Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on December 03, 2008, 05:39:54 AM

Title: ‘Warriors’ final round qualifiers at Oval.
Post by: Flex on December 03, 2008, 05:39:54 AM
‘Warriors’ final round qualifiers at Oval.
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

The “Soca Warriors” will play their final round World Cup qualifying matches at the Queen’s Park Oval.

This according to Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation advisor Jack Austin Warner.

The FIFA vice-president and CONCACAF boss said he was fed-up with the on-going feud with Government, hence his decision to take the matches to the Oval.

And Warner said he is 90 percent certain that a deal will be struck between the TTFF and with the Oval authorities.

Newsday understands that final paper work is being drafted for the deal to be completed.

The Trinidad and Tobago “Soca Warriors” will open their bid for a place in World Cup 2010 in South Africa against El Salvador on February 11.

According to Warner, the move is to avoid any distraction the team may have during the final round of matches.

Following on the heels of a heated dispute, Government recently made a bold request to increase the seating capacity in the VIP section of the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Warner in a quick response slammed Government and said they were behaving as though they owned the facility.

Should Warner and the Football Federation be allowed use of the Oval venue, they would have available a first class state of the art facility, equipped with a seating capacity of 20,000 at their disposal.

Oval officials also promised to make the different Hospitality Suites paying areas for the matches. Meanwhile, Warner indicated that attempts are being made to have midfield supremo Russell Latapy home from his Scottish club Falkirk for the entire final round of qualifiers.

Latapy, dubbed ‘”The Little Magician” by local fans will be used as a player and assistant coach as he is being used in Scotland.

Warner, who among his many caps, is also Special Advisor to the Football Federation, revealed further that negotiations are on the way to have the 40- year old midfielder back home for a year.

“We need him to be around the team a lot more and therefore the TTFF have decided to seek his services for the entire period.

He will be the assistant coach of the team and will also be part of coach Francisco Maturana’s plans as a player as well,” Warner said.

It was also announced that the Under-20 footballers, champions of the just- concluded Bmobile -sponsored Super League, will participate in next year’s T&T Pro League.

Talks are also on the way between the TTFF and the T&T Pro League in an attempt to make this idea a reality.

Warner said the team has been doing quite well and will therefore be groomed to represent the twin-island republic at the 2014 Youth World Cup.

The TT Under-20s will contest the Under-20 World Cup Qualifiers to be held here and in sister-island Tobago in March next year.
Title: Re: ‘Warriors’ final round qualifiers at Oval.
Post by: Coop's on December 03, 2008, 06:24:04 AM
‘Warriors’ final round qualifiers at Oval.
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

The “Soca Warriors” will play their final round World Cup qualifying matches at the Queen’s Park Oval.

This according to Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation advisor Jack Austin Warner.

The FIFA vice-president and CONCACAF boss said he was fed-up with the on-going feud with Government, hence his decision to take the matches to the Oval.

And Warner said he is 90 percent certain that a deal will be struck between the TTFF and with the Oval authorities.

Newsday understands that final paper work is being drafted for the deal to be completed.

The Trinidad and Tobago “Soca Warriors” will open their bid for a place in World Cup 2010 in South Africa against El Salvador on February 11.

According to Warner, the move is to avoid any distraction the team may have during the final round of matches.

Following on the heels of a heated dispute, Government recently made a bold request to increase the seating capacity in the VIP section of the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Warner in a quick response slammed Government and said they were behaving as though they owned the facility.

Should Warner and the Football Federation be allowed use of the Oval venue, they would have available a first class state of the art facility, equipped with a seating capacity of 20,000 at their disposal.

Oval officials also promised to make the different Hospitality Suites paying areas for the matches. Meanwhile, Warner indicated that attempts are being made to have midfield supremo Russell Latapy home from his Scottish club Falkirk for the entire final round of qualifiers.

Latapy, dubbed ‘”The Little Magician” by local fans will be used as a player and assistant coach as he is being used in Scotland.

Warner, who among his many caps, is also Special Advisor to the Football Federation, revealed further that negotiations are on the way to have the 40- year old midfielder back home for a year.

“We need him to be around the team a lot more and therefore the TTFF have decided to seek his services for the entire period.

He will be the assistant coach of the team and will also be part of coach Francisco Maturana’s plans as a player as well,” Warner said.

It was also announced that the Under-20 footballers, champions of the just- concluded Bmobile -sponsored Super League, will participate in next year’s T&T Pro League.

Talks are also on the way between the TTFF and the T&T Pro League in an attempt to make this idea a reality.

Warner said the team has been doing quite well and will therefore be groomed to represent the twin-island republic at the 2014 Youth World Cup.

The TT Under-20s will contest the Under-20 World Cup Qualifiers to be held here and in sister-island Tobago in March next year.
       :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Brownsugar on December 03, 2008, 06:31:30 AM
If ah have to pay to go in the Oval......ha lord this one goh real test mih faith as a supporter....worse yet if ah have to pay more than ah paid in the qualifiers!!....

Jack and Hunt could both kiss my A on this one yes....steups!!...
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2008, 06:35:31 AM
So iz ok 2 negotiate wit d Oval peeps but he must get d HCS 4 free. Jack yuh could go back MLS 4 all I care
Post by: sammy on December 03, 2008, 06:39:21 AM
If ah have to pay to go in the Oval......ha lord this one goh real test mih faith as a supporter....

how come?
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2008, 06:41:43 AM
U ever encounter dem post dat is 1 reason
Post by: Brownsugar on December 03, 2008, 06:46:43 AM
If ah have to pay to go in the Oval......ha lord this one goh real test mih faith as a supporter....

how come?

The Oval is not conducive for football....the vibes not there.  It would test mih faith because ah love mih team but ah find this kakaholeness going too long now and ah might have to stay away to show mih disgust.  It goh be me alone, but dais alright....
Post by: skins on December 03, 2008, 06:55:51 AM
This the kind of news i have to wake up and read... stueps
Post by: Sando on December 03, 2008, 06:58:19 AM
Excellent work Mr Warner. The Under 20 in the Pro League..... and Latapy back home as assistant/player.

But if the under 20 have qualifers in March 2009 how will that affect the team participant in the league.

Gary Hunt is really a dam fool.
Post by: Coop's on December 03, 2008, 07:09:48 AM
Excellent work Mr Warner. The Under 20 in the Pro League..... and Latapy back home as assistant/player.

But if the under 20 have qualifers in March 2009 how will that affect the team participant in the league.

Football at it's best !!! :challenge:
Post by: Gladman on December 03, 2008, 07:11:26 AM
Oval is for cricket ,HCS is for football changing the venue will spoil d football vibes
Post by: morvant on December 03, 2008, 07:13:24 AM
new side to back in the pro league ;D
Post by: assrancid on December 03, 2008, 07:15:29 AM
And coops clapping like ah meck meck beh beh man!
Post by: Arimaman on December 03, 2008, 07:46:34 AM

Coops I agree with the above but in reality the decision to play the WC home games in the Oval is utter nonsense.  Ask any of the players if they want to play in the Oval?  Nobody wants to.  Therefore, Jack is ah jackass and will continue to be a jackass in my opinion.  The oval is not a football pitch and will not help us any.  He needs to get over his ego and negotiate the fair use of the National Stadium.  I can't stand this and it is ridiculous!!!!

For the life of me one man have wayyyyy too much power.
Post by: Quags on December 03, 2008, 08:29:39 AM
He jus baiting the minister . What I find interesting ,is they want Latas for a year,hmmmmwonder how Falkirk will ,feel about this .They need to give latas a a multi year contract I think ,just incase.
Post by: fishs on December 03, 2008, 08:51:06 AM

Coops I agree with the above but in reality the decision to play the WC home games in the Oval is utter nonsense.  Ask any of the players if they want to play in the Oval?  Nobody wants to.  Therefore, Jack is ah jackass and will continue to be a jackass in my opinion.  The oval is not a football pitch and will not help us any.  He needs to get over his ego and negotiate the fair use of the National Stadium.  I can't stand this and it is ridiculous!!!!

Before 1982 all the international games were played in the Oval, Skinner Park, George V, Arima velodrome and even in the savannha.
In fact in '88 we play Honduras in the Oval, we play Costa Rica in the Oval in the 90's both were qualifiers.
From a spectator point of view the stadium is probably better but the oval allows you to adjust the size of the ground which in some cases could be a plus.
Tell me the players YOU talk to that say they rather play in the stadium ?
The oval dressing room facilities is the best in the Caribbean right now so tell me what these players that tell YOU they rather play in the stadium reasons are?

Some of the best ever intercol games play in the Oval
The best footballer in the world play in the Oval
Post by: assrancid on December 03, 2008, 08:55:30 AM

Before 1982 all the international games were played in the Oval, Skinner Park, George V, Arima velodrome and even in the savannha.
In fact in '88 we play Honduras in the Oval, we play Costa Rica in the Oval in the 90's both were qualifiers.
From a spectator point of view the stadium is probably better but the oval allows you to adjust the size of the ground which in some cases could be a plus.
The oval dressing room facilities is the best in the Caribbean right now so tell me what these players that tell YOU they rather play in the stadium reasons are?

You talking ta-ta.  While it is true that the Oval was used in the past, that does not translate into, it is good for football today.

Long ago men used to wipe their ass with razor grass and walk away quite contented!
Post by: Saltanfresh on December 03, 2008, 09:12:08 AM
The one plus about the Oval is the "intimidation factor", I say this because the crowd will be closer to the action than in the Stadium which is seperated by the Mundo athletic track. Now playing surface is another question, then again it sounds like even HCS have a worse surface.

However, knowing the cunning fox that he is, I am certain that Jack is only baiting the Gov't for their reaction since folks like us on this forum and in T&T will complain (like we are doing now) and pressure c**t..ah mean Hunt and company to give en on their demands so that he can get HCS for the usual sweet deal.

Jack the Jackal, is a cunning old fox, but if you study he pattern he easy to read....(smile)
Post by: Touches on December 03, 2008, 09:18:45 AM
Half of alyuh who talking bout the oval not good ent see it since since cricket world cup.

The grass good, the turf immaculate and it have lights.

Yes they have posts blocking the view of some stands but if yuh go KFC stand or upstairs dos santos it ent have no post.

The ting is a world class facility and is better than the HCS with they leaking ceiling and ice water from the bar leaking on people.

Is the oval we beat canada for the second time..is the oval we drop 6 or 7 on Panama, is the same oval we win a shell cup when pele was here and we rest 7 on martinique. We draw with Mexico in the oval and woulda beat them if angus eve and his chupid black people fraid rain/spitting/elbow put us to 10 men.

Is the oval theobold look he best ever in a TT shirt  ;D vs the USA....ent kiffy  ;D

Plus the cricket pitch is not really a big factor in the scheme of things...yuh go slip, the ball will bounce funny or it go be real hard....We training on dat...dat is why is home advantage.

Let Hunt and Jack play they lil boy games somewhere else and lewwe get the football settled and serious and stop looking for excuse...Time to beat people.
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2008, 09:34:39 AM
Leh we c if Hunt blink just leh me know what stand we rollin out d big flag from?
Post by: fishs on December 03, 2008, 09:51:55 AM

You talking ta-ta.  While it is true that the Oval was used in the past, that does not translate into, it is good for football today.

Long ago men used to wipe their ass with razor grass and walk away quite contented!

Why is it some of allyuh could never answer questions with any sort of sense ?
My question is what  makes the stadium better for the qualifiers ?
Instead of being your normal abusive chidish self try and answer the question lil boy.
Post by: morvant on December 03, 2008, 09:56:46 AM
we could benifit from this as we could talk to the oval people for ah section for the flag
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2008, 09:59:37 AM
Good pt Morvant dcs strt d conversation. U eh go have 2 deal wit some joker dem is professionals
Post by: SHOTTA on December 03, 2008, 10:12:05 AM
is just that i dont like to get block that is all.......and i fine the oval stands have real lil pole to block yuh

thanks for the heads up on the no block stands touches

ah wonder wat kinda price we go have to pay fo all covered tickets?
Post by: Sam on December 03, 2008, 10:27:45 AM
Now, apart from being a cricket pitch, how good is de Oval field ? if it will benefit us on the field knowing that the fans will be closer then I dont see anything worng with it ? De only thing wrong with de fans being close to the players is, we dont chant and show enough support at we players and it wouldn't make sense whether we close or not, we dont take advantage of it.

But if de Oval field good for football, lets do it then !!!!
Post by: acb on December 03, 2008, 10:34:36 AM
the poles in the Oval will only block you in certain instances if you're sitting on the cycle track, or if you're dumb enough to sit behind a post in one of the covered areas.

How is it that people can go to a full 5 days of cricket and the pole isn't an issue. All of a sudden for 90 mins, it's a big deal .... and if you miss it, you have a big screen to watch the replay.

(and when the ref make a shitty decision against us, PUT IT UP, so we could boo the hell out of them.

Is not like the HC doesn't have pole. What is that big stinkin iron thing that does separate the mondo track from the crowd. Maybe the main fuss is that it have no ramp on the top for people to loiter and block up the blasted walkways.

IMO, the Oval has vantage points for spectators to take in the game that the HC could never offer. Ever take in the view of a football game from the top of the Carib Stands? .... saw Benedicts-Anthonys from there in Intercol Final. BOSS view. Better than the cameraman position. Better than the time I saw TT-J'ca from Concrete Stand and better than Dos Santos where you didn't have to worry about the coaches/ subs blocking your view.

btw, if Government doesn't own the Stadium, who does? (don't tell me Hasley Crawford  ;D)
Post by: Brownsugar on December 03, 2008, 10:37:17 AM
steups....I prefer the Stadium...
Post by: acb on December 03, 2008, 10:38:39 AM
.... I prefer Manny Ramjohn Stadium.
Post by: Controversial on December 03, 2008, 10:42:17 AM
as long as the pitch is ready we are good, the poles is te only problem but certain areas you have no pole to block you, but otherwise its a decent venue
Post by: morvant on December 03, 2008, 10:44:48 AM
i never saw the updated stadium

anyone have pics?
Post by: Jah Gol on December 03, 2008, 10:58:07 AM
The Oval is cricket ground.
Post by: fishs on December 03, 2008, 10:58:49 AM
as long as the pitch is ready we are good, the poles is te only problem but certain areas you have no pole to block you, but otherwise its a decent venue

The pitch going to good, TTCB doh play regional matchs there again and the next games ( cricket) will be for the English tour,
I ent go lie i am a member of the Oval and the people serious now about making the facilty world class for the traditional sports.
Play a lil tournament game when ah was back home recently and nothing wrong with the surface, the only thing that different to the stadium I guess would be a slight slope (very slight) but the drainage is top class and the surface it self true.
Recently lights installed and it will definitely be to FIFA standards.
Give it a chance.
But I personally think Hunt the C**t will back off and we go play in the stadium.
Post by: Bally on December 03, 2008, 10:59:11 AM
I think putting the under 20 in the PRO league is unfair to the clubs of which these players are attached, a lot of these players are attached to various clubs. you don’t think the clubs would want their players back at some point I like the idea of playing them in the Super league because of the amount of games they play together but this is no way to develop a national youth team don’t be surprises if they fail at the qualifiers they still where not challenged at the international level     
Post by: trini warrior on December 03, 2008, 11:17:19 AM
i dont think the oval is a problem. we (the fans) closer to the action. this is how it is at most central american venues. it makes it more intimidating for the visitors.
the players are professionals - it doh matter to them where they are asked to play - they will prepare & they will be prepared.
plus it's all new facilities - it's not like the old oval where it feels so disjointed etc etc.
and hopefully it will keep the ticket prices at bay.
Post by: Coop's on December 03, 2008, 11:30:20 AM
Being the first to respond to this i must say that i love you all,i rest my case.
Post by: assrancid on December 03, 2008, 11:40:11 AM
the oval itch have a curve to it too, dat eh no damn football grounds.  Why do you people so easily bow to Jack's assness?
Post by: Savannah boy on December 03, 2008, 12:06:08 PM
I think putting the under 20 in the PRO league is unfair to the clubs of which these players are attached, a lot of these players are attached to various clubs. you don’t think the clubs would want their players back at some point I like the idea of playing them in the Super league because of the amount of games they play together but this is no way to develop a national youth team don’t be surprises if they fail at the qualifiers they still where not challenged at the international level    

Bally..let de experiment run it's course before we condemn it.  Dem youths gaining minutes as a team vs big hard back man.  To hell with de clubs.  The National Team is the first priority, no?  Dis is the new focus.  National Team before Club and SSFL.
Post by: de_redman on December 03, 2008, 12:11:13 PM
De oval pitch closer to the crowd?? Oh Please!!! De oval ground is very big, when they mark out that field you'll see how far we in the stands will be. Plus the last time we played a qualifier against the USA in the Oval on Ash Wednesday, their coach was thankful that the design of the venue took the crowd out of the game!! We lost by the way...
Post by: Bally on December 03, 2008, 12:33:30 PM

Bally..let de experiment run it's course before we condemn it.  Dem youths gaining minutes as a team vs big hard back man.  To hell with de clubs.  The National Team is the first priority, no?  Dis is the new focus.  National Team before Club and SSFL.
You missing my point I liked the idea of playing in the super league as a matter of fact this idea came from Flex. my point is taking this team to the Pro is totally different remember this is ahh professional league and some of these players have pro contracts with participating clubs. is TTFF going to pay a transfer fee to these clubs are there some kind of loan agreement these are question you have to ask now what if the team start the qualifiers with a couple of losses then what. The way to develop a national team is trough top notch international opponents not some local league only time would tell if it’s a success or not     

Post by: freakazoid on December 03, 2008, 12:53:12 PM
how come hunt is the one who getting the bad press. i really curious. and the fearful one helping to propagate that. he always chooses his words carefully when it comes to jack but he finds it very easy to attack the sports minister. i jus trying to understand the scheme of things
Post by: Brownsugar on December 03, 2008, 01:02:07 PM
how come hunt is the one who getting the bad press.

Think back to the stand off for the England game. IMHO, Hunt tried/trying to rein in Jackula but he make some missteps in the process and Jackula wise old cunning vampire that he is outmanoeuvre the novice....and make him look like a fool in the public eyes.
I eh fault him (Hunt) for trying, but ah have to admit that last thing with the VIP seats for the Cuba game still have mih a bit confused... ??? :-\  Is that kinda thing does leave him wide open for criticism....
Post by: kaisocagoals on December 03, 2008, 01:13:53 PM
so why these games cyah be played in de savannah den....

loud steups...

Jack is just that yes... an @$$

We have a good thing goin'
Wid football in T&T...

Austin is trouble oui...
Post by: assrancid on December 03, 2008, 01:30:26 PM
And these clowns wo post here care to bad mouth the Minister and take stinking Jack Warner;s side!

eh eh!

Lights return to Trelawny Stadium after JPS lock-off
BY KAYON RAYNOR Senior staff reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com
Wednesday, December 03, 2008

QUICK action from Sports Minister Olivia Grange last evening averted an embarrassing situation for the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) after the Jamaica Public Service (JPS) disconnected electricity from the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium - venue for matches in this week's CFU Digicel Caribbean Championships.

Information reaching the Observer is that the JPS disconnected electricity from the sports venue for non-payment of bills in the total of $3.2 million.

"We can confirm that today (yesterday) the JPS disconnected the light," said Michael Fennell, who chairs Independence Park Limited (IPL), the body which has temporary responsibility for operating the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium.

Four games are scheduled to be played at the Trelawny facility between Friday and Saturday in the eight- team Digicel Caribbean Championship Finals.

"There is an amount that is outstanding... for some time and the (Sports) Ministry has been trying to put in place the funds to settle that amount," Fennell explained.

Grange, who was initially surprised that the JPS had disconnected the electricity supply, told the Observer power would have been reconnected last night after speaking with the authorities at the JPS.

"The light is being turned on as we speak because we have the cheque and have therefore advised them," Grange said moments after leaving Parliament last evening.

She said the disconnection resulted from a "breakdown in communication" between IPL's deputy chairman, Major Desmon Brown, and Shawn Thompson, the ministry's director of corporate services. "We had the cheque here (at the ministry) but Major Brown spoke with the JPS not knowing that the cheque was ready," Grange said.

"As usual if there is a cash flow (problem) things are a little delayed... but we've been catching up on the cash flow and the cheque was prepared; it's just that the system takes a while to get signatures and all of that," Grange explained.
Meanwhile JFF president, Captain Horace Burrell, while relieved that the problem was sorted out, was disappointed that the JPS had cut the power initially.

"I believed that JPS was extremely insensitive in disconnecting the lights at this stage. Disconnecting the lights when Jamaica is hosting the rest of the Caribbean in football, I thought that it could have been handled differently," Burrell told the Observer.

"Having said that I want to thank the sports minister for her quick action in having this situation resolved and... all is well that ends well," he said.

The winner of the Digicel Caribbean Cup will pocket US$120,000 and the Digicel Caribbean Championship Trophy. The top four teams will automatically qualify for next year's CONCACAF Gold Cup.
Post by: Arimaman on December 03, 2008, 01:59:00 PM

Why is it some of allyuh could never answer questions with any sort of sense ?
My question is what  makes the stadium better for the qualifiers ?
Instead of being your normal abusive chidish self try and answer the question lil boy.

I understand your point of view, me eh go attack yuh o' nutting.  But clearly the reason we built the national stadium was for football and athletics.  Firstly, the grass is different, the layout is different, one pitch is much faster than the other b/c of the height of the grass...  If you ever play or practice in the stadium and then do the same in the oval you will recognize the difference.  Oval is long time thing....That is not a football pitch. 

Just because games of the past was played there do not mean it should be played there ago.  Why we doh go and play the game in Arima stadium then...That was my home ground and it was the worst and how many international games played there?  Point it we have better facilities now.
Post by: supporter on December 03, 2008, 02:33:10 PM
De oval pitch closer to the crowd?? Oh Please!!! De oval ground is very big, when they mark out that field you'll see how far we in the stands will be. Plus the last time we played a qualifier against the USA in the Oval on Ash Wednesday, their coach was thankful that the design of the venue took the crowd out of the game!! We lost by the way...

Exactly!! This is why this news is a whole set of STEUPS!!!!!!!!!
Post by: elan on December 03, 2008, 02:55:37 PM
U ever encounter dem post dat is 1 reason

I went to one of the stands on Ash Wednesday and the post had tobe the best player, cause any where I look the post was there. Trini Stand probably the best.
Post by: dinho on December 03, 2008, 03:00:40 PM
i know all about dem post...

sit down behind one in trini posse stand for the India v Sri Lanka game and ah drunk man gimmeh talk literally for de whole evening session after tea.. Telling me how I watching ah action movie name "Blue Steel" and have de whole stand laughing at meh...

Oval is for cricket. Stadium is for football.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 03, 2008, 03:03:08 PM

Exactly!! This is why this news is a whole set of STEUPS!!!!!!!!!
The oval is worst venue for actually viewing football. Furthermore as I recall from the Guadelope game that field is worse than the HCS. It is bad all round. I'm hoping for the best that Jack and dem will sort out this thing. We need to play our games at the HCS.
Post by: sinned on December 03, 2008, 03:04:07 PM

sit down behind one in trini posse stand for the India v Sri Lanka game and ah drunk man gimmeh talk literally for de whole evening session after tea.. Telling me how I watching ah action movie name "Blue Steel" and have de whole stand laughing at meh...

since when one days does have a break for tea?
Post by: Brownsugar on December 03, 2008, 03:05:55 PM

I went to one of the stands on Ash Wednesday and the post had tobe the best player, cause any where I look the post was there.  

All yuh real idle yes....
Post by: dinho on December 03, 2008, 03:07:39 PM

since when one days does have a break for tea?

allyuh doh miss ah beat eh?!
Post by: freakazoid on December 03, 2008, 03:15:42 PM
wait nah is blue steel the prequel or sequel to iron man :rotfl: allyuh good yes
Post by: NUFF on December 03, 2008, 03:17:15 PM
This whole situation is nothing more than Jack being vindictive.  Once again he does not care who he screws in the process.  The decision on where to play games should be a decision made with the approval of the players and the coaching staff.  Everything should be done to make our players be as comfortable as possible on the difficult journey they have ahead of them.

I remember after the Guadeloupe game Maturana said that he did not like the oval for football.  He wanted the games played at the HCS.  I don't know how the players feel about playing at the oval but if I had to bet I would bet that they prefer playing at the HCS.

Jack Warner worst than ah bitch.  If he doesn't get his way he will throw tantrums.  Once again other people have to suffer because of one of Jack's personal vendettas
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on December 03, 2008, 03:21:02 PM
First off I eh like de Oval for football. But after closely checking the Stadium pitch and the Oval's, the Oval is ten times better. Ball running real nice on it for the lil tournament they had there the other day.
The oval has done wonders in upgrading their facilities, but i doh like how far away the crowd would be from the actual action.
Post by: assrancid on December 03, 2008, 03:27:49 PM
the oval is also a concave pitch!  It is NOT flat!
Post by: sinned on December 03, 2008, 03:29:20 PM
i have always believed the oval offered our boys the biggest potential homefield advantage. the dimensions, the cricket pitch, the crowd positioning, the way the gentle slopes affect the wide play are all unique for a football stadium and none of the other teams have played much on fields like it. home field advantage is important and i feel we should look to take advantage of it despite it probably being an inferior venues for patrons.

all countries use home field advantage - mexico and honduras with altitude, the US with cold weather venues, costa rica with their artificial fieldturf. why should we not use our most unique venue? maybe i'm making too much out of the oval but if anyone has reasons why hcs gives us homefield advantage i'd like to hear.
Post by: D.H.W on December 03, 2008, 03:42:33 PM
this man for real with this oval shit stueps
Post by: Arimaman on December 03, 2008, 04:05:39 PM
i have always believed the oval offered our boys the biggest potential homefield advantage. the dimensions, the cricket pitch, the crowd positioning, the way the gentle slopes affect the wide play are all unique for a football stadium and none of the other teams have played much on fields like it. home field advantage is important and i feel we should look to take advantage of it despite it probably being an inferior venues for patrons.

all countries use home field advantage - mexico and honduras with altitude, the US with cold weather venues, costa rica with their artificial fieldturf. why should we not use our most unique venue? maybe i'm making too much out of the oval but if anyone has reasons why hcs gives us homefield advantage i'd like to hear.

Home field advantage could only happen if "we" know the venue.  How many times our players play in the oval?  Therefore, how could it be an advantage?  Mexicans and Hondurans accustomed to the altitude, US players accustomed to playing in the cold, we players not accustomed to playing in the oval, so I eh really see the home field advantage!!
Post by: sub1 on December 03, 2008, 04:15:02 PM
I played at the oval and at the stadium. I have no problem with games at the oval.I have a problem with JW trying to hold the nation at ransom one more time. Mr Hunt hold your ground and away with this Mugabe-like bully.
Trinbagonians have no testicles and would take anything just not to be discomforted. I will be there at the oval and am looking foward to it.
Post by: sinned on December 03, 2008, 04:19:01 PM

Home field advantage could only happen if "we" know the venue.  How many times our players play in the oval?  Therefore, how could it be an advantage?  Mexicans and Hondurans accustomed to the altitude, US players accustomed to playing in the cold, we players not accustomed to playing in the oval, so I eh really see the home field advantage!!

you are correct. but as touches and others said, we're assuming the team is going to train there and at least have a couple friendlies there. and latas, yorke, dwarika, lawrence have played so many times in the oval in previous campaigns. sure kenwyne and carlos and others may have to get accustomed but i'm assuming we'll prepare for the venue
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2008, 05:05:11 PM
D fearless 1 is a fraud he eh like Hunt so he leadin d charge 4 he 2 win d boo boo award. JW must do what he want and nobody must say squat. What did Oconnorg say again?
Post by: Brownsugar on December 03, 2008, 05:08:14 PM
D fearless 1 is a fraud he eh like Hunt so he leadin d charge 4 he 2 win d boo boo award. JW must do what he want and nobody must say squat. What did Oconnorg say again?

"If yuh uncle take you in, feed yuh, clothe yuh and send yuh to school, he must turn around and bull yuh too??.."

Ah paraphrasing....classic   ;D
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2008, 05:10:00 PM
Thank u Brown so all hail Austin Jack Warner
Post by: kiffysmooth on December 03, 2008, 06:56:55 PM
Yuh know, de last time when we play de ASh Wednesday game in de oval, de oval wasn't dah bad....Plus on top ah dat, dey fix over de grounds now.  Trinidad score some ah dey best goal in de oval.  All yuh jes relax and let Jack do he ting nah man.  Next ting yuh know we might get ah sun roof over de oval all kinda ting, and ah KFC, and ah replay screen...... give Bert he shirt and Jack he crack
Post by: Deeks on December 03, 2008, 07:42:14 PM
How all yuh could cuss Hunt? All yuh know Jack Modus operandi. What if the the gov't ask for more tickets. Even with the raise in rental fee for HCS, Jack will still make a profit. 

Tell me if anyone of allyuh get the opportunity to play in the Maracana, in Rio, allyuh go refuse?. It is the same as the the Oval. Most people think is one of the greatest grounds in the world. Maracan is a Oval with a mote surrounding it. I saw some pictures of the remodeled Oval and it looks very good. The playing surface looks excellent. Only them posts does block your view.

Like someone said the players and coaches should be consulted on this because they are the one who are going to perform. I played inter-col in Oval. The surface was great. The field is big. It was the max FiFA requirement. But these guys are pros. Adjust or die. To hell with Jack. Stand firm, Mr. Hunt.
Post by: College on December 03, 2008, 07:46:02 PM
My problem wit the oval is the disconnect between the fans and we palyers .. the field is further away than usual and the vibes is not the same.

The oval grass is shorter and add the turtle back feature, the ball does move too fast, man does be trotting thinking they could reach and next thing yuh know simple passing does look like a chore.

The last few international games ah watch in the Oval, the temptation is to mark out the field to the maximum 120 / 80 which I believe is bigger than the HCS, this could work to our disadvantage because  the Oval suface is quicker and we dont exactly have the youngest team in the HEX...
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2008, 08:15:55 PM
Dey drink d Warner koolaide and d fearless 1 is d chief waiter. Dat is y dey cuss Hunt
Post by: Trin on February 02, 2009, 09:47:11 AM
What's the latest on this. We still playing in the oval or back in the stadium. Ah hope is the HCS. Ah see Jack has been talking with Hunt and Manning hopefully that was discussed.
Post by: Deeks on February 02, 2009, 11:26:26 AM
Nah, he talking to them about the the U-17 WC in TT. He don't want us to be the Nigerian situation. If Nigerian don't shape up by April, they could lose the U-20 WC. So he probably telling Manning and Hunt what the requirements are. At the end of the day he don't want to be a FIFA laughing stock,
Post by: Trin on February 02, 2009, 11:42:09 AM
So Jack want to make sure that the U17 WC play in the stadia but doh care that we doh play our WC qualifiers in the HCS. So he just care how it would look bad on him for the WC but the qualifiers in the Oval wouldn't look bad too ??? that confusing me.
Post by: Deeks on February 02, 2009, 11:57:12 AM
The Oval is a first class ground. We used to play qualifiers there before. Oval, HCS no difference. The guys just needs to win.
Post by: Trin on February 02, 2009, 12:22:22 PM
The Oval is a first class ground. We used to play qualifiers there before. Oval, HCS no difference. The guys just needs to win.

I not complaining about the ground, I talking from a spectator point of view. The oval is not built for football. The viewing angles and whole atmosphere is much better in the stadium in my opinion.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 02, 2009, 12:36:08 PM

its a first class ground for Cricket...

The HCS is our home for football
Post by: Deeks on February 02, 2009, 04:29:43 PM
Trin,
      The Oval surface is good for football. international and first class. That being said, it primary use is cricket. I have no issuse with the Oval. I have been in the Oval to see and play before huge crowds. . Once the adrenalin flowing, crowd near/crowd far, don't matter. Plus HCS running track at the north and south too far from the field anyhow. The problem is our current fans are waggonist. They are pampered. They don't even support their local clubs. They "soft".
Post by: Saywha on February 02, 2009, 04:41:33 PM
Bes dey have d football in d Brian Lara Stadium ... :rotfl:
Post by: weary1969 on February 02, 2009, 07:11:13 PM
So after all d tour of d palace nutten eh change no HCS 4 oui.
Post by: najee on February 02, 2009, 09:45:47 PM
why the oval...what about Dwight York stadium or the other in Trinidad
Post by: sammy on February 03, 2009, 03:44:04 AM

too small?
Post by: Trin on February 03, 2009, 06:51:10 AM
Trin,
      The Oval surface is good for football. international and first class. That being said, it primary use is cricket. I have no issuse with the Oval. I have been in the Oval to see and play before huge crowds. . Once the adrenalin flowing, crowd near/crowd far, don't matter. Plus HCS running track at the north and south too far from the field anyhow. The problem is our current fans are waggonist. They are pampered. They don't even support their local clubs. They "soft".

I duno I personally doh like watching football in the oval. Ah hear what yuh saying, but I still think its not as suitable as the stadium. That should be the fortress for T&T football. We cah be switching up where we play like this all the time. We do have decent results in the oval but the stadium is still the real home of football.

Plus they have a test match playing in the oval less than a month after this match. With the kinda rain they have falling these days that ground cud be in a mess after the game. Also FIFA eh inspect the oval dey inspect the stadium, but we have Jack, so he cud just go down der drink a beer in the pavilion and inspection dun? Somethings to study.
Post by: najee on February 03, 2009, 02:13:08 PM

too small?

Sammy the oval that BIG
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 03, 2009, 02:14:40 PM

too small?

Sammy the oval that BIG

HCS is 25 000
Oval is 18 000
The rest all 10 000
Post by: NUFF on February 03, 2009, 02:32:44 PM
De oval capacity used to be 30,000 how it drop to 18,000?
Post by: Deeks on February 03, 2009, 04:29:43 PM
They drop the capacity because they could make more money. They stadium will always be full. Then they can charge more.
Post by: acb on February 03, 2009, 04:46:54 PM
Ah wonder if it will still have the CL Financial stand in the Oval.
By the end of this dilemma, they might have to rename it to His Holiness Patrick Manning Sitting Accomodations ... and if we lucky, we might get to pee in some gold plated and diamond encrusted port-o-potties and urinal that left over from the castle. Waggonist and never-see come-see rejoice!!