Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on December 22, 2008, 06:42:30 AM

Title: Richard Braithwaite Thread.
Post by: Tallman on December 22, 2008, 06:42:30 AM
Braithwaite hails ex-MD for Trintoc’s football success
By Walter Alibey (T&T Newsday)

RICHARD BRAITHWAITE, a former national team manager has credited former Managing Director of Trintoc, Wally James, for the successes of the Trintoc football team in the early 1980s.

The Trintoc footballers made a clean sweep of the titles available in local football, including a hard-fought victory over powerhouse Defence Force for the FA Cup at Skinner Park, San Fernando.

Over 10, 000 people packed the San Fernando facility to watch the memorable contest between two of the country’s best.

Braithwaite, who rose to prominence as manager of the Trintoc team and was also instrumental in the return of midfield maestro Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke for the Soca Warriors for the 2006 World Cup campaign, said James has been the man with the vision.

“While I had the honour and privilege to manage the Trintoc football team in its heyday, much of the credit for the team’s outstanding success must go to James.

“He is a man of great vision who understood the true meaning of the phrase ‘Corporate Social Responsibility’ long before it became popular,” Braithwaite said.

According to Braithwaite who is now a business consultant, “I recall a meeting at Trintoc when the price of oil plummeted in the early 1980s and there was a mandate to cut costs.

“They were surprised when James announced that there would be no reduction on so-called PR activities because, ‘it is in times of difficulty that sport and culture become even more important because they help to maintain community spirit, build morale and inspire hope for the future.’”

The Trintoc team was one of the most successful clubs in local football history and comprised a number of the country’s top players.

The history of southwest Trinidad indicates that sport has always been a catalyst for social development and an important source of inspiration for the surrounding communities.

“It is a reminder that the wealth in this part of the country is more than oil and gas and it also includes the abundant talent of the people,” Braithwaite added.

“The challenge therefore is to establish structures and implement programmes to capture all this talent and take it to the highest possible level.

“In so doing we would preserve the rich sporting legacy of the early pioneers and ensure that their outstanding achievements were not in vain.”

He called on the energy sector to recognise the important role it has to play in the development of the twin-island republic.

“The energy sector, especially the state-owned energy sector, has a critical role to play not only in sport but in the overall human and social development of Trinidad and Tobago,” Braithwaite said.

Title: Former TT manager wants review of qualifiers
Post by: Socapro on November 23, 2011, 11:27:00 PM
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,151156.html

Former TT manager wants review of qualifiers
By WALTER ALIBEY Thursday, November 24 2011

FORMER manager of the national football team Richard Braithwaite is calling for a complete review on what went wrong with the FIFA Brazil 2014 World Cup Qualifying campaign.

The “Soca Warriors” were knocked out of World Cup qualifying after being beaten by regional minnows Guyana 2-1 recently.

The win pushed Guyana to 13 points and assured they advanced to the new round of qualification despite their defeat to Trinidad and Tobago a couple days later at the Hasely Crawford Stadium 2-0.

Yesterday, Braithwaite described the World Cup campaign as a “huge disaster” and called for the review as a matter of priority.

“This review should be done before anything should be considered and the one responsible should be held accountable” said Braithwaite.

He lashed out at “Soca Warriors” Otto Pfister for blaming the poor structure of the Pro League for the failure of the team. According to Braithwaite, “Apart from the extremely poor planning of the campaign we now have the ridiculous statement by the German coach that the local Pro League is no good and that it should be blamed for his failure.”

He said Pfister is probably unaware that he was out-manoeuvred by a Pro League coach in Jamal Shabazz and beaten by a team that had several Pro league players on their roster. The long-serving football administrator who has had successful stints with Trintoc, Petrotrin and a number of national teams said the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation must deal with the problems at hand.

Apart from the review, Braithwaite also wants to see an overhaul of the TTFF which has been in turmoil and without leadership.

“For football to progress it cannot be a case of just brushing aside the problems and moving on with business as usual. I am reading about plans to hire a Technical Director and a new national coach but there is no word about overhauling the TTFF itself and the way it operates” he said.

He explained, “Since 2006 we have had a Dutch, a Colombian, a German and a local coach in charge and the performances went from bad to worse. Last year the team was beaten by Grenada in the Digicel Cup, a tournament that we have won on numerous occasions. It should be obvious now that the problem is not a technical one but it is a management and administrative issue.”
Title: Re: Former TT manager wants review of qualifiers
Post by: just cool on November 24, 2011, 05:02:58 AM

FORMER manager of the national football team Richard Braithwaite is calling for a complete review on what went wrong with the FIFA Brazil 2014 World Cup Qualifying campaign.

The “Soca Warriors” were knocked out of World Cup qualifying after being beaten by regional minnows Guyana 2-1 recently.

The win pushed Guyana to 13 points and assured they advanced to the new round of qualification despite their defeat to Trinidad and Tobago a couple days later at the Hasely Crawford Stadium 2-0.

Yesterday, Braithwaite described the World Cup campaign as a “huge disaster” and called for the review as a matter of priority.

“This review should be done before anything should be considered and the one responsible should be held accountable” said Braithwaite.

He lashed out at “Soca Warriors” Otto Pfister for blaming the poor structure of the Pro League for the failure of the team. According to Braithwaite, “Apart from the extremely poor planning of the campaign we now have the ridiculous statement by the German coach that the local Pro League is no good and that it should be blamed for his failure.”

He said Pfister is probably unaware that he was out-manoeuvred by a Pro League coach in Jamal Shabazz and beaten by a team that had several Pro league players on their roster. The long-serving football administrator who has had successful stints with Trintoc, Petrotrin and a number of national teams said the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation must deal with the problems at hand.

Apart from the review, Braithwaite also wants to see an overhaul of the TTFF which has been in turmoil and without leadership.

“For football to progress it cannot be a case of just brushing aside the problems and moving on with business as usual. I am reading about plans to hire a Technical Director and a new national coach but there is no word about overhauling the TTFF itself and the way it operates” he said.

He explained, “Since 2006 we have had a Dutch, a Colombian, a German and a local coach in charge and the performances went from bad to worse. Last year the team was beaten by Grenada in the Digicel Cup, a tournament that we have won on numerous occasions. it should be obvious now that the problem is not a technical one but it is a management and administrative issue.”I
Yet another disgusting jealous bob tail monkey weighing in on the german boobolee coach.

it's real convenient fuh dem tuh blame otto bc they really can't come out and call no names! all yuh hearing from these fellas is that it's the "TTFF" tuh dis and the "TTFF" tuh dat but they not pointing their fingers @ the real culprits!

i know one thing, this gravy train still running it's route and certain fellas don't want tuh get left out so they playing both sides, but if these fellas were willing to be honest they will come out big and bold and say "such and such is tuh blame unequivocally" but they still scared and fraid tuh say what's the nitty gritty.

as for this barbary mackak, he said that we had four coaches in five yrs and the problem was not ah technical one but administrative, but earlier had the nerve tuh blame otto.

is mad sick monkeys who have all the say in T&T oui !
Post by: palos on November 24, 2011, 07:25:53 AM
I gettin de feeling dat people like Brathwaite, Vidale, etc in some kinda perverse sense happy dat de team lorse jes so dat dey could vent bout foreign coach wutless.

Shabazz is dem new poster boy for showin "how we locals" could do de job and should be gettin de big $$$ and not dem foreign mercenaries who does only come down to colleck a nice pay cheque and do nutting.

De same Shabazz who ALL A DEM used to waste down, who dey appoint as senior men's national team coach fuh half hour and den fire he and ultimately banish to only coach de women's team.

All a dem deserve each other. 
Post by: weary1969 on November 24, 2011, 07:31:34 AM
I gettin de feeling dat people like Brathwaite, Vidale, etc in some kinda perverse sense happy dat de team lorse jes so dat dey could vent bout foreign coach wutless.

Shabazz is dem new poster boy for showin "how we locals" could do de job and should be gettin de big $$$ and not dem foreign mercenaries who does only come down to colleck a nice pay cheque and do nutting.

De same Shabazz who ALL A DEM used to waste down, who dey appoint as senior men's national team coach fuh half hour and den fire he and ultimately banish to only coach de women's team.

All a dem deserve each other. 

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: Richard G. on November 24, 2011, 08:16:31 AM
Mr Braithwaite was a very good manager under the circumstances he had to face when he was the National Team manager. He may have bitter feelings but ladies and gentlemen, he was dealing with the same TTFF that everyone here has said is so disfunctional and needing of a complete overhaul. Bitter or not he has a way better perspective than pretty much everyone here about the TTFF and how mismanagement has lead us to this point.
Post by: Socapro on November 24, 2011, 11:18:26 AM
Mr Braithwaite was a very good manager under the circumstances he had to face when he was the National Team manager. He may have bitter feelings but ladies and gentlemen, he was dealing with the same TTFF that everyone here has said is so disfunctional and needing of a complete overhaul. Bitter or not he has a way better perspective than pretty much everyone here about the TTFF and how mismanagement has lead us to this point.

Post by: Controversial on November 24, 2011, 12:16:58 PM
investigate the players and ask them why they throw the game

the coach was in a bind and had no choice in the matter, if he had players who were giving 1000% to the nation, he would be forced to do his best

but if he has players who care about caps and themselves and not qualifying, you can't blame him

get rid of the ttff as well, they are the root of the problem to begin with
Post by: tempo on November 24, 2011, 01:24:59 PM
:beermug: :beermug: Let's be careful and not paint everyone involved in T&T football with a broad brush. Braithwaite has been one of the few people over the years who has consistently held the TTFF was in need of an overhaul that included a stronger role for the clubs rather than the current regional association set up. I would also add that without Braithwaite, there would be no T&T appearance in '06 Germany.
Post by: andre samuel on November 25, 2011, 06:26:01 AM

the coach was in a bind and had no choice in the matter, if he had players who were giving 1000% to the nation, he would be forced to do his best

but if he has players who care about caps and themselves and not qualifying, you can't blame him

You on a roll wit these baseless and frivolous statements.  How can u say such things??  Everyone is hurting as a result of our exit from the 2014 world cup, but u have to be a mad man for thinking that the players dont care!!

You have to blame the coach!!  Wewere 1-0 down and all 3 subs made @ 55mins? No final roll of the dice or impact subs around the 70-75 mins to change the game??

Hayden Tinto (one of our most penetrative players) on the bench for the full 90??

Players play to the coach's plan and Otto underestimated the caribbean coaches and was out coached!
Post by: Socapro on November 25, 2011, 11:31:03 PM

You on a roll wit these baseless and frivolous statements.  How can u say such things??  Everyone is hurting as a result of our exit from the 2014 world cup, but u have to be a mad man for thinking that the players dont care!!

You have to blame the coach!!  Wewere 1-0 down and all 3 subs made @ 55mins? No final roll of the dice or impact subs around the 70-75 mins to change the game??

Hayden Tinto (one of our most penetrative players) on the bench for the full 90??

Players play to the coach's plan and Otto underestimated the caribbean coaches and was out coached!

Doh let Just Cool hear yuh saying that!!  ;)
Post by: just cool on November 26, 2011, 03:58:16 AM

Doh let Just Cool hear yuh saying that!!  ;)
Ah see yuh still beatin dat same ole drum regardless of what rational constructive argument that is presented? it's like yuh dun make up yuh mind like ah stubborn old lady stuck in her ways.  :yellowcard:

some ah allyuh feel professional sports particularly football is as elementary as 1 2 3, but it's quite the opposite.

man saying the coach shoulda use tinto bc he has the quality tuh change ah game instantly, but they never stop to think maybe tinto was carrying ah knock, or maybe he coulda had the cold or getting over one, he coulda hurt himself in warm up, maybe where the coach coulda use him it would've been ah mismatch, he coulda have ah headache, or an upset stomach, any amount of factors could've resulted in the coaches decision not to use him.

another thing that have meh peeved with a lot of these experts analysis especially on the coach is that they don't seem to understand that ah team that didn't or never played together, especially for almost ah yr with ah new coach is ah hell of ah scenario!   

imagine this man had tuh see tony warner in ah qualifying situation tuh know that this man was ah walking disaster, had this man played matches against ah few strong teams then he would've known the capability of each player, their strengths and their weaknesses, but no serious matches before qualifying was awful preparation.  :pissedoff:

imagine otto saw jaggy, molino, osie, and devon in an elimination match @ bermuda! now allyuh tell me what kinda chance this coach had!! deeks said it best, "otto was given ah poison chalice!" and so did the players.

nuff ah allyuh dun say the otto shoulda went to the federation and demand warm up games like if that was soooooo easy tuh do. like allyuh eh realize that dem ppl had no money, jack was in hot water with fifa and the 06WC court case, so otto couldn't have chosen ah more horrible time to apply for this job.

so allyuh could stay there and blame the coach for being out coached by shabbaz, but ah bet allyuh never stop to think and come to terms with the fact that shabbaz knew our players better than otto did, bc shabbaz coached some of them and played against them for yrs, since almost all of them played in the pro league one time or another.   :notlistening:

allyuh putting blame in the wrong place and then have the nerve tuh dog contro when he made that ridiculous accusation against the players! so what allyuh doing so different from TI? IMO for the most part, damn near all ah allyuh missed the fackin ship!    :shameonyou:
Post by: elan on November 26, 2011, 10:04:43 AM
Some of alyuh head so far up alyuh arse it not funny.

I don't like Jamal Shabazz because he is ah shytehong coach, but he buss Pfister arse with basically a local Guyanese team, yet yo ustill defending Pfister about no warm up games. How many warm up games Guyana play? They train right through just like we and yet they could have gotten the job done.

So is either them players better than we own, or their coach better than we own; or both.

Just Cool, what the man say that is so wrong here? vvvv

...................the German coach that the local Pro League is no good and that it should be blamed for his failure.”

He said Pfister is probably unaware that he was out-manoeuvred by a Pro League coach in Jamal Shabazz and beaten by a team that had several Pro league players on their roster.
Post by: just cool on November 26, 2011, 03:27:35 PM
i think it's you who needs tuh take yuh head out yuh frowzy arse and stop taking sh!t so personal! first off yuh wrong about guyana not playing friendlies since most of the guyanese team plays in the PFL under shabbazz with AIA, so yes he has ah core of players that he knows inside out, as ah matter of fact he knows our players better than pfister did as well which gave him ah huge advantage going into this match.

as ah coach you should know that if you're not in ah must win situation you could  play with ah deep defense and a conjested midfield and absorb the attack and stifle your opponent's offense, didn't beenhakker did it against sweden and to some extent england? but look what happen in the next match when guyana came forward in the return game, they were exposed in the defense and conceded.

the easiest thing to do in football is park the bus, it takes ah very skillful team to pick that lock, and we didn't have that type of chemistry in the team just yet tuh do that.

you talking bout shabbaz out coached pfister, but in football that's ah regular occurrence! the great sir alex ferguson is almost out coached every season by ah less talented coach in the EPL, Sh!t that eh nothing new or unusual! it would make ah difference if he out coached him in T&T on the return leg which he didn't, but while we're on the subject of coaching, how many international titles shabbaz has?? how many teams he's coached in ah world cup , how many trophies he's got in his cabinet other than PFL titles?

all this talk about otto this and otto that, you tell me mr football guru, what coach do you propose that we hire, call names since yuh feel this fella IYO is skungo??!!
Post by: rippin on November 27, 2011, 08:24:25 PM
Men hailing Shabbazz as a big coach. Same thing with Fenwick. These men ain't win nothing of significance. Yeah Shabbazz was coaching the side who ultimately knock us out but we fail to see the writing on the wall. We get licks from Bermuda and doh forget Grenada. Men want to blame Otto. If we as good as men feel ("U23 team shoulda be core") the coach should have had to do nothing but say " Ok lads get us to the next round and then  we will start preparing for the big boys."

Our footballers have natural ability but there have been studies showing that pep with natural abilities are often surpassed by people who just want it more. Read a book called "Tipping point." In this book a study identified a bunch of young kids in the US with really high IQs. When the study picked back up later on men with genius IQs is janitors and all kinda mess. Why? Because potential with out action is meaningless. Men coast and didn't develop other skills and eventually they get passed over.

Man call out Birchall on this site. If all our footballers had Birchall work ethic we would be a shoe in for one of Concacaf 3 guaranteed spots. Watch Keon performance while he was playing for the Union, compared to how he was playing while he was in Trinidad. why is it that when players leave home they get a lot better in little time? Yeah competition is the cause. The effect however is they start working harder. Maybe we need to instill that competition home in PFL. Bring a bunch of young foreigners who want it and let the locals see what hunger looks like.
Post by: just cool on November 27, 2011, 11:33:05 PM
Men hailing Shabbazz as a big coach. Same thing with Fenwick. These men ain't win nothing of significance. Yeah Shabbazz was coaching the side who ultimately knock us out but we fail to see the writing on the wall. We get licks from Bermuda and doh forget Grenada. Men want to blame Otto. If we as good as men feel ("U23 team shoulda be core") the coach should have had to do nothing but say " Ok lads get us to the next round and then  we will start preparing for the big boys."

Our footballers have natural ability but there have been studies showing that pep with natural abilities are often surpassed by people who just want it more. Read a book called "Tipping point." In this book a study identified a bunch of young kids in the US with really high IQs. When the study picked back up later on men with genius IQs is janitors and all kinda mess. Why? Because potential with out action is meaningless. Men coast and didn't develop other skills and eventually they get passed over.

Man call out Birchall on this site. If all our footballers had Birchall work ethic we would be a shoe in for one of Concacaf 3 guaranteed spots. Watch Keon performance while he was playing for the Union, compared to how he was playing while he was in Trinidad. why is it that when players leave home they get a lot better in little time? Yeah competition is the cause. The effect however is they start working harder. Maybe we need to instill that competition home in PFL. Bring a bunch of young foreigners who want it and let the locals see what hunger looks like.
Well said.
Post by: Controversial on November 28, 2011, 09:09:49 AM

sorry mr 3000

not buying that argument one bit, the players heart was not in the game, they said so and it showed

its a silent rebellion against the ttff and if it means goodbye brazil then so be it, in their opinion

for a die hard, that pill not easy to swallow, trust me its not easy to write it but the truth offends
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 28, 2011, 09:56:54 AM

sorry mr 3000

not buying that argument one bit, the players heart was not in the game, they said so and it showed

its a silent rebellion against the ttff and if it means goodbye brazil then so be it, in their opinion

for a die hard, that pill not easy to swallow, trust me its not easy to write it but the truth offends
Your argument makes no sense. If they wanted to rebel, why come in the first place? Why fly all the way from England? Why leave beautiful L.A.? Why bother when you could be relaxing in Belgium, asking your coach to send a note? Dey come all the way here to waste time and energy and sleep in shitty hotels and take kick and tackle and knock... just to lose a game we woulda lose anyway if dey did stay home? Dem is real masterminds.

Or more likely, you choose a position and sticking with it come hell, high water or common sense.
Post by: Deeks on November 28, 2011, 10:56:47 AM

sorry mr 3000

Contro,
            Them guys did not come home to lose the game. Them men were not prepared mentally.I am not saying that they are absolved of blame. they played the game. they were on the field. The coaching staff did not do a good job in mental preparation.
Post by: just cool on November 28, 2011, 05:33:04 PM

sorry mr 3000

Your argument makes no sense. If they wanted to rebel, why come in the first place? Why fly all the way from England? Why leave beautiful L.A.? Why bother when you could be relaxing in Belgium, asking your coach to send a note? Dey come all the way here to waste time and energy and sleep in shitty hotels and take kick and tackle and knock... just to lose a game we woulda lose anyway if dey did stay home? Dem is real masterminds.

Or more likely, you choose a position and sticking with it come hell, high water or common sense.
Don't forget the part where if they sabotage the team they are also sabotaging themselves and their careers. bc had they moved on there would be a lot of scouts out there looking for young talent, and they would be taking themselves off the market, which IMO is extremely counter productive.

contro, please give it up fardder, yuh really really gone off the charts wid these ridiculous theories now, real ridiculous and outa timin theories!  yuh need tuh stop.
Post by: Controversial on November 28, 2011, 07:25:58 PM

sorry mr 3000

if they refuse, they are risking their career in national football when they want it later down the road

get national caps and regarded as an intl player, dont tell me you don't know that part of it, don't be naive breds
Post by: Socapro on November 28, 2011, 09:04:44 PM
Flex, I feel is time to PM this man yuh know!

He messing up too many threads with his BS arguments!
Title: Colour Me Sport
Post by: Tallman on December 01, 2011, 05:26:19 AM
Colour Me Sport
By Richard Braithwaite (T&T Express)

In declaring 2005 as the Year of Sport and Physical Education the United Nations highlighted the important role that sport would play in the achievement of its Millennium Development Goals. In supporting its position the UN issued a statement which concluded, inter-alia:

"By its very nature sport is about participation, It is about inclusion and citizenship, sport brings communities together, highlighting commonalities and bridging cultural or ethnic divides. Sport provides a forum to learn skills such as discipline, confidence and leadership and it teaches core principles such as tolerance, cooperation and respect.''

These are impressive benefits and they have great relevance for countries like T&T where bringing communities together and bridging cultural or ethnic divides are critical to achieving national development.

Given these attributes, one would expect that sport would receive a sizeable chunk of the annual budget. Moreover, steps would be taken to ensure that the administrators who are managing sporting assets are no less qualified and competent than those who manage our hydrocarbon resources.

Unfortunately, the focus is almost exclusively on the technical aspects of sport and little attention is paid to other elements as outlined in the UN statement.

In West Indies cricket and local football, for instance, the debate continues to revolve around issues of coaching while the restructuring and reorganisation of the governing bodies are ignored. As a result the response to failure on the field is often the firing of a coach or captain while the management structures and administrative personnel remain untouched. This eventually leads to a situation of entrenched incompetence where sub-standard performances are accepted as the norm. The Trinidad and Tobago Football Fedration is in grave danger of falling into this abyss if it has not done so already.

Another major hindrance is the outmoded perception that sport is merely frivolity and recreation and not a fundamental pillar of development. Developed nations know otherwise and they allocate significant funds to acquire the many benefits that sport provides. They know that success especially at the international level is the result of sustained and systematic programmes from the early years right through to the elite level.

This requires a combination of sound technical knowledge and effective management and perhaps this is where sponsors and funding agencies should provide support. The most successful team managers across the globe are usually those who understand the complex management issues "beyond the boundary''. People like Sir Alex Ferguson, for instance, are equally comfortable with modern human resource management and strategic planning as they are with the intricacies of 4-3-3 or 4-4-2.

Some years ago during a stint with the FIFA Technical Committee, I paid a visit to the Arsenal Training Centre at Hertfordshire. The "Gunners'' were ruling the roost at the time and they had a star-studded team with the likes of Dennis Bergkamp, Thierry Henry and the midfield general Patrick Vieira. After watching an intensive training session, I was taken on a tour of the state-of-the-art facilities by former Arsenal great Liam Brady who was in charge of the youth development programme. I later met their acclaimed manager Arsene Wenger who asked my opinion about the training centre.

I told him I was particularly impressed by the outdoor playfields with underground heating and the indoor swimming pool with the mobile floor. He smiled and pointed to a relatively long, narrow corridor and suggested that it was one of the more important aspects of the facility. I looked at him in disbelief and thought perhaps he was joking. He then explained that in order to get to the dressing rooms all players, whether senior team and youth team, had to pass each other in the corridor. He added that the daily intermingling of players served not only to show the youngsters what they must aspire to become but it also reminded the star players where they had come from. He felt that these were necessary reminders for both groups every time they went onto the field. I have been an Arsenal fan ever since despite the recent absence of silverware.

In T&T we have had numerous examples of the positive impact of sport on human, social and community development. For starters, hundreds of young men and women have received free tertiary education in the United States and elsewhere as a result of their sporting prowess. In addition, communities such as Preysal and Pt Fortin have accumulated considerable social capital through the success of sporting programmes within their environment.

There was also a time when the phrase "Belmont Battalion'' did not refer to any criminal gang but to the mighty Colts football team that attracted hundreds of fans to the Queen's Park savannah. Unfortunately, in the case of Pt Fortin, much of this legacy has dissipated although football icon Leroy de Leon is now back in his hometown seeking to rekindle the glory days.

In his regard, the recent announcement by the Ministry of Sport to place greater emphasis on sport at the community level is a step in the right direction. People in communities throughout T&T would certainly welcome any serious initiative to develop sport on a long-term basis. Once they are convinced that a comprehensive, systematic plan is in place, I have no doubt that they will shout in unison "Colour Me Sport".
Title: Re: Colour Me Sport
Post by: Trinitozbone on December 01, 2011, 12:31:30 PM
Richard writes some very insightful articles and he is a management consultant by training! Why isn't he part of the executive of the TTFF?
I think he can bring some level of professionalism to that organization. I hope someone is reading and listening! If you all love your country start doing the right thing and don't give the population so much stress? Step aside and let people who can help bring us back to some level of competitiveness and pride in our team and country! Of Gawd put a hand!
Title: Re: Colour Me Sport
Post by: CK1 on December 01, 2011, 12:43:01 PM
In T&T we have had numerous examples of the positive impact of sport on human, social and community development. For starters, hundreds of young men and women have received free tertiary education in the United States and elsewhere as a result of their sporting prowess.

A major human resource that is under-utilized, especially in football.
Title: Re: Braithwaite hails ex-MD for Trintoc’s football success
Post by: Flex on January 17, 2015, 03:57:54 PM
Former T&T football manager Richard Braithwaite passes away. The SWO would like to say condolences to the family and friends of Mr. Braithwaite.

Title: Re: Richard Braithwaite Thread.
Post by: palos on January 17, 2015, 06:08:15 PM
Sorry to hear. RIP Mr Brathwaite. Condolences to his loved ones
Post by: dtool on January 17, 2015, 06:13:03 PM

Condolences to the family.
Post by: FF on January 17, 2015, 06:44:49 PM
RIP Mr Braithwaite
Post by: weary1969 on January 17, 2015, 07:52:57 PM
RIP Mr Braithwaite

CO-SIGN
Post by: Socapro on January 17, 2015, 08:31:15 PM
Sincere condolences to all his family, friends and associates.  :(
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 17, 2015, 09:27:34 PM
wow... We had some good conversations  back in the early days, a sad loss. Extended condolences go out to his family....
Post by: Flex on January 18, 2015, 05:16:59 AM
Ex-manager Richard Brathwaite dies
T&T Express Reports.

Former national football administrator and senior team manager Richard Brathwaite died yesterday after a bout of illness.

Brathwaite, who  had been admitted to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of the Port of Spain General Hospital in early January, had initially improved. He deteriorated again and was admitted to the San Fernando General Hospital recently where he died.

Brathwaite was the national senior team’s football manager between the years 1996 and 2000 and from 2004 and 2005, and was a member of the FIFA Technical Development Committee from 2001 to 2006.

He was presented with a Prime Minister’s award in 1998 for his contribution to the development of sport in Trinidad and Tobago and was the main man behind Bertille St Clair’s two national senior teams, coaching stints between 1996 and 2000 and 2004 and 2005.

Braithwaite was also involved in a number of football clubs in the South region, including Trintoc and United Petrotrin (a merger of Trintoc and Trintopec), and he also served on the FIFA Technical Development Committee as a CONCACAF Director of Development.

More recently Brathwaite also wrote a column on social issues and politics for the Trinidad Express.

Selby Browne, vice-president of the Veteran Footballers Foundation of Trinidad and Tobago (VFFOTT) expressed sadness on receiving news of the passing of  Brathwaite, “Richard was a fine and forthright man of good character and a true lover of football. In his heart he quietly sought the development of football in Trinidad and Tobago.”

Post by: asylumseeker on January 18, 2015, 05:44:02 AM
RIP
Post by: Deeks on January 18, 2015, 10:46:15 AM
Condolences to the Braithwaithe family. RIP "Rat". I first noticed Richard playing for Saints second eleven on Saints ground in the 70s. For a tall and big guy he had pretty good ball skills. Then the next year he came to QRC to do A levels. He was from St. Anns and was good friend with David and Rex Barrow who were playing for QRC at the time. They were part of the Soul City that played in the POSFL juvenile league. "Tom " Phillips was part of that team.

I remember him scoring for QRC on Fatima grounds against a Wayne Lewis Ron LaForest Belmont team. He controlled a high pass to him and scored from about 15 yards. We lost 2-1. He was  a "bright Boy" and was very articulate when the situation was appropriate. But I also remembered him  as the ultimate "shit talker". When we used to travel to South for games in a small bus. It was he who dominated the jokes from POS to Sando and back.
Go brave Breds. God Bless.
Post by: Tallman on January 19, 2015, 01:10:05 PM
The funeral for former T&T football manager, Richard Braithwaite, will be held on Thursday January 22nd from 9am at the St Patrick RC Church on Picton Street, Newtown and then to the Crematorium at Long Circular Road, St. James.
Post by: vb on January 20, 2015, 08:22:47 AM
My condolences to the Braithwaite family.

Many years ago on Marc Purcelle's site, I came up with a blue print to have a TT football supporters Club.

I showed it to Marc who never answered me and then two weeks later told everyone he had an idea for a Supporters Club.

I disseminated amongst the regulars at the time. Not for nothing would the TTFF answer me. Phone calls, emails and faxes. Of course I had the audacity to request that we be informed on what the money (that would raised) would go towards.

RB heard about the lack of response came on the forum and asked to have a copy sent to him.
Nothing ever really happened. But he and I had a  loooong chat a year later. He had told me to keep in touch and followed my Carib Sport site.

In a nutshell he was aware of the shortcomings of the administration and the lack of communication/transparency.

He said that he had told them about his misgivings. He added that one day he would have a book published - too bad that didn't happen. I'm sure it would have made for good reading.

He seemed like an approachable man.

I'll say the team had some serious momentum in 1999/2000. We beat Colombia 4-3, we lost 2-3 to Hond., Stern flew in the day of or just before the game and scored a double. We also had good results vs. S. Africa, Guatemala and C. Rica. The Canadians openly admitted how lucky they were to beat us 1-0 in the semis.

But the focus here is Richard Braithwaite. There are those who knew him better than I so I'll let them talk. But from what I knew he was a cool guy.

RIP Richard.
Post by: Trevor on January 20, 2015, 09:11:58 AM
Richard Braithwaite was a lovely person.  He liked plenty ole talk, and he was such a gentleman.  Just a couple months ago, he and I were talking some chupidness via email.  Richard played a major part in the early goings of the 2006 World Cup campaign.  RIP, brother!
Post by: spideybuff on January 21, 2015, 10:56:34 PM
Nobody post the Nakhid story\obituary here?
Post by: spideybuff on January 21, 2015, 11:03:49 PM
Bertille, Braithwaite and I: Nakhid recalls two memorable Gold Cups.
By David Nakhid (wired868).

Former T&T football captain David Nakhid recalls the work of late manager Richard Braithwaite during two tumultuous Gold Cup campaigns

Wavering between reluctance and tacit acceptance, I feel an obligation to pen some of the experiences and times that I shared with the man commonly referred to by most players as “Manage” and the gentle, principled giant I knew as Richard.

My reluctance stems from the realization that we are a people of words unburdened by actions. How best then to procure the appropriate recognition and acclaim for a man who was without a doubt the best manager in Trinidad and Tobago’s football history—Richard would have hated that bit of hyperbole—from a public famous for its acquiescence to official dogma?

As our so called ‘leaders’ past and present—superfluous in everything but the basic principles and integrity needed for public office—are deified by a partisan public, the deserving along with their accomplishments are discarded only to be remembered upon their deaths with hypocritical sentiment and expansive eulogies.

I knew little of Richard’s personal life as he was a very private man. But I was captain of the National team for most of his six or so years as ‘Manage.’ It is Impossible then for me to reference Richard without referencing the Coach that he worked with for the better part of those years and the dynamics and sparks that emanated from that very successful relationship.

Bertille St Clair was not an easy man to work with. But then most principled people within a distinctly third-world mentality environment tend to be branded as ‘difficult.’

Bertille St Clair is a man of principle and integrity… and then some!

Richard, who was unassuming, diplomatic to the nth degree, visionary and, over all else, action-oriented, was the perfect foil to the stubborn, energetic, demanding, unapolegetic, highly-driven disciplinarian that is St Clair. Their union was an historic turning point in T&T’s footballing fortunes and direction and their statistical record is indicative of a productive connection.

At the time, our senior team struggled for even token support from a TTFF that, from the onset, placed obstacles in our way. There were no proper training camps, no access to proper training fields, inadequate training provisions and the list went on and on… Richard begged, borrowed and cajoled as we prepared against the tide for the 1997 edition of the Caribbean Cup.

Bertille and I put our complaints to the media several times but there was no reaction from anyone. As Bertille would accurately say: “If this was Mexico somebody house burning down!”

Richard always managed to get us through to the next level of training and our group of players, although not our best team, responded magnificently.

When we arrived in St Kitts, we were firm underdogs, our fiercest rival, Jamaica, was bound for the ‘98 World Cup and established favourites. Understandably, all their best players were there seeking selection for France. The TTFF ignored all requests by Richard and Bertille to bring back our best players. No money was the reason given.

Jerren Nixon, Peter Prosper and I were the only overseas players. Jamaica completely outplayed us for the first 45 minutes of that epic semi-final. Their extensive and well-financed preparations were evident. But Bertille’s impassioned talk at half-time and a typical low-key, matter of fact statement by Richard pushed us to turn the tables dramatically and remains with me to this day.

“Fellahs, Jamaica playing with their eyes towards France,” said Manage. “Allyuh playing for the next 5 years of your lives!”

Every player got Manage’s message. We knew the TTFF was waiting like vultures to fire Bertille and Richard and axe some of the “difficult” players involved. We went on to dominate the rest of the game including extra time and eventually beat a mentally and physically drained Jamaica on penalties. The lifting of the Caribbean Cup was a mere formality after that.

I never felt that (then TTFF general secretary) Richard Groden liked Richard, Bertille and I being the de facto leaders of the National team. To our faces, he and (then president) Oliver Camps were courteous and full of praise but their actions consistently suggested malicious intent. As we set out with the team on a pre-Gold Cup Central American tour, which Richard had incessantly pushed (FIFA vice-president and TTFA special advisor) Jack Warner to organise, we heard that the TTFF bigwigs said our team would be an embarrassment and we should return home.

Richard and Bertille stayed the course and convinced everyone to believe as we suffered defeat after defeat during our preparation. The results were splashed on the newspapers by the TTFF with accompanying remarks but no-one knew what we were doing.

Bertille had us training in the morning for a full hour and sometimes two before playing against teams also preparing for the Gold Cup. We lost to El Salvador (0-1), Guatemala (1-3) and Costa Rica (0-4) but there was a growing confidence among the team as Richard man-managed his heart out, acting as Manager, resident psychologist and educator.

Clint Marcelle and Stern John joined us as we received not a word of encouragement from TTFF or even a visit to our hotel. Gold Cup ‘98 witnessed the best football played by a T&T team at the region’s highest level tournament until now.

We beat Honduras 3-1 and left them wondering out loud at the post-game press conference if this was the T&T team they had seen two weeks prior. Mexico, who eventually beat Brazil 1-0 in the Gold Cup final, had a similar experience. Their famous coach Manuel Lapuente kicked over buckets of Gatorade on his way to the dressing rooms at half-time.

Mexico ran out 4-2 winners to eliminate us but only T&T was able to register goals against one of Mexico’s greatest ever teams. This was no second-rate team here, we knew we were onto something great.

Warner, ever the self-serving pragmatist, kept Richard, Bertille and most of the team amidst protestations from some of his own TTFF officials. But I had seen enough.

After beating Jamaica 2-0 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on 28 March1999, I announced my retirement, furious at the lack of respect shown to Richard, Bertille and the local players.

Richard constantly implored the TTFF for help in implementing a comprehensive programme to prepare for major tournaments. Jack and the TTFF would host some overseas players in separate hotels (until Richard and Bertille shut that down) and paid some of us 10 times the amount paid to local players as match fees.

Richard’s insistence was the reason that player payments became more streamlined and equitable, which eliminated the rancour and bitterness felt towards some of the overseas players.

It was Richard’s call to me with Bertille in the background that pulled me back into the national set-up for the Gold Cup 2000. The pre-tournament trip to Morocco was a sign that we had a team of genuine difference makers. Russell Latapy was his usual genial self while news that Dwight Yorke would be joining us engendered a feeling of ‘our time now.’

The team put together by Richard and coached by Bertille went on to create history for Trinidad and Tobago at the 2000 Gold Cup.

There was little doubt as to which team was the better when we lost to the eventual winners, Canada, in the semi-final. My penalty miss proved decisive.

What was made known to the public by Jack and his TTFF cohorts were the huge amount of salaries being paid to the players, as the team held several meetings to seek better conditions for future players and less interference from Jack and his lackeys.

We would learn later who was keeping Jack informed about details of the meetings and that both Richard and Bertille were in full support of the players. Little is known to Jack and the public until now that Enrique Sanz, who was our Gold Cup liaison and is now CONCACAF general secretary, had formed a strong bond with Richard and myself and warned us what was ahead.

After victory against Guatemala took us into the Gold Cup quarter-finals, Enrique came to Richard, Bertille and myself and related what he had just witnessed in Jack’s VIP box. Groden, Camps, Jack and some other lesser known lackeys were jumping for joy when Guatemala scored while cursing when T&T scored and eventually won.

The look on Richard’s and Bertille’s face, I will never forget. These two battle hardened men had virtually experienced every low possible from a TTFF bent on seeing them fail; but this was unimaginable! Their disappointment and anger was palpable.

To Richard’s immense credit, he managed to pull Bertille and himself together and, very much against their wishes, I told every single player about what was witnessed in that VIP box.

Against all expectations, we beat Costa Rica in the quarter-finals and were coming together as a team. We knew that Jack effectively played a major part in Dwight not returning (from Manchester United) to play in the quarter-final or semi-final.

(Yorke played in Trinidad and Tobago’s three group stage matches but was allowed to return to Manchester United for the knockout stage although FIFA rules priorities a Confederation’s tournaments).

The die was cast. Richard, Bertille, Nixon and myself were axed. A team that I am more than certain would have qualified for the 2002 World Cup with most players in their prime was decimated on the whim of a football illiterate and facilitator of corruption.

Both Richard and Bertille, with their reputations and integrity intact, would make their returns and lay the foundation for T&T’s eventual successful run to Germany World Cup 2006. I knew Richard was as equally happy as he was heartbroken that we had qualified but that he could not be there as manager.

True to form and his immense character, he took it in his stride and never let on.

Bruce Aanensen, an all-round nice guy and affable enough, brought nothing special to the table as manager of the National Senior Team in comparison to Richard. But maybe I am being unfair to Bruce as Richard set the bar extremely high.

Other than the honesty and passion in carrying out his duty, I will remember our after-dinner conversations.

Bertille and I invariably were always demanding something to be better, changed, redone or brought in. Richard would look across the table and exclaim with a shake of his head and smiling from his heart: “Why de two of allyuh so damn miserable?!”

Rest in Peace, Richard. Be assured that your work done and it was done well. There are statistics for the lives transformed under your leadership.

But the ignoring of your own health issues to make sure you fulfilled the many demands placed on you and so that all conditions were in place for good performance can never be accounted.

Take comfort on your eternal journey knowing that you are loved and appreciated by those who knew and those unafraid to speak.

Your walk back into the dressing room for the last time is not alone or in vain but accompanied by those who hold dear Trinidad and Tobago football.

Post by: Cocorite on January 22, 2015, 04:29:51 PM
Ooh Guuude! Well written as usual David.

Thanks to Richard. RIP
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 23, 2015, 05:42:15 AM

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2015-01-23/braithwaite-laid-rest

..as footballers come out
Published:
Friday, January 23, 2015
Pall bearers Brian Gent, and John Brathwaite carry the casket bearing the body of former T&T football team manager out of the St Patrick’s RC Church, Newtown, through a guard of honour from members of the Trintoc 1980-1995 team at the funeral service for former national football team manager Richard Braithwaite at the St Patrick’s RC Church, Newtown, yesterday. Photo: JEFF MAYERS.

Former T&T men’s football team manager Richard Braithwaite was cremated yesterday at the Long Circular crematorium in St James following a church service at the St Patrick RC Church,

Maraval Road, Port-of-Spain.

Richard passed away on Saturday afternoon at the San Fernando General Hospital following an illness.

Braithwaite, 60, a former employee of Petrotin in the 1980 and 1990s, was the founder of Trintoc football team which campaigned in the TTFF South zone until the merger that formed Petrotrin.

He also played a key role in the formation of the Petrotrin football team before he served with the company in late 1990s.

The native of Cascade and dubbed the adopted son of Point Fortin, Braithwaite was admitted at the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of Port-of-Spain General Hospital on January 4.

Before his national stints he was an outstanding player with Soul City of Cascade.

He was the national football manager between the years of 1996 and 2000, and again 2004 and 2005.

He was a member of the Fifa Technical Development Committee from 2001 to 2006 and was presented with a Prime Ministerial award in 1998 for his contribution to the development of sport in T&T.

He leaves to mourn his two daughters Chantel and Sherice and wife Paula. Rest In Peace friend.
Title: Former players remember late manager Braithwaite
Post by: Tallman on February 23, 2015, 05:34:31 AM
Former players remember late manager Braithwaite
T&T Newsday

FORMER NATIONAL football team manager Richard Braithwaite has been remembered for his humility and the work he did to inspire youngsters in the game.

The 61-year-old Braithwaite passed away in January after a brief illness.

According to ex-Trinidad and Tobago team midfielder and coach Everald “Gally” Cummings, “we were youngsters playing in Port of Spain. He was with a team called Soul City and I was a little guy playing with Glory Guys. Those were community teams.

“He had always had a love for people, for communities and anything that was positive and good,” he continued. “I remember in the old days, before Trintoc (team) was started, I was coaching with him, organising all the players and getting things together. He was a visionary.”

Cummings, the only footballer to be named as Sportsman of the Year, stated that Braithwaite will be remembered mainly for “the fact that he made a group of people strong. He would come in to a programme that wasn’t functioning and put it on top of the world. He had ability to motivate people and to keep the car going, even if it didn’t have gas in it.”

Another former Trintoc player and national striker Philbert Jones described Braithwaite as “a lovely man, a very nice person.

“He always cared about the youths, especially where sports is concerned,” Jones, uncle of national captain Kenwyne Jones, added. “When he saw a player with potential, he (would look) to develop them. He was always willing to help you, so long as you give him that kind of response, he would always be there for you, as an individual.”

Another player with fond memories of Braithwaite was ex-national utility player and captain Anthony Rougier.

“Braithwaite had impacted my life tremendously, from a perspective of the person that I am today and what I have become,” said Rougier. “He saw something in me from the early days of me never sniffing of what a national team has been like.”

Rougier added, “I do believe what he has done for football is a great as anybody else in the country, not only in my life but I know for a fact that my children know who he was. When I became a professional footballer, he was one of the guys who was instrumental in making that happen.

He continued, “he also installed a lot of belief in myself, my confidence in who I am, it’s all because of the grace of God. But God uses men, and I do believe that Brathwaite was one of the guys that God used. I owe a lot of who I am today to him. One of the main reasons for me coming back to Trinidad seven years ago was Richard Brathwaite as well.”