General => Jokes => Topic started by: capodetutticapi on November 05, 2008, 08:28:37 AM

Title: 80s and early 90s in Trinidad
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 05, 2008, 08:28:37 AM
If you were a child of the 80s and early 90s in Trinidad , you might remember:
> >
> > - giving someone and receiving a meggie
> >
> > - collecting empty tic-tac containers for the smell, filling them with water then drinking it
> >
> > - you filled empty orchard cartons with air and jumped on it to make a popping noise to scare someone
> >
> > - you screamed at the faintest sound of thunder
> >
> > - getting licks with a guava whip or a wooden ruler with a metal strip on the side
> >
> > - when push point pencils were in style
> >
> > - when stationery on a whole was in style, nice erasers were prized: scented and colourful, sharpeners shaped like hamburgers or mechanical pencils and pilot pens, fine-point preferably
> >
> > - when 'Bata' was not in style but you had to wear one anyway
> >
> > - carrying ah lunch kit with a thermos flask inside
> >
> > - reading Enid Blyton, Nancy Drew or The Hardy Boys, Judy Blume, Sweet Dreams or Sweet Valley High.
> >
> > - wearing VERY ying, very short, very tight khaki pants to school
> >
> > - wearing socks with frills
> >
> > - wearing panties with frills on the back
> >
> > - the Coca-Cola yo-yo craze
> >
> > - how handwriting was a big thing in primary school among girls, you wrote extremely small and extremely neat with care
> >
> > - at some point in time, having to ask someone or be asked:
> >
> > a) if yuh father is a glass maker
> >
> > b) if yuh have ants in yuh pants
> >
> > c) if yuh monkey glands acting up
> >
> > - you loved pencil cases and you wanted a nice one shaped like a giant pencil with a zip on one end
> >
> > - holding hands with a another girl or boy to go somewhere on an outing (everybody, find ah partner!) meant that he/she was your good friend
> >
> > - you were a Brownie or a Cub Scout, no one was quite sure what 'Red Cross' people did except you called them if somebody fell down
> >
> > - having your skin stained for days with iodine after you fell
> >
> > - boys making guns out of paper and shooting each other
> >
> > - saying 'ABC, ketch ah crab, put it in ah paper bag' to some First years or Second years
> >
> > - you read 'Lucky Dip' and West Indian Readers true
> >
> > - pennycools costing 25 cents
> >
> > - getting excited over the sight of three red beans sprouting on a wet piece of toilet paper in an old mayonaise jar
> >
> > - eating condensed milk from the can, tomato balls, paradise plums, chilibibi and planter's snacks
> >
> > - wearing poppies on Poppy Day was a fashion statement
> >
> > - cheese paste sandwiches with food colouring on Kiss bread cut in triangles
> >
> > - playing 'in ah fine castle, do you hear my sissy-o', 'I lost my glove on a Saturday night and found it Sunday morning...'
> >
> > - the smell of whitening your shoes
> >
> > - in primary school, you methodically collected eraser shavings
> >
> > - Netball, Rounders and cricket was serious business!
> >
> > - reciting time tables
> >
> > - you played catch, red-light/green-light, there's a brown girl in the ring and hand clapping games till your palms stung
> >
> > - a re-fashioned balloon was called ah chikey-chong
> >
> > - You been to Cleverwoods at least twice for a class outing.
> >
> > - Who had the most and prettiest Barbie dolls used to run tings.
> >
> > - you made those fortune telling finger toys from copy book paper
> >
> > - You used to recite the National pledge everyday, 'I solemnly swear to dedicate my life to the service of my God and my country...' But you cyar remember it now!
> >
> > - having to religiously support some curry-q, bar-b-q or chinee-q for the school
> >
> > - singing parang in a school Christmas concert or a folk song, 'mangoes...mangoes..'
> >
> > - if you went to Catholic primary school: prayers, prayers and more prayers.
> >
> > Teens of the 90s (early to mid) in Trinidad , you might remember:
> >
> > - fellas got an earring too-just one
> >
> > - football limes and Intercol
> >
> > - no matter where you went to school, Trinity College seemed so far away
> >
> > - your identity was defined by your school, there were girls and then there were 'Convent girls' (be that good, bad or indifferent)
> >
> > - red band maxis and their hard pong
> >
> > - you hoarded coloured ink pens
> >
> > - you stressed about SBAs in Form 4 and 5
> >
> > - if you travelled home, you had to lime first before you got there
> >
> > - CXC lessons and the lessons' lime
> >
> > - boys hitting school desks to start a chanting session
> >
> > - maxis and maxi conductors were the scourge of Secondary school in these days, parents were always complaining about them true
> >
> > - you knew at least one girl who was 'dealing' with a maxi-man Knight Rider, Street Hawk and Mc Gyver true
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > If you remember any of these, you my friend, are a child of the 80s and early 90s in Trinidad

Title: Re: 80s and early 90s in Trinidad
Post by: Dutty on November 05, 2008, 09:54:39 AM
some ah dem ting real take mih back in troot
Title: Re: 80s and early 90s in Trinidad
Post by: pecan on November 05, 2008, 10:37:50 AM
If you were a child of the 60s 80s and early 70s 90s in Trinidad , you might remember:
> >
> > - getting licks with a guava whip or a wooden ruler with a metal strip on the side
> >
> > - reading Enid Blyton, Nancy Drew or The Hardy Boys, Judy Blume, Sweet Dreams or Sweet Valley High.
> >
> > - wearing VERY ying, very short, very tight khaki pants to school
> >
> > - how handwriting was a big thing in primary school among girls, you wrote extremely small and extremely neat with care
> >
> > - at some point in time, having to ask someone or be asked:
> >
> > a) if yuh father is a glass maker
> >
> > b) if yuh have ants in yuh pants
> >
> >
> > - having your skin stained for days with iodine after you fell
> >
> > 
> > - getting excited over the sight of three red beans sprouting on a wet piece of toilet paper in an old mayonaise jar
> >
> > - eating condensed milk from the can, tomato balls, paradise plums, chilibibi and planter's snacks
> >
> > 
> > - playing 'in ah fine castle, do you hear my sissy-o', 'I lost my glove on a Saturday night and found it Sunday morning...'
> >
> > - the smell of whitening your shoes
> >
> > - in primary school, you methodically collected eraser shavings
> >
> > - Netball, Rounders and cricket was serious business!
> >
> > - reciting time tables
> >
> > - you played catch, red-light/green-light, there's a brown girl in the ring and hand clapping games till your palms stung
> >
> > - a re-fashioned balloon was called ah chikey-chong
> >
> >
> > - you made those fortune telling finger toys from copy book paper
> >
> >
> > - if you went to Catholic primary school: prayers, prayers and more prayers.
> >
> > - your identity was defined by your school, there were girls and then there were 'Convent girls' (be that good, bad or indifferent)
> >

I edited to show the commonality between the child of the 60's and early 70's