Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on November 20, 2008, 06:24:37 PM

Title: Sell out crowd to see Cuba ?
Post by: Sam on November 20, 2008, 06:24:37 PM
Was the the biggest crowd to see a game vs a Caribbean opponent in History ?

Tallman, e-man, Flex, where allyuh.
Title: Re: Sell out crowd to see Cuba ?
Post by: Tallman on November 20, 2008, 06:30:20 PM
Probably the World Cup Qualifier against Jamaica in de Office in 2001 when we lorse 1-0. De official attendance was reported as 34,000, and unofficially it was said to be between 35,000 and 40,000.

De crowd against Cuba was good, but it wasn't no sell-out.
Post by: Sam on November 20, 2008, 06:36:38 PM
Probably the World Cup Qualifier against Jamaica in de Office in 2001 when we lorse 1-0. De official attendance was reported as 34,000, and unofficially it was said to be between 35,000 and 40,000.

Thanks Tallman, but I was talking about in T&T and against Caribbean opposition.
Post by: Tallman on November 20, 2008, 06:42:52 PM

Thanks Tallman, but I was talking about in T&T and against Caribbean opposition.

OK, well then it might be against Jamaica in the Hasely Crawford Stadium on March 28, 1999 (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/fixtures-results.html?view=matchreport&id=286). The match was reported to be watched by a capacity crowd of 28,000. We won 2-0 on goals by Nakhid and Stern.
Post by: pardners on November 20, 2008, 06:49:21 PM
I was checking thru the thread and realise it take about 6mins for Tallman responses.  Considering the time to check the database and then post a response, I would say that time real good sah  :)
Post by: Swima on November 20, 2008, 07:03:12 PM

OK, well then it might be against Jamaica in the Hasely Crawford Stadium on March 28, 1999 (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/fixtures-results.html?view=matchreport&id=286). The match was reported to be watched by a capacity crowd of 28,000. We won 2-0 on goals by Nakhid and Stern.

Would definitely agree, though disagreeing with Tallman on stats is usually not advisable anyway. That was the so-called dream team with Stern Nixon Nakhid Yorke Latas Marcelle Shaka, Andrews, Elcock, David and Julien. I get it right Tallest?
Post by: Tallman on November 20, 2008, 07:09:20 PM

Would definitely agree, though disagreeing with Tallman on stats is usually not advisable anyway. That was the so-called dream team with Stern Nixon Nakhid Yorke Latas Marcelle Shaka, Andrews, Elcock, David and Julien. I get it right Tallest?
Yeh, is dem self.
Post by: legal alien on November 20, 2008, 07:30:37 PM

Yeh, is dem self.
i only remember that yorke was reaching  the top of his worldwide fame and it was his first international since joining and ripping up for ManU.The fact that Shaka finally decide to play for us probabaly also help guarantee that game get sell out. I  watch it live on tv.
  I speaking about the 2001 away game, i think that that was our best starting dream team up til then. too bad they lost .
Post by: WestCoast on November 20, 2008, 09:06:07 PM
I was checking thru the thread and realise it take about 6mins for Tallman responses.  Considering the time to check the database and then post a response, I would say that time real good sah  :)
I feel Tallman have one ah these (http://www.weeklystandard.com/weblogs/TWSFP/Obama%20brain.JPG) that gives him an unfair advantage over us,
like it did for Barack over McSame. :D
Post by: Bianconeri on November 20, 2008, 09:53:50 PM
what is the Hasley Crawford's max. capacity??

i heard on the news they said 20,000 ppls....that was laughable
Post by: Flex on November 21, 2008, 06:28:06 AM

David Nakhid's Goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W19gQjqdviI)

Stern John's Goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLSDjsabK4w)
Post by: KND2 on November 21, 2008, 03:21:04 PM
I was real surprised about the crowd,

Things must be changing in TnT football wise.

To me men would have stayed hime because of the Rain and the fact that most people would have believed that we would make it through.

chance are every game in the Hex will sell out now which means reall $$$ for the TTFF and warner.
Post by: elan on November 21, 2008, 03:59:56 PM
Wait the HCS don't hold 25 000?    ???
Post by: fishs on November 22, 2008, 02:54:48 AM

Used to when there was just the concrete to sit on , when they upgraded for the 2001 WC and installed seating everywhere the number came down to 20,000.

I have a theory that TTFF still operates by selling a max of 25,000 though, i believe they cater for people standing in aisles and on the top areas or in general man jus finding somewhere to see the game inside.
Post by: Socaman on November 22, 2008, 04:37:57 AM

Used to when there was just the concrete to sit on , when they upgraded for the 2001 WC and installed seating everywhere the number came down to 20,000.

I have a theory that TTFF still operates by selling a max of 25,000 though, i believe they cater for people standing in aisles and on the top areas or in general man jus finding somewhere to see the game inside.

I always thought the stadium holds 27,000...
Post by: Brownsugar on November 22, 2008, 04:46:15 AM
It used to hold 30,000 I think, but that cut to about 25,000 when they put in the seats....ah stand to be corrected...
Post by: mwanasoka on November 22, 2008, 05:21:33 AM
I tort allawe had photographic memories all this time !    :-X