General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Touches on December 09, 2008, 01:00:14 PM

Title: Any Runners Out There?
Post by: Touches on December 09, 2008, 01:00:14 PM
Forumites,

Any of you run seriously or are part of a running club?

Yours truly take a chain up from the other staff members in the office and I am going to participate in a 5k in January.

I tell mehself it will aid in meh Carnival preparations and help in getting down meh belley.

I am fairly active, I sweat 3-4 times a week and I could run a Savannah with some discomfort without stopping.

Besides running hard everyday and fixing meh diet what other techniques should I do and how should I approach my training to get a decent time and be injury free.

Thanks in advance.

Title: Re: Any Runners Out There?
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 09, 2008, 01:02:45 PM
stretch properly and drink ah malta.
Post by: JDB on December 09, 2008, 01:15:01 PM
Forumites,

Yours truly take a chain up from the other staff members in the office and I am going to participate in a 5k in January.

I tell mehself it will aid in meh Carnival preparations and help in getting down meh belley.

I am fairly active, I sweat 3-4 times a week and I could run a Savannah with some discomfort without stopping.

Besides running hard everyday and fixing meh diet what other techniques should I do and how should I approach my training to get a decent time and be injury free.

Thanks in advance.

What kinda time do you want? If you could do the Savannah you don't need much physical training because a 5K is about 1.5 times that? It would be more about getting into the routine and keeping it if you want to lose weight.

I don't run right now but have in the past and for them short distances it is all about pacing yourself and not getting bored. What I used to do was just run the same course every couple days and go a little further each time. From doing once around the savannah now you should be doing twice in a couple weeks.

And don't take days off. Once yuh find excuses to miss days you will fall out of the habit, keep the routine. A savannah run on a evening used to have some nice eye food.
Post by: Tallman on December 09, 2008, 01:18:09 PM
Me eh no kinda runner, but a few years ago ah used tuh run several 12Ks and 5Ks during de year. What used to work for me was running hills, and running on de beach. De ting about de beach is dat after ah while, running on de sand does put some rell pressure on yuh lower back.

Playing football and running long distance is two different ting. I find dat running does help wit yuh football stamina rather than de other way around.

Make sure yuh have ah decent running shoe especially since you have dem bad knee. Doh jes run hard every day. Take it slow at first and gradually increase yuh distance.

I cyar tell yuh nutten about improving yuh times because I never win one ass. De best motivation I ever had in a race was ah fat ting who was giving meh rell thunder. Every time ah pass she and ah look around, she right behind meh. Den she go pass meh, I go pass she and so on. I tell mehself dat I go ah have tuh dead here today before I let she beat meh. Ah beat she, but only barely. Another time it had ah old lady who was power walking, and she leave meh out and me eh see she until after de race. Even ah dog buss meh tail in ah 5K. Imagine de dog had ah runner's number tie rong he neck. Now dat ah type all ah dat, ah realize is bess you eh listen tuh nutten I say.
Post by: Touches on December 09, 2008, 01:44:48 PM
Well I go mix it up and hit a chancellor once a week...Right now Savannah eye food come like Prime Restaurant...only top of the line.

Last night I get some inspiration from a blue shorts and a pony tail....I try keeping up, but I only make the stretch from the Cafe till Jerningham Avenue...I try running full blast and the distance just kept getting wider and wider.

I google some running tips...Is plenty I learn yes...breathing tru yuh mouth in and out ...all this time I using nostril and comfortable...exhaling when yuh right or left foot only hitting the ground, Holding yuh breath and forcing it out when yuh get stitch. It have science to this ting.

Last yr it take me 3 weeks of training to run to the top of chancellor without stopping. I go see how I come along.

Post by: grimm01 on December 09, 2008, 02:13:05 PM
Doh underestimate the value of a good pair of running shoes.
One of my partners is a serious runner and he keeps track of how much miles he put on his shoes and changes them out @ every 6 months. He was telling me that even though the sneakers look good, the impact from all the running starts to break down the rubber and foam and the support starts to deteriorate and could impact yuh knees.
Post by: Bakes on December 09, 2008, 02:52:59 PM
Me eh no kinda runner, but a few years ago ah used tuh run several 12Ks and 5Ks during de year. What used to work for me was running hills, and running on de beach. De ting about de beach is dat after ah while, running on de sand does put some rell pressure on yuh lower back.

Playing football and running long distance is two different ting. I find dat running does help wit yuh football stamina rather than de other way around.

Make sure yuh have ah decent running shoe especially since you have dem bad knee. Doh jes run hard every day. Take it slow at first and gradually increase yuh distance.

I cyar tell yuh nutten about improving yuh times because I never win one ass. De best motivation I ever had in a race was ah fat ting who was giving meh rell thunder. Every time ah pass she and ah look around, she right behind meh. Den she go pass meh, I go pass she and so on. I tell mehself dat I go ah have tuh dead here today before I let she beat meh. Ah beat she, but only barely. Another time it had ah old lady who was power walking, and she leave meh out and me eh see she until after de race. Even ah dog buss meh tail in ah 5K. Imagine de dog had ah runner's number tie rong he neck. Now dat ah type all ah dat, ah realize is bess you eh listen tuh nutten I say.

Well me eh no serious runner but I does do about 3 miles three nights a week.  I usually run between 11 and midnight once I reach home... but is pressure, especially with temps routinely below 40 fahrenheit now (and dropping).

What helps fuh me is the Nike+iPod sensor that helps motivate me a bit by tracking my distance and progress etc.  My times are uploaded to a running community and you can pace and measure yourself against others similarly situated.

Can't underscore as well how important a good pair of running shoes are... I have three that I cycle, but it might be time to pick up another pair soon.
Post by: Deeks on December 09, 2008, 04:59:43 PM
Running alone would not help. A balanced diet is just as important. That part is very hard, especially as Christmas approaches.
Post by: Bakes on December 09, 2008, 05:30:41 PM
Running alone would not help. A balanced diet is just as important. That part is very hard, especially as Christmas approaches.

Puncha Creme does not only give yuh courage... it does steel yuh against de winter chill... in some cases might even help yuh coordination too  ;D
Post by: Deeks on December 09, 2008, 06:00:52 PM
Bakes,
            Yuh is a real joker, oui!!!!
Post by: Jumbie on December 10, 2008, 07:43:49 AM

was she wearing ah walmart vest? See what happens when you lime with certain posters on this site? you start wanting to beat/blaze fat ting.

Good luck with the running thing touches. I training for a dip with the polar bear club this Jan 1.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on December 10, 2008, 08:46:36 AM

Thanks in advance.

D fuss ting yuh had to do is curb yuh gluttonous and voracious ways.

Stop eating KFC and fix yuh diet, less carbs more protein. Yuh also have to eat foods that promote weight loss, just cutting down on yuh portions alone won't do it.

Next thing to, learn how to run properly. Alot of people, surprisingly doh not know how to run properly. Bad posture, improper stride and bad foot placement will do more harm than good in the long run.

Lastly and most importyant.........STOP JOCKING
Post by: morvant on December 10, 2008, 09:49:19 AM
what foods promote weight loss?
Post by: boss on December 10, 2008, 10:51:38 AM
Stop eating KFC and fix yuh diet, less carbs more protein. Yuh also have to eat foods that promote weight loss, just cutting down on yuh portions alone won't do it.

And don't skip breakfast like I tend to do. Breakfast wakes up your metabolism, so make sure you have a good one every day.

Can't underscore as well how important a good pair of running shoes are... I have three that I cycle, but it might be time to pick up another pair soon.

On the topic of shoes, what brands people recommend? Is it true that Nike and Adidas isn't very good and New Balance and Saucony are a cut above?  :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on December 10, 2008, 10:58:52 AM
i go tell ya 
"less" Food :D

I started the "Body For Life" (http://bodyforlife.com/) program at the end of summer and lost 12 lbs so far, even though I could be more contientious about my eating and exercise...it is hard to do

Post by: daryn on December 10, 2008, 10:59:49 AM
On the topic of shoes, what brands people recommend? Is it true that Nike and Adidas isn't very good and New Balance and Saucony are a cut above?  :beermug:

well, I went to a couple 5k races and observed that all the serious people who finish in front was wearing asics, saucony and a handful of nikes.  back of the pack had plenty nike and adidas: just like the general population.
Post by: WestCoast on December 10, 2008, 11:01:03 AM

well, I went to a couple 5k races and observed that all the serious people who finish in front was wearing asics, saucony and a handful of nikes.  back of the pack had plenty nike and adidas: just like the general population.
for me New Balance is the best "walking" shoe
my wife like Saucony's
Post by: doc on December 10, 2008, 11:24:48 AM
Forumites,

Thanks in advance.

In a general way, speed is most important ;D, so include some interval speed work. The routine I'd suggest is:
Day 1 ..... speed work
Day 2 ..... off
Day 3 ..... 5k run @ 65%
Day 4 ..... core work  ;D ;D
Day 5 ..... speed work.
Day 6 ..... off
Day 7 ..... 1 hour+ run @ casual pace.

Stay well hydrated
avoid late meals, or allow a couple hours before you retire
run in your warrior nations shirt  ;D ;D
Post by: Bakes on December 10, 2008, 12:35:50 PM
From everything I've heard over the years...

New Balance
Saucony
Asics...

The best running shoes in that order.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on December 10, 2008, 01:13:52 PM

Things like Bran, fiber, whole grain bread, nuts, fish, lean meat, yogurt. Not them fancy yogurt on the shelf, that has added sugar and flavours. Just plain yogurt.

Always remember, KFC is the devil.

A good way to lose weight fast is to cut out carbs, but the problem with that is when you do start to eat them yuh body tends to hold on to them and you will put on weight fast. So cut down on it, but doh stop. 
Sunday lunch is ah next thing, Trinis accustomed to revving out on ah Sun with mammy food. Leave the stew pork gravy alone.

AH next thing that men have to do is to stop sucking c__t all bout d place. That eh good for yuh metabolism.
Post by: fishs on December 10, 2008, 01:51:39 PM

Things like Bran, fiber, whole grain bread, nuts, fish, lean meat, yogurt. Not them fancy yogurt on the shelf, that has added sugar and flavours. Just plain yogurt.

A good way to lose weight fast is to cut out carbs, but the problem with that is when you do start to eat them yuh body tends to hold on to them and you will put on weight fast. So cut down on it, but doh stop. 
Sunday lunch is ah next thing, Trinis accustomed to revving out on ah Sun with mammy food. Leave the stew pork gravy alone.

AH next thing that men have to do is to stop sucking c__t all bout d place. That eh good for yuh metabolism.

Yuh talking bullshit.
Post by: Bakes on December 10, 2008, 02:17:10 PM

Yuh talking bullshit.

Maybe he used to "sucking c__t all bout d place" and know what he talking about.

Just saying...
Post by: asylumseeker on December 10, 2008, 02:31:03 PM
One of my partners is a serious runner and he keeps track of how much miles he put on his shoes and changes them out @ every 6 months. He was telling me that even though the sneakers look good, the impact from all the running starts to break down the rubber and foam and the support starts to deteriorate and could impact yuh knees.

Good advice.

New Balance
Saucony
Asics...

Depends on whether one has wide feet or narrow feet or whether one is flatfooted ... also depends on whether one pronates or suponates ... that is, aside from personal preference. Certainly, Nike has very compelling products within the mix.
Post by: Dutty on December 10, 2008, 02:32:22 PM
5k AND 12k

Rasta does run?
Other than the odd footballer and dem is just designer dreads..I NEVER see ah rastaman runnin in my life

Allyuh does wear dem richard simmons runner shorts or strictly red green and gold pants?
Post by: Quags on December 10, 2008, 02:42:04 PM
what u think in the ipod dutty ?
Post by: Dutty on December 10, 2008, 02:44:41 PM

eh?...who ipod?

Post by: fishs on December 10, 2008, 02:45:08 PM

Yuh talking bullshit.

Maybe he used to "sucking c__t all bout d place" and know what he talking about.

Just saying...

How dat making yuh gain weight ?

If yuh don't suck c**t , how yuh know about it ?

If anything it should make yuh lose weight either from it being a nutrient substitute or getting some debilitating disease.

Ah jus saying ....
Post by: Quags on December 10, 2008, 02:45:39 PM

eh?...who ipod?

tallman
Post by: Dutty on December 10, 2008, 02:52:04 PM
 I serious I never see a real rastaman runnin..not for a bus, taxi, after dey gyul nuttn

I doh tink rasta allowed to wear ipod...if anyting dey might have a truck driving alongside dem playin luciano for motivation
Post by: Tallman on December 10, 2008, 02:57:19 PM
5k AND 12k

Rasta does run?
Other than the odd footballer and dem is just designer dreads..I NEVER see ah rastaman runnin in my life

Allyuh does wear dem richard simmons runner shorts or strictly red green and gold pants?

Yuh never see Countryman or wha? LOL
(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/4105IxPdYqL._SS500_.jpg)
Post by: Daft Trini on December 10, 2008, 03:10:39 PM
Oh Lawd Tallman-

all seriousness some Orange Sky already help meh loose 5 lbs since meh wedding..... Just crank up de volume and run like ah beast....
Post by: asylumseeker on December 10, 2008, 03:25:57 PM
Touches, yuh starting plan for approaching the 5k has to factor in when the race is ... yuh say January, but yuh eh say WHEN in January ... if the race is in late January you'll have the opportunity to do more endurance work that you can gradually supplement with a fartlek workout (in basic terms that's alternating the pace at which you run over a common distance/time period or you can elect to alternate the distance of the sprints/jogs).

The Savannah is a good location to do this if you divide it into segments that fit its natural layout ... I run counter-clockwise Savannahs, I eh know wha your approach is ... buh say yuh start by QRC, take it straight up from there to the nex' bend at a consistent pace, according to how yuh feel, decelerate/accelerate the next segment in front ah All Saints, then reverse the next natural segment/half segment as you go around the Savannah ...

Then I suggest you run another full Savannah at a comfortable pace (not too slow, somewhat challenging, lehwe say no less than 70% - no more than 80%).

Return to your starting point ... restrict your recovery period to no more than 7 - 8 minutes ... tackle the Savannah again with fartlek (this should be at least as aggressive as the initial fartlek) ... Make sure you finish strong over a reasonable distance in the end (not knowing yuh physical condition, buh since yuh kickin ball 3-4 times a week ... you should try to finish strong over 50-75 yards ... think of it as a finishing kick ... as you improve you'll learn to extend your kick and to determine when to kick ... I used to gear up for my kick as I rounded de final bend after the Hollows/the Zoo ... might be a good idea to finish wherever dey selling some coconut water ;)

Stretch, warm down ... call it ... I wouldn't stop your final burst abruptly, but I would gradually decelerate into a recovery walk (could be/should be at least the equivalent distance of your final burst) ... consciously think about your breathing/master your breathing and try to concentrate on running when you're running, rather than de sights.

Since yuh sweating 3-4 times  a week I eh know how yuh going to fit both in, but you should at least be running this cycle 3-4 times a week ... For your purposes, I would alternate days. If you thinking about running more frequently than that you can compensate with a longer weekend run instead.

The 5K is about 3 miles ... your daily training regimen doesn't need to exceed 8 or 9 miles (hence your weekend run should max out at this ... 7 miles long run optimally).

Hill Work?  ... again, I eh know yuh condition ... buh fuh me dahis marginal benefit fuh resistance purposes ... it need not be a part of yuh workout ...

Now, all a dis depends on your objectives ... ah 5k is a blazer ... buh maybe yuh planning on running it like a longer race and at a much slower clip than I have in mind.

If de race is earlier on in January ... lehwe say 4-5 weeks from now ... I would suggest no more than 3 weeks endurance work with weight training and the final 10 days to 2 weeks on speed with some minimal endurance (like de long weekend run)... You could incorporate fartlek here, but you could also just as well progressively sweat out de Xmas beers (ah trying to remember if yuh say yuh doh drink  :o) ... by going for time by monitoring your daily time progress each time you run the Savannah ... if dahis de case, do this: run your first Savannah slow as a warm up ... nutten more than 40%, run a second at least 60%-70%, run a third all out at 100%.

Good luck. Enjoy.
Post by: Bakes on December 10, 2008, 03:29:13 PM
How dat making yuh gain weight ?

If yuh don't suck c**t , how yuh know about it ?

If anything it should make yuh lose weight either from it being a nutrient substitute or getting some debilitating disease.

Ah jus saying ....

Who in their right mind would "suck c__nt all bout de place"?

That alone should have let you on that my response was facetious.
Post by: morvant on December 10, 2008, 04:56:23 PM
Oh Lawd Tallman-

all seriousness some Orange Sky already help meh loose 5 lbs since meh wedding..... Just crank up de volume and run like ah beast....

orange sky with obasi and them? is rastamen who sing rock? didnt know they were that popular :-\
Post by: Daft Trini on December 10, 2008, 05:28:54 PM
Oh Lawd Tallman-

orange sky with obasi and them? is rastamen who sing rock? didnt know they were that popular :-\

Dey been around a while, they signed a deal to endorse Dean Guitars (Dimebag Darell fame) which is pretty big for a local artist... and I saw them at a Music Festival in Bethlemem PA... so they on the up and up...! Dey drummer wicked 2 bad.  ;D
Post by: morvant on December 10, 2008, 05:34:39 PM
Oh Lawd Tallman-

Dey been around a while, they signed a deal to endorse Dean Guitars (Dimebag Darell fame) which is pretty big for a local artist... and I saw them at a Music Festival in Bethlemem PA... so they on the up and up...! Dey drummer wicked 2 bad.  ;D

went to school with the drummer and saw him in ah wedding recently. told me about the band but i not into that music.
Post by: Quags on December 10, 2008, 11:39:24 PM

Good advice.

New Balance
Saucony
Asics...

Depends on whether one has wide feet or narrow feet or whether one is flatfooted ... also depends on whether one pronates or suponates ... that is, aside from personal preference. Certainly, Nike has very compelling products within the mix.
I hate Nikes ,for that shape in the middle of the shoe ,it go make me break my ankle ,.
only air force ones for me from nike
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on December 11, 2008, 07:44:05 AM

Who in their right mind would "suck c__nt all bout de place"?

You would be surprised!!
Post by: Touches on December 11, 2008, 09:12:47 AM
asylumseeker,

Thanks for that heads up and training routine. I not aiming for no kinda best time or hard run kinda thing yet as it is my first 5k.

Is Clico own which will be the 19th of Jan I believe.'

All I want to do is keep a good pace and not be embarrassed by no fat ting, ole man, dog with a number etc.

I really doing it as a motivational thing to help with meh carnival physique. I take a chain up and I playing tennis too 2-3 times a week so really I just want to be active every day to help with the weight loss.

I get real talk last night after sweat...men lashing beers and I punk out and only drink 1 and a gatorade. This time about 6 rounds pass. But I trying to maintain a discipline.

I going and run 1 or 2 savannah this afternoon bout 6. Then go and play tennis from 7:30 till 9.

I resting tom and Saturday as I have christmas party and I will try not to overdo. I go run hard Sunday Afternoon.

Thanks for the advice fellas
Post by: Tallman on December 11, 2008, 09:24:22 AM
All I want to do is keep a good pace and not be embarrassed by no fat ting, ole man, dog with a number etc.

It bong tuh happen. Dis is ah case where yuh relly cyar judge ah book by it's cover especially regarding old people. Plenty ah dem does be fit too bad and dey go leave yuh out. Doh study it  :rotfl:
Post by: asylumseeker on December 11, 2008, 09:30:04 AM
Oh Lawd Tallman-

went to school with the drummer and saw him in ah wedding recently. told me about the band but i not into that music.

Man, Orange Sky versatile. Might be surprised. I eh familiar wid de latest renditions ... buh I have Orange Sky from de 90s and that shit kicks  ... Chuss mih, dem men shoulda buss long time.

Forever Trini or Big Mag etc ... wasn't there some kinda disbanding or re-arrangement of de group? Whais de scene dey ... 
Post by: Brownsugar on December 11, 2008, 10:43:28 AM
I caught Orange Sky's performance in Pigeon Point one year back in the 90's and they brought the house down....I was really impressed!!...
Post by: Touches on December 12, 2008, 09:23:13 AM
EHy EHY...alyuh orange sky somewhere else nah...the sky is blue.

Doh mash up meh running thread.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 12, 2008, 11:29:00 AM
So Touches, how slow/fast yuh think yuh could run de 5K?
Post by: Lower St. John on December 12, 2008, 12:41:14 PM
Bess Thread Brethren!!!!!!

Touches ah know yuh serious about dis thread and some men really giving some good info but de truth be told, Tallman mash up dis thread with the Fatwoman and de dog post.  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

Blessings
Post by: Daft Trini on December 12, 2008, 12:50:32 PM
Given Touches height, weight and age.... Under 25 mins I predict, but he will not break the 20 min barrier  :devil:

Any bets???

Oh lawd touches, forgive meh nah... ah was just recomending to put on some orange sky in de Ipod Touches when yuh runnin...
Post by: FF on December 12, 2008, 01:19:20 PM
Given Touches height, weight and age.... Under 25 mins I predict, but he will not break the 20 min barrier  :devil:

Any bets???

Oh lawd touches, forgive meh nah... ah was just recomending to put on some orange sky in de Ipod Touches when yuh runnin...

Touches ent breaking ah 25 mins, far less ah 20 mins... when dat christmas ham hit him... I feel he go make ah 25 to 30 mins...
Post by: Touches on December 12, 2008, 01:47:50 PM
I kinda semi serious bout this...I actually went and price a casio g-shock to time mehself round the savannah.

But Maraj kinda expensive so I will check the 1000 tick timepieces at the side of the road when I make a spin in town tom.

I have xmas party tonight and tom but I going and try and run tom morning early bout 6 and Sun afternoon.

Arghm...alyuh does drink any kinda RedBull or anything before the race or during?...any kinda supplements?

I feel a tin of red bull and some bad mind could pull meh tru.

Post by: Bakes on December 12, 2008, 05:02:44 PM
I kinda semi serious bout this...I actually went and price a casio g-shock to time mehself round the savannah.
But Maraj kinda expensive so I will check the 1000 tick timepieces at the side of the road when I make a spin in town tom.

I have xmas party tonight and tom but I going and try and run tom morning early bout 6 and Sun afternoon.

Arghm...alyuh does drink any kinda RedBull or anything before the race or during?...any kinda supplements?

I feel a tin of red bull and some bad mind could pull meh tru.

Touches... better yet, get somebody tuh buy ah pedometer fuh yuh and send it down, they real cheap... online, as low as $5 US.  Not only can you time yuhself, but it also measures how far you've run (once calibrated to your steps).  More advanced ones measure your heart rate and stuff like dat as you work out... but them run $20-$50 all kinda thing.
Post by: Touches on December 15, 2008, 09:09:52 AM
Reality set in people.

Christmas party Fri and Saturday...is nuff ham, pastelle, turkey and the like with Johnny in between.

Yesterday I wake up late and when it was time to run....ran start to fall. I end up playing FIFA 09, then I take een a 1/2 of the Digi final (what a waste)

I want to take a run this afternoon but I hadda leave home early to reach up in Paramin tonight before the traffic hits.  :-\

I feel I need a training partner yes.

Post by: Dutty on December 15, 2008, 09:53:30 AM
Reality set in people.

Christmas party Fri and Saturday...is nuff ham, pastelle, turkey and the like with Johnny in between.

Yesterday I wake up late and when it was time to run....ran start to fall. I end up playing FIFA 09, then I take een a 1/2 of the Digi final (what a waste)

I want to take a run this afternoon but I hadda leave home early to reach up in Paramin tonight before the traffic hits.  :-\

I feel I need a training partner yes.

It sound like you positioning dis ting for a new years resolution

But then yuh go say kanaval get in de way  of de trainin
Post by: Lower St. John on December 15, 2008, 10:21:05 AM
Why yuh doh run/walk up Paramin as part of yuh training.

Blessings
Post by: Touches on December 15, 2008, 11:18:02 AM
Yuh cyar be sweaty in the people and dem parang.  :devil:

Ah lie yuh could be sweaty...but after yuh reach...not before.

I walk about town fast today looking for Xmas gift. We go factor that in as training too.

Post by: asylumseeker on January 12, 2009, 11:17:35 AM
Touches, wha vibes?
Post by: Touches on January 12, 2009, 11:32:45 AM
Well,

Christmas and New Years throw some sand in meh rice...but I coming along.

I start doing a savannah at 25 min...I get that down to 19 min now (But is real effort)

But I do 2 savannah in 44 and a bit.

All the sneakers I had home....start to dry rot and fall apart. 4 pairs of nike shox and a air max 95 the flourescent green and grey hadda pitch in the dustbin....I on meh last pair of shox.

I have to go Francis and buy a sneakers but they raise the price and ting real expensive. I see a nice reebok. I see some asics and a saucony...was less than 300...they bring up the price to 700...steups.

I running a savannah today, chancellor tomorrow, football sweat wed, savannah/maraval/ hill work thurs.

I find I moving better in football sweat. I had a shin splint, knee/ankle/lower back pain era but after a few days I was good.

Diet change too....I cut out Beers, I eating porridge and cereal for breakfast and dinner and a decent lunch.

I taking some apple cider vinegar occasionally, some wheatgrass and meh regular vitamins.

I drop 5 lbs so far.

I feeling better...I go be alright for this 5k. I aiming for under 1/2 hr.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 12, 2009, 12:22:07 PM
Well,

I start doing a savannah at 25 min...I get that down to 19 min now (But is real effort)

All the sneakers I had home....start to dry rot and fall apart. 4 pairs of nike shox and a air max 95 the flourescent green and grey hadda pitch in the dustbin....I on meh last pair of shox.

I have to go Francis and buy a sneakers but they raise the price and ting real expensive. I see a nice reebok. I see some asics and a saucony...was less than 300...they bring up the price to 700...steups.

I running a savannah today, chancellor tomorrow, football sweat wed, savannah/maraval/ hill work thurs.

I find I moving better in football sweat. I had a shin splint, knee/ankle/lower back pain era but after a few days I was good.

Diet change too....I cut out Beers, I eating porridge and cereal for breakfast and dinner and a decent lunch.

I taking some apple cider vinegar occasionally, some wheatgrass and meh regular vitamins.

I drop 5 lbs so far.

Ah feel we go hadda bring yuh in fuh testing :devil: :)
Post by: Bakes on January 12, 2009, 01:12:32 PM
Well,

I drop 5 lbs so far.

Whey... congrats fella.

Congrats on de determination... the progress... the weight loss... the change in diet... wheatgrass?  I could drink dat normal mihself, but fuh ah man to drop beers and then turn straight tuh ah health kick, nuff kudos fuh dat.

I mihself eh run in like ah month... ah need to calibrate mih Nike+ sensor fuh mih iPod all over, so ah heading to de gym to get on de treadmill in a few.  Ah only plan on putting in ah mile... maybe two, enough to get it calibrated, but later on this week ah hitting de road... cold an all.  Gym running ent my thing.
Post by: Touches on January 12, 2009, 01:29:28 PM
Bakes...I cut out  :beermug:

I just switch to scotch or rum and soda.

I having a occasional vodka and cran.

Watch meh its real make a difference...yuh doh be bloated. Only thing is when yuh sweatin yuh does smell it coming tru yuh pores.

Boxing day and Christmas day I was having a time...I wake up the saturday morning and run 5:30 round the savannah. I feel ahow meh chest wasnt good...but when I finished I feel real good. Sunday I run in the afternoon after playing some tennis and I was firing on all cylinders.

Another thing i realise is that I doh feel sluggish on a morning. When I wake up I alert and bright, not moving slow slow and need time to thaw out and de-yampee etc.
Post by: dinho on January 12, 2009, 01:43:08 PM

i cyah stress more the importance of making sure you have a good running shoe if you gonna be putting that kinda strain on the joints. remember that savannah running on the hard track is a steady jarring on the knees and ankles.

i was on the same kinda heights in late 2006.. alternating car park sweat with running around the savannah during the week to avoid traffic coming home.. Then I up the ante and start running on mornings, then savannah in the evening followed by the car park sweat on tues/thurs afternoon, and sweating savannah the other days.. All this i was doing with an umbro turfs..

well after about 2 months of that then i develop this tendonitis prob called jumper's knee and cyah see meh way. and it have no surgery or cure for that, they telling yuh to build up the muscles around the knee to 'manage' it. and i only really start to pay attention recently to how that thing change my whole lifestyle... i cant get out of a car without putting both legs out first then propping on the seat like ah old man. i does come down steps at an angle, and i eh walking fully upright. i cyah squat so to pick up something is a straight leg and bend back. So i now looking to make a serious effort to resolve. All that because of the savannah thing...

Spend de extra money and invest in a good pair of running shoes and run on the inside of the track on the grass as well. Yuh will not regret it in the long run.
Post by: Bakes on January 12, 2009, 01:56:16 PM
Bakes...I cut out  :beermug:

I just switch to scotch or rum and soda.

I having a occasional vodka and cran.

Watch meh its real make a difference...yuh doh be bloated. Only thing is when yuh sweatin yuh does smell it coming tru yuh pores.

Boxing day and Christmas day I was having a time...I wake up the saturday morning and run 5:30 round the savannah. I feel ahow meh chest wasnt good...but when I finished I feel real good. Sunday I run in the afternoon after playing some tennis and I was firing on all cylinders.

Another thing i realise is that I doh feel sluggish on a morning. When I wake up I alert and bright, not moving slow slow and need time to thaw out and de-yampee etc.

Exercise does jumpstart yuh metabolism... so no surprise that after yuh run yuh does feel so alert and thing.  As fuh de 'bloated feeling'... yuh think de term "empty calories" is joke or what? lol

I eh no drinker mihself so cutting out alcolhol was never ah issue fuh me... the biggest thing is getting motivated.  I'z ah man grow up on ah basketball court and all thru college was ballin' 4-5 days a week 3 hrs at a clip, full court, non-stop.  I used to get away with that... but nowadays I ent have that amount ah free time so dai'z why ah start de road running... but I eh go lie... motivation tuh run does be lacking sometimes. 

Seems like you dun getting over that though, which is key.  If I was you I'd do a google search for "marathon training" or "5k training" or something... they usually have running programs telling you at what rate you should be progressing or what goals you should be shooting for etc.  You might also want to start a running log to track not just your increased distances, reduced times etc.... but also your weight loss... to better help motivate you.
Post by: kicker on January 13, 2009, 06:57:59 PM
Road running is not healthy for your knees & back- so try if you can to run on a T&F track, soft turf or on grass.  Also get your shoes fitted.  I have a bad case of plantaar fasciitis from continuous road running in shoes that aren't perfectly fitted.  If you have low archs and pronate i.e. walk on the inside of your feet.....or the opposite- have unusually high archs and supinate i.e. walk on the outside of your feet (like I do).... you should be very careful with road running...you might have to buy in-soles for your shoes

Also stretch properly before and after...

If you're running distance, make sure you're technique is "heel to toe".  Running on the balls of your feet (or toes), is effective for sprinting...but can cause ligament tears if persisted with over long distances...

Running (and swimming) are probably the two best natural carb burning/weight loss activities, but could be more harmful than healthy if you don't know what you're doing.

And if you're going for a long hard run in hot temperatures, eat well before, (running on an empty stomach can cause nausea & dizzyness).... and of course keep your fluid intake up.

Good luck

Post by: Touches on January 13, 2009, 09:21:19 PM
I gorn and take Omar advice and 4k up meh ankle yesterday.

I went with meh fass self and play I running in the grass around the savannah...trip/went down in a hole...and kilkitay meh ankle.

Well I cuss.

But I run it off...when I slow down it hurt more so I run  while the blood was hot.

Then when I reach home is some sprints on meh hill...

I ice it...and take a volterin.

It was sore today but I run/walk a chancellor.

I feel I go rest tomorrow....I go play last in meh small goal sweat in the night.

I feeling lil excited...I get meh race number and rules and route etc....Stadium down wrightson road across colville street and up ariapita and a lap of the stadium.

I should be alright.
Post by: Bakes on January 13, 2009, 10:54:44 PM

I went with meh fass self and play I running in the grass around the savannah...trip/went down in a hole...and kilkitay meh ankle.

Well I cuss.

But I run it off...when I slow down it hurt more so I run  while the blood was hot.

I feel I go rest tomorrow....I go play last in meh small goal sweat in the night.

I feeling lil excited...I get meh race number and rules and route etc....Stadium down wrightson road across colville street and up ariapita and a lap of the stadium.

I should be alright.

Damn you have me here feeling shame... hard tuh hit de road when I coming home after 10 pm in 30 degree weather doh.  Mih latest excuse is ah waiting fuh it to climb above 40 F
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on January 14, 2009, 07:28:12 AM

You, of all people, should know better than that.
The savannah full ah all kind ah bombay, pothole and ants nest and you gone running in it blind blind.

Yuh luck yuh eh go through ah hole and end up in China.
Post by: dinho on January 14, 2009, 09:19:42 AM

Well I cuss.

I should be alright.

oh lawd.. sorry to hear that dread.

i know it have some parts on the inside grass that ok to run but some other parts that is some trap like coming around by the corner by memorial park/hospital side. is either that or is yuh K foot.  :D

hope it eh nothing serious, but ice and rest.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on January 14, 2009, 09:55:05 AM

oh lawd.. sorry to hear that dread.

i know it have some parts on the inside grass that ok to run but some other parts that is some trap like coming around by the corner by memorial park/hospital side. is either that or is yuh K foot.  :D

hope it eh nothing serious, but ice and rest.

the boy does run like ah gimp

he must be fall in the sand track and that eh self there no more

Post by: kicker on January 14, 2009, 02:22:37 PM

Damn you have me here feeling shame... hard tuh hit de road when I coming home after 10 pm in 30 degree weather doh.  Mih latest excuse is ah waiting fuh it to climb above 40 F

Good luck waiting on them temps before end of Feb...

Look like we hittin' a serious cold stretch that gonna last for a while. Today was in the teens/lower 20's F...  Friday supposed tuh be negative 15 F (with wind chill) in New York.  So probably somewhere betwen 0 F to neg. 10 F dong by allyuh...

Best yuh layer up, put on yuh ear muffs and go brave.
Post by: Bakes on January 14, 2009, 09:56:30 PM

Good luck waiting on them temps before end of Feb...

Look like we hittin' a serious cold stretch that gonna last for a while. Today was in the teens/lower 20's F...  Friday supposed tuh be negative 15 F (with wind chill) in New York.  So probably somewhere betwen 0 F to neg. 10 F dong by allyuh...

Best yuh layer up, put on yuh ear muffs and go brave.

It does actually be ah couple degrees warmer here... but yeah seems we hitting ah serious cold spell fuh real.  Ah go give it until de weekend den ah ha tuh bite de bullet cold or no cold.  I dunno, I juss cyah run on treadmill... in addition to being bored, is like I does struggle to do de same distances I doing normal outside... plus mankind lower back does be hurting and ting.
Post by: Touches on January 25, 2009, 04:03:50 AM
Race Day People Race Day...

I wake up early here and I excited...I twitching like a spranger.

This week the training wasn't all that....I run real good monday, eat a bad roti tuesday and was belching curry when I was running in the afternoon.

Wednesday was my birthday so I relax.

Advised by the runners in the office to run the course at least 2-3 days before to get acclimatised....I take a drive instead.

Thursday rain fall so I stay home and do lil pushups...skip rope.

Friday....eat some Geera and had one drink...a guiness at my afterwork spot.

Saturday Morning

Run from Maraval to the Savannah and make 2 lap...Was feeling in good form...but I feel real shame after as a smallie co-worker (female) show meh what stamina is. No way no how I coulda keep up with her.

I eat clean yesterday...Salad, BBQ, Pasta, Chicken...no sweetdrink, only water and gatorade.

I get a small massage too and Ice down meh limbs and ting.

Today breakfast is a bowl of special K, some banana and I go have meh gatorade before the race.

Watch meh is real run I hadda do...I kinda frighten eh, but I feel the bad mind go kick in. I cyar let the fat ting in accounts or the husband of the woman in IT pushing a stroller beat meh. The smallie indian could take win...but anytime I have her in meh sights all round Cro-bar - Petra Street I go move from 1st to 2nd gear. ( I only have about 3 gears so alyuh excuse meh)

I plan to not get excited and play I keeping up with pack too early...I go try meh best until licensing office, but I go ease up untill colville street and when I swing up Ariapita I go play a game called pass the one in front.

Studying to chug a Red Bull to "give meh wings" but I ent want to end up like a Corbeaux with a slab of spongcake, stitch or a racing heart so I will resist the urge.

I accustommed to walking about in the sun...so a bun channa finish when the sun start to rise ent go affect me.

I go tell alyuh how I manage.

Post by: Dutty on January 25, 2009, 11:42:37 AM
good luck boss....like yuh say, is bad mind go get yuh troo
Post by: Touches on January 25, 2009, 12:28:56 PM
Well Folks,

It was real enjoyable, I cyar believe I take so long to do one of these. I am surprised the number of runners out there in TT. I would say about 2000 people took part and it was very organized and professional.

I show up in my T shirt, football shorts and nikes...everybody in they vest, pum pum shorts, tights, I see all kinda cyat suit....the gape was good.

I drink some gatorade, Monster energy drink and water...I charge up but...I had to pee like horse too.

Just before the race start I had to run by the river and pee in the bush too.

I push meh way near the front of the line and PAXXXX....we were off.

I get excited, the stretch till the  foreshore men sprinting full pelt, jostling for position and I like a arse playing I in ting.

I ben the corner and by Movietown and by now all the tanto and professional runners in front and is sprint.

I was holding meh own but the pace was faster than I accustommed to and I start waning. By the time I reach flour mills...the smallie indian pass meh...AND THE MAN WITH THE STROLLER. But he was a beast, he was fit like fiddle. I say shit. All the young boys in the office zoom pass and I get depressed.

I say nah boy all this training and I gettin pass.

It is here I start to feel bun and the mental kick een...I say doh stop, keep yuh stride and I breathe harder.

I reach now by John D, Island Hobbies and the goats and sheep were seperated. Men pelting and I find everybody passing meh. I take up a position behind some girls and I watching they drawers tru the spandex and dat motivate meh.

Then the 2nd wind kick in and all those who sprint off start to walk, men was bun, people slow down and my pace although it slow down I was leaving out people. I say yes...look ting. I get into a comfortable groove I was going ok, but I realise meh leg and stride short and people using less effort and moving further.

When I reach cro bar, the man with the pram and all the speedy co workers were a block ahead, but I find the ting taking long.

No tanty ent pass meh, no setta fat thing either, everybody who blow past meh was fit in running outfit and ting. Some flickin small men running barefoot real crack meh mental...them making car noises and horn and ting and say " old man move lewwe pass dey"....watch meh I feel old but I could ketch none of them and they running fast and with ease....ah yes the days before alcho and sex eh.

When I reach Ana street I play I kicking down.... and when I run across de verteil I had to end up pulling meh choke yes...talk bout bun. I was tempted to walk but i say nah once I do that is shut down. So I shorten the stride.

Running into the stadium I was moving real slow...belley and back start to tighten..calf cramping up, A cadet who directing traffic say come on man yuh nearly dey...400 meters to go.

Is like a light bulb went off in meh head and Bad mind kick in....I start hearing "eye of the tiger" "final countdown" " chariots of fire" all kinda ting and yuh wouldnt believe the crowd at the side who clapping and cheering yuh saying come on does real help.

Pelt in the stadium....run tru the marathon tunnel...it have a slope and I nearly trip...and then I hit the track...a whole 4kin lap to go again and I say all the glory now....plus is everybody watching....I straighten meh back, I adjust meh frame, I raising meh knee, kicking back meh heel proper extension and I bolt out.
I hug the inner lane and the stretch before grounds/uncovered stands I close meh eye all kinda ting and I just pelt meh frame. Hit the corner and I feel like a vomit feeling wellin up.

Funny ting is...I leave out real people in the stadium....and that and all spur meh on...the last final steps...I press the NOS and cross the finish line...30:12.

Hear nah I feel real disappointed. Because I ketch mehself quick I ent feel that bun, I coulda push mehself harder and I realise the lil time where I slow down by island hobbies/licensing was the difference from a 30 to a 26-27. I was running but not with speed...I was concerned more about finishing and not time.
My goal was to finish in less than 1/2 hr and I fail.

I real vex eh...pram man beat meh but is alright...I go train for next year.

I feel I go keep at it and start the training a lil more intense and a lil earlier.

We go resurrect this thread next year.

Now is Carnival time...I go start back to run from Tuesday...I getting slim.

Post by: Dutty on January 25, 2009, 12:31:57 PM
I reach now by John D, Island Hobbies and the goats and sheep were seperated. Men pelting and I find everybody passing meh. I take up a position behind some girls and I watching they drawers tru the spandex and dat motivate meh.

...de man get stamina from watchin tite thong

Congrats on finishing with style touches  :beermug:
Post by: dinho on January 25, 2009, 12:43:24 PM

as always ah nice read boy touches..

this thread is inspiration for the treadmill. If i could make a 20 mins with meh unfit self by mid february i go be glad.
Post by: Bakes on January 25, 2009, 12:43:42 PM
Aye congrats man... now yuh have me and all feeling small, congrats  :beermug:

this was mih favorite part

Running into the stadium I was moving real slow...belley and back start to tighten..calf cramping up, A cadet who directing traffic say come on man yuh nearly dey...400 meters to go.

Is like a light bulb went off in meh head and Bad mind kick in....I start hearing "eye of the tiger" "final countdown" " chariots of fire" all kinda ting and yuh wouldnt believe the crowd at the side who clapping and cheering yuh saying come on does real help.

Nice how dem people was supporting yuh.
Post by: FF on January 25, 2009, 01:07:51 PM
Congrats touches... i remember the days when i used to run 5K like dem small men  ;D the memories!

Hard luck bout the time... i call ah 25 - 30 range for you... sound like yuh was thereabouts... ah lil more training and yuh woulda be there....
Post by: weary1969 on January 25, 2009, 01:46:06 PM
Congrats and report 2 what else we could want.
Post by: just cool on January 25, 2009, 05:42:32 PM
Breds it's ah start, believe meh when ah say practice does make perfect. yuh did good for ah first timer, what more yuh want. :devil:

if yuh keep it up like 3 times ah week, then by next year this time yuh go be bunnin rubber like ah kenyan, trust meh when i say.  congrats and better luck next time.                              positive.
Post by: TriniCana on January 25, 2009, 05:46:08 PM
Congrats Touches, you ran and you prove to yourself that mental ability is stronger than physical ability

Well done :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: kicker on January 25, 2009, 07:27:40 PM
5k in 30 mins? Yuh was walkin' ? haha...

kiddin' breds-congrats! 

cheers...
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2009, 07:58:37 PM
This man running hard and all he thinking about is he touches report lol
Post by: asylumseeker on January 26, 2009, 08:56:49 PM
Congrats man! Ah feel like ah was right dey de way how yuh drop de report. Yuh ehn lie, plenty ppl duss geh pass right dey in de stadium.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on January 27, 2009, 06:26:03 AM
Touches fail to mention the part when Granny Luces blow past him, stop and tie she shoe laces and still beat he ass proper.
Post by: Tallman on November 16, 2009, 10:40:10 AM
Whappen Touches, we eh hearing from yuh. Yuh give up or wha?
Post by: Dutty on November 17, 2009, 08:27:43 PM
Tallman could push ah basket eh. ;)

touches must be does siddong with ah babash an ah spliff by de savannah in de evenins...he lookin to rile up de man
Post by: Tallman on February 10, 2011, 04:58:10 PM
(http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/67607_443087611902_699981902_5518712_892574_n.jpg)