Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on January 14, 2009, 08:00:41 PM

Title: Ahkeela Mollon Thread
Post by: Flex on January 14, 2009, 08:00:41 PM
Exclusive Interview with Ahkeela Mollon.
By: Inshan "Flex" Mohammed.

1. Ahkeela, obviously you became the first T&T woman player to gain a foreign contract to play in Europe. How do you feel to carry such honour.
AM: It’s have been tremendous, the opportunity in which the heavenly father have bless me with. The opportunity to be able to continue my football career after college and being able to complete on such a high level have certainly have a huge affect on my life. I now can reap the benefits off all my hard work and determination during the past few years.

2. How is the experience playing in Sweden?
AM: The experience thus far has been wonderful; the Swedish people have shown me nothing but love and respect during my time there and I am looking forward to returning to such welcoming and loving people. The level of football is high and there is so many female footballers in Sweden. As a society the Swedish people is known to take their football seriously and once u around that type of environment you can’t help but have the same feeling, which can be so encouraging for you as a football player to continue to take football serious and work at improving yourself daily as a player because people is always expecting the best. So thus far my experience has been great, and so fruitful, in the sense that, you feel like you growing daily in the game, because everything in Sweden is about football.

3. How were you spotted.
AM: My opportunity to play in Sweden came about, because of my involvement during the summers playing for my W-League team the Charlotte Eagles. It was during the past two summers that I was spotted by an overseas official and one year later here I am playing in Sweden.

4. Give us a run down on how hard it was for you to adjust there, the food, how the fans and your teammates treated you.
AM: The very first day I got to Sweden it was like -3 degree’s weather, not good at all since I just left Trinidad and the weather was clocking about 40 degree’s, so I had no time to get adjusted to the weather. The food was ok, matter of fact the Swedish people is known to be healthy eaters, since I myself believe in healthy eating, it was ok adjusting to the food. The people on the other hand were very sweet, really nice people, but a bit to shy. Wow, Swedish people are shy, but one quality they have that amazes me, is there equality. They very equal as a society, which was so amazing to me, because I grew up in a society that thought us to be competitive and try to out do others. But it’s not like that in Sweden, everyone is equal and that’s that.

5. Your biggest accomplishment. And proudest moment?
AM: My biggest accomplishment was the day that I started to gain a relationship with your (?). He is my life and my salvation, and no other accomplishment could be greater than what the God has blessed me with and that is his love. My proudest moment was being able to be the first Trinidad and Tobago women football player to attend a big division one University like South Carolina and graduate on time with my degree in psychology, while competing at such high level of football in the USA.

6. Who do you admire the most.
AM: I have two people that I really look up to, the first person is my mom, she is my rock and the person that helps to keep me grounded. I could not have asked God for a better queen in my life, she is simply amazing. And secondly my psychology professor, during my two year at the University of South Carolina, she have taught me so much about life and understanding how the human mind works, which have been contributing daily as I face day to day challenges in my life, and my footballing career.

7. Which current T&T women player/s you feel is capable of playing in Sweden.
AM: Tasha St Louis and Mariah Shade. Both have what it takes currently to play in Sweden at the highest level. And mind you Mariah Shade is still at the U-20 level and has not completed her schooling in Trinidad, still in form five and only 18-years old and already have what it takes to play at that level. Well Tasha can play at any level, in other words she is simply “good”.

8. Do you feel we should have a professional Women League in T&T.
AM: Yes, with the increasing number of female players currently taking interest in football in Trinidad, the TTFF should be looking into forming a professional women football league, so the younger one’s coming up in the game have something to look forward too.

9. What do you feel should be done for us to qualify for a first ever world cup.
AM: More investments must be put into place for the women’s national team to benefit, in order for us to be able to go on tours, or hold weekly camps or whatever preparation is needed to take us to the next level. Women football in Trinidad must be taken more seriously, because the women game is vase becoming a power house all over the world. For a small country like Trinidad, we have the talent, but we don’t have the financial backings.

10. What is your dream.
AM: My dream is for one day to play for one of the best women team in the world with all the right players around me J. Also, my main purpose, goal or dream is to use the talent God has blessed me with to be a role model for the younger ones. Our youths are being taken away from us because of all the criminalities taking place not only in Trinidad but all over the world. People in high places, say for example; athletes must be setting a good example for the youths to follow, because believe it or not the youths are looking on and they looking on to us for some sort of guidance and hope for the future. As athletes we can help, and we should never let these youths down, the ones who is looking on and hoping for a way out. So that’s one of my dreams to impact as many kids life as I can through sports, through football.

11. As we understand your cousin Clyde Leon is a member of the national men's team. Do you have any more family playing for the T&T national teams.
AM: No, Clyde is the only one currently playing for the national team, but Marvin Phillip, he is my brother in law, if that’s counts J.

12. Have you ever visited the Soca Warriors Online ? if so, what's your thoughts.
AM: Honestly, I have not visit the site in a long time.

13. What are your thoughts on Debe High winning it first ever SSFL title in 2009.
AM: Well, they have been a great team throughout the season and every game they got better and better. Mariah Shade as I mention before plays for that team, and she is a good role model for the girls there, and I know for a fact a lot of girls are looking on at her for leadership and she have accepted that role with grace. They have a great coach, he coached me during my years at Pertrotrin and I could only see that team continuing to be a power house in the women game in Trinidad. 

14. Where do you see yourself in the near future.
AM: I see my self, going up and up from here on. I am a fighter and I go after what I want. I am never a quitter and would never settle for less. I know in my heart God would want me to achieve all that he will for me, so knowing that, you will only see or hear great things about me in the future, because God is in control of this ship and once he is in the control, I know that all the things that I work for in the future will be given unto me.

15. What's your thoughts on T&T hosting the FIFA Under-17 Women's World Cup in 2010.
AM: That will be a tremendous opportunity for us to showcase the talent and help bring the Trinidad community together for such a grand occasion. It will benefit our country a lot and will go a long way in showing the Trinidad and Tobago nation how serious the women game has become and will continue to be in the future.

16. Who do you feel would make a good coach for the T&T senior woman team.
AM: No comment!! I will work under any coach as long as they put the best team on the field when game day comes.

17. Your favorite T&T player/s men and women.
AM: Was always a big fan of Russell Latapy would like to meet him one day, my email is even ladylatapy (smile), and my favorite women player, was Tamara forgot her last name, but I always use to admire her as she was real good and I use to look up to her and say one day I would like to play like her.

18. Your favorite food.
AM: I love, crab and dumplings. Give me crab any day, any hour, with dumplings, it would make my day.

19. Do you believe foreign born players have the commitment that can help our team. Or do you think it would be better to invest in T&T born players instead. Giving them the necessary exposure to become better players.
AM: Well, it’s a give, and a take, I believe that everyone should be given the chance to represent the country in which they were born or their parents were born. It’s then up to the coach’s to pick the right players that is fit and ready to represent the country, be it local players or players born in another country. Once the love is there and they know to come and play with all that they got, everyone should be given the opportunity. I think it will make it more of a competitive thing, and help to motivate players to bring there best.

20. If you had to name an All-Star T&T team. Who would they be?
AM: If I had to pick a team, this will be my team; Defenders-Nadia James, Leslie Ann-James, Ayanna Russell, Janelle Nedd, Midfielders-Tasha St Louis, Avenel, Maylee Attin Johnson, Ahkeela Darcel Mollon, Forward-Mariah Shade and Kennya Cordner, Goal keeper-Nicole. - subs, Katrina Meyer, Aveann Douglas, Dernelle Mascall, Niasha Reyes, Mohammed twins.

Note: On behalf on the Soca Warriors Online and Warrior Nation, we say thank you to Ahkeela for taking the time out to do this Q&A Interview for us. We wish you all the best in the future. May Gob Bless you and your family.
Title: Re: SWO - Exclusive Interview with Swedish sweetheart Ahkeela Mollon.
Post by: weary1969 on January 14, 2009, 08:18:05 PM
Flex u wukin over time
Post by: Big Magician on January 14, 2009, 08:28:18 PM
top stuff again fex
all the best to mollon...darcell...i  real like to see her play...
St Louis...Maylee..ya ya...Shade...them could play
it have a smallie indian girl on the youth tean too...real good passer..magas...
Post by: Sando on January 15, 2009, 04:53:03 AM
Good work Flex.

Nice replies by Mollon, she seems cool.....

Never saw Mollon play, but to get sign to play in Europe she have to be good.....

Like Tasha St Louis too, he could handle she business.
Post by: andre samuel on January 15, 2009, 06:54:27 AM
I wonder if a late question can be asked......what about the WPS that is being lauched in the States.  any chance of her seeking a move there?
Post by: Tallman on January 15, 2009, 07:18:36 AM
I wonder if a late question can be asked......what about the WPS that is being lauched in the States.  any chance of her seeking a move there?
No, she is not seeking a move there at this point. She is heading back to Sweden soon. According to her "Europe is de real deal". Don't know if she is referring to money, the level of competition or both.
Post by: weary1969 on January 15, 2009, 07:48:46 AM
D lifestyle
Post by: Sam on January 15, 2009, 08:14:22 AM
Boss questions and boss replies...

Keep them coming Flex.

And good luck to Mollon, seems she have her head on her shoulder. !!!!!!

Meh eh know Marvin Phillip is she brother in law, hope he married she sister and leave Ahkeela for me...  :rotfl:

Mariah Shade will soon be a big player... watch.....
Post by: elan on January 15, 2009, 12:17:43 PM
No, she is not seeking a move there at this point. She is heading back to Sweden soon. According to her "Europe is de real deal". Don't know if she is referring to money, the level of competition or both.

Ah doubt is the money.
Post by: Sam on January 15, 2009, 08:39:04 PM

Ah doubt is the money.

What ever the case I wish her all de best. This is we best woman player right now.
Post by: elan on January 15, 2009, 09:32:24 PM

Ah doubt is the money.

What ever the case I wish her all de best. This is we best woman player right now.

Nah Sam she is not the best. Tasha still the best and if Leslie ann gets her fitness back, Leslie anm will be second, followed by Maylee.
Post by: trinipepper on January 15, 2009, 11:19:08 PM
I like tasha style...leslie ann needs to get her mind back in soccer... they are ballers...never saw Ahkeela play...but good luck in sweden. I saw Marta and the whole Brazilian clan are leaving Sweden to come to the USA to play in the WPS. Also Kelly Smith from Arsenal Ladies FC...
Post by: Sando on January 17, 2009, 08:01:06 AM
The WPS is the best women league in the world ?

Wonder how the Swedish women league ranked ?
Title: One on one with Ahkeela Mollon
Post by: Tallman on May 13, 2010, 12:15:16 PM
One on one with Ahkeela Mollon
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF Media)

1. What’s the feeling like, coming back from Sweden to lead your country’s attack in its bid to qualify for the Concacaf Gold Cup?
It's an amazing feeling after almost three years to be able to wear my national team  colours once more. And what's even more exciting is to be able to come and show how much Ahkeela Mollon has developed over the years and there’s no better place to show than in front of my home country.

2. You're more experienced as a player now, is there a feeling of more responsibility? How are you handling it?
Yes, I have matured over the years and being able to be exposed to first the American brand of football and now the European brand. Off course even the brand of football here in the Caribbean has done wonders for my game. Now I think it's my responsibility to be able to pass on my knowledge to the younger ones on the team and even on the youth teams. Every player wants someone to look up too, and I must try and be that example for the younger ones. Thus far I am dealing with that responsibility well because everyone knows Ahkeela Mollon, always willing to help and give words of encouragement.

3. How did you feel about the first win over St Lucia? Satisfied or felt it could have been better, both your personal performance and the team overall?
The game against St Lucia was okay but overall as a team we could have done better with especially with regards to finishing our opportunities. We need to work more on composure in front the box and finishing our chances, but overall we weren’t bad but could get better.

4. What’s it been like in Sweden? The climate, the fans and the football on a whole?
It's a wonderful feeling playing in Sweden. The fans are great… they really love watching the Trinidadian Rasta play  and I have a lot of fans. The weather on the other hand is tough (wow). I mean sometimes the weather is like -1 degree and we train or even have a game and coming from a country like Trinidad, it makes Swedish weather look like punishment (laughing). But I’ve learnt to deal with it and if you ask anyone about Ahkeela Mollon they will say just word one and that is “driven”.

5. Do you think that considering the amount of experience and quality in the T&T team at present  compared to when you first played back in 2001, that this could be one of T&T’s best chance to reach at least the final stages of the Gold Cup?
YES, certainly because all the girls from 2001 and onwards have matured so much in the game and have so much experience playing in foreign Leagues. Theyall brought something back to the table which in return I think will help with the success of the team.

6. How important  is it for the Senior team to do well as a sign of encouragement for the Under 17 girls at the FIFA Under 17 World Cup in September.
It's very important for us to be an example for the U-17s as in that way they have a group of players to look up to and try to be like or even better. We as senior players must know that the younger players are looking on and most likely will be coming out to all those games and we need to set the standard by demonstrating what maturity in the game is all about … by the way we play.

7. What’s your routine like in Sweden in terms of football readiness?
Well, my routine is focus, focus, and more focus, making sure I have a very strong training pattern before all my games. I Listen to a lot of music on the day of the game and I make sure that I very health meals. That is pretty much it for the most part.

8. Do you wish you had the chance to play at an Under 17 World Cup?
Nope! All my experiences lead to all the enjoyment in my life thus far, and there have been a lot of good experiences. So no, I am very happy for the present Under17 players because come September it will be another experience to add to their chapters of life.
Title: Re: One on one with Ahkeela Mollon
Post by: AirMan on May 14, 2010, 05:31:54 PM
Thanks
Post by: Tallman on December 20, 2010, 06:45:11 PM
Ahkeela Mollon - 2010 Gold Cup Highlights

http://www.youtube.com/v/1IZB68UVhQY
Post by: Deeks on December 20, 2010, 07:27:27 PM
Girl oh girl. what a gem we have. You know everybody looking for the next excitting TT player. SHE right dey. Unfortuantely the she needs some support. She can't do it alone. Sting dem Ahkeelah, sting dem.
Post by: Bakes on December 20, 2010, 07:48:40 PM
Thanks for the vid Tallman.  I have to say that I have only periodically checked in on this girl young lady's career, but ah never really had a chance to see her in any kind of extended action.  First time really taking her in and I am very impressed.  She have real pace, nice touches and great tenacity.  She fight all over that field like I never see one of our male players do.  I not putting down the fellas, I just mention the comparison because often women get overlooked for their athleticism and competitiveness, and it would be a real disservice to Akheela to not mention either.  She's a boss player and I hope she continues to be "driven" to succeed, despite the sometimes harsh conditions abroad.

Kudos too to Fuentes... good interview.  Ah still say he's ah goat, but there's a role for him in our football once he not settling fuh being Jack propaganda tool.
Post by: Deeks on December 20, 2010, 07:53:54 PM
Thanks for the vid Tallman.  I have to say that I have only periodically checked in on this girl young lady's career, but ah never really had a chance to see her in any kind of extended action.  First time really taking her in and I am very impressed.  She have real pace, nice touches and great tenacity.  She fight all over that field like I never see one of our male players do.  I not putting down the fellas, I just mention the comparison because often women get overlooked for their athleticism and competitiveness, and it would be a real disservice to Akheela to not mention either.  She's a boss player and I hope she continues to be "driven" to succeed, despite the sometimes harsh conditions abroad.

Kudos too to Fuentes... good interview.  Ah still say he's ah goat, but there's a role for him in our football once he not settling fuh being Jack propaganda tool.

Bakes,
            I could not agree with you more. I have seen sparingly. She is real good. But she can't do it all by herself. She is a cut above the rest. I hope she makes it in her endeavours. Jah watch over this Princess, please!!!!!

Post by: D.H.W on December 20, 2010, 08:59:39 PM
she have skill too bad , one of the better women ballers ive seen, internationally
Post by: Ngozi on December 20, 2010, 10:45:27 PM
She is the best I've seen since Izler and Delia.
Post by: elan on December 20, 2010, 11:50:26 PM

She's good, really good. But if you had seen Tasha, Maylee and Leslie Ann James play you would have seen ballers.
Post by: Mose on December 21, 2010, 12:54:28 AM
I agree with allyuh fellas. We have a real gem here!!
Post by: Daft Trini on December 21, 2010, 05:50:02 AM
Nice skill. humble player also... she crosses better than some on the men's team  :beermug:
Post by: College on December 21, 2010, 07:13:49 AM
Thanks Tallman ... nice lil player, speed, touches, willingness to tackle, composure on the ball (maybe she and Tinto need to buss a lil lime together, he might learn something). I hope she can stay driven and continue to do well for club and country.

Allyuh in feel she could put on a lil extra muscle. Must be tough going playing in Sweden with dem giant women dem.
Post by: banton on December 21, 2010, 08:59:11 AM
one of the bright spots for the gold cup for Trinidad
Post by: Ngozi on December 21, 2010, 09:31:38 AM

She's good, really good. But if you had seen Tasha, Maylee and Leslie Ann James play you would have seen ballers.
Gotcha Maylee hasn't been the same since her knee injury haven't really seen much of the other two.
Post by: kicker on December 21, 2010, 11:26:43 AM

Delia yes...wha ever became of her?  Is she working in the sport?
Post by: Bakes on December 21, 2010, 11:33:03 AM

Delia yes...wha ever became of her?  Is she working in the sport?

She put on ah li'l size since she FIU days and living in B'more... not sure she involved in any official, organized capacity though.
Post by: Big Magician on December 22, 2010, 08:28:59 PM
following mollon for a long time.. she is tops

you all saw after the Mexico match when Mexico coach came to mollon and had a chat with her and he bowed down to her ???... class
Post by: zuluwarrior on December 22, 2010, 08:43:01 PM
She is a very fearless young lady.
Title: Ahkeela Mollon Thread
Post by: Sam on October 23, 2014, 03:51:12 PM
Ahkeela Mollon is we Carlos Edwards on de women team.

She will cause T&T to win, I hope she on top of her game tomorrow.

When she attack T&T does look really good.

Liana Hinds is also a top class player, good touches and good skills, real calm on de ball to.

T&T lucky to have to good wing players.

Title: Re: Ahkeela Mollon Thread
Post by: Narada on October 24, 2014, 07:42:07 AM
Fully agreed, WNT has scored 2 constructed goals both coming off her attacks and 'yaya's' head (3rd being a penalty so not considered in my statement). Ahkeela has already gained attention from teams in the USA and in Sweden again.

https://www.facebook.com/TBLSportsManagementTT/photos/a.1418277925123664.1073741828.1418253265126130/1489613674656755/?type=1&theater
Post by: Sam on October 26, 2014, 04:16:39 PM
Nice girl, good skills and a fast player.

But just don't have the physicality to be on the field.

She was a ghost vs Costa Rica snd Mexico.

Ah sorry ah created this thread for now.

She like 60 pounds vs 135.

Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 04:27:19 PM
Sam, I don't understand you. I know we disappointed about the results, but give them a break nah man. For a long time now I saying a substantial amount of players don't pay attention to strengthening their bodies so that they can withstand the constant pounding from bigger opponents. The same also for men's team.
Post by: royal on October 26, 2014, 04:28:19 PM

she's a good player Sam remember Sammy Llewellyn? 
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2014, 04:33:08 PM
Royal, you are correct about Sammy. He was quick and deceptive. But he used to lift weights, more for strength and endurance. He never bulked up. He told me so.
Post by: Sam on October 26, 2014, 04:48:09 PM
In related news, Jose Mourinho sold Mata.

Post by: asylumseeker on October 26, 2014, 05:22:14 PM
Robinho anyone?
Post by: maxg on October 26, 2014, 05:23:48 PM
haven't seen Ahkeela play since U17. Sadly , she hasn't improved effectively to suit seniors. She is more skill full, she is faster, yet she is less dangerous. I think it's her mental game has not improved. Which is quite surprising given her experience and current level of play. Best winger we have, but she's capable of so much more. I just know it.
Post by: Bakes on October 26, 2014, 07:49:41 PM

Sometimes you need to fall back and just hush yuh mouth, seriously.  It ever occurred to you that fatigue might finally be setting in?  TnT not as deep as the three teams which have so far qualified.  In every game is Mollon running up and down the right flank for us... and she just played three games in four games.  No matter how "physical" a player is, that will take a toll on any player.  Some ah allyuh really need to think more and talk/type less sometimes.
Post by: elan on October 26, 2014, 09:40:14 PM
haven't seen Ahkeela play since U17. Sadly , she hasn't improved effectively to suit seniors. She is more skill full, she is faster, yet she is less dangerous. I think it's her mental game has not improved. Which is quite surprising given her experience and current level of play. Best winger we have, but she's capable of so much more. I just know it.

That's that Swedish football.

I know exactly what you mean watching Akheela playing coming up.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 27, 2014, 01:17:30 AM

What would the Swedes do to harness this player if they could cap her?
Post by: maxg on October 27, 2014, 09:50:00 AM

Hold on now. She is a tireless, gifted worker, but not sure she would make a Swedish national team. However, with the right strategical coaching & team, i'm sure she ould be an asset to any club in the womens game. You can't teach what she already has.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 27, 2014, 11:01:53 AM

Hold on now. She is a tireless, gifted worker, but not sure she would make a Swedish national team. However, with the right strategical coaching & team, i'm sure she ould be an asset to any club in the womens game. You can't teach what she already has.

Not suggesting she would make their national team now, but what would they have done differently with her as a 15 year old? What would they do to address her present game?

When she was at USC, they wanted her to be more versatile than merely being able to get by the opponent with a touch and a foot race.

She makes incisive passes, but she could be more deadly in the final 1/3. I would like to see her take more responsibility beyond being a provider.

As far as the physicality thing, part of it comes down to decision-making. Make decisions that don't compromise your physical frailties.

Regarding other aspects of decision-making: the other night she made a luxury pass (exquisite skill to flick the ball up and release it to the penalty area) but she conceded an opportunity to drive by her marker and render a dangerous final ball. Result: easy loss of possession. One bounce and into the keeper.

When you witness US players extending their playing careers, one immense factor is their situational awareness. I like the player. I hope to see her unleash her full repertoire. It's not been on display.

Post by: maxg on October 27, 2014, 11:45:25 AM

Not suggesting she would make their national team now, but what would they have done differently with her as a 15 year old? What would they do to address her present game?

When she was at USC, they wanted her to be more versatile than merely being able to get by the opponent with a touch and a foot race.

She makes incisive passes, but she could be more deadly in the final 1/3. I would like to see her take more responsibility beyond being a provider.

As far as the physicality thing, part of it comes down to decision-making. Make decisions that don't compromise your physical frailties.

Regarding other aspects of decision-making: the other night she made a luxury pass (exquisite skill to flick the ball up and release it to the penalty area) but she conceded an opportunity to drive by her marker and render a dangerous final ball. Result: easy loss of possession. One bounce and into the keeper.

When you witness US players extending their playing careers, one immense factor is their situational awareness.
I like the player. I hope to see her unleash her full repertoire. It's not been on display.

very good analysis, and even better answers than i could have provided seeker.. that's what your experience/training provides.
Now at 29, is it to late for her development to benefit us on the field ? i think if she did a little youth coaching a few years ago, it would have helped her own reading/decision making of the game immensely. As she would have had to utilize/train in others, what is the weaker parts of her game, working with most girls who lacked her specific talents.
Post by: Flex on October 30, 2014, 02:35:08 AM
Mollon’s Swedish fans backing T&T
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA)

This country’s women footballers did not only win new fans and friends in the United States during their recent showing at the Concacaf Championship but several supporters around the world have decided to back T&T as one of the favourites or best second team as the 2015 Fifa Women’s World Cup approaches.

There have been several notes of well wishes sent to the T&T Football Association for the women’s team as they continue their journey towards Canada 2015.

T&T winger Ahkeela Mollon, who is based in Sweden, said her fans there are also rooting for the Women Soca Warriors.

“Oh they are so excited for us,” Mollon said.

“There is a six-hour time difference so they’re up early in the morning to see the games and they were sending me messages and good vibes right through.

They always say they are amazed by our speed and athleticism and they were all very happy to see the team doing so well. It would be great if we can qualify which I know we will and Sweden will be cheering us on,” she added.

Mollon also spoke of her partnership with Kennya Cordner which resulted in three goals during the tournament.

“The combination worked really well. This was the first time I played for the national team in three years. Coming and linking up with Kennya was truly amazing. I know once I receive the ball on the right side and with her speed and ability she’ll always be breaking into the box.

So for me it was just to deliver a good ball in order for her to execute and she’s scored three headers off my crosses and I’m proud of that,” Mollon said.

Title: Ahkeela Mollon: Spirit of a Warrior, Heart of a Pacifist
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2014, 12:11:01 PM
Ahkeela Mollon: Spirit of a Warrior, Heart of a Pacifist
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

The FIFA World Cup is considered the crown of all sporting accolades. Trinidad and Tobago women Soca Warriors will be one step closer to that prestigious award if they are victorious in their game against Ecuador in the second-leg World Cup playoff at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, on December 2.

Right winger Ahkeela Darcel Mollon, one of this country’s most decorated and seasoned female football stars, said her team are currently undergoing the intense preparations ahead of this clash. The 29-year old Longdenville, Chaguanas, resident says she has had a strong spirit of athleticism from birth.

“I grew up with guys,” the soft spoken goalkeeper assassin tells Woman's Weekly. “At that time, my grandmother had 15 grandchildren and I was the only girl in the crew. The boys used to call me ‘Mother’ because I was the only female among them. I never grew up playing with dolls and being around these guys, I had to learn fast. Growing up around a sport-dominated family, I played football and cricket but football was my passion. Technically, I had no choice (to play sports). I had to be athletic, because if I had to roll with ‘the crew’, I had to keep up. And keeping up with them was being able to be involved in sports.”

“With our good performance at the Concacaf, we opened a few eyes and made people aware that Trinidad and Tobago had so much young female football talent. Now we’ve seen more people come on board to sponsor our games and I think football, especially for women, has a bright future. The talent pool is certainly there, it’s just the investments, and now that people are willing to come on board because they see the hard work and dedication of these players. The resources for us needs a bit of improvement and that’s what the game needs to be further promoted and funded. If it’s God’s will, come December 2 if we qualify, it will continue to add to growth of women’s football in TT.”

The Kvarnsveden IK Women (Swedish Division One) representative has a lengthy history of both local and international appearances and is one of the squad’s most experienced players. Mollon represented Holy Faith Convent, Couva, in the Secondary Schools Girls’ Football League. She joined Doc’s Khelwalas Football Club in 1999, followed by her first country appearance for the national Under-17 team at the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Championships one year later. Since her berth as a national player, Mollon has continued to excel, playing in Iceland and Sweden and only recently teaming up with local football club, Central FC.

"Ahkeela is the ideal 12th warrior. She embodies both the spirit and emotion required for a warrior. It’s not a coincidence she even sports the number 12.

"Mollon's international experience, family backing and our company's support has afforded her the comfort to positively impact the national team," says her manager Narada Wilson of the Brazil Link.

With over 17 years experience on the field of play, the dreadlocked athlete admits that the years of physical play in varying climates may have taken a minor toll on her. But she remains undeterred.

“Well at some point your body will take a turn. In Sweden, all the games I played in were on artificial turf. However, years of European football and a lot of jumping and thumping, your body tends to take a beating. For me though, my body has withstood the test of time thus far, and I’m happy with my physical capabilities over the years. I feel like 19.

“Fitness was the core among the guys, so football has helped me all round, looking younger as well. I’m 29, so I may have another World Cup in me if I continue feeling so young.”

Mollon admits that while all looks good on paper and on the field, it is indeed a tough job representing TT on the international scenes, especially as a woman. The quick-footed player credits her stern foundation of spirituality for being able to observe, assess, evaluate situations where her principles may be compromised.

“Staying focused is tough sometimes. When you go abroad, you have to adapt to different lifestyles, different cultures and especially weather. You miss your family and friends a lot. If you’re not grounded, and I’m a very spiritual person, then you tend to lose focus.

“When in foreign countries, there’s nothing out there for you but the game. Following bad company, getting tired, is all a part of it, because sometimes it’s you alone out there. And when you lose focus, it’s hard to retain.”

She laments the pressing player-related issues that she believes are being sidelined. She says several women of the senior team are yet to be employed in TT, even though they are qualified and experienced.

“We need to promote more senior footballers getting involved on a wider scale. One of the hardest things coming back home is a lot of us have received scholarships going abroad and coming back home and not having opportunities to find jobs.

“It is really hard on us. It’s disturbing to see that I’m playing with the national team since 14 and I remember people telling me to ‘go out there, get your education’, but when you return home it’s a different story.”

Despite this, the holder of a Psychology degree wants to give back to TT for helping her build her professional career. She plans to coach or to counsel troubled youth.

“I think we need some of the more experienced females to get back into the game and spread their knowledge, especially the ones was competed abroad. I’d like to see more of them come back home and share their experience through coaching, grassroots programmes and such.”

“Pertaining to life after football, I’d like work with youths. I have a passion for youth. I love coaching, I think I’ll be a better coach one day than a player. I love coaching at the youth level. Getting into the minds and the psyche of young players, I believe I can do well.

“Being a player is one experience, how the body and mind works is another. And this was why I actually did psychology; to incorporate this into football. My dream job would be working at Youth Training Centre (YTC), girls or boys. I can provide good counselling and believe I can play an integral role into our nation’s youth.

“I won’t go anywhere, I love Trinidad and will share my skills and experience right here. I have to come back and give back. We need to fix our own backyard first before we give away our talents on the international stage. The local people and young girls should not suffer. God thinks about everybody. We need to give back,” she concludes.
Post by: Cocorite on November 30, 2014, 04:31:18 PM
Wonderful
Post by: socalion on November 30, 2014, 07:01:34 PM
Wonderful read .....All i wish to add is you have a true fan here . wishing you Akheela mollon the very best god bless
Post by: Bakes on November 30, 2014, 07:08:08 PM
Would love to see her have a role in an academy set-up, I think she's an excelent role model, and with her professional and educational background, she's an asset which we need to really invest in.
Post by: socalion on November 30, 2014, 08:48:50 PM
Absolutely agree .. .  Very impressed by miss mollon  humbleness
Title: Ahkeela Mollon joins Grenada on Women’s Football Day
Post by: Tallman on May 22, 2015, 01:55:15 PM
Ahkeela Mollon joins Grenada on Women’s Football Day
Grenada Football Association

Professional female footballer, Ahkeela Mollon, is expected to join Grenada in their celebration of Women’s Football Day on 23rd May.

The Trinidadian footballer was based with the Swedish Football Club, Kvarnsvedens IK, before being accepted to represent her country at the CONCACAF qualification leg of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada.
Mollon has recorded 10 goals, 13 Most Valuable Player awards and seven assists in all 25 matches, she has played to the end of 2014.

Known as Lady Latapy, the # 12 player is the first T&T female player to gain a foreign contract to play in Europe.

Mollon expressed in an exclusive interview on Soccerwarriors.net that the opportunity to be able to continue her football career after college had a huge effect on her life.

Women’s Development Officer, Malaika Church, was elated when she found out Ahkeela accepted the invitation to visit Grenada for the Women’s Football Day event.

“The Association is very honored to have one the region’s finest female players a part of its event. Ahkeela is definitely an example of the direction Women’s Football is taking and she is an inspiration to our Women in the Sport.
The day will also have a 3 vs 3 Tournament for our Primary and Secondary schools as well a skills challenge.”

The Event is carded to start at 11a.m at the National Cricket Stadium.
Post by: Flex on June 24, 2015, 03:02:58 PM
Gun-shots fired as T&T player Mollon escape's death.
96.1 WEFM

Just about 24 hours before she suits up for her first game as captain of Rush in the Women’s Premier League (WPL) Ahkeela Mollon survived a hail of bullets and is thanking God that her mother opened the front door of their home at La Monte Street in Longdeville and pulled her inside in the nick of time.

Just note the bullet hole in the front windscreen of her car, just above the steering wheel, which was clearly aimed at the head of the driver.

Obviously scared and shaken when we spoke with her, Mollon will nevertheless come out to lead her team against the Petrotrin Oilers at 8pm, at the Police Barracks Grounds in St James.

It was about 9:10 pm on Tuesday when the prolific striker/midfielder had just arrived home from a practice session at the Ato Boldon Stadium and got out of her car to open the front gate, in order to reverse into the driveway.

“I heard gunshots and did not know where it was coming from, so I automatically dived to the ground,” she told TTRN on Wednesday morning.

“My mother just opened the front door, grabbed me and both of us fell on the ground inside and remained face down.

‘There were bullets ..lots of bullets,” Mollon said , adding “It stopped for a while and then the gunshots sounded louder as the shooters came closer, cause I heard footsteps like people were running."

“The car was outside, idling for about 30 minutes and during this time I called 999 and their response was that they were in the area and that it was safe to come outside."

“I did not dare to go outside until I saw the police surround the car with guns. I first heard them say they got “the car” and I shouted out “that is my car.”

“When they saw the bullet hole they declared that I was very lucky to be alive,” Mollon said.

Police subsequently reported that the shooting started at the home of Police Corporal Anthony Burns, 58, of the Rapid Response Unit who also lives in La Monte Street and was shot at while parking his vehicle.

Luckily Burns also escaped unhurt, as all the bullets hit his car.

Post by: palos on June 24, 2015, 03:41:35 PM
WTF?

If I read this correctly, they saying she was targeted?    If so, what the double F???? ???
Post by: asylumseeker on June 24, 2015, 03:55:50 PM
Glad you are still with us, Ahkeela! The nonsense continues.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 24, 2015, 04:03:15 PM
P.S. After seeing Sweden play during this WC, Ahkeela coulda make that team were she eligible.
Post by: Deeks on June 24, 2015, 04:27:03 PM
 >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Flex on June 25, 2015, 02:06:44 AM
I dodged bullets.
By Cecily Asson (Newsday).

AKHEELA MOLLON, 30, one of Trinidad and Tobago’s leading women footballers was yesterday thanking God Almighty for sparing her life as she literally dodged bullets after unwittingly driving into a shootout between rival gangsters in Longdenville, central Trinidad on Tuesday night.

Mollon who is the only TT female footballer to play professionally overseas, plying her trade in Sweden, narrowly missed being badly injured or killed as bullets penetrated the front and back windscreens of her car as she drove along Lamont Street en route to her home.

The lithe sportswoman, who is now campaigning in the inaugural TT Women’s Premier League for Team Rush, had just stepped out of her car to open the gate so as to reverse into her yard when she heard rapid gunfire.

She was pulled to safety by her mother Wilma Mollon, 51, as bullets whizzed by. The elder Mollon was at the time standing at a door to the house when the shooting began. Her daughter’s car, which was riddled with bullets, was left with the engine idling on the roadway outside the house.

One of the bullets entered through the back windscreen of Mollon’s silver Nissan Primera car, penetrating the driver’s seat and exiting through the front windscreen. Mollon sat on that very seat seconds earlier. A total of seven bullet holes were on the body of the vehicle with two holes in the back windscreen.

The traumatised athlete, who sat down for an interview at home yesterday, said she had not eaten anything since the incident although she was due to lace up her football boots for a game later in the evening.

“To tell you the truth, it is an act of God that I am sitting here with you alive and speaking about that incident. Bullets don’t have eyes and if you look at where the bullets passed, I could have easily been shot in the head. I could have been dead...without a doubt I could have been dead had it not been for divine intervention,” Mollon said.

This was the first time in six years that Mollon has been home in Trinidad around this time of the year and she said she never witnessed anything like what transpired on Tuesday night.

A police report stated that at about nine o’ clock on Tuesday night, Mollon left her vehicle on the road and went to open the gate when she heard several loud gunshots and was pulled into her home by her mother. Even as mother and daughter ran towards the house, bullets continued being fired at the car which was in the same direction of the fleeing duo.

Officers of the Central Division Task Force arrived on the scene and carried out investigations. Mollon’s car was later impounded by police.

She recalled what happened on Tuesday night after returning home from football training.

“What I normally do is reverse the car into the yard and as usual I left the car idling in the road and went to the gate to open it. All of a sudden I heard, ‘pax, pax, pax, pax, pax,’ lots of bullets and I heard my mother shouting as she opened the door.”

“I just dived towards the door and started to crawl as I made my way inside. I can’t describe anything or how many shots or how loud... it was just massive. I just crawled and my mother held my hand and pulled me in and we dropped to the ground and then locked the front door.”

Still shaking her head in disbelief, Mollon went on to tell Newsday, “If my mother didn’t open that door, I was heading back to that car to reverse it in the yard. Those bullets could have smashed into my head.”

She spoke of her strong spirituality as she explained that it could have only been divine intervention that her mother was at home and at the door awaiting her return. The elder Mollon was laid low by a toothache and she decided to stay at home at the time that her daughter arrived.

“It has to be God,” Mollon insisted. “Mere minutes before I was calling my mom and wasn’t getting through. I wanted to tell her to open the gate. When the shooting started, she just happened to open the door and pulled me inside.”

The footballer said while they were locked inside the house, they remained flat on the floor awaiting the arrival of the police. She did not see who fired the gunshots. Mollon said she was left dazed when she later saw the damage to her car.

“When I saw my car I wanted to collapse. The last time I felt so, although this feeling is much worse, was when we lost that match to Ecuador (a World Cup qualifying match). I remember I passed out on the playing field. I was in shock you know,” Mollon said. Her mother also spoke to Newsday and she too was thankful that her daughter’s life had been spared.

A shaken Mollon said, “my daughter would have been killed for nothing. That shooting had nothing to do with her or us. My daughter was coming home from training.” Saying it was a mother’s intuition that made her leave the bed where she had been sitting and go to the window when she realised that her daughter had not arrived home as yet.

“I said I better go by the door and wait for her and when I see the car I will go and open the gate for her,” Wilma told Newsday. “All I could tell you is if Akheela had only gone back into that car, she would have been killed... I would have been talking to you about my daughter in the past tense,” Mollon said.

She said the area is usually very peaceful and her family has never experienced anything like that before. A senior police officer, contacted for comment, said it seems a war between rival gangsters may have spilled over into the quiet, residential area of Longdenville.

The officer said rival gangs based in Bhagaloo and Crown Trace, Enterprise, Chaguanas, took their blood feud to Longdenville on Tuesday night. The police source said that Mollon’s car may have been targetted out of mistaken identity as members of one gang may have mistaken it as the “getaway car” belonging to members of another gang.

Up to press time, no arrest was made. Head of Central Division Snr Supt Johnny Abraham last night in a television news interview vowed to clamp down on the gang violence and general lawlessness which saw several other shooting incidents in central Trinidad within the past 24 hours.

National women's footballer caught in gunfire between rival gangs.
By Susan Mohammed (Express).

CLOSE CALL

NATIONAL women's footballer Ahkeela Mollon survived a hail of bullets that smashed the windscreen of her car parked outside the family home on Tuesday, after she was caught in cross-fire between rival gangs.

The 30-year-old mid-fielder and striker was pulled to safety by her mother and hid from gunmen as they fired.

Mollen was thanking God for life: "I am still in shock. The shots were spot-on on my car. I am so thankful to God. He is the only one that made by mom open that door at that time. If this had gone another way, my mother would have been crying today".

The incident occured at around 9.10 p.m. when Mollon, who is also known as "Lady Latapy", pulled up to her home at La Monte Street, Longdenville.

She was returning home from training with her team CNGC Rush, of the Women's Premier League.

Mollon had opened her gate to reverse her Nissan Primera when she heard loud explosions.

"As I pushed the gate I started to hear bullets going off. I didn't know from what direction it was coming. At the same time my mom opened the door", she recalled. "We just backpedalled into the house and we fell to the ground. We lay there for about 20 minutes. We were hearing footsteps in the road for a while. The timing of everything was just too precise". 

They contacted police and officers responded to the scene.

Mollon said her car bore several bullet holes, with two each on the front and back windscreen.

"It was an execution style shooting", said the national footballer.

Police said they had also received a report earlier of a shooting incident outside the home of police corporal Anthony Burns of the Rapid Response Unit who also lives nearby.

Police said that the suspects who shot at the police officer's house were attemping to enter their get-away car, when another gang of men began shooting at them.

The second gang shot at Mollon's car, believing it to be the getaway car, police said.

Mollon said: "I have never experienced this kind of thing before in Longdenville. I have lived here all my life, and I never know here to have gangs. This area has always been peaceful". 

She said she intended to play last night with her team against Petrotrin Oilers at the St James Barracks in the second game of the Women's Premier League.

There have been no arrests in the incident.

Post by: fari on June 25, 2015, 09:09:06 PM
i am glad the sistren is ok, times really change up oui
Post by: asylumseeker on August 23, 2015, 02:08:55 PM
Ahkeela Mollon joins Grenada on Women’s Football Day

Professional female footballer, Ahkeela Mollon, is expected to join Grenada in their celebration of Women’s Football Day on 23rd May.

The Trinidadian footballer was based with the Swedish Football Club, Kvarnsvedens IK, before being accepted to represent her country at the CONCACAF qualification leg of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada.
Mollon has recorded 10 goals, 13 Most Valuable Player awards and seven assists in all 25 matches, she has played to the end of 2014.

Known as Lady Latapy, the # 12 player is the first T&T female player to gain a foreign contract to play in Europe.

Mollon expressed in an exclusive interview on Soccerwarriors.net that the opportunity to be able to continue her football career after college had a huge effect on her life.

Women’s Development Officer, Malaika Church, was elated when she found out Ahkeela accepted the invitation to visit Grenada for the Women’s Football Day event.

“The Association is very honored to have one the region’s finest female players a part of its event. Ahkeela is definitely an example of the direction Women’s Football is taking and she is an inspiration to our Women in the Sport.
The day will also have a 3 vs 3 Tournament for our Primary and Secondary schools as well a skills challenge.”

The Event is carded to start at 11a.m at the National Cricket Stadium.

(http://www.grenadafa.com/images/WFD%20goal.jpg)

(http://www.grenadafa.com/images/mollon%20warm%20up%205%20web.jpg)

Ahkeela Mollon brought words of encouragement

Professional female footballer, Ahkeela Mollon, brought words of encouragement to many Grenadian Female Footballers on Women’s Football Day over the weekend.

Her message “impossible does not exist” was echoed throughout the day, especially during the Opening Ceremony.

“How you think in life will reflect on your actions. Your thoughts reflect your words. Your words reflect your actions, your actions become your habits, your habits become your character and your character defines your destiny. Your thoughts, words, actions, habits and character are all equally important as they shape your destiny. So remember, start believing in you. Push the barriers and hopefully in 10, 15 or 20 years’ time I’ll be talking about a Grenadian who is playing or played football in Spain, Italy, Brazil and Holland eventually even leading your country to the World Cup”, said Ms. Mollon.

President of the Association, Cheney Joseph, expressed how important her presence at this event was for our girls. “Ahkeela is a perfect example of what can result from determination and support. Our girls saw firsthand that it is possible to obtain success in the sport by believing in one self.

Ahkeela started off the day’s activities with a warm up session before the commencement of the 3 vs 3 Tournament.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 23, 2015, 02:12:09 PM
I see 30+ in that photo, and it may not be a complete representation of all in attendance. Powerful stuff.  :beermug:
Post by: Football supporter on August 23, 2015, 07:48:37 PM
I see 30+ in that photo, and it may not be a complete representation of all in attendance. Powerful stuff.  :beermug:

Ahkeela is very inspirational as a coach. I believe that when she coached the Central U17s she was the first female coach in the Pro League.
Post by: Flex on September 18, 2015, 05:12:26 AM
Ahkeela Mollon threatens to quit
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (Newsday).

Trinidad and Tobago’s lone professional women’s footballer, Ahkeela Mollon, is presently contemplating an early retirement from the national team due to internal issues at the management level.

Mollon, one of this country’s most talented players, says issues women players in this country have to deal with are hurting their development.

The 30-year-old has had a stressful nine months starting with the disappointment in December 2014 of missing out on the World Cup which resulted in her suffering a panic attack to a scary moment when gunfire among rival gangs almost ended her life as she was caught in the crossfire.

Although football has been her haven in the past, Mollon has been absent from all recent national women’s team training sessions and yesterday shed light on the reasons. She said it stemmed from the “many situations happening around the team.” In an emotional email sent out by the flamboyant right-winger to several officials of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TT FA) and some of her fellow national teammates yesterday, Mollon expressed dissatisfaction with the current management style that the Women Warriors have to work under.

Mollon bemoaned lack of payment to players, the inability to take part in major competitions, unavailability of proper training attire and players having to take money out of their own pocket to come to training.

She also questioned why female players were not being informed about local coaching courses, grassroots programmes and other administrative roles that have been made available by the sport’s governing body – roles to which some of the players are deeply interested in furthering their footballing careers after hanging up their boots.

Mollon, who has proudly draped herself in national colours for a period of 17 years, revealed that she is now demotivated and discouraged about playing for TT . Being the only national female player to have ever been selected to play on the European circuit, Mollon also felt disrespected as a senior player in the squad.

The former Kvarnsveden IK Women (Swedish Division-1) representative however, credited the current exploits of provisional national coach Anthony Creece (sitting in for Randy Waldrum until his return) for sticking with the team through these tough times.

She also called on Waldrum, on his return, to step in and help alleviate the present situation.

The letter further stated: “Coachman, I want to be a part of the team, only God knows how much love I have there, but right now my motivation level for this team is at rock bottom and the persons appointed in certain positions is not helping the situation at all. Maybe when you arrive and you speak to the heads about the seriousness about some of the players’ situations with their jobs and payments.

I will be having no money to come to training. I am sorry.” In conclusion, Mollon indicated that she will continue training with a men’s team at her home in Enterprise, Chaguanas.

“I will keep sharp like I always do,” she added.

“And I say this just in case change comes and I am then recalled to represent my country.

If I am not called upon, then I would have known that I stood for something, and it will be okay with me because 17 years with the red, white and black (I have) memories to burn. More memories thus far than dating, because football has been my long lasting boyfriend.” Responding to the email by Mollon, TT FA general secretary Sheldon Phillips acknowledged seeing it but noted that it is currently being handled by the team’s managerial staff.

“I just heard about the letter this morning (yesterday). It’s been received and the coaches know about it and at this point in time it’s a matter that’s being handled by the staff and the manager. The coaches and manager are dealing with it,” said Phillips.

Post by: dreamer on September 18, 2015, 07:30:36 AM
These TTFA folks sound as if they have no urgency to address the pain. Sickening apathy to peoples' suffering and always seemingly dismissive to their sacrifices. As far as they're concerned, ... "who-tf is Ahkeela Mollon. So what if she cyah eat ah food today or tomorrow. Why must we show her any appreciation. Cross a dotish ball for dah nex' kakahole to score and she feel she is hero!!! Gway!!! Fawwk people like dem, as long as I get meh bling on, my first class travel to FIFA meetings in 5 star hotels every 2 weeks around the world, (+/- a li'l brown envelope under de table to secure a vote here and there), get to drive meh nice Audi with pretty LED lights and have meh big pappy housing allowance to fund home and exclusive socials where we could lash some good Johnny & gin and tonic with Uncle Tim & de boys (Horner no longer invited), then I good". "Dem lazy-ass so-called fans doh have a effin clue about de constitution so dem cyah touch we, hee hee."

Anything we could do to get rid of these jokers? Lasana ... please help.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 18, 2015, 09:18:00 AM
Very disturbing on MULTIPLE fronts!
Post by: Sando prince on March 20, 2016, 09:46:00 AM
(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/storyimage/TT/20160319/LOCAL/160319503/AR/0/AR-160319503.jpg&MaxW=730&imageversion=Article)

Mollon launches football academy*

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160319/sports/mollon-launches-football-academy

Veteran Trinidad and Tobago women’s national football team winger Ahkeela Mollon successfully launched her coaching school called the M12 Football Revolution two Saturdays ago at the Penco Gardens ground, in an attempt to actualise her dream of working in a coaching capacity when she finally calls time on her career.

The player often referred to as “Lady Latapy”, is based in central Trinidad, and fittingly has established her school in the community she calls home, with the Penco Gardens ground being used as the home base for the M12 Football Revolution.
The ground is nestled in a secure residential area and offers illumination for use at nights. Last week’s launch offered seating, shelter, toilet facilities, musical entertainment and even refreshments for all to enjoy.

Forty children registered for their first month, and upon registration received a ball and a t-shirt.
Post by: Deeks on March 20, 2016, 04:51:56 PM
Nice, Akheela. Catch them young. Wish all the success. Please, get some more girls.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 15, 2016, 04:02:02 PM
Why Ahkeela gehhin a fight down with the site of her academy? Is it a fight down?
Post by: Deeks on August 15, 2016, 04:42:00 PM
It is not a fight down for me. I just want more girls to be there. Did you see the recent result against US, Haiti and Mex ? I think is great that she should have an academy. I hope she get her coaching license too. We need more women involved in coaching and Admin.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 15, 2016, 07:35:12 PM
Deeks, there is an issue brewing that has affected her use of the field she was using.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 15, 2016, 07:43:57 AM
Mollon pleased with new coach
Newsday

National women’s footballer Ahkeela Mollon describes the appointment of Carolina Morace as Head Coach and Director of Women’s football as a major step by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association.

The 31-year-old Mollon, a player for this country at the Under 17, Under 20, Under 21 and Senior level is one of the more exciting and experienced members of the National Women’s Programme and has also played professionally in Sweden.

She was among a group of players who underwent a training session with Morace at the Hasely Crawford Stadium during the coach’s visit to this country last month.

Mollon also pointed out that she was hugely excited to work under a female head coach for the first time in her career as a national player.

“I am really excited to see what a brilliant footballing mind like Carolina Morace will bring to the table for women’s football here in Trinidad and Tobago. It will be the first time in the history of Trinidad and Tobago football, that a female coach is in charge at a senior level, well at least since I have been around, which is like 18 plus years,” Mollon told TT FA Media on Tuesday.

“This signing by the TT FA is a major plus to the women’s game here in Trinidad and Tobago, to bring in a female coach with so much wealth of experience, not only as a coach but a former player herself.

“I am sure much more players and individuals would share my sentiments when I say, this was the best move done by TTFA to strengthen to structure to the women’s game.”
Post by: asylumseeker on February 01, 2017, 06:29:10 AM
Why Ahkeela gehhin a fight down with the site of her academy? Is it a fight down?

Got a first-hand account of the obstruction being waged against Ahkeela regarding her use of the field on which she has been attempting to bring the game to the next generation of players.

A large quantity of sand was purposefully dumped on the field to disrupt the use of the field by Ahkeela and the dozens of motivated young players that she trains.

Redress in the courts has been sought and Ahkeela has secured legal counsel. I gather she obtained injunctive relief recently.

It is disgusting that a national athlete would be treated to the sort of discriminatory intent that has manifested in these events.

I encourage those in authoritative positions in football to aid her in collectively confronting the issue ... especially those who wield influence in that geographical band of the nation.

Silence is acquiescence, and when a national athlete is told "you don't represent me", we have a collective problem.

Hold people accountable.
Post by: Deeks on February 01, 2017, 03:59:20 PM
A large quantity of sand was purposefully dumped on the field to disrupt the use of the field by Ahkeela and the dozens of motivated young players that she trains.

Really!!!. That is sad. But it would be nice to hear the other side of the story, if the other side is  "brave enough" to share their misgivings about Akheela.
Post by: Flex on December 13, 2020, 07:52:19 PM
Anguilla snaps up another T&T talent as Mollon joins Stern John in Anguilla.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Former national Soca Princess talented midfielder Ahkeela Mollon has joined Trinidad and Tobago international record goalscorer Stern John in becoming part of Anguilla's national football teams set-up, both men and women respectively.

In October of this year Stern John was named Anguilla Men’s National Senior Team head coach after a successful stint with the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Under-17 Team in March 2019, however, due to financial difficulties with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), both Stern John and Ahkeela Mollon was left with no choice but to seek employment outside of the twin-island republic.

On November 01st, Mollon, was named Anguilla Director for women's development. Mollon will also coach that country's national team as well, however, due to COVID-19 restrictions and the limited flights out of T&T, both John and Mollon had to wait a little and only arrived on the Island on November 22nd to take up their new coaching and development responsibilities.

Molon is on a long term contract and her main responsibilities are to develop an overall program for the holistic growth and development of women's football in Anguilla. From grassroots to seniors. All other coaches working with the women's team will fall mainly under her scope and philosophy.

Soca Warriors Online (SWO) would like to wish the former Kvarnsvedens IK star best wishes on her new job as well as Stern John.

RELATED NEWS

Mollon appointed Anguilla football director
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Former national striker Ahkeela Mollon is the Technical Director of Women's Football in Anguilla.

She was appointed on a long-term contract, beginning November 1, with responsibility for developing the women's game from junior to senior levels. Her duties include continuous training of the country's Under-15, u-17, u-20 and Senior team, but Mollon told Guardian Media Sports on Monday she also started an Elite Programme which will be a feeder programme to the national teams.

At 36, Mollon who has represented T&T from the junior to senior level said she sees this opportunity as one to do what she always wanted to do and that is to develop the women's game locally and regionally, saying for the past six years she has worked with boys teams mostly.

Apart from her football academy in the Central area, which to date has been a much sought-after one, Mollon has also coached at Central 500 in the Central Football Association (CFA), Central FC under-20 team, Roytec in the University Football League, and at Chaguanas North Secondary in the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL).

Her task is not limited to players only as she also has the responsibility to impart her knowledge and experience to budding coaches of the women's game there.

Mollon now joins another T&T professional Stern John, a former national striker who leads the T&T all-time goal-scoring chart who was appointed coach of Anguilla's Senior Men's team. "This is my first major job outside of T&T and it will begin a process by which I intend to live my dream of impacting women's football in the Caribbean," Mollon said.

She lauded the Anguillan Football Association for opting to recruit professionals from T&T and the Caribbean, noting that they easily could have gone for a technical director from the United States or Europe, but saw it necessary appoint her.

Mollon has had an impressive career dating back to her early years at Holy Faith Convent in Couva in 2004, where she progressed to the national teams and also played in the United States, Iceland and Sweden for Charlotte Lady Eagles (USA - 2008), Kvarnsvedens IK (Sweden- 2009), Djurgården Idrottsförening Fotbollsförening (Sweden- 2010), Stjarnan Women's Football team (Iceland- 2011), Afturelding (Iceland- 2011), and Kvarnsvedens IK (Sweden- 2014) for a second time.

Yesterday, however, it was a bitter-sweet moment for Mollon who said she would have loved to have been given the same opportunity in her homeland, saying: "I have played for T&T for 19 years and have played in Europe etc, but have never been recognized for my contribution. You know, sometimes your own country doesn't recognize you for the work you do but other countries do."

So far, she has been living her best life, doing what she loves to do the most while gaining the support by all on the island. Mollon promises to not follow in the footsteps of the T&T trend by beginning to train teams only months ahead of tournaments, saying "This is what they hired me for, to have continuous training and preparation of the teams for competition."

Mollon and John join the likes of ex-T&T players and coaches Izler Browne (US Virgin Islands), Rajesh Latchoo (Dominica), Jamaal Shabazz (St Lucia) and Russell Latapy (Barbados) to seek employment within the Caribbean region.

Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2020, 04:42:28 AM
Congrats to Ahkeela. This makes J. Shabazz a true coaching grandfather. One couldn't have happened without the other.
Post by: Tiresais on December 14, 2020, 09:27:29 AM
Great stuff. Apologies but the line "Mollon will also coach that country's national team as well" confuse me - does it mean a coach for the men's team as well, or hed coach of the women's, or both?
Post by: Tallman on September 30, 2021, 12:24:40 PM
WATCH: Girls Play Football conversation with former Trinidad and Tobago Women's footballer Ahkeela Mollon. Ahkeela is currently the Women's Development Officer and Head Coach of the Anguilla Women's National team.

https://www.youtube.com/v/X8IvfglCWrg
Post by: Flex on January 19, 2022, 01:12:04 AM
AFA confirms Mollon suspension but insists only one instance of ‘abuse or mistreatment of player’
Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

The Anguilla Football Association (AFA) has confirmed that Women’s National Senior Team head coach Ahkeela Mollon was suspended for ‘abuse’ of a player but stressed that it only received one such complaint about the Trinidad and Tobago-born coach.

AFA president Girdon Connor and his administration have faced public criticism over their handling of Mollon and, in particular, an incident on 16 September 2021 when the coach allegedly split the lip of 17-year-old Carlia Johnson by knocking away a water bottle as the player was drinking from it.

The AFA’s Disciplinary Committee suspended Mollon for 21 days while Johnson copped a one-match ban for ‘steupsing’ at the coach. Mollon was also reprimanded for embarrassing the player by telling her, within earshot of the team, that her US collegiate coach was unhappy with her attitude—a claim the West Texas A&M coach Chad Webb subsequently denied.

In a weekend interview, Mollon told Wired868 she was never suspended by the AFA and insisted that nothing happened, while Connor threatened the website with legal action if it published comments from him that contradicted his coach’s statements.

However, the AFA today admitted the suspension as it sought to convince Anguillans that the incident was, in fact, a one-off occurrence.

“It has been brought to the attention of the Anguilla Football Association that the media has disseminated certain statements alleging that there have been instances of abuse of female players in Anguilla,” stated the AFA, in a media release. “We wish to place on record that the AFA takes allegations of abuse seriously.

“[…] We state categorically that, separate and apart from this complaint and investigation, there have been no allegations of abuse or mistreatment of players by a coach or vice-versa which has been brought to the attention of the AFA.”

Last weekend, Carlia’s mother, Gweneth Johnson, told Wired868 that, when told about the altercation, she had initially contacted the police before agreeing to leave it to the AFA.

“[Mollon] stormed into the dressing room at halftime and accused my daughter of making her lose the game,” said Johnson (G), based on the report she got of the incident. “She said ‘you sit down and shut up, because you are the cause of us losing the game—you’re not following the game plan.’

“And she slapped the bottle of water out of her hand…”

Mollon described it as a ‘spat’ that was blown out of proportion. She claimed that there had been an ‘enquiry’ by a party independent of the AFA and her employers had advised her to ignore the recommended suspension.

“When I went back to FA, they said to take holidays,” said Mollon. “That is why when you asked me I said I was not on suspension. I was on holiday. In order to be a party to it, I would have to sign off on it—and I will not sign off on something that didn’t transpire, just to please certain egos.”

Whatever was said privately between Mollon and Connor, the AFA now makes it clear that the coach was indeed suspended by its own disciplinary committee.

“By way of a brief background, a dispute arose between a player and a coach during a competitive match overseas,” stated the AFA. “A complaint was lodged by an aggrieved party and the Anguilla Football Association’s Disciplinary Committee carried out a thorough investigation into the complaints.

“As a result of their findings, both parties involved were suspended. There has been no appeal lodged.

“[…] As with any disciplinary process, there will be instances where an aggrieved party may not be completely satisfied with the outcome of an investigation, but we assure the general public that the process was carried out fairly, observing all applicable laws of Anguilla—particularly the Labour (Relations) Act, 2018.”

Mollon’s most high-profile critic so far is Speaker of the House Barbara Webster-Bourne, who referenced the incident in a complaint about violence against girls in the Anguilla House of Representatives. Webster-Bourne is also Carlia’s aunt.

It is worth noting that Carlia’s father, Colin Johnson, is also the technical director of the AFA and her mother said that she would like to move on from the incident. It is still uncertain whether Carlia would recant an earlier position that she no longer wished to play under Mollon.

There is still the matter of anonymous complaints from an email address that claimed to represent ‘concerned parents’ of the Anguilla women’s youth teams. The first complaint came in July 2021, two months before Mollon’s altercation with Carlia.

On the weekend, Connor dismissed the anonymous complaints. And, today, the AFA urged locals to accept the decision and allow Mollon to carry on with her job.

“The AFA places on record that it continues to observe the highest standards of ethics, professionalism and independence in these types of matters,” stated the release. “[…] It is unfortunate that the matter has escalated to the level of personal attacks and threats. We remain optimistic that good reason would prevail and we could return our focus to developing our youth in the sport.”

At present, Mollon is preparing the Anguilla Women’s National Senior Team for the 2022 Concacaf W Championship qualifying series, which kicks off on 16 February.

Anguilla, the lowest ranked football nation in the Caribbean, were drawn with Mexico, Puerto Rico, Suriname and Antigua and Barbuda in Group A. Only the group winner will advance.

Trinidad and Tobago are in Group F alongside Guyana, Nicaragua, Dominica and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Watch Speaker of the House Barbara Webster-Bourne swipes at Anguilla coach Ahkeela Mollon (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nn0IO5rA7xM)

Post by: asylumseeker on January 20, 2022, 07:18:23 AM
WATCH: SportsMax discusses seventeen (17) determinations by a Disciplinary Committee convened to address conduct attributed to Anguilla WNT Head Coach, Ahkeela Mollon, and Anguilla WNT players.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZUCPTNmjh5oqÇ
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2022, 08:33:33 AM
WATCH: Ahkeela Mollon-coached Anguilla hosted St. Kitts-Nevis in a two match series. The following is footage of the first match. Match date: Thursday, February 3. Final score: 3-0 victory (2-0 HT) for the visitors.

https://www.youtube.com/v/5nuP6pIDMzQ

The second match resulted in a draw. Footage being sourced.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 10, 2022, 07:16:06 AM
WATCH: Ahkeela Mollon-coached Anguilla hosted St. Kitts-Nevis in a two match series. The following is footage of the second match. Match date: Saturday, February 5. Final score: 0-0.

https://www.youtube.com/v/puB4TyZtpxg
Post by: maxg on February 11, 2022, 11:55:25 PM
Pefect field for ah Fete match. ;D