Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on November 04, 2008, 10:30:45 AM

Title: Best SSFL team you ever witness.
Post by: Sam on November 04, 2008, 10:30:45 AM
What's the best SSFL team you ever witness personally play live.

For me in this order for 1987/88.

1. St Benedicts
2. Signall Hill
3. Presentation (Sando)
4. Arima
5. St Augustine
Title: Re: Best SSFL team you ever witness.
Post by: grskywalker on November 04, 2008, 10:47:59 AM
You forgot the biggest team of all

SAN FERNANDO TECH!
Post by: Sam on November 04, 2008, 10:49:37 AM
You forgot the biggest team of all

SAN FERNANDO TECH!

I said 'witness live' I never see them play live. In 1987/88 they wasn't hot, maybe back in de days.
Post by: Star Child on November 04, 2008, 10:55:43 AM
Well Benedicts didn't look to good here...  :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_u6lFLboH5k
Post by: 2cents on November 04, 2008, 10:58:03 AM
For me Arima...think is around 91 or 92 there...when Trotman was embarassin men every game. East was bess all them time with Nixon and Stern etc
Post by: trinimuse on November 04, 2008, 11:08:26 AM
1987 Pres Sando, team with Sherwood, Colin Osborne, Lester Branker, Romano Paul et al.

vs St Mary's 1987
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gP7HDF94qA&feature=related
Post by: Big Magician on November 04, 2008, 11:10:33 AM
well i saw them many times live...and the answer is sando tech...
Post by: Sam on November 04, 2008, 11:15:31 AM
well i saw them many times live...and the answer is sando tech...

Wha year ?

Sherwood was special. Hislop collect some goals in de ass for St Marys....  :rotfl:

Trotman was good at school, never liked him at international level.

Benedicts did lose vs Signal Hill but they had a good team, Pres was hot too.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 04, 2008, 11:20:39 AM
Signal Hill!!!....talk done!!... ;D
Post by: fatimarima on November 04, 2008, 11:33:17 AM
Sando Tech ...with latas
Arima snr comp...with jamerson
Signal Hill..with Yorke
St Augustine ....with Nixon
Malick.....with Dwarika
Belmont....with (I think Colin Roberts) The year they win intercol

My absolute favorite ssfl Team....Arima snr Comp 91' with Mickey Trotman, Dwayne Demmin, Darron Gooding, Pope, Powtan, Bishop, Carrera, Austin, Thomas, Khari Williams (khari Kill), Coa
Post by: morvant on November 04, 2008, 11:37:17 AM
1. Malick in the late 90's a la Conrad

2. St Anthony's with carlos

3. Altho i doh like them playing QRC on QRC grounds was the bessss experience, that music, the chant, the ropeoff field. EPIC

4. Tranquil

5. Mucorapo
Post by: acb on November 04, 2008, 11:37:32 AM
Presentation (San F'do) in 1996 had a wicked squad. Had a keeper that was converted to a striker that season, and he rain goals on other teams. Too bad the season was officially suspended in the middle of season due to the teachers' strike.
That year however, an un-official Intercol of sorts was conducted, and most of the team continued to play.
Pres came away unofficial Nat'l Champs that year.

My favourite squad from Pres is the 93 squad that Avery John skippered. In South Intercol, beat Naps 3-0. We scored in the last min of regulation time with a curling corner vs Benedicts and ended up beating them on penalties. Then Avery Score the winner from a PK vs. Ike Jurwan led Princes Town in the finals. Eventually got beat by Signal Hill in the National Semis.  

Saw lots of Benedicts and Pres while in primary school up to 91, and those teams starred Ivan Sampson and Anthony Sherwood respectively. During that time, also witnessed the St. Benedict's vs. Arima debacle in Skinner Park, when the crowd invaded the pitch and the game was called off.

From the North when regional intercol started, St. Anthony's always seemed to have a good squad in the mid-late 90s.  
Post by: kicker on November 04, 2008, 11:40:04 AM
Belmont in 93 with Colin Roberts, Marvin Joseph, Darin Lewis, Ian Christmas & co. - probably not the best team but possibly some of the neatest, organized football I've seen at that level...

Post by: Sando on November 04, 2008, 11:49:22 AM
Benedicts 88 !!!! talk done.

Presentation College (San Fernando) was a site to see. Sherwood was a one man team like Yorke for Signal Hill.

Big crowds in them days boy. Skinner Park was de place !!!!!!!!
Post by: fatimarima on November 04, 2008, 12:02:58 PM
benadicts win in 88?....was that a QRC / Benadicts final?   dont remember much bout benadicts ....was not impressed with benadicts in the early 90's...they cheat and complain plenty
Post by: Arimaman on November 04, 2008, 12:11:47 PM
As a man who played in the SSFL and see hundreds of games, the best team ever assembled that I saw was Sando Tech, bar none.

Signal Hill was good but that team get bout 6 from Sando Tech in the Intercol Semi Final.  Yorkie was a one man show when he played for Signal Hill but Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid.

Take this from a man who wanted Arima to beat Sando Tech in the final but they were on another level....
Post by: slates on November 04, 2008, 12:16:25 PM
Lordo, is ah bunch ah youth men on here boy!

CIC - Dexter Skeene, David Nakhid, Kurt Hernandez, Barry Henderson, Gonzy, Stephen Choy Yuen, Regis,

Then:
Mucurapo - with CLauzel, Eric White, Emmerson D, Wendell Belgrave
Mucurapo - with Clint Marcell, Russel Sutton Walkes, Sean Walkes, Andy haynes
John D - the year with men like Brian Haynes, Garfield De Silva (I think), Pugh
Post by: acb on November 04, 2008, 12:20:31 PM
....Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid...

What is the story behind the demise of Sando Tech?
I remember hearing about Sando Tech (and John D) when I was growing up from partners who had played against them and collect licks for years. There seemed to be a real uproar about how the team was assembled and had Leonson, Latas and Faustin.

Did they get banned or suspended, and the program never recovered?

By the time I got around to following the SSFL, the teams to follow were Pres, Benedicts, QRC, CIC, Malick, St. Augustine, ElDo, Arima and Signal Hill. Never had the chance to see Sando Tech.
Post by: Cantona007 on November 04, 2008, 12:27:28 PM
....Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid...

What is the story behind the demise of Sando Tech?
I remember hearing about Sando Tech (and John D) when I was growing up from partners who had played against them and collect licks for years. There seemed to be a real uproar about how the team was assembled and had Leonson, Latas and Faustin.

Did they get banned or suspended, and the program never recovered?

By the time I got around to following the SSFL, the teams to follow were Pres, Benedicts, QRC, CIC, Malick, St. Augustine, ElDo, Arima and Signal Hill. Never had the chance to see Sando Tech.
From what I remember, they changed the rules so that they could not compete with the regular "high schools".
And yes, talent wise, they were the best; remember basically everyone from that team was a national player.
Post by: maxg on November 04, 2008, 12:55:14 PM
'66
Benedict's ; Fatima ; QRC
Post by: Ngozi on November 04, 2008, 01:04:42 PM
I love my Benedicts teams I cyah lie but the best College team I saw had to be Sando tech in 85 with Latas , Faustin and Leo etc I witness dem beat our benedicts team 11-1 in skinner park after I scale the wall to get in sigh.....and one of the neatest playing teams was Belmont with Colin roberts and Darren lewis and Marvin Joseph ...Colin Roberts to me is the best crosser of the ball I've ever seen in College league far and away
Post by: football king on November 04, 2008, 01:07:19 PM
As a man who played in the SSFL and see hundreds of games, the best team ever assembled that I saw was Sando Tech, bar none.

Signal Hill was good but that team get bout 6 from Sando Tech in the Intercol Semi Final.  Yorkie was a one man show when he played for Signal Hill but Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid.

Take this from a man who wanted Arima to beat Sando Tech in the final but they were on another level....

I kinda always question some of dem fellas age but have to give them the nod as the best ever. All yuh wasn't bad either that year,especially the 2nd game ah thought arima had them but faustin was thinking otherwise.  
Signal hill had a good team after that  not sure if yorke was on it They  run off 3 straight titles.
Post by: Observer on November 04, 2008, 01:11:36 PM
Benedicts in the 60's but I was small & more remember the crowd and tra la la.
Actually following football, San F'do Technical 71-72-73 dem times.
Post by: real madness on November 04, 2008, 01:15:47 PM
1987 Pres Sando, team with Sherwood, Colin Osborne, Lester Branker, Romano Paul et al.

vs St Mary's 1987
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gP7HDF94qA&feature=related

yuh mean 1986 team, won big 7 and lost in natinal intercol final...the big 7 game against eldo was one of the best comebacks i have seen in the SSFL.
Post by: palos on November 04, 2008, 01:17:39 PM
St Anthony's....Kenwyne Jones, Carlos Edwards, Evans Wise, Julius James, Kevon Neaves etc

Post by: weary1969 on November 04, 2008, 01:19:35 PM
Sando Tech by a mile a landslide
Post by: sinned on November 04, 2008, 01:26:20 PM
St Anthony's....Kenwyne Jones, Carlos Edwards, Evans Wise, Julius James, Kevon Neaves etc

i'd agree with that. i think steve sealy was in the mix too. that was a beastly team. they added roderick anthony too.

my father was a teacher at sando tech and he saw them in the glory days and said no other ssfl team he's seen compared.

i have to add the 1999 and 2000 naps team. in 1999 i believe naps went undefeated all season winning 19 out of 20 with the draw coming in the Big 4 final where naps drew 2-2 with el do and then in the replay won. naps won everything on offer that year
Post by: palos on November 04, 2008, 01:33:10 PM

i'd agree with that. i think steve sealy was in the mix too. that was a beastly team. they added roderick anthony too.

my father was a teacher at sando tech and he saw them in the glory days and said no other ssfl team he's seen compared.

i have to add the 1999 and 2000 naps team. in 1999 i believe naps went undefeated all season winning 19 out of 20 with the draw coming in the Big 4 final where naps drew 2-2 with el do and then in the replay won. naps won everything on offer that year

Yeah...Sealey was poison wit dem too.

Dem win everyting it ever had to win.  North Zone, Big 7, Intercol, de works.  One a de few teams to do so.  Ah TINK dem went unbeaten too if ah not mistaken.  Not sure if any other SSFL ever do dat eedah.

Actually...daz a good question fuh Tallman.  How many SSFL teams won de treble since de Big 7/Big 5 came to be?
Post by: FF on November 04, 2008, 01:47:46 PM

Dem win everyting it ever had to win.  North Zone, Big 7, Intercol, de works.  One a de few teams to do so.  Ah TINK dem went unbeaten too if ah not mistaken.  Not sure if any other SSFL ever do dat eedah.

Actually...daz a good question fuh Tallman.  How many SSFL teams won de treble since de Big 7/Big 5 came to be?

Well Carlos Edwards never play with Kenwyne Jones and de rest of dat lot.. doh even talk for Evans Wise...  ::)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 04, 2008, 01:48:10 PM

palos whais dah one? wise went st anthonys long before KJ and carlos, etc,  ;D
Post by: palos on November 04, 2008, 01:49:19 PM

I never say dey play together.
Post by: Fantastic on November 04, 2008, 01:51:32 PM
Have some real madness being posted here. Correction was already made bout de 86 team from Pres because Shaka did not play in 87 for CIC. Another point, Yorke was DEFINITELY not the only big play for Signal Hill. Colvin Hutchinson, "Puny" Davidson and others ably assisted de boss. Next thing......how de hell Evan Wise getting call with dem men like Kenwyne and dem for St. Anthony's?  I play against Evans Wise, Miguel Mitchell, Ricardo Aleong and dem in 1988. So Wise play for 12 yrs or so? Anyway, Sando Tech was de best I see as a older fella fuh sure. When ah was lil younger around de early 80's de quality of de teams seemed a lil better.
Post by: palos on November 04, 2008, 02:05:06 PM
Have some real madness being posted here. Correction was already made bout de 86 team from Pres because Shaka did not play in 87 for CIC. Another point, Yorke was DEFINITELY not the only big play for Signal Hill. Colvin Hutchinson, "Puny" Davidson and others ably assisted de boss. Next thing......how de hell Evan Wise getting call with dem men like Kenwyne and dem for St. Anthony's?  I play against Evans Wise, Miguel Mitchell, Ricardo Aleong and dem in 1988. So Wise play for 12 yrs or so? Anyway, Sando Tech was de best I see as a older fella fuh sure. When ah was lil younger around de early 80's de quality of de teams seemed a lil better.

Show where I posted dat dey play togeddah.  Nex time take yuh time and read fuss b4 bumpin.
Post by: morvant on November 04, 2008, 02:07:59 PM

add ian mcauley to that list
Post by: pardners on November 04, 2008, 02:20:16 PM

Arguably most folks does say that about their era.  It does seem so though.

I lil partial to the Pres 83-84 team...with men like Larry Joseph, Linley Prince, Don Harry.  But general concensus is to go with the Tech 85 team with the 11 NT players.

Allyuh ever notice how yuh never hear about some of the injuries in SSFL, that yuh hearing about now ?
Long time the only injury a yute man getting was break foot or buss shin or something like that...and man still playing ball with that.  Now yuh hearing about groin strain, hamstring, ACL, tendonitis, tear ligament, stomach flu....wah is dah one boy ?
Now a yute man get a mosquito bite and he cyah play.
Post by: Blue on November 04, 2008, 02:24:21 PM

Which sealy iz dat? Not scott right?
Post by: sinned on November 04, 2008, 02:27:57 PM

Which sealy iz dat? Not scott right?

steve
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 04, 2008, 02:48:35 PM

I never say dey play together.

good try dey palos but men talking about best team not best school so the assumption is when yuh call names they play on the same team.
Post by: Observer on November 04, 2008, 02:49:41 PM
I don't know about only supporting your own era. palos see about 6 decades of SSFL even when it only had about 6 schools involved  ;D

I personally saw a few in the 60's, 70's and 80's.

Peru and White in the late 70's were a cut above
Latas and Leonson at Tec was special in the 80's
Dwight and Hutch at Signal was good in the 80's

But for me as I said Benedicts 60's and Tec 70's are the best.
Post by: Fantastic on November 04, 2008, 03:02:17 PM
I ent falling fuh dat Palos. Wasn't referring to u with de rest of de points, but as Observer observed the title of de thread indicates a team  not school history. Yuh is a board veteran doh so ah yuh allowed a slip up or 2    ;D
Post by: sinned on November 04, 2008, 03:06:26 PM
I ent falling fuh dat Palos. Wasn't referring to u with de rest of de points, but as Observer observed the title of de thread indicates a team  not school history. Yuh is a board veteran doh so ah yuh allowed a slip up or 2    ;D

i see people saying this team in the '70s and that team in the late '80s and such. when someone ask what was the best basketball team ever they might answer the bulls in the '90s. i give palos some slack because i think he was referring to the st. anthony's teams (or players on those teams) in the mid '90s to mid 2000's - they all played within 6 or 7 years.
Post by: 2cents on November 04, 2008, 03:15:10 PM
Sando Tech ...with latas
Arima snr comp...with jamerson
Signal Hill..with Yorke
St Augustine ....with Nixon
Malick.....with Dwarika
Belmont....with (I think Colin Roberts) The year they win intercol

My absolute favorite ssfl Team....Arima snr Comp 91' with Mickey Trotman, Dwayne Demmin, Darron Gooding, Pope, Powtan, Bishop, Carrera, Austin, Thomas, Khari Williams (khari Kill), Coa

Yessssss fadda...I was in standard 5 that yr....remember dem names dey. Trotman, Demmin, Bishop moms used to teach Religious Instruction in Malabar Gov't...Coa was a boss too. Ah did real like football dem time...had lessons in Arima on evenins and use to duck to go Intercol in mih short pants....big big team
Post by: Anbrat on November 04, 2008, 03:17:14 PM
I saw them all to date and my pick is undoubtedly 'The Brunner Boys' as de best team with the emphasis being on team.

(http://im1.shutterfly.com/media/47b8d902b3127ccec4fba099a1c100000040O00AcOGLJy3ct2IPbz4a/cC/f%3D0/ps%3D50/r%3D0/rx%3D550/ry%3D400/)
Post by: kaliman2006 on November 04, 2008, 03:24:20 PM
Presentation (San F'do) in 1996 had a wicked squad. Had a keeper that was converted to a striker that season, and he rain goals on other teams. Too bad the season was officially suspended in the middle of season due to the teachers' strike.
That year however, an un-official Intercol of sorts was conducted, and most of the team continued to play.

My favourite squad from Pres is the 93 squad that Avery John skippered. In South Intercol, beat Naps 3-0. We scored in the last min of regulation time with a curling corner vs Benedicts and ended up beating them on penalties. Then Avery Score the winner from a PK vs. Ike Jurwan led Princes Town in the finals. Eventually got beat by Signal Hill in the National Semis.  

Saw lots of Benedicts and Pres while in primary school up to 91, and those teams starred Ivan Sampson and Anthony Sherwood respectively. During that time, also witnessed the St. Benedict's vs. Arima debacle in Skinner Park, when the crowd invaded the pitch and the game was called off.

From the North when regional intercol started, St. Anthony's always seemed to have a good squad in the mid-late 90s.  

That goal was classic! I was at the game and remember me and my partners from school cussin' up a storm because, it looked like we were going to lose 1-0 to Benedicts AGAIN for the third year running.

Then came that that curling corner....

Easily my best live football memory.
Post by: Lower St. John on November 04, 2008, 03:52:26 PM
Bess - Sando Tech.  Hands down best team but to be fair that was the National Under 18 team.  Arima did well to hold that team at bay for so long in the Final.

One of meh all time favorites has to be the first Green Machine team to splash out in the Intercol with Long and Long (Anthony Gray) in goal, Garth Pollonais up front, and Kenny Joseph on the sidel lines.  I may be bias but I am of the opinion that the overall quality was higher with the smaller number of schools competing.  I have not seen an Intercol game since 86.

Blessings
Post by: SHOTTA on November 04, 2008, 03:55:38 PM
the 99 malick wit

tiny and kevy up front

tintin theobald and conrad in the middle

primus and clarkee in the back

the 01 st anthonys

fresh off the worldcup...stadium full every game

julius in the back kenwyne lockin the middle  and abiola clarence and ian macully upfont

grovsnor had da side runnig circles around everybody

02 malick when tinto now come...............only long ball to the left winger and he go do the rest

all yuh hearing is coach saying " doh rush him he go beat yuh"

he had real spanner to share dat season
Post by: Big Magician on November 04, 2008, 05:00:54 PM
thank god none ah allyuh still watching inter col today...allyuh go vomit
Post by: dinho on November 04, 2008, 05:29:21 PM
Probably not the best, but the best I see:

The Signal Hill side of the early 90s..

De Eldo side with Stern, Hayden Brathwaite, Ince, Larry Loobie and co... (might not all been in the same year)

The Gustine side with Nixon and McCommie..

De Malick side with Arnold Dwarika and Junior Hamilton, and couple years after with Marvin Gordon, Amuffin Daniel, Chesley Walters & co..

The Benedicts side of the early 90s..

The St. Anthony's side with Carlos that win out everything..

The Arima side with Glen Benjammin, Kirk Trotman and a fellah name i think Kerwyn Emmanuel & co.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 04, 2008, 05:32:46 PM

BM i tried to go games but it jus so poor. I went a couple pres and naps games in south and I shame to see that Naps won the National title. If that is the best in the country right now we in a real sad state of affairs.
But i still happy the title went to the southland :devil:
Post by: Observer on November 04, 2008, 06:01:42 PM

I watch last year final and yuh eh lie. I eh say nutten too loud, but I thought it was real poor. Even the rating of players for me was way off what I expected. I spoke with some old heads after the game and most agreed that  we eh even see one player with some magic on the day.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 04, 2008, 06:02:35 PM

De Eldo side with Stern, Hayden Brathwaite, Ince, Larry Loobie and co... (might not all been in the same year)

De Malick side with Arnold Dwarika and Junior Hamilton, and couple years after with Marvin Gordon, Amuffin Daniel, Chesley Walters & co..

The Arima side with Glen Benjammin, Kirk Trotman and a fellah name i think Kerwyn Emmanuel & co.

i feel yuh mean kerwyn emmanuel and not glen benjamin, glen went asja then benedicts.
Post by: kicker on November 04, 2008, 06:20:25 PM

BM i tried to go games but it jus so poor. I went a couple pres and naps games in south and I shame to see that Naps won the National title. If that is the best in the country right now we in a real sad state of affairs.
But i still happy the title went to the southland :devil:

I think the lack of atmosphere in College's league today.... and our increased exposure to int'l football has alot to do with it.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 04, 2008, 06:24:38 PM
kicker..naps vs pres is one of the few games that still has great atmosphere..the atmosphere was the same that i had seen 8 years ago...the quality was clearly what had changed
even a couple of coaches in the crowd admitted the same
Post by: acb on November 04, 2008, 06:28:54 PM
When I was at Pres, there was a running joke that the only people who went to Naps and didn't bring sada roti and tacaree for lunch was the football team.

A whole side of imports.
No shame whatsoever.
Post by: Lower St. John on November 04, 2008, 06:38:22 PM
By many accounts, it is said that Intercol has fallen off.  Another forumite made the comment that we are a society of football watchers on tv.  A while back I would have presumed that watching higher quality football and studying the game would have lead to a higher brand of football in high school at home but sadly that is not the case.  What youths see on tv they would prefer to try on FIFA 2009 for X-box.

Blessings
Post by: acb on November 04, 2008, 06:47:53 PM
By many accounts, it is said that Intercol has fallen off.  Another forumite made the comment that we are a society of football watchers on tv.  A while back I would have presumed that watching higher quality football and studying the game would have lead to a higher brand of football in high school at home but sadly that is not the case.  What youths see on tv they would prefer to try on FIFA 2009 for X-box.

Blessings

In theory that should work right?
However, the same brand that you see on tv not that easy to replicate.

When I was in Pres, Bro Michael wasn't only principal - but also team chaplin, bus driver, coach, selection committe, statistician, tactician, etc. Next day after a game, when he giving the results in assembly - he used to talk about playing to our strengths and not according to what we see on tv. He used to always say that we are not Brasil, so don't try to play like them ... especially in those days when home grounds wasn't the Manny Ramjohn, it was Union Hall.

The players our youth footballers look up to are professionals. While it is definitely something to aspire to, we simply can't play one touch fancy football with flicks, no look passing, etc. First thing - we don't practice the way they do. We don't have the diet (and stamina) that they do. We do not have the basic skill set that the possess. We have to play in a style that suits us best. That is what we did in the golden days, and that is sadly what's lacking now.

I actually think the level of coaching, the preparedness and technincal and tactical knowledge has increased 10-fold amongst our coaches - but how we communicate that to the young players seems to be where the breakdown is occuring because they are not showing it on the field. Maybe that communication being done via text messaging too.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 04, 2008, 06:59:37 PM
When I was at Pres, there was a running joke that the only people who went to Naps and didn't bring sada roti and tacaree for lunch was the football team.

A whole side of imports.
No shame whatsoever.

all the top sides had their period when they imported and did not import, and it real easy to tell the difference between the two periods, when beendicts, pres, naps, p town etc were winning they were importing, when they did not import dey collect serious licks that resulted in relegation.
Post by: fatimarima on November 04, 2008, 08:18:27 PM

i feel yuh mean kerwyn emmanuel and not glen benjamin, glen went asja then benedicts.

Actually, I think he might have ment to say Granville Millington....thats the only player from that squad that I could think of whos name starts with G.   Arimaman should be able to to clarify that since he or his brother might have been on that squad.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on November 04, 2008, 08:40:16 PM
John-D and the Mucarapo squad with Clauzel in the late 70's. Only saw Sando Tech televised.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 04, 2008, 08:56:45 PM
This really isn't about people sticking to their generation as some of us older heads have been accused of doing, but, the quality of football in the SSFL has, sadly, fallen WAY, WAY OFF.......The last Intercol game I witnessed was the North Zone final between Mucorapo and Fatima in '05 and it was terrible.  Mucorapo were, by far, the more skillful team, but their collective attitude and Fatima's industry, clearly fueled by a greater desire to win, did them in.  It's too bad, because all the years I have lived abroad, I have always kept Intercol among the small list of things I miss the most about T&T.  It eh what it used to be.  That being said, the top teams I have ever witnessed in colleges League are:

Sando Tech: Anthony Clarke, Latas, Russel Sutton....allyuh know dem!      

Mucorapo Senior Comrehensive: Ian "The Dread Dribbler" Clauzel, Tractor, Emmison Dubisson (sp) my favourite of all time (outside QRC!)

Green Machine in the early 80's was damned near UNSTOPPABLE! Pollanais, Mickey Rat.....

San Juan wit Mamba and he posse, come in we grounds and ress tree quick ones in meh ass!!

Fatima wit the Netto Brothers was a good side

Tranquility in the late 70's

John D in the late 70's

by all accounts, ah hear Dwight's Signal Hill posse was no joke, too!

Most hourable mention goes to Mucorapo Junior Secondary school in the early 80's.  The best U-14 team ever assembled:

Ross Russell
Clint Marcelle
Russel Sutton
Bugger
Todd Willis
and plenty more ah cyah remember
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 04, 2008, 09:49:53 PM

Actually, I think he might have ment to say Granville Millington....thats the only player from that squad that I could think of whos name starts with G.   Arimaman should be able to to clarify that since he or his brother might have been on that squad.

yeah that is what i was trying to the type but obviously there was a disconnect between my brain and my fingers...granville was a good player.
Post by: Arazi on November 04, 2008, 10:06:52 PM
ok...let me start addressing the anthony's issue
the 97 anthony's team i believe had carlos..they had win intercol...knockout qrc in the semis
that year north zone had three bess squads
compre had glen and had win north zone
anthony's had carlos
and qrc win big seven with men like sobers, duane campbell (throw way the penalty in intercol for us to lose), marco elcock, rudy rudder that side was arguably QRCs best in recent years altho the 2003 squad might have sumtin to say..

the 2002 anthony's squad was an advantage side tho...that side hit qrc 8 home AND away - i was so glad i had stay home both days then
that side had kenwyne, julius, khalil mathura, roderick anthony, steve sealy, christopher sam..they had so much players neaves used to ride pine all kinda thing...they hit p/town 6 in the intercol final that year
the 2003 side wasn't as dred but similarly impressive...for the entire season that side lost twice...to QRC..once at QRC...the other time in the North Zone Intercol final... Anthony's came back to knock us out in national semis with a golden goal...
that QRC squad had simba aberdeen, aldo hope, radanfah abu bakr, jason devenish, mikhail awai and thorne holder and richard 'torpedo' thompson..it was the only team that could have stood up to that anthony's team....

i can't really pick between those squads...
but intercol has not been the same since that 2003...
btw the black man pull it off yes...
Post by: sinned on November 04, 2008, 10:22:09 PM

the 2002 anthony's squad was an advantage side tho...that side hit qrc 8 home AND away - i was so glad i had stay home both days then
that side had kenwyne, julius, khalil mathura, roderick anthony, steve sealy, christopher sam..they had so much players neaves used to ride pine all kinda thing...they hit p/town 6 in the intercol final that year

it wasnt ptown. it was naps... i's a naps man but i cant let ptown take the fall for that one.

i remember when we fill up the maxi and dem to go watch that game. and when we get there we was amazed by the size of them st. anthony's men. it was like men against boys... not good times.

but when we were down by plenty, we keeper shai prescod was on wildness and hit a man a spanner in we own penalty box. we get onn mad for dat but that was about it

Post by: Arazi on November 04, 2008, 10:27:44 PM

it wasnt ptown. it was naps... i's a naps man but i cant let ptown take the fall for that one.

i remember when we fill up the maxi and dem to go watch that game. and when we get there we was amazed by the size of them st. anthony's men. it was like men against boys... not good times.

but when we were down by plenty, we keeper shai prescod was on wildness and hit a man a spanner in we own penalty box. we get onn mad for dat but that was about it

for real...it was naps..buh it really had nothing u coulda do....as a qrc man, i admit we collect 8 twice..the one goal we score against them in qrc was a julius james own goal...not even a qrc man...
Post by: fishs on November 04, 2008, 10:36:21 PM

The best QRC side I ever saw was the one with, Leacock, Jeremy Shortt, Keno Mason and a very young Hector Sam, they woulda win everything that year if Benedicts and Arima did'n have they bacahnnal in south that year..

But the best I ever saw was the John D side of 78' 79'.
Peru, Pugh, Castellano, Haynes, Lucas, Cumberbatch, De Silva etc, Fatima was almost as good and even beat them in intercol.
Craig, Rodriquez, Ramdoo, Corneal etc.

2 boss sides that played exceptional football together .

Sando Tech and Signal Hill led by Hutchison honorable mention
Post by: dinho on November 04, 2008, 11:37:08 PM

Actually, I think he might have ment to say Granville Millington....thats the only player from that squad that I could think of whos name starts with G.   Arimaman should be able to to clarify that since he or his brother might have been on that squad.

i meant granville millington, my bad... thanks
Post by: fatimarima on November 04, 2008, 11:44:14 PM

The best QRC side I ever saw was the one with, Leacock, Jeremy Shortt, Keno Mason and a very young Hector Sam, they woulda win everything that year if Benedicts and Arima did'n have they bacahnnal in south that year..

Peru, Pugh, Castellano, Haynes, Lucas, Cumberbatch, De Silva etc, Fatima was almost as good and even beat them in intercol.

CORRECTION.....ARIMA WOULD HAVE WON EVERYTHING IF BENADICTS DID NOT START BACAHNAL THAT PREVENTED THE ARIMA /QRC FINAL FROM BEING PLAYED
Post by: fishs on November 04, 2008, 11:56:10 PM

CORRECTION.....ARIMA WOULD HAVE WON EVERYTHING IF BENADICTS DID NOT START BACAHNAL THAT PREVENTED THE ARIMA /QRC FINAL FROM BEING PLAYED
That is your opinion brother and I for one not going to argue with obsurdity
Post by: rotatopoti3 on November 05, 2008, 12:09:05 AM

Fella ..d JACKASS QRC principal at d time...Douglas held ah meeting with d QRC team and tell them that he didnt want to take d Arbitration to court because QRC have too much pride or some shit to that effect.

Dat season Jeremy Shortt (Checkie) run from half line and score against Malick...in d North Zone Final...Arima couldnt beat dat QRC team..at dat time...dem fellas was in peak form

On that QRC team yuh also had Joel Ribierro(keeper) Andre Williams, Shawn Garcia(Hefty) and ah think Shawn Ezeb was in that team

QRC was also in d Big 7 dat season..ah remember dey cut Signal Hill ass 3-1 in Tobago and Ruff up Presentation on QRC ground...Ribiero make some boss saves in dat match...
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 05, 2008, 01:24:10 AM

Fella ..d JACKASS QRC principal at d time...Douglas held ah meeting with d QRC team and tell them that he didnt want to take d Arbitration to court because QRC have too much pride or some shit to that effect.

Dat season Jeremy Shortt (Checkie) run from half line and score against Malick...in d North Zone Final...Arima couldnt beat dat QRC team..at dat time...dem fellas was in peak form

On that QRC team yuh also had Joel Ribierro(keeper) Andre Williams, Shawn Garcia(Hefty) and ah think Shawn Ezeb was in that team

QRC was also in d Big 7 dat season..ah remember dey cut Signal Hill ass 3-1 in Tobago and Ruff up Presentation on QRC ground...Ribiero make some boss saves in dat match...

Trust me, Padnah, Dougie makin' dem kinda decision long time.  This is the same man who REFUSE to let Dexter Sandy (as well as a HOST of other major, TALENTED football players the year before him and after him) repeat 5th form, jed.  Dougie lost a lot of respect from a lot of people fuh dem decision, Padnah.
Post by: Sando on November 05, 2008, 06:20:03 AM

Didn't know Evans Wise played alongside Jones, Edwards, Julius James and Kevon Neaves. He must be 23 all now.
Post by: FF on November 05, 2008, 09:51:39 AM
Steups.. I could see that plenty men eh taking on de thread... de best team yuh ever witness!

I see men calling the 97 St Anthony's squad... I go say it now! That side was ordinary at best!!
ORDINARY!! Carlos Edwards was on the side yes... but they do nothing in de league! Anybody who really watch de league that year would never call this side. Corbeaux Brand for days and pass it to Carlos...

And they was LUCKY for Intercol... Men go call me a HATER, but I see plenty of dey games that year..
In intercol some bad bounce and de lights went out in PSA save dem against Malick... QRC shoulda beat them in de oval too... They best game was the final against Benedicts... They was just a jumbie side... Almost like a Greece Euro run, just not so ugly and defensive... BUT DEFINITELY NOT a best side... not even of the '90's.

The best side that year 1997 was Mucurapo with Cornell Glen, Josh Johnson, Kerry Baptiste, Kerwyn Jack, Natty Charles et al. Them was running brand. That side was undefeated up until de second to last game of de season, when in form Fatima hit dem ah come from behind smash and grab last minute goal...

QRC also had a serious side... Benedicts "Big Truck" was bad too but dey pop down bad in de end.

my opinion eh.... let meh hear allyuh
Post by: spideybuff on November 05, 2008, 10:00:54 AM

Allyuh men wicked to leave out Rahim and Nigel Pierre if you just listing big name St. Anthony's players. Them was the men who really was that start to making St. Anthony's a force in the SSFL.
Carlos had nothing on them men in those days...
Post by: spideybuff on November 05, 2008, 10:16:15 AM

Sorry, you one year off there I think. That QRC side had Leacock in goal and Andre Williams was captain. Garcia and them other men were gone already. And somebody mention a young Hector Sam but he wasn't in QRC til bout 94.

That side were on a 21 game unbeaten run that season after losing the 1st game in Moka to Trinity and then the Big 8 final to Saints in south (after they injure Jeremy Shortt in the first half) so sorry Arima, but if you couldn't beat Benedicts properly, u wasn't beating QRC that year. Remember back then it was real rare to go Tobago and beat Signal Hill, and that's what we do in our Semi while waiting on allyuh from east and south to sort out allyuh dispute. And in the Big 8 it was a CIC v QRC final, proving that North was the strongest league that year.

It could be nostalgia, but that period of School's football seemed like the best for me:

Malick had Dwarika and probably half the Soca Warriors;
QRC had a bomb squad under Roderick Warner;
St. Mary's had a late season run under Gally with Jason Rocke, Gabre Cummings and Hisham Gomes in ripping form;
Arima was going guns with Mickey Trotman;
Eldo was a big side with Kevin Jeffries mashing up;
I think Nixon was still with Gustine too but he was overshadowed by them two other east sides that year
Pres had Avery John and Tony Sherwood in what was probably their last year as a true challenger;
Benedicts with Wesley Webb was real getting on down south too

Post by: morvant on November 05, 2008, 10:17:56 AM
Steups.. I could see that plenty men eh taking on de thread... de best team yuh ever witness!

I see men calling the 97 St Anthony's squad... I go say it now! That side was ordinary at best!!
ORDINARY!! Carlos Edwards was on the side yes... but they do nothing in de league! Anybody who really watch de league that year would never call this side. Corbeaux Brand for days and pass it to Carlos...

And they was LUCKY for Intercol... Men go call me a HATER, but I see plenty of dey games that year..
In intercol some bad bounce and de lights went out in PSA save dem against Malick... QRC shoulda beat them in de oval too... They best game was the final against Benedicts... They was just a jumbie side... Almost like a Greece Euro run, just not so ugly and defensive... BUT DEFINITELY NOT a best side... not even of the '90's.

The best side that year 1997 was Mucurapo with Cornell Glen, Josh Johnson, Kerry Baptiste, Kerwyn Jack, Natty Charles et al. Them was running brand. That side was undefeated up until de second to last game of de season, when in form Fatima hit dem ah come from behind smash and grab last minute goal...

QRC also had a serious side... Benedicts "Big Truck" was bad too but dey pop down bad in de end.

my opinion eh.... let meh hear allyuh

i was bout 13-14 so to me that carlos side was bess.
Post by: spideybuff on November 05, 2008, 10:46:03 AM
Nah, Compre and QRC was the best sides in north by far that year. Cornell Glen and the red boots was unstoppable and Travis Sobers from QRC was the national under 20's captain and put Carlos in the shade, while Marco Elcock break records for goals scored that year. In fact, outside Carlos and the big defender Etthan Stewart, St. Anthony's had no real notable names (no offence to any of you who are members of the board)

St. Anthony's just had a good intercol run, like CIC last year...but that was the precursor to them becoming the institution they are now.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on November 05, 2008, 11:43:05 AM
Big 8 final to Saints in south (after they injure Jeremy Shortt in the first half)

What iz interesting about that match ..is that 2 Saints fellas sandwich Checkie REAL HARD and ah aint goe lie I thought that was it for he....but to tell yuh how good a player Checkie was..he score a couple minutes after on them.... :devil:
Post by: morvant on November 05, 2008, 01:06:32 PM
huw de muda c%$^ ah man could tell another man ah Team HE WITNESS wasnt good enough ???

so cause i was born in the eightees i would never see ah good intercol game????
Post by: palos on November 05, 2008, 01:20:34 PM

Allyuh men wicked to leave out Rahim and Nigel Pierre if you just listing big name St. Anthony's players. Them was the men who really was that start to making St. Anthony's a force in the SSFL.
Carlos had nothing on them men in those days...

True talk dat.
Post by: Arazi on November 05, 2008, 01:28:02 PM
Nah, Compre and QRC was the best sides in north by far that year. Cornell Glen and the red boots was unstoppable and Travis Sobers from QRC was the national under 20's captain and put Carlos in the shade, whole Marco Elcock break records for goals scored that year. In fact, outside Carlos and the big defender Etthan Stewart, St. Anthony's had no real notable names (no offence to any of you who are members of the board)

St. Anthony's just had a good intercol run, like CIC last year...but that was the precursor to them becoming the institution they are now.
this is true talk..but wasn't rahim in that anthony's squad as well? i know he was wid anthony's aroun 95-97 there...my sister used to rel talk about him...
97 was a rel bess year for real..intercol has not been good since 2003...that was the last good year in my opinion...
Post by: WestCoast on November 05, 2008, 02:18:03 PM
'66
A tie
Intercol between CIC and QRC around '69 in de Oval

when my brother and me came out de oval into ah pack ah QRC men and day rip meh CIC T Shirt off one time. de one I had painted myself for the occasion....it must have been Mango Chow :devil:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 05, 2008, 03:15:03 PM

Sorry, you one year off there I think. That QRC side had Leacock in goal and Andre Williams was captain. Garcia and them other men were gone already. And somebody mention a young Hector Sam but he wasn't in QRC til bout 94.

That side were on a 21 game unbeaten run that season after losing the 1st game in Moka to Trinity and then the Big 8 final to Saints in south (after they injure Jeremy Shortt in the first half) so sorry Arima, but if you couldn't beat Benedicts properly, u wasn't beating QRC that year. Remember back then it was real rare to go Tobago and beat Signal Hill, and that's what we do in our Semi while waiting on allyuh from east and south to sort out allyuh dispute. And in the Big 8 it was a CIC v QRC final, proving that North was the strongest league that year.

It could be nostalgia, but that period of School's football seemed like the best for me:

Malick had Dwarika and probably half the Soca Warriors;
QRC had a bomb squad under Roderick Warner;
St. Mary's had a late season run under Gally with Jason Rocke, Gabre Cummings and Hisham Gomes in ripping form;
Arima was going guns with Mickey Trotman;
Eldo was a big side with Kevin Jeffries mashing up;
I think Nixon was still with Gustine too but he was overshadowed by them two other east sides that year
Pres had Avery John and Tony Sherwood in what was probably their last year as a true challenger;
Benedicts with Wesley Webb was real getting on down south too

allyuh men posting all kinda incorrect info, sherwood last year playing for pres was in 88.
Post by: College on November 05, 2008, 03:48:40 PM
1. Sando Tech ... Latas, Faustin, Weeks, etc etc
2. Arima ... Jamerson etc etc
3. Bourg... Sean Mcletchie, Mamba, Speedy, Mickey Rat (before he transfer to 'gustine) etc etc

Dem youth men nowadays cyeh even come close...no offense to the younger members on the forum, just my observation.
Post by: Deeks on November 05, 2008, 04:40:38 PM
QRC 68. Sheldon Gomes, Rolph Clark, Roger mathews, Steven Gomez, Selby Brown, Earl Best
CiC 68. Russel Texeira, Ian Bain, Alvin henderson, Mike Cooper, Steve Waldron, Hani Najjar
Belmont 69. Pat Wilkinson, Loydie Noel, Gregory Trujillo
CIC 70/71. Lieba, Neil Williams, Frankie Stone, Edgehill, Woodley, Callender, Nancoo,etc
Belmont 70/71. Ron Laforest, Lennox Laforest, Japa Fredericks, Wayne Lewis
Tranquil 72, Tom Philips, McIntyre, Lakhan, Murell
Sando Tech 70-73. Span, mitchel, Augustine, Wright, Ford, Degourville, Sirju, Balfon, Danny Williams,Sutherland, Wayne Smith, and on and on!!!!
Belmont 74. Brian Brown, Plucky,etc
Naps 72/73. Homer, Francis, Ross
Post by: Benchwarmer on November 05, 2008, 09:15:44 PM
ok...let me start addressing the anthony's issue
the 97 anthony's team i believe had carlos..they had win intercol...knockout qrc in the semis
that year north zone had three bess squads
compre had glen and had win north zone
anthony's had carlos
and qrc win big seven with men like sobers, duane campbell (throw way the penalty in intercol for us to lose), marco elcock, rudy rudder that side was arguably QRCs best in recent years altho the 2003 squad might have sumtin to say..

the 2003 side wasn't as dred but similarly impressive...for the entire season that side lost twice...to QRC..once at QRC...the other time in the North Zone Intercol final... Anthony's came back to knock us out in national semis with a golden goal...
that QRC squad had simba aberdeen, aldo hope, radanfah abu bakr, jason devenish, mikhail awai and thorne holder and richard 'torpedo' thompson..it was the only team that could have stood up to that anthony's team....

i can't really pick between those squads...
but intercol has not been the same since that 2003...
btw the black man pull it off yes...

That 2002 Tigers yuh talkin bout. Mathura was never on that side. Mathura is a CIC player. That team had Cabral and Chin Sang on the bench ( men who grovner coach from young) it was Stevie, Ian Mc auley, kenwyne, neaves ( never use to bench) Anthony on the right and  benito (from trinity) and trim, J james and Yohance Marshall. It also had small small and rhal other players who use to come on and the game never drop. That qrc side had nuthn on that team. the only team that was close was malick with Tinto.

Another good side was 98 Fatima..  Gibbings had just leave to go st anthony's.. It had stevie, FF, Brent Radix, Stoute, bosierre, JP and Marlon Rojas. I think it had a lee sing on that team too.

The compre with glenn too.. that team was good. I think that is when the school now start to get money from sponsers.. willies ice cream sponsor they uniforms...
Post by: Anbrat on November 05, 2008, 09:42:26 PM

[/quote]

allyuh men posting all kinda incorrect info, sherwood last year playing for pres was in 88.
[/quote]

It also seems dat most posters have more than one (1) best team.  ;D
Post by: acb on November 05, 2008, 09:50:40 PM

dem men doh know what they talking about.

PRES FOREVER!!!
Post by: Anbrat on November 06, 2008, 05:22:29 AM

PRES FOREVER!!![/quote]

I hear yuh! I hope you mean Sando.
Post by: acb on November 06, 2008, 09:34:19 AM

PRES FOREVER!!!

I hear yuh! I hope you mean Sando.

It ever had another one?
Post by: football king on November 06, 2008, 05:34:56 PM

[/quote]

[/quote]

Unless man was mistaking Rhett Mitchell for Sherwood??
Post by: Israel on November 06, 2008, 05:43:39 PM
Arazi dat St. Anthony's team was a bomb squad.

I started CIC in 95 and Anthony's had rahim, nigel pierre on d squad dat year fuh real.

Their other stars besides Carlos and Ethan Stewart when they won were Marcus Rodriguez, Sean Cooper, Jermaine ( a real good keeper ). They also had an indian fella playing left or right back that was solid too.I think one of the Westfield brothers from Malick went to Anthony's but i not sure if its that yr or 98.

CIC 96 team. This is the yr school football got cancelled due to teachers striking. Our team had players like
Chello, Richard Santana, Zane O'Brien, Mathew Camacho, Cambridge, Leslie 'Tiger' Fitzpatrick.

Benedicts team in 97 and 98 were good also

Spann, Lyndon Diaz, 'Ice', Cornwall, Alpheus benjamin, Arazi (strong possibility its the forumite), Toussaint, Dia Hunte

St. Anthony's 02 team was playing like a ranked NCAA Div 1 team. Was a serious bomb squad.

QRC 97 with marco and co. was a bomb squad also.

Eldo 01 team with Wiltshire, bevin, Abede was a big team too.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 07, 2008, 06:22:18 AM
'66
A tie
Intercol between CIC and QRC around '69 in de Oval

when my brother and me came out de oval into ah pack ah QRC men and day rip meh CIC T Shirt off one time. de one I had painted myself for the occasion....it must have been Mango Chow :devil:

:rotfl:  Nah, Dred, nah.  Notatall!!  Ah tell yuh I eh have no hate fuh Saints, man..........but on de odder hand....if ah needed a quick sumting to blow meh nose........ :devil: 
Post by: Arimaman on November 07, 2008, 07:47:36 AM

St. Anthony's 02 team was playing like a ranked NCAA Div 1 team. Was a serious bomb squad.

I eh no bout that.  It eh have no high school team, none in trini that beating a ranked NCAA Div 1 team.  Not happening...
Post by: Benchwarmer on November 07, 2008, 09:59:05 AM

I eh no bout that.  It eh have no high school team, none in trini that beating a ranked NCAA Div 1 team.  Not happening...

But each and every player from that squad either play college ball or in the national set up now. from the keeper-( Jan Michael Williams) to the subs. It would be hard to find a player from that team that didnt go to college for ball or otherwise. That team was assembled and created eh. Just like a college team. In the starting line up, I think maybe 1 or2 persons orginally from the school.
Post by: spideybuff on November 07, 2008, 10:05:58 AM

Unless man was mistaking Rhett Mitchell for Sherwood??

Right, right it was Rhett...I know it had a big player. Tha's my brethren too, I cah believe I 4get the man. Thank you there
Post by: morvant on November 07, 2008, 10:07:08 AM

check the squad. u sure they couldnt compete?
Post by: Arimaman on November 07, 2008, 03:41:56 PM

check the squad. u sure they couldnt compete?

Leh we defiine beat and compete.  Are you referring to that team taking on a D1 college team in '92 or today?  If you are saying today, then I would agree with you.  But back in 02, I would say that is madness.

I does read where men say how College League team in trini could beat a D1 ranked team and thing but that not happening.  The kids in D1 way too physical for our players.  When I first played in college, the physical nature and speed of the game was difficult to adapt to.
Post by: Feliziano on November 09, 2008, 08:40:34 AM

according to ah pardner de bad part was dat we did done rebuild already when we collect dat licks lol

but the best teams i see was Benedicts and Signal Hill late 80's
PTown and Malick early 90's
too bad ah never get to see Naps play after 2000  :'(
Post by: sweetiepaper on November 09, 2008, 09:40:55 AM
Men mention some real bomb squads here boy.
But without a doubt .... Sando Tech with Latas, Faustin, Sutton, Dexter Gill, and them boys was the bestest ever. After them they ban the Technical schools from the league.
Anybody could remember all the fellas on that Sando Squad?
It was a who's who in dem days.
Post by: Sam on November 12, 2008, 11:34:35 AM
Who ever saw Ivan Sampson play ? I think both him and Anthony Sherwood was de best I saw personally at my school time. (Dwight Yorke apart).
Post by: fatimarima on November 12, 2008, 11:51:33 AM
Who ever saw Ivan Sampson play ? I think both him and Anthony Sherwood was de best I saw personally at my school time. (Dwight Yorke apart).

Sherwood and Sampson were really good but I only saw highlights of their games on TV (news).  I did not get to much opportunity to see a lot of south zone games apart from Sando Tech.

The best players I actually saw live for intercol was Latapy, Yorke, Kona Hislop, sterlin Smith, Nixon, Dwarika, Mickey Trotman and Stern John.  There were alot of really good players but those that I mentioned really stood out for me
Post by: acb on November 12, 2008, 12:01:47 PM
Two of the finest I've ever seen. Both legends at their respective schools.

I was in primary school when these two were going at it for Benedicts and Pres respectively. I sat next to the brother of Benedicts skipper in class - along with some othermen who had Benedicts as their first choice for Common Entrance, so the stories I used to get from them always had a fairytale slant to it. On the other hand I always wanted to go to Pres, so going to Skinner Park to see these teams square off in Intercol was like going to the World Cup Finals.

Those two also had some remarkable goalkeepers tending. Benedicts has Neverson (spelling??); Pres had Allahar.

Remember one time in the park, Sherwood had his shirt ripped to pieces. Pres ended up winning that game - and also, depending on who won, you'd see supporters of the losing team in tears at Library corner. Passion ran deep in those days. Flags and banners would burn, stands would be rocking, rhythm sections would be firing out one mischievous ditty after the next. Girls. Girls from all schools, from all over. Not even 2-8 in the original Johnny Soong establishment, The Club, had more girls than Intercol.

Good part to the story is those fellas all went to Benedicts, and I went on to Pres ... and still up to this day, we're good friends.
Post by: loyalist on November 12, 2008, 05:42:19 PM
P TOWN 2001 inter col team was a very good one...That year they finished 3rd in the league..but lost in the south inter col finals against naps...they then beat el dorado on pks...beat st.anthonys, and beat naps in the national finals..then they played the champs of champs and beat scarborough they beat all the no.1 teams from the different zones except central zone..they played some exciting football during the inter col...who could remember..share some input....
Post by: acb on November 12, 2008, 05:47:08 PM
P TOWN 2001 inter col team was a very good one...That year they finished 3rd in the league..but lost in the south inter col finals against naps...they then beat el dorado on pks...beat st.anthonys, and beat naps in the national finals..then they played the champs of champs and beat scarborough they beat all the no.1 teams from the different zones except central zone..they played some exciting football during the inter col...who could remember..share some input....

Allyuh had a bomb squad the year allyuh inherit 3 Ex-Pres players.
'member that one??
Post by: the boss on December 29, 2008, 12:24:01 PM
Lol.. look at teams na...
Post by: Dumplingdinho on December 29, 2008, 01:37:19 PM
Two of the finest I've ever seen. Both legends at their respective schools.

I was in primary school when these two were going at it for Benedicts and Pres respectively. I sat next to the brother of Benedicts skipper in class - along with some othermen who had Benedicts as their first choice for Common Entrance, so the stories I used to get from them always had a fairytale slant to it. On the other hand I always wanted to go to Pres, so going to Skinner Park to see these teams square off in Intercol was like going to the World Cup Finals.

Those two also had some remarkable goalkeepers tending. Benedicts has Neverson (spelling??); Pres had Allahar.

Remember one time in the park, Sherwood had his shirt ripped to pieces. Pres ended up winning that game - and also, depending on who won, you'd see supporters of the losing team in tears at Library corner. Passion ran deep in those days. Flags and banners would burn, stands would be rocking, rhythm sections would be firing out one mischievous ditty after the next. Girls. Girls from all schools, from all over. Not even 2-8 in the original Johnny Soong establishment, The Club, had more girls than Intercol.

Good part to the story is those fellas all went to Benedicts, and I went on to Pres ... and still up to this day, we're good friends.

allahar was after sherwood time, emile played with avery.

In sherwood time the keepres were kent parris, gregory mitchell and patrick campbell.
Post by: AB.Trini on December 29, 2008, 01:44:04 PM
How about St. Benedict's of the late 60's era?  SOUTH RULES!!!!
Post by: Fantastic on December 29, 2008, 04:15:45 PM
Israel yuh smoke some bad weed or wha? Ah intercol team could ever run with a ranked Div 1 team? Yuh mad. I see former national youth players have to adjust dey game, start lifting weights, running more than they ever run in dey life to compete with de college goons in de US. Intercol is still u19 right? Anybody that could show me how 17 and 18 yr old skilful but lazy trinis could beat or seriously compete with a u25 amercian division 1 ranked athletes ah will give dem mih next paycheck. Ah waitin. Thanks
Post by: maxg on December 29, 2008, 06:19:16 PM
Israel yuh smoke some bad weed or wha? Ah intercol team could ever run with a ranked Div 1 team? Yuh mad. I see former national youth players have to adjust dey game, start lifting weights, running more than they ever run in dey life to compete with de college goons in de US. Intercol is still u19 right? Anybody that could show me how 17 and 18 yr old skilful but lazy trinis could beat or seriously compete with a u25 amercian division 1 ranked athletes ah will give dem mih next paycheck. Ah waitin. Thanks
How about a U17 provincial team, beating a NASL team(with Pele making ah guest appearance), with 2 Trini (1 score 2)who couldn't make they 1st 11 highschool team. Yuh rent paid, yuh eat ah food, cause me doh want to vragrantize yuh eh..buh in football yuh never know
Post by: fordy on December 30, 2008, 11:27:51 AM
ah see some big names and teams get call on this thread...but if we talking about best team...Sando tech hands down. i wud follow that up with signal hill with dwight, colvin etc.

there were some outstanding teams over the years and ah must give mention to them:
Nixon gustine team; Arima with Trotty; the st. anthonys team that came up from 2nd division to compete in the first division and remained there ever since (a young ricky, doldron, wise, miguel, gullop); malick had 2 classic teams, the first with arnold and the second with mavin, hardest, amuffin, barry swift (the second squad had nothing on the first); mucurapo with clauzel and the mucurapo squad with clint marcelle; st. benedicts with ivan (although the squad with glen and webb was tears too); presentation with a young sherwood and daniel quashie as skipper and company; QRC with cheeky, leacock, kerry escaye; st. marys' with kevin moze (wat a general); belmont with the most underrated intercol team probably to ever win it. that team with ian christmas, marvin joseph, anton pierre, colin roberts (one of trinidad's best technically gifted wingers to ever pass through SSFL...shame he never saw much of the national team).

now if we talking teams, them is the squads that stood out for me. schools like st. anthonys and CIC had plenty good players that pass through but sometimes, depending on the era, they didnt have the kinda talent around them to compete with the teams mentioned above. i see someone talk about the st. anthonys team with rahim and croc...they had probably 5 outstanding players that could turn a match for u (including coombs in goal who saved there ass many a games). the St. marys' squad from 96 was similarily built as the st. anthonys squad. ah must mention fellas like marvin oliver from San Juan who almost broke woodley record the year he rip up....big player but he wasnt surrounded by the quality that the teams up above had. also hector sam, rhett mitchell, cornell glen, martin robertson, jason and colin rocke, kevin barrow, ike juran, kevin jefferies,stern and marlon minguel (both trinity and gustine) as some of the best i saw at that level...in big game situations.

talking about that trinity squad, ah must say that i have seen first hand what not having the proper infrustructure in place cud do to a school team. it have some names i cud call for u fellas but you all wudnt know them, real real ballers, who either died from running the streets or get caught up in the hard life, but names you may know would be minguel, brent sancho, errol mcfarlane, kevin walker, richard santana etc. this team had an abundance of talent and not having a good coach and the school not totally behind the program resulted in its demise....wat a dam shame!!!! :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on December 30, 2008, 11:43:15 AM
so cause i was born in the eightees i would never see ah good intercol game????

Ah sorry to break it to yuh but yes..... :devil:  ;D
Post by: Sanchez on December 30, 2008, 11:45:26 AM

1993 was a good year for Pres.....they had nuff licks to get from Naps though, if the ref wasn't such a fricking thiefing son-of-a-gun.  The first goal, ah man from Naps hit ah bicycle an the closest man (Rigobelto) was about 10 feet away, the ref called free kick right outside the area...Avery score...all fall down after dat.  Bout 2 minutes before that...Napsman (Sanowar) had a sitter and shoot it wide...anyway...Pres get some licks from Signal Hill...which was good.