Sports => Football => Topic started by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 29, 2008, 05:34:35 PM

Title: Maturana names 20-man squad for Digicel Championships.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 29, 2008, 05:34:35 PM
Maturana names 20-man squad for Digicel Championships.
… McFarlane gets a recall.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Francisco Maturana has made one new call up to the National Senior Team to contest the upcoming Digicel Caribbean Championships in Jamaica.

St Ann’s Rangers strike Errol McFarlane, who has been on loan to Lebanese club Al Mabarrah, has been included in the 20-man squad which leaves for Kingston on Monday morning ahead of its opening Group A fixture against Grenada on Wednesday at the National Stadium.

McFarlane, formerly of Defence Force and Iceland club Breidablik FC is one of three strikers in the squad with the others being W Connection’s Andre Toussaint and Clico San Juan Jabloteh’s Cornell Glen.

Maturana is said to have presented McFarlane the opportunity in the upcoming tournament as he is impressed with the player’s physical presence and goalscoring ability. McFarlane netted T&T’s goal in his last appearance in national colours in a 1-1 draw with Guatemala at the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, which was part of the coach’s review of the player.

The 31-year old has four goals in eleven appearances for T&T with three of those goals coming in the semi-final round of the 2006 World Cup qualifying campaign.

Maturana, who will have his first session with the T&T team on Tuesday in Kingston since the 3-0 win over Cuba due to the T&T Pro League schedule of matches, is optimistic and sees the importance of copping the regional title.

“The Digicel Caribbean Championships is the most important football tournament in the region and as a regional powerhouse our goal is to reach the final and win it,” Maturana told TTFF Media on Saturday. The Colombian relayed his words via newly appointed National Senior Team translator for the head coach Filippo Alario.

“We know it’s going to be difficult  because the big teams like Cuba and Jamaica which are not going to the World Cup will put together all their efforts and resources to try and win it. They will have a point to prove and we expect them to make it very difficult for the other teams including Trinidad and Tobago. And as hosts Jamaica will want to take the prize,” Maturana said.

Regarding the T&T team travelling to Kingston, he added “This is the best team that we have available with the majority being home-based players. This is also a good experience and an opportunity for these players to prove that they are an alternative for the final round of the World Cup qualification next year.”

The only other overseas-based players in the team include Toronto FC defender Julius James and Miami FC’s Avery John who are both in off season and Hungary-based goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams who returned home last week as his club Ferencvárosi TC is on a winter break. Puerto Rico Islanders defender Osei Telesford is also in off season while Khaleem Hyland is the other player attached to Belgium club SV Zulte Waregem.

Maturana has kept faith in others who were part of the team in the Digicel Preliminary phase a few weeks ago including Joe Public’s Arnold Dwarika, Karlon Murray, Marvin Phillip, Clyde Leon, Seon Power, Makan Hislop, Cyd Gray, Keon Daniel and Aklie Edwards.

Following it’s opening match against Grenada, T&T then travels to Montego Bay to face Barbados on December 5 and Jamaica on December 7. The semi finals and final action switches back to Kingston on December 11 and 14. The teams in the other Group B are defending champions Haiti, Cuba, Antigua and Barbuda and Guadeloupe.

The Digicel Caribbean Championships’ prize pool is a whopping total of US$270,000.00 with eight regional teams now competing for the grand prize of US$120,000.00 and the coveted Digicel Caribbean Championships’ trophy.  The runner-up regional team will receive US$70,000 and third and fourth places will receive US$50,000 and US$30,000 respectively. The top four finishers will advance to the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

T&T 20-man squad

Goalkeepers.

Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Jan Michael Williams (Ferencvárosi TC).

Defenders.

Sean Power (Joe Public), Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Makan Hislop, Karlon Murray (San Juan Jabloteh), Julius James (Toronto FC), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public), Avery John (Miami FC), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders).

Midfielders.

Aurtis Whitley (W Connection), Clyde Leon, Khaleem Hyland (SV Zulte Waregem), Arnold Dwarika (Joe Public), Keon Daniel (Unattached), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars).

Forwards.

Andre Toussaint (W Connection), Cornell Glen (San Juan Jabloteh), Errol McFarlane (Al Mabarrah).

Staff

Francisco Maturana (Head coach), Cesar Maturana (Assistant coach), Anton Corneal (Assistant coach), Jorge Ruiz (Trainer), Michael Maurice (Goalkeeper coach), Esmond O’Brien (Equipment manager), Dave Isaac (Physiotherapist), Terrance Babwah (Doctor) Shaun Fuentes (Media Officer), Filippo Alario (Translator), Peter Rampersad (Assistant manager) and David Muhammad (Manager).
Title: Re: TnT Digicel Squad
Post by: Cocorite on November 29, 2008, 05:40:02 PM
Well that side should win the whole ting. Ah could see Cyd or Avery wearing the arm band.
Post by: sub1 on November 29, 2008, 05:44:53 PM
Well at least Keyeno Thomas name should be there. And the midfielder from south leon?
Post by: Cocorite on November 29, 2008, 05:46:08 PM
Well at least Keyeno Thomas name should be there.

Yeah, unless Thomas need a break
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 29, 2008, 05:51:28 PM
well if i am to fill in the five names ...it would be

oh yea..Dwarika name was called...sorry...short term nah

so the next four would be Leon, Whitley, Wolfe and Thomas...
that sound like we short in mid....
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 05:52:48 PM
McFarlene what he name doin dey?
Post by: Cocorite on November 29, 2008, 05:57:29 PM

He must be playing well.  Ah fraid to ask how old he is nah. . .
Post by: sub1 on November 29, 2008, 06:00:50 PM
I suspect for his size and experience. Purer goalscorer than the other named strikers. BTW what position does Murray play and can anyone give an assessment of him.
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 06:06:23 PM
How much players we go try in 1 calender year. What happen 2 Forbes d man who start b4 Stern v Bermuda
Post by: Cocorite on November 29, 2008, 06:09:37 PM
How much players we go try in 1 calender year. What happen 2 Forbes d man who start b4 Stern v Bermuda

Dais d problem. No consistancy. Ah glad to see Julius James in the squad.
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 06:11:51 PM
Sealy get blank and all u must have missed Whitley name. Let me wait till Flex post Fuentes press release
Post by: Big Magician on November 29, 2008, 06:18:45 PM
carlon murray is a central defender for jabloteh...i am a fan...
but he was in and out of the jabloteh this season...he did not play the crunch game today vz WConn
Post by: sub1 on November 29, 2008, 06:24:00 PM
carlon murray is a central defender for jabloteh...i am a fan...
but he was in and out of the jabloteh this season...he did not play the crunch game today vz WConn

tenks
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 06:38:33 PM
So BM u recommend him 2 Mats because if he was not a regular 4 Fenick how he get selected 4 Mats. It have 2 b u
Post by: D.H.W on November 29, 2008, 06:46:56 PM
So BM u recommend him 2 Mats because if he was not a regular 4 Fenick how he get selected 4 Mats. It have 2 b u

d dumbtist strikes again  :devil:
Post by: trini warrior on November 29, 2008, 07:00:46 PM
any warriors fans goin to the games in JA?
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 07:13:43 PM
U have 2 wave d sw.net flag in JA. U may get some UWI students attend if dey can afford and dey exam schedule permit
Post by: NUFF on November 29, 2008, 07:35:48 PM
I go wait fuh de official list because some big names missing dey.
Title: Maturana names 20-man squad for DCC Finals
Post by: FireBrand on November 29, 2008, 07:45:47 PM
Maturana names 20-man squad for DCC Finals

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Francisco Maturana has made one new call up to the National Senior Team to contest the upcoming Digicel Caribbean Championships (DCC) in Jamaica.

St Ann’s Rangers strike Errol McFarlane, who has been on loan to Lebanese club Al Mabarrah, has been included in the 20-man squad which leaves for Kingston on Monday morning ahead of its opening Group A fixture against Grenada on Wednesday at the National Stadium.

McFarlane, formerly of Defence Force and Iceland club Breidablik FC is one of three strikers in the squad with the others being W Connection’s Andre Toussaint and Clico San Juan Jabloteh’s Cornell Glen.

Maturana is said to have presented McFarlane the opportunity in the upcoming tournament as he is impressed with the player’s physical presence and goalscoring ability. McFarlane netted T&T’s goal in his last appearance in national colours in a 1-1 draw with Guatemala at the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, which was part of the coach’s review of the player.

The 31-year old has four goals in eleven appearances for T&T with three of those goals coming in the semi-final round of the 2006 World Cup qualifying campaign.

Maturana, who will have his first session with the T&T team on Tuesday in Kingston since the 3-0 win over Cuba due to the T&T Pro League schedule of matches, is optimistic and sees the importance of copping the regional title.

“The Digicel Caribbean Championships is the most important football tournament in the region and as a regional powerhouse our goal is to reach the final and win it,” Maturana told TTFF Media on Saturday.

The Colombian relayed his words via newly appointed National Senior Team translator for the head coach Filippo Alario

“We know it’s going to be difficult  because the big teams like Cuba and Jamaica which are not going to the World Cup will put together all their efforts and resources to try and win it. They will have a point to prove and we expect them to make it very difficult for the other teams including Trinidad and Tobago. And as hosts Jamaica will want to take the prize,” Maturana said.

Regarding the T&T team travelling to Kingston, he added “This is the best team that we have available with the majority being home-based players. This is also a good experience and an opportunity for these players to prove that they are an alternative for the final round of the World Cup qualification next year.”

The only other overseas-based players in the team include Toronto FC defender Julius James and Miami FC’s Avery John who are both in off season and Hungary-based goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams who returned home last week as his club Ferencvárosi TC  is on a winter break. Puerto Rico Islanders defender Osei Telesford is also in off season while Khaleem Hyland is the other player attached to Belgium club SV Zulte Waregem

Maturana has kept faith in others who were part of the team in the Digicel Preliminary phase a few weeks ago including Joe Public’s Arnold Dwarika, Carlon Murray, Marvin Phillip, Clyde Leon, Seon Power, Makan Hislop, Cyd Gray, Keon Daniel and Aklie Edwards.

Following it’s opening match against Grenada, T&T then travels to Montego Bay  to face Barbados on December 5 and Jamaica on December 7. The semi finals and final action switches back to Kingston on December 11 and 14. The teams in the other Group B are defending champions Haiti, Cuba, Antigua and Barbuda and Guadeloupe.

The Digicel Caribbean Championships’ prize pool is a whopping total of US$270,000.00 with eight regional teams now competing for the grand prize of US$120,000.00 and the coveted Digicel Caribbean Championships’ trophy.  The runner-up regional team will receive US$70,000 and third and fourth places will receive US$50,000 and US$30,000 respectively. The top four finishers will advance to the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup. (Nov 29,2008.Photo shows Cornell Glenn in action in the Digicel Prelims.)

T&T 20-man squad

1. MARVIN PHILLP
2. JAN MICHAEL WILLIAMS
3. SEON POWER
4. CYD GRAY
5. MAKAN HISLOP
6. KARLON MURRAY
7, JULIUS JAMES
8. KEYENO THOMAS
9. AKLIE EDWARDS
10. AVERY JOHN
1I. AURTIS WHITLEY
12. CLYDE LEON
13. OSEI TALESFORD
14. KHALEEM HYLAND
15. ARNOLD DWARIKA
16. KEON DANIEL
17. ANTHONY WOLFE
18. ANDRE TOUSSAINT
19. CORNELL GLEN
20. ERROL MCFARLANE

Staff -  Francisco Maturana (Head coach), Cesar Maturana (Assistant coach), Anton Corneal (Assistant coach), Jorge Ruiz (Trainer), Michael Maurice (Goalkeeper coach), Esmond O’Brien (Equipment manager), Dave Isaac (Physiotherapist), Terrance Babwah (Doctor) Shaun Fuentes (Media Officer), Filippo Alario (Translator), Peter Rampersad (Assistant manager) and David Muhammad (Manager)
Title: Re: Maturana names 20-man squad for DCC Finals
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 07:48:44 PM
Fire u beat meh 2 it just saw it on d TTFF site. So we sure we gettin Jan Michael?
Post by: FF on November 29, 2008, 07:54:35 PM
ah know that filipo alario name?

who he is? thais arlene peterkin man or something so?
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 07:55:52 PM
Yep her husband lawd her man or sumting
Post by: Jah Gol on November 29, 2008, 08:04:33 PM
Decent squad. It still kinda suspect how you could just bring a player who you have no recent knowledge of.
Post by: Tallman on November 29, 2008, 08:06:02 PM
Kinda odd dat none of de top 5 T&T goalscorers in de Pro League get ah bligh. Devon Jorsling, Kerry Baptiste, Josimar Belgrave, Jerol Forbes, and Trent Noel.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 29, 2008, 08:12:28 PM
yeah jah gol i agree with you there ...  suprise he leave back peltier .. plus forbes scoring plenty goals but say was is ah ok squad but his selection policy is still very confusing.......
Title: Re: Maturana names 20-man squad for Digicel Championships.
Post by: Touches on November 29, 2008, 10:10:06 PM
But ent the last translator was a woman who they appoint by some kinda voting process...yuh mean she last ONE game  :rotfl:

Ah boy...maybe she was distracting the players and coaching staff.

Post by: Bally on November 29, 2008, 10:19:50 PM
Fellas if I not mistaken this translators is ahh die hard Rangers fan maybe he trow McFarlane name in the mix and to be fear this always scored for us but always for some reason goes away to play and people forget about him 
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 10:49:30 PM
D Pro League like d cricket it eh have nutten 2 do wit selection
Post by: saga pinto on November 29, 2008, 11:10:45 PM
Who is this karlon murray?
Post by: weary1969 on November 29, 2008, 11:22:15 PM
Saga BM answer yuh he is a central defender dat Jabloteh hardly use 4 d season
Post by: palos on November 29, 2008, 11:28:52 PM
No matter what 20 did pick..peeps here woulda find some fault. 
Post by: palos on November 29, 2008, 11:48:38 PM
Possible starting XI

_________________________Marvin Phillip____________________________________________

Cyd Gray______________Makan Hislop________Keyeno Thomas_______________Akile Edwards

____________________________Clyde Leon__________________________________________

Anthony Wolfe____________Khaleem Hyland__________Aurtis Whitley____________Keon Daniel

___________________________Cornell Glen__________________________________________

An alternative could be to play 4-4-1-1 with Dwarika in the hole behind Glen and no cover for the defence in the form of Leon.
Post by: warmonga on November 30, 2008, 12:16:49 AM
well we have to deal wid what we got .. but 2 keepers only? also this facking jan micheal  guy I cya stand seeing him Goal Keeping. our guys dont look good on paper lets hope dey look better on di field!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: palos on November 30, 2008, 12:45:45 AM
our guys dont look good on paper lets hope dey look better on di field!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lemme guess.  jamaica look good on paper to you ent?  ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 30, 2008, 06:19:34 AM
Saga BM answer yuh he is a central defender dat Jabloteh hardly use 4 d season

so how he make the team then....   Forbes scoring he eh on the team ..... what bout the primus youth ent he is a starter for jabloteh
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 30, 2008, 06:34:44 AM
---------------Phillip---

-Cyd-----Thomas---James---Avery

Hyland----Whitley--Leon----Wolfe

------------------Daniel
-------------Glenn
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2008, 06:50:13 AM
How we make d team have u been followin d selection policy of esteemed gentleman?
Post by: tsingh on November 30, 2008, 09:26:33 AM
All the best to the team ... however ... if i was a betting man ... my 2cents on JA for this one!
Post by: kounty on November 30, 2008, 09:40:59 AM
go Errol.  good luck TnT.
Post by: palos on November 30, 2008, 10:16:01 AM
All the best to the team ... however ... if i was a betting man ... my 2cents on JA for this one!

Noted & Archived.
Post by: AB.Trini on November 30, 2008, 10:29:02 AM
Goal one : we in the hex.

Goal two: we exposing more players to the international game.

But yuh know the TnT crowd is a hard crowd to please. So  let's recall this quotation from Abraham Lincoln,
"You can please all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot please all the people all the time.""
Post by: D.H.W on November 30, 2008, 10:42:28 AM

U BRAVE to make them kinda statements around here lol
Post by: Preacher on November 30, 2008, 10:48:13 AM
This is a good team.  We could win this Cup.  JA go hold their heads and bawl.
Post by: palos on November 30, 2008, 11:09:09 AM

I curious to see who OBVIOUSLY DESERVE to be on de team ahead of Karlon Murray & Errol MacFarlane

When Jamal Gay did fuss get pick...everybody was bawlin who he and how he make de side?  Now he not dey, people bawlin why he not dey.

Scott Sealey tootoo dong de place in de Digicel Cup qualifiers but apparently because he does play in MLS and he have a "name" he supposed to be dey

If yuh pick a youth or 2...peeps bawlin bout Sancho and Trent Noel

If yuh pick a Errol Macfarlane....peeps cryin bout how dey doh give de youths a chance.

Woe be unto de selectors if dey pick a foreign based who have "less high profile" dan oddahs.....den yuh go get a list about 65 local based who should get play.

Nutting yuh do could be right fuh dem.  Stay chuned fuh de weepin and wailin and gnashin of teet on dis forum when Yohance Marshall & Kevon Neaves get a call up in de future.
Post by: morvant on November 30, 2008, 11:26:01 AM
once julius they we safe ;D
Post by: kiffysmooth on November 30, 2008, 11:26:25 AM
For dem people who dont know...Errol MC Farlane is a very powerful striker in the air - reminding me of Kenwyn Jones, the only difference is that he is physically bigger than Jones.  As long as the crosses coming in nice, he will be a force to reckon with.  Also, I doh see how Autis could be a fixture on dat side still.  I doh see no man who living in Trinidad, recovering from dat kinda nerve injury so quickly and back on de national team, and maybe as a starter too.....wha de hell, he is Beckam?...steuppes....De man make he come back and tootoo dong de place.  Yuh remember when he went Asia wha dey say bout him?    Anyway, I find is time to give Theobald ah recall.  De man had a very good digicel cup and gold cup stint last time around.  Ah matter ah fact, bring back Bleedah and Hardest, and put Julius right behind them, and have Kenyeno Thomas covering.....And surely we goh mash up de tournament
Post by: lil damo on November 30, 2008, 11:39:47 AM

I curious to see who OBVIOUSLY DESERVE to be on de team ahead of Karlon Murray & Errol MacFarlane

When Jamal Gay did fuss get pick...everybody was bawlin who he and how he make de side?  Now he not dey, people bawlin why he not dey.

Scott Sealey tootoo dong de place in de Digicel Cup qualifiers but apparently because he does play in MLS and he have a "name" he supposed to be dey

If yuh pick a Errol Macfarlane....peeps cryin bout how dey doh give de youths a chance.

Woe be unto de selectors if dey pick a foreign based who have "less high profile" dan oddahs.....den yuh go get a list about 65 local based who should get play.

Nutting yuh do could be right fuh dem.  Stay chuned fuh de weepin and wailin and gnashin of teet on dis forum when Yohance Marshall & Kevon Neaves get a call up in de future.
Well said
Post by: ZANDOLIE on November 30, 2008, 12:01:13 PM

Maturana pick the cream of the pro-league crop and players who have proven performance in the international crunch. It would be nice to see some younger blood who hot right now, like Forbes who have 11 more goals than Cornell Glen THIS seson, or even Josimar Belgrave or Robert Primus. But with $US120,000 and his ass on the line he pick a tried and squad that should make it into the finals and definitely capable of winning the whole thing. Make sense to me this time around.

Post by: dinho on November 30, 2008, 12:10:24 PM

could not agree with you more..

i watch the squad and find is a good team. No real surprises and I have no issue if he want to try a lil something different to give Murray and McFarlane a look. The article even went as far as to explain his reasonings behind the selection, which is good considering we have not been privy to the method to his madness in the past.

but some people need to maintain the daily dose of negativity in they diet.

yuh does just hadda learn to blanket out the nonsense.
Post by: elan on November 30, 2008, 12:15:02 PM
I think Mats starting to show a pattern, did he not pick a player from Connection who was a sub?

Why can't we play a 4-4-2 or some variation of in this competition. We so limited that the 4-5-1 is the answer to everything. What will happen in a few years from now, play 5-4-1 or 5-1-3-1?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on November 30, 2008, 12:15:53 PM
For dem people who dont know...Errol MC Farlane is a very powerful striker in the air - reminding me of Kenwyn Jones, the only difference is that he is physically bigger than Jones.  As long as the crosses coming in nice, he will be a force to reckon with.  Also, I doh see how Autis could be a fixture on dat side still.  I doh see no man who living in Trinidad, recovering from dat kinda nerve injury so quickly and back on de national team, and maybe as a starter too.....wha de hell, he is Beckam?...steuppes....De man make he come back and tootoo dong de place.  Yuh remember when he went Asia wha dey say bout him?    Anyway, I find is time to give Theobald ah recall.  De man had a very good digicel cup and gold cup stint last time around.  Ah matter ah fact, bring back Bleedah and Hardest, and put Julius right behind them, and have Kenyeno Thomas covering.....And surely we goh mash up de tournament

Kiffy,  Jesus done mash up he defibrillator on Hardest chest. Let them fellas rest in peace  ::)
Post by: najee on November 30, 2008, 12:55:05 PM
Guy's look at something hear...look at how much defenders we taking Jamaica they need that experienced.....we need capable midfielder with experienced as well as consistant play to back Lata, York or Chris...depending what roll they play and at forward we stack..so take a good look at the lineup
Post by: Sando prince on November 30, 2008, 02:32:58 PM
Guys this is a good squad, capable of winning the tournament.....and elan i agree, I do not like that 4-5-1 formation too. But because he choosed three forwards its easy to assume that his intention is to play that formation and we will just have to deal with it....Dont see the need to play that formation in this tournament.
Post by: College on November 30, 2008, 02:42:37 PM
We should want to win every game and quite rightly so, but lets not forget what the ultmate goal is....
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2008, 02:49:17 PM
Qualify 4 d GC
Post by: warmonga on November 30, 2008, 02:56:35 PM
our guys dont look good on paper lets hope dey look better on di field!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lemme guess.  jamaica look good on paper to you ent?  ;D
yes they do but  as I sey its not how good yu look on paper its how good yu perform.
Post by: palos on November 30, 2008, 03:13:29 PM
So lemme see if I gettin dis correck.

We play 4-5-1 in de friendly games before de WCQ's

We play 4-5-1 throughout de WCQ's.  Depending on de game situation, we switch to 4-4-2 in de 2nd half of some games

We play 4-5-1 in de Digicel Cup

So we playin in de Digicel Cup Finals and we should NOW play a different formation

Yet dese is de same peeps accusin Maturana of lack of consistency.

Yuh tink de reason we might be playin dis formation is possibly because of whether is de WCQ's or de Digicel Cup, is de T&T Senior Men's National Team playin and whoever playin will be familiar wit de formations and strategy's (Touches does call it cobo brand) ?   Is not like we doh ever change to a different formation as de need arises.

But me eh know...I jes takin a wile guess.
Post by: sjahrain on November 30, 2008, 04:42:19 PM

Thats a for real statement,I would agree....however

I know my Warriors will step up and measure this one out correctly,man playing for spots in the Hex and beyond,so this the last is the last tournament to impress the coaching staff and make some of us arm chair coaches eat our words and have more to talk about but then again that will come if we get over the mountain top or not....seen........ :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2008, 04:42:48 PM
But ent the last translator was a woman who they appoint by some kinda voting process...yuh mean she last ONE game  :rotfl:

Ah boy...maybe she was distracting the players and coaching staff.

wham dey leggo de other one after the 'our people' comment?
Post by: Cocorite on November 30, 2008, 04:51:16 PM

I know my Warriors will step up and measure this one out correctly,man playing for spots in the Hex and beyond,so this the last is the last tournament to impress the coaching staff and make some of us arm chair coaches eat our words and have more to talk about but then again that will come if we get over the mountain top or not....seen........ :beermug:

What is your rational for putting your 2cents on them?????
Post by: Sando prince on November 30, 2008, 04:57:49 PM

What is your rational for putting your 2cents on them?????

I would like to know myself........besides home advantage that jamaican team have nothing on us...there squad is mostly local just like ours
Post by: Brownsugar on November 30, 2008, 05:06:51 PM
I tired scratching mih head over Maturana's selections...I just going to enjoy the ride...

GO WARRIORS!!!     

JA hold dis....
 :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:
Post by: College on November 30, 2008, 05:28:04 PM
Because of the recent success in the WCQ, it very possible that Mat will go wit the same team structure for the Digicel...

Dwarika playing just behind the striker a la Latapy,(ah believe his unanticipated recall to national colors is to help Latas carry the load) four across the middle, four in the back.. it makes sense to me. The big picture is obviously the WC, and this will be a chance for a few to play themselves into the WQ squad.. so is kinda like 4-4.5-1.5 lol

Post by: Cocorite on November 30, 2008, 06:08:27 PM
Yeah a pick up on that Latapy/Dawrika continuity from the Lincoln Philips interview. However I observed Dawrika in the Champs League. In the earlies he showed some good midfield general bossing--through passes etc. But his stamana became depleted as the contest prolonged. . .Hope it works.
Post by: PIMP on November 30, 2008, 06:24:54 PM
nice squad...but forbes shouldda get ah run though...
Post by: D.H.W on November 30, 2008, 06:44:51 PM
Spalk interview with Maturana
i only get piece of the interview but is still something, video a little out of sync with audio

http://www.youtube.com/v/xp6s_EKUiMk
Post by: Cocorite on November 30, 2008, 06:57:58 PM
Thanks Die Hard.
Post by: theworm2345 on November 30, 2008, 07:10:59 PM
i only get piece of the interview but is still something, video a little out of sync with audio

Did you do that with WMR11 :D
Post by: D.H.W on November 30, 2008, 07:15:54 PM
yes i did, my first experiment lol.  ::)
Post by: elan on November 30, 2008, 09:28:35 PM
So lemme see if I gettin dis correck.

We play 4-5-1 in de friendly games before de WCQ's

We play 4-5-1 throughout de WCQ's.  Depending on de game situation, we switch to 4-4-2 in de 2nd half of some games

We play 4-5-1 in de Digicel Cup

So we playin in de Digicel Cup Finals and we should NOW play a different formation

Yet dese is de same peeps accusin Maturana of lack of consistency.

Yuh tink de reason we might be playin dis formation is possibly because of whether is de WCQ's or de Digicel Cup, is de T&T Senior Men's National Team playin and whoever playin will be familiar wit de formations and strategy's (Touches does call it cobo brand) ?   Is not like we doh ever change to a different formation as de need arises.

But me eh know...I jes takin a wile guess.

I say 4-4-2 becuase that type of formation suits us best. Our style of play and temperament is better suited to the 4-4-2 type formation. Right now we may get away with the 4-5-1, because  we have Jones and Stern (saw how effect Stern was for the WC), but future wise our forwards most likely will require a 4-4-2 type formation.

The 4-4-2 allow us greater flexibility in transitioning to the attck more smoothly than the current 4-5-1. Jones has not mastered the different types of runs to enable us to get him the ball quick enough to allow the mid and defense to push on. Stern is slowing down and does not put out the required work effort consistently to cause problems for the defenders. Our mids are not up to par in supporting the 2nd ball after the forward pass. A lot of work have to be done in getting the mids to join the forwards in keeping the ball higher up the field if we are to GENERATE any MEANINGFUL attack.

As it stands in the 4-5-1 we attempt to play square to quickly after winning the ball. This maybe a result of the defenders not comfortable with the ball at their feet. In the 4-5-1, and how we play it, the first pass should be a forward pass behind the opposition first line of defense closest to us. This would be difficult for us cause on defense we do not hold proper lines. The lone forward would have to fight for the ball in a 1v3 situation. In the 4-4-2, if one of the opposition fullback had pushed on, when we win the ball, it will automatically put our fwds in a 2v3 situation which is very good odds.

Now if we are in the 4-4-2, even if we don't hold defensive lines when we win the ball, one of the forwards could drop quickly to receive that first forward pass maintaining possession, and allowing us to find shape. The 2nd forward can hold high giving us depth and room to possess the ball in an effort to mount an attack. Now all we need is for one of the wide mids to break forward.

I believe that our players are wired for this type of system of play. I do understand that right now is not the best time for the WC squad to experiment with systems, but the Digicel or the U-20 and 17s should start being prepped in this manner. The role, function and responsibility must be taught to the player from the youth teams so that it will carry over to the senior squad. This is why an Academy is important.
Post by: palos on December 01, 2008, 12:00:21 AM
I say 4-4-2 becuase that type of formation suits us best. Our style of play and temperament is better suited to the 4-4-2 type formation.

What's your theory regarding why we play 5 men in midfield?
Post by: jaden on December 01, 2008, 07:57:25 AM
what about Trent Noel? he might be pro league MVP
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 01, 2008, 08:41:40 AM
Our style of play and temperament is better suited to the 4-4-2 type formation.
4-4-2 might be better suited to the temperaments of spectators, but our team's temperament as a defensive unit suggests 4-5-1 is best suited for them.
Post by: weary1969 on December 01, 2008, 11:06:16 AM
4 4 2 is 4 Digi cup 4 5 1 is 4 WCQ that is what I have observed.
Post by: NUFF on December 01, 2008, 11:48:24 AM

Ah was staying quiet but you had to go and say de T word.  No No No hell no.  Theobald name and national team should never be mentioned in de same sentence again.  Yuh didn't know better this time so ah go excuse yuh.  I will play ah one foot whitley over ah two foot Theobald anyday.
Post by: NUFF on December 01, 2008, 11:57:19 AM
I say 4-4-2 becuase that type of formation suits us best. Our style of play and temperament is better suited to the 4-4-2 type formation.

I think we play 4-5-1 to try to cover our defensive weakness.  Beenie played the same system to start games and adjusted as the in game situation warranted.
Post by: elan on December 01, 2008, 12:05:53 PM

For me with Maturana, is to provide additional coverage for the mediocre defense we have. However the 5 mids don't work for Maturana. Also if you read what I type, I said I understood why for now, but I was refering to long term.

Why do you think it's better to go with 4-5-1 instead of 4-4-2?
Post by: elan on December 01, 2008, 12:08:34 PM
Our style of play and temperament is better suited to the 4-4-2 type formation.
4-4-2 might be better suited to the temperaments of spectators, but our team's temperament as a defensive unit suggests 4-5-1 is best suited for them.

The 4-5-1 could be used to entertain the crowd just as much (look at Scolari with Chelsea), but it takes a lot of discipline and coaching. Our players like the ball at their feet and does not play off the ball effectively enough. The 4-5-1 requires a discipline that we don't naturally have.

And no we are not a defensive unit.
Post by: palos on December 01, 2008, 01:43:44 PM

Because first and foremost we're in the results business.

Our defence is the weakest aspect of our game

We're not that powerful an offense where we can outscore our opponents consistently enough to overcome and make up for defensive mistakes

Therefore, in order to minimize our defensive frailties, we shore up the midfield to assist our defence trusting in the fact that we have enough firepower and experience to score and not lose the game.
Post by: elan on December 01, 2008, 03:25:08 PM

We're not that powerful an offense where we can outscore our opponents consistently enough to overcome and make up for defensive mistakes

Therefore, in order to minimize our defensive frailties, we shore up the midfield to assist our defence trusting in the fact that we have enough firepower and experience to score and not lose the game.

How are you going to get those results when you come up against a team who pushes numbers forward consistently? Think Cuba first 35 minutes pushing on everyone, think USA away. If I am coaching against T&t I most like ly will play a 4-3-3 or 3-1-4-2 from looking at their previousgames. If I want to go safe i will play a 4-4-2.

Now regarding our 4--5-1, it is meant to be defensive cover but how we have played so far provided no real cover. we normally look like this during the game;

S/J

L

D                      Y                      E

B             

E               T               L                 G

I

If we want to maintain a defensive cover then we need to maintain the shape in the middle (triangle)

J

L
                     D                                                                    E

Y             B

E                                          G
                                                  T        L                 

See with Leo, we could have force opponents wide and have some good confidence in winning the cross ball cause we had to very good aerial battlers (Sancho and Lawrence) in the team.
Post by: tsingh on December 01, 2008, 04:32:15 PM
Rational for my bet ... no disrespect to any readers out there ...

It's just my personal feeling ... the tournament in JA, they have a point to prove, i think we (as trini footballers) don't play with enough heart (except Birchall), i just don't feel that our guys will take this seriously, JA vs TNT does always be a rough and tumble games ... anyone could win on any given day.

But like i said ... my 2 cents on JA for this tournament.
Post by: jai john on December 01, 2008, 04:54:05 PM

How come nobody didn't question Leo when he was playing the same 5 man midfield and one striker ? ...I'll tell you why because he achieved results ...I doh know why peeps trying to outcoach Maturana from day 1 so ...like he eh getting results ?
Some folks go still criticise Maturana if we make it to South africa again but not one ah dem ever put a better  alternative.
Post by: palos on December 01, 2008, 05:23:54 PM

How come nobody didn't question Leo when he was playing the same 5 man midfield and one striker ? ...I'll tell you why because he achieved results ...I doh know why peeps trying to outcoach Maturana from day 1 so ...like he eh getting results ?
Some folks go still criticise Maturana if we make it to South africa again but not one ah dem ever put a better  alternative.

You askin a big question dey.

1 - Leo was a no nonsense kinda fella wit a big international reputation (even doh some peeps on here say dem did never hear bout he before)

2 - Don Leo was an infinitely better communicator with the media than Maturana.   Maturana doesn't seem to be a media type coach whereas Don Leo was extremely aware of the importance of interacting with the media and supporters....not in a cheerleader Rene Simoes type of way, but in a very practical manner that while firm in it's execution, was not without it's charm.  By far the best "MANAGER" to ever grace T&T shores and possibly the Caribbean.  He commanded respect and got it in return from practically eveyone that mattered.

3 - Maturana by contrast may come across as somewhat of a country bookie.  Not necessarily worldly in the terms of English speaking interaction, but in a sense, I believe it works to our advantage that we have Maturana as coach when 4 of the 5 teams we will face in the Hex are Spanish speaking countries.  He knows them all well.  He knows their language, he knows their coaches and their tactics.  Don Leo again is different because he was fluent in several languages....spanish among them.

So I think MAINLY...Maturana's lack of communication and sometimes confusing selections to the layman are the reasons for the harsh criticism he gets here.

In reality.....Bertille St Clair never communicated any more with the T&T media or sporting public than Maturana.  In fact, to the best of my knowledge Maturana never said "I'm from Colombia and allyuh doh like meh".  But he was hardly questioned on his selections.  He was mostly criticised on his tactics or lack thereof.
Post by: dinho on December 01, 2008, 05:30:41 PM

3 - Maturana by contrast may come across as somewhat of a country bookie.  Not necessarily worldly in the terms of English speaking interaction, but in a sense, I believe it works to our advantage that we have Maturana as coach when 4 of the 5 teams we will face in the Hex are Spanish speaking countries.  He knows them all well.  He knows their language, he knows their coaches and their tactics.  Don Leo again is different because he was fluent in several languages....spanish among them.

eh?!

what does knowing the spanish language have to do with knowing their coaches and their tactics?

The man was coaching in South America. You and I probably know more about the likes of El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras prior to the man coming here. Or are you suggesting that all latin countries on this continent play the same brand?

yuh loss meh with dat one.
Post by: FF on December 01, 2008, 05:41:10 PM

eh?!

what does knowing the spanish language have to do with knowing their coaches and their tactics?

The man was coaching in South America. You and I probably know more about the likes of El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras prior to the man coming here. Or are you suggesting that all latin countries on this continent play the same brand?

Well Maturana did have a stint with Costa Rica... just adding that to discussion... I seeing your point
Post by: palos on December 01, 2008, 06:03:27 PM

eh?!

Maturana coached mainly in South America but he knows the teams and coaches in Central America very well.  He's more familiar with those teams than say Jamaica or Canada for example.  His natural spanish speaking is a positive point for us because he knows the culture and more importantly the footballing culture which can prove to be an asset in preparation.
Post by: Toussaint on December 01, 2008, 06:11:45 PM
Hey, thanks Palos for letting me back in ;D
Post by: sjahrain on December 01, 2008, 06:52:45 PM
What is your rational for putting your 2cents on them??

PRESSURE............. :devil:

The Yard man coming into this tournament,missing the next round of the Hex,they have a new coach who they will have to impress plus they playing at home
yes I am backing my team,there are some realities wether we like to or not,yea we win a few games,games that could have easily gone the other way,we have a problem of waiting to get to the second gear..... ???

Who wants it more will win

Go...Warriors...... :beermug:
Post by: jai john on December 01, 2008, 06:57:13 PM
I really think half of what dey say Maturana say he eh say ! Look how dey changing interpreters ! I sure mats went home one day wid de few words he remember check he websters den realise dat he eh say what dey say  he say ! .....
I wonder how fellas like Tallest and dem make it yes ...yuh ever hear ah welshman talk english ...even jones up in sunderland...but seriously why men so stuck up on mats and de english .....if dat was de case none ah we players could go overseas !
Just think if clubs were to put ah TOEFL clause on all overseas players ..allyuh tink we players could pass dat !
Post by: dinho on December 01, 2008, 06:58:56 PM

eh?!

Maturana coached mainly in South America but he knows the teams and coaches in Central America very well.  He's more familiar with those teams than say Jamaica or Canada for example.  His natural spanish speaking is a positive point for us because he knows the culture and more importantly the footballing culture which can prove to be an asset in preparation.

Palos ah read that wha yuh type there and yuh sound like ah insurance salesman trying to sell ah bargain.

Again... How do you know that Maturana knows the teams and coaches in Central America very well?  Also, what does the fact that he speaks Spanish have to do with an appreciation for the culture in Central America?  Why do you assume that the culture/footballing culture in Central America is synonymous with South America?
Post by: palos on December 01, 2008, 07:07:37 PM

eh?!

Palos ah read that wha yuh type there and yuh sound like ah insurance salesman trying to sell ah bargain.

Again... How do you know that Maturana knows the teams and coaches in Central America very well?  Also, what does the fact that he speaks Spanish have to do with an appreciation for the culture in Central America?  Why do you assume that the culture/footballing culture in Central America is synonymous with South America?

I know because I have spoke with people who know him very well, know his background, and some coach in the international arena themselves.  I respect their views and opinions on the game and have no reason to doubt them.

If you want further information about Coach Maturana, I suggest you check out Wikipedia.  It's an excellent resource.  Failing that, you can perhaps talk with the coach himself or continue to make your own judgements based on the knowledge you have at your disposal.

Post by: dinho on December 01, 2008, 07:09:33 PM

eh?!

I know because I have spoke with people who know him very well, know his background, and some coach in the international arena themselves.  I respect their views and opinions on the game and have no reason to doubt them.

If you want further information about Coach Maturana, I suggest you check out Wikipedia.  It's an excellent resource.  Failing that, you can perhaps talk with the coach himself or continue to make your own judgements based on the knowledge you have at your disposal.

thanks..

that was all ah was asking for, some justification behind making ah statement like that..

now yuh cooking with gas.
Post by: jai john on December 01, 2008, 08:49:24 PM

eh?!

thanks..

that was all ah was asking for, some justification behind making ah statement like that..

now yuh cooking with gas.

Way to go Omar....
Post by: elan on December 01, 2008, 09:15:40 PM

No one questioned Leo because :-

1) The timing in which he came.

2) He showed almost immediately that he knew what he was about. Almost immediately you could have seen a better organized team on the field.

3) Like I said in my prior post, he got the team discipline enough to work the 3 players in the center of the park effectively.
Post by: Controversial on December 01, 2008, 09:24:47 PM

2) He showed almost immediately that he knew what he was about. Almost immediately you could have seen a better organized team on the field.

3) Like I said in my prior post, he got the team discipline enough to work the 3 players in the center of the park effectively.

but we look a deadlier team than with beenhakker, we playing a short passing brand of football that is working well, so until we see our results in the hex, everyone should take it and cool it
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 01, 2008, 09:36:59 PM
we playing a short passing brand of football that is working well
The people that go to the games say otherwise. Unless you mean short passes to the opponent.
Post by: weary1969 on December 01, 2008, 10:20:20 PM
We really more deadly somebody go dead watchin dat cobeau brand
Post by: elan on December 02, 2008, 12:17:39 PM

but we look a deadlier team than with beenhakker, we playing a short passing brand of football that is working well, so until we see our results in the hex, everyone should take it and cool it

More deadly? Against who? Guyana, Cuba?
Post by: NUFF on December 02, 2008, 12:45:02 PM

[/quote]

[/quote]

I want to know how we look deadlier than under Beenhakker?

Post by: FF on December 02, 2008, 02:02:05 PM

I want to know how we look deadlier than under Beenhakker?

You studying TI?
Post by: Weh-it-is on December 02, 2008, 09:28:46 PM

What I want to know is how much de interpreter gehing paid?  Somebody please tell me who’s really running this team because Pacho looks like he ent know no English from that video. How them man and them go understand he when ting heated during game halftime, who doing all the heated screaming… not de interpreter.  I really starting to think is Anton running de show yes.

I never played for a non English speaking coach before, but I do think that it would be frustrating for both parties... trying to understand each other needing a mediator at all times.  How can he build a good relationship with the players if he speaks another language...baffles me.    
Post by: elan on December 02, 2008, 09:32:28 PM

What I want to know is how much de interpreter gehing paid?  Somebody please tell me who’s really running this team because Pacho looks like he ent know no English from that video. How them man and them go understand he when ting heated during game halftime, who doing all the heated screaming… not de interpreter.  I really starting to thing is Anton running de show on this team.

I never played for a non English speaking coach, I think that would be frustrating for both parties trying to understand each other needing a mediator at all times.  How can he build a good relationship with the players if he speaks another language. 

He ah JEDI
Post by: dinho on December 02, 2008, 09:33:16 PM

What I want to know is how much de interpreter gehing paid?  Somebody please tell me who’s really running this team because Pacho looks like he ent know no English from that video. How them man and them go understand he when ting heated during game halftime, who doing all the heated screaming… not de interpreter.  I really starting to thing is Anton running de show on this team.

I never played for a non English speaking coach, I think that would be frustrating for both parties trying to understand each other needing a mediator at all times.  How can he build a good relationship with the players if he speaks another language. 

whatever that interpreter getting paid is pocket change for him bro..

i sure he doing this as a favor or a hobby.
Post by: Big Magician on December 02, 2008, 09:47:53 PM
cacahole bizness
Post by: weary1969 on December 02, 2008, 10:00:26 PM
WINNING RECORD