Sports => Football => Topic started by: Marcos on January 25, 2009, 08:51:27 AM

Title: AC Milan on Fire
Post by: Marcos on January 25, 2009, 08:51:27 AM
Playin a sweet brand here. Beckham pullin the strings and Pato and Kaka killin people up front.
Any room for ROnaldinho in this squad???
Title: Re: AC Milan on Fire
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 09:44:19 AM
I want to know who really think Beckham want to go back to that sh!t brand in the MLS.
What sense being the best player in a league and your team can't even make the playoffs - he's playing in a better league and actually winning matches.
Post by: Marcos on January 25, 2009, 09:51:01 AM
Becks look like a champion today

Big squad on the rise
Post by: Observer on January 25, 2009, 09:53:57 AM
I want to know who really think Beckham want to go back to that sh!t brand in the MLS.
What sense being the best player in a league and your team can't even make the playoffs - he's playing in a better league and actually winning matches.

Beckham is the best player in which League??? certainly not MLS
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 25, 2009, 09:57:21 AM
becks with ah sweet goal today.
Post by: fitzinho on January 25, 2009, 09:58:28 AM
4-1 without Ronaldinho on the pitch...scary!!
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 09:59:03 AM

I not seeing top teams in European Leagues chasing down any other talent in the MLS.
Post by: Observer on January 25, 2009, 10:09:43 AM

I not seeing top teams in European Leagues chasing down any other talent in the MLS.

Is that what we discussing? The question is was Beckham's performances in the MLS warrant you calling him the best player in the MLS? I would say NO, as a matter of fact he was not even the best for LA. And by the way Bayern Munich also signed an MLS player.
Post by: dinho on January 25, 2009, 10:13:12 AM
becks look like he enjoy heself today..

but i still waiting for AC milan to play a side that running at them with that old horse midfield they running with. to be fair, bologna was down to 10 men from early so it was always going to be a stroll in the park after that.. but beckham was swinging over some sweet cross field pass to men foot.
Post by: Andre on January 25, 2009, 10:20:09 AM
that was a real entertaining breakfast game.

milan look real nice. becks find the fountain of youth. but if u watch it good is all about players playing to support each other.
Post by: big dawg on January 25, 2009, 10:23:46 AM
That Loan move was definately a bess move.. he staying fit for England and Galaxy....It obvious that he certainly like the highest brand of football and does mesh with the players better

de odder day Lalas say that he think that Becks might stay dey permanantly..I think so too.. now that the MLS hype taper off..

IMHO I seeing the NY Cosmos Pele effect  \ ::)
Post by: giggsy11 on January 25, 2009, 10:28:36 AM

As far as I recall Milan did not chase down Beckham, he went lookin for a team tuh play with so he could extend his England career. Beckham was one of the shittiest players in the MLS and he has never been the best player on any side he played on. At United it was Giggsy, Cantona, Keane; Real- Raul, Zidane, Figo; Galaxy- anybody but Beckham.
Post by: Tigger on January 25, 2009, 10:31:23 AM

As far as I recall Milan did not chase down Beckham, he went lookin for a team tuh play with so he could extend his England career. Beckham was one of the shittiest players in the MLS and he has never been the best player on any side he played on. At United it was Giggsy, Cantona, Keane; Real- Raul, Zidane, Figo; Galaxy- anybody but Beckham.

bro.. you need to start watching some more MLS games..
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 10:32:32 AM

You're absolutely right.
United, Real and the Galaxy signed Beckham cause he was a shittong and could only sell jerseys.

Remember how Capello had to make an about turn on him at Real?
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 10:36:18 AM

Is that what we discussing? The question is was Beckham's performances in the MLS warrant you calling him the best player in the MLS? I would say NO, as a matter of fact he was not even the best for LA. And by the way Bayern Munich also signed an MLS player.

Good point - however, as a coach/ gm/ director/ owner - who would you have walk into your team and make an immediate impact by improving the quality on the field? ... Beckham or Donovan?

In my point of view, Bayern is insane by placing Donovan ahead of Podolski.
Age or not, Beckham can still deliver on the big stage.
Post by: sammy on January 25, 2009, 10:52:59 AM

i take it u dont like beckham?  :-\
Post by: giggsy11 on January 25, 2009, 11:09:35 AM

You're absolutely right.
United, Real and the Galaxy signed Beckham cause he was a shittong and could only sell jerseys.

Remember how Capello had to make an about turn on him at Real?

First of all I really don't like gettin into any type of discussion with you because I wouldn't want to blunt you imagination with the facts and you also have the wonderful gift of taking things out of context! Fact 1: Beckham came through United's youth system. Fact 2: Beckham was an attractive buy and investment for Real based on his iconic status and shirt selling status first and foremost and then his footballing ability (maybe that is why he still had to prove his worth to Capello).  Fact 3: Beckham's signing by the Galaxy was to raise the profile/brand of the team and the league. I have never said Beckham was or is a shittong but based on his performances in the MLS he played shit!  He did not play hard, he played disinterested and he appeared content to just hit a few glory long balls; he played like every match was a fete match. Fact 4: Can you say that Beckham was the best player on any of the teams he has ever played for including the Galaxy?
Post by: giggsy11 on January 25, 2009, 11:13:35 AM

i take it u dont like beckham?  :-\

Nope.
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 12:11:09 PM
First of all I really don't like gettin into any type of discussion with you because I wouldn't want to blunt you imagination with the facts and you also have the wonderful gift of taking things out of context! Fact 1: Beckham came through United's youth system. Fact 2: Beckham was an attractive buy and investment for Real based on his iconic status and shirt selling status first and foremost and then his footballing ability (maybe that is why he still had to prove his worth to Capello).  Fact 3: Beckham's signing by the Galaxy was to raise the profile/brand of the team and the league. I have never said Beckham was or is a shittong but based on his performances in the MLS he played shit!  He did not play hard, he played disinterested and he appeared content to just hit a few glory long balls; he played like every match was a fete match. Fact 4: Can you say that Beckham was the best player on any of the teams he has ever played for including the Galaxy?

What does Fact 1: Beckham came through United's youth system have to do with anything?
Lest I remind you of your assertion that ... Beckham was one of the shittiest players in the MLS and he has never been the best player on any side he played on. At United it was Giggsy, Cantona, Keane; ...

Fact 2: Beckham was an attractive buy and investment for Real based on his iconic status and shirt selling status first and foremost and then his footballing ability (maybe that is why he still had to prove his worth to Capello).

FACT is that Capello refused to pick Beckham based on Beckham's signing with LA Galaxy before La Liga was complete. It did not have anything to do with talent or skill. Capello believed that Beckham was not dedicated to Real and would not contribute to Real's title charge that season. Capello was proven wrong and apologised to Beckham at the end of the season - who was instrumental in Real's last day heroics to win La Liga in his final season/ game with them.

Fact 3: Beckham's signing by the Galaxy was to raise the profile/brand of the team and the league. I have never said Beckham was or is a shittong but based on his performances in the MLS he played shit!

have your cake and eat it too. Remember this ...
Beckham was one of the shittiest players in the MLS

....He did not play hard, he played disinterested and he appeared content to just hit a few glory long balls; he played like every match was a fete match....
So Beckham's perceived quality and contribution to the LA Galaxy has nothing to do with the quality of players surrouding him? The structure behind the Galaxy failed him. It wasn't Beckham that chased Gullit and Lalas out of town - it was the inability of the Galaxy franchise to assemble the proper squad to make them competitive. To paraphrase some politicians ... you can put lipstick on a shittong, they will still be a shittong.

Fact 4: Can you say that Beckham was the best player on any of the teams he has ever played for including the Galaxy?
Yes, I believe that Beckham is the best player on the Galaxy. I wouldn't choose anyone ahead of him (including Landon Donovan) if I were picking a team.
Post by: kicker on January 25, 2009, 02:09:09 PM
Today's game was not a good test for Milan nor Becks.

It was a pedestrian affair (esp when Bologna lost a man)- Like alot of games in Serie A it was a walk about- a style that suits Milan's pedestrian style of play because they have so many players who are comfortable with the ball at their feet, and who can kill you if you give them one second more than they deserve on the ball.

Becks looked good because he was never pressed.  The two games that preceeded this one(against Roma & against Fiorentina) were better tests of how good Becks still is on the int'l stage- both of which he was neither here nor there if you ask me.
Post by: PIMP on January 25, 2009, 02:33:59 PM
go milan!!!
Post by: Observer on January 25, 2009, 02:39:31 PM
Fact 4: Can you say that Beckham was the best player on any of the teams he has ever played for including the Galaxy?
Yes, I believe that Beckham is the best player on the Galaxy. I wouldn't choose anyone ahead of him (including Landon Donovan) if I were picking a team.

People see what they want to see when it come to dem idol. Beckham may have been failed by the so called support team at LA. Yet he is being paid all that money you would think he will set an example. No support ok but show through your performances that you mean business. Look at Donavan he ended up top scorer (in MLS) in the regular season and also top the assist as well. So how yuh explain that, he eh playing with the same supporting cast.  Allyuh good we.
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 03:06:37 PM

People see what they want to see when it come to dem idol. Beckham may have been failed by the so called support team at LA. Yet he is being paid all that money you would think he will set an example. No support ok but show through your performances that you mean business. Look at Donavan he ended up top scorer (in MLS) in the regular season and also top the assist as well. So how yuh explain that, he eh playing with the same supporting cast.  Allyuh good we.

Im not trying to idolise Beckham .... but give the man the kudos he deserves for playing well.
He's done a great job since he has come to Milan, and performed very well today.

Let's face it - the average American hates football - not because the rest of the world loves it, but because they see it as a boring, girly sport. Not enough goals, and not enough action from their point of view.
Americans will rattle off story lines from "Bend It Like Beckham" faster than they will tell you what year he won the treble with United.
Beckham is not a natural goal-scorer, and coming with the hype and reputation to a country that had huge expectations that differed from reality. So, from a goal-scoring singular point of view, Beckham was a bust.

However, the man is a few caps away from playing the most games ever for England - and is still doing it after his generation failed to qualify for a World Cup and failed to qualify for a European Championship.

Are you sure Donovan also had the most Assists in the MLS in 2008?

UNF  POS         PLAYER                          GP  GS  MIN    G   A   SHT   SOG   FC   FS   C   E
10      F       Landon Donovan                  25  23  2136  20   9    65     40     18   39   4  0
23      M      David Beckham                    25  25  2248   5   10    35    12     14   37    6  0
Post by: Observer on January 25, 2009, 03:40:12 PM
I never said the had the most assist in the MLS I said he top the assist (meaning LA). Anyway if you want to play with words.

You saying yuh doh Idolise Beckham and yuh describing his performances at Milan as GREAT. What game Beckham was GREAT? Today was his best game since joining Milan and it was no where close to GREAT. If he was Great how would you describe Zambrotta, Kaka and Pato today?

The point I am making is that just because you are the Biggest name in football media, it does not mean that you are the best footballer. Beckham's performance at the Galaxy and in MLS in general has been average. He certainly has not had the same influence as Blanco, Scheletto or Angel. If his name was not David Beckham I am quite certain the press would have been more critical of any player, showing the same performance.
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 04:28:01 PM
I never said the had the most assist in the MLS I said he top the assist (meaning LA). Anyway if you want to play with words.

You saying yuh doh Idolise Beckham and yuh describing his performances at Milan as GREAT. What game Beckham was GREAT? Today was his best game since joining Milan and it was no where close to GREAT. If he was Great how would you describe Zambrotta, Kaka and Pato today?

The point I am making is that just because you are the Biggest name in football media, it does not mean that you are the best footballer. Beckham's performance at the Galaxy and in MLS in general has been average. He certainly has not had the same influence as Blanco, Scheletto or Angel. If his name was not David Beckham I am quite certain the press would have been more critical of any player, showing the same performance.

Semantics aside, there were several vocal doubters to Beckham's quality and motives in returning to top flight football.
Since he has joined Milan, in a short time he has improved the squad, not only on paper and in depth - but in quality, consistency and results. At the end of the day, seeing Milan prosper in Serie A is my main concern.

I don't believe anyone is trying to assert that Beckham is the biggest name in football media, or that automatically assumes that he is the best footballer, but put the roster of the LA Galaxy in front of a coach and ask him to choose one player to build a team around - It will have to be close to 10/10 times that they will choose Beckham.

Blanco, Scheletto and Angel may have a better effect in the MLS than Beckham - but what is/ was their ability to prosper outside of the MLS? ... and how great are they, really?

Blanco was a superstar at home in Mexico - Donovan's US equivalent, if you will. I remember he flamed out early in his career in La Liga. His boorish attitude is legendary.
Scheletto never made it out of Argentina professionally, and only played a handful of games for the NT.
Beyond a year or two, how prolific was Angel for Villa?

I see where you're going, but I will maintain that Beckham is doing a great job at Milan, and he is making a positive contribution to their squad.
Post by: Observer on January 25, 2009, 05:18:06 PM
Beckham improve Milan  ???  We already had a thread on this, but for your information Milan lost 4 games this year and in three of those games Kaka was injured and did not play. Ok I'll give you the depth part so far this is all Beckham has contributed to Milan, oh yeah he scored a goal after they were 3-1 up today. I am a big Milan fan so I hope he has an impact, and I am willing to give him time to adjust. But so far I have not seen anything that will convince me that when Milan actually come up against some pressure he will stand the test. After all he was very ordinary against Fiorentina, he gave Milan no penetration what so ever and was content to hit crosses from deep in his own half. I suspect the main aim of using Beckham is that Zambrotta can now provide the penetration on the right and Beckham will plug the gap when Zambrotta goes forward. Again I am willing to wait and see, but after todays game it looks that way.