Post by: daryn on March 23, 2009, 08:36:29 PM
28-42.

Need to win half of the remaining games to pass the 33 wins we had in Isiah first season as coach.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 25, 2009, 08:04:05 AM
with de playoffs 2 weeks away it certainly lookin like ah cavs lakers final showdown.suns eh makin de playoffs.pistons gettin knocked out de 1st rd.team to watch is rockets.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 25, 2009, 08:05:24 AM
another year failure fuh NY.we really need king james in de garden. ;D
Post by: daryn on March 25, 2009, 08:07:09 AM
next year for sure.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 25, 2009, 08:10:02 AM
next year for sure.
yeah i does say that too. ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 25, 2009, 08:33:47 AM
another year failure fuh NY.we really need king james in de garden. ;D

Ah know dis is de rumour but fuh de life ah me ah cyar see why Lebron would leave a successful Cavs franchise poised to potentially claim the NBA title (well, not really, LA all de way  :devil:) to join de Knicks, is playin fuh NY all that the hype suggests?  Not that the Knicks is a bad franchise but it doesn't make ah whole lotta sense to me given that they seem to have a winning formula in Cleveland
Post by: daryn on March 25, 2009, 09:01:26 AM
lebron would be nice of course but I think the Knicks as an organization really going overboard.

basically, they throw away this season and maybe even next season to clear cap room in the hope of signing him in 2010.

I suppose that lebron is not the only potential target: everybody who get drafted with him, except carmelo, contract will be up so is Lebron, D-Wade and Bosh as free agents at the same time.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 25, 2009, 06:22:49 PM
lebron would be nice of course but I think the Knicks as an organization really going overboard.

basically, they throw away this season and maybe even next season to clear cap room in the hope of signing him in 2010.

I suppose that lebron is not the only potential target: everybody who get drafted with him, except carmelo, contract will be up so is Lebron, D-Wade and Bosh as free agents at the same time.
lebron wade in that order,ah go pass on bosh.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 26, 2009, 08:08:09 AM
loss to clippers 140-135 in MSG.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 30, 2009, 04:06:53 PM
only ah miracle could put them in de playoffs now.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 31, 2009, 12:59:45 PM
lost to utah 112-104.them go be fishing fuh de playoffs.
Post by: daryn on April 05, 2009, 06:31:39 AM
officially eliminated last night.

philly clinch a spot.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 05, 2009, 11:34:43 AM

philly clinch a spot.
daiz 5 years in a row now.
Post by: Quags on April 05, 2009, 05:52:25 PM

philly clinch a spot.
Who eliminate alyah boi .
Post by: daryn on April 05, 2009, 06:23:21 PM

philly clinch a spot.
Who eliminate alyah boi .

same side we just come back and beat today.  Funny enough, I think that might mean elimination for them.

Post by: Quags on April 05, 2009, 06:42:42 PM
touche .........but am not sure .
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 05, 2009, 07:05:20 PM
with that lost today raptors officially out.
Post by: Quags on April 05, 2009, 08:06:19 PM
Fitting we eliminate each other .
Post by: big dawg on April 06, 2009, 04:36:16 AM
on again we have a long summer..
Post by: daryn on April 08, 2009, 12:51:07 PM
Let's go Mets.
Post by: fari on April 09, 2009, 04:49:51 PM
*sigh*
Post by: big dawg on June 10, 2009, 09:59:19 PM
ok so we have # 8 pick in the draft..

Stephen Curry done working out with the team.. just what we need.. a next point guard...
Post by: chinee boi on June 11, 2009, 09:19:53 AM

Stephen Curry done working out with the team.. just what we need.. a next point guard...

keep in mind Donnie Walsh might be trading players so we go see
Post by: daryn on June 11, 2009, 02:09:59 PM

not only a next point guard, but a next man named Curry too.
Post by: fari on June 11, 2009, 03:51:08 PM
hm, i ent know how curry will do in the league against them walls he go be facing (all them 1s are diesel), i expect him to bulk up but then will that make him lose some mobility.  oh well, let's hope 2010 brings some talent to the most famous arena in bball.
Post by: sinned on June 11, 2009, 06:11:01 PM
curry playing under d'antoni will be a special, special player i feel.

curry is like the ideal d'antoni point guard. i think he'll be a lot better at running the fast break than running a half-court offense. and he can shoot the lights out from 3 point range - he's already a great pure shooter. tailor-made for d'antoni.